The Flip
We’ve just taken delivery of some REALLY interesting polling results, readers, but it’s going to take a while to fully analyse and write them up, so in the meantime let’s look at some slightly less interesting ones which came from the same poll – the Norstat one commissioned by the Sunday Times and published today, which we hitched a lift on.
The headline figures show an eight-point Yes lead, which is nice, although it’s also entirely abstract since the SNP has no current policy for translating independence support into actual independence (or even another referendum about it).
All the same, it seemed a good time to assess the wider picture.
So we compiled the Yes and No leads of the last 50 polls (the highest number our graphing app allows) into a bar chart, and also totalled up the “lead points”.
While the chart suggests a recently improving trend – Yes has led in seven of the last 14 polls, with six No leads and one tie – the overall tale of the 50 polls makes for grim reading. Of the remaining 36, Yes has been ahead in just five, with 30 No leads and another single tie.
And since we’re now just under a year out from a Holyrood election, we thought it’d be interesting to compare a similar period before the previous Holyrood election – a time when COVID was driving support for both independence and the SNP.
So we crunched the numbers for those 50 polls, and the new (old) graph was startling.
The numbers had almost exactly flipped. Over the course of the current Scottish Parliament, the accumulated 50-poll score has swapped from a 202-56 win for Yes to a 202-62 win for No.
The rise of Reform may or may not be about to herald another period of Yes leads – while Norstat found that Nigel Farage becoming PM might increase indy support by another four points, it also found that support for his party in Scotland continues to grow, and his personal unpopularity appears to be fading too. Indeed, he was the third most popular (or more accurately, the third least UNpopular) of all the leaders the poll named, and will surely soon overtake Anas Sarwar for second place.
LEADERS’ NET POPULARITY
John Swinney -7
Anas Sarwar -25
Nigel Farage -26
Russell Findlay -32
Keir Starmer -39
Kemi Badenoch -44
Donald Trump -51
But even if it does, the two graphs are still a shocking indictment of the performance of the SNP in government over the last four years. To have completely reversed what looked for a while like a settled Yes lead, in extremely favourable conditions as the UK imploded from all directions at once, will inevitably be recorded by history as the most catastrophic (and crucial) fumbling of the ball in the entire nine-decade history of the parliamentary Scottish independence movement.
(One reflected by the collapse in the SNP’s own support, from 56% to 33%.)
On those numbers and trends, as public disillusionment and anger continues to grow, another five years of the SNP in power is a luxury we simply cannot afford.
So should i vote Reform to get rid of the SNP
Whoever is best placed to beat them where you are.
One thing is certain the SNP is no longer a party who supports Independence the leadership wants closer ties with Labour under devolution.
So if you want Independence then vote for any other pro-Indy party and avoid the SNP entirely. But hold this thought in your mind it only takes one vote to stop the SNP winning and if that means Reform then do it.
The SNP is blocking every legal route Leann Gunn Barrett has provided and the ignoring it.
The last 50 polls shows an average 3% lead for “No.”
Not exactly an overwhelming endorsement for “Indy”–or any endorsement at all.
Who said it was?
Not you. But the half-dozen usual suspects who bombard “wings” with comments always claim majority support for Indy.
Ah, welcome back, Tory Clansman!
Or is it just another name swap on the rota?
“James,” did you ever consider the possibility that “Wings” was censoring my posts the last 6 months?
I assume “free speech Stu” will censor this one….
““James,” did you ever consider the possibility that “Wings” was censoring my posts the last 6 months?
I assume “free speech Stu” will censor this one….”
You’re on pre-moderation for tedious trolling. You’ve had plenty comments approved in that time.
“But the half-dozen usual suspects who bombard “wings” with comments always claim majority support for Indy.”
TOTAL LOLZ
JFC, that’s a giggle.
More and more I believe that Sturgeon was a Westminster plant and the GRR the tactic to destroy SNP support and therefor, in their eyes, support for independence or the vehicle upon which independence might be delivered.
“the SNP has no current policy for translating independence support into actual independence”
Liberate Scotland has such a policy and looks likely to stand candidates in most if not every seat:
link to barrheadboy.com
Alf, surely they would need to have a step-by-step PRACTICAL process in hand in order to do this?
Magical ideas don’t quite cut the mustard.
