Chris Janson: “Money can’t buy me love but it can buy me a boat”

Countess Luann: “Money Can’t Buy You Class”

Smallaxe

Motörhead: “Love Can’t Buy You Money”

Demo by Freddie Mercury. Recorded at Musicland Studios, Munich, Germany on February 10th 1984
“Money can’t buy you Happiness”

Dappy: “Money Can’t Buy”

Peace Always X 2 up there^

Smallaxe

Arthur: “money can’t buy you”

Mavado: “money can’t buy life”

Bob Marley: Money can’t buy life!

One Love One People One Scotland Redeemed

Smallaxe

Keni Burke: “Risin’ To The Top (Give It All You Got)”

Peace Always to ALL

Tinto Chiel

Hi, Smallaxe.

Sorry about the sandwiches last night: they looked so good, I ate them myself.

Avocado with piccalilli on rye……..

Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I knew that I was taking a gamble leaving you in charge of the sandwiches, so I put just a smidgeon of Senna Pods in them.
Enjoy your day in the cludgie.

A wee song for you to listen to while you are in there!
#Manky. 🙂

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

Thank goodness I passed on the sandwiches! Sounds like Tinto could be ‘passing’ them by next time, lol

Smallaxe

Nana:

I’ve made sure that he has a “Crap” day!

Peace Always

Paula Rose

Hi Darlings another reminder that link to facebook.com is open for contributions – have a look.

Tinto Chiel

In a strange way I need to thank you, Smallaxe: I’ve just noticed I missed a bit of vinyl silk on the toilet door.

Meanwhile, in other news:

Hope Thepnr doesn’t mind me taking the Great Man’s name in vain…..

Smallaxe

Tinto:

If it gets too bad, try this

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

I could reply with Blackberry Way but I’d just be going through the motions, Smallaxe…..

Incidentally, was watching BBC (shudders ) in the hotel room yesterday morning before breakfast and saw exiled James Cook in a kilt at the Oscar farce. When Vin Diesel saw him he asked what clan it was and asked “Chaos in the Streets of Glasgow” Cook to sing Flower of Scotland with him. Cookie couldn’t manage and Diesel shouted, “Are you Scottish? You’re an impostor!”

Is it that obvious?

Still haven’t forgiven him for his interview with the FM in George Square during Carmichaelgate.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Smallaxe

Tinto:

“Are you Scottish? You’re an impostor!”

“Is it that obvious?”

In a word “AYE”

In a few words

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Sharp-suited chaps, those Platters.

I notice both Cooky Babes and Laura Bicker seem to have been given USA gigs by the BBC.

Strange.

Free transfer or transfer request?

Smallaxe

Tinto:

“Sanctuary” possibly?

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Thought you were going to send me this:

All seems a long time ago, now…..

Tinto Chiel

And before I go, I’ll leave this Scottish classic with some great lyrics and a mighty hook:

Ian Brotherhood

Blimey, it’s all going a bit tonto over on’t main thread!

Looking forward to Friday, catching up with all the sounds linked above, but did catch that one from Michael McCabe and naughty Lynn, up at that time in the morning! Still, it was very thoughtful of you to post a video which had been shot entirely in Ardrossan and I enjoyed it very much.

It’s good to see that the WOS fundraiser has been so successful – the future of O/T has been secured. Who wants to ask Rev about getting some new cushions and stuff? Needs a wee bit of sprucing-up since Paula’s not been around. I think we could be doing with a lava-lamp, they’ve got nice ones in B&M for about £25.

Anyway, hope ye’s are all well.

Hoots!

Smallaxe

Hi, Ian, one lava lamp as ordered!

Izzie Gibbs: “Lava Lamp”

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Talking of classics, you can’t beat the Circle Jerks for in-you-face attitude.

This one’s for you Dunc, along with your Tory-fanboy Stephen Daisley and all the other little minion helpers in your circle. Poor sound perhaps but it’s the thought that counts, Shirley?

Fucked Up and Keith Morris do “Nervous Breakdown” at SXSW

P.S. I wish we could adjust the volume on Yoon gobshites, frankly.

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Your wee axe is sharp the nicht, eh?

Smallaxe

Ian, I’ve just had a look at the M/T, oh FFS!

Fck the trolls, let’s *Rock and Roll*

Led ZEPPELIN

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Bowie: “Rock n Roll Suicide”

Real 1950s Rock & Roll, Rockabilly dance from lindy hop!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Rockin’ Rollin’ Rockabilly DANCE!

Danny and The Juniors: “At The Hop”

Smallaxe

“Rock’n Roll is Here to Stay”: Christine Ending (1983)

The King: “Jailhouse Rock”

“hound dog”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

A Royal Flush!
King

Queen

Prince

Princess

Peace Always

Smallaxe

@ 1:06:am

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe Loved it when you played this a few days ago. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Trawling for Trolls: LiSTEN CAREFULLY to the Lyrics

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

There’s no going Back. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

The Best Troll Songs

Peace Always

Smallaxe

One for Wingers!

Make that Two!

A little “Birdy”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Mc Fly

McFly:”Shine A Light” ft. Taio Cruz

“Superfly”: Curtis Mayfield

Peace Always

Smallaxe

A likkle bitta Bob!

“Don’t rock my Boat”

“Trenchtown Rock”

One Love

Smallaxe

One fi mi!

One Love One People!

Smallaxe

Hi, Michael, good to see you my Friend

“Enjoy Yourself”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Alton Ellis: “Rocksteady”

Ken Boothe: “Set Me Free”

the Jamaicans: “Ba Ba Boom”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Simmer Down link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

“Thrawn’s (the Troll) Web”

Lily Allen: “Fuck You Thrawn” with Lyrics

Bugzy Malone: “We Don’t Care”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

The Pioneers link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe
Smallaxe

The Specials: “A Message to You Rudy”

The Jam: “Town Called Malice”

Pulp: “Common People”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Bread: “Baby im’a Want you”

Carly Simon: “Anticipation”

Santana: “Oye Como Va” (Live

Michael McCabe

Love the Common People. link to youtube.com Performing it in Edinburgh as well.

Michael McCabe

Bread- Guitar Man link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Peace Always^ Up There

and down here!

Steven Universe: “Peace and Love”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Frank Wilson:”Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)”

THE ELGINS:”HEAVEN MUST HAVE SENT YOU”

The Isley Brothers: “This Old Heart Of Mine”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Four Tops: “Reach Out (I’ll Be There)”

Baby I need your Lovin

“Give Me Just A Little More Time” The Chairmen of the Board

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Heartless Bastards link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

R.E.M: “It’s The End Of The World”

“Man on the Moon”

“Losing My Religion”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

BB King “3 O’Clock Blues”

Goodnight Michael, I enjoyed that, Thanks

Peace Love and Music

Michael McCabe

Hindi Zahra- Stand Up link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

I will say goodnight and leave you with one of my Favourites. link to youtube.com And all that Jazz ?

DerekM

jings Smallaxe i think i need to add this REM track to the show after yesterday 😉

and this be the yoons this morning

Smallaxe

DerekM:

We won’t let the Yoons put us..

Down In The Dumps

Peace Always

Smallaxe

DerekM:

This is where we will leave Them

Billy Talent: “Leave Them All Behind”

Peace Always

David

Plagued with pesky trolls?
Infuriated by incensed commenters?
A Norwegian website may have the answer…

“On some stories, potential commenters are now required to answer three basic multiple-choice questions, ABOUT THE ARTICLE, before they’re allowed to post a comment.”
This is to make sure they have actually read the article before they start commenting on it!

link to niemanlab.org

Maybe Rev Stu could test it on the likes of ‘Thrawn’…

Smallaxe

David:

How about this!

How To Get Rid Of Trolls

Peace Always

Macart

Just this about now.

Smallaxe

Macart:

A kiss for the Yoons

Peace Always

Macart

@Smallaxe

Now THAT is how you make a point.

😀

David

LOL Smallaxe, don’t think I’m drunk enough to appreciate that video, even if it contains Eurotrash presenters wielding chainsaws…

PS Belated thanks for posting the Landscape ‘Einstein a go go’ song. Great wee pop tune from gulp, THIRTY-SIX years ago.

Also from ’81, with lyrics that resonate for indy-seekers today, here are the Undertones with “It’s Going To Happen”

Smallaxe

David:

“Sooner Than You Think!”
New Order

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

When Michael mentioned coconuts on the main thread, I thought he meant this kind…..

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I am not the daddy either!

Peace Always

David

Smallaxe, some say that to achieve Indy,
“We have all the time in the world”
(Louis Armstrong)

But I want Indy “Right here right now”

(Fatboy Slim)

Tinto Chiel

That vid reminds me of my attempts at the Lindy Hop, Smallaxe.

Hips need some Three-in-One.

Smallaxe

David:

They can say what they like but!

You’re Gonna Get It

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Here you go! 2:32min in

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Oh, Smallaxe, no! no!

Got very nervous when he got on to lubrication.

I’m afraid I have supped of the vine to eradicate unpleasant associations (2.495 units). Thanks for that.

In other news, Adam Tompkins is an utter plank.

Just ‘cos.

Tinto Chiel

MTS: caught in a traffic jam and this came on. First time I’ve heard it through for decades. Nicked or not, it’s very impressive.

Tinto Chiel

Poetry set to music:

It’s my age.

Tinto Chiel

Critique of the emptiness of materialism and its concomitant gnawing alienation?

You got it…….

kc

@ Ronnie Anderson main thread at 3:12 PM Nana, worth her weight in gold, cuddly, where will it all end ?
What with you, Tinto Chiel demanding scones and Smallaxe at breakfast I’m glad I bought shares in Dingwall distillery hic… Nana dear, more ice please.

Tinto Chiel

When you mention Dingwall, I think of ward-winning haggis. Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

Nana is a force of nature. Her links inform and inspire.

I dedicate my next trademark avocado and piccalilli on rye sandwich to her.

Smallaxe: paws aff!

KC

Tinto, no scones this week chust pancakes floating off the griddle into puddles of maple syrup, MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM, nae veg here.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I’ve been out for a few hours in case you were worried about me not answering your posts as usual.#Manky

I notice that kc at 6:39pm has shares in a distillery so I leave this in hope! 🙂
Metallica

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Your comment worries me, KC.

You may need a strict regime of bending exercises and mineral water if this behaviour continues, e.g.

Thankfully, Smallaxe and self are ascetic types who contemplate the eternal, stippled beauty of the universe, the hoot of the hoolet and the shrill rattle of the wren.

And Nana’s watchword is: put more water in it.

A lesson for us all there, I think.

😛

Tinto Chiel

Metallica, Smallaxe?

Wow, some party! Magic!

But not for us, Smallaxe. We must harken unto the robin’s frail flutings and the unworldly call of the shearwater.

Lovely water, this, btw.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Yer scones are safe.

KC:

Yer whisky isnae, my great and good, good Friend! I leave these songs from an old drinking buddy of mine, with great expectations. 🙂

Frankie Miller

Peace Always

KC

Tinto, Smallaxe ascetic, is that ruglen fur vinegar. I’m a Pinot Noir man myself. Nae watter in this hoose cept the ice bucket.

Smallaxe

Get Thee Behind me Satan.

ooh, yah wee Devil!

The Devil Went Down To Jamaica

Peace Always MAa*a*a*n

Tinto Chiel

Gentlemen, may I remind you that alcohol is a poison?

Frankie Miller: an astonishing voice and a very brave man who fought back after a devastating illness.

But I’m sure you know all that, Smallaxe.

KC

@ Smallaxe, felicitations dear friend, there one in the cask for you.
Great to hear Frankie one of our heroes.
Heres another hero, sadly departed, party on, is it Friday ?

Smallaxe

This is what I need!

American Football

PiSseE

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

“The Devil Went Down To Jamaica”.

He’s been a busy entity!

The Devil Went Doon Tae Forfar…

Smallaxe

KC:

Are you under the affluence of inchahol? Friday! Naw it’s March!
did you no used tae hae a Sunshine Band or sumfin’, Naw.

Do You Wanna Go Party?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

BDTT:

He’s not in Forfar now,

Devil’s At The Crossroads

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: the Devil got stuck at Arbroath.

Many years ago, my footie team had a fixture at Gayfield, and we repaired to the adjacent Tutties Neuk hostelry for a pre-match sweet sherry or two.

A charming local lass brought us over our order but there’s always ae waghorn in a wheen o’ chiels and this one made the mistake of placing his hand on the young lady’s nether regions. She maintained her sang froid as she calmly placed the drinks order on the table and then proceeded to brain the spanner with her tin tray, to great applause from the rest of us.

It’s a funny old game, Saint.

Brian Doonthetoon

One more from me before I retire for snooze and nosebag. Still on the “devil” theme. The link below is from the days when we always explored the B sides of singles.

