At the last gasp

Posted on September 08, 2014 by

We apologise for any images conjured by that headline.

willskate

Above is our Chris Cairns cartoon from June 2013. And here’s today’s news.

1. 08 09 14 11:01

At the last gasp | FreeScotland

132 to “At the last gasp”

1. Bugger (the Panda)

Its Showbiz boys.

The show must go on.

2. Doug Daniel

Pure coincidence, I’m sure…

3. Bugger (the Panda)

another little rich brat living off benefits then?

4. malcontent

Do you think the oddly recessive ginger gene will pop up again, like it did for Uncle Harry?? Oops, off to the Tower for me now.

5. Liquid Lenny

Ah well at least we wont have to keep this one or all his inbred relatives.

6. Nana Smith

This ‘convenient’ pregnancy just makes me more determined to cast the parasites off.

My elderly neighbour says “let these people pay for their own sprogs for a change”

7. Macart

That’s almost spooky. 😮

8. bookie from hell

would be funny if baby is born a year from now

9. Dougie Bee

One has a royal bun in ones royal oven..what good timing..who feckin cares…xxx

10. Stakhanovite

The royal brood mare has performed once more…

11. Luigi

Jeeez, the prince certainly knows his duty.

“For Queen and country”, as 007 once said.

12. No no no...Yes

Base on previous form, this news might actually distract the MSM from the referendum for a few days, until the announcement of more powers is made.

13. heedtracker

The sickness – called hyperemesis gravidarum – is a condition that may require supplementary hydration, medication and nutrients.

It does make one want to throw up.

14. Onwards

We are keeping the monarchy, so I don’t know if this will make much difference.

I reckon if it ever came down to a future vote, Scots would still choose to keep the monarchy just for the tourism value alone.

Just a distraction at the present time.

15. Bugger (the Panda)

@ bookie from hell

“would be funny if baby is born a year from now”

It would be a a near unique nut this being a funny old World I am sure it has happened for short periods but 3 or 4 months?

Time for third one though?

16. grahamlive

It’ll obviously make zero difference. People who give a shit about the royals were almost certainly going to vote NO anyway. Maybe it’ll even nudge a few towards YES. Everyone apart from a few forelock tugging sycophants are fed up hearing about Liz and her brood anyway.

17. Helena Brown

So what, with a bit of luck we will be shot of them soon enough. Seems like they do not know how to use birth control but then one needs one on and one in the wash.

18. Bob Sinclair

DILLIGAF

19. hetty

This will keep some attention away from the disaster that Osbourne and his mates have made of the economy then, especially with a YES vote bringing a few folks attention south of the border, to the mishandling of the whole Independence issue to their detriment, in order to attempt to bully Scotland’s people and stifle democracy. The London establishment really do live in the past, time to ditch the past and look to the future, at least here in Scotland.

20. heedtracker

Taylor looks like a giant baby. Great to see the whole shebang gone once and for all.

BBC ukok propaganda
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-29079170

What actually happened, although Scotsman deleted this one too.
    http://archive.today/oi5Qd

21. Free Scotland

Divert, distract, deflect, upstage, confuse!

22. jim

Ah there we go, I wonder if the wean will have white hair and big black eyebrows? Darling will do anything to keep his job.

23. Nigel

Conspiracy theories apart (they are fun though) I think the Scottish voter is smart enough and wise enough after the last 24 months of Unionist pish to see through much of the stuff in the press.

The evidence is on the ground and in the number of Yes posters, banners and stickers that are appearing everywhere.

http://nairnyes.wordpress.com/

24. AndyC

“jeez, there’s twa o’ them!”

25. Les Wilson

The TV News ramping up this, also some suggesting it may have an effect on the vote. We apparently soo love a Royal Birth.
    So what a coincidence eh!

They really do think we are that shallow, they just do not get it. This is a peoples movement now, gaining momentum that will be hard to stop, no matter what they say now.

If markets, particularly borrowing costs rise,the really big next thing might be a promise of a CU after a YES, forced on by the markets despite all their bluster.

26. Roddy Macdonald

The perfect antidote to Royal foetal witterings has been found on the interweb:

http://logicsrock.blogspot.co.uk/2014/09/shorag.html

27. Michael McCabe

Is there any truth in the Rumour. That if its a boy and we Vote no they will call him Scot ? Vote Yes.

