40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel at 8:54 pm.

You queried,
    “Whatever happened to Fred and K1? I loved K1’s swearing.”

Swearing, is it? Then this for you. (And Paula Rose will be all moist.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=674xHkKbURg

2. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

That lead singer did sound a lot like early days Johnny Rotten. Anyway anyone remember this also from 1971? I’m sure you do Brian.

John Kongos Tokoloshe Man

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1mCYgjhnGg

3. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Brian: that was pretty rough, but not as bad and me and Smallaxe, the Derek and Clive in our pomp, imo. I would have linked to some YouTube clips, but what would Nana say?

Whatever happened to gorgeous, pouting Paula Rose anyway? Sometimes, I have to admit, at three in the morning, my mind drifts to her slender ankles and I hear the music of the spheres…..

Meanwhile, in other news, Mayhem is up the Khyber, methinks.

4. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Of course, that takes us to

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ld1vQVoaQIM

and the homage a couple of decades later.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6M0xdLO_bmo

5. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Meanwhile, in other news, Mayhem is up the Khyber, methinks.

I would certainly go along with that view, I mean how long can this Brexit charade last? It won’t take her as far as 2021 that’s for sure and supposedly by Oct 2018 we should know what the general direction of Brexit actually entails.

Well there is no chance of that IMO, look at the state of them now. There is no way that anything will be written down by then to give the EU27 something to vote on.

She’s gone and when he is that raises the possibility of another snap election, though I’m sitting on the fence for that at this time. Neither Labour nor the Tories want another election until the fog has cleared.

Softly, softly catchee monkey. Let’s watch, ponder then pounce!

6. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Cheil.

From the Twittersphere, I have taken that Paula Rose has took the huff at Rev Stu for some reason that I didn’t pick up on.

Have a look at the content at the upper left here:-

https://twitter.com/PaulaHoneyRose

Onnyhoo, one more music vid before I turn in. I’ve always thought that this was a classic “pop” track.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yg8tIlxxxRU

7. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: I’m up lurking myself ‘cos of this cough. I had forgotten about them.

Wot, no more Paula Rose? Surely not!

*shuffles off to bed, shaking head*

8. Fred

Guys. tried sending youse some jigging-music from a band called Ho-Ro yesterday but it didnae work!

9. Hackalumpoff

On M/T Fred said “Nana, you’re an institution!”

Where do you think I found her?

I just found out yesterday that Nana goes to mars
    Every time I sit and look at pictures of used cars
    She’ll turn on her radio and sit down in her chair
    And look at me across the room, as if I wasn’t there

Chorus:
    Oh my stars! my Nana’s gone to mars
    Well I wish she wouldn’t leave me here alone
    Oh my stars! my Nana’s gone to mars
    Well, I wonder if she’d bring me something home.

Something, somewhere, somehow took my Nana by the hand
    And secretly decoded our sacred wedding band
    For when the moon shines down up on our happy, humble home
    Her inner space gets tortured by some outer space unknown.

Repeat chorus:

Now I ain’t seen no saucers ‘cept the ones upon the shelf
    And if I ever seen one I’d keep it to myself
    For if there’s life out there somewhere beyond this life on earth
    Then Nana must have gone out there and got her money’s worth.

Repeat chorus:

Yeah, I wonder if she’d bring me something home.

Source http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6Bw-724K8A

10. Fred

Best days work surely, the wummin’s a star!

11. Tinto Chiel

I’m nothing if not predictable:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1rYmzQ8C9Q

12. Tinto Chiel

But then again…….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2X_2IdybTV0

13. Tinto Chiel

I may just be talking to myself on here now but: whatever happened to Yesindyref2? Haven’t seen anything from him on any thread for ages.

14. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

I’ve noticed that too, can’t throw any light on it though.

15. Tinto Chiel

I’m hoping he’s just busy, Alex. I get the impression he has a smallish business and travels around Scotland a lot.

This might interest him, given his SD predilections 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSMqHpuMT2Y

Of course, he could be trapped on the Kylesku ferry in a parallel universe. That was the most incredible wee boat in Scotland because of the tides and current: it seemed to overshoot and then would do a mad wee birl in the current before drifting into port on the north side.

The bridge is no substitute.

*sighs*

16. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Cheil at 5:03 pm.

You typed,
    “I may just be talking to myself on here now but: whatever happened to Yesindyref2? Haven’t seen anything from him on any thread for ages.”

6th Dec,
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/scotland-is-dead/#comment-2321541

10th Dec,
    https://wingsoverscotland.com/reheats-and-revisions/#comment-2322483

17. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: thanks very much for that.

I thought I read pretty much all of the posts but those definitely slipped through.

Yesindyref2, if you’re a business tycoon: I’m sorry.

I’m still modelling for Dior, btw.

18. Thepnr

Just for a change, here’s something that gets funnier only as you get older.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oTY6TxXsK-o

19. cearc

TC,

Aye but it’s a bonny curved bridge.

20. Brian Doonthetoon

If we’re on a comedy evening…

For some reason, this guy popped into my head earlier this week. I couldn’t remember his name but a YouTube search of his catchphrases turned up trumps. My boss had neve heard of him but enjoyed the scarce uploads on YouTube.

Apparently. he blotted his copybook – something to do with his large endwnment “down below” -and his TV career was over.

Onnyhoo… SPOOK! Slither! You’ll all be doing this tomorrow.

Here’s a couple of his best.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxWHy4f9W30

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-17KvXrtTWM

He got the gig to do adverts for Schweppes but that gig was cancelled after the scandal broke.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8LBJJVnyB4

SPOOK!

21. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, was out goat nadgering in my thermals and missed all the chat last night.

Quite agree, cearc, a fine bridge indeed.

Those comedians last night reminded of my childhood doctor. his favourite line was, “Have you had this before?”

“Yes.”

“Well, you’ve got it again.”

He was drole in a Chic Murray way.

22. Tinto Chiel

Yesindyref2: just saw all your troubles on the M/T. Hope you and your wife have a great Christmas.

It’s the season for bad taste. Justin asked to borrow my posing breeks and I just couldn’t say no:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQhuoY5h2kE

Was it TC or CM who gave us this one?

“Doctor, I’ve broken my leg in three places.”

“Well, don’t go to those places!”

23. Ian Brotherhood

This one is for dear friends we’re not seeing much of these days – Smallaxe and Paula Rose.

No doubt they’re both still keeping a wee eye on us, so hopefully they’ll see this…

Much love to ye’s both.

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick (long live version, featuring extraordinary performance from Davey Payne at 2.42, looks like he’s just escaped from an episode of Vikings)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBIRj3JW3h0

24. Smallaxe

Thanks, Ian, Peace and Love to All. Just chillin’.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAZHl3vcIK8&ab_channel=skinnybwoyrecords

25. William Wallace

Sma 🙂

Love ya.

Come and join us eh.

At least fir a while.

Yir sorely missed roond these parts as you ken.

26. cearc

smallaxe,

Nice to hear from you. Best wishes to you and yours.

27. Smallaxe

Will, cearc,
    I’ll pop in now and then, thank you for your kind thoughts, here’s one for all the Night Owls. Peace and Love to All
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vTnff0pkgs&ab_channel=GerryRafferty

28. William Wallace

@ Sma

Glad to hear it. Looking forward to your posts. You are deeply missed.

Speaking o the missing.

Whar is thon desert plant gone onywey?

No seen the Cacti fir a while. You still alive brother?

29. Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe A wee bit of Gerry Rafferty right back at you my Friend. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uA20Z_6H4v4

30. cearc

Thanks, I love GR. One of the last things my husband gave me was a tape of his.

WW, the prickly one left a brief comment on MT a day or two back.

31. cearc

Wonderful vid, Michael.

32. Michael McCabe

@ cearc Glad you liked it. Here is another from Gerry. one of his best in my humble Opinion. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8UHCqvuUqY

33. William Wallace

@ Cearc

Tell him to get his jaggy arse ower here 🙂 He’s missed an ah.

34. Smallaxe

This is another of Gerry’s best Michael, I hope you’re well my friend, Peace and Love to you and yours.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXW-sL5gzHQ&ab_channel=GerryRafferty

35. Liz g

So good to see you posting again Smallaxe.
    Give my love to Mrs Smallaxe…..and take it easy, although you have indeed been very much missed we don’t want you to over do it…..mind enough is as good as a rest!

William Wallace how’s all things Wallace?
    And yes I was wondering about our friend Cactus too!

36. Smallaxe

Hi, Liz, I’ve got no other choice but to take it easy right now, I just thought I’d come on say hello to some good friends like yourself. Peace, Love and happiness to you and yours, Liz.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTRQLqQNXfA&ab_channel=Ant%C3%B3nioMacedo

37. Liz g

Thank you Smallaxe ….the same to you my dear friend X

38. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, stop lounging about. I’ve got a house clearance and painting job in Stepps. Bring the van around to gaff.

Knock three times and ask for Blenkinsop.

Usual terms apply…

39. Smallaxe

House clearing Tinto! Have you forgotten about the last time we tried that at this time of year?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHpNcyZXZfQ&ab_channel=TGFbro

40. Fred

Great to see U back Smallaxe, been missin the patter kid, just off a walk to Stepps Coop tae see if there’s a house-clearance gaun on!

41. Smallaxe

I’ll pop in now and again Fred. Peace and Love to you and yours.
    Here’s the American version of the song that our friend Michael McCabe found for you the other night.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQ2P4DKQ5ZI&ab_channel=dillpicklesancheese

I’m gone…

42. Marie Clark

Smallaxe, great to see you again. The place hisnae been the same withoot ye.

Take care and go gently, love to you and Mrs Smallaxe.Please pop in when you can, I think I can say it’s fair cheered us a’ up to see a wee post from your goodself.

43. Smallaxe

Peace and Love to you and to those you love, Marie.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8PFd1sXWRs&ab_channel=ryokoe2925

Now I must go if my wife catches me she’ll tell Santa not to bring me anything.

44. Tinto Chiel

Yes, I remember, Smallaxe. The stookie’s coming off next week. You were only supposed to blow the bloody doors off……

Just back from the Toon. Mrs TC took me in to Pounstretcher for my Chrissie prezzie.

There I had a “saw this and thought of you” experience: the amazing Santakini (picture not available). Will drone it down tonight. Leave landing light on in bathroom as per.

45. Fred

Thanks for that Smallaxe, no sign of a “flittin! in Stepps! don’t think they have flittins in Stepps!

46. Tinto Chiel

Fred: they’re called removals, darling…

French Martini, anyone?

Blini and smoked salmon?

47. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Good to see you posting again! Here’s a song dedicated to you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVYMG3y6vuw

This one is complementary to the above.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdeKrF4vINc

When I started to listen to the first one, I actually thought that this was coming on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3KtkrpAr9I

BTW: we were at a rather fine pro-indy party at the Downfield Club in Dundee last night (Me, Ronnie A, Mitch, various Wingers, various Team YES Bus members and others).

Graham Brown Band headlined. There were various support acts and a guest speaker in the shape of Tommy Sheridan.

Bob Costello had provided the ‘daughter of Dragon’ to provide transport back ‘doon the toon’ at the end so me and Ronnie had a last pint of Orkney Brewery’s ‘Clootie Dumpling’ in the Counting House.

We then toddled down Reform Street to McDonald’s coz Ronnie needed a nosebag. We met up with other party stragglers there – Pat Lee, thon Elvis singer and others, before Ronnie headed off via taxi to his daughter’s hovelhold in Invergowrie.

All in all, a fine night out.

48. Tinto Chiel

Think Smallaxe has gone for a wee lie down.

Terrible to see how many folk forced to beg in Glasgow today, in a country that could be the wealthiest in Europe if it were independent.

Desmond knows the score:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mxtfdH3-TQ4

49. Smallaxe

BDTT;
    Thanks, for your kindness Brian,
    Unfortunately, I was in London when Frankie came to Easterhouse but it’s just as well as I didn’t have a knife to hand in and many a mother lost her kitchen knife that day so that guys could hand one in. 😉
    Peace and Love to you and yours, Brian. I hope you like these two Michael Marra songs.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5F44WfZoIN4&ab_channel=AlanHill
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SmRDsBn7qc&ab_channel=InnerCitySound

50. Ian Brotherhood

Hoots tae abody!

This one’s for S___l, aka Mrs Smallaxe.

Don’t know if you’ll like it missus, but at least it’s different, eh?!

Marianne Faithfull & Bowie, ‘I Got You Babe’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OX2nelvhIE

51. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe, Thanx for the Marra. Somwhere in my hovelhold, in my reel to reel tape archive, I have a live performance of Skeets Boliver, at the Bowlin’ Alley, doing an extended version of ‘$h!thou$e Door’ where, in the middle 8, they list all the public cludgies in Dundee. One of these days I will find it and get it uploaded to YouTube.

Here’s a couple of former Dundee Uni rectors discussing a well known Dundee hostelry…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWKQvoUynEA

To finish off for tonight, here’s another Dundee band furyi… The video is from the St Andrew’s Day gathering in Dundee in 2014 and features the Graham Brown Band.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_gagc55RhI

52. Smallaxe

Thanks Ian, Mrs Smallaxe here. I found it quite interesting if not very melodic, in fact I think they were bloody awful. I love Bowie but prefer Lulu’s version of The Man who sold the World.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyFAnA9oPRE&ab_channel=MrHaggis64

I have banned Smallaxe from using his computer and insisted he rests so we can have some semblance of a normal Christmas.

Peace n Love

53. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe (Mrs) –

Fair do’s, understood.

Hope youse have a good one.

54. Liz g

Mrs Smallaxe…. Aye get him telt to behave..LOL
    But seriously though,we all totally understand!
    He has so many friends here,that one comment is never going to be enough.
    He will feel obliged to answer as many as he can,and before ye know it he has been chatting for too long!
    So as much as we miss his comments,of course family comes first….well first last and always really.
    But I don’t need to be telling you that…..
    So
    Much love to you both and have a great time with the family X

55. Thepnr

I really should pop into Off Topic more often, sorry I missed you Smallaxe and Mrs Smallaxe. I hope you both have a good Xmas with your family around you.

