Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
@Thepnr –
Cheers for that.
Never heard of him either. Interesting indeed, and quite unusual to see an American espousing basic socialist ideas without people immediately bursting into tears.
Must try and find out about the dude – looks like he’s been around a while.
(How about Cameron B? You’re familiar with a lot of these obscure characters – you ever come across Bernie Sanders before?)
What is it with you boys – never heard of Bernie? Its been the main story of the American campaign amongst progressive folk! Do you not have contacts on social media with like-minded folk across the globe!
(new comment re Saturday coming soon)
Hi Wingers,
I was hoping to catch up with you all again in George Square this weekend. Unfortunately family reasons are taking me inescapably away.
Hope you all have a grand day and with more hope for the future than seemed possible this time last year.
Ian Brotherhood
He’s been a thorn in the side of the Anglo /American Establishment for some time now. I don’t think the Koch side of Wall Street likes him either. The last time he was on my radar he was pretty isolated. I hadn’t been aware that he was news. Perhaps it’s a sign that change can’t be held back.
I think he’s an Independent of the small “c” conservative variety, which I suppose now counts for ‘socialist’ in the USA.
Bernie Sanders: No! to War with Iraq (10/9/2002)
From The Rollers’ documentary, I found it interesting that this
was inspired by this?
Who wooda thunkit?
Joy of joys – my latest winged Knight in shining armour – Archie [not Erchie] will be bringing me to Glasgow on Saturday. Driving from Aberdeen he will pick me up in Brechin.
There is space on the luggage rack for a couple of others so if you want to be able to say to your grandchildren in years to come –
“I had a ride with Paula Rose”
Make your case here.
Ha ha ha…
@ Paula Rose You better wear your Feather Boa or Archie ( not Erchie)might miss you at the pickup point.
Trying one more time.
Is anything organized for Friday?
Hi Conan the Librarian.
Re Friday. March in Edinburgh. Not sure of times – try a search on other Wings pages (Edinburgh might work).
57 (%) white roses being laid at the Mercat Cross in Dundee at 12.30. Yes Rutherglen party in the evening. YES flag flying from my window all day.
George Square on Saturday. (See ‘off-topic’).
Ach, why not? This one going out to Rupert Murdoch.
Tom Perkins – Black Sun Twist
@Conan
I hope you’ve got the 26th on your calendar.
As someone said on the main thread – where has Bugger (the panda) disappeared to. Does anyone know if he’s ok?
I thought I had his email address but can’t find it.
@ Conan Friday 18th: King’s Stables Rd – 10am. March to Holyrood.
@ Ronnie Anderson
@ Paula Rose
Jings, reading the comments above, Archie (not Erchie), a “winged Knight in shining armour”, and Paula’s arrival in Glasgow, feather boa flying in the breeze, might be like a scene from Priscilla Queen of the Desert!
Cannae wait 😉
@ Ronnie – Feather boa? And me in kilt? What a combo!
@ Betty Boop – You dinna know the half! Paula wants to be ‘onboard entertainment officer’ – Pray for me! 🙂
If there is a seat on the bus left then I would love to fill it!
This one going out to Fozzie Carbuncle, who is perhaps learning that you have to respect other, in order to gain their respect in return.
The Staple Singers – Respect Yourself
P.S. I’m not suggesting Fozzie is in the KKK but the rest just fitted too well. 🙂
@ X_sticks
Just emailed him.
@Ronnie, I’m working Friday might might turn up anyway…
Archie [Not Erchie] and I are driving down from Aberdeen to Glasgow on Saturday morning (via Brechin to pick up Paula Rose) and we have two seats spare for anyone who fancies them.
Post here or email me if you could use a free lift. 🙂
finlaymair [at] gmail [dot] com
Gosh TWO handsome beaus escorting me to Glasgow!
@ X_sticks
innerbearsden at gmail dot com
Paula
I’ll be your taxi driver for life if you can spot a UKOK sticker on the trip down! 😀
My majestic steed has a solitary heated seat for you and Archie to debate over, there is also an audio input for the radio so feel free to bring some tunes.
I won’t be at the rally at Glasgow because I am going to the Alliance for Scotland event in Dundee:
link to eventbrite.co.uk
This was postponed from earlier this year. Some good speakers there.
So anyone from the Dundee area who can’t make it to Glasgoe might want to go along to this.
Sorry I’ll miss many Wingers at Glasgow, but I hope to see you all at the Edinburgh get together on the 26th. (lookin at you Bdtt 😀 )
Oh goodie a taxi driver for life! Knew it was sensible of me not to have scraped it off the lamp-post! ( I presume Finlay honey, you mean any bt/no sticker )
Hmm. Ok, If we see a single car with a Better Together, No Thanks, UKOK, Tory, Lib Dem or Labour sticker then my soul is forfeit! 😛
However if we don’t… you can pay for lunch! 😛
Placing my bets on the silent majority being extra silent this weekend, not sure why though.
Silly boy changes rules and expects free lunch – we may be an hour late fellow wingers.
@ Paula Rose – Late? Well that buggers up the hired gold confetti cannons and prancing pink unicorns on your arrival. Sheesh!
Then have a word with Finlay about upsetting schedules.
(Based on “Urban Guerrilla” by Hawkwind. A top 40 tune in 1973, back when Labour were a little less right-wing.)
“Corbyn Guerrilla”
I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
I write for Morning Star in my cellar
I’m a Westminster dweller
I’m an Independence killer.
I’m a Tory-fighting dancer
I’m a revolutionary chancer
In the body politic I’m the cancer
I’m a Tooting Popular front ‘Panther’.
So let’s not talk of union powers
Before Kezia’s head explodes
We’ve kicked out all that Blairite shower
Triangulating us down the wrong road.
I’m a hard-left political bandit
And the Beeb don’t understand it
Blairites took my party and damned it
Just the way Thatcher planned it.
Fabian Society’s disruptor
I’m a Trident bomb destructor
Son of Islington bus conductor
I’m the people’s debt collector.
So watch out Mister Cameron
Your empire’s about to blow
I think you’d better listen, man
In case you did not know.
I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
I’m friends with Denis Skinner
I never sing the anthem
I get my suits from Oxfam.
I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
I support Alex Tsipras
I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
Last year I got my bus pass
I’m a Corbyn guerrilla
I love the guys in Hamas.
——————-
The original:
If he survives, Corbyn could be good for Labour in England, but he is going to be subjected to super-strength monstering from the MSM.
Scottish Labour is a corpse, he may try to reanimate it, but at best it would only be a zombie party, run from London.
Hi X_Sticks.
Re Alliance Convention.
This is a post I’ve just done on the “YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information” Facebook page.
“Has anyone heard anything about the Yes Alliance Conference, organised by Dom Anderson, that was supposed to take place in January but was postponed until Saturday, 19th September?
I know a guy who is coming down from Aberdeen for this event – but I have seen nothing about it on pro-indy events pages, like this one.
I contacted Dom in January on how to get a refund on tickets I had bought through yesconnect.scot and got no reply. I’ve emailed him again tonight, because the tickets are of no use to me, as I’ll be in George Square on Saturday.
When I log into yesconnect.scot, it says I have no events.”
http://yesconnect.scot
Update: I’ve just received this email:-
“A message that you sent to the following recipient could not be delivered due to a permanent error. ** The remote server 212.227.15.41 responded with: ** dom@allianceforscotland.org.uk 550:Requested action not taken: mailbox unavailable This message was created automatically by mail delivery software on the server avasout02.”
Methinks, perchance, this event is not happening…
I’ve found out, via Facebook, from Dom Anderson himself, that the Alliance event in Dundee has been cancelled.
@BrianDtt
Thanks Brian. Yup – event cancelled – no notification apart from post on facebook.
Still not sure if I can do Glasgow, got a wedding reception in Banchory in the evening.
I’ll need to revise plans to see what I can do. Will be at Glasgow if I can.
Ronnie Anderson, Brian and Co,
I have been up to no good as usual and still fighting for Independence.
I haven’t talked to you Ronnie since you came back from holiday. I met Brian with his son and his partner in crime at Pacific Quay in August.
I will be there on Saturday with Martyn.
Really up for this one.
I hope you are all well. I also got presented with a Ronnie Anderson special edition badge in the Clutha pub after the BBC protest. (Anderson Tartan). Will have it with me on Saturday.
See you all tomorrow.
Hello there Stoker, hope to see you tomorrow, enjoyed my wee day out in August and the chat we had in the Clutha.
Giddy with excitement darlings – not only Archie [not Erchie] and Finlay but also hunky X_Sticks escorting me to Glasgow! Swoon xx
Livestreaming Hope Over Fear tomorrow. If anybody about give me a wee shout. Del should also be kicking around and a couple of others from IndyLive
@Thistle
I’ll be taking pics tomorrow then heading to Yes bar for a half lager with a marachino cherry and an umbrella – possibly in a durty glass, I haven’t decided.
So, we start another ‘year’ tomorrow, in Freedom Square.
Kool & The Gang, ‘Fresh’ –
Wee shout xx
Hey Paula Rose et al
What are the social plans for ra morra? I will come and find you at George Square but am working for most of the day….what time are you planning to be there from and till?
If all else fails I take it we will all find each other at the Yes Bar?
@ kendomacaroonbar take me with you xx
John Lennon, ‘Nobody Told Me’ –
@ Quinie honey! Will be there all afternoon xx
@paula
Had me at “X_Sticks escorting me”
I won’t have to drive either 😉
Back seat babe?
Ok great, I can keep in touch via X-Sticks as I have his number in my phone.
Hope to see you all at some point…x
Quinie frae Angus almost but not quite as gorgeous as me!
Simple Minds, ‘Up On The Catwalk’ –
Hi folks
am hoping to be in the square tomorrow along with the Bold Joff, and one or two perhaps of the Miss Effies.
Is there a particular bit/banner you gather at…?
Have been defrosting my freezer today. A total arseache of a job. Long overdue.
Still much nicer than results night…
Natasha, if you are lurking about, good luck. Missing seeing your posts, but, understand.
@ Quinie
I would check all the bars working your way out from the square! 😉
@Quinie
I’ll only be there until about 2:30. Need to get back to Aberdeen for a wedding reception in the evening.
I hope I manage to see you there.
@ X_Sticks
Re Alliance Convention. I am sure I got refund when they first postponed the event. I didn’t want to take the chance it would get off the ground later, rightly, as it seems, and preferred to cancel.
I also had second thoughts regarding whether it was really about supporting indy.
Have fun tomorrow and pat the horse’s arse from me.
Sorry I can’t get down to join you.
George Benson, ‘Never Give Up’ (live) –
caz-m wrote:
“Hello there Stoker, hope to see you tomorrow, enjoyed my wee day out in August and the chat we had in the Clutha.”
Ditto!
Sorry, mate, no can do, family problems.
Thanks for the ‘Yes2’ badge btw, stuck it straight onto my Saltire patch on my hat as soon as i got back home and there it’ll stay. Hope you all have a great day tomorrow, the fight rumbles on!
Stay safe troops!
Here’s one for the Haters and Hothersalls, Fearties and Fannies (not that they’ll ever see this, or ‘get’ it anyroad…)
Massive Attack, ‘Unfinished Sympathy’ –
Another one for those who see us as typical bleedin’-heart lefty usual suspects. It’s a song all about not wanting to know about ‘evil’, only wanting to know about ‘love’.
Does that make us ‘hippies’?
Does this sound like the work of ‘hippies’?
Listen (and watch) carefully, haters…
John Martyn, ‘Don’t Want To Know’ –
Anyone needing transport between fife and glasgow tomorrow leave me word here. room for 2 maybe 3.
I’m so sorry I missed most of HOF but a little traffic tailback wasn’t going to stop me being there I made it with just enough time.
To all the Wingers who once again worked their collective asses off to raise funds that will feed people, thanks, you are true heroes and it was great to see you again. Same time nxt week in Edinburgh, looking fwd to it.
When does the AGB do kick off? Thanks.
What a buzz, seeing all the ‘old’ faces and meeting some new ones.
Won’t even attempt a name-check as I’ll just make an arse of it, but what a showing that was by the Wingers today – in time we’ll arrive at a definite number, but by my reckoning there must have been at least 20 of us there, and not far off that number present between, say, 1.30 – 2.30. A lot of us meeting for the first time.
(I heard tell the bold Kininvie was there, but didn’t clap eyes on him!)
Ye’s are pure braw by the way, so ye’s are…
Imagine how galling it must’ve been for the BBC to allow these people in as ‘performers’… and then tote-up what they’d necked in the Green Room.
