Gathering speed

Posted on January 29, 2015 by

Ed Miliband, who is apparently the leader of the Labour Party, is in Scotland today to make some promises about his lifelong commitment to “Home Rule”, a policy which his MSPs were flatly denying ever mentioning earlier this month.

edhome

We’re sure he’ll be as good as his word.

After all, less than a year ago Labour helpfully reminded us in its own Scottish branch office’s so-called “Red Paper” that the party has a long and proud track record of promptly delivering on its promises about the Scottish constitution.

If a Scottish Parliament took only 111 years from Labour election vow to reality, after all, Home Rule must surely be right around the corner.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 29 01 15 12:50

Gathering speed | Politics Scotland | Scoop.it

2. 29 01 15 13:43

Gathering speed - Speymouth

269 to “Gathering speed”

1. Helena Brown

The only way that this will even get to see the light of day far less voted through is 50 plus SNP Mp’s in May.

2. Lanarkist

You would think that Political Parties would avoid the use of pledges, vows and promises owing to their recent past history and the effect that their use and then abandonment has had on the success of the party who used them!

3. Bugger (the Panda)

Another VOW.

Well, it worked last time.

They must be panicking now.

4. MajorBloodnok

Would this be the same Home Rule which, according to the BBC, Gordon Brown definately didn’t promise?

5. Bugger (the Panda)

Test

6. galamcennalath

We need to see the small print! Milliband’s idea of Home Rule might not be what Scots now understand as Home Rule! In fact, I’d go further and suggest he’s still talking about Homeopathic Smith!

7. CameronB Brodie

Vote English Socialism for a fairer Scotland!

Remember, we’ve “always been at war with Eurasia.”

8. Bob Costello

Thay are running arround like headless Chickens and the desperation is very apparent. I cannot believe we are getting another vow.Get a grip lads ,you are making fools of yourselves

9. DAvid Anderson

Am I the only one thinking he could be imitating Ali G with that expression and hand position? ”Ome rule for me Norf British homey’s innit’… Belter.

10. gillie

Since Ed Miliband is from another planet I assume these are not Earth Days.

If he is from Venus then 100 Venusian days are 5900 Earth days, 16 Earth years.

If he us from Uranus well ………….. lets no go there.

11. JPFife

Hang on, haven’t we already got home rule delivered via The Vow? Gordon said the words ‘home rule’ and according to everyone in Labour The Vow has been successfully delivered. So why is Ed pledging something we already have? 😛

12. Chris Downie

Imho, May’s election result might well prove to be as important as the Referendum.

While the prize may have been drastically reduced, as independence has been replaced by the possibility of a bloc of SNP MP’s wresting a few crumbs from Westminster’s table, it is how we bounce back from September’s defeat that will act as a true barometer of our strength… or collective gullibility.

If the days of the “monkey in a red rosette could stand – and win convincingly!” have indeed been banished to the dustbins of history, then we move forward and into the 2016 Holyrood elections full of confidence. If not – and if the Red Tories still command anything even remotely close to a majority of seats – then there will have to be much soul-searching among our nation, as we capitulate to further WM domination.

Either way, that outcome is in our own hands.

13. X_Sticks

@Cameron

No, no, it’s Oceania we’re at war with, isn’t it?

14. Lesley-Anne

I can only responsibly come up with one reasonable excuse as to why RED Ed has decided to let the *ahem* cat out of the bag and *cough* claim that a *cough* new Home Rule bill for Scotland would be making an appearance within 100 days of him becoming *ahem* Prime Minister … he is s****** himself so much he has filled his boots and is desperate to stop s****** himself!

Unfortunately for RED Ed he has one or two itsy bitsy teent weeny little problems to overcome.

a) We are all still waiting for the FULL delivery of wee Gordy Broon’s “near Federalism”

b) until we see the FULL delivery of wee Gordy’s *cough* promise then we will not entertain ANY further promises from Labour of *ahem* further powers

c) as he has NOT, obviously, passed this idea by the eyes of his branch manager then obviously this whole Home Rule bill thingy will never take off.

d) as a result of this PANIC offer from RED Ed then it is quite apparent that NO ONE in their right mind will be voting for Labour in May because we have have all swallowed the Labour LIES TRUTH for far too long!

15. Jamie Arriere

I won’t believe they really mean ‘Home Rule’ until I hear it from Kaye Adams.

16. Macart

Yeah, I’d like to see in PRINT what Ed’s idea of ‘Home Rule’ is.

I’m fairly certain it differs a bit from most people’s understanding. Oh, and the last place I’d want to see it is on the front page of Scotland’s Champion.

17. BrianW

Labour, your one stop Home Rule shop..

(..shame every time they’ve had the chance to deliver it – since Keir’s days – it’s been out of stock..)

18. Luigi

It would be very interesting to find out exactly what the Scottish people consider “Home Rule” to mean.

A future opinion poll question, perhaps?

19. onelessday

Surely the HoL has to get its grubby hands the bill and if we can draw on past experience without doubt they will water it down even more than has happened already It could take till Christmas at the earliest

20. Les Wilson

Aw god, another day, another Vow!
    UK Labour and their Northern Branch are becoming more and more desperate. Nothing that does not suit Westminster MP’s will EVER be passed, ( and Home rule for Scotland definitely does not! so this once more is smoke and mirrors.

So promises aka Vows are totally useless, and because along with the BBC et al, they will all make daily sound bites,
    but that does not make them true, mostly the opposite.

We are wise to them now, we have seen how truthful these people are. It is not a word they understand.
    So they can go take a hike! ( polite eh!)

21. Dezcore

It’s just the bill already released. Nothing more. It’s been said by Ed that their will be a Scottish manifesto, on sky news video clip. Is that even allowed to have separate intentions in different areas. We all know their is no Scottish Labour Party.

Again no news agency’s are chalky questioning it, just repeating it verbatim.

22. Macart

@ Luigi

Now that’s a plan.

This does have poll written all over it.

What does home rule mean to you?

a) The current Smith Commission devolution settlement?
    b) Devolution Max/Full Fiscal Autonomy?
    c) Other?

23. Effijy

You have obviously misheard our ED.

He is actually promising a Home Ruler!
    The Smurph can reign over us on Westminster’s behalf.

We might even get a new Queen “Dipity Dug”

I’d sure like to Crown both of them, but I guess I’m in a very long queue for that one.

24. Dr Jim

Is this a Pledge, or a Promise, or a Vow, or even a Command, Or, is it just a “We’re in the shit say anything for a vote” policy
    I just can’t keep up with Labours announcements these days they must have some real genius policy thinkers in both Labour head office and the Wee Accounting Branch office right here in “Lil ole Scatlind” Minibrain and Murphy, it’s a double act, they’d be doing the clubs if there were any left
    The Softbrain Shuffle could be the wee dance that goes with it

25. Bob Sinclair

What time is the Daily Jim Murphy on TV tonight?

26. ErinT

The Home Rule in discussion seems just to be the Smith commission recommendations. It’s just decided to tux it up for a bit, slick back the hair and throw on some fancy cufflinks and pose as Home Rule while smiling next to Ed and Jim to confuse voters.

27. heedtracker

So a couple of weeks on BBC vote Slab Scotland, Pacific Quay liggers say Broon’s doesnt use “home rule”

“At this point (40 seconds into the clip) Adams interrupts him and says “I don’t think he used the term ‘home rule’, did he?” Lewis Macdonald immediately butts in with “No, of course he didn’t”, and continues to barrack and interrupt over the next 20 seconds insisting that Brown had never said any such thing.”

and today far right blue unionist Scotsman try and pull another UKOK shyste. Slab and Milliband should just beg, borrow, steal blue Tory Scotland votes for May, another Bettertogether Project Fear LabConDem blast if they had the guts.

28. BrianW

Stu.. They’re at it again at the Ministry of Labour Truth – Pacific Quay Branch..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-31029492

“Recently, Lewis MacDonald MSP specifically denied that Labour had ever talked about ‘Home Rule’, which renders the claims of Ed Miliband and Jim Murphy laughable.

Hahahahahah.. I find that paragraph more laughable. Yes Lewis McDonald MSP did day that the words home rule were never used. BUT only after Kaye has beat him too it.. He just jumped on what Kaye said. He’d be a stupid MSP not to jump on the gift a presenter had just given to him on a plate..

But rather than point this out, BBC Scotland dutifully clear their presenters/reporting/presenting of any wrong doing and point the finger of blame purely at Lewis’s door..

C**ts.

The Headline really should be “100 Days Till Ed’s on The Scrapheap”

I’d love to see more “RED TORIES OUT” around Glasgow fashioned form old bed sheets, as we’ve seen recently. Some on the road to the Airport where Ed will surely be driving to later.

29. Helena Brown

Oh boy I wish I had waited before commenting, how much fun we get from our Political Masters. I think our fellow Celts in Ireland knew all about promises of Home Rule and in the time scale of this Empire we will still be waiting on Labour as the Sun swallows the earth unless we can get most of Scotland to stop voting for them.
    I think we should tell Mr Miliband he will not be in a position to offer this, so we will just become the most annoying thing in Parliament and they will finally throw us out of the Union, well it might just work.

30. James Brown

He’ll be promising us fracking rights on the moon next.
    Jim has promised everyone that votes Labour will get a free Irn Bru crate and a bottle of Buckfast.

31. Lesley-Anne

Luigi says:

It would be very interesting to find out exactly what the Scottish people consider “Home Rule” to mean.

A future opinion poll question, perhaps?

You don’t need an opinion poll to find that out Luigi.

I have it on very good authority, well EXCELLENT authority actually, that we Scots think that “Home Rule” means being given the keys to the front door of our houses as opposed to having to use the back door every time we go in and out our wee boxes. 😉

Oh you want to know the *ahem* source of this excellent authority do you … well it was none other than the branch manager himself! 😀

32. Effijy

Home Rule- Definition- something that was previously promised publically but then denied.
    ( Comes with full backing of all UK Media Outlets)

Bill- Someone they haven’t revealed as yet called William.
    ( Perhaps its their BT pal that half wit Rennie?)

Within 100 Days- Note that he hasn’t nominated a start date
    for the 100 days.

Labour Pledges- This means that they prefer Mr Sheen on their Polishing day.

Just how many times can these millionaire parasites
    lie to you and make false promises before you chase them
    back over the border?

You can trust these ambiguous snakes at your peril!

33. KennyG

What’s the reason all these clowns wave their arms around like deranged nutcases when they talk?

I often don’t hear a word they’re saying because I’m staring at their hands thinking, “what the fuck are you doing?”

Is it designed to distract me or is it a cry for help?

34. Jimbo

Westminster’s Unionist politicians never tire of making pledges. They’ve got wardrobes full of them. They’ve probably got a pledge for every day of the week.

If you don’t like their latest pledge, don’t worry, there’ll be another one ready and waiting for you tomorrow.

35. SqueuedPerspextive

Is Milibands ‘Home Rule Pledge’ response to Camerons ‘Devolution Mr.Sheen’ both used to polish the turd of Smith Commission legislation?

36. Gary

Ed Milliband is the leader of the Labour Party. Ed Milliband is in Scotland. Therefore Ed Milliband is the leader of Labour in Scotland. Murphy is superfluous. If Murphy was a valuable asset to Labour he wouldn’t be a backbench MP who skived off to play keepie uppie! If he was ANY kind of asset he would at least be in Holyrood. Murphy is the public face of a trolling campaign. Even the truth would become lies when it fell from his lips. Cue Milliband to make a promise on the vow. Murphy could not be trusted with this message, Ed had to say it because Ed makes the decisions, Murphy doesn’t. If Labour keeps its promise to honour the vow and create real home rule I’ll eat my hat (a tweed flat cap). The Labour illusion has collapsed and the smell of desperation is in the air.

