My cyber shame

Posted on January 24, 2014 by

Tell you what, readers – say what you like about the Daily Mail, but you certainly can’t accuse them of not really going for it once they get an idea into their heads.

mycybershame

These are all just from the last week or so, and there’s more to come. The paper has been going around doorstepping random pro-independence tweeters for what we presume is going to be quite a sizeable feature any day now (we declined their offer to send a hack and photographer round, but answered a few questions by email, as much for the sheer curiosity of seeing how they’d twist them as anything else).

And the “Cybernat Watch” column is now our favourite start to the day.

Having achieved our goal of making a personal appearance within 24 hours, we’ve looked on in awe as the paper’s been forced to dig ever more desperately for examples of “vile online abuse” from Yes supporters – today’s effort is reduced to picking out a couple of innocuous comments from people’s Facebook pages, seemingly (and remarkably) unable to locate a single person being directly rude to a Unionist politician personally on the entire internet.

POLITICIANS, campaigners and members of the public continued to be subjected to vile online abuse from cybernats yesterday.

Tommo Adams sent a message on Facebook to a Better Together supporter which read: ‘Shut up David you f****** t**.’

In a reference to Scottish Labour deputy leader Anas Sarwar, Duncan Woodward wrote on Facebook: ‘Talking s**** comes naturally everyday.’

George Allardice wrote on Facebook: ‘If we all vote Yes and get independence that we deserve will the No voters p*** off down across the border to Englandshire?’”

Meanwhile, of course, it took us less than 20 seconds to find these:

britnatwatch1britnatwatch2britnatwatch3

We presume those just count as “harmless banter”. We don’t know how long it’s going to take until the Mail gets bored of this game, but we plan to enjoy it while it lasts.

1. 24 01 14 10:51

My cyber shame | Peter A Bell

118 to “My cyber shame”

1. Jimbo

Here’s a few more choice nuggets from the Better Together supporters:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=598661353546461&set=p.598661353546461&type=1&theater

2. Craig P

Cybernat Watch reminds me of Settler Watch – but if nothing else confirms independence as a progressive cause, it is the opposition of the Daily Mail.

3. Marcia

The Mail article will no doubt make readers a bit curious and they will actually look up any websites mentioned. Don’t they think this through?

It would be good if they provided balance and printed the comments from No supporters along side that are far worse than anything the Yes supporter or agent provocateur have said.

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Here’s a few more choice nuggets from the Better Together supporters:”

Hmm, I can’t actually find any of those on Twitter.

5. kendomacaroonbar

It’s pretty much par for the course… Indy supporters *are* the enemy to the establishment; so now they’ve come to fight…and then we win.

6. Big Jock

Seems to be a lot of National front/Orange order supporters of the No campaign. I hope Scottish Labour are happy to agree with the pond life out there.

7. Extreme0

Alex Salmond has to stop these mad raving vile disgusting venomous cybernats from leaving those poor wee honest vulnerable politicians alone.

By um…eh… I don’t know. Become one with the Internet?

8. Andy Ellis

As one of those “favoured” with a visit from the Scots Daily Mail, I made that very point to the press agency journalist they sent to my door on Wednesday. It has always seemed to me that the volume and level of vitriol spouted is heavily from the No camp, and that there is a huge double standard in operation. Perhaps the pro-independence campaigners selected were easy targets because our profiles are public – but I would hardly say those I am aware of are given to dishing out vitriolic abuse. Whether gathering background for the piece really merited questioning my wife and neighbours is open to question; I can see how others might have found it sinister, but it didn’t particularly bother me. As Stu says, it will have to be judged by the outcome of the piece, assuming it goes to press?

9. Calgacus MacAndrews

I am Cybernaticus …

10. Dcanmore

Ah but the trick the Daily Heil is trying pulling off is making sure there is only one side to this story. ‘Unionists don’t tweet mindless filth so it doesn’t get published, only Cybernats do it, see here it is in our pages’. They are with all their might trying to start a trend that would be parroted through society. The DM is doing this because it is the only newspaper in Scotland with a sizeable circulation that can do it, they know their readership, but of course they are only preaching to the converted.

