ifsbudget

A lucky escape there, eh readers?

167 to “Just two things”

1. mogabee

Yeah, lucky.

I demand the head..err return of Gordon Brown to face the music.

What’s the odds of that happening folks.

2. Iain More

Har har har har, its the way Gordon tells them. I think they obviously meant those about to go to the House of Lards like Flipper Darling.

3. Tackety Beets

Just 2 things ?

Try £1.5 trillion and rising !

I’m not a celebrity but Get Me T F@@K oot O here !

4. Bill Fraser

Just another factor Gordon Brown got wrong As bad as the VOW he made at the Referendum which was the main cause of pensioners voting no. This I know from my time of leaflet etc.distributing.

5. muttley79

It is clear that Gordon Brown was only really interested in power for its own sake. How else to you explain his willingness to lie time and time again during the referendum? His record of developing talent in Labour was pitiful. Ed Balls stands testament to Brown’s atrocious record on that subject.

Brown lied almost constantly because he wanted to safeguard his place in history imo. He was aided and abetted by the MSM in the UK. His lies got so bad a seriously ill lady climbed up Edinburgh Castle, to highlight his utter pish on the NHS shortly before September 18th 2014.

6. Ian

Well if it isn’t Prudence himself. There’s really only one thing that gives someone the right to speak publicly. A good track record in a given area. Nope, can’t think of one positive thing for him. And talking of speaking, maybe if he faced the opposite direction at least the audience could then clearly hear what’s he’s jabbering on about. Come to think of it, that’s not such a good idea. Please just go away Mr Prudence (to the lords no doubt). We don’t want to hear any more of your bs.

7. Rock

The disabled and the unemployed voted Yes. That didn’t believe Gordon Brown.

70% of the elderly voted No. They voted No because they were ok with their UK pensions, but mainly because they are British nationalists.

Even if they hadn’t heard Gordon Brown say that, the vast majority of them would have voted No.

That is my view.

But it would be interesting to see what % of the elderly considered themselves to be British rather than Scottish.

I wouldn’t be surprised if it was close to 70%.

8. Iain More

Re the last thread.

It is not the increased taxes that I go nailed for yesterday per se that I object to it is the fact that the money they are squeezing out of me is going to go to the next generation of Trident or into the pockets of fat cats that turns my stomach.

Oh and something else to churn my stomach! What is the cost of the Royals whatever going to cost us all next year? They will be pumping out the propaganda with interest before the Holyrood Elections next year and we will be browbeaten into holding street parties and flying butchers aprons and the BBC will telling us all that Scotland absolutely got into the nauseating sprit of it.

I feel sick thinking about it already!

9. Mosstrooper

Rock,
    It is seldom wise to state a “view” as fact as in “would have” regarding the elderly. Many WERE scared into NO and I have personal knowledge of this. Let us stick to putting out the Indy Scot message and not demonise a whole group.

10. Graeme Doig

Just two things, one lying trougher and zero chance of him being held to account for his part in the con.

11. galamcennalath

Gordon Federal Brown committed cruel and callous con tricks on the every Scot, but on the most vulnerable in particular.

I doubt if he can ever appear in public again, though that is little consolation.

12. Ian Brotherhood

I was looking forward to reading screeds of heartfelt apologies from angry ‘No’ voters who feel guilty about landing us all in the shite and now fear our ire.

But, what? None?

It’s pretty obvious that Rev Stu has been deleting them with extreme prejudice so that we can’t even get to clap eyes on them. I can’t figure out why. Must be something to do with his vile agenda.

13. heedtracker

That lying bastard’s up there’s got no conscience. And then they wonder why they got to f off on the doorsteps of Scotland.

14. Joemcg

Don’t know about other wingers but I’m absolutely livid with every single shitebag no voter and will never forgive them. Furious. Hope some of them feel guilty but I doubt it.

15. Graeme Borthwick

Don’t be too hard on the NO voters….the Referendum was, almost certainly, manipulated by London.
    London could not afford to lose.

16. Macnakamura

Some people voted No because, in good faith, they believed Brown etc ………. they are the most betrayed

17. The Moidart

Galamcenallath….if the rumours are true.. Cruel and callous con tricks are the least that “person “has committed. I won’t say what I want to. But those who know, know.

18. andy smith

Joemcg
    I second that !

19. Socrates MacSporran

Slightly O/T perhaps, but, hasn’t that Anna Sowerby got a kind face – the kind you would never get tired of slapping.

That woman is Margaret Thatcher without the compassion and sincerity!!!

20. Clydebuilt

No voters won’t be reading this site …..the reason most of them voted NO was A lack of knowledge. Gained by a diet of Eastenders, Corrie, Emerdale, Rivercity, washed down by the Daily Record, the Express, The Daily Mail, The Hootsman, The Herald , then there’s the BBC and STV.

Been a bit unkind here, of course some No’s will be questioning their vote, and reading theses pages

21. fred blogger

Graeme Borthwick
    or are they being too hard on themselves i wonder?
    surely we’re all going to suffer, why else would they vote no, but to save us from ourselves.
    checks ifs graph again.
    nah, it can’t be it must be upside down.

22. heedtracker

That lying bastard up there’s got no conscience. And then they wonder why they got told to f off on the doorsteps of Scotland.

Sorry about the typos WoS. Its not the despair, its the hope…

23. Grouse Beater

The worrying aspect is how successful Westminster is at convincing the electorate in England we (the UK) has £1.5 trillion of debt we brought upon ourselves, and that there is no alternative but to reverse democracy and the welfare state and join the free market and almost no regulation on anything or anybody expect the poor.

24. Still Positive.

QT when Tommy Sheppard got a word in he was cheered resoundingly.

However, the biggest cheer was for the UKIP MEP when she suggested abolishing foreign aid.

I will never understand the English on this.

25. msean

Out of all the big names on the no side during the independence referendum,only Mr Cameron is left in office,Mr Clegg,and one nation Mr Miliband have both resigned,nobody seems to know where the former PM is,he was always on telly before. Even Nigel Farage has disappeared from his regular telly slots.Better together,but not one of the vow crowd live here. So not that better then.

26. Chic McGregor

I can announce that Gordon Brown is going for a YAR (yet another relaunch) this time with a new party called “Will You Stupid Bastards Believe Me Again, If I Bellow Loudly Enough In Your Porridge Faces”

27. Dave McEwan Hill

Anna Soubry got a good doing on QT. She’s not much good.

Every time I watch QT from England I see a very confused audience.

I suspect the UKIP lady was right. It is likely that Labour is losing voted to UKIP and I have believed for some time that we have seen the last Labour Government. Labour has been absorbed into the establishment it was formed to challenge and it has been marginalised because of that. Its raison d’etre is gone.

28. Democracy Reborn

Saving the Union was chicken feed for Gordo. Who can forget his remark at PMQs that he’d “saved the world”?

Still, I imagine if you got the “worst Prime Minister in history” (Tory press ad nauseum, pre-2010) in for an interview now, he’d be trotting out the same horseshit line being peddled by SLAB : oh, it’s terrible what those wicked Tories are doing. But it’d be worse -worse!- if Scotland was independent. Because perpetually poor Scotland needs its Barnett pocket money to survive, otherwise the “savage” cuts we’d have to impose would make Osbornomics seem like a picnic.

18 years of Thatcherism and 10 of Cameron/Gideon. For SLAB, truly a price well worth paying.

29. Grouse Beater

QT when Tommy Sheppard got a word in he was cheered resoundingly.

As he was forced to say, “Five against one” but held his ground admirably.

He presents a wise, intelligent, articulate persona – unlike the dim blonde next door complaining she had sent her daughter to a Scottish University and shockingly got charged fees by a nation subsidised by England! So why not subside your daughter to attend an English university?

Anyhow, first time I’ve heard Sheppard speak; a concerned politician – and with a face full of character!

30. Cactus

Just two things.. stick out your middle finger with your index finger (palm facing). They say ‘No Thanks’ to we being ‘Better Together.’

The 1st of August should be a fun day out in the west-end of Glasgow.. see you at the free gig Scotland!

31. Mealer

Alistair Darling and Gordon Brown were the main front for Better Together.They were chosen because they were “big beasts” who had held high office and carried authority.They were Scottish.They were Labour.Who will Better Together get to front their campaign next time round?

32. James Barr Gardner

Tommy Sheppard did Scotland proud on QT tonight considering it was 5 to 1 against him, despite that he came over as a very compassionate and learned person as opposed to the other members of the panel.

Sowbray was just herself arrogant and ubertory, not a nice mix, however she did deliver a cracking one liner by saying to Chuka that he sound just like a good tory!

