The last ten seconds of life

Posted on August 21, 2021 by

Our cartoonist is still on holiday, but he’d never have beaten this for a joke anyway.

Even if it’s an old one.

Subscribe
Notify of

664 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Robert Louis

Aye, any second now…once ‘covid is over’…and you re-elect us again, and again and again…then definitely, mibbes indyref2 is ‘iminent’ by the second half probably of the middle term of another government sometime around the middle stage of this century, but definitely likely before 2022, if possible and feasible, following the ‘green‘ recovery.

Meanwhile we have a coalition with the greens to be getting on with, you know the one we forgot to mention in our manifesto at the elections a few months ago, the one that SNP members had no vote on, the one we actually do not need.

Top of the SNP GREEN agenda…GENDER woo woo ideology!

Just keep voting SNP, suckers, ‘independence is coming’.

100Yes

The National has become the New BBC and funded by the New SNP.

Astonished

I await the ringing endorsements from the utter cowards that are the SNP MSPs and MPs.

” You are never betrayed by your enemies “.

P.S. Mike Russell is looking awfy old. This lying cannot be good for his health or his self-esteem.
P.P.S. Next year the tories will come for the NHS and Scottish Water. And Scotland will be utterly powerless.

I will never forgive sturgeon and her cabal of clowns and cowards. She is the new dundas.

Mighty S

Should we expect a swathe of MSP’s defecting to Alba?

If not, why not?

Elizabeth Hagan

There is no honour among thieves, rogues & charlatans. May they hang their heads in shame. Hopefully the Scottish people will have their eyes opened enough to rid Scotland from this diabolical duo.

Jeanette McCrimmon

36 votes to become a Scottish Government Minister shows how lacking in democracy Scotland is.

100Yes

One green seat gives the New SNP a majority in Holyrood so that gives the Greens two seats in the New SNP government, this will be conditional from the green in any future agreement for majority government with any party in Scotland. If you are a new re-elected SNP MSP who has just been elected by first passed the post system and just been ignored for a possible seat in cabinet and thrown to the back benches when the greens are relying on a rigged system to get elected is pretty bad if you’re a re-elected SNP MSP.
I’m so glad I don’t buy or read The National.

John McNab

“Indyref2” has been postponed so often, that it’s bound to have passed its’best before’ date. Would it not be better just to bin it and go straight for “Indyref3”?

Ian

All nations used to have another nation that it used to tell non-pc jokes about their stupidity. Usually it was their neighbouring country. If Scotland isn’t already being used as the stupid nation by all other nations for such jokes, it surely will very soon.

The Scottish Numpty Party – led by donkeys and supported by asses.

(In no way do I mean to suggest that donkeys and asses are dumb. They aren’t. They are clearly much more intelligent than those in or who support the SNP. I meant this only figuratively)

Andy Ellis

If it hasn’t dawned yet on those SNP MSPs and MPs who are unhappy with the approach of Sturgeon’s cabal that they would have a fairly strong hand if they were to defect to Alba, then there is little hope for them. Given the current electoral arithmetic it wouldn’t even take that many for them to hold the balance of power.

There *might* have been some argument at the time of the last Holyrood election that they should wait and see what happened, but surely even that “Hail Mary pass” has been shown to be fruitless? We now have a coalition in all but name with the odious Green Party which is if anything even more extremely misogynistic than Sturgeon’s acolytes. We’ve seen continued appointments of unsuitable TRA extremists, expressions of anti democratic deeply regressive plans to extend Covid powers indefinitely, failure to address how #indyref2 will magically fall in to our laps.

Hard questions now have to be asked of Joanna Cherry, Angus McNeil and any MSPs who want to see Sturgeon gone. What will it take for you to act? There comes a point surely where the interests of the independence movement have to be put before those of your party, your concerns about your own positions and your concerns about to your staff if you leave the SNP? Since we aren’t getting #indyref2 anytime soon, is it really worth spending the next several years trying to make an electoral silk purse out of the sow’s ear that is the current SNP?

Politics is full of examples of parties that have split for all sorts of reasons. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, but what else do they – and we – have to lose?

Effigy

They haven’t got a clue!
Never in history has there been more corruption and incompetence in an English Tory
government ruling over Scotland and SNP are barely able to whimper about it.

The boy who cried wolf deserves to be eaten by wolves for being so stupid.

SNP will be out on their ear at the next election and they are the grave diggers for independence.

Robert Hughes

Sturgeon , lacking anything resembling honesty , integrity , character or imagination has put the final piece of the * jigsaw * in place that will see the destruction of Scotland as anything other than a demented experiment in Gender Ideological social engineering , enforced by State power and , unless some as yet unseen circumstances lead to her ejection , has hammered the last nail into the coffin marked ” Independence .

This has to be deliberate . no one , surely , can be THIS politically deranged

100Yes

I’m a member of the Alba Party and I’ll stay a member but Alex Salmond can go and take a flying F*ck if he suggests SNP 1 & Alba 2 in May 2026, it just isn’t going to happen I’ll for Alba or any other Pro-Independence party. At next year at local election I will not be voting for the SNP at all, Mike Russell couldn’t even state what membership the SNP had, the SNP don’t seem to be boasting about their membership anymore.

Robert Hughes

Andy @ 8.47

Yes , if any of those * dissidents * you mention remain in the SNP now they will lose whatever credibility as * voices of reason * the currently have

Any bullshit about * working from within to effect change * just won’t cut it now . GTF out of that no longer fringe lunacy immediately or be considered pathetic enablers

100%Yes

I take my hat off to Kenny MacAskill and Neale Hanvey for putting country before self interest aren’t these the unspoken heroes in Scottish politics along with every single Alba Party member and supporter.

Doug McGregor

Poor Ivan McKee , despite doing a good job looks like the one who loses out here. Too man of a certain age and not wokey enough for the Nicoletties.

Johnny

Andy, you are obviously perfectly aware that it’s really a coalition. If two or more parties have ministerial posts of any kind, it’s a coalition. Just more bending of the meaning of words by SNP and Green to pretend otherwise and of course they do this quite a lot.

Robert Louis

So, Angus Brendan MacNeil, and Joanna Cherry, are you prepared to stand up against this ridiculous undemocratic green coalition, or are you enjoying your salary too much?

And then what of all the other SNP MSP’s and MP’s, not one with a backbone. Not one, prepared to voice dissent of any kind. They will all be clapping along.
Meanwhile homophobic and women-hating policies will be enacted by Sturgeon and Harvie. And they just keep on clapping, like trained monkeys.

Andy Ellis

@100Yes 8.25 am

I doubt that will be there advice in 2026 somehow? I’m a member too, but couldn’t bring myself to vote for Angus Robertson in my constituency whatever Big Eck said! There was some logic to the policy, however distasteful it was for many to vote for the current SNP. In hindsight it would probably have been better just to have pressed the nuclear button and stood candidates against the SNP, particularly in a few targeted locations. Sadly the time available was probably against us for the last elections: it was just too soon after Alba had been announced.

For 2026 all bets are off. A lot could happen between now and the next Holyrood election of course, but if the past few years have shown us anything it is that the Sturgeonite poison in the SNP isn’t going to be drawn. The SNP can’t be reformed, it has to be either removed or forced to change from the outside by having to come to terms with a real independence party holding the balance of power.

The excesses of the Woko Haram entryists inside the SNP and Greens, and the lack of progress on #indyref2, will do some of our work for us. The scales will start to fall from people’s eyes as they see the full effects of both of these things over the next few years. We need to concentrate on building up Alba to offer a real alternative.

auldhighlander

Just wait, be patient, soon, haud yer wheesht.

As the days turn into months and the years drift into decades independence gets more and more like Never Never Land.

Squatters rights do not apply in Bute house or Holyrood.

Robert Louis

Johnny at 0839am,

Exactly. It IS a coalition, no more, no less.

robertknight

More Jam Tomorrow on the cover of the Dear Leader’s fanzine and the WGD idiots lap it up.

Meanwhile, the place will be flooded with puberty blocking pills for kids and teens just so that big pharma will get its cheque book out. After all, short money and a wedge taken from the salaries of its MPs only goes so far towards an over-inflated bill for HQ staffers…

Stoker

Nothing but mouldy jam-covered carrots from Sturgeon and her Stasi.

Don’t try and tell me there are still “some good folk in the SNP”. No good person would put up with this. Anyone worth their salt who is still a member of Sturgeon’s Stasi would be burning that membership at this latest *5-year* mouldy carrot insult.

Ah, but we’re staying “to fight from the inside” they tell us. OK, so how’s that going then? Especially since elected members on internal bodies are being booted, along with indy, into the long grass. Have you fought or are you as big a bum as Sturgeon?

BTW, here’s a fact, i only ever heard *ONE* person, pre-election, stating “within 5-years” (those actual words). Can yous guess who it was? Lorna Slater! And now, after “negotiations”, we have Sturgeon The Betrayer spouting this crap. Allowing a unelected nobody to hold that much sway over Scotland’s future is unforgivable.

Don’t get me wrong, i don’t hold the pretendy Greens responsible. I hold Sturgeon & Murrell 100% responsible. This latest move by Sturgeon is all part of her grander plan to push blame & responsibility for various delays and actions on the “Greens”. A problem shared is a problem dumped.

Never in a million years will any of the current crop of the SS get another vote from me. I will not be a party to Sturgeons destruction of Scotland. You now can’t place a cigarette paper between Sturgeon’s Stasi and the LibLabCons.

Any mass demos should be taken direct to Sturgeon’s door.

Captain Yossarian

Adam Tomkins is a chap that many on these pages dislike. He said during the Fabiani Inquiry that John Swinney would ‘do anything to save his own neck’. I’ve dealt with John Swinney a few times and that has been my impression of him too.

There were two votes of no-confidence in him as a result of the Fabiani Inquiry. His neck was saved by Patrick Harvie who accused those voting for John Swinney’s removal as having ‘political motives’. The implication being that they were dishonestly trying to get rid of an innocent, honorable man.

My reading of it at the time was that they were trying to get rid of a dishonest man and were prevented from doing so by another dishonest man.

Anyway, Patrick Harvie has been duly rewarded. That’s my reading of the situation.

Shocked

I see they’ve got the serial bankrupt Gordon Macintyre Kemp puffing this.

Everyone should be extremely worried about the New SNP / Green deal. An act of sheer desperation by a corrupt and broken New SNP leadership desperately trying to appear relevant before COP26 and paper over the fact that the New SNP membership is in free fall. Someone with better insider knowledge than me will know what the membership figures are but the fact the right wing lunatic Russell wouldn’t reveal the numbers as he lied about the theft of the £600k says it all.

When the misogynistic little creep and sexual deviant Harvie starts pulling the strings and making it government policy to erase women and ram trans doctrine down the necks of 4 year old children damage could end being done to society that will take decades to put right. Generations of children are going to have their lives ruined.

That’s before we even think about what else is coming, the oil and gas golden goose might as well shut up shop because it’s now done for. Farming is going to be in for a tough time, our famous scotch beef and lamb and whisky is going to be in the firing line and millions of taxpayers money is going to thrown at London millionaires and foreigners to plough up our farms and plant trees to avoid inheritance and income taxes tax. In wales they have worked out the damage this is doing and are scaling back the forestry grant schemes, won’t happen here as that would require common sense. The rest of the business sector is going to suffer due to the rise of the lazy entitled little shit that the greens want to encourage where hard work will become a crime and taxes are going to go up to snuff out private enterprise as much as possible.

The worst of it is the whole thing has been orchestrated by a criminal. I see Sturgeon is on some bullshit list of influential women, yet no one in the media speaks out to say that she should be in jail rather than bathing in the adulation of the feminist wokerati. The disconnect that enables these people to praise her as she deliberately tries to erase women is breathtaking. Mind you if people hadn’t been stupid enough to vote for her none of this would have happened. Well done folks, you know who you are.

Shocked

@100%yes

Good for you, this New SNP /Green deal is the biggest of fuck yous to Salmond and Alba. It’s directly attacking the Alba party policy of standing up for women. Never in a million years will there be any cooperation from the New SNP as long as sturgeon and her cult are in charge. The only way things will change is when she is in jail.

Colin Alexander

The SNP are the biggest enemies not only to independence but to democratic values, like freedom of speech.

They are warped. Crooked.

Evil. Dangerous.

Hatuey

The Yoons were right when they said neverendum…

holymacmoses

I refuse to accept these people as the SNP. As far as I’m concerned , they are The Murrellites. They will go down in history as the group who did more damage to Scotland than Westminster could ever do.

Breeks

Mighty S says:
21 August, 2021 at 7:52 am
Should we expect a swathe of MSP’s defecting to Alba?

If not, why not?

Hand on heart, do we either need or want them to?

Let them own the despicable con and trans bollocks dystopia they’ve suffered upon Scotland, and go down with their ship.

I actually feel the same way about the dim and gullible twats lapping it all up and begging for another bowl of sugar coated Indy Tomorrow Flakes. Hell mend them. Unpardonable pricks the lot of them.

Ruby

link to archive.is

‘Let’s set aside for a few moments that a party which has never won a single seat in six Scottish elections over 21 years – nor even come close – has now managed to secure a couple of ministerial posts. One of their co-leaders, Lorna Slater, couldn’t even win enough support in her own party originally to gain a list seat in May’s Holyrood elections. She picked up only 36 votes but was elevated to second place on the regional list for Lothian.

But only after Andy Wightman, one of Scotland’s most respected politicians and an authentic environmentalist, was forced out for expressing reasonable concern about the Greens’ sinister views on women’s sex-based rights. There can only be one big personality in this party, you understand.”

Cath

Poor Ivan McKee , despite doing a good job looks like the one who loses out here.

He’s my MSP and the only reason I voted SNP in May. Had I been in a fair few other constituencies I wouldn’t have given a first vote at all. I’d love if he went over to Alba at some point and carried on his work for them. But I can also see why it would be hard for anyone to jump right now. You can imagine the howls from the Alba haters if people they voted for as SNP shift over. Understandably, to be fair – the election was only a few months ago. And jumping in response to the Green coalition is still too niche – few understand the GRA, HCB issues. Timing will be critical, when there’s a good reason, a principled stand to be taken. Like when Whiteman resigned over the sex of an examiner. I imagine the new coalition will give them plenty chances for taking such stands over the next year or two. Also, if Alba is a step too far, there’s a long tradition of party MSPs jumping to become independent.

Breeks

Yet, if she / her should give up what she / her has begun, and agree to make us or our kingdom subject to the King of England, the English or Science denying misogynistic Paedophiles, we should exert ourselves at once to drive she / her out as our enemy and a subverter of his own rights and ours, and make some other man or woman who was well able to defend us our Leader; for, as long as but a hundred of us remain in the ALBA Party, never will we on any conditions be brought under English rule or SNP dystopia.

kapelmeister

Basically Sturgeon is now like a highly-controlling religious cult leader who rakes in the money whilst making promises to the gullible and confused followers.

Dan

@ Andy Ellis

Re. Some current SNP MSPs crossing the floor to Alba, or even just becoming non-party affiliated independents to distance themselves from what the SNP is pushing and where it will lead Scottish society.
It was muted in the recent Holyrood election campaign that there were SNP candidates that were potentially up for this, but would stay where they are for the time being.
As you say, if not now after all we are seeing, then when?

I stated ages ago there is straightforward way to initiate moves, and with the Green Party now playing a part in Scottish “Government”, it would be even more viable.
All someone needs to do is step up and defend women’s rights against all the genderwoowoo stuff and the usual suspects in the SNP and Greens will do what they do to hound them out their Parties.
But, as the majority of a constituency’s electorate don’t buy the piss SNP and Greens are selling, they would most likely still agree with and support their elected MSP for having the conviction to stand up and counter some of the un-mandated and unwanted policies being foisted onto our society.

Eel-like politicians may think they can ignore what’s going on and wiggle out at a later date. But they need to be reminded the electorate aren’t self-serving twats and often just want decent honest folk to represent them.

Ruby

What can we actually do about it?

I’m with Breeks on this.

Let them get on with it. We should just sit back, watch the show and have a good laugh!

Ottomanboi

IndyRef2, the Graphic Novel and Comp. Game.
Check out IndyRef3, 4, 5, 6….coming soon.
Deep Yawn!
FM in some poll as influential «woman»….OOOPS!.
Give them the rope…hoisted by their own arrogance….also coming soon.

Ruby

Getting Boris to agree to a ‘section 30’ is one thing but the big question is how will that ‘load of duds’ ever win an IndyRef2?

‘Holiday Boy’ is going to have a hard job competing with the jokes coming out of Holyrood.

