The cybernat in the trees

Posted on August 03, 2016 by

A parable of internet abuse. Acknowledgements to Alan Moore and Frankie Boyle.

haloj1

Dedicated to David Torrance, Susan Calman, Johanna Baxter and Angela Eagle.

haloj2

haloj3

haloj4

haloj5

1. 03 08 16 20:56

The cybernat in the trees | speymouth

108 to “The cybernat in the trees”

1. Truculent Sheep

A masterpiece.

2. Bob

if you never read Halo
    You missed out bit time
    Ian Gibson ART blows you away as a child
    and VERY relevant in todays theatre

— or for many of the switched on folk today
    apologies still to read article
    But great art
    Also check out ROBO HUNTER

3. Etrigan

The Ballad of Halo Jones is a very strange piece of work. You can’t really pin point what’s good about it but it always seems to have a great way of highlighting a point.
    Love Alan Moore.

4. Andrew McLean

Jessica Laney, 16, Suicide after on line abuse,
    Amanda Michelle Todd, 15, suicide after on line abuse.
    Hanna Smith, 15 suicide after on line abuse
    Charlotte Dawson 47 ,suicide after on line abuse.

On line abusers are scum, people who play the victim to score political points, what are they? Feeding of the sympathy, ghouls using one persons tragedy for their own advantage.

Shouting from their privileged position, “look at me, poor victim I” then smirking in the shadows together, well done!

5. Andrew McLean

Very well done, razor sharp, took me twice to get it, now it’s playing with my mind. Genuinely genius.

6. Helpmaboab

I may be the only Scotsman of my generation who never got into 2000AD. But then I was raised in a DC Thomson home. The parents discouraged such ‘unhealthy’ influences and directed me toward The Beano and The Dandy and then The Victor and Commando.

While my contemporaries pored over Strontium Dog and Judge Dredd I and the other less cool bairns exchanged cries of “Banzai”, “Aieee” and “Achtung Englander!”

Today I’ll happily admit that I got the bad end of the deal.

Anyway. Um. David Torrance? Who’s that? The name rings a bell somewhere… A beard? A cheap suit? An ironic Scottish resistance T-shirt?

7. Macart

Whoooaaa! Trip down memory lane and so Zarjaz t’boot.

Neatly done. 🙂

8. Robert Peffers

There really is no doubt about it. The Unionists are really fearful and I suspect they really always have been. I base that observation upon the way the Establishment has always done its best to denigrate every other region of the British Isles, every nation in Europe, every British colony and every other nation on Earth. A trait they now share with the USA Establishment. Mind you the USA were once also on that list.

No other country on Earth has so many derogatory terms for other nations. Frogs, Huns, Greasers, Jocks, Taffies, Paddies, Micks, Niggers, Toerags, Wogs, Wops, Westos, Tykes, Dingles (by people from Sheffield), the list is endless. There’s a whole load of such names here : –

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_British_regional_nicknames

You do not need to attempt to put people or other countries down unless you have an underlying feeling of your own worthlessness. Thus by putting others down you seek to boost your own ego. By the way it doesn’t work.

9. JLT

I hate looking at comics. I once loved them …but I can’t stand looking at them …for one reason only; my mother binned them all when I was 14 years old back in 1982.

And not just any old comics either. Talking 1st editions here with entire sets!

Star Wars
    2000 AD
    Bullet
    Action
    Warlord

All of them collected from the very early 1970’s …and my mother binned them when I was at school one day and on the day the bin lorry came round.

And while only God knows how much in value she threw out that day …it’s knowing that she binned a whole set of classic comics without asking. I look at a comic and I’m reminded of what was lost. Can’t read them.

Still scarred to this day….(sigh)

10. HandandShrimp

No idea why the Yoons are so terrified. Clearly they think we are incapable of turning on a tap so how could we possibly do anything dastardly with television?

*twiddles with mustache fiendishly whilst quietly cackling demonically*

11. Chitterinlicht

My mum have all my 2000AD comics away ?

That is all.

12. HandandShrimp

The press. Our seething collective Id. None of us would trust a journalist to hold our pint while we went to the bathroom, yet we allow them to be ethical arbiters for the entire culture. I don’t read newspapers anymore – I just lie to myself and cut out the middleman

Frankie Boyle actually articulates how I feel on a number of issues rather well.

13. Chitterinlicht

Gave!!!

#erse

14. heedtracker

Saw this and thought of Torrance. He’s probably just another big girls blouse. And he’ll be back tweeting for toryboy world, although, if cyber nats keep saying he’ll be back, he’s such a big girls blouse… toryboys are also clypes aswell, shock.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-not-so-straight-debates/

DT: Anyway enough, as a pal once said: you can’t shout logic at a maniac & expect to win the argument. Happy (deranged) blogging.