Who would have thought that a blue tory would have said that a red tory sounded like a blue tory!

You just could not write the script for these ejiots!

33. Grouse Beater

subside – “subsidise” – my cue to prepare for tomorrow’s tasks and an early rise.

34. Tackety Beets

@ Grouse Beater .
    Ref TS

If you get a moment , jump on to yew Toob there are some good speeches from Tommy Sheppard
    If I remember correctly he did a fab speech at last SNP conference .

I found him excellent .
    The quality of SNP MPs really do surpass our expectations.
    They will hopefully continue to have an impact in WM and on our electorate too , in a +ve way naturally.

35. Thepnr

@Cactus

Don’t forget the meet up planned for Sat 25th July at the Clyde bar in Helensburgh.

All are welcome for a bit of chat and as much disagreement as possible!

36. Dr Jim

I’ve got no problem with folk who want to stay British or any other thing they want to call themselves
    I feel Scottish, but that’s me
    Other people will be Indian, Pakistani, Chinese and so on, and that’s fair enough

I think what’s more important is whatever you may feel you are, you live here in Scotland so in terms of your decisions as to the welfare of where you live, that surely must come first in your own interests and that of your children and family

So if you’re not intending returning to any of your first choice Countries to retire or other reason then for me it stands to reason you put Scotland first

But if you’re only here to change Scotland into somewhere else because you may really not like Scotland but it’s useful for the moment (and there are many who do this) then here comes the controversial bit

Scotland isn’t a holiday camp like Butlins or Benidorm where you come for a while, go Ah, join a bowling club, start a committee then change the constitution for the rest of the folk who make their entire life here

To me That’s not fair

For the NO voters who may fit in to these categories would you go into your neighbours house and tell them to redecorate and move the furniture because you don’t like it
    They would tell you their house is none of your business

That’s how I feel about Scotland

I posted something like this a while ago and got a row and I apologise if folk got upset but I still can’t see why
    I’m still saying I’m not Anti anybody I’m just Pro Scotland
    If I’m missing something let me know coz I can’t think of it

37. caz-m

Dave McEwan Hill 11.54pm
    “I suspect the UKIP lady was right. It is likely that Labour is losing votes to UKIP and I have believed for some time that we have seen the last Labour Government.”

I think you are right there. I work with a lot of guys from the Newcastle and Middlesburgh area of England and there Party of choice now is UKIP. They are all keen to leave the European Union.

“Too many foreigners” is their biggest complaint. All “Little Englanders”.

I am not long in reminding them that once Scotland is Independent, they will be the foreigners in my Country.

That statement never does go down well with them.

38. Valerie

@Grouse Beater
    If you get a chance try and catch Tommy Sheppards Maiden Speech – it really is worth a few minutes, a barnstormer.

I was much more focused on my own SNP candidate, and some key seats, so really knew nothing of Tommy, but was blown away watching his maiden speech. Every day, these new SNP impress, for a bunch who worked in other spheres, and some even new to the political arena, they are very sure footed.

I say that as someone who has worked with politicians for many years, mostly at local level, but also national from time to time, and these SNP are a cut above.

But – that’s why I joined!

39. Still Positive.

Unfortunately my oldest son lives in Surrey and his next door neighbour has flown an English flag since he moved in just after son.

They live in a Tory stronghold although their MP voted against Trident. My son believes he voted UKIP and I would agree.

The good news is said neighbour flew his St. George’s flag at half-mast on 19th September.

We live in hope.

40. Still Positive.

Thanks Valerie.

For all SNP maiden speeches go to ‘City of Stirling SNP’ on Google and it is a pinned post near the top on the right-hand side.

Think we have only about 11 left.

41. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

27 letters from the Beeb. You have to admire their persistence Ronnie. They must think that if they keep sending you letters, you will cave in and pay them their stinkin License fee.

God loves a trier.

I’ll be right at your back the next time you go to their front door at Pacific Quay. And tell them what they can do with their threatening, bully boy letters.

42. Ian Brotherhood

Ha!

I’ve just worked it out!

Rev is saving up all the apologetic messages from feart Naysayers because he’s preparing a WOS Summer Special.

Makes sense, eh?

A Feelgood edition, larger format, with a Free Fun Gift!

Yeeeeee-ha!

43. Roll_On_2015

Aye SP all the maiden SNP MP speeches are here on the StirlingSNP site.

44. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “A Feelgood edition, larger format, with a Free Fun Gift!”

What?
    Like this you mean?
    http://tinyurl.com/qdefn8u

N.b.
    note Bliar McDougall taking the plunge! 🙂

ps bags me the boomerang

45. Ken500

Gordon Brown caused the poverty and deprivation in the UK and the world. Gordon Brown is a deluded, murdering, fraudster thief. An arrogant, ignorant liar. Gordon Brown should be in jail. Not swanning around leading a life of luxury on public money. Gordon Brown is a threat to world peace. ‘Now go awa and gie’s peace’. A Charlatan who broke the Law, every Ministerial Code and International Law. The McCrone Report.

Where’s the Chilcot Verdict. Now years late being protected by corrupt Westminster civil servants for massive salaries of public money. Not obeying civil service rules but breaking their terms of office. They are crooks as well breaking the Law. Colluding and facilitating the Westminster crooks. They should be in jail.

46. JLT

Brown should be openly questioned on this. In fact, he should be forced by the public to come clean. Same with Darling. These people have some answering to do. If it had been the other way about, you bet your boots our godawful media would! Alex and Nicola would have been savaged if we had voted Yes but with a diminished oil price.

47. john king

A sign of change the in unionist mindset?
    BBC (Scotland) reporter speaking from Wimbledon says

“And now the big one, at least where Scotland AND Britain are concerned”,
    reporting the up coming match between Murray and Federer

Scotland and Britain!
    interesting

48. Ken500

Rev Stu strikes again. How do you do it. Thanks again.

That’s nice wee uncomplicated graph at the bottom picture. Do you turn it upside down? Stand it on it’s head. Will take you word on it.

49. jimnarlene

This is a prime example of why ,their lies and fear mongering won’t work, next time.

50. john king

Do you know, the more the keep saying Henman Hill when reporting Wimbledon the more you realize we are not part of the UK but to be ignored, they show themselves to the world for the petty mean little Englanders that they are,

Other players like Federer and Djocovic most think how can they name a hill after an also ran when they have a world champion in Andy Murray,

By all that is holy I pray when (if) they offer Andy a knighthood he has the gumption to tell them where to stick it.

51. heedtracker

Google “worst British prime minister ever” and “most dangerous woman in Britain. Its quite an eye opener when it comes to what our friends in the south say about their Scotland region and the Scots.

There’s thousands and thousands of BBC stuff like this

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-32961280

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05y3dkc

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/04/25/nicola-sturgeon-snp-_n_7141760.html

Good luck today for Andy Murray, the greatest athlete Scotland’s ever produced, from Dunblane, Scotland.

52. Ken500

Scotland is part of Britain. Double mention that’s nice, for a change. ‘So good they named it twice’

That Beckham is lapping it up. Mind the Whisky advert, and, and the, ‘Scotland is the most beautiful country I have ever see. Might be ‘commercial’. From, allegedly the greatest player the world. Debatable. (It has to be Andy). Next thing he will be living next door. Very welcome. They don’t all hate us

Andy is a great ambassador. Worth his weigh in gold (watches).

Spotted a few Saltires in the crowd. The BBC must just not be showing them on Cameron’s orders,

Soubrey’s daughter still got a subsidised Uni place on Scottish taxpayers. The £9000 did not cover the cost. That’s gratitude for you. Still complaining, on her massive subsidised salary. Subsidised by Scottish taxpayers and the vulnerable. She hasn’t learn very much. Soubrey is ignorant, arrogant and angry. Another one promoted above her station. Never have so many be promoted above their capabilities. Alex Salmond is fit for her and the rest of them.

The SNP Scottish Gov have increased funding for working class students. Now they will be able to get their rightful place at their Uni. Not subsidised ‘junkies’ from elsewhere.

53. Ken500

Are there any links to written speeches. Sometimes the links do not work on some devices and for the hard of hearing. Apple changed UTube connection in April. It is difficult to get connected, and time consuming.

54. Nana Smith

@John King

Just for you John

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_prtbj4MtDU

I would prefer a lucky tattie for my free gift.
    Giving my age away now.

55. caz-m

Top headline story on the BBC Scotland website,

“Call for action on Scottish NHS ‘failings’.”

Yes, “The Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and Faculties” are the latest mob to tell us that the Scottish NHS is shite.

It seems that BBC Scotland are going to give headline news to any anti-SNP outfit.

