Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Taranaich

VeeJee, best of luck with your project, I’ll have a wee scour round to see if I can help.

2. ronnie anderson

@ David, this is oor Church n We’re the People

haw REV come doon aff that Steeple.

3. Brotyboy

@Votadini Jeannie

In the mid-seventies in Edinburgh, as a friend of guys who were FPs of Morrison’s Academy, I met an Yvonne Dron from Crieff, if you haven’t already got that one.

BTW, thanks for ‘Tragic Moments’ Jim, Pete; still gets a great laugh, although you may remember it as ‘I had a great fright, on Saturday night, In Cowowdenbeath’.

4. Grouse Beater

Just why did you ask?

Why shouldn’t I be curious?
    The question is: why should he or you be so defensive?

5. Votadini Jeannie

@Brotyboy

Thank you! You’re comment has just made me realise I forgot to say it is forenames only I am looking for. Surnames, while possibly even more interesting, aren’t a matter of choice so right now it’s just the first names I’m looking into.

Maybe in future I’ll add the surnames in too.

6. Thepnr

@Grouse Beater

You probably never saw the Sunday Mail article which tried to discredit the Rev by casting doubt on his authenticity.

It was a very poor article designed to stop people from visiting this site by implying he was some kind of hoax and that us his readers were all dupes.

I don’t know why they will not do an expose on the hoaxers, take that back I do know.

7. Grouse Beater

You probably never saw the Sunday Mail article

I read extracts quoted here.

Just made me curious as to why that specific prefix – it has an ecclesiastical, apostolic value, shattered when Stuart tells trolls to eff-off. We all choose names for good reasons; even a joke is a serious thing. I wondered if it issued from his video work – a nickname given to him for some project or other as praise.

8. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – should be an ‘h’ between the g and t (comment at 7:34 am) and obviously no hyphen at the start!

9. Thepnr

Got it! Tried twice with different permutations, both failed 🙂

10. Thepnr

This is hard work,no reply yet. So email me here which is a temporary address, I’ll reply then delete it.

thepnr@mailinator.com

11. Thepnr

sorted and deleted

12. Paula Rose

Today we had one step closer, so here’s one step beyond!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-uyWAe0NhQ

13. Greannach

Re Tory Rory’s Hands across the Border wheeze. They’ve had no Facebook activity since 13 February when 1,000 people signed up to cavort around Hadrian’s Wall which they seem to think marks the border. It’s not too late to sign up on their web page. I’m just wondering if Vladimir Putin’s name was among the thousand. It sounds like the sort of jolly jape that might float his boat. Also wondering if Rory’s day out will reach his hoped for 100,000 celebrants of the union.

14. Paula Rose

Putin’s doing his best for David and his westminster cronies – he’s sabre rattling, cue national emergency – referendum postponed and he’s sending jets into UK airspace to show how undefended a wee Scotland would be.

15. caz-m

Been keeping my eyes on Ukraine as well Paula

16. The Man in the Jar

YES IN THE PARK

I have an email from Yes in the Park. Although it is a free attraction they have allocated tickets. These have now “sold out” and they are requesting that those with tickets re-evaluate their requirements so as to free up more tickets.

Some of us are meant to be meeting up soon to organise a Wings over Scotland stall. Can we do this soon so that I can return my ticket if not required.

17. Brian Doonthetoon

Came across a Facebook page tonight that is ripe for FACTS.
    I feel I’m on my own.
    Anybody care to visit and add input?
    http://www.facebook.com/DundeeVotesNO

18. ronnie anderson

@Jock Scot, £3 a vid reaching 21k viewers,thank christ your no a Banker you could sell £1 coins fur £2.50 lol
    want directions tae Thread Neddle St.you must be wan o they mean Scots they talk aboot ( ave never meet wan masel ).

I hope you can make it tae the Ferry on the 9TH an I’ll buy you a Coney fae Visochi’s Mmmmm.

19. heraldnomore

Yes in the Park

I was about to post that I saw there’s to be a Wings stall and to ask Stu what he had in mind, but I see it may not be the Rev himself. I’ve tickets for the day as well.

What’s the thinking for the WoS stall?

20. No no no...yes

Good to read that Danny Alexander is looking after the interests of the Cornish nationalists:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/10783775/Why-the-Cornish-are-different-from-the-rest-of-the-UK.html

I just wonder when he’ll do the same for his own people?

21. No No No...Yes

BBC BIAS..AGAIN
    Just watched FM questions on BBC1. The last question was about the good news of the labour market figures and the FM was explaining the good news only to be cut off and cameras going to Brian Taylor who wrapped up the programme by focussing on the oppositions stance on the justice secretary, no reference to any GOOD news allowed then… Programme finished at 1228 followed by 2 minutes of trailers. Disgraceful.

22. TJenny

No No No…Yes – I got so cross by that, indeed not only do Slab not want to mention or discuss any good news for Scotland, but BBC will make sure nobody else hears it either. Why do they always cut off the last couple of minutes of FMQs to allow Brian Taylor to drivel – what does he actually add, what is he for?

23. taysideterrier

if there are any face bookers out there, here is my wee contribution
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Scottish-Independence-Referendum-Infoblogs-and-links/1398517213761194

24. taysideterrier

It is work in progress, Will of course, be plugging this site plenty (-;

25. Grouse Beater

@ Taranaich

Another wee piece, this time regarding scare stories:

Nicely done, Taranaich.

You’ve mastered the use of illustrations!

26. Paula Rose

@ Taranaich – always sobering to read what you have to say xx

27. ronnie anderson

@Heraldnomore, Wings in the Park just waiting on Gerry Parker to get us all together for our 1st meeting soon,
    keep visiting of topic.

28. Paula Rose

@ ronnie anderson – darling are you coming to the ferry?

If so I will come two

xx so looking forward to meeting you

will be an evening to remember.

29. Jock Scot

@ronnie anderson
    would probably go to ma heid but won’t miss it.Am arranging transport to the Ferry with a couple of friends so I will haud ye tae yir offer. Have just posted another video starring the most gullable/sad Scottish person in politics. Why can’t Johann Lamont see herself as the patsy she is..deserves tae git the pish ripped I thought

30. ronnie anderson

@Paula Rose, Yes I,ll be there my wee suger plum fairy.

31. ronnie anderson

@Jock Scot ,thanks jock will have a look at it, & I ,ll see you at the Ferry.

32. Cactus

Welcome to Wings 24/7, taking you through the night with the sounds of Scotland..

Never forget who you are:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ifr4aGA2o_A

33. Thepnr

If anyone emailed me in the last 24hrs then it would have bounced back. Up and running again now, sorry about that.

34. Ian Brotherhood

For Iain MacMillan and the CBI.

White Stripes – ‘I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5aUZ5bwDNs

35. Thepnr

Hahaha Ian

Just announced on BBC CBI has U-Turned hahahahaha. Great.

Here’s a laugh. Watch to the end, I’m in such a good mood.

36. Thepnr

Ian

Hows this for a U-Turn?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uUK79LRP-Nc

37. Paula Rose

Ian – that’s my song sweetie, I posted it 365 comments ago.

38. Paula Rose

And here’s one for darling Thepnr

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6GRuzaMwvrA

39. Paula Rose

And here’s some culture for everyone else –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o0UC-HaIblA

40. Thepnr

Paula, thanks for that I listened to the end, remember my old man playing that 🙂

I tried to think of the perfect song as my gift to you but of course that is impossible.

So I thought you might like this. I do.

41. Thepnr

Feck done it again, posted without removing the blah blah blah at the front! Back in a mo after I check your link Paula.

42. Thepnr

Good stuff Paula.

Here’s one I’m sure you and others will like.

43. Thepnr

Good stuff Paula.

Here’s one I think you and others may like.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9ba-as5t8Y

44. Thepnr

And since I’m the DJ tonight here’s a favourite of mine. The jumpers are cool and so is the Subuteo?

45. Thepnr

I;m really not very good at posting these links to youtube. Third go.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pgqa3cVOxUc

46. The Man in the Jar

Anyone up for a spot of The Soggy Bottom Boys?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08e9k-c91E8

47. The Man in the Jar

@hrealdnomore

Looking for a YES in the park infor myself. Guess we will have to wait and see.

I thought that I had posted this earlier but I might have screwed up 🙁

Anyhow while I am here. Lou Reed getting very pissed off with politicians.

“Do we really need another politician caught with his pants down and money sticking in his hole?”

Go for it Lou!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siiNiX5-zAk

48. Ian Brotherhood

Dear Pnr, Paula, and all the rest of ye’s –

I’m a bit pished, about to hit the sack.

A fortnight ago, horrible shite happened. Involved finding my uncle, dead, in his sheltered housing flat. He’s cremated now, it’s all done and dusted. He was my Mum’s wee brother. He stayed with us until I was about eleven, twelve, thereabouts. Never married. A total loner.

He was a HGV driver, and that’s all he ever did, but he was very good at it, and stayed with the same company for over 20 years. He liked a bevvy, loved watching sport on the box, always alone, alone, alone.

He was diagnosed with diabetes when he was in his mid-fifties, had to stop working. That was him then, confined to a top-floor tenement flat in Glasgow. Very few people ever got to know him. I maybe knew him as well as anyone else in the family, and he was known as a ‘thinker’. He thought about all sorts, and we got wee snippets of what he was thinking, but only when he’d had a drink – and when he’d had a drink? He couldn’t articulate what he was seeing/thinking. The man was ‘shy’.

I had to clear his flat, get rid of all his personal belongings, and could only hang onto whatever I thought might be of sentimental value to my Mum, his other nephews and nieces. We had him cremated last week, and it all went very smoothly.

Now, I’ve got what’s left. A couple of oil paintings he did, each of which he spent years on. Binoculars, a telescope, and boxes of books about algebra, calculus, nuclear physics.

That’s what he was into – he would be sitting there, in the flat, alone, watching a Champions League game on the box, with a carry-out at his side, but reading some tome about Relativity. I’ve now got his classical music collection – hundreds of CDS.

Not too sure what I’m getting at here, but I mourn the loss of the man. He told me, unsolicited, over a year ago, that he intended to vote Yes. That was it. It was something on the news that prompted the comment, and I didn’t take it any further.

If that man had ever been able to articulate his knowledge, he could’ve done anything. He was a lovely, quiet, kind and generous man. He didn’t ever get angry with anyone, and just wanted to be left alone. I was very privileged to know him, and treasure the memories I have of him (even baby-sitting me), but I feel that he’d heartily approve of the link I’m about to provide – he would’ve appreciated the humour, and the energy.

Like George Carlin, he had no time for all that ‘God’ pish – he was a man of Reason, and of Science, and I like to believe that that’s why he’d decided to vote Yes.

This is my absolute top Youtube clip of all time – I thought I was a well-informed citizen, five, six years ago, when I first saw this, but it shocked me, made me sweat.

This is what a mature, intelligent human being can do, if blessed with the attributes required. If my uncle could’ve done this? He would’ve.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acLW1vFO-2Q

49. Thepnr

Watched and understood.

50. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers mister.

51. Paula Rose

The American dream – you have to be asleep to believe it, simples!

52. gerry parker

@ Ronnie,
    Sorry, have been out of circulation there looking after grand weans.
    Waiting on Stu getting back to me, have e mailed Patrician and yourself. I should be ok to meet next weekend but it’s liable to be Sunday.
    Will keep you all posted.

53. Thepnr

Dignity I demand it.

54. Thepnr

Dignity.

That’s all we ask. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3ueYxrA-Zs

55. Thepnr

@Paula

Millionaires? Nah, real millionaires are those with friends not gold.

56. heraldnomore

Way hay, You gov have just asked the ref question

57. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – I have friends my honey and they are worth more than gold xx – I am very rich, friends across Scotland.

58. Paula Rose

Darling!!! that’s me in the front row xxx.

59. Paula Rose

Those boys can be a bit rough but I forgive them.

60. Paula Rose

Nobody’s scared –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRdidsKQAhE

61. Thepnr

I met Joe Strummer once in a pub in Dunfermline would you believe? He would vote Yes haha no doubt.

62. Paula Rose

John was one of my most favourite friends – he loved my out-fits.

63. Thepnr

Ahh Paula those were the days. I have my eye on the future.
    Nobodies Scared wee fearty stories are a laugh. I posted this months ago but worth reminding ourselves.

There once was a shepherd boy who was bored as he sat on the hillside watching the village sheep. To amuse himself he took a great breath and sang out, “Wolf! Wolf! The Wolf is chasing the sheep!”

The villagers came running up the hill to help the boy drive the wolf away. But when they arrived at the top of the hill, they found no wolf. The boy laughed at the sight of their angry faces.

“Don’t cry ‘wolf’, shepherd boy,” said the villagers, “when there’s no wolf!” They went grumbling back down the hill.

Later, the boy sang out again, “Wolf! Wolf! The wolf is chasing the sheep!” To his naughty delight, he watched the villagers run up the hill to help him drive the wolf away.

When the villagers saw no wolf they sternly said, “Save your frightened song for when there is really something wrong! Don’t cry ‘wolf’ when there is NO wolf!”

But the boy just grinned and watched them go grumbling down the hill once more.

Later, he saw a REAL wolf prowling about his flock. Alarmed, he leaped to his feet and sang out as loudly as he could, “Wolf! Wolf!”

But the villagers thought he was trying to fool them again, and so they didn’t come.

At sunset, everyone wondered why the shepherd boy hadn’t returned to the village with their sheep. They went up the hill to find the boy. They found him weeping.

“There really was a wolf here! The flock has scattered! I cried out, “Wolf!” Why didn’t you come?”

An old man tried to comfort the boy as they walked back to the village.