28. Colin

“The sickness – called hyperemesis gravidarum – is a condition that may require supplementary hydration, medication and nutrients.”

Or a Ginger Nut if you are a normal person.

29. Craig P

Princess Diana’s death didn’t stop us from voting Yes in 1997. Can’t see this latest news having any effect – if the powers that be think it will, they are even more out of touch than I thought possible.

30. JLT

Actually …I’m sure the theory of a new Royal baby at around this time was discussed on Wings many moons ago, and laughingly, it’s come to pass. How strange …first they find (the bogus) William Wallace skull, then talk of new powers and now a new Royal baby.

Whatever is coming next? A long lost branch of the Stuart Household???

We should hold Referendums all the time. The establishment keep discovering things in the lead up to the vote!

31. Craig P

Oh and congratulations and good luck to the mother.

32. Vronsky

Dangerous story for Unionists. Orangeman salutes, fractures skull with pavement-calloused knuckles.

33. Les Wilson

TV also giving dis-appropriate coverage to NO.

34. cearc

“The sickness – called hyperemesis gravidarum – is a condition that may require supplementary hydration, medication and nutrients.”

Good job that they (or we?) can afford to pay for her private medical care, prescriptions and food.

35. Robert Louis

That’s it, sorry folks, but I no longer want democracy, an end to London colonial rule and Scottish independence, now I know that Kate is up the duff.

FFS, London. Do you seriously believe the Scots are so stupid. God what an insulting bunch of craven narrow minded gits.

‘The Scots are voting YES, what will we do??? Quick, announce a Royal baby., that’ll change their votes.’

36. Karmanaut

I wonder what odds the bookies would give on the royal baby being called Alex?

37. Nana Smith

Maybe a phantom pregnancy to go along with the new phantom powers being ‘offered’

38. HandandShrimp

I wish mother and pregnancy well, but it will have less than zero impact on my decision.

39. bookie from hell

Independence is a neverendum,so I feel sorry for kate

40. Greannach

They should have had a Christmas get together, then she could have given birth at just the right time for maximum impact. Can’t these people count up to 9? Nice for the UKanians to have an extra mouth to feed, though.

41. Jim Duthie

Looks like someone gave a f$!@k for the union. Coorse, I ken. I’ll get my coat :-).

42. msean

It’s all about the SQUIRREL. 🙂

43. MajorBloodnok

I was going to write something about Prince William putting an X in her box, but couldn’t think of anything tasteful.

44. bookie from hell

Sept 19th

just a stomach upset,kate had a kebab the night before

45. Dr Nancy Burge

My first thought was, what has Alistair Darling got to do with it?
    I feel all dirty now and need to have a shower.

46. bookie from hell

great cartoon martin shovel on better togerther campaign

https://twitter.com/MartinShovel/status/508875078852157440/photo/1

47. GrahamB

More worried about whether we are going to get a baby panda!

48. G H Graham

In 2011, Kensington Palace enjoyed somewhere in the order of a £4.5 million upgrade to prepare for the arrival of the Royal benefit recipients. They are currently squeezed into a four-story, 20-room apartment.

I wonder how much they are charged with regard to the bedroom tax, considering they have so many spare rooms & are clearly living off state benefits?

49. Nigel

Roddy – thanks for that one – sheer brilliance.

The films, songs, cartoons, art and sheer enthusiasm is what the Unionists are missing from its campaign – there’s no passion for their side of the argument. They lack that real drive for change. Makes the UK look mean, nasty and small-minded.

Whatever the outcome, this discovery of what we can be, artistically, creatively and as a movement for change will not go away. Royal babies are nothing in comparison and only represent the old order doing the same old, same old…

Establishment game playing and a 9% pay rise for Westminster MPs is in stark contrast to a lady I met in Inverness on the street stall last Friday. She wanted to know if she could register to vote. Never voted before in her life because she felt excluded from the system – did not see the point.

Until now.

Clearly from a challenging background (choosing my words carefully here) – I am sure we have met many folks like this during the campaign. I had to tell her, regrettably, that the deadline had passed – I felt terrible because it became clear in the short conversation that a Yes vote represented real hope to her. Not politicking or royal babies or squabbling over oil or currency; but real hope for the future. She was visibly upset at missing the deadline and I hope that does not add to her feeling of ‘exclusion’ from the democratic process. In that situation, I think we should get these folks to feel they can still do something positive – sign the Yes declaration and put up Yes posters in their homes if it is safe for them to do so.