WOS: Not quite sure why believing in basic X>Y arithmetic makes one a “deranged maniac”, but as you like.

DT: Oh, mustn’t have made myself clear: I meant generally.

WOS: ZING! Must be a lot of deranged maniacs in Scotland, then. But as a Tory I imagine you think that already.

DT: No, you’re the deranged maniac, who (ironically) gives your own side a bad name; you’d need self-awareness to appreciate that.

WOS: I’m aware of soaring readership figures, but they’re probably all psycho nutjobs too, I suppose. Gnite.

15. Bill McLean

Wonderful! Robert at 0908 – this is how i’ve felt since I saw the light in my mid-forties. Like you I worked for the BG for many years and believed all the bullshit they push around about the whole world being crap except Blighty. Sickened that I ever believed it and very angry now when I see how their badness kept many peoples down and we are just the latest who have suffered badly to keep them better off than they deserve! Pissed off doesn’t do my feelings justice!

16. Breeks

@ Etrigan 8:38

Spot on.

Come over all nostalgic now.

2000AD was for comics what Stairway to Heaven was for rock. Somehow it just did good things to your head.

17. Lenny Hartley

JLT my mum through most of my toys out, I was heartbroken but the next day the next door neighbour knocked on the door and he had his arms full with pressies for me, it was my old toys back. Quite fortunate living next door to the guy that looked after the Coup 🙂

18. Semus

In reply to Robert Peffers. I once knew an englishman with an inferiority complex. He thought he was good as anybody else

19. galamcennalath

Just looking at some of the vile online abuse Andy Murray is getting. People not liking the idea of a Scot carrying THEIR Union Flag.

Well, thanks to the actions of THEIR London government, Scotland is still in THEIR Union.

If they really want to do something constructive they can pester THEIR elected representatives telling them to stop opposing Scottish Independence!

Then THEIR problem will disappear.

20. G H Graham

So Torrance has quit Twitter?

Well, that’s one less think skinned prick I can remove from my long blocked list.

21. Ruglonian

Nice to see a bit of culture here for a change 😉

Frankie’s piece is spot on as usual.
    I seen him in the Armadillo recently and he was on fire saying the kind of stuff that will never get on telly, but exactly the kind of stuff that folk really need to hear!

22. Grouse Beater

Journalist Torrance was filled with abhorrence.
    He said,
    “If separatists titter, I’ve had it with Twitter.”

23. Free Scotland

I like it, especially the link to Tommy Ball’s blog.

The unionist press are virtually crippled by the fact that they have nowhere to hide. I mean, with a few clicks of a mouse, we can publicise articles like this:

http://archive.is/i2eG4

24. Joe

Mind the oranges Marlon!

25. G H Graham

An ego in a beard,
    Frothed so, that he feared,
    His Union would fall,
    At the last curtain call,

So Torrance leaves Twitter,
    The Tory boy quitter,
    Now he’ll need to find comfort,
    In a new jumper knitter.

lol

26. Vambomarbeleye

Would be nice if Andy switched the apron for a saltire at the last minute. I can dream.

27. James Barr Gardner

What’s that you say I prefer to have my voice heard in the ballot box! No! If you want your voice heard there is only one way MARCH!

The bigger Marches, in more Cities, in more Towns, more cavalcades, that’s our way of getting the message to the People of Scotland! Remember the Press and the TV Stations are Unionist controlled propaganda machines for the the benefit of the Uber Elite.

Marches are there to be seen by Scottish People, Internet are fine but a lot of folk have been brain washed by the MSM, they need to see that this is not a flash in the pan thing!

Bigger turnouts at Marches, crowd funding for pipe bands, bigger flags, more of everything, carnival spirit, stewards handing out Black Books and stuff to the general public as a March processes.

More Protest Marches against yoonist media outlets, let joe public know and hear what liars the placemen yoonists are!

Marches need to advertised to get bigger turnouts, I wonder if London Based Papers would publish? Another nail in their coffin if they don’t.

As for Glasgow City Council Web Cams, crowd funded drone camera footage can be distributed online and to overseas media.

So get out there with your walking shoes bring a friend or friends especially swithers, let them see it’s folk from all over Scotland, all ages, all backgrounds, after all We are all Jock Tamson’ bairns.

28. Iain More

I will kill anybody that so much as touches my 2000 A.D collection. It is an instant execution.

Oh and Torrance is Dirty Ratbash.

29. Still Positive.

In (George) Freedom Square on Saturday I had a wee sit doon on a bench and there were a couple of women standing opposite who were bemoaning the Scotrail strikes and firmly behind the workers. Another of their friends arrived, via the toilets at Queen St. station.