“We’ll help you look for the lost sheep in the morning,” he said, putting his arm around the youth, “Nobody believes a liar…even when he is telling the truth!”

64. Paula Rose

just a key to your hearts –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9-Shhjh5c4

65. Ian Brotherhood

One of my late uncle’s favourite songs. Good music, astronomy and painting all rolled up into one: Don McLean’s ‘Vincent’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkvLq0TYiwI

66. Thepnr

Ian. Thanks.

67. Paula Rose

Such lovely artists – I’m so looking forward to meeting you, I’ll be the barefoot countess.

68. Paula Rose

just something for the ethereal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q29YR5-t3gg

69. Paula Rose

and something for the prime time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6bdIkQZgiQ

70. Paula Rose

And there is this –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3yvOn-E-Kw

71. Ian Brotherhood

Great stuff Paula. Really great. That Cat Stevens video looks so modern, and the McLean live turn was just brilliant.

(CameronB, where are you?)

72. Paula Rose

money come and money go and CameronB arrives – kisses sweeties

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6mlvQWp8S8

73. Paula Rose

Ian – I hope and trust your dear man would have enjoyed this –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2s0-wbXC3pQ

74. Ian Brotherhood

Hardly ever play this as it gets me really wound-up, thinking how many of our people were forced to leave.

They had no choice. Some of the images in this video are heartbreaking, but there’s no doubt that our own folk went through the same shite depicted here, and saw the same scenes first-hand…people tagged like livestock…blood kin we lost touch with and will never ever know. If only they could be here, to see the almighty ‘British Empire’ finally being brought to its knees.

Some of the usual faces in our MSM treat this referendum as some kind of ‘interesting’ parlour game – a form of risque entertainment, like playing with an Ouija board, or throwing the car keys into a bowl.

They know who they are, and they deserve to be told in no uncertain terms – it’s no fucking game. The people being defended by the ‘fourth estate’ had their time, made their dosh, and got away with it, lining their pockets, cushioning their own families’ futures while whole generations of decent human beings went to the wall or fought their fucking wars to make them even richer.

No more. The ‘game’ is up.

The Pogues’ ‘Thousands are Sailing’. Weep, with no shame, for all those we lost:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gc1G7aCpSsI

75. Paula Rose

@Ian xxx – am awa tae listen

76. Thepnr

“Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently.

They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them.

Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.”

77. Paula Rose

A little stardust darlings –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aafpos35u-s

78. Paula Rose

and Ian – I want this played at my laying to rest, I hope your uncle would enjoy it as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHBwBfqYhIM

79. Paula Rose

and darlings here is a solid slice of scrumptiousness –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-VeOakGGPQ

80. CameronB

Thanks for invites.

New Age Steppers – Fade Away
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ILHfX81l0Y

Primal Scream & Irvine Welsh – Full Strength Fortified Dub
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCWPGpI3GWE

Strange Parcels – Never Despair
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ifhdGwmwR8

81. ian foulds

Following refernces on another site, I wondered if the undernoted have been addressed elsewhere?

Off topic 1 – EU

I note a number of people are concerned that when we vote Yes, we are lumbered with the EU.
    I can to an extent understand this concern but I thought the EU situation might still be open on 18 September and could still be discussed before the election in 2015 or the one thereafter.

Further information would be appreciated and if there is still time for it to be discussed after September, this might encourage mor to vote YES.

Off topic 2 – Protection of the People

I also note concerns that there is no Common Weal type ‘committee’ which could ensure that the Scottish people are not ‘taken to the cleaners’ by a future Scottish Government.
    Could such a body be appointed from the people in the manner of juries (and thus help minimise both government and such a committee becoming too ‘pally’; with ‘expert’ advisers being available to assist. Obviously ths point has to be thought through by people more knowledgeable than I.

82. Jock Scot

The fact sheet for the Yew Choob video “We Didn’t Start the Union” can be downloaded from

http://nodbruce.co.uk/union_factsheet.pdf

83. Paula Rose

The fact sheet is well worth a read.

84. Jock Scot

Thanks Paula

85. Paula Rose

@ Jock Scot – it would be a nice piece to have in the wings reference section, I’m sure the Rev would agree, a nice concise overview of Scottish history would be a great idea.

86. Paula Rose

btw – looking forward to meeting you in the Ferry Jolly.

87. Jock Scot

@ Paula Rose
    like wise..hopefully the full team will be there as well so will give folk a chance to meet the real geniuses
    oh and if Rev Stu sees your comment about using the factsheet, I’m sure Janet and Ninja Penguin would be well chuffed

88. Better Together St Kilda

Jock – did you used to do a wee job as a roadie for the Subway Sect?

89. Jock Scot

@ Better Together St.Kilda

No, not that Jock Scot..I think Rev Stu also knows THE Jock Scot, the roadie.

90. Paula Rose

The wings have got rusted…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ab_IO-SlK5w

91. Paula Rose

now here’s some really pretty boys, get shaking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ab_IO-SlK5w

92. goldenayr

Paula Rose says:
    Shh Thepnr – we have a lovely romance happening on a magical mystery tour, let us leave them to declare their undying devotion in peace – head to off-topic

Fraid not,I’m an ugly,grumpy auld git and thrawn tae boot.Bar that,mind me no tae tell ye ony secrets..”head to off topic” indeed!

93. Paula Rose

Darling – so glad you can read between the lines x

94. goldenayr

While I,m here.
    Ninja penguin and everyone at Yew Choob.Brilliant condensing of 2000 yrs+ of Scottish history.Gave the pdf link to my daughter for her history teacher.Also put it in my youngest daughters homework from nursery,they,re learning about ancient Scotland and the notebook gets passed round all the parents to add what the kids,and they,have learned.

95. goldenayr

Paula
    Don’t know about between the lines,focusing on the letters is hard enough..mair wine,reality is kicking in.

96. Paula Rose

Goldenayr – sometimes a like thingy would be lovely, or maybe a kissy thingy.

97. goldenayr

Paula
    BIG XOXOXOXO
    Hope that keeps you goin till we meet to celebrate our reinstated country.
    Used to be tactile,too many wounds now.

98. Thepnr

@Paula

Here’s the man a bit older and maybe wiser?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJpqQdGDhvo

@goldenayr

Don’t you remember when you thought Arbroath 1320 was an agent? I do 🙂

It’s difficult to keep our paranoia ender control but we must. Boo!

99. Thepnr

@Paula

Here’s the man a bit older and maybe wiser.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJpqQdGDhvo

@goldenayr
    Don’t you remember when you thought Arbroath 1320 was an agent? I do.

Must admit to a certain level of paranoia myself but hey we do need to rein it in.

“I wonder if I’m being paranoid. I tell myself I’m not, and then ask myself how I can be so sure? I don’t know the answer, so I go back to wondering if I am.”

Craig Stone, The Squirrel that Dreamt of Madness

100. Ian Brotherhood

Just back from the post office up the road, my daughter helped me post a stack of books to Nigel Farage.

I’m concerned that he hasn’t quite got his finger on the pulse of how ‘people in the modern world’ (copyright Brian Donohoe) are thinking, so I bagged up a dozen or so chunky contemporary hardback novels. It seems that people are sending him 2-litre bottles of Irn Bru, but that’s maybe not such a good idea – he’s probably not used to ‘our other national drink’, and it’d just make him even more hyper than usual.

Anyway, if anyone has any good reading material that they have lying around which they feel Nigel could learn something from:

UKIP
    FREEPOST
    RLSU-H2BG-UBBG
    Lexdrum House
    TQ12 6UT

101. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Hmm, I have a spare microwave oven kicking around at the moment…

102. Thepnr

I’ve got shelves full of old books. Now I know where to send them, I’m sure Mr Farage will thank me.

103. goldenayr

Thepnr
    Yeah,too much wine,too much fighting my corner and too much time on heretical sites like the Scotsman.To be fair,I was very and unsympathetically wrong.When you live by the sword though,a dagger to the heart is always fatal.
    Paranoia isn’t in your mind,it’s a way of life for the wary..;-]

104. goldenayr

Rev. Stuart Campbell
    Excellent,mines just packed in.The kids are greetin for popcorn during their weekly movie.

105. Better Together St Kilda

We have long encouraged people to use pre-paid facilities to return BT leaflets so that they can be re-used.

106. Ian Brotherhood

@Rev –

Ping!!!

Good shout.

Does anyone know if upright pianos can be sent using Freepost?

107. ronnie anderson

@Ian brotherhood, thanks Ian for the Freepost addy,im sure

Mr Fromage will appreciate a couple of Yes papers.

108. Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie anderson –

I’m sure he will, especially if you’ve used them to wrap that big dod of lead flashing you’ve had lying in your shed for the past thirty years.

109. Ian Brotherhood

Wow!

Just found an old video (starring BT-stalwart David Bowie) I can send to oor Nigel – ‘The Man Who Fell to Earth’.

110. David

This one’s for the transphobic concern trolls conducting synchronised anti-WOS ops:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wkLRZzukcJc

Dick Emery as Mandy – “ooh you are awful, but I like you!”

(And it’s also for everyone who likes a good laugh!)

111. Ninja Penguin

@goldenayr says

“Also put it in my youngest daughters homework from nursery”

You might want to censor it. Nursery teacher may not like the bit about James Boswell sh@gging his way round London. Just sayin’

112. Arbroath 1320

Aye you can’t beat the old ones can you. Dick Emery pure genius! 😛

113. Thepnr

Those supporting No are basically useless. The best thing you can do is wind them up, just take the piss. One liners are the best.

I remember as a young man in one of Dundees discos a guy with a mohican, shaved sides and sticky up yellow tufts had all the girls around him.

He was getting a wee bit cheesed off at me and my brother asking them to dance. Eventually he cracked and said to my brother “Ho mate has anyone ever told you, you look like Fergal Sharkey”.

The brother says “No, has anyone ever told you that you look like Orville the duck”

Maybe not that funny but at the time I pissed myself. Hit them with whatever you’ve got, please. They have ran out of ammunition, the scare stories have failed. Orville the duck makes more sense. Scary but true.

114. Arbroath 1320

Orville the duck I love it…quack quack. 😛

115. Jock Scot

@Thepnr
    love the concept, which I share and for the image..will imagine an array of BT goons with their hand up the dummy’s erse depending on genetic composition..think carmichael would be the worst at the moment

116. Thepnr

Another time in the Chrome Rail first pub in Dundee this evil looking guy with a black leather jacket, plooky face and long black hair says to me after beating us all all at pool.

“You young guys are just making me look good”

My brother said:

“Plastic surgery couldn’t make you look good!”

I love it though have to admit it might seem daunting at times. LOL.

117. Thepnr

first pub in Dundee to have a pool table doh!. Oh, can you believe I have an interview tomorrow? Maybe I don’t really want the job.

118. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good luck with the interview.

When they get to that bit when they say (as they have to, albeit ever so reluctantly), ,i>’and do you have any questions for us?’, you say ‘Aye. Are youse members of the CBI?’

119. Arbroath 1320

To be fair Ian there are a number of questions.

1) Are you members of the C.B.I.

2) Why?

3) do you support Scottish independence?

If they say they don’t then you have a supplementary question.

4) As you do not support Scottish independence can you please provide me with good reasons why we are better together.?

😛

120. Arbroath 1320

Oops!

I’ve just remembered another important question that must be asked.

5) do they read Wings Over Scotland.

Just like question 3 in my last post you get a supplementary if they answer no.

6) Why not?

😛

121. Thepnr

Arbroath

I’m going there tomorrow with my head held high. They need me more than I need them. I think.

122. Arbroath 1320

Go for it Thepnr and best wishes for an excellent result. 😉

123. goldenayr

Ninja Penguin
    Don’t worry.It went out with a 15 rating.

124. goldenayr

Richt,enough hilarity.Zebidee says it’s bedtime.
    Oichde mhath.
    And for the chookies scryin,the fox is comin.

125. Thepnr

Postie has just been and delivered my “Scotland Yet” film poster from Jack Foster’s Rough Justice.

Well chuffed! makes up for flunking the interview this morning. don’t think my heart was in it anyway 🙂

http://instaembedder.com/post.php?id=704930332175940759_1269474014#.U15Q3fldVx0

126. Quinie frae Angus

Have been away for a wee while and come back to find that the next Wingers’ nicht oot is in the Ferry! What a nice surprise! My old local stomping ground. I am looking forward to it!

127. Thepnr

I’m getting worried now. Is Jolly’s big enough? Is the ferry big enough? Why worry it will be as it is. Glad you can make it Quinie.

128. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

How many have confirmed? I’m still 50/50.

129. Thepnr

Only 15 confirmed but I stopped asking people to post their names. Reading posts on the main blog I suspect we will manage about the same as Glasgow.

I really hope you can make it, won’t be many more and many will hope to meet you Ian. Just because.

130. Arbroath 1320

Oops!

Think I’ve found an alternative address for you to send your upright piano Ian. 😉

http://tinyurl.com/mgmz53c

😛

131. Arbroath 1320

Can we have Frank Roy speaking more often at debates please?

This man is devastating good at turning Noes into Yesses. 😛

http://tinyurl.com/ltkfsa7

132. Paula Rose

Ian – how can you be 50/50 about a Ferry Jolly night out surrounded by the most glamourous women who support independence?

133. Arbroath 1320

Looks like YES had another close scrape tonight in Oban. 😛

Oban meeting tonight, Mike Russell, Iain MacCormick and John Ainslie. Before – No 2.5%, DK 17.5%, Yes 80%. After No 2.5%, DK 10%, Yes 87.5%.

134. Tamson

Apropos of nothing, reading the Guardian story about the anti-UKIP pact among the the old main parties this evening.

