2. Themadmurph

Ha ha. Fantastic!

3. Geoff Huijer

Excellent!

His quotes should be far more difficult for the Brit media to twist as he seems pretty direct with his views on Scotland in staying in the EU.

4. Dunks

See you Jimmy!

5. mogabee

Hahaha great Chris.

Friends in high places indeed. 🙂

6. donna barnstaple-stuart

Class

7. Grouse Beater

Ha, ha.

We remember all the crap spouted by adversaries of Scotland’s democracy: we will never qualify as members of the EU, they will reject us, we’re too small …

But I also remember JK Rowling’s thin, pathetic excuse for staying under the thumb of English domination, that we’re too woven into the fabric of the UK to be autonomous.

And just look how easily England extricated herself from Europe. Overnight.

What a bunch of sad arsed racists and freeloaders.

8. Xaracen

Aahh! Haha! That’s an absolute cracker! That’s going on my widescreen picture frame right now.

9. cearc

Brilliant!

10. Ken500

Fat lazy, twistered, greedy, corrupt Liam Fox insults others. Has there every been a more useless article? It’s the Tories way for Tory failures. How do they think they are? Maggie Thatcher. The reincarnation. They have learnt nothing but her mistakes.

The Westminster Unionists lowlifes. Determined to try and destroy the world economy so they can trough some more, Truly despicable. They will go out in the wilderness for years. In Scotland. The only place to stand up to Thatcher and her greedy ignorance and lies. Creepy deluded people. Lost in the world. Lost in translation. Trying to take the UK out of the EU will be their final mistake. Enough is enough.

11. Les Wilson

Brilliant, funny, but makes the point very well.The toons will be hard pushed to threaten us now with the EU lies they usually throw against us. One threat struck off, what will be the next one?

12. RenateJ

What a treat! Thanks Chris

13. frogesque

Oh I wish!

Pure dead brilliant yet again Chris.

14. Robert Louis

Great Cartoon.

Changed times indeed. Just skinning some of the English ‘news’ papers, we see International airlines group, which owns BA, Iberia and Aer Lingus, is cutting back on expansion plans for its fleet, due to reduced business travel, following brexit vote etc.. Then we see the shock and outrage, as it is revealed that following brexit people will have to pay for visas to visit some EU countries (just like most people from outside the EU already do- and it is very time consuming).

Then we are told Ryanair are planning to base their new fleet outside the UK.

Now, brexiteers are furious that the person appointed by the EU to lead brexit talks, is no friend of brexiteers. It is staggering this in-bred sense of entitlement which some in especially the South of England seem to have. “how dare they make me get a visa” etc…

It is indeed going to be a hard, hard brexit. Maybe at this late stage, folks in England will wake up to the harsh reality that what they were told by Boris Johnson and Farage, was just a pack of lies.

I’ll not hold my breath.

15. Still Positive.

Absolutely brilliant. Still chuckling!

16. Famous15

You are a bunch of SEPARISTS so you are you team Brexit

17. Macart

Oh, that’s a keeper. 😀 LOL

18. Smallaxe

Wake up Maggie (may) I think I’ve got something to say to you

You’ll have had your Brexfast?

Love it Chris,one of your best!

Peace Always

19. louis.b.argyll

I wonder what they’d eat, at the
    EU BREXIT BREAKFAST. Continental all round?

Before Article 50.. Fine cheeses, sausages and sweetmeats from around Europe.

After leaving.. IMPORTED ARGENTINIAN REFORMED MEAT PASTE with US GENETICALLY MODIFIED TOMATOES.

20. ClanDonald

Yeah, well, where were the EU the first time around when we needed them? Why couldn’t they have said this two years ago?

21. TheItalianJob

Very clever and hilarious.

@Grouse Beater

Good point ref EU entry being near impossible for an Indy Scotland.

Beware the next stage of MSM dirge e.g. how dare a EU rep interfere in another country’s sovereign decision i.e. to leave the EU.

Get the popcorn out. This could be fun.

22. Ken500

3 Ex Tesco directors charged with £300Million of fraud and false accounting. Could go to jail.

The Unionist politicians are guilty of fraud and false accounting of public funds. Off sanctioning and starving the vulnerable and not funding the NHS and social services. Of committing banking fraud, banking fraud and tax evasion. Making false claims and promises and committing electoral fraud. 29+ seats.

23. Marie Clark

Ha ha Chris, that’s a belter son. Have to agree with Macart that is a keeper.

Brilliant.

24. Grouse Beater

Your weekend reading

Bastard banks: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-9zy
    Bastard car companies: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-9xr

25. Ken500

London voted to stay in the EU. It is the Midlands and the North of England, Wales etc who voted to leave. The ones who have most to lose – conned again.

London votes 50/50. There are more Labour MP’s in London than Tory. It is the rest of England (North) who vote Tory. It is the working class Emglish who predominately vote Tory, They voted for Thatcher. There appears to be something wrong with the English education system. Or maybe the water.