She had a strong English accent, grey hair in a bun with a Saltire stuck in and a Saltire wrapped round her waist.

I also met a couple – she Scottish who had lived in England for 13 years and had been told frequently to ‘go home’. Her husband, an Englishman, has lived here for 11 years and has never experienced what she had in England.

They were standing with a banner proclaiming ‘English Scots for Independence’ and she gave me a badge for my lovely English daughter-in-law.

30. call me dave

Calls for rethink as SNP says Brexit legal advice “must not be published”

http://archive.is/AAS4h

SNP is new row with BBC over Scottish director’s “downgrade”

http://archive.is/rlpLF

31. dakk

The fact of the matter is that David Torrance,Susan Calman and indeed probably all Scottish unionists are quintessential filthy ratgashes that the lobis loyo fann would be proud of.

32. David

JLT, Chitterinlicht, I feel your pain. 😉

When 2000AD #1 came out, I was so impressed I bought 2 copies as investments. I was smart when I was 13…

By then my brother and I had been comic fans for years, living as we did within walking distance of Paisley’s excellent “Yankee Mags”.

Awesome place, sold American comics, and a huge range of Airfix models & toy soldiers. Heaven on earth for us.

(They also sold ‘jazz mags’ for older customers, but that was not of interest to us innocent kids.)

My fave 2000AD artists/art droids were Belardinelli (Italian) and Carlos Ezquerra (Spanish)- I’ve always been in favour of the EU!

33. Chic McGregor

You know that kind of rite of passage military movie?

One of those American war movies which start with raw, inexperienced and awkward recruits and ends with the same group looking like battle hardened veterans?

Main thing I picked up from Saturday was a similar experience when comparing the look on people’s faces now compared to indy1.

This time it is serious.

34. Chic McGregor

Re the neo disappearance and/or conversion of erstwhile yoonstars.

When the going gets tough,
    The troughers get going.

35. Capella

@call me dave, that article in the Herald is hilarious. So the BBC is to appoint a director for “the nations and regions” to whom the Scottish chappie will report!
    So will the director for the English nation also report to him / her? (Rhetorical question smiley thing).

They do seem to be in complete disarray.

36. Meg merrilees

Remember this little map?

http://petitionmap.unboxedconsulting.com/?petition=133618

Some braw rich autumn colours starting to show.

Maybe Article 50 sometime soon?

37. carjamtic

Powerful Imagery,Words

“I think It only makes sense to seek out and identify structures of authority,hierarchy and domination in every aspect of life and to challenge them: unless a justification can be given,they are illegitimate and should be dismantled,to increase the scope of human freedom”

Noam Chomsky

38. Robert Whyte

Iam one away from the complete set of chronicles of judge dredd. Got halo, bad company, anderson, robo hunter, nemesis, ro-busters, rogue, zenith and missing one of abc warriors. Childhood dream near complete.

39. Smallaxe

Good news for myself on off topic.

40. Nana

Links

UK heading for new financial crisis
    http://archive.is/iogvU

http://www.politico.eu/article/michel-barnier-named-as-junckers-brexit-chief-europe-negotiations-consquences-future/

https://theconversation.com/brexit-britain-sovereignty-is-not-a-licence-to-disregard-international-law-63373

ECFR’s director Mark Leonard speaks with Tom Nuttall, Brussels Bureau Chief of the Economist and author of the Charlemagne column, about reactions to the UK referendum result in the EU institutions, and the upcoming negotiations. The podcast was recorded on 26 July 2016.

http://www.ecfr.eu/podcasts/episode/ecfrs_world_in_30_minutes_brexit_the_view_from_brussels

41. Swami Backverandah

Grievance journalism.

Grudge columnist.

42. Macart

Apparently Mr Torrance has a column in the Times headed ‘Thunderer’ where he explains his reasons for quitting twitter.

So not throwing a stroomphing snit at all then.

As has been pointed out exhaustively by others, journos have a really big, really wide platform to insult and troll folk from. They hurl insult, misinform to suit their world viewpoint, or worse, the viewpoint of a paymaster. How and ever, until this digital revolution, Joe Public had absolutely zero form of redress. No platform to air their opinion on either subject matter of the day, or author.

Well, the times they are a changin’ and journos are finding out that everyone has an opinion. Not only that, but if you constantly insult, alienate or misrepresent people, those ‘PEOPLE’ have every right to feel a tad aggrieved with you. Better than that, they now have a platform in social media to tell you just how aggrieved they are.

I reckon that if you treat people with respect, regardless of your political or constitutional viewpoint, you will earn their respect and they will (on the whole), treat your words accordingly. If you constantly crap on them from a great height from that public soap box? Don’t be stunned if they regard you as something less than worthy of their respect.

Seems only reasonable t’me.