I note that the head of the Bright Blue think tank – a centre left Tory group – is a Ryan Shorthouse. Any relation to Rob Shorthouse of Better Together, perchance?

135. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose & Arbroath 1320 –

Have been trying to work out a way of getting to the gig that doesn’t involve driving – if someone could establish a BT/UKIP ‘address’ in Dundee then it could be a winner, and cost them a small fortune. I’ll happily make my own way home:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2195196/Man-posts-girlfriend-prank–dies-couriers-lose-delivery-address-THREE-HOURS.html

136. Greannach

Anyone know if Flipper has been quietly let go as they say in his beloved USA? He’s been seen in the Western Isles recently, presumably Bernera/Lewis, around the same time as Ian “Two Sets Of Expenses” Davidson, so maybe they were both communing with the oracle that is Brian Wilson on how to keep the money rolling in after the end of a Westminster career. Next meeting in the Manhattan apartment, maybe?

137. goldenayr

Bertie Armstrong,that bastion of British fishermen,was on Newsdrive there.”I don’t recognise your claim that Westminster sold out Scottish fishing for rebates in London”(or words to that effect).He then went on to say that he and his org are impartial in the ref,they just want the SG to give assurances that no one else can hope to give.

138. Paula Rose

Ian, darling I really wouldn’t recommend such an approach – (I nearly felt an urge to embed this as a warning to others)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mI-YiaWDgB4

139. call me dave

Footie Euro semi final tonight or other games.
    Free streaming.

http://www.wiziwig.tv/competition.php?part=sports&discipline=football

140. jingly jangly

I have just dismantled a storage heater, no idea what to do with the bricks, but Nigel looks like the sort of guy who could use a couple 🙂

141. Paula Rose

Darling jingly jangly – ukip have so many bricks they have decided to re-build Offa’s dyke.

142. gerry parker

Yes in the Park event.
    Anyone local and willing to help out at this event could we meet at the Toby Carvery Strathclyde park Sunday 4th May 11am to have a chat about the event.

I can pick Ronnie up at 10:30 (and and have space for another 2 if required.
    Informal get together to see what we can provide, I know Ronnie’s being doing a bit of work in the background wrt gazebo’s and tables.

143. Taranaich

Ahoy folks. My niece’s class is doing a debate on the referendum, and she’s fighting for Yes! Anyone with any ideas for how to get through to Primary 6 children would be most welcome: she’s gotten quite into the debate, and even if the weans can’t vote, the families certainly can.

Also, I’ve had friends from Kansas staying over for a few days, so I haven’t updated the blog much. Here’s a repost of my original “Why I’m Voting Yes” post on the Bannockburn blog, updated:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/better-together-when-standing-apart/

144. Cactus

A merry first of May morning to y’all out there, try this one out..

Kizmet ~ Manooghi Hi (Genre: East meets West)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZbNFqdx9H4

Set me free for fate of destiny 🙂

145. Silverytay

Gerry
    Unfortunately I am having to work on Sunday but I am more than willing to help out at YES in the Park if needed .

As I stay in Chapelhall it is easy enough for me to pick up Ronnie on the day and bring him along .

The Rev has my permission to give you my email address if you want to get in touch .
    p.s I was hearing rumours that YES in the Park might have to be cancelled .

146. gerry parker

@Silvertay,
    Thanks for that.

147. Brotyboy

I remember as a young man in one of Dundees discos a guy with a mohican, shaved sides and sticky up yellow tufts had all the girls around him.

Would that have been the Big Fish or the JM?

148. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “Does anyone know if upright pianos can be sent using Freepost?”

The wife wants to know if we can send them an old double bed, the cooncil want £15.00 quid tae tak it awa

149. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “Does anyone know if upright pianos can be sent using Freepost?”

The wife wants to know if we can send them an old double bed, the cooncil want £15.00 quid tae tak it awa
    come tae think o it dae they dae hoose clearances?

150. john king

Better togethers office
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDBhViAmKHI
    did you notice Blair McDougall has given up trying to learn the tuba? 🙂

151. john king

Ian Brotherhood 26th april 12.54am
    I’m sorry for your loss Ian.

A perfect description of the no campaign, and why are those clowns on the audience laughing? do they think is funny they’re being fucked over?

152. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    How many have confirmed? I’m still 50/50.

If it helps Ian, if you can come to my house in Fife you can leave your car in my drive and I take you up there,
    and if you need it I have a spare room for you to which you are more than welcome.

153. Quinie frae Angus

Hi Ian Brotherhood

I will be driving up to Broughty Ferry from Glasgow on the 9th, if it helps, for the Wingers’ night out. I would be more than happy to give you a lift up. (Or any other Weegie Winger, for that matter).

The only thing is though, that I will be staying up there for the whole weekend (family all there), so wouldn’t be coming back that night.

But if you wanted to get the last train home, or take up John King’s offer, you’d be more than welcome to come up with me. Leaving Glasgow at 5-ish.

154. Ian Brotherhood

@John and Quinie –

Very very kind offers. Thepnr has already offered to put me up…hmmm, decisions decisions…I need to confirm all sorts, so let me get back to you here.

Thanks again – warm glow 😀

155. kendomacaroonbar

@Arbroath

kenmcdonald1@btopenworld.com

156. gerry parker

All you Yes in the Park-ers( see what I just did there) 🙂

The Yes in the park event has just informed me its licence has been approved. It’s an all ticket event though so it probably changes things a wee bit in terms of the Wings stall.

Still going ahead with the meeting on Sunday as per my previous post. (I’ll pick you up Ronnie about 10:30) anyone interested in helping out I’ll see you on Sunday.

O/T – well that’s what this space is for isn’t it?
    Check this out.

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/letter-to-the-icc-at-the-hague-re-mistreatment-of-the-disabled-and-sick?time=1386858151

157. Geoff Huijer

Do I win a prize for finding the most ludicrous article
    on Scottish Independence.

The Americans showing the way in ignorance…

http://harddawn.com/why-america-must-say-no-to-scotlands-independence-from-great-britain/

Looks like harddawn is a nutjob site.

158. TJenny

Geoff Huijer – It’s a spoof site – think of the name Hard Dawn (Hard On). : D

159. Patrician

@ gerry parker, 11:07, 30th April.

See you on Sunday.

If this posts, I am on a roll 2 posts out of 20 published, woohoo.

160. Brotyboy

@ Thepnr

Sorry about this, but I had a look into the original part of Jolly’s yesterday, following a quick skek on Good Friday at the bigger part up the pend and I don’t like the feel of the place.

It’s only my opinion, of course, but I feel with all these tables the owners’ emphasis here is on eating and not chatting and mixing and mingling.

Personally, I don’t think the Ferry is the best place for what we are looking for, as it can be packed out in each and every pub on a Friday night and the Ferry folk have some strange attitudes, like electing the only Tory councillor in Dundee, but then I know the location wasn’t the factor which led you there, rather the price of a pint in Wetherspoon’s.

Again, it’s only my opinion, but if you were to consider an alternative, I’d suggest The Glens on the Clepie Road, where there is a function room which seats 30 and is free to book.

161. goldenayr

Just a word of warning to everyone having fun posting on the VNB site.

Be careful what you write as there’s every possibility they’ll use it as a stick to batter us vile “cybernats”.

162. heraldnomore

Scotland V England next week, on the cricket field in Aberdeen.

It’s being billed in the light of the referendum with anti-English sentiment as the background; an attempt to mix sport and politics, again.

But it’s done so in this article from a stance of complete ignorance on referendum matters, concluding that few Scottish cricketers will be voting Yes – for reasons apparently that English cricket is too important to them.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/741121.html#fcomments

I suspect that few wearing the saltire in Aberdeen next week may be qualified to do so on grounds of birth or parentage but that’s another thing altogether.

Now if anyone has a facebook login and feels like putting the writer in the referendum picture, nailing the canard of an anti-English campaign, then fire away.

163. Ian Brotherhood

This is properly off-topic, but may be of interest to anyone who’s wondering what all this Gerry Adams stuff is about – has anyone seen any of this ‘on the runs’ committee on the MSM?

(NB the questions from Kate Hoey and Sylvia Herman to Sir Ronnie Flanagan, from approx. 25/30 mins on)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b042rvy2/Select_Committees_Northern_Ireland_On_the_Runs_Committee/

164. indigo

saw reference to a wings car window sticker in one of the other threads – from where can i purchase such a thing? had a look in the store but there doesn’t seem to be any designs in there with the web address on?

165. gerry parker

Can’t wait to watch young musician 2014 (on i-player of course). The lass with the recorder was so talented and enthusiastic, they all were, but for me she shone out.
    Have a good weekend all you wingers.

166. Ian Brotherhood

Friday night is music night.

Anyone else get the feeling this is the week the tide went out for BT, and now we can see which of them has been swimming in the altogether?

Time to celebrate, at least a wee bit…

Here’s ‘Naked’ from Reef:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyKGokhcQJ8

167. Paula Rose

Oh Ian – for you darling, such enchantment…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbskoBOHyc8

168. Ian Brotherhood

A dod of silliness for good measure…’Crazy Nights’ by Kiss:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6gaS9wrtM4

169. Alex Clark

@Broughtyboy

Did you go right round into the area that used to be the old bar and quiet lounge? Believe me when we are there it will be sound. It’s not like the main bar, and is an area suitable for discussion.

I have a feeling wingers will basically occupy the whole area, it’s quiet, there is no music or TV blaring out. I didn’t chose it for a cheap pint but for various reasons.

Drop by anyway, you know you want to, I’m sure in Glasgow there were a few soles aprhensive but once in the positive atmosphere from the Wingers won the day.

I hope you make it.

PS It wasn’t the Barracuda or JM (remember the tufty club) It was Ricks disco in the old Blackscroft Libray.

170. Alex Clark

Ian Brotherhood

That video you put on VNB last night was a spot of brillance, no not Rick Astley, this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KsYJGs-nqqY

The lyrics are almost…perfect.

171. Ian Brotherhood

Peter Mallan was my music teacher in Holyrood Sec, Glasgow. A cool dude. He impressed us all on Day One by giving his false leg six of the belt.

He singled me out for special attention after the exam because I’d achieved the lowest score he’d ever seen – 23%. Turns out all my crochets and quavers were upside-down.

Once saw him on a box (literally) in Buchanan St, speaking out for the SNP in advance of some election. A good guy, and a great singer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6gaS9wrtM4

172. Ian Brotherhood

Check out what this guy did. We just have to mark ‘X’ in a wee box…big jump all the same!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSKH5AoN6nk

173. Thistle

Hey I’m heading up to Dundee for WoS2 if anybody can give me lift.

174. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

How can anyone have balls that big.

175. Jock Scot

@Thistle
    I’m trying to get a minibus from Edinburgh if that would be of any use..may have to leave before the end but if I can get it arranged, I’ll let you know.

176. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Isn’t it great? And he seems such a quiet, modest guy. But I love the stuff about ‘overcoming the deepest fears’ – this type of thing must surely push buttons in at least some DKs?

Here’s another one that really got to me: the corporations control just about everything we do, and this sums it up – it was linked in a very recent thread (and no doubt Rev will know it chapter & verse). Brilliant stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qItugh-fFgg

177. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. For anyone who’s interested in knowing what that last YT link is all about:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJNM377JlIg

178. Thepnr

Thistle Quinnae frae Angus is coming from Glasgow don’t have her email.

179. Balaaargh

I took my Son to the cinema tonight to see the new Captain America movie. I know he’s 9 and it’s a 12A but we’ve seen all of the MCU films and I always check online for the film’s content before we go. I was totally unprepared for the horror film in the trailers!

There were these 4 teenagers – two boys, two girls; one of the girls was of Asian ethnic origin. She’s a goner, I thought. This looked like the old “kill the brown people and let one white mixed sex couple escape” trope. It started off really twee and positive but straight away I could tell someone was going to get their throat slit.

They were talking about how they wanted to keep their future jobs safe and their families and how they didn’t want to be apart from each other. Then they said something about how awesome it was to be in one of the World’s largest economies and how we were safer in numbers.

Again, the framing was perfect in building the suspense. Someone’s going to die here, I thought. Nothing good ever comes of saying things like that!

Cue the final shot and the zoom out above their heads and I had to shield my Son’s gaze from the disgusting image that appeared on screen.

I will be complaining to Cineworld about their unsuitable trailer selection. My Son does not need to be exposed to this ‘R’ rated filth called Better Together.

180. Ian Brotherhood

@Balaaargh –

BT are doing cinema ads?

Here’s an apt intro:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWMORW9D9go

181. Thepnr

@Balaaargh

How dare you expose your innocent child to such evil. Have you lost your mind? Thankfully a little fatherly love and some education will help eradicate that disgusting filth from his mind.

182. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Were you ever a Zerohedge reader. Belong to us was a big thing there.

183. Thepnr

Guess who posted number 666 on the Off Topic site?

184. Ian Brotherhood

Younger viewers may not be aware that calling someone ‘a Jay Arthur’ was, once upon a time, enough to cause a riot.

Even when the people issuing the insult hadn’t a clue who they were referring to, the folk on the receiving-end knew that the (unknown) person’s surname was ‘Rank’, which rhymes with ‘wank’, ergo, they got the blades out.

Go figure. But it happened. For real. And there are plenty of guys (many of them now pensioners) in Glasgow and environs, with scars on their cheeks and jaws, who will confirm it.

185. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Zerohedge? Nah. Honestly, don’t know what it is.

186. Thepnr

Ian never heard of “Jay Arthur” something you’ll have to tell me more of when we next meet.

187. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

A ‘J. A. Arthur Rank’ = ‘a wank’.

Contracted to ‘ya jay-arthur!’.

Seriously.