The Sun, Herald and DR can’t go with this because they know their readership too, a sizeable percentage being pro-independence supporters to which they don’t want to alienate and lose their custom quicker than they are now. The Scotsman has a pitiful circulation so is irrelevant. The only equivalent is The Daily Express, again preaching to the converted but with an older demographic. The next step is trying to get the BBC/STV run with the campaign for a wider audience. Kind of funny to think that the Daily Mail at this time is probably Labour in Scotland’s biggest ally.

11. Doug Daniel

The thing is, talking shit really DOES come naturally to Anas Sarwar.

12. Seasick Dave

I am Cybernaticus …

Excuse me, but…

13. heedtracker

Freedom of speech is under attack from these businesses which is probably a unique phenomena really. Less than a third vote in our so called democracy and our far right press, BBC, ITV relentlessly attack our freedom of speech with liars, fear and smear.

14. Barontorc

The more I see of this country’s infrastructure;

be it the jingoistic BBC,

the totally crass press,

the poorest being made poorer and blamed for all the country’s ills,

the non-tax-paying high earners,

the ruthless money lenders,

the hypocrisy passed as normal values,

the I’m alright jack-ists,

the turncoat politico Scots grovelling in Westminster,

the couldn’t give a toss Tory/Labour/Libdum – who all look and sound the same government-ees,

the promoting at every opportunity of the disgraceful UKIP and the slimy Nigel Farage,

the more I want to get a theoretical million miles distant from it.

Sorry about the LONG sentence Rev – all these carpetbaggers should be given something similar!

15. seoc

When Unionists don’t have a story, reasons or facts even, it’s personal abuse time once more.

16. john king

Anyone thought to send this filth to Murphy for a comment?
    Lets see how he justify’s himself then eh?

17. HandandShrimp

The Vote No Facebook page which has 30,000+ likes is another good stopping off point. They usually have an excellent selection of abuse…and bigotry too come to think of it. It seems to attract a lot of the really right wing times and those a get little moist if they see something vaguely military. I go there to remind myself that we are actually pretty restrained.

Will the Daily Fail print of their stuff? Of course not they are twisted partisan liars. They will peddle to the very prejudices of the same people that swear and rant at pro-independence people.

18. jingly jangly

No such thing as bad publicity….
    However I wonder if this is precursor to something more sinister, maybe we are going to be visited with some real black ops soon. The Fantasist Busby must be due for trial soon.

Anybody who has read Britains Secret War by Andrew Murray Scott and Iain Macleay will know what to expect now…

19. joe kane

This is from the newspaper whose comments threads are a by-word for quintessential online wing-nuttery, and which recently published an image of a 14 year old schoolgirl describing her as a “leggy beauty”.

A good twitter account and website that keeps an eye on the loonies at the Daily Vile –
    https://twitter.com/DMReporter

ps
    Save yourself the bother of using the DM website by using this random DM headline-story generator. You won’t be able to tell them from the real thing –
    http://charlieharvey.org.uk/daily_mail/

20. Mary Bruce

“Hmm, I can’t actually find any of those on Twitter.”

They are quite old, you need to go back a bit, the Scott Murray (Scottmuzza) is from March 22nd, still there.

21. Jimsie

@Seasick Dave. No you are definitely Cybernautilus.

22. Calgacus MacAndrews

It is always good to use the enemy’s own weapon against them.
    Easily done when the enemy seems stupid and apparently running on empty.

Given that the first result when you Google “Cybernat” is the Cybernats.com website (which has front page links to Wings, Newsnet etc), I would commend all Cybernats, when commenting on newspaper websites etc to slip in copious references to “Cynernats” in such a manner that the curious will start Googling to find out more.
    E.g. It’s amazing what you read online when you Google “Cybernat”.
    Hopefully these sort of comments won’t get moderated out, as they don’t contain direct kinks, or directly mention bad things like Wings, Newsnet etc,.

23. Peter Macbeastie

Hah… but that’s their side, so they don’t care.

It’s much the same as the way the BBC operate. Better Together or their associated mouthpieces can say pretty much whatever they like and it gets repeated, verbatim, with minimal questioning.