37. gillie

I think we all misheard Ed. When we thought he said, “Home Rule” he actually said, “Those sweaty socks will believe any old shyte we spout and anyway our mates in the media will back us up if any nasty nats start asking questions”.

It is a very easy mistake to make they sound so similar.

38. Marie clark

So haud oan a meenit. Is this a pledge ( god help us no anither yin). But, but, em, whit is he actually pledging? Dae we know, is it a new pledge or is it the Smith garbage? How the hell is he going to get a’ this through in his first hunner days as PM?

So many questions, not many answers. I think that the best thing for liebour,is to disappear from the political landscape up here.They never ever work for the benefit of Scotland or her people, only themselves.

They have held Scotland back for far too long. GTF.

39. Lenny Hartley

Mnnn, Ive seen something about Scottish Home Rule before, even before last years Vow, Oh wait a minute didn’t Britain declare war on Germany in 1914 which conveniently pushed the third reading of the Scottish Home Rule bill into the long grass.

Heres a short extract from the attached from Hansard in 1913 “Again, in 472 1911, my right hon. Friend the Member for Kirkcaldy, who has done so much for the cause of Scottish Home Rule introduced a Bill to grant self-government to Scotland, which again was passed on First Reading by a large majority.”

You can read the whole debate at (unfortunately cant get the archive.is thing to work..

http://hansard.millbanksystems.com/commons/1913/may/30/government-of-scotland-bill

If collectively we don’t wake up soon, then I’m afraid we are too stupid to be Independent.

40. Helena Brown

Lenny Hartley you have made the point beautifully that I was struggling to make.

41. jimnarlene

Helena, got it bang on, in the first comment.

42. msean

What makes UK Labour,the party that campaigned against Scotland a few months ago,the party that for the last few years treated Scots like idiots,the party who had the weakest devo nano proposals,the party that has promised Home Rule for over a HUNDRED YEARS, what makes it think we will or should listen now to it?

43. HandandShrimp

I worry that Ed’s idea of Home Rule is that Morphy rules from his home regardless of whether he wins a seat or not.

44. galamcennalath

Anyone know what was actually offered in the Scottish Home Rule Bill of 1914, the one kicked into the long grass by WW1? Times change, but it would be interesting to know the scope of it.

45. Callum

If I had to choose between Labour’s “home rule” bill and a reverse takeover of Westminster with 40+ SNP MP’s, then go for the latter. Even hardened Labourites must see through the vow/pledge nonsense and the way Gordon Brown was spanked by the Tories during #indyref

I really like the idea of a reverse-takeover of Westminster and would be happy to lend my vote to the SNP to do that. If we can’t have Scotland, then why not just “take” the UK instead?

46. Gordie

I’m confused. Are we being offered new or are we being promised something that has already been promised? Has anyone looked into the detail of this? I checked the Scotsman article and was none the wiser

47. Callum

forgive me. I used the word “spank” and “Tory” in the same sentence.

48. Lesley-Anne

I Think we should be scared folks … really REALLY scared. I mean wee Murph the Smurph is now *ahem* claiming that he has outwitted the S.N.P. I kid you not folks.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jamieross/its-been-easy-its-been-to-outdo-the-snp

Meanwhile back on topic I wonder if wee RED Ed’s promise of *cough* Home Rule is anywhere near wee Gordy Brown’s near federalism at around 3 minutes 50 seconds here.

http://www.channel4.com/news/gordon-brown-scots-being-offered-home-rule-within-uk

49. David

Wings: “Home Rule must surely be right around the corner.”
    Labour: “We’re going to need a bigger corner.”

50. North chiel

Doubt very much if Ed will be in any position to deliver
    Any “so called” pledges, as more likely Cameron will scrape back
    In to no.10
    However,if SNP are in position to hand downing st keys to Ed
    Then the price should be the “real home deal” or walk away .another
    5 years of austerity might further enlighten the “better together” concept
    “No voters”

51. cynicalHighlander

The Smith Commission.

The Scottish Parliament will be made permanent in UK legislation and given powers over how it is elected and run. The Scottish Government will similarly be made permanent.

Will someone question him on how he will deliver that.

52. Iron Man

Is this THE VOW II, the sequel?

53. scotsbob

I have a feeling that when Ed pops up on BBC and STV local news this evening he will not face any form of rigorous questioning about the definition of “home rule”

54. Graeme Doig

So this is a new pledge of a promise made about an old pledge of powers for Scotland that come no where near Home Rule.
    Thanks for coming all this way to tell us nothing Ed. We’ve already been ‘promised’ the watered down Smith Commission. You cannae wrap it in old Christmas paper and try and convince us otherwise.

55. galamcennalath

The SNP needs to lay out in detail what it considers sufficient powers to be called Home Rule. As a policy in their manifesto … Feet held to fire etc … for Westminster, that should be the gold standard the Unionists are expected to deliver in return for support.

What the SNP proposed to Smith, would be appropriate.

56. Robert Peffers

@Helena Brown says:29 January, 2015 at 12:38 pm:

“The only way that this will even get to see the light of day far less voted through is 50 plus SNP Mp’s in May.”

In the first place London Labour are not front runners to win the election nor to do so with a large enough majority. Nor are they in line to form a coalition that would work without a large SNP faction on board.

So the truth is that Millipede hasn’t got even one of his thousand legs to stand on and the Blue Tories look like being just as unlikely to form a stable government without a large SNP faction. Of course the SNP may fail to win a large enough share of Scottish seats but on current opinion polls that seems unlikely.

So Miliband has two stark choices. Settle for being the de facto parliament of England’s opposition or go into coalition with the extreme Right Wing UKIP or the SNP if either will have his Red Tories in their beds.

The Blue Tories are little better off for they must also settle to be the de facto parliament of England opposition or go into coalition with UKIP for the SNP have already stated they will not jump into a Tory Bed but the facts are that UKIP have only 2 elected MPs and many of their supporters seem set upon voting Tory to keep out Labour.

In all cases the whole charade boils down to something the media is very reluctant to face up to. In the event of the SNP actually gaining the bulk of Scottish seats it indicates that Scotland’s voters have by large rejected every one of the de facto parliament of England’s Unionist parties.

So whatever mix of the actually only Kingdom of England parties forms the next de facto parliament of England’s parliament at Westminster the charade of it being other than the actual parliament of the Kingdom of England is plain for even the most, (Ahem!), “Patriotic Scot but”, to recognize it as such when it has little or no Scottish MPs as members.

So look for another referendum and if that were refused by a overwhelmingly English Government actually sitting in a de facto parliament of England there is a clear case for UDI that even the EU, UN and any other World organisation would find difficult to oppose.

57. Mike

I have just written to my MP and if she confirms what I believe is the case we have won, home rule finally.

“I hope you are well. I couldn’t help but notice today that Ed Miliband was in Scotland, I also see that he is pledging a Scottish home rule bill within 100 days of being returned as Prime minister. I would you appreciate it if you could approach his office on my behalf and get a definition of home rule for me. In particular I would be interested to know if he was committed to the generally accepted home rule definition of control over everything except defence and foreign policy. If this is the case labour can definitely count on my support.

I appreciate your help in this matter. “

58. The Man in the Jar

For once I agree with the Daily Mail 🙁

Ed Miliband is a character from Aardman Animations. 🙂 🙂

https://archive.today/loo9X

59. CameronB Brodie

X_Sticks
    What a load of blackwhite. We’ve always been at war with Eurasia, even when we haven’t been. 😉

60. tombee

They really are taking the piss now. If there is a living sole in Scotland, be they man, woman or child, who this asshole hasn’t insulted by these remarks now, after what has been so falsely promised in the past, let them stand up now and declare they are dead from the neck up.
    I have nothing but contempt for the way they treat my countrymen, women and children. They really do believe that we Scots, whether we voted NO or YES, are so completely daft that they can just tell us any old fickin thing that comes into their heads and it’s game set and match to the bastard Red Torie’s. Get to fuck Mr Milliband.
    On 7th May, 2015, show them the door Scotland. Vote SNP, Green or SSP. but do not vote Labour.

61. BrianW

Surely this is just old re-packed news. Giving fresh impetus by the Brainless Media in Scotland.

This doesn’t deserve to be news. I thought the whole Vow/Home Rule etc timetable centred around Smith, the draft legislation, then some more tweaking to take away more powers, then who ever was in power after Mays election would be responsible for finalising the Home Rule Bill, Devolution Bill, Pretendy Powers for Jocks Bill, however you look at it.

So NO matter who is in power, Labour, Tory or the Monster Raving Loony Party.. They will be the party in power to pass the bill within however many days..

So this re-branding of the Story that Ed will deliver “Home Rule” (i’ll not believe it till Kaye tells me as someone pointed out..lol.. loved that) in the first 100 days is HORSESHIT..

IT’S NOT NEWS..

What is news is that he is clearly delusional to think that he’ll be in power to deliver anything after the election..

Doubt even the Royal Mail would trust him with an oversized sack on his back full of ATOS Benefit rejection letters..

62. Grizzle McPuss

Roll up…roll up…

A “snake oil salesman” is somebody that sells an item that claims to have some miraculous powers.

This product is usually accompanied by a tremendous amount of hype.

In an attempt to help push their products, the “snake oil salesman” will usually utilize planted accomplices who will claim that the product actually works.

Sound familiar folks?

63. Proud Cybernat

We’re to get Home Rule now? But didn’t they just tell they’d delivered on the Vow to give us Dev-Max? Or was that all just a con but that Labour really will deliver this time? Is this then an admission that Smith hasn’t delivered what they promised? But why would they lie to us? And how can we tell that they are not lying to us again? I’m confused.

64. gillie

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jamieross/its-been-easy-its-been-to-outdo-the-snp

Jim Murphy suspects that one of his 25 member team was a secret YES voter. I know, I know, how could that happen.

I think we can help Jim out and ‘out’ the pro-indy scoundrel for him.

Anybody got a list of Jim Murphy’s team to hand?

65. Robert Peffers

@KennyG says: 29 January, 2015 at 1:19 pm:

“What’s the reason all these clowns wave their arms around like deranged nutcases when they talk?”

Have you never seen a non-swimmer fall into deep water and observed what they do before you pull them from the water?
    Now, KennyG, try and deny that the clowns you speak of are very much out of their depth?

66. Dr Jim

So Murphys decided he’s made the SNP into a government now, he’s a hell of a guy is he not
    Seems he’s learned how to talk even more pish without his Irn Bru crate, Walter Mitty does’nt have a look in with this clown
    Scotland was a laughter free zone for a wee while post ref but give him his due he’s got our ribs tickled now
    Tell us more Jim ….go on ..go on..go on..
    P.S I promise all Wingers 100 days of cheer when we vote SNP and kick their Unionist arses out of our country

67. handclapping

And I promise 1000 days more cheer than any promised by Dr Jim

68. Ravelin

I was just going to ask if there’s ever been a photo of Milliband published that doesn’t make him look like a complete gormless idiot? For that reason alone I just can’t imagine, when it comes to placing a X on the ballot paper, that many people could imagine him leading the country.

Then I read the Mail article posted above about the new Aardam movie. That just trumps my question. It certainly looks like Milliband. Had me in stitches.

69. Fiona

Judging from that report on Jim Murphy’s assessment of his own success he is clearly what is technically called a “balloon with a big tip for himself” 🙂

70. David Wallace

Why accept Home Rule http://bit.ly/1ErVXlZ when if we wait until Sunday we can have Jim Murphy Bio on DVD http://bit.ly/1JNbs81 ?

71. Brian Powell

Someone described Jim as a good example of the Dunning-Kruger effect.

72. galamcennalath

I hate to point out the obvious, but if Vow II had any hope of working, Milliband should have left it until the last minute again. We have three months to dissect their offering in minute detail and expose it as DevoFA.

