Project Feart?

Posted on July 31, 2013 by

We’re now in the sixth day of our attempt to arrange a public debate between the respective chairmen of the Yes and No campaigns, Dennis Canavan and Alistair Darling. Yes Scotland director Blair Jenkins accepted on behalf of Mr Canavan some days ago, but despite his “Better Together” counterpart Blair McDougall initially agreeing (on the misunderstanding that we were inviting him rather than Mr Darling), he’s yet to respond to several further enquiries.

blairbathgate1

We rang the BT offices in Glasgow just after two o’clock this afternoon, but Mr McDougall was “in meetings” (though he was posting tweets two minutes beforehand) and the person we spoke to couldn’t tell us when we might be able to get hold of him. We left a message asking him to get in touch when he had a minute. We’ll let you know when we hear anything.

41 to “Project Feart?”

1. jim mitchell says:

I still think that someone, (Blair Jenkins)? should ask Blair Mcdougal to debate a si think there could be a lot of mileage in it, even if he turns it down!

2. Murray McCallum says:

Can we afford Mr. Darling’s appearance fee?
    The man’s got to earn a living to maintain the property portfolio the tax payer has previously been called on to fund.

3. Tony Little says:

Maybe they are waiting for Johann to release the findings of the commission into the possible agenda for a debate about the need for a discussion on a debate and who will be able to debate with whom given that we don’t yet have the findings of the wide ranging review of the permutations possible in such a debate and therefore it would be inappropriate at this time, to commit to anything before the release of respective manifestos in 2016.

Or something.

4. Tattie-boggle says:

He’s been busy stuffing straw men on twitter all day , that and licking envelopes

5. Robert McDonald says:

My breath is bated, Blair McD worries that if he can’t think of a good excuse he will be baited mercilessly. I’d be settling down with a cuppa and some digestives if I didn’t have to go out to pipe band practice.

6. Tattie-boggle says:

He has (Sorry have been reading The Sun)

7. john king says:

tattie boggle says
    “He’s been busy stuffing straw men on twitter all day , that and licking envelopes”

mmm minty

8. Tom Hogg says:

Two o’clock you rang him?  According to his timeline he was tweeting roundabout then.

9. Marcia says:

Get a tub of lard ready.

10. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Two minutes before I rang, in fact. I must have JUST missed him before his meeting. 😀

11. Dave McEwan Hill says:

In case anybody missed this from the previous post
    Duncan Hamilton at Glasgow University Union
    www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxS3RjilBzg

12. Martyn says:

Don’t hold your breath

13. Albert Herring says:

Is anything that passes McDougll’s lips true? It really is getting pathological. Here’s BT’s latest: link to twitter.com

14. CameronB says:

Isn’t it amazing how the impact of a photo can be made by the context in which it is presented?

15. Albert Herring

Beat me to it.

16. Marcia says:

Whilst we wait – Can we afford Independence? leaflet;
    link to twitter.com

17. Andy-B says:

I’d imagine Blair McDougall, will still be in the process of amassing scaremonger stories, in the event that he or Darling takes up the offer.
    Afterall its not as if he’ll have any real facts, to counter claim the validity of independence.
    But you may find BT are far far to busy opening up new foodbanks, to deal with a discussion, on something as petty as the truth of independence.

18. Baheid says:

O/T but have you seen this,
    Anus at his best.

link to news.stv.tv

19. JLT says:

It’ll never happen. There will always be a reason or excuse from McDougall to avoid the debate

20. CameronB says:

Did someone mention Anas? 🙂
    link to en.wikipedia.org

21. Doug Daniel says:

Watch out Stu, that phone call will probably be chalked down as evidence of Cybernat dirty tricks campaigns. “Urgh, they keep phoning our offices and calling us names.”

I’m sure he’ll phone you back though. Yep, definitely. 

22. Murray McCallum says:

Doug Daniel
    I would also fear a reverse charge call.  The potential costs of this just keep going up!

23. ronald alexander mcdonald says:

They obviously need Johann Lamont’s permission for Darling to debate, as she is the leader of Labour in Scotland.  I’m sticking to my theory that she’s been abducted by aliens.

