Ploughing the depths

Posted on January 05, 2013 by

We’ve been warning for a while now that the independence debate is likely to get uglier before it gets prettier this year, despite the protestations of the No camp that they want a mature and respectful discussion. The bleaker reality, however, is revealed by former Labour spin doctor Simon Pia in today’s Dundee Courier.

His column “The Long And Winding Road To 2014” isn’t online as far as we can tell, but the SNP’s Kevin Pringle kindly took a snapshot of the piece for us. You can click on the image above to read the whole thing, but one passage in particular is revealing when it comes to what we should expect in the next 18 months.

“What is particularly amusing is hearing the Nats appeal for a high-minded debate being echoed by Alistair Darling and the uber-unionists. One ploy Darling can be relied on is to bore everyone senseless over the debate while his underling big Blair McDougall and his “bettertogether” muckers get down and dirty in the gutter with Blair Jenkins and co of the Yes lot.

My money would be on Big Blair rather than wee skinny Blair for that one. But whether one likes it or not, it is in the interests of the unionsts to lower the tone.”

(Wings Over Scotland accepts no responsibility for the grammatical or literary failings of either Mr Pia or the Courier’s sub-editors, if it still has any.)

We’re inescapably reminded by Pia’s comments of an oft-quoted (and -misquoted) piece of wisdom that’s most commonly attributed to George Bernard Shaw: “I learned long ago never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.”

Subscribe
Notify of

24 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Juteman

“I am not a nationalist, and i am not a unionist.”
 Really?

Erchie

I came to the conclusion that there is no desire for a debate from Better Together, who are basically run by Labour on a day to day basis.

They want to drag everything down, counting on the electorate to say “a plague on both your houses” and with the turnout is dire or the middle of the road folk don’t turn out, giving the “NO!” crowd the victory.

It’s galling but given such a biased press it’s a hard tqactic to counter save by presenting as much dignity as you can retain, which doesn’t always work 

Vronsky

I laughed out loud at the strap line: ‘Political analysis by Simon Pia’.  Still giggling, actually.

Juteman

Both my parents still buy the Courier everyday. I think it’s an age and habit thing. Both were Labour voters until about 10 years ago, then they both started voting SNP. My dad has always been a YES, but my mum was yet to be convinced until a little while ago. 
 I started pointing out to them that various ‘independent media’ folk were actually connected to unionist parties, or married to unionist politicians. Bit by bit, my mothers attitude changed. When she realised she was being lied to, and taken for a fool, she turned. Now, when i visit, i’m often asked “did you read what that lying so and so was saying yesterday?”

So how do we counter this? By pointing out to folk who these so called ‘independant’ journalists, TV presenters, experts etc, really are, and their incestuous relationship to political parties. It needs to be done every day, and every time a story is discussed at home, or in the workplace.

Peter A Bell

Here’s the text of the article – link to docs.google.com

Don McC

“They want to drag everything down, counting on the electorate to say “a plague on both your houses” and with the turnout is dire or the middle of the road folk don’t turn out, giving the “NO!” crowd the victory.”

This, Erchie, is exactly the tactic.  The antis know that they can’t guarantee a “no” vote (and a “yes” vote is becoming increasingly likely despite what “opinion polls” predict) so they’re pinning their hopes on being able to rubbish a “Yes” vote.  A close “yes” victory with less than a 60% turnout?  How is that a vote for independence?  It’s why they aren’t even bothering with a positive argument (beyond the “Union makes us all £1.00 a year better off [assuming oil is $20 a barrel]”).

Cuphook

‘My money’s on Big Blair rather than wee skinny Blair’.

What is the Unionist obsession with weight? We’re continually told that independence will fail because Alex Salmond is fat and now we are told that it will fail because Blair Jenkins is skinny. Is there an optimum weight required for the ability to deliver on your political promise?

Maybe you should be telling us the BMI of everyone you report on so that we can get a better idea of their abilities.

FreddieThreepwood

@ Juteman

Speaking of so-called independent journalists … I watched the Review Show last night with Kirsty ‘John Smith House’ Wark interviewing Billy Connolly and yes, despite the fact the subject matter appeared to be his life and work, she couldn’t resist asking him how he would vote in 2014 – knowing perfectly well the answer in advance. Sure enough, the auld dope trots out his ‘all politicians are idiots/we should all be coming closer together, not further apart’ off the point line.
Cue big grin from Wark. Job done.

balgayboy

My son-in-law was/is a labour voter but was not very interested in politics and had not made many comments or views regarding the upcoming referendum previously. We went for a walk with my grandchildren on new years day and I was pleasantly surprised to hear him raise the subject of the 2014 referendum and how dismayed he was with the negativity spouted by the media and the pro-union party’s. i had never tried to persuade him previously as he is his own man but his comments gladdened my heart that level headed people are aware of the MSM negativity and feel insulted by it as well. People will see through this pro-union scaremongering.

BillyBigBaws

I think I used to argue with Simon Pia’s brother on Facebook.  He was a nice enough guy.

Peter A Bell

Rev Stu
Sorry about the missing word. Mr Pringle’s image was a bit of a challenge even for the high-end OCR I use.

Derick

balgayboy –  point your son in law at Labour for Independence, or Labour voters for Independence on Facebook.
Am I the only person that thinks Celts for Independence fb with all the Irish Republican emphasis is a false flag operation?

dadsarmy

Latest story in the Herald: “Shots fired at police in latest Union Flag row”.