Ruby

“For many women in the SNP this tawdry arrangement with the Scottish Greens is a declaration of cold intent. Much of the misogyny that’s been directed at them for standing up for women’s protected characteristics in the debate over transgender rights has come via the sewer than runs beneath the Scottish Greens. This was most recently evident following a column written last week by the journalist Ruth Wishart in The National.” Kevin McKenna

Scot Finlayson

@Dan,

even if some SNP MSPs decided to stand up for woman and vulnerable children and vote against Self ID the British Labour Party at Holyrood would support the vote for Self ID,

Sir Keir Rodney Starmer KCB QC is just as in thrall to the transcult/Stonewall as She/Her and the Green Goblin.

Geoff Anderson

….are we there yet?….are we there yet?……are we there yet?…..

Robert Hughes

I don’t find it hard to imagine the UK State will allow a couple of years of SNP/Green madness to infect the body politic then * grant * an IndyRef secure in the knowledge – after it and the MSM drop the shit they have on her – the result will be a resounding defeat .

Case closed . All hail the New Union Hegemony

Liz

Where did Lorna Slater come from? How long has she been a Green member?

They had to have a presentable women as a shield for this gender crap.
Chapman always looks deranged.

Slater was interviewed, was doing well answering questions until they asked her,what is a woman or something about sex, stuttered stumbled could hardly speak.

She is either a plant or a trougher

100%Yes

How many people comment on the articles in The National now there in the single figures. We all remember the New SNP telling us not to call the next referendum Indyref2. Its how everyone is cashing in on the idea of a referendum when certain bloggers, newspapers and politicians are making a good living out of Indyref2, change isn’t coming because they don’t want change it affects the wallets of those who are taking us all for fouls.

Breeks

Robert Hughes says:
21 August, 2021 at 10:03 am
I don’t find it hard to imagine the UK State will allow a couple of years of SNP/Green madness to infect the body politic then * grant * an IndyRef secure in the knowledge – after it and the MSM drop the shit they have on her – the result will be a resounding defeat

That would be the script according to Occam’s Razor.

Perhaps the non-believers need more time to see the great deception and deconstruction of the SNP and YES movement, but I fear this is the only explanation which can accommodate all the absurdities and insanities.

Sadly, Scotland hasn’t the time to spare. We are under attack and our defences have been sabotaged.

Ruby

Liz says:
21 August, 2021 at 10:06 am
Where did Lorna Slater come from? How long has she been a Green member?

They had to have a presentable women as a shield for this gender crap.
Chapman always looks deranged.

Slater was interviewed, was doing well answering questions until they asked her,what is a woman or something about sex, stuttered stumbled could hardly speak.

She is either a plant or a trougher

Has anyone who supports self-id given a satisfactory answer to similar questions?

Andy Ellis

Imagine the panic at SNP HQ if BoJo turned round tomorrow and said he’d changed his mind and decided to grant a S30 order.

Given current circumstances I’m not that confident we’d win.

Milady

And in other news, Liz Lloyd is ‘rewarded’for her loyal service (knowing where all the bodies are buried is a powerful thing) and is being appointed Sturgeon’s new Strategic Advisor.

Robert Hughes

Indeed Breeks

Time is the one * commodity * we don’t have .

It’s almost as if Sturgeon’s role is to delay any meaningful effort to gain Independence just long enough to allow the further dismantling of the Independence Movement and the effective take-over of what little autonomy Scotland has left .

Before anyone starts ….I’m not saying this is all a * conspiracy * by the nefarious U.K State – though it would be naive in the extreme to think it isn’t exerting itself in some way to enable the impending carnage .

No , Sturgeon and the Wrecking Crew are more than capable of doing this by themselves .

It’s what happens when lunatics run the asylum : a downward spiral of irrational behaviour ending in disaster

Dan

@ Scot Finlayson at 10.02am

Even if it were the case that Labour would assist passing the legislation, the point is for decent individuals to at least take a stand against this bollox as it would potentially be a catalyst to raising awareness amongst the electorate, with political ramifications.

It’s about way more than just the genderwoowoo. The way the SNP Party has been so corrupted by She / Her and her clique with the Party constitution changes and ongoing NEC shenanigans.

Doing nothing means they are complicit and facilitating those in power to continue on their desired trajectory.
After all…
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good wo/men to do nothing.

100%Yes

If a referendum does come its destined to fail and why not, because SNP want it to fail. The PM, his government and the unionist don’t even need to lift a finger. I even heard a SNP figure saying to Ian Lawson, that the next referendum held, if we didn’t win it would have to mean a generation before the next referendum, I thought, where are these people coming from and what planet are they on? Are the SNP advocating that if they lose another referendum then people shouldn’t vote for them, because this is what’s going to happen if that’s their attitude to the constitutional question for it to be laid to rest for 40 or 50yrs. The UK should turn around and say to the New SNP well grant a referendum provided its held in the next six months the New SNP and Greens would be in a panic and we wouldn’t win it, why because since Sturgeon took over from Alex she done nothing regarding the constitutional question for god sake the New SNP spent our 600K to stop us having a referendum. We the Yes should be at a point of joy because we where ahead in the polls and people who supported the union where now joining the Yes side because they considered the EU more important than the UK, well regards to the EU its like the referendum no progress is being made to take us back into the EU, so really why have we just voting for the New SNP and how do we go about getting rid of the New SNP. I hope and pray people have the goods sense to not go out and vote for the New SNP at local elections next year because I won’t be.

paul

A national party with no interest in self determination and a green party with no time for the environment.

A marriage made in the heaven of convenience and utility.

Perhaps the hallmark of the FM’s reign.

However, all the hard work is in trusted hands:

After 6 years as FM Chief of staff pleased to say I’m taking up a new post next week as First Minister’s Strategic Adviser focussed (sic) on long term transformational policies for Scotland incl net zero, poverty & the economy. First up #cop26.

I’m sure when she’s sorted out these problems, she will be 200% focused on preserving the union.

Fionan

It strikes me, seeing all these headlines over a long period of time, that the Nicolytes are actually addicted to the dopamine release each time such a headline comes out and that is why they cling on so hard and so blindly to the NSNP.

It is well-documented that random rewards are a very powerful addictive mechanism – think fruit machines with the promise of a sometime and entirely random reward. The same principle underlies random rewards to dogs and other animals being treated for getting a response correct. We all know the sheer tedium of constantly waiting for an anticipated reward – Sturgeon’s Brexit speech on 31st january 2020 was one such major occasion ending in a damp squib. But these occasional ‘official’ announcements of the ‘coming indyref2’, making huge The National headlines, may well act as the random triggers for dopamine release, the internal reward for having been patient and trusting in St Nicola. When combined with the cognitive dissonance being used to deny what is happening in reality, to deny that one has been so completely fooled, the random rewards of Sturgeons repeated indyref2 announcements are a powerful force to retain the loyalty of susceptible individuals, and those who dont look too closely but just tend to go with the flow.

paul

Andy Ellis says:
21 August, 2021 at 10:19 am

Imagine the panic at SNP HQ if BoJo turned round tomorrow and said he’d changed his mind and decided to grant a S30 order.
If I was in his sweaty shoes, that is exactly what I would do.

Given current circumstances I’m not that confident we’d win.

Not with the fourth and fifth new members of the better together gang.

Even if they did, they’d negotiate hard for slightly less than Haiti got from France.

Republicofscotland

Indeed this broken record on independence, will just go on and and on, with one excuse after another as to why we can’t hold one.

Meanwhile Mike Russell, prattles on about Afghanistan in the National newspaper, as if the West hasn’t tried to manufacture enough consent to do something via its propaganda, Russell has to add his tuppence worth.

Also that vile creature Liz Lloyd, Sturgeon’s Chief of Staff is to return to work after a leave of absence, Lloyd who earned £108,000 per annum in that role, will return in a new role, she will become Sturgeon’s Strategy Advisor, likely a made up role (at the taxpayers expense) for services rendered.

Lloyd is the vile creature that prompted David Davis (English MP) to use his parliamentary privilege to speak out in the House of Commons, that Lloyd had interfered in the Salmond debacle.

Colin McAllister will become Sturgeon’s new Chief of Staff, previously he was John Swinney’s Policy Advisor.

chas

Very recently some of the posters on here have doubted my ‘Independence credentials’. That is up to them-I am not required to convince anybody.
I have stated many times that the beginning of the road to an Independent Scotland is the removal of Sturgeon and her acolytes. Is any one seriously suggesting this is wrong given the events of the last day or two or the past 7 years with Queen Nicola at the helm.
Alex Salmond and the Alba party have got a golden opportunity to present to the Scottish people a real, honest route to Independence but they cannot do this by sitting on their backsides and doing nothing. It may be that their view is to play the long game and simply allow the SNP to self destruct but, given the gullibility of the Scottish electorate this is a dangerous tactic.
Alba should also be reluctant to take on board any current SNP MSP’s who seem to be totally spineless and simply in Politics for their own personal benefit.
Difficult times ahead for all in Scotland.

Stuart MacKay

Grumpy Scottish Man has it exactly right. Our Lady of Betrayal is just taking another page out of Jacinda Ardern’s playbook in her quest to build the Progressive Jewel of the Northern Hemisphere because the impostor syndrome is real and she’s too inept to do anything original. Like a wispy reed she bends to the will of the slightest breeze.

link to grumpyscottishman.wordpress.com

Alba is starting to get the finger out. Now Scotland is finally getting some traction. Time to stop crying over spilled milk and prepare for the succession.

Dave M

I agree with both of Abdy Ellis’s posts. I live in the Edinburgh Northern and Leith constituency, and I couldn’t bear vote for Ben MacPherson. I even emailed him before the election to tell him why I wouldn’t be doing so. To be fair to him, he did actually reply to me but didn’t address any of my concerns, particularly over women’s rights, gender identity ideology/queer theory, and safeguarding, as well as the SNP’s authoritarian turn.

I had already made up my mind to vote Alba on the list, and I voted Labour for the constituency as I was impressed by their candidate and she had said on record that she felt the constitutional issue was one for the people. It was a vote for her rather than her party.

This shady wee deal means that it’s goodbye to women as a category, never mind their hard-won rights, and the ushering in of authoritarianism and the Thought Police.

If I could afford to do it, I’d be packing up my life and buggering off elsewhere, because I don’t like where I see Scotland going. Sturgeon and her poisonous, men’s rights activist cabal need to be brought down, fast.

P

Special place on the mantelpiece for Gordon McIntyre-Kemp as he tells us to put party politics to one side.
Indy 2 is coming?
And yet
Sturgeon refused to work with Alba ffs
Still boilin

Republicofscotland

I must admit it, I’m not a big fan of Peter A. Bell’s writing, however on this occasion I must take my hat off to him, as he and The White Rose Rising Group intends to hold a demo outside the Holyrood parliament on Tuesday the 31st of August at 2pm, the Scottish parliament resumes on that day, after its Summer recess.

Mr Bell and the group wants Sturgeon to name a date for the next indyref, as we all do.

Good luck Mr Bell, you’ll need it.

Willie

Patrick Harvey is an absolute tube of a man.

I recall back in about 2014 when being asked about taxing the pips off of people earning over £120,000 a year he said he would go for it irrespective of the fact that it would very substantially reduce tax take.

With the simple fact that there at that time were around 17,000 individuals earning over £120,000 per year to absolutely huge salaries beyond that, Harvie was not prepared to accept the HMRC analysis that around 40% of the very high earners would legally, through their circumstances, be able to legally establish tax domicile in England, or maybe elsewhere, therefore causing the Scottish Exchequer to lose not just the extra 2% tax on higher rate earnings, ( say 42% to 44% ) but also ALL of tax on ALL of the earnings of this select band.

Think for example of how easy it would be for Scottish MPs to flip tax residency to England and you get the picture of how the Revenue calculated that the Scottish Exchequer would lose hundreds of millions of tax.

But this reality of a tax take fall did not phase Patrick Harvey, on how many hospitals or whatever would need to be cut to accommodate the income cuts. No, rather it was the case that he clenched his fist and declared that it was all about solidarity. And that was it, a bite your nose off to spite your face politico, wholly unsuited to dealing with the realities of the

Life saving drugs, life saving treatment, but from an organisation that Harvie doesn’t agree with because it is non trans supportive, is profit making, doesn’t support gay rights, delivers drugs or life saving equipment to Israel, and our wee man would deny folks treatment for ‘ solidarity ‘ This is exactly the type of logic that this wee green weirdo espouse.

The world is certainly not perfect, but that evening when I heard Harvie say he would forego hundreds of millions of tax, to show solidarity, I fully realised what a an extreme tube of wee man Harvie is.

But you know what, this is what we voted for. Two votes SNP with 1,091,000 second SNP votes delivering absolutely zilch save a minority SNP.

Never a good idea to criticise the voter, but it’s difficult not to think there a more tubs than just Harvie. At least his party got a when of seats with a very small number of votes compared to the huge utterly wasted SNP vote.

John Main

@Andy Ellis 10:19 am

Astonishing level of cognitive dissonance there Andy.

Of course we wouldn’t f*****g win!

What will it take before reality sinks in? Every political party active in Scotland, possibly excepting Alba, is in the lie-peddling business. Labour aren’t interested in working people. The Tories don’t protect traditional values. The Lib Dems won’t protect rights and freedoms. The Greens have already sold out on the environment.

And yes, the SNP want to run a devolved government, subbed from WM, in perpetuity. Collectively, they have no more idea on how to organise the affairs of a sovereign nation than I have.

What the SNP are doing is managing the transition from being a party with a defined destination, to being one with an ongoing journey. The key thing to understand is that the journey is now the raison d’etre, and the destination has been abandoned. By doing this, the SNP expects to remain in power indefinitely. I think it highly likely that they have already gamed how to hold IndyRef2 (eventually), how to lose it again (just), and how to therefore retain power afterwards. Where else would the Indy supporters put their crosses?

So what about Alba? They have to start building the case for Indy again, not from scratch, but not from where it was when NS took over either. Too much has happened in the wider world since then. Alba has to be crystal clear in putting the message about that the SNP “brand” has been hollowed out just as much as the brands touted by the other parties. TBH, that should not be too difficult.

Republicofscotland

Gordon MacIntyre-Kemp, of whom I’ve always found as an informative guy, with an upbeat outlook on Scottish independence, has said in the National newspaper today, that Autumn 2022, or Autumn 2023 is the latest the SNP can hold an indyref, because the following year in 2024 there’s a GE, and other indy parties, such as Alba will put up candidates for that, and that the SNP would lose half their Westminster seats because the trust in them would have gone by then.

MacIntyre-Kemp adds, that the SNP would disintegrate, if they go back on their word this time to hold an indyref, also MacIntyre-Kemps says, if Westminster tries to block an indyref through the courts, that Scotland could go, on via a vote, to declare UDI.

This is the toughest talk on independence I’ve read from MacIntyre-Kemp, he’s usually quite reserved.

McDuff

Thanks rev once again for showing the sham that the SNP is and the National for what it is.
What does it take to wake people up.

ronald anderson

The Greens are supposedly a autonomous political party but Patrick Harvey see’s fit to consult Jacinda Ardern & other Green parties .

Calum Baird must be sick of printing those Headlines on Referendums/Independence FEK NIKLA STURGEON & all the snowflakes in the SNP .

Republicofscotland

Re my 11.26am comment I forgot the link apologies.

link to peterabell.scot

Tommo

For what its worth my view is that She has in fact an extremely shrewd ‘political’ brain-ie she is entirely without moral compass, self seeking and devious
I don’t doubt that she would LOVE to be the head of an independent WooWoo World but my belief is that she and her inner cadre know that if they held a referendum now they would lose. Hence her statement some time ago that they ‘would hold a referendum when the time is right’
If the ludicrously-named Indyref2 were held- and lost- then She and her party would be a busted flush for the foreseeable
Far better to beat the drums and wave the Saltire every 6-9 months or so, retain power and ‘wait for something to turn up’.

Stuart MacKay

Republicofscotland

I don’t know whether this coincides with his decision to leave the SNP or not but Peter Bell’s writing has improved dramatically in recent months. It’s crisper, clearer and more direct. So much so that I’d rate him and Grouse Beater as the two people who are really worth paying attention to right now.

It’s interesting to see how fortunes change. Rob Brown’s recent assault against Alex Salmond was definitely a foot gun and you can tell he knows it in his writing also (not just the mea culpa post). The May elections burned out Barrhead Boy and Iain Lawson and they don’t seem to have recovered yet. The others are generally firing on all cylinders and overall I think the state of the indy bloggers is much better – I wonder if that’s because there’s more attention available after the Rev. “retired”.

