Recharge And Revolt

Posted on November 17, 2022 by

The response to yesterday’s post was pretty unanimous. So let’s find out for real.

Wings Over Scotland has been produced for free for the last three and a half years. Our last operational fundraiser was in May 2019. Then again, we’ve been retired for nearly half that time, with only occasional new posts.

But Scottish politics has never been in a more dire state than it is now, with the SNP stolen from its members by a tiny cabal not interested in independence but only in power for its own sake and the “queering” of Scottish society, while the opposition is a worthless ragbag of hapless incompetents and the media is a national embarrassment.

And since Wings stood back from the fray 18 months ago, absolutely nothing has stepped up to take its place. So if you want the job doing, it looks like we’ll have to do it ourselves again.

Because journalism done properly terrifies those in power. And you have the power to help us keep them as scared as they should be. But we can’t do a full-time job for free and still pay the bills, so it’s time to decide what it’s worth to you.

We’re not doing a big lump-sum fundraiser this time, because (a) this is a test of demand, (b) we don’t need a big lump sum for anything, and (c) these are difficult times and it’s a lot to ask people to find large chunks of money all at once, especially with Christmas coming up.

So instead we’ve put this page up, where you can pledge a small monthly sum to the full-scale revival of Wings, and cancel at any time if cash is too tight or if you’re not satisfied with the service. (It’s also possible to make one-off donations, but what we’re aiming for are regular contributions.)

We could have done that via our normal Donate page, but this way it makes a public statement about whether people are prepared to back proper professional journalism in Scotland, or if they’re content to just accept whatever ad-strewn, data-harvesting, insipid-cheerleading garbage is on offer for nothing.

The louder that statement is, the more it’ll frighten the SNP and the Unionist parties and the media who are all desperate for Wings’ voice to be silenced.

“There are several reasons why Scotland’s anointed and affluent political elite hate Wings Over Scotland (“hate” in this case is not overstating it).

The SNP’s high command revile the blog because, after 15 years of virtually unopposed rule, they are simply unaccustomed to criticism. And when such criticism is rooted in cold analysis of hard facts and detailed scrutiny of historic statements and claims made by SNP actors, the discomfort of Wings’s targets often turns to rage.

The Unionist parties at Holyrood – especially Scottish Labour – loathe Wings Over Scotland for many of the same reasons the SNP high command does. Their bogus commitment to Scotland, wrapped tightly in the Union Jack, has often been dismantled by Campbell.

Many of my colleagues in the mainstream political press also like to smear Campbell and Wings. Much of this is rooted in jealousy. The quality of the prose on the Wings website and the accuracy of its research leave many Unionist commentators floundering.”

– Kevin McKenna (The National), November 2022

And if instead it’s a timid little squeak, then so be it. We’ll shut the page down, no more payments will be taken, we’ll go back into retirement and Pete Wishart and Karen Adam and These Islands and all the rest of them will dance for joy. It’s your call, folks.

Subscribe
Notify of

338 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jim Bo

All too happy to assist Stu, albeit it in a small way. I’m sure many others will feel the same way. We need Wings back at full tilt.

Scott Mc

Hope my little contribution helps.

AlbaPartyTime

Done!! Thank you!

McHaggis69

Done.

£10 a month.

Hell, I pay for netflix, spotify and Amazon so this is a drop on the ocean for better content.

Ian Brotherhood

Will we still be able to see some form of ‘totaliser’? That’s a biggy for a lot of folk and has tremendous psychological impact on the bleating fearties.

LaxardalrNeil

Thought I couldna love the Rev ony mair – but the boy’s a Raveonettes fan too? It’ll be a pleasure to contribute to Wings again.

Doug

Something must be done for Scotland. We can’t leave it to the politicians.

Robert Hughes

Done . With pleasure and not a little of the auld shady-Freud , in anticipation of the panic in the Nu SNP chicken coop .

Ah ! I love the smell of face-palm in the morning : when the unintended consequences of * them * getting you banned from Twitter become manifest .

HA to the power HA !

Frances Carroll

IT’S PAST TIME, YES HAPPY TO CONTRIBUTE MONTHLY!

George Gannon

Just set up monthly payment, to Scare them a Lot.

maureen

You joined ‘Scare them a bit more’
Happy to help, albeit in a small way

Anonymoose

Happy to have ye back and more than happy to support!

DrouthyScot

Welcome back, we’ve missed you!

Moray Mint

Delighted to support!

Liz

Could only buy you a coffee at the moment
But glad your back.

Themadmurph

Welcome back Stu!

Happy to chip in. Glad it wasn’t the old-style fundraiser because I’m a bit skint now.

Looking forward to more regular content and your inimitable style.

Maybe even the odd bear patrol on the sunnier days.

Eddie Munster

Excellent news.

Did ask to be notified about new posts by email, but I stopped receiving them about a month ago.

Scotsrenewables

This has been up for an hour and so far £450\month pledged.

The fear will be rising.

Haud

I was utterly miserable when you stopped and there has been so much that needed analysed and dismantled since.

Great to get u bak

Neojacobite

F*ck yes! I’m in!! ?

Colin

With grateful thanks to all the wokeratti at the SNP; hope this works out Stu – we need to turn up the heat, desperately. Recurring donation done.

Astonished

Signed up.

Money well spent.

Fionan

I went to set up a payment but it needs paid straight away so it will have to wait till the end of the month, my pension doesnt leave me with a penny at this time of month I’m afraid. But will select the £3/month option then, sorry its not more but when we pensioners get Hunts big inflation-busting pension increase in April, maybe I will manage more. You are worth it Stu, gald ypu are back.

Neojacobite

Could only manage three bucks a month but yaaaas!!

Arthur Martin

I love the smell of SNP fear in the morning!

Checks Notes

Best news I’ve heard since Alex Salmond’s comeback. All the right people will be fuming so gaun yersel Stu, I’ll support the fundraiser!

Daisy Walker

Monthly payment made. Great to have you back. Feel like that’s my Christmas present sorted.

Rory Forbes

I’m in.

Swapped out one monthly subscription that was growing stale for this equivalent membership level.

Looking forward to Stu creating and curating campaining content to challenge and advocate a faster pace towards independence.

Mairi Duff

Delighted! Happy to support ?

Smitty

Done! I used to give SNP £10 a month before all the blue Haired cunts appeared and turned the party into a communal trauma counselling service for misgendered bedwetters. Fuck NuSNP Fuck their pronouns. Long love Wings! Go get them Stu! ?

Red Squirrel

So I’ve signed up to paying you to hear the analysis I’d rather not know but need to know…that’s a step forward I think.

Honestly it’s been worth it to see the panic since your twitter account briefly emerged. I missed that.

Donated affordable sum. There is unfortunately such a wide range of issues that need the light of day shone on them. Scotland is in a dire state with this SNP government.

Astonished

Can your next piece be called ” The Kraken awakes”.

Ta, in advance.

Graf Midgehunter

Can’t do a monthly sum from Germany. The transfer/currency change fees from my bank are eye-watering, every month..!
5 quid + 25 quid fees..!!

I’ll be doing what I’ve always done and that means a donation with a one-off fee.

Either that or I’ll have to start smuggling contraband with a rowing boat over the North Sea.. 🙂

christine

Done and dusted and delighted I am now a scary Wings member.

Doug

It is working already. National reports Blackford is being challenged for Westminster SNP leadership. The power of Wings!

Skip_NC

“Scare them a little bit,” all the way up to “Scare them to death.” Oh my, Stu. How many shares do you have in whoever manufactures Depends?

