Our new best friends

Posted on February 07, 2021 by

Well, this just got silly.

We’re absurdly touched by your response to the daft wee joke fundraiser we set up this week to raise £50 over a court case. We’re going to have to drink a LOT of fancy gin now. Thank you so much to everyone who donated, at a time when a lot of very good causes are also raising money. We’ll help some of them out from the proceeds.

We can’t help thinking, though, that at a very stressful time for the Yes movement a lot of people were just enjoying the chance to have a bit of much-needed fun. So allow us to offer our extra-special thanks to some unexpected benefactors.

To those above, and everyone else: we love you all. Now we’ll get back to work.

52 to “Our new best friends”

1. Robert Hughes

Full disclosure : I donated under the psuedonym R Hughes but as all my close friends have felt secure enough to use their real names I too will state my – unrequited 🙁 – love and admiration for you Mr Campbell and reveal my true donating identity .
    Yours 4 Eva

Paul Murrell xxx

2. Contrary

?

It was your dentist’s message that really hit the spot, to tell the truth, but they are all good. Oh! To be so popular! ? Brilliant.

3. Contrary

? = 😀 with tears (literally) – I still haven’t figured out how to get that emoticon created.

4. Rev Stu's Dentist

Aw, glad we could all make you smile!

I don’t always agree with you, but you are (usually!) right about things and the work you are doing is more important now than ever. I hope you know that there are loads of us who still appreciate all that you did and continue to do.

5. Dave M

It’s good to know that there are folk out there with a sense of humour. Great work, folks.

6. Iain Hamilton

Stu,

Go have a look at https://www.mcleansgin.co.uk/

Their Cherry Bakewell gin is to die for.

Slainte, good Sir.

Enjoy.

7. susanXX

Wish I’d thought of a clever donor name now lol. Just plain old ‘anonymous’

8. Astonished

Well deserved appreciation. wee smiley face thing

9. Bill Craig

Hilarious!!

10. David

#drainthebog

11. Giesabrek (the original)

Very funny comments, wish I’d thought of doing that when I was giving my 2 yearly subscription!

12. Davie Oga

Good angle from Matthews (Sky) this morning. Sturgeon also lied in her submission to The High Court during the judicial review.

“Ms Sturgeon’s version of events formed part of the case ‘pleadings’, the formal written submissions to the court by both sides. Referring to Ms Sturgeon as “the interested party”, the pleadings state that “she first became aware of the existence of an investigation into the petitioner’s (Alex Salmond) conduct in April 2018 when the petitioner made her so aware.”

13. Betsy

I have a wee favour to ask of anyone with a Twitter account.
    It appears that Fiona Robertson is assembling a clype army to collect Tweets that reference her negatively- presumably so she can get folk booted out the SNP for laughing at her.

The eyes of the woke are upon us so I would urge everyone to put a bit of thought into their Tweets and make sure your zingers are top class and absolutely brutal.

https://twitter.com/ChrisFalconer16/status/1358345461019598849

14. Grouser

Nothing from Rhiannon? Not like her to miss a bandwagon.

15. Jeannie McCrimmon

That cheered me right up. You’re the man Stuey x

16. David Holden

@ Grouser As I looked down the list of Donors there was a donation from Rhiannon Smear a cunning disguise I am sure you agree.

17. Bob Mack

@Betsy,

Nothing will beat “she is like a bag of washing with a face”

I still laugh at that.

18. Milady

Peter Murrell was a bit stingy but in his defence his other half had already donated £20 and he wasn’t sure what name they had used or whether they were even in the house at the time of the donation.

19. Effijy

New BBC Sunday propaganda show is on –
    The Sunday Show.

First notable pro England stat- the R rates across the U.K.
    N Ireland and England combined 1 Covid case in 60?
    Wales 1 in 70
    Scotland 1 in 115.

England has the worst figures in the U.K. but with a little
    help from Ulster again, you don’t need to see that!

