Let’s be it.

1717 to “Stronger for Scotland”

1. john king

@me
    Sorry,
    MURPHY giving Kirsten Francis Ausurgleburgle (sorry there was a strange and rare break in the transmission when her name was being announced ) giving her a slow hand clap. asshole!

2. john king

Jimnarlene says
    “The tactical voting worked then.”

To quote a certain lady here SNIGGLE. πŸ™‚

3. Wuffing Dug

Ansolutely beautiful.

Thank you people of Scotland.

Keep thinking about that Norwegian commentator ‘maggie thatcher, winston churchill, you took a hell of a beeting!’

Hearing that in my heid in a Norwegian accent btw.

Cameron GIRFUY GTF. No mandate.

4. scotbud

Thanks Stu for all your hard work so proud to be a apart of Wings Over Scotland.

5. Macart

Oh and on the subject of Alex Salmond, it seems that Mr Cochrane’s comic book was a bit premature.

Bwahahahahahahahaha.

Pulpers set to warp factor 7. πŸ˜€

6. K1

56 seats, we did it! Stunning. πŸ™‚

7. lumilumi

Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk, after a recount: SNP gain!

Con, Lab, Lib are better together with one a piece – SNP 56!!!

I can’t believe this! What a happy day!

8. Sinky

Very gracious victory speech by Calum Kerr.

9. IvMoz

56/59 – unbelievable.

In 32 years active in politics, I never thought I’d ever see a result like this.

I wish my dad was still alive to enjoy this result.

Not been to bed but don’t feel tired.

Well done Scotland, I’m proud of you.

10. cearc

We Scots, who are a generous people, have let the unionists keep 1 seat each.

Well done everyone.

11. bugsbunny

And finally we win Berwickshire, by 328 votes.

56 seats Independence/Hope, 3 seat Unionists/Fear.

I think sleeps escaped me now. Time for breakfast. A nice one. Cornflakes with milk, two boiled eggs with buttered soldiers, cuppa tea, orange juice with yogurt, coffee and almond croissant with butter and jam from the bakers and the local shop.

A celebration on a plate.

I can’t sleep.

Cheers folks, to all who made this happen

Stephen.

12. Free Scotland

It was the fundilymundily wot won it!

13. Richardinho

Oh dear, I think Michael Kelly will be turning in his grave tonight!

14. Macart

Aaaaand still they don’t understand.

Just listening to the morning shift metroset offering their pearls of wisdom. Oh Jeez they are so missing the point. πŸ˜€

What Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP wanted. Apparently it was to have a stake in running the UK government… bwahahahaha πŸ˜€

Does anybody feel like enlightening them or should we just let it be a surprise?

15. K1

Ian Davidson bayoneting Jim Murphy has to be a main highlight of this election in Scotland… πŸ™‚

16. Luigi

Ed Milliband’s fate was sealed the moment he bowed to pressure from the Tory press, showed his weakness, and ruled out working with the SNP.

You could say it was written in stone.

17. john king

Jim Murphy
    “Im astonished how easy it has been to outwit the SNP”

Ok Jim you win you were too smart for us.
    bwahahahahahaha

18. lumilumi

Looking back, one of the moments last night was Glasgow NE, Willie Bain of the Bain Principle (“Labour never supports any SNP motions, whatever they are, whatever their merits.”) losing his seat.

The BBC swingometer couldn’t cope with the 39.3% swing from Lab to SNP. πŸ˜€

It seems the national swing in Scotland was 24% to SNP, the SNP appears to have got 50.0% of the popular vote. You have to go back to 1955 to find a higher one, 50.1% for the Conservative and Unionist Party. The SNP smashed the record of number of votes: 1,454,436 on a turnout of 71.1%

(How does that compare to the number of people who voted YES on a 85% turnout?)

What a night, what a new day!

19. McBoxheid

BBC headlines

SNP have made large gains
    The Tories could double their seats
    Labour collapsed

FFS it was 56 seats for SNP 1 each for the tory pandas

Brian Taylor kept saying it was unbelieveable gain being made for the SNP but not the predicted 58 by the exit poll.

It must be the first thing on the agenda: get rid of BBC Scotland.

Labour politicians kept saying its all SNPs fault the Labour lost in England. They STILL don’t know why they lost

20. K1

Nicola Sturgeon tweets;

“And to those who didn’t vote @theSNP yesterday, we will do our best by you too and seek to win your trust #OneScotland #GE15”

This is why I love what we have achieved. This woman is a credit to our polity, she speaks for me.

21. John H.

This wouldn.t have been possible without you Rev. Stuart. Thank you for putting in so much hard work on our behalf to counter all the smears and lies of the Unionists.

Congrats. to all the new SNP MP’s. I know you’ll fight hard for Scotland at Westminster.

22. Macart

Apparently Mr Robinson spinning mince on the Beeb. That right?

If so he should perhaps bear in mind the last time he tried to spin the ‘facts’ around Scottish politics. He became a laughing stock in front of the international press.

23. Kev

Phenomenonal result for snp, honestly didnt think in a million years Wed get 56 seats, crazy, thing is will Tory libdum form a majority, doesn’t look like it!

24. John Sm.

Wow, a Mundell sandwich : )

25. AuldA

I am sorry you will have to put up with a Tory government for a short while.
    Until it finally breaks up once and for all.
    Next year?
    I’m sure the independence has never been closer…

26. Colin Church

Best Gracious defeat?

Michael Moore for me.

Perhaps why he was fired from BT campaign as “scots secy” nothing to see here, no elephants in this room.

Aye, right…

27. bugsbunny

I wonder if Jim Murphy’s hidden enough money away so he can claim Housing and Council Tax Benefits, along with the Broo?

Stephen.

28. M.mackintosh

How brilliant to witness the pandafication (as the wee ginger dug would say) of the unionist parties. Another step towards independence. Alba gu brath!

29. Rubbertoe

Caledonia you’re everything….. Luv ya X! Luv ya X! Luv ya X!

30. john king

Glen Campbell
    “Do you think 56 Snp MP’s brings independence closer?

Kevin McKenna “YES”

31. Colin Church

BBC Scotland

Please stop now! Move on. Despite your snidey positioning we have voted!

It is clear, you are now speaking for your pals, not me.

32. john king

John Sm
    “Wow, a Mundell sandwich : )”

Its got ham in it,
    I don’t like ham. πŸ™‚

33. scottieDog

Main difference in Scotland – a new media. England needs to wake up and embrace alternative media.

34. Colin Church

AND IT WAS ALL YELLOW

Almost…

35. frogesque

56 SNP MPs on the way to Westminster.

We’re going to need a bigger bus!

36. westie7

Yup, The Glenn show and his guests STILL not getting it this morning

2007, SNP Success, would the BBC change their stance to the SNP. NOPE
    2011, SNP Landslide, would the BBC change their stance to the SNP. NOPE
    2015, SNP Landslide2, BBC still not changing their attitude

Gobsmacked

37. Paula

Oh my, its looking interesting. A Con minority government with a bloc of 56 SNP MPs in Westminister. Sad to see that UKIP got 12% of the vote, but at least they only have one MP so far.

38. K1

Who is this struan ewens muppet? More importantly, who the f**k does he think he is? Myopic muppet.