43. Famous15

I think this latest voter registration is more interested in disenfranchising people rather than list accuracy.

I think that once on the register,no name should be removed unless evidence of death etc be shown.

There should be a supplementary list,still giving voting rights,of those who might otherwise be removed.,and persons voting from the supplementary register would simply be given greater scrutiny.

44. Andrew McLean

The reason Torrance is in a strop, is for years he has campaigned for the union, and every single day its dying, and try as he might, he and his fellow reprobates, with all the power at their disposal cannot do a thing about it.
    So lying down and taking a hissy fit won’t help you David, embarrassing yourself with a pathetic playing the victim won’t help you David, but it helps us. You are nothing but a vacuous wee pimple on the body politic, a humiliation to your peers, and a utter waste of time.
    In fact you have so annoyed me that I too will never post on Twitter.
    Now everyone reading this will think, and even my fellow wingers, who gives a dam Andrew? well if you take that lack of interest and subtract that by the number of stars in the known universe you will still be a trillion times a trillion billion from how little Torrance actually matters to the advancement of political life in Scotland.

45. One_Scot

Dave being handed his ass on a plate by a girl,

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/761111634894958593

46. desimond

Lovely..i now hear Kate Bush singing “Its in the trees”

47. Andrew McLean

I just read Torrances article, omg! He lost my respect with valedictory? He lost my understanding with, 30 second clip out of context, no David be a man and stand by what you said, or is the English language a problem for you, what with its big words and contextualised structure?

The terrible thing is this political playing by Torrance and by others like JK, is disgusting in a world where freedom of speech is a rare privilege, when ever day brave journalists face the real risk of torture, or murder for bringing truth to the printed page or out TVs, you David are a joke, a sick twisted one, but still a joke.

48. Fred

Torrance’s article should have been headed “Thunderbox” the amount of shite therein!

Apologies if this has already appeared,

http://indyref2.scot/unreporting-scotland-bias-by-omission

49. One_Scot

Apparently Dave does not exist,

https://twitter.com/TheBillBrady/status/761113997059895296

50. Capella

Meant to ask – was “the ship comes in” in the previous thread a reference to the Bob Dylan song?

51. orri

I’m kind of opposed to a Scottish Six. I find it useful to keep tabs on what the hell is going on in the rest of the UK and how they describe things in Scotland. Doesn’t always work but when they mention just how shite the NHS is and you realise that that’s not the one in Scotland it puts things in a bit of perspective as to how well things are actually being run in Scotland.

The same might be true with police levels in England/Wales if it wasn’t for them not being reported as a crisis. Not entirely sure about how far the special armed polis initiative is going to reach. Are we going to have that imposed in Scotland and are they going to be accountable to Holyrood or to Westminster? At the same time the casual mention of just how tooled up the police are becoming in England.

On the subject the whole point about VAT is surely that it’s intransigence on the part of Westminster or those in charge of making the rules that it’s not been sorted. Simply put it’s a petty, if several million pounds can be called that, way of punishing Holyrood for daring to do things in a way that suits us. When someone says rules are rules then usually he’s a jumped up wee man being petty. When the one saying that has the power to change them he’s just a complete dick.

52. Proud Cybernat

Calls for rethink as SNP says Brexit legal advice “must not be published”

http://archive.is/AAS4h

Of course if the SNP can’t publish this EU legal advice due to the Ministerial Code that doesn’t mean that WM hasn’t also asked the very same questions and received the very same advice. And you can bet if that advice was bad for the Scottish Government then you can be absolutely certain that the BritNat Establishment would not be slow in ‘leaking’ such to the Colonial Media.

Question is, why haven’t the WM Establishment leaked it? Maybe, just maybe, it’s not been leaked by them because to do so would actually show that the Scottish Gov actually have a very strong hand and they just don’t want the people of Scotland to know it. Short of it – if the advice was bad for the SG it would be spewed all over the papers by the BritNatz.

Sometimes it’s what the BritNatz DON’T do that gives the game away.

53. Phydaux

Funny and clever especially knowing that the Yoons have difficulty in appreciating the subtle meanings and nuances of language such as parables, metaphors and proverbs.The David Torrances of this world are the equivalent to a newborn infant…never develops and never grows up.The only time they suffer is when they don’t get what they want… when his food is taken away from him.This is the depth of their emotional life.

Stuart’s superb forensic analysis in his previous post is crucial in helping to educate us about the ways in which we are manipulated.Information is controlled by a small number of media outlets so that greater numbers of people can be influenced and infected.They aren’t really lying, they’re creating ” new realities “.They can continue to deceive us, control us and use us for their own power and glory because that is what makes them feel good.They have no attachment to the idea of ” truth “.We are an Empire and when we act we create our own reality.They also have the military and scary weapons at their disposal.