At the same time it can be fully contrasted with some real DevoMax proposals from the SNP which they intend to take to WM.

73. Chic McGregor

I believe we will get Home Rule. It is just that there is a word conveniently omitted – ‘Counties’.

74. Sandra

Which hundred days, I wonder? Maybe he means a hundred February 29ths.

75. BrianW

o/t I know but related in a round about way..

I read there that Sarwar Snr has resigned as Governor of Punjab, saying “.. he also criticised Pakistan’s “injustice and corruption” which he claimed was “deep rooted”.

Now call me cynical, but I’d have thought a spell in UK Labour would have served him well in that kind of injust and corrupt environment. The party in thriving on it the now.

76. Alistair

Meanwhile Jim Murphy promises ‘a thousand more promises that the SNP’.

77. William boland

This is nothing more than waffle talking they all made this promise before the referendum and though and behold nothing has happened and what has happened is so far off home rule ot o’s not even worth considering. This is a clear desperate attempt to try scratch themselves out of the grave they made for themselves when May comes they best be prepared for one heck of a defeat.

78. gillie

The 1924 Home Rule Bill proposed and supported by Independent Labour Party (ILP) MPs would have given Scotland its own parliament and full powers over tax and welfare leaving only defence and foreign affairs to Westminster.

Labour does know what actual Home Rule means. It chooses now to lie about it.

79. Barontorc

Isn’t the reality (really), that since we’ve long since been disappeared as a country and re-identified / classified / categorised – call it what you like, as part of Britain, ie., a ‘country’ which has London as the capital, that they can kid us on with a kiddie-on ‘Labour Party’, which is really no more than a cost-center branch of the British Labour Party? They can also tell us fairy stories and make promises that they don’t ever need to keep, because nobody, but nobody, is gonna make them do what they promise?

The only thing is, you see, that’s how the British think, but it seems we, awfy thrawn Scots, actually think completely wrongly, that we still exist as a separately identified country, caught up in a Union that we can just walk away from whenever we like! We don’t even consider ourselves to be first and foremost British!!!

Any reasonable person would see just how frustrating that can be for some people – yet, bless their wee cotton sox, there they are still looking after us, keeping us safe, clinging to us for all their worth, That’s got to be some kinda love, eh!

80. Valerie

This means nothing until The Clunking Fist delivers it. If he can get time off his jet set round of after dinner speaking dates.

81. think again

@ David Wallace 2.28 p.m

Think I`ll wait for Jim`s bio, one of the titles on offer is Ice Age 2 walking with Gordon – Federal – Brown.

82. Dr Jim

@handclapping
    I’ll see your 1000 days with more over and above to the point of sillyness and a drink with a nurse
    Now that cannot be topped eh “defiance”

83. One_Scot

Do they just make this shit up as they go along.

84. Grouse Beater

Had Branch Scotland Labour exhorted the populace to vote Yes for ‘Home Rule” and defined it exactly, explaining full independence was undesirable at this time, they would not be galloping like hamsters in a wheel making all sorts of promises to achieve that when they can not guarantee even Miliband will be leader of the party.

85. Robert Peffers

@Lenny Hartley says: 29 January, 2015 at 1:31 pm:

“Mnnn, Ive seen something about Scottish Home Rule before, even before last years Vow, Oh wait a minute didn’t Britain declare war on Germany in 1914 which conveniently pushed the third reading of the Scottish Home Rule bill into the long grass.

Ah! Lenny, As Bing Crosby said to Frank Sinatra, “You must be one of the newer guys”

The very first Labour MP was none other than James Keir Hardie (born 15 August 1856 – died 26 September 1915), who was a Scottish socialist and the very first independent Labour Member of Parliament and a primary founder of, “The Independent Labour Party”, as well as, “The Labour Party”, of which it was later to become a part.

In 1888, Hardie stood as an independent labour candidate in Mid Lanark and finished last. In Glasgow on 25 August 1888 the Scottish Labour Party, (not the modern Scottish Labour Party) was formed with Hadrie it’s first secretary. The party’s president was Robert Bontine Cunninghame Graham, the first socialist MP and later founder of the National Party of Scotland that became the forerunner of the Scottish National Party.

Hardie stood in the working class constituency of West Ham South in 1892. Hardie won by 5,268 votes to 4,036 against the Tories. So there you go Keir Hardie, father of the Labour Party and its first MP began as a Scottish Home Ruler but upon being elected to Westminster soon ditched that as they all have done ever since. History, so they say, always repeats itself.

86. KOF

@ galamcennalath 13:41

Couldn’t find a link to the actual bill itself, but here’s a link to the second reading in Westminster in 1913.

http://hansard.millbanksystems.com/commons/1913/may/30/government-of-scotland-bill

87. Murray McCallum

Sorry Rev Stu but you have failed to realise that 100 is 10% less than 111.

This is the Labour Party we are talking about here!

88. galamcennalath

gillie says:
    “The 1924 Home Rule Bill”

http://trove.nla.gov.au/ndp/del/article/45900519

“… an overwhelming majority
    of the Government was prepared to ap-
    point a committee to inquire into the
    whole question and report to the House
    because it is a vital issue which
    is equally important to the English and
    Welsh also.”

Ha Ha … long grass is nothing new, then!

89. ronnie anderson

@ Lesley Anne 12.56, two words for you Honey & Lemon.

& ah spoonful of sugar. Mary Poppins will be roon the noo diz u believe me lol.

90. Clootie

“You are a slow learner, Winston.”

“How can I help it? How can I help but see what is in front of my eyes? Two and two are four.”

“Sometimes, Winston. Sometimes they are five. Sometimes they are three. Sometimes they are all of them at once”.

? George Orwell, 1984

91. Karmanaut

Miliband is right. It is Home Rule.

Continued rule from Labour’s home.

Which is London.

92. Faltdubh

The saddest thing about that story, is not another “Vow” being cooked up, but if the Scottish voters fall for that or take Labour at their word.

Barontorc I agree a lot with that. A No voter I ken had a bit of a shock when he went to Lithuania for a training course recently. He’s one of these proud Scots – he’s an alright guy, but I did laugh when he presented Scotland at a ‘cultural’ night. All kilted up, jings ma boab, cliched oot his nut. He took some questions “So, I take it you were a Yes voter?” and when he replied that he wasn’t. The young Lithuania said “How can you talk all this history of Scotland yet you said no? You shouldn’t be representing Scotland. UK is your nation. I don’t get you” (or there abouts).

I ken, we can’t keep belittling No voters, if we ever will win indy and need to win over a few and this no voter is actually a good person, but I did certainly smile when I heard this tail. The No voting proud Jock said he was shocked at some of the replies/questions he had when told he was Scottish e.g stop pretending to be a country, you are less than a Bavarian (refering to power).

Sorry, a bit of a rant, but surely we are NOT THAT subservant, stupid, ‘proud’, or thick to vote Labour (on that premise of ‘Home Rule’), or are we?

93. Luigi

History repeats.

In the 1970s, under serious threat from the SNP, Labour prevaricated, and promised, and stalled, and twiddled their thumbs, before eventually, grudgingly setting up a Scottish parliament a quarter of a century later.

Fast forward 40 years, and Labour are again under very serious threat from the SNP and they are prevaricating, and promising, and stalling for time yet again. This time, however, I don’t think Scotland is willing to wait another 25 years.

94. A.N.Surgent

So this was what it was all about- nothing, though i am impressed with the crowds thronging around the most powerful man on the planet and miliband.

https://archive.today/CfglB

95. Ali

Enjoyed the smell of desparation when I heard that this morning on the wireless.

96. Desimond

Pledge pledge pledge…can we call him Mr Sheen from now on? Will wee soon see Mr Sheen playing Mr Sheen in the next political drama?

Home Rule…im willing to bet my next mortgage payment that Ed Miliband isnt even trusted with the house keys at Miliband Mansion.

97. ronnie anderson

Ed,s opening gambit 100 days for Home Rule

Jims just raised that by 900 days

1000 in the pot,any more for any more

We,re no folding whatever happens.

98. fred blogger

that’s ok, since to gain WM power it is the r.uk must put labour in power.
    scots lab votes make no difference to this happening.
    labour have made themselves redundant.
    we’ll vote snp, and make sure that who ever is in WM power bring home rule or better still indy.

99. dennis mclaughlin

those immortal words never rung truer “I SMELL SHITE”.

Labour’s Accounting Branch Northern Division are really getting desperate when they have to drag Red Ed over the border for yet another empty vow….

100. a2

I think the home he’s referring to may be No 10 Downing Street.

101. Nana Smith

Labour are a national disgrace, lying to the electorate is all they are fit for as they are proving with every utterance. They are not even prepared to meet union members now.

https://twitter.com/BraidenHT/status/560812058124759040

https://twitter.com/BraidenHT/status/560812512057491456

My friend was round this morning, she manages a charity shop and tells me many folk who voted no are regretting it.
    I’ve asked her to recommend they read wings.

102. ronnie anderson

Ed,

Mirror mirror on the wall who,s the most truthful of us all
    (nothing)
    Mirror mirror on the wall who,s the most truthful of us all
    (nothing)
    MIRROR MIRROR on the wall who,s the most truthful of us all

Wid you switch that fuckin smoke machine aff,ah canny see you.

103. biggpolmont

Is it just me Or with every new photo opportunity that he has does miliband look more like a second rate game show host?

Is it just me Or with every new photo opportunity that he has does spud Murphy look more like a funeral director?

104. Cuilean

We have a draft Bill, which Cameron waved about last week. But for a Bill to become law, it requires a long, long process: House of Commons: first reading, second reading, Committee Stage,Report Stage, third reading. Then it goes to the House of Lords for: first reading, second reading, committee stage, report stage, third reading! First readings are formalities and no debates.A Bill is then published for the second reading. MPs debate. Then at Committee stage (usually within 2 weeks of the second reading but not always), each and every word can be amended. The amended Bill is reprinted & returned to the Commons for Report Stage, i.e. more debates and possible amendments. The Third Reading usually takes place immediately after Reports Stage, on the same day, usually. After the Third Reading Debate, the House gets to vote. If it votes in favour of the Bill, the Bill is sent to the House of Lords where the whole long process starts from scratch. If the Bill is amended by the Lords it goes back to the Commons where a Bill can ping pong back & forward between the two Houses until both are satisfied. Of course, if both Houses can’t agree, the Bill simply falls. If certain finance matters are involved, then the Commons can, at the next Parliament (5 years later & if they are still in power)! reintroduce the fallen Bill without having to send it to the LOrds, but even so, that can take another 5 years. Back to Ed Milliband: He cannot promise Scotland anything but lies, lies and more lies.

105. Dan Huil

Labour politicians: the great betrayers.

106. biggpolmont

Just realised what I said in my earlier comment.
    To all the second rate game show hosts and Funeral directors please accept my deepest and most profound apologies. The insult was purely unintentional and was not meant as a slight against any of you personally or your professions

107. galamcennalath

From tonight’s SNP party broadcast …

“And we’ll make Westminster stick to their Vow, not just to grant more powers for Scotland, but the most powers – the meaningful powers we need to make Home Rule a reality for Scotland.”

Nicola’s ideas on Home Rule will be a bit different from Milliband’s.

Even if the SNP send a bus load of MPs, can they make WM deliver the real thing? We need to get that bus load down there first to find out!

108. McBoxheid

from the National today

Millibank says
    “This will be real
    Home Rule for Scotland in
    the 21st century, giving
    Scotland the powers it
    needs.”
    Some questions Ed:
    1. If its the power Scotland needs, Ed, why did you not agree to them before now?
    2. Why was Labour against more powers comming to Scotland during the writing of the Smith Myth?
    3. Why did you never say anything when the watered down draft shite was announced in Parliament?
    4. Do you think we are STUPID in North Britainshire?
    5. Are scared that you’ll be wiped out in North Britainshire?

