How to farm chickens

Posted on June 19, 2013 by

First you let them hatch, then you count them, and then they come home to roost.

roadtomurphy

Continuing our series of favourite extracts from last night’s “Road To Referendum”, here’s Labour’s delightful Trident advocate Jim Murphy, speaking in May 2010.

“The public have turned their back on the SNP. This is the day that the Scottish public have said ‘No more’, to the SNP, ‘we’ve had you in power for these years, you’re a novelty that’s worn off’.”

Speaking at our most partisan, long may the admirable insight of Unionist politicians into the innermost feelings of the Scottish electorate continue.

26 to “How to farm chickens”

1. Luigi

Geez, Rev, how many more ugly unionist mugshots are you going to post? I haven’t had lunch yet!

2. CraigD

Murphy will feel perfectly qualified to speak on poultry matters since he is a c**k of the highest order!

3. Les Wilson

Murphy, aka “The rev Jolly”, at his incompetent best.

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Geez, Rev, how many more ugly unionist mugshots are you going to post? I haven’t had lunch yet!”

Definitely don’t tune in at 3pm, then 😀

5. Desimond

Did Jim say this in between Arms Deal junkets?
    You can bet new Labour Scots still awake each day thinking “Todays the day! That flash in the pan mob will be rejected, Oh yes, the glory days will soon be back!”

6. Doug Daniel

I remember watching both Jim Murphy and Douglas Alexander’s post-victory speeches on the BBC in 2010. They were hateful, spiteful, petty tirades that came a hair’s breadth away from simply saying “ahaha, we won, we won, shove it up your arse, SNP!!!” I think that was the moment I decided they were my two most hated politicians.

If I send any gloating cards after the referendum result, you can guarantee that couple of morons are top of the list. They’re disgusting individuals.

7. Yesitis

Who farted?

Oh, okay… Jim Murphy 🙂

8. Shinty

I have one word for Mr Murphy (actually two)
    YOU WISH!

9. Indy_Scot

One thing that I did find quite remarkable about last nights programme was how naive in the extreme Labour politicians were at the time of the 2010 UK general election to think that the way Scottish people voted in a UK election would be the same as a Scottish election.

The reason I say this is because at the time I knew that the Scottish elections and the UK election are two fundamentaly different events, and I’m no expert.

10. Al Ghaf

Holy God, that’s a scary pucker, enough to give the late Donald Dewar a run for his money. 

11. TheGreatBaldo

As I recall Doug it was Alexander and Murphy given over at least 20 minutes to harangue Mike Watson…..
    Watched it for 5 minutes….then flicked over to SKY and STV…came back to BBC….they were still going at it !!
    The interviewer in question was Glenn Campbell 

12. Inbhir Anainn

Nah, Murphy’s known a.k.a. is (Lurch).

13. Gordon Hay

@Indy_Scot

One thing that I did find quite remarkable about last nights programme was how naive in the extreme Labour politicians were at the time of the 2010 UK general election to think that the way Scottish people voted in a UK election would be the same as a Scottish election.

I don’t think they were being naive about this at all – they knew damn fine, they just thought the rest of us were naive enough to swallow their guff, and they still think that way.

14. Finlay

I want to echo this part of what Doug says above…

“I remember watching both Jim Murphy and Douglas Alexander’s post-victory speeches on the BBC in 2010. They were hateful, spiteful, petty tirades that came a hair’s breadth away from simply saying “ahaha, we won, we won, shove it up your arse, SNP!!!” I think that was the moment I decided they were my two most hated politicians.”

15. matos 21

Jim never one to miss a trick especially where money is concerned (Yours and mine)
    http://www.ernhw.org.uk/forum/2-public-forum/25560-jim-murphy-named-among-27-mps-in-new-expenses-row

16. Jimbo

Murph’s definitely not in the running for a job at Delphi.

17. CameronB

Did he present any evidence to back up his assertion?

18. ewen

Jimbo says:
    19 June, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Murph’s definitely not in the running for a job at Delphi.

I don’t think he has ever done an honest day’s work in his life. He didn’t even manage to finish uni. I remember him swanning round the union at Strathclyde. He was a dick then and he is an even bigger cock now. A career politician with no redeeming qualities or talents.

19. John Gibson

There’s something unusual about the current crop of Scottish MP’s and MSP’s from Labour. Normally with politicians of all parties I can see something I like  in many of them –  Malcolm Rifkind, Murdo Fraser or Annabel Goldie from the conservatives or Jim Hume from the Lib Dems for example.
    With Scottish Labour it’s hard to like any of them. Lamont is embarassing, Baillie is morally repugnant, Elaine Murray seems on the edge of sanity, Douglas Alexander comes across clever but disingenuous and Ken Macintosh projects the aura of a dodgy used car salesman. The rest operate at various levels of incompetance and unlikeability, but Jim Murphy gets special mention as the one that makes my skin crawl – I don’t believe a single word he says, ever.

20. Macart

The very thought of Murphy or Alexander coming back up here to sit in Holyrood…… (shudder).

That would almost tempt a no vote out of me.

Almost. 😉

21. Aucheorn

I know this is O/T but the Tories are looking after their pals again.
    We paid for this bank. Why should fatcat bankers get the benefit.
    PLEASE, please sign this petition NOW

George Osborne bank plan
    secure.38degrees.org.uk
    George Osborne might flog-off our publicly owned bank RBS at a £7billion loss. Sign the petition to stop him.

22. Chic McGregor

@Inbhir Annain
    “Nah, Murphy’s known a.k.a. is (Lurch).”

Indeed.
    Although the following looks like a mirror drawing of Murphy, it is in fact a comic style drawing of Lurch.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B8CTHz_DTDtlOXJ5Skd0R3EyazA/edit?usp=sharing

23. Chic McGregor

@Les Wilson
    “Murphy, aka “The rev Jolly”, at his incompetent best.”

Naw Les, you’ve got that wrong, it was Eck that did the eponymous Reverend, as per this spoof on a spoof from a few years back.  Mind you, Murphy does have a bit part (a very bit part in fact).

24. Tamson

Murphy’s a special kind of nastiness, given that he completely betrayed two voting blocs in his career: Scots and students.

I’ve always had a theory about the Labour Party and the MoD: if you want to spot the real shits in Labour, look at the MoD Cabinet posts. An honest Labourite will always be pretty uncomfortable in posts like Defence Secretary or Armed Forces Minister – it would go against more youthful peacnik idealism. As such, it’s an easy post for a Grade 1 trougher to jump into on the “OK, I’ll do it since none of you wusses want to” logic. And of course it’s an open door to the payola of arms industry directorships, lobby perks etc.

If you look at Blair/Brown’s defence secretaries it does stand up: Robertson, Hoon, Reid, Browne, Hutton, Ainsworth. Pretty much all serial troughers, vermine in ermine or general scumbags.

25. ianbrotherhood

@Tamson-

Kin right.

And let’s not forget Adam Ingram – the man who (surrounded by minders, of course) shouted at Rose Gentle:  ‘Alright there, Saddam’s little helper?’

Aye, they’re pure class, each and every one.

26. There was always politicians in it for the money but for the past 40 years or so I have noticed that the Westminster party has all of them in it for the money,you cant have a career politician,looking after others as their first thoughts are always for their “Career” and themselves.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.