Here’s a Bowie tune that I hope you both enjoy, I know you will 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3JWGXagA1MI

56. Ian Brotherhood

Bryan Burnett played this t’other night.

Don’t think we’d had it before.

Liam Lynch, ‘United States Of Whatever’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xz7_3n7xyDg

57. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Haha enjoyed that, guaranteed to put a smile on your face. Grinning all the way through though it is a bit early. Whatever!

58. Tinto Chiel

Catchy little number.

Brush up your Gaelic with the btl lyrics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_eYEmuc0hM

59. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Delighted you resisted the temptation to write ‘Brush up your Erse’.

Ye’re a pure class act so ye are!

60. Tinto Chiel

“Brush up your erse”? Heeheehee! Sounds like my Friday morning dusting/polishing/hoovering at Tinto Towers before the Home Secretary gets back.

Eh, no need to share that with her, right?

Since you are a man of culture like wot I am, you may enjoy this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kG37zEnnu6o

61. Marie Clark

Hi folks, just popped in to say hello. I’ve been a bit busy lately and only had time to say Hi to Smallaxe. Hope you’re all well and getting ready for the festive. I’ll leave you with a wee song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=abgFs65YEv8

62. Liz g

Hi Marie was wondering whit ye were up tae!
    I am the same ….I can’t be on as much because it’s been mad at mine as well.
    But nice to hear from you and I am wishing you and yours all the best for the silly season…. From me and mine X

63. Thepnr

@Marie Clark

Catchy number and never heard it before. The pictures of the old 45’s made me think of when I first saw a 45 record.

It was in my Aunties house in Barlanark on New Years Day 1966, I was there with my granny. Anyway my big cousin had a record player and records which I’d never seen before.

So this is the first song I ever heard on a record player, I wasn’t yet 7 years old 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PFJa_zx90p0

64. F.Meek

First hit I remember was, “If I Knew you were Comin I’d Have Baked a Cake!”

@ Tinto, thanks for that, “No joy without Clan Donald!”

65. Marie Clark

Liz g, aye it gets a bit manic at this time of year doesn’t it. I’m completey knackered tonight. Been shopping most of the day with my daughter and my beloved. I reckon that’s me finished except for some veggies and stuff nearer the time. I think that we’ve bought enough booze to float a battleship,but no the new yin that’s leaky LOL.

Anyway all the best to you and yours from me and my lovely lot at this end. Keep the paracetamol and the alka seltzer handy. Oh and mibbies the REAL Irn Bru, no the kid on stuff.

Off tae bed now. Byeeee.

66. CameronB Brodie

I almost get the feeling that we are back in the ’80s, only this time the left’s acquiescence to the New Right, poses a far more existential threat to Scotland’s civil society, IMHO.

“In a free country, everyone has to choose”

TACKHEAD – Hard Left
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Atbx_6or_GA

67. William Wallace

@ Mrs Sma.

Sorry. That was me encouraging him. Entirely selfish reasons. Miss his presence and his banter. I promise I’ll not do it again.

@ Liz 17/12

Same as I was but, a bit more focused on looking forward instead of feeling sorry for myself. Thank you for asking. Hectic Crimbo arrangements etc are keeping me awa fae the internet by and large. Just aboot done now though, thankfully. 🙂

Wishing abody on aff-topic and their kin peace, love and festive greetings.

I dinnae mind saying I am fair looking forward to boxing day when it’s ah done 😉

68. Liz g

William Wallace
    Ah boxing day….the best day of the year….cause its the farthest away from next Christmas ye can get..LOL…
    Anyhoo good to hear your doing OK and all the best to you and yours William I wish ye aw ye wish yersel.X

69. William Wallace

@ Liz

Lol. If it wasnae fir the bairn we wouldnae even pit a tree up 🙂

Right back at ya.

70. Tinto Chiel

@WW: I’m feeling a bit bah-humbuggy myself this year for some reason, but I hope 2018 is a much better one for you and that you keep on with your writing.

Here’s something that may annoy or please you, depending on your mood:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJrXhjt7Gwo

Nice to see The Laydees back on O/T again.

*twirls moustaches roguishly*

71. Marie Clark

Ah Tinto, what a lovely piece of music. Got the last of the pressies wrapped and I’m going to enjoy a cup of tea and a homemade mince pie. My beloved, like your good self, is definitely BAH Humbug, but then he’s like that every year. But Ebenezer is always there or there aboots on Christmas morning to see if Santa has left anything for him. Come turkey time he’s always sitting at the table being very chatty and sociable, but mibbies that’s the port and brandy already consumed.

Ebenezer is busy right now as oldest grandaughter is in the process of flittin, err, sorry, removing to a new abode. So the much beloved is away geying her a bit help while I see to ither things. I hope the removal men are no like this lot.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ge_4SlJWfl0

72. Tinto Chiel

Good old Ebenezer, wottaguy!

Hope you and the family have a great Crimbo, Marie.

Those guys with the Joanna take me back to rhe golden days of Smallaxe and Tinto Ents. Pity about my bad back…..

73. Thepnr

Today fells like “Boxing Day” for me over on MT. Hard going, feeding 20 at Xmas is easier.

74. Thepnr

Chilling time, Louis Armstrong inspired by the main thread LOL.

So Much To Do (So Little Time)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPBJEL43tqg

75. Ian Brotherhood

My late uncle was a totally atheistic man of science and reason etc but he was a sucker for a good tune and this was one of his favourite Christmas songs. He loved the bit at 1.12 where Como lets rip with ‘Fall on your knees!’ – he would sing along, widening his gaze, seeing something stellar up near the cornicing while his eyebrows knitted themselves into little hairy wing-ed angels.

Ah, the memories! RIP mister…

(sniff)

Perry Como, ‘O Holy Night’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwht6kkHYoU

76. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I remember you talking fondly of your Uncle before Ian, I think I would have liked that man.

77. Michael McCabe

Chas & Dave Dance Club ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMohK3w9slE

78. Michael McCabe

Sharon Shannon- Blackbird http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KBZVZ53CMso

79. Marie Clark

Ian Brotherhood @10.55pm. Thank you so much Ian for posting that video. O Holy Night is one of my very favourite Christmas Carol’s,and a real blast from the past, sung by Perry Como. What a singer. I can remember watching his show on the telly when I was a wee lassie, and that wisnae jist yesterday.

Your uncle was obviously a very special to you. It’s nice to have had someone that special in your life.

Merry Christmas to you and yours, hope Santa is good to you. See you all later.

80. Marie Clark

Tinto, a wee song just for you. Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0u0M4CMq7uI

81. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Marie. Classy recording.

Aesthetes like wot we are can truly appreciate this kinda stuff.

Was going to make some black bun for Christmas this year but chickened out at the pastry stage. I coulda been a contender…..

82. Gary45%

Ian Brotherhood@10.55
    Ian if you like rock music have a listen to Merry Axemas 1 And 2. The albums are on You tube.
    A collection of fantastic guitarists playing instrumental Christmas songs. ( Steve Vai, Satriani e.t.c)
    A wee message to Petra, any news on the elderly lady that you helped last weekend regarding her housing situation?

83. Fred

Some guy in Greggs in Cumnock moaning about his sausage-roll being “Stane Caul” & handed it back to the woman to feel it n she says “Aye it wull be stane caul, that’s yer éclair!”

Only in Cumnock folks!

84. Tinto Chiel

Fred: frankly, I’m a wee bit disappointed with your denouement. Thought she was going to stick the putative sausage roll under her oxter for a minute and then hand it back.

Well, it happened in Larkhall…

When I was young and beautiful, I got a summer job labouring in a well-known pump-makers. Our ex-merchant marine Jehovah’s Witness gaffer had an electrically-lethal wee home-made grill on which he would briefly heat up a Scotch pie “just to take the chill aff it” for his breakfast. Usually by about 11 o’clock he would announce his stomach was “giving him gip”.

So, no cause and effect there.

“No joy without Clan Donald” indeed.

85. Nana

This morning links will be the last for a wee while [sure you will all be relieved to get a rest lol]

Wishing you all a Happy and peaceful Christmas.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLpr0zVFwMg

86. Ian Brotherhood

@Marie Clark –

Cheers Marie, hope you have a good one.

And you too Gary – I shall sample the Axemas later today.

Hoots to all!

Ho-ho-fekkin-ho!

87. Marie Clark

Nana, you’ll no hiv time tae dae links, you’ll be too busy wi a’ the ither stuff. I’m not cooking this year, going to my son who is cooking. That’ll be a nice change, I’ll get a wee rest, or maybe not.

Have a good Christmas. I’ll leave a wee song, too soon for this? Surely not, it always gets me bopping about the kitchen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xBWBehQflM

88. Tinto Chiel

Have a cool Yule, Nana, and a good rest (and The Retired Gent).

May your only links be beef ‘uns…

89. Smallaxe

Quiet and Peaceful in here intit.

Nattali Rise; “One People”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNQTZ_lxLXs&ab_channel=Reggaeville

90. Marie Clark

Smallaxe, good tune. Nice to see you again, but does Mrs Smallaxe ken yer oot? I widnae like you tae get laldy fur bein on the computer.

Merry Christmas to you and all your loved ones. Take care, it looks as if the big push for Indy ref 2 is comin doon the line a bit quicker than some folk ettled.

91. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Nice to see you back 🙂 It’s always quiet before the storm that is usual for Xmas on Wings, you’ll always find solitude on OT though.

92. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Smallaxe: where you bin? Just got ur seasonal epistle 😛 .

Answer: “The geese are flying high and Venus guards the horned moon”.

Garrowhill: drains and attic blitz. Widow wants quick job for early sale.

Ring three times and ask for Samantha Smoothcalf.

I remain, etc.

93. Fred

Many thanks for the Lynx Nana, get yer feet up hen!

Xmas Greetings to all & especially Smallaxe for making the effort.

94. Smallaxe

Hi Marie,

Yes, Marie, Mrs Smallaxe (My Queen) allowed me back on as part of my Christmas present, the other part is even better she’s going to take my straightjacket off on Monday. 😉
    I hope you and yours have a peaceful and pleasant Christmas Marie.

indy ref2, push? Stand by to Ram!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zdYAhdJMiik&ab_channel=RiverWhyless

95. Michael McCabe

Seasonal Greetings to all on off topic and all who use this website. Too many to Mention. So a wee song for Everybody. Sean Rowe- Leave Something Behind http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6c5BMg78mh8

96. Smallaxe

Hi Alex pnr,

My good wife tripped over my petted lip and lifted the ban and let me back on. 😉

Keep up the good work on the M/T, I’ve been watching and it’s stopped me going…”Crazy”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bd2B6SjMh_w&ab_channel=DowntownRecords

97. Smallaxe

Tinto,
    I’m overjoyed that you are in receipt of my epistle.
    “The Moonrakers sail has split the horizon”
    I’ve been lurking, you can’t beat a good old lurk.
    This Samantha Smoothcalf of whom you write did she once sell briquettes in the Gallowgate? I think I may know her!
    “Joy to the World”
    Three Dog Night “Joy To The World” 1972 (Reelin’ In The Years Archives)

98. Michael McCabe

Could you turn that down ? I cant see a thing. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYEOlxcirX0 Great to see you back Smallaxe.

99. Smallaxe

Tinto,

You forgot to take this with you,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dp7KfG9AjaY&ab_channel=ReelinInTheYears66
    Wisne ma fault.

100. Tinto Chiel

Fanx, Smallaxe.

I wanted to be in Three Dog Night but I only had a Chihuahua.

101. Smallaxe

Hi Fred,

Seasons Greetings to you and yours, my friend. There was no effort involved in me being here, it’s good to be among friends.
    But! “Mama Told me not to Come”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKaQzQAlNn4&ab_channel=fritz51300

102. Smallaxe

Thank you, Michael, I’ve been missing this place, it’s good to see you here. 🙂
    Alice Phoebe Lou; “She”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPH9j0qVM3A&ab_channel=AlicePhoebeLou

103. Dave McEwan Hill

Another wee poem I’m working at.

Fair fa’ your smirkin’, puddin’ face,
    Great chieftain o’ the nawbag race!
    O’ self awareness n’er a trace,
    But whaur tae bluff in?
    The Bake Off surely is your place
    Pie, bridie – muffin

Oor journal’s pictures there ye fill,
    Wi’ hurdies like a distant hill,
    Astride a coo does nae instil
    In times o’ need,
    A sicht o’ conduct sensible
    Yer aff yer heid.

Atween the thighs thon mighty gun
    Suggesting less than wholesome fun
    Or mibbes, worse, respect undone
    To ribald laughter
    Away ye go tae fine London
    It’s what ye’re efter

104. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Well I sure didn’t expect that version of “Crazy” since I never knew it existed. Class though.

See my good mood it’s building right up despite the Naysayers.

Favourite saying of the old man. “Get in there wie the head down”.

A Barlanark man, I intend to just keep on doing as he said 🙂

105. Smallaxe

Tinto is the Chihuahua black?

“Bad Luck” here’s the Black Dog Blues Band;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHY4C1FsACM&ab_channel=blackdogbluesband

106. Smallaxe

pnr,

As a Barlanark man, I was told to put my back to the wall and take them face on. We both got good advice on how to deal with the Perfidious Parliament we’re up against cause’ it’s goin’ to get even nastier I’m sure.
    Things are hotting up,
    “96% In the Shade”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IC3C1qzoYa8&ab_channel=BSaMpaioo

107. Smallaxe

Dave McEwan Hill;

I wish I’d wrote that Dave, I don’t think it needs any more work it’s perfect just the way it is. Pure dead jealous, me?.

“Call Again” the Poets;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZa7spZGoZ0&ab_channel=0PERAT0RPLEASE

108. Gary45%

Hey Mr Axe, Hope all is well, Have a Great Christmas.

109. Smallaxe

Thanks Gary,

I hope you have a great Christmas, enjoy the peace and love of being with your friends and family.

“Now and Forever” Jimmy Cliff”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEW5SxfoucA&ab_channel=luisfer500

110. cearc

Hey Smallaxe, good to see you here. I agree that ThePNR has been doing some admirably patient work on the main thread the last few days.

