On their way

Posted on May 21, 2015 by

Sorry for the wait, readers, but having fancy custom stuff made simply takes time.

wbbses

However, we’re delighted to report that all of the donor perks for our 2015 fundraiser are now in our possession, and will be winging their way out to generous contributors over the next few days.

2015badges

It’s actually still possible to snag yourself some of this tasty loot – simply click the link in the paragraph above and you can make a donation and qualify for the hardback, foil-blocked special-edition Wee Blue Books or gold- and silver-plated badges, along with other goodies like our referendum card game or the super-exclusive ad cards that were banned from the Glasgow Subway.

If you’ve already contributed, however, or if you’d simply rather fund some other worthy people instead or as well as Wings, you may also like to consider firing a few quid at these commendable causes:

LEFT: SCOTLAND

The excellent Stephen Paton’s video channel has only a day of its fundraiser left to run, and as we write is £5,740 short of its goal.

NEWS SCOTLAND CIC

Producers of the superb Dateline Scotland and the NewsShaft podcast, Jack Foster, James Devoy and Carolyn Scott have just come off a groundbreaking live nine-hour general election show and need £7,765 for Pro-Plus and vitamin supplements. (And, we expect, more top-grade broadcast content.)

INDEPENDENCE LIVE

Kevin Gibney and his team provide an invaluable service in putting out very high-quality live streams of events that the mainstream media don’t cover. As we write they’re looking for another £4,443 to be able to carry on.

BELLA CALEDONIA

The long-running site is £36,327 away from its target to continue into 2016.

As they say: don’t hate the media, become the media. And if you’re a bit too busy to become the media yourself, ponder whether it’s not worth a pound or two to get other people to do it for you.

1. 21 05 15 11:33

On their way | Speymouth

144 to “On their way”

1. kendomacaroonbar

With your permission Stu, may I take this opportunity to fly our own flag for iScot Magazine which is now publishing it’s 6th issue on 01st June.

We don’t have a fundraiser on the go, but would like people to investigate and buy our £3.99 monthly iScot magazine – details of local suppliers can be found on our website http://iscot.scot

Yours aye

Kendomacaroonbar

2. ianbeag

Impressive magazine, beautifully produced and a great read – recommended.

3. bookie from hell

David Cockburn UKIP

#SNP land grab is pure poison to Libertarians An assault on private property Communism
    11:31am – 21 May 15

4. lenny hartley

Got to agree Iscot is brilliant

5. Thepnr

Thanks Rev for highlighting some of the worthy causes that make us the media.

@kendomacaroonbar

Well done on getting to your sixth issue, I’ve kept them all. They will be treasured, great magazine supporting an Independent Scotland.

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Kendo: fixed your comment to be a link 🙂

7. Helena Brown

@kendomacaroonbar, We eagerly await your new issues of the Iscot, to everyone who has not tried it please do, it is a good read, well produced and well worth the money. It cost the same as all those glossy mags for Home and Garden but much more interesting. It also includes the Wee Ginger Dug so another good reason for getting in at the beginning.

8. iheartScotland

Rev,
    For giving people a voice that would otherwise never be heard in the MSM.
    Thanks…..

9. Cactus

Looking bonnie.

Speaking of bonnie, here’s a 5-minute video called Bonnie Scotland.. starring the original Jack & Victor 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fva-dgVGoLc

10. Kendomacaroonbar

@Rev Stu Thank you very much – greatly appreciated ! Hope to see you contribute to the mag someday ?

Also, thanks for all the kind words from our auld friends. We have a VIP contributor next issue out on 01st June… oh, and a new website… pls follow us on Twitterland and that book of faces thingee too.

11. Sinky

Well done to all contributors.

O/T At FMQs exchanges on Education, Nicola Sturgeon should have mentioned that when the SNP proposed to scrap Labour’s back door student fees it was opposed by every Labour and Tory MSP.

12. call me dave

Mr Kelly ‘labour MSP’ ‘point of order’

“The FM is taking too long to answer the questions (25minutes) and not leaving time for other MSP’s to hold the FM to account”.

Marwick: I will have a look at the thing with the appropriate officers and party representatives! 🙂

I’m sure we all want the likes of MR Kelly & Mr Gray etal to ask those searching questions we all remember.

Kelly on social housing…?
    Gray on the oil fund…..?

Oh Aye! we can hardly wait on questions like these gems to be repeated.

13. Lollysmum

Thanks for the news on perks Rev & thanks to all those indy news gatherers & distributors for all that you do in keeping those of us who don’t live in Scotland in touch with what’s happening there.

My thanks to you all.

14. bob sinclair

Stu,

I do hope you’re going to sign all those Wee Blue Books 🙂

15. Joemcg

Any pointers please to which shops in Edinburgh stock the iscot mag? Cannot find the list on website.

16. kendomacaroonbar

@Joemcg

Joe, look at the header on the website and click on ‘WHERE TO BUY’ then enter your postcode.. let me know how you get on.

17. call me dave

@kendomacaroonbar

Just signed up for the digital version, being meaning to for a while… looking forward to a good read. 🙂

18. HandandShrimp

Yay! In all the excitement I had forgotten about these.

19. Lesley-Anne

I apologise in advance for the accompanying link. 😉

Some bright spark may have already put up this link last night but just in case they haven’t here is a link on the BBC Scotland News site about a certain news programme, something about news a reporter and some place called Scotland I believe, winningan award at the Royal Television Society Scotland awards.

Reporting Scotland won the award for best news programme and was praised for its “natural authority”.
    The judges said the programme highlighted the “wide-ranging skills of the BBC team in reporting, investigation and commentary”.
    😀 😀 😀

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-32821612

I damned near spilled my latenight cup of tea all over myself when I read that last night! 😛

20. heraldnomore

oh look, moaning Michelle’s off, leaving Scotland despite the union…

21. Lesley-Anne

Can I ask through these pages for everyone to hold a minute’s silence in memory of two well known and well *ahem* loved individuals.

Firstly can we please hold a minute’s silence for the upcoming loss to Scotland of someone called Michele Mone. 😀

As we all know she promised to leave Scotland in 2007 if the S.N.P. won the 2007 Scottish General Election. Well … they did … and she didn’t! 🙂 Apparently trhough she now is going to leave. 😛

http://peterabell.tumblr.com/post/119514773169/michelle-mone-im-moving-away-from-scotland

Secondly can we please hold a minute’s silence for all those lovely huge land owners we all know and *cough* love so very much. It appears that our dear, dear Lord and Master, a certain DavidCameron, has a father in law who falls into this category. They are rather dismayed that the Scottish government is looking into large land ownership. 😛

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/05/21/david-camerons-estate-owning-father-in-law-snp-mugabe-style-land-grab-rural-scotland_n_7349918.html?1432207881&ncid=tweetlnkushpmg00000067

22. Grizzle McPuss

From the film Airplane, I think Dr Rumack (Leslie Neilson) says it all…

“Well, I don’t have anything to say, you’ve done the best you could. You really have, the best you could. You can’t expect to win em all.

