Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
That’s very Highland River of you, Fred.
Poor Smallaxe: I doubt we’ll see him again if he’s had the full Garden Centre Experience. He was a man, take him for all in all, we shall not look upon his like again.
Or his shoes, ftm.
Oh, you’re back! Please disregard my last elegant and elegiac remarks.
“Sick squid ono.” : oh, dear…
Tinto,
You’ll probably know what this guy’s singing about;
Paolo Conte:”Via Con Me”
Would you like salt and vinegar…pickled onion?
@ Tinto “Ken!” ken.
Tinto,
If you think sick squid was bad, wait till you meet Jack the Kipper.
Ye feart noo?
Don’t mention the Garden Centre…FFS, start a crowdfund!
🙁
Spooky: just back from sudden visit to local garden centre ordered by SWIMBO. Telepathy I tell you. Nothing bought, though so CWoT.
Fred I ken, Kenn, ken? And I don’t come fae Fife, ken? I won’t even mention hazel nuts.
That’s song is all about an Italian importuning a young woman, Smallaxe. Quite shocking but I’m broadminded.
“Jack the Kipper” 😛
“That’s song is all about an Italian importuning a young woman, Smallaxe. Quite shocking but I’m broadminded.”
I thought it was a Frenchman ordering a special fish with chips!
‘Broadminded’, it’s not just your mind, Tinto, bus and back-end of, springs to mind.
“Won’t waste my time feeling sorry for him
I’ve seen the other side to being thin
Roll us both down a mountain and I’m sure the fat man would win”
The choice of song in this comment is purely coincidental, all characters are fictitious, except for those that aren’t.
But, Smallaxe, you said I filled out those taupe crushed velvet culottes beautifully…..
*Sniffs into hankie*
Tinto, I was only jesting with you, old fruit, please,
Don’t Cry for Me;
Now don’t go saying that I played that song to make you melancholy because you started with a head like a melon and a face like a collie.
only jesting, honest guv!
Forgiven and forgotten already, Smallaxe *stares nervously at profile in mirror*.
Life is but a melancholy flower, indeed. Or a melon-cauliflower, I forget which.
Life is like an ashtray, full of little doubts(doughts?).
I like this…a lot,
I’m now going for a little nap of exhaustion due to post-traumatic garden centre syndrome.
Can’t live with them, can’t strangle them. Seh lavvee (French)
douts?
Hi Smallaxe it’s good to see you turning over a new leaf
I do like “duelling banjo’s” personal reasons from waaay back lol. Anyway just found another version that tickled my fancy.
Not even that can cheer me up this morning, Thepnr.
A song for WM:
Haudadod! It’s a great day after all!
Why they walked;
Well, incredible events and most of the rest of the UK just carries on up the swannee. Nurse! But yeah, IanB joining the SNP is a real stunner, hope he restarts SSP after a YES – not that I’m a supporter but I like the diversity, same as Tommy getting elected way back when, no matter what baggage he carried.
So it makes it a bit difficult because I like being non-aligned, feel I can actually help Indy and the SNP better being outside, posting in alien media, and even in real life. As for the diversity though, that is a strength not a weakness of the Indy movement, and it seems to me we should fall out at times, as long as we get back together behind YES.
So a song for all of us, longer version.
Nice to see claymores being extracted fae the thatch for sharpening all over the shop & congrats to Ian Brotherhood & Co for coming aboard!
I would say that Mundell is mair o a wee toly than a wee shite! What does the panel think.
A bit of Skerryvore to celebrate the days events wid be nice!
@yesindyref2
Yes, Ian B’s decision to join the SNP had me blinking a bit as well. I salute that decision because it showsthat “Independence First” is all that matters.
I admire and respect ian B very much and it’s only through this site that I know of him. Like me he absolutely has the best interests of the Scottish people in mind and especially the poorest of us.
Good on you Ian, you’ve got me seriously thinking about doing the same. It’s no more than supporting Scotland and I’m sure the SNP could find room for a few more left wingers with Scotland and her peoples interests at heart.
@ Nana 08:07 12/06
Again, thank you. I have written to the SP for further information.
Fred,
“The Angry Fiddler” Skerryvore;
Gon yersel!
@Tinto Chiel
I guess you hugged a few stones at the weekend from your music choices 🙂
Mighty Fine Smallaxe! Skerryvore = Big Rock, gerrit kid?
Got it, Fred,
Get this;
Not sure what was most surprising. Ian B joining the SNP or Murray Foote coming out for Indy!
A pretty good day all round what with the constitutional matter hitting the international press and it actually rained at last!
@ cearc
It’s been a great day 🙂 Feel like we are finally fighting back. Aboot time the gloves came aff.
One of my favourite songs sang in Gaelic by the lovely Karen Matheson and an uplifting ending wi the pipes.
I love Scotland. It is the most beautiful country in the world with the greatest people and an absolute wealth of talent.
As an independent nation we can and we will shine a light across the shadows of this world and make it a brighter and better place. Peace.
“Now is the Time”
Thanks Smallaxe, superb!
@Thepnr: hee hee. Closest I got was a Viking hogsback gravestone at St Blane’s. Just as well ‘cos I hear yon Ronnie Wood has wandering hands.
Welcome Ian B. I only joined on September 21 2014 but have voted that way since 1974 and I consider myself well to the Left *adjusts John Maclean silk lounging pyjamas*. “A braid kirk is appin tae aa” as my pipe-smoking granny (father’s side) used to say before downing her pint of Guinness for breakfast.
Blackford’s stance has added to the membership already and is a big morale booster for the Bannockburn march. Hope there’s lots of Hands off our Parliament banners to ram home the message.
Indyref’s started already.
Spookily, this just arrived in my inbox:
link to musicinscotland.com
Tinto,
Spookily Evo;
link to itunes.apple.com
Fred, you’re welcome. See above^
Cheers chums,
Sorry didn’t reply sooner, it’s been mental, eh?
Next up, FMQs for some Ruth&Richard-skelping, then, hopefully, Mundell The Boneless stuttering out his resignation at 1-ish in the HOC.
Well it’s been an interesting few days, eh! Not before time the gloves came off. Boy did that ruffle a few feathers. I was expecting FMQ to be a bit lively, but what did we get? Thon Labour nonentity on about hummingbird beaks. Whit!
We are right into a constitutional crisis and that’s what we get, hummingbirds beaks. Nicola must resign now, or should it be Humza.Whit about the colonel and wee willie winkie, they seem tae be awfie quiet. Wonder why. SNP membership on the rise, former no voters saying it’s outrageous what is happening and will now vote yes. It’s a’ kickin off.
Here’s a wee song that I would like to apply to Munnell, Secretary of State for naewhere.
If only it was as easy as this Tinto and I would be right there at the front.
Marie, I would don my famous white sneakers and black sox combo for that one.
I have also found a conveyance for Peerie Mun’ell:
Big Bad Dan was The Man.
@Marie –
First time I’ve seen ‘Dance For Freedom’.
Wee tear in the eye…
This put more than a tear in my eye;
Dae ye ever wish ye’d never heard sumthin! Ye dae noo!
For Fluffy;
Alice Cooper:”Only Women Bleed”
Ozzy Osbourne:”Dreamer”;
I’ll raise you, mon vieux haricot:
There’s always this:
Like the words…..
@Smallaxe (10.28) –
Dexy’s Midnight Croakers
Ian, didn’t Kevin Rowland eventually lose it all together and start performing in a dress and Doc Martens?
My aversion to the union jackstika and associated roundels etc has subconsciously put me off mods but this is really rock so that’s ok, isn’t it?
Hi guys,
That Dexy’s song was howling, if I’d paid for a ticket for that you’d have to bail me out.
John Fogarty: theme to “The Finder”;
Swamp rock, ya bass.
Hi Tinto,
Did you get your fish from the monger?
Yer gonnae need a bigger plate!
Evening, Smallaxe.
Got the last two lemon sole in the joint, actually. No greys this week.
I was looking for a new cummerbund and some garterettes for the goat-nadgering season and stumbled across this on A____n:
link to amazon.co.uk
As they say, I saw this and thought of you…
Evening, Tinto.
Saw this…
Guess who I thought of?
I’ve been musing a while on your conundrum, old mole.
It can’t be us, ‘cos we’ve both got hats. The blonde is a Laydee, and we’re not.
You saying I’m a lutenist? At least it’s better than a morris dancer, I suppose.
Stick to the lute, Tinto;
That Morris dancing can be dangerous;
Oot ther skulls oan scrumpy, sotheyur!
@Smallaxe –
🙂 🙂 🙂
FFS man, where do you find this stuff?
So-fekkin-perb.
Ian,
Where do I find it?;
Goodnight, brother.
Thanks Smallaxe, one night in the old Clutha the star turn was a team of Morris Dancers. With blacked up faces & swords they reminded one of a night in the Caravelle.
Can I use the great piece by smallaxe I believe:
Scotland the Brave
v
Scotland the slave
I would like this on a t-shirt.
Fred,
You should have been in the Caravel when it was still the El Paso.
winifred mccartney,
Please use my words as you see fit, Winifred, I would be honoured.
Thank you.
Morning, Smallaxe.
Your MD clip was a teaker, as we used to say in the punishment wing of my old school (the whole school, actually). Imagine a band of lute-playing morris dancers. They’d probs go down a bomb in post-Brexit England.
Could make Mickie Most a fortune.
Just signed ‘David Mundell must resign ‘ petition on change.org ……. initiated by Ian Brotherhood. ( Partner signed it too ).
From Twitter (Paula Rose)…
“Graeme Turner
@gturner1969
16 minutes ago
#GlasgowArtSchool Q. Does this photograph from last night suggest O2 was in fire before the Art School. The Academy roof is fully ablaze whilst the west and east ends of the Art School don’t look as if they are in fire! O2 Was apparently up for sale!”
:large
For Macart:
@Tinto Chiel
That’s what ah’m talkin’ about. 🙂
Pele’s headed goal. Awesome.
And Macart, re Iceland, my diddy team humbly submits:
link to archive.is
“Pele’s headed goal. Awesome.”
Oh, yes and possibly the most powerful header ever from a man/salmon seemingly just hanging in the air, waiting for the ball to come to him.
For all that, the effortless passing, overlapping and sheer power of the final shot for the fourth goal just summed up Brazil for me.
*wipes away a silent tear*
@Tinto Chiel
Heh! 🙂
Y’know, my old dad gave me a special birthday gift a couple of years back. It was an old worn envelope and within it was his most cherished possession. It was a ticket to a football match.
1967 England v Scotland
Made a point of acquiring a DVD of the match to go with the ticket. Still can’t find paw in the crowd. 😀
Proper football.
@Macart: just can’t go on, my friend, with all those memories…..
*Blubs like a big girlie*
For Masel’;
@Macart: just can’t go on, my friend, with all those memories…..
*Blubs like a big girlie*
Warning: this may be a double post and consequent hammers.
For the fitba’ fans;
link to newsthump.com
Izat a Fact?
@Smallaxe: can’t go on now, mon vieux haricot.
Mofftaemapit!
Night, Night, Tinto.
“Sweet Dreams”
Morning Smallaxe and other sophisticates:
Feeling all hippy dippy this morning.
The blue and the white of the flag shines bright
Hope that Amy being such an ardent Yesser and Rangers fan will encourage more of them to cross the floor in the next referendum.
Jings, crivvens, help ma boaby recap… what was that… that was a FUN night, last night. Somegoodbuddy kept feeding me drams of whisky.
Well done Serbia.
Here’s a quizzer:
Q. Which fictional character flew into Cherry Tree Lane and which house number did she arrive at?
It’s always everywhere.
6 sleeps to go.
Is it 17 and Ruth Davidson, Cactus?
It’s been driving me mad…
Cactus,
As Tinto has said #17 and Ruth Poppinson;
Bonus Song;
See you at Bannockburn.
Tinto,
Driving you mad?
How will we know the difference?
Evening, aye ye were right the 1st time Tinto Chiel, let’s go fly a Britite, I do rather like Poppinson too smallaxe 🙂
Here’s a question for a Scottish poll, to get em thinking:
Q. “Should Scotland vote to return to being an independent country, which of the following parties would you vote for to form the first new government…”
– Scottish National Party
– Scottish Green Party
– Scottish Liberal Democrats
– Scottish Labour (abstentioning) Party
– Undecided / don’t know
– Other
– Won’t vote
– Scottish Conservative Party
Paint a picture.