‘You calling me a wank?’

And off they go…

Rap culture in the States, ‘child-soldiers’ in Liberia, the kids in suburban Paris, London, Berlin etc, think they’ve all got it going on?

Well, aye, as matter of fact, they do – because they are the people transforming language. The same stuff happens here, elsewhere, everywhere, forever, and I’m sure Dundee has it’s very own versions of the same.

Here’s one which troubles me yet: ‘I shagged yer maw’.

I know a (Glasgow) version of where that originated, but there are probably hundreds of others.

It’s only a tiny example, and not ‘important’, but the way WE decide to use language is what decides how it will develop – ‘BBC’ pronounciation is history, in keeping with the baggage which created it.

188. Balaaargh

Apologies, I got my facts wrong – there were 5 teenagers not 4. Turns out the hootsmon has the whole thing on their site:

http://www.scotsman.com/video/news/better-together-cinema-ad-unveiled-3531099755001#latest

189. CameronB

Hope these are more to your liking Ronnie. I am trying, I have been told. I’m afraid I’ve got my head in the reggae right now, so.

The Heptones & The Pablo All Stars – Lov
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iBSgWLRFpA&list=PL231012705E4C1F1D

Barrington Levy – Englishman 12″
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhWew87msEA&list=PL503F4F2B5FF7503B

Misty In Roots – “See Them Ah Come” (Live)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngv2H1VU8mY

190. CameronB

Oops. That wasn’t a rude joke. Honest.

191. Kyle Mackay

Hi folks, just checking if the gravatar things working 🙂

192. CameronB

The Strangeloves – I Want Candy 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MiiD8KeAFew

193. Cameron B Brodie

I’m buzzin’ now. 🙂

Chumbawamba – More Whitewashing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjqHVB3OJcw

194. ronnie anderson

@Ian Brotherhood/Thepnr, stoat the baw, any clue,s ?

195. gerry parker

Last call.
    Anyone local and interested in helping out on the Wings Stall at Yes in the park.
    Meeting at the Toby Carver Strathclyde Park Sunday (tomorrow) at 11:00am.

Cameron B.
    Reggie, Like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVBmeWAsRAA

196. Paula Rose

(just a wee test folks – having probs posting on another thread)

197. Thepnr

Need more info ronnie, like where to look?

198. Greannach

Post-Westminster Careers

Our superiors in Westminster look increasingly like they will be looking for new jobs after the September result, but what on earth are they to do with their poor employment record? Here are some suggestions and it would be great to get other people’s.

Sincerity Jim Murphy – Leading role in Phantom of the Rue Morgue.
    Margaret Curran – Foreigner-hunter General with UK Border Agency.
    Douglas Alexander – Permanent Head Boy at Strathallan.
    Anas Sarwar – Press Officer, Association of Independent Schools.
    Jimmy Hood – Safe Labour seat in Gateshead.
    Frank Roy – Moneylender.
    Pamela Nash – Homemaker.
    Brian Donohoe – Head of Innovation at Google.
    Alistair Darling – Safe Tory seat in Kent.
    Sheila Gilmore – Fraud investigations officer with Department of Scroungers and Skivers.
    Willie Gain – Child poverty consultant.

Any others?

199. Paula Rose

Saturday night- time to enjoy our culture, this week questions were asked about Scottish classical music, so…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-F5dmRV5Bc

200. Paula Rose

As you’ll all be busy hammering on your local newsagents doors – I shall continue with my review of Scottish music, music is to do with place…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOW-gL5gOxg

201. Paula Rose

Oh and of course, this early piece – cameras in those days dears…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y227jV7wmk8

202. Jock Scot

Hi @Paula Rose and anyone who asked to be kept posted re Yew Choob vids…we were approached by Vote Nob Orders and couldn’t resist

203. Cameron B Brodie

gerry parke
    Top tune. Not sure if I have that one though I’m pretty sure I’ll have a version. Got hold of some Prince Buster, but I’m trying to keep the selection clean. 🙂

204. Jock Scot

//youtu.be/_NoDfYiSK1k

sorry having trouble getting on site

205. Paula Rose

Jock dear we are sitting here twiddling our thumbs – hurry up, or I’ll have to do this –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2xdCvhvyqY

206. Jock Scot

@Paula Rose

I was 15 when I saw this..feck I feel old..sorry for being so schizo but am having trouble getting on site and staying there

@Thepnr
    Cheers for the encouragement..look forward to meeting you at the ferry

207. Jock Scot

@Paula Rose

Flattered and astonished all in one go

208. Paula Rose

Jock honey – you’re only a few years older than me, how sweet, these boys were only 8 like me when they recorded this, I think you might like it…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfK-WX2pa8c

209. Paula Rose

Hear the terraces sing – ‘there’s only one Cameron Brodie, there’s only one Cameron Brodie’

210. Croompenstein

F*ck it I know he pleaded with us but…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEmGQYCuc6M

211. Ian Brotherhood

This’ll be us in Dundee next week. Even atheistic socialists can get into this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a37bBm8pXSk

212. Alba4Eva

Lady Alba’s new track ‘Nuclear Love’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRr0HNsCa6k

213. Ian Brotherhood

‘Party Fears Two’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZSMDaewz2A

214. Ian Brotherhood

The Associates, ‘Skipping’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZeC5zOkroQ

215. Brotyboy

@ Ian Brotherhood

Always good to see The Associates and be reminded of Billy’s huge range and seamless passagio.

I’m also always curious that in all the writings, there is no mention of Alan Rankine, the Linlithgow boy, having lived in the Ferry for at least 3 years.

Perhaps that’s why Billy talked of him standing in the pub in Dundee looking like he was crapping himself; probably scared someone was going to recognise him as the middle class tennis playing midget from around 1971. I wonder if he was a late developer or the beneficiary of HGH.

216. Paula Rose

The important thing in my mimd is how important this site is; as part of the research material of this period it will be invaluable. Is an hard copy being kept for future Phd students? Many people here deserve their place in history.

217. Ian Brotherhood

@Brotyboy –

What a fantastic singer he was. It’s hard to think of anyone quite like him.

I’m a Weegie, so some of your comment went over my head – what’s HGH?

Cheers anyroad.

218. Thepnr

Including you Paula Rose!

We are making history, not just living it. They have shot their bolt, fired the big guns and we’re still standing.

Let’s all laugh at those who “think” they rule us. I’ve got news for you “Fuck off, your not welcome in Scotland, Don’t even dream of coming back.”

You are not wanted and we don’t spit in your eye. Just laugh hahaha. So Fuck off.

219. Paula Rose

Thepnr darling, we will always fleece tourists, oh where’s that smiley thing or otherwise people will misconstrue.

220. Ian Brotherhood

@john king –

Don’t know if you made it over here, but I had intended to post Youtube of Sheena Easton at Glasgow Green, way back, maybe 1990 or so.

I did find it, but it was nothing like the ‘memory’ I had, which I now realise was entirely false. For one thing, I wasn’t even there (my ‘memory’ must’ve been constructed via Press reports and/or testimony from friends – I was abroad at the time of the ‘Big Day’ concert) and secondly, the performance recorded is so excruciating that I wouldn’t impose it on anyone.

Anyway, from having a gander about YT it seems the bold Sheena Easton is still going strong, doing pretty well for herself, and in extremely good nick for her age. Fair play to her.

Poor sowel. The ‘wee lass from Bellshill’ just made that one wee mistake with the ‘accent’ thing, a long time ago, and it’s still hingin’ around her like some lead albatross. Shame, really.

221. Paula Rose

Sheena Easton? Darlings she was a pale shadow of the muses for the masses, there are great originals – do I need to remind you of Patti Smith and her genius? And lovely dress sense.

222. john king

Long day at work Ian sorry,
    I should have signed off.

223. Brotyboy

@ Ian Brotherhood

I’m sorry Ian, I was being rude about Alan. He was very small as a 14 year old and must have sprouted in his later teenage years. I was speculating as to whether he had had help from injections of Human Growth Hormone.

He was a talented tennis player, but didn’t have an over abundance of humility. A report came back from Linlithgow years later that he had walked into the pub and bought a round for the whole pub, which we thought typical.

It may just have been part of the attempt The Associates made to get through a lot of money, as shown by Billy asking the record company rep if he could get a taxi home on the account after having been told he was being let go.

He was given the okay and got in the taxi; ‘Where to Sir?’
    ‘Dundee.’

224. Ian Brotherhood

@Brotyboy –

Ha! Great story.

225. Ian Brotherhood

Stone Roses, ‘Fool’s Gold’, just because it’s so good…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BBsazIACpYM

226. call me dave

Sports links free streams footie or tennis tonight.

Liverpool v Crystal Palace

227. Richard Bruce

Sorry to be stupid, but, the Dundee meet. Is it in Jollys in the Ferry? What time will you be meeting? Did I read something about a separate room? I’m lost and that is without alcohol… help. I’ve been doing a “find” on this page. Can anyone give me details.

228. JGedd

Paula Rose

Don’t want to barge into a private party, but since you had something on Hamish MacCunn I thought you might like this by Peter Maxwell Davies. English but lives in Orkney and is for Scottish independence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Om2GoiUYfw

229. Paula Rose

There’s nothing private about this party, Honey!

230. David

@ Richard Bruce, asking for details of the WOS meetup in Dundee. You are best to check with Thepnr that these details are still correct. They are from a post of his at 4:50pm on 18th April:

“OK full post again for those that may have missed it on the main board who are visiting a week or two later.

O/T A wee update on the Wings Big Night Out(R) in Dundee 9th May.

Have listened to various voices re cost of drinks, mingling with joe public ect so have spoken with the manager of Jolly’s Hotel in Broughty Ferry. This is a Weatherspoons pub that just recently reopened at the start of this month.

There are 25 bedrooms too at reasonable prices, I did ask for a deal but the manager answered “our prices are quite fair” but anyway it’s an option for those who may want to stay over.

This is not in Dundee city centre but only 10 mins in a taxi, more like the West end of Glasgow. A popular area for a night out in Dundee. They will be happy to host us on 9th May although he wouldn’t reserve an area for our soul use.

He did show me where we could be accommodated and it is ideal for maybe up to 60 people.

I’ll put more info re getting there for folk from out of town over in Off Topic. Hope to see you there.”

I won’t be going, but if the livestreaming guy is there, I might be able to watch, and be there in spirit!

231. Thepnr

@Richard Bruce

Yes Jolly’s in the ferry. Turn up if you can. I’ll be there with a couple of others from 18:30 or so, I learned from Glasgow WoS night people will wander in at any time.

The area is not reserved, the manager wouldn’t do that. Some here prefer it should be open. I’m easy either way, there is sense in both.

The livestream guy “Thistle” on here will be there and it is advertised on his website.

http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive

Hope you make it, the more the merrier, I’d prefer if people tried to arrive early. It means will will nick the space before a hen night comes along!

232. The Man in the Jar

@Ian Brotherhood
    14 May 2014
    at 11:33pm

I was there and Sheena Easton was indeed excruciating. I was close to the front and had to dodge the flying cans. I would like to point out that we were down the front to catch if I remember correctly Big Country who were next up. It was an awfi long way to the back.

Last up were Deacon Blue who were totally magnificent they owned the green that night.

The best bit was the massive and I mean massive crowd dispersing in all directions singing Flower of Scotland as they went.

233. blairtahuille

Good morning, fellow Scots! I have been following this site for a couple of months now and it is no exaggeration to say it has radically changed my way of looking at this debate.

Thank you, Rev., et al.

What I would like to ask this morning is, can any of you good people direct me to local events or activities that I can join with in the Erskine area?

Yes is now paramount in my eye. The alternative does not bear contemplation.

234. Richard Bruce

@Thepnr

Thanks for the info. I’ve been really out of the loop since my mother passed on April 12. I was her carer for 10 years and am still up to my chest in paperwork. I will be there on Friday.

Looking forward to it!

235. Flower of Scotland

Sorry! Sorry! Won’t make Fri! Something’s cropped up that I need to go to! Hope to meet up sometime, maybe Edinburgh. Hope everyone has a great time!

236. heraldnomore

Stu, accounts of The Badenoch Trust easiest viewed at Charity Commission where they are on full public display. I looked a few days ago; somewhere around £3m given to mainly Scottish charities in recent years.

237. Quinie frae Angus

Hi everyone

To Ian Brotherhood and Thistle:

I had originally said I would be driving up to Broughty Ferry, leaving Glasgow at 5 pm but staying there for the weekend so not coming back that night.

However my work commitments have now changed, which mean that I have to be back in Glasgow now the same night because I have to fly abroad early on Saturday morning.

I still want to go the Wingers’ night out though, but I am now in a quandary:

Do I drive there and back, remaining sober, in which case I can offer a lift to three or four other people, or do I just get the train along with everyone else and then allow myself to have a wee drink?

Decisions, decisions.

Any further thoughts, Ian B and Thistle?

238. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quinie frae Angus.
    The last train from Dundee to Glasgow is 21.53, arriving Glasgow 23.19.
    Journey time 1 hour 26 minutes.
    The last bus/coach from Dundee is at 22.40, arriving Glasgow 00.15.
    Journey time 1 hour 35 minutes.
    (No useful trains stop at Broughty Ferry.)
    From Edinburgh, or elsewhere, you can “Plan your journey” here:-
    http://www.travelinescotland.com

239. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

That’s a bit of a quandary to be sure.

It really is very kind of you to think of others. I’m planning to make my own way, and will probably have to get back same night. Prob for me is that I have to get to Glasgow, then it’s another train to Stevenston, so I’d have to leave Dundee mid-evening, unless I drive, but that’s another headache right now, not 100% sure I’ll have the car…

I hope we all get there one way or another. Right now I can’t confidently offer anyone a lift, but if that changes I’ll let ye’s know here.