26. gighagirl

Je suis European! The unbelievable arrogance of the Brexiteers will bite them on the derriere.

27. galamcennalath

Brilliant Chris 🙂

ClanDonald says:

“Yeah, well, where were the EU the first time around when we needed them?”

My take ….

They won’t interfere in a member’s internal politics. The member was the UK. So they kept quiet with the exception of one minor comment which the MSM blew out of all proportion.

The UK is still a member, but with Brexit it’s becoming a grey area.

After Article 50 they will interfere more, I hope. Alyn Smith made the plea not to ‘let Scotland down’. If we show we are serious about wanting Indy, I believe we will have friends in the EU. WM will have none.

28. Bugger (le Panda)

A cracker Chris.

I see the hidden hand of Juncker in this. He hated Cameron and the British Press and this will be his payback

Beezer!

29. galamcennalath

louis.b.argyll says:

“I wonder what they’d eat”

Good question. One of the many benefits of the EU has been to make food fit for human consumption. My understanding is that large quantities of US food is unsafe to eat, by EU standards.

One tiny example of how things have changed. Now tomato ketchup (and similar products) must be kept in the fridge and consumed reasonably quickly once opened. When I was a kid people left ketchup out all the time. What was in it to allow that? I shudder to think back and consider some of the stuff we consumed then!

30. One_Scot

Not sure how this Brexit farce is going to play out, but would not be surprised in the least if Maggie May bottles her hard line ‘Brexit means Brexit’ stance, and then tries to put the blame on those sweaty Jocks.

31. Geoff Huijer

The new Guy Fawkes?

32. Arabs for Independence

Excellent – even my Norwegian missus thought it was hilarious without me having to explain it.

33. G H Graham

“I say, you can’t do that to us, we’re British!”

The sad, post Empire sense of sneering superiority still whiffs through Westminster & Whitehall like a chronically leaky sewage pipe.

Damn that corrupt, self serving bunch of greedy bastards & be rid of them soon.

34. Smallaxe

For anyone who missed them!

NANA’S LINKS 9:30 am on last thread.

Peace Always

35. Dr Jim

When I lived in Spain I had neighbours who came on holiday from Belgium and we became friends, they spoke Flemish and French and a little English but not so much English but they did speak a little Spanish so between our language differences we communicated very well as did the local Spanish folk who you can’t stop talking and if you don’t get it the sign language is employed
    As time went on their English and Spanish improved and they were very curious about Scottish affairs so I was happy to enlighten them so they were well aware of the differences

Over several years in Spain I became friends with Dutch folk German folk and many many Spanish people and the main reason for it was common bewilderment amongst all these other peoples that the English didn’t like talking to other Nationalities and couldn’t be bothered having at least a go at learning another language or even bits of one yet many of them attended Spanish classes but not with the intention of learning Spanish but as a way of meeting more English folk in order to denounce foreigners for not speaking English

In defence of the English I will say the young English kids and teenagers who live in Spain do learn and when they do their attitude changes from their parents and grandparents and their friends become all races

They say teach your children well but maybe it’s the other way round
    Like here in Scotland some of the oldies would do well to listen to the youngsters, it’s their future Granny and Granda, you’ll have had yours

36. heedtracker

He’s on twitter, nice photo of David Milliband meeting. No doubt Milliband had a lot to tell him BetterTogether wise. Still cant work out why Lab picked the drippy Milliband.

https://twitter.com/GuyVerhofstadt

Brexit means Brexit. So we want nothing whatsoever to change, except freedom of movement. BBC will sell the deal. Stuff the sweaties. Rule Britannia!

37. Smallaxe

gighagirl says:”The unbelievable arrogance of the Brexiteers will bite them on the derriere.”

Peace,Love and Bum biter’s

38. Jeanette McCrimmon

Ironic! Three hundred plus years in the UK and Scotland’s “man” is from the EU.

39. Fergus Green

Memorable Belgians:

Guy Verhofstadt
    Jacques Brel
    Plastique Bertrand

Any other suggestions or honourable mentions?

40. Fergus Green

More Belgians of note:

Tintin
    Kim Clijsters

41. Ken500

Ketchup has a long life date span. In or out of the fidge. Preservatives and sugar. Years. From 2016 17

Volkswagen. – The US has higher car emission starndards. Four time higher than European. TTIP is about reciprocal agreements EU to US. State Governments can prevent US firms (multinationals) from having a trading advantage over EU based firms and consumers. Companies can’t sue States. States can sue companies. States are making the business rules.trade licences etc. Scotland could gain £Billions in equal trade agreements.

The US prevent equal, fair trade by putting up sanctions, tarriffs barriers. They develop, then issues a (restructive) copywriter patent, worldwide the create a monopoly. They can charge what they like and tax evade with impunity and no fair completion. Obtained gain by unequal, restrictive practices. No mutual benefits. TIPPT an attempt to stop that happening.

42. Dcanmore

🙂 ha ha superb, Chris

43. The Tree of Liberty

Yir best ever. Cannie stop laughing, brill.

