(Dirty) business as usual

Posted on February 07, 2012 by

Well, we had quite the fun time yesterday. Having revealed by virtue of our ace investigative-journalism skills that the Telegraph’s dear Alan Cochrane had something of a beam in his own eye when it came to attacking the First Minister for using the word “Gauleiter”, we were mildly surprised when the Telegraph – which normally has a pretty liberal comment-moderation policy, certainly when it comes to its readers hurling abuse at the Scots – experienced a sudden outbreak of censorship.

Comments on Mr Cochrane’s column – which rumour has it are moderated by Alan himself – referring to the mildly embarrassing hypocrisy started to disappear at a rate of knots. We counted over 22 comments either linking to or quoting our piece which vanished, before the moderator gave up as user after user simply kept re-posting them. The result – as tends to be the case when people try to suppress information on the internet – was the biggest single day’s traffic in Wings Over Scotland’s history. But over and above our daft wee comedy tussle with Mr Cochrane hovers the wider agenda.

Last week we noted a comment on Twitter by Glasgow-born Labour MP and Guardian columnist Denis MacShane in which he likened Alex Salmond to Slobodan Milosevic, and alleged that the FM “supported” the late Serbian leader’s “butchery” in Kosovo. This outrageous, unambiguous and libellous slur went completely unreported in the media, with even Scotland’s so-called “quality” press – the Herald and Scotsman – not deeming worthy of mention the fact that a Member of Parliament had just accused Scotland’s elected First Minister of backing genocidal mass murder.

MacShane’s comments have no secondary definition. Nobody uses “Slobodan Milosevic” to refer to a petty bureaucrat. No-one has ever said “Jeez, did you see that traffic warden just then? What a right little Slobodan”. MacShane has absolutely no defence, no claim of being “taken out of context”. When we highlighted it we reported his entire tweet, accurately and in full.

Salmond, of course, DOES have such a defence. The word “Gauleiter”, as we’ve comprehensively discovered this week, is in common usage even in the respectable press when used to mean an over-zealous jobsworth of any sort, not a Nazi. No sane person on Earth can conceivably have imagined that Salmond was using the word in anything but the former sense. And yet, unlike the total silence that greeted MacShane’s comments, the Scottish media were all over him like a rash.

Calls for Alex Salmond to say sorry for ‘Nazi’ slight, runs the Herald’s headline, slyly copying the Telegraph in putting the word “Nazi” in quotes to imply Salmond had said it, even though he hadn’t. All three opposition parties get lined up to attack the FM in the piece before an SNP spokesman gets to reply, and the paper then pointedly notes the cases of Tom Harris and Ken Livingstone, who were sanctioned for explicitly and directly comparing people to Nazis. Again, the sneaky implication is that Salmond also did such a thing, even though he didn’t.

The Scotsman, meanwhile – having already covered the story extensively on Monday – runs an almost identical story to the Herald’s, but also features a second piece in which the paper manages to rustle up a German journalist to say that Salmond’s “Nazi slur” (again, using the headline to reinforce the same flat-out dishonest portrayal of events) “could have cost him his job if he’d said it in Germany”.

We had a quick Google for “Salmond Nazi” and gave up trying to count the newspaper results after the first 10 pages. (Though we did pause to note that the white-supremacist website Stormfront carried a comment asserting “The SNP are the worst type of “nationalist”, with the jew Salmonds’ programme of multi-culturalism & subserviance to the dictates of the globalist EU.” If racist thugs think you’re the worst sort of nationalist, you’re probably doing something right.)

Googling for “MacShane Slobodan”, “MacShane Milosevic” or “MacShane Salmond”, on the other hand, returned absolutely no results, other than those referencing our own feature on the subject. Not a single newspaper had felt compelled to record the incident. Could there possibly be a connection between the relative coverage levels and the sides of the Scottish independence debate the two men concerned inhabit?

We wouldn’t like to say.

1 to “(Dirty) business as usual”

1. Morag says:

Article in the Herald today, where Prof Matt Qvortrup compares those arguing that the Scottish government has no right to hold a referendum with Slobodan Milosevic.

Slobodan Miloševic was anything but thrilled by the referendums on independence in Bosnia, Croatia and other republics on independence from Yugoslavia. To claim that Scotland does not have a legal right to hold a referendum on independence is to use the very same argument as Mr Miloševic . And, it seems unlikely that any British politician would want to adopt a position that failed for a notorious dictator.