Yes Scotland, SNP, or any pro independence character you care to mention; talked over, aggresively questioned, demands to justify their positions… which they generally do but that bit gets ignored…

And then you ignore any criticism of your position. Step forward the University of the West of Scotland, roundly ignored in the media for saying their research indicated that, yes, the BBC and other media outlets actually are as biased against independence as people think. But not ignored so much as to miss attracting dismissive comments from the BBC about their findings from someone totally and utterly unqualified to assess research material and the conclusions taken from it.

24. Macandroid

I am Cybernaticus …

25. Captain Caveman

“Ooh, some Cybernat called me a rude word!” Fecks sake, politics is a rough game.

26. ronnie anderson

UncleBen,If Salmond did,nt put that idea in your heads,you would,nt be consideing right now.

OH YES AH WOULD,& were about the same age,He got the virus,the same as me about 16yrs old,he joined the SNP later on in life.I joined a wummin,hud a family, that,s who am voteing fur, them n the G Wain,s / G G Wain,s.well it was in fact two wummin but noo at the same time.

Where,s the thought police when ye need them,could somebody send me a leadhelmet, tae protect me from the Telephatic thought,s of Alex Salmond.Am gittin delusion,s of granduer,whit,s the name of that 5* hotel, sos folk,s, ah need a rest, about a fortnight,s worth.I,ll need tae stop this abuse of the FM.I respect him ,but I reserve the right to give him critque.

27. Calgacus MacAndrews

Many more of these Cybernaticus declarations and the Daily Mail will get confused as to whose house to go to …

28. TheGreatBaldo

OT

You know how yesterday the Rev said the walls were tumbling down…..?

Well today BAE confirm Frigate will be built on Clyde regardless of Indy results or rather BAE boss says Westminister will have to ‘deal with it’ 🙂

According to the Scottish Sun…..

Ian Davidson presumably bieling !!!

29. ronnie anderson

When does the Cyberapperatus get confiscated,or is it jist the wan,s on HP.( nae Tea Cake,s)

30. Gillie

I am Cybernaticus …

Send your CyberBrit stories to;

news@dailymail.co.uk

31. Roddy Macdonald

I pity the poor sap that Alan Roden has obviously got to trawl Facebook and Twitter hunting out this tosh. Do they take work experience kiddies at the Scottish Daily Hate?

32. Craig Brown

Brilliant, my cyber shame is going to be a hilarious addition to Wings. The ‘Scottish’ Daily Mail should run a double spread with the ScotNats on one side and BritNats on the other. Divide and Conqueror – the British way.

33. KeyStakeholder

Words to the wise: Beware, just because it’s in print media doesn’t mean you aren’t being trolled. Don’t feed the trolls.

34. TheGreatBaldo

You know what would really really annoy Mr Roden (silent ‘t’ at the end)….

A bit of “Cybernat love bombing”….send him and the Daily Mail chocolates/flowers….make a donation on his behalf to charities that the Daily Mail would really like, you know like the Scottish Refugee Council or LGBT Scotland.

Alternatively if splashing your cash on the Daily Heil and you know they are monitoring your time line tweet things like…

‘Alan Roden…his farts smell of Alpine meadows’
    ‘Alan Roden….A really nice guy (honest)’
    ‘Alan Roden…he disnae hack phones’

You get the drift…..

Yours

Lance Corporal Baldo
    North Eastern Division (NED)
    Cybernat Army

35. Calgacus MacAndrews

Why did the Cybernat cross the road?

36. Rough Bounds

Dear Ronnie Anderson,

With all possible respect, is there any chance at all that you could stop placing a comma where an apostrophe should be?

Again, with all possible respect Ronnie, please avail yourself of an English dictionary and refer to it often until such time as you are able to spell much better. If you want to write in Scots then perhaps you could buy a Scots dictionary. In fairness you are not the only one to whom that last piece of friendly advice could apply.

Like I said, this request is made with all possible respect. Much of what you say has wisdom at its core, but it is very difficult to read and so your message is being lost.

37. HandandShrimp

Why did the Cybernat cross the road?

To insert the Daily Mail photographer’s camera where the sun doesn’t shine?