But, I want to tell you something I’ve kept to myself through these years.

I was in the war myself, medical corps. I was on late duty one night when they brought in a badly wounded pilot from one of the raids. He could barely talk. He looked at me and said,

“The odds were against us up there, but we went in anyway, I’m glad the Captain made the right decision.” The pilot’s name was George Zip”

…” The last thing he said to me, “Doc,” he said, “some time when the crew is up against it, and the breaks are beating the boys, tell them to get out there and give it all they got and win just one for the Zipper. I don’t know where I’ll be then, Doc,” he said, “but I won’t smell too good, that’s for sure.”

Thanks Rev, unlike George Zip, we live to fight on.

23. Joemcg

Cheers Kendo, easy peasy! What a good website! The one in London road will do the trick, thanks.

24. fionan

@kendomacaroonbar

I thoroughly enjoyed my first three issues of iscot mag, and would continue to buy it, but sadly you don’t appear to post it abroad (France/EU) or I would renew subscription. Digital subs just aren’t the same. Any plans to expand through eu so we reluctant economic refugees and exiles can access the glossy hard copies? I would gladly pay extra for postage if I could continue to get hard copy. And well done, the mag is splendid!

25. kendomacaroonbar

@fionan

Hi Fiona, We do ship directly from our printers but it’s a fully automated shipping process postage franked for the UK. I need to check the postage cost to France – sometimes it’s more than the price of the magazine TBH send me your contact details on ken@iscot.scot and let’s see if we can work something out ?

26. Lesley-Anne

Just a wee heads up folks.

Anyone in Glasgow on Saturday best make sure they are well clear of the route from the city centre to Glasgow Green before 4:30 p.m. There is to be a sectarian march happening then. 🙁

http://news.stv.tv/west-central/1321171-thousands-expected-at-loyalist-parade-through-glasgow-city-centre/

27. Mealer

I only recently worked out what BLT means in the culinary context.I know what LGB stands for and was thus easily able to work out what LGBT means,but I’m struggling to what the “I” stands for in the latest incarnation.Can anyone help?

28. kendomacaroonbar

@Mealer it means intersex

29. Lesley-Anne

Mealer says:

I only recently worked out what BLT means in the culinary context.I know what LGB stands for and was thus easily able to work out what LGBT means,but I’m struggling to what the “I” stands for in the latest incarnation.Can anyone help?

I am guessing that you mean “I” in the context of LGBTI Mealer. 😉

I believe it may stand for Intersex. i.e. someone who neither describes themselves as male or female.

30. crazycat

@ Mealer

Intersex – not the same as transgender; I looked it up recently and the Wikipedia article is quite comprehensive if you want to know more than just what it stands for!

31. Mealer

Lesley Anne 1.45
    Bring it on! But don’t let it distract us from our efforts to help those who need help most.Nor divert funds from that essential work.

32. crazycat

Ah; too slow again! (Not that I mind.)

33. SquareHaggis

@kendo,

How would one go about purchasing all of you fine editions in one go?
    Can I do this from the website?

Cheers

34. Mealer

Thanks folks.Intersex it is! I feel a bit more “with it” now.

35. Lollysmum

@ Kendo
    Just went to your site & then remembered why I didn’t sign up before. You have to have a Paypal account & I won’t use that company under any circumstances having lost money through them before.

Happy to pay for a year’s subscription direct by phone using Visa debit card or other method (cheque?) just not willing to use Paypal.

36. Stone-Circle(MKU)

Does anyone who donated recieve one of these luxury items automatically??

37. Kendomacaroonbar

@SquareHaggis

If you ping me a mail at ken(at)iscot(dot)scot we can arrange something for you.

38. Grouse Beater

kendomacaroonbar may I take this opportunity to fly our own flag for iScot Magazine

Managed to buy a copy of each so far, and then pass to relatives.

39. kendomacaroonbar

@Lollysmum

Drop me a mail at ken(at)iscot(dot)scot and I’ll forward our bank details to you ?

40. Boorach

@ Call me Dave

Please, please change your avatar. It looks to my rheumy old eyes as if they are embracing and gives me the dry boak every time I see it!

41. Jim Thomson

Looks like BAe Systems are keeping both of their yards on the Clyde.

Grudging Union bonus maybe?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-32828517

42. Yoda

The books look well fine!

Pity what’s inside them is of such poor quality

43. Lollysmum

Kendo
    Done

Boorach-LOL Think Nicola might object to that 🙂

44. Graeme Doig

Kendo

Great site and managed to find local stockist in Inverkeithing. I prefer hard copy. Must be an age thing. Cheers.

45. call me dave

@Boorach

Sorry but I prefer it to my last one as it suggests to me that the fight is on now.

PS

BAE to keep and invest in the shipyards on the Clyde.

46. Kenny Campbell

Make sure Dunky Bothershall gets a celebratory Blue Book…..He was such a big fan

47. jackie g

Lesley-Anne at 2.22pm

I remember the marches from the late 1970’s early eighties it was horrible bottles being thrown and people drunk everywhere.

Some things never bloody change can’t believe the council still allow that nonsense to go on.

The sooner we rid ourselves of that bile crap the better.

48. Muscleguy

@CrazyCat
    As a developmental biologist I understand the genetic and developmental bases for intersex and find it fascinating. I understand how many intersex people feel perfectly normal, and why shouldn’t they? Prurience can be unlearned and knowledge, understanding and empathy are the best curatives.

49. Fiona

Why is the walk allowed to disrupt traffic and stop other people going about their business? I can understand it in the case of people who are protesting some perceived injustice, for we must have the right to do that. But they are not doing that. They are just engaging in a demonstration of sectarian triumphalism for its own sake: there is no issue beyond that, so far as I know (open to correction)

These people are allowed to wake me up early on random days throughout the year with no warning. There is normally a police presence, but it always looks more like and escort than an attempt to keep the peace. They support the walk in their demand that people should not be able to cross the road when they please, and the reason is that one “must not cross the walk”. If you do try to do that they can be aggressive with impunity, despite that police presence.

I see the police are convinced that the walk itself is not likely to cause trouble, only hangers on and people outwith it: that would be people trying to cross the road, and other such bampots. But the issue would not arise if not for the walk itself.

50. heedtracker

Historic work by everyone involved and look who thinks they are journos with integrity and moral authority.

https://archive.is/dIcxj

“There’s this terrible terrible thing going on at the moment with the BBC is sitting there under assault from the rightwing media and the rightwing media are saying ‘the BBC is to the left, because we say the centre is here’.

“And the poor old BBC, [the rightwing press] shout it so loudly and viciously and prominently every day, and you’ve got the Guardian whispering over here because the Guardian is a very mild-mannered paper. The BBC is struggling to know what to do about climate change.”

Rusbridger said that social media offered a new route to hold companies to account as much of the press retreats from expensive and risky stories.