Defence minister saying the rise in Independence is only a glitch
    and the numbers go up and down all the time.

The last 20 indicators over several years so an independence majority.
    He then keeps on about playing the man not the ball in relation to Scotland’s demands for independence?

We hear again about the might of a Union how we share and work together?
    Strength in unity unless of course the unity was with Europe.

We can’t stay in Europe as they dictate some U.K. laws.
    Scotland must stay with England were everything is controlled by England.

PS He says where would you be if England didn’t spend £2 Billion on Defending Scotland.

The trick answer there is that we would be free to decide on our own defence, we would be billions better off, we wouldn’t have nuclear weapons to endanger us.

20. kapelmeister

£50 from Humza. He’s no short of a bob. Just not quite the full shilling.

21. David Caledonia

I was going to donate, but I thought to myself, feck that for a game o sogers, turkish delight flavoured gin, away tae f-ck lol

22. Donny

Fucking beautiful!!

23. dramfineday

HAHAHA….love it

24. kapelmeister

These generous Sturgeonites. Now Stu can have donor kebabs with his posh gin.

25. David Caledonia

Richard Harris and Peter the tool where out drinking after appearing on the stage together one night
    It was late as they where walking down the street, lets have one for the road they said and went into this pub near closing time
    Time up the owner cried, can’t we have another they asked, no the owner said we are closing
    Okay we will buy your pub then, the owner said ok, £250.000 and its yours, so they wrote out a check for the said amount, the guy closed the doors and they had a little session together
    The next morning the two hungover pals realised, omg, we bought a pub last night, so they ran down to see the guy as fast as they could to stop the payment going through
    Its ok said the owner I was only kidding I was not selling anyway, and as far as I know that cheque was framed and hung over the bar as a reminder of when two famous actor pals bought a pub one night

26. Beaker

Ian Blackford and the train filled with gravy… 🙂

27. David Caledonia

Richard Harris was prone to going awol and going on the drink for days at a time, and his wife was not to pleased about it
    So it happened again, and he thought, what the feck excuse can I give her this time, so he came up with a cracker
    He knocked the door of the marital home, his wife came to the door, when she opened the door he said, why did’nt you pay the ransom lol

28. holymacmoses

How to raise the spirits! Just watch ‘Gost’ and you’ve got a full house here. Good work. TAM

29. mike cassidy

Feck this posh gin nonsense

Get that money spent on a real drink

https://archive.is/cH6LH

30. David Caledonia

Anthony Hopkins loved to get into his car and just drive around for a few weeks, he just stayed at little out of the way hotels on his road trips
    One night he stopped at this little hotel, he walked in the door, there was only one guy on duty at the desk, when Anthony walked up to him the guy fled in terror, he thought that Hanni the man eater had just walked into his place

True story lol

31. mike cassidy

Feck this posh gin nonsense

Get that money spent on a real drink

https://archive.is/cH6LH

32. Richard Laird

Hi Stuart. You forgot to mention the £50 I sent you so you don’t publish the photos!

33. Ottomanboi

BRITISH IMAGES:
    OLD
    https://www.defendevropa.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/Britannia.jpg
    NEW.
    https://media.glide.mailplus.co.uk/prod/images/950_633/gm-344bf901-1beb-4d8d-abf7-ef8e3afad0ff-tom4.jpg
    Geriatric, decrepit, tired, feeble, worn out, past it, a push over…
    Scotland’s downfall; men in frocks, signs on toilet doors…
    What you might call « piss politics »

34. Famous15

I was going to donate as Benedict Arnold but Daniel Defoe said he had enough of them within the SNP.

Sky News says NS cannot survive and will be gone before the end of the month.

I am rejoining the SNP at minimum rate to get a vote for her successor .

35. Wee Chid

Betsy says:
    7 February, 2021 at 10:13 am

Maybe we should all try to get booted out – and see how many members they are left with?