38. Fergus Green

I’m Cybernaticus

39. Luigi

In a similar way to the way that BBC bias has been exposed recently, I think a proper, peer-reviewed study of online abuse (by both sides) is now urgently required. There is abuse on both sides, but let’s have it properly quantified, just to find out the amount and which groups are responsible. The information is already out there, it just needs an academic to collate it.

40. Calgacus MacAndrews

Ronnie …. please don,t change … I,m just getting to grips with your style …

41. Roddy Macdonald

I’m feeling a bit miffed here. Has any other Cybernat received their Daily Orders from Alex Salmond or Blair Jenkins? I’ve been Blogging and Twittering for nearly 8 months now but seem to have been left off the distribution list.

Do they come in proper military format? Situation, Mission, Execution and all that?

42. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“This is from the newspaper whose comments threads are a by-word for quintessential online wing-nuttery, and which recently published an image of a 14 year old schoolgirl describing her as a “leggy beauty”.”

Nine, rather than 14:

http://www.anorak.co.uk/367667/celebrities/the-daily-mail-returns-to-leer-at-leggy-nine-year-old-leni-klum.html/

43. Richard

Can we include the out takes from the documentary (possibly Press TV or Al Jazeera). Some fairly acute observations there methinks.

44. Anne (@annewitha_e)

I have been ‘accused’ of being a highland communist.. Quite funny really #pensioner

45. Anne (@annewitha_e)

ps the Daily Mail hates everyone so guess it’s just our turn.

46. mogabee

Rough Bounds

Ronnie has dispensation…he has special insight so leave him be.

47. Tattie-bogle

Alex Salmond tells cybernats to stop being naughty. Headlines Fascist Bastard salmond tries to close down internet debate. Turning on his own supporters

48. Brian Powell

One obscenity I saw was Tony Blair in a TV interview, a couple of days ago, discussing the photographs documenting the tortures and mutilations carried out in Syria, in preparation of a war crimes case.

At least 100,000 dead in Iraq and many tens of thousands dead in Afghaistan, with heroin addiction now endemic in the population, listening to him talk about war crimes openly in a TV studio puts Labour protests about possible ‘vile’ tweets in perspective.

49. ronnie anderson

@jimsie,seasick dave,If I made a Corical,an taen tae the .watter,would I be a Cybernautilis,an dae you,s no need the permission of the Rev, tae start a Navy arm of Winger,s

50. Greannach

I think we should all refer to ourselves as Cabernats and leave Ruth Davidson with at least one legacy!

51. theycan'tbeserious

The unionists are simply a result of their experience of the education system in Britain. It is a conveyor belt taking the young and innocent in at one end, then feeding them with the knowledge the state deems acceptable and necessary, from the age of 5 to 18 years of age being moulded in the states own image and at the end of the process they generally have a young person ready to take their place in an unquestioning society, ignorant of fact and the state of the nation and that believe what the establishment tell them, without question.

This is supported by the daily propaganda delivered by the state’s media, controlling thought and opinion by programming and careful production entertainment designed to keep you compliant and keeping your eyes and ears from what is really happening in society. As the Emperor’s of Rome did when the “mob was restless they gave them games”.

And what of these unionists, well the union has given them everything the state wanted! It’s a pity they didn’t get the common sense to question the state? They must be missing the “cybernat gene”!

52. Thomas William Dunlop

All this complaining about/ campaign against cybernats is another thinly disguised attempt to shut down debate.

The No side, know there on to a hiding every time the discussion breaks out. SO they are try to head it off at the pass, again.

So just keep calm and keep talking, we cannot allow them to smother out dissenting voices

53. CameronB

I’m Cameron Brodie and I sure as hell didn’t write anything nasty about Alex Salmond.

Rev – did it look like a genuine identity? Is it possible to spot these things?

54. john king

@Jimsie

No, you are cybernaticus.

55. Jimsie

@Ronnie Anderson. I have a greater authority. Our Great Leader has given me dispensation. By the way, Seasick Dave is so far the only member of the Marine division of Cybernattery.

56. john king

Roddy McDonald says
    “Has any other Cybernat received their Daily Orders from Alex Salmond or Blair Jenkins?”

Shhh did ye no get the order aboot radio silence.