“The power of social media, things like Twitter, once you get a mass consumer revolt against a company, that is very powerful,” he said. “And the company is terrified of that too.”

Excuse me while I throw up and all from the wet farts that gave the world this

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/salmondbell.jpg

51. BJ

My newsagent keeps my iScot magazine for me and gives me a shout when it’s in. Great read

52. Davy

“Yoda”, bite me.

53. Archie [not Erchie]

@kendomacaroonbar – Ken I noticed that the NE corner of Aberdeenshire is sadly lacking in IScot stockists. Namely the seats of Banff&Buchan and Gordon. How can I/We help expand the reach into these areas?

54. Petra

@ Fiona says ”Why is the walk allowed to disrupt traffic and stop other people going about their business? I can understand it in the case of people who are protesting some perceived injustice, for we must have the right to do that. But they are not doing that. They are just engaging in a demonstration of sectarian triumphalism for its own sake: there is no issue beyond that, so far as I know (open to correction).”

I totally agree with you Fiona. I’m also sick and tired of the many ‘walks’ that lead up to the ‘main walk’.

I live in a little village with one road in and out that is totally closed off when they have their walks.

When I enquired about the number of walks that were taking place (increases every year) I was told that they are ‘practise walks’.

Have you ever heard the likes? Practise walks?

I suggested that they should go to a field in the middle of nowhere if they want to practise walking.

It also really annoys me that they ‘up the anti’ by slowing down, making more noise and so on when they pass the local Roman Catholic Church in an attempt to irritate and cause real trouble. I know it really annoys me and I’m not a Roman Catholic.

55. heedtracker

Yoda says:
    21 May, 2015 at 3:11 pm
    The books look well fine!

Pity what’s inside them is of such poor quality

Well something is happening to Scotland. Picked this up via Duncan Hothersall.

http://www.labourfederalism.uk/

“Its not because we were terrible in government y’see, its the system that’s wrong, so it has to change.”

56. Bob Mack

@Yoda,
    Could say the same for you I suppose

57. Stoker

Davy wrote:
    “Yoda”, bite me.”

Davy, have you ever heard of rabies, are ye aff yer heed!

58. Wp

Re Michele Mone leaving Scotland. Brilliant quote from Peter A Bell in the Herald comments:
    “Science has yet to discover a way of measuring how little I care”
    Brilliant.

59. kendomacaroonbar

@Archie [not Erchie]

Hi Archie, we have a distribution agreement that sells into independent stores throughout Scotland. The best thing you can do is get them to order direct via Menzies Distribution (they are the only guys that deliver papers & mags to newsagents).

We are also not indisposed to allowing any enterprising individuals sell the magazine for a profit share for any fundraising or other income generation based needs. If you have a store in mind send me their full name and address details and I’ll upload it to the website.

60. Fiona

@ Petra

Oh, I didn’t realise they were practicing walking: it is probably more difficult to do that while playing a flute than it is while chewing gum. You can see how it would be difficult for them….

61. yesindyref2

The problem now, of course, for the likes of Wings, other sites and the SNP for instance, is that there is a lull before the Holyrood elections which, dare I say, might not attract just as much attention as it doesn’t seem to be directly relevant to Independence, the Vow, Smith, more powers, Devo-Max or Westminster.

The answer might be to fill it with one or more projects, projects that people have thought about but been to busy to get around to.

Just a thought, one I might pass through to the SNP as well.

62. Kelpie

Petra and Fiona,

yes, it’s the constant disruptions that really annoyed me; and the intimidation.

For a couple of years (1997/98) I lived in flats very close to the junction of Duke Street and High Street in Glasgow and it seemed like every walk in the west of Scotland started out from there.

Pretty much every weekend from May to August I’d be woken around 7am by a band going through. Mostly either Saturday or Sunday but in the thick of the season both days.

I’ll never forget one day when the ‘big walk’ was going on and I was imprisoned for the entire day (didn’t get out early enough, didn’t want to try to ‘cross the walk’). And when I did get out late on found that my relatively sheltered entryway had been liberally used as a public toilet. In a manner that required a shovel as well as bleach to clean up.

Of course, I didn’t observe the act in progress so I couldn’t prove anything for a complaint. (And who to complain to? As Fiona says the police are right there).

But it underlined my embarrassment and disgust that Glasgow council allows the entire city centre to be disrupted by these $%^&*($.

Sorry foks. Deep breaths. I’m calm now. It was 17 years ago…

63. Dal Riata

@heedtracker

I see our favourite ‘Slovenian’ has made a return to the anti-Scots Guardian’s CiF, now a sludge pit of right-wing manure.

I also note professor of I Hate Scotland, Adam Tomkins, is a member of that recently constructed right-wing ‘think tank’ that gets to tell everyone via the British Establishment’s corrupt media that Scotland is shite and should not by any means be allowed to have another referendum for at least a thousand years.

Just saying, like.

64. yesindyref2

@Dal Riata
    Oh no, that was probably the most boring and long-winded poster I ever gave up battling with because she was shrill, and it took far too much time reading a single posting over about four page downs. Shame really because it did have some interesting points at times until it got so anti-Indy.

As for Tomkins and co, there’s also Kay who, having been advisor to Salmond way back, turned into the most fierce critic of anything to do with Independence, and now FFA. Yet gets to be called an “expert”.

65. Dr Jim

Wonder if they’d allow Muslims to march protesting about Christians
    Or Hindus to march
    Or in fact any other group with a grievance about another in reference to religion citing it was a peaceful celebration of
    Och I don’t know what the F..k

Seems to me there have been attempts to protest in the last couple of weeks about Austerity all over England by many folk
    And the funny thing is on the MSM NOTHING

The Orange Order are going to march and we get Police Notices, MSM Notices, Traffic Notices

There will be trouble, there always is, lets see if they report it with the same vigour as they report things like

Jim Murphy walking into a piece of cardboard
    “Chaos on Glasgows Streets”, “The ugly face of Nationalism”

Two men shouted at another man, Glasgow must be appalled at the horrors in this Mean City
    When will this violence come to an end
    Folk need medical treatment for new phenomena “Saltire Fear”
    Unionists suffering night sweats and terrors in fear of not being British anymore

The trouble with Scotland is, it’s full of Scots
    if we can’t drive them out we’ll breed them out
    (Remember that)

Trouble with that plan was they bred with each other
    and now we are blessed with their Progeny
    The Orange Order

I thank you

66. Tinto Chiel

Kelpie, sorry to hear about your bad experience. You should have moved up to East Kilbride. Some years it was so cold you could throw snowballs at the Walk.

PS: Groovy avatar.

67. Fairliered

Message for Michelle Mone: Don’t let the door hit your tits on the way out.

68. heedtracker

Dal Riata says:
    21 May, 2015 at 5:42 pm
    @heedtracker

I see our favourite ‘Slovenian’ has made a return to the anti-Scots Guardian’s CiF, now a sludge pit of right-wing manure.