I’ve always liked this – an interesting mix of heavy guitar and brass. It was the B side of The Gun’s “Race With The Devil” in 1968. Some fiery guitar work from the Gurvitz from the middle 8 onwards.

KC

Smallaxe
Wrong KC, try this one link to youtube.com
apologies cannot find the Gaberlunzie version

I still have the medals.

Fridays then were Welly bar and the shithouse ceilidhs, now that was a party !

Fred

Pinot Mor recommended for prostate problems! 🙂

Smallaxe

KC:

I looked but I couldn’t find it either, we will have to make do with this.

Scotland Will Rise – Gaberlunzie

By the way, I still have my medals from when I was Captain of the Govan Stank Lifters.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Hi Fred,#Manky

Do you mean this pino?

Peace Always

KC

Smallaxe, would the Govan Stank Lifters be manky boys.

Smallaxe

KC:

The Govan Stank Lifters and the Manky Mates are two separate (desperate) regiments. However, we do join together in times of need such as now, when there is so much at stake.

Think of us as two pods in a pea if that helps?
Or as a dark bit in a light corner?
Even maybe different looking identical twins?

It’s probably easier not to think of us at all until you get conscripted or are daft enough to volunteer!

We are the night shite shifters we shift shite by night.

I hope this has cleared up any doubts you had about us, if it has
COULD YOU PLEASE EXPLAIN IT TO ME!

Tomorrow I will tell you about the Maryhill Handbag Snatchers.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The Isley Brothers “This Old Heart Of Mine”

Jimmy Ruffin: “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted”

“Under the boardwalk”: The Drifters

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The drifters: “up on the roof”

Bobby Darin: “Dream Lover”

Johnny Tillotson: “Poetry In Motion”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Jimmy Clanton: “Venus In Blue Jeans”

Bobby Vee: “The Night Has A Thousand Eyes”

Lou Christie: “Lightnin’ Strikes”

Smallaxe

DEL SHANNON: “THE ANSWER TO EVERYTHING”

DEL SHANNON: SINGING “KELLY”

Del Shannon: “Hats Off to Larry”

KC

Smallaxe, your problem is familiar, this chap will explain better than I can.

Smallaxe

“Give Me Just A Little More Time” The Chairmen of the Board

The Foundations: “Build Me Up Buttercup”

Come On Eileen! (The REAL Lyrics)

Smallaxe

KC:

More like this,

Peace Always X 4 Stick some up where I missed them out Please.Ta

Smallaxe

Dusty

Bobbie Gentry: “Ode To Billie Joe”

Cher: “Gypsys Tramps And Thieves”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I wish these People would make their minds UP!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The Honeycombs: “Have I the right”

Lynn Anderson: “I Beg Your Pardon”

Billie Jo Spears: “Blanket On The Ground”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Dr. Hook:”Sylvia’s Mother”

Elvis Presley: “In the Ghetto”

Elvis Presley: “Green Green Grass Of Home”

Smallaxe

Elvis: “Hurt”

DEAN MARTIN: “Everybody Loves Somebody”

Dean Martin: “That’s Amore”

Peace Always X 2^ UP There^

Smallaxe

The Rat Pack

Sammy Davis jr Mr Bojangles

Sammy Davis Jnr: “The Candy Man”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Jethro Tull: “Heavy Horses”

Living in the Past

Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull)

Peace Always

Smallaxe

TEN YEARS AFTER: “I`m Going Home”

Ten Years After: “Good Morning Little School Girl”

Deep Purple: “Child In Time”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“Thank Christ For The Bomb” Groundhogs

Tony McPhee: “Groundhog Blues”

Rory Gallagher & Tony McPhee

Peace out Man

Scott

I don’t see this reported in any UK press or TV.

link to on.rt.com

Tinto Chiel

OK, Smallaxe?

Friday is Dyson, dusting and polishing day at Tinto Towers, so I thought you might like this live feed from SWMBO’s CCTV, which she installed to “ensure quality control” hem, hem, while she’s at work.

Just heard Praying Mantis-May lambasting the FM for her “obsession with independence” on Pravdasound4.

Thank the Lord she has no obsession with gaining independence from Europe, eh?

It’s the way she tells ’em.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Their having problems on the M/T page everything disappeared?

Obsession

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

And here’s a wee keek into Post-Brexit Britannia, once the Tories have made a bonfire of our human rights.

A trifle dystopian the day, me.

Think it’s the Mister Sheen polish…..

Tinto Chiel

Obsession? I’ll give you obsession!

I loved the slow scene where James Stewart follows her to the cemetery and this music was playing.

Queasily melancholic.

The glitch on MT is probs just that, but I’m sure The Watchers hate the Rev with a passion.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Something far wrong on M/T, the Rev put up a new post and now that’s gone!

jdman

Anybody online in contact with Ronnie?
he’s standing in the SECC car park with a Wings flag with a cop standing next to him and his (coppers) body language doesnt suggest he’s shooting the breeze!

Tinto Chiel

Yes, Smallaxe, it all seems a bit strange.

Like many people I react to this kind of thing by making another contribution. For some reason I used the donate button the first time and had to go back and do it all over again on the 2017 fundraiser page…..

😀

I am a silly sausage.

David

Inspired by the not-quite full house at the Tory conference in Glasgow, here is a wee verse for your delectation:

I wandered lonely as a Tory
That floats on high o’er Brexit’s ills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of purple seats, unfilled.

freedo

Smallaxe
I’m disinclined to pass my email addr via a post. Is it possible for you to retrieve it from the Rev?

Tinto Chiel

Are you David Wordsworth by any chance?

😀

Smallaxe

David: It had to be Burns, my Friend!

Wee sleekit, lyin’ treacherous Tory
The MSM won’t tell this story
Thou needna worry aboot photie’s neither
Cause the Bast*rds wilnae show them Either

I’m truly happy that oor Dominion
Will soon be oot yer twisted union
And justifies that ill opinion
Which maks thee startle
At us,thy rich earth-born companion
And fellow -mortal!

I doubt na, whyles, but thou may thieve
What then?poor beastie when we leave
A daimen icker in a thrave
‘Sa sma’request:
I’ll get a blessin’ wi’ the lave,
And never miss’t!

Thy wee bit housie,too,in ruin:
Its silly wa’s the win’s are strewin’!
And naething now to big a new ane
o’ foggage green!
And bleak December’s winds ensuin’,
Baith snell and keen

Thou saw the fields laid bare and waste,
And weary winter comin’ fast,
And cozie here,beneath the blast,
Thou thought to dwell.
Till,crash! the Yes vote past
Out through thy cell.

And we,we could na’ gie a damn,
When ye’s land in HELL.

Peace Always

David

@Tinto, if only, but more like David Woolworth!
@Smallaxe, nice one, now that’s poetry!

I don’t even know why or how that rhyme came to me; see this creative process, it’s mental it is.
I was just looking at the pic of the half-empty conference hall, all those Ukip-purple empty seats stretching back into the distance. It looked quiet, empty, lonely, for PM May, and then the first line of the Wordsworth poem came to mind, ie “I wandered lonely as a cloud”. As it does…(LOL)

Question, why are the police at the blue Tory conference wearing blue reflective jackets? Is this a new style, or did the Tories insist that the regular yellow jackets were “too SNP” for them.

Nice to see Ronnie flying the Wings flag outside the conference hall!

Smallaxe

David:

That’s how poems and rhymes come to me, sometimes it’s something that I see or sometimes the last line comes and I work backwards I at one time had trouble stopping myself talking in rhyme. 🙂
#upthelum

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, David:

You have inspired me to attempt a couplet. I donned my beret and sharpened my HB, awaited the Muse’s descent, and then it came to me…..

“Up in the barn where the moonlight flickers,
I lost my heart and she lost her parasol.”

Eat dirt, Ezra Pound.

Ian Brotherhood

Blimey!!

Well seen Paula’s not been around…

James Brown, ‘It’s Too Funky In Here!’ –

Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel Here is a song Paul Simon gives his Approval to. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Hi Ian:

I’ve been busy on the phone and skype to “Freedo” who kindly sent me instructions to get the missing “Pushing the Accelerator” which I now have. I will read it later as I never saw it because I was on here leaving loads of music, as you will notice. Hope you are well.

Paradise found

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Cheers man, I’m good. Hope you are too.

Putting this one in because some JB fans still haven’t seen it. Man, what I wouldn’t have given to be in that audience, or, better still, one of the musicians!?!

Fantastic stuff. Only a couple of years before JB died, so he must’ve been about 70 yrs old when he did this gig. Amazing.

James Brown, ‘BBC Four Sessions’ –

Michael McCabe

Speed of the Sound of Loneliness link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Paradise Lost link to youtube.com

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I submitted a post around 9.30. I clicked on the submit button a number of times. Eventually, I got the duplicate comment message – but the post hasn’t appeared. There were no links in the post.

Baffling…

Michael McCabe
Smallaxe

BDTT:

The B-side of The Gun’s “Race With The Devil” LOVED IT, STOLE IT!
Nice one Brian, thanks.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Hi Michael, trying to sort out this computer, I keep forgetting passwords etc.

Carry on the good work, I will listen to all later.

Peace Always

Chick McGregor

Blast from the McPast.

‘Psycho-Teuchter’ we called it, many great nights the missus and I had at such gigs. A million miles from the White Heather Club.

Today, Ivan Drever’s son Kris, in the band ‘LAU’ continues to push the Celtic-Folk envelope.

Smallaxe

Empty Exhibition from the Yoons

Empty Rooms
Empty Chairs
Empty Heads

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Yoons Make

Empty Promises1

Empty promises2

Empty Promises3

Peace Always

Smallaxe

OUR Scotland

Peace Always to Scotland and Her People

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe I enjoyed them Songs but now I feel Empty link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Loved the two Songs Chick McGregor put up. That Band LAU Iis new to me so Cheers. here is another song I only heard through off topic. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Fill your Heart Michael

Bowie

Peace Always

Smallaxe

then Fill up your Senses

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Fill Your Glass

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

This Song is for my wee pal Greedy Lungs. link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

Should wait 20 mins to post this but nevermind

Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe You are more than welcome to join me on this nice peaceful Journey. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

I missed it

Peace Always

yesindyref2

And another one

and finally let’s hear it for Theresa May from Scotland (check out the 6’s in views)

yesindyref2

Well maybe one more off the side panel

Never even knew a girl with that name. Hmm.

Smallaxe

Very Enjoyable Michael,: Hi, Yesindyref2, All ABOARD?

I like Railroad Tracks,

Peace Always

yesindyref2

Oh well, one a bit dodgy

and one very dodgy

That’s any street cred I had away up the road

Smallaxe

Last train

Sea Cruise

Flying?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Or Underground?

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

You’re the kind of trouble. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Sleep Calls my Friends

Goodnight

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Hope I don’t have Trouble Sleeping: Goodnight Again

Peace Always

yesindyref2

Oh well then, I’ll see that and raise you

Michael McCabe

Hey Smallaxe did I see you link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

All this travel has made me tired so for me it’s the link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

yesindyref2 good to see you in off topic playing some music. I will leave you with this. link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

Thanks Michael. Posted this in main thread, don’t know of anyone else did around the SNP sing-song time in HoC.

Wouldn’t you just wish you’d happened to be there to see and hear that? Yeah, bed for me too. Night all, night room, last one out please turn out the lights. Save the planet!

yesindyref2

There’s trolls here,
there’s trolls there
those trolls are getting everywhere.
Are they from heaven or
Where the hell are they from?

I’m just going to give them serious replies to any part of their posting that’s serious and ignore the rest.

Use those trolls baby, use them don’t abuse them!

Fred

Morning hoolets! some good stuff, fan of Lau.

Smallaxe

Fred:

To wit To Woo. You have Michael McCabe to thank for that!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Michael@9.23: thanks, hadn’t seen those girls before. The Great Man seemed pleased.

Maybe they could work those lovely close harmonies on this:

CameronB Brodie

I knew I’d heard the phrase before Smallaxe, thanks for the insight into it’s deeper meaning. I never owned “Dreads Meets The Punk Rockers”, though I used to listen to a lot of the tracks back in the day….before I needlessly started sporting a shaven head. 🙂

Johnny Clarke – Bag A Wire Dub

CameronB Brodie

I knew a technician from Edinburgh Uni. who described himself as a “national socialist”, though he voted Tory and strongly supported the Yoonion. Thought he knew it all and would regularly spout whichever media trope suited his argument. He wasn’t thick but this was the tube who thought my haircut was aggressive, ergo I am a narrow nationalist racist and Scotland is a hopeless case that relies on London larges. I did try explaining the significance of inalienable human rights but his Cringe was strong.

I wonder what he’s thinking now?

Smallaxe

CameronB: As much as I can remember off hand!

Him own brethren sell him fe rice ‘n’ peas!
His own brother (bredren) sold him for a bag of rice and peas
Mother Muschett(spelling?) should be stoned.