57. Ken500

The tax evading right wing Press at it’s best.

Any publicity? – give it out and it comes back.

The right wing tax evading (minority)Press wants ‘freedom of speech’ but wants to censor others.

Digs it’s own demise.

58. Jimsie

@ john king & ronnie anderson. I am cybernaticus. Let me know how the coracle builing goes Ronnie as you may be second member of the marine division.

59. Lanarkist

We are all Cybernaticus!

We are all winning!

60. Ken500

The Daily Mail complaining about on-line abuse. The irony : – ). Have these people no Shame.

Sending out ‘Reporters?’ unlawfully, to harass and intimidate people in their own living rooms and illegally taking photos of their children.

A backlash of complaint. Do these people never learn?

61. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Thomas William Dunlop says:
    24 January, 2014 at 12:08 pm
    All this complaining about/ campaign against cybernats is another thinly disguised attempt to shut down debate.

I think the Anas experience of late (both at a public meeting and on TV) is showing BT that with 8 months to go (and and many debates to go) their non-existent case for the Union is going to be increasingly challenged from the floor by more and more well-informed members of the public.
    i.e. if there is something worse than Nicola using you as a bouncy castle, it’s a member of the public doing the bouncing.

Hence this week’s cack-handed attempt to teleport the evil Cybernats from hiding behind the heaps of crisp packets and juice bottles in their bedrooms into the full glare of public and TV gatherings.

62. john king

Right thats it settled then Jimsies Cybernaticus, Mr Murphy Jimsies owned up it wis him we hid nuthin tae dae wi it it wis a Jimsies faught , ye micht as well gie yersel up noo cos if ye dinnie Rough Bounds the doric polis’ll get ye 🙂

63. Ken500

Ronnie Anderson is entirely free to post. An extremely popular poster. As regulars know, Ronnie has a medical condition, which sometimes means, a comma lands in the wrong place.

Would dissenters please available themselves of the full facts, before uttering meaningless criticism. Everyone has a right to be heard. Thanks.

64. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I’m Cameron Brodie and I sure as hell didn’t write anything nasty about Alex Salmond.
    Rev – did it look like a genuine identity? Is it possible to spot these things?”

I’m not sure I understand the question.

65. john king

“I think we should all refer to ourselves as Cabernats and leave Ruth Davidson with at least one legacy!”

No I hate that name besides it was a thinly veiled attempt to get her name up in lights for inventing a new word to disparage us.

And its not all that funny,
    nope Im a Cybernat and Im ok I sleep all night and I rant all day, cumon join in if you know the words 😉

Lord FFFoulkes has some uses.

66. HandandShrimp

I just assumed that Ruth got Cybernat wrong. She has never struck me as cutting edge interwebs material.

67. Calgacus MacAndrews

@ronnie anderson says:
    24 January, 2014 at 12:03 pm
    dae you,s no need the permission of the Rev, tae start a Navy arm of Winger,s

I can see tomorrow’s Daily Mail headline now:-
    CYBERNATS START MILITARY WING(s)

68. CameronB

Ken500
    I think Rough Bounds was trying to be helpful, by pointing out how Ronnie could broaden his appeal.

Ronnie Anderson
    Sorry Ronnie, but Rough Bounds has a point. Not everyone will make the effort to read your comments, so you message won’t be heard. I am not the best of readers and I really struggle with your posts.

69. john king

Bseides I couldn’t toss pancakes never mind a caber. 🙂

70. CameronB

Rev. – there can’t be two of me surely? 🙂

71. Cath

What’s interesting is how lame the “abuse” is. If that’s the best they can find trawling the internet, their campaign isn’t really going to work. There must be even quite polite Mail readers looking at those quotes and thinking ‘Eh? I shout worse at the telly.”

So I suspect we’ll see some bigger black ops fairly soon. If not organised, then at the very least frustrated BritNats taking it upon themselves to become “cybernats”.

However, there have been a few cases recently of prosecutions in Scotland for trolling and online abuse, a couple in the Clutha case for example.