Terry

Blackford coup. Stephen Flynn is after his job.
link to twitter.com

Black Joan

Done. And thank you for returning at this time of deep gloom.

Skip_NC

Twenty-five quid in fees, Graf Midgehunter? How come? I’ll be contributing later once I have discussed finances with my wife but, from what I see, one can pay with a card. My credit union here in NC charges 15 cents per transaction. So I pay my Alba membership monthly and have a monthly software subscription with a Canadian company, all at a very reasonable cost.

Ella

Can we get “Cairntoon” as well or is that an optional extra?

JIm Scullion

Done. Power to your elbow.

Dorothy

Happy to chip in and thankful your back.

msdidi

Happy to contribute to your wages. What a great feeling to know that Wings will once again be the 1st stop every morning! If it wasn’t bucketing rain I’d put my flag up! Welcome back.

Carole Sharp

Done, Glad you’ll be back and can’t wait for your updates!

Lad

Will this reboot be in the form of blogs/articles only? How about a short podcast series or video content?

Keith B

It’s somewhat sad that no-one else seems to be able to do what you do, and we (you!) have to resort to this. However, it is a pleasure to contribute in the knowledge that it upsets the usual suspects so much. I think we’re in for a bit of a wait before the tide turns for independence, and I’m old enough that I may not see it, but this gives me more hope than anything else.

dodecostanza

Great to have you back. Good journalism is always worth paying for. God knows there’s enough shite journalism out there.
I’ve put my pensioners money where my mouth is and am looking forward to more quality reading.
But I’ll be more than happy with my wee investment just to see the stuttering rage from the utter frauds who have hijacked our Indy movement.

ScotsRenewables

Another 90 signups in the last hour.

Feel the fear!

Lenny Hartley

Brilliant, so glad your back in the game.
For the price of half a pint of lager per week from my local pub its a bargain.

Tamus

Monthly subscription done, my god its so good to see you back, your worth every frikkin penny. Now lets scare these fuckers.

Andrew Morton

Donated.

Sheepshagger

I’ve chipped in,good luck.
Avoid the port and stilton.

Skip_NC

Craig Murray’s latest piece illustrates why the people must have the last word in a democracy and why there must be competitive elections, based on real issues. Well worth a read and a demonstration of why good journalism is essential to a democracy.

Paul Bethune

Long time admirer and lurker of this website here to pay my dues.

Liam Garvey

Couldn’t pay with a Visa card from Germany. Is that just me or is it a glitch?

Bob Costello

Tried to make a donation but wasn’t able to process the payment without signing up to PayPal

Liz

Done. Not as much as I’d like but it’s something. We need you back.

VoodooFrog

I pledged and then sat and watched the feed.

It made me smile.

Give ’em hell, Stu!

Neil in Glasgow

Done.

Tinto Chiel

A little but often from me, O Great One.

“Damn the torpedoes! Full speed ahead!”

frank gillougley

Sorted. Nice tune. have followed the revs journalism since he began. sure as hell aint gonna stop now.

Stuart MacKay

Liam Garvey

Same here from Portugal. Success seems to depend on how big the outfit is that is processing the payment. I get rejected from small time operations but the same card goes through without any issues on the likes of Amazon, etc.

@Rev the money is marked for sending in your direction. How about donation pages for specific mischief making – like getting Pete Wishart to be thrown out of Westminster at the next election.

stuart young

Done,it will be interesting to see how many members you get compared to Scotland’s political parties cheers stu

Alex Gallacher

Done and contributed to with pleasure, let the truth e told

dan macaulay

donated;

one happy lurker

Carole

Subscription taken out. Welcome back Stu.

Morag

I decided to Scare Them Significantly because that was what I chose to pay to Yes Scotland during the referendum campaign, and I felt I got bugger-all for it. I expect better value this time.

Might even increase it, depending. On past form I’m unlikely to want to decrease it.

GrahamG

I’m in. Give them hell!

George Ferguson

Done! Hope you can reach a target to persuade you to come back full time.

Cherrybank

My donation is dedicated to the obnoxious Nicola Sturgeon sycophant Lisa C who regularly posts comments in the National.

Dramfineday

I’m in….

Geoff Anderson

Done. Unleash the Dogs of War ?

Tony Coogan

I’ve just signed up for £20.00 per month. I’ve donated to snp and msm in its various forms down the years as we all have but I regret that now. SNP has failed us, BBC (which I refuse to pay) is state propaganda while the National is a fraudulent Nikla fansheet.

The reason Stu inspires so strong a reaction is that he is feared. Who or what else instills fear among the lazy, complacent and entitled group of snp mps / msps who take our votes and contributions for granted?

I hope we all get behind him.

Don’t forget to tell a friend.

Ian Brotherhood

For others who couldn’t work out how to see the progress being made…

Click on the Ko-fi page where it says ‘see all six tiers’ (right-hand side, about halfway down) and a new window opens showing how many folk have signed up to donate whatever amount.

By my reckoning the total pledged *per month* is now £1,389.

Morag

I made it more than that…

Jeemy

Joined with membership monthly, small amount due to circumstance, hopefully to be reviewed in new year.
Keep up the good work,i see one of the idiots that got you banned again from Twitter has himself been banned.

Ken

I’m in. At the cheapest seats mind you, but definitely in.

Morag

£1,525 by my calculator. People must be signing up fast.

Meindevon

Sub sorted.

Can’t wait on the up and coming posts. Life is good again.

Go get ‘em Stu.

Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

When I did my tally there were no ‘scare the bejesus out of them'(s).

🙂 🙂 🙂

Rab Davis

Contribution made with pleasure.

You’re just in time to give us your input regards the Supreme Court ruling next week.

Your opinion could shape the direction we take after the ruling.

Will be fascinating to get your take on it Rev.

You have been bang on the money so far,,, that is why your views are held in such high regard within the YES Movement.

Haggix the Gaul

Monthly subsbription done. Great to have you back.

Morag

Ian –

If there were any (scare the bejazus) when I did my tally, I didn’t notice (because there were none when I first looked). But I checked again and it’s now on £1,750.

That’s not bad for a start. Stu isn’t high-maintenance. It will be taxable of course, but it’s still manageable. A bit more and he’ll be able to afford to commission Chris occasionally too.

Morag

Rechecked, £1,834.

I reckon that’s enough to get him up and running for now anyway.

JScott

Happy to pay monthly if for no other reason that it will piss certain people off mightily

MWS

Happy to join your Scary Team. Go get ’em!!!

Effijy

I’ll be joining in OK but can I mention that I used to get an e-mail from you
when a new post was available.

It hasn’t been doing this for some but look in almost every day so it wasn’t important.

It is important that this goes out to ever e-mail that you have registered.

I’ll be a pensioner soon but it’s a £10 monthly for me as I don’t want to die under the boot of England’s Westminster immoral, corrupt and bankrupt government.

Big Jock

Just joined. Now go get em Stu!

Hackalumpoff

Done. All your base are belong to us!

Calum

Done, happy to punt you a few quid a month.

Effijy

Job Done!

Rev, please ensure that you are looked after with any funding given.

Like they say on the aircraft, adults should put on the oxygen mask before
attending to the kids.

God you have so many kids on here!

Lang May yer lum reek!

Iain Hamilton

Done. You’re worth every penny.

Grey Gull

Great to have you back, Stu. Happy to donate to the cause.

Morag

£2,095

Broken through two grand. Nice.

Graf Midgehunter

Skip_NC

“Twenty-five quid in fees, Graf Midgehunter? How come?”
————
Hallo Skip.
When I paid my ALBA sub. last year it was with my credit card, no probs.

I bought Grouse Beater’s nr. 1 smash hit “Essays I” at the end of 2021. My CC didn’t want to work so I had to use my normal account.