Who does that clown think he’s kidding? looks like the good Prof’s decided the only way to close down Scottish democracy is to attack it now with their federal teamGB bollox. Cant see tory boy Cameron/Osborne/Daily Heil/BBC mindset giving up teamGB FTP some how.

Graun CiF’s an open sewer now but Orange Order marching is actually jolly and lovely, according to the rancid Graun. Takes you back eh?

Will the noble and honest UK media ever sink to such hysterical Project Fear depths again? probably:D

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/gallery/2014/sep/13/orange-order-march-in-edinburgh-in-pictures

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/13/orange-order-march-edinburgh-scottish-independence-vote

Real world and now historic examples of how desperate our imperial masters really are.

69. galamcennalath

yesindyref2 says:
    “… there’s also Kay who, having been advisor to Salmond way back, turned into the most fierce critic of anything to do with Independence, and now FFA. ”

Where were all these anti power-to-Scotland experts when Vows were being made in a daily basis? Why didn’t they criticise them before the referendum vote!?

And, as for those who made the promises …. Isn’t it utterly astonishing that they made grandiose offers of extensive devolution just to win the referendum, then when pushed to deliver they tell us what was offered is a bad idea!

You could not make it up!

70. Craig

Nice one Rev, that looks high quality, can’t wait to get my copy of the Blue Book

@ Boris 2.33: Thank you for posting that link, I felt that pain again when I reached the bottom of that article, no doubt I wasn’t the only one

71. Lollysmum

O/T Proclaiming Scottish Ethnicity

You know how everyone says they can’t select Scottish on forms & the only option is British? Well things might be changing a bit. I’ve been sent a new monitoring template by my local authority in England which actually allows people to select English, Scottish, Welsh or Irish. Woohoo!

Unfortunately, it might take 10 years or more for its usage to creep across the border. Fingers crossed it takes less time than that.

72. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Does anyone who donated recieve one of these luxury items automatically??”

Assuming you clicked the appropriate perk option on the fundraising site, yes.

73. Gallowglass

I’m still quite proud that i was the first person to be handed the old wings badge from you Stu before the march to Calton Hill.

It sits with great pride next to my silver Yes, Silver SNP and gold PCS pin badges.

Would it be possible to see a better photo of your luxurious looking wee blue books?

74. heraldnomore

I see Guido has a nice wee piece on McTernan’s glowing cv

sorry no links tonight, fannydroid gizmo thing..

75. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

You typed,
    The answer might be to fill it with one or more projects, projects that people have thought about but been to busy to get around to.

One strand of ongoing projects has been the regular Wings get-togethers. Since April 2014, we’ve had three in Glasgow, one in Broughty Ferry (Dundee), two in Invergowrie (Dundee) and one in Edinburgh, in July last year.

We have been firing strong hints in the direction of Edinburgh that it’s time for them to step up and organise another Wings party in the capital but “No word”, came the reply.

Onnybuddy in Edinburgh gonna take up the baton?

76. Lollysmum

BDTT

What’s the saying? God loves a tryer. You are certainly that unfortunately though no one seems to be listening 😉

77. X_Sticks

heraldnomore says:

“I see Guido has a nice wee piece on McTernan’s glowing cv”

Here you go heraldnomore:

http://tinyurl.com/qfr8vap

78. Petra

@ Lollysmum says ”Proclaiming Scottish Ethnicity. You know how everyone says they can’t select Scottish on forms & the only option is British? Well things might be changing a bit. I’ve been sent a new monitoring template by my local authority in England which actually allows people to select English, Scottish, Welsh or Irish.”

Mmmhhh I don’t know Lollysmum. Maybe I’m becoming paranoid. I just don’t think they make costly changes down South without putting a lot of thought into it and it’s not usually done to please or benefit us in any way at all.

Maybe they’re planning to compile a list of ethnic groups that claim benefits are unemployed or homeless?

Maybe they’re planning to exclude the Scottish, Welsh and Irish, along with other ‘foreigners’, living in England from voting in their EU Referendum, lol.

It’ll be interesting to see if this is introduced in Scotland in the near future.

79. Fred

Liam Fox, tells lies about his age, a mate of mine was in the same class in EK and says he was an arse even then. 🙂

80. Kelpie

Tinto Chiel,

I’m just down the road now, in Hamilton 😊.

PS. Thanks re avatar, although I can’t claim any credit for it myself.

81. call me dave

Quite quick of the mark:

Pity Angus Robertson the leader at Westminster isn’t quoted!
    BBC Scotland. 🙁
    ————————————————————
    The safety of the Trident nuclear weapons system is to be debated in the House of Commons next week.

Former SNP leader, Alex Salmond, said his party had secured time on Thursday to question the government over issues raised by a Royal naval submariner.
    ——————————————————-

82. BornOptimist

Thanks Rev for highlighting other independent media sites worth supporting. I was thinking of writing off topic simply to bring their attention to Wingers who might possibly be a bit limited in the sites they look at. All of them deserve support and if we can raise £100,000 plus for you it shouldn’t be too difficult to do the same for the others.

Start with those whose time limit is near running out to ensure they continue to the 2016 election and beyond. You know the future is worth waiting for but it will come at a price. Skip paying for the BBC, Herald, Scotsman, etc and put your money where it will count.

83. Schrödinger's cat

Born optimist
    Sometimes I miss the ability to like apost 🙂

84. Effijy

Who would believe an Orange could walk?

They should be squeezed until the pips squeak!
    They have no a peel to any sane person.
    Full of Victim C, A, and B.

People who are more concerned with 1690 than 2020,
    shouldn’t be allowed on the streets without a police escort.

The future is bright, the future is Green!

85. bookie from hell

SNP not on #bbcqt tonight

libdem farron is

last time before election he spoke of dark side of nationalism SNP -bad, BRITAIN-good

tonight he has a open goal

expect

nasty
    immature
    disrespectful

I’m taking notes so I can repeat his words Scottish general election 2016

86. Lesley-Anne

Effijy says:

People who are more concerned with 1690 than 2020,
    shouldn’t be allowed on the streets without a police escort.

Erm … not so sure about the police escort Effijy … I’m thinking more along the lines of men in white coats myself. 😀

87. Michael McCabe

Well done Gary Anderson the Premier League darts Champion

88. Chic McGregor

The WBB looks great

Bit sad I didn’t select perks this time now.

89. Joemcg

Gerald Kaufman calls the 56 “Goons” oh dear…

90. sinky

Anglocentric BBC question time still refuse to recognise that the SNP is now the third force in British politics

91. Robert Peffers

@Yoda says: 21 May, 2015 at 3:11 pm:

“The books look well fine! Pity what’s inside them is of such poor quality

And there we have it, freinds an fella cairters, the perfect example of how the poorer quality, less intelligent, Troll operates.

He/she makes a derogatory statement on a subject they know nothing about but are not clever enough to make any reasoned criticism on the point. Any idiot can make such idiotic statements. It takes intelligence and guile to do a proper trolling. Yoda just isn’t intelligent enough to be a Troll. How sad is that?