So my advice to genuinely pro-independence people would be to keep calm and irritatingly polite, don’t rise to the bait and post nothing genuinely abusive. When the inevitable Tweets that are actionable start happening, lets make sure the people prosecuted for them turn out to be anything but independence supporters. If they’re revealed as Daily Mail journalists all the better.

That would be one black op that could backfire very badly. And in a way the Mail are setting up some of the nasty and frustrated pro-union tweeters to walk right into that.

72. Fergie 35

They are trying to riddicule and allienate a sizeable broad group of Scotland’s supporters. Says it all, we are a threat to the union, and they dont have enough Cyber Brits to combat us + they are losing the arguement.

73. desimond

If i tweet from sea, am I Cybernauticas?

Had a laugh last night after QT…Councillor Terry Kellys daughter Rayleen decided to engage EtimsNet on Twitter…when I said “hahaha, say hello to Terry” She replied “Should this make me feel impressed or intimidated?”. I had to reply “Oh dear, please dont tell me you’re trying to play the Cybernat card!”

74. Marian

Spread intimidation as well as fear is now the order of the day from Project Fear bunker. They clearly are very worried.

75. Calgacus MacAndrews

If I am a Cybernat, am I a virus?

76. Ken500

Ronnie Anderson is a legend.

If anyone else has a problem, solve it.

77. Taranaich

I’m perfectly happy to be the enemy of the same paper which has contributed directly to the harm of the most vulnerable in our country:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r9dqNTTdYKY

As an aside, could anyone kindly elucidate the definition of “jambo” in this context? Because unless this dissident leprechaun is a fan of AngrySalmond, it seems counterproductive to highlight Salmond’s sex appeal when you’re trying to criticize him.

#sexysocialism (oh God, Twitter is leaking!)

78. Cath

Och, seems the Daily Mail hates me even without the Cybernat stuff

http://games.usvsth3m.com/are-you-hated-by-the-daily-mail/

79. David Spalding

I notice that RSMcoll’s this morning was giving out a free Daily Record with every copy of the Scottish Daily Mail bought. Another unionist alliance?

80. Dick Gaughan

Taranaich says:
    As an aside, could anyone kindly elucidate the definition of “jambo” in this context?

Supporter of Heart of Midlothian Football Club. (The ones lying at the bottom of the Premier League)

Rhyming slang – “Jam Tarts”, abbreviated to jambo. In my part of the Capital the word “bastard” is usually appended as a colourful flourish, as in “jambo bastard”. Supportively and non-violently, of course.

81. ronnie anderson

@RoughBOund,s,With respect to all on this site,nodoupt you are now aware, that people of Mental disorder dont alway,s subscribe to the norm,& yes I have a Oxford Dictionary, ( in arm,s reach, but between reading that & posting the memory lapse kick in.I am not a fan of grammer polis at the best of time,s,but I am alway,s considerate of other,s view,s. sorry I,m late in replying to your post, playing catch up as per usual ,re Daily politics programme, noo ah hope ah hivna,put a commie in the wrang place, ah git them mixed up wi Lab/Tory/Libdem/Ukip.

82. CameronB

Ken500
    I don’t have a problem with Ronnie or yourself. I have a problem with many day-to-day tasks though. The result of leaving half my brain on a pavement after hitting it at roughly 30-35 mph, without a helmet.

Surely inclusiveness is about removing barriers?

83. CameronB

ronnie anderson
    Apologies, I wasn’t aware of the nature of your medical condition.

84. ronnie anderson

@Caligus Mac Andrews11.42, please Ronnie dont change,if thats you jist gittin tae grip,s wi ma style.I dont choose to be like this ah want a Fekin Shunt in tae drain the fluid fae ma brain,upon the success of that,Watch oot (oxford dictionary) will be back in the cupboard. lol

85. Albert Herring

could anyone kindly elucidate the definition of “jambo”

Heart of Midlothian = Hearts = Jam Tarts = Jambo

86. Albert Herring

Must remember to refresh before posting.

87. Morag

I’m Cameron Brodie and I sure as hell didn’t write anything nasty about Alex Salmond.

I thought that was your name and I was quite gobsmacked when RevStu retweeted the unredacted version of that photograph. Someone is impersonating you, I think. Unless there is unitroll who coincidentally shares your name.