#ManifestoForIndependence
#Scottish UDI
I want, as much as you want, Liberate Scotland to succeed.
But, they must have a clearly defined procedure in place as to how we make our Prison Break.
You know this: Successful prison escapees have not spent their time day dreaming of better days, they’ve obsessively, and minutely, monitored the opposition/threats, identified weaknesses, made realistic and concrete plans around the weaknesses, then acted.
“they must have a clearly defined procedure in place”
A majority of seats and votes for independence will result in a declaration of independence, according to Liberate Scotland. That seems pretty clear to me. This was the SNP’s approach too until it became neutral on independence.
Don’t see a policy in that link, Alf. Just a list of candidates
The Liberate Scotland policy:
“standing on a single line mana(i)fest a vote for our candidate is a vote for independence”
link to barrheadboy.com
For more information the contact given is:
Allan Petrie, Press Officer, Liberate Scotland Email: allan@campaigner.scot Phone: 00447803725878
I don’t have any faith in Alba or the NSP and I certainly have no faith in the honesty and integrity of England’s Holyrood electoral system.
I think the Alba and NSP strategies are weak and their objectives easily compromised.
There is already ample evidence provided by the SNP’s demise showing how plans for liberating the Scots can be easily thwarted when all the eggs are placed in just one or two baskets.
However, I am beginning to accept there just might be some robustness built into Liberate Scotland’s multi-party, multi-independents, multi-failsafe and fallback strategy.
A mass deployment of individual candidates running on a Liberate Scotland ‘liberate the Scots’ ticket might rouse the Scots and give them something genuinely supportive of Scottish independence to vote for.
Liberate Scotland’s stated policy is:
“standing on a single line mana(i)fest a vote for our candidate is a vote for independence”
Well, that’s what the SNP telt us tae and it’s a bit too weak for me. I’d rather it wasn’t quite so vague.
Here’s the policy that works for me:
…a vote for our candidate is a vote for:
The immediate declaration of Scottish independence and the Denouncement (dissolution) of the Treaty of Union between Scotland and England
And no ridiculous talk of of S30s and referendums or asking permission for a toilet break from a foreign country’s ‘supreme’ court.
So, yes. If there’s a Liberate Scotland candidate running in your constituency and they look genuine once you’ve checked them out then there’s no harm in voting for them.
Otherwise you’d be as well staying at home.
Yessers need to get out of their permanent fixation with the SNP. They’re a Britnat unionist party. They already have a mandate for indy & choose (repeatedly) not to use it so why on earth should they be given another one?
The only ones keeping the SNP alive are yoons by repeatedly talking about them long past their sell-by date.
Anyone could stand for indy. A majority win & we’re out before the UK sinks any lower into fascism & elections are a thing of the past as we’re already witnessing across Europe as they warmonger for war & rig elections.
The biggest looser from this by-election is SarwarLtd. Farage has chosen his battle ground well. It’s a win win.
Aye, and now Frog Face is hinting at scrapping the Barnett formula. Get voting, lemmings!
Just think. Farage will make the 69rs great again.
What will it do to “Jammies” Kelly when he finds out you have some questions in the latest poll? Is anyone offering odds on him spontaneously combusting?
Why is Trump included in the leaders populatity? Fuck all to do with us. If Trump why not Putin? Xi? Who ever’s in charge in Timbuktu?
“Why is Trump included in the leaders popularity?”
Very good question.
What it does is highlight ignorance of leaders’ actions. The polls in the USA are tighter. Even his negative rating amongst self-described Democrats is better than this poll’s.
Or maybe those of us in the states are the ignorant ones, not realizing how bad Donald Trump really is.
It’s not magic: as English nationalism starts to make itself felt, even Scottish Unionists will start to wonder if they are on ‘the right side of history’ – some of them, at least. It’s a massive gamble, though, voting for Reform in Scotland, if they start to knock out the SNP. It will create a vacuum in the devolutionist camp, if not the independence one. Sometimes, it’s better the Devil you know. If the SNP is to be take out, let the independence united movement do it, not Farage.
