Here And There

Posted on June 02, 2025 by

This is what Labour say in Scotland:

And this is what they say elsewhere, when they think nobody in Scotland is looking:

One day someone’s going to tell them about the internet, and our life’s going to get a lot more difficult. Until that day, though, let’s just enjoy the laughs.

0 to “Here And There”

1. Effijy says:

And what chance replacing Barnett will see Scotland’s finances increase after 15 years of established Westminster cuts.

I would have thought a long established Party like SNP would be jumping all over this getting on TV, Newspapers and Billboards but a man in far off Bath has given them the ball but they won’t even catch it let alone drop it.

2. Hatey McHateface says:

“cut funding for Scotland’s NHS and public services”

They will have to cut funding to pay for all the compo claims coming down the pipe. The botched jam jar recycling. The discrimination cases brought by believers in biology. The case brought by the late Alex Salmond (how is that one coming along?). Etc.

They could claw it all back by turfing the current occupants of HR onto the streets and housing asylum seekers in the place. I know asylum seekers get a bad press, but their criminality and profligacy with taxpayer’s extorted cash is amateur time compared with the politicos and the civil service.

Maybes we should have a referendum. Ask the people of Scotland what we would rather spend our money on – the pointless wee, pretendy parliament? Or our public services.

Haha! We won’t get that referendum because we all know how Scots would vote.

3. Northcode says:

“One day someone’s going to tell them about the internet…”

It won’t make any difference. Just as life found a way in Jurassic Park…stupidity will find a way in Scotland’s political class.

I think WoS will be enjoying the laughs for a long long time to come yet.

On a different note.

I’m not a fan of Farage… but I believe in the old phrase ‘manners maketh man’.

I don’t believe it’s proper for Scotland’s public figures who have a public voice and are public representatives of Scotland to use such undiplomatic, crude and frankly childish language like ‘poisonous, pathetic and toxic little man’ or ‘chief clown’ to describe the elected leader of a foreign political party regardless of their personal opinion of that leader or the party they represent.

It can be difficult to keep one’s true opinion of another strictly private…especially when dealing with folk whose beliefs and actions one might find unappealing or even repulsive; but representatives of entire peoples should be held to a much higher standard than the rest of us.

International diplomacy is vitally important to good relations between nations…just take a quick look around the world to see what happens when it fails.

• Geri says:

No surprise really. This was discussed during indy that this is exactly what they’d do. Bitter together, pulling & sharing eh? Aye, just misery. Nawbags won’t be happy until we’re all in the same shite standard of living. Indy boys had it right – bring it on. They’ve feck all left to flog so they’re on the prowl & “Scottish” Labour can shut up cause they voted & promoted Bitter Together despite knowing Scotland was being condemned in the event of a No vote.

Farage would be better to scrap the Union & make England independent but there’s nae chance of that ever happening. England would be piss poor cause it produces nothing but any endless procession of fuckwits to abuse & thieve Scotland & that won’t ever change.

• Northcode says:

“there’s nae chance of that ever happening”

Aye, Geri. If he ever gets to be PM he’ll be taken aside and telt tae shut up aboot England ditchin’ Scotland and those with the real power will explain to him why England desperately needs Scotland and that the empire went bust quite a wee while ago and that England’s cupboard would be bare without Scotland’s vast larder tae keep it stocked up.

4. Richard Watson says:

Wales does badly out of Barnett. Scotland does well. That is an article about the Welsh FM. No hypocrisy from Anas.

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

It might be about the Welsh FM, but it explicitly says Barnett applies to all three devolved nations. Read properly.

5. Tommo says:

Count yourselves lucky; here in Wales our representatives have determined that their number needs to be increased by 50 % (that’s right -half as many as before, disregarding their numberless ‘staffers’). This is due to the immense pressure of work, and the fact that many of the members of the Cynulliad have partners and friends without gainful public employment- and that clearly cannot be right.
    As an instance, our Member for international relations is rushed off her feet-or will be as soon as we HAVE any international relations.
    Devolution is a vast racket, and should be abolished.

6. Confused says:

they probably want to give us more money, like 100% of all the taxes raised in Scotland, and the oilfields properly accrued to our account, and not “ex regio”.

I am sure.

7. If Reform become the main opposition to SNP at Holyrood,
    the BBC in Scotland will promote them as they did with Ruth Davidson and are doing with Sarwar.

Kaye,Cook,Robertson and Campbell will be all over Farage,

telling us how shite Scotland is without the charity of the English.

8. Ian McCubbin says:

Thd Barnett formula.
    A friend says he can give you back £10 you loaned him.
    He says he has to borrow another £5.
    So you will get £5 but then adds he owes interest on other loans and your share is £1.
    So you get £4.
    The Barnett formula who wants it.