88. ronnie anderson

@jimsie,I just found a lovely dinky boat on the X MOD site,one useless owner,its gone cheap we could crowdfund on Wing,s tae but it,its made by the famous shipbuilder MATEL.

89. Roboscot

I thought the Daily mail were keen on police action, so why hasn’t the cybernat ‘abuse’ been reported by them to the police with prosecutions to follow? If the evidence was so damning that would be happening. Is it happening?

Does the Daily mail think its readers are different from the people who read BTL comments on the Daily Mail website?

Does a newspaper often called – for good reason – the ‘Daily Hate’ have any sense of self-awareness?

90. CameronB

Morag
    Thanks for the feedback. I asked the Rev. if it was possible to check the identity of the other Cammeron, but I think he was busy posting the next thread.

I don’t know whether to be shocked or alarmed.

91. Training Day

@David Spalding

My local McColls regularly attempt to give away copies of the Sunday Mail with the Mail on Sunday.

92. ronnie anderson

@CameronB, the horizons I would like to broaden are out side this bloody hoose, with nobody tae accompany me,just need to wait until April,that,s a year with litte respite. Does Screw Fix do operation,s,ah,v a Screw loose.

93. Roddy Macdonald

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

Nine, rather than 14:

http://www.anorak.co.uk/367667/celebrities/the-daily-mail-returns-to-leer-at-leggy-nine-year-old-leni-klum.html/

I now sincerely hope that they don’t take work experience kiddies at the Scottish Daily Hate.

94. Jimsie

@ronnie anderson. Good on you Ronnie. You are now promoted to Vice- Admiral with special responsibility for vice. Obviously Seasick Dave is Admiral of the Fleet. Look forward to you sinking Murphys ship.

95. Andrew Morton

@Dick Gaughan

Speaking as a life long Jambo, can I just say that I don’t take your words to heart and I can assure the Daily Mail if they are listening that your words were in no way intended to be threatening.

96. ronnie anderson

@Taranaich, its no wise tae caw any body a bastard,unlees you ask to see their birth certificate first . lol nae smilye.s.

97. Morag

I asked the Rev. if it was possible to check the identity of the other Cameron, but I think he was busy posting the next thread.

I don’t know whether to be shocked or alarmed.

Did you see the uncensored image? I stared at it in disbelief, wondering if there was some clever surreal joke in there I just wasn’t getting, seeing as the tweet had your name on it and was retweeted by Stuart.

I don’t think there’s any way to find out who’s doing this, or even if it’s deliberately aimed at you, or just a nasty unionist who happens to have the same name as you.

98. ronnie anderson

@Jimsie,naw ah canny take on the resposibility fur ither people,s live,s, look whit happened tae Prince Charle,s at the steering wheel,oony wi ah canny read a sextant.

99. CameronB

Cheers. I’ll go and check the uncensored image now.

100. ronnie anderson

@jimsie 1.53 that jist sunk in the vice bit, jist caw me Jed Glammpit fae noo on.

101. ronnie anderson

If ye didna laugh, ye wuld greet,greeting dehydrate,s the body,demoralizing the spirit.Ah wee tip fur whisky drinker,s, jist show the gless the watter dont put any in.

102. CameronB

Wasnae me, I’m a natural brunet, though now salt’n’pepper. 🙂

Does anyone know if it is possible to identify the identity of twitter account holders?

103. Morag

Cheers. I’ll go and check the uncensored image now.

Brace yourself!

104. Morag

Does anyone know if it is possible to identify the identity of twitter account holders?

I really don’t think there is. There are spoof accounts all over the place.

105. ronnie anderson

@ken500, keep ye chin up pal,we get there in the end.

106. ronnie anderson

Noo that,s been good fun this morning,am moving on to Faster than we can write, n you lot slow doon in the writeing, ma thought,s need tae catch up lol.

107. Dick Gaughan

Andrew Morton says:
    Speaking as a life long Jambo, can I just say that I don’t take your words to heart and I can assure the Daily Mail if they are listening that your words were in no way intended to be threatening.

Scottish Daily Mail : Cybernats’ Shock Truce.

Alex Salmond today moved to instruct supporters of rival football clubs to abandon their loyalties in a blatant effort to fool decent hard-working proud British families.