Lying is a very successful strategy because very few people think that there are hardcore liars in society who lie as a matter of course.We are always going to give others the benefit of the doubt, if you are a moral person.The liar and manipulator will never do that and will use the goodwill of the person of conscience against him.

The 2 party system at Westminster are mirror images of each other.To preserve the image of democracy, both are needed.Both serve the same masters who control the press and use other means such as blackmail and threats to ensure that those who might speak up, don’t.

This site helps us to learn how to say no to the manipulations and refuse to do the dance.Making ourselves unavailable to them as “food ” or objects to be conned and used, is an effective strategy that we can continue to play.

54. Ian Brotherhood

Call Kaye/Louise did another ‘Why’s A’body Fat, and Who’s Tae Blame?’ call-in.

One of these days they’ll do ‘Why Are Levels Of Cognitive Dissonance So High, And What Can We Do About It?’

55. orri

The whole not publishing legal advice bit is the same crap they pulled pre indyref1. The advice is given in confidence. To reveal it would break that confidence. Do not fuck with lawyers.

56. gordoz

Said it before on here, Gardham would be no loss to the UKOK Herald, they had his minimee D Sanderson in waiting.

Apprentice to journeyman.

57. Valerie

@Ian Brotherhood

Caught a bit of the fatness chat, really tedious. Guy says I know I’m fat, and its not the supermarkets fault it’s cos I drink coke, and eat crisps at night.

Thanks radio shortbread for another excoriating insight into the bleeding obvious.

Not as good as the chat on ‘Do elasticated waistbands make us fat’

I thought, oh good, it’s a spoof, I could do with a smile, sadly, it was serious.

58. Valerie

@Phydaux

Totally agree. I’ve always been shouting bullshit at the news for years, without doing my own proper analysis, just letting it go.

I consider this site essential and a fantastic luxury, to have all the forensic analysis to hand to share. It means you don’t have to argue, the evidence is clear.

My new Rev inspired warcry is ‘Wait, what’ and I’m more attentive to researching stuff now.

59. ronnie anderson

I’d doff ma tammy (its aff fur the summer) tae Frankie Boyle brilliant piece of writing,never got into Halo its a aged thing.

Reading some of the post on whit yer Mammy’s did wie your comics ect I take it your all supporters of the NP ledgislation noo & no scarred fur life.

Wha loves ye Mammy lol.

60. Lochside

David Torrance: the ‘Max Headroom’ of this decade..or maybe in his case ‘Min Headroom’?

61. galamcennalath

I reckon there are two types of hardcore Unionists …

1) those who have done financially well from the system and don’t want their gravy train to dry up.

2) blood and soil BritNats, Wannabe Greater Englanders. With those the Cringe strong is.

…. journalists in the colonial media like to give the impression they belong to the latter group, but I reckon they fall into the former category. They have a niche and it has been lucrative.

62. James Barr Gardner

Radio 1 loses a million listeners, wondering how many lost on Radio Scotland? People are getting fed up with the crap from the Biased Broadcasting Clique, the Westminster elite are losing their grip, newspaper sales dropping.

63. louis.b.argyll

Unionist/capitalist lies ‘give me Wings’!

Every day my resolve strengthens.

Even a look around ‘world news’ channels..
    ..seeing individual communities’ suffering..
    ..whether as victims or complicit as guilty partners..
    ..makes almost all national governments ant their interdependence an embarrassment of errors.

The trend towards increased global suffering must be reversed.

64. Ian Brotherhood

@Valerie –

Aye, it’s riveting stuff, eh? I would’ve been on the edge of my seat if I wasn’t so fat.

Anyway, let’s see if Cosgrove & O’Neill’s Media Review on Beattie’s show addresses ‘Flouncegate’…a nervous, overweight nation awaits…

65. Proud Cybernat

The SS – coming soon to a TV screen near you…

http://imgur.com/a/TXuIr

66. Grouse Beater

A cheery subject soon on Grouse Beater: the facts they won’t tell you about Trident and nuclear war.

Oh, and a review of the latest Jason Bourne…

67. Grouse Beater

Brotherhood: ‘Flouncegate’ 🙂

68. Clydebuilt

Torrance Vs Robin McAlpine……. Was the match up one Saturday Morning on GMS (in lead up to the May Holyrood election) hosted by Bill Whiteford. R. M. Blew D. T. away…. Hardly surprising when you consider the pish DT produces for the herald. Since then the Beeb have posted him off to cover American politics, an attempt to resurrect his reputation with the home audience.