On https://www.voices.scot I’ve been collecting stats on what links are clicked (but not who clicked on them). There’s three months worth of data now so it might be possible to start looking at trends. I’m hoping to add the stats to the site so you can see who’s stock is rising, falling, etc.

What I really want to find out is whether the blogs are waxing or waning. Traffic to the voices site is up, but the low numbers mean it’s hard to judge whether there’s more interest in the indy bloggers and hence less in the media stream propagandists or not.

Right now, Peter Bell’s “makeover” is a great contribution to the cause and I’m hoping to see more like him.

Meg merrilees

Wow Stu, seriously impressed with the drawings!

Not impressed with the message from she/her but it is par for the course. She is taking Scotland into dangerously unchartered territory and we should all be worried, unless, of course, you have shares in Big Pharma and other gender disrupting chemical sales.

Republicofscotland

Thanks for the link Stuart, you might be right, and on Peter A. Bell, I think you might be correct as well, his link I posted @11.54am is certainly inspiring.

Ottomanboi

New SNP-Green party Cabinet.
comment image
50% transitioned
50% transitioning
Nikallah akbar!

Scot Finlayson

@Dan,

strangely and sadly the only party protecting woman and vulnerable children would be the British Conservative party at Holyrood,

and about the only MSP that has put their head above the parapet has been Murdo Fraser (maybe Baillie not sure)

how f@cked up is that,

the world is upside down.

Bill Mackay
Mac

I never thought it was possible to create a scenario where I’d possibly vote NO in an indyref, or at best abstain.

Sturgeon has quite remarkably and in the space of seven years made the unimaginable real for me.

She is horrific. When you start looking at Westminster as a welcome brake on her it would be very hard to knowingly give her so much more power and probably 5-10 years to do what she wanted.

But I suspect she will get indyref2 because you’d want her in charge to lose it.

She’d be straight on TV saying that the matter was now over for at least a generation blah blah blah… pleased as punch but putting on a sad face.

The SNP are completely lost to me now. I want nothing but failure for them.

The greens are even bigger wokeballs than the imposter roasters occupying the SNP these days. The combination is going to be very destructive to Scotland’s economy amongst many other things.

I don’t think the average SNP voter in Scotland has a clue just how dumb and dangerous the SNP now are and what they have unleased on Scotland for the next five years.

By the time they do realize it, the damage will have been mostly done. The gleeful media for sure will not be pointing it out or highlighting it to them.

Contrary

Stuart MacKay – regarding stats for your (very useful) voices.scot site, I tend to have my favourite blogs open in tabs anyway, and only click on the ones I’d infrequently view, via your website. That is, my most popular ones are not accessed by clicking the link (for the most part) – just something to take into consideration while reading any statistics (though I can’t speak for anyone else’s habits!).

I gave up reading that jaggy blog after a few of his initial articles – self-aggrandising twaddle as far as I could see – so I missed nearly all his shit-stirring re Alba. He does produce good headlines that are always tempting to click on – but I stand by my initial impression: it’s all about him, not independence, and how clever he can make himself look.

Good to hear traffic is up for your site, it’s a great resource.

Geoff Anderson

I think Stuart McKay is Peter Bell! @11:57

Stuart MacKay

Thanks Contrary. The voices site is just one small blip but I’m hoping it will capture enough traffic to get some understanding of the state of play of the indy blogs and see which way the winds are blowing.

What I really want to see are new blogs popping up – though twitter and facebook have probably changed the landscape forever – that would be heartening signs of a Scottish Spring.

Remember, The Shout! is on 31st August at Holyrood.

Timi?oara!

Confused

When you say it’s gonna happen “now”
well, when exactly do you mean?
see I’ve already waited too long
and all my hope is gone …

Ebok

Robert Hughes at 8.33am

‘… working from within to effect change just won’t cut it now’

I disagree Robert. Assuming, as you do, that dissident MSP’s should leave SNP, then all they could do is declare themselves independent. (It would be a grave mistake to raise the ALBA banner in these circumstances, given ALBA’s poor showing in the election. They’d be crucified in MSM. And even if they did, could you ever be completely sure of their motives?)

IF there are any of the SNP’s HR contingent really wishing to show some backbone, then their best option would be to take a leaf out of the handbook of the ‘masters of collusion’ and form a group, similar to the ERG, and work WITHIN the party. The small ERG contingent successfully held WM to ransom for years and there is no reason why it couldn’t be done at HR.

It would require a leader within, but only 8 MSP’s in total, then they would effectively be replacing the greens in holding the balance of power.
Should that occur, then at least you’d know for sure who could be trusted. It would be difficult for even MSM to ignore this group – just think of the publicity ERG and JRM got, even though they couldn’t enact anything, they were just spoilers, but we all know the outcome.

All this is wishful thinking, however. It’s not going to happen while there is not a single outspoken voice to be heard.
So, there must be a wholly different approach to the tragic mess we are in, and it may be best to wait and hear what ALBA come out with next month: the four months since the election will surely have enabled the party to come out with some inspirational ideas and fighting talk to give us hope.

James Che.

To avoid any chance of any strange upcoming accusations on trumped up charges in a false court case and to avoid any surreal accusations of being an extremist against governments I will refer to to those whom are incarcerating people and going against the people in the kingdom as mythology or fairy tale characters, no one will have a name attached, a bit like victim A or victim B so I cannot be accused of placing a jigsaw together.

Nowadays you have no idea how big brother or big sister is watching our comments, but one thing is for sure. They do.
The second thing that is guaranteed is people whom write something that is not to the liking of the wicked witch or the green goblins are challenged to court case as the writer whom is semi retired was by a red female goblin not so long ago.

In all the confusing of fairy tale myths whereby evil magic was put upon the people in the kingdom to change boys to girls and girls to boys,
And where the young children in the kingdom were being stolen for purposes we are fearful to guess at mostly by the green goblins an blue downy south wizards.
It is the wonder of others in that kingdom why the parents have not come together to resist the evil.

But it also has come to light that at the other end of the age scale, the older people of the lands have been attacked unmercifully, for they are to be put to work until they drop down,
should they survive extended work age they are to be imprisoned in old people’s homes by decree.
and there to the delight of the wicked witch a plague should be let loose kill upon those old people that cannot escape, any thing could be done now to these old people of the land.
The downy south wizards planned the same.
For it was a good plan,
especially if you temporarily locked up their children into their homes, banned them from visiting the vulnerable in their old homes,
stopped autopsies or them seeing the older people even on the day they were to be buried and the.evilist plan to lock down any repercussions of justice and law.

Disposal of the elderly that are no longer of any use as a work force and reducing having reduced many pension pay outs was all for the good.

However this cannot be guaranteed to have success, so all measures must be taken to ensure that none survive.
So an attack is made upon the old by stealing of the rest life savings called pensions.
However the wicked witch nor her friends the Downey south wizards think this will be ample to dispatch the old or to change the attitudes of people in the land,

There must be a subversive mental attack on the younger people to disrespect the old people of their kingdom by comic pictures of the old beaten up in there homes,
or advertising death preprogrammed messages for planning when they will soon die .

Never include old people in advertisements as buying a new sports car or swimming or cycling unless for joint pain,

Or perhaps showing magnifyed black and white pictures that have exaggerated wrinkles on their faces.
And perhaps ensuring that the young are disassociated from their parents and grandparents by introducing pre child child care by strangers.

The elderly were once very important to a community as they used to look after their grandchildren while parents were at work,
The community system often kept three generations in close bonds an ties.
Family discussions on care and health of the whole family took place.
All three generations had connections with the outside world plus neighbours at varying levels,
Making a vibrant community with others.
And of course the elderly passed on and instilled years of wisdom to the young, helped them set up their new homes, pressed a bit of pocket money into little hands. And shared laughter and tears.

For years the wizards and witches planned that the young and old should become separated,
That they should not care or help each other.

For they could see that young people were vulnerable and easily brainwashed, by early teachings,
They could be used to destroy human society. Giving total control an power over to the wizards and witches.

Is this a fairy story. Or is this what has happened to our young and old.
Is it to late to reconnect with our young,
for the young may not have the wisdom to know they have been stolen and used at all by the witches and wizards to go against their own families.

Pixywine

Police in Australia are shooting rubber bullets into crowds of anti lockdown protesters. The SNP will be creaming themselves.

Pixywine

If Patrick Harvey is seeking direction from the crackhead Jacinda Ardern then we are in Big trouble. New Zealand is an open air Concentration Camp. Horrendous.

David

A very important anniversary is coming up in four weeks: on September 18th it will be one generation since the 2014 Indy referendum.
Seven long, frustrating, years.
One political generation.

Our political leaders need to be reminded that Scotland wants independence, and that we expect them to focus on achieving it.

robertknight

@David

“Seven long, frustrating, years.”

You forgot to add “wasted”.

Stoker

Liz says:
21 August, 2021 at 10:06 am
Where did Lorna Slater come from? How long has she been a Green member?….”She is either a plant or a trougher.”

I read somewhere (via someone’s comment) she was originally from Northern Ireland but that seems to have been bullshit. According to her Wiki-page she’s from Canada, attended the University of British Columbia.

It goes on to say she booked a one-way flight to Scotland intending on traveling across Europe but when she got to Scotland she decided just to stay. She apparently became “politically active” during our IndyRef campaign.

I don’t like or trust her, there’s a certain reek about her.

paul

Tommo says:
21 August, 2021 at 11:56 am

For what its worth my view is that She has in fact an extremely shrewd ‘political’ brain-ie she is entirely without moral compass, self seeking and devious

That is her forté

Politics in the office sense,not policy.

Bernard de Linton

Lorna Slater on national tv ” Middle age white men make all the bad decisions” Just proves you can be racist whilst hugging trees.

Pixywine

link to bitchute.com
To any snowflakes who may watch this. There’s a fairly grim piece of footage in this video.

Hugh Jarse

“I don’t like or trust her, there’s a certain reek about her.”

Eau du Toronto, masking the guff of testosterone and self entitlement.
………
The National IS our Pravda.

Ian Brotherhood

If you’d been asleep since September 2014 and woke up to that ‘historic’ statement yesterday, you’d be forgiven for thinking that it’s some kind of wind-up.

Even hard-core Sturgeonites must now be wondering – is she sending some kind of coded signal, ‘Flee! All has been dioscovered!’-style?

Unbelievable.

Willie

Meanwhile yesterday SNP health minister had this to say in George Square –

“ Not one single ounce of compassion from the UK Government even now at the most desperate time of need for our Afghan brothers and sisters.”

“If you’re looking for sanctuary, then Scotland can be your home.”
“If you’re looking for a place for refuge, then Scotland can be your home.”

“Go further and go quicker and I promise you our Scottish cities, our Scottish islands, our Scottish towns, our Scottish villages, they will welcome Afghans here as we have done for many years before with our Afghan community “

susanXX

Willie, I WON’T welcome them, they are a fifth column for Islamic. Nicola Sturgeon I hare you and all you stand for.

Pixywine

link to bitchute.com
This is not normal.

John Main

@Willie

Surely some mistake.

Plenty of UK government compassion. 20,000 Afghans expected/planned for under the Afghan Citizen’s Resettlement Scheme.

Who’s telling porkies here? And why?

James Che.

In short, societal breakdown starts and continues with the separation of child and children from their home in the early days of their life and into the education system to become processed.

Breakdown of society leaves a cohesion gap,

A cohesion gap between the young, their parents.

And their parents,

No one in a society any longer has a united goal to resist impositions into the home, the neighbours home, the street, the village, the town the country, the nation, the sense of belonging.
The roots that have far flung branches, the new young shoots will never develope to produce the next generation of fruit, with a knowledge that who they are came from the old roots, not a graft onto the stem.

Some things sound like fairy tales, others sound like horror stories.

Pixywine

link to m.youtube.com
In Paris right now.

James Che.

Nurture your children wether they are three months old or thirty years old,

Show love, warmth, a listening ear, a helping hand, a regular communication, understanding they are not copy printouts of yourself,
visit for short regular periods and try take the sunshine with you to make them happier with you’re visiting.
Invite them for a simple meal, and find time to help them with the garden shed or painting and decorating,

Forget the divisions and old arguments.

Re- Grow your family and bonds,
Grow your community
And strengthen your nation

For if we do not start with the fundamentals of society. Every thing we hold dear for ourselves and our children will be lost to us all.

That is what is wrong with the yes movement, with Scotland, the cohesion is disappearing.

Mark Boyle

“The White Rose Rising Group” – Jesus fking Christ.

Do these people even stop to consider what the ordinary punter in the street they’re hoping for support (or at least money) from is going to think of it, before coming up with their stupid DC Superheroes wee gang names?

At least the Pie & Mash Squad picked their completely moronic name because they were making a conscious effort to appeal to complete morons. But the “White Rose Rising Group” – sounds like somewhere between John Buchan and Enid Blyton territory.

As for Peter Bellend, a broken clock’s right twice a day. He may do proofreadering before posting now in his bid to become a career blogger, but he’ll always be nothing more than the thinking man’s Sean Clerkin, who himself is the thinking man’s Peter Dow.

Stoker

For reading and contemplation
link to gaylesscottishblog.blogspot.com

Ottomanboi

Antilockdown demos in France & Australia. If the Scots hadnt had their balls cut off by Old Nick they might join them.
Rogues, parcel, bin. Make a sentence.

Geoff Anderson

Can anyone get rid of pixywine?

I mean in a posting sense of course ?

Beaker

I see the SNP getting decimated at the next UK GE. By decimated I mean losing as many as two thirds of their MPs.

The Greens should not be allowed within a mile of government. Certainly not the current crop.

wee monkey

In the meantime: banning your personal property.

What’s going to come first

Your car or your gas boiler?

wee monkey

James Che. says:
Quote: 21 August, 2021 at 4:48 pm

“Nurture your children whether they are three months old or thirty years old,

Show love, warmth, a listening ear, a helping hand, a regular communication, understanding they are not copy printouts of yourself,
visit for short regular periods and try take the sunshine with you to make them happier with you’re visiting.
Invite them for a simple meal, and find time to help them with the garden shed or painting and decorating,

Forget the divisions and old arguments.

Re- Grow your family and bonds,
Grow your community
And strengthen your nation

For if we do not start with the fundamentals of society. Every thing we hold dear for ourselves and our children will be lost to us all.

That is what is wrong with the yes movement, with Scotland, the cohesion is disappearing.”

Indeed.

Do you not think that is probably the plan with the BAME/LGBT agenda being enforced by the SNP, starting with 4 year olds??

Destroy the cohesion of the family unit; start by isolating the young [very young] then gain control of their minds.

Orwellian, it has been ongoing for a decade at the minimum.

Dan

@ wee monkey at 5:59 pm

Banning the internet on “environmental” grounds must be high up their list.
I’ve a mate that travels around Europe carrying out software upgrades to the servers of various organisations.
We are talking about massive buildings located near every major city housing huge rows of racks of servers dealing with all our 0 and 1 typings.
Each row has its own metered power supply and the consumption figures are immense. There’s also massive aircon systems to deal with attempting to get rid of the heat generated by thousands of servers.

Grouse Beater

Two pieces on the same subject, the SNP-Green deal.

Your essential weekend reading:

‘A Hundred False Dawns’: link to wp.me
‘A Tawdry Deal’: link to wp.me

Robert Hughes

James Che @ 4.48

Lovely post my friend .

Ebok @ 1.33

When has working from within to effect change ever actually worked positively in Party political terms ? Working from within to effect change negatively seems historically to have been more successful.

I take your points but is it not about time politicians who have an ethical position contrary to their Party stopped giving a fuck about being ” crucified by MSM ” ? Just do the right thing or shut-up and accept you care more about your career than taking a stand .

In Scotland what would/should it matter what the MSM say ? With the feeble exception of the SNP Smash Hits equivalent known as The National , all MSM are hostile to Independence anyway

President Xiden

Seriously, our friends the Greens may be onto something and perhaps we really should be thinking of what kind of world we are going to leave behind for Keith Richards!

Breeks

Dan says:
21 August, 2021 at 6:22 pm

….Each row has its own metered power supply and the consumption figures are immense. There’s also massive aircon systems to deal with attempting to get rid of the heat generated by thousands of servers.

Didn’t Microsoft experiment with installing Internet Servers under the sea somewhere in Scotland as I recall, to help with cooling?

Seems a bit wasteful just to dump surplus heat into the ocean when it could surely heat some community venture or something.