39. Ken500

Balls is gone

40. mumsyhugs

Labour HAVE just lost their Balls!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

41. Matt

So when Murphy said “we won’t lose a single seat to the SNP”, he was right, in a perverse kind of way.

42. Gary45%

Thanks Scotland,
    Thanks Wings Over Scotland.

On the radio,
    Balls oot,WOOOHOOO
    and the unionists still can’t work out how they lost.

43. IvMoz

Labour:

Shadow Chancellor – gone
    Shadow Foreign Secretary – gone
    Scottish leader – gone
    Shadow Secretary for Scotland – gone

And they were cocky in stating they wouldn’t do deals with the SNP.

They couldn’t gain on the Tories even after 5 years of cuts & the promises of more to come.

Labour have ceased to be.

44. john king

Tory MEP coming out with a steaming pile of horse manure about how Scotland would have been bankrupt in year one had we voted yes because of the crash in oil prices, (of course Campbell didn’t pull him up that we wouldn’t have been independent until 2016)
    Lets all remind that idiot on march 24 2016 about that comment and refer to the oil price then not as it WAS,

Insisting BOTH Alex Salmond and Nicola Sturgeon “PROMISED” that the referendum would be the last one for a generation,

Im sure Struan you can pull up such an important statement as that and show us exactly when both Alex an Nicola said that,

Apart from that can anyone explain to me WHY we have wall to wall Tory Labour and lib dem commentators when the SNP were the winners last night?

45. donald anderson

Post Election Celebration Scoriach. Somewhere to go, cheap, after a hard campaign.
    Admission Free. Grand Raffle. Children welcome.
    Bring yer ain cerry oot, food, music. Jammers welcome.
    Bring a friend. If not, bring Jim Murphy.
    Friday, 7-11pm. May 8th.
    St Peter’s Church Hall, Pertick, 46 Hyndland Street, Glasgow, G11 5PS
    56 reasons to celebrate!
    Three Unionist Amigos to go.

Wingers Welcome!

46. K1

The defeat of the Labour in England is down to voters in England. Not the SNP. They can shove their ‘narrative’ up their arses, the unfolding resutls make that startingly clear.

Time for Labour to realise, that they have walked away from their fundimundily principles, and that that is the main cause of their misfortunes. They are the party of soundbites…and here it is Ed Balls coming out wi the same old rhetoric even in defeat.

I can’t say it often enough: They just don’t get it, at all.

47. john king

I think in a perverse way we can screw more concessions out of the Tories that we could have with Mr Ed the talking horse,
    The Tories have no interests in Scotland and FFA could well be a reality.

48. StevieMcB

Now its time to talk about BBC Pravda..we cant have this shower of clowns misrepresenting SNP any more. Clearout the lot.

49. Robert Peffers

Police investigating personation in Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch, Edinburgh south and Edinburgh South West.

I wonder how many more have slipped through the net?

50. donald anderson

Balls Out in Engerland.

51. K1

Glenn Campbell. Telt.

52. AuldA

Well, I could add that, seen from here, it is clearer than ever that the border has become a political fence, with Scots north, and Anti-Scots rednecks south.

Welcome to the D.K., the Disunited Kingdom.

53. Dave

Never have I enjoyed my museli so much as I did this morning. Such joy

54. Edward

I think the seven ‘old’ SNP hands are going to have their work cut out showing the ropes to the ‘new ones’

They will have take on seven newies each under their wings!

(The seven of course being the six plus Alex Salmond)

Glorious! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

55. donald anderson

Ed Miniband says he won’t talk to the SNP. He has only one Scottish Labour MP to talk to instead.

NMniband minus Balls.

56. MajorBloodnok

As a resident of Edinburgh South it’s intriguing to note that I now live in Labour’s Scottish Heartlands.

57. Grouse Beater

How can Tories stick a non-SNP MP on Scotland as Secretary of State?

Are we back with no-entitlement to rule MP’s?

58. Rob James

Second hand tactical voting wheel for sale. Anyone like to start the bidding?

59. Bob Mack

The Scottish people look forward to 5 more tears of Tory rule as the English public despised the idea of Scotland having a democratic and equal say in the running of the country.That is the big lesson here.
    Will the Scottish people be willing to endure this ? I think not.
    Camerons only hope to save the Union now is to offer substantial concessions to Scotland, and he knows this .Boris Johnson grasped the situation immediately.no matter how much hedging other senior Tories have attempted , in order to muddy the waters.
    Personally,I believe the end is now in sight.
    I am very emotional,having endured the highs and lows of an emotional night.,but this morning I stand taller than usual,and have a spring in my step
    Thank you SNP
    Thank you Nicola
    Thank you Wingers
    Thank you Rev Stu
    Thank you my fellow Scots.The gifts you all have given me are beyond measure.

60. Grouse Beater

Who is this struan ewens muppet?

Struan Stevenson, lost his seat in Scotland some time ago, given safe seat in England. Never one for intelligent thought, bit monosyllabic – fall back on party line, proof Tories can produce ignorant politician same as Labour. But knowing him I can claim he’s a nice guy, decent constituent MP, just never right about anything.

61. fred blogger

‘careful what you wish for scotland’.
    ballcocks we voted for change, safer position within this union, and got it.
    can you imagine voting labour and still being governed by the tories, now, this morning!
    powerless once again would be.
    coz that’s what would have happened if scotland as usual, had loyally lined up behind them.
    we had to make sure of scotlands future 1st, we did it.

62. bugsbunny

To John King,

The reason the BBC behave as they have done so far is that they, as we all know, are the State Propaganda Arm of Downing Street.

After we win next time, in Indey2, we should treat them as pariahs, and give them their due justice. If you have the stomach to read the Daily Mail website you will see some old bag, a Proudscotsbut, yattering on about a xenophobic racist Scotland. Coming from a rag that had “Hurrah for the Blackshirts”, they have a bloody cheek.

They should look to their own readership for bigots and xenophobes. I have yet to meet one who is not a complete and utter bastard.

Stephen.

63. iheartScotland

What a sweet night.
    Scotland’s voice is truly legitimate.
    Finally……

64. Marie clark

Morning folks. Wow just wow. What a result. Well done Scotland. Gave Labour the kicking it well and truly deserved.

I hear that it’s all our fault, led astray by the SNP and not listening to Labour. Aye well we listened for a lot of years and got nowhere, so now it’s our turn. Made my night watching wee Dougie getting turfed, then Murphy, who seems to think he can stay on as leader. Watch the ferrets fighting in the sack now.

Oh good, anither bit of icing on the cake, Balls has been booted as well. Miliband will have to resign now as well as Murphy and Clegg. Whoopee.

By the way guys, the MP for Dumfries is Richard Arkless, wee fluffy is the other side of the county, no here. We on this side delivered the right result, so feel free to support Queen of the South footie fans.

65. Oneironaut

@Fred
    “Small fly in the ointment, Kate Hopkins calls for the death penalty for Nicola Sturgeon. What are we doing in the same country as these arseholes?”

Thought she was promising to leave the country if the SNP got in…

Better hurry off and pack Katie, your plane leaves soon. It’s the one with the missing engine, holes in the side, and the MurphyBot 900 in “Kamikaze Mode” as a pilot!