Pattern emerging that BBC Scotland along with Scottish Labour are going to give us a drip drip effect that the Scottish NHS is falling apart at the seams and only Scottish Labour can sort it out.

The Bias Bastards at BBC Scotland have been sussed out again.

56. seanair

jlt
    You and everyone else so minded could turn up on 30th August at the Baillie Gifford Main Theatre in Edinburgh where GB is part of the Book Festival.
    I’m sure he would be happy to answer questions in return for £10 a head, concessions £8.
    In the Book Festival literature it says that “he accurately predicted the referendum result”, so you could ask him if he predicted the GE result in Scotland.
    I thought of going myself but the thought of giving him £8 was a no-no!

57. Ken500

OK get it. Missed the Decile income group at the bottom of the graph. It couldn’t be any clearer.

Nicola and Co will have to mitigate it. Give a payment to 0-3 year olds of lower income families, through the Councils. Or increase nursery places with meals. Put on an extra council tax band on properties over £500k/£600k and over, There will be ways around it.

58. Husker

Just to comment on the recent budget which has been covered on the past few topics on the site.

Despite the fact that the referendum has raised political awareness amongst the population, there are far too many people who continue to blindly accept what they read in the papers or hear on the news as fact and not an opinion.

Thankfully, this topic doesn’t induce the fury rage amongst certain individuals that independence seems to have so you can debate it sensibly and try to get the message through. Hopefully before long it sinks in that ordinary folk are getting taken for mugs by the Westminster politicians.

59. Nana Smith

Ken500

Try here for written maiden speeches.

http://www.parliament.uk/search/results/?q=maiden+speech+snp

60. Nana Smith

Over at scot goes pop! James Kelly says

A Thursday thunderclap in Thorniewood : SNP surge sustained in breathtaking by-election breakthrough, as lousy Labour lament a Lanarkshire licking

61. Haggis Hunter

Is it true wobble pus has moved to America?

62. Socrates MacSporran

John King – Henman Hill is off-topic. Yes, it is a minor irritant to some Scots, but, Tim Nice But Dim is currently a member of the BBC team; he is seen around Wimbledon. The commentators who use the term “Henman Hill” (and let’s not forget, even Andy Murray has used this expression) are his mates.

Fast-forward 100-years. I doubt if anyone then commentating on Wimbledon (and it will certainly not be for the BBC), will know who Tim Henman was. I doubt if, in 2115, there will still be a hill there, it will have been built on for some corporate dining room or something. BUT, somewhere prominently-positioned inside the Wimbledon grounds, there will be a statue to Sir Andrew Murray, the former Wimbledon Champion and Olympic Gold Medalist.

Let Middle England identify with Tim Nice But Dim, the lasting monument will be to “the Surly Scot”.

63. caz-m

BBC Scotland and that building full of tractors at Pacific Quay are the main barrier to Scottish Independence.

Their TV license fee is the fuel for these tractors. You can cut off their fuel supply by cancelling your license fee.

It’s a very cleansing experience AND they give you a refund for doing it.

We have brought down Scottish Labour, we have brought down the Daily Record. Just BBC Scotland left to bring down.

And according to the latest figures in the drop in License fee payments, we are winning that battle as well.

64. Robert Peffers

@Mosstrooper says: 9 July, 2015 at 10:39 pm:

” … It is seldom wise to state a “view” as fact as in “would have” regarding the elderly.”

You have far more restraint than I, Mosstrooper, for I’m certain I would have blasted the numptie and so find myself still biting my tongue till it hurts.

I’m beginning to think that Brigade 77 has actually found a half decent Troll in Rock for his/her/its views certainly are pushing we old lifelong nationalists towards deserting the cause now after we have nursed the movement through the lean wilderness years.

65. Ken500

Stop watching the BBC and their wedsite, as much as possible. That’s what is keeping them going. The BBC is like a festering sore, people have to scratch it. No one believes them any more. The GE election result proves that. People get their news/information from other sources. Leading to their demise. Reporting themselves out of a job.

The Tory/Unionists who the BBC supported are cutting their budget. It serves them right. Right wing mouthpieces. Nick Robinson, Naughtie have been demoted. Such a shame.They should be ashamed of themselves. Brian Wilson out of a job, and they didn’t even apologise for all the lies.

The Uhionists lost, the SNP won. People make up their own minds. Just wait till Holyrood 2016
    EU Referendum and the next Independence Referendum. The voters will give their judgement.
    There is no going back, but only forwards with confidence. The people are just delighted to have
    an amazing new Hospial and the amazing health staff. The Union bosses (Calmac) are
    unnecessarily inconveniencing their own community. Now is not the time to strike. The time to
    strike is if their conditions change, not to have an impossible guarantee they won’t change. Then
    It will have to be sorted out.

Would not put it pass the Labour Unions’ bosses to try and create aggravations to try to discredit the SNP Scottish Gov They have form colluding with the bosses and Westminster against their members interests. They shut down many industries. The three day week, blackouts and the ‘Winter of discontent’, when the dead could not be buried and brought Thatcher to power. The Unions keep Labour/Unionists in power, they fund them. In collusion against the workers and the voters. Not right, The rights come from the EU and the Court of Human rights. Better hours, maternity leave, social Laws, workers protection, health care etc

66. Ken500

Thanks Nana @ 8.02 am.

Much appreciated

67. Robert Peffers

@Socrates MacSporran says: 9 July, 2015 at 11:21 pm

“Slightly O/T perhaps, but, hasn’t that Anna Sowerby got a kind face – the kind you would never get tired of slapping.”

Just slapping, Socrates? Many have the urge to go far further than just a simple slapping.

68. john king

Nana
    I should Charlie (Drake)
    No my preference is this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nebe1zuEtbc

69. caz-m

This picture of Ian Duncan Smith celebrating his welfare reforms being passed in the budget should be put on every YES poster in the up and coming, soon to be held, “IndyRef2” campaign.

https://tablesource.wordpress.com/2015/07/08/budget-gives-ian-duncan-smith-a-stiffy/

70. Les wilson

BBCS at it again, this time with help from Strathclyde University to did the investigation, on NHS, an english person in charge.

This University seems to be embroiled in the anti SNP retoric that is endemic in the BBC. Just who are these people, do they receive funding from the BBC for their sterling work?

71. Scott Borthwick

Boris,

I note that the UK MEPs voted 42 to 20 against the TTIP resolution on the European Parliament. 11 did not vote or abstained.

So much for the UK having a seat at the top table, a strong voice in the EU etc etc ad nauseam.

http://www.votewatch.eu/en/term8-negotiations-for-the-transatlantic-trade-and-investment-partnership-ttip-motion-for-resolution-vote-.html

Looks like the Conservatives voted in favour, so they’ll be happy.

72. Robert Peffers

@Dave McEwan Hill says: 9 July, 2015 at 11:54 pm:

” … Labour has been absorbed into the establishment it was formed to challenge and it has been marginalised because of that. Its raison d’etre is gone.”

Dave, The Labour movement was actually born in Scotland and its early leaders were from the Scottish Crofters Party and Home Rulers. These included their very first elected MP, Kier Hardy, who had to stand in England to get himself elected.

So their whole history has been of their elected MPs getting to Westminster and then joining the Unionist Establishment. Both for their own ambitions and the good of the Labour Party.

73. Macart

They’re racking up at this point.

Vow undelivered, Guarantees undelivered. Mr Cameron’s own ‘nothing off the table as far as devolved powers are concerned’ statement now proven completely false in the light of the Scotland bill debates and attempted amendments. Referendum statements on Pensions, NHS and Welfare proven to be naked lies. Scotland’s entire representation deliberately sidelined by the rUK vote in HoC, therefore effectively Scotland’s electorate and their wish to pursue further devolution as promised, has now been wilfully closed down. Ongoing demonisation of both Scotland and its representation in 99% of the UK media to suit party political agendas and so much more besides.

All documented, all on the record.

If that deceitful individual and his compadres thought they had a torrid time selling UK PLC during indyref 1, then they better brace themselves for indyref 2. We won’t be starting at thirty points behind this time and those proven liars and pledge breakers are going to have to explain to the Scottish electorate why an agreed upon outcome, as sold to the public, became undeliverable after they voted for it. Oh and why their copious statements of ‘fact’ throughout the last referendum campaign have proven to be, in the light of post referendum events, also somewhat less than truthful. Last but by no means least why we’re public enemy number one according to their current narrative when their last declared undying fucking love.

Pretty much rhetorical questions as far anyone in the independence camp is concerned, but we’re not all of Scotland’s electorate. They have to explain to those who gave them one more chance just why all of the above has occurred.