(There was a fair bit of lovin’ last night on here, it mustve been all the FUN and excitement of the football or summin)
Don’t know where you get them from, Smallaxe old bean.
Mad, moi? I think Harvey would have something to say about that.
Well, he would but I don’t speak rabbit.
Though I can rabbit on, obvs.
Oh, look! A carrot…
Fairy Nuff, Cactus: Stetson or Fedora on Sats? Don’t want to clash. Can’t pluck up the courage to wear my Homburg.
Cactus Says:
“(There was a fair bit of lovin’ last night on here, it must’ve been all the FUN and excitement of the football or summin)”
There was more than a fair bit of lovin’Cactus, I’m not Foolin’ there was a;
“Whole Lotta Love”
You asked for that!
Tinto,
You know what’s coming, don’t you;
You asked for it!
I may wear a Panama hat.
Hehe I’ll be travelling in top-hat avec monocle, with side cain and cape, in amongst all the rest of us SuperScots, courtesy of Bonnie Bannockburn.
A whole lotta lovin’ it always is smallaxe excellent, we both knows.
Fun at Bannockburn it is.
Send a postcard…
Also may one make a polite request s’il vous please.
Could somebuddy please bring their DRONE along to Bonnie Bannockburn so we can get some aerial shots, ta.
Scotland on tour 2018.
Cactus,
Your postcard;
You asked for it!
No Mean City, right enough.
Eh an by the way… LUV XXX
LOVE three times a day.
Turn it UP!
(hope I got the music link right)
Cum wi slow it an chill fi a likkle bit wah yuh say?
Dat cool enuff fi yuh?
Howsabout the Homburg TC yeah, cool hat, noting white gloves and Cameo accessories are optional extras… hehe, said mj 🙂
Bannockburn, pretty middleish in Scotland, excellent transport links, visit Scotland… for you.
Come on down Inverness
Come on up Dumfries
Take a drive across from Drymen
Hitch a ride over from Dunfermline
This is your Summer 2018 Scotland.
Get to YOUR gig.
It’s FREE.
Groovy vibes Smallaxe, jah man 🙂
U set da tone on da microphone.
Looking like Brian Doon The Toon could be right about the “Fire!”
“U set da tone on da microphone.”
😀
Homburg, you say, Cactus?
Black or grey?
TC,
Black or grey? Brown, surely?
How so, cearc?
Doubt it would complement my skin tones.
Try go for all three TC.
LOVE three times a day.
Breakfast, late-lunch and dinner.
Hey cearc xx
WOW! The significance of what we will all be doing this Saturday at Bannockburn. History will remember the 23rd. Take photographs and video.
It’s gonna be an emotional day.
It’s gonna be a fun day.
It’s gonna be.
A reminder of your history Scotland:
link to en.m.wikipedia.org
Here comes Scotland!
Just catching up with events and see that Westminster appears to believe itself the bastion of liberal democracy and reflective cultural competence. Apart from when it comes to dealing with Scotland, obviously, where Westminster appears to favour authoritarian despotism. Such is the political morphology of British nationalism.
A Theory of Freedom: From the Psychology to the Politics of Agency
link to ndpr.nd.edu
Subject, action and polis: Theorizing political agency
link to tampub.uta.fi
Pedagogy of Freedom, Ethics, Democracy and Civic Courage
link to abahlali.org
@ Stravaiger says:
12 June, 2018 at 9:39 am
@Daisy Walker
Will you be at AOUB at Bannockburn or Inverness? Any chance of meeting up? There’s something I’d like to chat about.
I will be at Bannockburn, I will loiter at the Wings stall… look for the big blond dog with one ear pointing forward… either that or get Ronnie to point me out.
I don’t do illegal by the way, just to be clear.
O/T Folks I saw a tweet on the Revs account a few days ago, which seemed to claim that oil exports amounted to 30% of all UK exports in 2015 – I’d like to verify same, but can’t find it anymore, can anyone shed light on this.
Best wishes to all.
Three, Cactus?
Will have to consult my tailors, Grabbit and Runne for my new chapeau marron 😉
@ Daisy Walker,
Cool. Nothing illegal, just some stuff that of necessity can’t be talked about on an open forum.
TC,
So you’re going dressed as a chestnut? See, I told you the hat should be brown.
@ cearc: damn you, you’re good!
Can’t really argue with a woman *rubs plaster casts on arm and leg ruefully*
Daughter No.2 tells me there was a five-minute Scottish news so we can all gather round the one-bar electric fire with our Bovrils to watch the England game. Huzzah!
Never has obscure place-name research appeared so appealing. You know who I mean, Lickprivick…..
Just to announce that the snow drifts have been cleared on the Auchenshoogle bypass and it seems that this man will appear on the fields, highways, and byeways of Stirling. I am so looking forward to this or
Just to announce that the snow drifts have been cleared on the Auchenshoogle bypass and it seems that this man will appear on the fields, highways, and byeways of Stirling. I am so looking forward to renewing previous meetings. See you all there.
A bit like a cat has three names TC, a hat has three names:
link to en.m.wikipedia.org
A hat for each & every occasion.
The naming of hats.
Miaowww 🙂
See ye there Archie, should be fun.
I was watching some of the auld Glasgow Trams black n white footage again… mesmerising… back then, EVERYBUDDY wore a hat.
Have you been to Glasgow’s World Famous Transport Museum…
It’s worth a walk and The Tall Ship is there on oor Clyde.
Scotland rising.
Checklist for Bannockburn:
– Arrive in the morning, make a day of it
– Wear suitable footwear and bring water
– Admire the glorious turnout
– March
– Smile and wave at any unlearn’ed ones who may turn up
– Sing, chant, dance and have fun
– To destination
This is OUR march FOR independence.
All Under One Banner.
Cactus,
The fashion or habit of going hatless is a very modern phenomenon, it only started about 50yrs. ago.
Strange really. I guess people have come to like getting sunstroke (largely undiagnosed) in summer and bloody cold in winter.
@Ian Brotherhood
Read your suggestion the other day on the MT about rebuilding the GSA in a “better” location that is more accessible.
I think that’s a very good idea and if they intend to demolish totally the existing structure then it becomes a great idea.
In other words it should not be demolished if it can be saved, they could take it down brick by brick and rebuild it in a more suitable spot where it might stand for another 200 years at least.
Somebody will have to pay out for the damage caused by this fire and that will be the underwriters of the insurance companies of whoever is found responsible.
Whatever I would definitely rebuild it, maybe 20 years ago a historic school in Dundee burnt down, Morgan Academy. The entire thing was rebuilt and from the outside was identical to the original. It can be done, where there’s a will…
Here’s the old Morgan on fire and why it happened.
link to archive.li
Then there’s the new, which coincidently celebrates it’s 150th this year.
link to archive.li
Hi Thepnr.
The evening of the Morgan fire, Pete the camera was up The Law and saw the plume of smoke. He took a photo from Law Road (the road that winds its way up The Law) then headed over to Stobbie.
I uploaded his series of pics to my original “Doon The Toon” web site, which was captured by the Internet Archive.
Due to the way the Internet Archive worked in those days, sometimes a pic wasn’t captured. Other times, when you click the “Next” button, the pic doesn’t appear until you reload the page. If a pic just appears as its text title, eg “morgan01.JPG”, try reloading the page as well. I saw his first pic from Law Road after a reload/refresh page.
Onnyhoo, you can explore here:-
link to web.archive.org
BTW: the reason the pics appear so small nowadays is because, in 2001, they were fine on an 800×600 monitor!
@Brian Doonthetoon
Man,they were brilliant pictures, so thanks for that and especially to Pete. I remember the fire well but seeing the gutted shell back then I was totally amazed that just a few years later a brand new Morgan looking exactly the same was in it’s place.
So now this year we have a school celebrating it’s 150th birthday when in fact it’s less than 15 years old which reminds me of this which is total class 🙂
completely O/T
What is happening to our plants. Last year I had so many apples the branches were almost breaking. Looks like the same is happening again though apple trees are usually one year on/one year low harvest. But it’s my rasps . The stems are usually about five feet tallest. I have never seen so many raspberries and the stems are up to over seven feet and bending over. Are the plants telling us about another Siberian episode coming up this winter?
Dave, rasp canes shot up without a check last year in the wet Summer, flowers fertilised well by bees in that good spell this Spring, hence the promised crop. Can U get European labour to pick them though, that is the question?
Fred: haven’t heard of the Willox the Warlock you mentioned on a M/T, though I see there is a book available on him on A____n.
We once lived in a holiday house in Mellon Udrigle (opp. Anthrax Island) near Loch na Beiste but survived. Mind you, I didn’t go up there at midnight slathered in anchovy paste.
Think the kelpie was supposed to have disposed of a schoolmaster or summink, so it can’t have been all bad 😉
I have been posting a quote of the day on my facebook page for some time now. Thought some of you would like to see this one.
Quote of the day, from Ian Hamilton in his book STONE of DESTINY
“I did not go to London all these years ago to fetch back a hunk of stone. I went to do something for my country. I wanted to see if it was still alive because at that time it seemed dead. Nobody cared. I was not then, nor am I now, greatly concerned with how Scotland is governed. Independence will come when the people want it.”
Might I ask that anyone who does not wish to see Scotland once more reduced to simply a region of the UK, whether or not you wish independence, to come along to Bannockburn on Saturday (23rd June 2018). It’s rather important.
I shall be there, so if you see a rather short, overweight OAP being towed about (usually to places I don’t want to go) by a big Bernese Mountain Dog………….it’s probably me.
Do say hello.
@ Tinto, Willox apparently took a charm to present to the duke of Gordon who was raising sojers to fight Napoleon. The duke thought Willox was joining-up so was not too happy. The charm guaranteed the wearer against musket-balls so his grace made Willox wear it while ordering a party of new recruits to load-up. The Warlock took to his heels while the sojers fired after him!
Anchovy-paste like orange brassieres would require a “Safe” word methinks!
Fred, I thought salesmen had to believe in their wares, as in the power of positive thinking?
Did a reccy of the Bannockburn course yesterday and we have been shunted on to streets through housing for the most part. I really hope we get the bods out to sicken the Britnats.
Is it a 1.30pm kick-off, Bob?
Sorry, Bill.
You can take the girl out of Motherwell:
Btw, came across a Jacobite slogan that’s bang up to date:
“Prosperity to Scotland and no Union.”
This is for hackalumpoff, a one-man restoration machine, ‘cos he sez Van’s The Man:
Love it when the drummer takes a flaky towards the end…
Irish woman sings: Scotsman swoons.
I do hope that you will forgive my impertinence, Tinto, old bean, but I will play your choice of song again, this time it may make a certain Ms Lucia Daines swoon.
“My Laggan Love” Dusty Springfield;
This place is getting dusty Lucia, in more ways than one.
The Wheel Turns,
“Litha” Celebration of the Summer Solstice/Litha
@ Tinto, 2:11PM rightbackatcha link to youtube.com
See you on Saturday.
Wingers, I have three spare seats in my car going from Glasgow Gorbals to Bannockburn on Saturday, will be leaving around 11AM get parked and and flegged up. Reply on here if you need a lift.
Hackalumpoff, for her indoors;
For you;
Peace* Love* and Music*
Ah, Smallaxe, remember Miss Daines? Charming young lady, if a bit scatty. And the pert and feisty Paula Rose, the wonderful parties at her gaff: the potted “palms”, the chankie lock on the bog door, the lava lamp lost in the lady’s lavvy, the Ian Brotherhood memorial upturned plant pot with attendant little hostage, the unorthodox smoke-house…
Ou sont les neiges d’antan? Eh, Poindexters?
Hackalumpoff: glad you can make B’burn and take a break from your Herculean labours. Mrs TC says I’ve never even thought of a Wonderful Remark, let alone articulated one.
The Laydees, eh? Can’t live with, can’t live with them…..
*Starts feather-dusting early to avoid unseemly domestic strife*
@ Smallaxe, thanks for that, new to me.
If you ffwd to 13:27 it seems the Norn Irish had the same educational experience as most Scots, Anglification, or whatever our Cameron Brodie might call it.
Here’s another great Irishman, approriate for the times, oi tink.
Hackalumpoff,
You’re welcome, I listened to that one before I played it and agree with you about the education similarities.