240. Ian Brotherhood

Alright, Easter’s come and gone, but some of you may remember this.

(Tony Blackburn voice) ‘It’s Mott the Hoople, with Roll Away the Stone!’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Sih9OVokuQ

241. Paula Rose

A wee note about how Vote Nob Orders facebook page operates:

If you post a link to a site like Wings you will see your post there next time you look –

But if you look at it as anyone else you won’t, giving you the idea that they are being open and fair etc but in reality…

242. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Loved this though my favourite was “All The Young Dudes” written by David Bowie of “stay with us” fame.

@Paula Rose

No surprise there then, I think I’ll write an article for WOS on trolling and dirty tricks.

243. Paula Rose

CameronB, dear, I thought you didn’t ‘do’ facebook.

Thepnr, someone certainly should!

244. CameronB Brodie

I was forgetting Paula. Is NationBuilder not powerful enough spyware, sorry Community Organizing System.

245. Paula Rose

The way the facebook page operates suggests that instead of (wo)manual administration it is automated. That’s probably where some of their money went, I don’t know if you can buy such things off the shelf.

246. Taranaich

Back to pester you some more with self-promotion! First up, a wee comment on Scottish “humour” in certain parts of the UK press:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/05/05/patriot-games/

And a slightly updated version of my take on one of those “hilarious” satirical pieces:

http://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2014/05/06/tally-ho-welcome-to-the-new-free-england/

247. Paula Rose

Oh by the way, Thepnr, did you see Ian Brotherhood’s question on another thread about dress code? By the time I read it there was about a hundred yards of comments following it about the actual topic so I didn’t like to interrupt.

Anyway, as I don’t want to to find myself at a Braveheart convention – I think we can all agree no facepaint. I know it’s de rigeur for cybernats, but we are there to put names to faces!

On a serious note, you don’t intend using those stick-on labels that Ian used in Glasgow, do you? If so I’ll make my own badge!

248. Thepnr

Stick on labels are de rigueur! Your having one even if wearing your own badge lol.

249. Alfresco Dent

I didn’t know this thread existed. What’s happening in the Ferry at the weekend? I’m up for it since I feel I know most of us well already.

I’m sorry I’ve been a bit slow to catch on.

250. Alfresco Dent

I’ve found it. Half-six @ Jollys. I’ll be there.

251. Alan Mackintosh

Anyone have a high resolution image of the sunday herald cover? Doing some decoration/stuff for RIC conference in Inverness this weekend and would be nice to use some of this if possible

252. call me dave

Free streaming sports tonight. footie &Tennis Murray.

253. Brian Doonthetoon

David Bowie, I liked.
    But…
    Turns out he was a tad plagiaristic.
    Listen to this track from the 60s and wonder which Bowie song it sounds like.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHjEvIFQ7zk

Then there’s “All The Young Dudes”. Compare the lyrical and melodic structure of that with the structure of this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SGsZ7-RgsxE
    PS: this dates from 1969; Greg Lake’s band before King Crimson.
    Call me ‘Pop-Syke Nerd’…

254. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – re the jolly ferry thingy, Ian also queried whether dress would be formal or casual, as all you Braveheart boys like wearing skirts I presume I’m safe in trousers?

255. Ian Brotherhood

Can you Dundonians point me to any good charity shops? I mean, for books?

Just in case I end up there quite early. I’m after ‘real’ charity shops, not the fancy ones. Somewhere you have to rummage…

256. Brotyboy

@ Ian

There are plenty of charity shops in the Ferry, on Brook Street and Gray Street amongst the other shops. They are the usual suspects, though, the big national charities.

There is one on Gray Street, two or three away from Goodfellow & Steven heading towards the Tay, where you might find yourself able to rummage a bit, but I think it’s still a national, although I couldn’t be sure.

257. Paula Rose

Ian darling! Do you fancy a rummage amongst the charities on Friday! Let me know, I’m almost tempted to come early!

258. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Book rummage…my favourite pastime. If you get up to Inverness check out Leakeys.Here’s the facebook page
    https://www.facebook.com/LeakeysBookshop

259. Paula Rose

Bookshops – at last a proper thread (winky thing) one of my favourites –

http://www.pitlochrystationbookshop.co.uk/bookshop/index.php

260. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

As ever, your enthusiasm is infectious, but there are some things that have to be done solo – rummaging for books is one of them…

Please don’t be offended. I hope you enjoy this:

The Beatles, ‘Paperback Writer’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taADLPtyDb0

261. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Wow. That place looks awesome.

I take it al you rummagers are familiar with Barter Books, down Alnwick way (is it Alnwick?…you know the one I mean.)

262. Paula Rose

Say’s it all –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_RZAGnFcI4

263. Paula Rose

Took me three takes – I’m just a summer rose xx.

264. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Not familiar with Barter books.There’s a place in Aberdeen,think its called books and beans which is great for a browse but always really busy and of course http://oldaberdeenbookshop.com/
    I regularly go to a place in Golspie and the Blythswood depot at Deephaven is usually full of old books,manuscripts etc.

265. Nana Smith

@Paula Rose

Dusty did it better…giving away my age now!

266. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Check this out. It really is worth a visit if you’re ever anywhere down that neck of the woods. Superb.

http://www.barterbooks.co.uk/html/About%20Us/The%20Bookshop.php

267. Paula Rose

@ Nana Smith – I think I’m a bit older than you honey.

268. Paula Rose

I hold my breath –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfBn5IJgP0o

269. Paula Rose

@ Nana Smith, sorry love I get a wee bit OTT about Dusty.

270. Nana Smith

@Paula Rose

How old? or is that cheeky.

271. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

I will be home about 14:30 with Mr&Mrs john king. So how do you plan to get to Dundee? Maybe we could make an arrangement if you would like to come a bit earlier.

272. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

Like the look of Barter books,will have to consider visiting.

I’m quite fortunate as my son is a reviewer so he gets lots of proof copies which he passes on to me[if the blurb appeals]

273. Paula Rose

the point of no return, darling I was going to wend my way from Brechin, maybe that’s best, got to get my hair done etc

274. Paula Rose

@ thepnr – plus a pedicure.

275. Thepnr

OK. Understand, sort of…

276. Paula Rose

Actually coming earlier always appeals.

277. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana Smith –

Your son reviews books? I’d be astonished if he hasn’t heard of the place. Seriously, it’s worth a day out. I’ve never ever come out of there empty-handed, albeit pining for truly special stuff I just couldn’t afford.

278. Paula Rose

And we have no culture – ROFL. We are not a nation – ROFL.

279. Nana Smith

@Ian Brotherhood

I’ll be asking him for sure.
    Might just suggest to my hubby its time for a wee jaunt.Would like to see the kelpies as well so….

280. Alfresco Dent

Is anyone else planning to attend the Douglas Alexander event at Dundee Uni on Friday before the bash?

281. Brotyboy

?In conversation with Douglas Alexander

Friday 09, May 2014
    Friday, 9 May 2014 from 18:00 to 19:00, Dalhousie Building

Douglas Alexander is the Labour Party’s foremost thinker on the future of the UK constitution and Scotland’s role therein. In what has often been a fractious and highly partisan referendum debate his contributions in lectures and essays stand out as eloquent and reasoned with an appreciation of the magnitude of this moment for both his country and his party.

A former Secretary of State for Scotland and an expert on matters of process, having advised many of the leading figures in the constitutional debate over many years, he thinks and writes more broadly on issues of identity, ideology and internationalism. He has been Labour’s Shadow Foreign Secretary since 2011 following four years in the UK cabinet.

Five Million Question’s David Torrance will lead an in depth conversation that will cover the main issues of the debate so far as well as Douglas Alexander’s political and personal motivations as we approach the defining moment of this political era in Scotland.

Free tickets can be also be obtained over telephone: 01382 381296

http://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/in-conversation-with-douglas-alexander-tickets-8852166067

Personally, I think he’s a lightweight and neither he nor anything he has to say appeals to me. Sorry.

282. Alfresco Dent

It doesn’t appeal to me either. I was thinking of taking some eggs. Still, I’m very familiar with how Mr Torrance conducts these “conversations” and his style needs a counter-balance.

Actually, none of this appeals. I’d much rather go to sleep & wake up on the 19th of September.

283. Brotyboy

This one, on the other hand, is unmissable.

IN CONVERSATION WITH ALISTAIR DARLING

Event to be held at the following time, date and location:

Thursday, 22 May 2014 from 18:00 to 19:00 (BST)

Dalhousie Building
    Old Hawkhill
    DD1 5EN
    United Kingdom

Don’t eat the eggs.

284. Alfresco Dent

Aye, signed up for that one too. However, what’s the odds on this one being cancelled?

285. gerry parker

Have returned my Yes in the Park tickets.
    So far to organise and man the stall we have.
    Me
    Ronnie Anderson
    The Man in the Jar
    Patrician
    Silvertay( I think)

Another couple should suffice. We will have 6 passes issued from the people running the event so if you are holding tickets and don’t have anyone to give them to, you can return them to the organisers (don’t knows preferably).
    Will keep posting info to Off Topic.

286. rab_the_doubter

To all you wingers heading to Dundee tomorrow have a great night and stay safe – remember to behave in an orderly manner when the inevitable fire alarm goes off.
    Any plans for another get together in Glasgow before September?

287. Cactus

Well said rab-the-doubter.

Yeah, it would be good if we could arrange these get-togethers a couple of times a month, in each of our respective Scottish cities/towns. We are all ambassadors for Scotland’s Future.

The get-together in Edinburgh is a must!

288. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve been meaning to generate this link for a while.
    I’m guessing we all like the occasional appearances of squirrels on the pages of WOS.
    So here you are…
    http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-4#Squirrelcam

289. Ian Brotherhood

@rab the doubter / Cactus –

I mentioned this weeks ago and it didn’t get a lot of response, but it was around the time of the Counting House gig, can’t remember what thread. (Might actually be the old Quarantine…)

Anyway, there’s a pub in Glasgow we can use pretty much when we want, and I’ve spoken to the manageress, she’s keen on having us, especially if we’re doing live music sessions etc. She knows who we are and what we’re all about.

We could have an inaugural Friday night bash, and if it goes well, make it fortnightly, weekly, whatever – as Sept nears we may want to use it more frequently. The key is getting enough bodies interested, then word-of-mouth will do the rest – before we know it we could have our own WOS howff right in central Glasgow.

Anyone who’s up for it, let me know here (especially musicians!) I’ll ask folk in person tomorrow in Dundee – if we can get, say, twenty names, that’s enough to justify the lass opening the lounge.

Really looking forward to tomorrow (Paula, I’ll just have to see you in there pal – am lucky to be getting away as it is, don’t want to make a day of it and push my luck). And Thepnr, good luck mister – I’m sure it’ll be a corker and one to remember.

See ye’s all tomorrow!

Hoots! Hoots!…and thrice do I say it…Hoots!

290. Ian Brotherhood

Someone get the tunes on…get us in the mood for tomorrow!

291. Ian Brotherhood

Okay here’s a starter…

Fran and Anna! –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNGFJMJaqGU

292. Paula Rose

Ian – if you put up any more vids of my misspent youth I might get tetchy.

293. Paula Rose

Something smashing going on here though –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1zci07Kono

294. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 8.57, noo there,s takin the piss, n

takin the piss,an your takin a weeks bladder fu,if you

stayed in Airdrie or Coatbridge an seen they two coming

you wuld cross over tae the other street.

295. stonefaction

I’m not generally very sociable but I may pop down to Jolly’s for a wee while tomorrow night with a non-posting WoS reading pal. If I do, see you all there. If I don’t, then enjoy anyway. 🙂

296. Silverytay

Gerry Parker
    Count me in for helping out at YES in the Park .
    You can email me at mmccabe@ea.n-lanark.sch.uk

Ian Brotherhood
    I am up for a Friday night out in Glasgow , just don’t expect me to sing , I would empty the pub in less than 30 seconds .

297. Paula Rose

Now here’s some very handsome young men, and stonefaction sweetie, I’m looking forward to meeting you xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KorwwAjKpaY

298. rab_the_doubter

Im thinking i could do some poetry at a glasgow bash 🙂

299. Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie anderson –

Whit!? You don’t like Fran and Anna? Ach well, beauty’s in the eye of the beholder and all that.

I didn’t realise, until seeing that clip, that they were called The Prince Sisters. I always thought they were twins, but they don’t really look that similar.

300. stonefaction

Oops, spotted the “how to post a video” bit after I attempted to post a video (Knew I’d get it wrong). SORRY, Rev!

Anyway, fingers crossed I’ve got this right, this time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELKbtFljucQ

301. Ian Brotherhood

@Silvertay –

That’s you first on the list! (Oh man, I LOVE making lists. Seriously.)

And rab the doubter? You’re second, and yes, yes, yes, we will discuss how to showcase the multifarious talents of Wingers.

Ronnie – would you be up for doing some of your poems prior to letting those of a more musical bent do their thing? (It’s a very intimate wee lounge, no stage or anything like that.)

I’ve pencilled-in May 30th. The Quarter-Gill, a kick in the bahookie away from Glasgow Central. If those who expressed interest when this was first raised would please drop another note here, that’d be great, and save me trawling through Quarantine to locate the original exchanges.

302. Ian Brotherhood

Lobeydosser/Davy/Martin –

If you see this – youse up for May 30th?