Costs in Euros:
Book € 35
Trade fee € 10
Swift € 1,55
Foreign fees € 25

Total € 72 for a € 35 book…!

Stuart MacKay and Liam Garvey from Portugal/Germany also have probs with the CC.

Greetings to NC land..:-)

Annemarie Docherty

Delighted to do this and we certainly need something to get the mojo going again. I sincerely hope the party I used to be dedicated to are well and truly pissed off to the max with this development.

Thanks so much for this Stu.

Skip_NC

Graf Midgehunter, I’ll see what happens when I try to do a transaction in the middle of the night. Perhaps the gremlins will be asleep.

Lady Lyon

Member of scare them quite a lot and shared on Twitter ?

Graf Midgehunter

Skip

Maybe it’s just one of the many brexit benefits we’re enjoying.. 🙂

Red Squirrel

What’s the current WM salary? Be a shame if Wings fundraiser was more…although there probably isn’t enough to cover their expenses as well.

Big Davie frae the Gorbals

In. Gie them laldie

Jackie Hegarty

We need Wings. Scotland needs Wings. Twitter is playground politics. Despicable little twerps behaving like playground bullies can’t debate like rational adults, instead get Wings suspended. Pathetic. Scare them, Wings.

Skip_NC

I am sure anyone we hope Stu annoys will see slightly diminished funding or inconvenience in subscribing as a benefit, Brexit or otherwise. I am determined that they will not win. If I face the same issues, I will do an annual donation.

jimmy mac

wee jimmy kelly predictably unhappy at this recent turn, it would seem. its almost as if hes not a supporter of independence at all! very questionable.

Alex Stewart

Yas, i’m away to add myself to the monthly tenner slot, hopefully its enough to help. We need this, we need you out there doing your thing.

Morag

That’s silly. Of course James Kelly supports independence. He’s got a dose of testosterone poisoning, that’s all.

McDuff

That`s me signed up rev and more than happy to do it because without you independence has no real voice.

Tartanpigsy

FFS Stu, I’m at the point of really not giving a f**k anymore
I’ve got a loft full of Yes flags that will likely never see a campaign in the next decade
The other half sitting in the borders , equally gathering dust.
People I know trust imbeciles to tell them the truth
But I’m still tempted to chuck you £50 if you really can be a**ed challenging stupidity everyday.
Good luck

David Hannah

SNP high heidyins stalled Independence.

Nicola says we’re subjects of King Charles and our Independence require permission of Tories.

Not a chance in hell.

We’re taking our Independence Nicola.

Play it again Stuart. Bring it home. Hail Alba.

crisiscult

Always worth contributing to Wings, if only to piss of the folk who think the following:

– buy the Mail/Express/Herald/etc – no big deal, your business and don’t know too much about their owners; probably nice respectable folk
– subscribe to Netflix – no big deal, fair enough
– own an I-phone – no big deal, I hear they have some shady employment practices but it’s probably complicated
– pay your BBC licence fee – sure, most people do
– buy products by companies operating in the occupied territories and so on – well, these are complicated issues
– sent some money to WingsoverScotland – wtf?!? the transphobe grifter; you’re a total mug and he must be laughing all the way to the bank

Wulls

I’m in…….
But I completely see your point.
I am in the fortunate position of being able to afford a monthly direct debit so I’ll sign up for a tenner a month.
I cal also shove a wee donation in to get things moving. Is that facility available too ???

Effijy

Not to deflect on this vital fund raiser can I comment on a section of the budget that none of the major media players seem to comment on.

It seems that petrol and diesel at to have an additional 12 pence per litre added next year.

That’s around another 55p on a gallon of fuel.
We heading toward £10 per gallon in Scotland that is oil rich but spent in England.

The Tory media all roared with delight for new PM Liz Truss and again whooped with joy at £50 Billion of tax cuts she announced.
Now just a few weeks later the same party and same media herald how £55 billon of tax increases and cut and freezes are the best way forward.

2 completely opposite ends of the spectrum and these crooks try to tell us both options were right.

A claim on the fuel increases will be that it encourages electric vehicles but how many have £25K for one, how many in flats or houses without driveways can access a charging point and the way the cost of electricity is going who can afford to charge overnight?

Welcome to road tax for the first time if you already have an electric vehicle.

The Honourable Yona

Happy to contribute.

Jim Mckellar

Feels like the fight is back on

Recharge and Revolt

Irk the pronounistas and shove it to the comfyerati

We’re Recharging and now for the REVolt

OyveyMaria

I’m in Stu…give em Hell!

George Ferguson

@Rev. Stuart Campbell 10:16pm
So you plan to come back Stu?. Lot’s to deal with. Supreme Court decision. Women and their legitimate concerns of the removal of their rights. Fibbing? Is that real? I look after my granddaughter today a ten hour hard shift in inclement weather waiting on the parents getting home delayed. We need you to get on with some opposition.

Scotspine

Tried signing up. Probably a bit too pished to work it all out, so will try again the morn.

Geoff Anderson
AnnemarieD

Fantastic news. Many of us need the mojo back and the Rev is just the guy to do it. I hope the SNP lightweights are paying attention.

Willie Clark

Done.

Neth

In! Been lurking for years – time to put up

Woodside Wullie

Stuart, you have been suspended again and rightly so.

The constant vilification of Karen AdamMSP is shocking. Karen Adam is a deep thinking, deeply intelligent politician and capable of the most reasoned thought we’ve never experienced before. Karen is the best performer now and better than any other before. Karen is part of the new intake. Karen’s full intellectual capability was conveyed to us by the recruitment of another wonderful intellectual, Josh Mennie, from the venerable AIM.

When the sad day comes and our Glorious FM and her Housemate depart for pastures new, do not worry.

We have the readymade dynamic duo, Karen and Josh, waiting in the ‘wings’ to deliver and lead us to the Promised Land and a New Garden Of Eden.

Jontoscot21

Stu i’ll be happy to forego three pints and pledge £15 a month. I am thoroughly disillusioned by the poor economic case made for indy and with the Nu SNP numpties and green sex goblins in charge can’t see me even voting for it in the off chance Sturgeon and her Gauleiters get off their arse and give us one! But good critical journalism/commentary is more important than ever.

tarisgal

Done.

Cactus

Welcome back to life Wings Over Scotland.

Tis time for Hamish to take cover back off of the WOS signal.

Eric Fairbairn

Gurrintium!

john mcphail

Done. Go get em Stu

Ginger_Golfer

Done and welcome back

Robert Louis

This is very good news. I understand the rationale for doing the funding this way, but genuinely a real part of the fun of the old fundraisers was the horrified squeals and moans from the usual suspects every time the total hit a new high. It was akin to a live action sport.

Will Chris Cairns be persuaded to come back?

Ros Curwood

Thank goodness you are back. I have been so despairing since you went, watching the SNP membership slide under the soggy gloop of NEC ‘policy’ and the struggles of Alba trying to survive while having so small a voice to the nation. While the NEC policies are so pathetically inappropriate to anything approaching government administration, it has still been impossible to get past Nicola Sturgeon’s media manipulation and syrup and smiles assassination of strategy for independence.

I’ll gladly support Wings, if anyone can debunk the current pretence with clear honest facts it’s you. I hope you are rested after your time away, and welcome, welcome back.

Andy Ellis

It’s still publicly visible, though – current total as I write this is £2,435 a month, plus a bunch of one-off donations. Not bad for five hours ?

Now at £3,163 a month. Pretty impressive stuff!

Have any heads exploded over on the Dug site….? 🙂

turnbulldrier

Done..