111. Thepnr

@cearc

Hey thanks, blushing now lol

112. Smallaxe

Hello cearc,

Thanks, you’re right, Thepnr is repelling all boarders like Douglas Fairbanks over on the main thread.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M90NLSUPQmo&ab_channel=PoorNobodys

113. Jockanese Wind Talker

Hope you are doing alright @Smallaxe.

Missed your input.

Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year to you and yours when it comes, Sir.

114. Smallaxe

JWT,

Hi, I’m doing okay thanks. I hope you have a great Christmas and that the coming year will be a peaceful and prosperous one for you and yours, my friend.

As it’s now Christmas Eve, I’ll play this anti-war song that became a Christmas song.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HkJHApgKqw&ab_channel=stiffrecordsuk

115. Cactus

Seasons smilings 🙂

Cheers to ye Mr & Mrs Smallaxe.

Returning HOME frae a party.

X always.

116. Smallaxe

Hi Cactus,

Have you been away helping Santa again?

Greetings of the Season to you and yours, my friend.
    It’s morning!:-)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U5sSEkZ86ts&ab_channel=fritz51325

117. Cactus

Howde Smallaxe ~

Santa fe… Santa fae where? 😉

A heavy Santa hangover be imminent.

Out of many, one people.

Love the season.

Love the love.

Love the Cat.

Love the 2.

Love U.

X.

118. Smallaxe

Santa Fe, Cactus?

Jon Bon Jovi: “Santa Fe”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W45mlx7an6c&ab_channel=HeyGod

119. Cactus

They say that no man is an island, and good things come to those who wait…

Still… the spirits, they intoxicate me.

Excellent, good call bud.

I love the simplicity of Guano City, frae YG’s 2 too.

Ra orchestra only.

120. Cactus

You are not a God.

Why don’t you pull the trigger an find out.

It’s all the same, only the names will change.

121. Smallaxe

Guano City Instrumental! Straight shooting, Cactus.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E8Qw4OoC-Hw&ab_channel=DealerCamel

122. Cactus

Yoo-hoo, I’ll make you famous…

Billy get your guns 🙂

There’s trouble blowin’ like a hurricane.

123. Cactus

Aye aye, aye returned HOME on the late / early bus dude.

ROCK you like a hurricane 2.

Cannae post, on ma fone.

Ra Scorpions.

Jeff cool.

SSBAIC.

124. Smallaxe

“Rock you like a hurricane” The Scorpions”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ypq1FsSXdbE&ab_channel=noodlehome

Your welcome, 😉

125. Cactus

Here aye am 🙂

Thx.

126. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Good to see you keeping up the online activity! Here’s one for you that doesn’t get much airplay.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ft5D7habmxE

127. Brian Doonthetoon

Pity it’s chopped off before the end. Should have listened to it all before submitting…

128. Smallaxe

BDTT,

Thanks Brian, I’ve been watching you politely putting some people in their place over on the main thread. With Facts!
    Have a great time during the holiday season, my friend

Another Glasgow band,
    Scheme; “Time”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZjmwRV2GPs&ab_channel=TheSchemeExperience

129. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

That was a decent video; I’d never heard of them but they had a good sound.

BTW: Dan Baird was a member of the Georgia Satellites. Here are a couple of albums for you to listen to at your leisure.

Dan Baird (‘I Love You Period’ is on it):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NyV-bGoTFVw

The Georgia Satellites:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkhEqcDIL7k

One last tune: a Dundee band, whom I may have posted in the past. The background to the video is that the drummer has slept in for the shoot. Shows a lot of Dundee in it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLbs8ab29g0

130. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: your remark about Samantha Smoothcalf got me thinking. Managed to get find some rare archive footage of her.

It’s no briquettes she’s selling…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FN7T3MgTfd0

(from about 4.50)

131. Smallaxe

I’ll listen to the albums later Brian, thanks, I enjoyed the Laws Television Satellite. Meanwhile,

“Be Good To Yourself” Frankie Miller;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FPXDSn05fGI&ab_channel=HoneyboyWalter

132. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Here’s the song I played on the MT on 19th Sep 2014 when we needed our spirits lifting but were still in a deep depression.

We will get there you know, it’s inevitable.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjBwAYIxUso

133. Smallaxe

Pnr,

Of course, we’ll get there if we give the people what they want;

“Better Things” The Kinks;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXioctDPGn0&ab_channel=ScottKellaway

134. Liz g

I have a wee favour to ask
    Could anyone who has photies of the Yes Biker’s please put them on their Facebook page.

We are trying to find one of my daughter in law.
    She has passed away after a very short illness and riding out with the Biker’s was one of the things she loved!

She ….. because of her job….. wasn’t supposed to take part in political campaigns and so had to be very low key about riding out with them.
    She couldn’t put anything about it on her own social media.
    Or be active in the group.

She couldn’t go every time but was definitely at the last march to Glasgow Green and the one on September 16th at freedom Square

Thanks in advance I know everyone is busy, but because of the time of year even if you don’t get round to looking right away we can’t have her funeral till after the new year, so there might still be time to post the photos and it would still be worth doing.
    We would be very grateful. X

135. Thepnr

@Liz g

So sorry to hear of your loss, my thoughts are with you and your family.

136. Fred

Just like old times folks with the “Caravelleers” from the Bar L in good Xmas spirits! A Manky little Xmas to one & all!

137. Smallaxe

Liz g,

May I offer my sincere condolences on your tragic loss my dear friend. I’m sure some kind Winger will find the time to help you in your time of need. Peace and Always Love to you and yours Liz.

138. Smallaxe

Fred,

The Caravel was a lovely place for cocktails of an evening, Fred.
    They even supplied carrier bags to carry your face back home.

“McG/Mack the Knife” Bobby Darin;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SEllHMWkXEU&ab_channel=Armidilloman

Have a good one Fred #Manky

139. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Liz G.

My condolences on your family’s loss. You can have a look at these links to see if you can see her. The first is a video I took of the YES Bikers’ arrival at Glasgow Green, in September 2016.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75a4NElxu2c&t=213s

The next is one of Ian Russell’s videos, showing the YES Bikers at George Square in September this year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HqyLLWihkg

This next one is an ‘onboard’ camera of the bikers arriving at Glasgow Green earlier this year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrUYwmMilZw

If you use one of the Firefox add-ons to download to your machine, you should be able to ‘freeze’ and take a ‘snapshot’ of any frame you want.

I have another couple of links but I’ll put them in a following post, as I think three’s the limit in one comment.

140. Marie Clark

Lizg @12.33. Liz I am sorry to hear of your sad loss, but the Wingers are a tremendous lot, and I’ sure that some one out there can help you.BDTT has made a start for you.

Take care Liz, love to you and yours.

141. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Liz G.

WordPress doesn’t appear to like my follow-up post (tried twice).

You can see the first half of it over in ‘Quarantine’.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine/comment-page-3/#comment-2325652

142. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Liz G.

Finally managed to get part 2 posted. You can see it at the ‘Quarantine’ link I gave in my 3.05pm post.

143. Liz g

Thank you everyone for you’re kind words.

Brian Doonthetoon you are an absolute Star, we got her.
    Thank you so very much.

144. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Liz G.

Where did you find her? Did she have a distictive bike?

145. Brian Doonthetoon

SHAZBOT!

“distinctive”.

146. Ian Brotherhood

Finally found this after hearing snippet on Radio this afternoon. Very Chrismassy, tear-jerky, and another one I don’t think we’ve had before.

Tracey Thorn, ‘Joy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maRckqODJnA

147. cearc

Liz G,
    Very sorry to hear of your loss. Thoughts with all of you.

148. Nana

@Liz G Thinking of you Liz, take care xx

149. Jason Smoothpiece

Some sad news for your kids.
    Santa was test flying his sleigh from the North Pole Donald Trump saw him with his long beard, thinking he was a flying Muslim ordered him to be shot down.

Sorry to be the one to tell you. 2017 been a bad year.

150. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, ‘Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cz48PR__uSo

151. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one we definitely haven’t had before.

I’ve Tweeted the same link, hoping to get it to go viral so these lads get a nice wee surprise on Christmas Day. I don’t know them or anything, it’s totally random, but it’s nice to think folk may spend a few minutes listening to them rather than Slade/Mariah Carey etc…

Gaun yersels there!

The Brothers Fife, ‘Christmas (I’m A Fan)’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y83YLxWNiyQ

152. ronnie anderson

@ liz g Sorry to hear of your loss Liz if you put up a post on the Yes Bikers page to let them know .

153. Smallaxe

Seasons Greetings to all Wingers. Peace and Love to All.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPPCPqDINEk&ab_channel=TheKinksVEVO

154. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, it’s Christmas Day.

A Merry Christmas to all ‘off-topic’ Wingers. Two pieces of music for you, featuring one ‘John Lennon’. Sorry for the negativity but that’s where the planet is jiss noo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KY7gPcDFwQc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7meAXUguTQo

And a happy new year…

Onnyhoo, the way things are going, I can hear the nation tonight. Let’s be positive:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_Gr1KxLEBY

155. Betty Boop

@ Liz g

Sorry to hear about such a loss in your family. Condolences from JimT and me. Always hard, but, it must be so difficult at this time of year when all around are trying to be jolly. I hope you find some photos amidst Brian’s archive; there’s some comfort in memories. Take care.

156. Thepnr

Merry Xmas all, was doing a search for the programme “Scotland’s Story” that Ian Botherhood mentioned on the MT first thing that popped up was this.

The Proclaimers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOa64BUV5qU

157. Smallaxe

Big Phil,

Peace, Love and Seasons Greetings, my friend.

The King
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgLpMwkfOgw&ab_channel=christmastime4u
    Elvis Lives

158. Smallaxe

For my accomplice, Nana.

Thank you for all your work, seen and unseen for the cause.
    (I’ve got an alibi.)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wpsn39FB_BA&ab_channel=padraig314

159. Smallaxe

For my long-suffering wife, thanks for putting up with me, this is from one of your favourite movies.

Lulu;”To Sir with Love”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOVQ4vAmM7Y&ab_channel=45rpmSINGLES

160. William Wallace

Merry Xmas to all on aff-topic and to your nearest and dearest too. Hope you all have a lovely day.

@ Liz

Sorry to hear of your loss. I have a lot of video footage and some photographs of the day from September HOF. Give me a gentle nod if I get distracted and forget to share them with you in the next day or two and I’ll get on it pronto.

I took some video footage of them going around the square and parking up in the square too. It’s fairly good quality video so it should be good for capturing still images from.

I better get aff to bed the now because like a big bairn, I cannae wait to see what santa has brought me 😉 🙂 Love to all.

161. Fred

Very Sad Time Liz.

162. Ian Brotherhood

A funky Christmas Day to all the Wingtastic people here.

Bowie, ‘Stay’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9QR5p7uok0

163. Smallaxe

Hi Ian,

I hope you and your family are having a great Christmas, 🙂

Ronnie Davis; “I Won’t Cry”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQBRnqCZylU&ab_channel=Reggaeville

164. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Cheers friend. I just sent you & S an e-mail before clicking into here, two, three mins ago.

Here’s one for embdy’s who had too much sugary Chrismassy schlock and needs a bit of grit to help digest it all…

Please check out the ‘jakey’ character who appears in the second ‘half’ of the track (3.33 on…) – so far as I can make out that’s an actor, and the footage was from some TV drama or other, but he looks and acts like the type of character many of us are familiar with. We’ve seen ‘him’ stoating around Glasgow and High Streets all over the place. He’s the image of the Kings Cross Scottish beggar who strikes paralysing fear into the hearts of Londoners. But this is Christmas, when we’re supposed to empathise…

How did that guy end-up like that? What happened? ‘Standing in the ruins of another black man’s life…’ says Scott-Heron, but what of the Kings Cross beggar who revels in and exaggerates his accent because he knows how much it scares the passers-by, and that amuses him – WTF happened to him?

We terrify the metropolitan sorts, and the closer to the heart of power they are, the more they fear us. Hence the disdain, the contempt, the inability to look Bernard Ponsonby in the eye…it’s just a defence mechanism.

Hey, that’s ma theory anyway!

Gil Scott-Heron, ‘Me And The Devil’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OET8SVAGELA&index=2&list=PL9B3FC25FE66FC10B

165. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Cheers for the Ronnie Davis link – another new one for me. Braw!

166. Smallaxe

Very quiet in here tonight Ian, I think we need some good sounds.

From the album “You broke my heart and I busted your Jaw”
    Spooky Tooth:”Cotton Growing Man”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lfMiwDsEOPI&ab_channel=paulalmonte

167. Smallaxe

Some more from Spooky Tooth; A song for all Wingers,

“Wings on my Heart”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gWqJeeB2A4E&ab_channel=Downbythewater73

168. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I’m still around, thanks for the tunes 🙂

169. Smallaxe

Thepnr, Hi,

I hope you’ve had a great day my friend, here’s a track from 1971

Redbone:”Witch Queen of New Orleans”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHEuSGGmX-c&ab_channel=fritz51349

170. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe & Thepnr –

Ah bid ye brithers guidnicht with this –

Fever Ray, ‘If I Had A Heart’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YEyuRlSieg

171. Thepnr

Some good 70’s stuff there Smallaxe. Can you remember back in the Thatcher days when half of your community were dobbying the leccy?

This song reminds me of those days, we used to sing “Here comes the meter man”. Sad but true 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MMu1T_Tg5Fw

172. Thepnr

This is something everyone will remember fron the Thatcher days, yet tonight is the first I’d ever heard it. I knew what it was all about though haha,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFE5_yMBvII

173. Thepnr

My parting song, one for the Rev since it’s Xmas. Might not be everyone’s cup of tea but I’m sure he’ll love it. Bully for him 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NjxP4XYEiFc

174. Smallaxe

Ian, Goodnight brother.

Thepnr,
    Half, were dobbying the leccy? I think that’s Shocking Blue;1969

“Venus”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPEhQugz-Ew&ab_channel=MusicVideos

175. Smallaxe

Thepnr, they were both 🙂 Goodnight my friend.

Peter Frampton:”Show me the Way”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M42H5oXqoRM&ab_channel=Largarife2

176. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Goodnight buddy, that Venus was excellent or as Ian would say Sooperb! Catch you later.