69. gordoz

@Ian

“Anyway, let’s see if Cosgrove & O’Neill’s Media Review on Beattie’s show addresses ‘Flouncegate’…a nervous, overweight nation awaits…”

Did that pair ever say any more about a big online meadia scoop up of websites & blogs by a big player to organise and create central location for YES point of view (Like a one stop shop) ?
    It was on Beattie’s show about 6mths ago. When I heard Stu Cosgrove say it, sounded imminent, but nothing since ….

Anyone got anything on this ?

70. liz

The way to stop Torrance et al whinging about ‘abuse’ is to point out that a lot of journos, including him, JKR, Murial Gray follow THE most abusive troll on twitter, Brian Spanner, and are proud to do so.

Their attitude is, we can do what we want and you have to do as you are told.

71. Ian Brotherhood

@gordoz-

I don’t often miss the Cosgrove/O’Neil spot, but that ‘one-stop-shop’ thing doesn’t ring a bell.

The trails for Beattie’s show have already stated he’ll be looking ‘the Scottish Six’, which doesn’t mean that Cosgrove/O’Neill will necessarily cover it, but if they do? how could they possibly avoid dealing with Torrance?

The fact that Cosgrove/O’Neill are both obvious Yessers doesn’t mean they can’t/shouldn’t address it – they’d surely be the first to insist on their ability to be professional/impartial?

72. heedtracker

Derek Bateman says him and Euan Macolm types are agitators.Torrance should say what ever he likes but he’s clearly a toryboy who’s run out of patience.

Rancid The Graun economic idea boost plannerisation, England land only
    “Direct cash handouts to households would be a better way of boosting Britain’s flagging economy than the interest-rate cuts expected from the Bank of England on Thursday, according to a group of progressive economists.”

http://archive.is/plrDd

What they leave out is hard facts like England has pumped so much money into their infrastructure for decades, there’s nothing left for them to build, giant motorway networks, endless railways, giant new Euro tunnel stations like St Pancras, they literally have nothing else to build. Which explains Heathrow 3, HS2 and HS3 etc, all of it in the south east of teamGB.

73. Brian McHugh

And at the stroke of a pen, UK debt increases by another £70 Billion+ today.

74. DerekM

Jings yon Torrance laddie is a total cry baby and really stupid.

Oh and yoons you have already played the vile cybernat card before it did not work then and it will not work now lol

ot
    If anybody really wants to know the truth behind obesity then look up fructose syrup(but shhh they really dont want you to know in case it upsets the yanks)

75. Legerwood

For people who profess not to like David Torrance you certainly spend an inordinate amount of time talking about him and thus give him plenty of publicity all of which will merely enhance his standing in the NO community.

76. ronnie anderson

@ gordoz
    Adam Robertson’s been caught on that GGC CCTV system visiting the Wings Stall for a Wee Blue Book.

Fucking Bbc’s loss of a good Scottish Actor,he’ll always get work.

77. ronnie anderson

Scottish six by the time taken to get the show on the road i’ll be Scottish six am news.

78. Martin

All this abuse stuff is rather depressing. But also hilarious. When I was 7 we got a dog, and she was great. But I was 7. So I would try and play with her when she wanted to sleep, or get a bit rough with her because I didn’t understand. One day she snapped at me (didn’t bite). It was her way of saying “enough” but it scared me and I ran to my mum. Her response? “That’s what happens when you torment her.”

I was 7 and I could understand that, so for these “thick skinned” yoons to spend all hours of the day rubbishing our country and being generally odious to people, then get upset when people tell them to get lost smacks of complete martyr syndrome.

There’s a great deal of effort from the likes of Torrance, Daisley, “Millionairess Island of Lawyers” Rowling et al to really punt this idea that every yes voter is horrible and nasty to the delightfully placid unionists who are really just making good points.

It’s accepted, nay encouraged, to compare Sturgeon to Hitler and indy movements to the SS, or the Hitler Jugend or any number of things that are utterly disrespectful to the dead. But if someone tells a unionist to stop spouting pish, watch for the “VILE ABUSE” headlines and the legal threats.

This is the true legacy of project feartie, a snivelling class of permabused fantasists who are quite happy to poke a pointy stick in the eye of the yes voter, but when the stick is pulled from their grasp they call in the military.

Cowards, every one of them

79. Robert Peffers

@Legerwood says: 4 August, 2016 at 12:23 pm:

” … all of which will merely enhance his standing in the NO community.”

Should the above not read, “all of which will merely enhance his standing in the ever shrinking? NO community”?

80. Robert Kerr

@Legerwood

I doubt very much that there is an actual “NO community”.

I have however no doubts that there is a “WoS community”

81. Ian Brotherhood

@Legerwood –

It’s not a personal issue. Torrance is making out that it is because that’s his only defence.