24. ianbrotherhood says:

‘Project feart’

That’s the very fella…

Check out this image of Pacific Quay, and imagine ‘PROJECT FEART’ in huge scarlet blood-dripping letters, running the full length:

There are companies who specialise in doing this type of stuff. Anyone know anyone else etc? In the meantime, perhaps someone with the skills required could do a wee mock-up?

25. ianbrotherhood says:

Whoops!
    Here:
    link to ifsdglasgow.co.uk

26. paul the printer says:

Hiding in Subway?

27. Hetty says:

Come on, give her a break, maybe Lamont’s on her hols, on a beach, sunning herself…oh crikey that’s enough, ewww.
    Can we afford not to choose Independence? Don’t think so.
    Hmm, now Labour for Independence are working for the SNP? What next for christs sake.

28. silver19 says:

What’s that banner behind Project Fear’s McDougall :-
    link to twitter.com

29. Perfidious Albion says:

“Feart” McDougall? Now there’s a moniker.

30. rabb says:

What a fantastically inefficient way to spend Ian Taylor’s blood money.

It must have taken them hours, days or possibly even weeks to trawl the world wide interweb thingy and compile that LFI pile of hypocritical shite.

Bliar & Flipper standing side by side with Tories is the REAL scandal.

Come on Bliar, can we have an answer please? Put up or fuck off please 🙂

31. Arbroath 1320 says:

I hear that he has mislaid his steel helmet, I guess he must be too busy searching for it to have time to reply to your enquiries Stu. 😆

32. Macart says:

Less a steel helmet Arb and more of a tinfoil hat. 🙂

33. ianbrotherhood says:

Just ‘helmet’ is enough.

34. Macart says:

@IanB

LOL 😀

And he seemed so earnest and humble in his response.

35. ianbrotherhood says:

@rabb-

‘Come on Bliar, can we have an answer please? Put up or fuck off please.’

I like this approach. It’s direct, and yet, somehow, with the repetition of the word ‘please’, curiously, nay attractively, civil.

36. Yesitis says:

I wonder how the Scottish history books will remember Blair McDougall?

link to twitter.com

37. Tris says:

Albert Herring:

Allan Grogan has answered these claims in a press release:

link to labourforindy.com

38. Macart says:

@Tris
    @Yesitis

Labour and McDougall are worried at the impact of LFI. Well done to Mr Grogan, he apparently has gained enough good column space to warrant the dire attention of Project Fear. Proof, if any were needed, that Mr Grogan’s message is having an effect. 

39. Captain Caveman says:

Personally I don’t get this. If I were better informed (and had a better mandate, i.e. was a Scot), I’d be straining at the leash to take yers all on, believe you me, whilst juggling grand pianos with my spare hand. 😀

All this ‘ooh, nasty rude man from teh interwebs, we’re not speaking to him‘ just comes across as bottling it to me. The No side needs a streetfighter.

40. Yesitis says:

Captain Caveman

Personally I don’t get this. If I were better informed (and had a better mandate, i.e. was a Scot), I’d be straining at the leash to take yers all on, believe you me, whilst juggling grand pianos with my spare hand.

You`d still lose. At least you`ll be able to juggle pianos with your spare hand after a Yes vote. Makes a change, eh  🙂

41. ianbrotherhood says:

@Captain Caveman-

You, mister, have conviction, and you also have a sense of humour. I can’t think of any prominent BT reps who demonstrate either.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,718 Posts, 1,213,997 Comments