Independence by a week on Wednesday please.

So, mon Stu, get to it 🙂

MarkerPost

Signed up to scare them a bit more. Fantastic. Welcome back!

Dorothy Devine

Yipee! I’m in and looking forward to the whines!

Dorothy Devine

P.S Did I miss the three amigo’s saying they had contributed???

Jerry Carroll

Done!
Right now get back to work Stu!
???

Eileen Kirk

I’m a pensioner, so can only contribute £5 per month

Geoff Anderson

Have you considered signing this!

link to petition.parliament.uk

Ge off

Excellent news

Dai4Scotland

Very happy to be able to contribute, I know many can’t right now, so I do it for them too.

Astonished

I’ve just had a thought – Now that I am your ‘de facto’ boss.

Can your first story reveal who actually wanted the suffragette scarves removed ? I do not for a second think it was the security staff, but someone very close to Nicola – who wanted them out.

No one else will bother to investigate and we really should find out who the misogynistic complainer was.

I think I am really going to enjoy being an online press baron. 🙂

Russ

Just ko fi the money I used to give to green party before they chucked me in the purge of non authoritarian respecters of women.

Mark Griffin

tried to pay with my visa card from Czech Republic, but Ko-fi keeps rejecting it (I saw someone here from Germany was having the same problem). Any advice?

Morag

I just totted it up again and it’s £3,354 per month. I don’t think that’s a timid little squeak.

I’d be interested to know who’s squeaking about it though.

Ottomanboi

On the fear thing..

«NICOLA Sturgeon has called for all those attending the World Cup to show “solidarity” with the LGBT+ community.
The contest kicks off this weekend in Qatar – where homosexuality is illegal and anyone found participating in same-sex sexual activity can be punished with up to seven years in prison» from The National.

Homosexuality isn’t the real issue it’s being GAY with the mainly American cultural baggage, woke rainbow signalling etc that the term carries that is the problem.
Same sex activity has been around in the so called MidEast for millennia. It was normative not something you needed to shout about. It just happened, unlike until relatively recently among the sexually repressed Northern Europeans who went south for the pleasures.
Just keep out Sturgeon. You have enough enemies.
Btw Qatar does not rhyme with «catarrh» very anglo, but butter. The Q is sounded like hard G in the region.

Albert Herring

Seconded (scarves)

scozzie

Opted for a lumpy (I have a general aversion to subscriptions)…good to see you getting back on the horse. Scottish politics is lower than a snake’s belly right now (won’t lie I bailed out for a long time too fucking demoralising). But this is what you were made for, get the bleach out and expose the whole fucking circus, independence, GRA the lot!!!!

Jim Tadgercock

Done welcome back.

Janey McDonald

Happy to chip in. I’ve missed your content.

Hatuey

Ottoman, I disagree. The main issue for me is that you should respect the customs and laws of other countries, whatever they are, and if you can’t do that then you shouldn’t go.

Guests should be respectful of their hosts, in all contexts.

Andy Ellis

@Hatuey

“Guests should be respectful of their hosts, in all contexts.

That’s a fairly telling admission isn’t it? So you have been quite happy not bringing up the treatment of Jews in Germany after 1933 then…? How about non-whites in apartheid South Africa? Are we similarly obliged not to bring up the Taliban’s treatment of women and girls today?

T-Day minus 36 for the big day Hatuey. Are we seeing any signs yet?

Hatuey

I think we need another fundraiser for Stu’s rats… when certain people rise above their station we could remind them that the rats raised more than them.

On a completely unrelated note, I see Scot Goes Pop is raging;

“The Wings comeback was more predictable than a Home & Away plot twist. He’s been carefully preparing the ground for it for months…”

In amongst that and the advertising, there’s something about a poll showing 54% support for independence.

Dorothy Devine

Rev, looks as though a whole lot of folk believe in you!

Morag

I like Scot Goes Pop and I like James, but he doesn’t have Stu’s way with words or whatever spark it is that makes us all keep coming here. (That’s probably his way with words too.) I’m not saying they’re as bad as each other, I think this spat has been mainly precipitated by James, but the pair of them can be a set of testosterone-poisoned hotheads when they get going.

They used to get on well enough, and I can’t help feeling a lot of this is jealousy on James’s part because he doesn’t get the following Stu gets. I wish they’d bury the hatchet but I don’t see much chance of that.

When I chipped in on James’s tweet about Stu’s “retirement” being a fraud, apparently this was a “pile-on” because other people with the same opinion had expressed themselves in similar terms. When I continued to suggest that James was out of order he accused me of being in love with Stu. At which point I threw up a little in my mouth, I have to say.

This is all so unnecessary. It’s the infighting among people who should be getting along that for me is the worst omen as regards independence coming. I can’t see it happening in this poisonous atmosphere.

fillofficer

done

wings is revolting

set phasers tae malky

red sunset

Signed up for a monthly – good on ye Stu 🙂

Also I’ve not had any notification emails for a long time.

John Main

@Dorothy Devine says:18 November, 2022 at 8:22 am

P.S Did I miss the three amigo’s saying they had contributed???

I am against virtue signalling at all times.

And before anybody starts, supporting Rev Stu is not virtue signalling. Boasting on here about supporting Rev Stu might look like virtue signalling.

If that doesn’t answer your question, tough shit.

Hatuey

Andy, go back, read what Ottoman said, give some consideration to the meaning of the word “attending” which I picked up on (with reference to the role of “guests”), then come back and apologise for the mistake you made.

Being critical is fine but not for guests who know about the customs and laws of the host country they’re going to in advance. It’s a very simple point — be polite.

Would you go to a neighbour’s house to watch football and sit on his sofa telling him he’s a slug during the halftime break? It’s worse than that since you knew in advance what he was like…

The wider point, that’s important to others if not us, is that we need to stop going around the world imposing our values on people, as if we are in any position to take the moral high ground.

If we really care about the rights of people in the Middle East and elsewhere, maybe we should stop bombing them and starving them to death. I say that on the basis that being dead is quite a significant barrier to sexual freedom… correct me if I’m wrong.

Ebok

I’m in, annual sub, same again next year Stu.

Ian Brotherhood

@Morag (10.38) –

It is poisonous, agreed.

FWIW, I’ve given up on seeing independence in my lifetime (i.e. if I have another 15 years). But we never know what might happen. ‘Events’ and all that…

But it’s heartening to know that Rev will be around for a while yet. We know he’ll be right on them each and every time they trot out their lame excuses for inaction, mislead the Scottish parliament yet again or try to smear honest campaigners, scupper genuine protests, abuse the legal system etc.

And perhaps most important of all, we know he’s prepared to stand up to the TRA bullies and the institutions which have been captured thus far. A lot of men are very wary of raising their voices on the issue because they feel that Scottish women are resisting perfectly well by themselves and don’t want us ‘manterfering’ – Stu speaks for a lot of us.

Sturgeon has made it plain, repeatedly, that GRA/self-ID is as close to a flagship policy as she’ll ever have (god knows independence doesn’t figure at all). When it goes down – as it surely will – so does she.

X_Sticks

Interesting tweet about IDOX that bears investigation..

link to twitter.com

Ebok

Linn ward of Glasgow City Council held on Thursday 17 November 2022.

The results were as follows:

John Carson, Glasgow Labour Party 2,227
Chris Lang-Tait, Scottish National Party 1,702
Jen Bell, Scottish Green Party 409

The turn-out at the polling places was 23.3%.

Big Jock

Ian. I think the only way we will get independence is if England votes for it. Right now we are trapped in this union. I also think any referendum will be rigged again.