Bag o’wire was a nickname given to Marcus Garvey’s driver who along with his secretary miss/mrs Muschett, betrayed Garvey to the FBI for fraud relating to his (Garvey’s) shipping line, The Black Star.Marcus Garvey is considered a hero by many black people in Jamaica and the USA.

One Love

CameronB Brodie

I was aware of the role Marcus Garvey played in awakening black consciousness, I just lacked your insight so had interpreted it’s meaning as simply an obstruction. Certainly puts a new slant on the track.

Fred Locks – Black Star Liner

Croompenstein

I hear the Tories think they can win Glasgow..

Croompenstein

Wish I knew.. 🙁

Smallaxe

CameronB:

Well don fi mi broda dat ah ah great song dis is cool mon,thenk yuh.

Peace aal de time…Seen?

Croompenstein

Rev Stu anthem 🙂

Smallaxe

Croompenstein:

This is the only way that the Tory’s can win anywhere!

you wish you knew, what you gonna do about it

This time it’s

Peace Always

Croompenstein

@Smallaxe –

The second link not working.. but nice ones..

everybody sing..

Smallaxe

Croompenstein:
Try this,

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

The ‘David Mundell’ song:

Smallaxe

Factoid! Karaoke: Japanese for Empty Orchestra!

Just because I like this, I’m playing IT.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“Fool no More” Peter Green

I’ll play the blues for you!

The Feeling

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Hi Ian:

One for George Galloway

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Hi Ian:A’ve Loast a post!

Foreigner

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Croompenstein
True enough, I think you’d be struggling to find cannibalistic cultures today, at least ones connected to the modern world. Where as, you’re literally tripping over colonialists and the colonised in contemporary Britain.

@BBC
Does your Charter’s duty to perform the role of pimp for British nationalism, trump your duty as public educator?

From One Colonial Situation to Another:
Politics, Universalism and the Crisis of the African Intellectual

…Colonialism tried to control the memory of the colonized… Put another way, the colonizing presence sought to induce historical amnesia on the colonized by mutilating the memory of the colonized; and where that failed, it dismembered it, and then tried to re-member it to the colonizer’s memory—to his way of defining the world, including his take on the nature of the relations between colonizer and colonized …. This relation was primarily economic. The colonized as worker, as peasant, produces for another. His land and his labor benefit another. This arrangement was, of course, effected through power, political power, but it was also accomplished through cultural subjugation—for instance, through control of the education system. The ultimate goal was to establish psychic dominance on the part of the colonizer and psychic subservience on the part of the colonized …. But cultural subjugation is more dangerous, because it is more subtle and its effects longer lasting.

link to jpanafrican.org

A sociological dilemma: Race, segregation and US sociology
link to journals.sagepub.com

“Deliberately Using the Word Colonial in a Much Broader Sense”: W.E.B. Du Bois’s Concept of “Semi-Colonialism” As Critique of and Contribution to Postcolonialism
link to english.chass.ncsu.edu

African American Studies and Postcolonialism
link to scholarblogs.emory.edu

BEYOND DOMESTIC EMPIRE
INTERNAL- AND POST-COLONIAL NEW MEXICO

Introduction

In the 1960s internal colonialism became an important sociological theory advanced to explain the historical development of ethnic and racial inequality in the United States and the rest of the modern world. By the 1980s the theory had been dismissed as inadequate; nonetheless, its influence persisted even as more global,interdisciplinary,
colonial theories evolved. In this essay we will outline the connections between internal colonialism and postcolonialism, two dimensions of an evolving colonial paradigm.

To test these theories against historical reality, we will apply them to ethnic Mexicans and Indians, especially Navajos, in New Mexico in order to ground them and colonialism in general at the regional level. This essay claims that internal colonialism continues effectively to explain the historic subordination of indigenous and mixed peoples within larger states dominated by other groups. This condition understood, the paper sees postcolonial theory as providing ideas to end internally colonized societies since the theory critiquesthe lingering negative effects of colonialism and envisions a world beyond it.

Ultimately, this essay argues that contrary to earlier dismissals, internal colonialism gains credibility in light of more recent developments in postcolonial thought and in context of the evolving colonial paradigm.1
link to scholar.smu.edu

Smallaxe

S’Back up ther^

Heart: “Barracuda”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I’ve Got A Mind To Give Up Living/ All Over Again

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The Letter

For your love

Somebody to love/ White Rabbit

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Question

Lucky Man

And You and I

Peace Always

Croompenstein

They ran through the briers and they ran through the brambles 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Here’s one for you apropos of nothing in particular. It’s from 1970 and what attracted me to it was its title. I didn’t actually buy it until around 1973/74, when I was scouring the markets and second hand record shops. The title had stuck in my mind. It’s by the Roy Young Band.

link to app.box.com

I got the link through a web site I look at regularly, called “Left and to The Back (Digging for nuggets from the dusty old storerooms of pop).” You can read up on the above track at this link:-

link to left-and-to-the-back.blogspot.co.uk

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

I’ve no idea what your take on Galloway is, but I listened to his TalkSport show for ages and really liked some of what he did, especially when it came to defending the Palestinian cause.

But what a contradictory character – he regularly cited Churchill as one of his heroes. He described Scotland as ‘a dying nation’.

And then, for reasons known only to himself (post-Big Brother) he started wearing that fucking hat (always at a rakish angle), even in studio interviews, as though he’s trying to present himself as a latter-day Bill Hicks.

Galloway may have been a ‘radical’ in his time, but his time has passed. He’s no ‘Hicks’, and he isn’t ‘funny’. I’m not sure who he thinks he’s appealing to, but he can fuck right off if he thinks he has any foothold in an independent Scotland.

Smallaxe

My Dixie Darling

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Cumberland Gap

I shall not be Moved

Hard Travelling

Peace Always

Smallaxe

‘Them Changes’

Childish Gambino

False Prophets

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Wicked Game:

Fade Into You

why can’t we live together

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Galloway post went Astray

Peace Always

Smallaxe

When The Hurt Is Over

No Diggity

Sticky Fingers

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Wondrous Stories

I’ll Find My Way Home

I Hear You Now

Peace Always

Smallaxe

A story I can’t tell

In Memory of David Bowie – “Comfortably Numb”

Queen & David Bowie – Under Pressure

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood: watch at leisure!

Peace Always Brother

Smallaxe

Van Morrison – Into The Mystic

Moondance

Wild Night

CameronB Brodie

Croompenstein
I tried posting this earlier, as part of a longer post that hasn’t appeared. So here’s part one.

True enough, I think you’d be struggling to find cannibalistic cultures today, at least ones connected to the modern world. Where as, you’re literally tripping over colonialists and the colonised in contemporary Britain.

@BBC
Does your Charter’s duty to perform the role of pimp for British nationalism, trump your duty as public educator?

From One Colonial Situation to Another:
Politics, Universalism and the Crisis of the African Intellectual

…Colonialism tried to control the memory of the colonized… Put another way, the colonizing presence sought to induce historical amnesia on the colonized by mutilating the memory of the colonized; and where that failed, it dismembered it, and then tried to re-member it to the colonizer’s memory—to his way of defining the world, including his take on the nature of the relations between colonizer and colonized …. This relation was primarily economic. The colonized as worker, as peasant, produces for another. His land and his labor benefit another. This arrangement was, of course, effected through power, political power, but it was also accomplished through cultural subjugation—for instance, through control of the education system. The ultimate goal was to establish psychic dominance on the part of the colonizer and psychic subservience on the part of the colonized …. But cultural subjugation is more dangerous, because it is more subtle and its effects longer lasting.

link to jpanafrican.org

Smallaxe

CameronB:

Eat You Alive

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Feel Good Inc

Clint Eastwood

One More Time

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The Drugs Don’t Work

Bitter Sweet Symphony

How You Remind Me

Peace Always

Smallaxe
Smallaxe
Smallaxe

Billy Joel

Peace Always-Peace OUT!

CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
My wifi is total mince the now, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to play.

BEYOND DOMESTIC EMPIRE
INTERNAL- AND POST-COLONIAL NEW MEXICO

Introduction

In the 1960s internal colonialism became an important sociological theory advanced to explain the historical development of ethnic and racial inequality in the United States and the rest of the modern world. By the 1980s the theory had been dismissed as inadequate; nonetheless, its influence persisted even as more global,interdisciplinary,
colonial theories evolved. In this essay we will outline the connections between internal colonialism and postcolonialism, two dimensions of an evolving colonial paradigm.

To test these theories against historical reality, we will apply them to ethnic Mexicans and Indians, especially Navajos, in New Mexico in order to ground them and colonialism in general at the regional level. This essay claims that internal colonialism continues effectively to explain the historic subordination of indigenous and mixed peoples within larger states dominated by other groups. This condition understood, the paper sees postcolonial theory as providing ideas to end internally colonized societies since the theory critiquesthe lingering negative effects of colonialism and envisions a world beyond it.

Ultimately, this essay argues that contrary to earlier dismissals, internal colonialism gains credibility in light of more recent developments in postcolonial thought and in context of the evolving colonial paradigm.1
link to scholar.smu.edu

Smallaxe

Goodnight ALL

Peace Always to ALL

CameronB Brodie

Night, night Smallaxe.

Smallaxe

Good morning, everyone!

“Sun is Shining”

Peace Always

Chick McGregor

Mair psycho-teuchter

Smallaxe

Chic, Good Morning and thank’s for the cheery song!
“We have a Dream”

Peace Always

Chick McGregor

smallaxe

Good morning to you.

Hopefully the dream will finally become reality this time.

Nana

@Smallaxe

Re comment on main thread. I’m often lost and have been known to grt lodt even in the supermarket[stop laughing] Think there was a song about that.

Anyway my husband says I have zero sense of direction and for once I have to admit he’s correct. [Don’t tell him]

Smallaxe

Chic:

We will have to,
“Just Do It” (Make Your Dreams Come True)

Peace Always my Friend

Nana

Sticky keys or fat fingers..

grt lodt!!!!!!!! insert get lost

Smallaxe

Nana:

Here it is!
“Lost in the Supermarket” The Clash

Peace Always xx

Nana

The old memory is not letting me down after all Smallaxe.

Now if only I could remember if I had breakfast already and where oh where did I put my glasses and ……………

Smallaxe

Nana:

I think that when you buy new glasses and are offered a second pair they should be for finding the first pair.

“My eyes are Dim”

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Send me an email at thepnr03@gmail.com We need to talk, good stuff though.

Chick McGregor

More on the ‘buried’ history of ‘psycho-teuchter’.

The JSD band were one of the first exponents of what was later to be dubbed ‘Celtic-Rock’ and I was an avid, if in those days a somewhat esoteric, fan. Indeed they were in a roundabout way instrumental in my going to uni to study physics, but I digress.

However, here is one from that very year:

Soz. no vid. in those days (1972).

Smallaxe

C’Mon, you lazy princesses Rise and make certain that your bed blocks are squared and presentable for your old Staff to inspect.
Mummy’s not here to pander to your needs.Stand by your beds!

Troop, Stand easy!

Peace Always

Nana

A few interesting things. Unfortunately there are also some really annoying advertisements.

link to recode.net

link to ibtimes.co.uk

link to inhabitat.com

Smallaxe

All Agree?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m going to ask Santa for one of those bikes

“My White bicycle” Nazareth

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

I’ve written my wish list Smallaxe and that converter has been added. I wouldn’t mind a new studio either so might put the 3d printed hoose on as well. Not sure about the robot though unless it can do the ironing!N

Smallaxe

Nana:

You would expect it to iron, wouldn’t you?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I’ll play your favourite song!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Listen to this in the context and spirit of Scotland.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Keep talking!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

This man explains what the British Government are and have been for centuries!

Seen?

Peace Always

K1

Kinda ‘sitting back’ Smallaxe…got scunnered wi the negative nasty wings infighting last week and a week can feel like a month in ‘wings years’ when ye huvnae posted for a wee while. Also not sure what to do wi masel’ in terms of any reasonable response to the shower of shit that came our way over the last week, ranting on Wings wasn’t going to help what with everybody else ranting about the same shit. So mostly just a comment or two of understanding why we were upset but needing to chill and not snipe at each other, then of course got sniped at for that…by regular poster.

Put me aff to be honest. I don’t post on Wings to be insulted by those whose side I am on. Quite sick of the Rock shit too. It’s constant, had the handpicked argument wi him/her a week or so ago just to establish for myself what the issue is, which amounts to a Peffers obsession and an unrelenting agenda of grievance against those on Wings it deems are out to get him. Couldn’t or wouldn’t repsond to any of the substantive points I raised in discussion eventually reverting to ‘daring’ me to challenge Robert…fucking pathetic childish grievance hunter.

Then he’s repeatedly since copied and pasted and continued the exact same behaviour over and over wi those posters he picks on…he’s the one man gang attacking regulars on here and he’s got free reign to do so.