66. Betty Boop

@ Major Bloodnok, 8:40am

My commiserations and it’s Ian Murray too. I know this because he is the only Labour MP in Scotland. At least in that, there is some little joy to be found, is there not?

We could run bus tours to see the rare specimen.

67. Louis B Argyll

Well done to the people of Scotland.

A REVOLUTION.

SOLIDARITY AND COMPASSION.

68. lumilumi

Glenn Campbell interviewed Nicola a while back.

Wow! What a leader she is! What a person she is!

No gloating, shadenfreude, no ott jubilation (after her party won all but 3 of Scottish seats!), just focused on the future, putting her points across clearly and concisely. I think I love Nicola.

I’m not sure the WM establishment and the London-centric MSM quite understand what is happening.

“A vote for the SNP is a protest vote.” Well, yes, and no. Yes, it’s a protest against the WM establishment. But no, this isn’t a one-off protest vote.

I think someone here on WoS once said that Scotland had already moved to SNP in 2007 but lend their vote to Lab in the 2010 GE to keep the tories out. (Well, that didn’t vote.)

The Holyrood election in 2011 was just SNP voters coming back (+ new SNP voters who were impressed by how well the SNP had run the country as a minority government – calling it a government, not “executive” as Lab-Libs did).

This time, the 2015 GE, Scottish voters realised tactically voting Lab to keep tories out is pointless so might as well vote SNP for WM as well and have a strong voice in WM.

The establishment in WM has no idea about this Scottish mindset, they just cannot understand why the jocks won’t go back into their box. Jocks lost the referendum so they should shut up and vote as you’re telt, and now they disturb the British “democracy”. How very dare they!

69. Roll_On_2015

One thing that I cannot get my head around is that millions of voters south of the border voted to get rid of their NHS… the mind boggles.

70. One_Scot

If last night result does not tell everyone that Scotland needs to be Independent, I don’t know what does.

71. scottieDog

@john king
    This ‘scotland wouldn’t survive’ crap is why I think we need a real business/finance paper in Scotland. I have plenty battles with folk in ft comments section who still hold on to the old neo-liberal economic twaddle. It’s an ideology and it needs to be broken.

On top of that WE need to stop the oil argument and focus on other parts of the economy so that we prove beyond doubt that Scotland is viable to even the most negative.

The uk is going to decline further through austerity but the London press will be in overdrive blaming it on everything else. So how can scotland insulate itself?

Well we can start by insulating ourselves from the scarcity of sterling. We need to start looking at parallel forms of money and emulate some of the best credit clearing systems such as the WIR in Switzerland. It allows billions of dollars worth of trade without the need for money and has been around since the 30s.

And we need to educate our mps. Only 1 in 10 actually understand that private banks create just about all money in the economy.
    http://www.positivemoney.org/2014/08/7-10-mps-dont-know-creates-money-uk/

72. crazycat

Ah, Grouse Beater, I’ve finally, finally, caught you out:

Struan Stevenson, lost his seat in Scotland some time ago, given safe seat in England. Never one for intelligent thought, bit monosyllabic – fall back on party line, proof Tories can produce ignorant politician same as Labour. But knowing him I can claim he’s a nice guy, decent constituent MP, just never right about anything.

Struan Stevenson was never an MP, in either Scotland or England, though he did stand.

He was, however, an MEP from 1999-2014. I came across him in this capacity.

You often claim on here to know this or that person; from now on I shan’t believe you.

73. Alan

YA FUCKIN BEAUTY!!!!!!!FYU!!!

74. Ken500

Did the Tory Pollsters manipulate the result?

Majority of 2.

75. BJ

MACtillo moment. Murphy, Alexander, Curran.

76. Angus

BBC Radio Jim Murphy Better Together were in agony, and had all their top unionists putting spin on it.
    James Fraser couldn’t even say the word Scotland. The UKIP guy saying Scots have voted for clowns.
    Hohoho

77. K1

Thanks Grouse, though it was more an exclamation than a genuine question πŸ™‚

78. Free Scotland

SPELLING LESSON FOR SCOTTISH POLITICIANS

SNP – WON

LAB – ONE

CON – ONE

LIB DEM – ONE

79. Clootie

Gents

Posts below,both excellent – still cleaning up coffee πŸ™‚

MajorBloodnok says:
    8 May, 2015 at 8:40 am
    As a resident of Edinburgh South it’s intriguing to note that I now live in Labour’s Scottish Heartlands.

Rob James says:
    8 May, 2015 at 8:45 am
    Second hand tactical voting wheel for sale. Anyone like to start the bidding?

80. Rigmac7

Bloody Unionists being more than pandas!!!! But only by one……come on Yang Guang and Tian Tian, let’s get jiggy with it and have twins and give us a new standard πŸ™‚

81. sensibledave

@ All on WoS

Hearty congratulations on a stunning result for the SNP.

I believe the result will lead to enormous changes in the way Scotland is run. No one could deny that the people of Scotland have voted for change.

82. One_Scot

I’m not sure, but is there more unionists MPs in Scotland, or pandas?

83. Edward

One thing to actually look forward to is the monthly ‘Scottish Questions’ in Westminster

Before the election it WAS a turn off as it was with 41 (ok 40 as Gordon Brown never turned up) Labour MPs from Scotland, assorted Tory’s and the Libdems, talking Scotland down and taking pot shots at the SNP Scottish Government. When ever one of the 6 SNP MP’s stood up would get heckled from all sides.

NOW, with 56 SNP MP’s, who should now take the front bench during Scottish Questions, should make mince meat of Mundell or who ever sits opposite

84. Macart

Sooooooo Paddington for Governor General?

Kezia Dugdale for Scottish branch manager?

Rennie and Davidson to go on tour as a Fran and Anna tribute act?

85. IvMoz

Miliband to resign.

Yvette Cooper as next leader? Inverness born.

Even though post-referendum it was suggested as part of the anti-scottish backlash, no Scot would ever lead a unionist party again.

Son of a Scot as PM

Scot born as opposition leader

And then we’ll have Nicola keeping everyone on their toes.

86. Paul D

Do you think some international body will insist we set up a conservation reserve for unionist MPs?

With a bit of luck the captive breeding programme will be as successful as the one for the pandas!

And with that I am off to bed

87. john king

Rigmac7 says
    “Bloody Unionists being more than pandas!!!! But only by one……come on Yang Guang and Tian Tian, let’s get jiggy with it and have twins and give us a new standard :)”

SNIGGER

What?
    Like this you mean?
    http://tinypic.com/r/30k956e/8

88. montfleury

I note with interest that Scotland has decided to retain one type specimen of each species of Unionist MP for future reference.

We have reduced them to museum curiosities.

89. Ken500

Cameron pished as usual. Crowing as usual

90. jackie g

Morning All,

What a great day! πŸ™‚

Friend just texted me to say Scotland Rocks..you bet it does.

The Labour stalwarts at my work are not happy faces are tripping them πŸ™‚

It makes up for the crap i had to listen to after the Referendum.

91. lumilumi

Sandra Wilson @ 6.53am

Is this result the settled will of the people of Scotland?

Well… Apparently “only” 50.0% voted SNP, not a majority of the popular vote even though it translates into 56 of the 59 seats. How does one define the settled will?