Andy Ellis

@Beaker 5.53 pm

If it’s a Westminster GE what does it matter? Unless Scottish MPs were going to be holding the balance of power (which given the abject state of Labour and the LDs hardly seems likely) they aren’t going to make a bling bit of difference. Even when they DID have some leverage during May’s brexit travails, they squandered it in an undemocratic attempt to deprive English voters of what they voted for, so the track record of Scottish Westminster MPs is hardly something we should be talking up.

Alba should announce they’ll take the same stance as Sinn Fein: if nothing else it’d be worth it to see the yoons heads explode and the Nicolytes shit themselves at the thought of losing their seats because they’ve pissed off enough pro-indy folk to make them abandon the SNP. Few tears would be shed over the loss of Wishart, Nicolson and most of the other troughers.

Alba has several years to get its house in order. It doesn’t need to aim to replace the SNP in the short to medium term, just to attract enough support to deny them a majority. For Holyrood 2026 it should selectively target SNP constituency MSPs who are the worst offenders or most slavish Sturgeon loyalists and/or Woko Haram extremists.

When ordinary voters start to see the full fat SNP/Green prospectus over the next few years, the imposition of the deeply regressive and misogynistic TRA agenda, the failure to deliver #indyref2, and the continuing failure to deliver anything radical or progressive on education, land reform, drugs policy or anything else they will soon start to desert the SNP. We just need to show that there is a worthwhile alternative.

wee monkey

Dan says:
21 August, 2021 at 6:22 pm

Quote “Banning the internet on “environmental” grounds must be high up their list.
I’ve a mate that travels around Europe carrying out software upgrades to the servers of various organisations.
We are talking about massive buildings located near every major city housing huge rows of racks of servers dealing with all our 0 and 1 typings.
Each row has its own metered power supply and the consumption figures are immense. There’s also massive aircon systems to deal with attempting to get rid of the heat generated by thousands of servers.”

I would doubt that. It is, at present a effective means of control.
Change the internet to a “closed” one perhaps?

{ I have had someone say to me “it’s all over social media so it must be true” quite alarming as he was quite a clever chap too }

Republicofscotland

“Mark Boyle says:
21 August, 2021 at 4:52 pm
“The White Rose Rising Group” – Jesus fking Christ.”

I can’t say I’m a big fan of Peter A. Bell, however at least he’s getting off his arse to try and do something for the indy cause, tell me Mark, what have you done, for the cause that supercedes Bell’s, if nothing then kindly put a sock in it.

Breeks

As for being green, I think the elephant in the room which people don’t want to face is the growing human population.

It probably isn’t helpful to describe humanity as an “infestation” of the planet, but it might be a sobering notion to think about it as one.

We are now living longer than the design life of the “modern” houses we’re meant to live in, while the Earth is losing virgin forests it cannot replace.

I think it would be sensible for humanity to address human over population while we have a say in the matter, and before Mother Nature decides to get ruthless and make it for us.

Everybody has seen the movie(s) The Day the Earth Stood Still, but maybe the movies we should be making should be the day after the day the Earth stood still, when humanity has had it’s life changing threat / warning / epiphany, and is suddenly putting all it’s energy and resources into healing the planet and rehabilitating it’s wild ecosystems.

Otherwise, we are no different from a swarm of locusts consuming everything in our path and leaving devastation in our wake. I hope as a species we turn out to be better than that, but so far the jury is out.

willie

@john main.

Don’t know who is telling porkies here.

The proposal to flood Scottish islands with Afghani immigrants is not a new concept. Indeed some years ago there was proposal by the UK government to import tens of thousands of Hong Kong emigrants to populate Scottish Islands. At the time is was mooted that it would create islands of entrepreneurial excellence – which says a lot about what certain folks in Westminster think about existing Scots and Scotland.

Suffice to say the proposal went nowhere but the sentiment is still extant – and indeed extant in bro Humza Yousaf’s mind since he is reiterating it.

Maybe, and I joke a little, but just maybe Humza would like to see the offshore Scottish islands as some kind of Caliphates in the making.

Who knows though. We live in wild outrageous times where the only thing that is certain is that there are forces that utterly want to destroy Scotland and its potential for independence.

JimuckMac

Breaks! Have you any evidence to back up your belief that the earth is overpopulated?. There seems to be lots of conspiracy theories flying about at the moment.

sarah

O/T more inappropriate application of “rules” to Craig Murray reported by the Rev today:
– his letters are opened and given to him minus their envelopes. So he can’t reply if sender’s address is only on the envelope.
– Craig isn’t allowed stamps nor books, magazines – fear of them being soaked in drugs, apparently. As if.
– his emails are printed out i.e. he can’t read and reply on a laptop.

I suggest we start writing to the prison governor David Abernethy to tell him what we think and suggest he adjust the clearly inappropriate “rules” including the ludicrous one of Craig having to wear a prison track suit when his family visits him. Plus query why Craig hasn’t seen a doctor yet.

Dan

@ Breeks at 6:53 pm

I don’t know about them putting servers in the ocean, though I would have no issue if twitter and facebook servers got thrown in the sea! 😉
Putting anything metal and electrical in the sea has drawbacks.
The ROVs as used in the oil & gas industry require high voltages and currents to power them, so they need all sorts of kit such as line insulation monitors and trip breakers to ensure no main power conductor wire’s insulation breaks down, and the subs also had loads of anodes as sacrificial protection to stop the sub’s metal structure and electronic junction boxes fizzing away in the seawater.

As you say though, the heat from all those servers could be recovered for community heat projects or swimming pools if the joined up thinking and will was there. Think pronouns are more important for out “Government” though… 🙁
Iceland of course harnesses the geothermal heat from their volcanoes to keep its roads ice free and also heat and power their polytunnels to grow their veg.
But of course, that is just an example of what a sensible independent country can do…

Saffron Robe

Paul says:

“A national party with no interest in self-determination and a green party with no time for the environment.

“A marriage made in the heaven of convenience and utility.”

Exactly what I was thinking, Paul.

Or, in other words, a match made in hell for the rest of us.

Dan

@ Saffron Robe

Try to find the positive in every situation. Why not take the opportunity to learn to speak Pashto and Dari so you’ll be able to explain Scotland’s complex historical political mire, and the D’Hondt and Single Transferable Vote systems to the NuScots arriving from Afghanistan…

James Che.

Wee monkey.
It started a long time ago, going backwards in time line we can observe.

In ground gained by methods disguised as easing problems for working parents. Child care support. Replacing grandparents and aunties care.

Placing older people in care homes as young adults/parents had no time for each other at the end of their day. Never mind parents. Or vice versa for working grandparents.

The encouragement of setting up young single mothers into council houses often further away and replacing parents support.

And before that, deliberately taking out [ local ] employment, as locals losing local employment meant having to raise early to travel to work miles away and arrive back at home late in the day or early evening just as children went to bed.

Closing down high street amenities, , garages, bakers, public toilets, ironmongers, greengrocers, haberdashery, high street banks, news agents butchers, street car parking spaces,

post offices, high business rates, and taxes for local businesses, electrical shops, local pubs,
And it began with closing down railways branches as far back as the late 60s.

The new minimum wage is also the new maximum wage for the future

It has been a slow and steady regression to withdraw a lifestyle that had improved for the average man/woman and child in the town or country after WW2.

Now why would the leaders of countries want to go backwards?

At present the NHS system we payed for through our wage packets all those years is being destroyed. and our pensions we payed for through our earnings is being raided, or manipulated as supposed government money.

Meanwhile the tax breaks are going solely to big cooperations, big food chains, big pharmaceutical companies, energy companies, etc.

None of these changes that place people, families, villages, towns Or country at a distinct disadvantage are there by accident or error.
As that would be to numerous in numbers to be accidents and errors for any government to say they made a mistake.
And then not rectify them.

We only need a climate change mantra to take us back to the late 1800s, to complete the picture of regression backwards for common people.
Whereby the rich will continue to live to a high standard of transport, eating well, holiday travel around the world through exemptions.

Meanwhile the well to do do not discourage flying large jets from contaminating the sky, do not away with their mobile phones, or say no to Branson or bezos to experience-holiday flights to outer space using gas tanks of fuel, nor do they safely dispose of nuclear weapons, stop bombing countries to Smitherians,

Everything that is being changed is for us.
Eroding the cohesive bond that family, neighbours, friends, and workmates had will make the objections to these changes much easier for governments to handle and knock down as single or small group protests.
As they recently did with 1950s women and their pensions.
Along with worker inability to now go through unions to have a fair hearing.

REALITY can seem like having a good moan about bad things,

But REALITY is having a bad moan about the good things that is fast disappearing.

Saffron Robe

A couple of interesting quotes regarding the discussion around overpopulation, and which I think complement Breeks’ comment at 7:32 pm:

“Mankind, if unchecked, functions like a plague, a cancer…our numbers intensifying with each successive generation until the earthly comforts that once nourished our virtue and brotherhood have dwindled to nothing…unveiling the monsters within us…
This is Dante’s nine-ringed hell.
This is what awaits.
As the future hurls herself toward us, fuelled by the unyielding mathematics of Malthus, we teeter above the first ring of hell…preparing to plummet faster than we ever fathomed.

“Mankind is hovering now in a purgatory of procrastination and indecision and personal greed…but the rings of hell await, just beneath our feet, waiting to consume us all.”

Dan Brown – “Inferno”

“We now know, as Adam Smith and Macaulay did not, that material progress is implicated in a dialectic of concomitant damage, that it destroys irreparable equilibria between society and nature. Technical advances, superb in themselves, are operative in the ruin of primary living systems and ecologies.

“We no longer accept the projection, implicit in the classic model of beneficent capitalism, that progress will necessarily spread from privileged centres to all men. Indecent superfluities in developed societies coexist with what seems to be endemic starvation over a large part of the earth. In effect, improvement in the chance and duration of individual life as brought on by medical technology has fuelled the cycle of overpopulation and hunger.

“It may be that the coming door opens on to realities ontologically opposed to our sanity and limited moral reserves.”

George Steiner – “In Bluebeard’s Castle”

wee monkey

James Che. says:
21 August, 2021 at 8:25 pm

Quote. “Wee monkey.

It started a long time ago, going backwards in time line we can observe.

In ground gained by methods disguised as easing problems for working parents. Child care support. Replacing grandparents and aunties care.

Placing older people in care homes as young adults/parents had no time for each other at the end of their day. Never mind parents. Or vice versa for working grandparents.

The encouragement of setting up young single mothers into council houses often further away and replacing parents support.

And before that, deliberately taking out [ local ] employment, as locals losing local employment meant having to raise early to travel to work miles away and arrive back at home late in the day or early evening just as children went to bed.

Closing down high street amenities, , garages, bakers, public toilets, ironmongers, greengrocers, haberdashery, high street banks, news agents butchers, street car parking spaces,

post offices, high business rates, and taxes for local businesses, electrical shops, local pubs,
And it began with closing down railways branches as far back as the late 60s.

The new minimum wage is also the new maximum wage for the future

It has been a slow and steady regression to withdraw a lifestyle that had improved for the average man/woman and child in the town or country after WW2.

Now why would the leaders of countries want to go backwards?

At present the NHS system we payed for through our wage packets all those years is being destroyed. and our pensions we payed for through our earnings is being raided, or manipulated as supposed government money.

Meanwhile the tax breaks are going solely to big co-operations, big food chains, big pharmaceutical companies, energy companies, etc.

None of these changes that place people, families, villages, towns Or country at a distinct disadvantage are there by accident or error.
As that would be to numerous in numbers to be accidents and errors for any government to say they made a mistake.
And then not rectify them.

We only need a climate change mantra to take us back to the late 1800s, to complete the picture of regression backwards for common people.
Whereby the rich will continue to live to a high standard of transport, eating well, holiday travel around the world through exemptions.

Meanwhile the well to do do not discourage flying large jets from contaminating the sky, do not away with their mobile phones, or say no to Branson or bezos to experience-holiday flights to outer space using gas tanks of fuel, nor do they safely dispose of nuclear weapons, stop bombing countries to Smitherians,

Everything that is being changed is for us.
Eroding the cohesive bond that family, neighbours, friends, and workmates had will make the objections to these changes much easier for governments to handle and knock down as single or small group protests.
As they recently did with 1950s women and their pensions.
Along with worker inability to now go through unions to have a fair hearing.

REALITY can seem like having a good moan about bad things,

But REALITY is having a bad moan about the good things that is fast disappearing.”

Can’t disagree with any of that.

Mist001

Some Covid news:

It will all be over in two years time. I can say this with authority because it’s what Mrs. Murrell said in relation to a second independence referendum.

“The 51-page agreement pledges another vote on Scottish independence by the end of 2023”

So, it’s only two years until the end of the pandemic.

link to inews.co.uk

Ian Brotherhood

Recently read a lovely wee book by Ronald Blythe called ‘Voices of Akenfield’.

It’s testimony from people who lived and/or worked in the Suffolk village, and was first published in 1969.

One of the chapters is by a district nurse who, I assume, was working in the 20s and 30s, certainly well before the NHS was established. It’s sobering stuff. She had to travel all over the area, was admitted right into the heart of families, usually working alone, and helped the people endure every ailment imaginable.

At one point, she remarks, almost as a by-the-way, how it was not unusual to find elderly people being kept in cupboards. And this wasn’t considered ‘cruel’ – it was just practical, because they were taking up too much space and there was nowhere else for them to go.

I’m only writing this because some earlier comments tonight have mentioned the NHS, and social cohesion of different sorts, and I’ve been thinking about that stuff a lot since reading that book. The fact that my own old dear is just about clinging to independent living via sheltered housing is also a factor, no doubt, but the horrible hairy-arsed fact is that many of us have relied on the NHS to do the hard stuff that we can’t, or simply won’t do, and that’s not sustainable, or fair.

Thirty, forty years ago, it wasn’t unusual to have a ‘granny’ as a permanent fixture in the recess of the main room. Now? Folk don’t expect to have to bear that burden and would really struggle, big-time, if it was suddenly landed on them.

I’m not saying that we should have to deal with that burden – and fuck knows I couldn’t countenance the idea of my old dear living here permanently – but I wonder sometimes if we really are honest about our relationship with the NHS.

Tricky stuff.

cirsium

@Stuart Mckay, 11.57
The May elections burned out Barrhead Boy and Iain Lawson and they don’t seem to have recovered yet.

This reads like a recovery to me, Stuart

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

Willie

Quite right Dan at 8.24.

What a splendid idea. Let’s all learn Pashto. I mean what better a time to do so. No doubt Bro Humza in his brief as health minister will have developed plans, mandatory plans for swathes of us to have to learn Pashto. To not do so would I suspect be a Hate Crime.

Mind you when Pashto meets LGBTIQ++ what will we get.

Ah, Dan, You need a string constitution of stoicism and a sense of humour or you’d go off your head. But as someone once said, those who the gods would destroy they first make mad.

Robert Hughes

Ian @ 10.12

Fine , honest post Mr B . Raises some uncomfortable questions .

Indisputably the NHS has been a tremendous source of help to millions of people : an honourable example of what societies can do to ensure those citizens that require care receive it regardless of financial , or any other, considerations

Have we become too reliant on it ,not only , as you say , to do some of the caring that formerly was done by families , offspring , also to take less responsibility for our own health ?

Obviously in cases of accidents , serious physical illnesses , birth handicaps etc there is little the average person can do , trained professionals will always be required , but in the wider sense of ” Care in the Community ” have we lost something invaluable by gaining the benefits of a NHS ?

Trouble is this is an argument used by Tories , in their case of course an example of their “everything has- primarily – a monetary value , survival of the fittest ( richest ) ” worldview

I know that’s not where you’re coming from Ian .

Is it not one of the many injuries of life under Capitalist/Materialist systems that we’re all so locked into lives of work, consumption , debt , simply to have a half-decent standard of living or even just to keep heads above water we lack the energy or will to look after others , even family members and close friends , to the degree we once did as a culture ?

James Che.

Saffron robe.

I to have read those at the top of our society whom believe we will reach the mark of over population and therefore will be a strain on food resources.

(1) At the moment Scotland is under populated due to many believes of invaders of Scotland, pre the middle of the 1600s Scotland had a much higher population, even if they were poor. Many were ship of to the new colonies as indentured slaves.
Now due to lack of employment the rest have been a voluntary migration.

(2) who chose’s the section of people causing the over population, the leaders at big world events is where I first heard the depopulation of the planet.
However it is interesting to learn that the Downey south wizard ruling the kingdom at the moment has produced many children he does not recognise or support.
The crownie wizards had 5 offspring…plus many unaccounted for,
And the speaker one for them has six offspring.