The Pogues and Dubliners, on Top of The Pops, in 1987 –
Glad you all had fun today.
I watched it on livestream, thanks,
Kev.
@cearc –
Bummer you weren’t there, you’d’ve loved it, especially seeing all the ‘new’ faces.
Hope all’s well with you and the wee birdies.
Hoots, cheers, and love
XXX
Back from a sooopah day at Freedom Square with wonderful Wingers popping out of the leaden skies like clouds of midgies.
No hairy string on show – Lots of silver duck tape and tie wraps to secure flagpoles and passing dusky maidens. [Oooh Paula!]
Thanks to all and esp. Finlay for driving us to/from Glasgow.
I have loads of photos but will post them somewhere accessible in the morning. Ronnie kept me in order with his beady eye while the other eye was checking out ne’er do wells.
Thanks guy and gals.
Made it!
Braw day, slightly the worse for wear.
So glad I made and such a good day meeting so many Wingers I hadn’t met before that I had long wished to meet. Especially Nana, Al and the Macintoshes.
Big thanks to Finley for the list down. Wouldn’t have made it otherwise.
See you all soon
Loce you all.
ok a bunch of photos to upload to a suitable website. Any recommendations?
@ Archie [not Erchie] The Glesga sunshine must hiv byled your heid. You & Findlay were Be-Knighted by the fair hand of Paula Rose who was appointed the Custodian of the Curly Hairy String.
Hiv you caught any Black Widows lately ( an thats another story for the annuals of the Wingers get togthers)lol.
@ Ronnie – Aye the Black Widow who didnt deny assisting her husband’s demise. 🙂
Paula kept us entertained with SKA/Punk music on the way up North. Whit a groover mover she is!
Heres the link for my photos from yesterday. No names
link to flic.kr
@ Cearc 11.02 Be Alert there that wummin.
The Erse we were under wiz sir Walter Scotts ,we hiv enough tae cairy tae these events, an a Fortyfit ladders ah no go, an he,s no oan ah horse oonyhow.LOL XXX.
@ Archie [not erchie] Nice photo,s ,name that manny giving hugs 16th photo lol,ah got caught out in Indroducing Wingers ah forgot his name.
@ Ronnie – 16th photo is JLT greetin on Nana’s shoulder.
Hello Archie [not Erchie], is it OK if I put a link to your photos on my Twitter page?
I’d be good if more people get the chance to see them, especially since the Scottish media (yeah, I’m looking at YOU, Auntie Beeb!) are doing their best to ignore the rally.
You can see why the MSM really dislike these events, because they show ordinary people having fun, no hate-filled ‘Cybernats’ in view. Nothing for the MSM to show as .vile separatists’. Just ordinary people who want to live in an ordinary country, their own country.
The second photo is a great pic of the whole crowd filling the square. I also like the pic of the monument that has been stickered, I just hope Ian Murray MP doesn’t have nightmares if he sees it!
Ronnie,
Yep, me being dopey. It must have been the delirium of sucessfully getting my last incubator hatchlings fobbed off on a hen with a week old brood. She seemed delighted that her four chicks had turned into 8 and a duckling overnight.
PS. I wouldn’t expect you to kiss Scott’s arse even if it were on the ground!
Well, here’s what we can remember from the HOF rally.
Wingers who made themselves known:
Ronnie Anderson
Briandoonthetoon
Pete the camera
Caz-M
Kininvie
Ian Brotherhood
JLT
Paula Rose
Finlay
Archie (not Erchie)
X_Sticks
Wee Ginger Dug
Kendomacaroonbar
Taranaich
Geraldine
Moidart
Quinie fae Angus
Cactus
Gillian
Nana Smith
Hevvabeccywoss
Indigo
Effie
Bob Sinclair
Jim Thomson
Betty Boop
Sand
Lanarkist
Irene King
John King
Tinto Chjel
Dorothy
Castlemilk Chavy
Effigy
Del (IndLive)
Thistle
Sonia (Dundee) plus sister and husband
So, at least 39 Wingers. If I have left anyone off the list (worse than being on the list!!!)’ apologies and please feel free to add names.
Ain’t we smashin’. Thanks all for a great and successful day. Loved it.
It was good to meet up at the Wings Embassy yesterday and my apologies that I wasnt able to stick around longer.
My Father, Ronnie, gave me a vigoursly quick rub down with a broken Newkie Broon screwtop this afternoon for neglecting my duties, and stipulated that I wear the That’sMeTelt badge of shame for 24 hours 🙂
Nana Smith, can you send me your e mail address please to kenmcdonald1(at)btopenworld(dot)com
Sorry, forgot:
Jock Scot
Ninja Penguin
Norman Smith (Nana’s husband)
So, 42 is the latest tally.
Martyn in da’s hoose
Yer oan the list too!
Up to 43 fabulous Wingers
@ David – Please feel free to link to the photos. The more folk see that we are just normal people [apart from Ronnie] the better 😉
Hi Betty Boop.
Add Croompenstein to your list – and Hoss Macintosh and Alan Macintosh.
BTW: “Castlemilk Chavy” is actually Castlehills Chavie.
Darlings – fabulous meeting so many of you yesterday and grateful thanks to Archie [not Erchie] and Finlay for getting me there and safely home.
For those of you who missed it the first time (Ian Brotherhood) here is the proof that John McTernan is worth every penny. A certain Ukist blog was unavailable from twitter a while back…
link to twitter.com
@ Bdtt
Thanks Brian.
That makes 46!
Apologies Chavie. I did know it was Castlehills, but, it’s the day after the night before and I accidentally miscalled your name.
We’re still fabulous 🙂
BTW: what happened AFTER you lot left for The Clutha…
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Hi All
I reckon there were at least 49 Wingers as there are at least three missing from ‘the List’ ( proud to be on that one as well as the MFI one)
Below is a wee ‘after gig’ video from the Clutha with my apologies for the crap post-production which I couldn’t be ersed doing..lazy I know but lack of sleep and the wish to put this out a.s.a.p is my excuse. It’s on the YEW CHOOB supplemental channel but is unlisted as I thought we limit it to the ‘family’
With reference to having lost ‘Ronnie’s erse shot’ in the first video..I’ve just found it but will only ‘go public’ if Ronnie consents or there is so much of an outcry that the material is released under an FOI request.
Also..many thanks to the Yes Rutherglen Wingers who invited me to their Shindig the previous evening and for providing a bed for a travelling CHOOBER.X
From Jock’s video, for the list, I offer ‘Triangular Ears’.
@ Archie [not Erchie], thanks!
For me, social media is excellent, because I am outside the UK and yet I can keep connected to what is really happening in Scotland through articles, pics, etc. put online by Wingers.
I keep in touch with what is being spun as the news in Scotland by reading the MSM. 🙂
Hi Crazycat.
You got definite names for your +2 for name badges for next Saturday’s Embra get-together?
Anyone else going next week: if you want a name badge, do a post with the name you want on the badge in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), if you haven’t done so already.
All badge requests have to be in by 11.59pm on Wednesday, 23rd September.
Hi David.
You could find this link of interest:-
link to dundee3js.freeforums.org
Once the thread gets going, most of the input is from me (specially since September 2013); most of the comments are from ex-pats.
Brian,
Can you add me to your badge list. Thanks.
Well that’s us back home after a hectic weekend. Wonderful meeting all the beautiful wingers. Paula Rose, how you manage to walk on those heels, well I’m soooo jealous!
And Finlay you stood me up, but I will forgive as you were in good company. Ronnie and everyone I missed saying cheerio to you as we got waylaid by friends and ended up going for a meal.
For Paula link to youtube.com
and for everyone else with much love
Nana Smith Thank you honey, I’m sure I speak for many when I say that meeting you was a highlight of the day.
Hi Bob Sinclair.
Yirran affie man, iye?
Yi turn up at Geordie’s Square as the curtains are being drawn (not painted), then you do a post here that should have been in Quarantine.
What are you like? Your badge name noted onnyhoo…
8=)
Hi Tinto Cheil.
RE: our short blether about St Andrew, yesterday in George Square.
You will probably find this link of interest:-
link to retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk
Click on each of the graphics to get the larger, readable version. You may also find the BTL comments educational and amusing.
——————————————
For those of you who enjoyed Dundee’s ‘Twa Tenors’ yesterday – they’ll be on stage at the rally in Dundee on 4th October.
This is for Jim T and Betty Boop…
@ cearc talking aboot erses, the Clutha vidio by Yew Choob Jock Scott,you,ll need tae watch the directors cut & Happy Birthday tae the wee chookie hens N duck xx.
@ Archie [no erchie] thats the fulla JTL lol ,hi JTL.An whit dey U mean normal people except Ronnie,is it the wie ah walk,explain yerself Mr ,an nae refferences tae Cearc wee Duck lol. An U better watch oot ah could be in a place near U soon lol.
@ Betty Boop You missed oot NinjaP,s Husband & Son.
@ Nana Kevin/Delboy (livestream) got the plaque & said thanks muchly,ah never even got ah keek at them, Hi Norman.
Hi peeps.
I took a wee tickie snaps yesterday. You can see them here:-
link to sites.google.com
I saw Paula Rose attempting to conceal the hairy string in her cleavage, but she surreptitiously removed it shortly thereafter as it was too itchy.
Great to see the list above – more than 40 Wingers? 🙂
JLT – how did I miss you? 🙁
Best Dressed Winger of the Day (Male) – Taranaich
(No other awards are being made as no-one else has been nominated in any other categories.)
An another name missed from the Sat list Graeme Doig.
@Nana Smith
I’m so sorry! I got myself into an interesting discussion with Ian Brotherhood and Taranaich and it’s a crime to prematurely leave a stimulating conversation!
I thought I’d be getting a free lunch from Paula this weekend but I think it is I who owes you a free lunch now. Damn. Oh well! There aren’t many people who I’d rather spend lunch with than yourself. Maybe the gorgeous Paula Rose. 😉
Lovely meeting you and Norman and I hope we can all make the event on October 24th so I may repent!
@Ian Brotherhood and Taranaich
Pleasure to meet you two, there are not many people who can produce a powerful enough chat to make a man miss lunch with Nana Smith!
@Ed Winchester Doonthetoon
A one off change of pseudonym – especially for you. 😛
@Archie[Not Erchie], X-Sticks and Paula Rose
Pleasure driving down with you guys, thanks for the tunes Paula and thanks for keeping me awake on the road back Archie!
Pity you had to leave so soon X-Sticks however the quality of your company more than exceeded the quantity.
A momentous honour to have been stroked by the stunning Paula Rose (and to have my beard fondled by a random passer-by; a Paula Rose wannabe?).
@Jock Scot
I don’t know why I was so sleepy driving home… perhaps one or two of the anecdotes were a tad too much for me… A bridge too far! 😉 Hope you found a suitable Ronnie approved receptacle for your snotty Jura!
@Ronnie
What a cheeky fellow! Great craic. Especially loved the story of your silver-tongued flag flipping. I hope everyone is o’er the moon today. Perhaps Pete can make you a flashy new badge! 😉
@All the Wingers I met yesterday
What a day! My absolute pleasure meeting the Wings Family and experiencing yesterdays event. Some memories to last a lifetime!
Shame I couldn’t get enough time with some of you, will need to meet up again soon.
If a cause can be measured by the quality of its participants then I think you guys and girls raise the bar higher than Jim Murphy in a glue factory!
All of my love.
Finlay
@Ian Brotherhood
I have a nomination for Best Undressed Winger of the Day (Male).
Oh slap ma face wie ah wet haddie, how could I miss Jan / Patrician & Gerry Parker,sos gerry ah never got over tae speak tae U.
53 Wingers !!! with all those recently added, ie
Triangular Ears,
Ninja P’s husband and son,
Graeme Doig
Gerry Parker
Jan
Patrician
I know we had some lurkers too, but, no idea how many 🙂
Any more bids?
Apologies to anybody missed and Gerry, didn’t see you there – I must have been waving the iScots about and shouting about the new Scottish media.
Incredible – Even more fabulous.
I made a big post earlier which hasn’t appeared and I didn’t save it. If it doesn’t appear by tomorrow I’ll rewrite. 🙁
Loved meeting Wingers auld and new.
X-Sticks, sorry I missed you, though. Next time, maybe.
Finlay, you have a nomination for the most Selfless Winger of the day.
And also Quinie most definitely Finlay is the handsomist young man ever to sport a beard – swoon!
Oh definitely, Paula – he is indeed. I could tell you were sweet on him! You’re one very lucky lady, getting a ride from him all the way up the Angus glens.
I look forward to hearing all the juicy details.