44. Dcanmore

famous Belgians:

Muscles from Brussels (JC Van Damme)
    Eddie Mercx
    King Leopold II (infamous pillager of the Congo)
    Adolphe Sax
    Rubens
    Eddy Wally
    Django Reinhardt
    Jacky Ickx
    Edda van Heemstra Hepburn-Ruston (Audrey Hepburn)

45. Fred

Fat & Lazy! pots & kettles spring to mind, this from a an EK crook who lies about his age (my buddy was in his class) & should be in the jail if there was any justice! Another Tory carpetbagger with zero chance of ever winning a Scottish seat.

46. galamcennalath

Ken500 says:

“Ketchup has a long life date span. In or out of the fidge. Preservatives and sugar.”

Not nowadays. The one we have in …

Ingredients: Tomatoes, sugar, vinegar, lemon juice, salt, spices.

Refrigerate after opening

…. we have the EU to thank for the improved purity of food IMO. Though it could still be better.

47. Stoker

She May have a superiority complex but our Brussels muscle puts her straight. In the words of Barbara Woodhouse; Sit! Stay! Good Dog! Walkies!

48. Smallaxe

Belgians of note:

Hercule Poirot:
    Jan van Eyck:
    Adolfe Sax: Creator of the Saxophone:
    Georges Simenon: Creator of Maigret.

Peace,Love and Google

49. Flower of Scotland

Really fantastic Chris. I’ve shared this picture far and wide.

The EU now says after Brexit, we in UK will have to have visas to enter Europe and pay for them like the ESTA system in the USA..

This is for security, seemingly. Ha,ha.

50. Socrates MacSporran

Notable Belgians – how about the most-troublesome Belgian of all: Jean-Marc Bosman, the footballer who forced through the “Bosman Ruling”.

51. Lochside

The Belgians. …’a great bunch of lads’ as Father Ted might have said.

52. Smallaxe

Belgians of note: I nearly forgot these two Adventurers

Selective Listening,Post.

Smallaxe says:
    6 September, 2016 at 7:42 am
    @ Rich ard MacKinnon:

Tin Tin Tomkin’s is looking for his lap dog

See “Snowy” MacKinnon.

Peace Always

53. Ken500

Countries who accept immigrates do not expect the 1st generation to integrate as fully but the subsequent generations, intergrate more. It is a question of common respect and tolerance.

54. North chiel

” onescot ” at 0948 yes we are continually fed the ” hard Brexit ” line by the propagandists, when in fact a ” very soft” Brexit would suit Maggie may very well. Of course if this comes to pass no doubt the propagandists will thus inform us that ” Scotland had to be accommodated” and thus now absolutely no need for Indyref 2 .Perhaps Nicola should take the strongest line possible and insist on close as possible to full EU citizenship for Scots ( as well as access to single market),with some sort of immigration arrangement with EU ( different from Westminster), as a minimum.Time for Edinburgh to have some sort of control over immigration within the EU concept.

55. louis.b.argyll

galamcennalath..
    Scotland should be able to remain within EU FOOD STANDARDS (and the peace of mind it offers consumers) by enforcing a RISK ASSESSMENT on possible damage to OUR existing markets.

SCOTLAND HAS MORE WORLD-CLASS FOOD AND DRINK PRODUCTS THAN ANY OTHER NATION OF 5 MILLION.

56. Nana

Brilliant cartoon Chris. Mr Verhofstadt looking well chuffed behind his desk.

57. cearc

Very important Belgian, Mendel (peas) father of modern genetics..

58. HandandShrimp

I think it would be fair to say that the Brexit Yoons are not too pleased about Paul’s appointment.

It also indicates that the EU isn’t in the mood to play patsie to May’s Brexit “A Team” (cough).

59. Ken500

Heinz Tomato Ketchup. Out of date 1/12/16. Last for 8 weeks opened. Keep refrigerated. Probably to make consumers buy more.

Tomatoes (148g per 100g Tomato Ketchup), Spirit Vinegar. Sugar, Salt, Spice, and Herb Extracts, (contains Cerery), Spice.

Carbohydrates 23.2g – per serving 3.5g
    Of which sugar 22.8g – ” ” 3.4g

There are unbelieveable (dangerous?) amounts of sugar. 6 teaspoons in fizzy drinks. Small chocolate bars etc. Process foods.

60. Fergus Green

Some more eminent Belgians:

Rene Magritte
    Jeanine Deckers (the singing nun)

61. Dan Huil

Great cartoon.

@North chiel 10:52am Good point. In dealings with the EU Scotland should act as if it was already independent.

62. Albert Herring

Des musicians belges:

Josquin des Prez
    César Franck
    Eugène Ysaÿe
    Arthur Grumiaux

63. Lollysmum

Mr Cairns you have exceeded your usual high standards to present us with a real corker of a toon.Thank you Chris a lol to start a Saturday morning can’t be bad 🙂

64. Dan Huil

Ysaye Ysaye Ysaye, what do you call a Belgian who composed, amongst many other things, the brilliant Six sonatas for solo violin, Op27?