Now who decides which members of society should be culled.

Derek

…stop me stop me stop me

stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before…

(was never really that into the Smiths, but it seemed apt)

Ian Brotherhood

@Robert Hughes (11.30) –

Aye, it’s difficult stuff, and it certainly doesn’t help that the NHS, as a ‘national treasure’, has been fetishized to the point where any criticism of it – as an institution, or any individual who happens to work for it – has become virtually taboo.

All very dispiriting, and I apologise for the negativity, but it feels like we are in seriously dangerous times now, and nothing – not even our sainted health service – is beyond suspicion.

sarah

I can’t remember if I have asked on here how many will be going to NowScotland’s “Use the Mandate” protest at Holyrood on 31st August at 13.00.

The truth is that the Scottish Government has been given several mandates to restore Scotland’s independence. The only person stopping us is M/s Sturgeon in her roles as SNP leader and FM.

Not only is she blocking the way by not declaring the May election as a plebiscite, she also brainwashes the public into believing that we need another vote, AND that such a vote can only be after Brexit/covid/economic recovery/whatever excuse comes to mind, AND that we have to ask Westminster for permission as otherwise it would be illegal to ask the voters opinion on the question, AND FINALLY that we have to wait to persuade enough No voters because if we lose the referendum we won’t be able to vote again for a generation.

What childish codswallop. Yet we see it daily trotted out by MP/MSPs, in The National, and in btl comments.

So it is up to all we sensible Yessers to apply pressure on her
to stop blocking our way. A substantial public protest will be a good start. It will encourage some of the MSP worms to turn.

Derek

“New Zealand is an open air Concentration Camp.”

Some of my mates live there, but they seem quite content with her leadership. How so?

cirsium

@James Che, 4.48, 8.25

Thanks for these posts – fables for our time.

You ask Now who decides which members of society should be culled.

Pepe Escobar would say the 0.0001%. Catherine Austin Fitts would say Mr Global. Frederich Nietzsche would say the Ubermenschen.
Nationwide pushback against Tyranny August 21 Australia – link to bitchute.com

wull

With regard to the picture of the Press Conference that opens the article above …

Why is Nicola wearing a tiara? Has she transgendered into the Pope? Or maybe just into an effigy of the Pope? (If so, it might not be one her best ideas – effigies are always in danger of getting burned down in this great land of the free; and maybe especially that particular one.)

And is she so out-of-date that she doesn’t know that the Pope no longer wears his tiara. And hasn’t done so for years (John Paul II never used it, and neither has any Pope since then.) Did someone steal it from the Vatican Museum to present it to her?

And, although her glamour adviser makes sure she eschews hats, did she really take a shine to this one? ‘I do fancy a wee bit of that old man’s tiara…’, or something like. ‘Suits down to the ground – or rather Up to the Heavens!’

Is this all part of the New Transgender Policies of the New Government Coalition (since that’s what it is, While-Pretending-Not-to-Be-One, so that the Greens can still continue to milk the Holyrood cow for as much as they can possibly get out of it)?

Is this the next campaign on Nicola’s rise to international stardom, taking over the oldest multi-national in the world? And turning it into a TRANS-National?

In other words, Nicola for Pope!

Is this the new campaign that was launched yesterday? Not for Indyref 2, but for World Domination by Nic the Infallible? You must admit you have to admire it: the Lady’s ambition (she did say that ‘her’ was her pronoun) really has no limits.

Just imagine: Pope Nicola the Numpteenth! Has a kind of ring to it, don’t you think? Will she be the first in a line of Infallible Numpties who will transgender the Papacy itself? Leader of the A-team that will impose their A-gend-A on the whole wide world. Long live the new Dogma of A-Genderism where there will be No Gender At All, just like A-theism got rid of God by saying there was No God At All. Just like A-Gnosticism – with apolgies to all my agnostic friends, no offence intended – literally means Not Knowing Anything At All.

From A-Gnosticism to A-theism to A-Genderism – this is pure and simple logic. Like elementary arithmetic, in fact. The Abolition-of-God + The Abolition-of-Knowledge = the Abolition-of-Gender! (And, all together, it leads to the Abolition not just of Gender, but also the Abolition of Sex and Procreation, and of all links and connection between them!)

Maybe (with apologies to John Wesley!) we can call it Dis-Connexionalism!

Or, to adapt a slogan (with apologies to E.M. Foster, when he was a Passage-Boy to Ibdia) … ‘Only Disconnect’!

To go back to the wonderfully staged set design for the picture… Besides the Lady crowned with the chandelier-styled tiara taking centre stage, look at her flankers (set up so that the eye remains focused on her). Who was the genius who choreographed this whole performance? Put him/her/it on your unending pay-roll Nic – he has done you proud!

Oh! You already have done, you say? I didn’t realise it was her … ‘Oor Liz’, you say, if I am hearing you right! Your Liz, whom you have depLloyd to such wonderful effect… What a strategist: I should have guessed it must be her. Behind the picture, I mean.

To get back to the flankers – with an ‘fl’ – I don’t just mean the two St. Andrews flags, carefully draped Boris-style and hanging down on either side of you to keep the focus firmly fixed on … well, on YOU, of course. I mean the two other perfectly positioned fl ankers, both of them half-in the picture and half-out of it. This keeps the focus just right, with the one BigWit in the middle and the two HalfWits on either side of her.

What a fantastic choreographer you have, Nic, working so well for you. You can’t have three BigWigs after all: there can only be One that Dominates. But one Biggie with tow sidekicks comes across as just right for a govenment that’s going to replace God with itself after all. Especially if it’s the Christian – and Jewish – God it’s replacing. The one that made male and female, and thought it ‘very good’. That Old Fogey, who got it all wrong, is now to be a Gonner, having transmogrified into his replacement: BigNic and the Twa Bairns. (Still some kind of threesome, so at least the Christians should be pleased, shouldn’t they?)

(Otherwise known, someone is telling me over my shoulder, as ‘KnowS*ite and the Green Dwarfs!’)

And look at these two on either side of Big Her, the hero of the tale the picture tells, with their pint-sized desks compared to her Really Big One. She of the two microphones (everything flanks her) while they only have one wee one each.

And the positioning – the visibility – just wonderful: what a genius for symbolism. On one side one leg, on the other side another leg, and in the middle – de-genderisation personified – the central character has no legs at all.

Look at the leg to our left – a trousered leg? Does that symbolize maleness? Even manhood? Wow! But even if it does, does that necessarily mean the person inside the trouser is actually a male? ‘Maybe Aye, Maybe Naw’, as Kenny Dalgliesh would say.

Now, look above him, and behind him (above and behind the Trousered-Leg One, that is). What do you see? No tiara for him? No chandelier either: he/she/it or whatever is NOT the light of the world, not even of this little press-friendly choreographed world of the picture. Instead, there is, precisely, ‘The Portrait of a Lady.’
And who is that Lady? I’m not sure, but I think it might be Flora MacDonald… Don’t you?

And look at what’s above the head of the person, apparently female (although it could always be a disguise) on the opposite side of the picture. Yet another painting… This time, as far as I can see it, of a man. And who does this man look like? Well, I might be wrong, but doesn’t he resemble one Bonnie Prince Charlie…

Now keep looking to your right, to the other Bairn, the one underneath the portrait of the Bonnie Prince (the bigger of the two Dwarfs but not big enough to compete with our central character, no matter how horsily she flings her (or whatever pronoun is preferred) head and her hair in the air. And look at that ‘other leg’ protruding to our right, tucked against the mini-podium which stands there… That is, look, and see the leg that wears a skirt. Is that a symbol of femaleness? Even of womanhood? Maybe. But even if it is, does it mean the possessor of that leg is actually a female? A full-blooded woman? Well, maybe. But then again, maybe not! Who knows? In this Transgendered world everything is possible. And ‘nothing is impossible’ to this new governing trinity which now rules Scotland, under Little Miss Biggie.

Again, such perfect symbolism. Most folk (with apologies for the use of religious language) are blessed to have two legs, but these two are only showing one leg each. Not shyly, but a bit ‘coquette’ all the same, don’t you think?

Or, to put it another way, here too we have two legs, but each of them belongs to a different person. A trousered leg on one side, and a skirted leg on the other.

And – maybe this is the key point – between these two one-legged creatures at the two sides of the picture, there in the middle, beaming and crowned with her tiara, supreme in all her splendour, stands the One behind the Giant Podium, the One-With-No-Legs at all….

What subtlety this symbolism is! But what does it mean?

Does it mean that the one with the trousered leg we see has a skirted leg we don’t see? And maybe … just maybe … at the other extremity, does the skirted leg we do see have a trousered leg we do not see?

Or does all this mean that the two – one trousered and one skirted – have become one, at long last, in the beaming, crowned and legless person behind the central podium? This triune icon, centred on the Middle Person, Scotland’s Saviour(ess), says so much, and tells us what our future is to be. That future in which all knowledge, every gender and God Himself will have been abolished; everything will have been brought into one in the glorious person in the middle; that is, in the one with the glorious tiara whose brilliant light shines up to Heaven and whose invisible feet never touch the floor, aided by her minions to the left and right of her (/him/ it /whatever).

And us? All of us? Yes, we will have been transmogrified, all of us, into that central lime-lighted person’s genderless image, now and for always, for ever and ever, AMEN.

Sexless, genderless, and personless, all our freedoms will be gone. For ever.

There have been false ideologies before. There have been heresies and heresiarchs before. There have been anti-Popes before. This is not the first time in history that Evil has stalked the corridors of power, presenting itself as an Angel of Light. Scotland has been turned inside out before, with all her essence and her core values being betrayed by those who purported and pretended to defend them. But all these ‘befores’ are as nothing compared to what is coming afterwards; that is to what is coming now.

And what is coming now will stop at nothing – absolutely nothing – to achieve its perverted aims and goals. It may be incredible to us that this is happening in Scotland, of all place – BUT IT IS. It may be incredible to us that just when we were on the cusp of achieving and regaining our cherished independence, it has all been turned around against us and against the very notion of Scotland itself – BUT IT HAS. We may feel as if we are in total disarray, staring calamity in the face, as if Scotland’s enemies are about to finally dissolve her and gain the complete victory that always eluded them, BUT THAT IS HOW IT SEEMED IN 1304. And in 1306, Robert Bruce was crowned, and despite initial defeats and apparent disaster, the abolished nation rose like a phoenix from its own ashes, AND THAT IS WHAT MUST HAPPEN NOW.

It is not just Scotland’s fate that is at stake. This is a global, world-wide fight, at a key historical moment for humanity. Scotland looks as if she has already been captured by the enemy, and will be at the forefront of the barbarity that is to follow. IT IS UP TO US, IN THIS SMALL AND SEEMINGLY IRRELEVANT BUT ALWAYS HIGHLY SIGNIFICANT PLACE, TO START THE BACKLASH, AND BEGIN TURN IT ALL AROUND.

It is not just our independence that is at stake but, together with that independence, something much deeper, and of global significance. Scotland is not a backwater, and never has been, though anti-Scottish propagandists have always wanted us to believe that it is, and done their damnedest to convince us of that lie. All lies must be resisted, and we are in the midst of the biggest of these. This is a global fight, and we are in the midst of it. Time to stand up, and resist by every acceptable means. When you are the victim of lies and injustice and terrific violence, even verbal, you must not employ the same means in your defence. We are going to have to use our imagination, it will require subtlety and perseverance and belief in the fundamental rightness of the cause; it won’t be easy but it can be done. No one should despair.

As a footnote to the above, the set-up of the press conference as pictured above, is very deliberate and revealing. Whoever conjured it up thought through every detail. There is nothing in it by accident. This is stage set; and stage sets already tell you plenty about the drama that is about to unfold on them.

If I am right – and I admit I might not be – that the two 18th or 19th Century portraits on either side are of Flora MacDonald and Bonnie Prince Charlie, these historical figures have been incorporated into the new narrative the SNP-Green arrangement intends to impose on us in a way that would have been totally inimical to these historical characters. Charles Edward Stuart escaped dressed up as a woman, as Flora MacDonald’s maid-servant. You can immediately see what kind of icon the Green-SNP alliance will make of that one! They will have no compunction about re-writing history – that is perverting it, and turning it into a pack of lies – to suit their agenda, and brainwash children. The SNP already proved that they had no qualms about such authoritarian practices when they set about erasing Alex Salmond from the history of their own Party.

Lies breed lies, more and more of them, one after the other, the next still more brazen than the last. Resistance means sticking up for the truth, even when it hurts, and never letting go of it. We are already far down the slippery slope, but we do not have to continue down it further. It is imperative that we do not.

James Che.

I suppose if you wish to CULL the human population without being to obvious, there are a few ways to do this,

Wars en mass are handy.
Pandemics en mass are handy.
Floods en mass scale are handy.
Fires en mass scale is handy.
Climate change on mass scale is handy.
Poverty en mass is handy.
And food shortages en mass are handy.

Now the first time I had heard that anyone was thinking about controlling the weather or cloud seeding was in an old black and white film with Loretta Young, the movie was called,
It Happens Every Thursday. ( 1953 )

Later on I learned they had been trying it during WW2, to help planes in the sky, a documentary on the German warfare if I remember correctly.
I wonder if the research was continued and how it would affect our weather today.

twathater

I have noticed there has been a great deal of HYPOCRISY been shown by the purveyors and promoters of the civic nationalist shite , it appears the civic nationalists are NOT so civic nationalists when it comes to their views being ignored or overruled by the all inclusive NEW SCOTS that we should be grateful too for choosing our wonderful country

Apparently NEW SCOT Mridul Wadhwa from India and NEW SCOT green MSP Lorna Slater who is from Canada I think and who was elected as a MSP with 36 votes are causing some anger and resentment from the civic nationalists because they are more interested in pushing their own views of what constitutes a woman and are DETERMINED that those views will take precedence over any objections from indigenous Scots

Those NEW SCOTS are favoured and revered by the ruling junta so much so that the ruling junta ensures that Mridul a man who has NO GRC and who is the Chief Executive of Edinburgh Rape Crisis is generously funded by Scots deluded taxpayers through the SG

And NEW SCOT Lorna with her 36 votes will probably be awarded a ministerial post in the power sharing SNP and Green SG

But it appears that these examples of civic nationalism towards NEW SCOTS is NOT what OUR civic nationalists on WOS believe the term means
BUT again they should be aware of Sturgeons meaning of civic nationalism and inclusion when she opened up a SG consultation on GRA which would only impact the WOMEN of Scotland to views and opinions from vested interest parties from around the world

paul

James Che. says:
22 August, 2021 at 2:48 am

I suppose if you wish to CULL the human population without being to obvious, there are a few ways to do this,
…..

Now the first time I had heard that anyone was thinking about controlling the weather or cloud seeding was in an old black and white film with Loretta Young, the movie was called,
It Happens Every Thursday. ( 1953 )

Later on I learned they had been trying it during WW2, to help planes in the sky, a documentary on the German warfare if I remember correctly.
I wonder if the research was continued and how it would affect our weather today.

There was at least one avengers episode along those lines.

The real shit seems to be here:

Weather as a Force Multiplier:
Owning the Weather in 2025

Breeks

James Che. says:
22 August, 2021 at 2:48 am
I suppose if you wish to CULL the human population without being to obvious, there are a few ways to do this…

I wouldn’t do anything as drastic as culling any human population, but the exorbitant rise in human population is unsustainable in the long run. We are emptying the seas of fish, clearing the birds from the sky, virtually every species known to us has it’s existence impacted by the ubiquitous loss of natural habitat, even the insects are dying out because of us… and all to accommodate our insatiable greed for Earth’s resources. Jeezo, even the atmosphere is being altered by us.

Humanity needs to live within it’s means. And I mean it needs to, not treat the matter as a lifestyle choice.

It isn’t adequate or acceptable to reduce our natural environment to pockets or enclaves of wilderness where species cannot easily find breeding partners. The expansion of the human environment comes close to desertification for other species, typically with the apex predators taken out early doors until the whole ecosystem collapses and cannot recover.

I don’t know what the answer is, and I don’t know if we have it in us to do it, but life is being reduced to existence for people, and life reduced to survival for critters. The animal kingdom is already holding on pockets, like vault dwellers trying to survive it’s Apocalypse. Their extinction level event is already happening, for many species it has already happened, and unfortunately “we” are it.

I have an increasingly forlorn hope that an Independent Scotland would lead the way in rewilding our natural habitat, and resurrecting the globally unique phenomenon of the Great Caledonian Forest, complete with it’s apex predators, wolves, bears, eagles, and massive salmon in our rivers.