@ Finlay You were welcomed by all the Wingers yesterday, now welcome to the bain of Wings, GCHQ interception your lost post goes via Cheltenham lol.
Quinie honey – you know that old joke about “what’s worn under the kilt? Nothing – it’s all in perfect working order”? In Archie [not Erchie]‘s case – that is soooo true!
Gordon Bennett!
Paula Rose does Spike Milligan!
And as for Quinie frae Angus at 10.32?!
Carry On Wings!
O) 😉 🙂
@yesindyref2
Can you dm me at ken@iscot.scot please ? cheers
Well Paula, I am not surprised. Archie kindly walked me down the road from the Square to the Clutha and I was most impressed at the way his kilt was swinging, this way and that.
I am now most intrigued and look forward to hearing more.
@Ronnie
Is it ever coming back? Best post I’ve ever written! Maybe it is sitting in a box next to Lanarkist’s massive Mi5 file.
I’m not long back from work. I don’t have the mental capacity left to rewrite it again tonight and I have to get up for work again in about 5 hours. 🙁
@Quinie frae Angus
If nominated I’ll decline. If drafted I’ll defer. And if elected I’ll resign. 😛
@Paula Rose
That random lassie in front of the Wings embassy certainly seemed to think so. Stroked not only by your lovely self but also by the Glasgow general public!
@Finlay (10.00) –
‘I made a big post earlier..’
Awww man, please don’t encourage them, eh? 🙁
@Ian Brotherhood
You know what they say about lads with big posts…
Sore fingers…
link to bbc.co.uk
Lib Dems invite Labour to play Tory with them?
So many big posts here tonight!
Well I’m knackered. Off to bed. Might take a leaf out of David Cameron’s book and count pigs instead of sheep. 😉
@ Quinie frae Angus – You wee sneek. You were looking at my kilt swing? I was lookin at your thigh [ok dreaming] length boots nah nah nah. Little did you know mah boxers were dropping rapidly. 🙂
Not easy to repair in public.
Never happier to get to Clutha and restore posterior posture before our reputations destroyed. 🙂
Here’s a double-header, for Paula and Quinie –
Suzi Quatro & Bonnie Tyler –
When I think of any of you…
@ Brian Doonthetoon , thanks for the link to the forum. I’ll be reading that later, but tonight I’ve been busy reading Twitter about the exploits of David ‘Long Pig’ Cameron. Haven’t laughed this much in ages!
And on the plus side for Indy, the Daily Mail revelations about Cameron’s interspecies shenanigans must be worth another 2% onto the Yes side’s vote.
The craziest thing for me was how strangely forgiving of Cameron’s behavior the Mail commentators are! Eg:
“So what?! Good for him, enjoying his student years.”
“God it was the 80s and Cameron’s from an upper middle class background. Can’t stand all this holier than thou nonsense!”
“I actually think this article just makes Cameron look like a normal bloke with lots of money at Oxford”
Link to original article for those who don’t do Twitter:
link to dailymail.co.uk
Here is the archive version of the same article:
link to archive.is
That may explain Miliband’s reluctance to eat a bacon piece…
Thanks for all the photos and video from Saturday.
Glad I made the effort.
Sorry I missed you Quinie, as you say, next time x
*note to self “don’t post when pissed” 😀
Wings gets a mention in The National today.
link to archive.is
Hi Finlay.
Your post has appeared above. It, most likely, went into Rev Stu’s manual moderation queue, because of the change of username.
BTW: I’ve no idea where “Hector” came from!
8=)
————————————————
Hi Jock Scot (and others).
You can see (as long as you don’t blink) Ed Winchester, right at the start of this clip, twice, then just before the end. It’s Part 1 of the uploaded Series 1, Episode 1, of “The Fast Show.
If your appetite is whetted, he appears again in Part 2. If you do watch Part 2, doesn’t Professor Denzil Dexter look like a pi$$take of Neil Oliver? Watch the way he flicks his hair. Prescient stuff…
Hello, sorry to have missed you all on Saturday been busy serving the missus and debt collectors.
Got something different for you, a little known 10 minute video of a Scottish mountain climber on a trip abroad, though film starts in Scotland. It’s called “Project Fear” and is from September last year, wonder where Dave might have got the name from?
I’m so proud of the potential that Scotland has, we might be wee but we punch well above our weight :). I’ll leave this here but I do have another more exciting story that’s now a week old yet but have not seen it mentioned on Wings.
Be right back 🙂
Which Scottish man has won an Olympic Gold medal, has been top of his profession for the last two years and recently achieved something never done before by any other?
He won a million euro last week by winning straight off the top 3 grand prix horse jumping races in the world. He’s from Fife and another world class Scot in my view.
Remember hearing all about his success last week on the telly? No neither did I. Here is a snippet of what it meant.
Funny that the Canadian crowd knew what it meant, we heard fuck all as usual.
@ BrianDTT 3.47 Ma wee Pal from Court of Sessions Greg Russell of the National.
Just read the Constitutional Wrangle for dummies post from 2012
“….and lo it came to pass”
well done Stu
Hi all a wee update on the badge donation money it was £1000 and I have already dropped the cheque for £500 off at the Taught by Muhammad food bank in Dundee will arrange with Ronnie A to get the cheque to Maryhill this thursday
Thanks to all that donated hope you enjoy your badges
@pete
Sterling effort Pete and a fantastic result. That was some stint you put in on the badge stall. I hope they bought you a pint when you eventually got to the Clutha. Beers on me next Saturday 😀
@pete the camera
Phenomenal! Well done Pete and BDTT very impressed, fills my wee Dundee heart with pride 🙂
@BrianDTT.
Thanks for all the stuff on Andy Pelc, Brian. Much appreciated. Comments below the line duly noted!
I don’t visit O/T very often. Usually tucked up with my Horlicks and Willie Pettigrew Special Edition Lounging Silks at this hour.
Met Paula Rose on Sats: those heels!
Wow!
Just, wow!
Tartan Tory you have competition in the hunky leather stakes – Tinto Chiel swoon.
@ pete the camera Wow ah thought by weight & bucket nearly full but £1000 + the £165 for iScot , days & nights oot dont come any better.
Paula Rose:
Aw, shucks!
Can’t speak…
Except: could you manage Motherwell FC? There’s fifteen men at least who need to be dominated…
I went to a footie match once – a cup final Motherwell won 4-3.
@Paula Rose
Bastard, worse day of my life but great game.
@ ronnie – Thats the first time I ever lifted [a wee bit] £1000 in a bucket. Great news and all credit to BDTT for his unflappable demeanour.
@ BDTT – Thanks for giving the wee boy in the wheelchair those extra badges. That made my day special. His Mum was over the moon.
Rushing round country giving strokes – no idea why.
Hullo?
At last. What is it with this site lately?
Sorry to have missed you all at the Square, defo see you in Edinburgh.
Just thought I’d stick my head round the door and say hello.
Fantastic collection on Saturday, I love my new badges. The “special” one will be kept close to my heart.
Missed George Square, see you all in George Street.
@Conan the Librarian
Will see you there too mister.
@ pete the camera
As you know, I tried lifting that bucket with my good arm on Saturday. It didn’t budge much and everybody knows I’ve got muscles.
Sterling effort from you and Brian. It was a bit like a scene from “Field of Dreams”; you know, build it and they will come. It was still early and there was only a small crowd, but, Pete arrived, had barely sat down and he was surrounded. Wings right enough, they were like moths to a candle.
Fantastic, the food banks will be pleased.
@Conan
Look forward to seeing you in Edinburgh.
Your round I think 😀
Repost from 10th September…
Hi peeps.
Re the Edinburgh get-together on 26th September.
If you’re intending going to the get-together and want a badge with your name on it, do a post in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), stating what name you want on the badge.
You have until 11.59pm on Wednesday, 23rd September, to order your badge. There is no charge; however I will point out that when in Wetherspoons, I tend to like a bottle of Tsing Tao or a pint of Orkney Dark Island, if they have it, and Pete the Camera is partial to Irn-Bru (full fat).
8=)
Hi Simone honey – lovely to meet you in the Square.
Oh btw if anyone’s come looking for quarantine it’s under me and to the left.
I’ll take a badge, Brian!
My latest blog isn’t directly related to Scottish politics, but the similarities between gamergaters/rabid puppies are striking, as evidenced by the comments:
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
Figures this’d be ridiculously popular (500 hits in the past hour, more than half from one blog)
Och Taranaich.
See you peeps who don’t follow instructions?
I’ve just posted this in Quarantine…
Right, that’s the line drawn.
If you haven’t already requested a badge, you’ll have to write your name on a blank on Saturday.
That’s all folks!
Because I checked Quarantine first, you’ve just sneaked in, Taranaich. Will you be wearing your George Square jeans and t-shirt again on Saturday?
8=)
Oh damn, sorry, I thought Quarantine and Off-Topic were the same! Yes, I hope to be wearing the same, more or less.
Ok folks, who’s getting the train from Glasgow on Saturday?
Hi guys, great to see so many faces at George Sq and hope to meet more at George St!
I’m planning to get the train at around 3 or 4pm with Hevvabeccywoss and Cactus – details to be finalized, so it would be cool if we could arrange to travel east with a few more Wingers!
(coming back on the last train too)
I’ll check back in tomorrow to see if it’s doable 🙂
@Tjenny
Are you coming along tomorrow? Didn’t see your name on the badge list.
3 – 40m at that railway station opposite freedom Sq which needs a new name.
Fair warning – I’ve been swotting all week, am just about to get a kerry-oot, and will be going into full-on Disco/Funk mode from approx. 8.30 onwards.
If any of you have designs on the O/T 14k spot, you’d best be ready – we really wanna see those fingers!
Do you really want to be removed from my Christmas card list Ian honey?
Fracking demos? That’s a bit extreme.
@Ian Brotherhood
Thought I’d jump in and beat you to the kick off.
Born To Be Alive – Patrick Hernandez
@Thepnr –
Hmm. Yeah. Nice opener brother.
Before we go any further, I think many of us would both benefit from studying this short instructional video:
haha That gut learnt everyone of his great moves from me 🙂
Gut?
IB try this
mine’s a double
Oh wasn’t a German video then 🙂 guy I meant guy.
Here’s a guy. Van McCoy – The Hustle
Here’s Ottawan, with D.I.S.C.O. –
There was an obscene version of this, sung entirely in Glaswegian (by a tribute ‘band’ called ‘Thearrawan’) all about the attributes of the singer’s girlfriend. Thankfully, no copies of it exist.
SWMBO says I got it wrong. Serves me right for lurking over her shooder for 2 years.
Anyway take a look at
I am going to Stomp right in here with a bit of Bliss. link to youtube.com
This is for Nana Smith and her man. What a pleasure it was meeting you both last week.
No particular reason for picking this track, other than it makes me smile, as youse did. (Nana – if you see this, please ask yer man why that Alsatian was barking…)
Eruption, ‘One Way Ticket’ –
@Ian Brotherhood
Pleasure was all ours Ian and here’s me on the way to the rally last Saturday…well a girl can dream!
Hubby says he can’t remember a particular Alsatian , mind you he did disappear for refreshments a couple of times.
Here’s the song he’s singing at the moment and he says cheers!
This is for Quinie Frae Angus, who I never ever EVER get a proper chance to talk to because there are always too many ‘babe-magnets’ around. 🙁
Blondie, ‘Heart of Glass’ –
@Michael McCabe
Hope you can make it to George St tomorrow. This one is a killer Disco tune. Amii Stewart – Knock On Wood
Very similar opening in the video to IB’s Ottawan video.
And this one’s for the bold Finlay.
Finlay, brother, ye come across as a mild-mannered sort, but, as discussed last week (when you were telling me about some of the folk you have to work with) there’s sometimes no option but to tell them to just ‘gettaefuck!’.
Great meeting you mister. Here’s to next time.
Slainte!
The Pretenders, ‘Chain Gang’ (live) –
@ Thepnr Will definitely be at George St. Tomorrow. Really looking forward to it. Ain’t Nobody Chaka Khan link to youtube.com
Two bands for the price of one. Ya Dancer. link to youtube.com
Hiya folks, tomorrow afternoon Cactus, Heather and I will be meeting in the wetherspoons under queen street station (I think it’s called camperdown?) at 4pm with a view to getting a train to Edinburgh at 5pm.
If anyone cares to join us for a bite to eat or a pre-train drink you’d be most welcome.