92. Jim Thomson

That’s Mark Beaumont broken the record for Cairo to Cape Town on a push-bike. 42 days, beats previous record by 17 days

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-32839837

93. galamcennalath

Joemcg says:
    “Gerald Kaufman calls the 56 “Goons” oh dear”

It is a bit ironic someone from a party who’s just had a massive train crash through their own incompetence, be sarcastic about another who have just had overwhelming success at the ballot!

I think the term ‘goons’ might best be applied to Murphy, Alexander, Curran, Davidson et al who brought about their own demise.

94. Petra

I’ve been trying to post some data relating to Trident / Faslane risks and accidents that support the whistleblowers assertions to no avail: on numerous occasions now.

I’m a bit of a newbie on here and just want to ask if this is considered to be ‘old news’, boring or a taboo subject on here?

95. galamcennalath

sinky says:
    “Anglocentric BBC question time still refuse to recognise that the SNP is now the third force in British politics”

We could conclude that the BBC’s idea of British politics now relates solely to rUK.

Scotland, the Scots, and our elected representatives are perhaps to now be considered outsiders.

96. Jim Thomson

@Petra 10:25pm

it depends on how you are trying to post the data. If it’s weblinks you need to keep the number down to three or four.

In addition, if the web address starts with www you need to strip off the “http://” bit and just leave the rest starting with www.

If the web address starts with something oter than www, you can leave the http bit intact.

Hope that helps

97. Lesley-Anne

Jim Thomson says:

That’s Mark Beaumont broken the record for Cairo to Cape Town on a push-bike. 42 days, beats previous record by 17 days

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-32839837

He seems to be making a bit of regular thing this b reaking sworld records thingy doesn’t he Jim? 😉

I know he beat the round the world cycling record and now Cairo to Cape town. I know he also cycled from Alaska to the tip of Chile but can’t remember if he broke that record as well. I would not be surprised if he did indeed break that record as well. 😛

98. Alan of Neilston

Surprise Surprise are any of you WINGERS in any doubt of the B.B.C’S complicity in denying the S.N.P are the 3rd Party in the U.K. Tonight’s B.B.C.’s Q.T. has confirmed it? The name of the game is to ignore our involvement in any of this institutions(sorry ESTABLISHMENTS) portrayal of our United Kingdom and OUR PLACE IN IT. Fiona a regular Blogger I am not taking this Calmly!!

99. IvMoz

Gerald Kaufman, the esteemed “Father Of The House” calling the SNP goons.

Wasn’t Goon a term for a German POW guard?

£9000 for a telly mate?

I wouldn’t be surprised if you re-upholstered a seat on the commons benches, importing the material from New York & claimed it on expenses.

100. Ian Brotherhood

Goon:

1 a stupid or deliberately foolish person

2 a thug hired to commit acts of violence or intimidation, esp. in an industrial dispute

(Collins Dictionary, 1998)

Sir Gerald Kaufman is an elderly ‘gentleman’ who knows his way around the English language. Which definition did he have in mind when he made that comment?

He’s ‘The Father of The House’, right? Does that mean he’s allowed to make slanderous statements about less experienced colleagues?

101. Petra

Jim Thomson says ”it depends on how you are trying to post the data. If it’s weblinks you need to keep the number down to three or four. In addition, if the web address starts with www you need to strip off the “http://” bit and just leave the rest starting with www. If the web address starts with something other than www, you can leave the http bit intact. Hope that helps.”

Thanks for taking the time to respond and advise Jim. The post contains one youtube link.

I’ll try removing the ‘http://’ bit now.

102. Petra

call me dave says ‘’The safety of the Trident nuclear weapons system is to be debated in the House of Commons next week. Former SNP leader, Alex Salmond, said his party had secured time on Thursday to question the government over issues raised by a Royal naval submariner.’’

I hope they hit them with the fact that most of what’s in McNeillys report is in the public domain already. They can’t call him a liar or insinuate that he’s unstable.

Newspapers such as the Sunday Herald and Guardian have been reporting Nuclear safety incidents over a number of years now. As an example when the Sunday Herald applied for information last year under the Freedom of Information Act they were informed by the MoD that there had been 316 ‘nuclear safety events’ between 2008 and 2013, including 71 fires.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQhGJushOEc

The MoD is adamant that there is nothing wrong with their subs! Check out the 10 billion hunter killer HMS Astute online (for one).. ‘slow, leaky, rusty, beset by design and construction flaws, grounded near Skye, binge drinking the norm and a fatal shooting carried out on-board by one such binge drinker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYkgTwXAVzA

You just have to spend some time trawling through sites such as the Scottish Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (Ban the Bomb) and in particular the Nuclear Information Service to find your hair standing on end.

Their own, MoD, safety manual outlines ‘’You might think nuclear weapons have been carefully designed not to go off by accident yet many of them have design flaws that could conceivably cause multiple warheads to explode one after another: an effect known as “popcorning”.

No mention either of the private companies contracted to operate the Clyde nuclear submarine bases. Anybody worried about this at all? Profit before safety? To make matters worse they’ve been given a multi-million pound exemption by the MoD to relieve them from paying compensation and clean-up costs in the event of a potentially catastrophic accident. Their financial liability in cases of injuries, deaths, explosions, fires and radiation leaks amount to no more than £100,000 per nuclear event. The vast majority of costs following such an accident, which could run into MANY millions of pounds, would be met by, US, the taxpayers: That is if we haven’t already been blown to kingdom come.

It’s high time the MSM such as the BBC and STV informed and enlightened us all of the massive risk / s of having Trident based in Scotland, risk of accident at the bases / on our roads or Nuclear radiation leaks and not leave it to a young Irish sailor to have to take the rap for their failings / cover-ups.

103. James Forrest

Issue 2 of our magazine Enjoy The SIlence? is out now. Thanks to everyone who’s supported us so far. Onward and upwards!

http://www.commentisntfree.com/download/enjoy-the-silence-issue-2/

104. Robert Peffers

Looks like Coulson could be guilty if the Goodman evidence is thought true. I’d cheer if he is for Tommy Sheridan deserves a break.

105. Morag

Kendomacaroonbar, I just tried your “where to buy” page for the iScot magazine.

I’m in West Linton, and I know the village newsagent stocks it. He has it on display every month, and when he first got it in he drew my attention to it and asked if I wanted it. He’s less than half a mile from my house.

Your page doesn’t show him at all. Instead I’m directed to two shops in Penicuik, which are about nine miles away. And to make it even more confusing, “Penicuik” isn’t mentioned in the addresses, instead I’m invited to believe these shops are in “Edinburgh”.

Needs work, I think.

106. Papadox

Now that all the excitement of the GE is over and the unionist establishment got a bloody nose. The unionist establishment are now about to use their power and control over the media to prevent Scottish politics getting any positive airing in this wonderful free, democratic and fare (in yer dreams) “Kingdom”.

The SNP MPs will be ignored unless they can be ridiculed then the democratic MSM and broadcasters will wade in full steam ahead.

