Terminological inexactitude

Posted on October 06, 2012 by

We’re confused again, readers. At its forthcoming conference the SNP will debate whether or not to change its policy on NATO membership, in full public view. After the debate, a vote of the party’s membership will determine what the policy will be. This wholly open and natural political process is of course variously described by the Scottish media as a “split”, a “U-turn”, an “internal battle” and a source of “rebel fury”.

Meanwhile, the Liberal Democrats refuse to allow the YesScotland campaign to take a stall at their conference, and when some members offer dissent, leader Willie Rennie angrily castigates them in a letter describing their actions as a “disrespectful stunt”, on the grounds that the media might have covered the stall’s presence.

(Great work keeping it out of the press, Willie. Just the three stories in a week, then.)

We feel we must have somehow misunderstood the meanings of the words “liberal” and “democratic”. Can anyone point us towards a more up-to-date dictionary?

10 to “Terminological inexactitude”

1. DougtheDug says:

Since the Lib-Dems are a hard line unionist party the fact that they don’t want a Yes Scotland stand at their Scottish regional conference is quite understandable.

The odd bit is that many of their Scottish members, including these five in the Herald, don’t seem to recognise that they are in fact members of a hard line unionist party.

The strangest thing I take from the incident is Willie Rennie’s statement, “It is the clear wish of members that we promote our vision of a federal UK.”, because I’ve looked and looked on the Lib-Dem website and I’ve not found a policy which refers to a federal UK yet.

2. Morag says:

I wonder what would happen if Bitter Together applied for a stall at the SNP conference?  Talk about a cat in a dog suit!

I suspect, let them come, then point and snigger.

3. tartanfever says:

Good point Morag, there may well be a stall for them. Wonder if we can find out.

Personally I’d like to set out a stall at the Lib Dem conference. It would be called the ‘Home rule stall’
    Looking rather battered and dilapidated, (picture an old wooden greenhouse with all the windows broken, peeling paint and weeds everywhere) it would be manned by a skeleton sitting in a rocking chair, cobwebs everywhere and every few minutes tumbleweed would roll across. Accompanying this scene would be the haunting soundtrack of bleak, windy landscape and the squeaking of a rusty hinge. 

4. James McLaren says:

Tartanfever

and a Rye Cooder track

5. Morag says:

Oh, I don’t seriously think they’d show up.  But I’m not convinced the SNP would deny them entry if they did.

6. Davy says:

“Tartanfever”
    That sounds more like the lib-dem conference it’s-self. 

7. tartanfever says:

Sorry Morag, didn’t read your post properly, I was thinking that the Bitter Together campaign would have a stall at the Lib Dem conference, not the SNP conference.

A ‘bitter together’ stall at the SNP conference would be great – I’d love for them to answer the   positive case for staying in the union ! What a hoot that would be.

8. Richie says:

Hopefully they’ll try to get a stall at the tory and labour conferences too.

9. Steve Syme says:

Us Labour for Indy folk are thinking about a stall/ stand at Labour conference.

We’ll be as popular as a fart in a spacesuit. 

10. muttley79 says:

@Steve Syme

How is your campaign going?  What have you made of the events of the last month?  A lot seems to have happened since the march last month….

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,847 Posts, 1,231,892 Comments

• sarah on Off-topic: “Well, you’re not wrong about world events, the most awful things going on, aided and abetted by the UK high…Dec 8, 21:53
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The final analyses of the dissolution of the parliament of Great Britain time and again so the parliament of England…Dec 8, 21:31
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The parliament of England after acting as the parliament of England to make treaties and contractual agreements legally cannot re-…Dec 8, 21:07
    • James Cheyne on The Long Walk To Freedom: “So what did I omit in my ramblings and thoughts to you all while I swither over the treaty of…Dec 8, 20:45
    • Tinto Chiel on Off-topic: “Hi, Sarah: oh, no, just girding my loins (ooh, matron!) for The Last Battle. I’ve only looked in two or…Dec 8, 19:59
    • Aidan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I’ve no idea to be honest Hatey, but as long as they are FIGHTING that is good enough for me.…Dec 8, 19:58
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““… you’ve taken that too far.” I fear you might be right… I feel dirty now. Not least because I…Dec 8, 19:56
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Hmmm, Northy, you’ve taken that too far. Cos I don’t want to believe you enjoyed having high pressure air blasted…Dec 8, 19:34
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““…an increasingly big and increasingly vocal minority…” Indeed, aye. I was having a bite of lunch a couple of years…Dec 8, 19:31
    • sarah on Off-topic: “Hi, Tinto. Nice to hear from you. I trust that all is well with you and you are keeping your…Dec 8, 19:29
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Ah ken that ane. It’s ane of the Apocrypha. But dinna let oan tae Confused.Dec 8, 19:26
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I was played like a church organ once…I rather enjoyed the experience.Dec 8, 19:10
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “@Aidan Has it occurred to you that the Liberate Scotland boys are almost certainly FIGHTING among themselves?Dec 8, 19:09
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““Labour had been in power in Scotland mostly for the previous 70 years and the destruction and carnage they presided…Dec 8, 19:06
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “It’s a noitalever to me.Dec 8, 19:03
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““Saint Northy” Oh here! I quite like that. I might set it up as a new moniker on here and…Dec 8, 18:58
    • Nae Need! on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Fact, James Cheyne.Dec 8, 18:56
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Did you know that cat is just tac spelled backwards?Dec 8, 18:55
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““And how much I hate them. For failing us all entirely.” Quite a reek of smouldering breeks from that post,…Dec 8, 18:53
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I would rather be a deluded eejit than a colonialist… and, thankfully, I am. Phew! And, yes. I WILL be…Dec 8, 18:51
    • stuckdoonhame on The Long Walk To Freedom: “And true to type, Misreporting Scotland has just treated us to a pile of wibbling drivel about the outcome and…Dec 8, 18:44
    • Aidan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Quite right! Both votes SNP, that’ll show the yoons! Or you could be one of the ten people voting for…Dec 8, 18:41
    • Nae Need! on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Absolutely, Willie.Dec 8, 18:35
    • Nae Need! on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Indeed, Northcode. And for once, I’d prefer (hold me back, hold me back) NOT to go on a huge rant…Dec 8, 18:17
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “@ Northcode says: 8 December, 2025 at 5:50 pm “ALL colonialists are bad” Oh aye. That’s why you go to…Dec 8, 18:13
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “God IS love.Dec 8, 18:10
    • twathater on The Long Walk To Freedom: “HaHaHaHa another wee yoonionist shittin his breeks , now lads we are all good Jockos lets get together and vote…Dec 8, 18:07
    • Nae Need on The Long Walk To Freedom: “No. But by fuck the wriggling on the line puts ALL worms to shame. Talking of worms . . ;-)…Dec 8, 18:04
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““it’s time the Scots stopped whining” Finally. Please tell us you’ll be leading from the front, although your “released from…Dec 8, 17:58
    • Northcode on The Long Walk To Freedom: “ALL colonialists are bad… that’s why they’re colonialists.Dec 8, 17:50