Brandishing a new T-Shirt portraying a large cabbage on a maroon heart-shape as evidence, a spokesperson for Invertottie FC today told our Daily Mail North British correspondant “It’s all a dastardly plot, those (“Maggie! Whit’s the collective noun for Edinburgh punters?”) Embuggers can never agree on anything for long so it’ll all end in tears, mark my words.”

Ex-English Adopted Scotchman Terry Butcher was unavailable for comment.

108. James S

I could provide oogles of abusive Britnattery. This, for instance:

“God I just want all those moaning Scots to fuck off back home, they are a defeated small pathetic nation who nobody cares about.Let them have true independence with no money,jobs or support from England and watch them sink into the North Sea.The only place there are more chips than in their fat lazy stomachs is on their shoulders. Without doubt the most racist and depressing country I have ever had the misfortune to visit, so please,please just fuck off.”

Nice eh?

Better together?

109. desimond

James S
    And was this before or after your proposed?

110. Peter Macbeastie

I am a cybernat, and I defy anyone to go through my facebook feed and point out any occassion where I gave abuse to someone who a) did not ask for it or b) didn’t start it first. I’ve occasionally been found enquiring as to which village they came from and if the replacement idiot was working well there, but that’s hardly rabid. It’s only rabid if your definition of dangerous is a mean looking sheep.

The sheer double standards of the Mail are immense. It rails regularly against perverts but prints articles critiquing the female form. States that this one or that one is now a stunning sexy sixteen year old; which would be fine if they hadn’t been leering for a couple of years by then.

They are the dirty old man of the newspaper world.

111. Dal Riata

The Daily (Hate) Mail is the vile, ugly face of British Nationalism in print form. That it continues to sell so well in the UK (though declining, as is all the print media) says something about the place. I don’t know what, but it’s not particularly heartwarming.

That the Mail continues to behave in its scum-like way without fear of retribution is a disgrace and an indictment of what it would mean being “better together” in a right-wing hateful society such as the one that the UK will find itself if it continues on its present path. Who in their right minds would want to be part a ‘union’ that promotes those views?

And, by the way, what happened to the Leveson Report? What was the whole point of that apart from exposing the phone hackers?

The Mail’s present campaign against Cybernats is just another psy ops operation – name-calling – commonly used to create an enemy when there isn’t one. Their objective is to make people think negatively, or better still, fearfully of Scottish independence, as their aim is to promote Cybernats as ‘the devilish other’ somehow under the control of Alex Salmond; ergo: Scottish independence = “bad and evil” Cybernats controlled by “bad and evil” Alex Salmond and the “bad and evil” SNP. If they can get their readership, which is relatively substantial, to believe that, then it’s job done. Utter scum of the Earth – but that is how they operate.

“Propagandists use the name-calling technique to incite fears and arouse prejudices in their hearers in the intent that the bad names will cause hearers to construct a negative opinion about a group or set of beliefs or ideas that the propagandist wants hearers to denounce.”

112. Gray

That Cameron Brodie sure has some balls!

113. Yesitis

Well, at least after a No vote everything will be full of better together goodness.

All those fellows from south of the border, those dandy Daily Mail readers, all those ‘proud Scots buts’ and us separatist scum will just high five each other, maybe give each other a wee hug, and then we can get back to all being good little Brits together again.

Rule Britannia.
    Fabulous 🙂

114. Jock McDonnell

Makes me furious to see the most dedicated & talented Scottish politician of our time, maybe of all time, denigrated.
    I’m in no doubt that we would not be where we are without that man. Revenge is a dish best eaten cold they say & for me that dish will be a massive Yes vote on September 18th.

115. David Smith

More and more, their behaviour reminds me of some mortally wounded predator, deranged with pain and fear, biting at its own wounds.

116. james mcgahan

i dont take any notice of the unionist knuckles draggers

117. Colin Templeton

In case the Daily mail is spying, please note: I am not a cybernat. I’m a Indynat, a free thinking, pro Scottish Independence supporter who’s not a member of any politcal parties & I’m more than willing & capable to express my own independant opinion in any form on online medium I want.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.