Hence IMHO we have to support all our independence web sites as this is where the truth and balance can be found unlike anything to do with the PUTRID UK STATE AND ITS CLINGONS.

We nead to put our money where our mouth is (if we can) DONT LET THE ESTABLISHMENT IGNORE US OR DROWN US OUT!

107. aranciaca

On Gerald Kaufman and the goons comment – he has been badly served by the Guardian. Read the whole article: much of what he says is very sensible, but he is clearly taken aback by the assertiveness of the SNP group.

Apparently, it’s traditional for Dennis Skinner to occupy a particular seat in the House of Commons when Labour’s in opposition. This in a chamber that has 200 fewer seats than members.

When a new party emerges, what’s it supposed to do? Sit outside while the establishment decides where it should go?

The institution’s rotten, the fabric is crumbling, and the SNP group will hopefully jolt both out of Edwardian complacency.

108. Ian Brotherhood

The endless search for meaningful democracy goes on…any similarity to the ‘Mother of All Parliaments’ is purely coincidental:

From the documentary Baraka, ‘Kecak’ (Balinese Monkey chant) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aGXcnWUqV-Y

109. crazycat

@ Fred at 8.07

Re: your friend who was at school with Liam Fox – I used to work in EK and had a colleague who had also been in his class and made the same comment as your mate.

Fox’s classmates appear to have seen through him very rapidly.

110. Connor McEwen

The Slog by John Ward [blog] has has some nice pieces on Muttley Osborne’s drag on the economy.ding in and see
    It is this and Trident leeks, Calumslist [Ian Duncan smith] Gove, et’c. that SNP should be driving the stake in.
    We all know the media moguls will try to ignore S.N.P.

Slipknot P. Harrington.
    Business for scotland.
    Scotlandowntwofeet.

111. Grizzle McPuss

@Alan of Neilston

Fear not, some of us spend all evening tweeting @bbcqt #bbcqt…hopefully getting under their skin about ignoring the reality of UK politics in 2015.

112. Chic McGregor

The SNP MPs need only conduct themselves with dignity stating only what they know to be true challenge only what they know to be wrong.

Leave the insults and name-calling to those who are lost to principle.

113. Grouse Beater

Sir Gerald Kaufman is an elderly ‘gentleman’

Sir Gerald Kaufman is a singularly pompous prat.

Only an idiot would insult the Scottish nation at the very time his party is screaming out for rapprochement with the Scottish electorate if it’s to survive as a credible party of government.

114. kendomacaroonbar

@Morag, Thanks for the feedback. The source data CSV file comes directly from the distributors. DM me the full contact details for your local supplier and I’ll arrange to upload it manually.

115. Still Positive.

@ Chic McGregor 11.57.

Totally agree.

Seems that most, if not all, new SNP members are planning to send out ‘Thank you’ leaflets to all of their constituents – that’s a good start.

Posted tonight (on one of the FB groups I am on) Anne McLaughlin was quoted, in her Maryhill and Springburn SNP meeting, as saying that the ushers and catering staff love the SNP group as they always say please and thank you.

Someone replied that we have manners and not attitude. Personally I think the please and thank you thing is Scottish. Whenever you are on a bus almost everyone thanks the driver as they get off!

In London, in particular, they seem to have lost basic manners and compassion.

116. Valerie

Tomorrows front page of The National – Why are SNP still not being invited onto Question Time, despite having 56 MP’s.

117. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

Maybe Sir Gerald’s in a bad mood – as ‘Father of The House’, he should get the chance to dress up like Michael Gove, surely? But nah, he’s one of the ‘Commons’, and they can’t be doing with all that archaic palaver, hard-nosed party-pooping socialist scum that they are.

Puts me in mind of another Lord – Sir Elton John – when he was celebrating his fiftieth birthday (many, many moons ago) – such was the voluminous voluptuousness of his outfit, he had to be delivered to his own party in a hire-van. Oh, the shame!:

http://i1.cdnds.net/13/43/618×398/elton-john-50th.jpg

118. manandboy

Agreed Grouse Beater. Gerald Kaufman displays the very attitude which has turned millions of voters against Labour. The title ‘Father of the House’ is for him merely a garment of respectability never worn until now. Hypocrisy gone mad. As for Skinner, he is so Establishment, he fails to recognise in the new SNP MP’S, what he once was.

The House of Commons reeks of corruption and self-preservation, not to mention stale feathers. The 56 will be a breath of fresh air in the place. Here’s hoping they will ruffle quite a few feathers as time goes by.

119. Ian Brotherhood

The conundrum facing Question Time is now, intentionally or not, posing a question which QT itself cannot or will not address. Question Time is, ipso facto, deid.

At the very least, it should consider a name-change. ‘Problem Time’?

120. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, as Edinburgh is keeping schtum (sp?), looks like the next Wings get-together in July will be in Helensburgh…

Check out ‘off-topic’ for updates.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/

121. call me dave

Prof Curtis ‘The most respected pollster in the UK’

Precicts bad news for labour in 2020.

https://archive.is/O2IYk

122. call me dave

We are upsetting the father of the house. 🙂

https://archive.is/pv6Tv

123. Petra

Come on. Let’s put a stop to it FGS.

Mysterious Fatal Shooting Aboard Jinxed British Nuclear Submarine H.M.S ASTUTE.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOYDyC3wnsI

NuclearInformation ”Inquest into a fatal shooting …..police investigating the incident were so shocked by binge drinking among the crew that they wrote to military authorities …. discovered that “significant” numbers of the crew were intent on getting “drunk out of their minds”. Donovan had drunk 20 pints of cider and lager, cocktails and double vodkas in the 48 hours before he was put on a guard duty with a gun, but his drink intake was not out of the ordinary among the crew …. consuming alcohol over an extended period until they passed out and then returned to duty after five or six hours.”

Update: ”The coroner investigating the fatal shooting on board HMS Astute in Southampton in April 2011 will recommend that there should be random breath testing for Royal Navy personnel on duty to prevent similar incidents happening again ….. will also recommend a review of alcohol allowances on board ships and submarines and work to tackle the culture of binge drinking in the Navy.”

Nuclear-armed submarines from Britain and France Collide in the Atlantic (the major incident that McNeilly was referring to).

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=+http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FZ16YbprnMzs++

HMS Astute (cost 10 billion) is taken to the Faslane Naval Base on the Clyde when it suffered a technical issue with hydraulics according to an MoD source.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=+http%3A+%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2Fsv2atsWbseo++

theguardian.com – ”SLOW, LEAKY, RUSTY – The Royal Navy’s £10 billion pound hunter-killer submarine, HMS Astute, has been beset by design and construction flaws that have raised doubts about its performance and potential safety. John Large, Nuclear Engineer, added the real concern here is that these or similar mismatches will compromise nuclear safety at risk to crews and the public generally.”