177. William Wallace

Thank god that’s ower fir anither year. Hope everyone had a good one. Speaking o dobbyin the electric, meh Grandad made maist o the boxes at the time for fowk in Dundee. He was fae your neck o the woods tae PNR. I asked you a while back if you kent him but, you might have missed the message.

Time fir a well earned single malt. Air ur deagh shlàinte

178. Thepnr

Wullie I did miss it the first time, who was your grandad?

179. Smallaxe

Meanwhile;
    Eric Clapton and Bob Dylan:”Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5tnRMZyaWPE&ab_channel=WorldOfRock4U

180. Tam Jardine

Hi Wingers
    Hope you are all well. Worried about Paul(a) – he was really down on twitter earlier- saying some pretty bad stuff- can anyone get in touch? Maybe drop by his house in the morning?
    Cheers

181. Big Phil

@ Smallaxe and all you lovely people , I felt the love at the AUOB march, We are one . upwards and onwards . We Care.

182. Thepnr

Tam I’ll get in touch with Paula, if you still have my email can you let me know more.

183. Smallaxe

Tam Jardine,

Hi Tam, I wondered where PR was, thanks all the best to you and yours.

Paula Rose, please let us know if you are okay, we’re beginning to worry!

184. Big Phil

Alex. check the btl ‘s above for starters buddy, summit happened.?????

185. Big Phil

captain haggerty biatch person or summit, i might be wrong but it has a smell.

186. Smallaxe

Big Phil,

We care, Phil, because we don’t have a Wooden Heart;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93VPOqugKP4&ab_channel=ManUtd1962

187. Cactus

Wishing ye both well, Paula Rose and Liz g.

Xx.

188. Cactus

Dress rehearsal:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4wAu9K8XKyI

6 days to go till midnight.

Pictures frae the past, let’s choose our own future.

X always marks the spot.

189. William Wallace

@ PNR

Dave Nu****

Worked fir the hydro. Made abodies boxes. Karaoke singer in the Derwent Arms 😉

190. Cactus

Mornin’ bro, how’s yer single malt hauf gaun? I am entertaining Paulaner Hefe-Weissbier of the now.

A good wheat beer is a winner.

Scotland does 2.

Nice timing 😉

191. Big Phil

@ Smallaxe
    CORRECT, love it. 😉

192. William Wallace

Hey hey my good old desert plant. Nice to see ya

Hope you and family had a great day. Ehm sipping awa and getting slowly pished and enjoying it eh am. Eh dinnae mind the odd single crop beer either. It’s ah thon mixed crop beers that mince ma heid. Yiv been affy quiet of late – everything ahright?

193. Cactus

Hey William Wallace, just realised, on looking back on one of my recent replies to ye, I believe ah said a random comment about ‘sentences’, talking aboot maself was I.

I read all of yer posts and about how things be, jist incase ah came across the wrang way…?

194. Cactus

Strategy, virtual WoS chess, ho-ho-ho!

195. William Wallace

Anybody wi your heart will never be received in the wrang wey iy. 😉 Hope yir feeling grand this morning.

196. Cactus

Grand aye am and glad to hear you are 2.

Ah had some good food to balance the beer (and good water).

We are 17 going on eighteen?

To seventeen!

197. Cactus

SO let’s fly our own free way.

Let Scotland Soar.

198. Liz g

Once again thank you all for your kind comment’s… X

Brian Doonthetoon…She didn’t have a very distinctive Bike,it was Burgundy.

Ronnie Anderson…. I think the Indy Biker’s are posting something tomorrow on their page.
    One of the girl’s that I go with to the Marches knows them better and she has contacted them.

William Wallace….. Any footage you have would be wonderful, as I said,she, (because of her job) always stayed pretty low key in the movement.
    But but riding out with the Biker’s was something she loved.

Paula Rose ….I hope you are OK..we do really need you to be….you are very valuable to Scotland and she will require your input more than ever this year so stay well my friend.X

Wishing everyone else a Guid New Year,and hoping that it will be our last in this bloody Union….Onwards to Indy….

199. Ian Brotherhood

We’re not all going to see independence day, that’s for sure, but let’s not have any regrets about what we did or didn’t do in the process of getting there.

Mibbe this year, mibbe not. The bookies favour 2019. In any event, let’s get ready, again, and be prepared to get our hands dirty. The Tories have already ruined millions of lives and the rancid empire which spawned them has wrecked many millions more. They constitute a genuinely monstrous enemy which is cornered, wounded, and will do *anything* to survive.

Johnny Cash, ‘Hurt’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vt1Pwfnh5pc

200. Tinto Chiel

“We’re not all going to see independence day, that’s for sure…..”

Hey, Ian, don’t rub it in. Planning on this for when I take to the heavens:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hudNoXsUj0o

201. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

That’s a great clip, always gets the juices flowing.

But look at how young AS is there! It’s utterly shocking, how fast the time flees away.

202. Tinto Chiel

“But look at how young AS is there! It’s utterly shocking, how fast the time flees away.”

Hey, Ian, don’t rub it in. Planning on this too for when I take to the heavens:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fztkUuunI7g

203. William Wallace

@ Liz

Regarding your friend.

Just tinkering with some video editing software just now to trim any video footage I have to make them smaller for uploading somewhere.

There were only really a couple of lady bikers on that day that I saw. Are any of these ladies the friend you are referring to? (you might have to click the image to make it bigger)

https://imgur.com/SM5u8Sb

https://imgur.com/oWSEHmN

204. Liz g

No William she isn’t in any of them…..but thank you!
    And don’t be neglecting your own family if you can turn up footage that will be great but it will still be there after the silly season.
    Our main memories we carry with us so you take care of yours too my friend.X

205. Fred

Liz, there was a biker lassie who died this year whose folk live in my bit. Her own name would have been MacLean, terrible blow!

206. Smallaxe

A change from Christmas Carols,

Carole King:”Tapestry”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SAqYzqHdXu8&ab_channel=GaryLarson

207. Smallaxe

A different Holliday;

Billie Holiday:”Blue Moon”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntDnwBiORu8&ab_channel=Okmusix

208. Tinto Chiel

Glad you’re here Smallaxe, ‘cos There Is Something I Have To Say.

Since Harry and Meghan will be producing a Royal Baby Boy in the spring of 2019 just in time for Indyref2, I thought it would be a nice gesture if as many of us as possible could start knitting light blue matinee jackets for the new arrival.

If you are interested, please let me know at the following address and I will co-ordinate the Sirdar order for wool, needles and patterns to reduce costs:

Tinto Chiel,
    “Toady Cottage”,
    1690 Union Street,
    Old Cadzow,
    (Darkest) Lanarkshire.

209. Smallaxe

Hi Tinto,

I think that’s a wonderful idea the happy couple will certainly be short of money when the baby arrives as they won’t receive one of our beautiful Scottish Baby Boxes.

I have the problem solved though, I’ll give my cat wool to eat and she’ll have mittens and I’ll start kinackaling furiously if I can remember how to do it, is over.. in… off…or is it,

“Over Under Sideways Down” The Yardbirds;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLv7viCMGo8&ab_channel=dickeyboyz

210. Tinto Chiel

“I’ll give my cat wool to eat and she’ll have mittens”.

See, that’s the kinda attitude we need to mark the Glorious Anti-Sep Wunderkind.

Huzza! Huzza! Let joy be unconfined!

I see Harry is bumping his guns about the issues The Spooks have just told him are to be closest to his heart. Social Media get the usual bad press, ‘cos you can only trust the BBC, can’t you?: the most impartial and unbiased broadcaster in The Multiverse (and definitely not bringing us Fake News since 1922).

211. Tinto Chiel

GUMS! GUMS! GUMS!

212. Tinto Chiel

Heeheehee: too much like real life. It’s a lot worse in England, Smallaxe, but the Finns (them with the bestest education system in Europe) abolished the Inspectorate in the 70s.

Still love the Yardbirds. Pity poor old Keith Relph had that accident.

When I become President of the New Scottish Republic I will make you my Plenipotentiary for Foreign Affairs, so sponge down the fedora and get a new three-piece flute.

BTW: can you bung me a tenner? Bad week at Paddy Power.

And oblige, etc.

213. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Smallaxe. Knew I could depend on you when the chips were down.

*proceeds tactfully*

But could I get some of this stuff? My stick-on in the 1.15 at Kempton still seems to be running…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpbbuaIA3Ds

214. Tinto Chiel

That girl sounds a bit flat, imo, Smallaxe. Happens to the best of us.

Was thinking of Ian B for the Culture Brief in my first government. You ok wiv that?

Btw, where is a’body? Greggs got a new pie?

215. Smallaxe

Ian B suits me Tinto, he’s a good man I know nuffing about culchure.

Greggs has nae pies left, Jackie Bailie bought the lot!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cnz5f9KJC6g&ab_channel=BUZZINBOYOZ

216. Tinto Chiel

Never forgave Greggs for dropping their Cornish pasty. Made my Friday mornings special.

Mofftaemabed.

Tomorrow is another day, unless it’s Wednesday.

217. Macart

Spread the love folks. 🙂

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2017/12/27/the-season-of-good-will/

2018 might be a bumpy ride.

218. Brian Doonthetoon

Heads up!

If you’re not already a digital subscribor to iScot magazine, they’re doing a special (don’t know how long it will last) today, of a year’s subscription for £16.99. To good to miss…

https://pocketmags.com/iscot-magazine

219. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Brian, but it graces my doormat every month.

Heavy snow Where I Am at the mo, so I need one of these (heavy political message):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vW1hv37imjw

220. Smallaxe

Tinto,
    Did you forget the YES Dance that we choreographed together?

The YES Dance;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eyqUj3PGHv4&ab_channel=PUNCHROBERT

221. Tinto Chiel

Gosh, I’d forgotten about that. We were sensational in them days, and me in my gairy semmit tae, although the Ugg boots may prove to be a mistake.

I thought you’ve never looked luvlier, Smallaxe.

Btw, did I have the 800 page Scotland’s Future document in my pants or was I just a little excited?

222. Smallaxe

Maybe it would help if you stopped playing with it, Tinto.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=un59ZLOti9Y&ab_channel=VroomFondel

223. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, Smallaxe, had to go out goat-nadgering again. The snow puts the willies up the billies, y’know.

You say ding-a-ling, I say:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ock73QRJBto

224. Thepnr

Been absent again so three of the strap, Ouch Ouch Ouch!

Hope you all had a good Xmas but now that that’s over how about tomorrow on the run up to the bells being a night of Scottish music?

Anything you like, country dancing or a good band or just a funny.

Are ye game 🙂

225. Fred

Aye!

226. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmm…

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-lost-art-of-keeping-a-secret/

That link now takes you to:-

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-lost-art-of-keeping-a-secret-weapon

Something going on in the background?

227. Brian Doonthetoon

Unfortunately, the last post on Google’s cached page is at 10.27 this morning. At least, you can save the Rev’s article, if not all the comments.

https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:elAQqkgyCuIJ:https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-lost-art-of-keeping-a-secret/+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=uk

228. K1

I’ve archived text only version too…keep it in yer records folks. (wouldn’t let me archive your link but let me when I clicked on text version Brian)

http://archive.is/TvYrj

229. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

I use Firefox on my Mac. I went to the “File” menu, then clicked on “Save Page As…”. It let me choose a location for saving and the other choice was “Format, Web Page Complete”.

This has captured all the graphics as well in two files. One ends in “html”; the other is a folder with all the graphics in it.

If I double-click on the html file, the saved page opens in Firefox, text AND graphics.

230. Betty Boop

@BdTT

Yup, def something fishy going on. Some of the shares on other sites look at bit odd now.

A lot of activity elsewhere no doubt.

231. Betty Boop

@ BdTT

Not fishy after all. All under WoS control and will be back later.

232. Smallaxe

Hi Peeps,

“Will Ye Go Lassie Go” Rory Gallagher;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wpsn39FB_BA&ab_channel=padraig314

Dear Friends and Foxhunters,
    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! From everyone at Scotland in Union.
    Today, it is clearer than ever that to maintain Scotland’s place in the UK, we must keep making our voices heard. There have been a number of stories highlighting the risks we are facing.

· There are hints that the SNP’s Growth Commission report will be published, which is expected to set out possible economic policies of an independent Scotland, including what the currency would be.

· Progress in the Brexit negotiations, particularly on the Irish border, led to Nicola Sturgeon claiming that this was evidence that we need independence to protect the national interests.

· The most recent poll shows that far from there being a reduction in support for independence, it has risen to 47% and SNP are maintaining their level of support at 38%.

The current political climate is full of uncertainty and unknowns; Scotland in Union will be ready for any eventuality, with your help. We will continue to campaign against another divisive referendum, and, just in case, we will also be ready should a referendum be called.
    We must fight back. It must be us, and it must be now.
    The greatest weapon of Scottish nationalism would be our complacency.
    Lots of love and big hugs,
    Pamela xxxxxxxxxxxx

233. Ian Brotherhood

It seems Rev has pulled the SIU expose because he’s waiting for more legal advice, but expects it to be back up in due course.

What a red-letter day for us.

And then we have the other big one tomorrow night, after the bells, forget the name of the lad heading-up that one. Heaven only knows what that’ll be about but Stu has already delivered a proper SuzyQ and the bastards are reelin’, so fingers crossed it’s another good ‘un!

What a difference a day makes – feeling very chipper about it all now!

😉 🙂 😉

234. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Pamela? Who the **** is Pamela?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zw08Py5nz1w

235. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Aha!

Cheers mister, missed that.

236. Smallaxe

Brian, I wish I could post one of their full emails to you, it would give you a good laugh.
    Before Gary Wright joined;
    The V.I.P.’s (early Spooky Tooth)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTD8wsQ5eyg&ab_channel=Cactus29121989
    Art (even earlier Spooky Tooth)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FhP8XPVQPp0&ab_channel=EduLazaro

237. Smallaxe

Hi Ian, Hi Michael,
    Keeping with Thepnr’s request I’ll make this one Scottish,

Dean Ford:”Reflections of My Life”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dn9bAvWS4RU&ab_channel=joetansin

238. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Don’t know if your better half told you, but I got a pair of those speakers you showed me. Not sure if it’s exactly the same model, but absolutely soo-perb. I’ve barely had the Youtube off since Christmas day, playing all sorts of old stuff which now sounds brand new.

