The Saturday cartoon

Posted on January 17, 2015 by

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 17 01 15 13:37

The Saturday cartoon | Politics Scotland | Sco...

2. 17 01 15 13:42

The Saturday cartoon - Speymouth

105 to “The Saturday cartoon”

1. Capella

Oh well done! Did you draw that yourself Stu? Very funny.

2. chossy

Ha ha lovely stuff.

3. Croompenstein

Come back Chris 🙂

4. IcySpark

I am very impressed with your use of 3D perspective on the bed.

5. Nana Smith

Hoping that nurse is going to administer a large dose of reality to Murphy.

Bend over Jim!

6. MajorBloodnok

The likeness is uncanny…

7. TJenny

Hello, I’m nurse Kevin Godley and I prescribe 10cc of everything. 😉

Good effort Stu, hope you enjoy the footie.

8. Bugger (the Panda)

Hurry back Chris, please.

9. Croompenstein

Must admit though you have got Nurse Murphy’s nose spot on Stu 😀

10. mogabee

Who needs Chris Cairns?……We do!

Nurses no longer wear hats. Just sayin’..;D

11. MajorBloodnok

Hat? I thought it was a lampshade.

12. mogabee

I think your patient is dead….sorry!

13. Aidan

haha

Nurse Murphy.

(Just as well Derek & Clive are non PC these days)

14. TJenny

Lovin’ the bonus version featuring Hamish who looks suspiciously like the little lion you get on eggs – soooo appropriate for eggman Smurphy. 😉

15. Nana Smith

Oh dear must get my eyes tested.

When is Chris back from his hols?

16. AuldA

Pffff… Frankly, look at all those bullying brats!

Stu’, rest assured this is fine Neandertal art. You’ve just missed the right timeframe by some tens of thousands of years. Nothing much of a stooshie.

Errr… Otherwise you can maybe have a try at abstract art? Look at Yves Klein, for example. He sold solid blue paintings for a heap of dosh. I’m sure you could even do better.

Have a great weekend! 😉

17. cearc

Uhhm, best stick to the day job (words)!

PS. When you do this year’s fund raiser, how about adding in a sum to pay Chris?

Although, it might encourage him to have more holidays in the sun which would be a distinct downside.

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell

We do (modestly) pay Chris. As you can see, it’s money well spent 🙂

19. Lanarkist

Don’t give up the day job, oh…

20. BrianW

It’s easy to mock when none of us could do the cartoons that Chris does (everyone’s a critic eh)….BUT

OMDG.. It’s like Father Ted when they let Dougal do a Funeral on his own..

Carnage. lol.

21. Croompenstein

Does the patient have 8 Yes badges?

22. The Man in the Jar

Have to agree with the Major. The likeness is uncanny. I thought it was a photograph at first. 🙂

23. KennyG

It’s hard to find the right words to adequately describe the shitness of this drawing. It’s so shit it’s actually funny.

Now I’m left with an image of Jim Murphy, wearing a dress, doing a little dance whilst rubbing cream over his body. Thanks Rev!

24. Natasha

I’d love to say my five year olds could do better than that, but it wouldn’t be true.

25. Valerie

It’s clear that is a bedpan on Nurse Ratchets head. I think the deid body is a metaphor for SLab.

Good effort.

26. handclapping

Julian Opie will be after you! Copyright infringement, passing off!

And to think I’ve criticised Chris /* slaps forehead */ Dont know where to start so I’ll keep it short – Rubbish!

27. Lanarkist

They do say a picture speaks a thousand words only in this case you have come up a little short!

28. Vronsky

Tasmina Ahmed-Tory has failed to win the nomination in Falkirk. Seems it wasn’t worth all the PR damage of blocking Craig Murray. Karma.

http://tinyurl.com/lz8qcpo

29. thedogphilosopher

Art Brute 33!

30. red sunset

Nae wonder the patient looks like they’ve given up the ghost when they see that coming

31. thedogphilosopher

Shrigley move over!

32. heedtracker

Nurse Murphy sounds terrifying, “you’re far too small, poor, stupid to heal yourself, so wait for Doctor England to save your sorry hide” plus expenses, on the UKOK union, which Nurse Murphy is now against, the maniac.

33. HandandShrimp

He appears to be carrying a chanty on his head…multi tasking, is there no end to his talents?

34. Dr Jim

Wasn’t there some famous guy who did quite well out of drawing like this, can’t quite remember his name, it’ll come to me…

35. Findlay Farquaharson

at last, someone as crap at drawing as me, so pleasing

36. Robert Peffers

@Rev Stu.cartoon

Seems you and I share the same artistic talents, (or lack thereof). We each see the hilarious situation as a cartoon in a wee mental picture inside our heads but neither can draw for toffee. Narrative pictures are the way to go and I’m a dab hand at both still and video camera work with the art of editing either a proverbial piece of cake.

Ask me to draw anything other than engineering, “Technical Drawing”, and you might as well ask me to fly by flapping my arms.

37. Macart

Lowry eat yer heart oot. 🙂

38. Proud Cybernat

Murphy is a 1000cc narissistic bloviator.