65. Dr Jim

People get introduced on the telly or radio in Scotland as Independence or SNP supporters and the media make sure that’s pointed out
    But opponents of these things don’t get introduced as such in the same way as if their position is the legitimate and accepted one

I will wait with baited breath for when the media start introducing the new Belgian negotiator Mr Verhofstadt as a long time SNP and Independence for Scotland supporter and friend of Nicola Sturgeon in the hope of removing that mans credibility

We should open a book to see who does it first

Nicola’s cosy coffee and “chocolate” with Mr Verhofstadt
    Nicola’s Belgian Waffle with Verhofstadt “in secret”

We know they like inverted commas, good drama, emphasis and the “Ooooh” factor

66. Tinto Chiel

As usual I’m impressed with the knowledge displayed by Wingers, as here with famous Belgians.

I seem to remember a running joke from Monty Python (those jolly Oxbridge/Establishment licensed clowns) which simply consisted of repeating the line “Bloody Belgian Bastards”.

I think that just sums up their outdated and offensive Imperial view.

“You foreigners just can’t take a joke…….”

67. AuldReekieJim

Brilliant cartoon Chris

Has anyone sent this to Mr Verhofstadt?

68. Fergus Green

David Guetta
    Justine Henin
    Charles Loos

69. galamcennalath

Dr Jim says:

“… as if their position is the legitimate and accepted one”

Oh yes. We must never underestimate the spread and strength of English/British Nationalism. The sense of entitlement and exceptionalism ensures its special status, at all times.

Those who chose to deviate from the previously unchallenged near universal UKOK belief system are usually treated with suspicion and even feared as a threat.

Hopefully it will be all over soon 🙂

70. dakk

Cracker Chris !

Hopefully this is a statement of intent and a demonstration of solidarity with Scotland(and Northern Ireland),in our quest to remain citizens of the European Union.

71. heedtracker

BREXIT
    Migration curbs won’t apply to bankers, says Hammond
    Sam Coates, Deputy Political Editor
    September 9 2016, 12:01am,
    The Times

Woohoo!

72. heedtracker

‘He hates all we stand for’ Fanatical EU federalist made Brussels’ Brexit negotiator

ANGER erupted last night after a fanatical supporter of EU integration was given a key Brussels role in the forthcoming Brexit negotiations.

By MACER HALL AND KATIE MANSFIELD
    PUBLISHED: 04:18, Fri, Sep 9, 2016 | UPDATED: 07:56, Fri, Sep 9, 2016

Well, he did tell EU parliament that the Leave poster with massing refugees and that turd Farage in front of it, was like Nazi propaganda. So he probably doesn’t take the Daily Express. Its for far right rule Britannia zoomers and bottom feeders mostly.

73. louis.b.argyll

Chocolate, that’s Belgian isn’t it.?
    Or is it Swiss..?

And will we have ‘British Bananas?

Really bent ones.

74. X_Sticks

Bill Hume says:

“Bloody cheapskate…..50p per flag.”

They’re going cheap because they are near their sell by date 😉

75. heedtracker

And will we have ‘British Bananas?

Really bent ones.

When Bomber Blair and Crash Gordo, greatest ever socialist workers, completely fcuked off the EU Working Time Directive, Farage probably began to think he really could become the greatest living English man, ever.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/4540531.stm

Now held in the Hague awaiting trial for crimes against humanity Bomber Blair, said the UK would have enough EU support to block a measure he called “wrong” and “completely misguided”.

At his first news conference since the election, Mr Blair said he had “no intention” of abolishing the UK opt-out from the 48-hour working week limit.

European MPs voted this week to phase out the opt-out over three years.

Referendum timing

Mr Blair said: “We’ve got to have a fundamental debate in Europe about the direction Europe wants to go..”

I added a bit.

76. defo

Great toonage again Chris.

What brave/blind fellow gave Cruella thon pearl necklace ?

77. Smallaxe

Bad Belgians:a’m Feart noo.

Nordine Ben Allal-multiple escapes
    Madani Bouhouche-Former Gendarme Various crimes inc.two Murders
    Pierre Carette – terrorist
    Kim De Gelder-Attacked Nursery 3 Killed 12 Mutilated
    Marc Dutroux – rapist and serial killer
    Denis L. Feron – former CEO of Chemetco who fled the United States to avoid environmental charges
    Patrick Haemers-Robber and Kidnapper
    Murat Kaplan- Driver for above kidnapping
    Hans Van Themsche-Shot 3 people,killed two and severely 1
    Robert Jan Verbelen (1911–1990) – Nazi collaborator and murderer of businessman Alexandre Galopin

Peace,Love and Big Fearties.

78. deewal

Great cartoon Chris. Love the bonnet and hair.

79. Macbeda

Belgium

Just a normal country with all sorts living in it.

They like the Scottish Regiments who fought for them in WW1 though. I remember speaking to a Belgian colleague and history buff. He waxed lyrical when I told him my uncle fought in the Black Watch in WW1.