Sturgeon had it in her grasp and completely blew it.

scozzie

Ian Brotherhood @ 11:23am

Don’t worry about ‘manterfering’, we need all men who believe there are only 2 sexes to stick up for your mothers, sisters, daughters, nieces. This shit is getting right scary now. I remember when we were told to wheesht for indy by some peeps. But too much is now getting real, men in prisons, men running rape crisis centres, women not able to assemble, women being doxxed and losing jobs for speaking out and such like.
We need all right thinking men to back us women on this – it’s not just down to Stu.

Garavelli Princip

I’m now a proud member. I KNOW it will be money well spent!

Getitrightupem Stu

Flower of Scotland

Really glad to join the gang helping you to run Wings. I’ve really missed it! Got out of my sick bed to donate, I so want Wings back! Well done!

Kevin Evans

Done – signed up for a monthly

Liz

Hi Rev, Roddy Dunlop KC says he’ll represent you on no win, no fee, challenge on twitter ban

Graham

Signed up to scare them a lot. Get stuck in to the c*nts.

Geoff Anderson

ONE good article a month and my money will have been well spent.
I gave the SNP thousands in fees, donation, draws, raffles and auctions and only regret the fraud committed on me from 2014 to 2017 from Sturgeon taking over and my resignation.

I know I will get more than one good article a month but that will be a bonus.

It may all have been said but in the Political World an old saying is “ keep repeating the message until you are sick of saying it…that is when people start to hear it”

We all know What the SNP, the Greens and the TransCult are, but please keeping telling people.

Thank you for bringing back hope.

Margaret L

Well that’s one subscription I’ll pay with the greatest of pleasure. Welcome back Stu!

Confused

is this wan iy thiy “ONLY FANS” hings??

exclusive private content for subscribers

UP EH ROAD … !

Derek

Have you still got the same bank a/c that’s on the “donate” page?

Craig Macinnes

Done! And good to see you back Stu ?

Ruby

I love you all, and I’m not even joking.

aw-shucks!

I’ve signed up for the ‘little bit’ membership which I think is very good value.

Even if you don’t get around to writing many articles I would be happy to pay the £3 a month just for the BTL friendly discussions we’ve been getting for free over the past months. 🙂

Thanks for everything.

I love you too!

Hugs n’ shit!

Bob W

“ But I guess it’ll have to wait a while now, because when people hate you THAT much you really probably ought to make a point of ramming it right up their hoops just on general principle.”

🙂 totally agree, lived by that all my working life. Obstreperous was my middle name.

Off topic
I have tried twice to send a reply to the Craig Murray blog (he asked which books I had sent him in prison to which I answered with all the titles). I got a very swift message the last time saying that there would need to be a security check. Does anybody know what could be going on? Does this happen on a regular basis with his blog? I notice that the comments have not increased from 17, which was the number of comments last night. Is it because he sets out facts which are critical of trhe management of the Scottish Prison service?

sarah

@ Rev at 12.53:

Your posts keep us sane, hopeful and fighting against the criminal lunacy of our current political system and its policies. It is vital work.

Thank you.

James Che

Rev stu,

Try being a straight white female. We ar’nt even recognised as a gender.

Jamie

I’ve signed up. Hopefully you reach your personal target. I suspect running a traditional fund raiser if you don’t reach your goal is a good idea because most people will have a tight budget nowadays and can contribute a one off payment every year with no obligation but will feel too unsure to make a monthly contribution due to the current precarious nature of the average job. I’m pretty sure you will raise far more with a traditional fundraiser that a subscription method.

The reason I say that is because I have been in that situation and I know a lot of folk are still like that. So that might be worth consideration.

Regardless, I hope it all works out for you because your analysis is sorely missed and I often use your material in my discussions with others. Having some new information would be handy during those online and offline discussions.

Hopefully, welcome back!

sarah

@ Margaret Eleftheriou: can you email Craig? His email address is on his blog craigmurray1710@btinternet.com

Sara
Many thanks, will do.

Ebok

For the benefit of ALL Independence leaning politicians out there, who might be looking for a template of how to lead, Rev. Stuart Campbell has just produced it.

Few can come close to matching Stu as a writer and researcher, and for his inspiration we have shown our gratitude. But we also need leaders who are willing and able to TALK to folks on the streets, to be heckled and respond, to challenge the offensive decrees and indoctrination being touted from HR and MSM in our name.

Preaching to the converted in halls around the country has been a fine starting point, but now we need good and knowledgeable speakers in town centres, in schemes and such places, alerting the public, calling out the unacceptable, and demanding that the voice of the people be heard.

There is a vast, dormant, Yes supporting electorate out there that has lost their way a little, maybe lost hope along the way, just needing re-awakening, waiting for the call, waiting for leadership.
And as Stu Campbell has just demonstrated, it in a matter of hours, lost souls can return and become powerful once again. So, come on leaders, get out the soap boxes, everyone needs to learn the truth.

Jamie

Rev. Stuart Campbell – “To be truthful as always, I frankly remain unconvinced about how much there is left to say that hasn’t been said to death. But let’s see. The Supreme Court verdict next week will certainly be a talking point, and who knows, maybe it’ll surprise us all. The whole point of doing it this way was that if I do run out of material you can all just cancel your subs and forget about it”.

I would say if you could at minimum focus on countering all the reasons currently being pumped out by unionists against Scottish independence e.g now they are saying Scotland has the wrong wind that Scotland can’t produce as much as we think and that the EU estimates of Scottish wind are wrong.

Countering their propaganda and promoting why Scotland can be a successful independent country is a full time job as their project hate Scotland is full steam currently. My humble opinion anyway.

Sara
Many thanks. Done.

Ottomanboi

ANDY ELLIS & HATUEY
Gulf states and the Saudi state have bad history re the mostly south and east Asian construction workers, hotel staff and other servants. Their treatment is more of an issue than that of tiny minority of Qatar’s inhabitants who might fit the LGBTQ+ spectrum.
Males in arabophone countries, like southern Europeans, are tactile among family and friends, the signals are often misread by outsiders.
However, shouting and screaming at customs and practices that one might not like tends to be counterproductive.
Racism is obnoxious but reservations about sex practices is a more nuanced matter requiring tact, discretion and cultural understanding from those who might disagree with those reservations.
Otherwise it smells of preachy, arrogant old colonialism.

Calum

“when people hate you THAT much you really probably ought to make a point of ramming it right up their hoops just on general principle.”

This, a million times this!

James Che

It is true that many people here and elsewhere are on the breadline and below in Scotland, we being one of those in that category.
For the first time in years Scotland has its voice back, through Rev Stu and the kind donations from those that are able to contribute to help Scotland have a voice on the many issues going under the radar and being deliberately ignored by MSM hacks that have forgotten what true journalism is about.

Many thanks to all of you and much appreciation from of all us, that are unable and suffering under the Westminster English legislated devolved government carrying the SNP in its arms.

Without you and nasty twitter this would not have happened. Thank you again for re awakening Scotland.

Calum

Delighted to have you back in play Stuart.

I share your pessimism re the whole shite state of affairs and the prospect of anything shifting in the foreseeable…

But, like you say, the reaction to you *getting your Twitter account back* was hilarious so the prospect of the site gearing back up to full production must be making absolutely the right people very fucking nervous right now!

Welcome back man and go get em!!

Vestas

Fuck it, why not ? Lets try all this again.

I’ve been giving a fiver a month to Alba since day 1 with little hope of that helping indy so resurrecting Wings seems not inappropriate 🙂

PS – I wouldn’t bother with Twitter were I you. I suspect Musk is running it into the ground to reduce his tax bill (he got $56bn in “renumeration” from the idiots who invest in Tesla) so $44bn “loss” on Twitter is probably in his interests given he HAD to buy it..