So all in this past week or so has just solidified a feeling of ‘fuck this’, my attention is rapidly disconnecting from Wings and for the first time in over three years I haven’t been reading all the comments or following as closely as usual. I’m not part of any crowd on Wings, I don’t fit into any faction as much as others may disagree that these factions even exist, they do. And when that infighting starts up it’s very clear where the lines are drawn. I don’t like it, but it’s human.

The trouble with it is that it spills out into the main threads and ruins it for those not part of that historical baggage. And it happens more frequently than is really acknowledged, in such a way that it reveals it has never been addressed and ‘put to bed’ once and for all. It is off puting.

No matter how often regulars state this, no matter how many times regulars say don’t feed it, no matter how many of those same posters then feed it, and round and round it goes.

Expect more of the same.

Apologies for the extensive reply Smallaxe, from your friendly enquiry into ma absence of late, on the current MT, very kind of you to notice though:-) Decided to go with honest answer rather than a superficial quip. On that note…this is ma ‘note’ 🙂

(I do listen to your music on O/T, how could a no? Brilliant taste ma man!)

Please don’t feel you have to address anything I’ve said Smallaxe, think it just helped to articulate where I’m at right now.

Think when the indyref2 gun is fired Wings will return to the lean machine of debate/strategy/shared info and a gathering base camp for the troops and a lot of the pent up frustration will have the more worthy aim at our real enemies directed accordingly. 😉

Smallaxe

K1:

I had an idea that something wasn’t right, I did notice the absence of your usually frequent posts and when I saw you back today I could not help but ask. I know exactly how you are feeling, I come across here to O/T when the M/T goes tits up and amuse myself, as you know by playing some tracks for myself and anyone else who cares to listen.

The reason that I mentioned that I could have been doing with your assistance last night (if you don’t already know)was that I was picked out of a few of us who were thinking up a new name for Mundell, I had only put in one suggestion when I was singled out by none other than Hamish (Whitehouse) I thought that you might have enjoyed the exchange of pleasantries on the subject. 🙂

HAMMY never came back on until 7:52am this morning probably thinking that I was sleeping by that time, I wasn’t! and came back on at 8:15am H. hasn’t been back yet as far as I know.

If your interested the fun started at 10:17 with Hs. insult to me.I replied at 10:54pm,11:49pm and 12:35am even although he hadn’t showed face again, I was sure that he would still be lurking, probably even now. Hi Arsehole!

Anyway my Friend stay around you are a genuine asset to WOS and it’s good to know that you are still around and watching occasionally. I hope that we can meet at some point in the near future, until then look after yourself and try making a comeback soon.

Peace, Love and fraternal thoughts sent your way, Always
Billy
Sorry for the delay in answering but I was out for a while.

Smallaxe

Brothers in Arms

Peace Always my Friend

Smallaxe

Climbing Drainpipes: A private joke for someone watching, of no interest to anyone else.

Told you!

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Meant to play this Earlier link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

“Walk on by” Isaac Hayes:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Hi Michael:

Isaac Hayes: “Do your thing”

Peace Always

K1

Hehe…them wur the days when we could actually do that Billy…ah dae miss ma younger self, the bruises and cuts were worth the experience. (Awa’ tae check oot himsel’s patter on the viceroy’s handle…flundlymundly would be ma offering ;-). )

Smallaxe

Yes: “And You And I”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“Us and Them”Floyd:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

K1:

I still could if necessary. 🙂

Alice Cooper: “Poison”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Billy Idol: “Rebel Yell”

The Clash: “Rock the Casbah” done it 🙂

“Our House” Madness

Peace Always

K1

Aye Smallaxe he is the whitehouse of Wings richt enough…humourless Hamish whines again…

I’d bypassed comments and gone tae links, on that note….

The link to don’t join the army needs to be seen far and wide too…the last video with Ben Griffin is worth a watch so I’ll transfer to here for those who may have missed Nana’s earlier links on the last before current MT:

link to dontjointhearmy.co.uk

(Currently reading Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United State. Amazon uk have kindle version for just over 3 quid odds. The methodology Mr Griffin describes as the ‘military ethos’ has been in place for hundreds of years. The demonising, dehumanising and othering of peoples to justify slaughtering them for profit is an old game. They are no less applying these same warfare tactic psychologically to our cause than they have done for generations. Highly recommend this wee gem…and by ‘wee’ I mean tome 😉 )

Nana

@K1

Thanks for bringing the ‘don’t join the army’ link here. I planned to post again tomorrow morning in case anyone missed it. When I posted it today I forgot to put a wee explanation above the link to scroll down for Ben Griffin’s video. It’s a good link to share widely.

PS I noticed you were not commenting, thought perhaps you needed a break as we all do from time to time. Good to see you back.

Smallaxe

Madness: “House of Fun”

Madness: “It Must be Love”

Madness: “One Step Beyond”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“London Calling” The Clash”

Talking Heads: “Psycho Killer”

Talking Heads: “Road to Nowhere”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

K1:

Agree, the army link is a beauty I am going to move it down if it gets too far up this thread. I’m reading “Bare Feet and Tackety Boots” Fred recommended it, only just started. I will get “A People’s History of the United State” and let you know what I think.

Alex Harvey: “NEXT”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

On the road again (alternate Version) link to youtube.com

K1

Just a wee off topic update regarding discussions we were all having about the NHS in Scotland not being sufficiently differentiated from English NHS thereby creating conflation whether by design or lazy journalism on the part of msm reporting on our health service.

I’d written to Patrick Grady on this subject back in January specificallly asking about ‘rebranding’ our NHS and had received a reply saying he was passing on my concerns to Shona. Well I’ve just received a further reply from Patrick with the attached response from our health minister:

‘I would be grateful if you could communicate to your constituent that, at the time of its creation. NHSScotland was given its own distinct identity and brand which differentiated it from the NHS in the rest of the UK. The name reflected the National Health Service (Scotland) Act leading to the name ‘NHSScotland’. This allowed us to achieve that differentiation and to communicate the distinct, devolved nature of the healthcare system in Scotland.

The NHSScotland brand replaced a number of pre existing identities within NHS organisations in Scotland and has become a well trusted brand, representing the wide range of services provided by NHS boards in Scotland.’

So 2 things, firstly our correspondence is responded to and it is certainly worth writing to our representatives regarding any matters we have a steak in. Secondly that’s the actual brand name that, to my mind should now be used in all our conversations including correcting any journalist on twitter or social media when the subject of NHSScotland arises….this to be hammered home.

I actually did not know that our health service was named NHSScotland as a ‘brand’ and kinda thought we were just adding Scotland for our own distinction, now that I do know I’ll be referring to it exactly as Shona has referred to it as one long word: NHSScotland.

Smallaxe

Adele: “Hello”

Adele: “Send my Love”

Adele: “Rolling in the Deep”

Peace Always

K1

Och we’re aw thinking along same lines regarding Ben Griffin, inspirational and it is people like him that will open the eyes of many younger people to the enslaving of minds and indoctrination into the real aims of the ”military ethos’. More history…real history…less war.

Nana, Smallaxe 😉

Michael McCabe
K1

A People’s History of the United States. I missed out the s at the end of state…like to be accurate 😉

Smallaxe

K1:

Great Minds Think Alike, I sent that info down to my daughter in Wales a little while ago, I am sure that it was Ian Brotherhood who posted a very concise view of how the NHSScotland, to use your excellent name works as opposed to E. W.AND NI.

One thing that is slightly worrying, Northern Ireland has no high-security psychiatric hospitals and thus depends on using hospitals in Great Britain, routinely Carstairs State Mental Hospital in Scotland for male patients and my younger brother owns a house about a quarter of a mile down the road, although he lives in Covent Garden, here’s hoping he doesn’t get a few escapees squatting.

Nana: Are you reading my mail? because if you want I’ll send you all my bills to pay. Hold that thought, you could start charging me for my Precioussss Linkyssss, we’ll call it quits then aye?:-)

Speak soon.

Smallaxe

K1:

I thought the lack of an S was deliberate to differentiate from the USA but no matter it sounds interesting.

Actually, I thought that I might have got it cheaper without the $
#miser 🙂

Peace Always

Smallaxe

It cannae be is it?

Hamish:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Freda needlX Payne

Supremes: “Stoned Love”

Amy Winehouse

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

I would Billy if I had

Smallaxe

Roberta Flack: singin’ a wee song

Vanessa Paradis: “Mi Amor”

Brigitte: Singin’ in Foreign wurds

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana:

It’s obvious that you’ve got a few bob, I knew…

Peace Always

I told the wife that a was short of cash and she said, “Don’t try and kid me, you’re cheque book’s got plenty of cheques in it”. 🙁

Tinto Chiel

“Think when the indyref2 gun is fired Wings will return to the lean machine of debate/strategy/shared info and a gathering base camp for the troops and a lot of the pent up frustration will have the more worthy aim at our real enemies directed accordingly.”

You are not alone, K1, in feeling recent frustration regarding the environment on the MT. Other “old stagers” have also vented on the subject and I know who they are. To some extent this is Phoney War Syndrome: a lot of frustration is being expressed in carnaptious behaviour. And then there are the usual trolls who always seem to get a reaction from the unwary.

Your final paragraph, which I have quoted, is true, although I’m hoping a lot of Wingers will be out there in the lead up to the May elections, rather than waiting for Indyref2. It’s probably healthier and more productive than getting pissed off on the MT from time to time.

I’ve always enjoyed your contributions, like your haymaking attacks on some of our trolls and your witty interventions, like when you spotted my control chip installed by the First Minister to activate my vile cybernattery.

As Nana said, a wee break can help to restore the old mojo.

And Smallaxe’s Perpetual Soundtrack to Freedom, of course.

Smallaxe

Hi Tinto, my old #Manky Mate:

Dog

Rabbit

Cat

Peace Always

Smallaxe
Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Sheer class! I would expect no less from you Michael.

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: I always knew you were a dab hand at animal husbandry.

They can’t touch you for it!

Oh, actually, they can…..

I’ll get you Beltrami, #MankyMate.

Smallaxe

You want Class? we have it in bucketloads

Trust Me! gonnie?

Sissel

Peace Always

Smallaxe

MC Hammer

Billy Joel

Billy Joel

Peace Always

Smallaxe

For Gordon (clunkin’) Brown

Squeeze

Squeeze

Peace Always

Smallaxe
Smallaxe
Smallaxe

The Cars

Chris Isaak: Wicked Game

The Stones: Angie

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Well, that’s twice in the last three or four days I’ve submitted posts in off-topic which have never appeared, even although I got the “duplicate comment detected” message.

Thus, tonight, I give up. WordPress wins.

K1

Yes Tinto quite so re council elections first if indeed Nicola doesn’t trigger at the conference afore the elections? Christ that would be full on!

Thanks for your kind words re contribution on Wings…think ma chip has been in danger of dropping the p substituted for a b at times…can barely talk fur biting ma tongue on numerous occasions. So stepping back’s necessary at those times 😉

Smallaxe

The Who: My Generation

Substitute

I’m a Boy (MY name is BILL and I’M a Headcase)

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

K1: I’ve bitten my tongue so often recently I have camped out here to listen to Smallaxe’s selections and to calm down in the presence of other sages.

We only need verbal chibs, and plenty on Wings can deliver them: we all take turns. I valued your support when I had a bit of a set-to with another contributor about 18 months ago. All silly stuff since we were both on the same side, really, but it had a bad effect on me for a few weeks.

BDTT: impossible for you not to keep posting. These glitches happen for no apparent reason. You are an elder statesman without the elder bit.

Invoke your knowledge of physics to smash through the Unionist Matrix, man.

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Same here Brian, I’ve lost at least two posts today, nothing important just music but I have been careful to make sure that it’s not my mistake. Something is wrong something stinks.

Peace Always

K1

People forget it’s ‘real people they are talking to Tinto…I’m all for tackling the usual suspects, though having had it out wi sensible Dave a month or so ago when as Thnpr put it ‘he was handed his baws ‘ or sentiments to that affect, I no longer feel any inclination to even acknowledge his presence when he does show up now.

But when it’s someone from our own movement having a go like the incident wi Lochside a couple of weeks back, like you I felt quite taken aback by the naked aggression and the ‘left field’ it came from…he’s never apologised for that insulting smearing. When something like that occurs, because of its rareness it’s a bit ‘shocking’ tae the system. So I can relate to your ‘bad effect’ and it’s ‘lasting’ quality.

Leaves a bad taste in yer mooth…add that tae the whole tongue biting malarky and ye can be put aff from saying anything…maybe that’s ‘their’ aim…haven’t quite figured ‘that’ part out yet. Don’t recall your set to…glad I didn’t bite ma tongue if what needed saying was said at that time. 😉

Brian Doonthetoon

I’ll try one more post tonight.

Smallaxe – you mentioned that you always read the posts from the bottom up. Why do it backwards?