39. Clootie

It must be Murphy on the bed – look at the neck!

40. wingman 2020

Je suis infirmière Murphy

41. msean

Top drawing there. 🙂

42. Marie clark

Oh Rev, as rubbish at drawing as I am, how comforting. I was always told that when I drew a figure it” always looks like a spud wi hair oan.” How appropriate in this context.

Well done, at least you’ve given it a go.

43. MoJo

More please….this cartoon works at many levels – not least the extended commentary…. still laughing ….

44. Joemcg

I see the no voting football team of Scotland re enacted the battle of George square last night. Total scum. Sorry folks but I think this referendum chapter will only end in violence.

45. Robert Peffers

Matchstick men and matchstick cats & dogs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Gyhz0h7-P0

46. Alexandra-M-

Chris better get back from his holiday sharpish, before his artistic services are no longer required!

47. manandboy

Is this the start of assisted suicide – oops, too late, damn!

48. manandboy

While Chris is on hols, Stu, why not give Jack Vettriano a call? He won’t be as good as Chris, but he might be alright.

49. Chic McGregor

I did one of Blair after his corrective treatment for a heart issue 10 years ago.

http://www.dropbox.com/s/nghkovcalm3fv88/tonywee.jpg?dl=0

50. west_lothian_questioner

Methinks it’s too late for the poor sod on the bed…

51. galamcennalath

Well done. A good cartoon delivers a message, and this does just that.

Oh, and that will be a tin foil hat Murphy has on. He’s need it.

52. X_Sticks

cynicalHighlander says:

“Imp posing.”

I’d say Imp poster.

Definitely not Chris Cairns.

Could’t you have got Chris to leave something for you Rev? 😀

53. Valerie

@ Chic, love that cartoon. That Op needs to be on the NHS, compulsory for politicians

54. caledonia

What does a Jim Murphy use for birth control?

His personality

55. Midgehunter

I was rather startled at first by the intricate brush strokes and the passion with which the artist approached his subject …

Where does Scotland hide this wealth of talent? 😉

56. Maid_in_Scotland

That poor soul’s got a bad dose of Rigor Murphis cos he knows he’s about to get 1000cc of Syrup of Figs.

57. Clarinda

It can’t possibly be Nurse Murphy – all Registered Nurses have to successfully complete their university studies?

58. Clootie

Clarinda says:
    17 January, 2015 at 4:23 pm

ouch! 😀

59. ronnie anderson

Rev, you,ll be sorry you geid that wain felt tip pens they,ll be nae stoping them noo.

60. ronnie anderson

1000 matchstick nurses they,ll awe be Swan ing aboot dain nothing.

dey ah hiv tae git ma coat oan, oh yous ur cruel.

61. heedtracker

http://wingsoverscotland.com/we-really-do-adore-him/#more-64982 You forgot Nurse Murphy’s halo Rev. So that’s a formal protest to WoS, teamGB mediaBBC currently force feeding the Scots they think they can con in May with their all new vote St Murphy for independence Scotland and so should you. If its good enough for likes of sneering hypocrites at the progressive liberal Graun etc…

62. Lollysmum

Rev
    I know you said in one of your answers on Ask FM that you couldn’t draw but there was me thinking you were being modest & oh so humble. Now I realise that every word was true. Even I can draw better than that & I’m bloody awful at it 🙂

Still I suppose it’s wrong to mock the afflicted so apologies Stu. One request though- please, please, please stick to words I’m begging you 😉

Oh & yes, and the nose is spot on! A nurse’s uniform suits him doesn’t it. SUITS YOU,JIM 🙂

63. caz-m

Jackie Burd is not going to be happy Rev when she sees this picture herself lying in a hospital bed being spread all over the internet.

64. scottieDog

Rev, you’ll get in trouble for copying labour’s health manifesto

65. john king

Get yer mammy to stick on the fridge with a magnet son well done.

66. john king

caz-m says
    “Jackie Burd is not going to be happy Rev when she sees this picture herself lying in a hospital bed being spread all over the internet.”

An her wi nae claes oan an aw! 🙁

67. Skip_NC

OK, so I had to google Yves Klein and came to this page:http://www.sfmoma.org/explore/collection/artwork/30803. They even have a helpful link where you can view the (ahem) detail of the painting.

68. Dougie Bee

Croompenstein says:
    at 12:55 pm
    Must admit though you have got Nurse Murphy’s nose spot on Stu
    …………………
    Naw..Croompenstein…if that was the case it should be in a trough..if they could fin yin big enough…

Stick to the writing job Mr Campbell…xxx

69. ronnie anderson

Is that ah Stryker Bed Rev.

70. mumsyhugs

TTIP – coming to a hospital near you soon if cross-dressing Nurse Smurphy gets his way! Jeez that looks scary. And when did he qualify as a nurse anyway? He’s never finished anything leading to a qualification in his life! 🙂

71. john king

KennyG says
    “Now I’m left with an image of Jim Murphy, wearing a dress, doing a little dance whilst rubbing cream over his body. Thanks Rev!”