I’d wish them luck, but…

74. Ken500

Cameron has instructed the BBC not to call it ‘Murray’s Mound/Mount’. That’s how petty he is, a devious character. Considering all the money Andy is taking into Scotland/London/UK, helping the balance of payments deficit and the BBC revenues. Much more than Cameron. Andy is much more popular than Cameron. Cameron is jealous.

Cameron colluded with Sony to prevent ‘Outlander’ being shown on TV. That’s how feudal he is, a total chancer.

75. frogesque

@caz-m 8.35

But, polite clapping is expressly forbidden don’cha kmow?

76. gus1940

RE the disgraceful matter of Police Scotland and The Scottish Fire Service having to pay VAT why doesn’t Nicola have a quiet word in their ears and suggest that they refrain from providing HMRC with their VAT Returns and Payments.

We could then sit back and watch whatever response is received from HMRC.

Let it come to court the procedings of which could be v. interesting.

Who is going to arrest Police Scotland for non-payment?

Given the way in which our lovely new Tory Govt. is pi–ing on everything Scottish is not time for a little civil disobedience and a few interesting court cases?

77. call me dave

GMS trying to monster the Scottish NHS but its not going to plan. The interviewer, Haley, trying her best to put words in his mouth and swing the agenda round to health service bad.

The spokesperson ‘ clinical director for Scotland’ is either niave or playing it with tongue in cheek. 🙂

Oh interview over …so quickly too!…would have liked to hear more about how well our health service does compared to the two bad examples mention in Wales and England!

Good old auntie should have let Bradley do it. 🙂

Looks like that’s today’s story folks UK report twisted to give a bad impression.

It’s not perfect in Scotland but I’ll do for me.

78. heedtracker

Stop watching the BBC

Listening to BBC tory boys go apeshit on the left in teamGB is pretty good for getting your ticker going though, as one more BBC Scotch cringer of the millennium gets replaced by one of the biggest, most historic tory liars of all time, but its ok as you can lie about Scotland and Scots with impunity at the BBC

http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/latestnews/2015/nick-robinson-today

Nick’s actually holding down his right arm Dr Strangeglove style here.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/out-in-the-open/

Good boy Nick. Have a promotion:D

On balance though, its the UKOK neo fascism of BBC Scotland that can really give you a heart attack from 6am, so thanks BBC r4, for that BBC balance n shit.

79. Robert Peffers

I’m just listening to the BBC on about the Battle of Britain with the usual propaganda of, “Britain Stood Alone”. The pilots in the Battle of Britain were most certainly not all British nor was Britain ever standing alone as the entire Commonwealth of nations stood with them.

In fact the most courageous troops of all were those of, “The Forgotten Army”, (The Chindits), and the Ghurkhas who Westminster now treats like something smelly stuck to a UK Establishment person’s shoe.

80. Grouse Beater

Tackety Beets: If you get a moment, jump on to Yew Toob there are some good speeches from Tommy Sheppard

On the list for this weekend’s study! 🙂

81. gus1940

PQ is banging on about some organisation of medics with a v.long name of which I have never heard which is being critical of The Scottish NHS.

Does anybody know who they are and more importanttly who is behind them?

I see we are getting yet another dose of ‘How Wonderful The UK Is’ on BBC this morning celebrating ‘The Start Of The Battle Of Britain’. This has never been celebrated before – what wonders of The UK will we be spoon fed next in thrir attempts to hold together the rapidly disintegrating nation?

82. Ken500

The Uni’s are staffed with a few Unionist staffers breaking the terms of their contracts and never at their posts, (skiving and taking back handers). Funded by Scottish taxpayers and briefing and campaigning against the elected Government. No one Elected them and they are never off the screen spouting their propaganda, along with the ill researched and ignorant ‘reporters’. The BBC presenters and reporters don’t even understand elementary Maths. They can’t count. They are not great at English or presentation either, and their bias is breathtaking. Taking the piss.

No wonder no one believes them, flawed research. People do their own research from better sources. Goodness knows what they are lecturing their students, when they are there. The rest of Academia is alright. Sort it out of the ivory tower. A few bad apples at the bottom of the barrel.

83. Les wilson

Robert Peffers says:

This government more than any previous, is pushing every chance, every opportunity to prove how great the UK is.(was)

Just look at all the historical hooray’s this past year. It seems to me that there is some panic in their heart, that they feel they must batter everyone with the historical events that to them, prove we are better together.Duh!

It is of course, a propaganda agenda.

84. G4jeepers

@ken500,

Tommy’s maiden speech. Scroll down to 3.22pm

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201516/cmhansrd/cm150528/debtext/150528-0003.htm

85. john king

gus1940says
    “RE the disgraceful matter of Police Scotland and The Scottish Fire Service having to pay VAT why doesn’t Nicola have a quiet word in their ears and suggest that they refrain from providing HMRC with their VAT Returns and Payments.”

I will stand corrected on this but the reality (as I understand it) is that it would be a duplication in making the services in Scotland vat free as that is calculated into the block grant, so in other words Scotland would be at an unfair advantage over England and Wales in that we would be profiting from being vat free and then getting the vat (not paid) back in the block grant, however I could be wrong, but if Im correct we should let that go and concentrate on real slights to Scotland rather than imagined.

86. Grouse Beater

In time we all learn to detest imperialist cultures.

87. Onwards

Brown sees himself as North British, not Scottish. He will rant and rave but at the end of the day he doesn’t really care what false promises were broken.
    He would rather Scots were screwed over by Tories they didn’t vote for rather than govern themselves. Even if a real Scottish labour party were in charge of an indy Scotland.

88. call me dave

@Robert Peffers

I think your wrong there Robert.
    My uncle and father and others used to talk politics well into the early hours in Hill of Beath just over the brae from Kelty.

Dad was in pathfinders RAF and my Uncle ‘George’ fought the hard way from North Africa through Italy.

As I’ve said before on here, he used to sometimes give me a wink and say

“Davy son, never forget ‘England stood alone’ and gave a hearty laugh! 🙂

PS:

Previous on the rubbish Scottish Health service I should have wrote
    Bradford (Elonour).

She’s probably amassing the evidence for the BBC and will be on soon to do her bit. The report has only been out since 06:00hrs so stand by for the usual stuff.

89. Alex Beveridge

I believe I first heard the term “brainwashing” when the Korean war was taking place, a procedure used by the North Koreans on U.N prisoners of war. In that instance, to convert them to Communist beliefs. And of course fictionalised, to extreme lengths, in the film, “The Manchurian Candidate”.
    This I think is what has been taking place, not only in the present day, but over the last 300 odd years. The drip feed of of so-called facts given to the Scottish people, has had a culmanative effect, leading to the present “too wee, too poor, and too stupid” argument, when of course, in reality, the opposite is true.
    In todays society, these untruths are perpetuated by the establishment through their mouthpieces, unionist politicians at both Westminster and Holyrood, allegedly “independent” public bodies, but in reality controlled by the ruling elite, and of course, the “elephant in the room”, the M.S.M, led by their main cheerleader, the B.B.C, and supported by all the other radio and T.V networks,not fogetting the rapidly diminishing print media.
    And yet, or possibly because of their cack-handed efforts, we, the Scottish people, are begining to realise that what we have been told by our masters over the years is in fact a load of poo, and we are perfectly capable of running our own affairs, a state of mind which is only now starting to dawn on some of our citizens.
    This propoganda will continue right up to we gain independence, and probably beyond, so we just have to live with it, and try to counter it as best we can, which of course is where websites such as this do such a great job in educating the electorate.
    It will of course take time, but with the help of the present Tory Government, I’m sure that the day we gain independence isn’t too far off, and that Nicola will judge the moment when we can go to the country and take back our birthright.

90. Peter McCulloch

There are very few people of whom I have met here in Fife that would be gullible to ever believe a word that comes out of Gordon Brown’s mouth.

But then maybe I am mixing in the wrong circles?

91. caz-m

Talking of Team GB celebrations. The Queen is celebrating her 90th birthday next year and not to feel left out, Wings have organised a street party.

http://gadling.com/2007/03/25/the-shortest-street-in-the-world/

Can’t wait.

92. Grouse Beater

Mhiari Black a slut”

I am still waiting for Edinburgh University to ditch SNP-Raus! Emeritus (retired) Professor Jill Stephenson.

If UCL can dump a retired professor, a Nobel Prize winner, for making a (leaden) light-hearted joke not a slur about female colleagues, our University can get the ethical portion of its brain around her behaviour.

93. Socrates MacSporran

Some chat on this thread about: “Britain (I’ve seen it quoted as England) standing alone after Dunkirk.