@Ian, loving the Friday night tunes man, you have excellent taste 🙂
This is for all the Wingers who didn’t have the pleasure of meeting me last week. 🙁
Edwin Starr, ‘Contact’ (Soul Train Line, 1979) –
This is for…who else could it be?…sartorial superlatives embodied, a la Monsieur Taranaich:
Chic, ‘Le Freak’ (Soul Train)-
To Ian Brotherhood
Thanks so much for the song and the compliment! As you can imagine, I am indeed a Blondie fan and love that tune.
And we will have our day to catch up and chin-wag.
But alas, I am afraid I will NOT now be able to make it to the do tomorrow night, much as I had hoped to do so.
It turns out my pals have arranged tickets and accommodation for the Inverurie Beer Festival which I had clean forgotten all about. Friends from Canada I haven’t seen for ages will be there as well so I need to make the effort and go. Plus I need to give someone back a tent I borrowed as they need it for the night’s kip.
I am so torn. Love ma Wingers!!! Will miss you and hope I can come to the next thing.
Turning into a bit of a party night. Enjoying the fun. One of my favorite songs though from the Indy campaign was this.
O’Jays – Back Stabbers
@Nana –
Your man and I were watching the proceedings onstage, and a large dog started going off on one, just to the right of us, really letting-rip, and a lot of folk turned to watch, concerned, but there was no other dog around, and no small weans.
It was yer man who worked out what the dog was barking at – a kilted guy’s sporran! Seriously. That’s what we were laughing about, if you didn’t notice.
He doesn’t remember?! I’m sure the dog’s owner and kilt-wearer will, although the sporran probably won’t.
@Ian Brotherhood
Yes he remembered after I posted. I must have been blethering with someone during that commotion.
The poor man I hope he and his sporran have recovered, geez he must have been embarrassed.
This one for all wingers and yes voters.
And this is for whoever feels like proposing to someone, but is maybe stuck for a cool tune…
Al Green, ‘Let’s Get Married’ –
@Nana Smith
Great tunes Nana, will have to wait for the next time before we can meet. Meantime thanks for the music and the posts 🙂
This is a video that I first saw posted by Ian B, playing it again because many will have missed it first time on Off Topic and it still brings a lump to my throat.
@Thepnr
Bound to meet up sometime Alex. Love that video, sent it to friends in Mississippi when I first saw it here and my pals loved it also.
Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes, ‘Don’t Leave Me This Way’
As y’all know, the vocalist on this was Terry Pendergrass, who died too young, just 59.
Please also note that this is the ’12-incher’ (approx. 12 mins) which means you have time to start the song, finish that drink, and the slice of pizza, and STILL have loads of dancing time…
Have fun the morrow.
Shame I couldn’t make it.
@Nana Smith
Sharper than a pointy stick. Love it 🙂
@cearc
Sorry to hear you won’t make it. Will see you next time in Wings over Ullapool, we will reach there eventually 🙂
I pray we all live long enough to get the chance to dance like this, with all our neighbours, and daddy/grandma dancing will also be allowed, nae borra in the new Scotland.
Dance like you believe it’s gonna happen, right?
James Brown, Get Up Offa That Thing (Soul Train) –
Here’s a rock song from the 80’s, which is how I continue to feel about Scotland regaining her rightful independence. My first ever post on da Wings featured the two words, “contained euphoria”… that remains the same:
Def Leppard – Excitable
Enjoy the video!
Also, has anyone passed by the Gallery of Modern Art (GoMA) in Glasgow at night time recently?
There are now a selection of red neon lights on the front of the listed building, of which some appear to be beaming out curious/strange wording.. make up your own mind, but the three that jumped out at me say:
We love alcohol
We love failure
We love the highland clearances
WTF??? No likey 🙁
Anyways, see yee’s all at the Camperdown bar later on this afternoon Glasgow, cheers for the now 🙂
That’s Betty and me in Embra. We’re having a wee coffee at the gallery end of Princes Street
Now down at Holyrood – disappointing turn out.
Hi everyone, that’s me, Cactus and Gillian Rugloanian arrived in Edinburgh. Nipped into to Black Bull but should arrive at our venue soon. Who’s about? See you soon xxx
Assembling at rear of establishment. Gradually taking possession of tables.
Missing but loving you all – esp that Gillian R. Have a nice night.
Hoots tae y’all in Edinburgh.
Sink one for me, eh?
Hoots and slainte! 🙂
Mine’s a wee malt.
slainte.
Last night was just a warm-up…
This is for the bold Lanarkist, a man on a mission. Great seeing ye last week mister. Hope it’s not so long before we get a chance for a jar or twa, or perhaps some strawberry whisky? Hope the heid was alright Sunday. 😉
Big Country, ‘Field Of Fire’ (live) –
This one’s for Gillian R and the Rutherglen ‘Aye’ buddies. Suppose I should really be digging out some Simple Minds, eh? but here’s another Soo-side outfit:
Altered Images, ‘Jeepster’ –
Scott Wood Band, ‘Sheep Running About’ –
Whatever youse are doing in Edinburgh, make sure youse make time to do a bit of this…
Still Game, ‘The Slosh’ –
Aw, FFS, were is a’body? 🙁
It’s feeling like this:
Leo Sayer, ‘One Man Band’ –
No naked lights please…too many combustible mullets present.
Elton John, ‘I’m Still Standing’ (live, 1984-ish)
Ach, right then, get it right up ye’s all…
Team America, ‘I’m So Ronery’ –
I’m here (on and off).
Keep up the good work.
Radiohead, ‘Bodysnatchers’ (Jools Holland) –
@cearc –
I picture you in some Highland idyll, watching over yer fledgelings, and it reminds me of this:
Van Morrison, ‘I’m Tired Joey Boy’ –
Norah Jones ft Wyclef Jean – Any other day
@ Ian Brotherhood 10.27pm Cmon noo Ian huv you ever been in ah Witherspoons oan a Saterday Night lol, the only Slosh thats done is Sloshin it doon the neck .
@Ian B
I did try a few times to post stuff but the WiFi and 4G networks were significantly absent. Bloody awful in-house coverage.
Quite a few new faces for me to annoy and I even won a raffle prize! It will take pride of place alongside my portrait of a partially clothed Tory PM.
@Jim Thomson
Did you remember to pass on to Ronnie the package I left in your care during the rally. If you recall it was to be given last night at the wingers night out.
Great night last night at Wetherspoon’s and a pleasure to meet old and new friends. And like Jim, I too won a raffle prize. Mrs Dram throughly enjoyed the evening as did my old yes pentlands chum
Lindsay.
Best regards
Dram
@ Nana Smith
Hi Nana, Jim did indeed pass on your gift to Ronnie. I am sure he will be in touch.
It was much admired for the beautiful object it is. Well done – everyone loved it.
Sorry you couldn’t be there. It was a very good night.
@Betty Boop
Good to know. Did not get a chance to say cheerio to you at the rally, got caught up elsewhere. It was just great meeting you and Jim and hope to catch up another time.
Phillip Glass, ‘Invitation’, score to The Fog of War –
@ Thepnr Great meeting up with you again last night. Already looking forward to the next time. link to youtube.com
I met Someone last night who asked me to put this song on here. So Maggie Campbell this one is for You. link to youtube.com
The Pogues, ‘Battle March Medley’
From some sporting fixture last night, featuring a funny-shaped ball and loads of deranged Welsh people:
@Michael McCabe
That was magnificent, can’t possibly compete with that so I won’t even try. Give my regards to Lynn.
Looking like the 14kth comment here may also be the 465kth comment overall…
Is that a pair of high heels clacking nearer?
Shang-a-lang, ya bass!
Right, fess-up – who’s got a ticket?
Hey all you lovely Wingers
Very sorry I missed last night’s do.
When’s the next one???
Liquid Gold – Dance Yourself Dizzy
@Quinie frae Angus –
Don’t know exactly when, but isn’t the next one in Brechin?
Hi Quinie.
You have pre-empted me. The next Wings get-together is Invergowrie on 24th October – and I was gonna do a post, collating all the questions for info from last night, and all the travel opportunities to Invergowrie, and so on.
Looks like if you are coming, the best thing is to book accommodation, because the last trains to Edinburgh and Glasgow leave Dundee around 10.30. The buses aren’t much better.
More info will follow tomorrow…
However, the next public Wings presence will be at the Dundee City Square rally next Sunday, 4th October. The Bikers For Yes are putting together a convoy from Strathclyde Park, to Queensferry, then up to Dundee.
Here’s the graphic that tells you what’s organised, so far…
link to sites.google.com
Also, ‘Hope Over Fear’ are putting on two 50-seater buses from George Square Glasgow to Dundee (and return) free of charge for the 4th October rally.
See this Facebook page for further info. Seats have to be booked by FB PM. Gail Morrow is taking the bookings.
link to facebook.com
See you there?
Here’s a wee historical oddity to kick-off a new page:
Jim Garrison (the dude played by Kevin Costner) on NBC re the JFK assassination.
Curious to know – anyone seen this before?
Thank you all for a great night!!
Crazycat, thank you for recognising us straight away! Really enjoyed talking to you and hope you got home safely =)
Ronnie, thank you for introducing us to all these famous Wingers! And for making us so welcome =) Thank you Pete the Camera(did I get that right?)for the lovely badges!
A ‘stroke’ form Paula Rose…heaven =) And a badge to keep for my grandchildren!
AND ‘strawed’ by Jock Scot! (it’s his new craze!)
Great chats and good times! Hey there X Sicks,Catus, Heather,Thepnr,Briandoonthetoon and son,Lyn,Tam Jardine,Maggie and Bettyboop and the lovely folk who’s names I didn’t catch!
Can we do this again soon please!? =)
Ian Brotherhood says:
@Quinie frae Angus –
Don’t know exactly when, but isn’t the next one in Brechin?
Funny you should say that, stranger things have happened and coincidentally I was talking to a well known winger today….
Great to meet fellow wingers in Edinburgh last night. Hope you all got home safely!
@Thepnr –
I was only joshing, but hey, curiouser and curiouser, who knows indeed?
One of these days I may announce a getthegither in The Three Towns – if I build it they will come…or they may choose not to. 🙂
Hi John King & Capella.
“Four Yorkshiremen”
It was actually a pre Monty Python sketch, from the TV show “At Last The 1948 Show”, starring Tim Brooke-Taylor, John Cleese, Graham Chapman and Marty Feldman, from 1967. Aimi MacDonald provided the tottie interest.
Here’s the original.
link to en.wikipedia.org
Cheers for having us Edinburgh, great to be with you all again, braw times 🙂
Congrats aussi to Monsieur Doonthetoon on winning top spot.
(see above)
@Lanarkist
what night is the regular meeting in the Bellrock?
Betty and I will be there over the next couple of days (not in the pub ALL the time though 😉 )
Hi Jim, thanks for the heads up on the main thread.
Yes Social is on this Wed. Starting at 8pm.
Nice timing, be great to see you and welcome you in!
Thanks for the reminder Lanarkist. I couldn’t recall if it was Tues, Wed or Thurs.
I blame old age, and too many Wings nights out …
Random question about power generation – been out the loop a wee bit.
What does the demolishing and decommissioning of Longannet mean in real terms for Scotland’s ability to power itself? Do we currently provide a surplus to UK (for which we were paying a surcharge) or are we in a position that means we need to “buy” power from Ruk?
If we are in position of needing to “buy” power, how long will it be before we are able to be self sufficient? (on current plans, developments etc).
Looking at figures online, from 2008 to 2011, Scotland generated between 49,992 and 51,223 Gwh P.A. but used between 40,973 and 42,466 Gwh P.A. This made it a net exporter to England of between 7,998 and 11,597 Gwh P.A. (Gov.uk figures). Since Longannet produced approximately 9,525 Gwh P.A. (wikipedia), does that put us in the position of having to rely on power imports from Ruk or have we established enough green energy etc since 2011 to maintain a healthy surplus?
Is Longannets closure as simple as being an attempt to make us beholden to Ruk?
@Rigmac 7
Not sure if it helps but here’s the Scottish Govmnt pages on the topic
link to gov.scot
In terms of your final sentence, That seems to be the plan. All the crap about high carbon generation could have been mitigated if the UK gvmnt hadn’t pulled the plug on the Carbon Capture & Storage development plant that was going to be installed at Longannet.
Instead of the extra £500M that was needed to develop the technology, they decided to allocate that money elsewhere (can’t recall details atm, but I’m sure it was just another pre-planned nail in Longannet’s coffin.
@Jim Thomson
Thanks Jim, looks like we are pretty much self sufficient then on recent figures.
I’m guessing that the cuts in green energy subsidies by Ruk is simply another attack on a country which produced 16,974 Gwh in green energy in 2012.