Seawolf class submarine breaks down at Faslane.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=++http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FalA3vcP05sQ+++

H.M.S. Astute Nuclear-Powered Submarine Grounded near the Isle of Skye.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=+http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2F3IDkizj6RT4

HMS Vanguard Trident submarine collision.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=+http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2F-r26odmfFuc

A Trident submarine navigating its way through Rhu NARROWS towards Faslane with peace flags on Rhu Spit 16/04/2011. How close is that?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SB6gvqbXINs

Faslane Peace Camp. Protestors managed to get into the control room of a submarine in 1988. Protestors reported that submarines were having problems with their reactors. Just as well it wasn’t a terrorist, eh!

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=++http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FvGEIS2K8y80

TRIDENT MISSILES DRIVEN THROUGH SCOTLAND

SNP MP Bill Kidd opposes Nuclear Weapons Being Driven Through Glasgow 29/01/2014. ‘’The Parliament notes with grave concern the regular transportation of nuclear weapons on roads throughout Scotland. In the early hours of the morning of 29 January 2014 a 19-vehicle convoy transporting nuclear weapons from the Atomic Weapons Establishment in Berkshire to Coulport on Loch Long used the M74 to drive through Glasgow. Such convoys do not carry radiation warning symbols and neither the public nor the local authority areas that they pass through are warned about the material being transported.”

Nuclear Convoy through Stirling.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=+http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FE3l_ILUVv4U++http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FYd2dlvbRX_A

Nuclear Convoy on the Kingston Bridge.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FA4hkKZjnsIk

Nuclear convoy in Glasgow after midnight 11 July 2014. Scottish CND coordinator John Ainslie said ‘A convoy of more than 20 military vehicles drove through the centre of Glasgow on the M74 shortly after midnight last night. The convoy included four special lorries which transport Trident nuclear bombs. This is an insult to the people of Glasgow and the rest of Scotland. Only 10 weeks before we vote on whether to be Independent the UK Government have sent this massive convoy of Weapons of Mass Destruction through the centre of Scotland’s largest city. The convoy was probably carrying six Trident bombs, each one seven times more powerful than the bomb which destroyed Hiroshima in 1945.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwkyPvlWPM0

”The convoy lorries can each carry two Trident nuclear bombs. Normal practice is for one lorry in the convoy to be empty. So a reasonable estimate is that the convoy was carrying six 100-kiloton nuclear bombs. The UK government are currently upgrading Trident bombs to a new Mk4A design. The convoy was probably bringing new Mk4A bombs to replace older Mk4 bombs. The Mk4A upgrade programme is a significant enhancement of the capability of the UK’s nuclear force. It makes the bombs more effective.”

UK nuclear convoy sneaks past late at night.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FmCgpne2XERg

nuclearinfo ”Nuclear convoy could explode”, admits MoD, 17th July 2005 Rob Edwards, Environment Correspondent, The Sunday Herald.

”Trident warheads carried regularly by road to the Clyde naval base could explode if they are involved in a major crash, an internal Ministry of Defence report reveals….the warheads key safety feature could be disabled by a plane crash or vehicle pile-up….this could trigger a nuclear explosion, unleashing a burst of lethal radiation. Convoys of nuclear weapons travel about six times a year between Berkshire and Coulport on Loch Long passing through 21 local authorities in Scotland …… This could result in huge radiation doses to members of the public of between one and 10 sieverts … doses of more than four sieverts can cause acute radiation poisoning and death within days.

Ruskell Green Party MSP is also concerned that ”nuclear weapons convoys could be a target for terrorists. Given the nature of post-9/11 politics and terrorism, nuclear weapons are more of a liability than a deterrent,” he warned.

Declassified Trident Nuclear Film – F1023 FBM and C4 Malfunctions.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=+http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2F1ZAav0L20Kg

banthebomb…/trident/1482-sepa-consultation-on-nuclear…

”Disposal of submarine waste from around the World” – ‘The current letters of agreement only cover nuclear waste generated at Faslane and Coulport. The consultation document proposes a change whereby Faslane will receive any nuclear waste which is produced from British nuclear submarines when in foreign ports.’

Workers at the Faslane nuclear submarine base were exposed to radiation… deadlinenews /2013/10/27/.

Nuclear weapons: an accident waiting to happen
    theguardian ”Nuclear weapons – The secrecy surrounding British nuclear weapon accidents has exceeded even that employed to be hidden by the US.”

Sunday Herald 18 May 2014 ”Shortage of key staff undermines safety of Trident. Nuclear engineer John Large added that the nuclear safety implications arising from this could be onerous, Despite knowing about this problem for several years, the MoD have been unable to reduce the shortfall.’’

Herald Scotland ”MoD wants to dump radioactive waste into Clyde. The nuclear bomb and submarine bases at Faslane and Coulport near Helensburgh. MoD are seeking permission to increase the amount of radioactive waste …

Radioactive waste leaks from Faslane nuclear submarine base
    telegraph 27/04/2009. ”Last year a radioactive waste plant manager at the base was replaced when it emerged he had NO qualifications in radioactive waste management.

”Naval bases could become World wide nuclear dumps.”
    independent ”Fears that two major naval bases sited near large British cities could become nuclear waste storage.”

MoD guilty of repeated nuclear safety breaches ..theguardian .. ”Nuclear power Britain’s nuclear submarine fleet has been hit by a series of serious safety breaches involving repeated leaks of radioactive waste, broken pipes and waste tanks at …Repairs which will produce significant amounts of radioactive waste. …. Devonport-based submarines have in the past made frequent visits to Faslane, during which coolant is transferred to shore. The unauthorised discharges at Faslane in 2004 and 2008 were from submarines based in Devonport…. Disposal of submarine waste from around the world.”

WHAT ARE THE EFFECTS OF RADIATION? THE TRUTH!

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=+http%3A%2F%2Fyoutu.be%2FbCbVhiSZdWw

124. Ken500

Many of the House of Commons should be retired 83, and still milking the system. They will not need so many seats when there are Tory boundary changes and the SNP put a need for a Referendum in the next manifesto and Scotland votes YES because of the democraphic changes.

Scotland has changed and will no longer accept the secrecy, cheating and lies from Westminster. Every insult, every lie will just bring Independence closer. The crooks in Westminster will be found out. Where is the Chilcot Report?, being hidden by unelected civil servants.

The Westminster has a small Tory majority and many rebels who would like Scotland to be Independent. Crooks like Kaufman will get bring it sooner. Westminster is a tax haven for criminals who evade the Law. .

The next step is to get the SNP dominant in Holyrood for better governance.

125. john king

Lesley-Anne @2.22pm
    “Anyone in Glasgow on Saturday best make sure they are well clear of the route from the city centre to Glasgow Green before 4:30 p.m. There is to be a sectarian march happening then.” 🙁

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2e1515l7Tc 🙂
    Brilliant.”

I wrote under it that they will know when her plane has landed at Gatwick because when the engines are turned off the whining will continue. 🙂
    The Orange Order

I thank you”

Snort!!! good grief I’ve just discovered that IT IS possible for tea to come out your ears.