Cannot remember where I heard it, but, there is the apocraphyl story of the squaddie, newly repatriated from Dunkirk, listening to an officer reading-out Churchill’s “We shall fight them on the beaches” speech from the paper and coming up with the line about the Empire standing alone against Nazi Germany.

“Yes, we’re in trouble – 50 million of them, against 250 million of us, I think it will be a tough battle”, was his view.

But, the English Establishment always likes to play the underdog, followed by: “We’re all in this together you know”.

At least, at long last – Scotland has stopped listening to them.

94. michael diamond

Joemcg the only consolation is that the selfish sleekit no voters are going to get the same pain as the rest of us.

95. michael diamond

Clydebuilt you forgot x factor, and britains got(nae) talent.

96. Helena Brown

Macart @ 8.52am, The number of times I asked supporters of the NO camp about the abuse being handed out and who did they think the abusers meant, did they think they were exempt because to many if you have a Scots accent or a post code you were fair game. In fact I think the people who were the abusers regarded those who would sell out their country and vote NO as being completely in the wrong, because those self same people would never have done it if the boot had been on the other foot. I never got a satisfactory answer.
    As for being soft on the NO voters, I do not need to lift my voice or my hand, the Westminster Government that they ushered in is doing all the heavy lifting. I await the removal of the Union flags in my neck of the woods then I will know they have learned their lesson.

97. heedtracker

I am still waiting for Edinburgh University to ditch SNP-Raus! Emeritus (retired) Professor Jill Stephenson.

History woman says Black’s a foul mouthed slut GB, for Black’s twitter stuff in 2010, when she was 15?

Historywoman’s also huge WoS fan and teams up with toryboys like this Englishman who’s now releasing his own vote NO or Else Silly Sweaties videos.

Its lovely to hear another Englishman explain how shite Scotland really is because as everyone in Scotland knows, there’s just not enough of them doing that these days.

https://twitter.com/kevverage

Keverage knows FFA for Scotland would never happen with the NO triumph last year anyway but spends his time raging away at it. Once again, if Scots oil’s worthless, why won’t they give Scotland control of it all?

Modern psychiatry can work miracle but holy shit

https://twitter.com/Historywoman

98. Derick fae Yell

Robert Peffers says:
    10 July, 2015 at 8:27 am

“his/her/its views certainly are pushing we old lifelong nationalists towards deserting the cause now after we have nursed the movement through the lean wilderness years.”

bahahahaha! Coffee/monitor 🙂

99. Robert Peffers

@caz-m says: 10 July, 2015 at 8:25 am:

” … We have brought down Scottish Labour, we have brought down the Daily Record. Just BBC Scotland left to bring down.”

Ah! Caz-n, “Leave them alone and they’ll come home … “, is the actual truth. I note today the BBC are carrying lying about a news item that has as headline, “BBC’s NICK ROBINSON CHANGES ROLE”, and the story goes : –

“The BBC’s Nick Robinson is to step down from his role after 10 years.

He will replace James Naughtie on the presenting team of BBC Radio 4’s Today Programme.

Robinson will also report and present across television and radio for BBC News and Current Affairs.

He said it was an honour to, “succeed”, Naughtie and he was, “looking forward to hearing someone else’s analysis of what our politicians are up to”.

Now call me an old cynical cu (Err!) character but that to me means Robinson has been demoted from being the BBC’s Main anti-Scots propaganda honcho as no one now believes him other than as being a bare faced liar.

The BBC lambs are coming home with their tails between their legs.

100. Giving Goose

Re Broon regarding himself as North British; This is because he has an inferiority complex being Scottish. It’s a sad condition that afflicts many a Scot, generally manifesting itself by the wearing of Union Jack boxers and putting your X against the option of No.

101. Capella

Interesting IFS graph. I’m confident that our media pundits are analysing this in detail. I note some twitterati support Osborne’s budget attack on the poor because at least we are still Better Together. Thanks Heedracker for linking to that History person bilge!

Is the UK now like Greece but without the sunshine ?

102. call me dave

Hi Darling and Zezia Brek on the same page in the Herald but that’s all they are.

More Dugdale piss and Darling bemoaning lack of a leader… Is that in South Britain? Or in bonnie Scotland?

I’ll archive later after I get home. I’m not up to speed with a tablet.

Rum and raisin tablet yum!

103. Macart

@Helena

They are there to be won Helena.

Just as they required an excuse to vote no, which was duly delivered in the latter weeks of the campaign, they now require an excuse to vote yes. They may be soft nos, but they are going to be conflicted in many cases, some will still be fearful as well as angry, some still in agreement with independence, but not yet and some still working through residual loyalties they were brought up to believe in.

A simple message and vision delivered powerfully and often. I have my own views on that, but I won’t be running any campaigns. For me at the moment when talking to folk who voted no, yet who are clearly upset with the current outcomes, I simply hold out my hand and ask for their help.

104. Luigi

john king says:

10 July, 2015 at 7:35 am

By all that is holy I pray when (if) they offer Andy a knighthood he has the gumption to tell them where to stick it.

I think they already did, and he already did (all hush hush, to save embarrassing old Lizzie, of course).

IMO that wee mound where the britnats gather should always be known as Henman Hill. He is welcome to it. If AM was offered the choice of a heap of London dirt named after him (and a knighthood thrown in), or a Wimbledon title, which do you think he would take?

105. chris kilby

But look on the bright side. At least Alistair got his peerage.

(Do you think he got 30 pieces of silver as well…?)

106. Dave McEwan Hill

Robert Peffers at 8.50

I am very well aware of the history of the Labour Party. I don’t know what point you are making.

107. Nana Smith

http://tommyballgovan.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/labours-extinction-event.html?spref=tw

Don’t know what happened to the links I posted earlier this morning, all vanished?

108. Dan Huil

Brown and Darling: puke-inducing hypocrites. BBC “Scotland” still loves them, of course.

109. Sinky

Ken500 says at 8.29 and Robert Peffers at 10.43.

Brian Wilson not out of a job as his bile is still spewed out every Saturday in the Hootsman newspaper.

Also James Naughtie’s new assignment for TeamGB is to cover the Scottish Parliament elections in run up to next May.

Can’t wait!

110. call me dave

@Macart

As I remember saying about three years ago, your patience is boundless. You are a Saint!

You are right though.

111. Swami Backverandah

That graph should be carved in stone and used as the replacement for Labour’s EdStone.

112. Luigi

Macart says:

10 July, 2015 at 11:13 am

@Helena

They are there to be won Helena.

Just as they required an excuse to vote no, which was duly delivered in the latter weeks of the campaign, they now require an excuse to vote yes. They may be soft nos, but they are going to be conflicted in many cases, some will still be fearful as well as angry, some still in agreement with independence, but not yet and some still working through residual loyalties they were brought up to believe in.

A simple message and vision delivered powerfully and often. I have my own views on that, but I won’t be running any campaigns. For me at the moment when talking to folk who voted no, yet who are clearly upset with the current outcomes, I simply hold out my hand and ask for their help.

Well said, Macart. With regard to the soft NOes, particularly among English-born and the elderly, it should be noted that even in these “difficult” groups, there was definite movement toward YES during the campaign. Painfully slow, yes, but movement in the right direction nevertheless. As I keep reminding people, convincing soft NOes is like steering a supertanker. They do move, but they will not be rushed and will come over in their own time. So, then, do we twiddle our thumbs whilst waiting for them? Not at all! There is plenty to do, for starters we keep talking to them (nicely of course). Be patient and repeat repeat repeat, if necessary. It will sink in eventually.

As for the hard NOsed crowd? Well, they are fairly easy to identify. A complete waste of time, best avoided.

113. Robert Peffers

@Les wilson says: 10 July, 2015 at 8:37 am:

” … This University seems to be embroiled in the anti SNP retoric that is endemic in the BBC. Just who are these people, do they receive funding from the BBC for their sterling work?”

Wise up, Les. Did you not know that the vast majority of those feckless Labour numpties we nationalists have been providing P45s for of recent years are products of that, “alleged”, house of education. Did not James Francis Murphy spend 9 years there in an effort not getting any certificates? Was not it Mag’s Curran’s Alma Mater? It has been a hive of faux left wing socialism almost as long as I can remember.

114. heedtracker

More shit, different day in the UK

https://archive.is/gIgiX

Vote Tory, the greenest government ever.

http://www.mcsuk.org/what_we_do/Fishing+for+our+future/Why+sustainable+seafood/Seabass+in+deep+trouble

Which country’s Atlantic ocean do they mean and how come too small, poor, stupid Iceland’s ocean fisheries are thriving while Scottish waters are emptied of life in teamGB land?

115. caz-m

Robert Peffers

I think we are all witnessing the final chapter of the British Empire.