303. Paula Rose

Just take the cash boys –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQ6O8NrLsSY

304. twenty14

@Ian Brotherhood -just spoke to Lord Vordermor and she has given me a free pass for the pub night but will have to play it by ear depending on workload- but for now count me in. I can bang a table to a rhythm as good as the rest of them

305. Paula Rose

Oops – what happened to my addition to our debate on culture? Ah the miracles of modern stuff, here it is – (our closest friends, international pals and neighbours finest)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzF0AETdRF8

306. stonefaction

You want squirrels. I’ve got squirrels.

http://www.flickr.com/search?user_id=93995449%40N00&sort=relevance&text=red%20squirrel

Plans now in place to (hopefully) be at Jolly’s for around 7.30 tomorrow. Looking forward to meeting you too, Paula Rose. xx

307. Paula Rose

I’ll be the tall, thin, elegant apparition stonefaction xx.

308. Thepnr

I’m up for May 16th, coming to Glasgow for the final. Might be a few from Dundee and Perth up for that. We can all be friends until kick off next day!

309. stonefaction

Should be easy enough to spot then. There’s not usually many of those in the Ferry, Paula. I’ll be the wee shy specky guy that probably isn’t saying much.

310. Thepnr

Lobbydosser/Davy

Hope to see you tomorrow, will be a busy night.

311. Thepnr

Since were having a party, here’s a tune to start the party off. Hi Paula 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHjT-TEqLBs

312. Paula Rose

@ stonefaction – me too darling, hate standing out in a crowd, but being tall, slim and elegant it’s always a problem, do come over for a natter xx

313. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – only so much rofl I can take in one night!

314. Alfresco Dent

Call that a party?

m.youtube.com/watch?v=_cKdEdMOIkU

315. Thepnr

Paula you must has saw what is maybe the best yet released just today.

Lyrics by Wee Ginger Dug. A Classic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqapeLIGI90

316. Paula Rose

Now, darlings – I posted that earlier but the god-botherer must have chucked it in the trash grrr.

317. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Brilliant stuff. We’re starting to get a real punk kind of a vibe going now.

Wee Ginger Dug? Fantastic stuff man – hope things are well with you – it was a delight to meet you at the CH. Will you read some of your stuff if I sort another Glasgow WOS gig for May 30th?

318. Jock Scot

@Paula Rose

Thanks for that.

319. Paula Rose

@ wee Jock – darling, if only we were as gifted as you and that adorable penguin.

320. Jock Scot

@Paula…am looking forward to meeting you tomorrow night.x

321. Paula Rose

@ Jock – likewise honey.

322. Ian Brotherhood

This is O/T, even on O/T, but you’ll get the point –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zX54DIpacNE

323. Paula Rose

(giggle)

324. Ian Brotherhood

And if you don”t get the point?

Grab some popcorn, kick off the slippers, and watch this. The world will never look the same again, and you’ll pick up some practical hints ‘n tips which may be useful in the months ahead –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z18sBHbdBgI

325. Paula Rose

Ian darling, don’t let the whole world know.

326. Ian Brotherhood

And if you do ever watch that, and wonder what the fuck is going on, check out this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mr._Brainwash

327. Cactus

Ian Brotherhood, yeah I can do May 30th, good one.

If the jukebox is still on freeplay, try this one:

Twilight Zone ~ by Golden Earring (Genre: Dutch rock)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4uPp69TMLI

See y’all later today.
    VOTE X

328. Ian Brotherhood

It’s really not THAT long ago:

Crass -‘Big A Little A’

(Even if you feel you want to mute it, please watch the footage – it’s properly documentary.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIdcDL64KCE

329. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

Cheers friend – you are the fifth to register interest.

See you later.

330. Horseboy

Just found this:
    Pro-Scottish Independence Online Radio Station,

“18.9IndyScotRadio”.

OnAir 24/7 broadcasting now on a Auto DJ 3hour LOOP, and LIVE during office hours with Live Chat Box!

http://www.indyscotradio.org/#!live/c1em5
    http://www.indyscotradio.org

331. cearc

No can do Ian.

I can’t go away during the summer months, people have to visit me.

Too many eggs in incubators and stroppy mummy, ducks, hens and guineas to leave.

Hope it goes well and tomorrow’s jolly.

332. Silverytay

Thepnr
    Good luck for your do tonight , I would also wish you luck for the 17th but I am going to be there in blue & white supporting the better team .

333. Chic McGregor

Just found this thread.

Re tonight. I doubt if I will make it. We currently have three dogs which need walking and can’t be left for too long and the last time I tried to get short notice kennel accommodation in the area I gave up after two evenings phoning around.

A work friend of Sheena’s has dog-sat our English springer, but of the other two we temporarily have, one is an ex racing greyhound rescue dog and the woman has a cat. Ex racing greyhounds and cats are not a good mix for obvious Pavlovian reasons.

However, once I read about the night on WOS a couple of days ago I did put an ad on our Kirrie Aye TV loop which runs on a monitor in the Kirrie shop window 24/7.

Also informed the local Yes group, who didn’t know about it and some will now be going.

Hopefully my wife Sheena will make it.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f390/chicmac/HeraldWings600.gif

Subsequently found out it is better known as the Jolly’s Hotel locally.

Have a great night, I’ll be watching on line.

334. X_Sticks

@Chic

Haha brilliant animation of the Wings log Chic.

335. Brotyboy

Subsequently found out it is better known as the Jolly’s Hotel locally.

It may depend on your age. I have memories from about 50 years ago of sitting in the car waiting for my parents to have a drink after our regular Friday evening trip to the Library.

This was when it was just a pub, as far as I am aware, long before they took over the former restaurant up the pend.

So for me it will always be Jolly’s, just as the Royal Arch will always be Gallagher’s and The Fisherman’s will always be The Fisherman’s.

336. Jim Thomson

We’ll be heading across for the Jolly shindig shortly. What times the kick-off?

@Ian Brotherhood
    When we eventually bump into each other, remind me to chat about venues and music. I’ve had an “iffy” report on the Quarter-Gill btw.

337. Horseboy

Bella has put up link to:

“Indy Scot Radio 18.9?

indyscotradio.org/#!live/c1em5

338. Chic McGregor

@Brotyboy

My worst example of that is “Ding Dong Ding etc… University Challenge. Asking the questions…” at which point I my brain always expects ‘Bamber Gascoigne’ even though Paxnot has been doing it for almost 20 years.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B1uOWkma-LE

339. Chic McGregor

@X_Sticks
    Ta. Painful learning curve but much faster at doing them now.

340. Quinie frae Angus

Hi all

A bit late posting now, I know, but despite a whole load of work and hassles I am still planning to come up to Jolly’s tonight, so I will see you there. Won’t get there till about 8 though.

341. Alfresco Dent

Is anybody in the bar yet? If so what are you wearing?

342. rab_the_doubter

Live stream?

343. gerry parker

Dropped in(on line) at the Ferry this evening. Talk of the Constitution.

Reading A Model Constitution for Scotland at the moment by W Elliot Bulmer. Lots of work being done on a constitution at the moment.

344. rab_the_doubter

Looks like a great wee night guys. And the best thing, everyone’s smiling.

345. stonefaction

Just back home after an enjoyable evening at Jolly’s. Good to be able to put a few faces to names (John King, Brotyboy, PaulaRose, Cactus and a few others who I’ve forgotten at the moment, a pleasure to meet you all).

346. Ian Brotherhood

Just home after Jolly’s – great night. Well done Thepnr, and everyone who showed.

Ronnie – thanks for the badge, it’s just what I was after.

Paula Rose – you confounded all my expectations, in the nicest ways possible.

CameronB – a pleasure to meet you at last.

TJenny, Cactus, Lanarkist, X_sticks, Jim, Brotyboy, Alfresco Dent, and of course, Quinie frae Angus (and abody else I didn’t get/can’t remember names for) – I’m gutted I couldn’t stay longer. I didn’t realise it was possible to have so much fun whilst sober and fully dressed.

Can’t wait for the next one. Have just cracked a can, filled a glass, and I hereby raise it to y’all.

Slainte!

347. Jock Scot

Just back from Jolly’s and smiling loads..What a bunch of brilliant folk.

348. Alexandra-M-

Looks like a good night! I’ll definitely need to venture along to the next one.

349. Richard Bruce

Brilliant night just walked home, missed last bus, but worth it meeting most wonderous people.

350. Ian Brotherhood

Thistle deserves huge credit for what he’s been doing.

Just watched the Livestream of tonight’s Dundee session. It’s not ‘polished’. It’s not ‘telly’. It’s not what people expect when they click on a YT clip.

So, what is it? Just random shite gathered in a pub?

No.

What we’re seeing (alebeit sometimes barely hearing) via these Livestreams, isn’t just documentary evidence of a grassroots political awakening. It’s also showing the birth-pangs of genuine and original ‘Scottish’ mainstream broadcasting. The ‘BBC Scotland’ brand is all-but deceased. We will have an entirely new, fresh landscape, and what ‘Thistle’ and others are doing is contributing hugely to that – we are surely at a ‘point of no return’. Sick to the back teeth of the usual faces on BBC/STV and the same hacks in the ‘papers’, we can, should, must have a total clear-out, fresh-start.

351. Thepnr

I can only agree!

Time I went to bed I think 🙂

352. john king

Ooh
    myhead

353. john king

Dear god thats what happens when you use the wifes laptop, I really dont know how to use it,
    about last night I,I, just want you all to know it was all Thepnrs fauly ,BYE

354. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “What we’re seeing (alebeit sometimes barely hearing) via these Livestreams, isn’t just documentary evidence of a grassroots political awakening. It’s also showing the birth-pangs of genuine and original ‘Scottish’ mainstream broadcasting. The ‘BBC Scotland’ brand is all-but deceased. We will have an entirely new, fresh landscape, and what ‘Thistle’ and others are doing is contributing hugely to that – we are surely at a ‘point of no return’. Sick to the back teeth of the usual faces on BBC/STV and the same hacks in the ‘papers’, we can, should, must have a total clear-out, fresh-start.”

Really hoping for this to happen!
    The BBC and the rest of the “mainstream” media are nothing more than propaganda outlets, and have lost any remaining shreds of integrity they might once have possessed in my opinion.

Thistle, Clan Destiny and Wings TV are a glimpse at the future of broadcasting! 😀

355. Oneironaut

Ok, I know there isn’t a “Wings TV” yet. That was intended as a hint to the Rev 😉 hehe.

356. john king

I couldnt agree more oneironaut

357. john king

I couldnt agree more oneironaut’and on that subject the raffle Ronnie so kindly donated a bottle of whisky and the mounted poster for “Scotland yet” donated by Thepnr that Ian Jammy Brotherhood won (not at all jealous Ian) 🙁 raised £80 odd quid and we think the best recipient of that money should be Thistle, the tireless effort put in by that man is humbling and he deserves a huge round of applause, anyone else agree?
    about the cash I mean 🙂

358. Ian Brotherhood

@john king –

Totally agree. Reason I drove up last night was the price of a train ticket from Stevenston/Glasgow – £39? And that was a single!

359. Thepnr

I agree too, get that poster on ebay Ian. Just kidding 🙂

360. Betty Boop

Jim Thomson and his better half thank everyone at the Wings get together last night. Great to meet and talk with so many interesting, humorous, friendly folks. Seriously amusing in all respects 🙂

Doonthetooner – having visions of a cat as a parachute and I’m saying nothing about oystercatchers 🙂 and Ronnie, heading back via Stirling Castle for a cheap day oot!!

Great night by the shores of the silvery Tay. Looking forward to meeting more Wingers in the future.

361. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Nae chance. Keepsies.

362. call me dave

Hibs v Killie and other things. Free streaming.

363. Cactus

Cheers for a smashing night everybuddy, good to see both new and familiar faces. Looking forward to the next one.

364. Brian Doonthetoon

It was a fine night!
    Turned out Pete the Camera and I were sitting as far away from the group as possible, while we had our food and blethers with a couple (both Yes) at the table. Eventually bumped into Glenn Millar around 8, who pointed us in the right direction.
    Good to put faces to names.
    Betty – Mork’s adventure happened when he was two. He lived another 15 years…
    BTW: The archived videos of the live stream are at the same link David gave above:-
    http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/2977503

365. john king

I cant believe I actually spoke to Ninja Penguin and Jock Scot and didn’t know who I was talking to, I’m DEEF guys please forgive me.
    Anyway a real pleasure to have met you (even though I didn’t know it at the time) 🙂

366. Thepnr

Jock Scot and NinjaPenguin are my heroes. Next time I hope you will be live.

We demand answers Oor Wey!

367. john king

Hi Thpnr, thanks for your hospitality and Irene asked me to pass on her thanks as well, btw did anyone find out who’s motorhome that was in the street?
    was it just coincidence?

368. Ninja Penguin

Thanks to everyone for the warm welcome at Jolly’s last night (whether you knew who we were or not!). It was my teenage son’s first ever night out in a pub – he’s usually a bit shy but you guys really brought him out of his shell and he loved it. His comments on the way home summed it up, “It was great to be treated as an equal. It felt like I was getting a glimpse of the independent Scotland of the future – a diverse community of equals working together for a common goal.”

A big thank you, too to Ronnie for the wee gold Yes badge and the lyrics. Look out for some “Ronnie and the Penguin” songs from Yew Choob in the next couple of months.

369. Thepnr

Ninja! You summed it up and have made me cry,

370. StevieMcB

@Alba4Eva, Yew Choob etc, Video submission for Newsnight
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-27209252

371. Ian Brotherhood

Something different for a Saturday evening…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KhZo3sYQho

372. Brian Doonthetoon

Nearly forgot – thanks for the wee gold YES pin. (Ronnie I think.)
    Much appreciated.

373. Richard Bruce

Just watched the video from last night. Trying to catch all the people I missed. Boy I must be getting old and deaf, I could hardly hear what people were saying, it was noisier than it sounds on the live stream video.