Great guy, very pro Scotland.

80. gus1940

Brilliant Cartoon Chris.

I know that Ian Hislop is a BT Fan but Chris’s cartoons are so good how about submitting some pf them to The Eye.

It is generally accepted that a majority of MPs are Remain supporters.

Surely amongst those MPs who have been lucky in the draw for Private Members’ Bills there must be at least one Remain supporter.

If that is the case could one of the lucky ones not bring forward a Private Members’ Bill either calling for a rerun of the Euro Ref. or reject the Brexit result.

81. Valerie

Haha, great toon.

However, Mr Verhofstadt is soon to be the least of the PM s worries 🙂

Gisela Stuart is reassembling the old posse of Leave morons, and rebranding it Change Britain. They are concerned about Ms May backsliding.

EU officials say Whitehall civil servants are still in chaos, and completely unprepared for Brexit. That rings true, because they do after all, need direction from the top, they are servants to the government.

The Australian style points system that has been dumped, was apparently always a dupe, but it tested very well with focus groups.

Remember, our Independence is a big job, and we need the Tories, and their superior attitudes, sense of entitlement and low IQ.

82. Bugger (le Panda)

Georges Simenon

King Baudoin

83. Capella

Good choice of negotiator. The Daily Express now incandescent over the EU negotiating team. Afraid you won’t be getting a cartoon commission from them Chris!

“He has also said that Scotland should be allowed to stay in the EU independent of the rest of the UK, despite several senior European leaders categorically ruling such a scenario out.”

How dare he!

https://archive.is/hM7hT

Also, on Bella Caledonia, there’s a good explanation of the IndyApp which some may have contributed to. Looks like a good networking tool.
    http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2016/09/05/the-nyr-indyapp-appeal/

84. Smallaxe

Dan Huil says:
    10 September, 2016 at 11:13 am
    “Ysaye Ysaye Ysaye, what do you call a Belgian who composed, amongst many other things, the brilliant Six sonatas for solo violin, Op27?”

Violin Virtuoso Eugene Ysaye!

Peace,Love and Awaiting Prizes

85. Brian Doonthetoon

Excellent cartoon Chris!

86. liz

Great cartoon Chris,

It’s about time we had something positive.

Re the express and ruling against GV, usual made up nonsense from the Yoon press

87. Smallaxe

Macbeda says:”Belgium”
    “They like the Scottish Regiments who fought for them in WW1 I told him my uncle fought in the Black Watch in WW1.”

My grandfather fought in Ypres,with the Gordon Highlanders

Peace,Love and A Gordon for me. 🙂

88. Luigi

In 2014, they had Barosso.

My, how the tables have turned!

They don’t like it up em. :):):)

89. Chic McGregor

Je suis Jimmy.

Interesting to hear the commentariat yesterday on May’s call for a meritocracy. Some inferred that every new PM does this. A lie.

They haven’t dared to come out with any such recidivistic notions for decades. Not publicly at least.

Danger Will Robinson.

90. Tinto Chiel

Macbeda, you might like this.

http://www.edinburghs-war.ed.ac.uk/sites/default/files/pdf_51st_Highland_Div_Sketches.pdf

Verhofstadt and Juncker are really good going to stick it to the Tories but Maggie and her cronies don’t seem to see it yet.

It’s just a matter of time.

Chris, you caught the tooth-space and specs perfectly. Great drawing.

91. Graf Midgehunter

smallaxe says:

“My grandfather fought in Ypres,with the Gordon Highlanders”

My scottish great uncle was with the 1st Gordons and fell near Monch-le-Preux in April 1917.

My english great uncle was with the 10th West Yorks and fell on the first day of the Somme attacking Fricourt.

I unfortunately never got to meet them… 🙁

92. Chic McGregor

“Chris, you caught the tooth-space and specs perfectly. Great drawing.”

Aye, but it is also weirdly reminiscent of Craig Murray, even though the two do not look the least alike in RL.

93. Artyhetty

Excellent image, good to have you back Chris!

Ah, brexit, well well well, the brexiters are not happy, and who can they blame now, let’s see now.

O/T but related.

Read a report of the very recent and dreadful murder of a 40yr old Polish man in Harlow, Essex, in the New Statesman yesterday. He was just getting a pizza and was attacked and killed by 6 youths.
    It is harrowing especially adding to that, the reporter tells of many racist attacks, even being victim himself while visiting, being shouted at and called ‘paki’. It is so bad that non english speaking mothers are scared to talk to their kids on the bus. The place sounds absolutely dreadful, for anyone who is not english, scary indeed.

Not sure if allowed to share articles from the N.Statesman, but can if anyone wants to read about that, has it been reported in the state run media?

94. Vambomarbeley

Not just the saxophone. He also invented the saxhorn family. E flat cornet, B flat cornet, E flat tenor horn, B flat baritone horn, Euphonium, E flat bass, B flat bass. This is the main make up of the brass band. Also gives your orchestral tubas.
    So there you go. Important to learn some thing new every day. Which is why I visit wings every day.