Christy Moore, is, as you say another of the greats. This track may sound a bit morbid but I like to listen to it through headphones.
Christy Moore:”Danny Boy” [Spoken Poem]
Goodnight, I’m heading to Stirling tomorrow, see you there.
Hi Tinto,
Another Irishman;
Liam Clancy:”Band Played Waltzing Matilda”
OI Smallaxe, ” Liam Clancy:Band Played Waltzing Matilda ”
That’s an Eric Bogle song, One of oors !
Here’s one of his best: link to youtube.com
Off to bed, early start on tiling etc.
Hackalumpoff says:
“One of oors”
Smallaxe says:
One World One People “One Love”;
Out of Many, One People.
There are 7 sides to it.
As you know. 😉
One of the seven, Cactus,
The Blues Brothers:”Everybody Needs Somebody to Love”
That’s important!
See you tomorrow, Good Buddy.
It’s gonna be excellently awesome Smallaxe.
RA weather is looking 2b hot n SUNny 🙂
One of the seven.
Upon ramorra.
XMTS.
That The Band Played Waltzing Matilda gets you every time, doesn’t it?
Excellent choices last night gentlemen.
Cactus: strike the Homburg. In view of the meteorological prognostications, I’ll be sporting my classic straw fedora (NOT Panama) with my wee string vest and navy PE shorts (circa 1968).
I’m so sorry I can’t join youse tomorrow. I’m sure it will be a great day and am feeling a bit sad about missing it.
I’m completely birdy-bound at the moment and it would be totally unreasonable to ask my neighbour to shut them up when the runner ducks don’t come home until about 10,30 and the a couple of muscovies even later.
Definitely will do Inverness as I can do it as a day trip.
Tomorrows March, Top Tip: For those of you travelling from the Edinburgh area remember that the roads around the Airport will be congested due to the Highland Show. Noticed yesterday that the City bypass (west bound) was backed up as far as the M8 turn off, Also M8 backed up to Junction 1 Livingston (Edinburgh Bound)from the turn off to the Airport. Leave yourself more time or seek an alternative routes.
@cearc: can’t believe you’re ducking this one out 😛
What eggsactly is the problem? It’s not good to be cooped up all day you know.
Will give my saltire an extra twirl for you (new poles too).
Yep, I’ve chickened out. Or rather I’m all chickened out at the moment. With the added excitement of random, daytime visits from a vixen.
“With the added excitement of random, daytime visits from a vixen.”
Me too, in a way!
😛
Must get the dusting, polishing, dysoning und so weiter done by 1 0’clock.
Ah, but I have the advantage of being able to set a hunter on to mine (when he gets back from his fishing jaunt).
For all you sophisticates/retreads/retros:
Salty Bean Fumble link to youtube.com
Where the Soul never dies link to youtube.com
@Ian Brotherhood
You mentioned on the MT about feeling “jaded”. I’m not surprised, it’s not like we’re pounding the streets but evn just keeping up with and reading all that news is a hard slog.
Sometimes I’m like my brain is frying with information overload. I guess that is nothing though to those whose kids are hungry tonight and whose parents believe there is no future for them.
My only goal is no hungry children, no homeless and no individual believing in no future. I can manage a march tomorrow in support of that. We do the best we can and keep doing it then we will eventually get where we want to go.
Go Go Go…… Probably the anthem for the next independence campaign but Chuck at his best and most people have never heard this number
Good morning, Wingers. A bright sunny morning here in Stirling, see you all soon.?
(?)/ Smile.
Effin phone!
Morning, Smallaxe.
See you later, I hope.
Woops! Forgot this:
Morning, Tinto.
See you when you get to the Wings stall.
Wave a flag for me.
this song is for everyone going to Bannockburn today. And for all those who are not going but wish they could. but it is mostly for Me. link to youtube.com Bannockburn here I come.
One has arrived in Stirling, lookin’ our for ye straw fedora TC, we’ll fly em high cearc, in the sunny beer garden oot back xx
We’ve just seen a circular rainbow through the sun, photies taken, look up with sunglasses and wear sunscreen xx
Aye, rub it in, Cactus, wontcha – It’s grey and drizzling here (probably in sympathy with me for not being there)!
Have a great day everyone. Hugs all around.
On the livestream…police estimating 10,000, probably a lot more given they usually underestimate by the thousands….hoping to see familiar faces on the stream, huv a braw day you lot 🙂
@K1: do you have a sick note?
Cactus: too windy for my fed. when I got out the Bentley Con. so went for the classic George Clooney Grecian 2000 look with added smoulder.
Spotted you in your estimable hat on the field after the march. Enjoy your evening 😉
Ma only excuse is that I didn’t get organised in time…too busy wi other stuff of late…twas ever thus 😉
Looks like it was a great day for everyone involved…sorry to have missed yer sartorial display Tinto…how was the dapper Smallaxe turned oot? No doubt he outshined wi his usual debonair elegance 🙂
You were missed by us soffisticates, K1. Sorry you couldn’t make it.
Smallaxe was extremely dapper as per in fine suit and designer shoes. I was as a black hole before the Gretna sartorial supernova (peotry) wot he represents. Went for the James Cameron crumpled linen-jacket-in-Saigon-tropical-look but don’t think it came off and the ivory hempen espadrilles with fuchsia tassles were defo ill-considered.
Still, there’s always Inverness.
Well done abody on today.
Sorry I disappeared so abruptly, mrs & lass were dog-tired (as was I, truth be told) and I hate long goodbyes.
Another important day done & dusted – we’re that toty bit closer to The Big One.
😉 🙂
TC,
All of Inverness is buzzing as they await the sartorial splendours to be revealed. The whole city is awash with …uhhm, what’s the word I’m looking for?..
Ahh, that’s it, indyference.
“indyference”: love it, you word-smith, you. Any wardrobe pointers?
Is Leakey’s bookshop still there? Almost got lost in there once.
Ian B: Glasgow Intellectuals’ Symposium?
@ Tinto, your sartorial exquisitness was once again eclipsed by Mr Slick – the dapper Mr Smallaxe.
You Sir, will have to up your gemme for Inversneckie.
I hear this years trendsetters oop North are taking the Mankini/Kilt combos to extremes.
Rumours have it that Lidl have an exclusive offer on Mankini/Kilt in various tartans in their Inverness and northern stores next Thursday. I could join the queue at one of them on Thursday, if you can afford the £4.99.
The original link to youtube.com
The update link to youtube.com
and link to youtube.com
Great to meet all the Wingers today, now lets see the central belt invade Inverness, NO EXCUSES !
hackalumpoff: that Mankini Look is so ’17, mon vieux. Nana, Queen of Links, alerted me a few months ago to the possibilities suggested by the lungi (q.v.) for the discerning Man about Town.
So, it will probs be Kilmarnock bunnet, Jacobite linen shirt open to the pecs (for The Laydees), said sarong and Doc Martens to finish the combo.
Still working on the socks…
@ Tinto, glad to say Primark Inverness has the very outfit for you, they also do a fine range of Bobban socks, naturally midge repellant. Nana, Queen of Links also does a darn good line of them.
I do believe the young Donald J Trump bought several pairs of hers on his last visit so you better be quick as he is due back soon and he is a leader not follower.
A’m knackered, great day, great people from all walks of life, Tinto was sober, the sun shone down on us and a’m still knackered and listening to this.
It’s A Beautiful Day;
Cu2_2R8gkYYP_AvWORShwE7MR-E
Namaste
Just had a kip, I was knackered. Great to see all the usual faces today. Ken what? I think we might be winning 🙂
@Thepnr –
Ah think ye’re right brother.
@hackalumpoff: “DARN good line of them”.
Saw what you did there: to’al respek.
“Tinto was sober”: an outrageous suggestion. My seconds will be around to demand satisfaction, sirrah.
That first beautiful day was a bit weird Smallaxe and the one with girl with no eyes will give me nightmares. I’m very sensitive, you know.
Still beelin’ at the ridiculous route but, as Paula Rose said, winding through the schemes might have encouraged a lot of people to come out (both senses).
Great to meet new faces who were just names, including the Hairy String.
What a grand day it was yesterday, such a sunny and inspiring afternoon with my Wingy family and the wider Yes movement.
Started off with that lovely “witchy-woo” moment in the Kilted Kangaroo beer garden, when Cactus, Thepnr and I spotted this most unusual and beautiful circular rainbow around the sun. Just as we were discussing its intrinsic wonder, Thepnr suddenly reminded us of the legendary Saltire cross seen in the sky by the Scots and the Picts……and the fact that The Battle of Bannockburn took place on this very day 704 years ago……
This was the “Wingy Witchy-woo” experience. Still getting goosebumps now, just thinking about it!
We were then joined by X-Sticks for another pint (and a half) before setting off on the march. What a heart-lifting experience, winding our way through the posh hooses and the scheme, waving and smiling to the passers-by and onlookers. The minute we reached the park I had to ran into the trees to find a “wee” spot, with X-Sticks doing the gentlemanly thing and providing cover for my lady modesties with his fulsome Saltire flag.
Later highlights: standing chatting on the top of the hill with Craig Murray, who polished off the last of my wee whisky supply; the woman in the 1314 pub who took about twenty photies of Jock Scot and me underneath the “1314” sign, saying we made “such a beautiful couple”; and then Cactus and me as the last folk standing, grooving along to a live blues band in another pub before running for the last train back to Glasgow at 11 pm.
What a wonderful day. Thanks, a’body!
@Quinie frae Angus
Yes another good day and I’m always happy that I got off my arse and went along.
Here you go, the rainbow around the sun, colours not obvious in the pictures but they were to the naked eye.
link to imgur.com
@Quinie frae Angus
What we saw yesterday was literately a Halo! Look it up.
link to facebook.com
Yes Bikers Photo’s of Bannockburn .
link to facebook.com
@ronnie anderson
Thanks for the link, looking through all the pictures gave me goosebumps. Independence is normal and it shows!
Regarding the Mexican border situation in America.
Zionist Israel now controls Zionist America.( Israel has been doing this, and worse to innocent Palestinians for decades)
SIMPLES.
World wake up.
Postcard frae Bannockburn:
Good to be there with ye all on Saturday, fun times. Also noticed a marked non-presence of those of the opposing view… an unchallenged Yes march, let’s do that like that again…
Even the one corner house that had a big uk flag in their window, as we neared the fields (whom we could see in their garden as we walked up the hill) appeared rather stunned by our march. No nervous smiles, they seemed in just a kind of mesmerised daydream. Ah said, halo there how ye doin’ in passing… but they didn’t even flinch, there was an eerie silence all around them.
Aye we did good Quinie, good fun on the local live scene!
It’s fun to march
It’s fun to sing
It’s fun to dance
It’s fun to win
Be back soon Bannockburn.
Thanks AUOB et al.
Best Wishes,
@ hackalumpoff – just in case you miss it theres a photo of the 3 of us on the march. Use Ronnie’s link above and the photo is fairly near the begining.
I see that opposition to immigration isn’t confined to non-practicing Anglicans living in England. Given that Scotland has a comparatively tiny ‘ethnic’ population, certain folk posting on this site must really have a problem respecting difference. Makes you wonder why they support independence, frankly.
Scotland and England share a culture that was created largely through methodological nationalism, but have there own unique cultures and identities. British nationalism is insensitive to these differences (see Brexit, for example). That’s what makes Westminster’s position re. Scotland and the EU, culturally chauvinistic. Racist, rational paternalism, such as Westminster is currently displaying towards Scotland, is a totally Victorian, imperialist mindset.
link to ndpr.nd.edu
link to uu.nl
link to psycnet.apa.org
Get Together;
Sara Bareilles:”Brave”;
I heard this on my crystal set yesterday and it set my melancholy poet’s soul a-musing.
As Smallaxe was saying recently, I think Paula Rose would have liked it, or that kookie, strange little girl (cue The Stranglers) Lucia Daines who flits noiselessly around the PRMG doing the domestic needfuls but is never seen.
It’s a pure mystery, soanitis.
Hi, Tinto,
I think that strange little girl has been somewhat disillusioned by certain people or maybe just a person;
Quite sad really, intit?
I’m gone for the day, I leave this for all who take the time to watch and understand;
With all it’s sham drudgery and broken dreams it is still a beautiful world, strive to be happy.