I have ‘off-topic’ in its own tab in Firefox. When I decide to catch up, the tab is still sitting at the last post I read. (This is the same for all the active Wings’ tabs on my Mac.)

All I have to do is reload that tab and it reloads to the same location (post) I was at but all the new posts are below the post I have already read. I just have to scroll down, reading the new posts, until I get to the end of the page. I may then submit a comment; I may not.

I’m guessing the way you read the page backwards could be why you missed a couple of posts aimed at you the other night.

I did a post, that I thought you would comment on, because the link wasn’t YouTube, then, right after mine, Ian Brotherhood addressed a post to you. You appeared to miss both but then, you were on a roll that night. I think you posted around 30 YouTube links!

Here’s the link for mine – Ian Brotherhood’s is right after it.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Brian Doonthetoon

OK – gonna try posting my comment that didn’t appear at the back of 8. Methinks, my last post tonight coz my Bolognese beckons.

———————————————————

(Started typing this post at around 7.50pm.)

I have “Watching Ourselves: 60 Years of TV in Scotland” on just now on BBC1.

The reason for this post is a segment within the programme featuring the investigative journalist Duncan Campbell. His name jumped out at me. It was he (I’m 99.9% sure) who did a series in “The Dundee Standard” at the end of the 70s.

What he exposed in The Standard became the basis for a series he did in the 80s, called “Secret Society”.

I had occasion to look into this again during the indyref campaign. I did a post at the “dundee3js.freeforums.org” forum, in the “Scottish Independence” topic, timed at Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:45 am.

You can see the post I did at this link:-

link to dundee3js.freeforums.org

Here’s a quote from it (the “subbrit.org.uk” link in it works at dundee3js – not here):-
“While was Googling on Friday, I came across an interesting publication entitled “Fortress Scotland”, published by Scottish CND in 2004.
Here’s what it says about Craigowl. (Also Craigiebarns, because it is the next one.)

•45. Craigowl Hill, Dundee. (NO 377 400) The British Telecom microwave relay station on top of Craigowl Hill provided intelligence-gathering facilities for the US National Security Agency from 1963 onwards and may still do.
The activities of the NSA at Craigowl were secret until 1980 and despite a public outcry were not denied. Craigowl was linked to the NSA’s electronic monitoring station at Menwith Hill in Yorkshire.

•46. Craigiebarns, Dundee. (NO 439 314) Headquarters of the Caledonian Sector of the UKWMO, controlling both 28 Group ROC and the five ROC groups in Scotland. In the event of a nuclear attack, Craigibarns House was to collect
information on blast and fall-out levels throughout Scotland. It was closed in 1992, and further information about the site is available on the subbrit.org.uk website.

I believe the “public outcry” in 1980 was as a result of the Dundee Standard feature. I recall from that feature that the microwave link started in the north east of Scotland somewhere, then included RAF Edzell, then Craigowl. Here’s what the PDF says about Edzell.”

The discussion taking place had started out with the graphic showing what would happen if there was a nuclear strike on Faslane. You can scroll back through the posts if you’re interested. It also featured the Balado “golfball”.

The programme is worth watching to see what TV in Scotland was capable of, “back in the day”, in the field of investigative journalism.

Noo, the sub plot of this post. On my Mac at work tomorrow, I’ll download this first episode of “Watching Ourselves: 60 Years of TV in Scotland”, using an app called “Get iPlayer Automator”. This lets me download and save for as long as I want. As the files are mp4’s, i can then edit clips for upload to YouTube and so on.
If you don’t want to watch on iPlayer (like me), this app is the way to go. As far as I know, it’s only available for Macs and can be downloaded from this link, which tells you more.

link to tom-tech.com

Brian Doonthetoon

What I did was remove the h-t-t-p//w-w-w from the “subbrit.org.uk” quote in the post. WordPress can be picky…

Tinto Chiel

“Maybe that’s ‘their’ aim…haven’t quite figured ‘that’ part out yet.”

I have quite a good memory for “impressions” of posters, K1, and there are a few whom I sometimes think are “deep sleepers” or whatever. They sometimes seem supportive and then they become the “Not left Enough/ Not Nationalist enough” thrawn-types.

That seems silly and over-dramatic, perhaps, but there will always be splitters (it’s been used for decades to fragment the Righteous Left by MI5, after all) and we are now approaching end-game and so things will come to the boil sooner than later.

Wings needs the Good Guys to plough on.

Smallaxe

BDTT:

BRIAN ARE YOU LOOKING IN AT THE MOMENT?

Brian Doonthetoon

Just about to stick my fork into my Bolognese…

Smallaxe

Brian look back at that page that you linked to. I did miss your post @ 10:14pm.Sorry.

But I did see and answer Ian, scroll down to me @ 10;43 and see where I lost a post to Ian.Then scroll down to 11;10pm and you will see that I left 2 links for him.

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Stronger than Me link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Michael, you must be a mind reader, that little track that you played came at the right time to alter my mood. Thank you, my Friend.

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

For some reason, at the time, I thought you were replying to an earlier IanB post. This delay in comments appearing after you click submit really does my head in.

While others were reporting the problem, way back when, I had no problem; posts appeared immediately after clicking on the submit button.

Then I upgraded from Firefox 35 to 39 and have had the delay scenario ever since. I’ve tried various work-a-rounds – deleting cookies for WOS before I click submit, refreshing the page before I submit; there’s no definitive answer, as far as I can see. It seems to be down to the WordPress software on WOS. Wings is the only place I post where I see this delay. Other WordPress blogs don’t seem to have the same problem.

Onnyhoo, I’ve finished my Bolognese and it was bra’. I will now turn in as I must earn a crust tomorrow. Catchya anon…

Smallaxe

Goodnight Brian,

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Hoping you might like this one Smallaxe ? link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Dis is cool mon I am feeling nuff betta now Michael mi Bredda Thenk yuh.

Peace Always…Seen?

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe if you type Reggaesta into you tube it will come up with a lot of the stuff he does. there are a few covers. catch you later my Friend.

Smallaxe

Thanks, Michael I will do that, goodnight my friend.

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

I always feel light headed after a Dance. link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

@Tinto Chiel
Re deep sleepers. There’s two ways of treating people in the intelligence world. First is to trust everybody “on your side” until you have reason to mistrust them. Second is to mistrust everybody until you have reason to trust them, which basically is never.

Option 2 is safer and much more fun 🙂

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe I bid you goodnight and I leave you this to listen to after your Coffee and Nana’s Daily Links. link to youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

Got that, Yesindyref2, I think.

But that means…

But…

Oh, I see.

I would link to “Green Shirt” by Elvis C but I’ve done it twice already on here.

Scott

This is worth a read and my question is who are the companies and how many Tories have connections with them how do we find out.

https://on.rt.com/84×1

Nana

@Smallaxe

Your absence from kettle duties this morning is duly noted. I hope you are not overdoing the late nights DJ’ing with Michael. You pair sure do pick some awfully good tunes.

Take care Billy xx

Liz g

Nana 9.22
Yip I noticed as well, on a school night too,tsk!

Smallaxe stay well my friend X.

yesindyref2

@Tinto Chiel
I’d forgotten I’d posted that!

It doesn’t mean we don’t trust people, just that we’re always alert for instance for such as this off-key posting . So I guess all we have to do is look out for the posting itself, not the poster. In fact as the about says – play the posting not the poster or something like that. There’s a good few wingers I would trust by the way.

Hehe (once again): link to youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

@Yesindyref2: this is reminding me of a Radio Times laxative advert from when I was wee that used to appear with a picture of a rather apprehensive man staring into the middle distance.

Above his head was the caption:

REGULAR BUT CONSTIPATED?

I didn’t really get that either…..

😛

Smallaxe

Nana and liz g:

No cause to worry, my dear Friends I was hit hard and suddenly by a bout of fatigue. The clown from the other night who said that I was using Peace Always as a deflection technique stressed me more than I at first realised.

Anyone who finds Peace, Love and Harmony offensive worries me, do they prefer the alternative? I must be getting thin skinned in my old age but I’d rather have debated the point with the person face to face, instead, they insult my integrity and love of my Nation and Her people along with it’s right to self-determination then sign off and I am left with a head full of unnecessary useless anger as if some Coward had harmed one of my family and ran away leaving me with no means to retaliate.

I am now back to normal, I’m sorry that I missed your links this morning Nana but I’ll soon catch up, as always ladies I thank you for your kindness, now and in the past, it is much appreciated and valued by me.

In my usual way, I dedicate this to both of you ladies in particular and all of my other friends on WoS also.

Peace Always

In I n’I’s Rastafarian persona, I n’I lef dis to di craven coward!

Nana

@Smallaxe

Just glad to know you are ok albeit fatigued, I know what that can do to a body. There will always be those who seek to undermine and divide us. Bawbags the lot of em!

Take it easy this evening now, I’m watching xx

K1

It’s cause we’re open Billy…open hearted and when mean spirited fuckers insinuate and smear we’re taken aback cause we simply don’t think in those terms that they utilise…there’s an old term we used to use for people like that ‘head fuckers’…their projections mostly jealousy based show them up time and again. Fuck ’em they’re insensitive jibes reveal more about them than those they aim them at. 😉 (aye and they’re noted for cowardice and running away when ye call them out on it tae)

Smallaxe

Have Another “clown!”

WAR ALWAYS (is that more suitable for your mentality?)

Tinto Chiel

Dinna fash, Smallaxe.

And your senna, avocado and piccalilli pieces are very moving too…..

Smallaxe

Nana:

Thank you, I’ll remember that you said this,

Peace Always

yesindyref2

Something running through my head about harmony, maybe perfect harmony, very very mellow, but it’s not the one by within temptation, think I sent it to my son so looking though the emails and meanwhile think I got this here, nevermind, waffle waffle

Smallaxe

K1:

Thank’s my Friend, you put it exactly as I thought it, only you put it more calmly as I would have done a few hours ago. There are one or two people on WoS who know what I have done in the past for numerous causes, not least for our country, It will come out eventually as a friend wants to write a book about my life as an activist from the 60s onwards.

If I’m not around when it comes out, make sure a copy is sent to you know who.

Peace Always
Your friend and Brother Billy

Smallaxe

Tinto: #Manky Mate,

Thanks for your support my Friend.

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

just for you

Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Back at cha’, same band, different song,

Peace Always

Smallaxe

For All:

One Love, One People, One Inclusive Kingdom Nation
In Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

You’re on form again with your selections, Smallaxe.

That Spencer Davis vid is very nostalgic. It was one of my faves when I was a nipper.

(Spencer is still a Plaid Cymru member, I think.)

Rock on, Smallaxe.

MankyMate3.

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Thanks, for last night’s music, as they say, nail/head spot on!

Peace Always my Friend.

K1

You’d better be around! Ah waant ma signed copy! 😉

K1

For you Billy…hope it works from iPad

CameronB Brodie

BDTT
If you are looking in, I went to primary school at Craigiebarns, with a guy who’s dad lived and worked in the facility, which was located 100m(?) from one of the school gates. I was too young to understand it’s significance but spent a bit of time knocking about in the grounds.

Smallaxe

K1:

LOOK BACK I WILL POST SOON.
Peace Always

Smallaxe

K1:

I got your link ok, I had never heard that song before now, it is beautifully simple or to put it simply it’s simply beautiful. Thank you, for choosing it, I listened twice.

A part of the lyrics struck me “Some Lust for Power like the Ancient Kings”

My greatest hope is that people, not ordinary people like we are but Extraordinary people like all of us who share this Earth are.

Ancient and modern king, queen, prince, or even politician, any person who carries such a title, has in many countries the power to destroy lives, this power is the power supposedly held only by the gods, gods that some of the extraordinary people as is their right, worship.

Also, it is their right to want a democratically elected head of state and to have that person hold the power of the Extraordinary
people, to use in an Honest and Decent manner, to show the public face of the electorate to the rest of the world and bring happiness, protection and prosperity to the people that they represent. This of which I write, I know will be looked upon by some as some kind of hippy tree-hugging “Utopia”.

I truly believe that if everyone would understand the simple fact that power can not exist without consent of the people, then we still won’t have “Utopia”, but, we will have a better Nation, and inevitably, eventually a better world where war will be looked upon as the obscenity that it is and always has been.

Is a world at peace too much to ask?

Peace Always
Smallaxe

Smallaxe

K1:

Sorry, for the delay, the words came easily I just could not, for the life of me, remember my name to post it.

For you and all of us extraordinary People, I play this, once again.

Peace and Love to All

Smallaxe

HUNT THE LINK! Huge reward offered for the return of my one, my only, working Brain Cell.