It was great to actually meet such wonderful people and all in one pub!

One thing, why did people ask if I had been on TV? Is my secret out?

374. TJenny

Been away all day and just getting onto pc now and catching up with comments.

Have to say a big thankx to Thepnr for organising the night and I loved the Jolly Hotel – very nice, and for the very kind offer to stay over at Greystane?

Good to meet up again with Ronnie (thankx for the wee Yes badge), Ian B, Cactus, and meeting Lanarkist, Jock Scot, Ninja Penguin and Nod and their lovely son, X Sticks, and all the others too numerous to mention. What a team:-)

A big thankx from me go to Quinie frae Angus who gave me a lift home all the way to Ednburgh, even though she then had to drive to Glasgow. What a star, really, what with offers of a room to stay over, wee badges and choccies, and lift home, there’s really no limit to the generosity of the Wingers.

Anyway, as Quinie had to fly out to France this morning at 9.00am, and can’t submit posts, she has asked me to tell you all that she had a ball and enjoyed the wonderful Wingy night.

Looking forward to the Edinburgh gig which will be scoped out by Cactus Jack, Cameron B and others?

375. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Just back from meeting good friend, and we had chat about next Wings Glasgow gig. (He was at the last one in the Counting House).

The man talks much sense, so please, everyone put the Quarter Gill on the back-burner for now.

We Weegies bags Friday May 30th. If Edinburgh want to go with same night, fair do’s. But we’re claiming it first!

Same venue – Counting House. But this time it’s different. We won’t reserve an area. We just turn up. Anytime. If folk want to go there straight from work, fair enough. Enough of us are now friends that it shouldn’t be a problem finding each other. We assemble in whatever area of the CH seems most spacious, then let it develop.

This is all about ‘normalisation’ of being ‘Yes’. Us meeting for a drink is no different to other groups of folk meeting up for a hen/stag night or whatever else.

So, Friday 30th, Counting House, Glasgow, from whenever until whenever – just turn up and look out for happy people wearing ‘Yes’ badges.

Sorted.

Agreed?

376. Paula Rose

Gosh darlings it was lovely to meet so many of you last night, just wish I had worn flattiies rather than high heels – but so fortunate that ‘Thepnr’ has such dexterous fingers, thank you honey, that foot massasge will remain with me for a long time.

377. Thepnr

Oh Paula you saucy git!

Ian B I’m in, lets fill that pub. We can and will.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEGnYyKib9E

378. Paula Rose

Why am I doing this- must be some thing to do with boys in chains

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UD_y44jsG0A

379. Jock Scot

Hi Folks,

Can I just say, I have never felt a better atmosphere in a pub for years so thanks to all. I’m rubbish with names so no offence intended. Had a mad idea this afternoon, thinking wouldn’t it be a great grassroots thing to have the OOR WEY song, sung in as many karaoke locations in-house or pub as possible on the same night, and get them filmed and we could do a Video and create a kind of mojo throughtout the country and Ninja Penguin thought of the Band Aid song, where the lines are sung by different people and she thought that we could sing it and film it at the next Wingers get together and would even sing a line, as long as it was with Ronnie.And since Thepnr mentioned it above, this ought not to be seen as a shameless plug for Yew Choob but now some of you have met us..I’ll let you decide but we would be up for it.If you count the number of lines in the song..that is how many volunteer singers we would need!

I will contact Wee Ginger Dug and share my idea

Oh and to finish, if I may take a shot at the Juke -Box..A song for a Saturday night in Scotland.
    Cheers and slainte
    youtu.be/mJnbOdQig6s

380. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “So, Friday 30th, Counting House, Glasgow, from whenever until whenever – just turn up and look out for happy people wearing ‘Yes’ badges.

Sorted.

Agreed?”

Sounds fun. I’ll try and get there. Might even bring a friend too if they’re up for it 🙂

What time does it start?

381. Oneironaut

Never mind, just noticed it starts “whenever!” hehe.

382. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

As stated – ‘from whenever to whenever’, but I suppose most will choose to appear anytime after, say, five-ish?

Don’t worry about the fire alarm going off – Ronnie Anderson has that side of things sorted already (dontcha big man?!)

383. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “Don’t worry about the fire alarm going off – Ronnie Anderson has that side of things sorted already (dontcha big man?!)”

I can deal with that. Just give me a pair of wire cutters and make sure security is distracted! 😉

384. Paula Rose

I’m just having a wee thing about pretty boys, sorry folks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEmisbjZ_kA

385. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

”Thepnr’ has such dexterous fingers, thank you honey, that foot massage will remain with me for a long time.

The mental image now added to my befuddled memory-banks will, unless I’m very fortunate, last considerably longer.

‘Cheers’ Paula.

386. TJenny

Jock Scot – fantastic idea and another great Yew Choob production. I’m sure the Proclaimers would be interested and might even be up for a wee guest appearance singing a line?

387. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Although I wasn’t drinking last night (until I got home), my memory is, at best, poor. Did you undertake to make arrangements for an Edinburgh night? I do remember various venues being mentioned, but I don’t know the capital at all and wasn’t sure what/where was being discussed.

Hopefully you don’t mind us West-Coasters blagging May 30th. I’m sure we could fill big pubs in both cities on the same night, but it’s just a courtesy thing really – as things stand, we’re doing pretty well with no need for committees or votes, all that palaver, eh?

388. TJenny

IB – I’m up for the CH on May 30, given Bannockburn’s on last weekend in June, should we be looking to hold the Edinburgh night out on say Friday 4 July – seems quite cool to have it on US Indy day, yes?

389. Ian Brotherhood

The Eurovision Song Contest has become iconic, and could go for another 500 years, but, interesting as it undoubtedly is, it will never, ever, ever produce the kind of cross-cultural spaghetti junction that the BBC’s TOTP achieved here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpPF7RzbYb4

Would anyone care to explain it, for our younger viewers?

390. Thepnr

@Jock Scot

Great to meet you, Ninja and her son (brother) last night. I’m up for that, I’ve done that song before in kareoke. Always gets a laf. Will make sure it’s filmed next time.

@Paula Rose.

Ha, you remembered then our conversation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2krmvOCBJI

391. Jock Scot

@T Jenny

I will contact Wee Ginger Dug and see what he thinks as it is his song and only Yew Choob’s interpretation of said song. I did offer to do both versions, the lounge-lizard version may yet surface but the Wee Dug said he liked the punk version, hence why I think their would be an affinity thing going on with some Wingers. If that’s the correct word?

392. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Top Of The Pops Coordinated attack…?

393. Jock Scot

@Thepnr

Twas my pleasure sir and thanks to your goodself and everyone else being so fiendly to the team..think the others may have been as ‘wired’ as I was when I got home.

394. TJenny

Jock Scot – well, as discussed last night, I could do a line a la Lee Marvin’s Wanderi’ Star. 🙂

395. Jock Scot

oops,,Yew Choob humour…friendly

396. Thepnr

What I want to know.

Is Fay Fife For Indy? We need more information.

397. Paula Rose

boys, I just don’t know-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_RZAGnFcI4

398. Jock Scot

@TJenny

I’m sure you could manage more than a line.

399. Paula Rose

Thepnr – darling please be careful

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8hDw6mS2pI

400. Ian Brotherhood

I volunteer to be Bono Brotherhood if I can sing ‘Well tonight thank god it’s them instead of you!’

401. TJenny

Jock Scot – Hmm. Strokes chin. Was it hearing my tuneful (not) warbling along with Cactus, or are you saying I’ve got a big nose? (weefacedthingywithlefteyebrowraised)

402. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

re forthcoming WOS nights –

Cool. Feels like we’re moving into a different phase with these social nights – we really should be aiming to get plenty of bodies out, and the more we mingle the better.

Let’s face it – who wouldn’t have been curious about what we were doing last night in that section of Jolly’s? It clearly wasn’t a ‘normal’ gathering. A lot of folk wouldn’t have wanted to come into that space because they weren’t sure what was happening.

If we just happen to congregate in whatever place, and they find themselves part of it, they may well get involved, for whatever reason (the most obvious being that we’re all so blisteringly attractive) and end-up joining the squad.

If we build it, they will come…

403. Paula Rose

Ian darling – are you really suggesting we should mingle with the hoi-polloi?

404. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Heaven forfend!

I am suggesting merely that might enjoy the opportunity to shuffle closer to us than would normally be permissible during working hours.

405. Ian Brotherhood

PS – please insert ‘the lucky fuckers’ where I’ve omitted ‘they’.

406. TJenny

Ian – agree wholeheartedly but think we should try for the night out in Edinburgh as there may be some easties who want to attend but may feel the cost of train a bit much. Although it was £33 for a return Edin/Broughty Ferry/Edin, by getting the 6.30 train rather than an earlier one to Glasgow, was only £10 return, but that may be a cost too far for some.

407. cearc

Love the Oor Wey idea.

Sorry I shan’t be there.

408. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

To clarify (sorry, the crack cocaine’s kicking in now…) –

Are we looking at a ‘Hands Across the Central Belt’ Night, with concurrent gigs in Glasgow and Edinburgh?

If that’s what you’re suggesting, it’s epic – it could become newsworthy in itself, if we build it up.

409. cearc

TJenny et al,

The busses are much cheaper and just as good.

410. TJenny

IB – I’m in two minds about that :- as I’m not sure how many would turn out for Edinburgh compared with the turnout for Glasgow and the Ferry. Talking of Edinburgh, Conan’s been missing from WOS for a wee while – anyone heard from him? Hope he’s OK. Also hope Braco found a job.

Anyway the nights out – not a tecchy, but could it be Skyped between Glasgow and Edinburgh and would we need 2 Thistles + his wee gizmo(s)?

411. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Thistle already has two. I don’t know if it was via some Indiegogo appeal or whatever, but he told me he has two ‘rigs’. I can’t speak for the man, but I’m guessing it’s the type of thing he would be right into, if we get it set up.

Listening to you and Lanarkist chatting, I’m sure you’ve more than enough contacts and clout to make the Edinburgh gig a total winner (and who else was there at that conversation, approx half-nine, outside?) – it also gets the whole Edinburgh/Glasgow rivalry going i.e. which side can get the most bodies out on the night? Friendly productive rivalry an aw that, eh?

As Thepnr alluded to earlier, we can FILL these big pubs if we want to. Don’t want to come across all Sturgeonish at this time of night, but ‘we can, we should, and we must!’

Let’s do it.

412. ronnie anderson

Good evening lads n lasses, I trust everyone at the Ferry

had a enjoyable evening. Many thanks to Thepnr, John K Mrs

Irene K for her sterling work on the raffle ( no objection

the suggestion to fund Thistle with the proceeds )Ian,

T Jen, Qf Ang,Ninja P & family,Jock Scot, Cactus,CameronB,

Younger Thepnr, X Sticks, & the many more, just to many

names to rememeber. looking forward to Emburgh Morag,

Cactus,CameronB, get the skates on.

413. X_Sticks

TJenny says:

“Conan’s been missing from WOS for a wee while”

John King (think it was) was saying Conan hadn’t been well. I hope he gets better soon. Thoughts with you CtL.

414. ronnie anderson

@T Jenny if anybodys got Conans Email they could sent a get well card from us all.

415. X_Sticks

@ronnie Anderson

I think Bugger (the panda) might have Conan’s email. They were arranging the get together at the Albannach for the rally last year.

416. Ian Brotherhood

And where’s Alex Mci these days?

You there mister?

417. Liquid Lenny

A fellow winger posted about this Belgium Celtic Punk Rock band today, I see they have a new album out…

http://www.theblacktartanclan.com/

418. Liquid Lenny

BTW Im up for another night out, and if its before end of June folks remember if your over 55 you can get anywhere in Scotland for under £20 return on the train..

419. Cactus

Aye aye, I’m all for gathering at our regular Glasgow venue, ‘Counting House: Part 2 ~ The Return’. I like the idea of keeping the crowd out in the open. There’s no reason why this can’t be a weekly occurrence.. those who make it can, those who can’t, make it next week?

Same goes for all you wonderful weekly wingers at Jolly’s in Broughty Ferry.. what can I say, on yersel!

As more people become aware of Wings Over Scotland, having a known place to go to in our towns & cities (drop in) can only be a good thing. A bit like YES.

Edinburgh meet-up: hmmm, maybe we could encourage more readers to get involved and give new comment with suggestion for a venue.. if Rev Stu’s cool with it, somewhere well into new threads (so’s not to distract from the article) pose the question? Afterall, this is the biggy, Scotland’s capital city.

Many people just need a trigger to get them interested enough to join in and comment 🙂

420. Ian Brotherhood

Comments disappearing again. Test…

421. David

Going by the amount of comments here, I think we need a new Off-Topic page to be opened every month. It takes ages to scroll up and down here!

Also, maybe a separate page for discussing meetings, gatherings, and similar events?

422. Ian Brotherhood

Just to double-check folks – those on the May 30th Counting House list so far:

Silvertay
    Rab the Doubter
    Twenty14
    Thepnr
    Cactus

423. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Going by the amount of comments here, I think we need a new Off-Topic page to be opened every month. It takes ages to scroll up and down here!”

You’ve heard of the “End” button, right? 😉

424. call me dave

End button! Coo, how long has that been there?

Tell me just today …. 🙁 No you say! FGS!

God bless the end button.

425. Chic McGregor

Users should bear in mind that just because something is off topic, doesn’t mean it has no value added for the more casual visitor who won’t check this thread.

e.g. an event announcement or something else which might be of interest to readers who would not see it here.

Shouldn’t such as that still be posted on a recent main page thread? Providing of course it has some relevance to the pro-indy cause.