Namaste, my friends.
Quite so, Smallaxe. Take care.
Some find this a trifle bleak but the poet suffered a mental breakdown following the Enclosure Acts and the destruction of his traditional rural world, where familiar landmarks of common land and woods, with their sentimental significance, were swept away in the name of progress and the enrichment of the Tories who acquired land formerly held by the community.
link to poetryfoundation.org
Being able to mastering the joy of living, really does boil down to how you learn to view the world. A patriarchal, colonial education (epistemology) leads to colonial aphasia and the perpetuation of colonial practice and inequality (see Brexit, ffs).
uir.ulster.ac.uk/24225/1/International_Human_Rights_Law_Review_Volume_1.2,Feminism,_Postcolonial_Legal_Theory_and_Transitional_Justice,_A_Critique_of_Current_Trends.docx
From postcolonial to post-growth and back
Which ways for a feminist materialist critique of capitalism?
link to kolleg-postwachstum.de
A Postcolonial Feminist Perspective Inquiry into Immigrant Women’s Mental Health Care Experiences
link to researchgate.net
In which most of the participants seem totally gassed:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3h–K5928M
Again and again I keep forgetting. How do you do a specific search for a commenter’s history of comments on Wings? I keep doing the ‘wings over Scotland ‘so and so says’ in the goggle search bar and sure enough thousands of hits. But it’s just the threads that come up and sure there may be a comment from said poster within that thread, but not gonnae search through every thread to find a commenters particular comments?
But I recall doing something a little more advanced before that bdtt put up years ago and it gave all the comments from that particular commenter, I know cause I put my name in and up they all came.
Any help much appreciated. 🙂
Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh at a Forward Shop (YES Cowal)meetinmg at Dunoon Pier listening to three powerful young ladies
yescowal.scot/2018/06/22/the-better-country-we-can-build/
Ronnie Anderson
My Yes Group are interested in ordering some Rolls of the Tape you gave me samples of on Saturday.
Can you post the details on here please….
Or if anyone else knows how to order some…that’d be great
K1: I’m sure BDTT will be your man.
Hi Tinto was great to put face to the name at Bannockburn. Great crowd Great day.
Hi, Guys,
What else can I play??
Seen?
Again, great day, great people, it was a privilege to be in your company. Peace, Love and Independence.
liz g It was Daisy Walker who got the tape printed put a message up for her
Me too and coming right back at ya, Michael:
Ronnie Anderson @ 10.49
Thanks Ronnie will do.
For Hackalumpoff;
I’ll bet you would pay someone to take your back right now. The best advice I can give is to soak your back in whisky, from the inside.
Hey K1, to find a users comments on any Wings page, you…
Press the CTRL + F keys together (find shortcut).
Then type name/word into the pop-up box.
When using a keyboard that is.
Then scroll x.
That’s just search per page mind K1, yeah bdtt knows multi-search.
Full moon soon, just before 6am this mornin’.
Things are sunning up for Scotland. 🙂
Use sunscreen.
Sun is Shining;
Morning Smallaxe it was grand meeting you and Mrs Smallaxe at Bannockburn on Saturday. Will be back later with some songs.
Good morning, Michael,
It was our pleasure entirely, Michael. We’ll meet again soon, hopefully.
Freedom day for wee birdies here. The evil monster has been slain.
Sunshine and the scent of elderflowers. Wee birdies pecking amongst the flowers and futilely attempting to catch wee moths that dance tantalising above their heads. Dust baths galore. All is well in the world again for them.
Me? Well there’s a garage and two poultry sheds full of shite to tackle.
cearc,
I think you mean a garage and two poultry sheds full of Fertilizer;
Great lyrics.
@ Lizg
Re Tape, can you post a mobile number for me to contact you?
Smallaxe,
Hey, she’s even wearing the same harlequin ballgown and heels that I wear to clean out the sheds!
Daisy Walker @ 11.06
Hi Daisy
Thanks for replying so quickly.
My mobile doesn’t get a signal in this house.
(That’s why one of the kids gave me it …. lol)
Anyhoo….. If you mean to message me then yes I can give you it!
But if you want to speak to me directly then it will need to be the land line,
Which is best for you?
Oh and there’s also an Email address
Whatever suits you best.
cearc,
Thought so!
@Lizg
E mail would be best if your OK with that.
Best wishes.
Nah, I wear a white lacy number when I’m killing my dinners. The harlequin ballgown is for mucking out.
cearc,
Chantilly Lace?
Daisy Walker @ 1.23
Thanks Daisy email it is then
e.gray61321@gmail.com
(This may be an almost duplicate post.)
Hi K1 says at 8:26 pm last night.
You pleaded,
“Again and again I keep forgetting. How do you do a specific search for a commenter’s history of comments on Wings?”
Here’s the system I use.
Go to Google’s Advance Search –
link to google.com
In the text box marked “this exact word or phrase:”, paste the username – which you have copied EXACTLY from a WOS page – that you want to find.
In the box a wee bit further down, marked “site or domain:”, paste in:-
link to wingsoverscotland.com
If you are looking for a specific word or words associated with that user’s input, you can type them in the “all these words:” or “any of these words:” boxes.
When you hit enter/return, you should get a list of Wings’ pages containing the username.
You may have an idea of when something was posted, in which case, as the hits are dated, you can ignore those which don’t fit chronologically, saving a bit of time.
When you click on a likely page, wait for it to finish loading then hold down the “FIND” key combination – COMMAND-F (Mac) or CONTROL-F (Win) – and paste the username you seek into the wee text box.
The first example found should be highlighted so you can read around the occurrence to see if it’s what you’re looking for. If not, click the DOWN arrow in the FIND box to jump to the next occurrence. Rinse and repeat…
You can do the same for a specific page, like “off-topic”, by pasting the page’s url into the “site or domain:” box.
wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic
Please bear with me, although this is the BBC. I’m only claiming my 15 seconds [sic] of Fame.
It’s aimed at those of you who don’t know me, may be have an interest in some of my posts on the main site, but might be wondering to yourselves how to say my first name. (You wouldn’t be alone nor the first.)
link to bbc.co.uk
Best wishes.
Well done, Sion.
What gets me is the increasingly common mispronunciation of AvieMORE, which becomes AVIEmore, even from some Scottish announcers now.
Worse still, Pravdasound4 has discovered a new range of mountains in Scotland called the CAINgoms, apparently.
And while rustling up Mrs TC’s dinner (viande hachee en facon “Cadzow”), I heard a BBC wummin rubbing it into some poor German journo about his team’s defeat by South Korea. Quite gobsmacked after all that when she asked him who he would be supporting in the England V Belgium game? Bizarre.
Is it a deep-seated insecurity or something?
Any way, I proffer a topical platter for your retro-enjoyment:
Janis:”Summertime”
Salvador Dali, Walt Disney and Pink Floyd;
Daisy Walker @ 1.23 27/06/18
I would be very happy if I could contact you via email with regards to our mutual interest in songs.
My address is llddc03 at yahoo dot com
Thank you in advance.
What I like even less is the mispronouncing of names as practised by snobs and Tories.
Like Norman LA mont,when in fact is of norse origin and is Lamont or David MUNdell when in fact it actually properly pronounced as Mundle.
@DMH: yes, they get on my nazzums too.
You may recall in the 60s, football-types Willie WADDell and Jimmy FRIZZell (just an alternative old form of Fraser) had their names pronounced by English announcers with the stress on the second syllable.
What a lot of BOLLocks.
Mundell locally munnel, tunnel, funnel, hawkers-bunle.
Indeed, Fred, although in darkest Lanarkshire your last becomes cadger’s wap.
Other insults are available….
Braw day furrit, eh?
Braw day indeed Tinto, been watching The Bridge, also braw, & realised ah can understaun Danish!
Ben Oovi, sun crackin rocks which a few short months ago were under four feet of snaw! Some country? Nae midgies but clegs ferocious if slow, including the fancy Episcopalian wans wi the green eyes!
My wife left today for a few days hillwalking around Fort William, I’m left on my tod with three dogs to mind. Here’s a wee picture of the three of them.
link to imgur.com
The one in the middle is ours, the big one is a guide dog puppy and is just about to start his training so we might not see him again. The blur is my sister’s dog and she’s away walking with the wife too and left me in charge.
While I was looking at these pictures I saw this one of the wife walking the West Highland way with our dog last year. Thought you might like it, wish me luck as a dogsitter lol.
link to imgur.com
Dunno if anyone else would like to lodge a complaint with National Express Coaches like I have but here goes.
Watched their recent advert (not of choice, I was waiting to buy a ticket) and the promotion of “Daily journeys to 10 UK cities and 100’s of others.”
Problem is – ALL 10 “UK cities” are located in England. None at all in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland. So, I’ve left them the message this was hardly “national” nor did it cover what you’d expect people to understand by the term “UK”. (I know, I know, I’m a true, vile sep. as one contributor here called me, giving me a virtual bear hug in the process, but you gotta play it by their rules sometimes – if only, in order to turn the yoon words back onto their yoon countenances.)
Anyhow – whatever you do – I’ll have brought it to your attention thanks to the admuirable adminning of Rev. Stu.
Some more “Danish” for you, Fred, while Cherry Wainer goes mental on the old Hammond:
Chanced upon an old volume of Greek apothegms/proverbs, including these Delphic ones:
“The old hen is worth twenty chicks.”
“The old cat chases young mice.”
*Muses thereon*
Answers please, on a £20 note, to:
Self, “The Shambles”, 666, Main Street, Cadzow, Darkest Lanarkshire.
Thepnr,
Enough time to teach the pup the ‘fetch a cold beer from the fridge’ command!
cearc
Good idea, will get started now before they get their tea 🙂
@Ian Brotherhood
Thanks for the heads up on the Netflix documentary “The Vietnam War”. I’ve just watched the fist episode and am hooked. Will watch all weekend, I’m amazed that this program was even made.
Can anyone give me any details on planned flag display on Salisbury crags/Arthur’s seat,tomorrow?
Guys, if U remember we discussed a book, “His Bloody Project!” a while back, the author Graeme MacRae Burnet featured on an Alba prog’ during the week. The village featured in the book was based on Culduie in Wester Ross post the Clearances & the author explained how he managed to create a work of fiction read like fact. Ah still think it wiz true. Clever stuff & well worth a read!
@Fred
I bought that on your recommendation, great book and I even got my Mother in Law to read it. She kept it and I’ve yet to get it back 🙁
Morning, soffisticates:
One for Cowdenbeath marchers to dance to.
Top pick, hackalumpoff.
Alternatively:
Forgot to add this gem. It’s not just those pesky nats who experience BBC technical difficulties:
link to craigmurray.org.uk
Btw, hope things are all well with you, Macart.
By ra way, one must say…
Twas most excellent to hang out with you Jock Scot, Michael McCabe and lovely lady at the 1314 in Bannockburn 😉
We’ll be back for the party.
Cheers ye wingers.
Early start ra night, at HOME ra now.
Headin’ into the Big City…
Soon.
NB stay tuned Wingers.
Welsh Sion:
It seems from the M/T you are a fellow sufferer:
link to spns.org.uk
Cadzow, ya bass.
Hey Tinto, aye saw ye on recent comments.
Cadzow like… 😉
Aye once was the Duke of Hamilton (in dressage)
Aye know you know Chatelherault CP.
Aye have a linking.
Walkies like…
Not quite as erudite as your reference, Tinto … but may be of interest …
Thanks for yours.
link to amazon.co.uk
Do you know Tom or Christine of CCP, TC?
When aye was a wee guy aye used to press the PLAY button in the CCP auditorium 🙂
Aye used tae pool dip.
Mon the auld oaks!
@Welsh Sion
Hey, mate. I’m after a link to your songs.
@Cactus
Looks like a good night for the beer garden at the Clutha 🙂
Re: Cadzow Oaks and Wallace’s Cave at Ch’herault: I have the gen, Cactus.
Just back from daughter no.2’s after the France game (haven’t seen TV chez moi since Sept. 2014) and think I have discovered the Alan Partridge of Football, someone called Guy Mowbray.
Rarely have I heard such a procession of clunking clichés, contrived “spontaneous” comments, Captain Obvious apercus and Anglocentric trivia.
Since I have French in the family: Allez, les bleus!
Cheers Thepnr, aye needed that, gonnae get my shit ra-gither (well oh, my my, almost sweary words!) schmoly shit!