I think the £500M was probably used for Anglo/Chino relations purposes in the funding of their shiny new nuclear power plant 🙂
Hello all,
I recently posted an article that isn’t really to do with Scottish independence, but linked to my past life as a Robert E. Howard scholar. Basically, the editor of a site I used to work for has come out as a supporter of a controversial author who, among other things, denounces women’s suffrage, women in the workplace, equal opportunities, gay rights, and other things. If you’ve ever encountered Gamergate or Rabid Puppies, you’ll know who they are.
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
A fairly large number of commenters came by. I hadn’t encountered most of them before. Most of them didn’t even go to the effort of reading the blog in favour of flinging non-sequiturs and accusations eerily similar to the lying, projecting and doubling-down they accuse their enemies of. I closed the comments, and they still come, because apparently refusing to give them a platform makes me a “coward” and not granting them their “right” to rant on my blog means I’m censoring them, and thus making me a “hypocrite.” I also notice that a lot of hits come from the author’s personal blog. They clearly have a greater interest in me than I do them.
The funny thing is, I’m sure a lot of people can see the similarities all trolls seem to exhibit: ad hominems galore, appeals to emotion, and all sorts of logical fallacies. It’s been a most educating experience.
But as I say on the blog, I’m used to much sterner stuff.
@Taranaich
Good for you Al. Stick to your guns. You have right on your side on that one.
Just out of interest is the sterner stuff a consequence of the referendum?
Can one be ‘O/T’ on ‘off-topic’?
I’ve just found out, via FB email notification, that ‘Hope Over Fear’ are increasing their free buses from George Square to Dundee on Sunday, to three 50-seaters.
Looks like it’d gonna be a busy day – and there WILL be a speaker from the SNP on stage.
See my earlier post:-
Here’s the update – note the change of departure location…
———————————————-
Change of plan for Sunday, HOPE OVER FEAR will now run three 50 seat coaches to Dundee Yes city, all departing Buchannan bus station 09.15am – Only 15 spaces left!!! Holytown will car share into Glasgow ><
Taranaigh @4.43pm
Oh gee whiz! Those trolls were an especialy dim bunch.
Even I got that it was about the blog owner speaking for all the members.
Vox Day’s thoughts sound vile. That Leo supported him speaks volumes.
They do not share your values.
Well done for standing your ground. (what X sticks said, wise man) That takes an emmense amount of courage, especialy when up until now you thought you were amongst like-minded folk and friends and colleagues. That hurts. But many came away with you, Again speaks volumes.
I always tell my sons to trust their instincts. You did. Well done pet.
@Taranaich
You know that you can selectively block trolls on WordPress?
Would that be a workable proposition?
It is indeed. Time was this sort of thing would upset me: I took everything deeply personally, and I always had that seed of doubt, wondering if they were right and I was wrong. The referendum experience makes such things look almost child’s play in comparison.
Thanks Ghillie. Truth be told it was four of us who collectively decided to make the stand, so I was not alone through this, though I am glad more people left than stayed given Leo’s behaviour, and of those remaining, one has passed away.
I wrestled with this for a bit. I admire the Rev’s zero-tolerance approach to trolls, but I always shied away from it, figuring that readers could make their own judgements. But the way I see it, I’m not stopping them from expressing themselves: I’m just not giving them the platform to do it. They can start their own blogs, or comment on others, and people can come to them.
I’m leaving the comments that have already been published, but I’m looking at various guidelines for abuse, and have decided just not to publish ones that contain personal attacks. “Repugnant fascist” that I am, apparently.
Hi Taranaich.
On the page where I offered the link to “Soldats De Robert Bruce”, I supplied another link, due to your interest in the first.
Don’t know if you saw it, because it was towards the end of that page’s activity.
Onnyhoo, here’s the follow-up again for you, in case you missed it.
link to maidofheaven.com
Brian, sorry, I did miss it: thanks very much! I knew about the Scots guard, but I always appreciate more detail & sources.
Good to meet Lanarkist again tonight. We might just have convinced a few others to have a gander at Wings, and we will be watching for their loss of wings’ virginity.
Voyeurism is what it’s all about 😉
*finishes filing nails and glances around*
QT tonight, a line was used to justify trident
‘A last line of defence’
Nuclear weapons are not defensive weapons, they are weapons of attack. If some psycho in charge of these weapons decides to use them then nothing you can do to stop that. All you can do is respond in kind.
NO winners
What news of Dundee on Sunday? Wings presence? I intend to attend but will wear mah breeks this time instead of the kilt. [Sorry Paula, Gillian, Quine frae Angus, Betty Boop, Nana, Heather, Morag, Shona, etc etc] 🙂
Thanks for all the birthday wishes last week – fair turned mah heid. Oh I hear you gasp? You all forgot? 🙂 I should have mentioned it but I am very shy.
Ok responses on a postcard please to Auchenshoogle House of Correction and Leather Lashes. Ouch!
@ianbrotherhood
I remember the ad fine.
I think it might have been one of the big banks. HSBC? Apologies if I’m havering.
@Lanarkist
just wondering how the lappy’s doing?
I’d suggest also uninstalling chrome and re-installing it but you need to strip out all the extras that are bolted on first to get rid of that unwanted thingy.
have a look at chrome settings (those three wee bars at top right) and in the menu on the left click on “Extensions” and see what comes up. Anything you don’t need/recognise … bin it.
@Archie – just for you (a wee bit late)
I’m going to Inverwotsit *skips around garden* I’m going to stay with my favourite Wingers!
@Carol Jardine –
One of the Wingers posted this on main thread earlier. Can you guess how long ago it was broadcast? 🙂
Hanson Trust Ad –
So many favourite Wingers btw xx
Hi Archie [not Erchie].
Yes, there will be a Wings presence in Dundee’s City (Indy) Square on Sunday. We will be assembled under Ronnie’s transportable shed.
Latest news…
SNP councillor Jimmy Black has pulled out as a speaker. However, SNP members Bob Costello (Team YES Bus) and Craig Murray will be saying a few words. Bob Servant was invited but, regretfully, had to decline, as he has a previous engagement at an awards ceremony in Edinburgh – something to do with cheeseburgers, I believe.
Trongate Rum Riots had to pull out for personal reasons but their place on the bill has been taken by The Howlin’ Wolves, an excellent Dundee band, who appeared on stage at the last rally on 9th May.
Lastly, the original YES Bus ‘The Dragon’ is aff work seek (broken spring) so its younger sibling, ‘The Phoenix’, will be at the square. The Dragon is a 92 seater; The Phoenix is a 91 seater.
Polishing my nails and checking off-topic to see if any handsome knights will be passing my door on Sunday en route to the other Yes city.
Wee bit of Scottish hip-hop. Sure I know this guy’s voice, from a band one of my pals was in years ago called Sentinalez.
Anyone know anything about this dude?
miSTAh bOhZE – Soul U Got Z?
Talk about a captive audience?
Johnny Cash, in San Quentin, ‘A Boy Named Sue’ –
Bliss – link to youtube.com
I think Sam Smith’s Bond song is bloody terrible. Can’t stand all that falsetto. A manly potter throwing a vase one minute, Grayson Perry in a frock the next.
There, I’ve said it.
Don’t care if it’s a runaway success in every territory on the planet except St Kilda. It’s so limp wristed.
*rolls up sleeves*
Was a sound engineer giving Smith a wedgie while he sang?
Lemar, ‘If There’s Any Justice In The World’ (acoustic) –
Finally I have to admit defeat – this pumice stone is now not fit for purpose.
Howdy, taking y’all through the night with some classic Bob Seger:
Thanks Jim and just for a fleeting second I was wishing it was Paula ainging.
@ Paula Rose – Sorry my dear, no car this time so I am coming to Dundee on the bus.
@Paula & Archie
Last minute as usual, but I’m probably going to take the car down to Dundee tomorrow. Anyone like a lift?
Yes please!
I wrote this novel (political black comedy) Something Went Bump back in 2006. Big-wig Tory comes up to Scotland intent on putting an end to the devolved Scottish Parliament. Suffice to say, things don’t quite go according to plan.
Here’s the book blurb:
And Here’s the book link (PDF format):
link to scottcreighton.co.uk
(Note: Not for the faint-hearted. Industrial language throughout).
Any feedback appreciated.
Enjoy.
Hi Proud Cybernat.
Thanks for the link. I actually downloaded the pdf earlier in the week, when you gave the link on one of the main pages.
Have read the preamble and am now at the start of “it started with a piss”…
8=)
Hi Jim, thanks for the advice. I will attempt what you suggest but fear it may be beyond my modest knowledge of the workings of tech.
So far however, the laptop is behaving itself and although not on chrome we haven’t seen the thing in a couple of days.
Will hopefully see some of you in Dundee tomorrow!
@ X-Sticks – Thanks for the offer but I am visiting friends after the rally. Paula will look after you 🙂 See you there. 🙂
Wingers heading to City Square tomorrow…
It would be great if you could get there around tennish, to help with setting up the gazebo and so on, for the Wings stall.
Will Podmore
Remember how I described hardcore Scottish Unionist as cargo-cult devotees, bamboozled by the ‘droppings’ of a foreign press and the cargo-cult science it fertilizes? I bet these punters would consider culturalism to be a creation of the devil. Which cultural lens would they using to view the evidence though?
link to horst-helle.de
#neverenoughsemiotics #oraxiologicalsignification
Have a great day in Dundee tomorrow off-topickers, aye be unable to attend, may the weather be with you.
Will Podmore
Does axiology as a science, provide a systematic methodology which unifies thought with reality? Note it avoids idealism and culturally contrived metaphysics.
link to hartmaninstitute.org
@ Brian DTT – Is that senior waistrel R.Anderson of the disappearing shed and dubious legal advice gonna be there?
I will endeavour to be there to help out.
@ Archie[not Erchie] whit dey you mean dubious legal advice, you goat it Pro Bono, ur you complainin about getting sumthing fur nuthin. Advice by appointments today Sun tripple time, I,ll squeeze you in between Magazines N Badges lol.
The Hamshankers well and truly shafted at Twickers, oh my!
LMAO and partying hard!
Hello O/T gang. Stranger here. Kicking myself I can’t come to Dundee today to meet up again (especially since I’m there every work day). I’m hoping you guys take prodigals back… Inverwotsit …is it the 24th now? Hope to see you soon. Have a good day in Dundee.
From Russia with love, making sure Rock’N’Roll never dies. Those damn pesky Russkis
Messer Chups – War Party
Anybody get 12 across?
_D_U_T
Ok here with Wings and Things – A rather small collection of photos from the Hope Over Fear rally at Dundee today. Please note the rather swish Wings flag at the stall. Ahem!
link to flickr.com
This is (gulp) TWENTY years old. 🙁
Pulp, ‘Disco 2000’ –
Never got a pic of me.
Dandy Warhols, ‘Bohemian Like You’ –
@ James Caithness – Sorry but every time I tried to get a sneaky photo the Page 3 model of Esquire magazine [aka Ronnie A] exposed his builder’s bum and the emmissions were worthy of a dodgy VW engine.
We will meet again Jim and happy to oblige with a montage of weel kent faces. 🙂
The Verve, ‘Rolling People’ (Glastonbury, 2008) –
Sunday Night Teaser –
How many ‘O-Jays’ were there?
Nae cheatin’!
The O’Jays, ‘Back Stabbers’ –
Rare footage of an early Wings social, where some of the lads paid musical tribute to Paula Rose:
Tavares, ‘More Than A Woman’ –
Chic McGregor @ 1.30.
You probably have the answer by now but if you don’t it’s ‘adjust’, Present AD and fair = just.
Well darlings – another fabulous day with lots of my favourite wingers!
High points, the drive in X_Sticks’ Maserati, the guided tour of Pete the Camera’s new leather clad mobile home (not to mention a quick sit on his knee as and when required) and singing along to Shang-A Lang as performed by the Twa Tenners.
Low point – I missed meeting Craig Murray as I was away powdering my nose, but I left an “I’ve been stroked by Paula Rose” badge for him in case I missed him – he turned it down – the absolute rotten cad.
@call me dave
Tuesday 6th looks best for me. I’ll stand you coffee in the Costa on the High Street ( between Boots and M&S ) at 1115.
At least we know what the other looks like and I dont have to carry a rose between my teeth as the first time I met Paula Rose.
*giggle* – suited you xx
This is what happens when you drink too much Red Bull.
Dr. Feelgood, ‘Live In Finland’ –
Ian Brotherhood are you determined to make me love you?
@Paula Rose –
Yes.