Then, after Independence, maybe Scottish schools can start teaching our children about the true history of Scotland.

My history education at school didn’t go back any further than 1707. Clive of India, the Whigs, the Corn Laws, Robert Peel, etc…

I learned about “Bannockburn 1314” at a Scotland game, when I saw it on a banner. I had to ask what it meant.

And as for the period between 1314 and 1707, I still know very little about it.

116. Mike

And all of this at a time when ‘our’ Duke & Dutchess are sunning themselves at Wimbledon in outfits worth more than some people receive in a couple of months while watching mutli-millionaires hit a ball back and forward watched by more multi-millionaires in the audience.

Don’t get me wrong, I love tennis and Wimbledon but there is something about this year’s event that seems to particularly highlight the ever widening gap in our country.

I say, anyone for strawberries and cream?

117. call me dave

Kezia getting her chips and Darling all in the one article.

Mitigate!..Mitigate!..Mitigate! she says Dalek like.

https://archive.is/vaFnm

118. Ken500

Gordon Brown destroyed the world. He is so conceited he still will not apologise. That’s what happens when you believe your own publicity. False illusions. The same as Thatcher over 3Million unemployed and interest rates at 15%, and all manufacturing facilities destroyed. Dangerous banking deregulation. The Building Societies owned by their members demutualised sold off to the unregulated banks. Utilities sold off now exploited by State controlled/owned foreign companies. The Tories had to get rid of Thatcher.

Gordon Brown was warned by two Gov of the BOE about his economic policies, but he would not listen. The taxpayers are paying £Billions for the best Westminster advice. Brown kept interest at 5% he thought by doing that he had ended ‘boom and bust’ . Interest rates should have gone up because people were borrowing far too much with out collateral (false property valuations). The reserve capital ratios held by the banks were being allowed to reduced. Everyone knew people we’re borrowing far too much, even those who were doing the borrowing. Banks were out of control with no proper regulation. Brown took control of interest rates from the BOE. Tri parte Brown, BOE and a toothless regulator without any powers. Instead of increasing interest to stop people borrowing too much. Brown left them too low. His need to control and take the false profits. Thatcher was the same. She changed world banking rules with Regan. Banks were required to keep 25% of capital in reserve. Thatcher (US/UK) allowed it to fall to 13%, not enough liquidity. What a way to carry on. Greed and illegal Blair Wars. Maiming and killing millions of innocent vulnerable people. Still in denial.

Delusional Psychopaths.

119. caz-m

Mixed messages coming out of Greece. British media telling us that Greece is about to accept even more austerity than what they voted against last week.

The British media want Greece to fall on her knees like a begging slave.

I hope Greece says no to this latest deal and leaves the Euro. It will be tough, but no tougher than what they have already gone through.

120. Ken500

Wilson and Naughtie demoted. BBC /Scotsman limited audience. Falling faster than a sieve loses water. They are losing listeners. No one buys them anymore.

121. Jack Murphy

Grouse Beater says at 12:06am:-“first time I’ve heard [Tommy] Sheppard speak………………..”
    Here he is making his Maiden Speech in the Commons.
    Brilliant! 🙂

http://parliamentlive.tv/event/index/e0d30602-5dc4-408b-9133-7a6960fab7af?in=15:22:10&out=15:33:20

122. Robert Peffers

@Les wilson says: 10 July, 2015 at 9:17 am:

“Just look at all the historical hooray’s this past year.

Aye! Les, and much of the taught history is total lies that even a bit of common sense shows up as total crap.

Our first recorded history was from the Romans. Pre-Roman Britons couldn’t write. Now and serious student of history will find that the Roman Records are not only often written years after the events recorded but there are contradictory records by different Romans.

Further research shows these differences were due to the different reporters attempting to further their own political careers back in Rome. When the Romans left, “Roman”, Britain that area, South east Britain, replaced their former elite leaders with a succession of Germanic Tribes that were essentially all the same lot.

The Angles, Jutes, Saxons, Vikings Norsemen and Normans were all really the same lot but our taught history makes it seem they were different and the Norman aristocracy, (Norman is a contraction of Norseman), are the same Royals and aristocracy sitting as hereditary peers in the HOL today.

Here’s a very obvious lie. If there was a union of the crowns, in 1603, why did we need a Treaty of Union to unite the two Kingdoms in 1606/7? Here’s another – as there are only two Kingdoms that signed the Treaty of Union how come we now have three countries with a parliament and one with no elected parliament but being run as the United Kingdom devolving powers to the other three countries?

It is all propaganda from the first recorded history to yesterdays Hansard reports.

123. gerry parker

Thorniewood by election.

Election result (1st preference votes):

SNP: 1st preference votes – 1555 – (47%, up 22.7% since 2012)

Labour: 1st preference votes – 1410 – 42.6 %, down 27.9% since 2012)

Swing to SNP: 25.3%

124. Molly

Caz-m

Stumbled across a site ‘ celebrate Scotland’ , don’t know who runs it but there’s some interesting stuff.

They’re looking for volunteers this week-end to dig/ find out more about where the battle etc actually took place. Good opportunity

Like yourself , I’m looking to the future , while trying to learn about the past .

Please please let Gordon Brown stay a blast from the past

125. Dave McEwan Hill

Robert Peffers

“Was not it Mag’s Curran’s Alma Mater? It has been a hive of faux left wing socialism almost as long as I can remember.”

Exactly
    Circa 1960 I stood outside school next to the David Elder hospital during a council by election for the Drumoyne ward supporting a young SNP hopeful called Andrew Welsh.

I had the company most of the day of a young Tory called Teddy Taylor.
    I found out that he (Taylor) had been a member of the Glasgow University Nationalist club but had gone Tory because he wanted to be an MP and the SNP had no chance of letting him achieve that.
    He rhymed off a collection of university contemporaries who had gone to the Labour Party for the same reason. The names included most of those who went onto become the great and good of Scottish Labour in the 60s,70s and 80s.
    “Not a socialist among them” was Taylor’s dismissive comment

126. Les Wilson

caz-m says:

In my view for them to leave the Euro would be better for them. They should default. As you say it will be tough at start but, they will not need to repay the debt they were encouraged to take,and at unsustainable rates.

They go back to the drachma, if needed they can print some QE of their own. They managed ok before the euro.
    But they would now shed debt, and get rid of their right wing propaganda media.

They never should have joined the Euro anyway.
    Technically, the figures were rigged by Goldman Sachs to get them in. It has not been a asset for Greece, just a disaster. Better out.

127. Macart

@call me dave

I don’t think Ms Dugdale has grasped the concepts behind devolution, governments and an economy yet.

A populace shouldn’t have to use loaned powers to protect itself from its own central government’s economic model. The fact that we are required to should tell her something.

But I wouldn’t hold my breath waiting on the dawning of realisation. 🙂

128. Macca73

Funny if it’s true that Cameron did act to stop the BBC calling it Murray Mound.

Okay let’s stop calling after a man who actually WON Wimbledon in favour of a guy who won nothing!

Brilliant, Idiotic and pathetic all at the same time!

129. Helena Brown

Ca-m, with regard to the teaching of Scottish History, it would appear my generation and probably not all of them, were the last to be taught Scottish history. Mine was in Primary and I was taught about the wars of Independence, Bannockburn, Bruce and the Spider. These things stuck in my memory, I doubt I was taught enough and have learned more since growing up. Primary School is a good place to start teaching history but Secondary is the place to teach children proper history, not the lightweight stuff the hard stuff. How people in Scotland suffered during this period. Many years ago now we went down to see the Archaeologists at the dig at the Great Hospital at Soutra. The things they had discovered during ther period of the Wars of Independence were truly awful. This saying, people in England were not much happier, they were being taxed to fund Edward’s wars.

130. caz-m

Molly 12.22pm

thanks for the history of Scotland link.

https://www.celebrate-scotland.co.uk/News-and-Features/

131. Helena Brown

Robert Peffers, I am curious about the English and their loves of their invaders. They so love the Romans, worship at the feet of the Normans and if you consider they were also invaded by the Angles, Saxons and Jutes hence England or Angleland. My husband caused a bit of a stooshie suggesting on time that the English should support Germany in Football, well where did they think Saxony was. Luck to escape with his life I would say.

132. Helena Brown

Macart and Luigi, I am not of the converting type, they either come to the decision on their own or they don’t. I have my lady who is my home boarder for the dug. Both she and Mum are Tories, I got some garbled tale from Mum who said the voted SNP but was unhappy that they had not got rid of the Council Tax. She is elderly even more so than I, but the daughter is a definite Tory. No conversion will ever happen there and I certainly will not be doing any converting. I was hoping to find another home boarder for said dug, but he loves her and politics do not matter to him, he is half Yank and half English but I bet he would give anyone in the shape of (I am told) the charming Gordon Brown, a good run for their money. Hahaha.