Farage hints that he might consider cutting Scotland some slack to attain its independence again, but I wouldn’t trust him one iota. He will appeal to rUK from south of the border, living in Scotland, and that is inevitable, but they could become a dangerous, inside, destabilizing force against independence if he manages to organize them outwith the Unionist camp. The Scots have rarely managed to outwit the English in our own interest. It’s time we learned the art.
Indeed, since he is very much an English Nationalist, I should imagine that will be his strategy, because, no way, is he going to sanction a breakaway that could lose England its nuclear arsenal, its subsea cables around (from Norway through our seas) and from, Scotland. I think his real long-term strategy would be to show Scotland exactly what subsumption and/or colonization actually mean in reality. So much more at stake now than oil and gas.
I’m quite unable to fathom out why you think an Independent Scotland would lose rUK its nuclear arsenal or its energy security through Scottish waters.
These are assets that the government of iScotland will trade off against concessions from rUK that benefit us. At the first serious sign that we might not be prepared to play ball, I am certain that rUK will use its overwhelmingly superior military capability to seize and hold the assets that it will see as critical for its own survival.
You think? Well, if the trade-offs are anything like the trade-offs to date, they will be handed over for no return. You evidently don’t know Scottish and English history concerning the Union.
We agreed to a partnership Union where we also agreed a number of concessions. Guess what, Hatey? They took the lot and left us with nothing. Then we had the oil and gas and we certainly traded that off, didn’t we? They took the lot and we were left with nothing.
Then, we have renewables coming from Norway, through our waters, and our own terrestrial and maritime wind farms. Can you guess what has happened? Let me enlighten you: they get overland and undersea cables that carry energy to the North of England to be processed.
They didn’t make the same mistake as they did with Grangemouth during the oil boom. They have left us no production/prrocessing facility, little storage facility. The Freeport’s will join the other ports where Scottish whisky and other goods are taken to English ports to be exported.
The pelagic fishing industry has been sold out again to Europe, and Peterhead, the main landing and processing port is now threatened with closure, and its business might go abroad.
They will take our seas, the bits they stole in 1997, ty to measure everything from the greatest jutting-out part (North-east) down to N-E England and keep those waters. Our land is being sold off to conglomerates in England and abroad.
Of course these assets are crucial for England’s survival, and, yes, they will do everything in their power to ensure: a) that we can’t use them; b) that we do not get a fair deal in the event of independence; c) that we have been subsumed and, are, therefore part of Greater England, and are not a colony as specified in international law.
What will we do? Let me hazard a guess: a) we will sell off everything at rock bottom prices; or, b) we will just hand everything over because England will claim that the Treaty stipulates that they are the dominant force in the UK; or, c) we will whine and moan and do absolutely nothing as per – since just after 1707, to be exact, to the present day.
So, Lorn, what you’re saying is that in every interaction or “trade” between Scotland and England to date, Scotland has come off second best.
But after Indy, Scotland will suddenly be in a position to strip rUK of its nuclear arsenal and its energy security.
And now you’re saying that post Indy, we’ll get ripped off again, conveniently ignoring two significant facts:
Regarding renewable energy, 90% of the infrastructure costs have been paid by the 90% of consumers who don’t live in Scotland. They own nine tenths of it.
Regarding Scotland’s politicians, post Indy it will be the same clueless numpties in charge that are in charge now. We Scots voters don’t like smart politicians – they are far too likely to tell us things we don’t want to hear – so then we won’t vote for them.
We need to get real. Post Indy we will still be trapped on this tiny island with another country 10 times bigger in population, and economic and military power. We will get as far trying to dictate the terms of the divorce to England as the brexiteers did trying to dictate to the EU.
I expect the nukes to stay in Scotland. I hope they do. Handled correctly, they will be a nice little earner for us, in the years when we will need every penny we can get. Ditto any wind that blows, and any fossil resources we can dig up.
Hatey: I’m all for facing reality. I bloody know full well that the first few years of an independent Scotland will be as tough as hell.
After independence, international law is pretty straightforward: the continuator state – and that would be rUK (aka England) – would have to remove its nuclear arsenal within a specified time, and it’s not too long. Think Russia-Ukraine. They would not want a hostile nation to keep their nuclear arsenal. The Americans, of course, would try to interfere, so it will not be a forgone conclusion that they are removed immediately, or ever. Whether the incoming Scottish government would continue to host them would depend on the government. This lot would host them for zilch.