Dointhebiz1

I really don’t mind contributing (as I’ve always done) but could you unblock me (and others) on Twitter, I’m sure you’re well aware that even those you disagree with have a right to their opinion.

Morag

What he’s done is add up the votes for “pro-indy” parties in a council by-election with a 23% turnout versus the votes for Unionist parties.

To be fair, what I read was that there was a question in the poll he was discussing (Ipsos-Mori?) which, while not the standard independence question, was a reasonable proxy. Something like “Do you hope Scotland will vote for independence?”, and that came up 54% yes in the Scottish sample which was properly weighted and of more than 1,000 people.

Hatuey

I never had any doubts about this fundraiser or the value people attach to Wings, but has Red Bull ever been considered as a sponsor?

Andy Ellis

@Rev Stu

It’s bollocks, of course. What he’s done is add up the votes for “pro-indy” parties in a council by-election with a 23% turnout versus the votes for Unionist parties. Totally meaningless.

There’s definitely a wee want about yon. He sounds more unhinged with every passing interaction with you. I saw on Twitter he was on a blocking spree of anyone disagreeing with him: it was all a bit Wishart-ey.

Looking forward to seeing you up and running again at last.

As for the Stuey and Roddy buddy movie, that has to be worth adding to the biography! 🙂

weedeochandorris

Fantastic to have you back Stu, it’s great. Things just haven’t been the same 🙂

WhoRattledYourCage

A fine new Scottish film youse all need to see.

Note heavy sarcasm.

link to whorattledyourcage.blogspot.com

Robert Wilson

I’m in & happy to go further.

William G Walker

Never has the Rev spoken more truth than when he states:

“But Scottish politics has never been in a more dire state than it is now, with the SNP stolen from its members by a tiny cabal not interested in independence but only in power for its own sake and the “queering” of Scottish society, while the opposition is a worthless ragbag of hapless incompetents and the media is a national embarrassment.”

I’m signing up!

Morag

Guys, here’s what James actually said, as regards the 54% for independence thing. It’s got nothing to do with adding up votes in a by-election, it’s a separate post about an Ipsos-Mori poll.

Frustratingly, there’s no standard independence question, ie. “Should Scotland be an independent country?”, but there is an indirect question that ought to be reasonably effective at finding out whether people would vote Yes or No – and the Scotland-only results suggest there is a majority who would vote Yes, at least once “don’t knows” and “don’t minds” are excluded.

If a referendum were held in Scotland on its constitutional future, would you personally prefer Scotland to vote for or against leaving the UK and becoming an independent country? (Ipsos, 13th-19th October 2022, Scottish sample only)
Would prefer Scotland to vote for independence: 50%
Would prefer Scotland to vote against independence: 43%

With undecideds and those who aren’t bothered stripped out, that works out as 54% in favour of independence and 46% opposed – which is strikingly similar to some of the more recent telephone results from Ipsos.

He also noted that the Scottish sample was correctly weighted and actually larger than an average full-scale Scottish poll – so presumably more than 1,000 respondents.

There’s no need to make this spat more heated than it is by misrepresenting what he claimed.

Smitty

Delighted that you are raising so much h and I hope you are going to spend every penny on yourself! I am really hoping that you break £5500 as that is how much the useless Karen Adams makes a month. You have done more for Indy in a day than she will ever do in a lifetime. Until Sturgeon and the Blue-Haired Gang have fucked off into the distance, they are getting nothing from me.

Luxybob

A tenner a month is nothing compared to getting real info back out there again. But please you also need to consider, however enjoyable it may be, to not engage in personal one on ones. Leave those idiots to boil in their own shite, they appear quite good at it even without your assistance.

Hatuey

Morag, the title of the article I read was something like “Panic Grips Westminster” with regards to a poll which apparently showed 54% support for indy.

With most surveys the margin of error is typically between 4 and 8 percent. I hardly think 54% would cause anyone in Westminster to panic.

It’s in line with most other polls that over the last several years show there’s been very little movement (if any) in the right direction.

I’d be suspicious of anyone who suggested 54% in one poll represents success when it really represents the dire opposite; and, of course, the abject failure of the SNP to capitalise on the shit we have been dragged through which is at the root of that failure.

Tony Little

@Hatuey at 5.46

“With most surveys the margin of error is typically between 4 and 8 percent.”

Incorrect. If the poll is properly weighted and comprises over 1000 respondents, which this one does, the margin of error on standard deviation is usually 3%. So basically YES for Independence is between 51-57%. One poll on its own means nothing of course, but it seem consistent with the trend over recent polls

Skip_NC

If it is properly weighted and over 1,000 respondents, I think the MoE would be 4% at the top end, with a 95% confidence interval.

My only concern, and it’s one James Kelly noted in the post, is that it is not the standard polling question. Presumably, that is because the poll was UK-wide.

Stoker

Isn’t it great to see a lot of the old familiar names starting to appear btl again? And some new ones of course. Welcome to WOS, whether you’re a first-timer or been a lurker until now.

OH HAPPY DAYS!
________

Rev, will this include the return of Cairnstoon? Happy to contribute either way but i do miss his contributions. 🙁

Stoker

Isn’t it great to see a lot of the old familiar names starting to appear btl again? And some new ones of course. Welcome to WOS, whether you’re a first-timer or been a lurker until now.

OH HAPPY DAYS!
________

Rev, will this include the return of Cairnstoon? Happy to contribute either way but i do miss his wee works of art. 🙁

Stoker

Rev, i’ve just seen you had posted this “Chris is keen to get scribbling again, but needs a little bit of practice time to get back up to match fitness,”

OH HAPPY DAYS INDEED! link to youtube.com

Tam Norrie

Signed up. Dinnae forget. If you need more for one-offs you just have to ask.

Rab Davis

Rev,

You mentioned taking down your subscription page maybe next week.

Can I suggest you leave running until the end of the month, when more potential subscribers will get paid.

You launched this right in the middle of the month,,,so I would keep it running until at least the first week into December.

George Ferguson

O/T I am delighted you have decided to come back Stu. We definitely need you. There is no opposition in Scotland. Did you catch the little aside about proper journalists on the BBC today?. I think it was aimed at you. The A and E waiting time last night of 8 hours was missed by the MSM. However reasons to be cheerful. Consultants and senior clinicians are providing solutions under the Scot Gov radar. Ignoring the daft performance indicators and concentrating on health outcomes. Innovative solutions to stop Scottish Doctors leaving has gone underground. It’s about retaining Scottish staff and not recruiting from abroad. I am happy to say a solution was provided for my son. At least for a year. I don’t need to visit him in Australia. The real Scottish Resistance.

Effijy

I read a few weeks ago before the Tories destroyed the economy I read that a now partial HS2
Englands proposed High Speed Railway was £155.5 Billion.

Who would be surprised if it ended up at over £200 Billion.

With this black hole estimated at £55 Billion.

Am I crazy to think the fast track for London business’ to rape the North with greater ease
could be cancelled and £55 Billion from the railway wipes out black hole, stops all these extra taxes and cuts and leaves £100 Billion to upgrade a normal railway, fill pot holes in the roads,
pay all public service workers like nurses what they are due, bolster the NHS and fund education properly.

I’d presume as it’s being paid for by Westminster it will be full of nice contracts for Tory donors and be sold off to others.

Scotland of course can pay our share of £15,000,000,000 for trains that don’t get to come within 100 miles of our border.

Jim Mckellar

Rab Davis says:
18 November, 2022 at 6:55 pm

Rev,

You mentioned taking down your subscription page maybe next week.