109. JLT

The worst thing about Ed’s pledge is that we all know that he is talking utter mince. Like some of the comments here, if I were the SNP, I would be asking Ed to tell us exactly what that means. No dancing around the elephant. Tell us what these Home Rule powers are and if they are good, then write them down and sign it in blood. Seriously, was this guy aware that Labour signed up to the vow? Is he pretending that he’s the new Broon? Many of us know that we’ve been tricked once. It won’t happen again (or it really is more fool us)

Simply put …we’re sick of these empty promises from the Labour Party.

No more. Put up or shut up, Ed. It is as simple as that.

110. Big Jock

Same panic as when the polls were tight, out came the Vow. Milliband has no respect for anyone in Scotland. He thinks we are their to be bought like dumb animals. For him to not see the irony in offering the Vow part 2, which wasn’t and will never be delivered. In exchange for helping him into number 10. Good god it’s just so crass it makes me want to be sick.

111. Onwards

Surprised they didn’t call it “Independence within Britain”

112. Macart

I’d still like to know just what powers Ed thinks we need? Y’know, since the Smith Commission asked, we answered, the Smith Commission ignored, came up with their own, which were then also ignored by Westminster parties who then came up with a further watered down set.

Just what powers do we need Ed?

113. Robert Peffers

@Sandra says:29 January, 2015 at 2:38 pm:

“Which hundred days, I wonder? Maybe he means a hundred February 29ths.

More like 101 Arabian nights and just as fictitious. With apologies to Scheherazade

114. liz

@Faltdubh – think you have got something there.

‘Proud Scots’ like your mate are brainwashed by the BBC/MSM and don’t realise it.

I had a similar experience where my Lab supporting, going to vote No, Celtic supporting friends, had their eyes opened when they went abroad last summer and were really surprised at the amount of interest there was in the indy ref and that folk assumed they would be voting Yes – which they did in the end.

It made me realise that they were prone to ‘cultural cringe’ and ‘foreigners’ opinions were more relevant than fellow Scots.

115. Nana Smith

Seeing as how the grim brother above is telling a fairy tale here’s another.

http://immersive.sh/scotlandoffice/uCgnE1Slj

116. Big Jock

The clue is in the :”21st century home rule”. In other words it has been reinvented to suit the circumstances. Whys is it not just home rule? Because everyone knows what home rule is ,everything bar defence and foreign affairs.

So by offering a lesser home rule they can argue, that it’s 21st century,and not 20th century. However the problem with that theory is. Usually people and countries progress from century to century.

They have managed to take Home Rule back to the 18th Century,and are offering less than the 20th century. How can that be defined as progress? Or 21st century home rule! When the home rule of the last century was superier?

117. One_Scot

Seriously, how bad do they think our memories are. Don’t they realise it was only a couple of months ago since they last screwed us over.

118. manandboy

When Ed Milliband speaks about Scotland
    he doesn’t have us in mind.

If you think about it
    you’ll be doing more than Ed does.

He’s only thinking about ‘the moves’
    on his political chess board.

119. Graeme Doig

Nana @ 4.33

Lovely graphics and not a sniff of a saltire anywhere. All part of the de-scotifying process we’re being put through. Being ethnically cleansed isnae all it’s cracked up to be.

120. thedogphilosopher

It’s hard to believe that Independence was passed over because a small amount of Scots were ‘persuaded’ to still put their faith and trust in those dinosaurs who promised much in return for their No vote. At the end of the day the scare stories and big promises of ‘real change’ worked. Those of a certain disposition plumped for No at the last minute, probably thinking it was some kind of safe, inoffensive compromise.

I agree with those who draw comparisons with Orwell’s 1984 dystopian landscape. This now seems to be about the manipulation of language and the ability of the State to present truth as untruth without real challenge. What does ‘Home Rule’ mean, exactly? It can be redefined in many, many different ways. If need be, it can be spun to mean the opposite of what it should mean (to those of us on this site, at least). What has happened post-Ref, is that things said and promised Pre-Ref have been given the Minitru treatment – so the chocolate ration has increased by 20g, but the terms ‘nearest thing to federalism’ and ‘home rule’ are being subtly and quietly erased, or at least redefined as something much less.

Red Ed has come amongst us to deliver his new version, albeit 111 years too late.

121. Brian Powell

As everybody denied the Vow was the responsibility of anybody, this is unlikely belong to anyone either.

If dumb people went for this, what happens if Milliband is replaced.

It’s surreal; the virus/nazis/armed guards at the borders never happened.

122. Author_al

Now if Ed Murphy and Jim Milliband could dig out all the submissions that the general public made to Smith and actually read them THAT WOULD BE A START. How about doing what the people want for a change? Was tempted to travel to where Miliband was today and roll up his plasticine features into something resembling a real man with real purpose and vision. Morph from Take Hart is at least red through and through unlike red blue yellow Ed…

123. Author_al

@nana. That truly was a grim fairy story from the Scotland Office or whatever it is called. I barely got past the line… “The draft legislation implements the historic all-party agreement reached in November and builds on the wide range of powers already devolved to the Scottish Parliament.”

Conveniently forgets the fact that 18000 public submissions were ignored or read at the speed of light, and that the London Cabinet stripped out all meaningful powers in an undemocratic, sneaky way. If only the MSM had the balls to report what is actually happening.

124. galamcennalath

Nana Smith says:
    “Seeing as how the grim brother above is telling a fairy tale here’s another”

I kept waiting for the joke, or some sarcastic punchline. Then I realised it was a serious attempt at propaganda!

From the Scotland Office? I thought that was supposed to be the conduit from Scotland into WM, not vice versa!

The Scotland Office …. clearly something else which should be devolved to Holyrood!

125. SquareHaggis

David says @1.47

Wings: “Home Rule must surely be right around the corner.”
    Labour: “We’re going to need a bigger corner.”

@David, it’s a double corner, both heading rightwards (U)

126. Boorach

Memo for Mr Milleband:

Devo mini mo = current diluted Smith proposals.

Devo max = full autonomy less defence and foreign affairs.

Home rule = full autonomy and not a penny less.

Still sure you want to offer us Home Rule?

127. Robert Peffers

@biggpolmont says: 29 January, 2015 at 3:52 pm:

“Is it just me Or with every new photo opportunity that he has does spud Murphy look more like a funeral director?

Nails on heads bigpolmont.
    Many years ago, the very first time I clapped eyes upon the, (for want of another acceptable description), gentleman I immediately referred to Murphy as, “The Lugubrious Jim Murphy”.

If you look in the dictionary the term is defined as : –
    Lugubrious – (adjective) = looking or sounding sad and dismal.

synonyms: mournful, gloomy, sad, unhappy, doleful, glum, melancholy, woeful, miserable, woebegone, forlorn, sombre, solemn, serious, sorrowful, morose, dour, cheerless, joyless, dismal; funereal, sepulchral:

informal=down in, or at, the mouth;
    literary=dolorous.

Wis A’h mibbie wrang?

128. No no no...Yes

O/T Here in Ochil and South Perthshire, SNP candidate confirmed as Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh.

Come in Red Tory Gordon Banks, your time is up!!

129. Tamson

The Scotland Office only continues to exist because it’s a good little bit of patronage, either to reward loyal backbenchers (as they get a Cabinet salary), or to keep a junior coalition partner sweet. It serves no functional purpose.

Here’s a simple test: can you name every Scottish Secretary, in order, from the start of devolution to the present (no peeking at Wikipedia)? I consider myself fairly politically savvy on Scottish affairs, but I failed.

130. Robert Peffers

@biggpolmont says:29 January, 2015 at 3:56 pm:

“Just realised what I said in my earlier comment.

Sawricht, Bigpolmont, Wi aa ken nae Gem Shaw Hosts nor Funeral Directors wis hermed or injured in the makkin o yon post.

131. ronnie anderson

Russian Ambassidor summoned to the Foreign office to explain why russian ships are useing the English channel,mibbee,s Mr Donahoe should sit in on that meeting & find out why there,s russian subs in the Clyde.

132. Wee Jonny

“Jamie Arriere says:
    29 January, 2015 at 12:56 pm
    I won’t believe they really mean ‘Home Rule’ until I hear it from Kaye Adams.”

Jamie I won’t believe they really mean Home Rule until I hear it from Kier Hardie.

133. GrahamB

Excellent article from Lesley Riddoch in today’s National.
    “Murphy’s claim to have led on the women’s prisons row is not remotely accurate, treats the electorate like fools and casts doubt on all him other claims”
    In less diplomatic terms, he’s an f’n liar and normally I would suggest giving him enough rope to hang himself but without exposure in the MSM his lies might not catch up with him in time before the GE.

134. Nana Smith

@Graeme Doig

Yes Graeme as you say they made a great job of the graphics, all so pretty. Do they really think we believe the story.

Makes me angry and sad at the same time but it hardens my resolve to end Westminster misrule.

135. woosie

Wee bit confused now; if slab is not the same as elab, how can Red Minibrain promise home rule on Grim Murphy’s patch? I hope Grim airs his disappointment on Kaye’s UK love-in tomorrow! But then, of course, Minibrain can honestly say that he has actually promised the square root of hee haw.
    O/T, great to hear Brian Cox has ditched lab and joined SNP. That would be big news in a real democracy.

136. cynicalHighlander

OT: Two livestreams at 8.00pm tonight.

http://www.independencelive.net

137. Graeme Doig

Aye Nana. It’s all grist to the mill. They learn nothing in their treatment of Scotland.

138. badgerboydarling

Milliband a few months back was threatening to put up checkpoints at the border if we voted for independence. Go home you shyster.

139. Silverytay

I am beginning to think that labour are deliberately trying to lose the election in May

1st we had murphy promising to recruit a 1000 more nurses than the S.N.P all to be paid for from the London Tax .
    We now know that that has went down like a lead balloon in London and has lost labour some support .

Now we have Ed promising to produce a bill to give Scotland home rule within 100 days of him becoming P.M .
    It does not take a genius to figure out how that will go down with the daily mail readership or the electorate in the South East of England where elections are won or lost .

140. Terry

8.50 am. Tomorrow morning. Let’s all Call Kaye and ask her for a definition. And I don’t give a chuff what the subject is.

141. gus1940

Perhaps the next time Milliband or Murphy is interviewed they should be asked to answer clearly and unambiguously the question ‘What is your definition of Scottish Home Rule?’

I don’t hold out much hope, however, that any of our tame unionist media pals will ask such a question and insist on a clear answer.

142. SilentHunter

Well said Helena!

I hope it’s 54 SNP MP’s we send down to Cessminster, to give them a bloody good shake up.

143. Paula Rose

Reading down the thread one gets –

ronnie anderson for punchtuation and

Robert Peffers for erudeition

Xx

144. JayR

1924 Government of Scotland Bill
    “a Scottish Parliament with fairly large powers, controlling everything except the Post Office, the Excise and Customs, the Army and Navy, and foreign affairs”

1927 Government of Scotland Bill
    “with the exception that the Army, Navy and Air Force, and questions of foreign policy, will be dealt with under a form of “Joint Services,” for which the two countries will be responsible”

That was Home Rule then, it is Home Rule now. Now we MAKE THEM give it to Scotland

145. JayR

Please, any of you who are free tomorrow when Kaye Adams is on BBC Radio Scotland, please call her and pull her up on the BBC’s bias.

146. SquareHaggis

There is a pro-Independence rally outside parliament from 11 am on Saturday.

147. Lesley-Anne

I’m confused, no seriously I really am!

I mean I heard the news headlines tonight on some obscure T.V. channel stating categorically that RED Ed admitted that his party was facing a fight in Scotland.

