The quality press

Posted on September 08, 2014 by

You have to laugh.

hoots

Anyone would think WE were the ones who’d had to remove, apologise for and pay compensation for defamatory articles about THEM.

1. 08 09 14 11:02

The quality press | FreeScotland

49 to “The quality press”

1. Laura Vivanco

Do they still accept links to the wee blue book?

2. Joseph

LOL just soooo typical of the press, the sooner were free the sooner we can sort out our own media and punish them

3. R-type Grunt

They’ll be gone soon.

4. Betty Boop

Censorship – the Establishment at its best.

5. farrochie

In the Scotsman you couldn’t say “shit” but you could say “sh1t”; “keech” was also an acceptable term.

6. Feil Gype

They did that with Newsnet Scotland a long time ago….nae surprise they are doing it now.

7. Grant

Use a tinyurl.

8. bunter

Very sorry. New royal baby on the way hahahahaha.

9. bookie from hell

Alan Cochrane 08/09/2014

Gordon Brown will concentrate in his barnstorming, nationwide tour beginning today.

Alan Cochrane 09/06/2014

Whose side are you on Gordon? The question must be posed in the wake of some wholly divisive interventions by the former prime minister.

10. Breastplate

Do they allow independence or must it be called separation.
    I suppose it’s only fair as I call the “news” in The Scotsman ” bullshit”.

11. gillie

John McTernan must be $hitting himself over at the Hootsmon.

12. NODROG

How much longer will it take before the Establishment realise that their assumed moral authority has gone. The TRUTH is only a mouse click away and Truth will be victorious over deceit. Maybe a YES vote on the 18th will be the final nail in their coffin. I truly hope so.

13. Stoops

They’re sulking. Tick tock.

14. gillie

I keep hearing rumours that a number of Scottish Labour MPs, MSPS and assorted councillors will be voting Yes.

Anyone else heard of this?

15. 1971Thistle

Screw ’em.

Just use a shortened URL, don’t mention website by name.

16. dennis mclaughlin

Aye,Ian Davidson has his finger in the dyke and IF anyone makes a move he’ll gie them a doin’ or stick them with his trusty bayonet.

DON’T PANIC!!

17. desimond

Tomorrow in The Scotsman

Rev. Stu Campbell is a Truth Teller.

18. bookie from hell

REV—any comment on this–pure lying bile

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/kevin-maguire-take-labour-love-4180511

19. Luigi

The Reverend Stuart Campbell:

Him who must not be named!

20. Ken MacColl

Stopped buying the Hootsman about five years ago after reading it from the days when the front page was covered with small ads -early fifties?
    Stopped reading it online about two years ago.
    Stopped reading about it more recently when I could avoid it but still occasionally see snippets in the blogosphere.
    The drop in its standards has been relentless but I understand it is now on the verge of terminal decline and is likely to disappear soon.
    Sic transit Gloria mundi.

21. Tamson

@gillie:

I think an Inverclyde Labour councillor has already come out for Yes.
    If any more do, they’ll time it for next Sunday’s papers to maximise impact (in their opinion)

22. Clootie

I think most of us just go onto their sites for fun.
    The public don’t read these rags anymore.

Post the referendum vote they will wither and die. Unfortunately good people will suffer because their unionist owners consider their jobs a price worth paying for a NO vote.

23. galamcennalath

If you google something like “role of the media in a democracy” you’ll find all sorts of links to lots of grand words about how a free press and broadcasting media can hold politicians to account, educate the population, etc etc.. All positive and wholesome.

Then you look at the reality of the UK in the 21st Century. The MSM and broadcasters have become something quite different. Highly partisan, supporters of the elite and the establishment, instruments of propaganda, subverters of the democratic process. They set out to create news, rather than report it. Balanced and impartial? You don’t know whether to laugh or cry!

In iScotland we should demand a quite different MSM and broadcasters. Ones which fulfil the role they are supposed to.

24. Betty Boop

The quality press – aye, we wish.

How about this disusting offering from The Scotsman linking the fate of the Scottish hostage with a Yes vote.

If you don’t want to contribute to the rag’s coffers, this is the link to the archived version of the “story”:

http://www.archive.today/lwy9x

25. Oneironaut

Try writing it as “W1ng5 0v3r 5c0t14nd”.
    If nothing else, it’ll wind them up, hehe 😉

26. Craig P

First rule of Establishment Club – don’t mention the truth.

27. Luigi

Another 10% pay rise in the offing for our hard-working MPs?

Not a great week to remind people just what a corrupt and self-serving institution the self-proclaimed “Mother of Parliaments” has become.