Hoots!

239. Smallaxe

My good lady did tell me, Ian. They make a big difference to the bass etc, great intit!

Matt McGinn:”The Ballad of John McLean”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=61etFdGpXq8&ab_channel=bigmanio

240. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

It’s brilliant, like hearing the best stuff for the first time.

I bid you and aw the Wingers goodnight with me own Matt McGinn fave, one I’ve posted many times previously.

‘Coorie Doon’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WPI8CF04A0

241. Michael McCabe

S.A.H.B.-giddy Up A Ding Dong http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmiOeddnddE

242. Michael McCabe

Lyrics wise this is one of my favourite Scottish Songs http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIRQ0Mv_xG8

243. Big Phil

@ Smallaxe ,
    Never heard that before Smallaxe . Its so true. Thank you.
    Great tae see ye commenting, hope all is good, Peace always my Friend.

244. Big Phil

@Ian Brotherhood.
    Matt McGinn, What a man, telt ye afore, the dogs party was amazing. lol

245. Smallaxe

Big Phil,

Thanks, Phil, I hope you and your loved ones have a Happy Prosperous and Peaceful New Year, my Friend.

Elvis: “Old Lang Syne”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJKQwkh0ZeQ
    The King Lives!

246. Fred

Morning Smallaxe, a blawy wan tae, hope you’ve goat the hatches battened kid!

247. Marie Clark

Hi guys, fleein aboot this mornin. Busy gettin the meat cooked fir the steak pie and things like that.

Smallaxe, I hate to diagree wi ye, but this Auld Lang Syne does it for me, everytime. Original tune an aw. Hope you enjoy it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PK-E1f-YKBA

248. Smallaxe

Hi Marie,
    no disagreement on the tune that Rabbie picked, I sent that original version to Nana yesterday, I played the Elvis version for big Phil because he’s an Elvis fan (and he’s BIG) ;-).
    ——————————————————————
    Hi Fred, hatches battened and a bottle of Remy Martin Champagne Cognac to keep the chill out of my bones tonight!

249. Thepnr

Time to start the jukebox with your Scottish themed tunes and here’s a cracker to get you started.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytii7-bUxuk

Time to get in the party mood 🙂

250. Michael McCabe

A Wee bit early but it is coming for aw that. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wTyjl1CMqw

251. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Stupendous 🙂 had my feet tapping. Have a good one when it comes.

252. Michael McCabe

Two of Scotlands finest. wrote lots of songs for lots of different artists. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pier6No9u7Q

253. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr 6:27pm Hi Alex did you get my e mail from Boxing day ? Listen to this Alex Harvey when he was Younger. Anyway Alex I hope this year was better than last year but not as good as the year to come. All the Best to you and Yours. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGCYs48-41E

254. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Yes I did, cheers. You won’t guess this one would be from me lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpXTISw_Huw

255. Thepnr

“Thick as a Brick” Ian Anderson Jethro Tull

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BV-ASc0qkrM

256. Nana

Hope you are all having a good holiday with no sore heads!

This is for all wingers everywhere, forwards to Independence

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9kwuDo1C_yA

@Smallaxe, it’s a real treat to see you here xx

257. Michael McCabe

Evening Smallaxe. It Wisnae Me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0mrCO_sGw0

258. Smallaxe

Hi Nana, Good to see you here, also.

Have you finished all your cooking?

Opera Singer Singing Nessun Dorma High Street Perth Perthshire Scotland;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5K5d5frnc4&ab_channel=tourscotland

259. Smallaxe

Evening Michael,

I’m;
    “Always the last to know”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nox57hdgeAU&ab_channel=DelAmitriVEVO

260. Michael McCabe

Nana here is a Glasgow born Guitarist with a wee song for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1Wp2ASqyxI

261. Liz g

Hi everyone….. A wee favour in the form of a musical challenge.

I am looking for a link to The INSTRUMENTAL version of..Time to say Goodbye…. by any artist.

The challenge is that You Tube is no good …I need a link that is able to be burned to CD.

Because Daldowdies sound system is crap….thanks

262. Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m done slaving over a hot stove, hubby has the ‘range’ tomorrow with my blessing!
    Think I’ll just go straight to the hooch
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0PUgSKIW0g

@ Michael Love it love it, the best guitarist and my all time favourite.

For you Michael, my second favourite
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1e9jvJ0B3w

263. K1

There’s somethin’ in ma eye…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmxqjzCxNEE

To all ma darlin’ Wingers…may next year be our year, personally and politically.

Aw the best folks.

(seen)

264. Michael McCabe

@ Liz g Don’t know if this will work. hope it does.

265. X_Sticks

Just dropping by to wish you all a very happy and prosperous New Year.

Good to see you back Smallaxe, much love to you brother.

Very glad to have made it to the Broughty night out.
    Sorry I haven’t had much time for off topic but dinnae fret, I’m still around.

Here’s a wee thing from Neil and Steve for you all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIk1O8l2czk

266. yesindyref2

Just seems appropriate somehow with maybe a crunch year coming up, just 3 hours to sharpen the teeth and claws:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_K5b-JNc7E

ooops forgot to strip the https bit, 2 hours and 56 mins.

267. Smallaxe

K1, seen!

Are you going to the party?
    “The Boston Tea Party”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWF3S9OgQho&ab_channel=LZJoker

Namaste

268. Smallaxe

X_Sticks, thank you.

Love Peace and Prosperity to you and to those you Love, Brother.

Deacon Blue;
    “Real Gone Kid”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SD4lI9GKUE&ab_channel=DeaconBlueVEVO

269. Smallaxe

Nana,

This should please both of you;

Roger Waters, Van Morrison, The Band – “Comfortably Numb”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpFo_E9Fq2k&ab_channel=rogerwatersVEVO

270. chasanderson200

Happy new year to all. Gird your loins for next year, looks like it will be busy.

I’ll be posting tomorrow about the Wingers night out in Glenrothes that we talked about in the Ferry a few weeks ago.

271. Nana

That was excellent Smallaxe.

After midnight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZEsa-pAzx4

272. Thepnr

I’m back again, fell asleep on the couch 🙂

@chasanderson200
    Look forward to hearing more, good for you.

@Smallaxe
    Your on form sir, like it very much!

Will You Go Lassie Go the Corries

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SVQkdV4GwLc

273. Liz g

Michael McCabe @ 8.56
    Thank you very much for taking the time to do that for me.

The one you put up wouldn’t have worked because we needed a version that we could download to an mp3 player…. (I have no clue)…
    But anyhoo using the name of that artist we managed to find a downloadable version

So once again thank you so much

274. hackalumpoff

For Smallaxe, Tinto, Ronnie, ThePNR, Michael M, Cearc and wingers wherever you are.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tGhVZ5jk1fQ

275. Thepnr

@hackalumpoff

Cheers for the tune an excellent choice and welcome to Off Topic, glad you could join in 🙂

276. Fred

Great music tonight guys, auld horse-face is due on Shortbread shortly to greet the New Year. All the best to the Washed, the Great Unwashed & the Absolutely Manky!

“We’ve aye been provided fur & so sall we yet!”

277. Thepnr

Now theses pants are seriously HOT!! (Phew) and the boots weren’t made for walking.

The dancers need to go to more lessons and as for the guy in the onesie? I mean a onesie in the 70’s how was that possible.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9ARcLTcqoA

278. Smallaxe

hackalumpoff,

Thanks for that and welcome to O/T. Peace Love and Prosperity for the coming year, my friend.

Frankie Miller: “A Bottle of Whisky”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQMZqURw86I&ab_channel=hobomeisterian

279. Thepnr

Off Topic is the place to be tonight it’s like having a big party in the living room of the world. Everybody welcome!

280. Smallaxe

Hi Fred,
    I was up having a shower, it hardly seems like a year since I had one!#Manky
    Amy Macdonald: “Mr Rock and Roll”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_nkJgw0dvOk&ab_channel=AmyMacdonaldVEVO

281. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Pure class, never heard it before a great tune. Cheers my man.

282. Smallaxe

Thepnr,

Make room for an auld wummin and her cat;

Matt McGinn:”The Dundee Cat”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dkX3zcg10QE&ab_channel=bigmanio

283. Ruby

Ah! This is the off topic thread.
    Fingers cross I’ll have more luck posting here than I did on The Tools of the Union thread.

ps cearc I don’t have any soup but I’ve bough a huge ‘Extra Special Outdoor Bred Pork & Cranberry Sausage Roll.

I’ve brought some cushions thought sitting on the babies might result in a bit of a smelly mess. Might put you off my extra special sausage roll.

284. Ruby

I’m going to tune in here while eating my 12 grapes.

https://www.facebook.com/ForwardAsOneScot/

Sounds interesting.

285. Michael McCabe

Welcome to off topic Ruby http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JgsFA_9948

286. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I’m sure that was a Wings symbol on the pin at 50secs in LOL

287. K1

Someone must have a non facebook ‘forward Scotland’ link..someone put it up yesterday, but that article was taken down?

288. Thepnr

@Ruby

Big welcome to Off Topic, now this isn’t aimed at you but just the usual reprobates that frequent here.

Now don’t start crying you auld bastards when this shows just how auld you are LOLOL. Enjoy, as it’s a cracker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP8A9rtg0iI

289. heraldnomore

Shit, haven’t been in O/T for donkeys, troll free zone…

290. Michael McCabe

A Wee tune for Ian Brotherhood I am sure he likes this ? Doe’sent Everyone http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6UabZV94is

291. Smallaxe

If you remember this, you’re auld!

Chris Mclure:”Please Stay”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EL-pr6hLHLc&ab_channel=thebacardibat

I don’t remember it.

292. Michael McCabe

Paula Rose if you are tuning in this one is for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2deZaMF6Ql4

293. cearc

Good to see everyones got their dancing shoes on (apart from smallaxe in his bath towel).

294. Smallaxe

Time for this!

“A Wee Coak Sparrah” Duncan MacRae;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HivJ4EosWS8&ab_channel=spekkyguy

295. Marie Clark

Cheers, happy New Year. Am away for the bells.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNGFJMJaqGU

296. Michael McCabe

I Hope next year brings a bit of sun into everyones Lives. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0E1bNmyPWww

297. cearc

greetings to all from the north, have a great time everyone.

298. Michael McCabe

this water is Amazing. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fuw6lYVAlaI

299. Thepnr

Happy New Year old friends and new ones.

Peace and Love always.
    Alex

300. Ruglonian

Happy New Year to all x

301. Thepnr

Happy New Year may your tunes just get better and better. That “Follow The Sun” was just fantastic and starts the New Year off on a great note.

Thanks, pure genius.

302. Marie Clark

Come on now folks, let’s hear ye.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69AvNm8zub

303. ronnie anderson

Ah Guid Nearday tae Ain n Aw

304. Smallaxe

Peace and Love Always to All Wingers and remember, you’re only a ghost driving a meat coated skeleton made from Stardust, riding a rock, hurtling through space.
    FEAR NOTHING!

Hope Over Fear This and every other Year;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FSFwqjYnZTg&ab_channel=GregM

Happy New Year!

305. William Wallace

Happy new year aff-topic and wishing you all ah the best fir 2018.

306. yesindyref2

Happy New Year!

So last year I took no chances as a couple of years was first-footed by the polis, out before midnight and back in after the bells with the usual stuff in hand, and the year was shit, lost van, nearly lost wife, lost the boiler, loads of other stuff. So this year I broke all the rules and went out after the bells with a fag and back in again, empty-handed. Ha, take that!

307. Thepnr

I guess it’s bedtime I’ll leave you all with this moody but funky record. A class singer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1pE01_0cCus

308. Marie Clark

Sheesh. Try again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69AvNm8zubo

309. Thepnr

@Marie Clark

Got it this time, thought I should be in bed lol

310. Betty Boop

@ Liz g

https://soundcloud.com/christian-gross-26/andrea-bocelli-time-to-say-goodbye-remke-by-christian-gros-instrumental

This may help. It’s on soundcloud.com
    It’s a beautiful version. I hope you can find something which suits you and brings comfort. Take care.

311. Betty Boop

I hope we all find peace and contentment in this new year. My best wishes to you all.

312. William Wallace

Ane fir meh Grandad (his karaoke piece and eh dinnae half miss the old rogue) and fir abody on wings.

Wind beneath my wings.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jorJh8DTMVM

313. Thepnr

@William Wallace

Good on you Wullie for playing a tune for your Granda. He has a Grandson that he’ed be proud of.

Right that’s it for tonight now I’m definitely turning in.

314. Cactus

Hey Scotland.

Have u ever seen such a clear moon?

Full moon.

Heading HOME 2018 XX

315. William Wallace

@ PNR

What is this time if no fir thinking aboot ah them that’s passed and ahin the future might yet bring.

Eh keep askin if you kent him. He was a Derwent Arms legend 😉

Here’s a wee traditional lament fir yiz ah (eh love this version)

Loch Lomond
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GXGVFJqSqqg

316. William Wallace

Another ane o meh favourite laments beh ra Corries

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v15wEsHg3gY

317. Cactus

What does it take to make a difference?

318. William Wallace

@ Cactus

Us 🙂

Happy new year fella. Love to you and yours.

319. William Wallace

Looking to the future and on a more optimistic note. Another ane o meh favourite tunes beh ra corries and indeed ane o meh favourite tunes.

Strangest Dream

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5KwL2KaLyA

320. William Wallace

Ane fir the blood and soil 😉

Haughs O’Cromdale

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n24v5_sOx0Q

321. Cactus

Merry New Year buddy.

Cheers Rev Stu.

Ahm HOME

SA.

322. William Wallace

And ye kin rip that shite up fae 1707 fir a start. 😉

Ye Jacobites by name

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeVdejmRqRw

323. William Wallace

The only historical date that matters. 😉

1320 – Albannach

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmO5sOEY6K8

324. William Wallace

Signed

The Gael

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikQXY4qnFNs&t=104s

Kind Regards

The people of Scotland 😉

325. William Wallace

In case yir unsure who signed it 😉

Scotland is her name

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EillZOvRm-g

326. William Wallace

For and on behalf of our

Ancestors

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXx0_1iwJmk

327. William Wallace

Lament fir the king 😉

Siúil A Rún

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZP-4B7kHqA

328. Fred

Mornin all! & a Guid New Year to the Off-Topic Clan!