So, this royal baby stuff – the establishment does not get it…not for a second. Flipper and his tarnished Labour party do not get it. The establishment is making me increasingly sick to the stomach with the stupid, selfish games it plays with people’s lives.

50. Luigi

The Wee Blue Book
    A falling pound
    The second debate
    YES climbing ahead
    BT in blind panic
    BT blame game begins
    Labour MPs get the wobbles
    MSM gets the wobbles
    10% MP pay rise
    Labour big guns charging north
    New Royal babe on the way

It’s all coming together nicely. The perfect storm.

51. Luigi

More worried about whether we are going to get a baby panda!

We’d rather have a panda than a prince
    Oh we’d rather have a panda, we’d rather have a panda
    We’d rather have a panda than a prince!

52. Nigel

Luigi..

Seconded!

53. bookie from hell

lugi

The perfect storm.

im thinking that,never a better time

ive been to a Elaine c smith,jim sillars meeting,inspired speakers,going to catch thommy Sheridan,nilcola sturgeon before campaign ends.

part of history,i don’t want to miss

54. desimond

The Orange Order will have more reason to smile during this weekends Edinburgh march then but of course, like the Monarchy, they have no association with the NT Campaign.

Paddy Power confirms book closed on “Within the next 48 hours, someone will hysterically mention Independence means no old biddies allowed to celebrate Royal conceptions on a Scottish news item.”

55. cockney lad

Oh to be finally rid of the Saxe-Coburgs….roll on the republic.

56. FergusMac

This yin’s Great-Grannie will still be able tae come up here in the big motor efter the Aye vote tae say things like “Me an ma man is here fur tae open yer brig”. She can still hing oot the windae o the motor an sing “One is a Billy no a Tim”. Though, if the re-established Kingdom o Scotland flings oot the obscene Act of Settlement so that this yin (or big brither Geordie) wis able tae mairry oan a Pape, One micht be birlin in One’s grave as One’s loyal orcs burst oot greetin at Ibrox.

Jist haud yer wheesht anent the Referendum, Lizzie I & II (that shuld hae been yer title a alang), ye’ll still be Queen o Scots an ye’ll still be welcome at Balmoral fur yer holidays. We dinnae need tae be pairt o this deid Union fur that.

57. bookie from hell

Salmond

“Congratulations & best wishes to the Earl & Countess of Strathearn”

58. creag an tuirc

Is this wee baby doomed to poverty and foodbanks?

59. Socrates MacSporran

@luigi:

My favourite Bond line was delivered by Shir Shaun in ‘You Only Live Twice’.

As he cut through the slender straps in the female villain’s dress, he said: “Ah! the things I do for England”, only, he ratcheted-up his Edinburgh accent as he said it. All it needed was a final: “ken”.

The things the Earl and Countess of Strathearn do for England.

60. bookie from hell

Alex Salmond

?@AlexSalmond Congratulations & best wishes to the Earl & Countess of Strathearn. Wonderful to hear they’re expecting their second baby – very happy news!

61. cearc

Considering that Wills and Harry inherited a shit load of money from their mother, I fail to see why we should pay for any of their living costs.

Appearance fees should be more than sufficient.

62. desimond

Whats next …. Only 10 days for the Queen to abdicate, Charles to step aside, and a rallying clarion call from new King Billy to unite the peoples in union.

Its going from sublime to ridiculous and nothing will surprise.

Its putting Yesterdays Men in The Establishment..

63. James Caithness

That Jo Coburn of the Daily Politics must be the thickest most stupid bloody idiot to be on TV. If that is what my licence fee is paying for it is about time to stop paying the Licence.

64. galamcennalath

Luigi says:
    It’s all coming together nicely. The perfect storm.

All we need is a brilliant sunny dry day on the 18th.

I jest not. Good weather on the big day could be worth a few % to Yes!

65. AndyC

Sky news for the last hour alternating between referendum and royal (puke) announcement.
    Ukraine, Syria, Iraq and ISIS all on back burner!

66. stewart bc

Obviously Kate says YES

67. Luigi

The things the Earl and Countess of Strathearn do for England.

Good for England. They are welcome to them. They certainly haven’t done the union any favours. Scotland is not impressed.

Silly buggers!