Here comes the confusion bit folks so stand well back … I thought Murph the Smurph was in charge of all things Labour party branch office. Now we have the C.E.O. of said party, travelling to the branch office, saying he is in charge … has anyone told the branch office manager yet?

How will the branch office manager react when he hears that he has been over ruled by the C.E.O.?

Will the branch office survive this late infusion of C.E.O. interjection?

What are we, the too wee too poor and too stupid inhabitants of the branch office region supposed to think?

Who are we supposed to believe … the branch office manager or the C.E.O.?

Has anyone asked the saviour of the universe what he thinks of this yet?

Can anyone actually find the saviour of the universe to ask him?

148. arthur thomson

More lies from Milligram. No normal Scottish person will believe the lies. How normal people react to his lies remains to be seen. I am sure that no-one who wants a better Scotland is ‘fooled’ by him. EVERY country has a part of its population who are more than ready to exploit and damage their own people – for a range of motives. Scotch Labour, Tories and Libdems have lost all sight of common decency. They are not fooled by the lies of their leaders, they approve of them. That is a heavy burden for normal people to bear and the polls may indicate that the burden is too heavy for people who are inherently decent to continue to carry.

149. berty

OT a wee bit, but nonetheless a very interesting article from yesterday: Secrets and lies: Gaddafi and the Labour Party.

Files proved that far from being against the release of Megrahi as they had claimed, the Labour government had fully supported the decision to free the Libyan.

However it wasn’t the Labour party which found itself the target of the BBC’s reporting. Somehow the corporation had managed to turn the incredible story into one attacking the SNP.

150. Hoss Mackintosh

@Big Jock

21st Century Home Rule !

More like…

21st Century Schizoid Man

Quite appropriate – “From the Court of the Crimson King”.

I think it even has a passing resemblance to Murphy in Irn Bru mode 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4eRpwRJgzk

151. SqueuedPerspextive

@gus1940 6.57pm

‘definition of Scottish Home Rule?’

Isn’t it obvious? It’s what we have now plus some road signs.

Like… ‘Diversion – imaginary powers in bill ahead’

and (for Labour drivers)… ‘Keep Right’

152. Big Jock

Let’s be honest though. Home rules time was 30 years ago. We need independence anyway so its just the unionists attempt to delay the death of imperial youkay!

153. caledonia

We should use their “a vote for the snp is a vote for the tories/labour” and change it to

A vote for the SNP is a vote for Scotland

154. Effijy

From todays “Scottish Office Propaganda”

The Scottish Parliament will also get a share of UK VAT while Air Passenger Duty will be fully devolved.

They have decided that any VAT produced in a Scottish Airport, paid by Scots, rightfully belongs to Westminster UK, but as a big favour, they will give us it back and reduce our over all budget.

No wonder the UK is going bust with generosity like this!

155. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose 7.02 Thank you kind lady for you comment,an ma spellings improved no end, ah kin even spell Punctuation. LoL

156. Albalha

o/t 4 days left for Dundee West SNP fundraiser – nearly there

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/dundee-west-snp-westminster-election-campaign-2015/x/2349839#home

157. Balaaargh

Just read that Buzzfeed “news article” on Murphy.

Boak-inducing sycophancy! And the images? All it needed was one of oor Jim rescuing the wee baby Jesus from Herod’s men to round off just how wonderful and awesome he is!

158. call me dave

Saw Ed on BBC tv tonight pledging us what we already have been promised by Gordon. Murph in the background shots not getting to say a peep. Surely not!

Funny old world init, and here Ed is about six months ago ‘rough wooing’ Scotland. 🙂

https://archive.today/cLb23

SNP ppb tonight was quite good.

159. manandboy

@liz says:
    29 January, 2015 at 12:33 pm
    Murphy’s deranged pronouncements can be explained by that archive fro @Patrician https://archive.today/Njn8y

One of the keys to successful PR campaigning is to get everyone interested in the same thing at the same time.
    OR, to get everyone CONFUSED at the same time – which is what McTernan is currently achieving with the help of the BBC.

This is uniquely important when one’s opponent is deliberately spreading confusion in a well funded, well orchestrated campaign – like John McTernan has adopted for GE15.

In previous political campaigns, the Party Manifesto was king.
    Each party set out its stall with its plans and promises,
    the electorate came along as in a street market,
    had a look and made their choice.

Those days are gone. Manifestos are a thing of the past. The electorate don’t get to choose because they are rendered so confused by the PR strategy, that they are bewildered and not at all sure what the choices are anymore.

Setting out one’s stall has been replaced by a game of chess.

Hence the deliberately nonsensical, inconsistent, here, there, everywhere, confusing behaviour of Jim Murphy.
    It is designed that way to confuse, and leave the electorate wondering ‘what is Murphy up to?’
    if you are wondering the same thing, then McTernan’s strategy is winning. Beware!

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read the Morning Star article which Liz has highlighted. It is critical that we know what the Unionist Strategy is for GE15, unlike IndyRef, when we failed to investigate the Better Together Fear to the elderly Campaign strategy and paid a terrible price.

160. Effijy

Ed Miliband stands for-

Egotist Delusional

Manipulator Incompetent Liar Impostor Banal Antagonist Deceitful

161. Kevin1

Oh Frack off Milipede

162. ronnie anderson

@ Lesley Anne 7.16 Awe LA your confused, noo am confused & confuddled wie your post, would you please clarify are you talking about the branch office of Lab in Scotland.

I,m under the impression that its the Scottish Accounting Unit of Lab,& nowhere in your post is that mentioned.

Yours in Sincerity
    Ronnie big hugs xx Anderson.
    ps paula rose will be livid she never got hugs n kisses.

163. heedtracker

gus1940 says:
    29 January, 2015 at 6:57 pm
    Perhaps the next time Milliband or Murphy is interviewed they should be asked to answer clearly and unambiguously the question ‘What is your definition of Scottish Home Rule?

https://archive.today/oBNyC

Here’s the latest from rancid Graun and Libby Carrell giving the two fraudsters some lovely fluff for nothing. Funny how details get ditched by newspaper of the year/another bunch of propaganda merchants. Murphy kept saying he’d vote YES if he thought it would be good for Scotland but same Lab con artist is now independent from London because it’s good for Scotland and so on.

164. Paul

O/T but has anyone else noticed a change in tone in the P&J? Of course I don’t buy the rag (haven’t done since the Trump fiasco) but I do get to cast an eye over a copy at work from time to time. Although it never officially came out for no, the general tone of its editorial policy, the letters it published and the prominence it gave to particularly stories made it clear they wanted a ‘no’.

Now though, the letters they are publishing and the editorial tone (particularly noticeable today) seems to be favouring a big SNP block in Westminster to win real home rule (i.e. not what Ed calls home rule).

Or is it just me?

165. manandboy

Ed Milliband I don’t like.

Ed Milligram I do like.

Ed Moribund I also like.

Ed Millstone I like.

Any other favourites anyone?

166. manandboy

It may be that Ed doesn’t wear the trousers in his house.

That might explain his fumbling inadequacy with ‘Home Rule’

167. HandandShrimp

I was impressed by the SNP ppb very much, beautifully filmed and I liked the wind of change theme.

168. hetty

heedtracker @7.58pm

I think you have a point and that is what I would be asking them.

Mr M, why are you making these promises now? What do you mean by home rule exactly? Why 100 days, why not 30? Will this be legally binding? Can we take you to court if you renege on this pledge? Does your party agree to this as a legally binding committment and will they all sign their names to it and hand that document to the first minister of Scotland?

In Scotland, is a verbal agreement not legally binding?

169. Effijy

Let’s just remind ourselves, Labour has been lying to us for 45
    years.

They took 6,000 square miles of Scottish waters and gave it
    to England, with 6 of our oil fields.
    All without consultation or declaration.
    Gerrymandering to prevent the likelihood of Scottish
    Independence-even if they knew it to be the people’s will.

Agreed to uphold the Poll Tax and chase defaulters.

Blair took us into an illegal war lost Scots lives and £Billions.

Blair covered up party connections to the Dunblane Killer?

Blair took traditional Labour and made them a Red Tory party.

Denied our requests for an oil fund before proclaiming they have come up with the idea we should have one,but not from Oil revenue

Took a full year of avoiding their policy on the Tory Bedroom Tax, before agreeing to it. A tax in which 81% of those financially penalised are registered disabled.

Wanted to shut down a range of NHS services, which SNP saved.

Lamont assures us they are Lying when claiming Scottish Labour
    isn’t directly controlled by Westminster Labour.

Scotland has voted Labour in every General election in the last 45 years, yet Scotland has had a Tory government for 28 of these
    years. Today they still continue to lie to you that a vote for SNP will put the Tories back in power. No! The statistic conclusively proves that a Scottish vote for Labour is most likely to lead to yet another Tory Government!

If a Labour politician’s lips are moving, then you know they are lying!

170. Kirsty

Hmm, so I guess this means (going on their previous form) that Ed and Labour have decided that promising us Home Rule works so well at placating the Scottish electorate that they’ve decided to promise it to us again, renege on delivering it again, and then promise it to us yet again, over and over on a loop, ad infinitum… Wow.

171. X_Sticks

O/T *cringes*

Live Independence Broadcasting interview with renowned polls blogger James Kelly on the 2015 numbers.

STARTING SOON http://tinyurl.com/ksqjmbo

@Hoss

Always preferred the live version from Earthbound

@Ronnie – behave yersel min.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msd5Dup2SNk

172. ianl

When i’ve had enough of the shit i hear from the “better together”arses i put on my “fuck you” music.The sex pistols never mind the bollocks album sums it all up for me no messing around straight to the point.

173. K1

I really enjoyed this article about Alex meeting folks on the campaign trail…he’s just grand! And real. Breath of fresh air media wise…enjoy. (Loved his wee anecdote about the two ‘orange order’ guys he met in Glasgow…)

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jamieross/alex-salmond-wont-give-an-insch

174. Chic McGregor

One wonders with Bateman’s article whether Murphy is running out of Devils to sign pacts with.

http://newsnet.scot/2015/01/transparency-stranger-labour-megrahi-issue/

175. Nana Smith

On The Election Campaign Trail With Alex Salmond: “I’m The Bogeyman Of The British Establishment”

176. bowanarrow

Lets get this over with and get right down to brass tacks, how much for my vote….the bidding starts at……mmmmmm……let me see……….:-)

177. McBoxheid

manandboy says:
    29 January, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Ed Milliband I don’t like.

Ed Milligram I do like.

Ed Moribund I also like.

Ed Millstone I like.

Any other favourites anyone?

Ed Millidevo

178. steveasaneilean

And who gathers speed – a crack team? 🙂

179. Nana Smith

@K1

You beat me to it. What a contrast to the nonsense spouted by murph.

180. Big Jock

There’s a lot of talk in the steamie over on Pop Goes Scotland. About some poll showing the Tories doing really well in Dumfries. If its true and apologies to yes voters in DG. What the frack is wrong with you people down there. You prefer London rule to Scottish rule?

181. Graeme Doig

K1 and Nana

Enjoyed that link. A real man of the people. Our Nicola has learned from true statesman.

182. Auld Rock

Through all these ‘VOWS’, ‘PROMISES’ or whatever you want to call them I’ve still to hear how Ed or Smurf are going to deliver all those ANTI ‘HOME RULE’ Labour MP’s never mind the Tories et al to vote for Scotland’s extra powers?

Auld Rock

183. Effijy

Anyone calling UKOKay’s show tomorrow, remember that you are
    screened first. If you suggest that you have a nice pro UK question, your odds of getting on air dramatically increases.
    At least you need a Twee question if you show any doubt about BT.

They store your name and phone number so that if you call again
    they can tell the details that you gave on the last occasion.