If the return of apex predators is incompatible with our farming methods, for God’s sake change the farming methods. Change our behaviour. And if the consequence of that is that it’s harder to feed ourselves, then so be it, we regulate our population to the point we can feed ourselves.

If humanity is reduced to feeding itself by over processed “test tube” foodstuffs, you kinda have to wonder whether we’re doing it right, and whether life is / was a much richer experience when people are closer to nature.

I don’t mean close the supermarkets and force everybody to survive Ray Mears style, or wringing the necks of their own chickens, but recognise both of those options are extremes on the spectrum, and we need to find a happier point in the middle somewhere.

Breeks

When I was a college, I shared digs with medical students, and they talked about the medical philosophy of adding life to years rather than years to life.

But as a society, does that mean we have to live as “monsters” who just let our elderly die? Surely not.

If we want avoid facing that scenario, in my opinion, we are back at the numbers game. We can make those decisions as a choice now, or do nothing until we have a society that’s unsustainable and collapses. It an unpopular proposition, but maybe families do have to take care of their old folks in the family home, though hopefully not keeping them in cupboards.

We need to find a way to make that the positive solution. For a start, we can stop building matchstick housing with tiny rooms, and be more generous when building more robust and flexible housing, and building it to last over generations.

Breeks

Housing should not be a currency or commodity to generate wealth.

A house is your access to sanctuary, refuge, and a modicum of self security, and nobody should want for that. Our homes should be child friendly and oldies friendly, and Tories, property speculators or buy to let landlords should be forced to look elsewhere for a stellar income. Housing should be flat and unprofitable investment which is not treated as a business until it’s top end.

Hugh Jarse

Burn the billionaires.

Socrates MacSporran

I see, thanks to Friday’s agreement between the Sturgeon National Party and the Scottish Greens, we have been promised an Independence Referendum: “Within five years.”

That means, we will be going to the polls on Independence, by 20 August, 2026 – which, as I type this, is 1824 days away.

However, we are told (from what happened on the lead-in to the 2014 Referendum) that it takes around nine months to set-up a Referendum. Nine months is approximately 275 days, so that gives them 1549 days of wriggle room.

However, since the Scottish Parliament only actually meets for around 110-120 days per calendar year – the coallition only has around 490 days in which to get the appropriate legislation through Holyrood.

Sturgeon really is backing herself into a corner on this one – she will need to stop talking and start doing – quickly – or be seen for the waste of space many of us consider her to be.

Robert Hughes

Breeks . Typically perceptive comments from you . 100% agree .

Also from Ian B and – on a different subject- from you Twathater , aye some degree of dissonance on the Civic Nationalism front . excuse me while I chortle at the absurdities/contradictions inherent in just about everything NSNP * stands for * .

Sensibledave

David 2.18

You wrote “ Our political leaders need to be reminded that Scotland wants independence, and that we expect them to focus on achieving it.”

I don’t mean to be picky, but there is no evidence that “Scotland wants Independence”. The Revs recent graph shows (other than a couple of polls) that Scotland doesn’t want Independence.

As I may have mentioned a few times, that is probably the reason that Ms Sturgeon isn’t currently pushing for indyref2. And, if indyref2 was to be run anytime soon, the Yessers would, in my view, be defeated substantially… and the dream shelved or 25 years at least.

You need powerful, inspirational, compelling arguments to convex current No voters to change their minds. I haven’t heard anything of the sort I’m afraid.

ScotsRenewables

Hugh Jarse says:
22 August, 2021 at 7:50 am
Burn the billionaires.

EAT THE RICH

David Caledonia

All some of them have to do is resign from the snp and become independent

Union of twats scuppered

David Caledonia

The only poles that make any sense are the one’s from Poland, the rest are all crap, have you ever met anyone that contributed to these poles ?

David Caledonia

All things must pass

Sturgeon and her crappy pals in the green party will
eventually disappear and die a natural death and decay,
yes, even a load of shite eventually passes away

David Caledonia

Do away with oil and the infernal combination engine

lol lol lol lol lol lol lol lol

NOW THAT IS FUNNY, A LIE BUT FUNNY ALL THE SAME

Breastplate

Sensibledave,
Of course people in Scotland w@nt independence, you have no proof whatsoever that people in Scotland don’t want independence.
One of us must be wrong, so why not have a referendum to find out?

Would you not like to find out or are you concerned that your preferred choice for Scotland’s future may be altered?

Yes, we know you say you don’t care what Scotland votes for and blaa, blaa, blaa.

holymacmoses

Sensibledave says:
You need powerful, inspirational, compelling arguments to convex current No voters to change their minds. I haven’t heard anything of the sort I’m afraid

TBH honest, that’s not always true. Facts won’t ding but they also don’t tend to create a chime of bells with people either.
The current situation can be so negative as to make any alternative good enough: I think that’s why the folk in England chose to leave the EU.

The ‘message’ needs to be uplifting

‘Without vision the people will perish’

Malo accepto stultus sapit (from experiencing trouble a fool is made wise).

What we need is a message of hope to counteract the corrupt and greedy world of Westminster and Holyrood as they are at the moment.

The country needs a media which exposes rather than protects the corruption which currently abounds amongst most governments .

Alex Salmond has shown remarkable resilience, trust in ordinary people, self-restraint and above all – a love of his country. What more could a country wish for in a leader?
He is a man far more sinned against than sinning and yet still he puts his country first.

People decide what they don’t want NOT what they DO want

However the situation is not new

In a major departure from Hesiod, the 6th-century BC Greek elegiac poet Theognis of Megara states that

Hope is the only good god remaining among mankind;
the others have left and gone to Olympus.
Trust, a mighty god has gone, Restraint has gone from men,
and the Graces, my friend, have abandoned the earth.
Men’s judicial oaths are no longer to be trusted, nor does anyone
revere the immortal gods; the race of pious men has perished and
men no longer recognize the rules of conduct or acts of piety.[15]

Wikipedia – Pandora’s box entry.

and for us there is only the trying:

Captain Yossarian

@holymacmoses – A great post. Whilst I wouldn’t call Stuart Campbell uplifting, his absence is sorely missed at the moment.

Mark Boyle

Republicofscotland says: 21 August, 2021 at 7:27 pm

“I can’t say I’m a big fan of Peter A. Bell, however at least he’s getting off his arse to try and do something for the indy cause, tell me Mark, what have you done, for the cause that supercedes Bell’s, if nothing then kindly put a sock in it.”

I had a big cup of tea and a jeely piece in solidarity with the indy cause – it’s about as much use as all the small lonely men who know the world will never build a monument kidding themselves they’re doing something more than merely feeding their own egos.

Or for that matter, sad anti-semitic clowns with “the holocaust never happened” bullshit …

Sturgeon is going to dig herself into a giant hole with transgender self ID with the general public long before they pay attention to the shipyards or any of the other fiascos she and her cronies have been piling up.

Doing things for the sake of doing them is beyond counterproductive.

John Main

@Willie 21 August, 2021 at 7:39 pm

Thanks for the clarification.

So the alleged statement from the alleged SNP spokesperson about “Not one single ounce of compassion from the UK Government” for the Afghan refugees is a porkie.

TBH, I suspected that to be the case. No SNP government wonk would depart so far from the party line, and use regressive, imperial units of measure.

If the alleged statement had started “Not one single gram …” it might have carried some plausibility.

O/T, but related to your other information.

The Hong Kong Chinese have a track record of taking barren, worthless, offshore islands and turning them into a mega-rich industrial and financial powerhouse. In theory, we have plenty of barren, worthless, offshore islands of our own, so I would certainly be up for letting somebody else have a try at making some money from them. Alas, the analogy does not stand close scrutiny. HK sits offshore from a vast hinterland with hundreds of millions of industrious people, largely free of the rules and regulations that hold us back, and all of the natural resources of a continent-sized country.

The Afghans have a solid track record in fighting for and achieving the independence of their country in the teeth of what always looks like overwhelmingly disadvantageous odds, so most people would think the Scots Indy movement would welcome them with open arms as exemplars of how to revitalise the Indy cause. But then again, that’s the Afghans who have stayed in Afghanistan to take control of and run their own affairs.

The Afghan refugees who come here will be from the losing side. Perhaps they can teach the Scots Indy movement some lessons in what not to do when fighting to establish your country as a free, sovereign, independent nation.

holymacmoses

Captain Yossarian says: Whilst I wouldn’t call Stuart Campbell uplifting, his absence is sorely missed at the moment.

Thanks.
I looked forward to reading the Wings blog and I looked forward to reading Wings on twitter. Stuart Campbell is never dull or boring and he is always true to himself. I consider it uplifting to have something to look forward to:-)
The Scottish Narcissistic Pseudo-para-pedagogues have tried to destroy Salmond, Campbell and Murray and others – it is very important that those who really want independence don’t allow the best of us to be silenced. At some time we will all need to put our head above the parapets.

Stuart MacKay

cirsium @10:19pm

Lawson’s “Destroying the Yes movement” was an excellent way of framing the current situation. It captured all the inaction and subterfuge in a way that was crystal clear and damning. Even if it’s not 100% true it’s a charge that needs to be answered. I’d say, for that reason, it’s one of the more important posts from the indy bloggers.

Having said that, I stopped reading halfway through and skimmed the rest. The reason was that it was just more “SNP Baaaad”. If I want to read “Baaaad” I’ll just head over to WGD.

I’m still a fan of Lawson for two reasons. First, he lifted the lid on several cans of worms that opened the eyes of a lot of people to what the SNP had become. Second, he’s slightly less to the left than many of the other bloggers and I think that’s important as without a broader political base, independence isn’t coming. However I no longer read his posts as soon as I see them published. I hope he gets back to his old form as quickly as possible.

JimuckMac

Theoretically, all 7 billion of us could easily fit in a Texas-sized city

holymacmoses

JimuckMac says:
22 August, 2021 at 11:11 am
Theoretically, all 7 billion of us could easily fit in a Texas-sized city

Some theories can be tested: some can’t.:-)

Republicofscotland

Its shows you just how desperate the West is to keep the Afghanistan narrative alive to manufacture consent, and demonise the Taliban, that they’ve rolled out war criminal Tony Blair to speak about it.

The Western corporate media have even allowed ex-Nato chief Lord George Robertson to comment on Afghanistan, as all the monsters emerge from their cesspits to justify and placate, and persuade Western citizens that the invasion of Afghanistan actually meant something.

Breeks

Listening to Barrheadboy’s podcast, and they just had a quip I picked up on… about “Both Votes SNP” so the SNP could do a deal with Greens, and end up with a dominant Constituency Party augmented by a List Seat Party, which is in fact Alex Salmond’s ALBA strategy, which the SNP indignantly rebuffed.

So much for “Both Votes SNP” with “the greens” in small print. .Why didn’t they embrace the Greens before the Election?

Far more likely that Sturgeon is expecting trouble with her GRA reforms and pressure on party discipline, and it’s that, certainly not Independence, that needs emergency shoring up.

Meanwhile, the ALBA conference is looking to be very positive and constructive. It’s been many months since I’ve felt anything approaching cautious optimism, but some of the things I hear from ALBA feel like rays of YES sunshine on a cloudy day.

It’s young, and it’s new, but give it a chance, a wee bit faith, and ALBA will put the smile back on your face and the spring back in your step.

John Main

RepublicOfScotland

I kinda think the Taliban demonise themselves.

If you are not aware of why that is true, do some research into their methods and the fates of those who disagree with them and fall into their hands.

As is usually the case with your posts, your use of one-sided arguments serves only to repel rational and level-headed readers away from the cause you claim to support.

Mark Boyle

John Main says:
22 August, 2021 at 1:13 pm

“RepublicOfScotland

I kinda think the Taliban demonise themselves.

If you are not aware of why that is true, do some research into their methods and the fates of those who disagree with them and fall into their hands.

As is usually the case with your posts, your use of one-sided arguments serves only to repel rational and level-headed readers away from the cause you claim to support.”

It has probably more to do with anyone who hates Jews is okay in his book.

Republicofscotland

“I kinda think the Taliban demonise themselves”

John Main.

Really!

The Taliban were the good guys, and the toast of the town when they were invited to Washington for doing their part to repel Russia/Soviet Union from Afghanistan.

Now the Western narrative has changed, and they are the bad guys once again.

Republicofscotland

“It has probably more to do with anyone who hates Jews is okay in his book.”

Mark Boyle.

No its more to do with the Afghan Diaries, released by Wikileaks, do yourself a favour, and read them.

Hugh Jarse

RoS
Blair worries about “Western interests ” suffering in Afghanistan.

Lord (general)Dannatt today on Blairs shoulder to shoulder in Iraq.
“Mistake of biblical proportion”

And Craig fucking Murray is in jail?

Republicofscotland

Hugh Jarse.

That’s it that’s all it ever was, the interests of a few in the West, that led to the invasion of Afghanistan, oh they might have built a few schools etc, but the UK spent £4 billon over there and the USA spent over a trillion dollars, during the twenty-year occupation of the country.

James Che.

Breeks

There is a happier and more even balance to contributing to a greener planet,
When something works it pays to remember it,

I am watching old film of how the country pulled together during World War Two to sustain a food chain to an island like Britain.

People’s gardens were not covered in concrete, lock block or tarmac. Their little patch of land was put to good use, and swathes of Britain were green and useful. And people were incoraged to raise a hen or two depending on garden size) for their own eggs.

Nowadays we are taught to fear hens, through bird flu, in fact we are taught to fear everything that was natural.

I remember oldies, the aged, the pensioners took great pleasure in their gardens, it kept then a lot fitter than modern pensioners sitting in care homes, it kept their interest in the community and their feeling useful higher too. They had children and grandchildren over and taught them, While providing a little extra for the table.

Now I am not suggesting slave driving the pensioners,
For their children also did the same in their gardens, everyone contributed to a sustainable lifestyle that made the planet greener.
There were more birds in the gardens, more hedgehogs, more butterfly’s.
These little patches of green grew when you take note the garden n t door was the same, and the one next to that, the street was green, the towns were green, the countryside was green, and the nation was green.

On the opposite side of the coin nowadays,
People have been shoved into multi high rise buildings made of concrete. The base of these buildings are covered in concrete slabs, the paths to these building are slabbed, the road to these paths are tarmac,

The play areas for children are no longer natural grass, nor are the parks covered and surrounded with trees.
Football games are banned, stay off the grass signs are everywhere. And now we’re banned from sitting talking to anyone in these areas .
Life and happiness is pretty much banned in general.
What does this do to society, to mental illness, to the lonely, to the elderly, to the suicide statistics..

Modern local Councils have been the biggest evil set upon our society, changing it beyond recognition.
They talk of green belts and green areas as if they were and should be alien to people, as separate areas from people, something not inclusive to people.
With buildings that starve the every day man woman or child of a green environment.
Public Land that used to belong to the people for centuries was sold of by these councils, to big favoured friends for houses that the average income could not afford.
Councils put profit before community.

The green sustainable gardens parks and play areas of old worked before, they would be quite viable today at re- greening a good portion of the world.
When you mathematically work out the acreage and miles of villages, towns and cities in our country alone
Scotland could go green without extremism.

This is one way everyone can make a difference,
And just one idea of many,
I do not believe in the re-wilding Scotland project that brings threats to future farming, and a possible future safari hunting ground for the rich. No sir.

mike cassidy

On Afghanistan

From two years before ‘9/11’

‘The point is that we created a whole cadre of trained and motivated people who turned against us. It’s a classic Frankenstein’s monster situation.’

link to archive.is

Fireproofjim

James Che
Nice idea – greening Scotland – But when you come down to it the main problem for the world is over -population.
In 1950 the world population was about two billion. It is now seven billion and forecast to rise to ten billion. All those people, naturally, want a decent life and perhaps a car and and a house, and they all need food.
So the cities expand into concrete wildernesses – Mexico City is already twenty million people. The forests are destroyed. The seas and rivers polluted. The atmosphere has twice the carbon dioxide as in 1900 and so temperatures are rising everywhere.

Republicofscotland

Mike Cassidy @2.2pm.

Your link mentions Al Qaeda, Al Qaeda, is the Arabic word for base, in the West it means database I think. Al Qaeda was/is a CIA database made up of former Mujahadeen fighters, and arms smugglers.

Robin Cook British MP revealed this in the House of Commons.

Hatuey

James Che: “ When something works it pays to remember it,… I am watching old film of how the country pulled together during World War Two to sustain a food chain to an island like Britain.”

That’s a great story. And like most great stories, it’s complete bullshit.