Ah’ dun that oan purpose so a did.
Aye a did!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Yusuf Islam: “Where do the children play”

Yusuf Islam: “The End”

Yusuf Islam: “Don’t Let me be Misunderstood

Peace Always

yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
Didn’t realise you were under pressure in that thread, thought you were OK with it. To be honest it was mostly above me, couldn’t work out WTF was going on! I did read it a couple of times and gave up with just a platitude at the time. But you can have big boulders causing trouble, or tiny grains of sand getting into cuts, sores, the eyes and ears, and right up your nose. I think that’s the modus operandi of the donkey.

yesindyref2

Yeah and

followed by

and the one where I’d cut my parents big gramaphone thing up and used the two speakers for my first stereo with an Amstrad IC 2000, and sat there halfway between the two turning my eyes from side to side whoopeeeee!

Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

You are right, I wasn’t under pressure at the time but this is the second time that the same person has had a personal go at me for the same thing and the more I thought about it later the more it affected me. I don’t take things like that well when I can have no recourse or go jogging or something to run it off.

Anyway, I’m fine now, but I won’t forget it, although I will ignore it and put it to the back of my mind.Finished!

Here’s a wee tune that my Grandfather suggested, for you.Enjoy!

Peace Always my Friend

yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
It’s been a niggly week, nearly 2 weeks, started by that Khan at the sick Labour conference, but ably backed up by Heuchan. A couple of innocents too caught up in their own cause latch on to it, and there you go. Topped off by laughing at AH being betrayed, serves her right, and then feeling guilty. But also against a backdrop of so few people – unionists – coming forward and saying “this isn’t right, the nationalists I know aren’t racist”. Disgusting so it was, and that’s faith in one’s fellow human, poster, to be a decent human being, rotted away. They’re happy to sit back and take advantage of it, hope it sticks, for their own beliefs. Fucking craven lying bastards.

K1

‘Is a world at peace too much to ask?’

Naw Billy…

Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I agree, but this crap in all different flavours has gone on for centuries and it won’t get any better until we are out of the union. I’m keeping my focus on Independence and any and every way to achieve it peacefully, I am a bit pessimistic about achieving it without people getting injured or killed if it takes to long.

We want what is rightfully ours nothing more than to run our own country, others see it differently and although I’m sure that we won’t have a NI type of situation I still think that there will be trouble of some description the longer this goes on.
Albannach

Peace Always

Smallaxe

This is a thing I’m involved with, I’m not recruiting, just playing the music. FLOYD ENJOYED!Thanks

As we made our way around the world we encountered love, hate, rich and poor, black and white, and many different religious groups and ideologies. It became very clear that as a human race we need to transcend from the darkness to the light and music is our weapon of the future. This song around the world features musicians who have seen and overcome conflict and hatred with love and perseverance. We don’t need more trouble, what we need is love. The spirit of Bob Marley always lives on.

Peace Always

To learn more about the work of the PFC Foundation, visit http://www.playingforchange.org

yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
Ach, I got it off my chest, now I’m back to a big smiley face 🙂

♬ is indeed the force of change, and YES had music, smiles, laughter and happiness. Hope. People want to join in. What did NO have? Anger, bitterness, smears and lies. Fear.

Same again please 😎

Smallaxe

Blackmore’s Night: “Child In Time” – Live

Don Felder Feat. Styx

The Eagles: “Take it Easy”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

yesindyref2: Welcome Back!

PfC: Stand by Me

Playing for change: Change is Gonna Come

PfC: “Dock of the Bay” Around the World

Peace Always

Smallaxe

A very young, Bob Dylan:

A young Bob Marley
The Wailing Wailers

A young Elvis

Peace Always

Smallaxe

PfC: WATCH! Song Around the World

PfC. “Honky Tonk Woman” Live like you’ve never heard it!

PfC: “Down by the Riverside” Song Around the world

Peace Always

Smallaxe

French Rock and Roll

Sarah Nixey: Black Rose

Francoise Hardy: “Star”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Carly Simon: “That’s the Way”

Carole King: “So Far Away”

Carole King: “Natural Woman”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Playing for Change Song Around the WORLD

United

The Children Sing “Love is all”

Imagine

Peace Always

Smallaxe

PLAYING FOR CHANGE SONG AROUND THE WORLD

One Love

Marie

Blind Boy Paxton: Candy Man Blues

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Always the Children
Always the
Children
Always
WHY DO THE CHILDREN
HAVE TO DIE
IN A RICH MANS
WAR
I DON’T KNOW WHY
WHY DO THE CHILDREN
HAVE TO DIE
I DON’T KNOW PLEASE
CAN YOU TELL ME WHY
WHY IS THE SKY
SO FULL
OF LEAD
WHY DO THE CHILDREN
LIE COLD AND
DEAD
WHAT DO THE RICH MEN
HAVE IN THEIR HEAD
IS IT WORTH THE MONEY
WHEN THE CHILDREN
ARE DEAD
WHY DO THE CHILDREN
WHO HAVE
HARDLY LIVED
NOW LIE UNDER A
COFFIN LID
ONLY ONE REASON
CAN MAKE IT SO
THE RICH MEN
HAVE TO LIVE
YOU KNOW
WHY DO THE CHILDREN
HAVE TO DIE
I THINK WE ARE
SHAMED AS OUR TEARS
WE CRY
WHY DO THE CHILDREN
HAVE TO DIE
WE ALL KNOW THE REASON
WHY
THEY LIE UNDER A DEATH
THAT COMES OUT
OF THE SKY
AND WE DON’T
STOP IT WE
WE COULD
IF WE TRY
WHY THE CHILDREN
HAVE TO DIE
IS BECAUSE OF
THE FAILURE
OF YOU
AND
OF I
——————
SMALLAXE

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie at 9:18 pm.

You typed,
“I went to primary school at Craigiebarns, with a guy who’s dad lived and worked in the facility, which was located 100m(?) from one of the school gates. I was too young to understand it’s significance but spent a bit of time knocking about in the grounds.”

Here’s some further info for you:-

link to secretscotland.org.uk

link to canmore.org.uk

Check out the comment, from “Sid Pask”, right at the bottom of that second link.

Did you have a read of the “Fortress Scotland” document that I mentioned at the link in my post at 10.32pm on 6th March? Makes you think…

Here’s where you can download it:-

link to dundee3js.freeforums.org

Brian Doonthetoon

If that dundee3js link doesn’t have the start of the post sitting in your browser window, it’s the post dated “Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:45 am”. The dates/times are at the top right of the posts.

Nana
Michael McCabe

As it is International Woman’s Day it gives me an excuse to play all my favourites. India arie-Video link to youtube.com Good Lyrics

Smallaxe

2nd Try) Michael McCabe:

Play those favourites, Michael, Please!

“Woman” John Lennon:

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Rachael Yamagata-The Reason Why link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Portishead-Glory Box (Live) link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Aretha Franklin-Respect link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Donna Summer-State of Independence link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Annie Lennox-Why link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Great choices, Michael,

Lesley Gore: “You Don’t Own Me”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Sade- Why Can’t we live Together link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Superchick: “Stand in the Rain”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Indigo Girls-Closer to Fine link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

I CAN’T GIVE YOU ANYTHING BUT … !!! STYLISTICS
No offence but when I listen to your voices I doubt if you could give her even your love.

VAN McCOY: “The Hustle”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Well There is Two of Them. Kid Fears. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Tina Turner-A Change is Gonna Come link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Sinead O’Connor- The Last Day of our Aquaintance link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Kate Bush- Wuthering Heights link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Patsy Cline-Crazy link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Elsiane-Mend (To Fix, To Repair) link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Ella Fitzgerald-Summertime link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Kate Rusby-Old Man Time link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

Whoopy-doopy-doo, I could do with the break, and this is good

Margaret and Jim have been customers since near I started doing this, for all my products, and didn’t she do well! It was my manufacturer, a little place in Scotland, that pointed out this to me, though my wife had the (Feb 17) program recorded to watch anyway.

Maybe this will be a good year ?

Michael McCabe

Skye Edwards-Bright Light link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Bonnie Raitt-Love Me like a Man link to youtube.com

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

You never gave any input on the info I offered you in my post at,

link to wingsoverscotland.com

A quick quote from it:-
“I have ‘off-topic’ in its own tab in Firefox. When I decide to catch up, the tab is still sitting at the last post I read. (This is the same for all the active Wings’ tabs on my Mac.)

All I have to do is reload that tab and it reloads to the same location (post) I was at but all the new posts are below the post I have already read. I just have to scroll down, reading the new posts, until I get to the end of the page. I may then submit a comment; I may not.”

I find that a more efficient way of keeping up to speed with ALL the comments on WOS pages, rather than working from the bottom up. But that’s just me. Actually, I keep up to date with ‘off-topic’ (and the main WOS front page and Quarantine) via email notifications to my Mail app (Mac). I just clicked the box where it says ” Notify me of new posts by email.”

So, before I even go to ‘off-topic’, I know what has been posted.

yesindyref2

Thanks for that BDTT, and glad to see Ken got at least 69% of his fundraiser, I’m hoping to afford 3 or 4 months of a small ad, eighth or quarter page, in season issues. Yeah, don’t really want to post that I’ve only bought one or perhaps two copies of the national including the first keeper, and not bought the herald for years. As for online, well, ccleaner is my friend. After all, they get the “benefit” of my postings for nothing as well 🙂

Anyway, a song for the poor poster in question, to give some balance

Michael McCabe

Joan Armatrading-Love and Affection link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Janice Joplin-Piece of My Heart link to youtube.com

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

I’m probably the same as you. I bought The National for the first week, then it’s been the odd special since then; probably half a dozen copies.

I use the Firefox add-on “Remove Cookies For site”, which lets me read National pages. I load the main page, hit the “Remove Cookies” button, then open up pages in new tabs. I wait for each page to load, then hit the “Remove Cookies” button after each. Works for me.

Our mutual friend seems to be a bit of a one trick pony, iye?

Hoy! McCabe! There’s a wee conversation goin’ on here. Feel free to take the earphones out and join in…

8=)

yesindyref2

A “transition” from Joan Armatrading to Shannon

@BDTT
Our friend is certainly obsessed!

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Brian, there is a very good reason for my failure to reply to the post in question, that being that I do not have the faintest idea as to what it all means! I am barely computer literate enough to do what I already do, in short, I am a numpty when it comes to any electrically operated computerised technology.

Peace Always my Learned Friend

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

I’ll get back to you over the weekend. With questions…

8=)

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Moody Blues: “Question”1970

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

I must compliment you on your carefully chosen and remarkably comprehensive list of musically delightful experiences of which I will listen carefully and joyfully over and through this coming few days.

Peace, Love and Music Always

Smallaxe

Cream: “Badge”

Cream: “Crossroads”

Cream: “Cocaine”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Ian Drury: “Fuck off Noddy!

Ian Drury: “There ain’t half been some clever bastards”

Ian Drury: “Sweet Gene Vincent”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

I Feel Free link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Today, on International Women’s Day, women around the world will be standing together again as they take part in the International Women’s Strike, organise marches, vigils and festivals celebrating women’s power and standing up for rights and justice. Why?

Because the statistics are undeniable.

Each year, about 47,000 women die as a result of unsafe abortions around the world. An estimated 35% of women experience physical or sexual violence. More than 32 million girls globally are not in primary school. And 700 million women alive today were married before they were 18 years old.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Wison Picket: Stag-o Lee

Wilson Picket: “Midnight Mover”

Wison Picket: “Billy the Kid”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Otis Redding: “Try a little Tenderness”

Otis Redding: “I’ve Been Loving You too Long

Otis Redding: “Pain in my Heart”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

I Will say goodnight and wake up to a new Horizon. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Hi, Michael, I’ve just noticed that you were back on last night @ 2:46, why didn’t you give me a shout?, then again maybe you did but I had earphone’s on so I probably wouldn’t have heard you anyway. You should have waved or something!

Peace Always

Nana

A couple of interesting articles [well I think so]

link to phys.org

I’m away now to have a go at this, lol

link to wired.com

Smallaxe

Nana:

DON’T climb that wall! I have just read the explanation of how they think it can be done and I don’t believe it.I think that they are using Oriental Fairy Dust, in saying that, you as an Angel probably have your own dust, if so feel free.

Peace Always

Nana

Just getting ready to fly Smallaxe, flexing my wings and adjusting my tutu.

Now should there not be any links tomorrow morn……..

Nana

@Smallaxe

Meant to say we should all practice climbing walls, we will need that skill once the border wall goes up. hahahahhahahhahahha

Smallaxe

Nana:

Border wall? Och we’ll just sail roon aboot it or I may allow some enlightened people, such as yourself to use the tunnel that I started digging as soon as this nonsense began.

DIB DIB DIB: Be prepared! as my time as a Boy Scout taught me.

Ging Gang Gooly!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the SGV etc. from Mr Dury, Smallaxe. Love the way he sings, “I miss your sad, Virginia whisper…”

Did you ever come across him in your travels ablow the dyke?

O/T on O/T: had a plasterer round to give me a quote last night. He’s a nice guy from eastern Poland, so I brought up Brexit just to get his views, beginning with, “The English must be mad to have voted for it.”