I’m running out names and mobile numbers, but I’ve got one left!
    lol

184. heedtracker

@ hetty, the real issue is the extraordinary tension behind relentless vote Murphy UKOK propaganda dumped on Scotland by England basically. Scotland knows its being lied to day after day and why, but whether or not voters will go along with Murphy/media/Graun blanket fraud like this is hard to tell. Or without the might of Project Fear via the BBC, can Murphy really dupe his targeted 100,000+ apparent former voters or what Milliband bullshits as

“What’s really important in what Jim is saying is that it’s a patriotic vision for Scotland, it is not a choice about whether you stand up for Scotland with the SNP or do something else with Labour. It’s a Scottish Labour party standing up for Scotland.”

So what was Slab’s vote NO or else Project Fear campaign then. You cannot vote YES, you’re too poor, small and stupid and the referendum divided you Scotland, so vote Murphy and Slab and be united and patriotic Scots or the blue Tories will stay forever and ever and its all going to be your fault SNP Scotland.

Confused? Only BBC vote Slab Scotland can pull this one off.

185. jim mitchell

Well that’s me totally confused now! I do wish Labour and their media chums would make up their minds just WHO IS in charge.

Is it the one who looks like Wallace’s understudy or the one who seems to be on a tour of Scottish football grounds?

Somebody please help me!

186. Dodgardiner

Dunning-Kruger lol. Had to look that up…. pmsl.

187. AndyC

Five words for Mittyband…..awa’ an’ no talk pish!
    Thamk gawd a growing number of us see this for what it is….shit!
    Still, it’s worked for all these years, let’s try it again.
    To think if we’d got independence, and I’m one who thinks we did, but were cheated, we could have sat back in our armchairs and laughed at all their lies and spin in the knowledge that we were free from imperialism forever.

188. Robert Peffers

Sorry this is a bit long.

When I attempted to check my facts about the birth of the Labour Party, that I posted earlier, I discovered something strange. The official Labour Party versions of their history all begin around 1900. Yet I knew it had began in Scotland in April 1888 with Keir Hardie standing in the Mid-Lanark by-election.

Hardie stood on a platform of, (wait for it), a pledge for stronger health and safety in mining; the start of an eight-hour working day, votes & rights for women and home rule for Scotland. He only won 617 votes but by standing against the Tories & Liberals he started the new radical force in Scottish politics.

Four months later the Scottish Labour Party was formed. A year later the new Scottish party merged with the Independent Labour Party (ILP) that Hardie had a major part in forming. So just why are the modern Labour party so ashamed to admit they began in Scotland? It was the Scottish Trade Union Congress that brought together the ILP’s Scottish division and socialist societies in 1899 via the Scottish Workers’ Parliamentary Committee and later reviving the title of Scottish Labour Party.

This was before the creation of the Labour Representation Committee (LRC) in England and Wales in 1900. Then, in 1906, the LRC changed its name to the Labour Party, and three years later, in 1909, the Scottish Labour Party joined with its sister party to create the UK wide Labour political party. Labour rose quickly and fifteen years after the merger of the Labour Party and Scottish Labour Party, just 35 years after Hardie stood in the Mid-Lanark election, Labour formed its first minority government led by a Scot, in 1924.

By the 1922 general election Labour had 142 seats and replaced the Liberals as the opposition and first became the largest party in Scotland. By the followed in December, (1923), Labour’s numbers in parliament were 191, and 35 of them were Scottish. This allowed Labour to form a, short lived, government. It lasted only ten months. John Wheatley, MP for Glasgow Shettleston, steered through the 1924 Housing Act, this was the first major programme of municipal house building. A Scottish Home Rule Bill was introduced by George Buchanan, Labour MP for the Gorbals, which was, ”talked out”, even although it had government support for the principle of the Bill.

Twenty years later, after another Labour minority government in 1929, they managed to form their first majority government in July 1945. Between times Labour members served in Churchill’s WWII war cabinet. These including Clement Attlee, (Deputy Prime Minister), and Ernest Bevin as Minister for Labour.

One almost forgotten MP of that time was the Labour MP for Stirling and Clackmannan West, Tom Johnston, (Secretary of State for Scotland), from 1941 until 1945. He started the North of Scotland Hydro Electric Board, the Scottish Council of State and a Council of Industry. He also had his part in Bevan’s NHS, speeding up the speed of public investment in hospital construction and staffing.

The rest of the history is fairly well known but the mystery is why Labour seem ashamed of their Scottish roots. My own opinion is that The Westminster Establishment feared the rise of the Red Clydesiders and determined that Scotland in general and Glasgow in particular were getting far too big for their boots.

The story then sees Greater Glasgow being torn to bits and New Towns decamping Glasgow people as far away as the new town of Corby and the many New Towns all over Scotland. Close communities were torn asunder and decamped to tower blocks. All this could only have been organized with the co-operation of the Scottish Labour Party of Glasgow and the West of Scotland and we all know their present state of dishonesty and … … Well just fill in the rest yourselves.

BTW: I first learned most of this a long time ago at the college of the then EEPTU, (Electrical, Electronic & Plumbing Trade Union). Which union eventually became UNITE. I was a then Trade Union Steward but never in the Labour Party and made no secret of being in the SNP. Not a popular thing to be back then.

189. John O

Off topic i know but important.

They are trying to scare abuse victims from coming forward, they have no f**ing shame.

http://tinyurl.com/mgshce9

As for red torys leaders promise of home rule stick it, i would rather be poked in the eye with a plastic daffodil.

190. Mealer

Creepy Jim was nae at the Glebe on Saturday.OK,so the match was off due to frost.But that’s no excuse.It seems to me Creepy is only interested in patriotinising the big clubs supporters.

191. Robert Peffers

@a2 says:29 January, 2015 at 3:44 pm:

“I think the home he’s referring to may be No 10 Downing Street.”

I’ll give you a wee clue, a2. Where are, “The Home Counties”?

To save you the bother – here is the definition in the OED:-

It is simply “The counties nearest to London, namely Surrey, Kent, Essex and Middlesex; sometimes with the addition of Hertfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire and occasionally Sussex.”

192. Nana Smith

@John O

I posted this petition this morning so hopefully folks will sign. Abuse survivors really need to be heard.

How many more years of cover ups and corruption can Westminster get away with.

https://www.change.org/p/theresa-may-start-the-inquiry-you-promised-to-abuse-survivors-without-further-delay

193. caz-m

Call Kaye of the BBC was replying to a caller last week who mentioned the, Vote NO and get Home Rule lie in her phone-in. Her reply to the caller was,

“I don’t think they said Home Rule”

Oh yes the did Kaye and Ed is repeating it again today.

194. Robert Peffer

@ronnie anderson says: 29 January, 2015 at 7:36 pm:

“Thank you kind lady for you comment,an ma spellings improved no end, ah kin even spell Punctuation. LoL”

Aye! Ronnie, where would we course uncivilised males be without the ladies to correct us and keep us right. Did you hear the story of the local driver in a small town who bought a TomTom GPS?

His pal said to him, “Jings, Jock, A’h thoucht ye kent aa the roads in the toon”. To which Jock replied, “Aye! Wullie A’h div ken thaim aa, bit syne the guid wife deid A’h aye thoucht thir wis sumthin no richt wi the caur. Sae A’h boucht the wee machine an set it tae ony street A’m no gaun tae an chuck it oan the back seat. It’s like she’s no awa ava.”

DARFC.

195. SquareHaggis

Urban dictionary is fun

Murphed

To get fooled into an out-of-this-world, amazing deal. The poor fool will have problems and bills out-of-this-world.

Customer: “I have a basic phone. If I get a smartphone, will my bill stay the same?”

Sales rep: “Yea, Yea, Yea!”

That customer just got Murphed!

Loads of variants and definitions but this one seemed apt.

196. manandboy

Wonder how long it will be, before Westminster and the Union is declared ‘unfit for purpose’.

It’s already past it’s ‘sell by’ date.

Or is that a decision that only the BBC/London paedophile mob can take.

197. Marie clark

@ Big Jock, we have a lot of people from the other side of the border staying in D&G explains a lot of the blue tory polling.I think Lesley-Anne will tell you the same thing. The other thing being a lot of farmers and a few big estates.

Aint we lucky staying doon here.

198. Natasha

Yes, Marie clark and it’s similar in the Borders, but the farmers are beginning to get worried about being dragged out of Europe. There is a glimmer of hope on the horizon. And the Yes vote in the Borders was 28,000, which is enough to see off either the Tories or the LibDems if those voters turn out again in May, so for the first time ever we have a realistic chance of returning an SNP MP from the Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk constituency.

199. Cadogan Enright

@Lesley-Anne 1.47

I’d like to see those links but they, and any similar link, seems riddled with virus-like objects on my computer

200. crazycat

@ Big Jock

If you are referring to the discussion on SCOT goes POP!, there is no poll yet; Ashcroft’s Scottish constituency polling is due out next week, and he seems to have made some comments about “interesting results” in the Borders, which some people are assuming refers to a good poll for Tories, possibly in the eastern Borders rather than D and G.

If you are referring to something else, could you link to it, please? I would like to read it. Thanks.

201. Marie clark

@ Natasha good to hear some progress in the Borders. Agree that some farmers are getting worries about getting pulled out of Europe. I had a few discussions with some of them during the referendum about voting no and then being out of Europe, but I was talking absolute rubbish. Widnae happen.Looked at me as if I had horns ( maybe the would have been nicer to me if I did) but they’re getting gie jittery noo. Hell bliddy mend them.

On the positive side, we have returned SNP MP before, so you never know.

202. Lesley-Anne

Apologies Ronnie, I was talking about the Labour party C.E.O. (RED Ed Milliband) coming up to the branch office, a.k.a. Scottish Accounting Unit of Labour, and bypassing them to inform us, the too wee, too poor and too stupid masses of Scotland, that he will initiate his Scottish Home Rule plan within 100 days, 100 days of what I don’t know but 100 days it will be … apparently! 😛

203. manandboy

There’s a string of DNA, apparently, which produces a characteristic known as ‘doesn’t suffer fools gladly’.
    Or so the genetic sciences community would have us believe.

Anyway, I would dearly like a ‘cure’ for this particular defect,
    as UK politicians, unionists in particular,
    do tend increasingly, to make life even more difficult for those, like myself,
    who are burdened with this affliction.

The leader of Labour in Scotland springs to mind as being particularly foolish.

In mitigation, my affliction invariably begins with myself.

Rioja is much understated.

204. Lesley-Anne

I think Marie clark explains it perfectly Big Jock. We have the *ahem* pleasure for our sins to have quite a few Tory huge land owners who obviously carry a certain amount of *ahem* weight in their locality.

We are doing everything we can to get rid of Scotland’s pet Tory but it won’t be easy. The whole region is vast and rural, loads of farms etc although there a significant number, mostly tenant farmers who are NOT of the “must vote Tory at all costs” but CAN see a future without a Tory. 😉

There is a significant number of elderly in D&G who still seem to have the idea that it is obligatory to vote Tory. They are an almost impossible task to turn. The next biggest problem we have down here is the obligatory RED Tory vote. However I am hopeful we will have more success with both these voters and the YELLOW Tory voters in persuading them to vote S.N.P. in May.

I’m sorry to hear about your problems Cadogan, I was not aware of any virus problems when I put the links up.

205. manandboy

@ McBoxheid says: 8:50 pm

Ed Millidevo – I like.

We Scots, like yourself McBoxheid, are sooooooooooooooooooo creative – and so generous and so humorous and so much more – like wealthy.

Is it any wonder the reserved, superior, aloof and bankrupt Westminsterati
    find it so difficult to acknowledge and embrace us.

More fool they in their delusional superiority.

206. cynicalHighlander

Cadogan Enright says:
    29 January, 2015 at 10:25 pm
    @Lesley-Anne 1.47

I’d like to see those links but they, and any similar link, seems riddled with virus-like objects on my computer

I get that on STV sometimes and presume it is just their advertising cookies.