68. Muscleguy

@Karmanaut

Wee George has Alexander as one of his middle names. That was their nod to us. Lots of English people had to be informed that Scotland had two Alexanders as Kings which is where it comes from.

Alexander or Robert? Bruce as an outlier. I wouldn’t put it past rUK to go all sentimentally Scottish in response to a Yes vote, led of course by Aunty. So I don’t think names like that are completely impossible. Get your bet on soon as the odds may shorten if Aunty goes off as I expect.

69. Black Douglas

@Muscleguy

Margaret for a girl, what odd? 😀

70. Muscleguy

If it’s a girl we might not be able to tell mind. Most of the well known Queens of Scots had names shared with English queens: Mary, Margaret etc. They would have to go Mhairi or Elspeth or something for a girl.

71. galamcennalath

Royals? I now have rather a soft spot for them. I’m into family history / genealogy. My Great-great-grandfather was a modest cooper from Wick. Turns out he descended from gentry and in turn from royalty. So, I got a little bit of blue blood myself. In fact I can trace my family tree straight back to some very interesting folks 🙂

Do I think the head of state should be should be a monarch, even though they are my umpteenth cousin? Hell no! They belong in the history books. Non executive president, in the style of Ireland, would suit nicely.

72. bookie from hell

daily politics

look of FEAR unionist pollticians

better together worked 😀

73. No no no...Yes

Sincere congrats to Kate and Wills, having a child is a wonderful event.

On a lighter note, will Cameron give us a vote on name choice? If the royal baby is a girl will it be called Johann, Jackie, Kezia or Ruth?

74. Graeme Doig

Sorry if been posted already. Link to Guardian article on 4th.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/04/scottish-independence-5-reasons-yes-winning-polls

75. bookie from hell

Updating for US followers:

Kate’s pregnancy announced earlier than hoped b/c she is coping again with Hyperemesis Gravidarum.

76. Flower of Scotland

Come on..bookie from hell!

Alex Salmond is the first Minister of Scotland . We must be seen to be above reproach! There are still many Royalists who have to vote. I know a few. Let’s get Independence first and then we can approach other matters!????

77. David McCann

The Scotsman has reached a new low in this utterly disgraceful piece.
    http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/scottish-independence-link-to-isis-scots-hostage-1-3534191

78. Chic McGregor

The Prince of prescience.

79. call me dave

That explains the YES! oh YES! noises that recently were heard around the palace some nights ago.

Seriously though FGS! Is there any news… Oh aye the currency.

Mr Salmond is polite.

80. bookie from hell

flower of Scotland

I posted it as a fact,not as negative comment

my mom is a huge royalist,my dad cannae stand them

( : > )

81. call me dave

John Beattie radio show.

Folk texting some right uninformed rubbish and we’re Ah doomed! Not enough information out there for the DK’s.

82. call me dave

J. Baillie on noo! Giving us the irrefutable facts Aye right.

B. Jenkins holding the fort and giving us the irrefutable facts.

Ding round 1.

83. Les Wilson

Sky News during adverts repeating a ditty made up with Cameron saying with increasing emphasis ” You will never, ever,ever, ever, get back!

Nice to know I say!

84. heedtracker

Graun’s Michael White’s gone mad this morn , although not as mad as Maguire of the Mirror, are they really that desperate.

Press and Journal bashing away at strife and division everywhere and some very sneaky project fear letters to ed, as in one creep says Scots will be second class citizens abroad as there are no Scottish embassies. That ones from a dude who says he was director of a charity that helps out British citizens arrested abroad. Better behave in Magaluf everyone.

85. Molly

So Sunday ( according to Faisel on Sky) David Cameron visits Balmoral, Monday we have this announcement. Mmm ?

Sky also now claim , Gordon Brown is in charge of the BT campaign , shoving AD aside. Are the Labour hierarchy in Scotland happy to let Gordon Brown speak for them , are ordinary Labour voters? It’s crunch time.

If Labour voters still believe in Gordon Brown and they put him and the Labour Party first , we will need more than a reconciliation meeting after the Referendum, we’ll need therapy.

I have to believe even the hardcore of Labour voters will not support this man.

86. Flower of Scotland

@call me dave

Sent Beattie the usual text this morning that he never reads out!! Wonder why? He’s doing a sterling job for the No and the biased BBC team! Did you hear big Brian and his very very grave voice! I’ve had to turn it off! RT hasn’t mentioned Royal Baby yet!

bookie from hell

Wasn’t getting at you. Just think Alex is playing a blinder!