He replied, “The English, eh? They’ve f*cked us!”

His English is sure comin’ on…..

And his German trowel work is magnificent, btw.

Smallaxe

Nana:

Ahm feart!

But this well played track, brings comfort and determination!

“Fear not when on the side of the Righteous!”
(“Quote from a very intelligent and frighteningly Handsome man”)

Guess who? 🙂

Peace Always xx

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:

“Did you ever come across him in your travels ablow the dyke?”

I did not have to travel far my Manky Mate, as I used to reside in Priory Park Rd Kilburn! Just off the High Road, as I am sure I have touched on in my inane ramblings on these very sane and illustrious pages.

“And his German trowel work is magnificent, btw.”

Did you perhaps mistakenly write trowel instead of towel? Because the Germans are particularly swift at placing them on deckchairs, I am led to believe.

Peace Always

Ps Sorry for the late reply but I was out pipeclaying my doorstep!

Liz g

Smallaxe @ 9.15
Now this tunnel….Is it the kind ye need tae lie on a bogey,and clang a trowel tae get thru.
If so dae we bring said trowel?
Or is wan provided?
We need details man!

Smallaxe @ 11.36
Is guessing correctly the pass for the tunnel?
Or just to give Mrs Smallaxe a laugh?

Mrs Smallaxe….Ah saw that teeth in the glass comment, don’t worry hen we have yir back.
He has been sentenced to scarcasim for the next 3 comments!

Smallaxe

liz g:

No bogeys liz, a clean handkerchief will be provided, though, if necessary.

The tunnel in question is navigable if sat on the strong warm back of a Hielan’ Coo, several of those being available to any Scot of any creed, religion or sexual orientation.
Bring your own piece, scotch broth will be available to those who bring some organically grown grass (Coo’s for the feeding of!)

Mrs Smallaxe has already seen the post that you mention, so no worries.A few stitches and I will be back to normal.
I don’t know why I said that, I’ve never been “normal”
Peace Always my Dear friend

Smallaxe

I leave this for anyone who may (Should IMHO) be interested!

Samah Sabawi

Samah Sabawi is a Palestinian-Australian-Canadian poet, playwright, editor, PhD student, powerful orator, political commentator and spokesperson for Palestinian freedom. She was born in Gaza to Suhailah and Abdul Kareem Sabawi, a distinguished poet, author and non-violence revolutionary. The Sabawi family’s forced wrench from Gaza is characteristic of Palestinian exiles in the diaspora and Samah’s passion for justice and love for her homeland is the gravitational pull of her activism and art,

I stand dispossessed of everything but my words

They are words of truth

Of fire and steel

I use them deliberately

Not to incite hatred

Not to frighten

But to lighten up this darkness

That tore me into 11 million pieces

And scattered me across the earth

Words tell my story

Nakba

Naksa

Forced exile

Ethnic cleansing

Apartheid

Words

Carefully chosen

Purposely uttered

These are the words that lay the foundation

Of the language of my liberation

Link to full Article:link to globalresearch.ca

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Sokay, Smallaxe, I was out myself. It’s spring, the sap is rising in Old Cadzow and it’s Goat-Nadgering Week, so I was out, er, goat-nadgering.

Next week it’s Goat-Bothering Week, but I won’t do that, like Meatloaf.

I must have missed your Duriad, or mebbe’s it’s the old brain not functioning too well ‘cos of the turps and senna regime of recent weeks.

Anyhow, wish I could play the bass line on this:

And it’s definitely “trowel”. You get walls as smooth as glass. Pity I’ve to cover them in three coats of paint…..

Liz g

Smallaxe @ 1.07
Very profound words,and, those last two line’s are so powerful!
Thanks for sharing it.

Smallaxe @ 12.23
Wee problem here…. I googled Hielan Coo Riding Accessories.
Well I’ll tell ye… Ah didnay know sites like that existed.
If only there were people who liked to steward other adults, I think I could show them where their calling lie’s.
Anyhoo….Whit will we wear own the coo?

Tell Mrs Smallaxe I am asking for her…Love and hugs to you both XX

Tinto Chiel

Or this, for that matter:

That’s not an invitation, btw……

Smallaxe

Replied to in the order in that of which I received them:

Tinto: Sorry about the delay, but I was fixing and re-painting a broken Rainbow that had fallen into my estate, near the Gatehouse.

I really don’t mind being hit by a Rhythm Stick, because there’s

As for the goat, surely you KID! (I hope)
Peace Always

Smallaxe

liz g:

Yes liz, those last two lines are powerful and fit perfectly to our own situation.

Now to your question regarding suitable attire.
“Anyhoo….Whit will we wear own the coo?”

You don’t have to worry about that liz, as the coo has it’s own clothes!

Mrs Smallaxe sends her love, you should receive it soon in a plain brown wrapper.

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

So there’s a tunnel and there is a cow for the riding on. I have a suspicion of “bring your own organically grown grass”

[for the feeding of the cows you say MMMMmmm]

@Tinto

I know I am probably going to regret asking, but what the hell is Goat-Nadgering.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

In answer, to your second epistle: Pity as I was all ready for a bit of,

Not necessarily in that order!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m pleased to see Tinto hasn’t answered your question about Goat – Nadgering, that fellow can be so uncouth at times, his answer may have shocked you.

Suffice to say, it’s similar to Badger-Nadgering whereupon you get a firm grip on the Badgers Tadgexxx no, I’m sorry you will just have to ask Tinto after all.

As for your comment, “I have a suspicion of “bring your own organically grown grass”

“[for the feeding of the cows you say MMMMmmm”

I’m surprised at your suspicion Nana, as you know I lived in Jamaica for a time and even although what I think you are alluding to is plentiful. I n’I did neva even once tempt to try dat stuff, neva at all mi telling yuh. (Coughs and frantically waves clouds of ganja smoke up the lum) HONEST!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: great vid. What a personality he had. As Wee Willie Rennie would say, “He was unique, like so many others!”

*Washed hands carefully in sink*
Nana, I’m afraid I could not divulge that information since you are a lady but I CAN exclusively confirm today it has NOTHING to do with marag dubh production chez moi.

Still haven’t recovered from the John Swinney clips on the main thread: classic. Might allow myself a small glass of sherry tonight.

Heeheeheeheeheeheehee!

Tinto Chiel

*adjusts brocaded fez and water-silk smoking jacket*

(Noel Coward voice): “Uncouth, moi? How terribly, terribly boring…..”

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I nearly slipped up while talking to Nana just then but I think that I got away with it.

As you say the Man was certainly a one off. Enjoy your cask sorry glass of “Sherry” tonight. I came home the other night and for some reason couldn’t get my key into the keyhole, unfortunately, my wife heard my fumblings, opened the door and said loudly “DRUNK AGAIN” I said with relief “don’t worry about it, sweetheart, so am I” Have you ever FELT the sound of one hand clapping, I have!

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

Aye knowing you lived in Jamaica is why I’m suspicious. Anyhoo I believe the substance [ahem] is very good for RA so if I give you my address….

@Tinto

“Marag dubh” and “goat nadgering” Blimey I think I’m better off not knowing what you are up to.

Indeed I am a lady, I’m sure that’s what him indoors muttered under his breath earlier

I think those who are allowed a wee sherry should have one, for you Tinto I recommend water is added, 3 to 1 ratio. That’s three of water and 1 of sherry just in case you thought differently.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

When I told Nana that you were uncouth, I was only trying a ploy employed to implore Nana to stop employing her brain into employing that it was a ploy employed to prevent her discovering my ploy that I had employed to…. Maaan, I’d better lay off this “Tobacco” for a while.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana:

Did I hear you say that you were a Lady?, I asked these two and this is what they told me,

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

Ach those two are terrible liars you know

Smallaxe

Nana:

Ya thaank?,

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Sometimes, I could just bang my head!

You gotta luv the lyrics.

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

Don’t think I don’t know what you are up to, deflection tactics to get me to employ my brain away from you and Tinto’s ploys!

I’m onto you!

Smallaxe

Nana:

Not at all, how on earth would we manage that?!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

ANY SPARE CHANGE, £1 would be great! I know we are all donated out but we really need as much as we can wring out of YOU! look down the back of your couch. A request for any tune will be your reward. I will take your word that you have given any small amount.

http://www.msf.org.uk
MEDECINS SANS FRONTIERES
DOCTORS WITHOUT BORDERS

Peace love and Compassion

Smallaxe

Sorry, I meant to leave this.

Dear Smallaxe,
Thank you for your donation of xxx to Médecins Sans Frontières UK.
The reference for this donation is W0206841

Peace Always

Smallaxe

All members of the SNP will have had this request: http://www.snp.org

Dear Smallaxe,
Thank you for donating to the SNP. Your contribution will help us to campaign for the better, fairer Scotland we all seek.
You donated £xxx on 09/03/2017.
If you need to contact us about this payment, please quote reference DON0199775.
Thank you for your support
Peter Murrell
Chief Executive

You don’t have to be a member, this money is to go toward the Local Council Election Campain Fund: “Paypal” accepted.

Peace Always/Scotland Forever!

I probably have killed this thread now. 🙁

Anyone who requests a tune please, have patience I have to travel into Darkest England tonight to pick up a kitten that my wife has just informed me she has purchased. Wives, can’t live with them, can’t strangle them! 🙂

Peace Always/Scotland Forever!

Tinto Chiel

Don’t worry, Smallaxe, I don’t think Nana got the Badger reference. To the pure in heart, everything is pure.

Your one-hand clapping reference reminded me a bit of my German Existential Joke:

*Night, Berlin. Policeman approaches man under a lamp standard who is obviously searching for something*

Polis: Lost something, sir?
Man: Yes, my key.
*They both look for a while under the light*
Polis: Are you sure you dropped it here?
Man: No, I dropped it over there *indicates a point in the encompassing darkness*.
Polis: Then why are you looking here?
Man: Because there’s no light over there……

Nana, Ian Brotherhood and I met Norman at GG when you were off doing your Secret Stuff, and he is obviously a man of probity and rectitude and would never use an impure expression.

The perverse Alcohol Regime you have outlined is uncannily similar to Mrs TC’s: HAVE YOU BEEN COMPARING NOTES?

“Tinto’s ploys”: that’s a completely unfounded allegation!

Besides, Billy wis daein’ it tae…….

Jeezo, man, s’no ferr!

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Tinto, life isn’t fair I’ve just infiltrated Carlisle to pick up a kitten that my wife decided she just had to have, no discussion necessary with me, of course. I hadn’t even sharpened my claymore so I had to keep my wit’s about me in that foreign land.

However, we are now the proud “Parents” of a ginger tom cat by the name of INDY and guess who gets to clean the litter tray?.

Puss Always
Peace Always

Smallaxe

This band is….never mind!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Jam today, Joy as well

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Blue for a boy

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Ritchie Blackmore Feat Carlos Santana – Guitar Duel

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, I’ve told you before to keep the CLAYMORE in the THATCH.

Dear old Squeeze: great lyrics.

You’re not going to wear one of them there new-fangled pussy hats on dawn border patrol tomorrow, are you? That could be a fashion no-no.

On the plus side, think we got away with it with Nana. I’ll get the worm, you bring the “copper”. Heeheeheehee!

It’s just like Young Art and Old Hector all over again…..

Smallaxe

Ian Paice – Duo w/Richie Blackmore(Deep Purple 1970)

Deep Purple – Speed King (Live 1970 UK)

DEEP PURPLE – Black Night

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Uriah Heep – Lady In Black 1971

Nazareth – Love Hurts 1975

Supermax – Lovemachine 1977

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The Rolling Stones – Lady Jane 1966

Rolling Stones – As Tears Go By

Same Song by Marianne Faithfull

Tinto Chiel

Wow: Nazareth! Dunfermline’s finest.

How good were they?

Smallaxe

THIS GOOD!
This flight tonight

Broken Down Angel

Morning Dew

Peace Always

KC

@ tinto
I take two days away and come back to a wummin asking about badgering, lodgering and goat nadgering. SWMBO has enough on her plate keeping recipes for scones and Stornoway black pudding secret.

I haven’t seen her since teatime when she went doon the toon muttering about bowels, blood, oatmeal, caorrans. I pray for you and Smallaxe.

Rectitude and probity indeed, note to self, make appointment with GP.

Smallaxe

KC: ANY SUNSHINE? 🙂

John Mayall – The Turning Point -July 12, 1969

John Mayall – California

John Mayall – Crying

Peace Always

Smallaxe

DON SUGARCANE HARRIS – Cup full of dreams

Rory Gallagher, Sugarcane Harris and John Mayall – Texas Flood

Rory Gallagher & John Mayall – Messin’ with the Kid

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: that great Nazareth vid looks like it was recorded in the same studio as the famous Sparks “This town….”: you know, full of awkward, uncomfortable, conformist German teenagers.