329. Tinto Chiel

Happy new year to all on O/T, “vilest of seps”. Nice to see so many people of note on here again, especially Smallaxe.

Was out with the old cheese-wire last night under a lovely moon so missed the party but have thrashed myself with birch twigs in the snow to make up.

Still enjoying the music so thanks especially to Hackalumpoff, WW and Michael M and his Whisky Kiss.

Could someone send out a search party for Ian B?

I think it’s going to be a big year for us but hold on to yer hats.

This morning I am breaking my fast with a poached egg on toast, some Stornaway marag dubh, and four rashers of bacon.

We athletes must fuel up.

😛

330. Marie Clark

Good morning one and all. Happy new year.

Tinto, your making me hungry, I haven’t had breakfast yet, but I better get on wi’ it, av a wheen o’ folk coming fur steak pie aboot 1.30.

See you all later. Oh by the way, some great music last night, I really enjoyed it.

331. Tinto Chiel

“Stornoway”, obvs.

*Takes beamer*

Marie: for the first time, we are having a bought steak pie.

Feeling kinda dirty…..

332. Thepnr

Lentil and yellow split pea soup here. Enjoy your Steakpie 🙂

333. chasanderson200

Wingers Get Together, Woodside, Glenrothes
    Venue- Otters Head, Happer Crescent,
    Woodside, Glenrothes.
    Date – Saturday, April 7th
    (Declaration Arbroath Weekend)
    Travel-CAR, just off the Dundee to
    Kirkcaldy Road.
    BUS, 200 yards from bus stop for
    services for Dundee, St
    Andrews, Leven, Edinburgh,Glasgow,
    Dunfermline,and many points in
    between.
    RAIL,5 minute taxi from Markinch
    Station for Perth and Inverness
    Services. Also only 5 minute taxi
    from Thornton for Fife Circle
    trains.

More info to follow tomorrow.

334. Thepnr

@chasanderson200

Hope to see you there, mind and provide reminders as the date gets closer. Happy New Year Chas!

335. cearc

Cod liver oil and orange juice, eh? That takes me right back to childhood! (I was the weirdo child who loved cod liver oil).

336. chasanderson200

Cearc
    We got cod liver oil, orange juice, and a spoonful of malt.

To this day (60+years on) I cannot and will not eat anything that remotely smells ot tastes like fish oil and orange juice giveves

337. chasanderson200

Cearc

To this day (60+years on) I cannot and will not eat anything that remotely smells or tastes like fish oil, and orange juice gives me gout.
    Loved malt in all its forms
    and still do, be it in whisky or brown beer.
    Mark 7 april in you diary for wings night out in Glenrothes.(see above)????

338. Betty Boop

@ chasanderson200

Did you know my mother??? To that was added daily Haliborange tablet, spoonful of Rosehip syrup and syrup of figs (whether or not we needed/wanted it!

I haven’t caught up with all the comments in recent times, so might have missed it if you answered already, but, can you tell me if you received your puffer in the post? Was packed in a padded envelope and posted several weeks back not long after Broughty do.

Happy New Year an a’ 🙂

339. Tinto Chiel

Anyone remember Radio Malt from the fifties?

A favourite of Nigel Molesworth, I believe.

340. chasanderson200

Betty Boop
    Received with very much gratitude.

Hope to see you at next wingers night in
    GLENROTHES 7 April in the Otters Head.
    ???

341. Thepnr

MT doing my head in again. Here’s a song for the trolls LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3JIpIsgHqV0

342. cearc

We got our spoonful of cod liver oil followed by a spoonful of sticky milk (condensed milk).

I can’t say for certain for april as I need to know nearer the time the poultry/neighbour situation. I see that their is an Holiday Inn near by with rooms for two or for three at £50 per night inc. breakfast and parking, not bad.

343. Thepnr

@cearc

I’ve stayed there before and would have no hesitation in staying again. Just saying like.

344. Tinto Chiel

Testing:

🙄

M/T a baconrollfest at the mo.

Puts people off, I think.

345. Tinto Chiel

Mmmmm…

Eyes were supposed to roll.

Back to the drawing board.

346. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Don’t worry chum 🙂 my eyes are rolling and I’m sure a good many others are. I think they’re panicking, just laugh at them.

347. Tinto Chiel

I admire your indefatigability, Alex, but some lurkers who don’t know to just scroll past must be put off as they read these repetitious, twisted efforts.

My wee scroller’s rid het.

😛

348. Tinto Chiel

Still furiously topical:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dU1atiRLals

Ya bass.

349. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Been busy watching the play threads again and it wasn’t for the first time. Just saw you posts and was surprised to realise the “Oliver’s Army” has never been played here before. I thought I might have done so but no.

According to Elvis Costello himself:

The song was based on the premise ‘they always get a working class boy to do the killing’. I don’t know who said that; maybe it was me, but it seems to be true nonetheless.”

That has the ring of truth about it don’t you think?

350. Thepnr

A little more info on “Oliver’s Army” that I’d no idea about. I mean come on censorship in 2013?

“The song lyrics contain the phrase “white nigger”, a racial slur which usually remains uncensored on radio stations. In March 2013, the radio station BBC Radio 6 Music played the song with the word removed despite BBC radio stations having played the song uncensored for over 30 years.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oliver%27s_Army

351. Betty Boop

@ chasanderson200, 2/01/18, 12:59pm

Hope to see you at next wingers night in
    GLENROTHES…

That is highly likely, ta.

352. CameronB Brodie

Oops, sorry Rev. 🙂

Policies which contribute to economic marginalisation, especially of the vulnerable, e.g. austerity, can be viewed as a form of negative eugenics.)

Social Work and Social Care seminar:
    Social Work, Neoliberalism and Neo-eugenics

….In this public lecture, I will be offering a bleak assessment of the state of social work and social welfare and indeed the wider socio-economic milieu that we are living through. Across the world, east, west, north south, developed and developing world, we see the emergence of real spectre of fascism. In the US, for example,who could have thought that an openly racist president could have been elected! But most worryingly Trump is not alone and we can see very same hate rhetoric resonating across the continents of the world. This big concern is that until recent times the language and rhetoric of hate, of blaming the other, the refugee, the poor landless peasant, the ex-mill/ship worker, the young working-class mother, welfare recipients, homeless people, first peoples, the Dalits and so on etc was propagated by extreme right-wing groups. However, today, we see the emergence of new right Nationalisms, that are increasingly shaping the public policy agenda….

http://www.healthcare.ac.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Gurnam-Singh_Social-Work-Neoliberalism-and-Neo-eugenics-Kingston-University_18th-Oct-2017.pdf

The government has failed to protect the human rights of children

The UK has plummeted from 11th position to 156th in global ranking for meeting its children’s rights obligations in the space of just a year. The UK now ranks among the bottom 10 global performers in the arena of improving the human rights of the child, after it achieved the lowest possible score across all six available indicators in the domain of Child Rights Environment (CRE), according to the KidsRights Index 2017….

https://kittysjones.wordpress.com/tag/eugenics/

Bioethics 04-04-09. Judging Moral Theories
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UprL69_ThYo

353. Cactus

SO here’s one for Team Scotland 😉

“…an the blood starts pumpin…'”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LwDMFOLIHxU

You start back in 6 minutes…

Have an excellent day!

Off topic.

354. Tinto Chiel

Morning, sophisticates.

Went to bed early so missed your sage comments on Oliver’s Army, Alex. And Green Shirt anticipates Jackie Bird and her Crew by about thirty years. It was the first EC track which made me realise what a smart guy he was.

Meanwhile, I give you this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJ2yAnZ4EYc

Marvel at the lovely Paula Rose (Phwoarrrrr!) and Smallaxe in that awfie sludge-coloured suit he used to wear in them days as they perform together for the first time and I have to get on my bike to make it all happen…

355. Fred

Did anybody recall a doze of Cascara? it was shockin stuff, the weans wid phone The Cruelty if tried nooadays!

356. Tinto Chiel

Fred: always thought it brought out the smoulder in my eyes…..

357. Ian Brotherhood

Happy New Year to youse all.

Embdy ken whit day it is? 😉

Anyway, some top Ibiza DJ used to play this at stupid o’clock in the morning as a ‘cheerio’ to all the clubbers. Seems appropriate, even if it is the middle of the afternoon.

That’s another festive season over. Here’s hoping we get our own very special one asap, no matter which month it happens to be in. And keep in mind the motto of that show, ‘Let’s be careful out there…’

Theme from Hill Street Blues –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Je2fGzKiqRM

358. Fred

@ Tinto, it brought out tears in mine! a fore-runner of Syrup of Figs ah think!

359. winifred mccartney

Could always house the homeless in Windsor in one of the spare Castles and turn it into a hostel for the homeless. Better use in my eyes.

360. Fred

Very good prog on Alba the noo about Connemara boxers in Boston.

361. yesindyref2

I see coco the stale empire biscuit is doing what Rock did/does, sneaking in a posting after he thinks a thread has died, so as to be the last posting – twice on this thread, first being the old “To summarise:”, both with the theme “Indy Ref 2 Bad, SNP Bad”.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/who-governs-the-governed/

362. yesindyref2

oh, and “UDI good” of course.

363. Reluctant Nationalist

Oh man, this is comedy gold.

http://www.bbc.com/pidgin/world

364. frogesque

No artificial sweetners ‘ere!

HOMEMADE TABLET

Anyone needing a real sugar buzz?

Home made tablet!

1 kilo bag light brown sugar
    300ml fresh single cream
    25g of pack butter, not the sloppy Lurpack!
    1/2tsp vanilla extract

Couple of tins double lined with baking parchment or greaseproof paper

Put sugar, cream and butter in a stainless pan (allow plenty room for boiling – at least twice volume, boiling sugar is hot stuff and burns deep!)

Mix until all sugar is wetted, turn on heat and bring to the boil slowly while stirring all the time. When boiling bring to somewhere between soft ball and hardball stage – I use a proper sugar thermometer 118 deg C to 120 deg C lower temp makes for softer tablet, higher a wee bit of crunch.

Remove from heat, allow to cool a little and come off the boil, stir to remove bubbles. As it cools further start to vigorously stir the mixture and as it continues to cool it will start to grain and thicken. When really stiff return pan to heat the pan only, this helps to pour the mixture. YOU ARE NOT RE BOILING THE SUGAR, only heating the pan.

Pour into prepared trays, while still warm mark out into squares. Turn out onto a cake cake rack covered with a sheet of parchment. Cover with another sheet of parchment and when cold break into squares.

Allow tablet to air dry and finish crystalising then wrap in parchment. If you wrap in clingfilm it will sweat and ruin! properly wrapped and stored it will keep for weeks unless kids, the dog, visitors, the midnight munchy thief or somesuch finds it first.

Great on its own or in coffee, purists will start WWIII over the use of cream instead of condensed milk, brown sugar instead of white sugar, use of vanilla, butter etc. etc.

Don’t give a shit, make it the way you want!

365. Tinto Chiel

Homemade tablet recipes?

Oh, dear…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hamKl-su8PE

366. frogesque

@Tinto Chiel 5.17

Lol!

367. Tinto Chiel

frogesque: no condensed milk?

I fear revenge of the Scottish Grannies…..

Heehee!

368. Dave McEwan Hill

No need for all that kerfuffle to make tablet.
    Here is a 16 minute recipe,

125gm butter (half a block)
    500 gm sugar (half a bag)
    105 gm evaporated milk (half a tin)

Large glass bowl (large!)
    Microwave 800 (add a minute or two for 750 microwaves)

Put the ingredients (butter sliced up) into the bowl
    Full power microwave for 4 minutes-
    Stir
    Full power microwave for 4 minutes
    Stir-
    Stir
    Stir and beat up firmly before poring into greased tray.

Keep an eye on it. The last session should see the mixture which has bubbled up then drop a bit. If it hasn’t another minute will do it.

You can add half a teaspoon of coffee granules for a cappuccino version, peppermint oil for hint of mint, lemon extract for hint of lemon, cinnamon, ginger and cloves for a nice winter flavour.

Another couple of minutes makes it quite crunchy.

I worked this all out by trial and error. Makes lovely tablet. We sell lots of it in the Forward Shop in Dunoon. This method doesn’t work with condensed milk.

369. Fred

Ye took the words oot ma mooth Tinto! There wiz nae cream in my young day, I remember it appearing in cakes & preferred the artificial onyhow!

370. frogesque

Bugger the tin foil hat!

After the tablet recipe I’m getting a bomb proof nuke bunker!

Lol!

371. cearc

Dave,

Looks brilliant, I’ll give it a go tomorrow.

Never thought of trying it in the microwave although I do melt choccy (maybe to put on top?) in it.

It was only a couple of years ago that I discovered the joy of quick, never sinking sponge cake in the microwave.

372. Liz g

Cearc @ 10.02
    Never sinking sponge cake in the microwave?
    Do tell!

373. cearc

Non-sinking? Well if you take it out and it’s still soggy and promptly sinks you can just shove it back in for another minute or two and unlike in an oven, it miraculously re-rises as it finishes cooking.

The downside of microwave cake is that it doesn’t have a nice golden brown top – the upside is neither does it get a dark brown/black crust either!

374. Ian Brotherhood

Apropos of nowt in particular, here’s Richard Burton doing his magnificent thing in The Medusa Touch.

Was going to post link to the collapsing cathedral scene but that would be a tad ‘insensitive’, eh?

Hoots all!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLDmyP2g8Oc

375. Brian Doonthetoon

I think this is my first post in ‘off-topic’ of 2018, so HAPPY NEW YEAR!

It was good to see so many new usernames in ‘off-topic’ on 31st/1st.

Onnyhoo…
    Back in the 60s, around 1967 I think, I saw a fullum called “Fireball 500” at my favourite fleapit. I did a search on t’interweb a few years ago but nothing turned up.