95. Sinky

Not O/T Great family day event with music, speeches, food and drink stalls etc.

Edinburgh in Europe event – Sunday 11th September – Bruntsfield Links – 12noon – 4.30pm

This is a free event, celebrating Edinburgh’s role in Europe through its cultural ties, communities and outward-looking attitude. We aim to celebrate those communities who have come to Scotland and settled, finding a home and contributing so much to the life of the city and our fellow Scots. The event will also be looking to the future and where we will find ourselves in Europe.

There will be several high-profile speakers, including Alyn Smith MEP, Tommy Sheppard MP, Joanna Cherry QC MP, and Minister for International Development and Europe, Dr Alasdair Allan MSP. There will also be live music and community acts, and entertainment from former Makar, Liz Lochhead. There will also be an opportunity to ‘Meet the Artist’ with a stall from renowned Indy artist Stewart Bremner.

As well as food, beer and sales stalls, a language tent, Councillor’s Surgery, children’s activities and crafts, there will also be bands throughout the day, playing an eclectic Continental mix, and including an Open Air Dashing White Sergeant and Strip the Willow!

All are welcome to this vibrant occasion!

96. Valerie

@artyhetty

Here is that article, it is very shocking. I think it illustrates in a scary way how things are. A black man just doing his job as a reporter, enduring several racist verbal assaults.

We need out. I am very fearful of this coming to our country, because it is a virus.

http://archive.is/8zK0e

97. Smallaxe

Graf Midgehunter says:”I unfortunately never got to meet them…”

My condolences Graf,Heroes all, I was lucky enough to have my grandfather until I was around 17rs old,He was machine gunned
    in the legs twice,sent back to the front once healed, and gassed.

He did not talk about his ordeal much,but he did share some
    funny and sometimes harrowing memories with me (eldest grandson). I still have his Army and Wound papers and I was
    named after him.What a tragedy for that whole generation.
    USELESS WARS!

Peace,Love and Heroes at peaceful rest

98. RogueCoder

Anyone going to the “Edinburgh in Europe” event at Bruntsfield Links tomorrow? ayeMail will be there with a stall stuffed with mugs, badges and posters! 🙂

Alyn Smith MEP, Tommy Sheppard MP, Joanna Cherry QC MP, and Minister for International Development and Europe, Dr Alasdair Allan MSP

Organised by SNP Edinburgh Southern.

https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/edinburgh-in-europe-tickets-27112646656

99. Smallaxe

Vambomarbeley says:
    10 September, 2016 at 1:34 pm
    “Not just the saxophone.”

Show aff,your blawin yer Ain trumpet noo. 🙂

You are spot on re.Wings teaching us something new every day.

Peace,Love and Wings University

100. Capella

O/T Max Keiser on the fall in the value of oil and the Scottish economy. Mixed up beween Scottish and Westminster but does realise that Westminster pockets all the money. Also, the Chinese buying up 10% of the oil fields as a strategic investment. Sold, of course, by Westminster along with £2b sweetener.

Second part is on Scotcoin with David Low from Glasgow. Sets up a “Start laughing” project to bring comics to Glasgow. David was a NO voter on account of the currency uncertainty.

https://www.rt.com/shows/keiser-report/357843-episode-max-keiser-961/

101. Cuilean

I caught BBC2’s program (Sunday 4 September 8 pm), ‘A Very British Deterrent,’ detailing the machinations between Tory PM Harold MacMillan & the USA in 1960, on the beginnings of the UK’s nuclear power. It never was and never will be an independent power as this program clearly shows.

Did anyone else catch it? It made my blood boil, even though Holy LOch closed in 1992.

Most strikingly, the US ‘Holy Loch’ navy base was sited a mere 25m from Glasgow to give US sailors quick access to a big city! The US navy could not station its best personnel in the ‘middle of nowhere’ at Loch Linhne feebly cited by MacMillan as a base further safely away from the UK’s 3rd largest city at that time!

So a handful of sailors shore leave was more important than saving half of Scotland’s population from a nuclear wipeout or accident! Gee, we didn’t know you cared USA/GB!

In 1960 there were 38 Scottish Labour MPs and 31 Tory MPs. There were no SNP MPs.

Such a deal could never happen today with the SNP in power. having nuclear weapons dumped on us without wany warning would be a ‘material change’ I am sure! But no SNP MPs back in 1960! Pity. [THis is why I will, (come what may, May) always vote SNP].

In the 1964 Gen Election, MacMillan’s Tories were booted out by Labour. In Scotland, the result was 43 Labour MPs to 24 Tory MPs. Labour increased its seats because its leader, Harold Wilson, promised to remove nuclear weapons from the UK. Hah! We’re still waiting! Just like they promised to abolish the House of Lords – but I digress.

Labour reneged on that promise to Scotland just as they have reneged ever since, putting party interests before Scotland’s interests. The feeble 43 Scottish Labour MPs quietly forgot about getting rid of nukes, as voted for by the people of Scotland, when the Labour Parliamentary Party told them to ‘dae as yer telt, & feck the people – they mugs will aye vote for us’.