To me HOT shower…
Jukebox here AND there.
Will check back in… soon.
To Wings.
Free x.
Back at ya, Scottish Steve. @ 7:18pm
Email: llddc01 at yahoo dot com
@Cactus re CCP: not to my knowledge but the estate wall is about five mins walk from Tinto Towers.
@Welsh Sion: I have the Oxenham book. Think it’s excellent as a reminder of the Welsh-language heritage in Scotland but has been superseded in some areas.
Trees R cool TC. Big Love. FM knows 🙂
Ah’ve seen the ones opposite ra Ranza Bar, Glasgow.
Down near Arthur’s like.
Molendinar like.
City’s callin’ me…
Ahm body-bound for ra Clutha Wingers.
See yee’s all in there.
City’s callin’ me…
Saturday x.
Get home safe, Cactus, mon vieux.
Oaks, ya bass.
Have a good night, Cactus and lots of …
A new display of Benny Lynch memorabilia at the Peoples Palace plus a fund set up to erect a statue to the wee man. Must pay it a visit.
Morning Fred a wee tune for you. link to youtube.com
Lovely morning, innit?
Thanks for that Michael, great stuff! might be an idea to knock Dewar aff his perch & replace him with Benny!
Now is the time to drink lovely cool Scottish water cearc, aye, aye drank a couple of gallons before sleepies. Enjoying a tasty cup of Earl Grey avec meil et lait of the maintenant.
Ahm feeling remarkably brilliant. 🙂
Think aye might take a stagger back to my Glasgow Green for the fun festivities.
It’s summer Scotland xx!
Hoops, honey is miel.
Any world cup footy today?
Eitherways ah’ll be heading oot back to oor big city.
LBC is quite an eye opener for how the others think.
Many need to learn.
Be upbeat.
@Fred 11.34: great idea. I’ll be delighted when yon I.M. Jolly reject gets dung doun and someone worthy put in his place.
“Where’s our 6000 square miles of sea gone, Donald?”
Other suggestions: Agnes Dollan or Helen Crawfurd (Mary Barbour has a statue in Govan now).
I’m keeping John Maclean for Freedom Square, obvs.
I’ve got a name for it . MOTBANOLG.
Maist o’ the ba – and nane o’ the goals.
There’s an issue growing about the soporific abuse of the game that Scotland brought to most of the world.
Should of course be “MOTBANOTG”
Might write an article about it. Did anybody know that when Celtic lost its unbeaten record when Hearts beat them 4 – 0 at Tynecastle Celtic actually had 67% of the ball.
Last night Spain had nearly 80% of the ball.
Yes, the death of Tiki-Taka? Trying to walk the ball into the net gets rather boring in the end.
I hear young Mbappe, the French player who can run faster than a young deer through a burning forest, is donating his international appearance money to a children’s charity because he thinks it is a sufficient honour to play for your country.
Totally contrived link no. 23:
Aye tinto, Sammy Dreep has over-steyed his welcome, a complete waste of good bronze. He had the hots for years for a Glasgow city councillor, (no names no pack drill!) but like Mistress Jean’s answer to the Laird o Cockpen, the lady said Nah!
Tinto Chiel at 2.53 am
With you entirely on the John Maclean Square. A petition should be started
“Sammy Dreep”: 😛
The only funny anecdote I’ve heard about him is probably apocryphal, Fred. While staying at some highland B&B, he was supposedly given one of those toatie wee jars of honey with his toast. His sniffy reply: “I see you keep a bee.”
Other stories are not so good. Know an Accies fan who told me that they had set up a stall as part of a campaign to bring back the team to the town after they sold old Douglas Park to Sainsbury’s. This coincided with an election campaign. Dewar was in town and was asked to sign the petition by the fans but he gave them a hard stare and the cold shoulder.
Later Alec Salmond came along, saw them, chatted to the lads, signed the petition and probably won some votes too. It’s the way he tells ’em.
@Dave: have you read “The Red and The Green” by Gerry Cairns? It’s a new title to go alongside the works by Broom and Milton. Think I got mine from Calton Books.
I believe yon erudite Fred has read it, flaneur and intellectual wot he is.
Ah Tinto, the bee story was told of an Aberdeen landlady by Jimmy Shand on a visit to Aberdeen, he wrote a tune “I see you keep a bee!” in her honour. Possibly the same wummin who advised her new guests that “if they run out of toilet-paper they had guid Scots tongues in their heids!”
And thus the origin of the term “potty-mouth”?
Time for the Princess of Taynuilt…..
Some great views of the Skye hills and a little gem:
Karen sings in Breton:
Great Stuff!
Monday’s postcard frae the south side…
Tbc…
Soon.
Fred -““if they run out of toilet-paper they had guid Scots tongues in their heids!”
– ‘Aye, but I’ve no got a neck like a giraffe’
I’ve been laughing at that joke for 50 years
C’moan Giraffe!
Tinto Chiel at 1.26
Sounds familiar. I’ll dig it out.
When I lived in salubrious Whitehill before I went off the Africa I managed the Golden Feathers pub for a short time. I think I was the only Tim ever to work there. I used to go to watch the Accies up at Douglas Park and was much taken by a sharp young inside forward called Paul Heggerty who also lived in Whitehill. I phoned up Celtic Park to suggest that big Jock had a look at him. The word I got from the big man via phone receptionist was “Mr Stein knows the family” as Big Jock lived in Whitehill before he became Celtic manager. Heggarty of course went off to Dundee United and Scotland fame
Yon Laird o Cockpen was hairmless compared wi this chiel, Fred:
A great voice Mae McKenna has, he Yoda’d.
Dave: in the old First and Second Division days I watched Motherwell one week and Accies in the lower division the next when I was wee, since I was not allowed to ‘Well’s away games then. This meant that in a season I could see just about every Scottish team in a season.
My father once pointed out a very old man in the Douglas Park stand wearing a bowler hat. This was Jimmy Brownlie, Scottish international goalie, who played for Dundee and attended most of Accies games then.
Other great DP memories: going for a pie at 2.45 to be told they were finished because they hadn’t expected such a crowd; hearing a poor Forfar Athletic player’s leg snap like a twig on a cold frosty afternoon; seeing the inimitable Willie Forsyth, CF extraordinaire, who was bald, took out his wallies to play, I think, and was somewhat erratic in front of goal. He once floored a wee boy standing to the side of the goal with a mega-sclaff from about ten yards.
The first victims of the Irish Famine I believe were a Hegarty & a Kennedy!
And the first and last construction workers killed while building the Hoover Dam were a son and his father respectively.
Meanwhile, in other news, Willie Rennie is still a plank.
FTS: Tierney was the unfortunate family.
A song for today:
Good Morning Yes Folk link to youtube.com
Top pick, Michael. The years just fell away and I was young and beautiful again.
*The Problem of The Cringe: De-Colonising the Brit-Nat Brain (No.1 in an occasional series).*
I have been musing on this for a while. Of course, post-indy, we could just send them all for a ten-stretch at a cultural re-orientation farm where they would be forced to make haggis from scratch but I think they could be re-educated to value Scottish heritage, history and achievements using the Acme Off Topic/Brains’ Trust Library which we could compile here.
Intensive reading for inmates would be interrupted every two hours by a bending-exercises-and-mineral-water regime. Tannoy background music: entire Proclaimers’ back catalogue.
My starters for ten:
The Lore of Scotland, Westwood and Kingshill, Lunnon 2011
A Dictionary of Scottish Phrase and Fable, Crofton, Embra 2016
The Silver Bough, vols. I-IV F. Marian McNeill, Glesca 1977
The Man who found Time, Repcheck, Lunnon 2004
Gaucho Laird, Graham, 2004, Long Riders’ Guild Press
Since O/T is the home of Scottish Thought, I am sure we could quickly compile an Ark of Cultural Regeneration (he sooked).
Heat fierce here in Central North Britain, made worse by all the hot air coming up from South Britain since about 2200 hours last night…..
It’s a funny old game, Saint.
Hey folks, easin’ back on the reins, we’ve still got a few furlongs to go till the winning post, savin’ some for the final gallop, cheers. 🙂
The important business (debate) begins on Friday.
The serious stuff.
Afternoon Cactus Loving the zappa you played on the main thread the other day. link to youtube.com
Afternoon Michael McCabe, top tune yours too, aye aye the crazily cool Franko, quite the entertainer.
Yee-har:
Game on.
“Skin Deep” featuring Buddy Guy/Playing For Change;
Out of many, one people!
“With My Own Two Hands”/Song Around The World;
I’m gonna paste this in here.
It’s a comment I posted on Sunday morning, on “The Stereotypes” WOS page.
Absolutely nobody commented on it. I thought it showed how the BBC’s mind worked. Jiss me then…
Onnyhoo, here’s what I posted:-
“Brian Doonthetoon says:
1 July, 2018 at 10:24 am
As others above have quoted Andrew Marr from this morning’s programme, here’s something illuminating he uttered during the newspapers review, regarding diversity at the BBC.
He explained to Martina Navratilova,
“The BBC is very much an urban metropolitan organisation, which doesn’t necessarily represent the entire country.”
So that’s us telt…”
But Brian, he was only saying what anyone who listens to BBC radio would agree with: it’s simply an establishment mouthpiece, the state propagandist par excellence.
I’m only mildly surprised such a Scots Cringer admitted it.
For any brother geeks out there, I can recommend the graphic novel series ‘Saltire’.
Sure, it’s a bit of fun, but an entertaining, if fantastical pastiche of Scottish myth and legend expertly wound into a coherent arc (read storyline).
If you haven’t yet dabbled in the genre which gives birth to most of current Western cultural output but would like to give it a try, it is as good a place to start as any.
link to diamondsteelcomics.com
Too warm! Give me some rain.
Ladysmith Black Mambazo: “Rain, Rain, Beautiful Rain”;
Cool
Morning Smallaxe the sun is out in the Capital but there is a nice wee Breeze. Anyway let me take you on a short Journey. link to youtube.com
Jackson Browne- these days link to youtube.com
Hi Michael,
I suppose that big shiny thing in the sky means it must be,
Hi Smallaxe nice version of Summertime my friend. A bit early I know but I am sitting here with a wee nip of rum (Medicinal) that’s my Excuse. anyway makes me think of this Song link to youtube.com
Wendy McNeill-In Bocca Al Lupo link to youtube.com
As long as it’s rum from the West Indies Michael then it’s definitely medicinal.
It will also keep you young;
WHAT link to youtube.com
WHERE?
Tradition, tradition, tradition –
English sport, as it is seen by Swedes!
NOW IS THE TIME!
@David
Haha very good and a nice “pleasant” change.
@David: are you still in Brazil or have you come home to see The Buddies win the Premiership?
Beautiful morning here, with a limpid moon peering through diaphanous drifts of gossamer cirrus.
Think I’m getting a plook on my chin…
When did you get a chin, Tinto?
Oi! Wot you chinnin’ me fur?
Feel ma pecs, I dare ye!
More like feel your pecks;
Lieutenant Pigeon;
Chin Chin, old chum!
Chin Chin is Japanese for penis, there’s a little known fact 🙂
Thepnr,
Kusa!
Did you have to tell him! I was sure that he wouldn’t know that.
@JK Rowling
If anyone is a bigot, it’s you. British nationalism is a legacy of degeneration theory. As such, the pathology of British nationalism is Victorian social Darwinism and racist exceptionalism. That’s what you and all other British nationalist are supporting.
link to bl.uk
Degeneration theory
link to basicknowledge101.com
Constructing a Critical Political Theory
link to newpol.org
British nationalism has been sold to folks as benign and the natural order of things. IMHO, it should be viewed as a culturally damaging social pathology.
link to blackwellreference.com
Social Darwinism in the Gilded Age
link to khanacademy.org
Mistaking Eugenics for Social Darwinism: Why Eugenics Is
Missing from the History of American Economics
link to princeton.edu
Brexit is a good example of the chauvinistic nature of British nationalism.
link to eprints.whiterose.ac.uk
link to politicalanthropologist.com
link to anthrosource.onlinelibrary.wiley.com
Just back from a three-hour triathlon training session with end-on tantric bending exercises to find that Smallaxe ‘n’ Thepnr, O/T’s resident maharajahs of mirth, having been active in my absence.
