No That’s What I Call Music

Posted on April 13, 2014 by

We’re off to watch the Scottish Cup semi-final now, so to keep you all entertained for the next couple of hours here’s a little something we put together at the request of columnist and broadcaster Lesley Riddoch, and for anyone who was listening to Radio Scotland’s “Headlines” this morning.

Hopefully we won’t need it ourselves by 3.30pm. #COYR

56 to “No That’s What I Call Music”

1. Doug Daniel says:

JOHNNY CASH’S VERSION OF HURT?!?!?

WHAT ABOUT THE SUPERIOR NINE INCH NAILS ORIGINAL VERSION?!?!?!

2. Croompenstein says:

What? no Dick Gaughan 🙁

3. heedtracker says:

“and for anyone who was listening to Radio Scotland’s “Headlines” this morning.” I missed it but wild guess here with jaw dropping corrupt BBC in Scotland going “We all hate Alex Salmond don’t we, so vote NO.”

4. abystander says:

On the weekend of the last SNP conference before the referendum the electronic version of the Scotsman is leading with Nigel Farage making some comment “somewhere in England”

This is beyond bizarre.

5. John Walsh says:

“Lawyers,Guns and Money” Warren Zevon

6. Seasick Dave says:

COYS!

(That’s all the way from Rio de Janeiro)

BTW, I was talking to a couple of Brazilians in one of the bars on Monday and they were asking about the Referendum and were very clued up about it! They couldn’t believe that No was an option and that we hadn’t become Independent years ago.

Ach well, not long now…

7. Croompenstein says:

Oor Jessie 😀

link to jessieleecates.com

8. gerry parker says:

Ah Billie, one of my favourites, her and Dinah Washington.

9. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“WHAT ABOUT THE SUPERIOR NINE INCH NAILS ORIGINAL VERSION?!?!?!”

The Cash version is more depressing.

10. Morag says:

Can I post on this thread? Because posts on a previous thread are all vanishing.

11. Morag says:

Weird. Sorry to disrupt. Embarrassingly, I just realised what I did wrong. *red face*

12. Holebender says:

How about adding The Beatles’ She’s Leaving Home to your playlist?

13. caz-m says:

Would someone please joins the dots for me here.

COYR
    Lesley Riddoch
    BBC Scotland “Headlines” programme
    Slow depressing music

Have you lot been on the Jamaican Woodbines again???

14. Gill says:

Bad liver and a broken heart, Tom Waits 😀

15. Helpmaboab says:

“I’m Only Happy when It Rains” by Garbage.

The Rolling Stones’ “Paint It Black”.

“Run For Your Life” by the Beatles.

“Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now”, of course.

“Shiny Happy People” by R.E.M. No, wait, That’s one of OURS!

16. Helpmaboab says:

caz-m,

Would someone please joins the dots for me here.

I would answer your question but I’m too busy admiring the groovy patterns in my wallpaper. Also, I could murder a pizza just now…

17. davidhk says:

How about bob Dylan’s “I don’t believe you” , “union sundown” or “maybe someday”

PS, we need Lesley riddoch back on radio Scotland she knows how to question politicians and doesn’t take any of their nonesense

18. call me dave says:

Headlines BBC Scotland. from 6mins 20secs in.

Katie Grant is that woman. Sergio Casci mainly for YES.

Bit like curates egg ‘good in parts’
    Flick through to choose your poison.

link to bbc.co.uk

19. ronnie anderson says:

Rev,whit ur you dain playing requests fur Blair McBlabber n Bters, Alba4eva will no be very happy.

20. Holebender says:

Bob Dylan I ain’t gonna work on Maggie’s farm no more

Oh wait, that’s a Yes song! 😉

21. caz-m says:

Scottish Cup Final, Tayside Derby.

22. davidhk says:

Or another Dylan classic, its all over now, baby blue

23. Thepnr says:

“End Of The World” Judge Dredd

24. seasick Dave says:

Stevie May, ya dancer!

25. JGedd says:

What about The Black Freighter by Nina Simone? ( A bit tougher in sentiment than some of the stuff here since it’s by Kurt Weill and Bertolt Brecht.)
    Or Kind of Blue by Miles Davis, any track?

26. Alba4Eva says:

Lets hope the battle we are in doesn’t go like that… Dons were by far the better team, but for some reason, couldn’t put the game away… lets learn from that… we have to put the game away in September. I dont want a nail-biter… I want a clear unabiguous victory.

27. Taranaich says:

Jings Rev, putting “Gloomy Monday” on there is reckless and dangerous!

28. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Stevie May, ya dancer!”

LIFETIME BAN.

29. Seasick Dave says:

LIFETIME BAN

That’s the spirit 🙂

30. blairtahuille says:

YES. Close to the Edge. Armadillo, 2nd. May. Let’s buy all the T-Shirts s. Progressive or what?