One way to interpret the results is that Scottish voters have overwhelmingly rejected UK parties. With 50.0%, even in a PR system, that would translate into half of the seats, or more.

Maybe when the final figures are released and the 50.0% quoted on BBC is revealed to be rounded down from 50.04%… Which would be a majority, and possibly the settled will of the people of Scotland. πŸ™‚

92. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Pandas win the triple crown. πŸ˜‰

More pandas than tories.

More pandas than Labour.

More pandas than lib dems.

πŸ˜€

93. Ken500

BBC

Kirsty Wark and Jack McConnell

Typical

94. bugsbunny

BBC News say 326 for an overall majority. But out of 650, 4 are Sinn Fein who never take their seats and 1 is the speaker.

So thats 645 MP’s in Westminster, so 323 is the magic number.

With all but 16 seats called the Tories are already on 319 seats. So if they only win a quarter of the remaining 16 seats, i.e. 4, then they have won a majority. Anything after thats a bonus.

I wonder if yellow peggy tooth Farage will win Thanet?

Stephen.

95. Indigo

Stu, so when are you going to launch Wings Over England?

England needs an alternative media voice

96. Bob Mack

@sensibledave.
    Thank you.THAT IS the most sensible thing you have contributed.Best of luck to you.

97. One_Scot

Hard to believe the Tories are still going on that we are one nation. What will it take for the penny to finally drop, 59 seats?

98. Robert Peffers

How long is it going to be before these English MPs stop talking about the UK as The Country?

It is now perfectly obvious that the UK is NOT a country and can no longer be governed as if it were.

In England the opposition is Labour, In Scotland the opposition is the SNP in Wales it is Labour and god knows who it is in Ireland and whether SF counts anyway.

99. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

BBC still in full denial mode with their presenters simply not comprehending what has happened. They worked hard to create this result too with their biased nonsense and smears so it’s a puzzle why they can’t grasp it.

100. Cag-does-thinking

Re the tactical voting wheel for sale. I don’t want it if it’s contaminated…..

101. Dan Huil

Pandas: second biggest party in Scotland.

102. Skip

Scotland, I could hardly be prouder of you than I am right now. Following this whole campaign from the wilds of Alaska has been one hell of a roller coaster ride. Keep the bit in your teeth, and fight like hell for the independence you need and deserve. P45s for all the naysayers!

103. Jim

Some poor soul of a wifey on morning call is saying Scots were very silly to vote for the SNP and Russia and North Korea have nuclear weapons and they will attack us.

Fear factor sure played with that poor woman’s mind!

104. Craig

Words are failing me right now, stayed up till 7.30am to see the last result announced and went to bed, could only sleep for 2 hours, I am so proud of my fellow Scots that voted for SNP.

Stood at the backdoor looking at the clear blue sky smoking my cigarette and I am not ashamed to say, tears were forming in my eyes with pride, to go from the ultimate low in the 19th September 2014 to today, I know we all share that feeling I am talking about.

SO PROUD OF YOU SCOTLAND
    SO PROUD TO FEEL SCOTTISH AGAIN

I can hold my head high again, even my aunt in Greece texted us this morning saying how proud that she is to be Scottish and that she can look at her fellow Athenians again in the eye instead of shame after the 18th September.

105. X_Sticks

Well that was a night that almost made up for September 18th.

Thank you Scotland.

Just been on catchup and some brilliant posts from everyone. Particularly liked Free Scotland’s “SPELLING LESSON FOR SCOTTISH POLITICIANS”

SNP – WON
    LAB – ONE
    CON – ONE
    LIB DEM – ONE

The unionists now have as many seats as Scotland has Polar bears. Just a thought πŸ˜€

Now we have to figure out how best to use the leverage being the THIRD biggest party in Westminster.

One step closer to our goal folks. Onward and upward.

The bbc has to be a major target now. The establishment mouthpiece has to be neutered. MacQuarrie and Boothman OUT. BBC Scotland have played a major part in labour’s downfall and they shouldn’t be allowed to forget it.

106. Anagach

Is Stu alright – worried about the lack of new articles ?

107. Grouse Beater

crazycat: Struan Stevenson – He was, however, an MEP

That’s true, I stand corrected, an indication of how long it was I last talked to him. But he did stand for election three times, in 1987, 1992, and 1997 – hence my memory is half-right. I knew him in those times. Struan always had a way of seeming to be in power in Scotland. And he didn’t show much uncertainty when interviewed last night. As for ‘hanging around to catch me out’ what a waste of your time! Are you really that dumb?

108. bugsbunny

lumilumi

Just added votes up:

SNP 1 454 436

All others 1 456 029.

Difference of 1593 votes to Non SNP.

BUT if Scottish Greens added to the mix as Pro Independence then this happens:

39205-1593= 37612.

In other words 37612 more people in Scotland voted Pro Independence Parties than voted Pro Union.

Stephen.

Tories on 320 seats. 3 seats to go for an overall majority with 15 seats still to be called.

109. Alastair

Article in today’s Telegraph – why oil will be $100/ barrel by the end of this summer.

110. Rongorongo

I find it interesting that, of the three unionist MPs retained in Scotland, none seem to be a sympathetic or likeable character.

111. Edward

IvMoz

Hope Cooper is not the next Labour leader, she is just a complete bitch!. Labour need someone who actually cares for the people and wants to work with the SNP in Westminster

Tall order perhaps, but Labour really need to take stock

My choice for Labour would be Dianne Abbott, who has shown a bit of grace towards Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP

112. dramfineday

Jackie G at 0944

Go on Jackie……look them in the eye and then burst out laughing. You’ll enjoy it.

And good morning to the rest of Scotland, it’s a grand morning in Edinburgh SW. Thanks for the company throughout the night on Wings.

113. Grouse Beater

K1: Thanks Grouse, though it was more an exclamation than a genuine question

No problem. Wonder what the atmosphere is like in Labour’s Scottish branch. πŸ™‚

114. Grouse Beater

Some poor soul of a wifey on morning call is saying Scots were very silly to vote for the SNP and Russia and North Korea have nuclear weapons and they will attack us.

Aye, some were sceptical, some were thoughtful, and some were brainwashed.

Anyhow, back to work – great company during the night on Wings and family at home. Many thanks, my friends.

115. Edward

Hearing that Jim Murphy, who is just now ‘joe punter’ and not an MP or MSP wants to stay on as leader of the Labour party in Scotland

Is he for real??

Just remind yourself exactly how many Labour MP’s and MSP’s that there are in Scotland!
    ONE MP & 38 MSP’s

IF Murphy had any sense and decency he would resign the leadership immediately

116. IvMoz

@jim 10:03

It wisnae Kezia was it?

117. Ken500

BBC the usual distorted map

118. Neil Scott

Just to add support to all those who have asked for new media/changing BBC to Scottish broadcasting. I have no TV and have had the radio unplugged since before the referendum. The BBC is 100% for London/South East and is not to be trusted. Stu has been fantastic with a fair, needed, accurate, useful info service. How about as the first steps a radio and then TV service to follow his example? Please!

119. think again

When I went to bed last night Labour were winning three nil, must have been a game of two halves.

A big thank you to all the people on here who have contributed wisdom, humour, and points of view I might never have thought of, you sure kept me going.

Right, back to work, tea break over.