I would remind them that the salacious import of “Turning Japanese” would appal all right-thinking people.
I’m more disappointed than shocked, really. They seemed like such nice, clean-cut boys *simpers*.
PS: would the scunner who borrowed my bicycle pump please have the decency to return it to P.O. Box 666, Old Cadzow, Darkest Lanarkshire and oblige, etc.
Tinto, thoughts on the pronunciation of that Cadzow?
“They seemed like such nice, clean-cut boys *simpers*.”
Smallaxe, that’s the wrong way to play pitch and toss: use horse-shoes next time, you silly sausage. You’re looking all a-smoulder in that dress, btw.
Fred: the “z” in Cadzow is actually a misreading of the symbol for yogh, consonantal y. Some think the original place-name comes from Old Welsh/Cumbric “cae dehou”, (south field/enclosure) and it’s quite a persuasive explanation, thought “coed” (wood) might be possible for the first word too.
Since the printed form usually ousts the correct, original spoken form over time in p-ns, it’s no surprise that the z sounds as z in modern pronunciation and, of course, the original stress on the second syllable has been buggered by Anglicisation and moved forward.
I may issue a plook bulletin later. Did you know England are playing in the World Cup thingy?
Izat z pronounced zee or zed, Tinto?
Azking for a friend;
Zat’s all
When our heiresses were toatie, they got a video of SotS as a present and I found myself watching it regularly at 6 or 7 in the morning while they got washed, dressed, fed, sent up chimneys, etc. The song were quite enjoyable but the Uncle Tomism was pretty blatant, as were the crows characters.
I believe it has been withdrawn by Disney since it is now considered racist. I’ve heard Arlene Foster has bought up all the stock for her cocktail parties.
😛
Hi Smallaxe at 11:31 am.
You mentioned,
“Lieutenant Pigeon”.
Have I flagged this up to you before? It’s a ‘mashup’ I concocted around 1974 (before mashups had been invented), using my Akai reel-to-reel tape deck and a BSR turtable with the stepped pulley altered by Humbrol customising body putty to be conical, so that I could have varispeed, controlled by folded cardboard under the speed change lever.
Technical, iye?
Hi Brian,
I remember you played that a couple of years ago-ish, I enjoyed it then and enjoyed hearing it again, thanks.
I just used my ears to listen to it, technical iye?
“I can’t tell the bottom from the top”
Might I modestly point out at this juncture that the manager of Belgium is Roberto Martinez, who played for Motherwell FC in 2000-1 and married a Scottish lady, Beth, while in Scotland.
As Macart would say: “Who knew?”
@ Tinto, ah ken aboot yoch, so it’s “kadzo” to the locals? Have seen the oaks which are just sooperb.
Tinto,
Zordon is a racist!
@Fred: re yogh, thought you might, you old tease.
Yup, “Kadzo”. Hamilton is an name imported by the new proprietors from an English estate and the old Celtic name was extinguished officially. The ancient white cattle are no longer extant in the woods either.
The oaks are rather special, non? I gathered a good gowpan of their acorns one autumn and planted them out in pots after sticking them in the fridge freezer for a wee while but I came back from work one day to find a squirrel had got all of them.
Grey squirrels are the spawn of Beelzebub, imo.
Ya bass.
@Smallaxe: zatafact, Zebedee?
“The geese are flying high tonight.”
“Fill my heart with a monotonous languor.”
@JK Rowling
Scotland takes a different view to England, on matters concerning identity and equality. I suggest you step out of the debate, as it is clear you lack an appreciation of political economy or cultural management. I imagine that will free up time for you to support Brexit and other things English.
link to runnymedetrust.org
@ Tinto, rats wi furry tails eh! Anent the geese, ye must be needing spex, this is the moult so no high-fliers.
Tinto says,
@Smallaxe: zatafact, Zebedee?
“The geese are flying high tonight.”
Ye zink zo?
Hi Fred,
Anent the longtails, this is whit ye need;
I bet this guy’s cool,
Bob Dylan:”Quinn The Eskimo”
Sub Zero, man*
@#MankyMates: you have subverted the paradigm, mes braves, (if not jumped the shark) and I am off to the Land of Nod in my winceyette PJs to muse upon the king my brother’s wreck (poetry).
the nights are fair drawing in now. It’s nearly dark here already.
On a winter evening round behind the gashouse, Tinto?
Bob Dylan:”Ballad Of Donald White”; (1962 Gaslight Cafe)
Night Night!
@cearc
Twilight not dark 🙂
Thepnr,
I beg to differ but I prefer “the gloaming”.
Radiohead:”The Gloaming From the Basement”
@ Tinto re, Winceyette PJs.
I swear I saw a Wincyette Mankini in ASDA’s earlier today.
But this chiel takes the biscuits, cake etc.
Beware the Sabbath and keep it holy, ye have been warned.
Hackalumpoff,
Remeber, crack kills!
@smallaxe
As the actor said to the Bishop, “it’s sore but I need the money”
The teacher said to me “name two pronouns” I said “who, me?”
Good night, All.
Sweet dreams;
Re. FunkoPop eyes. The toy manufacturers are simply trying to relate to their target market. 🙂
The Long Term Effects of Methylphenidate (Ritalin) Use
@JK Rowling
Sorry but your outlook really is unforgivable given your history. Have you no humility?
link to sciencedirect.com
Good morning, time to get up!
Ye up yet? Daddy Cool;
Nope, it was almost dark. A very, dark indigo sky. Definitely not light but not quite totally dark.
The gloaming or dim are northern (from nordic) words for the time when the sun is set but it is light. It was not light.
Twilight the same but is a more southern word for the same but rather more fleeting phenomena and could at a stretch encompass it. Equatorial regions have no words for it as it doesn’t exist.
‘Mup!
Those minions are too bright, man. I prefer this:
Hackalumpoff: amazing footage that of my estranged brother, that. Dances to a different drum, as my granny used to say afore spitting into the grate.
Must pop in to Asda later.
cearc,
Try taking off your sunglasses. #specsavers
Tinto, too bright, man? Try this;
Smallaxe
Morning Smallaxe, though I’m not sure if I should encourage you. 😉
In the summer I miss this:
In the winter I miss the sun.
Seh lavee as you say, Smallaxe
Good morning, Cameron.
Encouragement, who needs it? “Will You”;
Don’t worry, Tinto,
“It’s Just the Sun”
Re. the reaction of many Scots to England’s win. Given the political power differential the Union maintains between the nations, it is only natural that those who feel oppressed have no love for their perceived oppressor.
link to journals.sagepub.com
Researching Emotional Reflexivity
Rethinking Masculinity Studies: Feminism, Masculinity, and Poststructural Accounts of Agency and Emotional Reflexivity
And now for a bit of feminist theorising. Sterile nationalism? It’s all boils down to epistemology, frankly.
link to tandfonline.com
Why feminism: Reflections on the multiple meanings of doing gender studies
link to blogs.lse.ac.uk
Border thinking and disidentification: Postcolonial and postsocialist feminist dialogues
Evening, ye otta see the state of Bridgeton and surrounds (Glasgow)… they got all their union, rhol and other assorted flags up.
There’s a picture of an auld woman wearing a crown on many of their banners (is it Arlene mibbies) Any keen photographers would have a field day here, with all the various mugs on display!
THAT plus their overhead road banners which says… “Naw Surrender”… surrender ye say.. who frae.. yous are the only ones fighting… wae yersels like.
ps they’ve also painted the kerbside RWnB, feels like Larhall.
The Seven Ways bar is like a zombieland…
Double-tap em Wichita Jesse. 😉
Edit:
rhol should be rhoulster fry (as u ken).
Larhall should be Larkhall (nae larkin’ mind).
Mon Croatia!
Cactus,
Check the back seat.
Remember, it’s,
“For Whom the Bell Tolls”
Smallaxe
I just played that after having to stop it and pop out for a minute. This site must really have some reach, as I was now presented with a Scottish themed introduction add that had been placed during that minute. Not the first time it’s happened.
“You are all Philistines.”
Excuse me, I’m a Samaritan. 🙂
Cameron,
@ 9:01 pm: You’re on The List!
@ 9:19 pm: You are a person of interest;
Btw, I’m not a philistine either, I’m a Capricorn!
Hi Smallaxe.
That Metallica “For Whom The Bell Tolls” was on the first Metallica album I purchased.
Do you remember this “For Whom The Bell Tolls”?
I think that was a follow-up single to the absolute classic, which was covered by “39 Lyon Street”, aka Billy Mackenzie.
And as an addendum…
A single appeared around the same time, by “The Moles”. Rumour at the time was that The Moles were actually The Beatles but it came out years later that The Moles were actually Simon Dupree And The Big Sound.
Onnyhoo, I think it’s that time of the year when we should be subjected to this:-
Hi Brian,
I remember the Simon D. version but a bit faster;
“Kites” a good video with that version, here’s the band;
We are the Moles, memories, memories. 🙂
Remastered version.
You’ve made me feel old, Brian.
Old who?
I told I’m no Philistine. 🙂
link to knowrivalry.com
Got a good joke which I feel I have to pass on.
Wee boy in McDonalds choking on his chicken burger. Mum slapping him on the back to no avail. Wee boy going blue in the face. “Stand back,stand back” says a lady coming over.”I’m a nurse! ” turning the wee boy up and beating him furiously on the back.Wee boy continuing choking and going white.
Dignified looking gentleman comes over,grabs the wee chap by the testicles and gives them a good stiff squeeze. Wee boy coughs up the burger,clears his throat and starts breathing properly. “Thank God you came over” says mum. “Are you a doctor?
“No” says the man. “I work for the Inland Revenue!”
I told you…..ppff
I once revived a lady who had fainted by placing her head between her legs, she revived amazingly quickly. I hadn’t noticed that she had a fag in her mouth.
“Sweet Dreams”
Good night everybody.
DMH
Q: What have you got if you have a cricket ball in one hand and another cricket ball in the other?
A: The undivided attention of a cricket.
smallaxe
George Osborne?
Excellent Winger’s all, we have a Metallica theme:
Lemmy at em.. lemmy are em.
Megadeth coming next…
Ur choice Smallaxe.
Peace always x.
Hehe, did you just hear that on LBC radio (mental caller!)
Radio caller drives around with a hammer in his car.
Ready to use…
Say what?
Cut.
Don’t mind if aye do Smallaxe:
This is where Theresa and the Tories are at:
Headphones are mandatory.
On Devo Vevo.
Remember this one Wingers…
Choose your ‘Hangar2018’:
link to youtube.com 😉
You can never see too much.
Bringin’ it back, “bring it back”, returning, go with me hehe 🙂
Just incase you ain’t all seen it yet…:
18 CERT WARNING, it’s S&M.
Fun fun fun.
3-2-1.
Aye, and may aye just say…
SCOTLAND!!! (ENLARGED to at least INFINITY.)
Ye ken like aye.
V soon now.
You lot are all mental, It’s a bad day when I’m the sensible one!
“Good Day Sunshine”
Good morning, Wingers.
Morning, mon vieux haricot.
It’s Sunday morning and I’m ironing already. Mrs TC has just bought me a new turbo steamer and it’s performing swimmingly.
Meanwhile, in other news: Croatia is a nice place and has a good football team.
Tinto,
We’ll be leaving shortly for destinations unknown. Ironing done!
Lynyrd Skynyrd:”Travellin’ Man”;
That’s a strange coincidence: me too.
😛
Re. Dr. Philippa Whitford’s article in today’s National. Addressing poor health requires an holistic approach which addresses the causes of illness, as well as the effects. Possessing agency is a fundamental requirement of human well-being and illness prevention. Agency provides the potential to change individual and institutional policy and practice, so as to bring about better health outcomes.
link to onlinelibrary.wiley.com
Structure, Agency and Power in Political Analysis: Beyond Contextualised Self-Interpretations
Health and social change
A critical theory
link to mheducation.co.uk
Without self-determination, Scots culture has no long-term future, IMHO, due to the overwhelming influence of English culture (see Brexit, for example).
N.B. Culture shapes the economy.
link to llmcounseling.com
CLUB DES BELUGAS – Let’s Go
Link
link to umass.edu
JCHMBoaby, ah’ve yet to read the main article and David Davis is now indeed the weakest link… who is next to fall?
Here and hear a tune in the
meannow-time:link to youtube.com
Higher and higher for Scotland, dreams are made of this.