426. call me dave

Just watched Aberdeen throw away 2nd spot to steelmen. Steal is the word.

Footie for non Sky, BT viewers today.

Scousers need some luck.

http://www.wiziwig.tv/competition.php?&part=sports&discipline=football&allowedDays=1&competitionid=&archive=no&sel_comp=no&p=2

427. Liquid Lenny

Ian , count me in for ch2

428. X_Sticks

Cactus says:

“Edinburgh meet-up… Afterall, this is the biggy, Scotland’s capital city.

Duh! I thought Glasgow was the capital. Maybe I should stop reading the Guardian.

429. Robert Kerr

Ian,

Sorry can’t make CH2 since I shall be in Wales that week-end.

Actually Edinburgh is just as easy for me by train.

I shall keep my ear to the net.

All the best

430. LizM

Cearc

do you breed and sell fowl? I’m looking for Lavender Aracunas (not sure I’ve spelt that right).

431. Ian Brotherhood

@Robert Kerr –

No worries mister – I’m sure there will many many other opportunities.

432. Ian Brotherhood

Very quiet today. I’m not exactly being inundated with names for CH2…hang on ’til I switch into BT mode…

‘Okay, just a brief note to appreciation to the 3,569 fellow Scots who have pledged – since we launched the appeal for expressions of support just 23 minutes ago – to come to the Counting House in Glasgow on May 30th. We’re going to send out a powerful grassroots message – we’re Better Together when we get the best of both worlds and share the risks and responsibilities on our broad shoulders.’

There. How was that?

433. Paula Rose

That’s a good idea Ian (chuckle)!

434. john king

Hmm lets see go to counting house and die or go to daughters wedding in June,
    that’s a toughy 🙂

435. Ian Brotherhood

@john king –

Couldn’t your daughter have her hen night at the same time?

436. Ian Brotherhood

Tonight’s task, should you choose to accept it, is to nominate the perfect (Scottish or indy-relevant) pop song.

Here’s a starter: ‘Somewhere In My Heart’, Aztec Camera –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4pWcVPUybE

437. Ian Brotherhood

Bee Gees, ‘You Win Again’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KZY9oYSSjFI

438. Ian Brotherhood

Bay City Rollers, ‘All of Me Loves All of You’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bg_BM5QGylc

439. Ian Brotherhood

Gerry Rafferty, ‘Night Owl’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vTnff0pkgs

440. Paula Rose

Punk ethic Ian dearest –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1zci07Kono

441. Ian Brotherhood

Lena Zavaroni, ‘Mama’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J09IeN-ONbk

442. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Everyone’s partial to a bit of cheese now and then – I’m determined to find your guilty pleasure.

Could it be this?

Sydney Devine, ‘Cryin’ Time’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PaMzos6AOnU

443. Greannach

Donna Summer – The State of Independence

444. Ian Brotherhood

The Corries, ‘Bonnie Dundee’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Av2-A-igOJk

445. Greannach

Donna – m.youtube.com/watch?v=NEE-OHGThw

446. Ian Brotherhood

@Greannach –

Good shout. Here it is, live –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NEE-OHGThw

447. Paula Rose

Ian darling, not last night but the one before…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-AB0IMnq7k

448. mato21

For those concerned about Conon I noticed he had posted on Munguins this morning

449. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Nice one. Right back at ye:

Frankie Miller, ‘Darlin” –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t2MFutruZ8E

450. Ian Brotherhood

Took a while to construe a referendum-related link for this one – Blair McDougall, on Sep 19th…

Meatloaf, ‘Bat Out of Hell’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3QGMCSCFoKA

451. Oneironaut

Am I already on the list for the Counting House gig?
    Just checking 🙂

Sad that I can’t think of a good song to post here… 🙁

452. Jock Scot

Not strictly pop but the Title will hopefully qualify for inclusion

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4CPezSV198

453. Ian Brotherhood

Whoops!

Just realised – McDougall would be singing it on Sep 18th: ‘Like a bat out of hell I’ll be gone when the morning comes…’

I can’t imagine he moves quite as fast as that, but so long as he does move, that’s the main thing.

454. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

That’s you on the list mister.

Did you see me waving at you today? You looked splendid, bedecked in all the badges!

Come on man – think of a song.

455. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot –

For our purposes this evening ‘pop’ means anything that has ever proved to be popular with anyone, anywhere, so long as a referendum/independence/Scotland link can be established, no matter how tortuous.

BTW, I’m still well hacked-off that I didn’t get to talk to you in Dundee t’other night. The stuff you’re doing is awesome.

456. Jock Scot

@Ian Brotherhood
    Ditto re meeting you but since I didn’t know anyone to start with…and I’m a wee bit shy,Lol….Thanks for the kind words. Do you know Wee Ginger Dug by the way as I’m working on an idea with him and we could do with loads of support?

457. Ian Brotherhood

Have been trying to get Stereo Mc’s ‘Pressure’, and it’s nowhere to be found on Youtube – what’s that all about?

458. TJenny

test – I’ve got no comment preview and last comment disappeared into the ether. 🙁

459. Paula Rose

Ooh look Ian – a wee ditty for the BT campain!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-o4e2geCXek

460. TJenny

OK, second attempt:

The wonderful ‘Free Bird’

http://www.youtube.co.uk/watch?v=CkTQUtx818w

and what we’ll all be doing on 19 Sept.
    ‘Dancing in the Street’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RGpgkCE41x8

Hope these links work.

461. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot –

I did meet WGD at the last Glasgow CH gig, and it was great – I was outside having a smoke with him and TJenny when we were accosted by a large man called ‘Andy’ who berated us for being ‘bigots’ etc etc. It was all a bit fishy, and – paranoid, moi? mibbe – I do think the guy was ex-Forces, just trying to wind us up. Whether he was doing it off his own bat or was under instructions, we’ll never know.

In any event, WGD got stuck right into him – I won’t spill details, but the man can tell you himself if he hasn’t already. Let’s just say it was one of the very best retorts I’ve ever heard. ‘Andy’ literally rocked back on his heels, as if he’d just been Suzy-Q’d. Class.

462. TJenny

IB – I remember that well. It was the most splendid gas-on-a-peep retort, ever.
    I hadn’t realised that it was WGD, what a guy. 🙂

463. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Great tune there from ‘Brotherhood of Man’, but have a heart – I was only seven when that was a chart-topper, so I took real pelters at school. Eventually the group faded, as did the slagging, but then those completely separate bastards did ‘Kisses For Me’ using the same name and it all kicked of again when I was only thirteen.

I did try to defend myself on the basis that the original line-up were clearly Marxists, and that the Eurovision team was just a cynical attempt (successful as it transpired) to capitalise on the fame of their now-unmarketable namesakes, but my protests fell on deaf ears, and I’ve been lumbered with that damned association ever since.

And no, I never did learn the ‘Kisses For Me’ dance routine.

464. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s the perfect soundtrack to accompany whatever’s going on inside Alistair Darling’s heid:

Radiohead ‘How To Disappear Completely’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAF8D0ugyVk

465. Thepnr

You know what I’m wishing for like, ken…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opkzgLMH5MA

466. Jock Scot

@Ian Brotherhood
    Cool story..the reason I asked was , if you saw my earlier post about my mad idea..well I contacted WGD and we shared some ideas but since the project is a bit ‘out-there’, we will need assistance.If you don’t mind me thinking that you are involved in a lot of what happens with the wingers and know more of them better than I do..I thought that the people we would be looking for might be some of the Wingers and since we are planning something as a collective then a Wingers input would be welcome…and I mean Wingers as a group represented in the final project. If you have WGD’s contact details..he can give you more info. And since you know him already, I will tell him that we have had this conversation. cheers.

Also to anyone in Wingsland..Yew Choob has had a request to ‘Choob’ Andy Cameron’s 70’s smash hit..’We’re on the March with Ally’s army’. Trouble is..we are finding it hard to source a backing track and would probably need one made for us, so if anyone can help, it’d be appreciated.
    Cheers

467. Brian Doonthetoon

Message for Thistle. If anyone has email addy for him, could you let him know that I’ve posted this for him?
    Ta.
    Thistle, this is the link to the PDF of “Fortress Scotland” that I mentioned to you on Friday at Jolly’s.
    http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/download/file.php?id=485
    Or follow the nuclear stuff on Page 11 and Page 12 of this thread, to see the context. The link is at the end of the post with the pic of the Balado golf ball.
    http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/scottish-independence-t79.html

A track, independence oriented. The band are from Dundee and are called “Independence”. The song is called “Stand Together”. Here’s the blurb from the YouTube page:
    “Hi all, we wrote this song way back in 1997. I believe its time to give another airing, given the debate on independence for Scotland. Please forgive the rather basic slide show that goes with it. Its my first and probably last attempt at being a “movie maker” Also my very first time on YouTube”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mr-7d0o3Mns

468. Ian Brotherhood

David Mundell is…

…the ‘Last Man Standing’ (Hammerfall) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOmMZBZGBps

469. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot –

I think, maybe, I know the idea you’re alluding to. Lots of different people singing lines, or parts of lines in the same song?

The May 30th CH gig is an obvious chance to nail a few Wingers, ’cause there’ll be plenty of us there. And with a wee swally taken? I’m sure you’d have no probs getting volunteers, and I can think off-hand of a few who’d positively jump at it.

Anyway, I might be just rambling. Curious to hear more. I don’t know WGD – we just had that one brief conversation before being so (unconvincingly) interrupted.

470. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Have sent Thistle an email.

@Paula Rose

A wee bus like this for Glasgow?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6iqzi7N2Ds

471. Paula Rose

on floor convulsed in giggles – sorry other folks you won’t understand, oh damn just had a wee leakage.

472. Oneironaut

Hmm, did my post with a music link disappear, or am I just not seeing it for some reason?
    (Testing a new system here, so expecting a glitch or two…)

473. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

That video was great and the song too!

474. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot –

I don’t know if I can be of any practical use in the project (unless you need someone to sing ‘well tonight thank god it’s them instead of you!!’) but if so, please pass my e-mail to WGD: ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

Now, would you mind terribly giving us another of your all-time faves? We’re on a roll here, and I’ve still got half a box of Country Manor (*) to get through.

* ‘Keep good company with Country Manor: The deliciously light-hearted and sociable drink.’

475. TJenny

Paula Rose – you’re in Thepnr’s wee vid there?

476. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

It hasn’t appeared.

Copy/paste the whole link in here, THEN delete everything before the www, THEN post, it should appear okay.

477. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula.

Thanks!

thepnr – watch out for Independence playing in a pub near you. They regularly have gigs in the Dundee/Fife/north-east areas.

478. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

The song was originally called “Tramp! Tramp! Tramp!”, an American Civil War Song. The tune was also used for “God Save Ireland”. Umpteen versions of both are on YouTube.
    Those titles may help you with your search.

479. rab_the_doubter

Great choon.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6kJ9krPV_jU

480. Oneironaut

oops, forgot it didn’t like that bit of the links…
    Luckily the post was still cached, so I didn’t have to try to remember it. Just copy+pasting it back in 🙂

@Ian Brotherhood
    Yep, I seem to be collecting them lately. Still haven’t got a Wings badge though…

I did see you, though I was miles away in my own little world and you were almost past before I reacted, hehe.

As for a song, I’ve been hunting through my entire music stash and managed to dig up a couple that could perhaps be appropriate… Maybe… With a bit of wild flights of imagination involved!

Chose this one because of how catchy and upbeat it sounds.
    And because the singer is a favourite of mine.

“Come on, get in” by KT Tunstall
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GECKllY0Q5E

“Come on, can you see the light?
    Come on, you know it feels right!”

Vote YES! 😀

(Yeah ok, extremely tenuous link, but I’m too sleepy to think of a better one. Might get back to you on that tomorrow!)

481. Ian Brotherhood

Blair McDougall’s dream gig –

I am a pleb, and don’t appreciate the finer points of classical music – to me, this seems like a very elaborate/expensive (albeit entertaining) interpretation of a moth trying to establish a meaningful relationship with a 40-amp bulb.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y75ryZC8LB0

482. Ian Brotherhood

@rab the doubter –

Brilliant.

‘Fear is a weapon of mass destruction…Inaction is a weapon of mass destruction.’

483. WeeGingerDug

OK, so what happened outside the Counting House was that a drunk guy came up to us and aggressively says “Are you all bigots?” “Whit dae ye mean?” I replied. “Do you all hate the English?” he said, “Are you bigots?”

“No,” I said. “I’m not a bigot. I’m married to an Englishman. And he supports independence too.”

Seeing as how I’m baldy, beardy, and definitely a man, yer man is taken aback. He pauses, and says “An English … man?”

“Aye,” says I, “an English MAN. We’re a gay couple. Why? Are you a bigot?”

And that took the steam right out of him. Which was nice.

484. Thepnr

Blair McDougal=Choob hahaha

485. Oneironaut

@WeeGingerDug

Nice one! 😀

486. TJenny

WGD – I was with Ian B during that exchange. It was like seeing a balloon being poked with a pin – superb. 🙂

487. WeeGingerDug

Hi Jenny – we need to have an UNINTERRUPTED smoke in the rain next time.

488. Ian Brotherhood

@WeeGingerDug –

I remember going back up the stairs into the CH, accompanying Jenny, and you gave me a reassuring glance – how did the conversation with ‘Andy’ end? Did he just go away?

489. Ian Brotherhood

The Big Question now is…who’s going to be the first to post a comment that breaches the 1000 on a single thread?

Hmm?

If it includes a music link, it’s gonny have to be a good one…

490. TJenny

WGD – we must indeed have an uninterrupted natter. Are you coming to CH on 30 May?

IB – is my name down for this on you wee list?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.