*hottest of the hottest red flushes ever*
Ian brotherhood honey – link to youtube.com
@Handclapping
Tuesday 6th is OK for me. But I’ll stand you coffee in the Costa on the High Street at 1115.
See you there!
I’m running a course Wed and Thurs so I’ll need to get away about 12:00..ish to get my prep done Tues PM. 🙂
Kind regards.
@Still Positive.
Thanks. I had ADJUST as a possible fit but just could not see how.
I was stuck on ‘Doctor’ being of the medical variety.
Kicking myself.
A few weeks ago I heard on the radio that some companies now offer a ‘free’ egg freezing and storage package to their female staff.
I assume the commercial interest for them is to keep a female in the workplace during her most productive years and defer childbirth until later. Thus minimising disruption to the company.
At first I balked at such a procedure becoming routine and purely for career and commercial reasons but then I considered that the option of late life progeny has always been open to men so why should that not also be the case for women?
Apparently modern techniques mean that there is now little more risk than for in vitro.
While I still have doubts on the ethicacy of a creation of a ‘granny-mum’ class (as they were called on the programme) as a matter of routine just to suit a company’s commercial interests I can now see a contra more altruistic argument where disruption of a normal pregnancy could otherwise result in great cost or jobs to a company. Even more justification would be in the case of avoiding disruption of great service to the community by say a specialist surgeon or a political leader.
Thoughts?
Hi Chic – the idea is preposterous at the present time, a quick check through the medical reports suggest that the best chance of a successful pregnancy using in vitro techniques is the age at which most women have children i.e. 23 -29. Secondly the successful spermatozoon in a natural fertilisation has overcome immense obstacles – this does not always result in a healthy baby, statistics show that defects in in vitro births are higher.
The health of the mother and the baby are not helped by the unnecessary use of such methods especially as there are plenty of reasons for having children when young – it is a very demanding job.
Putting off having babies for career is generally not a good idea (biologically).
There’s a good reason why fertility starts to reduce after 30. and it is not just the energy to look after babies.
It always strikes me that these ideas always talk about ‘having babies’, rather ignoring the fact the babies will turn into adolescents.
Having a baby in one’s 40’s may sound rather nice and ‘do-able’ but having a stroppy adolescent in your 60’s may not be so jolly.
Archie [not Erchie] 8.27pm
Thanks for the pics from Dundee Archie. Hope it all went well.
This is inspired by Jim Thompson’s “AR$E!” comment on the “A swing and a miss” page.
@ Caz-m – It was fine. Not such a big crowd as Glasgow but nevertheless it made its point. Music was way better and not so much droning on by less than inspiring platform speakers.
It got really chilly mid afternoon and Paula was visibly shaking but that might have been the sight of the kilted piper. Unfortunately eagle eyed ‘Quine frae Angus’ spotted said piper, fluffed her feathers, and us Wingers manning the stall were left waiting for the cursory hug. In her defense she did arrive but disappeared soon after, last seen on a rowing boat singing ‘Over The Sea to Skye’ while clutching a bottle of Gordon’s best gin.
Paula was distressed. However Ronnie A. treated her to a big hot sausage [roll] or two. It seemed to help.
I had a great chat with Ronnie which covered everything from the Jurassic period to date. One of his gems was the observation that Wingers are innovative and multi-talented in all aspects. A wonderful mix of history buffs, artistic & creative nutcases with pleasant attitudes. Then the groupies like me and others on the edges and for some reason it works.
It was funny, sometimes Pythonesque as the Wings gazebo went up and down like….emmmmm….thinking. However a strong erection was achieved eventually. It looks so stable in the photos of course.
Hope we meet soon
I Got caught good at Dundee by Mal Bremner fae Aiberdeen!
link to twitter.com
Mr Anderson’s braw new Wings banner. Just add an engineer and they’ll be up in a minute!
I’ve been shamefully absent from O/T. Catch up time.
@Archie [not Erchie]
Great job with the Wings flag! Your pole is looking a wee bitty floppy though. Maybe Paula can give you a hand with it next time.
@Ian Brotherhood
I did notice the song you dedicated my way the other week. Thank you, and brownie points for well-chosen lyrics! I messed up the hyper-links in my reply and my post was censored along with the links. In light of me losing all my words, here is a wee song for you which I often find relates to my encounters with those “gettaefuck” folk.
Another Floyd song relating to today’s article on the Tory’s intent to commit first degree mass murder.
Here is a link to an article by AAV which I thought was particularly good.
anotherangryvoice.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/david-cameron-talking-rubbish-syria.html
link to anotherangryvoice.blogspot.co.uk
Reposting link.
One day I’ll manage to post something correctly…
Am I right in saying it is only YouTube links which I have to remove the “http://” part of the link from?
Finlay
That’s correct. WordPress insists on replacing the deleted characters.
I’m not discounting the point Robert is making but there is this…
Whatever the reason, it appears Govan would have been dominated by the “Plantation” estate.
link to theglasgowstory.com
I meant to post the above on a main thread, as an OT, in relation to “Plantation Quay” (location of BBC in Scotland).
Finlay
I thought I’d answered you earlier but my reply must not have posted. You are correct.
The next Wings get-together is ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3′, on Saturday, 24th October, in the Invergowrie Inn’s lounge.
Jenny, the manager, is reserving the tables in the dance floor area for us. You can book a table, if you’re having a meal, up till 7pm. Mention that you’re attending the Wings get-together.
There’s a decent chance we may have a couple of turns on stage, in the course of the evening and we’ll have the usual pro-Scotland, pro-indy videos.
The buses and trains back to “other” locations from Dundee do not suit an event finishing at midnight. The last whatever from Dundee seems to be around 10.30pm from the city centre.
So, here’s a handful of suggestions for those who want to make a weekend of it. You can always check out Travelodge Central and Holiday Inn for accommodation but there are always these.
You can get a private room in the Backpackers’ hostel for £25 a night.
link to hostelbookers.com
There’s also the Ashton Guest House, at around £27-£35 per person per night. It’s just to the Invergowrie side of the city centre.
link to ashtondundee.co.uk
And there’s also this one, the Cloisterbank Guest House, but it’s around 10 minutes by car or taxi from the city centre. 20 minutes by bus.
link to hostelbookers.com
OOPS! Nearly forgot… There’s always the Doubletrees by Hilton, where much fun was had by Paula Rose and various Wingers, after an Invergowrie get-together, previously.
link to doubletree3.hilton.com
Hello Wingers, especially the hardy few manning the stall in Dundee on Saturday
Apologies once again if I appeared bad-mannered by not making a beeline to my dear Wingy friends as I usually do. it’s just that the gorgeous kilted piper and I go back quite a long way and this was the first we’d seen of each other “in some considerable time”. There was a heap of stuff to talk about and I just had to make the most of him in that short cold afternoon, lest he disappear in a puff of smoke.
I calculated that my trusted Wingers would understand once they knew the circumstances! You were in my line of sight which made me feel all warm and cosy.
Plus I couldn’t risk the delectable Paula encroaching on my patch.
Well, not on this occasion, anyway. Xx
I will make up for it with more hugs to you all the next time we meet.
@CameronB Brodie
here’s an excellent resource for historical detailed maps (free to view)
link to maps.nls.uk
And here’s a link to one from 1795 covering Glasgow and surrounds
link to maps.nls.uk
It is quite detailed when you zoom in and has Govan shown but I didn’t see anything relating to Plantation (didn’t spend too long looking ..)
Hi Angus (Quinine fare Angus).
You seem to be relating events that ‘Quinie frae Angus’ experienced on Sunday afternoon. Some sort of parallel universe, perchance? Onnyhoo, welcome to ‘off-topic’!
But, I need to know – how much is the ‘Quinine fare’, Angus?
8=)
———————————————–
Hi Jim Thomson.
Did you see my post that you inspired last night? (5.53pm)
Jim Thomson
Cheers Jim. I’ve had a look myself but couldn’t spotted the Plantation estate. I found Craigiehall Street and Place, on Google Maps but don’t know the area (Govan – Harper Memorial Baptist Church).
If Plantation Quay was in operation in 1783, then I reckon it is a good bet the Robertson brothers conducted their trade with the West Indies, from there.
“Plantation” gets regular mentions on Radio 2’s traffic reports, usually in conjunction with the M77.
@ X_sticks 5th Oct – Your bonny photo added to the ALBUM at
link to flickr.com
@ Quinine fare Angus – Totally delirious with fever. 😉
@Archie [not Erchie]
Cheers for that description of sunny Dundee.
I haven’t heard from Ronnie Anderson on Wings for a few days.
You don’t think Paula Rose has kidnapped him and tied him to her big four-poster bed do you?
Paula Rose, If you have got Ronnie Anderson tied up, please be gentle with him.
A wee bit of Reggae for Thepnr. link to youtube.com
@ Brian Doonthetoon, 6:17pm, 6/10/15
Aye, Brian, it’s where you get stuck trying to join the M8 from the M77 anytime between 4:30 and 6:00pm!
@Jim & CamB –
Radio traffic reports used to mention ‘Plantation’ as a junction, but I’m not sure if they still do.
Then, of course, there’s the Kingston Bridge, Jamaica Street etc (but which came first?!)
link to scottish-places.info
Plantation/M77 was mentioned on Radio 2 yesterday afternoon, Ian B.
Sorry about the repeat info – I hadn’t refreshed the page since last night and didn’t see all the new comments about ‘Plantation’.
@Ian B was there a Kingston Bridge before the current motorway version?
@BDTT Dinnae forget the Finnieston Tunnel?
Hi Jim T.
No Kingston Bridge in 1912. You may enjoy comparing these two maps – the first is the 1912 version and the second is Google Maps, of the same location.
Use the river and Washington Street, to the north of the river, to get your bearings on both maps.
On both maps, you can explore in a seaward direction and, on the 1912 map, you’ll see Plantation Quay. It’s handy to have each map in a separate tab, so you can click between them for comparison.
link to maps.nls.uk
link to goo.gl
It’s on the 1912 map, Ken, as “Subway”.
The excitement here on this thread is at fever pitch – I’m on tenterhooks for the next instalment, popcorn at the ready – Dari-on!
Cheers BDTT should have looked at th map before I opened mah geggie.
Is Father Ronald on his holliers btw ?
@Paula there are even bathy maps here: link to maps.nls.uk better not tell @cearc unless that leads to another flashback to ‘gowrie
change of tack – anyone with an interest in WW1 and the anzac involvement might be interested in this new project that landed in my in-box today:
There are a few projects like this and can be quite immersive once you start.
But I’ve not had enough maps yet.
Well, Paula Rose, this’ll probably get you releasing bodily fluids…
link to maps.nls.uk
*reaches for kleenex*
Hello, I’d just like to confirm that Quinine fare Angus and myself are one and the same! I am not a sneaky troll.
As my trusty laptop has finally gasped its last, I am reduced to grappling with my brother’s I-pad and I am not managing this typing very well.
Think the auto-correct facility changed me to Quinine fare Angus without me noticing!
Poetry day. So many lovely wingers so little time to mention everyone.
Oh wings over scotland is calling to me
Up pops a new post damn I’ll miss my tea
Each day when I waken I pass on my links
And some of the stories sure cause a stink
Rev Stu is the the boss man & up for the fight
Slabour & tory can’t take on his might
He disects their nonsense and all of their lies
“that keyboard cybernat” the media cries
Our regular posters are sharp and so witty
Here comes oor Ronnie with a biting wee ditty
John King keeps us merry and up on our toes
With his comedy sketches and avatar big nose
There are so many wise trusted and true
Macart, Taranaich, xsticks & Thepnr just a few
Robert Peffers keeps us right on historical matters
Lesley Anne makes us smile with occasional banter
We long for the cartoon on Saturday morn
Hamish kicking John Bull, Chris Cairns has drawn
A politicial cartoonist with a mighty fine skill
A few master strokes & Chris aims for a kill
Watch oot for oor Paula strutting in on her heels
Best keep on her good side for she’s the real deal
Her dungeon is stocked up in darkest off topic
She’s there with some handcuffs holding Ian Brotherhood hostage.
@Nana Smith –
@ Nana Smith
Ooooh, you are naughty – but, we like you! 😉
Friday!!
Yeeeee-ha!
Here we go…
Ray Charles & Van Morrison, ‘Crazy Love’ –
Here’s one for Thepnr to limber-up to before we dance our way out of the Hampden blues…
Red Hot Chili Peppers, ‘The Zephyr Song’ –
Christy Moore. Brilliant Guitar 4 minutes in from Declan Sinnott. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe (8.55) –
That was braw. We’ve had clips from the same concert before, but that’s a first for me. Superb.