Folding you aces… aye the Tories are playing blinds and they’re on the small stack, sowhaddatheydonow, they’ve got to go all-in and try to bluff with a deuce, seven.
If only they knew, Scotland’s got the pocket rockets, ours to do as we deem necessary upon independence.
The Tories are royally flushed out.
I see lord Digby Jones likes to deal out a bit of misrepresentation and symbolic violence. Classic, old-school, colonial practice.
@ Lord Digby Jones
Oi. Get your facts straight you racist wank!
link to static1.squarespace.com
Mornin’ Cameron, here’s a classic old-school cover for ye bro:
It’s the Tories farewell theme tune… wave at their politicians. 🙂
The Tory UK
BREXIT chain-link has come apart.Anyone for some quickening?
New baws please.
Cactus
Herey’are, Cactus:
Good morning, soffisticates. Seems we are one brazil nut short of a fruit and nut cabinet this morning.
We have a new nut Tinto, it’s….. Raab C Brexit.
(credit link to twitter.com )
cearc at 10.49
Cracker!
As Dave said, Raab C Brexit is inspired 😛 .
Serious question, cearc (asking for a friend): do you know the plant known in Gaelic as lus nan laugh and what would you call it in English?
Fanx and oblige TC.
“laogh”: damn autofill!
@Nesrine Malik c/o the Guardian
Wind your neck in please.
link to tandfonline.com
link to bev.berkeley.edu
TC,
Bogbean.
Just watched this video from Nicola Sturgeon in London last Friday at the Future Fest conference and was blown away by it.
Absolutely brilliant speech that can’t fail to impress with it’s vision. Her presentation of it was brilliant as well.
Can’t really say more than that, so take 20 minutes out and just watch it. I have no doubt you won’t regret it. This is the kind of governance and progressive vision I’d be most happy to have in an Independent Scotland.
All joined up thinking wonderfully explained, I used to think Nicola Sturgeon was a bit of a genius now I’m certain she is.
cearc: thanks very much. I was talking to the First Lady of Wings about the Gaelic name, which is sometimes used for opposite-leaved golden saxifrage or even orpine but in Lewis esp. it means bogbean, which has a lot of healing properties.
@Thepnr: yes, a great speech and in my faves now. I can’t imagine any other politician in the Britnat parties being able to give such a performance. No wonder they hate her.
Afternoon Tinto, thx for the quickening (in orchestra) 🙂
Many Thx:
(independence will sound like this…)
The Audience is Listening.
I wonder what will happen the day after tomorrow?
Cheerio BoJo a go-go ha ha ha ha ha!
Here’s one for you former Foreigner Secretary:
What a Scottish Summer 2018!
Re. the resignation of the Foreign Secretary and the other Brexit clowns.
link to tandfonline.com
Hi Thepnr.
Is this the video link you meant to paste?
@Brian Doonthetoon
Holy shit! How did I manage to do that? I’d watched that other video earlier. Oh dear thanks for sorting it out. What a bummer, note to self check links after posting just in case LOL.
Cheers Brian and well spotted, great video too.
Wow, the First Manager speaks ma lingo. 🙂
link to sciencedirect.com
Data-driven Innovation for Growth and Well-being
What Implications for Governments and Businesses?
link to oecd.org
Integrated Approaches to Sustainable Development Planning and Implementation
link to sustainabledevelopment.un.org
First ManagerFirst MinisterMust still be dreaming of Gareth. 🙂
I’m only part time in Glasgow but these marches have gone from bed to worse!
link to change.org
My pleasure, Cactus.
Your music clip should be called “Ready for take-off, Scotland!”
The count down to escape velocity has begun…
@hackalumpoff: duly signed, mon vieux haricot.
Seeing as how Scotland is the junior partner in a union of equals, here’s one celebrating the emancipation of miners. 😉
The Avalanches – Since I Left You
Ahm ready Tinto, countdown to take-off…:
Makes me think of this aussi:
Ridin’ thru the knight ahm aye.
Freeplay JBox.
Launching ships (port/starboard entry-side):
Do ye reckon we’ll do that with all of the pleasure-cruise ships that we build on the Clyde, or will we launch em, stern leading into the water, upon independence.
Westminster is in a state, of EMERGENCY.
Hey there Peoples of Europe…
See you soon xx.
I’m with you, Cactus.
Have my Dan Dare* SE space suit on, ready for blast off.
We ain’t gonna pay no toll.
Convoy!
*1950s reference for the oldsters on here.
Convoy onwards to Inverness on the 28th, 10-4 Tinto trucker. 😉
Aye aye was thinking Chris Cairns, ye know how you now have a Cairnstoon character for each of the countries of this disunited kin… consider howsabout a new character to represent the Peoples of the “EU”.
Maybes a sea star of some making. 🙂
You may have seen this here, before, give or take a year.
Dedications to the Peoples of the EU and Scotland:
A bit like a sunflower sea star.
link to en.wikipedia.org
Take us to the stars.
Or a 27-sided astral star, would that be a icosakaiheptagon?
Lullaby on harp.
She could be called ‘Eula’ hehe.
For Sunday:
Arrival:”Friends”
“I had a friend who had friends by a river
They too had friends who had friends of their own
All seated round takin’ port after dinner,
Port that was bought by the friends that were known”
For Today:
Melanie:”Lay Down;
“So raise the candles high
‘Cause if you don’t we could stay black against the sky
Oh, raise them higher again
And if you do we could stay dry against the rain”
Shoot that old lady down!
Shoot her again, Joe. She leads the”War Pigs”;
“Politicians hide themselves away
They only started the war
Why should they go out to fight?
They leave that role to the poor”
No more, No more!
“If I stayed here with you, girl
Things just couldn’t be the same
Cause I’m as free as a bird now
And this bird you can not change”
Seen?
I don’t think I’ve heard that Arrival track since its release, Smallaxe. Great stuff. Seems one of the singers was Christine McVey of Fleetwood Mac fame?
You’re canoodling with the wrong girl anyhow, and just wait till Mrs Smallaxe finds out:
Dull here but probably hot later, as is the Scottish way. Today I am mainly eating beef links for brekker. I use the Tinto method: bake ’em for 20 @ 180 with a tater waffle. I top that off with a poached egg. Keeps me going ’til elevenses.
And oblige,
Rab Ha’
Tinto,
I was just playing some music to cheer myself up after a great disappointment last evening that I could not attend an important paramilitary meeting as I couldn’t find my woggle.
Scouting For Girls:”This Ain’t a Love Song”;
@ Rab Ha’,
Do yourself a favour and eat a proper breakfast, a la Mrs Beaton;
Broiled fish, such as mackerel, whiting, herrings, dried haddocks, &c.; mutton chops and rump-steaks, broiled sheep’s kidneys, kidneys à la maître d’hôtel, sausages, plain rashers of bacon, bacon and poached eggs, ham and poached eggs, omelets, plain boiled eggs, oeufs-au-plat, poached eggs on toast, muffins, toast, marmalade, butter, &c. &c.
Dead Sexy, soanitis!
Don’t forget the toilet roll!
Wot, no kedgeree?
Slumming it!
Nice bit of anti-Jock propaganda in that video, like Shrek and the alky scot in The Archers (aka Yokels and Toffs Do Farming).
That Desperate Dan breakfast was worthy of Dr Johnson, Smallaxe, although it lacked the huge amounts of alcohol he quaffed.
Getting quite hungry now…
Thinking back for a toon to represent the good Peoples of Europe.
Mibbies ‘Eula’ could be a unicorn… with the staff of freedom.
After all the Westminster chains are SO breaking.
Aussi, ye know how when all of those nasty Spanish matadors/picadors etc entertain themselves, by ruthlessly abusing and killing innocent animals… but sometimes the beastie gets the upper hand and impales the ‘coco-banjo’ up their arse…
It would be most-fitting to see Eula the unicorn doing the same to John Bull and the excruciating look of pain on ee’s face 🙂
Take that!
Ah was thinkin’ as well… see how like when like why when what where the Tory gov/politicians appear to be going down the plughole like in ‘Flushed Away’ (good character Rita, Kate btw.)
Makes ye wonder if it’ll have any detrimental effect on their footballers in Russia ra morra…?
Rather.
~ Eula versus John Bull ~
Get in the ring, they called.
In the voice of Paul Hogan…
“Is that a horse, or a unicorn…?
…WOH, get outta here, streuth davidson!”
Brexit Minister David Davis has left to join a band:
DExEu’s Midnight Runners
(Found that on Twitter.)
Hello Tinto, and yes I am in that place you mention – say no more squire, no names no pack drill, a nod’s as good as a wink. 😉
Some benefits to being here: no BBC tv, and no Oranga Order walks. Very relaxing!
David: message received and understood.
“Jean has a long moustache.”
“There is a fire at the insurance office.”
I append a cryptic clip:
That is all 😛 .
@Dr. Azeem Ibrahim
Are you a genuine an academic, as your agenda appears a tad anti-democratic?
link to cambridge.org
Agency and social structure in Human Factors:
A critical realist approach
link to depositonce.tu-berlin.de
Searching for realism, structure and agency in Actor Network Theory
link to dspace.lboro.ac.uk
@Dr. Azeem Ibrahim
You might want to reconsider your position.
link to guilford.com
Development of Self-Determination Through the Life-Course
link to springer.com
Self and Self-Esteem
link to selfdeterminationtheory.org
From the perspective of Critical Sociology and Critical Realism, it appears that Dr. Azeem Ibrahim may have come in contact with a nasty strain of chauvinism virus, commonly known as British nationalism.
A Critical Analysis of the Self?determination of Peoples: A Cosmopolitan Perspective
link to onlinelibrary.wiley.com
Inventing Agency
Essays on the Literary and Philosophical Production of the Modern Subject
link to bloomsbury.com
Is intellectual honesty too much to hope for, from British nationalists? Without honesty, political discourse is pointless as no truth will be revealed.
Kamasi Washington – Truth
John has a long moustache/no BBC tv, and no Oranga Order walks. Very relaxing!
Relaxing?
Cameron,
The Challenger;
Truth
Smallaxe
So true mate. The struggle for truth seems unending but the means to justice are in sight.
P.S. Apologies to all accountants. 😉
In response to Alexia, on the Rev.’s twitter. As a supporter of Scottish self-determination in 2018, I feel I’m becoming less of a social deviant, as the direction of travel in UK politics seems to be in our favour, despite everything. 😉
?link to edge.sagepub.com
Policy Implications of Contemporary Labeling Theory Research
link to researchgate.net
Sorry, I’ll put my beetroot down.
Kamasi Washington – Street Fighter Mas
Some would probably label me an SJW. I’m OK with that but I hope folk don’t think me woke.
link to tandfonline.com
Btw, gender security issues aren’t confined to matters of biological women’s personal safety. Gender is embodied, emotional, intimate and multi-scalar, meaning gender is a central component of being human, so affects just about every aspect of our daily lives.
link to pdfs.semanticscholar.org
Does that Hothersall chap still think his British nationalism is progressive? Silly man.
Question Mark & the Mysterians – Don’t Give It Up Now
GenderSecurity is embodied, emotional, intimate and multi-scalar, …For my granddaughters’ 15th birthday today;
🙂 🙂 🙂
I’m going to a party!
Soon.
Have a great day, Smallaxe and a very happy, sunny birthday to your Precious One.
Just don’t eat too much ice-cream and jelly before going on the slides or playing in the ball-pit……
Well, that’s it!
Well played Croatia, best wishes in the final.
The BBC commentators jinxed it, when referring to Croatia earlier in the soccer cup, they said:
Quote “They’ve got a couple of Wingers in there”.
Go Croatia!
See Wings is a place of adult content + more.
It’s good to be independent. 🙂
Note: None of my previous sweary words were directed directly at any posters. It fair gets the fire in yer belly goin’ though like.
Time.
Hey, ahm back HOME somewhere east coast of Scotland.
Watchin’ the fitba highlights… 2-1 pile on!
Croatia for the cup.
Hey football fans of England…
See when Scotland voted no to being an independent country back in ’14.
Now you know how it feels.
We’ve hosting indref2 🙂
We’re hosting indyref2, yes we are.
Black versus White:
Black WINS.
Courtesy of Devo Vevo Max:
Black or White?
Ask Michael.
He he.