For some reason, that fullum popped into my mind tonight so I did another wee ‘Google’. It turned up! This is from the Wikipedia page:-

“Fireball 500 is a stock car racing film, blended with the beach party film genre. A vehicle for stars Frankie Avalon, Annette Funicello, and Fabian, it was one of a string of similar racing films from the 1960s. Written by William Asher and Leo Townsend, and directed by William Asher, it tells the story of Dave Owens (Avalon), a stock car racer forced to run moonshine.”

And then I found it on YouTube!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYAkH6IFls4

If you’re looking for a fullum featuring a lost genre, this could be the 90 minutes you’ve been looking for. I’ve downloaded it and intend watching it over the weekend.

376. Brian Doonthetoon

To keep the ‘off-topic’ topic on course…

I currently have “Only Yesterday: The Carpenters Story” as my aural wallpaper on BBC4.

One of the big regrets of my life: when Karen Carpenter died, my wish for a Karen Carpenter / Greg Lake duet couldn’t happen. They both had a similar quality of voice. Listen to these two and compare:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fn_1d_DUE08

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dtq5Vf1xYvY

377. Michael McCabe

Hey you. Yes you. This is for You and Your Friend. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfEM_jqWw1U

378. Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ! Still got BBC4 on and found my eyes becoming over-lubricated at the scenes from The Cars on “LiveAid”.

It’s no’ fair!

379. cearc

I can very happily confirm that microwave tablet is great (especially with the addition of whisky soaked sultanas and a little choccie dotted on top).

Thanks, Dave.

380. Dave McEwan Hill

cearc at 11.28

Good stuff

381. Thepnr

Paula Rose has asked that I pass on her best wishes for the New Year to all Wingers and especially those that frequent Off Topic.

Had a bit of a rough time in 2017 but will bounce back up again in 2018 I’m sure can’t be kept down for long.

Worth sticking to the end, features a Jock LOL enjoy Paula 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iENLhkDodfg

382. Tinto Chiel

Happy New Year, Paula. Come back to the gaff, there’s new bog roll and we’ve looked after your palms.

If only you were called Caterina. Frankly, this is a bit disturbing but you find it hard to look away:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHo-q1FxbIw

383. Tinto Chiel

My mother was scared by a French polisher when she was pregnant with me so I quite like the basically mad songs of this raconteur. It’s not all fun: his parents work themselves to death sewing and knitting in the attic workshop, his bird leaves him for a worthless fellow and he’s left alone after they die in the old house where he gets haunted by his mother’s ghost.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcNQxFV3cwg

In other words, it’s full of that optimism the French are famed for 😛 .

384. Cactus

Morning.

bbc Scotland saying a “big story” to break at 1pm.

This should be fun 🙂

385. Tinto Chiel

Cactus: what is this news of which you speak?

386. Cactus

Evening fine fellow Tinto Chiel ~

Ah tuned in at 1pm, but it was a complete anti-climax!

Unless the big story was Andy Murray’s operation…

They’re up to something? (no surprises there then)

Ahm tuning in again to ‘bbc bullshit’ at 5pm to get the round-up.

387. Smallaxe

Cactus,
    12:09 is the afternoon, have you been imbibing the cheeky watter again or have you not turned your watch forward to 2018? 😉

Tinto,
    That track that you played! Have you been reading my mail?
    Here’s another French track, in American English;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtwBuJ_6oLI&ab_channel=Superstellina2014

388. Cactus

Hey Smallaxe, cheers for the good timely call, I guess ah got caught up in the moment of it awe! It may have been the Super-Wolf full moon that did it, aye live in the future.

Just like Ian Brotherhood said recently… what day is it hehe? 😉

Wishin’ ye all excellent wishes Wingers.

Tea time.

389. Smallaxe

And here’s the big news that you were waiting for Tinto!

The Westminster Shuffle; (You move it to the right)
    http://newsthump.com/2018/01/08/theresa-may-to-move-bastards-about-a-bit/

“The Harlem Shuffle”(You move it to the left
    Yeah, and you go for yourself)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cjrvEeQowRk&ab_channel=dalkey130388

390. Smallaxe

Enjoy your tea, Cactus;

Tea Time with Dr Breen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3LPmA5tk2U&ab_channel=kitty0706

391. Tinto Chiel

@ Cactus and Smallaxe: thank Goad the Wings Heavy Team finally arrived. I was about to post something absolutely vile just to provoke a reaction on One Hand Clapping, I mean O/T.

Bob & Earl: wot a sublime intro. Smallaxe, give yon Debbie H the elbow: I fear her political views will only bring you both grief.

Meanwhile, for all you lurking intellectuals, scrimshankers and dork spanglers, I give you the Trenet Treasury so you can practise your school girl/schoolboy French and impress your friends. All songs to be found on YouTube, probs…..

http://www.paroles.net/charles-trenet

392. Tinto Chiel

Error message? Try this….

http://www.paroles.net/charles-trenet

Or I start posting vileness…..

393. Smallaxe

Tinto,

Gonnae play sumfin that ah know whit its aboot, a’hm loast here, soaum!

TAXI!!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IKxMTFvo_0s&ab_channel=kalino4
    Thanks Joe

394. Brian Doonthetoon

Now, before I paste this here, I wish to point out that it is not directed at seasoned contributors to WOS and other online recipients of their wisdom, opinions, irony and sarcasm.

Nay, it more to inform those who wander online, having received a tablet or Mac for Christmas, and who haven’t yet grasped the etiquette of comment.

I admit; I am pasting this from a daily email I receive from a guy in New York State, which features jokes and strange news. He’s an ex-pat Dundonian, whom I have met a couple of times at 3s get-togethers in Dundee, over the years.

I may follow this post with another paste, of an article I put together for “The Jaggy Thistle” some years ago. I’ll read it again first.

Onnyhoo, courtesy of “Wee John” from Kincardine Street…
    These are not rules for posting; they are, mostly, common sense to keep comments on track.

1. Verbs has to agree with their subjects.

2. Prepositions are not words to end sentences with.

3. And don’t start a sentence with a conjunction.

4. It is wrong to ever split an infinitive.

5. Avoid cliches like the plague. (They’re old hat).

6. Always avoid annoying alliteration.

7. Be more or less specific.

8. Parenthetical remarks (however relevant) are (usually) unnecessary.

9. Also, too, never, ever use repetitive redundancies.

10. No sentence fragments. No comma splices, run-ons are bad too.

11. Contractions aren’t helpful and shouldn’t be used.

12. Foreign words and phrases are not apropos.

13. Do not be redundant; do not use more words than necessary; it’s highly superfluous.

14. One should never generalize.

15. Comparisons are as bad as cliches.

16. Don’t use no double negatives.

17. Eschew ampersands & abbreviations, etc.

18. One-word sentences? Eliminate.

19. Analogies in writing are like feathers on a snake.

20. The passive voice is to be ignored.

21. Eliminate commas, that are, not necessary. Parenthetical words however should be enclosed in commas.

22. Never use a big word when a diminutive one would suffice.

23. Kill all exclamation points!!!!

24. Use words correctly, irregardless of how others use them.

25. Understatement is probably not the best way to propose earth shattering ideas.

26. Use the apostrophe in it’s proper place and omit it when its not needed.

27. As Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “I hate quotations. Tell me what you know.”

28. If you’ve heard it once, you’ve heard it a thousand times: resist hyperbole; not one writer in a million can use it correctly.

29. Puns are for children, not groan readers.

30. Go around the barn at high noon to avoid colloquialisms.

31. Even if a mixed metaphor sings, it should be derailed.

32. Who needs rhetorical questions?

33. Exaggeration is a million times worse than understatement.

34. Proofread carefully to see if you any words out.

An’d THATS !t!!!

PS: note I never mentioned microsloth, windoze or peecee…

395. Brian Doonthetoon

SHAZBOT!

3s = 3Js.

Have to brush up my poofreading…

396. Brian Doonthetoon

Now that’s interesting. I had bookmarked the original page I did for the Jaggy Thistle but it had gone from the web.

So I posted the url into the Internet archive and they’d captured it – in 2002!

You can read it at the link below.

https://web.archive.org/web/20021129062801/http://www.thejaggythistle.co.uk/gregorysgirl.htm

Abronhill was reprieved in the noughties but finally went under the demolishers’ hammers, just after the NO vote in 2014.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2839652/Game-Demolition-begins-school-famous-film-Gregory-s-Girl-despite-desperate-campaign-open.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abronhill_High_School

397. Tinto Chiel

Ah, Vanessa, Smallaxe! The girl who taught me all I know about French reflexive verbs. Charming young lady, but a bit scatty. Mind you, I told you our sax vamping routine at the back was total Carmichael, but, oh, no, you knew better. Got a pure riddy now.

BDTT: your 34-point plan was most edifying. I think you should start a competition to see how many could be incorporated into a 100-word paragraph.

And now I HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY:

As many will know, Paula Rose seems to have blown the gaff or tire le corbeau, as we say in Cadzow. She had a perverse dislike of football and dissuaded many posters from referring to things spherical. Many fine young cyber-warriors obeyed her perverse injunction, posters of the calibre of Thepnr, Ian B and William Wallace.

Well, guys, she’s gone, and there’s nuffink we can dae aboot it. We’ll never see the most finely-turned ankles east of Garngad ever again.

That being so, I give you a football clip (FAIR WARNING) which shows the old Scottish game in all its glory. Thrill to scything tackles; be amazed at the speed of the game; expand your lip-reading skills as opponents congratulate each other on their ball skills.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hmVuhOVKd9Q

I await the Rev’s hammers and the opprobrium of others but I just couldn’t take it ony mair…..

398. Smallaxe

Football, Tinto, it looks too dangerous to me.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DievM15dWII&ab_channel=FantasyFootball

A’hm still feart!

399. Smallaxe

Brian DTT,

A wee factiod, when I lived in Swindon in 1987/8 Dee Hepburn used to deliver videos to my local video shop. I wonder what she does now.

GFF10: GREGORY’S GIRL 30TH ANNIVERSARY SCHOOL REUNION
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7fn1uzubcU&ab_channel=GlasgowFilmFestival

400. Tinto Chiel

Looks like Auchinleck Talbot V Cumnock Juniors typeahing, Smallaxe, but I am conscious I have TAKEN IT TOO FAR.

I apologise to all on O/T for my out-of-orderness.

I feel it and admit it.

*slouches off to early bath, ashamed*

401. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinti Chiel.

RE: your video link.

Ken whuh gits meh goat? Peeps who have a perfectly viewable video in 4:3 format, then, just to PI55 me off, upload it to YouTube in 16:9 format, thus rendering normally shaped humans as wee and dumpy. WHY???

Here’s another example. I was looking for it on YouTube. I saw the original series and it was in the days before widescreen so was 4:3 format. It was uploaded 16:9, making the Corries look like wee bachles.

So I downloaded it, reformatted it, then uploaded it. I’ve also done the same for a Gerry Cinnamon video, shot on a digital camera at 4:3 but uploaded as 16:9.

Onnyhoo, here are the original Corries and the reformat, to compare. Firstly, my reformat:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoZZVkDVZ0c

Then the original:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Upd51Bsiot8

The other thing that gets my goat…

People will sit in their house and watch a widescreen TV. The clue is “widescreen”. Why then, when they’re shooting a video on their phone, do they shoot the video with the phone turned 90° from widescreen, to give a tall, narrow video?

End of rants.

———————————————————-

Hi Smallaxe.

Enjoyed the “grammar Nazis”!

402. Smallaxe

Hi, Brian,

I’ll be doing my best to make it to George (Freedom) Square in May for the AUOB march, I hope to see you there, my friend. We have to bring the people together.

The Youngbloods:”Get Together”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4fWN6VvgKQ&ab_channel=anippygirl

403. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: I was just thrashing myself with birch twigs with vinegar sprinklings to atone for my sins when I saw your anti-16:9 rant.

I see what you mean in general. And wee bauchlising The Corries is just not on, imo, especially in that classic clip.

Probs a Yoon thing. After the revolution, I’m going to tie Wee Willie Wonky to an armchair and make him watch yon film on a loop until he admits he is an utter twallie.

Job done.

404. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

RE: Dee Hepburn.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2275989/Why-Gregorys-Girl-Dee-Hepburn-turned-fame–didnt-want-strip-off.html

“She was offered various roles after the success of Gregory’s Girl, including the female lead opposite Oliver Reed in Castaway (played by Amanda Donohoe), and the lead in Bolero (played by Bo Derek), she turned them down because of the required level of nudity and sexual content, and having to work away from her Scottish home”

That’s from:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dee_Hepburn

Will now watch the reunion video, mentioned in the Mail story.

BTW: I know nothing of the AUOB march/rally in May. I know there’s a rally for Scottish independence in the Netherlands on the 12th and the 19th would be a daft date here, due to two cup finals and a wedding. What do you know?

405. Tinto Chiel

Randy, is it? If you have tears…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ElhbTsKsros

My abiding memory of GG is heedmaister Chic Murray at the Joanna, saying, “Go away, you small boys!”

Got to go, guys. Vanessa wants to improve my French liaison.

See yiz aa ramorra…..

406. Smallaxe

Goodnight, Tinto.

DR JOHN: “In A Right Place”; NIGHT MUSIC
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4T-iGg9YFbE&ab_channel=JAZZ1_JIJIMAYA

407. Smallaxe

BDTT,

I’m sure I saw somewhere that there was an AUOB in May, Brian, sorry if I’m mistaken but I’ll try to find out where I saw it.

408. Smallaxe

Apologies for the late reply, Brian, I hadn’t refreshed so missed your post the first time.

Steely Dan:”Do It Again”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JkS8WB94ME&ab_channel=HalGriffin

409. Ian Brotherhood

Just caught up on the most recent shenanigans here…blimey!

Dodgy French chanters, hanging participles, feisty fitba, lists, dates of indy rallies, trips down memory lane with Clare Grogan…it’s got the lot!

410. Smallaxe

I’m movin’, Tinto,

Boogie Woogie; (That reads like a dancing snotter!)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1YUx3C_bKM&ab_channel=CaneSmiljanic

411. Smallaxe

Is there a doctor in the House?

“Unchain my Heart”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8HrmAgYE-6k&ab_channel=HughLaurie
    See what I did done there?

412. Tinto Chiel

It’s a girl thing today, Smallaxe…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a00_tPLcE_g

Shouldn’t Frank Snotra have recorded Boogie Woogie?