Even if 90% of infrastructure cost is paid by rUK, those cables are running across our land and under our seas. OUR LAND and OUR SEAS, guaranteed under the f*****g Treaty. How much is that 90% paying us now? Nothing, I’d imagine. They snatched a huge parcel of our seas in 1998/99 under the pretext of devolution and they will try to keep it – and, probably, try to take more.
The Norwegians are trapped on a land mass that includes very much larger Sweden, but they managed to, a) gain their independence; b) keep their own oil and gas not only against any intervention from Sweden or Denmark, but they also stood up to the Americans who were ready to step in and take over the lot. Now, that takes cojones.
You are right about the so-called politicians – actually, many straight out of an ill-run nursery for immature eejits – that we have in our pretendy wee parliament. Which is why I keep on saying that we have to break this hegemony these people appear to revel in without consequences BEFORE independence. Most on here have a laugh and reply: but independence will sort them oot. No, it won’t. Either we get them out in 2026, or we are in the No Man’s Land of politics for the conceivable.
Neither can we afford for Farage to get them out: we have to do it for ourselves. Otherwise, we will be back to square one with English Nationalism on our backs. Nobody is talking about a one-sided dictating of terms. That is the point. It won’t be one-sided. The best we can aim for is a two-way process, which is possible if we understand the Treaty, fight our corner with only the most astute constitutional lawyers and refuse to be threatened. It doesn’t matter how we achieve independence, the negotiations will involve the Treaty because they will use the Treaty even though they deny its existence. They are not called Perfidious Albion for nothing! They will throw everything at us and we will have to stand firm and, for once in over 300 years, get the better of them.
They might try to bring out their military against us, but thousands – hundreds of thousands – of Scots are military-trained. It’s a rare upside to being cannon fodder. Would they want an urban and rural guerrilla war on their hands? I doubt it, but they would try to mobilize all those New Scots, and cause division, as they did in NI with the Protestants. That is why we have to have international law and constitutional law on our side, to avoid the worst they could throw at us. We will also need friends in the world.
” It’s a massive gamble, though, voting for Reform in Scotland”
Indeed. Why not vote for Scotland instead…and stay at home?
It seems pointless to degrade oneself, and perhaps, if one is a native Scot, cause irreversible psychological damage to one’s own mind, by voting for an English nationalist party just to get rid of the SNP which works for the same crowd and is finished anyway.
Ah, dear Northcode.
It’s a massive gamble to assume that your certainty that staying at home represents “voting for Scotland” will be shared by everybody else.
Others may be just as certain that staying at home proves the Scots don’t give a shit.
That Donald Trump, an unapologetic American Nationalist, is seen so unfavorably in Scotland while Swinney, a washed up pretender, is at the top, tells me that the support for the NuSNP is mostly coming from opportunistic spongers that like “free for all” policies instead of carriers of an independentist heart.
Setting aside any snotty judgement of Trump’s brash politics, the mainstay of his MAGA approach is independence from the globalist elite and full reliance on his nation’s strength and resources.
Scots appear befuddled, confused and aimless, and risk being left behind if they insist on trying the same ineffective solution on a structural problem.
Farage is like a fox in a chickens’ pen, causing upset and ruffled feathers. Change is needed, everywhere, and has always been beneficial. Let him cook.
Trump has brought hundreds of millions of investment into Scotland, while our own politicians have done little but take anything not sufficiently screwed down.
Looks like those who support the liberation of the Scots and Scotland (the majority of indigenous Scots) now finally see the SNP as the dead-end it is for their cause and have abandoned it.
The SNP is now utterly severed from Scotland’s independence movement and can no longer be used as a measure to gauge support for the movement.
In fact support for Scottish independence is probably inversely proportional to how little support there is for the SNP.
I don’t believe it does the Scots any good to participate in England’s rigged electoral system in Scotland.
However, if a Liberate Scotland candidate is an available and genuine option then voting for that candidate might, I say might, help further the cause for Scotland’s liberation.
I still think England will find a way to thwart Scottish liberation via the Holyrood electoral route even if Liberate Scotland makes significant gains.
But I suppose it’s worth a go. If nothing else it’ll send a message – if it’s actually worth the effort of sending a message of any kind at all to Scotland’s uncaring oppressor.