120. lumilumi

montfleury @ 9.42pm

I note with interest that Scotland has decided to retain one type specimen of each species of Unionist MP for future reference.

We have reduced them to museum curiosities.

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Scots are an inclusive and kind people so it’s no wonder they’d keep individuals of endangered species, one of each kind. There’s some confusion on whether the red, blue and yellow tory can interbreed and produce viable rainbow tory offspring.

It used to be more pandas than tory MPs, now the goal posts have been moved and “Better Together” parties have more MPs than Scotland has pandas.

121. Kevin Evans

Call Kaye BBC radio still being bitter as fuck about the result

122. Valerie

Have to agree with K1, I smiled and was delighted with all 56 results, but the one that made me laugh out loud, was Ian Davidson continually throwing Murphy under the bus.

Ian Murray was the most red faced, odious winner, spitting bile.

Miliband was ashen faced when he arrived at his own count, and I almost felt sorry, then thought how many times he rejected Sturgeons offers, very bad move in England.

Biggest disappointment for me is a Tory govt. and the dreadful rise in the UKIP vote

123. Grouse Beater

What a night!!!

We shall have to listen to Right-wing hacks and Tory pundits saying Scotland has voted for bankruptcy.

http://wp.me/p4fd9j-1eK

124. fred blogger

https://nothingiseverlost.wordpress.com/2015/05/08/cold-comfort-this-is-not-our-defeat/ an r’uk pov and scots perspective.
    tune, ‘Oi Polloi – Fuck Everybody Who Voted Tory.’

125. Colin Church

Tuning out of Labour post-mortem and ex labour (elevated opinion m’lud Reid etc). White noise.

STOP. You fucked up in Blighty. Not Scotland. Spineless Milliband, but more so his “advisers”. Shame.

126. X_Sticks

@Kevin Evans

Aye, Kay(e) canny hide the fact that she is spitting tacks. Much like the bbc ‘Scotland’ coverage last night. Braw. We must focus on Pathetic Quay now. We need rid of the labour media stronghold now.

127. Grouse Beater

And what of BBC now?

Tories want to diminish it, SNP does not trust it. πŸ™‚

128. call me dave

Strange haunted looks on some of my acquaintances in the cafe this morning. Are some tired like me or frightened like that old wifie on ‘your call’ screaming the Russians are coming!

It will take a wee while and the hard work is just starting πŸ™‚

129. Jim

IvMoz says:
    @jim 10:03

It wisnae Kezia was it?
    _____
    The person did sound as unbalanced as Kezia so maybe.

You can almost taste the sour grapes on morning call.

I feel a song coming on, “Dry your eyes Slab, I know it’s hard to take but Scotland’s mind’s been made up, ……….”

130. lumilumi

Some punter (Labour) being wise after the fact on BBC. Labour should’ve blah blah blah, Scotland, blah blah blah.

They just do not get Scotland. Dim Jim didn’t. He may go down in history as the most unsuccessful branch manager ever.

Johann, I hope you gloat a bit. You were bad but nowhere as bad as your successor. I think, with you, SLAB would’ve won a couple more seats.

131. lumilumi

Well, Nigel Farage failed to win a seat. πŸ˜€

132. gpspeirs

Farage loses seat, milliband preparing resignation speech.

133. Joemcg

Carolyn Leckie was superb on the BBC in the wee small hours letting the unionists have it about their attitude and how they still don’t get it.

134. Kevin Evans

Milliband you are a fuckwit who fucked it up for yourself to try and please England.

Lmao I see the BBC canna let go of the number 49.3%

135. Wp

Jan Moir in the Daily Mail describing Scots as “Vile Bigots”. Seems democracy is only ok when you do as you’re told.

136. Kevin Evans

It’s been a tough fight huh folks.

Let’s have a wee relaxing moment then phase three can start.

1 – BBC shape up or ship out.
    2 – smith and more get it sorted.
    3 – Scotland still getting ignored, UDI.

137. old highlander

How will Danny Alexander and the rest of the failures manage on Job Seekers Allowance.

Sky map is just as distorted as bbc.

138. Alastair

Gordon Brown to make landmark speach today to save Scottish Labour from defeat, how pensioners will loose their pensions and just have a good wee shout.

BBC Scottland expected to muster hundreds of reporters, cameramen, photographers and changed their main schedule to cover the 2 hour clunking fist speech live on all it’s TV, radio and iplayer channels.

A cry of Pish went up from the Scottish public.

139. Mike

Listening to call vile unionist harridan filling in for John Beattie. Same guff, only half voted for SNP, ffs only half, the most any party has evey achieved. These feckers can’t even count. Usual BBC lets give everyone a fair chance, One from SNP one from Tory, one from Lib Dem, one from Labour. What don’t you get SNP won. BBC need sorted fast. Represent the people or bugger off.

On a plus not 56 SNP MP’s wooo hoo.

PS Where’s Stu, has anybody checked behind the sofa’s in IKEA?

140. Jim

Now they are shouting that as voter turnout wasn’t 100% it somehow negates the fact that the SNP won over 50% of the voter turnout!

They really dinnae lek it up ’em.

141. Kenny

Kirsten Oswald is my new MP!!! I would have believed Glasgow to go SNP before “Eastwood” ever going anything but Red/Blue Tory!

But the battle for independence is not won… yet. So today I am going to pen a letter to the former member for East Renfrewshire and urge him to stay on as leader of the Scottish Labour Party.

Honestly, he is the gift which keeps giving. His speech last night was a lesson in denial, full of complete nonsense and inane soundbites. I could see the returning officer rolling her eyes as he entered the fifth minute and I think she told the Tory, when he came up to speak: “In the name of the wee man, keep it short!!”

Incredible night…. it has still not sunk in yet….

142. Will Podmore

Grouse Beater, asks, “And what of BBC now?” and points out “Tories want to diminish it, SNP does not trust it.”
    We all need to defend it against the likes of Murdoch. Privatising the BBC would turn it into another Fox News, and we don’t want that.

143. Angus

Its a beautiful morning in West Aberdeenshire (actually its Kincardine and Strathdee, but the Tories Dems kept renaming it to something that they could pronounce)

144. Midgehunter

Good morning Scotland. How are ya? πŸ™‚

Even a 1000 miles away in Germany I can feel the heat wave of joy, passion and shops running low on stocks of Whisky..!

Scotland belongs to the Scots once again and all that remains is to get the keys back from the UK for our own house.

145. IvMoz

How long until we have:

Lord Charlie Kennedy
    Lord Dougie Alexander
    Lord Danny Alexander
    Lord Malcolm Bruce
    Baroness Curran

et al

146. Almannysbunnet

At least our neighbours to the south had the good sense to turf out Nigel fRadge.
    Remember when all those crocodile tears were shed when Alex had the good grace to resign? He’s still standing and I guess a couple of leaders, who were tittering then, will be resigning before the week is out. What goes round comes round. I doubt if we will see any of them back though. It has been well worth waiting for. I’ve had 2 hours sleep, should be knackered but I’m wide awake and raring to go.

147. John Moss

Was up through the night and enjoyed watching all the changes.

Scotland is a United Kingdom.

Thanks to everyone who voted.

Now the real work begins and I wish our new MPs all the very best.