9. JockMcT says:

Farage, like Trump, is an opportunist and a disrupter. He might actually be good for our Independence cause in the long run. Something has to give in the age old impasse and either cheek of the same old arse is not going to give us what we want. Let him tear it all down and then see what emerges…If not the Barnett formula, what then? Justify it all by some fresh approach and modern day accounting and let’s see who pees up the wall the highest.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,891 Posts, 1,238,768 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on Clocks And Calendars: “Happy anniversary tomorrow of the 1307 battle of Glentrool. Bruce’s looking at spiders days were put behind him at Glentrool…Mar 30, 18:19
    • Frank Gillougley on Clocks And Calendars: “Aye, ‘Vote fur Jack Duggan Sarwar’, it’s definitely got a ring tae it. Pure wild wae it so he is.Mar 30, 17:23
    • Young Lochinvar on Clocks And Calendars: “Yee haw pardner.. Uncle Sam’s getting all worked up about a super bigly expensive low gear fly by mission “to…Mar 30, 17:21
    • Alf Baird on Clocks And Calendars: “Past time The Hootsman changed its teetle tae ‘The Hoose Jock’; or just go the hale hog as ‘The Colonialist’.…Mar 30, 15:50
    • Aidan on Clocks And Calendars: “Labour are really going to form a coalition with Reform are they? Oh aye i bet they’ll be shouting about…Mar 30, 15:14
    • Captain Caveman on Sicknote Slippers: “Although approaching things from a different perspective to my own, what a marvelous post, though doubtless largely wasted here. Bravo.…Mar 30, 14:12
    • Mark Beggan on Clocks And Calendars: “If you thought that was crazy did anyone see Scottish Labours political broadcast online. A day in the life of…Mar 30, 14:11
    • David on Clocks And Calendars: “I assume this was written and supplied to The Scotsman by a deluded Labour Hack. Why don’t The Scotsman republish…Mar 30, 14:10
    • Campbell Clansman on Clocks And Calendars: “Labour, and The Scotsman, must think voters are dumb enough to take this “analysis” seriously. Which says a lot about…Mar 30, 13:28
    • Lorncal on Sicknote Slippers: “The real far right is a tiny minority of heid-the-bas. Always was. Even in the halcyon days of Mosley. What…Mar 30, 13:25
    • Confused on Sicknote Slippers: “better together, pooling and sharing so, exactly what benefit do we draw from this “arrangement”, being siamese-twinned to these kleptomaniac…Mar 30, 12:59
    • Northcode on Protest But Don’t Survive: “A fine adaptation from Allende’s speech, James, and a quote most apt in the context of Scotland’s subjugation by a…Mar 30, 12:11
    • Northcode on Sicknote Slippers: “*Do yous want tae march? Apparently 99% of actual, real and genuine liberty seeking, independence supporting Scots didn’t want to……Mar 30, 11:47
    • Stevie on Sicknote Slippers: “I thought last year that REFORM would bevcome the official opposition and I still think that. Why would anyone who…Mar 30, 11:47
    • Captain Caveman on Protest But Don’t Survive: “… So who, pray, are you giving your hard fought and hard won vote for, Northie? Or – don’t tell…Mar 30, 11:20
    • 100%Yes on Sicknote Slippers: “If you weren’t convinced the SNP didn’t won’t Independence you will now, “FRIST Minister John Swinney will push the UK…Mar 30, 10:53
    • 100%Yes on Sicknote Slippers: “In a Independent Scotland we shouldn’t pay pension pots of these individuals who have made a carer out of the…Mar 30, 10:23
    • Northcode on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Saturday’s “We Believe in Scotland… but only as a region of England” march was bad for the SNP, bad for…Mar 30, 10:08
    • Willie on Sicknote Slippers: “A Lordship in waiting he hopes is Me Peter Wishart. And where else would one be than in London over…Mar 30, 10:04
    • Andy on Sicknote Slippers: “I am an anti semite. I did not realise this till 2 years ago when Netanyahu announced that anyone who…Mar 30, 09:59
    • Northcode on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Even the acting talent that is the world famous Brian Cox (albeit he was working with a poor script) could…Mar 30, 09:24
    • Jamie on Sicknote Slippers: “Read the roll of honour, Scotland’s bravest men…Mar 30, 07:47
    • Mark Beggan on Sicknote Slippers: “Anyone waving the Iranian regime flag is advocating the destruction of Israel. The emblem on this flag states that the…Mar 30, 02:41
    • Cactus on Irony you can’t buy: “Backbench.Mar 30, 02:39
    • Cactus on Irony you can’t buy: “Hey… You’ve got to hide yer love away… Groovy whit Scotland’s calling. Cheers. REV.Mar 30, 02:39
    • Cynicus on Sicknote Slippers: “Rev, your link to “a pretty openly anti-Semitic protest “ shows nothing of the kind. It is to a Twitter…Mar 30, 02:21
    • Young Lochinvar on Sicknote Slippers: “Meant to conclude: Signed: Your angry and defrauded long term true independence voter base..Mar 30, 01:12
    • Young Lochinvar on Protest But Don’t Survive: “Yup.. You know what grips me; these testimonial interviews? What about his rank failures in post on transport (ultimately passed…Mar 30, 01:06
    • Young Lochinvar on Sicknote Slippers: “Absolutely Geri, but also Dhondt (Westminsters git) as well! The non-achieving political and Quango class parasites are everywhere, and, I…Mar 30, 00:51
    • Geri on Sicknote Slippers: “Aye, “Trust in Nicola” I’m still waiting on this grand plan she was supposedly working on in the background. Whit…Mar 29, 23:26