The Nordic love to feel

Posted on December 12, 2011 by

The readers of Danish newspaper Politiken have responded warmly to recent suggestions that Scotland should develop closer ties with its Scandinavian neighbours rather than the troubled European Union. When the paper's website ran a feature and poll on the subject, by a margin of 4 to 1 the Danes offered Scotland a welcoming hand of friendship, despite our own Unionist parties issue constantly warning that we're an economic basket case who would only be a burden on any nation stuck with us.

A crudely Google-translated version of the feature appears below:

————————————–

Vote and write: Should Scotland be incorporated in the North?
Is there room in the North to the kilt-clad bagpipe players?

The Scottish government party is ready to break ties with Britain and instead strengthen the relationship with the Nordic countries.

"It makes sense to take our relationship to other nations under review and there are many areas where Scotland has more in common with especially Danes and Norwegians than England", says Angus Robertson, who is foreign policy spokesman for the Scottish National Party.

Sentiment among the relaxed Scandinavians, our models of welfare and environment and energy policy are areas where Scots see commonalities across the North Sea.

And because the Scottish government party SNP has promised the people a referendum on breaking away from Britain by 2014, a strengthened cooperation between Scotland and Scandinavia quickly become an issue.

Scandinavian Vikings invaded Scotland in 794th year. Is it by being on time for the Scots again gets the Nordic love to feel? And what can we Scandinavians get out of a closer cooperation with the Scots? Participate in the great political debate below.

Poll: Should the Scandinavian countries invite Scotland in?

Aye, we have much in common with the Scots. Weather, for example.
     60%
     Nae, you can not just pick and choose whether you want to be Scandinavian.
     14%
     I do not know. Must the Scots not just break away from Britain first?
     26%

Subscribe
Notify of

6 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
TYRAN

Good link. I see there are 100+ reader comments. And they seem to be mostly all positve.

Morag

Some of the nastier comments on the BBC article seemed to be imagining Scotland was going to propose an actual union with Norway or something.  The idea of independent contries having social links and economic agreements didn't seem to be on their radar.

Morag

And by the way, what nice people!  Are they all like that, or did you just not translate the others?

Scottish to the core

I am Scottish but feel very proud of the Scandinavian past, I think this is a good idea.

Stats: 6,671 Posts, 1,202,956 Comments

• James on Telling the truth by mistake: ““Mental disease has many forms.” Indeed. You have my sympathies.Nov 23, 01:15
    • Platinum on Telling the truth by mistake: “Post-GRA definition of woman: adult human female who doesn’t have a GRC – yet.Nov 23, 01:09
    • Robert Matthews on Telling the truth by mistake: “James can be both a dick and a fanny, just read his posts.Nov 23, 00:50
    • James on Telling the truth by mistake: “Course not – Tory clansman.Nov 23, 00:42
    • Cynicus on Telling the truth by mistake: ““clapping seals . . .of both sexes . . . who appear to think this ideology is about being kind. “…Nov 23, 00:27
    • Michael Laing on Telling the truth by mistake: “Bellend is a yoon troll.Nov 22, 23:49
    • Robert Matthews on Telling the truth by mistake: “Virtue signalled.Nov 22, 23:19
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Telling the truth by mistake: “Of course, some people don’t think men have souls either…Nov 22, 22:29
    • Ruairidh on Telling the truth by mistake: “The utter lack of respect for ordinary Scots is clear from the way they continually lie to us with no…Nov 22, 22:16
    • Dumbarton Rock on Telling the truth by mistake: “…….. News of an Indy summit coming up! Look out for it…….Nov 22, 21:31
    • twathater on Telling the truth by mistake: “TestingNov 22, 20:46
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Sorry, I forgot to mention all the clapping seals . . .of both sexes . . . who appear to…Nov 22, 20:41
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Only some delusional men ARE playing this game, the rest of us, men, women and children have the pitch queered…Nov 22, 20:34
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “I’ll keep asking you this very simple question until you reply in DIRECT response to the question, with a YES…Nov 22, 20:25
    • Willie Fleming on Telling the truth by mistake: “testNov 22, 20:24
    • sarah on Telling the truth by mistake: “Donation done. Thanks for the nudge.Nov 22, 20:22
    • BLMac on Telling the truth by mistake: “Truly the king has no clothesNov 22, 20:21
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you support Scotland becoming a country again? Binary response suffices, canny understand why a simple yes or no should…Nov 22, 20:20
    • Tartanpigsy on Telling the truth by mistake: “Alba, ISP and whatever Peter Bell calls his party are between them going nowhere unless they unite under a pro…Nov 22, 20:15
    • meg merrilees on Telling the truth by mistake: “But does this mean that if you are a woman who has transitioned to a man and holds a GRC…Nov 22, 20:00
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Answer my question, please?Nov 22, 19:56
    • Robert Matthews on The Long Unravelling: “The most recent poll shows No 52 – yes 48.Nov 22, 19:49
    • Skip_NC on Telling the truth by mistake: “Alba stood in one ward and got 4.2% of the vote. We’re not quite where we need to be but…Nov 22, 19:46
    • Campbell Clansman on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you think Alba–which was stuck at 1% while Alex Salmond was still alive–will ever amount to anything, especially since…Nov 22, 19:36
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Indeed. The GRA needs repealed. The Equality act 2010 can always be tweaked afterwards, IF necessary.Nov 22, 19:19
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “NOT fine by me. But, on many other issues we may agree.Such is life.Nov 22, 19:09
    • Willie Fleming on The Long Unravelling: “They got a wee lesson in Dnepopetrovsk yesterday. And these were purely kinetic weapons, no warheads. A magnificent strike, took…Nov 22, 19:07
    • Chas on Telling the truth by mistake: “I must be old fashioned. I always thought if you had a dick, you were a man. If you had…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Robert Hughes on The Long Unravelling: “Spot-on , my friend . What sickens/concerns me is the scale , the extent and seemingly limitless power to construct…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you support Scotland becoming a country again?Nov 22, 18:50

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()