Torrance defends his behaviour on the basis that he’s being subjected to ad-hom attacks. He’s not. He’s being slagged-off – big-time – because he allowed himself to sound-off without properly preparing his attack. As a result of his own unprofessionalism (all politics aside) he made a total arse of himself and then bolted when he realised he couldn’t defend what he’d said.

This is the guy who used the term ‘Ulsterisation’ in reference to the entirely peaceful indy-ref process in Scotland. For that reason alone he is worth of close attention: his contributions to the ‘debate’ deserve critical scrutiny; his motives are fair game. He may, in person, be a top dude, great drinking buddy and entertaining wit, but none of that is relevant.

82. ScottishPsyche

It has become the norm for Britnats to routinely use misogynistic and denigrating language towards the FM and any women who support Indy on social media and to be followed and approved by Yoon journos.

It has become the norm for Yoon commentators to write articles comparing the SNP to Nazi Germany, UKIP and any other group they deem unpleasant enough.

It has become the norm to see downright hate speech in BTL comments in these comment articles especially in the Scottish Daily Express and Daily Mail.

I agree with Torrance about one thing – debate is no longer possible but it is because he and his cronies have destroyed journalism in the MSM for a generation.

83. Onwards

liz says:
    4 August, 2016 at 11:56 am
    “The way to stop Torrance et al whinging about ‘abuse’ is to point out that a lot of journos, including him, JKR, Murial Gray follow THE most abusive troll on twitter, Brian Spanner, and are proud to do so”
    ____

That’s true. Muriel Gray used to have every second twitter post whining about internet abuse, and had to give it a break when she realised how much of a hypocrite she looks.

84. Luigi

Robert Kerr says:

4 August, 2016 at 12:44 pm

@Legerwood

I doubt very much that there is an actual “NO community”.

I have however no doubts that there is a “WoS community”

Indeed. Highly individualistic: The leading NO lights hate each other almost as much as they hate us. Plenty of astro turf attempts to unify, but all for nothing. The NO side are indeed a disparate bunch, and therein lies their weakness – they can be sliced up and picked off one by one.

Divide and conquer! It’s the British way. They have tried so many times to divide us, but to no avail: we are too strongly united. The NO side, however, are prime for division – let’s turn their own technique back on them!

85. schrodingers cat

the abuse torrance got was minimal, what really upsets him is the ridicule

love the comic
    snigger

86. K1

Give it a fortnight ‘tops’ for Torrance returning to twitter…this was so obviously ‘planned’…what a twisted mind this guy has…wait till we see his ‘returning’ to Twitter column in the Herald…some purple wombats are enigmas, Torrance…not so much.

87. heedtracker

Red/blue tory yoon culture want 50% tax rise from SNP. Why are none of them even considering the economic affects of tax hikes in 8% of the teamGB zone/this is why its the only The Vow thing that got through the Smith farce and then the Commons.

Smith Commission was meant to be NO determent to either Scotland or England but here we are, usual clusterfudge of yoon zealots, shrieking for higher taxes, regardless of the impact.

Scott Arthur ?@DrScottThinks 5h5 hours ago
    SNP depute leadership candidate calls on Sturgeon back Labour’s plan to restore the 50p tax rate

((( Neil Lovatt ))) ?@neiledwardlovat 4h4 hours ago
    The SG have evidence that raising the 45p rate to 50p will cut tax revenue.
    Did they do analysis of revenue for cutting to 40p? If not why?

Kevin Hague ?@kevverage Aug 1 Gifford, Scotland
    Kevin Hague Retweeted Fraser Whyte
    as a great man* once said: the problem is not that voters are uninformed, it’s that they’re very well misinformed

If you’re out there kevrage, we’re really sorry to hear about the latest Torrance but can you maybe explain what a tax hike in Scotland might actually do the Scottish economy still in the UK and also, include tax hikes like this with the ongoing Brexit slump?

Its a simple question and I’d ask that Lovatt chump but he’s just too toryboy thick.

88. Jack Murphy

call me dave said at 12:22 am:-
    “SNP is new row with BBC over Scottish director’s “downgrade” ”

http://archive.is/rlpLF

Yes we do live in strange times,when the bearer of news BECOMES the news.
    Tut,tut.
    That’s not how the BBC System is supposed to work.
    Forget all the recent shocking news about the BBC.
    Their mantra—Pay Up and Shut Up.

89. heedtracker

Should add, yoon culture red/blue tory trying desperately to take money out of the Scottish economy with tax hikes but only in thier Scotland region.

Meanwhile Bank of England desperately pumping hundreds of billions into the economy

Its not like Dr NO levels of yoonery aren’t aware of what their London masters and betters what really know much than Scots, are doing to try and stop the oncoming Brexit crash.