Oh look, here comes the heavy cavalry (or should I say the “Lightweight Brigade”), featuring those well-known, and even better paid, Labour MPs, charging north to save the union. I hope Scotland gives them the welcome they deserve.

Aye, it’s all coming together nicely. The perfect storm.

28. Betty Boop

Apologies – link to archived version of Scotsman hostage story:

https://archive.today/lwy9x

29. Frankie goes to Holyrood

Indeed. It is a token attempt at a block as you would guess, but is pathetic.

I just successfully posted this on the Scotsman:
    ====
    Reality check…

Have a look at the Wee Blue Book from W.ings over Scotland!

SOURCE
    http://www.weebluebook.info/

30. Oneironaut

I think someone at The Scotsman has noticed the way the wind is blowing though.

The last few sentences of this article with the repeated use of the word “we” to refer to Yes campaigners, strikes me as a rather feeble attempt to say: “Yay, we really believe in you Yes guys! We’re with you!”

http://www.scotsman.com/news/lesley-riddoch-better-together-losing-stardust-1-3534149

Wonder if that’ll salvage their newspaper sales after independence?

31. donnywho

just wasted the morning battling unionist trolls on the Scotsman. I know i shouldn’t but i am a bit like a fly to a light. On about the currency meltdown. It is all Salmonds fault, nothing to do with the rejection of a currency union. Nothing to do with an oil-less petro-currency, nothing to do with balance of payments or the astronomical debt. No it is all because Salmond is a fat eating egotist and it serve us right.
    Their oy that Scottish institutions are falling on the stock exchange is just a further example of “proud jockary”. They are a sad bunch and i hope most are not resident Scots.
    Still you have to fight their lies and smears, even if the dung-heap smells

32. the great elbe

do the hootsmon pay the britnat trolls on there rag of a site or is it gchq? ps i see proud brit scot craig reedie venting his unionist spleen again courtesy of the said publication, anyone would think they were all in it together to undermine scotland………………

33. Macart

We’ve got a quality press? 😀

34. Onwards

@donnywho

I have a go on the Scotsman forums as well.
    It is obvious they have a handful of obsessive / paid posters with multiple ids, ticking each other up.

Depressing stuff, but I don’t think it is a good idea just to ignore it at this time, and leave it a unionist only voice preaching to the undecideds that come along.

Annoyingly, they still have many thousands of readers, especially online.

35. Albert Herring

“We’ve got a quality press?”

We’ve got a press?

36. No no no...Yes

Donnywho 11.14am

I was in a trap as well. They are trying to wind you up and keeping you distracted.
    6 weeks ago, I shouted at the TV, swore at papers and argued online. I gained nothing other than frustration and increased blood pressure.

I pushed myself outside my comfort zone, because the referendum is so important.
    Being active in the YES campaign has been transformational. Speak to your local group, there are so many ways to help, which can be tailored to you. You will feel so much better doing something positive.

37. HandandShrimp

I think it is a health and safety thing. If the words WoS appear on the Hoot Euan comes out in hives.

38. Fireproofjim

Oneironaut
    To be fair, Leslie Riddoch has always been a comitted yes campaigner. Evn when writing in the Scotsman. (a paper which has deteriorated sadly in recent years)

39. Jacqueline

Was it something you said

40. Jamie Arriere

Quality press? Is that anything like the Quality Polis?

http://alturl.com/au692

41. tig

just use tinyurl to change the name of the link to get round their shenanigans

42. Iain (orri) McCord

Probably covering their asses in case their moderators are too slow to act on defamatory comments posted in their fora.

43. Allan Thomson

To think I used to buy the Scotsman. Oh well better late than never!

44. Zen Broon

Only 10 days left to save The Scotsman.

45. Finnz

Think I’ll continue to wind them up on every opportunity with references to the Wings site.

They may need to ban the words ‘Scotland’ and ‘over’ eventually.

46. Mary Bruce

“Anyone would think WE were the ones who’d had to remove, apologise for and pay compensation…”

They paid out compensation? Yes!

47. Wee Jimmy

I wonder if “w-egg-ings over Sc-egg-otland” would get through their cunning filter 😉

48. JimnArlene

Toys out the pram…..

49. Tom Foyle

Supposing you just wanted to insult WoS? Supposing you wanted to call them a bunch of selfish bastards who only want what’s best for the people of Scotland? How are you supposed to slag someone off if you can’t even mention the NAME of the slagee?
    They’ve now scraped the bottom of the barrel so hard and for so long, that there’s a HOLE in the bloody thing – and yet they’re STILL scraping away!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.