Meanwhile, Salvo and liberate.scot can work on other routes not under the control of England – eventually one of them will pay-off for the Scots.
‘eventually one of them will pay off for the Scots’ not sure I have that much time to wait as I will hit 80 next year – time just ain’t on my side.
I know folk say a week is a long time in politics but I don’t see Scotland getting a quick exit from the union any time soon – bloody depressing though it is.
It’s not all about you, diabloandco. There are young folk – folk in their early sixties who might live to see Scotland’s liberation.
Northcode:
A bit harsh.
As much as I agree with many/most/all? of your posts, I think you’ve misunderstood the MAIN point diabloandco was making:
It’s NOT going to be a quick exit!
And I agree, it’s NOT.
I think much clearer battle lines will be drawn by everyone in 2026, AFTER the GE. Then the aim is 2031.
And 2031 is where the first part of diabloandco post hits home, cos they are not sure they will be still alive by then.
“Meanwhile, Salvo and liberate.scot”
That should read “Meanwhile, Salvo and liberation.scot”
Here’s a link to Liberation Scotland’s website Liberation Scotland
Here’s a link to Salvo’s website while I’m at it: Salvo
It’s my fault and I accept full responsibility for the misunderstanding.
I was trying to make light of a serious issue by referring to those in their early sixties as youngsters in comparison to diabloandco’s self-declared ancientness (please accept my sincere apologies, diabloandco ).
I accept Nae Need’s point that Scotland’s liberation isn’t going to be a quick and easy affair and that many Scots who are getting on in years might not be around to see it…myself included by the way.
I thought I was being amusing when I was actually being insensitive.
Sometimes my wit isn’t as witty as I think it is.
Agreed – but forgiven!
If reform does well in the Hamilton by-election.They will be on a high for next years hollyrood election.tory supporters will jump on that bandwagon like a sailor jumping on a wh*re after 6 months at sea. If as expected Swinney refuses to deal with minor independence partys and the yes movement then asks for snp 1&2 thereby giving reform the real possibility of maximum numbers we will know without any doubt that independence is off the snp table for ever.My opinion is the snp are a colonial administration they have taken the oath to Charles 3rd over their obligations to their electorate for personal gain, moneys and position. Farage is a mini trump and all the greed that comes with it. Swinneys snp are more than happy to put your children/grandchildrens future in his hands for short time gain.We need to rid ourselves of the Swinney/Forbes colonial administration. Thankfully good people are working on that as we speak.we will have our say through international law.
Stu H,
I’m just going to rudely interject at THIS point, and be quite rude too, please don’t take it personally:
“we will know without any doubt that independence is off the snp table for ever.”
No further proof of this has EVER been needed for a decade.
Seriously, wtf are you even talking about.
The NuSNP, in my not so humble opinion, are NOT devolutionist, they are 100% UNIONIST.
Corrado Mella says:
1 June, 2025 at 2:44 pm
Setting aside any snotty judgement of Trump’s brash politics, the mainstay of his MAGA approach is independence from the globalist elite and full reliance on his nation’s strength and resources.
Indeed, there is a lot to like in the MAGA approach to things and the idea of self-reliance — or, dare I say it, “independence” (from globalist currents which do not help the working or middle-class Americans). As I see it, MAGA is pretty hostile to both mainstream parties (they are obviously much closer to one, but they sure contain a lot of the other and hearken a lot back to the days of JFK).
It should not be forgotten that Trump is actually half Scottish.
I was perusing some archived Wings polls, because I was interested in two things, Scotland’s support for Holyrood, and Monarchy.
Historically, across party and affiliations, the majority of Scotland was very supportive of Holyrood and Monarchy. That was a long time ago, I just wanted to remind myself how it stood then, because I’d be really interested in an up-to-date poll on those questions given the current political zeitgeist.
Anecdotally, I’d suggest such support is far from the case nowadays and is a possible example of another ‘Flip’. I haven’t seen a recent poll containing such questions, though admittedly I haven’t searched that hard yet.
*What’s your point caller? I dunno, Scotland embracing the abolition of the devolved ‘Parliament’, Scotland’s representatives being purely MP’s – back to square one and simplicity (a simple majority FPTP)
and perhaps on the back of Republicanism.