At least in this comparison, coherent reasons are advanced!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,912 Posts, 1,242,791 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The Final Robbery: “We can be sure of one thing, Northy. If you are categorically wrong on this, as you so often are,…May 26, 19:09
    • Hatey McHateface on No Money Back, No Guarantee: ““powers which would allow it to hold a second independence referendum” Man, is there no end to their shortsightedness, nor…May 26, 18:59
    • TURABDIN on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “«Instead of politicians, let monkeys govern countries; at least they will steal only the bananas» ? Mehmet Murat ildan…Turkish Author…May 26, 18:57
    • Hatey McHateface on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Absolute, unqualified respect to Rev Stu for having the guts to publish that fourth last paragraph there.May 26, 18:55
    • Hatey McHateface on No Money Back, No Guarantee: ““Us indigenous Scots hiv niver taken a shit in oor ain hoose” My, Northy, but you do find new ways…May 26, 18:52
    • GM on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “‘There it is. Right there officer.’May 26, 18:51
    • Aidan on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “It’s hardly “overhyped” is it, the chief exec stealing nearly all of the parties resources.May 26, 18:48
    • Young Lochinvar on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Yes. Just think how much larger the yes numbers and smaller the no numbers would have been if the SNP-party-before-Country…May 26, 18:34
    • Gordy on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “SARCASM NINJA LEVEL 5 ACHIEVED.May 26, 18:24
    • Socrates MacSporran on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “I am still waiting for the first memes and gifs to come out, featuring Sturgeon being questioned by the Line…May 26, 18:23
    • Izzie on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Well done such a boost for the Cause. Dont worry everyone Canvassing for By-election abdpublic dont seem very interested in…May 26, 18:12
    • agentx on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Scotland’s newly elected parliament has called for Westminster to devolve the powers which would allow it to hold a second…May 26, 17:53
    • robertkknight on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Perhaps Sturgeon can be persuaded to do some volunteer work in a hospital in the DRC…May 26, 17:44
    • Mark Beggan on No Money Back, No Guarantee: ““I bet there’s rich folks eating in a fancy dining car They’re probably drinkin’ coffee and smoking big cigars Well,…May 26, 17:19
    • Northcode on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Us indigenous Scots hiv niver taken a shit in oor ain hoose. Your favourite country, England, wis the yin that…May 26, 17:10
    • Mark Beggan on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “The post-colonials are punching themselves into a corner. What part You’ve been ripped off! don’t you understand. No amount of…May 26, 16:59
    • Ian Smith on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Since UK short money was the main contributor Murrell is a hero for sticking it to the Colonists. As post…May 26, 16:39
    • Mark Beggan on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Never shit in your own house. Be careful for what wish for.May 26, 16:25
    • Grace Green on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “The crimes began in August 2010, about the same time as the pair were “married”. Could it be that the…May 26, 16:01
    • Chris Bayne on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Rev, politically, we are not aligned and me and your followers will never be friends, but for ‘Mr Anwar knows…May 26, 15:57
    • Andouillette on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “I find it utterly sick-making that Swiney and all the other apologists are falling back on the old ‘shocked and…May 26, 15:00
    • Young Lochinvar on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “I wonder if Breathy Bain having read that is now frantically clearing out her desks pen drawer 🙂 As for…May 26, 14:55
    • Robbie on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Did he steal the money he lent to the SNP?May 26, 14:51
    • Young Lochinvar on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Peter Was it not that COPFS deemed it “not in the public interest”? That’s what I seem to recall.May 26, 14:43
    • agentx on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cg5pp2pee7go Sturgeon wearing a Murrell bought pendant. https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/news/politics/operation-branchform-cops-investigating-peter-31639222 Photo with Sturgeon and Jag on her drive.May 26, 14:31
    • Cynicus on No Money Back, No Guarantee: ““The two fundraisers combined raised almost £700,000 but Murrell only copped a plea for misappropriating £400,000 of it, and the…May 26, 14:22
    • Morgatron on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “Brilliant article again Stu. I hope every blogger, journo, MP, MSP, JK, David Davis and anyone with clout and a…May 26, 14:20
    • TimePilot on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “A quick “Google” of Sturgeon signing offical documents fed into AI (see screenshot below) https://i.postimg.cc/jdZMh7yB/Pens.jpg Pen Analysis Images 1, 2,…May 26, 13:57
    • Willie on No Money Back, No Guarantee: “At some stage, and not in the too distant future legal action will I suspect be raised against those who…May 26, 13:45
    • Hobbit on The Final Robbery: “This thieving began while Alex was still the leader. More generally, how could the SNP system have let the thieving…May 26, 13:43