31. Seasick Dave says:

Dons were by far the better team

Willie Miller thought otherwise.

32. Andy-B says:

O/T Rev, I do apologise.

This seems promising,sorry if its already been posted.

link to heraldscotland.com

33. gordoz says:

O/T Sunday politics

Red Road flats demolition will not feature as part of the Games opening, (safety grounds – nothing to do with people power & 17,000 petition; Aye sure GCC)

34. onwards says:

Sunday Bloody Sunday, going from Scotland on Sunday’s totally unintentional ‘WAR’ front cover.

35. Jim T says:

O/T Red Road flats not now being demolished as part of CG opening ceremony link to bbc.co.uk

Chief exec Gravenberg said:
    “Glasgow 2014, Games partners and key stakeholders, including Police Scotland and Glasgow Housing Association, are not prepared to allow what was proposed to be a positive act of commemoration to create risk for all concerned, including the communities of north east Glasgow.”

Commemoration? Really?

36. Jim T says:

typing too fast again *Grevemberg*

37. Aidan says:

For Blair McDougall and his team, ‘Monster’ by The Automatic (“What’s that coming over the hill? Is it a monster? Is it a monster?” – to which the answer is invariably ‘No’).

Or, keeping with the theme but having less to do with fears of Independence, more descriptive of some high-profile people involved in Better Together: “Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps)” by a Mr D. Bowie.

As you can see, I’ve really taken Alistair Darling’s ‘monstering’ idea very seriously. 🙂

For Blinky himself, though, one song appears perfect: “They’re Coming To Take Me Away Ha Ha” by Napoleon XIV.

38. CameronB says:

Oi, what are you trying to do to me. Here I am quitely managing long-term depression and you follow Billie Holiday with the Mary Chain. Oh lordie lord. 🙂

Cab Calloway Band – We The Cats Will Hep Ya

39. Aidan says:

Oops. Sorry, Rev.

40. Ananurhing says:

How about a loop laid over these tracks of Screaming Lord George, reading Matthew 8:12

“But the children of the kingdom shall be cast out into outer darkness, and there shall be weeping, and gnashing of teeth.” N’ nat no?

41. Jim T says:

Remind me someone, whatever happened to the tug stationed in Stornoway?

link to bbc.co.uk

I seem to remember some London based bureaucrat doing a bit of cost cutting.

We need to be rid of that lot. VOTE YES

42. ronnie anderson says:

@Aidan,thanks Aidan wur you thinking of me when you put that vid up lol,am away wie the fairy’s.
    Tiptoe Thru The Tulips With Me,complete with the face paint s c a r y lol.

43. Jim T says:

back on topic (for a wee while)

Muddy Waters & the Stones “Baby Please Don’t Go”

or Muddy’s “Southbound Train”
    link to youtube.com that one has the immortal “hardworking man” reference and going south so “I don’t have to work anymore”

Pretty apt methinks 🙂

44. The Man in the Jar says:

My twopence worth.

From 1970 Atomic Rooster with “Death Walks Behind You”

Dedicated to “Lord” George Robertson. Wooo!

45. Aidan says:

@ronnie anderson
    Not you, Ronnie! 🙂

When I think of the conversation we had in the street during the fire-alarm episode, I think of this song:

46. CameronB says:

Jim T
    I was extremely fortunate to see Muddy Waters, the year of the Brixton riots (1981). He followed Chuck Berry, who came back on-stage later, to jam. My favourite kind. 🙂

47. Jim T says:

CameronB
    I was given the anthology disc set for Christmas. Not my usual fare, but extremely listenable and his evident love of the music along with his easy style is very relaxing.

The Man in the Jar
    That was one of my first albums. Listened to it again via Spotify a month or two back and it’s painfully dated in terms of production quality. Still, brought back a lot of memories of mid teens. 😛

48. Jamie Arriere says:

Queen – I’m Going Slightly Mad

Liza Minnelli – Losing my Mind

Sundays – Here’s Where the Story Ends – ‘that little souvenir of a terrible year’

Annie Lennox – No More I Love Yous

49. Jamie Arriere says:

And one for Labour for Indy and St Johnstone fans..

LIFETIME BAN APPEAL LODGED

50. simon mcivor says:

who about adding my friend by groove armada to your playlist

51. ronnie anderson says:

@Aidan,so you wur thinking of me,their better sending in the dug van tae take me away, ah’ll be howling at the moon by that time lol.

52. Alba4Eva says:

Seasick Dave… Willie Miller (legend that he is), will undoubtedly be infected with Beebeeceeitis, which afflicts all to who conrtact the disease to habitual lying. 😉

53. shona louise paton says:

testing….testing……1…2….3, can you hear me at the back? 😀

54. Tamson says:

O/T – regarding Red Road demolition: interesting theory developing. The stunt may have been a financial scam to offload the demolition costs to the Games budget, rather than GHA’s.