If support for Reform is rising, that to me is eventual majority support for the old status-quo of central UK Government, so Devolution doesn’t square with that. If Scotland (and Independence) wants a reset, that is the only logical route to go down.
It puts things back to being very simple and straight forward again. This is what you have now, and all you will ever have, if you want out, then send a majority for Independence FPTP – done. You no longer have a Devo/ Neverendum route – it’s that or nothing – take it or leave it.
A reminder we could have had that decades ago, because we sent SNP MP’s there with such majorities. It just happened the SNP changed their minds about all that UK democracy nonsense, and had a better, longer game idea… much, much longer.
“If support for Reform is rising, that to me is eventual majority support for the old status-quo of central UK Government,”
I have more faith in our brethren, it’s a short term ‘kicking’ thing, to revert to normal measures in 2026.
Well said IM
We need to stop tying ourselves in knots, the punters switch off.
Keep it simple.
If reform does well in the Hamilton by-election.They will be on a high for next years hollyrood election.tory supporters will jump on that bandwagon like a sailor jumping on a wh*re after 6 months at sea. If as expected Swinney refuses to deal with minor independence partys and the yes movement then asks for snp 1&2 thereby giving reform the real possibility of maximum numbers we will know without any doubt that independence is off the snp table for ever.My opinion is the snp are a colonial administration they have taken the oath to Charles 3rd over their obligations to their electorate for personal gain, moneys and position. Farage is a mini trump and all the greed that comes with it. Swinneys snp are more than happy to put your children/grandchildrens future in his hands for short time gain.We need to rid ourselves of the Swinney/Forbes colonial administration. Thankfully good people are working on that as we speak.we will have our say through international law.
If the SNP up to 2014 had two main elements to it – the fundamentalists (independence asap) and the gradualists (devolutionists?), then the latter clearly took over since 2014 and presumably gutted the SNP of their main enemy. I seem to remember more than a few SNP MSP/MP’s standing down through the years after 2014. Allowing the SNP to have two widely differing views up to 2014 now looks like an irreversible and catastrophic error. A clearout of the post 2014 SNP to return it to a primary focus on independence (and effective governance following gaining independence) now would have to be on such a huge scale that it’s hard to imagine. If the SNP has been irreversibly changed for the worse, then what?
Ian,
“If the SNP has been irreversibly changed for the worse”.
If?
Seriously?
Folk still ask this ‘if’ question?
I can not comprehend the extent of the information blackout zone you have been living in for the last decade.
Please do some reading and get up to speed.
@ Ian: It doesn’t matter whether the SNP is or was fundamentalist or gradualist, they are now nothing but colonial administrators, content to play Westminster’s game. They are irrelevant to the independence movement. The whole ball-game has changed since Scotland has been revealed to be a colony of England and that England, far from having any intention of ever granting Scotland its freedom, is tightening its stranglehold on Scotland’s culture, democracy and resources.
“Then what?”, you ask. We stop wasting our votes on the useless SNP. We stop giving legitimacy to English rule over Scotland. We stop playing Westminster’s game and withdraw our consent to Westminster rule. We vote only for parties that will refuse to send elected MPs to Westminster, and if we have no such candidates or parties to vote for, we refuse to vote at all. We throw our weight behind SALVO and Liberation Scotland and the campaign to have Scotland’s colonial status recognised internationally.
MSM reporting 40 Orc bombers destroyed.
Rare for me to indulge in a glass of red on the sabbath!
Watch you don’t choke.
Prick.
We have only one option. We need to take back control of the SNP.
Sadly ALBA is not going to become the vehicle to give us what we need. With Alex Salmond passing away that dream is over.
Get into your local meetings. Get into the hustings. Ask the question “What are you doing to get independence”?
Do not take the placid answers they will try to placate you with. It’s not acceptable.
The SNP was quietly taken over by a bunch of people with agendas which are not the same as ours. We are Scotland. We are sovereign. They want stuff we do not.
It is only when the SNP starts to realise it needs to get back to its roots that we will head back towards independence.
Vote Monster Raving loony. Or even better vote for an independent who is more closely aligned with you.
But for the love of God do not vote for the Reform Company. This country will spiral down if they get any power.
Farage and his litany of lies will affect you for the worse. It will probably affect your loved ones and neighbors even worse.