Malnutrition levels in Britain were off the scale during WWII, and after. Actually the stupid British government declined the offer of food from the US in 1948 because they didn’t want to lower themselves to admitting the truth — that about half the population was malnourished.

During the war itself, Britain was exposed as hugely dependent on food imports. That’s why they brought in rationing, why they put so much emphasis on the Atlantic shipping, and why the primary objective early on was to bring the US into the war…

Rationing continued until the mid 1950s in the UK and it stood out amongst other European countries as a country that couldn’t adequately feed its own people right into the 1960s.

Alastair Naughton

Merely confirms my decision to cancel my subscription to the National. It is merely the Sturgeon Fanclub Newsletter. Do they think we came down the Clyde in the banana boat?

Masslass

Breeks at 1.10pm

I feel more optimistic after reading your post Breeks. Cheered me up.

sarah

Is anyone going to the “Use the Mandate” protest at Holyrood on 31st August at 1.00 p.m.?

It is an important message and it is a significant change – the Yes movement hasn’t criticised the Scottish Government aka SNP in public before.

It might make some of the MSPs think a bit…

John Main

Hatuey

“Malnutrition levels in Britain were off the scale during WW2 and after”

Nah, they weren’t.

I don’t know where you got that BS from but I suggest you go back and re-read.

This time, don’t skip over the long words.

Pixywine

link to bitchute.com
Stay up to date with the latest Fascism from Australia. You won’t see this on BBC.

Pixywine

Derek. Its because they believe the hype?

Pixywine

link to m.youtube.com
Willie. This is what you get when you combine Pashtun with LGBT

Tannadice Boy

@Hatuey 3:58pm
That’s an interesting contribution to the debate. But I prefer to listen to someone that lived through those times. So during my Sunday afternoon call with my Dad I asked him about it. According to him rationing ended in 1953 but had all but broken down before that. Ways and means etc. He says they were hungry during WW2 but less so than the 1930s where real hunger existed. You may have heard of the expression the Hungry Thirties. Another expression you may have heard “The bairns can’t eat medals”. Origin Dundee, I have personal experience of this as I have spent decades trying to track down my Grandfather’s WW1 medals. (I was named after him) Sold in Dundee 1936. I went to a famous Scottish shopping Mall this morning it’s not hunger we have to worry about.

Sensibledave

Breastplate 10.09

…. There was a referendum. The people of Scotland voted to remain part of the Union. We have that evidence. Since then, as per the Rev’s graph (not mine or anyone else’s) the majority of the people in Scotland don’t want Independence.

No one is stopping and independent Scotland … other than the people of Scotland. Until something changes, independence is getting further away, not nearer. The economic s***show in Scotland, together with an increasingly loony toons government are pretty much guaranteeing the trend continuing for the foreseeable future.

James Che.

The fables of fairness.

The invented world of wizards and witches.

I know there must be a land in some faraway place that I have not visited yet.
For it is told that in that country everyone is the same. That all are equal.
Where the downy south wizards held a meeting upon a sustainable living program for all. Well for some,
As the downy south wizards knew that this was hogwash,
In fact they knew the conversation they were holding was akin to a slick oil salesman selling air to the hot ballon club.
Now they wanted to change the human world, and they had plenty of magic at hand, this had been useful for disappearing small items like money,
in fact even the wicked witch of the north had been able to do that spell.
No they needed something special, something more impressive if they wanted to change the world.

They agreed that it had to be subtle, but all powerful, sneaky perhaps, but definitely Nooo use of lighting and thunderbolts, that would draw attention to them.
And the Wicked Witch of the North might copy the idea.

So a meeting was held where wizards from all around the globe were invited to this closed door event.
The first conversations were all unanimous. That the long sleepy spell put on humans around the world had been successful. And the Confusion spell had worked a treat, bringing much smiley faces to all the global wizards, There was a pause while, much hand shaking and patting of shoulders, nods and glasses were raised, after a few guffaws and grunts they settled back into their seats and conversation was resumed,
All were in agreement that for the wizards to complete their rule over humans they would have to speed up the magic of destroying everything the humans held dear….
Now these humans had one or two weaknesses.
Humans seemed very attached to work, they did not mind working for themselves, for their neighbours, for bosses, in fact they traveled far and wide to get more work and better jobs.
Now The wizards lived longer than most on earth, and through long studies and record keeping had observed this had been the history of humans for many many centuries,

This would be one of their Achilles heels,

The second weakness was not quite as weak, however they ( the Humans ) did seem to have a family structure that placed a mother and father as hierarchy and taught the cubs how to maintain this structure,

There was a third weakness to humans, They often displayed anger toward their fellow human if one should get the better of the other .

The wizards and witches had been slowly and steadily working together for many years on the last two items. So suggested continuation of this strategy.

The wizards were finding it a bit of difficult trying to control the humans, while the witches kept interfering, trying to out smart the wizards, the wizards continuously had to keep an eye on the witches for the plans to succeed.

A lower ranking wizard, Wizard amoeba, suggested that if witches were turned into wizards by wizard magic, the wizards problem would be solved, MR wizard amoeba immediately got promoted, .This is how all the wizards gain a bench at the back of the great and mighty important hall of sublime untruths.

Now when a brother wizard in the hall heard this, he feared for his mother and sisters health, and sent a message to the witches as fast as could be expected through the green goblins,…
The witches and green goblins thought this a brilliant idea, but they would turn the tables on the wizards by turning wizards and their apprentices into female witches,

After a number of days had passed both parties Realised they had snookered each other and they called a truce,
Each reaching the conclusion that instead the it would be wise to settle the idea of gender chaos onto the humans.
And once enthusiasts got hold of the idea, they extended it to colour coding humans so as to cause more chaos.
And good against bad, for laws of certain humans would change humans ideas.

Now to turn the Achilles heel into a nightmare.
Humans must be stopped from working, they must be taught to obey new laws to be imposed to stay at home, all places of employment must be shut down…….

To be continued.

Republicofscotland

Pixywine @4.47pm.

linking to Katei Hopkins, are you for real.

Mia

“As I may have mentioned a few times, that is probably the reason that Ms Sturgeon isn’t currently pushing for indyref2”

I don’t think so.

That Scotland as a whole wants independence or not is totally academic. Sturgeon and her quadriplegic SNP were elected both in 2016 and more recently in 2021 on a mandate TO DELIVER indyref, not to just say that they “might” deliver it.

When you do a search for “fraud” in google, this is what comes up:

“fraud:
wrongful or criminal deception intended to result in financial or personal gain”

If you ask the electorate to vote for you so you can deliver something the electorate wants, but you have no intention whatsoever in delivering it, then, in my view, this could be easily construed as an exercise in political fraud. You are using a deliberately and knowingly false premise to get votes and get a position as MP or MSP otherwise you would not get. In other words, you are selling something to the voters that is not fit for purpose.

Sturgeon and her quadriplegic SNP have been in a position to deliver that referendum SINCE the day after the EU referendum. That is FIVE YEARS. The only thing that has been stopping them was their own will to not delivering it and their will to continue to legitimise Westminter and the UK government against the will of the Scottish people who voted them in to do the exact opposite. In my eyes that sounds a lot like political fraud. The SNP has had control of the Sgov, Holyrood and the absolute majority of Scotland’s MP seats all that time, so there is no excuse.

Not delivering that indyref has nothing to do what what the people of Scotland wants, and an awful lot with what whoever is pulling the strings of Sturgeon and Murrell wants. The only thing somebody who claims to be a democrat has to speak for themselves is their actions and their integrity and credibility as perceived by the electorate.

In my eyes, this woman and her quadriplegic SNP lost all their integrity and credibility the 29 January 2020, the day when with her actions, she deliberately undermined firstly Scotland’s popular sovereignty, and secondly democracy itself by letting our perfectly legitimate democratic mandates to exercise our right to self determination and that she and her quadriplegic SNP used to get elected, to deliberately expire, forcing Scotland to remain in this union.

So far, what this political fraud and her quadriplegic, toothless SNP has done is to tease voters with porkies, with vacuous waffle, with deflection, with project fear and with excuse after excuse for 7 long years.

The minute the blond buffoon delivered brexit in the middle of a pandemic, her covid excuse was dead.

There is only one plausible conclusion I can find from her actions during the last 7 years: the woman is a political fraud and so is the toothless, inefficient, undemocratic, new labour-like political contraption she metamorphosed the original SNP into during the last 7 years.

Her actions and that of her quadriplegic SNP tell us that their aim was never to progress Scotland’s autonomy, but rather to regress it. Just like how she has regressed women’s rights while calling herself a feminist and how she has regressed the credibility in the justice system and the Scottish government, while calling herself a democrat.

Sorry. There are no excuses for this woman to not deliver indyref. If you are a democrat, you deliver the democratic mandate you were elected on. If you are a democrat, you do not abuse the yes votes to erode females’ rights. You rely on those votes to deliver the mandate.

Being a democrat, pro-independence and feminist are things that you do not need to tell others you are, because your actions show it on your behalf.

What we have had for months in Scotland is a rather ridiculous and embarrassing situation where Sturgeon’s apparatchiks, spin doctors and party trolls have been falling over themselves to tell us that she is a pro independence, democratic feminist because, quite evidently, her actions happen to inconveniently point in the precise opposite direction.

Saying you are pro independence, a feminist and a democrat does not make you one. ACTING and DELIVERING like a democrat, like a feminist and like a Scottish nationalist is what makes you one.

The actions of this woman tell us that she is not calling indyref because she is a tool of the British state whose mission for the last 7 years has been stalling Scotland’s independence, dismantling the main political vehicle for independence, remove from the political front line every individual who could have delivered independence, regress Scotland’s autonomy by handing the powers to control Scotland’s assets to England and keeping the yes movement on a leash, burning its soul in frustration and spinning its wheels but going nowhere.

We have already seen the cost of the actions of this political fraud: 7 years of opportunities and mandates lost, haemorrhaging of millions of pounds of Scottish taxpayers’ funds in what looks like an extreme corruption case of political vendettas, 600,000 pounds “woven through the accounts”, total discredit of our democratic structures, total discredit of the judicial system, total questioning of the sound judgement and ethics of the most senior judges, total questioning of the integrity of the police, total discredit of women, total discredit of COPFS, total discredit of Parliamentary committees and total discredit of the Scottish government and civil service.

Coincidentally, this bonfire of credibility, ethics and integrity under Sturgeon’s watch has been happening at the weakest possible political, judicial and economic point of the British state. Right at the precise time when a REAL Scottish nationalist FM and leader would have been using all our energy, focus and countless opportunities put in front of her to end the union and to deliver Scotland’s will and right to self determination, all while protecting democracy. Instead, we have a political fraud burning Scotland down to the ground in a desperate attempt to stop the end of the union by denying us democracy, justice, our rights, our powers, our sovereignty and our own fcking will.

But the most embarrassing and disgusting part of it all has been watching how the monumental cowards in the SNP, allegedly pro independence MSPs, MPs and party apparatchiks have enabled her to destroy everything by sitting on their hands, by keeping their mouths shut, by deliberately looking the other way, by feeding us nothing but waffle and by frantically attempting to polish the cosmic size turd this woman has been attempting to force down our throats with for the last 7 years.

Next stop?
Council elections.

I received a survey from the SNP asking me who I am going to vote for. They deliberately exclude Alba. Well, if the quadriplegic SNP cannot be arsed in looking at all the options available to voters, and the most obvious to a yes voter, neither can I be arsed in responding to their biased and lip service questionnaire. Their “survey” has gone where Sturgeon’s quadriplegic SNP belongs: the history bin.

Pixywine

link to bitchute.com
A stout defender of Liberty.

Pixywine

Republic of Scotland. Its called having a laugh.

Breeks

Unless the SNP has a change of leadership pronto and an equally rapid change of direction, they are going to enter a decline, and start haemorrhaging support to ALBA like Better Together started losing “No to Yessers” in 2014, only I think, much faster.

The down side is it will probably split the YES Movement at the worst possible time for any Constitutional gymnastics, because anything radical could suffer from divided support when it needs to be emphatic and uniform.

Arguably, you could say the same about Sturgeon, and that her strategy too is compromised by division, and as a consequence, it is her chance of victory looking forlorn. I suppose you could make that argument, but there is no equivalence in the arguments.

That Sturgeon’s “strategy” should be comprised is entirely down to Sturgeon’s dismal leadership and division which she has created. Ironically, if ALBA’s chances are also compromised with divided support, that too is down to Sturgeon’s dismal leadership. Spot the common denominator yet?

Sturgeon has robbed Scotland of confidence and time, but if you stop a minute to look at this in reverse perspective, if YES itself was “stalling”, you’d be seeing a reciprocal resurgence in Unionism, but Unionists look as glum, charmless and desperate as they ever did.

Mia

“if YES itself was “stalling”, you’d be seeing a reciprocal resurgence in Unionism”

Yes was never stalling. If it was stalling the British state would not have unleashed Sturgeon, would not have infiltrated the SNP and destroyed it from within nor they would have gone after Mr Salmond in the despicable way they had.

Yes has been deliberately kept on a tight leash by a political fraud pretending to be a pro independence leader for 7 years and counting.

The only thing that 7 years of Sturgeon’s deliberate “wait” have done is to allow for a continuous string of no voters from elsewhere to boost the unionist side. For as long as this crooked franchise remains, every year that Sturgeon pushes indyref back, means a higher proportion of no voters than yes voters coming in, helping to frustrate the vote of the natives. She is not helping the yes vote by pushing indyref back. She is helping the British state to block it.

The question here is at what levels would yes be today if instead of this political fraud who has deliberately removed the wheels of the yes movement, regressed Scotland’s autonomy and trashed Scotland’s democracy and justice system, we had somebody like Salmond or Ms Cherry in control of the SNP and giving the yes movement what it has always been pinning for since the day after the EU referendum: a serious campaign, leadership and an effing date for indyref.

Even more importantly: where would Scotland be today if Salmond had remained as FM instead of handing the baton to this political fraud in November 2014?

Would we be hearing convenient “green” voices poopooing all over our massive Cambo oil deposit to make us think, once again, that Scotland’s assets are worthless while England happily siphons the bulk of the revenues Scotland’s assets generate, or we would be quietly and rightfully exploiting that oil field for the benefit of the Scottish people and making up for the lost 40 years of oil trust fund?

Would we be watching how this political fraud helps the British state to seed division in the yes movement by using yes votes to erode females’ rights?

Would we be watching how this political fraud helps the British state to boost the no vote in Scotland by pushing indyref back and retaining a flawed franchise?

Would we be mourning the loss of thousands of Scots today because this political fraud never had the interest to depart one inch from British nationalism narrative so she refused to lock Scotland’s borders to stop the plague continuously re-entering Scotland?

Would we still have, after 70% of the adult population have been vaccinated and after 17 months of lockdowns, over 3000 cases per day and rising as we have now?

The number of cases, as predicted, is creeping up. What are the odds that the political fraud is going to re instate the lockdowns to stop the Alba conference?

J.o.e

RE: UBI AGFRR proposal

link to businessforscotland.com

So I was delayed on this one due to time and energy constraints. You could pretty much write a book on the pro’s and cons and possibilities of radical economic idea’s like this.

To keep things tight i’ll try to get to the gist of what I think without many paragraphs.

Firstly. I hold the opinion that: things need to change drastically economically to ensure the well being and future of Scots. This is undeniable so I am onboard with the idea of big changes being required.

Secondly – the proposal is really just a more detailed plan than the typical UBI but ultimately has the same problems (to my mind) and I will list them here:
1 – it is organised top down with government holding full control over the access and process and ultimately the inevitable expansion of the scheme (see further down).
2 – once such a scheme is in place it will become the biggest of political footballs and political parties will become enslaved to it and it is unlikely there will ever be the political will to say ‘yup, that’s it – no more of this’ until the negative effects reach a climax.
3 – the basic negative effects of the scheme would be similar to other UBI proposals. While not actually adding to the money supply the velocity of the money in the economy would increase massively. This would be a bonanza primarily for the big international businesses and the debt industry, while local Scottish businesses would be second to see any boost from the initial surge and would be left with the consequences. The drawback would be inflation. The price increases could be enormous and would continue so long as the scheme continued. This would lead to the expansion of the scheme in order to make up for the drop in purchasing power of each pound and so the cycle would go. With the powers government would have to strip people of property for not paying this could easily be used to strip businesses of assets or use other punitive measures – again with international businesses being able to weather this far better and ultimately collecting the most benefit from the scheme. As I mentioned it is possibly the debt industry that would see the biggest windfall. Another question would be if we are going to continue with a near open-borders policy while the scheme is in place? There are more negative possibilities and probabilities but i’ll stop there.