133. stonefree

@ Helena Brown 12:35 pm
    Totally agree,In 1991 I discovered how much Scottish history was being taught in Schools….Nil, So I dragged my son round as many historic sites as I could

134. Ken500

They are lying about Greece. Nigel Lawson and Neil lied about the Eurozone, history, Greece, the UK finances. The Tories tell a lot of lies about the Eurozone and EU because they want to keep control to (secretly) fleece the UK public purse, to make them and their Associates fabulously wealthy on embezzled money.

‘Black Wednesday’

Lawson was rolled out to lie. The Eurozone (18 countries) has less debt spread over morepeople, than the UK. The countries have to keep a agreed ratio to debt. Merkel could easily extend Greece’s debt but wants to make money out of the situation. The ECB interest rates are -1%. They have been lending Grece money and six month later want it back at 10% (loan sharks). Historically the governments of Germany and Italy caused the debt in Europe.

It will cost more if Greece leaves the Eurozone than making an agreement with Greece. The German economy will be badly affected, along with the rest of the world. The value of the pound has come down against the Euro (China) Merkel refused the Ukraine a loan and it caused thousands of deaths, £Billions and lose of territory on Germany’s borders. It would have been less damaging to give Ukraine a loan. The guy who stole the Ukraine’s money (£Billions) is now the President. Lightening strikes twice.

Greece has all the aces in the pack. The rest of Europe is panicking, to do a deal and end austerity.

The lies the Tory/Unionist tell about the Eurozone and Greece and their financial performance is shocking.

135. ArtyHetty

Have not had time to read many comments yet, but was Gordy not right regards pensions, I could be wrong but thought I heard they are not being tampered with? If so, we all know why.

How anyone can condone cuts to the poorest and most vulnerable in our society is off the radar regards having a conscience, as far as I am concerned. When Uni Cred kicks in it will be hell on earth for many, with 2 sons with autism, it just does not bare thinking about.

136. Les Wilson

Robert Peffers says:

Interesting reply Robert, I bow to your superior knowledge of events. All I can say is I am fekking fed up with all their jingoism.

As I said the Westminster propaganda machine is in overdrive, you would think they were scared of something!!!

137. Luigi

Helena Brown says:

10 July, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Macart and Luigi, I am not of the converting type, they either come to the decision on their own or they don’t.

I agree! But it’s always worth just letting people know what you believe in, without trying to ram it down their throats. If they are a bit of a soft No, they will start to ask you about it (inevitably). Just a matter of time.

Even the odd hard NO can be miraculously transformed on the road to Damascus, if he/she suddenly sees the light, but don’t waste time on them – these events are rare and will happen irrespective whether you discussed it with them or not. Sometimes it just happens. It’s a mad world! 🙂

138. Grouse Beater

Received local Lib-Dem leaflet:

Surge in house burglaries due to (sic) SNP policy on policing.”

Eh?
    The police make their own decisions on internal department duties. And when, as in the recent past, burglaries reduce in number, is that because of SNP policy?

139. Nana Smith

Seeing on twitter that Kevin McKenna has had a heart attack.
    Very sorry if true.

140. Macart

@Helena

😀 LOL

Ah’ll just bet the dug could.

141. Luigi

Everyone experiences a different road to believing in Scottish independence: Personally, from a Labour background, I started voting SNP (tactically) for quite a few years before I fully supported the idea of independence. It initially started as a protest/anti-establishment behaviour (not impressed with New Labour) and it took a couple of GEs to gradually transform into fully supporting the idea of home rule/FFA and then finally on to independence. Not sure when it all happened, but the point I make is that there are large numbers of SNP voters out there who are still on that road (they voted NO last year). To many folk, this seems mad and contradictory, but I know where they are coming from. I know many of the WoS crowd have always been indy supporters, but many of us came over from the dark side gradually. If the SNP consolidate their position in WM and Holyrood, I believe that majority support for independence is inevitable, but it won’t happen tomorrow (the day after, perhaps, but sometime soon).

142. heedtracker

https://archive.is/v0Eil

You cant buy a two up two down in Wimbledon for under £1.5 million. London/S. east teamGB superheats as per usual and everything is fine in the UK. One brilliant solution from toryboys? scrap London planning law for more extensions etc plebs need housing of some kind or other.

Rancid Graun CiF’s creepy as ever, doesn’t occur to anyone down there that the UK is paying for their permanent white hot M25 economic boom, houses get cheaper and cheaper the closer you got to their Scotland region, because the south hoovers up all their money.

Osborne knows though, and so we have their Northern Powerhouse thing going on, which stops at Newcastle, if they’re lucky.

Scotland’s a region of benefit scroungers but there a pockets of i’m alright jack. Aberdeen’s not immune. ABZ House sales have stopped dead for nearly a year in Europe’s oil capital. Local unionist tory rag says bring on Heathrow third runway now, that will save us! West London tory nimbys won’t let them.

Chaos, confusion, mismanagement, lack of planning, Scotland/BBC etc crawling with sneering Englishman explaining how shite Scotland would be run, if we had voted YES.

Maybe.

143. heedtracker

And 61% Torygraph readers want the Fed to beat Andy today. You can’t invent a creepier union than this one.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/tennis/andymurray/11730677/Andy-Murray-vs-Roger-Federer-Wimbledon-2015-live-British-No1-targets-third-final.html

144. crazycat

@ Robert Peffers at 11.43

Jim Murphy attended Strathclyde University (which also produced the report Les Wilson mentioned), but Margaret Curran, Johann Lamont, and their pals are graduates of the University of Glasgow (to which Dave McEwan Hill was referring at 12.11).

Some snobbish people, of whom I am sure you are not one, sneer at the former as a lesser institution than the latter; as the holder of a (higher) degree from Strathclyde I am probably biased, but there is nothing “alleged” about its status as an educational establishment.

145. Grouse Beater

Nana Smith: On twitter – Kevin McKenna has had a heart attack.

I hope not. He’s a good champion for the cause. His father died of a heart attack. Only this year he used that in title against the violence of imposed austerity.

146. call me dave

Worth a peek.

http://munguinsrepublic.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/maybe-labour-should-be-listening-to.html

PS:
    The National.
    using my Friday copy to cutout the half-price offer for the Saturday version. For those who haven’t noticed.

Had to try 3 newsagents the day after the budget to secure one. Seem to go quickly today the woman behind the counter said.

147. JLT

seanair says:

jlt
    You and everyone else so minded could turn up on 30th August at the Baillie Gifford Main Theatre in Edinburgh where GB is part of the Book Festival.

You never know LOL. Am working in the city centre anyway! Somehow, I think Brown may get cornered before that. The minute he steps back into the public eye, he is going to be jumped upon.

Gordon will either lie through his teeth stating that he was right, or he’ll just simply say that Cameron reneged on a promise, and therefore we need to take it up with him.

I expect no apologies whatsoever from Broon.

148. Nana Smith

@Grouse beater

in reply to concerned tweeters

Kevin McKenna ?@KevinMcKenna63 · 53m53 minutes ago
    @MartynMcL thanks Martyn, less of an attack than a mild disagreement. Need to start on the five a week again

149. Balaaargh

I don’t enjoy being “that guy” but the IFS don’t have a great record of impartiality in presenting their data as has been picked up on this site before.

I would be wary of accepting their figures given their links to Osborne. The reality , I fear, is much worse.

150. Grouse Beater

JLT: I expect no apologies whatsoever from Gordon Broon.

How different matters might have been had he been more insight and less unionshite.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/gordon-the-hapless/

151. Fred

Folks, as this is the 250th aniversary of the birth of the “Father of Scottish Democracy”, Alex Salmond will be giving the “Thomas Muir Lecture” in Edinburgh on 24th August, details in, http://www.thomasmuir.co.uk

“I have dedicated myself to the cause of the people; it is a good cause; it shall finally triumph!”
    Muir.

152. Gavin

O/T re. Scottish history

I still haven’t forgiven Osbourne for a remark he made in the commons a few months back regarding commemorating Agincourt when he stated that the battle had been about defeating the French and “renegade scots”. Historical fact, there were no scots present at Agincourt, the first scots involvement in the Hundred Years’ War was a Bauge six years later, which the scots won !

Why do the English want to celebrate Agincourt anyway ? They were the aggressors invading a country that they had no right being in, and they went on to lose the war, being finally kicked out of France in 1453.