Your kids will be massively worse off.
Do not buy into the slogans and rhetoric which is all they have. Same as a certain guy in Germany in the 1930’s. Farage will lie, lie again and keep on lying.
There’s a saying widely accepted by online debaters about what resorting to comparisons with that certain guy indicates.
“Rookie” Scot indeed.
“We need to take back control of the SNP.”
That will NEVER, EVER happen.
They will NEVER, EVER allow it.
What is your next move?
Herr Sturgeon found no difficulty silencing her enemies. Salmond was to be airbrushed from history along with the concept of male and female. Their own msps were silenced and threatened. Deviant msps were encouraged to to flourish and get promoted to to staggering heights way beyond their ability. Anyone stepping out of line with the party policy was quickly removed. The Scottish legal system was under the Fuhrer’s control. Lies was the currency, secrecy at Gestapo levels. Money was stolen and people died under the dictatorship of Herr Sturgeon and her gay Nazis.
PS. I hope you enjoyed commenting on here today. If Herr Sturgeon got her/it’s way then Wings would be kapute. The Rev would be detained under the Reichstag Laws.
Sadly, I agree.
it’s an absolutely shocking travesty.
“People died”
Naw, you’ve taken that one too far.
Why is it that on Wings BTL, even the better posts rarely avoid the descent into parody before they get to the end?
@ Rookiescot: Who do you suppose is going to take back control of the SNP? The independence-supporting membership have all left, sickened and disgusted with the party’s total inaction on independence, their litany of broken promises and failed policies, and their undemocratic foisting of identity politics and biology-denying woke bullshit on the population. The SNP are nothing but colonial administrators. Even if it were somehow possible for independence supporters to regain control of the SNP, it’s far, far too late. The brand is tarnished and discredited beyond redemption. In any case, Westminster politics is yesterday’s news. Scotland is never going to gain anything by continuing to play by Westminster’s rules. We need to throw off the shackles of English colonial rule once and for all.
Excellent post.
I find it beyond perplexing that whilst others appear to be moderated (for far more infrequent, lesser misdemeanours), you’re given cart blanche to troll incessantly and without pause – with utter impunity and immunity.
Literally every single once of your bile-laden, worthless “contributions” here consist of either abject trolling, abuse, goading and/or other unpleasantness. You add ZERO value here.
If it were my site, your arse wouldn’t touch the ground, pal. You’d be IP perma-banned.
Listen “pal”, it’s not your site, and it’s a Scottish independence site so it’s unionist pricks like you who are the trolls. Be a good chap and….fuck off.
I know you have trouble reading and understanding words (especially before 11pm throwing out time) so I’ll spell it out for you, pal.
I never said it was my site, because of it were, you wouldn’t be here mate. I was merely pointing out the obvious: you’re a washed up POS with nothing remotely of value to say, ever. Do one, fatarse.
In your dreams.
I’ll be voting Alba and only Alba.
They won’t win but your vote is never wasted if it goes to what you believe in.
SNP have made it clear these last few years that independence isn’t as important as puting sexual deviants in government roles and schools.
That’s them and every English Party up here out of contention for me.
Reform never ever ever
Tories never ever
Labour never
Liberal parasite party happy to join any of the above.
SNP not in this format.
Greens are on a red light up here.
Alba- Absolutely Likely Before All.
“They won’t win but your vote is never wasted if it goes to what you believe in.”
This is two types of nonsense for the price of one.
Alba have no plan for their Prison Break.
None, Just like ALL the other nominally pro-indy parties.
Whit?
You think the SNP are the only WANS WITH THE WEAKNESS to break your heart? NADA.
They too, just want you to bask in the dreamy feel goodz, whilst failing to PLAN, you know PLANNING, planning ahead, making a step by step PLAN, it’s all a step too far for them.
Alba is AT IT too.
This, to me, is terribly disappointing.
I actually feel like asking for my money back.
And they always want their wee survey filled out.
A survey with ONLY closed questions and no room for a punter to manouver AND EXPAND THEIR THINKING INTO WHAT MIGHT APPROXIMATE a genuine conversation.
Fuck that.
I’ve seriously had enough of all THIS SHIT.
I will sit on the fringes and support ANYONE and ANYTHING that blows this FKN CRAP out of the water.