Here’s Rod The Plod with The Faces, ‘Maybe I’m Amazed’ –
Ike & Tina Turner, ‘Baby Get It On’ –
@ Ian Brotherhood The Faces sure takes you back a few years. Are we the only folk on here tonight ? Stay with Me. link to youtube.com
Here’s one for the black trades, not many of us left. Much unheard song about our too poor, to wee and to useless laddies (and lassies)and how they managed to build one of the wonders of the world.
I’m here (in my highland idyll!)
It’s hard to imagine how mind-blowing the Forth Bridge must have been when it was built.
I’m Going Home. link to youtube.com
@ Kishorn Commando 9:57pm Cheers for a wee song I have never heard before.
@Michael McCabe –
‘Ten Years After’?!
Honestly, I’ve never even heard of them – that was great. Sounded a lot like Fleetwood Mac ‘Shake Your Moneymaker’, and the singer’s good at doing all that girning stuff, as if he’s holding a giant slug. (Did you see that Tweet on WOS recently? Superb.)
I guess a lot of these guys knew each other and were listening to the same stuff. (Wish I’d kept all those mad Pete Frame pages from the NME!)
And now Cearc’s here – a real rock ‘chick’! (See what I did there?)
It’s all happening in O/T. 🙂
Here it is – ‘SlugSolos’
Please beware, if you don’t like slugs and/or guitarists girning.
link to slugsolos.tumblr.com
Oh why not…
SWMBO – says he sings with razor blades.
But I would cut my throat to sing just one song like this!
@ Ian Brotherhood Ten years after played at the original Woodstock. @ Norman Smith Loved the Frankie Miller song. Here is a Brilliant television Debut for KT Tunstall. link to youtube.com
Hi Ian B.
You constantly cause me to raise a metaphorical eyebrow. Never heard of Ten Years After? You must have been hingin’ oot at the Northern Soul clubs, iye?
“I’m Going Home” – when I was doing the rock clubs in Dundee in the 80s and 90s, that track was one I would stick on in the last half hour to get the dance floor filled.
Check out this full length version from the “Woodstock” fillum…
Also, there were the ‘hit’ singles…
@BDTT –
Honestly mister, hand on heart, never registered their existence until this evening.
Some things just pass us by…so it goes. 🙁
PS- I didn’t understand what ‘Northern Soul’ actually meant until an SSP buddy explained it to me on the train en route to the Glasgow Central Labour Gala Dinner (almost a year ago) at which we gave Jim Murphy fair warning of the fate to befall him…
Life’s a strange thang awthegither, eh?!
PPS – Here’s a wee ‘kismet’ test…have just been thinking how few people have ever heard of The Shakin’ Pyramids. Have you?
In any event, hoots ablaw! full-blast tae ye’s an’ aw.
🙂 🙂
BTW: RE Wings Over Invergowrie on 24th October.
If you’re going, and want a badge with your name on it, stick a post in Quarantine, stating what name you want on the badge.
If you want to see what’s been typed already about this get-together, do a control-F (command-F on a Mac) on this page, type Invergowrie, and you’ll see the posts where it’s mentioned, including the very first post on this page.
Hi Ian B.
Here’s a CLASSIC Northern Soul track, which you will probably recognise.
Hi Ian B.
I always veered towards rock but was aware of the concept of Northern Soul. If you want to learn a wee bit, have a look at this documentary from the BBC, on the subject of Northern Soul and the Wigan Casino, an a’ thah’…
Hi Ian B.
A great quote from that documentary…
“No one wants to be spoon fed $hite from the charts”
@ Nana Smith, good poem!
Here is Ike and Tina Turner with a bit of Northern Soul. With the Blues Song Dust My Broom. Love the Dancers by the way link to youtube.com
Ian,
Or ‘cnoc’ chick, even. As I am perched on a wee cnoc.
A bit of mood music from the album:
or a live version same song:
Paula & cearc.
Sorry for late reply, I forgot I had posted this here.
As to the viability, the expert on the radio said that the new freezing techniques added little or no risk to ‘normal’ in vitro but did advise gathering them from earlier rather than later pre menopausal years.
Of course, the ethical difference is that in vitro is currently done when the couple cannot conceive normally and is not simply a matter of choice.
Agree that there would be issues like unruly adolescents perhaps bullying elderly parents. Also there is the greater possibility of the parents dying before they have seen their progeny ‘settled’, married, grandkids etc.
There may be some positives too, like the parents having greater experience to aid their child raising and it might have benefits in keeping them ‘younger’ themselves.
And there is the financial consideration for elderly new parents, where the woman is not working and, due to ageism unlikely to regain employment after birth. That could impact on the financial well being of the children.
Re the obstacle course filter. I’ve often wondered about that myself and whether the in vitro folk set one up to select healthy sperm but do not know if that is the case. But that is a slightly different issue.
Very sorry to hear that Jim Diamond passed away today. A favourite of mine first played here in the run up to the referendum was this.
Listening back then it was all about the relationship between Scotland and rUK. Quality.
So long Jim Diamond – left some great tunes and memories, and few do much more than that. Hoots tae ye mister…
Here’s a happy one –
Bonnie Tyler and Shakin Stevens, ‘A Rockin Good Way’ –
Teardrop Explodes, ‘Reward’ –
Big Audio Dynamite, ‘E=MC2’ –
The Clash, ‘Bankrobber’ –
Any old hippies tuning in tonight ? If so then this is for you. link to youtube.com
@Michael McCabe –
I only watched the first minute of the hippie music as it makes me cry. 🙁
But this was an ‘associated’ video on the YT list right beside it, and it made me laugh. 🙂
John Cooper Clarke telling ‘tight Yorkshireman’ jokes.
(I didn’t even know Yorkshiremen had a reputation for being mean…you learn something every day.)
@ Ian Brotherhood. Cheers for that Made me Chuckle. Here is a wee bit of a guy I went to see last year. Jim eoin
@Michael McCabe –
Err, a ‘wee bit’?
Couldn’t be any wee-er! 🙂
Never mind, I’ll look ‘im up…
@ Ian Brotherhood Sorry forgot to put the link up. link to youtube.com
@M.McC –
Just watched the top three YT, and they included the one you just posted. Great. Never saw the dude before.
Can’t have a full day with nowt on O/T…will this make it in time??
Hot Chocolate, ‘Every I’s A Winner’
After Midnight. link to youtube.com
This one going out to dakk. 🙂
Ricky Nelson – Lonesome town
@ Ronnie Anderson 9th of November Ronnie. See You in Court. Hope you are having a great Holiday.
Beth Hart Easy link to youtube.com
link to aljazeera.com
Not sure if this has been posted elsewhere already.
@ Michael McCabe Part holiday part working Micheal ,that BrianDTT & PeteTC gave me Saltire/Catalan badges am awe er Salou wie them ,making friends wie Independenistas lol.
The Independestas are putting it on the ballot paper Aye Aye Aye.
Just to remind you all…
The “Wings Over Invergowrie” get-together takes place Next Saturday, 24th October, in the lounge at the Invergowrie Inn, from 7pm onwards.
If you want a named badge as a souvenir of the night, stick a post in Quarantine, claiming your badge.
If you want to book seats to have a meal beforehand, mention “Wings Over Scotland get-together” when booking your seats.
The phone number is (01382) 562686.
You can book seats up to 7pm.
You can find info on accommodation in my previous post at:-
@Michael McCabe
Nice one Michael, loved it :o)
Looks fairly quiet here the past few days 🙁 Was really sorry to hear of the passing away of Jim Diamond a favorite of many of us.
This is the first I heard of him singing.
@MichaelMcCabe –
Nice one. Knew the tune, could never have guessed the artist.
Stray Cats, ‘Rock This Town’ (live) –
@Michael McCabe
Nice one Michael, loved it :o)
Looks fairly quiet here the past few days 🙁 Was really sorry to hear of the passing away of Jim Diamond a favorite of many of us.
This is the first I heard of him singing.
youtube.com/watch?v=_XtzuY-nb2Q
@Ian Brotherhood
SNAP! 🙂
Hey, Thepnr, hoots to ye mister!
The Ruts, ‘Babylon’s Burning’ –
*pops head round door* Keep the noise down boys I’m studying.
Hey Ian
I’ve been quiet for too long, no more. The new me just doesn’t work lol.
No slacking!
Once sung by Tom Petty but the originals are the best.
@Thepnr –
Great stuff there mister. Hoots aplenty.
The Stranglers, ‘No More Heroes’ –
Hi Thepnr.
Are you gonna be providing carriage for Paula Rose next weekend? Do you have your flippers looked out?
@Ian Brotherhood
Yes, it’s time to get off our knees, stand tall and hold them to account.
This song has nothing to do with anything, other than I like it 🙂
Typing about The Stranglers…
Probably my favourite Stranglers track in the world ever…
@Thepnr –
Aye, Bruno’s good.
Here’s his most recent one, with Mark Ronson. Over a billion views. Cool dancing.
We must try to do that routine at the Brechin WOS getthegither. (You can be Mars if I can be the dude in the white suit. Deal?)
Here is Bruno Mars with a Reggae mix. link to youtube.com It is good to see the off topic mob are here again. I thought Ronnie Anderson had taken you all on holiday with him this past week. Missed all the tunes.
See you in Brechin then. That’s where it’s at!
Evening all.
Just posted a comment, did stuff, came upstairs and hey, it’s not there.
Wrong thread of course, so,
Hmm, Inverwotsit, that’s next week.
Don’t things creep up suddenly when one is busy doing sod-all?
Hi Hen xx
Everywhere You go. link to youtube.com
Nanci Griffith Old Land (Road to Aberdeen) link to youtube.com
If you want a named badge for the Invergowrie get-together next Saturday, stick a post in Quarantine. The cut-off point is 11.59pm on Wednesday night.
An Englishman walks into a bar and says:
“hey, where’s the Scotsman and Irishman?”
“STILL AT THE RUGBY WORLD CUP,” came the reply.
Half-time at the rugby: Australia 15 Scotland 16
ffs, it’s tighter than a ducks erse an ma fingernails have disappeared.
Full-time at the rugby: Australia 35 Scotland 34
Och well, maybe next time boys.
Played some lovely stuff Scotland and let the Aussies know they were in a game. Need more work on the basic mistakes.
Proud of all involved.
((((( C’MON THE ARGIES )))))
Can you imagine, folks, the winners of the 2015 World Cup held in England is…..drumroll…..(((((ARGENTINA)))))
btw, The late shoulder charge challenge on Hogg was the EXACT same tackle one of the Argies were binned for in the earlier game. The officials responsible should never be allowed near another rugby stadium never mind a game of rugby. Useless chiantis!!!
Well played Scotland.
Jings @BDtt yer badges get everywhere
link to bbc.co.uk
Yeah, Jim. I see at least 5 of ours there.
Hi would like to ask a stupid question..last night around 2am yesindyref2 and me were aware of a troll. Why would our posts disappear? Not being paranoid honest.. I congratulated indy2 for what I only suspected and not being a big contributor to any threads was afraid to voice my opinion for fear of outing wrongly. Now on my tablet the posts from Indy and me to each other are missing. Anyone know why or is my tablet having an off day!
Hi Cherry.
Above the comment text box, on every page, it says,
Comment – new users please read this page first for commenting rules.
“this page” is a link which takes you to this page:-
On that page, under ETIQUETTE AND FORMATTING, you’ll see,
2. Play the ball, not the man (or woman).
And by all means disagree, by all means disagree forcefully – but argue with people’s views, don’t insult them personally. And that includes calling them “trolls” or implying they’re undercover Unionists. We’ll decide if someone’s trolling or not. But in the meantime, if you think they are, ignore them.
If you know what a “troll” is, then you’ll also know that getting you angry and talking about them, derailing the conversation off the subject, is exactly what they want.
Email us about suspected trolls if you want. But don’t engage them in debate if you doubt their motives, and DEFINITELY don’t engage in on-thread discussions about whether they’re a troll or not.
So your posts may have been deleted for overuse of the “t” word.
BTW Cherry.
You never typed which page you were meaning.
On this page,
there are posts, starting with yesindyref2 at 2.36am, where you answer him, typing,
“I spotted the inconsistent posts but wasn’t sure. Sneaky wee buggers aren’t they! Funny how they always get that wee bit too cocky .. well played!”
Too much mad and sad stuff going on today. Time for a musical interlude.