Because of these secret deals (no public consultations)! Scotland went from, in 1955, having no Soviet weapons aimed against us, to being the No 1 Soviet Bloc target in Western Europe.

Lastly, the program confirms, straight from Harold MacMillan’s mouth, what Yessers and CND have always held to be true; that the UK nuclear arsenal inception was simply a Westminster vanity project, so they can pretend to strut the world stage as a major player.

Nothing changes, does it?

Well. Scotland has changed. One more push will finally rid us of this terrible, evil union once and for all. It has been a long time coming. A lang, lang road, o’er lang.

102. Artyhetty

re;Valerie@1.39

Thanks Valerie, for the archived link to the article about the murder of the Polish man in Harlow, Essex. It is very worrying, and sounds like the stuff of witch trials, with whispers, no one wanting to talk about it etc, talking through letter boxes only, ffs. Chilling indeed.

I agree we need out of this backward union, and we will be.

103. Ann

One word. BRILLIANT

104. heedtracker

How did the queens eleven get on? And is it safe to go into Glasgow shopping right now, am supposed to be on a double date with my Slovene girlfriend but he wont answer his phone.

Not even a tweet

https://twitter.com/ProfTomkins

105. Cherry

@Artyhetty and Valerie

‘re the racist attacks…I tried to put up link but was unable to post….change dot org sent me a petition to sign asking China Air to remove a warning in their passenger magazine. It was telling tourists/visitors to be aware that in London there is growing violence towards Asian,African and anyone not speaking English… I didn’t sign the petition as I think visitors should know.

106. Proud Cybernat

Sublime ‘toon, Chris.

Bombing above our weight…

http://imgur.com/a/pO4YD

107. Proud Cybernat

The Big Man’s no’ pleased…

http://imgur.com/a/qRoWx

108. Alastair

Could have been singing as she arrives – “Scotland, come in come in, its nice to see you.”
    O Trezzy you’ll have had your tea!

109. Tam Jardine

The difficulty arises from perception. The people of Scotland (or at least yes voters and our government does) understand our position in the world- we understand our strengths and weaknesses. And we aspire to improve that position.

We know we are a relatively small country with a lot to contribute.

I get no feeling that Westminster understands England’s place in the world and the shadow cast by empire is long. Hence the EU was only palatable with special status- vetos and rebates. The idea that someone like Mr Verhofstadt should have any degree of power over the outcome of Brexit is completely counter to the whole idea of the sovereign UK.

And the idea that someone in a position of power should happen to be behind Scotland remaining in the EU against the wishes of Westminster is like an aberration.

Brexit is essential as part of the process by which England finally comes to terms with the modern world and her role in it. Just as it is essential to Scotland moving forward and establishing herself as a fresh, new progressive, modern country adapting to a changing world.

This economic self inflicted head shot is going to bring about much needed changes to the structure of the UK and will hopefully crush the tories in due course.

It will be intestine to watch the attempt to demonise Mr Verhofstadt in the coming weeks and months. The plates are shifting

110. Ken500

Celtic 5 Rangers1?

Anither riot. Helicopters out. They should pay for it. More expense for the taxpayers for the appalling sectarian behaviour. Extra policing on the streets. Glasgw is better than that. Ruining the local economy by exclusive, unequa!, sexist, racist associations.

111. Ken500

The UK s being taken out of the UK by a minority against the majority wishes. Anti Democratic. Westminster dosen’t do Democracy or equality and fairness. Just an abuse of power and resentments.

112. Smallaxe

heedtracker says:
    10 September, 2016 at 2:45 pm
    How did the queens eleven get on? And is it safe to go into Glasgow shopping right now

You probably know by now,But

Queens 11/1
    Other team 5.

There’s gonna be Trouble,right there in river city

Peace Always

113. Stoker

Who wants to shove this over the £1k marker? Any takers?
    Sold….to the lady in the lobby….Treesa Green May!
    https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/peep-the-beeb#/

114. uno mas

Just logged on and see that we have been naming famous Belgians today and with some notable inclusions.

Well done Wingers, hope we haven´t been cheating and looking up the interwebby thing!!

Couple of my own favorites are….

The Three De Grees.

Peter the oldest and the twins Frank and Bart, all played for the international football team during the 1980´s although disappointingly never in the same side.

And of course no compilation of famous Belgians would be complete without the inclusion of Ms Artois better known to her friends and family as Stella.

P.S. Good shout Socrates Macsporran on Bosnam the most talked about footballer of his generation.

115. call me dave

I see a more truhful account in the Herald after Auntie tried to do a sleight of hand trick yesterday.

Edinburgh trams would not have happened if problems had been foreseen, says former Lord Provost Eric Milligan

https://archive.is/d94DB

Auntie said this:

https://archive.is/bYLNc

Maybe that’s why a labour ex-councillor, who is a psychic, is being touted as a candidate at the next elections. 🙂

116. Kevin Evans

Famous Belgians,

Jean zimmer – the inventor of the walking frame for the elderly.
    Naw am joking.