Thirdly – UBI is the corner stone of the corporate chatter about the Great Reset and 4th Industrial revolution which brings into focus some of the points I mentioned above. I’m not going to elaborate further on that as I think its pointless – if someone doesn’t feel the chill crawling up their spine from that fact then they are clearly an insanely optimistic character.

Fourth – to my mind it completely misses the elephant in the room. It really is just a top-down authoritarian patch placed over an international financial system that is utterly doomed in the long run and does nothing to address the issue of debt (which is what this system is all about), the loss of local community business and the staggering growth in power of international corporations.

It might seem funny to say but even if the proposal itself rang positively to my mind I would not trust any political party or single politician or even a committee of ‘experts’ with the running of it anyway. Given the top-down nature of the proposal politicians would be empowered to screw up even more than they ever have already.

Alternative:
If the goal is to give Scots a financial stake in the nation then it makes more sense to make them independent owners of land and property themselves rather than recipients of government tax-derived stimulus that will ultimately bleed off-shore anyway. Couple this with the introduction of a currency that doesn’t carry a debt burden automatically attached to it and you have a much more stable condition to build a strong economy of free people. This debt-free currency alternative is far better to my mind and has been implemented in the past (but always crushed by the debt cartel).

Really though this is all theory. We, the Scots, like most of the people in the world to a greater or lesser extent have no real power to make any of this happen. The Scottish government is not acting for our benefit. Neither are any of the political parties (I will hold judgment on Alba but im skeptical) Anything we can do would be necessarily totally bottom-up, and there are ways to do it in my opinion but it will require a disciplined and organised effort by a movement that educates and motivates members and other citizens beyond merely voting and protsting.

Mist001

There’s more to this than meets the eye, something that we simply don’t know about.

Salmond MUST have known about Mrs. Murrells character traits and yet he handed the whole thing over to her.

WHY?

JimuckMac

There’s definitely a competition on here regarding who can write the longest post without saying anything. Save us all some time and keep it short and to the point.

Ottomanboi

You need to understand the new Corporatist aka old Fascist world evolving under your nose.
This is educational.
link to weforum.org.
A sample:
“The dramatic spread of COVID-19 has disrupted lives, livelihoods, communities and businesses worldwide. All stakeholders, especially global business, must urgently come together to minimize its impact on public health and limit its potential for further disruption to lives and economies around the world.
But the sum of many individual actions will not add up to a sufficient response. Only coordinated action by business, combined with global, multistakeholder cooperation – at exceptional scale and speed – can potentially mitigate the risk and impact of this unprecedented crisis»
Stakeholder? multistakeholder?

Tannadice Boy

JimuckMac 8:18pm
That’s because they are not authentic posts. Everytime someone posts something that is a worry to the Union, bring on the long posts. There is a history of this malevolence. Real posts with real information and dare I say it, actual Scottish experience. We have got them there. Here is one experience encountered today. Never mind Gazzas five bellies how about 10 bellies?. Confused?. I am not, I met young women today, although not exclusively women, in case I am challenged by the Misogynist brigade. Absolutely shocking, the future medical crisis. Hunger don’t make me laugh. There is enough food to last them for 18 months wrapped around ther bellies. And here is me worried about my tiny beer belly. That’s life under the SNP. Divide and Conquer.

oneliner

My continuing debate with her indoors re SNP/Sturgeon vs Alba/Salmond produced the following question.

‘So who should I vote for, a failed lawyer or a failed husband?’

Geoff Anderson

A typical mist001 question would be “have you stopped beating your wife yet”

He strives to twist questions into impossible puzzles. A Unionist determined to plant seeds of doubt with every comment.

Geoff Anderson

…and oneliner strikes the ball tee’d up by mist001.

A Unionist tag team in action.

Mist001

@ Geoff Anderson

What you mean is that this is a question that you wouldn’t dare ask.

Fearty.

Merganser

Mist says WHY.
This is the great unanswered question. As much as I admire and support Alex Salmond as a politician and champion of independence, I was puzzled at the time that the reins were handed over to someone so obviously lacking in anything but the desire for self promotion and self advancement. Perhaps he was exhausted at the time and was just happy to pass the burden on to someone else, or saw her drive and energy as an asset, not realising how it would be used, I don’t know.

What I do know is that the result has been catastrophic for the advancement of Scottish independence.

stonefree

@ Mist001 at 8:05 pm

“There’s more to this than meets the eye, something that we simply don’t know about.”
Yes But this part
“Salmond MUST have known about Mrs. Murrells character traits and yet he handed the whole thing over to her.

WHY?”

This is HYPOTHETICAL
I would suggest AS really didn’t know, he might have a feeling, I’m sure he didn’t know, as I said before a solicitor told me “she couldn’t get a job at Irvine Cross”
That suggest to me that there was in the legal profession some thing wrong. and she got punted to Glasgow to get lost, and then the first of the shit happened, there could have been more.
I don’t think she has anything of AS , simple she would have dropped that by now, I suggest to would be AS over NS.
BUT consider She via Murrell have that much crap on SNP member that the ugly sisters have complete control , and they are afraid
Was Mackay’s only offence texting.
Why employ the Comms Officer and the Complaints Office, they are not that bright but their behaviour makes them vulnerable to their “bosses”
You get my drift
So the member who crapped on the curtains doesn’t want it revealed, the fact he was shagging the staff same idea, just take that further
The first serious court case against a “personality SNP”
Will be hopefully Teas Out
And I hate to say this, Unless something happens withing the next 5 or 6 week independence is finished.
Slight aside there are a few complaint lodge , waht will happen the complainer will be offered council seat, as payment for their trouble, and will be promoted as case worker on the payroll starting next month
I’ll be surprised if I’m wrong

holymacmoses

Hatuey says:
Malnutrition levels in Britain were off the scale during WWII, and after.

It is arguable that more people were better nourished during the war . The division of food by rationing (although cheating went on with out doubt) meant that the poorest people had a fair enough share of what was available and increased their intake of proteins and vitamins. Even the rich-dicks had to cut back on some things

What people need to eat to be healthy is vastly over-egged these days. A diet of:

7.30 am One Weetabix with hot milk
One cup of tea

10.30 1/3 pint of milk at

12.30 School dinner eg 1 slice of cold ham OR 1/2 Scotch Egg OR
ladle of stew OR 1 fish cake. PLUS 1 potato & one veg OF
salad (couple of pieces of lettuce/1 slice cucumber/1
slice tomato.
6.00 1 slice of bread with either jam or dripping plus 1 cup
of tea

8.00 1 mug Ovaltine or milk one slice bread and dripping OR
two malted milk biscuits

I bar of chocolate per week

The person I know who was reared on this diet was extremely healthy and very active and a great sportsperson. Also very intelligent and was educated to degree level and beyond.

James Che.

Hatuey
Saffron robe

I tend to agree with you ,
So do we get to chose whom is expendable,

Most of us would start at the top and work our way down as to be methodical and logical.

Obviously we would start with those skimming of the cream from the rest of the populations.
Thus a more equalising land and food reorganisation

Next on the list would be all those whom favour culling of the present population, weather it is disguised as engenics, vaccines, deliberate food shortages or fake wars.
Next on the list would be all those in favour of war whom endanger wildlife species while dropping bombs on innocent civilians and through the storage of dangerous nuclear weapons

.next on the list would be the big cooperations and big businesses that continue to damage the planet on a massive scale by producing plastic in all forms, and lithium batteries that cannot be disposed of safely without harming nature.

Next on the list, All cooperations that avoid paying taxes through ownership of land they do not live on nor allow anyone else to live on, this may stop the false narrative of hill burning by big estates.

All climate change thumpers whom jet and travel around the world.

Now if we start there, which is just a drop in the ocean, the change would be amazing.
my o my, how quickly some of the planets errors would be corrected

Then we could do sensible family planning for the future.

Mist001

@ Merganser

What I’m getting at is was it a deliberate choice?

Alex Salmond doesn’t strike me as gullible, naive or just plain stupid, so he must have had a fairly good idea of the way that Mrs. Murrell is and yet he handed the reigns over to her.

Maybe Alex Salmond isn’t all that he appears to be. He maybe thrives on turmoil and strife which would be preferable to him than the settled will of the Scottish people when it might be a bit more peaceful.

In fact, looking at his actions and all that he’s been involved in since transferring the leadership to Mrs. Murrell, his own show on RT, the trial and so on, does he see himself as more of an agent provocateur than a person actually capable of delivering Scottish independence?

Beaker

@Merganser says:
22 August, 2021 at 9:32 pm
Mist says WHY.
“This is the great unanswered question. As much as I admire and support Alex Salmond as a politician and champion of independence, I was puzzled at the time that the reins were handed over to someone so obviously lacking in anything but the desire for self promotion and self advancement.”

Maybe he was expecting the SNP to fall apart over the 2014 result, give it a couple of years, then come back refreshed. That was scuppered by losing his seat in 2017, which cemented Sturgeon in post. Had he kept his seat, I think she would have been ousted by now.

holymacmoses

I firmly believe that the decision to leave the European Union changed everything for the Union, for Westminster and for Scotland. I think Mr Salmond saw it as a great opportunity for Independence. I think that Sturgeon was offered the choice of destroying Mr Salmond and all effective pro-independence people ( Wings and Murray etc) or being destroyed along with them
It is, after all fairly obvious, that England would find life extremely difficult with Scotland to shore up the defences on a regular basis.

holymacmoses

I firmly believe that the decision to leave the European Union changed everything for the Union, for Westminster and for Scotland. I think Mr Salmond saw it as a great opportunity for Independence. I think that Sturgeon was offered the choice of destroying Mr Salmond and all effective pro-independence people ( Wings and Murray etc) or being destroyed along with them
It is, after all fairly obvious, that England would find life extremely difficult without Scotland to shore up the defences on a regular basis.

holymacmoses

Sorry about the double post. Mea culpa Mr Wings.

J.o.e

Fascism. A few quotes from a net search:

‘Fascism is a form of far-right, authoritarian ultranationalism characterized by dictatorial power, forcible suppression of opposition, and strong regimentation of society and of the economy, which came to prominence in early 20th-century Europe.’

‘Fascism is a far-right political philosophy, or theory of government, that emerged in the early twentieth century. Fascism prioritizes the nation over the individual, who exists to serve the nation.’

‘a political philosophy, movement, or regime (such as that of the Fascisti) that exalts nation and often race above the individual’

Their is nothing about the preservation of our race or nation in what is happening today. In fact what is happening is the exact opposite.

If you think trans rights, open borders, LGBT, black lives matter, the demonisation of Europeans, the setting up of increasingly powerful global institutions and political blocks that seeks to eliminate the power of nation states to decide their own futures is fascist then you need to rethink.

What is happening now is exactly what certain fascist leaders warned us about – global communist tyranny in the mould of the early USSR or the cultural revolution in China.

That obviously brings up questions on the veracity of what we have been taught about history.

Its important to know the difference to get a clearer idea of what to expect and who the major players are.

Pro tip – just as people should turn off the TV, if its still on Youtube its probably not landing too close to the mark either.

Tannadice Boy

@holymoses 9:54pm
A hopeless analysis one million Scots voted for Brexit. Why? Take back control, of our laws etc. And now we hand that all back to an unelected German of dubious background. Doesn’t bear up to intellectual argument. I voted for Independence. Is the rest of Scotland so inadequate. If Sturgeon handicaps IndyRef2 with entry to the EU I will be part of the 30%. Yes is going down but maybe that’s the end game.

holymacmoses

Tannadice Boy says:
22 August, 2021 at 10:24 pm
@holymoses 9:54pm
A hopeless analysis one million Scots voted for Brexit. Why? Take back control, of our laws etc. And now we hand that all back to an unelected German of dubious background. Doesn’t bear up to intellectual argument. I voted for Independence. Is the rest of Scotland so inadequate. If Sturgeon handicaps IndyRef2 with entry to the EU I will be part of the 30%. Yes is going down but maybe that’s the end game

I’m not sure how your argument affects what I’ve written.
I simply said that a vote for Brexit changed the future for Scotland. It seems futile and childish of you to threaten the greater good of Independence because of a churlish need to get your own way – sounds awfully like WM politics to me. After Independence you can fight your corner and see who you can persuade.

Tannadice Boy

@holymamoses 10:40pm
Words like childish and churlish reflects on you. Study transactional analysis. Then come back to me and deal with a grown up. You never stood on the streets promoting Independence if you did you wouldn’t speak that way. And if by a miracle you did which I doubt, then your task is a thousand times harder. Good luck I will still vote Independence but my family won’t and they did before. Keep going you will help my ten grand bet on a failed IndyRef2.

holymacmoses

Tannadice Boy says:
22 August, 2021 at 10:53 pm
@holymamoses 10:40pm
Words like childish and churlish reflects on you. Study transactional analysis. Then come back to me and deal with a grown up. You never stood on the streets promoting Independence if you did you wouldn’t speak that way. And if by a miracle you did which I doubt, then your task is a thousand times harder. Good luck I will still vote Independence but my family won’t and they did before. Keep going you will help my ten grand bet on a failed IndyRef2.

That’s not a terribly useful post. But I’m pleased you’ll vote for Independence and I don’t expect anyone to have control over the voting behaviour of anyone else. Why on earth do people bet against themselves?

Tannadice Boy

@holymacmoses 11:03pm
Well the solution is simple. Named me one Independence event you attended?. Location and others?.It’s the Scottish experience the only thing that saves us from Internet Unionism. I am waiting. The 5 Ws. What, Where, Why, Who, and When. I don’t expect a real response. Because you can’t answer.

holymacmoses

Tannadice Boy says:
22 August, 2021 at 11:18 pm
Well the solution is simple. Named me one Independence event you attended?. Location and others?.It’s the Scottish experience the only thing that saves us from Internet Unionism. I am waiting. The 5 Ws. What, Where, Why, Who, and When. I don’t expect a real response. Because you can’t answer.

That’s quite aggressive. You are seriously naive if you think that my being able to name Independence events I have been to with friends proves anything. I think you’re really angry and I happen to be here . So if it helps then carry on. Life hasn’t been too good for lots of people for the past few years and we all get down.

Tannadice Boy

Well she/he/her/indeterminate has clocked off. End of the shift I suppose. No answer though. They can’t do difficult questions. I will answer my own questions. The 5 Ws. What, Scottish Independence, where,outside William Hills bookies Dundee, Why? I was trying to win Scottish Independence, who- stood next to Brian Cox and the SNP provost of Dundee, when pre referendum 2014. It’s all in the Yes Library. My answer to the 5 Ws.

Tannadice Boy

@holymacmoses 12:03pm
Lots of transactional rubbish from you. Can you answer the 5 Ws. I noticed you didn’t the first time. So last chance. Any verifiable connection to the Independence movement?. I will include SNP membership for a laugh. What happen in Scotland today any verifiable personal experience.

holymacmoses

Sleep well and take care

Tannadice Boy

@holymamoses 12:33pm
Well thank you. Even though it’s from Artificial Intelligence. They are getting clever folks. I have a dichotomy I have a decision to make a 90 year old versus a one year old. The dilemma a machine can’t deal with. One represents the past the other the future. I want to leave Scotland but I can’t because I am not a machine.

Hatuey

holymacmoses; “It is arguable that more people were better nourished during the war”

No it isn’t. We call that British propaganda, not grounded in fact.

Undoubtedly access to food before the war was so bad for some that rationing improved their predicament, but it’s farcical to suggest that was the case for the majority. You’ll see a lot of people saying that but they’ll never ground it in facts or data.

All the indicators point to serious nutrition-related health issues in Britain as a consequence of the war and continuing afterwards when the records show relative improvements in other countries.

One of the biggest indicators, if you really want to be serious, is infant mortality which shot up in Britain between 1939 and 1941. There are other indicators.

Only when the US entered the war at the end of 1941 and American and Canadian supplies were better able to reach Britain (thanks largely to the US navy escorting ships) did the situation in Britain stabilise.

Breeks

ALBA membership is now over 10k.

willie

Yes Breeks the number of members that Alba has is most certainly starting to swell. And the Alba members are motivated active members too.

By comparison reports suggest that the real SNP membership is now below 50,000. And that figure very probably counts those who have lapsed and will not rejoin.

The difference between the two parties could not be more stark. No wonder the SNP – Tory establishment had Alba banned from the media in the run up to the election, had their logo banned off the ballot papers.

New Labour, New SNP, the parallels could not be more clear. Alba are on the march with wind in their sails and people behind them. The SNP are on the way down and their colonial masters will not be able to save them.

Tom