I’ll get my…whatever.

*Still sitting on naughty step after last night*

413. Smallaxe

Tinto, how can a step be naughty?

“Tuesday Afternoon”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM8JjT-97i8&ab_channel=vzqk50CL

414. Tinto Chiel

It’s wan o yon transferred epithet hings, mon vieux, I believe.

I may have had too much of this, mind:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_NholHANoY

415. Smallaxe

Tinto, you can’t have too much of that, in fact, if you take too little you’ll end up in a padded one of these!

“White Room”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0bcrkiCPNso&ab_channel=creamer1968
    You can’t beat a dose of the CLAP..ton.

416. Smallaxe

Want some “Custard Pie” to go with that Cream?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tRiDCSX_gzk&ab_channel=UnitedStatesRocker66

Are you full up yet?

417. Tinto Chiel

Can never have too much real music, Billy: great stuff.

I know the story is that Jack and Ginger hated each other and fought all the time but they certainly produced an epic rhythm section.

BTW, since it’s just you and me on here now, WE HAVE TO TALK ABOUT PAULA’S GAFF.

If she’s truly shot the craw, can I suggest:

1. Those “palms” have to go.

2. Ditto, the Dusty Springfield posters and albums.

3. Smoke house needs a revamp as holiday home accommodation.

4. “Cocktail cabinet” assets (including rare Lambrini SE bottles) need to be liquidised going forward as part of our ongoing Revised Business Plan.

5. Ian Brotherhood Multi-use Plant Pot could be a winner on eBay, given its iconic status.

Please advise. I have a window 1900-2200 hrs.

Yours,

Big Tints

PS: just think, no more soggy vollyvongs.

418. Tinto Chiel

FTM: them gewgaws and folderols in the cludgie have to go too, imo.

Vettriano for the hall?

419. Tinto Chiel

A song for next year:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1QihWLLKGY

420. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel at 7:33 pm.

You typed,
    “Vettriano for the hall?”

I rather like this homage to Vettriano:-

https://i.imgur.com/XXuxxCQ.jpg

How about something subtle for the bog?

https://i.imgur.com/9l7SgFY.jpg

421. Tinto Chiel

@BDTT: Hi, Brian. Thank Goad one of the Wings Illuminati has been monitoring O/T. Thot it was just me and Smallaxe tonight, the Odd Couple de nos jours.

Your Banksy in The Bog suggestion is quite inspired, imo. Can’t speak highly enough of it, frankly.

I’m afraid your other suggestion was too much for my delicate nerves. I’m on pills for ’em at the mo.

Otherwise, orrabestorratime.

422. Smallaxe

Okay, Tinto,

1. Replace palms with herbal bushes

2. Replace Dusty S. with J.Vettriano;http://www.allposters.co.uk/-sp/Billy-Boys-Posters_i12912156_.htm?AID=1586766026&GCID=C15100x057&gclid=CNCmzJvSy9gCFUmKhQod6ysLwg&gclsrc=ds
    And update albums to classically clatty tunes.

3. Smoke House; See No.1

4. Cocktail cabinet a la New Monaco Bar (pure class)

5. Consult Ian B. about Iconic Plant Pot (He’s awfy fond o’ it)

Soggy vollyvongs to be replaced by Tinto’s Tapas Bar and gewgaws, folderols binned to make room for a bidet in cludgie.

What do you think?
    “Decorating”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MloQRIWtJRg&ab_channel=Rachel

423. Tinto Chiel

Jeezo, Smallaxe: pure quality.

I reckon with Brian and Grace’s input, we can do this.

Point 4: white tornado option from NMB carte des vins?

Am working on my tapas menu as I speak. Trying to source Lorne-on-quinoa flatbread supplier. Found a bijou little café in Carmyle this morning, as it happens. Delightful.

424. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

I think there should be one of these on the patio:-

https://i.imgur.com/m9vnAtT.jpg

425. Smallaxe

Point 4. Agreed, also I’ll share my recipe for “Electric Soup 999” carte ed off.

Don’t worry about sourcing anything, we’re going to make this place an offer they can’t refuse!
    Tinto Tapas Bar 1 Hunter Street, East Kilbride G74 4LZ

They’ll agree if they don’t want to sleep with the fishes;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9vA7L8H4nc&ab_channel=LordRiina

426. Smallaxe

Hi, Brian,
    Did you see the link that I left for you last night?
    This one;
    http://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/news/glasgow-news/march-scottish-independence-take-place-14102672

What Tinto says regarding your choices above.

427. Fred

Ye mean “Tappers Bars!” been in a few!

428. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: sublime. I’ll keep a weather eye open for it, old bean.

Smallaxe: you discovered my little business venture in EK? They’re snowed in at the mo but there will be no probs regarding our business model after some prudent waste disposal.

Now all we need are Nana’s black and white pudding options and then it’s all a smorgasbord of delights.

Wot could possibly go wrong?

429. Smallaxe

Agree with the idea for the patio, Brian but I wish you and Tinto would stop typing so quickly I’ve put so many drops in my eyes that “I can’t feel my face”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KEI4qSrkPAs&ab_channel=TheWeekndVEVO
    Seriously!

430. Smallaxe

Tappers Bars, Fred, is that they wans that hauf the punters are skint and the other hauf’s trying to tap them?

431. Smallaxe

You’re right Tinto,

“What could possibly go Wrong”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANmcoH7am8k&ab_channel=KingKastschei

Wierd intit!

432. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Yeah, I got the link about May – eventually. My router had lost power and I couldn’t be ar$ed investigating last night. Turned out the plug had come slightly out of the mains socket.

Onnyhoo, have to find out from Ronnie what the WOS plans are for that date. The glasgowlive site says a march, ending at George Square. A rally in George Square? Don’t know but Ronnie surely will. He’s in regular contact with AUOB.

Giving up for tonight. Have fun!

433. Smallaxe

Wierd? Weird? Wired mair like!

Told ye’s ah couldnae feel ma face, noo ma brains have gone numb!

434. Smallaxe

Let me know what Ronnie says please, Brian, ta much.

435. Tinto Chiel

Fred: welcome back #MankyMate.

Was once in a low dive in Yoker en route to a fitba match in Clydebank in the late 70s. My mate went to the gentleman’s excuse me for a single fish, leaving his barely-touched pint behind. This wee runt came up and asked me if no-one was going to finish the said beer. Looked genuinely disappointed when I invited him to take a powder. My confusion was masked by a loud crash as a “lady” customer collapsed backwards onto the floor, totally malkied by spirituous liquors.

Could have done with one of your F&C-canal-based Bofors guns as things turned out. Ken whit ah’m sayin’?

All part of life’s rich tapestry, on reflection…

436. Smallaxe

Wan question, Tinto, wis the lady in the lavvy?
    Another question, when you say “on reflection” are you looking in the mirror?
    Always puzzled me that!
    “Mirror Mirror”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Upd0pcSwIBU&ab_channel=raffles000

I like mirrors, you can see who’s stabbing you in the back.

437. Smallaxe

“A Sense of Freedom” Frankie Miller & Rory Gallagher
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewAO9idrrG0&ab_channel=hobomeisterian

I can taste it!

438. Tinto Chiel

Gosh, Smallaxe, I’m so old I remember PAC.

No, the lady was not in the lav, she was lying legs akimbo on the flair and the clientele merely stepped over and around. It was at this juncture that my colleague and I decided to beat the retreat to Kilbowie.

As Archie SiU/Brillo Pad Heid MacPherson would say: “Ooooooooooooooft!”

439. Smallaxe

Thank you, so very much, for the erudite explanation old fruit. I like to know all the details for your biography. Pip Pip!

I like;
    “The Answer to Everything” Del Shannon;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1r1G-Zhdl4M&ab_channel=themagicsinthemusic

440. Tinto Chiel

Sublime Del, Smallaxe.

One day, when all this is over, I’ll expatiate at length about Tinto: The Green Street Years (A Brigton Experience).

Until then, I remain, etc.

Best wishes to Mrs Smallaxe.

441. Smallaxe

Best wishes returned doubly from Mrs Smallaxe and now only I remain, what am I supposed to do?

“Jesamine” The Casuals;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZerER6af04k&ab_channel=VinnyEastwood

“I’m Just a Lonely Boy” Paul Anka;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KKcCaCgMLBE&ab_channel=PromoMedia

442. Tinto Chiel

Just occurred to me: if PR ever returns, this might be appropriate:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4MyJHh451Y4

See yon Paul Anka? Owing to the vagaries of Southern English pronunciation when I was a nipper, I thought his name was Anchor.

Always thought him a bit of a drag, frankly. 😛

A demain, vile seps.

443. Smallaxe

Paul Anka in drag! Please don’t put pictures like that into my head, Tinto, as you know I’m of a nervous disposition.

Priscilla Queen Of The Desert:”Finally”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAshNAfOHTg&ab_channel=FigaRybka

I just help out when they’re busy. Honest!

444. cearc

Definite upvote for Vettriano goes to Dalgetty Bay

445. Cactus

Mornin’ to ye Wingers and extended peoples ~

Likin’ the latest look, can we go for a side-sauna with plunge pool too please.. cheers for your pic of the stern of the titan ship above bdtt, ah checked a previous and related post that made it, ah ken it would’ve been more suited to here at the time aye, cheers B.

It’s Wiki Wiki Wednesday:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42TQFxLnLZY

A song of dance.

446. Smallaxe

“This Is The End Of The World” Angry Dan for CND;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=18&v=NjfJbAV0IUE
    Mibbie!

447. Ian Brotherhood

Just youse leave that plant pot where it is – it’s my seat when the place gets too busy.

448. Smallaxe

I knew that you were fond of that plant pot, Ian, worry not, your throne awaits.

“The Plant Pot Song”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBxcGnaBMrY&ab_channel=schmulkproductions

449. cearc

More lemon trees, saves traipsing to the kitchen to spice up the gin and they smell good.

Cactus,

‘extended peoples’, eh? They’ll be the ones taking full advantage of Dave’s easy microwave tablet recipe then.

450. Smallaxe

cearc,

Great idea, lemon trees will be ordered immediately, gin for the use of.
    Gigi D’Agostino:”Gin Lemon”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bivcr086PlE&ab_channel=zyxdance

Ps Sorry I missed you last night.

451. cearc

Also, nice plump feather cushion for the naughty step (for use by Paula Rose).

452. Smallaxe

cearc,

If anyone can supply feathers it should be you, you must have plenty to hand.

Forrest Gump (Feather Theme)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEY3o00LRHI&ab_channel=DolwinMusic%2FLo%C3%AFcRosset

453. cearc

I do indeed, I even have a ‘feather bin'(mainly down really) where they wait to be transformed into pillows or cushions.

454. Smallaxe

I had an idea that you would be the go-to person for feathers, cearc, you lucky plucker.

“Mother Pheasant Plucker”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=deCUnq63waI&ab_channel=vlogbrothers

455. Fred

Anent low dives, was it the Oxford Tavern that had a curtain & a bucket for the ladies?

456. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Aye, cheers for the link to the Plant Pot song.

Sinister stuff – I’ll have that tune in me napper for weeks.

457. Smallaxe

Fred,

This wan?
    http://www.oldglasgowpubs.co.uk/oxfordtavern.html

Ian B,
    Your welcome brother, you should learn the words for your party piece.

458. Smallaxe

Fred,

Here are some o’ yer pals,
    “Go Lassie go” Live music in Scotia Bar, Glasgow
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YbjW4U7NwI&ab_channel=HenrykRypi%C5%84ski

Ur you ther?

459. Tinto Chiel

Good afternoon, aesthetes.

May I, on behalf of the PR Gaff Renaissance Committee, thank all of those who contributed suggestions towards the improvements required to make this famous locale a valuable addition to our modern life-styles.

Some observations: totally get where you’re coming from in terms of your decision re. the plant pot, Ian. I still reckon it’s marketable once sterilised in a surgical autoclave but w/o PR ony mair we’ll need a seat as you say, her lap not being available.

Cactus: should be nae probs with plunge pool and side-sauna but there may be a H&S issue with Embra crystal whisky tumblers in the vicinity. Ditto with cearc’s feather suggestion (possible allergic reaction situation).

Hate to be a Doleful Dan but it’s the modern litigious world wot we live in.

Fred: any thoughts? Your feedback/opinion is valuable to us.

Must go: Harvey wants me to go on a truffle-hunt with him doon the braes.

460. Tinto Chiel

Great link to that site of old Glasgow pubs, Smallaxe. It’s now in my faves.

Meant to ask: should the marag dubh tapas be the Stornoway variety? I have a Dingwall butcher option up my sleeve if required.

Meanwhile, John and I are engaged in further product research:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3o8-bcfFvE

461. Smallaxe

Good afternoon, Tinto,

I had missed the suggestion from Cactus regarding a plunge pool but I think that we could skirt around the H&S regulations by just filling the said pool with booze and therefore dismissing any need for the Embra crystal glasses.

“Swimming Pools” (Drank) Kendrick Lamar
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgGzzUDhZyM&ab_channel=fadeDRIFTING
    Say hi to Harvey for me.

462. Tinto Chiel

Just saw your latest on the way oot the door, Smallaxe. Harvey’s getting a bit excited by the thought of fungi.

That’s a cunning plan to obviate the need for glasses. We could just make Kendrick the pool attendant, and no need for chlorine as a steriliser.

Quite brilliant, imho. Need to do something about his language, though. A bit fruity for The Laydees.

See youse all later, post truffles.

463. Smallaxe

Tinto,

Don’t forget to do the,
    “Truffle Shuffle”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kr_z37TgQO4&ab_channel=Movieclips

464. Fred

Drum-roll in the pail at the Oxford! the very wan.

Murdo Fraser might help out with woodland fungus, a “Truffle-Hunt!” if ever ah seen wan!

465. Tinto Chiel

Wow! That’s the kinda entry-control system we could use in the new, improved gaff, Smallaxe.

I like this sort of shuffle masel:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFCoaNjZqUM

It’s my age.

466. Smallaxe

Hows about,

Van McCoy,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RO5NZMwfTDg&ab_channel=Airchecks

I’ll be back in about half an hour.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.