Tin tin is Belgian.

117. Cactus

Yeah, being in Europe’s where it’s at.

Good continuing luck to Scotland, Ireland, Wales, England, other European countries and the rest of the world at the Rio Paralympic Games 2016.

We live on a small planet.

118. Gary45%

Another Classic Chris, nice one. Wee shout for the Aye2Aye shop in Fort Wullie, wee visit this afternoon, nice folk and Indy merchandise.

119. Stoker

Ken500 (@4:19pm)

Where are you getting your info from? “Anither riot?”
    I’ve been avoiding the radio all day because i can’t be arsed hearing anything about “this great fixture Scotland has missed.”

Since reading your post, and seeing the damage done to one of the toilet blocks (pictures on WOS Twitter) i’ve been scouring all the media sources i can but zilch.

The BBC text service states only that it was a toilet block at the visitors end of Celtic Park which was “damaged” (it was wrecked – almost demolished) and Police Scotland issued a statement confirming that Celtic are dealing with it as an internal matter.

The police go on to state that one person was arrested for alcohol related offences and that the majority of fans were well behaved. I momentarily thought i was being pulled back in time. Deja vu all over again and again and again and again and….

Several years ago there was an almost identical performance when the same toilet block (or was it at the coup, Hampden?) was trashed beyond use. It was the same red, white and blue lot and in amongst their number there was an off duty cop caught smashing the place up. Funny that, never did hear any more about it.

The problem can be taken care of more or less over night. No fecking around, hammer the culprits’ team with a massive bill and 3-points deduction unless those responsible are turned over to the police.

120. handclapping

Guy clever, Chris. Well done.

121. Rock

Verhofstadt is a Belgian unionist.

What will Belgium’s “separatists” make of it if he appears to be supporting the Scottish “separatists”?

122. David Mills

Looks like EU has no intension to abandon Scotland

123. mumsyhugs

Aye you can just hear our man in Strasbourg – “Come in – you’ll have had yer tea then?”

124. crazycat

@ Cherry at 3.05

It isn’t violence towards Londoners of black or Asian origin that Air China was warning against – see https://archive.is/EnOx6.

The guidance was suggesting that “precautions are needed when entering areas mainly populated by Indians, Pakistanis and black people”.

Sadiq Khan wasn’t impressed and the offending text has been withdrawn.

125. Breeks

We shouldn’t be too complacent about Mr Verhofstadt, although I couldn’t be happier about his appointment.

Nevertheless, the will for Scotland to remain in Europe might not be enough to make it happen. An intractable precondition of EU membership will be Nation status, and that is Nation status we would be very wise to have secured BEFORE the UK exits Europe.

The chronology is important, because Nation status for Scotland declared any time after Britains exit, will without any prior arrangement mean an application to rejoin Europe.

IF I’m correct, perhaps the essence of what Mr Verohofstadt has said not so much based on his personal affinity for Scotland, but is more roundly based upon the continuity of Scots being EU citizens in both the before and after states of our Independence referendum. If that continuity is broken, and we become non-citizens, even for a moment, then our membership becomes a whole different ball game. There is no mechanism to strip us of our citizenship, but if Brexit happens with Scotland still attached to the current UK then our EU citizenship will be forfeit.

If people think Brexit is running a tight schedule, our schedule is even tighter because we have to squeeze a referendum AND our UK exit negotiations into the same timeframe. Now I don’t know, I’m not entirely sure that Westminster will engage with our timetable, nor indeed our objective. They can’t stop us, but they could drag things out for badness, which brings me back to the credible prospect of a pre-Brexit UDI – the actual point Independence is declared.

If we manage one, that is a successful Indyref for independence, it is possible, only possible mind you, that the EU could give us more time to formalise our departure from the UK by means of the holding pen status discussed, but I fear anywhere short of a YES result, and there may be nothing which Mr Verhofstadt and our other allies in Europe can do to hold on to us.

To be as certain as we can be that we stay in Europe, we should be prepared for a snap referendum, and some fancy footwork to get our UK exit negotiations ahead of the queue for Brexit negotiations.

Don’t want to be alarmist, but there is a genuine matter of urgency here. Before Europe can help us, we need to help ourselves. Our signature on any agreement means nothing until and unless it is backed up by our properly recognised sovereign authority.

Article 50 has the default setting if there isn’t an agreement signed within two years, the member state is out. If Scotland is in similar type exit negotiations with Westminster, then we do not have the same guillotine on our negotiations with Westminster as Europe has with Brexit, but a great deal might depend on our own exit negotiations being substantially complete before the Brexit deadline.

The bottom line is, by signed treaty or UDI, Scotland needs sovereign nation status before the sand runs out on Brexit.

Theresa May is stuck between a rock and a hard place with Brexit, but I earnestly hope we are making ready in this calm before the storm. Events when they start moving will move quickly, and time might be too short already.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.