87. fred blogger

but, if, what, maybe, might be.
    a man without a clue; willie rennie talks to gordon brewer.
    that scare story failed. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=no92Wq9lPIU
    next question how can we build a scenario where @ 1st glance we trigger fear that the cost of borrowing will soar if we vote yes.
    it has taken a couple of weeks but they’ve done it, well sort of.
    more scaremongering to try to send mind into meltdown. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/newsbysector/banksandfinance/11080611/Scottish-homeowners-face-mortgage-meltdown-if-Yes-campaign-wins.html#disqus_thread
    but luckily as one commentator points out we have an at a glance fully referenced free, full of facts book, the weebluebook, phew!

88. Graham_Lister

The Westminster establishment and London media elite will, no doubt, try to perform some utterly maladroit ‘interventions’ in the coming days. But they consider Scotland, Scottish politics and the people of Scotland simply infra dig – totally ‘beneath’ them.

Thus the smorgasbord of ignorance and arrogance that assumes Scots are low IQ morons that cannot ‘possibly’ know what they are doing in voting yes. Such fundamental ignorance is a function of power and privilege. If you’re in the position of ‘top dog’ why even consider other alternative points of view? To do so would take a pro-active attempt to muster empathy, imagination and intellectual curiosity. Qualities in very short supply in Westminster or the editorial offices of the BBC or other London based media outlets.

Structurally their collective tone deafness on this subject reminds me of the socio-cultural phenomenon of ‘white privilege’ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_privilege) in which includes the ‘luxury’ of ignorance. The concept of white privilege also implies the right to assume the universality of one’s own experiences, marking others as different or exceptional while perceiving oneself as normal. Any form of power inequality can produce this lazy sense of normativity within those on the dominant side of the asymmetry.

Obviously in the case of the Scottish referendum race is the not the axis of variation with regard to this form of privilege but rather a more subtle blend of class, geography and culture. London and its elites really do think they are at the ‘centre’ of everything and anyone on the ‘periphery’ is some lesser form of yahoo. The ‘Home Counties’ indeed – home to whom?

Their radical ignorance shields them from even considering that their assumptions about the world might not actually represent the views or experiences of ‘everyone’. They are about to experience a very rude awakening.

89. Wilma

Just read the Daily Mail saying that if it goes to a YES vote you will not be allowed over the South or into Northern Ireland/Wales they will close them check it out.

They have re-started building Hadrian’s Wall again and are putting up gun towers.

90. call me dave

Baillie says “We came together to form the NHS”

Aye but then the labour party was a socialist party not one side of the same coin that is the tories. Where were you Jenkins!

“We are already better together” opines Baillie. That’s an open goal Jenkins! But he doesn’t shoot FGS!

Wish I had given it a miss.

91. fred blogger

Graham_Lister
    quite right, a very rude awakening indeed!

92. the great elbe

These brit establishment types and press mouth pieces really are bat shit crazy. They are sh1tting it and there is nothing they can do and they no it, laughable bully boy threats cut no ice with us.

93. desimond

Im still smiling at the highlighted words from Johann Lamont in Yesterdays Heralds, basically

“If its a Yes vote, I will join Team Scotland if asked”

So thats Carmichael and Lamont whoring themselves along with our FMs cheeky offer of an invite given to Darling.

I await Murphy, Dugdale, Brown and Duggie Alexander announcing their availability within next 10 days alongside Blair MacDougall offering his services to any likely Scottish Labour Leadership campaign.

94. bookie from hell

devo + on ballot paper would of killed independence stone dead,now were 10 days from independence:-)

they cant be sleeping well london

95. Greannach

I’m waiting for the Queen Mother, William Shakespeare and Sir Francis Drake to enter the lists alongside the patriotic foetus. Look lively! The gin’s in the corner.