Scott Arthur Retweeted
    Financial Times ?@FT 51m51 minutes ago
    Latest: The Bank of England responds to Brexit vote with a big stimulus for the UK economy

90. louis.b.argyll

To Coventry, with the lot o them.

91. mr thms

Regarding the new role of Director of Nations and Regions at the BBC’s top table

A job description is up on the BBC’s Career Search website..

http://careerssearch.bbc.co.uk/jobs/job/Director-Nations-Regions/17407

The successful candidate will represent the voice of audiences outside London..

Says it all…

92. Calgacus

Torrance is a perfect example of that dying breed known to their masters down south as Ginger Cringers

93. DerekM

Aye Heed been watching that “big stimulus” yoon bullshit grow,i dont see any of them saying that we have just bailed out the fecking banks again and the cost will be inflation.

But hey its not like the toryboys are going to admit they cant run a piss up in a brewery.

94. heedtracker

But hey its not like the toryboys are going to admit they cant run a piss up in a brewery.

They’re well fcuked with Brexit. They joined the EU because they’d ruined the UK economically and it worked to an extent. It certainly saved Thatcher 1, that and not Scots oil and gas revenues. Now they’ve pulled out and all that EU boost’s going or gone.

Its really bad news for Scotland though. We’ve now got to listen to the fraudster BBC blame SNP Holyrood, while yoonster culture Dr NO style demands Scottish only tax hikes, knowing full well it will cause even more damage, but that’s all fine UKOK wise, anything and everything can be used to stop the vile seps.

It’s going to be the poorest and the most vulnerable that will pay all over again.

95. mr thms

I wonder if the BBC will report this story?

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/14662655.River_City_star_reveals_BBC_bosses_ordered_him_to_delete_tweets_he_posted_during_independence_referendum/

“River City star reveals BBC bosses ordered him to delete tweets he posted during independence referendum”

96. Fred

2 questions, where does this Torrance get his money from? & how come Muriel Gray didn’t appear in the top Scottish wummin thing?

97. louis.b.argyll

BBC right now..personal finance expert discussing staved off disaster..visuals to accompany? Close-ups of unicorn statues, neo-classical buildings, London rooftops!

I know its the Bank of England etc..but why not show empty larders, threadbare shoes, close-ups of reminder notices, evictions, repossession auctions..

Where are the actual images linked to austerity..! And not just those out of focus stock shots on Waterloo bridge.

The fucking bank of England looks the same whether we are in recession or not.

98. Robert Peffers

@ronnie anderson says: 4 August, 2016 at 12:35 pm:

“Scottish six by the time taken to get the show on the road i’ll be Scottish six am news”.

Och no! Ronnie. Hae ye no jaloused the real reason for a, “Scottish Six”, news broadcast has nothing whatsoever to do with what we Scots want?

The proof of that is the long time the BBC and Westminster Establishment have refused a, “Scottish Six”, Broadcast when we Scots were clamouring for it.

The real reason they are for it now is because the Westminster Establishment needs to double the time they allow the BBC to lie, prevaricate and omit state propaganda about things they need to propagate to indoctrinate the ever growing Independence movement.

99. CameronB Brodie

@ Kevin Hague
    Your empirical subjectivity is so old school and no match for semiotics but I suppose that’s why the BBC have been boosting you. Watch as human interaction confounds neoclassical economic theory. Post-modernity will prevail and Scots will gain access to their rights to self-determination and development.

P.S. I’n case you didn’t notice, I’ve let the cat out of the bag regarding moral philosophers and theologians considering utilitarianism to be deficient. Would you perhaps like to re-consider the morality of the product you are attempting to sell?

100. Robert Peffers

@DerekM says: 4 August, 2016 at 1:45 pm:

.. But hey its not like the toryboys are going to admit they cant run a piss up in a brewery.

Of course they could run a piss up in a brewery, DerekM.

However, they would much prefer to run it in a distillery but the real problem is that, like everything else, they expect to force everyone else to pay for it.

101. Bill McLean

How long do we think this Brexit farce is going to last for? Does anyone else get the feeling that the Uk Govt is desperately looking for a way to ditch Brexit? A good excuse to give the bankers some more cash though!

102. Valerie

Good and very honest piece on LSE site on Wales and Brexit vote. Analyses where he got it wrong in thinking Wales would vote Remain, because they do so well from EU. Carwyn Jones is incompetent.

http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/brexitvote/2016/08/02/wales-already-impoverished-is-set-to-get-even-poorer/

103. DerekM

Aye maybe i was a bit harsh there Robert though you would turn up at the brewery to find they had sold all the beer or stashed it in the virgin isles lol

104. Colin Duff

I don’t understand this. I can barely read it, but even once I’ve squinted through the text, I’ve still no idea what it’s meant to mean.

105. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Click on the images to enlarge, man.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.