Can I suggest you leave running until the end of the month, when more potential subscribers will get paid.

You launched this right in the middle of the month,,,so I would keep it running until at least the first week into December.

I agree with Rab I think you should leave it at least for a month & see where that takes you/us. You’ve had guest articles in the past maybe more of those would be possible & the more the fund grows maybe another booklet idea? Someone on Twitter suggested a wee suffragette coloured book now that would really annoy the pronounerati especially if it was feminist supporting & denouncing their genderwoowoo bollocks. Maybe Cairnstoon could update an ‘Emperors new clothes,’ cartoon.

It’s absolutely brilliant to see you back in combatitive mode. I’m sure you don’t fully realize how much of a fillup it is for us wee Yessers who’ve felt so forgotten & useless in recent times. The emergence of Alba has been a magic shot in the arm(& heid & everywhere else)for many of us. I was never in any party but Alba felt right & after the incompetence & comfy behaviour of the nusnp which you long ago predicted & most of us didnae want to believe, campaigning for Alba has at least given me renewed hope.

But, what’s been missing in the last couple of years has been YOU. As you are well aware the only reason they give you so much grief is because they, nusnp, greens, all other politicos, mainstream media, & all the Scottish cringers know they cannae hold a journalistic candle to your magnificient factual dissection of their made up shite.

Welcome back Stu, give them all merry hell & as you can see yet again, you are deffo not alone & even many of those who dinnae always agree with you support wholesale your right to get back on Twitter, but far, far, more important to all of us Wingsians(?) is that you carry on with this blog & just make sure you keep on getting it, as you so eloquently suggest, right up their hoops & as far up as is Wingsely(again?)possible!

Ok, that’s enough sickly supportive guff.

Get on it!!!!

velofello

i’m in, all power to you Rev Stu.

Robert Louis

Rev Stu at 1253pm,

I understand you would not want to say what has already been said, but a lot of time has passed. Their are many, many young folk that did not experience 2014 and its run up, who are thirsty for info.

Personally speaking I wouldn’t be in the least bothered if you were re-hashing past pieces, because there is a severe shortage of clear, definitive, dissection of the arguments for independence. You DO help shape the narrative.

During the run up to 2014, your articles were jam-packed with factual breakdowns and informative statistics, that were immensely useful. There is a whole new generation and lots of new pro indy supporters who are looking at much of this with ‘fresh’ eyes.

Really, really glad you are doing this. Besides what else would you be doing? Retirement is boring. If Hamish comes back as well, courtesy of Chris Cairns, then I shall be overjoyed.

Morag

Now above £5,000 per month. Stu should be able to do plenty with that.

Andy Ellis

Latest total for the fund raiser now £4206 per month.

James Miller

Subscribed, happy to contribute, there is a gap that just hasn’t been filled. Ascerbic, yes, factual – always

Ian Brotherhood

@scozzie (12.02) –

‘We need all right thinking men to back us women on this – it’s not just down to Stu.’

Sorry, I missed your comment. Thanks for the response.

Oh aye, I know what you mean, absolutely. And all ‘right-thinking men’ *DO* back you already. (There are notable exceptions, like Craig Murray, but I’m sure he wouldn’t mind me describing him as ‘not a regular working-class bloke’ and in any case, he’s well capable of defending his own corner.) It’s the guys (working-class or otherwise) who don’t know anything about it all who are hard for other men to reach. A lot of the time they just don’t believe it’s ‘serious’. And when you see some of the imagery online you can hardly blame them.

Rev was going on about this way before most of us had any inkling it was ‘serious’. The posts he wrote about it were, to some of us, as infuriating as the ones he did about the demise of Rangers Football Club were to others. We just didn’t ‘get it’.

But we get it now.

And the archive right here is as good a place as any to find material which spells out why GRA/self-ID is dangerous and has to be stopped. I find it difficult to stay ‘calm and focused’ when this subject comes up and my preference (honestly) is to avoid it entirely. But more and more families are being affected by this insidious ‘movement’ and we all have to find our own ways of dealing with it. For me, right now, referring the other person to this place and/or ForWomenScotland may be a cop-out on a personal basis but at least I know they’re being given sources of honest and eloquent opposition.

David Hannah

£5,000 a month salary. Enough for a flat in Park Circus. Very tidy.

I’m glad you’re not a materialistic man, the kind of guy that owns a pet rat. The Government fears you while they scurry in the halls of power. Tainted with corruption.

Never stop. Never rest until you set the truth free. Bring Independence home.

Morag

After seeing Andy’s post I re-did the sums two more times and I’m now getting £4,666. So I was wrong about it being over £5,000. Yet.

Dunno how I managed to get £5,009 twice though. Maybe £4,666 is wrong too. But it’s still pretty healthy.

David Hannah

You have earned everything. The contribution you’ve made to Scottish politics and continue to do so is incredible. You’re the most searched Internet webpage in the Scottish Parliament. Your Wee Blue Books. You’re truth telling. You’ve took on Dugdale in the Courts. Unbowed. Unbroken undefeated against the Edinburgh establishment elite. Truthful honest journalism. Play it again.

Ian Brotherhood

This may be a forlorn hope but the return of Wings may prompt someone to spill what they know about the framing of Alex Salmond.

Hard evidence exists somewhere.

That’s not to say Wings will be able to publish it of course.

But where there’s a will there’s a way.

akenaton

Ah, but are you all really ready to shout “Hie Queen Nick Yer tea’s oot”……Or will it be more navel gazing and cursing the Unionists? Remember we are dealing with a corrupt even criminal regime. Gloves off….. Make Scotland Clean.

Ebok

While we have been celebrating the return of Wings, the depressing news from Glasgow has passed without comment, so apologies if this dampens the mood a little.

When an entire party machine is thrown at a low-level by-election and produces a grand total of 90 votes from a total of 5,132, then a serious re-think is urgently needed.

The result suggests that a revamped group staging a unitary political challenge to NSNP is doomed to failure unless there is strong momentum behind that group from the outset. Since the initial euphoria following the launch of Alba, there has been clear evidence of stagnation, despite ‘events’ which should have led to a surge in membership and/or followers, and mass protest and unity if the direction and leadership of the party bonded with the electorate.

Since that bond has not transpired, then even when the truth does emerge, it may simply hasten the demise of NSNP rather than benefit AS or disconnected Indy groups. It may be that many are so disillusioned that NO political party may take advantage and that unity will only occur behind a non-political entity: if we now fail to unite behind YES then we may never achieve our goal.
As an Alba founder member who has tried to persuade many of the alternative to NSNP, I will accept the derision that will be heaped upon me personally, but it cannot be right that this embarrassment is likely to tarnish the Independence movement.

Stu, even if you raise 100K pa, you will earn every penny if you can rouse the electorate and find us an antidote for this Scottish sickness of apathy and wilful ignorance.

Geri

Great to see you back in business!

Go get the barstewards! No Queensbury rules!

sarah

@ Ebok: I too looked at the Glasgow Linn ward voting figures and was very concerned to see the 1.8% vote for the Alba candidate. A lot of effort seemed to have gone into the campaign and the reports on Denise Findlay’s twitter were upbeat, saying that they were getting a good response on the doorsteps. Ever the optimist [or the prisoner of hope] I was expecting several hundred votes for Alba.

It shows how hard it is to get a new party recognised by voters. Especially when its purpose is, on the face of it, the same as the SNP’s.

Add to that the manufactured hostility to Alba by the SNP leadership and supporters, and the stifling of the fact of Alba’s existence by the BBC, and you can see there is a mountain to climb.