148. Luigi

Sad to see the demise of Labour (seriously!) but it had to happen. The Labour party are (were) the last big obstacle to independence. Aided by the Tory press and their BBC chums, they threw almost everything they had at the referendum. What little they had left, they threw at the GE (and the Tory press turned on them). They are now a totally spent force. Recovery? Possible, but it depends on them (and it ain’t gonna happen very quickly). Unless they separate completely from London, and support FFA at the very least, they are finished in Scotland.

149. Colin Church

@ Kevin Evans
    Yeh, thanks for that. Made the mistake tuning in. Kay(e)doesn’t know who anybody is in the SNP / WFI.

Dr Whiteford. really? says Kay(e) no idea, is she a person?

GRFUY. STOP BBC. White noise.

Have I missed Dr Scott Arthur “BBC Golden Ticket” “Hay Smearist” “POUTER” “Bolted on comment” yet?

150. Luigi

No doubt it will go down in Labour folklore that their 2015 GE disaster was entirely the fault of the SNP.

151. Naina Tal

Murphy no more…..
    Alexanders no more…….
    Curran no more….
    Sarwar no more
    Stairheed no more….
    Begg no more….
    ach I forget the rest

152. bugsbunny

With 12 seats still to be called the Tories have a Majority Government with 323 out of 645 MPs. They have a projected outcome of 329 seats.

We need to end this fucking union asap.

Stephen.

153. Fred

A big thanks to Rev’ Stu’ Campbell, a leading light in the Unionist fog, truly the Wind Beneath our Wings.

154. caz-m

Had the pleasure of being at the count that saw Mhairi Black win the Paisley South seat from Dougie Alexander.

Wee Dougie was in total shock, as was Jim Sheridan, who lost his Paisley North seat to the SNP.

I am still trying to take in what has just happened in Scotland.

An amazing night.

155. JLT

MajorBloodnok says:

As a resident of Edinburgh South it’s intriguing to note that I now live in Labour’s Scottish Heartlands

LOL, Major! I suppose that you do! You must be cursing to be living in the Labour enclave LOL. Then again …think of the fun you can have with Ian Murray! He must be completely shellshocked and wondering what he can do to help revive Labour.

Hope you are well, Major! Need to have a wee party in the toon!

156. Giving Goose

So who is going to be Governor General?

Perhaps a Lord?

157. Edward

Murphy speaking, comes accross as Mr Bitter

158. Mike

Jim Murphy (remember him) it was the SNP that lost labour votes in England. Bad Loser, Bad Politician, Bad Bloke.

159. Macca73

I watched all night long as one after one they fell and this morning the media STILL doesn’t have any clue how to comprehend the information and actually accept the result!!

The funny thing is that as we sit in disbelief on sheer scale of the dumbness of the BBC and the way it keeps asking everyone who’s NOT an SNP leader or MP what’s the next move they instead keep asking everyone else. Brilliant!

I feel like someone who’s moved into a new home and looked round and thought …”Well, That’s going to have to change for a start” and by THAT, I mean the BBC in Scotland.

160. liz

Can you believe the audacity of Murphy, still hogging the limelight.

Go Murphy and go now

161. Robert Louis

So now is where the REAL hard work starts. The SNP despite being awfully nice on the telly, need to get to Westminster and start demanding (not asking) for proper devo max, at the very least. For the avoidance of doubt by BBC journalists, devo max is (and always has been) everything aside from defence and foreign affairs. Talking of which, control of broadcasting needs devolved immediately.

In terms of democracy, it is clear that the London Tory Government has NO mandate for controlling Scotland, and to pretend it does is an affront to any global notion of democracy.

So, forget Smith, or ‘more powers’, we need REAL devo max ASAP, no ifs, no buts. If Westminster fails to deliver, then in my mind their lack of mandate in Scotland means the SNP Scottish Government has no choice but to put forward another referendum on independence. That day cannot come soon enough.

We should set our demands and ambitions high.

162. K1

Murphy is just deluded with this speech, he needs to resign. Why are they being given this amount of publicity, they have just been trounced in Scotland?

163. Mike

Murphy isn’t resigning, the results just keep coming.

164. Joemcg

Fundilly talking verbal shite again citing reasons that have nowt to do with anything.

165. Ian Brotherhood

Boney-M on RS there, quoting socialist poets and refusing to resign.

There’s sometimes a bit that just won’t flush away…

166. lumilumi

Nigel Farage failed to win a seat.

He never fails to disappoint, he blames the SNP. πŸ˜€

I actually agree with one of his statements he was ranting on about after he graciously conceded defeat. He called for PR voting. UKIP got 13%, 18% share of the vote and ended up with ONE MP. (under PR UKIP would’ve got about 7 to 10 MPs.)

Under PR, the SNP would only have got about 30-32 MPs instead of the 56 that the FPTP gifted them.

OK, so the SNP broke the system in 2011 and 2015, but it’s not likely to happen very often.

The Westminster parties STILL don’t understand why Scots aren’t voting for them any more.

I’m hearing an interview with Jim Murphy. Creepy, whispery, sounds like a sermon by the hypocritical ne’er-do-well novice. Uuuuugh. I must tune out. I won’t know if he’ll resign.

167. ronnie anderson

@ REV
    @ ALL WINGERS

Morning YOU,S LOVELY BRILLIANT INTELIGENT PEOPLE.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ahb7kQoLTTA

Dont lie back on our laurels.The jobs not finnished. Their power bases are in the Councils, & their in need of a clearout Labour councilors & their hingers on + Placemen/Women.

168. Edward

Jim Murphy says he will not resign (so ignoring the rule book then about only MP’s MSP’s can be leader)

But Nick Clegg has resigned

169. Grouse Beater

Where are they going to put Miliband’s tablet of stone?

Answers on a postcard to:

Ed Miliband
    Job Centre
    England

170. Socrates MacSporran

Just watched and listened to Murphy on BBC TV.

He still cannot bring himself to say: “sorry”, or: “some of this disaster was my fault”.

Total denial, by a total tube.

Ian Davidson was right, not an MP, not an MSP – Murphy cannot be leader of the Scottish branch office, such as it remains.

171. raineach

Q: what cereal does Dougie Alexander ear?
    A: Cheerios!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

172. Deontas

What just happened last night???

Speechless but so so so many positive thoughts, thanks everyone.

Go on Neil Gray the SNP MP for Airdrie & Shotts!! Superb effort mate cheers.

173. Fred

Murphy’s farewell speech a bit like the Gettysburg Address, obviously been working on it for weeks.

In the words of the inimitable Jackie Baillie, “Cheerio!”

174. raineach

that should of course be ‘eat’
    in future I’ll leave the standup to tommy shepherd

175. paul gerard mccormack

murphy greetfest on BBC at 11.15am

He has learned and will forever learn nothing.

Even with a wooden stake through his heart he is still a dead man walking.

What is to be done with this guy? 228(lab) + 56(snp) = 284 < 323
    FFS!

And yet SNP are wot done it!!!

176. X_Sticks

@Naina Tal

Don’t forget the delectable Davidson!

177. Vestas

The only thing that could have made the night sweeter would have been if Clegg got booted out as well.

We all await Farage’s resignation speech – after all he pledged that if he didn’t win S. Thanet he’d “resign in 10 minutes”.