207. cynicalHighlander

Cadogan Enright says:
    29 January, 2015 at 10:25 pm
    @Lesley-Anne 1.47

I get that on STV sometimes and presume it is just their advertising cookies.

208. Les Wilson

Interesting on Scotland 2015 tonight. Smith interviewed 2 guys that I do not know, one a PR guy and the other a reporter ( I think ). Anyway, she questioned them on Labour’s tactics inc
    the new Indy vow!

However, these guys basically took Labour apart. This was a good interview, not for Smith of course but for how these two guys had Labour tabbed.

Stv, however gave Milliband a head of steam that he did not deserve, yes Bernard asked him a few awkward questions, but all in an easy ride where he was allowed to get his message to viewers. That is what our TV stations are for, right!

209. Robert Peffers

@Les Wilson says:29 January, 2015 at 11:20 pm:

” … That is what our TV stations are for, right!”

Ah! I think I see where you are going wrong, Les. They are, without doubt, not “OUR” TV Stations they are “THEIR”, TV Stations. Not only that but they are their Radio Stations and their Newspapers. Of course they are their ministries and their Civil Servants too.

No one said it was going to be easy – now did they?

210. snode1965

@ Robert Peffers, I was also a member of the EEPTU many moons ago. From them to AEU, T&G and now Unite. Tonight I finally got around to emailing their Glasgow office to cancel my contribution to the Labour fighting fund. I told them how disappointed I was that they continue to fund the Red Tory party, saying that when they inform me how to cancel these dues,I can then inform the many other branch members who wish to follow suit…sad times.

211. Robert Peffers

@Paula Rose.

I’m still in suspenders awaiting the virtual cyber, “skelp oan the lug”, from you for my cheeky wee story about the RDS back seat driver.

Can I go off to bed now without my lugs dingling?

212. Robert Peffers

Is it just me or are we Scots being subliminally bombarded with British propaganda?

Why has every second TV programme now got a title, “The Great British something or other”? I was looking to see if there was radio programmes of coverage of the Andy Murray Tennis match this morning. I noticed a new programme advertised as, “The Great British Sowing Bee”.

We seem to have had a string of Great British thingies over the past year or so. Perhaps if we asked them they’d do, “The Great British Lying B’s”, for us.

I’ll get my PJs – G’night all.

213. liz

Re the P&J seeming to have changed tack.

I was talking to a WFI lady who was in at the beginning of this group and she was saying that during the indy ref campaign she had met up with one of the prominent BT folk and their discussion boiled down to, she thought Scotland was her country and he thought Britain was his country.

But he was very interested in federalism, home rule or whatever it’s called these days.

This could explain P&J maybe that’s what they want also.

214. yesindyref2

Ah, I see. Saw Pauline McNeill with the tag “Labour for Scotland” underneath on Scotland 2015 and thought “hey ho, what’s the Labour branch office up to now?”.

But no, she’s a (former MSP) and member of a more radical group formed in October, check out the Herald “New Labour pressure group launches with pledge to listen to voters”.

Interesting to see Sarah Smith having a guest who’s Labour but not as we know them.

215. Ronnie

I reluctantly pay,

for my wife’s ‘P&J’,

but I still wait for the day,

where it’s not ‘pro-UK’.

216. Ronnie

As W.T. MacGonagall might have said!

217. Thepnr

Something to keep in mind.

Ed Miliband and Jim Murphy wear the Labour Party name only, it keeps them in power.

The truth though is is they have forgotten the origin of the party.

That is why they will never again get my vote, I know better now.

218. Dave McEwan Hill

What is going on. My local newsagent (a petrol station) used to get anywhere between 2 and 3 doz Nationals delivered and now its getting SIX which are all sold by 8.30.

Is Menzies at it?
    Wouldn’t surprise me. I had a general store and Menzies was an incompetent nightmare

219. Papadox

Did dim Jim summon ed the talking horse to Scotland today to give him his instructions for the rest of the election campaign and present him with the NEW SCOTTISH Rulebook.

Dim explained to Ed to make sure he clears all press releases or even wind through the “SCOTCH COMMUNICATION HQ A PACIFIC QUY” before he bares his nashers before people start throwing carrots at him, and EGGS at dim Jim. This is getting serious we must expect casualties. Put all dentists and dry cleaners on alert along with the Daily Rtard.

220. Dr Jim

I always find it strange when people say how sad they are to be leaving the Labour Party, Why? Never in my life can i ever remember them as being different from what they are now
    If those people knew then what they know now they would never have been a part of them, they have not changed into something different you’ve only found them out to be the liars they always were with a changing world and new technology you’re now informed, before you were not. Radio,Newspapers, then TV ran the show so you didn’t find out, so don’t be nostalgic for the demise of the Labour Party it was only ever a myth, an idea that never was
    What is, is now, Scotlands National Party so far practically not putting a foot wrong on our behalf and the big difference is they will never hide, they can’t, they’re here, we know where they live, they walk our streets with us, you’ll never lose them to The House of Lords like the rest of the parties with their Ermine and their Barons and Baroness’s, our SNP are ours here to do their jobs, and the other difference is, they know they work for us not the other way round like the Westminster elite who think they are our Leaders, what arrogance is that, how dare they,
    So ex Labour folk don’t be distressed, the name Labour was only ever a marketing brand, the world is changing it’s a good
    thing and about time too

221. john king

I couldn’t sleep thinking about this, it woke me up and drove me to put it up here,
    THIS IS BEYOND THE PALE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PjNfXK6QpqY

There are no words that can describe shame MY shame, MY disgust in the actions of governments who elected by MY hand or not, they all represented ME,
    HOW DARE THEY!

This crime, for that is what it is, should be taken to the UN as I’m not sure it would be within the remit of the European court of human rights but certainly people should be facing jail time for this, the Americans should be told to pack up and leave immediately and the Chagossians should be relocated back to their Islands and any and all assistance rendered to ensure their future by instating good housing and ensuring water supplies are permanently assured, (even it it means shipping in water in tankers as they did (do?) in Gibraltar.

And people wonder why we want away from this disgrace of a government, Scot or Welsh or English whoever , it doesn’t matter, whomever presided over this crime against humanity should be exposed and tried in court, if the Russians had done something like this the Americans and British governments would have been clamoring for action from the UN ,

This is not about SNP good Westminster bad, this is about anyone else good, Westminster BAD!

How many of you Scotbuts are still proud to be British?

222. Barbara McKenzie

Wow, @ Dr Jim, what can I say?

‘don’t be nostalgic for the demise of the Labour Party,it was only ever a myth, an idea that never was’

In the early 1940s, Winston Churchill seemed to put more energy into ensuring the return of the ‘Greek’ monarchy, than to actually winning the war. In fact after Germany capitulated in May 1945, he asked them to stay on in Crete, ‘tokeep order’, ie to ensure that the the Left didn’t take over. So Greek resistance fighters continued to die, even after Germany capitulated … with the blessing of the Allies.

When Churchill lost the election in 1945, one would have expected different things from a Labor government. But Bevan was more Churchillian than Churchill, and so they continued to support the far right in Greece. And many of the MPS of the Greek ‘centre’-right party, New Democracy, are actually descendents of people who collaborated first with the Nazis, and then with the British, in Greece in the 1940s. In fact, when I come across some Greek collaborator or war criminal from the ’40s, and I do some research on his family, I invariably find that at least one of his grandchildren is an MP for New Democracy.

Convince me if you can that the Labour Party today is not the same, but worse.

223. john king

Dave McEwan Hill says
    “What is going on. My local newsagent (a petrol station) used to get anywhere between 2 and 3 doz Nationals delivered and now its getting SIX which are all sold by 8.30.

Is Menzies at it?
    Wouldn’t surprise me. I had a general store and Menzies was an incompetent nightmare”

I think your right because it HAS become increasingly difficult to get it,
    I finally got one in Tesco’s the other day and there were TWO left while all the other papers spaces were full
    I think they’re trying to get us to kid ourselves the paper is SO
    popular they cant keep up with the demand.

224. john king

“What is going on. My local newsagent (a petrol station) used to get anywhere between 2 and 3 doz Nationals delivered and now its getting SIX which are all sold by 8.30.

Is Menzies at it?
    Wouldn’t surprise me. I had a general store and Menzies was an incompetent nightmare”

Why do you think these people recycle the same pish over and over again James?
    Your making the mistake most of us made the Scots would remember what got done to them in 1979 and would know anything these people say is not to be believed,
    But you dont take into account the mind of the L.I.V. and the goldfish bowl syndrome once round the bowl , hmm nice wallpaper, twice round the bowl, hmm nice wallpaper, third time round the bowl ,hmm nice wallpaper,

Not for a heartbeat doe that cynical little shit think we’ve all forgotten what was said by Broon only a few short months ago but he’s counting on the uninformed and unconnected not to remember,
    their own little lives are far more important to them than the future of their country and we know there are just enough of them to stop democracy in its tracks!

O/T I cannot help the sneer on my face when I see 20 something guys at work with the ubiquitous faded UJ on their t shirts,
    I think those people will not even see the irony when we eventually do get our independence and prove it was the only way to go all along.

Worse, they wont even care, thinking oh well they won, they don’t even have a deeply held faith in the Union,
    they voted that way because it was seen as the cool way to vote and have no idea what they have done to us and themselves.
    LACK OF AWARENESS COST US THE REFERENDUM!

225. john king

Doh Dave
    your post was so good I said it twice. 🙂

226. john king

Ooh er
    I had to rewind the BBC news this morning to hear what I thought I heard

Apparently there is a yellow snow warning this morning. 🙂
    Who did it cumon own up?

227. ronnie anderson

Morning all what new lies have we to cope with today it is friday isent it.

I havent seen a post from Morag for a while.I hope your well Morag, lets hear from you.

228. Boorach

Congratulations to Dr Paul Monaghan on winning the candidacy to fight the Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross Constituancy for the SNP.

229. john king

Ronnie @ 6.33
    morning Ronnie, your right,
    where are you Morag?
    are you going to the wings night out in Feb Ronnie?

230. Tackety Beets

JK @ 5.29 Am

Jeepers John , I had to leave it @ 10 mins .
    I’ll take a deep breath later and watch it .

Makes you blood boil to think it’s recent ( 60’s )

We need to keep the momentum going , the wheels are gathering pace .

P&J maybe AS Monday features have had an effect on them ! Ehhhm probably not .
    National , it’s is slowly improving . It’s not too much to subscribe digitally if only to show support .

As above , what s### is gonna be on our News feeds this week-end .

Every time I see Smurphy on TV , a toon slips into my head , the Dads army toon , ” who do you think you’re kidding ………….. ”

As a Dons man , I’m hopeing for a result , but what is required is a good game for us ALL , Sheep or Arabs , it is important and good for the overall game .

Chin up !

231. john king

Tackity beets @ 7.03

Its much worse than that TB
    those people were being evicted from their beautiful Island the same year British troop were being sent to defend the Falkland Islands,
    And just to drive home the message their pets were rounded up and gassed to death by exhaust fumes in the back of a van!

232. ronnie anderson

@ John King Thanks John its a while since I watched the J Pilger vid on Chagos Islanders, have shared it on Scot2Scot.

I wonder if we can get a SNP MP to raise a Question in Westminster.

Rev hows about a campain on Chagos Garcia.

233. ronnie anderson

@ John King Not mobile at the moment John, but I will be at Invergowrie already told my Daughter,so see You & Irene soon xx to Irene.

234. ronnie anderson

There,s enough Chill in Scotland without adding a church into the mix,oonyhows the great british mejia has it well covered.

235. Macart

This was such a great link from Nana its worth sticking it in again.

You have to read this interview with Alex Salmond.