Topical like, show me the way to go home…
Ahm comin’, ahm comin’ for ma head is bending low…
Brexit is Jaws.
Dear Mrs Tinto Chiel,
Many thanks for your very kind felicitations on the occasion of my granddaughters birthday celebrations, we adults had a simply spiffing time in the ball pit with lashings and lashings of Ginger beer;
The kids these days don’t know how to enjoy themselves, they all boringly stayed indoors probably playing computer games or something similar;
I do wish that todays kids would realise that they could be anything that they want to be;
Kids, eh!
Cactus,
You’re right, black wins!
No need to run and hide.
Glad you had a great time yesterday. Coming back from Peebles my clutch went, like Frank Haffey, so had to be AA’ed to a local garage.
“We twa shall paidle i’ the Tweed fae morning sun till dine” one day.
But you can call me Samantha.
Samantha,
And there’s a hand, my trusty fere!
And gie’s a hand o’ thine!
You can call me Sebastian
Fairy Nuff.
Used to watch this when I was a nipper. Got the boxed set a wee while ago but there’s nothing on YouTube but this, chiz, chiz.
P.S. you’re standing on my corn.
Tinto,
Back soon!
Me too but having been musing so deeply I came upon this in my old gander-bag of delights. You can’t go deeper than this imo:
Chew on that, filosifers.
Well done Croatia! I thought Turmeric was outstanding!
OK. Here’s one to celebrate the rise in street prostitution and criminal activity that Brexit will undoubtedly stimulate.
Cage The Elephant – Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked
Nostalgia can be a powerful force for mobilising political sentiment. Why do you think the TV is jam pack with period pieces and even entire channels dedicated to nostalgia? The power of nostalgia is partly why British nationalism has a tendency to look backwards, recreating and repackaging a British identity that never was.
link to medienundzeit.at
test2
Tinto Chiel
Chewed and ingested. 😉
Are There Stages of Realization? – Rupert Spira
Hi, Cameron. Hope you are well, mon vieux.
I enjoyed Rupert Spira’s gentle thoughts, it struck a few chords with conversations I’ve been having with some good friends recently. I have always thought that ideas about an eternal spirit/consciousness were just human arrogance, a refusal to believe that we must eventually die as the mere animals we are.
I’m afraid I don’t have the religious gene, so some kind of liberated spirit is all I have after death, unless I accept there is zilch, or, as we sometimes call it, unionism 😛 .
It’s a puzzler right enough.
I would have thought folk would have sussed I don’t need much encouragement either.
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Duelling with Dualisms:
Descartes, Foucault and the History of Organizational Limits
link to lra.le.ac.uk
Rethinking mind-body dualism: a Buddhist take on the mind-body problem
link to tandfonline.com;
#neverenoughaxiologicalsignification 😉
Tinto Chiel
I haven’t an ounce of religiosity in me either. I’m trying to point out a major obstacle to holistic thinking.
@CBB: message received and understood.
Cartesian thinking is a barrier to holistic reasoning, so it represents an obstacle to tackling social problems and achieving social equity.
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Personal Identity and Mind/Body
Descartes to Michaels
link to cabrillo.edu
Blutner
Philosophy of Mind
Mind & Body
Identity Theory
link to blutner.de
Sorry for being a space-hog but I’m on a roll again. Multi-seeded. 🙂
Cartesian dualism and the trans* body
link to epicfails.xyz
Transmodernity, border thinking, and global coloniality
link to humandee.org
See what I did there. 😉
Link
link to ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Sittin’ on a beach with fellow fine Scots in Anstruther…
Laters like.
Cactus
Sounds chill. 😉
Groove Armada – Sand dunes and salty air
Groovy groove Cameron 🙂
Here’s some pictures of big moons frae around this world:
There’s an aroma of fresh crustacean death awe around here.
Brexit is Jaws.
Da-da,da-ra.
Nice to see the foist lady of the POTUSoA and Theresa (you may not) colour-coding their dresses in coordination, celebration and support of Catalonia and The Jags.
Hey Theresa…:
It ain’t a crime to be good to yourself.
Yeah, yeah.
I really am sorry but as a vulnerable Scot, Brexit is scaring the shit out of me. I support multiculturalism and I’ve never voted Tory (any shade). I also have no desire to become English!
link to researchgate.net
Moral Psychology
link to ethicsunwrapped.utexas.edu
Compassion, Suffering and the Self
A Moral Psychology of Social Justice
Ah caught the start of the Shawshank Redemption earlier le soir afore aye headed out.. SO and in the spirit of the movie…
I bet you one pack of smokes that Cairnstoon is back on Saturday.
But whom will be starring?
Any takers… 😉
Meet Cairnstoon Hamish:
Know what you mean Cameron, things should become a bit clearer (direction-wise for Scotland) in the coming weeks.
Hehe I’ve found the peeps behind the chok:
This is funny.
Novigod!!! 🙂
Anyway, enough is enough of that fool-tommery…
Back to the real medieval rock:
Beware of Jaws whilst diving.
Gotta get away…
Frae the uk.
The whole world is my HOME:
Maybe tomorrow like…
Scotland.
That got me thinking of the kids that just got rescued from the cave. Telt you I was a weirdo. 🙂
Water, Geopolitics, and Economic Development in the Conceptualization of a Region
link to tandfonline.com
Given the direction of travel that the New Right is driving British nationalism, I thought this might be appropriate mood music for the dastardly duo.
link to files.eric.ed.gov
Bit of a mixed bag to reflect the harmony in difference. 😉
Leftfield – Release The Pressure
Was down at daughter’s hoose last night. She has become addicted to “Hidden”, a gritty police drama set in Welsh Wales with subtitles where necessary. Lovely to hear the ancient language amid all the sex, drugs, sleaze, depravity and beautiful landscapes (thought that might attract some here).
Think it’s on BBC Alba.
It’s like a rural Welsh Trainspotting without the Hibs fans.
Anyone got a link to the original image of Scotland covered in butterflies, like the one on the cover of this months I-Scot.(without Butterfly Rebellion)
I found an image a few weeks back and tried to get it printed on a t-shirt, but my printer said the image was too small.
That should be BBC [insert Gaelic name for Scotland] but the Rev’s got a filter for the word.
Gary,
Try asking iScot, they obviously have a high quality, ready to print copy.
Any kind of UK
Brexit will be ‘cliff edge’ (and that’s just the initial dive.)Upon impact, it’s also what’s waiting in the waters below…
Not just Jaws, did you know there’s a pod of hungry Bull Sharks and a large family of red bellied Piranha anticipating the UK’s fall. That’s what the Southern peoples voted for, not us.
Best stick to the road WITH a higher international power, it’s hip:
Yeah!
Cheers cearc,
I will give them a shout.
Cactus,
They can take the low road and we’ll take the high!
Betty Boop
You commented on the “sliding-out doors” post, concerning the apparent lack of confidence that many Scots exhibit. A lot of that has to do with Scotland’s historical lack of agency, IMHO. Then, of course, there’s the Yoonstream. ;(
link to nap.edu
SELF-ESTEEM
link to docplayer.net
Self-Confidence: 9 Essential Ways to Become More Self-Confident
link to positivepsychologyprogram.com
Cameron, I’m sure you’re well aware of this BLiS______d apologist, who still managed to make money out of this knife-twisting nonsense: The Scots’ Crisis of Confidence by Carol Craig.
As the prince of Denmark said, “Words, words, words…..”
I hadn’t actually, Tinto, thanks. I hope I’m not giving folk the wrong impression. I don’t live politics or social justice and I haven’t looked at this stuff for thirty years. I just have a particular insight and feel a moral obligation to try an share what I think is valuable knowledge.
link to centreforconfidence.co.uk
Thanks, Cameron: was unaware it had been brought up to date. To what effect I, of course, am unaware.
Did I mention Brexit scares the shit out of me?
Who do you say you are?
Making sense of national identities in modern Britain
‘It Sounds Unwelcoming, It Sounds Exclusive, but I Think It’s Just a Question of Arithmetic Really’: The Limits to White People’s Anti-Essentialist Perspectives on the Nation
Anyone interested in investigating agency and such, through the lens of behavioural science? What about examining agency through a Neo-Meadian approach, which integrates Psychological and Behavioral Science? Or what about a broader examination of how norms affect social behavior?
Ever asked yourself if the BBC in Scotland has an unspoken agenda?
link to resilientus.org
A Neo-Meadian approach to human agency: relating the social and the psychological in the ontogenesis of perspective-coordinating persons
link to eprints.lse.ac.uk
The Problem of Behaviour Change: From Social Norms to an
Ingroup Focus
link to governanceinstitute.edu.au
A wee bit of late night chill out music. Alexi Murdoch-All My Days link to youtube.com
Tinto Chiel
Just had a quick scan of Carol Craig’s main points. I’m very out of practice and would hate to overstate my expertise, but I found Carol’s analysis a bit lacking, especially the way in which she dismisses Scotland’s lack of political agency.
link to pnas.org
Internalization: how culture becomes mind
link to eprints.lse.ac.uk
WHAT DRIVES WHOM? A CULTURAL PERSPECTIVE ON HUMAN AGENCY
link to pdfs.semanticscholar.org
Mornin’ cearc, aye, we’ll stick to the high road, the low road is liable to subsidence and collapse due to Theresa (you May not) and the Tories… but we’ll still all be in Scotland, just like afore ye. Sounds like a song:
Hey frogesque, good on ye bro for flying our flag of Freedom for all of our Scottish drivers, it’s a tonic. 🙂
Back to o/t.
SO in the spirit of friendly competitive sport:
Mundell is the bag carrier.
Bow before your Donald.
Getting back to Carol Craig’s main points, I’m not going to attempt an in-depth critical analysis of her interpretation of the influence of Calvinism on Scottish culture, though I felt her’s perhaps lacked context and balance.
English culture is the dominant culture in the British isles and English culture is historically rooted in Anglicanism. The Tories can’t be separated from the Church of England, so there you go. British nationalism is the articulation of Anglican/Tory ethos and values.
link to philosophybasics.com
link to alistairlexden.org.uk
link to mdpi.com
P.S. I strongly disagree with Carol Craig’s interpretation of English culture being inward looking, as it managed to dominate much of the world, at one point in time. It is the shock of waking up to a loss of empire that we are witnessing in England today. Scotland’s future should not be determined as a result of England’s post-colonial malaise!
Trying to interpret contemporary Scottish politics is hard enough, but an impossible task, IMHO, without context and an appreciation of the influence that faith has had on British politics. It’s also an idea to be aware of the New Right’s links to faith based policy and anti-science narratives.
link to demos.co.uk
Troublesome Priests: Christianity and Marxism in the Church of England, 1906-1969
link to research.manchester.ac.uk
Anglican Perspectives on Christian Religious Education
link to theo-web.de
I played this song on OT almost 3 years ago to the day. Given recent news I’m wondering if the BBC are thinking the same?
Here’s one for all those who came to support Scottish self-determination, out of a desire to bring an end to bigotry, chauvinism, paternalism and global, colonial, imperialism. 😉
Leftfield/Roots Manuva – Dusted
Here’s one for all those who came to support Scottish self-determination, out of a desire to bring an end to bigotry, chauvinism, paternalism and global, colonial, imperialism. Let’s brush those cobwebs away. 😉
Leftfield/Roots Manuva – Dusted
My sleep pattern is a bit awtihell at the moment, hence this late comment.
‘Twas good to meet X-sticks and Yesbot at the Eurofest in Dundee today.
Now about to partake of Indian nibbles while watching the recording of tonight’s ‘Pointless Celebrities’.
And here’s a bit of music… in Deutsch, for Frau Kaufmann from Perth.
@ Alex Massie
You appear to be either grossly ignorant or are simply a malicious troll. You are aware that Brexit is the concoction of the Anglo-American New Right, and that all the upheaval of Brexit will achieve is to make things harder for those at the bottom? I suppose you’ll support austerity on stilts though, eh, as intrinsically xenophobic Brexitania joins the race to the bottom?
link to tandfonline.com
Hope I didn’t give you a fleg Brian.
WOW!!!
How spooky was that? Still watching tonight’s ‘Pointless Celebrities and we’re at the head-to-head, where the subject is ‘Foreign Language Songs’. A was French but B was the very song I posted in my previous comment!
Must now check my Thunderball ticket for tonight…
Nope, no win. SHAZBOT!