96. Graham_Lister

England’s love-bombing of Scotland is a pathetic afterthought
    A month ago, with a no vote taken for granted, Westminster did not care much. Now the panic has set in

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/08/england-love-bombing-scotland-no-vote-westminster

97. cockney lad

Next up from Project Fear: “A YES vote is a vote in support of ISIS”

98. thedogphilosopher

Just watched Daily Politics coming from a deep bunker somewhere in London. Cabal of unionists (all palsy-walsy) with Jo Coburn pointing finger at Blair Jenkins, blaming Yes for causing uncertainty in The Market … BJ(?) Kept calm, said it like it is (Hold, Hold, Hold) … But they still don’t get it, seemingly the Scotch Crisis is the only Crisis in town at WM … Much plotting behind the scenes – will Cameron have to go if Yes win? They were relieved to ‘change the subject’!

The dog is now wagging the tail. Woof!

99. boris

Ian Davidson MP Chairman Scottish Select Committee. Buffoon, bully -70 videos might help you decide.

http://caltonjock.com/2014/09/08/ian-davidson-chairman-scottish-select-committe-70-videos/

100. G H Graham

Geographically, the London based Establishment of Great Britain may be about to lose 8% of its population, about 1/3rd of its landmass & easily more than half of its sovereign coast line & waters.

Economically, they will lose >90% of its oil & gas reserves & about 10% of its tax revenues. Remember, it took only a 2% reduction in GDP to cause a recession.

Militarily, it will lose it’s nuclear deterrant base at HM Clyde unless it’s prepared to spend a large sum of money relocating it.

Expect then, the British State to do ANYTHING to retain the status quo.

101. Caroline Corfield

If only they really did put the border at Hadrian’s Wall, I’d even put up with border posts on the roads, 68 miles of England on the ‘right’ side of it, me included!

102. Graeme Doig

thedogphilosopher

‘the dog is now wagging the tail. Woof!’

Aye and our bite is actually worse than our bark 🙂

103. fred blogger

the money markets are reacting to WM/BT panic, and can be heard saying under their breaths, ffs offer CU.

104. fred blogger

ps re; money marketss, blair jenkins was brilliant in his response to jo coburn today.

105. john king

Im voting ye–aw look a wee baby, ahm votin no.

106. biggpolmont

YOUGOV Poll Shows Yes ahead …Better Together goes into spasms of sheer panic….Markets get jitters….Pound starts to fall…
    Royal Baby Announcement… Pound Stabilises… Markets Settle…
    Better Together still panic stricken and Yes still ahead.
    Do you think we could get Harry to anounce a royal wedding friday 19th am ? They wont even know were gone!

107. Bill McLean

By Royal Command! – have you lot no respect??

108. Lesley-Anne

I can just see the benefits hating Daily Mail headline tomorrow.

“Woman living off benefits is pregnant with another child!” 😛

109. James Caithness

Graham_Lister says:
    8 September, 2014 at 1:04 pm
    England’s love-bombing of Scotland is a pathetic afterthought
    A month ago, with a no vote taken for granted, Westminster did not care much. Now the panic has set in

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/08/england-love-bombing-scotland-no-vote-westminster
    =========================

Do you notice the activists in the photie with Darling. I would say thir naw fae aroond these pairts

110. TYRAN

She was never pregnant anyway with the first one. But that’s for another day.

111. Lesley-Anne

What on earth are you saying James? 😉

Surely you are not suggesting that they are day trippers on the Better whatsit £25 away day return ticket are you? I hope they also received their £10 allowances as well then. 😛

112. YESGUY

Desimond

These names you said would be unwelcome. most folk hate them noo. LFI have better and more practical folk. Jola should know we Scots are not programmed for running a nation. Why should we trust her.

the Eggman is a useless foul mouthed bully who screamed to the MSM about wee YES granny’s ganging up on him.

Mags and Jackie . back to your gossip and pies . two women who are shown to be wanting by oor wee Nichola.

Still it will be nice to see them fall over themselves to offer. I would say if they didn’t at least try they would get SANCTIONED

hawhaw

113. Cactus

Timing indeed.

With regards to OUR independence timings, I reckon there’s gonna be a record number of Scottish couples getting ‘busy with it’ in the Summer of 2015..

9 months later, there could be a sizeable number of children rolling around Scotland, of which half are (funnily enough) named William, or Wullie. 🙂

So, question, what would be the favourite names for a girl born on independence day?

And, there, is, a natural way to add to our population numbers requirement ~ call it a baby-bairn-boom!

114. James Caithness

Put this on another thread but just in case folk don’t go to that thread here it is here.
    I get the feeling this guy is a YES voters

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7qXYaepKPA

115. bugsbunny

William & Kate’s marriage was on the 30th April 2011, 5 days before the Scottish General Election that returned 69 SNP MSP’s. Didn’t work then, won’t work now.