55. Craiging_619 says:

With this being possibly our only chance of escaping Westminster rule in our lifetimes, how about that song that goes, “Well if you gotta go, go now, or else you got to stay all night”? Seems like an eery warning.

56. kininvie says:

Days later….just remembered this:

Traffic: Sometimes I feel so uninspired

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,723 Posts, 1,214,433 Comments

• Ian Brotherhood on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “I’m reminded of Confused’s past comments, when he mentioned that so-and-so felt very sad and took a lot of pills.…Mar 21, 14:34
    • Mia on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: ““Maybe it was she who could clearly see that Indy would lose” That is irrelevant. If she decided not to…Mar 21, 14:05
    • Ian Brotherhood on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Well said. Sara Salyers discussed this with Roddy MacLeod on the recent TASP. Voter engagement is heading through the floor.…Mar 21, 13:57
    • Robert Hughes on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Quite so , Mia , though the difficulty at this point is envisaging a situation in which the ( ultimate…Mar 21, 13:53
    • ross on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “will we hear the intricacies of the embezzlement at court? This needs to be brought to court very soon. It’s…Mar 21, 13:46
    • Marie on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Your post from 9am is spot on Mia. Superb!!Mar 21, 13:23
    • Mia on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: ““It’s difficult not to conclude that the lumpen Scottish electorate is not just unutterably dense” Why? I actually think the…Mar 21, 13:17
    • Marie on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Like you I have no belief in any of those compromised institutions. And I cannot take part in an electoral…Mar 21, 13:10
    • David Thomson on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “A local man, who admitted embezzling more than £134,000 from the post office where he was the manager to feed…Mar 21, 13:05
    • Ian Brotherhood on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “If the Holyrood parliament is nothing more than a sop then we have not had a democratic government in Scotland,…Mar 21, 13:04
    • diabloandco on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “That long????? Bargain basket , do not pass go , do not collect £200! It always puzzles me as to…Mar 21, 12:41
    • Andy Ellis on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “It’s difficult not to conclude that the lumpen Scottish electorate is not just unutterably dense. https://x.com/ScotNational/status/1903041556585889904 Given recent events both…Mar 21, 12:37
    • Skip_NC on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Mr Swinney is wrong. The victims are those of all parties and none who donated to the “ring-fenced” independence fund…Mar 21, 12:27
    • Southernbystander on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Yeah the idea Sturgeon is some kind of British secret service agent is risible. I get where it comes from…Mar 21, 12:15
    • Oneliner on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “I’m not going to read Sturgeon’s book. But I’m not going to read it at a time of my choosing.…Mar 21, 11:37
    • Mia on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “” the only scenario I can envisage the conspiracy being exposed is if it was calculated that such exposure would…Mar 21, 10:57
    • Mia on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: ““whether or not prosecution is in the public interest” Ahh! The mythic and ever evasive “public” interest. One hell of…Mar 21, 10:45
    • Mia on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Sometimes, the timing of things is as good a source of information as the “thing” itself. On the 12 March…Mar 21, 10:19
    • Hugh Wallace on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “@dave The COPFS does not bring charges on the basis of ‘beyond all reasonable doubt’ but requires sufficiency of evidence…Mar 21, 09:32
    • 100%Yes on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “The SNP can do what ever it wants provided it doesn’t break up the Union.Mar 21, 09:22
    • 100%Yes on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Was this ever in doubt, NO. Its time to move on from Sturgeon and Salmond and entirely get behind Liberation…Mar 21, 09:17
    • Mia on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: ““Care to explain why the British state opened Holyrood?” Until the oil was discovered, under a classic colonial mentality, Scotland…Mar 21, 09:00
    • Chas on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Is this ‘news’ really a surprise to anybody? Nothing is ever certain in a Court of Law. However a case…Mar 21, 08:49
    • Lynn on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Sadly I no longer believe in the justice system , police or politicians. I do believe we now live in…Mar 21, 08:45
    • 100%Yes on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Mr Swinney believes the SNP are the victims.Mar 21, 08:36
    • Aidan on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “@Dave – beyond reasonable doubt is the burden of proof the PF must meet on questions of fact in a…Mar 21, 08:21
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “If you have evidence for your vagina claim, we’d all (ahem) like to see it. Maybe in an hour or…Mar 21, 08:18
    • X_Sticks on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Indeed, but they’re about to ‘fix’ that miscarriage of justice too with their ‘new evidence’ recently discovered that will back…Mar 21, 08:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Here I am, Old Lochinvar sah! Ready to collect my ‘J’ badge from you, one of the self-identifying trained killers…Mar 21, 08:10
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deep-Fried Banana Republic: “Maybe it was she who could clearly see that Indy would lose. Again. Maybe it was she who could clearly…Mar 21, 08:01