KC: don’t worry, it’ll all blow over. Unless she brings home some dulse and starts making the carrageen, of course…..

Something elemental about those old Gaelic psalms, eh?

Paula Rose used to love them.

Smallaxe

Little Walter / Boom, Boom Out Goes the Lights

Little Walter My Babe

Little Walter – Blues With a Feeling

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Haud a dod, JC!

Caorrans, is it?

Not the rowan jelly treatment?

Ooft! See you guys later…..

Tinto Chiel

KC, obvs.

Sausage fingers (from behind the sofa)!

Smallaxe

Blind Boy Fuller – Bulldog Blues

Blind Boy Fuller „Pistol Slapper Blues”

Rory Gallagher’s version of the song above

Peace always

KC

@Tinto

“KC: don’t worry, it’ll all blow over. Unless she brings home some dulse and starts making the carrageen, of course…..”

Dammit she’s let the Gin Recipe out …

Smallaxe

There will now be a short intermission: The Cocktail Bar is open!

Pachelbel’s Canon in D

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Could drone in some sloes to you but after that, I’m outta here.

Be afraid, be very afraid.

KC

@ Tinto
NO caorrans, the little peaty thingies, one of the secret ingredients of SYBP gives it the black crumblieness. mmmmmmmmmmm

Sausage fingers! Is your Name Lochhead perchance.

Tinto Chiel

Sorry, always wondered what those wee things were.

Crumbliness, indeed.

Before I go, if Smallaxe offers you an avocado and piccalilli sandwich, make an excuse and leave quick.

Ah’m off!

Smallaxe

avocado and piccalilli sandwiches are now being served

Don’t put the piccalilli in the fridge blues version

Best lie of your life

Green Day – Time of your life

KC

Avocado, Piccalilli and Caorrans on girdle scones sounds like a winner!
Beter still, accommpanied with the soup dragons best Brochan, another secret recipe.

Smallaxe

Bob Wills – Steel Guitar Rag 1936

Deep Water – Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys

Orange Blossom Special Bluegrass Dobro

Smallaxe

Hillbilly Banjo Player

COUNTRY SISTERS – Cotton Eyed Joe

O BROTHER WHERE ART THOU Constant Sorrow

Smallaxe

Self Explanatory:

Goodnight All
Peace Always

yesindyref2

Looks to me like a reincarnated SD, playing it politely but throwing in stuff like “hey, why not leave it until 2020”. Either that or it’s Sillars or MacAlpine in disguise. With glasses of course!

Liz g

Yesindyref2 @ 12.50
Aye he is a funny one right enough.
Is there like a law that I don’t know about where suspicious posters never answer any questions that you actually ask and tell you something that you don’t need to know about?
I mean I only asked him for an opinion,which was all I was tradin with.
Hey Ho at least he was polite…Well so far!

Michael McCabe

I found this in the Shadows link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

@Liz g
Yes I had my doubts from the first where it seems as so many on the anti-Indy side do, they want to push the Ref till after Brexit by which time it’s too late for easy EU. Ant then there was this “Great Repeal Bill coming up. I don’t mean to antagonise.” – juse one “concern” after another 🙂

So perhaps it’s a case of …

wot I want at my funeral whenever or whatever passes for it, waste of good money, quick night-time tip in the Clyde, drop off a cliff, it’s only an empty shell and then dust!

yesindyref2

Good grief, just read the first comment on that page!

yesindyref2

If the media in Scotland want to attack the SNP and even Independence, that’s politics. But when the fucking bastards run Scotland down as the headline in the Herald does about Unis and the dop-out rate which is well down, that’s fucking disgusting – it’s their own country and it’s costing all of us, Independentists and Unionists alike, reputation and fucking billions to the economy.

Fuck the media.

Smallaxe

I Have just seen the last couple of posts on here and must ask you, people, to mind your language.

It’s fucking disgusting, so it is!
Peace Always

Smallaxe

KC:

Sorry just noticed.

Peace Always

Mchael McCabe

I Will settle for the Rainbow Pie link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

I Like this Stuff link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

So do I,

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

Evening all,

Some of you may enjoy having a rake about in the following if you haven’t seen it. All about the stramash in Glasgow over the ‘City of Culture’ stuff, Elspeth King ‘affair’ etc.

‘The Keelie’ section is particularly good – seems to be a complete archive.

link to workerscity.org

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Ian. The whole Elspeth King affair now seems a complete stitch-up, but that’s only because I’ve become a cultist vile cyber-sep. At the time I was so naïve I didn’t really get it.

I shall rake…..

Tinto Chiel

Plasterers coming early tomorrow so I’m off to beddy-byes soon.

I leave you with this: a track with much poetry but a tremendous guitar take-off at 2.40.

Independence: are we there yet?

And, while we’re at it : Cactus, are you ok?

Tinto Chiel

And, since it’s that time of day:

Cactus

Aweright Tinto Chiel, we good bro.

Not long back from a mini-adventure way out east.

Twas time to take a time-out in the country in the most excellent company.

Tis bonnie to be back, rarin’ tae go!

Cheers tae ye all.
X.

I heard it on ma radio..

yesindyref2

@BDTT
That’s you telt 🙂

If it’s any consolation I knew what you were up to.

Cactus

Excellent, nice timing.

Yes!

As of 9am toysday..

Further and extended goal.. £5,847 (T minus £717)

Tree times.

You knew it.

Cactus

I miss Freddy.

He was cool.

“Don’t stop me now..”

yesindyref2

I got this one when it first came out, one of my flatmates at the time, first full-time job.

Loved it later when the superior people would say like “You should try listening to Killer Queen by Queen, you won’t have heard of them”, and I’d say like “You mean like keep yourself alive” and they’d look at me blankly. Ho hum.

Cactus

Night.

Cactus

Keep yerself alive.

That’s a winner 🙂

For four X.

Night.

Mornin’.

Michael McCabe

I Like a wee Gamble at the Weekend link to youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

Cactus: glad you are well. You should bring out a book.

“Way out east”. You mean Embra? 😀

KYA: excellent choice, Yesindyref2.

Fred

Greetings manky ones! Jist catching up wi the crack. A crackless week due to computer problems, life in fact has been a modem-less pit! Why do the Children? like it much. Saw Liar Carmichael at Willie Rennie’s gaitherin, bad-moothin Alex Salmond, and Carmichael a bloated, shameless bare-faced lyin bastard.

Chick McGregor

Fed up with a couple of the Xword compilers in the National. (Or maybe they are both the same person).

A good clue should be challenging but obviously correct when you get it. Those two frequently have clues which are not. Answers so tenuously linked to the clue you can think of others which are just as much or more so of a fit. Obscure clues which defy seeing a link even when you know what the answers are even after researching for perhaps little known associations on line. Often, they seem to have thrown random unrelated words in there just for the hell of it.

Thrawn in nature, I have struggled on with them and mostly managed to finish although one clue recently had three alternative answers which all fitted the clue as well or as obscurely as each other. But not worth the time and effort.

So will not be doing their puzzles in future.

Tinto Chiel

Chick: ever thought of playing Bridge?

Just don’t play with your partner/significant other/wife.

It’s like arguing about map-reading.

Jet123

To Ian brotherhood
hi Ian I am sorry for the delay in my reply to your post I am not on wings as often as I used to be just a few things I would like to say I accused you of personal verbal abuse and calling me a troll to witch you made a really nice and full apology now it turns out that it was me who got the names mixed up think it might be my age showing but as you showed such humility and grace in your speedy apology for something that you had doubts at the Time that you done shows what true gentleman you really are I I could not in all conscience not reply to offer my total and unreserved apology to your self for my accusations,

secondly I would like to say you are the only person who ever worked out what my name really stands for that also shows my age

Sorry to say I don’t think this is the place for me to comment but I will pop in from time to time to see how you’s are I wish you all the very best in life and in our continued journey towards independence

Just a quick note to smallaxe I have showed the video that you showed me to dozens of friends
And family with some quite astounding reactions and I try to use it to guide me on my way and have felt it’s worth on many occasions life seems smoother and lots more fun because little things
Just don’t get to me the same I can’t thank you enough

As a truly great man says peace always

Smallaxe

Jet123:

Thank you, I send love to you and your’s.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

MTS, Fred, glad there was a simple explanation for your absence: thought you and carjamtic might have got caught up in a lock-in The Manky Bar.

That White Tornado is powerful stuff.

Mind you, after the rugby result, anything is possible.

Ian Brotherhood

@Jet123 –

These things happen, no worries. 🙂

Jet123

Thanks Ian gracious as always once again sorry and best of luck

Jet123

Smallaxe thanks your love it is returned and it will make us both stronger and your video has truly changed my outlook and pace of life all around me have noticed a remarkable change when they ask what is different I show them it I am no spring chicken but for some reason that just hit the spot
At the correct time I now enjoy every day even work days lol and look forward to the next

As a truly great man says peace always

Ian Brotherhood

@Chic McG –

re National XWs.

What days are the ‘dodgy’ crosswords appearing?

Still Positive

Chick – totally agree. Even when you see the answers you wonder how they got there.

Still Positive

Chick – totally agree. Even when you see the answers, you wonder how they got it.

Still Positive

Sorry for the double post.

yesindyref2

Well, with all that’s going on, here’s one for all of us doing our best.

yesindyref2

@Ian B
Obviously not the days you write them!

My dad compiled crosswords for some magazines after he retired to get some extra money, it’s an art form. I vaguely remember putting some together myself when younger – not to get published though.

Tinto Chiel

It’s Sunday and it’s quiet, so I’ll try this:

May The Force be with you.

Chic McGregor

No names no pack drill Ian, but yours are OK (aside from that dictionary of defunct Scots. 🙂 )

Tinto, the missus and I do play bridge occasionally.

I got my first grand slam ever just a few months ago (on a bid of 5 NT).

Chick McGregor

Doubled, BTW. The wife was ready to kill me if we didn’t make.

Smallaxe

Chic:

I won’t play the obvious “Bridge over Troubled Waters” but you did tempt me. 🙂

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

“The wife was ready to kill me if we didn’t make.”

See what I mean, Chic? You’re entering dangerous territory…

I found a safe option: we play each other at Canasta and Mrs TC beats me every time.

I know my place.

Fred

Passed the Manky on Saturday & forgot to check if one brick still stands upon another!
Does anybody remember “Wattery Willies!” on the canal bank between Dennistoun & the Garngad? Legend says that he wattered the whisky hence the soubriquet!

Thepnr

I am truly woeful at crosswords, just absolutely hopeless at the cryptic ones. I don’t know why it just is so I never bother starting them now. It helps that I don’t buy a newspaper anymore I suppose.

Still that’s not really what I wanted to say, it was to Chic who brought this up that I have a question. I used to play chess and one of the Kirriemuir Chess team was a crossword compiler for the Times no less, he also appeared in the Mastermind final and won one or other quiz show. Did you ever meet him?

The reason I know this about him is because say 10 years ago me and my my and him and his wife were staying together in an hotel in Hawick for a chess tournament. It was a very small hotel but with four fantastic rooms.

It was a blast and he was probably one of the smartest guys I’ve ever met, just knew everything about everything. Either that or he just talked very well and I was too drunk to notice 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

Okay, all ye clever clogs –

I’m trying to think of writers/poets who are associated with specific cities. It’s for uni work. My dissertation’s about James Kelman winning the Booker Prize in ’94. Obviously, he’s associated with Glasgow. Dickens – London. Joyce – Dublin.

Think of any others?

Tinto Chiel

Ah, the Garngad…

My father loved goading my mother by using Scots expressions in the house.

When he stretched for the salt on the table he would say, “‘Scuse me for raxing forenenst ye.”

Discussing the football: “Aye, yon Boghead* is a right cowp.”

And, my favourite: “How are you, dad?”

“Ah’m no sae Garngad!”

*Former home of Dumbarton F.C. and the longest-used football park in British football.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Dundee – McGonagall and Gary Robertson. Let’s leave McGonagall to one side for the moment – he has his own web site.

link to mcgonagall-online.org.uk

Here are three short examples of Gary Robertson’s work. (He also sings and plays with The Cundeez. Search on YouTube for his name or the band’s name for further examples.)

“Twa Pints Meh Erse”

“Gary Robertson’s IndyRef poem”

“Dundee Fowk”

Tinto Chiel

Meant to say, for those unable to sleep, that Garngad is probs. from Gaelic “gart nan gad”, i.e. enclosure of the withies. I think hurdles of twisted twigs would have been used to make the perimeter.

My favourite from that part of the town is Garthamlock, possibly “gart amlach”, flowing/rippling corn-field.

Pure poetry, innit?

Ian Brotherhood

Sympathies to the hurting sisters and their families…

Sister Sledge, ‘He’s The Greatest Dancer’ –

1 47 48 49 50 51 81

Stats: 6,671 Posts, 1,202,958 Comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()