Gorgeous George, Balls, Beaker – the eradication of just about every leading member of the yellow tories, SLAB utterly dead (no need to bayonet the wounded Davidson!).

What a night. What a sweet sweet night πŸ™‚

England gets what it votes for – as always so England only has itself to blame for electing more “little Englanders”.

178. CameronB Brodie

Well, there you go. Looks like Scots aren’t genetically programmed to make difficult political decisions, after all. πŸ™‚

If I were to be charitable, I might say something like yahoo, GIRFUY British Labour. Your days of holding Scotland back are over. No more selling us imperialist One Nation Fabian soap for your plutocratic Establishment masters, ya bunch of stooges. Please now go and reflect on your ABJECT FAILURE. Scotland has a brighter future to build.

179. CameronB Brodie

Well, there you go. Looks like Scots aren’t genetically programmed to make difficult political decisions, after all. πŸ™‚

If I were to be charitable, I might say something like yahoo, GIRFUY British Labour. Your days of holding Scotland back are over. No more selling us imperialist One Nation Fabian soap for your plutocratic Establishment masters, ya bunch of stooges. Please now go and reflect on your ABJECT FAILURE. Scotland has a brighter future to build.

180. Colin Church

Positioning has begun.

SNP very bad, mucked it all up for UK.

Murphy staying? Really? ChairChoob is hunting him.

BBC open to anybody now who will say SNP BAAAAD! Live.

181. Clootie

What happens to the big stone slab with the pledges on it?

182. Lochside

‘Call Kaye’: still agonising about Labour…..quarter of an hour of Murphy’s dying swan speech. Vain attempts made to undermine any SNP voters rationale for their choice of voting.

An historic landslide, yet still questioning why? Snide comments about ‘what can they do with only 56 seats?’….why was this never asked last time with 41 Labour and all the way back to the ‘feeble fifty?’

What about the shocking amount of votes in England for UKIP? The Tories have won a majority in England. Labour have only won three times in 50 years…so we are two different countries politically as well as culturally… get over it BBC…Boothman you and your acolytes are gubbed!

183. K1

So Clegg resigns, rightfully in the face of the wipeout.

And Jim Murphy clings on, wrongfully in the face of the wipeout.

Am I misreading this?

184. Training Day

We don’t need Devo Max or more powers via Smith. We may even live without a seat on the Northern Lighthouse Board.

We need independence. Nothing else. And that right soon.

185. Robert Louis

Glad to see Murphy is staying on as Labour leader. πŸ™‚

186. Onwards

@Luigi, they cannot blame it on the SNP when you look at the numbers.

Labour failed in England – they just didn’t make up the difference.

What really should get the blame is the Tories demonising of Scottish votes, and Labour’s strategy to deal with that.

And Labour in Scotland were effectively doing the Tories hatchet job for them – painting the SNP as a fascist mob who would cause chaos.

There are other factors. Inheritance tax increase was a masterstroke. That tax is HATED in England with many family homes now falling into the tax bracket. And of course, Labour picked the wrong Miliband in the first place.

Th

187. Midgehunter

It’s up to the SNP now to do whatever they want without having to bother about UK Labour.

Scotland brought home the bacon, they have the mandate.

Labour lost – your problem.

188. Dan Huil

@Fred. Except the Gettysburg Address was brief and brilliant.
    Great to see Murphy getting the elbow. Oh, to be in East Renfrewshire this morning.

189. Andy Hay

Are all the callers on BBC Radio Scotland going to be ranting sore losers?

190. Thepnr

Morning all. Feeling sick that we have to put up with a Tory government.

Not for too long I hope! Roll on 2016, Rev take a break then get the finger out for round 2. Ronnie that applies to you too πŸ™‚

191. donald anderson

Just Heard Murph and Deputy Dug’s resignation speech on the radio this morning. They just don’y get it. SNP bad stole the claes they never had and they will listen and learn. Aye, same old same old mince. Onwards and upwards.

192. Colin Church

Clegg jumps. Murphy clinging on to the drain pipe being hacked by a Glasgow bayonet.

But more queasy making is that Ian Murray (Ed S) keeps his seat over a charity worker. Mr Hay you were robbed! Fuck the swings you were up against the whole MSM. Gutted.

193. paul gerard mccormack

Listening to all these speeches by the high and mighty fallen, you would be led to believe that the Scottish public were just stupid and duped.

That even after a rubbing of their mps’ noses in their own squalid self-serving delusion, they still talk endlessly about ‘scottish nationalism’ and the politics of ‘identity’.

What a load of SHITE. That basic basic misunderstanding is the reason why they are all out on their ear. They just don’t get it. THey never will get it and i am not going to waste any more energy on their wilful ignorance.

Consigned to oblivion.

194. Chic McGregor

Cannae remember ivir havin sic a sarry a heid and as gled a hert at the same time afore.

195. Conan_the_Librarian

Anyone got a bayonet?

196. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr Aye take ah break REV ( creep) Ronnie you stay at post, ach weil I,ll get ah sunshine break in July if I ever get to filling in a passport form without mistakes am on four just now lol.

See,s you tommorow in Dundee , any other Wingers showing a presence, glad rags on Folks we hiv tae celibrate.

197. Ali

i don’t know whether to laugh or greet

fantastic result for SNP — i didn’t expect that TBH, 30-40 yeahhh 56 WOW.

Tories in power under their own steam — i certainly didn’t expect that — OMG

on one hand my heart is thumping with delight at SNP victory, but unfortunately my head is shaking at the other one.

not to mention the support UKIP who seemed to have mustered support South of the border — that is worrying albeit 1 seat — but a fair old support nonetheless.

ohh well let the game commence

198. Colin Church

Jeez.

Went to ITV for a distanced summary / recap.

Is Alistair Stewart on crack cocaine? Or the pumped up Cameron Powder. Or the “oh look magic squirrel” Gideon Sherbert?

199. Mealer

I’m backing Kezia for leadership of the ENTIRE Labour Party.

200. rongorongo

We have, of course, all been working tirelessly to ensure a picture where the UK electoral map looks like Maggie Simpson (without the blue bow in her hair).

201. Chic McGregor

@Conan
    “Anyone got a bayonet?”

I think e’s left it in Murphy’s back his e no?

202. Macart

@ronnie anderson

Well said fella.

A big well done to the wingers.

203. heedtracker

Milliband about to fall on his sword. “We’ll put armed border check points on Scottish border if you vote YES” is my fav Milliband moment. How many SLab votes did camping with the tory boys cost Milliband?

204. lumilumi

The BBC commentators grudgingly admit that the SNP did “rather well”.

Didn’t use words like landslide, avalance, tsunami, tectonic shift, which it was.

I think rUK ought to be told. There’s been a profound change in Scotland and it won’t go away. People in the rUK should be told, this concerns their state/country, too.

If the English electorate want to vote in the Tories, fair do’s. It’s their democratic right. But Scotland and the rUK are drifting ever further apart.

For the Establishment, Scotland was OK as long as it voted for an establishment party, Labour, and went blindly with the narrative peddled by the MSM and the BBC.

Now Scotland is a problem. Scots won’t conform, toe the Estabishment line. That’s why the Establishment really, really hate the SNP and every person who votes for them.