They say that crumbling empires increasingly look to past glories to mask there present day problems. Not a year goes by without the Westminster government dredging up some historical event to try to make us all feel British. The BBC happily complies with this, wheeling out the likes of Robert Hall with his somber voice as if to say “your British and don’t you forget it”. The BBC can get to f***

All a sure sign that what’s left of the empire is on its last legs.

153. Robert Peffers

@Socrates MacSporran says: 10 July, 2015 at 10:07 am:

“Some chat on this thread about: “Britain (I’ve seen it quoted as England) standing alone after Dunkirk.”

They are, of course, all at it no less so the great USA whose claims are also utter mince. Remember that the USA led Great Depression began in 1929 and only ended in the early 1940s because of the USA exploitation of the Allies in WWII. Here’s some actual facts : –

At a special session of the United States Congress on September 21, 1939, Roosevelt amended the 1936. Neutralities Act as, “The Cash & Carry Act”, subsequent to the outbreak of WWII in Europe, (This amendment allowed the sale of material and weapons to belligerents), as long as the recipients arranged for their own transport using their own ships and paid immediately in cash, thus assuming all risk in transportation.

The USA at this time were still selling iron to the Japanese. The never mentioned part of this is the very first line in the Act that reads, “In defense of the US. So The USA acknowledged they knew they were part of the conflict, (What else were they defending themselves from)?

The USA were exploiting the allies to drag themselves out of a World depression that the USA were mainly responsible for causing, while still selling iron to the Japanese enemy.

When the allies ran out of ready cash the USA did a deal with the UK. They exchanged 50 clapped out First World War Destroyers in exchange for 99 year leases of UK foreign Bases. Some of the old ships sank while limping across the Atlantic. These bases included – Newfoundland (now part of Canada); Eastern side of the Bahamas; Southern coast of Jamaica; Western coast of St. Lucia; West coast of Trinidad (Gulf of Paria); Antigua;
    British Guiana (now Guyana) and it also granted the US air and naval base rights in The Great Sound and Castle Harbour, Bermuda plus the South and Eastern coasts of Newfoundland.

When the allies ran out of readies the USA then brought in Lend-Lease – formally titled “An Act to Promote the Defense of the United States”. Under which The USA supplied Free France, Great Britain, the Republic of China, and the USSR and other Allied nations with food, oil, and war materiel between 1941 and August 1945. Buy now pay later in fact – and the UK alone did pay up – right up until 29 December 2006.

In spite of, “Defending itself”, by exploiting the allies the USA still did not come to fight their own corner until after the Japanese used the iron they bought from the USA to bomb Pearl Harbour, Hawaii, (on December 7, 1941), and after Herr Hitler formally declared war upon the USA, December 11. 1941, (His U-Boats had been attacking US shipping before that declaration).

Now USA history claims they only came to save our bacon and that it was the USA, “Wot won it”.

154. Robert Peffers

@Dave McEwan Hill says: 10 July, 2015 at 11:16 am

“I am very well aware of the history of the Labour Party. I don’t know what point you are making.”

That’s not my problem, Dave, for I made it very, very clear. From the very first Labour MP they have all joined the Westminster Establishment. To this day, in spite of several times in power, they have never made good their early promises of Home Rule, and don’t bother attempting that old myth they made good by giving us a Holyrood Parliament.

You know as well as I do they had their hand forced and, in any case, their motive was to kill the SNP stone dead. Just ask George Roberson.

155. Robert Peffers

@caz-m says: 10 July, 2015 at 11:45 am:

“My history education at school didn’t go back any further than 1707. Clive of India, the Whigs, the Corn Laws, Robert Peel, etc…”

It was a Unionist Labour policy, caz-m. Even after the SNP won power at Holyrood most local councils were still Labour controlled and they stuffed such as School boards and NHS Hospital Boards with Labour Councillors.

If and move was made to change the curriculum there were objections that it was a political move to aid independence. Remember the claims that celebrating Bannockburn was glorying in the slaughter of English people and we even had that claim made last time while the UK held Armed Forces day in Stirling.

Same goes for Hospital Boards – they are stuffed with Labour Councillors and it is these boards that employ the NHS staff – yet there is a constant Drip! Drip! on the BBC of SNP Bad for the staffing levels in NHS Scotland.

We must now break the Labour Party grip on Local Councils before Holyrood policy can be made to work properly.

I have always believed a nation has to know where it comes from before it can know where it wants to go and the double barrelled attacks upon Scottish history of the lies they tell in formal history lessons and the as near as dammit absence of taught Scottish history lessons has left much of Scotland with little idea of who and what we are.

156. Robert Peffers

@call me dave says: 10 July, 2015 at 11:52 am:

Kezia getting her chips and Darling all in the one article.

“Mitigate!..Mitigate!..Mitigate! she says Dalek like.

Ach” Kizia’s always been like a Dalek – Mechanical, repetitive and totally destructive.

https://archive.is/vaFnm

As for Darling I take from what he is saying that he thinks that Labour needs to become bigger liars than the Tories in order to gain power.

157. Bill McLean

It appears that once again, in their juvenile attempts to glorify war and Britain’s part in the 2nd world war, they have forgotten the nearly 600 foreign pilots who flew in the “Battle of Britain” so that England could stand alone!

158. msean

I seem to remember that it being a big discussion during the independence referendum about if we were made £500 better off in an independent Scotland,would we be more likely to vote yes,I wonder how it would work after the emegency budget

https://archive.is/bgbSE

159. Robert Peffers

@Ken500 says: 10 July, 2015 at 11:57 am:

“Gordon Brown destroyed the world. He is so conceited he still will not apologise. That’s what happens when you believe your own publicity. False illusions. The same as Thatcher over 3Million unemployed and interest rates at 15%, and all manufacturing facilities destroyed. Dangerous banking deregulation. The Building Societies owned by their members demutualised sold off to the unregulated banks. Utilities sold off now exploited by State controlled/owned foreign companies. The Tories had to get rid of Thatcher.

By coincidence, while checking my facts about the USA WWII history, I needed to check the exact dates for the USA great Depression. Your above comment almost exactly matches the causes quoted for the USA Great Depression.

So there really is no excuses for either Thatcher’s economics nor of Browns – or for that matter for the present Tory policies.

History keeps repeating itself and madness is described as doing the same things over & over while expecting a different outcome each time.

160. Robert Peffers

@Helena Brown says: 10 July, 2015 at 12:35 pm:

“Ca-m, with regard to the teaching of Scottish History, it would appear my generation and probably not all of them, were the last to be taught Scottish history.”

I had a great advantage, Helena, my Grand Parents more or less brought me up as Dad was fighting Germans and Mum was called up to make munitions. Both Grandparents were great on Scottish History. Then, at secondary school I had the best natural born teacher I ever came across and she taught history and the lady could make history live at a time when teaching history consisted of teaching dates, aided by the Lochgelly Tawse, much like learning the times table.

However, with history it has to be a life-long learning process and interest. Here’s a wee true fact.

After the Battle of Prestonpans Prince Charles Edward Stuart prevented the customary slaughter of the enemy casualties and paid Surgeons from the Edinburgh Infirmary to tend both the Scottish and English wounded. The recipts for the treatment still exist.

A year later, after the Battle of Culloden, Cumberland acquired the title, “Butcher”, for his actions in commanding the English troops to not only pursue the fleeing troops but to kill every living thing in their way including women, children and infants.

Yet English history calls the Scots, and particularly the Highlanders, uncouth savages.

161. caz-m

Robert Peffers

The things you learn on Wings. Good stuff.

162. The Moidart

Robert… And did an observer not write an infamous quote about it?? “What with splashing around in the enemies blood (Scots blood) they looked like so many butchers “or something similar???

163. Rock

Still Positive,

“However, the biggest cheer was for the UKIP MEP when she suggested abolishing foreign aid.

I will never understand the English on this.”

Yes, the people who grew rich through the slave trade and looting the colonies.

Unfortunately, the Scots were enthusiastic participants in this.

That is why we still have so many British nationalists among us.

I hope an independent Scotland will be generous in giving foreign aid.

164. Rock

Mosstrooper,

“It is seldom wise to state a “view” as fact as in “would have” regarding the elderly.”

It has been reported that 70% of the elderly voted No. I would take that as a fact.

The rest is my view as I have clearly stated.

In my view the vast majority of those 70% British Nationalists would have voted No.

Gordon Brown misled them. But there was no shortage of Yes supporters reassuring them. There was the triple guarantee.

The minds of British Nationalists are closed. They only listen to what they want to here.

“Many WERE scared into NO and I have personal knowledge of this”

Why didn’t you personally persuade them then? Or did they trust Gordon Brown more than they trusted you?

In my view, they are lying.

By the way, I don’t mean any harm to them.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.