It sits with great pride next to my silver Yes, Silver SNP and gold PCS pin badges.”

Yea while I walked up and down the mile looking for you all, by the time I spotted the pub BtP, Conan, Kendo, et al were sitting outside the Rev had run out of the pins and I got a badge. 🙁
    But what I did get that day was priceless, an undying fierce commitment to my country and a pride in my wife that knew no bounds, a treasure money cannot buy.

I watched my wife (who could barely walk) insist on making the march all the way from the mile up to Calton hill and the only time she would accept help was at the foot of the hill when she succumbed to taking the disabled bus to the top.

126. Ken500

Tommy Sheridan’s conviction should be quoshed and his family compensated after the Coulson trial revelations. Tommy could become an elected representative. The London Supreme Court is preventing Scottish citizens the right to appeal to the EU courts when the Scottish justice system refuses right of appeal.

The Scottish Justice system is breaking Scottish/EU Law right of equality. By refusing right of appeal to the EU courts which is then blocked by the London Supreme court. The London Suoreme has to find in favour of the Scottish High court judgement because of the separate Legal System. This blocks Scottish citizens right of appeal.

127. Ken500

Rev Stu should crowdfund for an assistant with all those goodies to distribute. Anynthing you ask.

A re run and distribution of the little Blue Book, or a charge for a copy, would be good before the next Holyrood/Council elections. Then message is getting through, though. Thanks to Rev Stu.

128. Ken500

Michelle Mone has had a flat and a ‘celebrity’ life in London for years, reported in the tabloids. Encounters with some strange people. Nearly bankrupt a few times but she has talked her way out of trouble with ‘kiss and tell’ stories. Her ex husband was running the business, Mone has just been moping up the assets. She’s leaving on a jet plane wouldn’t be back again or that’s the story. Morning Glory. The cheap publicity loads the dice, keeps Mone in the self obssessed spotlight.

129. Macart

Just looking at an article on the National’s site which left me slack jawed. An article by Alex Rowley bemoaning Labour’s fate in the recent GE no less. Mr Rowley goes on to make some fairly far reaching points within this piece and set’s out his view of where Labour went wrong.

Indeed he is critical of the strategy of attack style politics, wishes to see Labour work with the SNP where possible, build a party of hope and aspiration. All worthy and good so far. Still though, you are left feeling the other shoe was about to drop and about halfway through it does.

“Some were rather annoyed about Johann Lamont’s comment last year about the UK party leadership treating Scottish Labour as the branch office. I have heard many say this is not a description they recognise. However, I am afraid I do and believe it must be addressed in order for Labour in Scotland to move forward with a more progressive approach that sets the future agenda.” (My bold)

“We need to become the party of Scottish Home Rule”

“The party should exist not to oppose the SNP”

The last para:
    “We must build a radical and progressive movement for change in Scotland that embraces devolution, progresses localism and delivers fairness.

A few snippets, but you get the drift by this point.

I’d like to ask Mr Rowley, if you were so disapproving of Labour’s strategy throughout the campaign, if you believe that attack style politics was a bad strategy, if you think Labour should have been the party of Scottish home rule? Just where was your voice in the past four years?

When the Labour party denigrated and othered half a nation. When they applied the ‘Bain Principle’ as S.O.P. When prominent members of the Labour party spent every waking moment on camera or in column space conflating SNP support or the YES campaign with some of the most foul political forces in human history. Just where was any significant parliamentary voice raised within the party in protest at these actions?

And still within the words of the article above there is the same old issue which lies at the heart of Labour’s fall from grace. The party is to ‘set the future agenda’ and not the party follows an agenda set by the people they represent. This is shortly followed by ‘We must build…’. Again missing the point of party representation. The people create parties and set their agenda from need and aspiration, to provide a voice where they have none and speak on their behalf.

If Labour is to have any hope of survival, they must lose the idea that parties should direct people or be masters of their own destiny. That way lies the country we live in today, where none in the electorate trust in their government or political class. They have been given ample good reason not to.

130. john king

I got a bad feeling I didn’t click on the perks so I think I wont be getting the WBB. 🙁

I also build flatpack furniture without reading the instructions
    http://tinyurl.com/qdlvw5e 🙂

131. Fred

Scottish Literary Question, quiet at the back there!

Which fictional character advocated nailing Tories into barrels with spikes inside & rolling them down the Grampians?

132. Morag

Fun fact. I just noticed that the Indiegogo total for the 2015 fundraiser had exceeded the overall total raised in 2014, that is its Indiegogo total of just over £90,000 plus off-site donations bringing it up to £110,717.

There were offsite donations this time too but I can’t remember how much. About £5,000 I think.

Of course this year’s total has been boosted by this new trick of Indiegogo’s of keeping fundraisers which have reached their target in the specified time open for further donations, which wasn’t in operation a year ago. A dozen and more people have decided to get themselves a deluxe Wee Blue Book in the past 24 hours and one person has actually gone for the subway print super-max perk.

I hope Stu printed sufficient WBBs to cover late demand!

133. Morag

John, if you donated the right amount and didn’t click on the perk link, contact Stu and he’ll send you the book anyway. He’s not a MONSTER!

134. call me dave

@Fred

I won’t spoil it for others..but I read the pages in the book and it seems a good idea. 🙂

The BBC tv made three adaptions of the books in the trilogy in 1971 but I never saw them.

I was too busy getting over the sixties and avoiding the wearing of flared trousers. (in which I was successful) nasty things!

PS:
    http://www.theguardian.com/fashion/gallery/2015/jan/24/the-history-of-flares-in-pictures

135. X_Sticks

Morag says:

“He’s not a MONSTER!”

Oh, yes he is, but thankfully he’s on our side and it’s only those who spread lies and wilfully deceive the electorate that see him as a monster. 😉

136. Fred

@ call me dave, well read that man! Read it years ago but found the trilogy at The Barras and re-reading. The faither must be the baddest character in Scots literature since Rank Badjin.

Had a flair for flares masel, mortified just thinkin aboot it kid! 🙂

137. call me dave

@Fred

Aye only a carpet fitter needs ‘flairs’ 🙁

138. Maureen

Fantastic. Can’t wait to receive my wee blue book as I have promised my original to a friend.

Not sure if you will have any wee blue books left of either the original or special variety but how about making them available to libraries. If the book has an ISDN number we could ask our local libraries to stock it.

139. Captain Caveman

Hey Stu, I’ve been donating/subscribing for years. Do I get any perks beside a swift hoof to the nads? 😀

140. Eckle Fechan

Quick question Stu: have all the WBB’s been posted now.?

Just checking – I haven’t received mine yet.

Rgds.

141. Oscar Taime

Me too Stu, Still hoping to get the posters etc. Really hoping they aren’t lost. Best OT

142. Rob sneddon

Hi Rev Stuart, same for me but you have my details from the off topic thread and sent you an email today.
    Atb to you,
    Robert

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.