That’d be 50.0% of Scots. Goodbye to the pretendy lovely union.

Nick Glegg is resigning and in his speech blames the SNP. πŸ˜€ I hope he realises he’s just alienated at least 50% of Scots. Well done, for Scottish pursuit of self-determination. πŸ˜€

Self-determination should’ve been a no-brainer for liberal, democratic politicians, but the Scottish LibDems controlled by the wider UK party were dead agaist liberal democracy.

Last night was so unbelievable, it was a something out of a legend, things happend you never thought would (Wille “Bain Principle” Bain losing his seat to SNP with a 39.3% swing that broke the BBC swingometer). I still can’t believe it. I hope the yellow highliter pens The National was passing out yesterday didn’t conk out. Nobody dared to expect 56.

SNP has 56, the Better Together parties ONE a piece. Three (3) put together. If that doesn’t send a message to WM, I don’t what will.

Ed Miliband resigns.

Has the worst branch manager in history, Jim Murphy, resigned yet?

205. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr Sorry Alex misread your post 11.43 (bleery eined) but thank you kind Sir.

206. Cadogan Enright

The results were all very satisfactory – its noteworthy that at least 2 of the remaining unionists secured their seats via improper interventions by the media.

Milliband just resigned but the idiot Murphy wants to struggle on – even though he is unbarable, maybe we should cheer him on – he is the present that keeps on giving if you can grit your teeth.

Still hoping the idiot Sean Clerkin will consult a lawyer

207. Vestas

Labour’s narrative on this will probably be that if it hadn’t been for the SNP then the Tories wouldn’t have gained a majority.

This is clearly bollox in terms of numbers of MPs in Scotland, where the SNP actually helped by eliminating the LibDems (yellow tories).

However there is a modicum of truth to that in England where the tories targeted (& won) marginals with anti-Scots advertising which wouldn’t have looked out of place in 1930’s Germany. Labour of course won’t remember this (they didn’t exactly condemn it at the time) so that’ll be their “group memory” of this election – people voting SNP cost “them” seats.

Onwards to what I rather suspect will be the last election which matters – Holyrood 2016. That will be a LOT harder to win outright.

208. Cadogan Enright

@ronnie anderson 8 May, 11:20 am
    @ REV
    @ ALL WINGERS

I would call upon pro-independence parties to start selecting their council candidates for 2017 now and not wait until after the 2016 elections.

I suggest parties base the campaign for the Scottish Government elections next year on groupings of teams based on local government electoral areas to enable practice for 2017.

This will be particularly important for the SNP, who need to practice running more than one candidate in many electoral areas – and they clearly don’t yet have the vote division skills they need yet at local level – remember the embarrassing errors the last time.

For instance, each prospective councillor can be required to do the canvass with the ‘cards’ for catagory 1’s from about 4 weeks before the MSP elections. Each in ‘their part’of their local government electoral area. They will be seeking votes for the MSP’s – BUT they will be recognised what they arrive n 2017 for the locals looking for catagory 1/2’s again.

If a massive cohort of local politicians to sweep the board in 2017 Scottish politics could be irrevocably altered for 20 years to come.

209. Gavin

What an unbelievable night !

The despair and misery of the 19th September last year is now just a memory. Independence is now well and truly back on the agenda with an almighty bang. Westminster can forget trying to fob us of with devo minus, devo something or devo whatever. We want devo max at the very least (which I believe will ultimately lead to Indy).

So much to take in from last night, so many big scalps taken down. Absolutely fantastic.

Scotland is moving on, the unionists are being left behind. Here’s to the 56 !!!

210. lumilumi

BBC reporters and pundits wallowing in a morass of blaming the SNP for screwing up the cosy UK political system. Oh, bless… The SNP have only used the democratic means at their disposal in the UK. These hordes of mad nats, bless…

An SNP pundit injects some reality into the chat. People in Scotland vote for the SNP because they feel the SNP is the party, the lefty party, they want. Labour isn’t entitled to have their “block” vote.

Labour, the party which has been losing votes for the past 15 years, still blaming the electorate because they’re not listening to the party any more. Eh?

If SLAB had listened to the people, they wouldn’t have ended up with 1 (one) MP in Scotland, and that seat won by a national MSM/BBC smear campaign agaist the popular SNP candidate. I wonder if Ian Murray (the Lab panda) feels at least a bit ashamed… Nah, he’s a Labour MP, he has no shame.

211. heedtracker

Tory boy Mike Gove, counter jumper extraordinaire, very gently questioned on Scottish devo there BBC r4 news style and he clearly hasnt the faintest what was in the Smith Commission deal, probably becauise there is f all in it anyway. Even so, Gove winging it is horrible.

Anyway back to tory boy one nation propaganda from BBC. Its next stage in tory boy world take over. Another Crash and the Flipper legacy, probably their worst.

You couldn’t invent a bigger farce.

212. Anne Bruce

I’m in East Renfrewshire which is now, thankfully, Labour/Murphy/McTernan/McDougall-free. I’m wonderfully gobsmacked. Great to have Kirsten Oswald representing us now.

213. rongorongo

There is new a massive contrast between Scotland – where there is a strong opposition to the establishment/Conservatives – and England where both Labour and the Lib Dems have collapsed. There is a massive political vacuum which a progressively aligned English party could fill. I’m sorry for England to to be stuck with Cameron – but it will be interesting to see what happens.

214. Fred

To paraphrase the Lord Protector,

“Stand not in the order of your going, jist get tae fuck!”

215. Fiona

Someone on twitter dug me up for saying that Jim Murphy’s bizarre claim that he can still be first minister in 2016 was not politics, but mental illness. I said it was delusional and was sent a link with the message that delusional disorder is very specific and should not be used lightly

Have a look at the link, http://www.webmd.com/schizophrenia/guide/delusional-disorder?page=2

It says

The main feature of this disorder is the presence of delusions, which are unshakable beliefs in something untrue. People with delusional disorder experience non-bizarre delusions, which involve situations that could occur in real life….

Jim Murphy could get a position as first minister in 2016. But he definitely won’t.

Admittedly it also says

People with delusional disorder often can continue to socialize and function normally, apart from the subject of their delusion, and generally do not behave in an obviously odd or bizarre manner.

And if you count his voice that is a problem: but he does manage to get along in most situations so I think he qualifies on these parts

Of the different types of delusional disorder described one is called grandiose: and it says:

A person with this type of delusional disorder has an over-inflated sense of worth, power, knowledge, or identity. The person might believe he or she has a great talent or has made an important discovery.

I rest my case.

216. Janet

The two people who have irrevocably damaged the UK: Rev Stuart and Sir Tim Berners-Lee. I salute thee!

This could not have happened in the olden days! Remember when SNP activists had to stand on street corners handing out newspapers?

We have the tools to fight the Westminster system! Let’s use them!

217. donald anderson

Define it how you like. Murphy comes across to many as someone suffering from self aggrandisement. He is a gregarious character, fooled by a sycophantic media and followers as the second coming in Scotland. In fact if he is a North British Jasu he cam back a s pancake on Thursday,not an Easter Egg.

Either way many of us find him as the most obnoxious vainglorious politician on the planet, who still believes his propaganda, as the only leader of the failed Unionist parties who who refuses to resign.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.