BTW 30th April is a Satanic High Holiday. Watch out for Damien-esk type behavior from Prince George. Lol. I wonder when Diana and Charles tied the knot?

Stephen.

116. Dormant

What’s next? Argies invade the Falklands?

Aye, that’ll work.

117. Socrates MacSporran

I was always taught: the British Empire worked, because, the English decided what was to be done and the Scots made certain the Irish and Welsh did the exact opposite.

Clearly today, either the Scots who run England are not co-operating, or, they are telling the Irish and Welsh to do exactly what the English want.

My late brother, who exited Glasgow University and immediately moved to a job in London always claimed he knew nothing about the English: “I was management, I never spoke to any English, only fellow Scots.”

They’ll be in deep doo-dah when we go.

118. JimnArlene

Don’t care….

119. Votadini Jeannie

@Cactus

There has been an increase in babies named Alba, Scotia and Caledonia in the last few years, as well as a couple of Scotlands.

Think we might see a few more!

120. Lesley-Anne

Sorry VJ, having just read your post and had a wee thought. Can you imagine the football commentator’s situation when around 2040 Scotland are playing an international game of football and they have a forward called, erm Scotland, who scores the winning goal! 😛

121. Graeme

We all know that yes is a socialist and a republican movement, but there’s always been very little anti-monarchy sentiment to point to, not least because of the way the brilliant Alex Salmond has played it.
    Until now! Please spread this page to as many undecideds as possible, will surely win some votes!

122. Scotspine

They are utterly irrelevant to my life and I’m damned sure they are to those who are forced to use foodbanks.

Relics of a long ago era.

123. Clootie

What an amazing coincidence. Morning sickness, pregnancy announcement right after a YES in front poll.

124. Wilma Watts/ memaw

Sorry to impose but I completely misread the cartoon, just saw the names Better Together and Darling in the same sentence and wondered who he was shagging! Awful thought, sorry.

So, on the correct tack now, we have another mouth to feed, eh!

125. Robert Peffers

Well we could keep the monarchy with the proviso they spend, on a royal per capita basis, 50% of their time in a Scottish Crown royal residence. For the sake of the tourism you understand.

Failure to do so sees them removed from the Scottish Royal Family. This is in line with Scottish law where the people are sovereign and the royal personages are, “Protectors of the people’s sovereignty”, and can be legally sacked if not discharging their duties as per the people’s satisfaction.

126. hopper69

Looks like Kate took one for the team.

127. Robert Peffers

@Nana Smith says: 8 September, 2014 at 11:35 am:

“Maybe a phantom pregnancy to go along with the new phantom powers being ‘offered’

Well it could be like the case of the Edinburgh Zoo Pandas.
    Never count your Pandas, or Royals, before they hatch.

128. Patrician

Everyone knows that when a relationship is in trouble and one of the partners is threatening to leave, it isn’t a good idea to get pregnant and try keep them.

129. Robert Peffers

@Wilma says: 8 September, 2014 at 12:55 pm:

“Just read the Daily Mail saying that if it goes to a YES vote you will not be allowed over the South or into Northern Ireland/Wales they will close them check it out. They have re-started building Hadrian’s Wall again and are putting up gun towers.”

What are they going to do about the undersea cable that has long carried Scottish generated electric power under the Irish Sea? Pull the Switches, perhaps?

Don’t these idiots understand that Scotland has marked all the aces & face cards in the deck of these matters? Not to mention we also hold a straight flush in the hand we have dealt to ourselves.

130. Peter Macbeastie

The cynic in me, and he’s a pretty cynical character, can well imagine the instructions.

‘If you two can’t manage to have another one ready to pop out in the first couple of weeks of September at least make sure there’s a pregnancy. Can’t have those bloody Jocks swanning off.’

As if, really, another member of the Royal Family in prepartation is REALLY going to make Scotland vote no. Add to that Cameron’s pathetic tokenism in raising (sort of) the Saltire over Downing Street and the three chief ratbags scuttling up to Scotland with a week and a bit to go I’m starting to think the idiots have a) finally woken up to the possibility that we’re actually going to vote Yes, and b) slightly insulted that they think we could be swayed by anything they’re doing right now.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.