And from Friday’s Herald: “Union flag protesters ready to target Sturgeon”.

I seriously think she should get police protection.

Juteman

@Derick
There is also a ‘Rangers fans for independence’ Facebook site.

thomas

@freddie threepwood

aye freddie

i used tae like billy connolly but fur years now the big yin  his jist gave me the boak.

independance fur ireland but no the country o his birth.

Derick

There is indeed a Rangers fans for Scottish Independence site – good on them.  There is a Celtic Fans for Scottish Independence – which is a genuine site and all round good guys.
The one I am concerned about is Celts for Independence 
link to facebook.com
Seems to post a lot of Irish Republican/IRA stuff.  Can’t see how that is supposed to be helping obtain a Yes vote

jake

Pia, pia, piano
piano, piano.

Pia, pia, piano
pia, Pia NO

Morag

Cool, Jake!

Cameron

Why do people still think that William “Billy” Connolly, Jr., CBE, is still a man of the people. Where does he live and where does he pay his taxes?

Macart

Well if anyone should know about campaigning tricks and spin…… Mr Pia certainly has the right CV. As for Blair V Blair? I reckon he may be underestimating Blair Jenkins just a tad. I don’t think he would get into that sty in the first place Rev. Better to feed the pigs from a distance, run them round a bit to keep em in good trim and make bacon…………….. mmmmmmm bacon. 🙂

Stats: 6,666 Posts, 1,201,633 Comments

• James on How it happened: ““Welcome, our Imperial Masters…”Nov 8, 22:48
    • James on How it happened: “Nah. The site Prick only knows what he reads in his Daily Heil.Nov 8, 22:34
    • Tinto Chiel on How it happened: “The only advantage of the new format seems to be that Tobias Ellwood’s Little Elves who formerly strove ceaselessly to…Nov 8, 22:26
    • Mac on How it happened: “Yeah, I think you are right. The path to independence is not ‘democratically leaving a political union we never voted…Nov 8, 22:07
    • sam on How it happened: “The Moon n PlatoNov 8, 22:06
    • Alf Baird on How it happened: “The Raggit Troosered Kyoab.Nov 8, 21:54
    • James on How it happened: “Tick tock…..Nov 8, 21:49
    • James on How it happened: “You wish, Tory Boy.Nov 8, 21:48
    • James on How it happened: “The Tony Blair-invented ‘Supreme Court’ you mean? LOL. Away and lie in yer water.Nov 8, 21:47
    • James on How it happened: “Scots law or English law? One doesn’t overrule the other because it’s ‘newer’. They are different legal systems. For a…Nov 8, 21:44
    • Mark Beggan on How it happened: “Dr Dogood and the tale of the soiled pants.Nov 8, 21:44
    • Rab Clark on How it happened: “Nice one, thanks. 🙂 These are the other suggestions we’ve had via The Twitter: The Guidmen wi Tatterie Breeks. The…Nov 8, 21:43
    • George Ferguson on How it happened: “I am not a fan of Common Weal after the 2014 Independence Referendum one of their members first action was…Nov 8, 21:42
    • Alf Baird on How it happened: “Aye, plenty data Mac, and much of it informing the ‘UN Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries…Nov 8, 21:41
    • James on How it happened: ““The Bare-Ersed Socialists”?Nov 8, 21:35
    • Mac on How it happened: ““Which is why it is called ‘post’ colonial.” lol. You make me laugh at times Alf. When I thought about…Nov 8, 21:24
    • moixx on How it happened: “I don’t think it’s true, but apparently some people do. Is it because they actually recognise that the woke element…Nov 8, 21:17
    • Dan on How it happened: “Cheers for response George. I’ve not clicked a single like or dislike in all my years online on numerous forums.…Nov 8, 21:17
    • Rab Clark on How it happened: “Some Friday Night Fun… If anyone would like to suggest a Scots title for a translation of ‘The Ragged Trousered…Nov 8, 20:30
    • Aidan on How it happened: “That isn’t just an argument, I would say that is the core driving force behind Scottish independence. Whilst the people…Nov 8, 20:20
    • George Ferguson on How it happened: “Hi Dan, The standard of BTL comments I think has improved. Self-policing has been partially effective. I still remain uncertain…Nov 8, 20:14
    • Jay on How it happened: “On the balance of Ills, it would be less awful that you should be correct.Nov 8, 20:09
    • Jay on How it happened: “Yours seems to be the first suggestion of pressure (rather than force?) from the eastern Mediterranean area, upon Pres P,…Nov 8, 20:06
    • Jay on How it happened: “Where is the reference to your source for quotes in your previous comment? Please do not waste readers’ time. Too…Nov 8, 19:22
    • Dan on How it happened: “Nae bother, the same names have caught a few folk out over the years.Nov 8, 19:16
    • Dan on How it happened: “A few weeks on from “the site upgrade”… Serious question, how is everyone finding trying to follow comments? It’s a…Nov 8, 19:13
    • John Cleary on How it happened: “Ah. Thank you DanNov 8, 19:01
    • Tinto Chiel on How it happened: “I agree, Mia, and we have no freedom and democracy because we have no free press. The MSM are merely…Nov 8, 18:56
    • Dan on How it happened: “It’s a different Liz Lloyd.Nov 8, 18:54
    • Jay on How it happened: “hey Steve, what about some answers to my response to your previous comment? Also, considering that Skip NC has taken…Nov 8, 18:49

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()