236. Famous15

Just listened to What the Papers Say on BBC Radio Scotland. It was wall yo wall anti SNP stories with no right of reply. BUT we are only reporting FACTS the BBC will say because that is what was in the papers!

The Press in Scotland is largely anti SNP so we must complain at this unfairness. A simple “Do not believe all you read in the papers” could be a start. There was a reference to FMQ ‘s where one paper said NS had a hard time from two questioners on education. Our FM answered these questioners with skill,truth and balance showing up the posturing of her questioners but no hint of this unless you had watched FMQ’s

BTW the Big clunking fist will come to the aid of the party next week (still listening to radio)

237. Dr Jim

@Barbara McKenzie
    You’ve made a study of it Barbara and that’s great but the ordinary Joe voter wouldn’t know any of that information from his hat and i don’t mean to insult them it’s just not something they would have ever cared about
    The world looked different then, even now, many don’t want to know they just want what they think is comfortable, something familiar, it’s scary for many of these folk to embrace something different we’ve all seen it during the referendum, practically fingers in ears and collectively singing la la la I can’t hear you, I bet the guy who invented the wheel was mocked until he came up with the second one if that makes any sense
    Anyway off for my brekky and thanks for your research,

238. Ken500

Westminster have deliberately ruined the Oil sector. People are losing their jobs. The Scottish Gov could have cut Oil taxes straight away. 80%+ tax could have been cut to 30%. So there was no job losses, until the price went up again.

Scotland is half empty. There are places where Fracking could take place. The Scottish Gov always has control of Fracking. Planning Laws are different in Scotland from US. All countries have different planning laws.

239. gerry.parker

I’m sure our MP’s will be able to get the detail of Home Rule that Ed Miliband mentioned.

http://www.writetothem,com

240. ronnie anderson

bbc scot, Gordon Brown has secured a debate in Westminster next week on Scottish Devalution (vow) also speaking on Evel.

Gordie coming to a venue near you,dont bother applying for tickets,selective captive audience & loyal meidja support ie Bbc.

DimJims relegated tae the Subs bench ( listen oot fur Klaxons Jim,subs aboot tae dive dive dive ).

241. Giving Goose

Ronnie,

Bit of a Freudian slip in that last post, or not.

Scottish Devaluation is right!

242. gerry parker

http://www.writetothem.com

hand shaky this morning.

🙁

243. Albalha

o/t Came across this fundraiser for the very impressive campaigner Liam McLaughlan

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/liam-mclaughlan-for-glasgow-east-red-tories-out/x/2349839

244. Robert Peffers

@Barbara McKenzie says:30 January, 2015 at 5:29 am:

“In the early 1940s, Winston Churchill seemed to put more energy into ensuring the return of the ‘Greek’ monarchy, than to actually winning the war.”

Ah! Barbara, neither you or Dr Jim are tracking far enough back to get the real truth. I’ve been highlighting it for some time but the notion has not made it into the conscious mind as yet. Labour, LibDem, Tory or whatever all boils down to one true fact. They are all part of, “The Establishment”.. This began, as far as we can trace, to our first recorded history – Written by the Romans.

The Establishment are an Elite ruling class and they have existed as far back as our written history can record. We know the Ancient Britons had Kings & Queens but the Romans became the South British ruling elite that did not interbreed with the locals but instead enslaved them. They were followed by the Anglo Saxon Germanic Tribes who also did not interbreed. Genetics proves less than 5% of Britons carry Anglo Saxon genes.

These in turn were followed by other elites including the Normans who gave us the Feudal System with a Royal head with Divine Right of Kings and an aristocracy and serfs. We still have these around today with hereditary peers in the HOL and a Royal Family. So look at the present, “Establishment”, and what do you see?

An elite ruling class led by multi-billionaires who are mainly drawn from the same elite ruling class regardless of which political party they head. Private school educated, perhaps Eton or Harrow, on to Oxford or Cambridge and right into politics. However, the full Establishment has always included the Established Churches, the Armed Forces, The Legal System, the top Civil Servants, the media, financial sector and the security services.

Note that whenever a, “Lower”, class rises in power the Establishment soon absorbs them and thus recruits them. Thus the original working class Labour Party now has a rich multi-millionaire leadership drawn from the elite class.

Is it a wonder that when the chips are down the supposedly bitterest enemies of the Westminster Establishment close ranks against the threat to the, “Establishment”, of Royals, Aristocracy, Archbishops, Political Leaders, Civil Servants, Armed Forces, Law Officers, Police, Security Services and even the Education systems. Through all these organisations runs the thread of the Royals, Aristocracy and the wealthy.

As for Labour – ask the question – how many former Labour political figures are now among the titled elite in the HOL?

245. Robert Bryce

This is a party so bereft of any kind of moral fibre that it has now resorted to pulling shit out it’s arse and offering it up to a now savy electorate as sweeties.

While Scotland looks upon Labour with disgust they (Labour) simply continue pushing the gravy leaking from their boat up a hill.

Roll on May!

246. Nana Smith

Spotted on twitter

Margrit scunner’s fundraiser tonight in Tollcross has only sold

wait for it…30 tickets! 30 too many if you ask me.

247. Bugger (the Panda)

Eddie boy will implement within 100 days the Devo plan of the Smith Fudge.

Ed is promising, like the VOW, Sweet fek’all

248. Dr Jim

Aah, The illusion of democracy, the trick is, don’t let them find out, and there’s the rub, they’re starting to, it must be terrifying to them, the Plebs have started to Sus, what WILL they do, they can’t have us ordinary people running our own countries it’ll be a “Disaaster” don’t you know

249. gillie

I found a pile of The National newspapers dumped behind the newspaper stand in my local Tesco’s this morning. I thought at first they had not stocked any. So I dumped the Daily Express and replaced it with the The National.

Check out your local stores to make sure The National is properly displayed on the newspaper stands. If not you know what to do.

250. Nana Smith

Jack Straw ‘peddled lies before sending troops to death in Iraq war’, claims Labour MP

https://archive.today/ARjOi

I watched some of the debate in the commons, straw looked so very relaxed, one leg thrown over the seat in front and looking as if he wasn’t even listening.

He is of course waiting for his seat in the lords…

http://labourlist.org/2015/01/jack-straw-and-tessa-jowell-will-enter-lords-after-election/

251. X_Sticks

@Nana

“Margrit scunner’s fundraiser..only sold

wait for it…30 tickets!”

Maybe we should send a Wings delegation to boost their numbers and add some spice to her party 😀

Thanks for the Alex campaign article link, really enjoyed that.

252. caz-m

Dr Jim, 2.25am

Brilliant reminder if we needed it that the Labour Party never done anything constructive and forward thinking on Scotland’s behalf. They have just kept Scotland ticking over.

Our population hasn’t changed for over a century, yet the UK population has increased dramatically over the seem period. And that increase has been in the South East of England, where all the wealth is.

Even when Labour was at it’s peak with the Blair government, Scotland never noticed any difference to when John Major was in Government.

So, as you say, it’s a complete myth that the Labour Party done anything positive for Scotland, anytime.

Even Jack McConnell, Labour Party First Minister, sent money BACK to Westminster, at the same time as he was shutting down hospitals.

The Labour Party and the Unions in the seventies will be remembered for National strikes which put off investors, then we had Thatcher in the eighties, she got so fed up with the strikes that she just shut Scotland down completely. All our coal mines and heavy industry went in less than a decade. And we still haven’t recovered.

Red Tory Blue Tory, the two of them are only interested in keeping the South East of England and the Establishment alive, the rest of the UK is nothing more than a burden on them.

253. galamcennalath

How can anyone have the brass neck to use the phrase Home Rule when they are referring to Homeopathic Smith?

Clutching at political straws already! And, three months still to go.

Perhaps the best plan for Milliband would be to forget fighting for Scottish seats. Not because he has already lost them, but because anything he offers us will have a negative effect on his prospects down south. He may be best concentrating on getting more seats across rUK than the Tories. That way he will be the next PM.

254. heedtracker

There’s been no English coverage of Milliband says vote YES for Slab at all but tomorrow Jim Naughtie is coming to Scotland but BBC doesn’t say why though, probably something like does haggis make you fart too much. Another week of BBC/Uk press and nothing much if anything about Scotland, other than Andy Murray’s girlfriend swore while watching a game but they needed lip readers to find out. England expects, Scotland to be quiet, and vote Labour/Murphy.

255. abystander

Brown, it is reported, has secured another Commons debate.

Which will make a huge difference, just like the one before.

Is this the same Gordon Brown who only three days ago said we should stop talking about Home Rule and use the powers we have?

256. Nana Smith

@X_Sticks

That’s a very good idea sending wingers round with a nice extra hot spicy casserole, I’m sure scunner would appreciate it. Perhaps add a laxative to the mix, mind you I think labour are already shitting themselves anyway.

I see Carmichael is getting a thrashing in Shetland, snp membership has swelled in the last few weeks and someone put a cracker of a letter in the Shetland times denouncing the man. Check it over at Munguins.

257. Mariaskid

Help…. Anyone else having difficulty getting the National to download this morning? I have been reading it on my iPad since it started with no problems. Now, today the page data refuses to load……

258. Nana Smith

SNP select candidate to fight Easter Ross seat at Westminster

https://archive.today/Ffov8

Met Paul recently, really nice man and very able.

259. Luigi

Brown, it is reported, has secured another Commons debate.

Gordzilla returns.

Roar!

260. Snode1965

O/T On question time last night the panel were discussing fracking. Most of them thought it was great because North Sea gas was running out, so who cares about people and the environment. Then a Welsh MP put them right by telling the audience that Scotland had joined Germany, France and Holland in banning fracking and only England were happy to go ahead. Sooner or later the pennies gonna drop down south.

261. schrodingers cat

Just watched the new SNP PPB

im sure i saw X sticks hat blowing down the road

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ohOtDA3dTAA

262. crazycat

@ Barbara McKenzie at 5.29

I agree with what you said about the Labour Party, but I suspect you meant to refer to Ernest Bevin (right-wing, trade unionist, Foreign Secretary 1945-51) rather than Aneurin Bevan (Minister for Health in the Attlee goverments) who was, originally at least, a lot less obnoxious.

That last vowel makes a lot of difference! 🙂

263. liz

Dear God, My heart sank at the thought of Broon being given wall to wall coverage next week.

264. Chic McGregor

@Snode

Germaine Greer seemed surprisingly unaware of her homeland’s position on coal seam gas production.

Victoria has an on going moritorium.

New South Wales has imposed a ban on the use of BTEX chemicals in fracking and introduced a 2km residential exclusion zone.

Queensland has also put in a ban on BTEX chemicals.

Both NSW and QLD have banned further evaporation ponds (used to store the contaminated water) mainly because of their failure to contain the contamination structurally or at times of flood conditions.

Here is vid which highlights concern over exclusion zone violations.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaheDvWURsQ

Any sensible residential exclusion zone would rule out most of the Scottish central belt coal seam for fracking.

Also she seems to have swallowed the fib that fracking is better for greenhouse gas emissions even though research from her homeland clearly shows that the opposite is true.

As a by the by moratoriums on fracking are currently in place in France, Germany and the Netherlands.

P.S. sorry, forgot to remove the gubbings from the tube for my first attempt.

265. Fred

We’re all familiar with commemorating somebody’s birth or death but the latest stunt of celebrating Churchill’s funeral, for Gods sake, takes the biscuit. Stinks of desperation & Britnat tub thumping. Is there an election in the offing by any chance?

266. Chic McGregor

@Fred
    The city of Yes said No to Churchill.

267. Fred

Correct Chic, I was booing Churchill at the pictures age 6, ABC Minors Newsreel I think. The hall was in an uproar. 🙂
    To hear the BBC you would think there was united approbation of Churchill, the opposite was the case. History being re-written as that generation are largely gone.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.