36. kapelmeister

Betsy @10:13

Now that Sturgeonites are trawling Twitter to gather evidence of wrongthink, we see the beginnings of a Sturgeon private police….the Tonton McCoute?

37. Effijy

Home grown Gin is best

https://www.mcgin.co.uk/shop/

McGinn Gin is by a Glasgow Family of publicans.

They are relatives of the famous folk singer, Matt McGinn.
    The Twa Heiden man among his humorous hits.

New distillery opening soon from 2 brothers
    The Biggar Gin Company.

38. Ian Mac

I fully expect them to blow a fuse and rant on about calumny and slander because people have taken their names in vain. Haha, mockery and satire is a marvellous political tool.

39. Baxter

@ Beaker

Had to laugh when I saw the Blackford bit but then realised it could have been attributed to a whole lot more of the SNP MP/MSP’s.

40. Breeks

I’d laugh like a drain if they all got summarily fired for crowdfunding a ‘hostile’ cause… no investigation, no questions asked, no right of appeal… Nicola Sturgeon style…

41. Yasmin

Today’s Guardian article a joke. The idea that more people like and believe sturgeon over Salmond is right up there with the sky is pink! There is a quote from George kerevan from now Scotland which also seems to be in lala land and anti Salmond. Kerevan seems another guy with ego issues. Independence is high today because of Salmond. More of us have heard of Salmond than the selfie queen and kerevan put together and we are not the ‘old vanguard’ but the new vanguard!

42. Robert Hughes

Kapelmeister – Careful you’re not arrested for Haiti-Crime

43. kapelmeister

Robert Hughes

Good one Robert! Smiley thing.

44. grahamlive

I love the fact that “Nicola” said you were only getting a tenner and in fact only stumped up £9. 🙂

45. Tinto Chiel

@kapelmeister: on form today I see.

Tobermory Gin is the bees knees, Stu, so ditch the Turkish D. So good you can drink it chilled on its own.

46. Jack Murphy

O/T Another sacking : BBC Scotland Politics on line today.
    Hope this works—my last Archiver has mysteriously disappeared!

https://archive.is/xhkKK

47. Josef Ó Luain

A bottle of Teeling Irish whiskey would be my pick, Stu.

48. lumilumi

I love the people’s sense of humour.

People who’ve opened their eyes and are seeing the awfulness of it all and know the players – mostly thanks to Rev Stu, Craig Murray, Mark Hirst, Gordon Dangerfield, Iain Lawson, etc. Yet still fight with good humour and wit. Not with bile and hyperbole and hatered.

Rev Stu asked, as a joke, for £50 (the amount he had to award to some silly-arse), got over £10.000 and counting.

The detractors really are raging about it. Cries of “It’s not fair!” when the joke is turned on them, when your own actions result in the opposite you want.

The detractors will of course say that Rev Stu’s fundraisers aren’t as successful as they used to be. Back in the day when he asked for £50.000, he got well over £100.000, now he’s only getting £10.000… After asking £50 as a joke.

Ho-hum…

49. lumilumi

Gloating aside, I think it shows something that a joke fund-raiser exceeds its target by more than 2,000% (that is more than two thousand per cent) in a couple of days.

Obviously people want and need Rev Stu’s real journalism. Because they’re not getting it from the MSM or some of the “indy” new media outlets.

It’s not some “conspiracy bubble” when trying to get some truth out there, when the MSM and many other “indy” bloggers are avoiding it for various reasons.

50. A2

Meanwhile though the isp fundraiser is stuck at 7% on rather less than been donated above.

One has to wonder if irritating some huffy guy for a laugh and giving stu a hangover should be a priority.

51. David

Ottomanboi’s comment at 11:33am is a disgrace.
    Attacking Tom Moore? The 100-year-old who cared enough to get up and actually do something to help his country’s NHS?
    Ottomanboi is a disgrace who adds nothing to this site.

52. lairtin dubs

nae niver again min

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.