Interesting poll comparison but should maybe come as no surprise.
The SNP are not an independence party. They once were but not now. Quite the reverse in fact. There policies these last years have been ipso facto anti independence, and folks know it.
But against this background the underlying desire for independence is strong. Folks want change. That is why the next Hollyrood election must be used to secure an independence majority.
The anti independence policy of the SNP calling for SNP1 and SNP2 and where in 2021 some 1,093,000 folks casting their list vote secured a peppercorn tow seats is gone. Folks now understand what that ploy was all about.
And that is why 2026 will be an opportunity to deliver a super majority that will be an ipso fact referendum. Unity candidates declaring on an independence ticket – no need for a compromised SNP.
And so, in the absence of any independence campaign and a recalcitrant and blocking SNP it is actually heartening that this most recent poll puts independence as high as it does. Independence, and the desire for it has not gone away.
So if you say voting Alba is a waste of time how does a voter show that their main focus is independence?
It’s for all to see my desire independence.
I ain’t dead and neither is Independence.
Effigy,
I’m not sure a voter can, in this moment in time, realistically show that their main focus is independence, (just now appears to be more about fuck you politics, than love you indy), but I DO THINK that over the next few months leading up to the 2026 GE WE can shout very loudly AT our nominally pro-indy parties (like Alba) and request that they adopt the Manifesto For Independence. If they don’t adopt it, then we know with absolute certainty that they are not serious, they’re just players like the rest of the squa(li)d.
From the inroads Peter A Bell has already tried to make with minor Scottish political parties, who are nominally pro-indy, I reckon we’re looking at some vague, colly-wobbles. Why, I have no idea. It might just be down to poor comms.
Alba and Peter’s NSP should help fill the fast reducing void in Roddy’s unity (multi-party and independents) Liberate Scotland initiative, with one single LS candidate standing in every constituency.
Unity is the key to removing the oppressor and his little helpers and liberating the people.
Effijy, Go to the Barrhead Boy website and read about the Liberate Scotland campaign. I am really hopefully we will all have someone to vote for.
The actual results of the Norstat poll Stu cited on the upcoming Holyrood election:
Constituency vote: SNP 33%, Reform 18%, Alba 0%, “Other” 2% (with Con, Lab, LibDem and Greens making up the rest).
Regional vote: SNP 28%, Reform 16%, Alba 3%, “Other” 1%.
In short the only overt Indy Party (ALBA) averages a microscopic 1.5% of the vote. The SNP, denounced by many here as NOT a “true” Indy Party, averages 30.5%.
To sum up, the Unionist parties will receive 60-70% of the vote in the next Holyrood election.
Nor is this poll result an outlier. The last eleven polls show the SNP earning a range of from 25-32% of the vote (regional) and 32-37% (constituency). See link to whatscotlandthinks.org
These facts will puncture a lot of fantasies.
Shut down the Westminister parliament
We need Alex Salmond. The divine spirit of big Eck. I’m going to vote Alba. Or through a Scottish Prism the Independents for Independence. I love what they have to say.
I’ve been at the West End festival in Glasgow. I had a great time. However, there wasn’t a Saltire in sight.
Our country has no identity when the major festivals are foreign. This has to change pronto. The English are moving in. 1 million English – which we’ve got lots in common with. But they love the Union Jack.
I watched the Kneecap film on Prime. I laughed all the way through it. We need a Scots kneecap to get Gen Z interested. We need a cultural revolution.
We need a natives first approach to Independence. It’s why all the guys like Hatey McHateface on here get so tetchy. Because it will win.
If only our so called nationalist SNP hadn’t sold us out under Sturgeon. Our country would be liberated.
We’re fighting for liberation. Alba has to back Scots first. It’s not hard.
See when you’re on the buss. The Migrants are everywhere. Speaking their own language. People are going to vote for Farage. Especially the English that have invaded Scotland themselves.
The conversations are – the English are invading as well. Go to any pub. They say the same thing.
All the Scots need is a voice.
So contrary to – popular opinion. I hope The SNP ("Tractor" - Ed) scum – will win Hamilton next week – and they loath Scotland. They are Green pricks. But I can’t tolerate Farage. With the NHS on the line: he can get himself to fuck.
Hail Alba!