Here’s a brass band playing Hamish Mccunn’s ‘Land of the Mountain and the Flood’, and doing it very nicely too (just try not to imagine a rugby ball tumbling down a stream, with brief periods of calm as it floats across deep dark pools of doom – now that I’ve mentioned it, you won’t be able to…sorry):
Yes Brian but that is the post that is missing, then Indy replied to me
Don’t think I wrote the t word until it was confirmed by Indy but that post is still there!
Main threads and WOS Twitter are scenes of carnage.
This quiet place must exude calm…so…(breathe out)…
Van Morrison, ‘I’m Tired Joey Boy’ –
Fairey Engineering, eh? I remember the company but didn’t know of the brass band.
@cearc –
Indeed. Good job though, eh? There is a Glasgow Philharmonic version on YT, but it doesn’t sound anywhere near as good, despite having all the strings etc.
I suppose it’s all in the ear of the behearer – I’d listen to a comb-and-bronco version of it, if it was done well enough. 🙂
Yep, those aviating people sure made it fly.
Looks like our incompetent Mr.Joubert is no stranger to controversy:
“Last year, SA’s Craig Joubert apologised to Crusaders captain Richie McCaw and coach Todd Blackadder for awarding a last-minute penalty the Waratahs turned into a championship-winning three points.”
“A phone call a week later is hardly any consolation for a decision that would determine the championship winner in the 81st minute of the final.”
“Joubert was ridiculed on social media, but there was no official sanction.”
Read the rest here:
About time inept referees are kicked into touch
link to archive.is
18th May 2015
OR, for those with the inclination to do so just google the words – craig joubert corrupt cheat – and see what gems you uncover.
Sabhail mor ostaig in Sleat [Skye] may be able to help. They may know of folks who use skype and would be prepared to converse with the lady. Could also prove to be a good way to learn for those starting out.
I can imagine being unable to chat in gaelic being really hard and especially so when elderly. My mum in her last years was surrounded by non gaelic speakers and she missed it so.
I don’t use skpye myself and right now I’m getting used to a new computer. If I did use skpye I would chat with the lady. I will ask around.
Gings help ma boab, that last post was for Paula Rose, forgot to say!
Thank you Nana Smith
I have come across an elderly lady from Skye who is in a nursing home near Sheffield. She has no-one to speak Gaelic to.
If you can help by being able to speak to her via Skype or know anyone who does who lives in that area – please leave me a message here.
@Paula Rose
Sent a message to admin at Sabhail mor Ostaig. Also will ask a friend to enquire through her highland dancing club and church members, soon as I can pin her down.
Have you thought of tweeting a request? That way you may find someone in Sheffield or close by.
Yes – have tweeted and will do so again xx
Lots of re-action to my request on twitter – Radio Sheffield and Edinburgh University helping amongst others.
@Paula Rose
The power of twitter, someone is bound to come forward.
Will post here if I have any info for you.
Paula Rose, you have a heart of gold = )
Rev Stu, I am guessing from your twitter post that wee Jura has passed away. I am so sorry. Thinking of you xxx
Well a member of her family asked me and a couple of others if we could help – though I wasn’t expecting to have to wade through several hundred notifications!
@ Paula Rose
Have messaged a couple of people, but see you have a big response already – still I’ll get back to you if anyone is able to help.
Thanks Marianne xx
Right I’m trying to think of the best song ever we played on here. Can’t do it, too many good ones.
What’s your best?
I’ll dump this on you, one of the best but not THEE best. I can assure you that you have not seen this yet.
Nice. No, I hadn’t seen it before.
Another wee reminder that if you want an Invergowrie 3 personalised badge you need to let Brian Dtt know across in Quarantine.
Topic:Got here with help from Paula Rose
Thank you Paula Rose. Would you like a Nespresso? The light is on and my machine is ready to brew.
I have a couple of special editions Palermo & Milano.
No thank you dear – I’m rather busy at the moment, please don’t make a mess – there’s milk in the fridge.
Question No1 for Dr Jim & ‘uno mas’ well dos mas, tres mas or however many more decide to attend my evening class
Do you know how to copy and paste?
Oh and by the way – here’s some nice music while you wait for your pupils…
Is that your church Paula Rose?
Hi Ruby,
Sorry i´m late for class was out for the messages.
Yes I do know how to copy and paste.
Great uno mas.
Do you see the comment above the box where you post.
do you see where it says HTML tags like ….. and ……
copy and paste either one of these wee signs that look like a v on its side with and i or b in the middle into notepad or whatever text editor you use.
Do you know how to hightlight text and right click? Do you use Firefox?
The wee signs that look like a v on its side are on the keyboard next to the m. When you type them into a post they dont show. I will call the first one next to the m with a comma underneath vcomma and the one next to that vfull stop to type these you need to use the shift key otherwise you will get a comma or fullstop. However if you have copied and pasted the one from the comment box you wont have to do that. Think of these little tags as being similar to quotation marks you need to put one at one side of the text you want to bold and another at the end of the text. The one at the end needs to have a forward slash before the b.
you would have vcomma b vfullstop text you want bold vcomma /b vfullstop
Hi Ronnie A.
When are you gonna share your holiday experiences – with the independenistas? (SP?)
We’re all on hecklepeens here, waiting for you pithy anecdotes.
Or, are you keeping all your stories for Invergowrie on Saturday?
Hi Ruby.
I have got into the habit of formatting a reply to someone else’ comment like this, below:-
——————————————
Hi Ruby.
You typed,
The wee signs that look like a v on its side are on the keyboard next to the m.
And so on…
This might be helpful.
Hi Ruby,
Sorry for delayed response, i´m in and out tonight!!!
I´´m with you so far.
Anything else I need to know.
Don´t know what happened to Dr Jim I was expecting him.
Ruby,
I don´t use Firefox I use Google Chrome.
Is that a problem?
@ Paula Rose
Thanks, Paula, for again posting the link to the Gaelic psalms. Loved the filmed scenes too.
Brings back memories of the time(s) we lived in the Hebrides… aaahhh, nostalgia time. Can almost smell the peat burning.
See y’all at the weekend. Nearly Hallowe’en, good time to give your red and black stilletos an airing perhaps? x
Hi Betty Boop have you seen what I’ve been up to on twitter over the last couple of days? Check out hash tag SkyeLady – part of the story, tell you the rest on Saturday – give Quentin a squeeze from me xx
A Wee song for Paula Rose. link to youtube.com
Darling – you are so sweet xx
@ Paula Rose
Not on the Tweetosphere too often, but, was aware of #Skyelady and your lovely efforts.
Hope the lady’s new chums speak Skye Gaelic! 😉 Recall folk in Uists shaking their heads and tutting when someone mention a word not used in Uist Gaelic, “och that’s not right, they’d be from Skye!”
No matter though, I’m sure talking in her native tongue will bring great joy and comfort. Good on you. :-)) xx
Askin a Wee favour from any wingers in the Bellshill area
My elderly (widowed) mum lost her wedding ring there on Monday
As you can imagine she is very upset.
Could any of you keep an ear out for it or maybe even ask on you’re own Facebook for any news.
I know it’s a long shot but still worth giving the power of wings a try.
Thanks in advance X
Remember, if you want a personalised named badge for the Wings get-together at the Invergowrie Inn on Saturday stick a post in Quarantine before 11.59pm tonight.
@ liz g – do you have a twitter account? Far more likely to get greater coverage.
Unfortunately no Paula Rose twitter baffles me.
@ liz g – you have 140 characters to describe the situation – e.g. start with “my friends elderly widowed mum…..” Then all of us with titter accounts can do our best.
My elderly widowed mum lost her wedding ring on Mon in or around Morrisons in Bellshill used Maxis taxi home.
She is devistated.
Can anyone help get it back for her.. thanks
Hope that will do Paula Rose .,…you are a star X
Tweeted this – A pal’s widowed mum lost her wedding ring Mon in or around Morrisons, Bellshill used Maxis taxi home.She’s devastated. Let’s find it Pls RT
Anything special about the ring or is it just a plain band?
Sorry Paula Rose was on the other thread trying to figure out all those figures.
No it’s not a plain band it has a pattern cut all the way round and is also a broad/deep ring,there is no engraving on the inside.
@Paula Rose 21 Oct 12:56am
I know you have a busy lifestyle my sweet but, you really need to get your address book re-organised.
Don’t want any marital issues now do we 😉
@ Jim Thomson – I know honey, spotted my mistake this morning (memo to self – not good to do interwebby after too many drinkies) was hoping no-one would notice (blushes delightfully again).
Oooh, scandal!
What does Paula Rose know that Jim and Chipmonkey don’t!
😳 😳 😳
@ liz g – If you’re still around, lady on twitter points out that rings can slip off cold fingers – was your mum rummaging in the freezer section?
Anyone reading this without having the comment at 6:37 – that is what this refers to :rolls:
🙄
@ cearc, 10:02pm
I was wondering that myself… I have a reputation to consider after all 😉 Boo boop de doo
Eek 😳 yes 🙄
😆
It should be a lively meet on saturday!
Stop it or I’m not coming 😥
Night Quentin 😉
oh,oh 😳
Right that does it I’m not coming – I expect I thought my delightful FRIEND Chipmonkey was coming and got carried away – if she is I’ll change my mind *flounces out*
Dry your eyes, Paula. We need all the flounce we can get on Saturday and we’ll make up for teasing you so. Feather up and put on the happy feet 🙂
All that hoo-haa made me very upset and now poor Tartan Tory won’t be able to sit down for a week instead of just a day – he’s livid.
Aha, now I know why I was sent to the garden shed last night. That’ll cost you a special stroke, Paula.
Betty was in your garden shed?
Stuck on 21 Ac again today.
Enough of this smut!
Chic McGregor dear – clue and any letters etc please.
Paula Rose, thank goodness someone is looking after the standards and stopping the smut.
Honey, I have been a very busy monkey and time has shot past. I will definitely come to Inverwotsit on Saturday so long as you will be there. I need my best pal.
I’ve been so slow I’ll be badgeless and no-one else will know who I am.
QQ will come too if I have decided I’m taking to him with the garden shed issue coming so soon after the pool incident.
See you Saturday
xx
Me and my pal – xxx
Guaranteed I’ll be there now xx
Oops hold on – Quinie frae Angus where are you? *stern severe look*
So Dishface has hatched a bold and dastardly scheme to effectively gag Scotland whilst continuing to milk our resources. At the same time, the Scotch themed Corporate Media is out to stop the SNP, at all costs? It’s almost as if Britain is a dystopian and overly centeralised neo-Fascist wonderland. No, you’ve not been Tango’d but it looks like you might be about to be disenfranchised. Of course, only if you live in Scotland.
The Anthill Mob – The Hooded Claw (Tango Mix)
For all of those who don’t understand what just happened there. 🙂
Maldroid – Heck No! (I’ll Never Listen to Techno)
Hi Paula dear
I’m here…still hoping to come along on Saturday although family duties may prevail. Would love to see everyone though. In the midst of the insanity out there in the Twittersphere and the resultant media feeding frenzy where we are all now being portrayed as unhinged psychopaths, I am in desperate need of some kindly, rational and good-humoured camaraderie within the bosom of the Wingfold.
In other news.
Moving Staircases – Dog Eats Robot
So Scotland can’t become an independent state because we face a demographic time-bomb. Well China may not be a long-term solution to ‘
EnglishRed & Blue Tory profligacy’, as they may have broken the world’s economy in order toescape neo-colonial exploitationenter the global market.link to foreignaffairs.com
This one going out to the Scottish themed Corporate Meeja.
The Quakes – I don´t come from nowhere (with equality of representation)
I think this one was inspired by those behind Project Fear. You know who you are.
Phantom Creep Radio #13
link to garagepunkpirateradio.com
Apologies Paula, I had forgotten I asked the question here untill I opened today’s Xword.
The clue was
“Treacherous place to the west after solid ground (8)”
D_S_O_A_
An on line Xword solver dictionary threw up the answer.
Apart from a fit to one word, I still don’t get it although there seems to be a partial anagram involved.
Answer was:
DISLOYAL
To celebrate EVEL day..from my favourite Scottish schizo son.
Chic honey – solid ground up gives dislo and if you put lay to the west you get yal.
Oggythegooner
#giggles 🙂
Thanks Paula, never heard that expression ‘putting something to the west’ meaning reverse it, you live and learn.
I had thought yal might have been some nautical or aeronautical term or something but nothing on Google.
To the north is used for down clues.
@Paula & @Chic … you people have waaaay too much time on your hands.
Just back at the interweb-face after shifting and stacking a ton and a half of firewood. Paula, I might need you to walk up and down my back tomorrow night [groans as shifts position in chair]
Now, what did I do with my to-do list …
With or without heels?