YOU CAN TALK,
    I wasn’t thinking that until you said it,
    now its all I can think of,
    An ave still tae get ma tea an aw. 🙁

72. Mealer

Stu,
    is their a pseudo eroticism contained within this piece? Or am I just a bit weird?

73. keaton

At least the handwriting’s neat and tidy.

74. ronnie anderson

Ah wee tune fur You Rev enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmopSVOMSsU

75. Robert Peffers

@west_lothian_questioner says:17 January, 2015 at 3:28 pm:

Methinks it’s too late for the poor sod on the bed…”

Mibbies aye; Mibbies naw! Bit div ye no think yon puir patient looks afu lik Wee Willie Rennie in his usual, “live” state?

76. Lollysmum

O/T but funny

Burdzeye View on Emperors New Clothes

https://burdzeyeview.wordpress.com/2015/01/17/the-emperors-new-clothes/#comment-14991

77. AuldA

@Stu –
    I suppose you’ve tried to draw using a mouse. Never do that. Get a Wacom tablet or whatever. Or make a hand drawing and scan it…

78. Paula Rose

I’m impressed by the composition of the piece, it works very well at that level. Elements of the drawing do indeed suggest a number of interpretations, and the juxtaposition of three and two dimensions within one object reveal a very interesting nuance. I disagree with many of the above comments, I think Chris may well feel that the Rev’s artistry is severe competition, reflecting as it does a post rather than pre-modernist sensibility.

79. K1

Och AuldA…don’t encourage him! (…lovely Stu, jist you keep writing the words…let the nice man Chris do his job…) 🙂

80. john king

Mealer says
    “Stu,
    is their a pseudo eroticism contained within this piece? Or am I just a bit weird?”

Naw your just weird.

81. donald anderson

When Murphy is not wearing his Napleon bunnet and in Civvie uniforn he wears a lampshade oan his heid and an electric Iron roon his neck. “I’ve always been a Republian Socialist and never a Ubionist, cos I’m a Sellick fan.”

Time for the men in white coats and butterfly nets.

82. manandboy

The word ‘ HOSPITAL’ is going downhil – perhaps you have a talent for drawing after all Stu

83. cearc

Paula Rose,

The talent of the professional art critic is to take over 70 words to say ‘shite’!

84. Jamie Arriere

1000cc of everything? OK nurse I’ll have some medium-dry sherry….

85. cearc

Chic McGregor,

Nice one!

86. Paula Rose

Cearc darling, I took over 70 words to carefully point out that the Rev’s artistic skills are equal to if not better than the Royal Academy’s professor of drawing.

87. horacesaysyes

Nicely done, Rev. 😀

88. Rock

Shouldn’t that be 1000 cc MORE of everything?

89. tartanarse

Caledonia at 3.58.

Have you not seen his face? Surely no one in their right mind would get to the personality bit.

90. tartanarse

Wow, well done Stu. You can’t draw but you can fix puters.

I’ve been a bit frustrated of late waiting for posts to appear and they seem to be turning up pronto now. Cheers.

91. tartanarse

I take it back. What is going on with the posts?

92. boris

The patient will just need to “stick” around until the doctor is available

93. Ian Brotherhood

This Scotland Today extract is almost 20 years old, but a wee reminder of the state of play before Blair/New Labour got in. Worth it for the footage of the press conference where all the big beasts are side-by-side:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjk8ZeZewao

94. Tackety Beets

Sunday papers headline .

“UKOK , austerity cuts hits WOS ! ”

Rev , better than any of my efforts , and it’s brought a spirit of joy to the thread .

Go nae no dae that , How , just go Nae no !

95. Croompenstein

@Ian – Fascinating stuff Ian looking back at that time. But Jeezo doesn’t MacKay look like a wee boy and Shereen well what can you say…

96. BenInsular

Needs more daffodil!

97. Betty Boop

Stu, I think your cartoon is great. 🙂

The likeness to Skeletor is amazing, stick thin and no substance.

98. Mealer

Paula Rose,
    Pish.

99. Cod

Wait,should Nurse Murphy not be saying:

“Hello, I’m Nurse Murphy,and I prescribe 1000cc more of everything than any amount any other nurse might prescribe you”

Seems more accurate, no?

100. Steve Bowers

ha ha ha ha the pisstaking is brilliant, the cartoon is still making me laugh tho

101. lumilumi

A ha ha ha, love the cartoon! 😀

It makes its point and the artwork is… er… touching. 😉

Regular WoS readers have come to expect their Saturday cartoon and Rev Stu obliges, even when Chris is on holiday. That’s what I call dedication and value for money!

102. Paula Rose

@ lumilumi honey – touching, so apposite xxx

103. Gary

Jim Murphy aka ‘Slenderman’. Some say he’s an urban legend used by mothers to scare the children into behaving themselves but others say the legend is true – he appears at 6pm on televisions and anyone who believes what he says will go insane by the General Election….

104. Stan

Maybe it would be a nice touch if the patient had an IV drip of Irn Bru.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.