However, the SNP took decades before winning a seat – that is the way it is, so we must continue to plug away with Alba. After all, it has got over 6000 members – that is more than the LibDems and no-one ignores them despite them not having governed alone for 100 years or so.

Meanwhile Alba IS making a difference, just by existing. I don’t think the SNP would have taken the matter to the Supreme Court nor set a referendum date [yeah, I know…] if it hadn’t been for Alba.

I know that we need liberation from the UK to happen soon so we can’t wait decades for Alba to grow. This means we need to work on helping the Salvo campaign – tell our friends, our local Yes group, our party branch members etc etc about it and ask them to sign the Edinburgh Proclamation. As soon as 100,000 signatures are collected the case can go to the UN and this too will put pressure on the SNP – they can’t be seen as not supporting a non-party, cross-party, civic Scotland initiative.

MaggieC

Rev Stu,

I see that the story about Roddy Dunlop KC offering to defend you has made The Times,

link to archive.ph

Also re the Linn by-election, the turnout was only 23% so actually there was a 5% increase in the vote share for Kirsty Fraser who was the Alba party candidate. 🙂

Ross

I hope you plug away but without the bite of a twitter account clawing the journos I see it a diffcult effort.

The Kenny farqs of today are as limited as they are boring. The same article over and over. I didn’t know it could be so predictable. It’s pathetic.

Give them hell.

Miss Donna Babington

I can`t wait to see Hamish again! A really heartwarming comments section to scroll through.

twathater

@ MaggieC 2.09am thanks for that link Maggie, but I see the times is still not publishing the truth

“Legal advice published after Salmond’s civil action showed that Dunlop and his fellow advocate, Christine O’Neill KC, threatened to resign in December 2018 because the government seemed certain to lose the case”

As was WIDELY reported at the time by MOST newspapers the legal side representing sturgeon and the SG were NOT threatening to resign because the government seemed certain to lose the case , THEY threatened to resign because the case was unstateable and they had been lied to or deceived by sturgeon and the SG , and if they had carried on knowing that their client had been untruthful it would probably have had serious reputational consequences and also it would have marked them out as lacking in honesty and integrity

So are the times deliberately protecting sturgeon by NOT stating the real reason or are they just as incompetent as the rest of the MSM

Al-Stuart

Hi Stuart,

A]. You mention £3,833 in a moving rejoinder at the comments section. Given one point is to establish whether there is, or is not a demand for quality and paid-for journalism, please can I suggest everyone who quotes the funds raised in your dedicated Wings fundraiser quotes the ANNUAL TOTAL amount?

What headline is likely to sum up the principal better than an ANUAL TOTAL salary? At this moment the overall TOTAL is remarkable…

£57,288.

That is a phenomenal amount that must surely mean YOU ARE coming back 🙂

Reassuring that both pro and anti-Wings people WANT good quality journalism.

Stuart, in your inimitable, stoical style, you have proven beyond doubt that a fast growing number of readers WANT YOU BACK DOING WHAT YOU DO BEST.

I respectfully forecast that number will exceed £100,000 once word gets out that you ARE now coming back and YES there is a bromdignagian amount of crappolla for your investigative journalism to shine a disinfecting light upon. A laser beam from your pen, that makes feckless politicians become incontinet from one orrifice or another.

B]. PLEASE Stuart, for the love of Godd, deploy some of those funds to employ one or two PAYE paid assistants?

You have experienced a diabolically toxic onslaught from all directions for many years (proving you are doing your job well).

But you WILL BURN YOURSELF OUT this time round. The sabbatical you just returned from has clearly worked wonders. Your batteries are recharged, you are ready for this.

But just as in 2014 when, at the time, your contribution was recognised as profoundly constructive in the IndyRef debate, it surely took a toll on you?

This time around, I beg you, please consider some support network where admin and certain routine research/due-diligence and fact-check functions can be delegated to a trusted assistant, or assistants (plural).

Buddy, Nicola Sturgeon and her rancid, decomposing organisation will become desperate.

They will set the Hounds of Hell on YOU. But you are way above her intellect. She is an over-promoted plant. A fake. Even so she will set a LOT of obstacles and bad actors against you. So if some of the £100,000 per annum is deployed on a proper support staff (ideal remote working between long distance), then surely that wil help take the strain off of you at times when the Dreghorn Dirker has her beady blinky eyes and venom-viper thin lips pointed in your direction.

—————————————————————————
Stuart wrote:

We could have done that via our normal Donate page, but this way it makes a public statement about whether people are prepared to back proper professional journalism in Scotland, or if they’re content to just accept whatever ad-strewn, data-harvesting, insipid-cheerleading garbage is on offer for nothing.”

Many folk restored faith in Scottish decency…

“Hold my beer… Stuart, here is a cheque for £57,288 per annum.

Will that be enough for some quality journalism?”

Neil Mackenzie

Isn’t it strange how the story about the revival of the world’s most informative, most trustworthy, cleverest, most powerful advocate website for Scottish independence has been completely and utterly ignored by every mainstream media outlet serving Scotland including the newspaper which, on every one of its front pages, claims to support an independent Scotland?

Geoff Anderson

I’m paying Sturgeon over £160,000 a year and was paying Peter Murrell over £100,000, the actual amount is kept secret, and look at what I’m getting!

Every MSP and MP is getting a higher salary plus Pension and perks than this “fundraiser” will achieve. The current talk on here sounds like someone giving a gift and telling them how much they spent on it! It is no more a gift than buying a copy of your favourite magazine or book author.

If you want good Journalism you pay for it. Can we stop with the money fixation. We should be happy that enough people got together to fund this.

“…. for the labourer is worthy of his hire.”

stuart mctavish

Setting aside whatever motivates the online competition (eg a herald scoop about Jean Marie Le Pen, courtesy of a foxed up surname and an imaginative lady with a big heart, being welcome to live the life* of an educational serf in Anstruther), and my own inherent difficulty in making a worthwhile contribution, I’d imagine that if a generous stipend can help answer the question (or explain the statement) WHO stole Scotland (an’ Canada an’ Australia an’ New Zealand an’ Hong Kong an’ US an’ China an’ Russia, an’ maybe even France, etc) and how, then so much more the better..

*Few (or vice versa) being likely to know that one these days

Al-Stuart

Hi Geoff,

Am not sure why you refer to this thread as a “money fixation” and urge folk to stop it.

The fundraiser and whether it is supported is kind of the point of this thread. Hence a natural gravitation to statistics and whether it looks like Stuart and Wings are coming back.

Stuart wrote:

“This way it makes a public statement about whether people are prepared to back proper professional journalism in Scotland, or if they’re content to just accept whatever ad-strewn, data-harvesting, insipid-cheerleading garbage is on offer for nothing.”

What better way than the running total GIRFUY-METER</b?

By the way, the grand total for the author of such classics as: “Where’s Our £600,000 ring fenced YES wove into fibs” article is now at…

£57,456

Way to go Stuart McPulitzer Prize Writer 🙂

Chas

The Scottish Government are pleased to announce that the threat of a hose pipe ban being implemented before Christmas is now negligible.
Nicola and her gang working ceaselessly for the benefit of all Scots!

Follow the money trail Stu. The assistance of a couple of ‘white hatters’ would be invaluable.

Breastplate

Gosh, I’m playing catch-up and quite a lot has happened.
It’s nice to see you back at work with a decent wage, Rev.
I’m in too.

Patsy Millar

Thanks for the link. Was glad to set up a monthly donation albeit a small one.

Rab Davis

Rev.

Never mind thinking small here.

WHY NOT START UP YOUR OWN MEDIA COMPANY?