• sarah on Signal and noise: “The problem is that most people haven’t heard about Salvo and the Liberation Movement. Even an ex-MSP of the Highlands…Mar 12, 22:03
    • lindsay on Signal and noise: “By extension this has to be the best discription ever of what today passes as Scottish “parliament”Mar 12, 21:55
    • Nae Need! on Signal and noise: “Of course there’s only ONE side cloaking the debate. The ones wearing cloaks, real and figurative.Mar 12, 21:40
    • Nae Need! on Signal and noise: “Couldn’t agree more, Lorn.Mar 12, 21:35
    • sarah on Signal and noise: ““Because it’s a waste of time. You cannot declare independence…unless you’ve had some sort of democratic event demonstrating that it…Mar 12, 21:28
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “I don’t agree with everything you say, but I do agree with some. See the last sentence, can we change…Mar 12, 21:10
    • Mark Beggan on Signal and noise: “All aboard!! The last train to Wokeseville leaving from platform Scotland. All aboard!Mar 12, 20:58
    • Mark Beggan on Signal and noise: “Generations of inbreeding.Mar 12, 20:48
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “IF there are any changes they’ll be the type of changes that remain the same.Mar 12, 20:42
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “Undoubtedly. There is always more. This is the REDACTED parliament, after all. But I don’t think it’s what YL says.…Mar 12, 20:36
    • Southernbystander on Signal and noise: “Yes I am sure you are right that in fact it is a very narrow set of ‘communities’ being referenced…Mar 12, 20:35
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: ““I cannot understand why Stuart Campbell has chosen to ignore organisations like SALVO and Liberation.Scot consisting of dedicated independence supporters…Mar 12, 20:14
    • George Ferguson on Signal and noise: “Agreed. Young people have no understanding of Scotland of the past. Social migration was there for working class Scottish people…Mar 12, 20:13
    • Hatey McHateface on Signal and noise: ““transgender and nonbinary people contribute immensely to the wellbeing of Scotland’s communities” You need to focus on the communities that…Mar 12, 19:52
    • lorn on Signal and noise: “The ‘trans’ lobby utilizes these individual cases at huge public cost in order to wear down women. Simple as that.…Mar 12, 19:49
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “They’re not stupid. They are richer. And the deal they made with their ‘lack of conscience’ bothers them not one…Mar 12, 19:49
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: “Indeed. It’s certainly interesting (to me, at least) how Tommy has been scrutinised by both Peter A Bell AND Wings…Mar 12, 19:33
    • Nae Need! on The evolution of fairness: ““And they would turn Scotland into a extreme left wing authertarian hellhole And they would make trump look like an…Mar 12, 19:29
    • sarah on Signal and noise: “OK that’s me put off my dinner. Holyrood is sickening and Sturgeon having the gall to open her mouth and…Mar 12, 19:22
    • lorn on Signal and noise: “The rights of these men to enter female spaces? Is there such a right? Don’t think so, Scott K.Mar 12, 19:19
    • Lorn on Signal and noise: “That Vic Valentine, Scottish Trans Manager, Equality Network, stated that his organization makes sure that people in public and private…Mar 12, 19:15
    • Southernbystander on Signal and noise: “‘The Parliament believes that transgender and nonbinary people contribute immensely to the wellbeing of Scotland’s communities’, say the Greens. Eh?Mar 12, 19:11
    • Chris on Signal and noise: “Without wishing to stress the obvious here, but isn’t the simple way to stop this nonsense to elect more Tory…Mar 12, 19:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Signal and noise: “The entire stooshie is looking and sounding most unfortunately WHITE, WHITE, WHITE. I’m not a big fan of the BROWN,…Mar 12, 18:28
    • twathater on The evolution of fairness: “To use your example of IT being a waste of time, you used your knowledge and dedication to produce the…Mar 12, 18:14
    • agent x on Signal and noise: ““Speaking to reporters ahead of the debate on a rare appearance at the Scottish Parliament, Ms Sturgeon said: “I think…Mar 12, 17:52
    • KT Lorimer on Signal and noise: “The tranny dickheads are still in charge SNP amendment passed all is well in la la land.Mar 12, 17:40
    • A2 on Signal and noise: “At least misogyny and transmisogyny are seperate things now… progress!Mar 12, 16:30
    • KT Lorimer on Signal and noise: “No they are not – this is nothing to do with people who have been diagnosed with dysphoria and chose…Mar 12, 16:25
    • Yoon Scum on Signal and noise: “Let us have a moments silence In memory of the braincells that died trying to grasp the concept of the…Mar 12, 16:04