Brechin City vs TBC

Posted on July 16, 2012 by

Charles Green’s new football club, currently registered under the name Sevco Scotland Ltd, is scheduled to play its first ever competitive game on July 28th, away to Brechin City in the Ramsden’s Cup. Three days after that, on July 31st, a meeting of the shareholders of Rangers Football Club PLC is due to take place.

The purpose of the meeting is to change the name of said Rangers Football Club PLC (the old about-to-be-liquidated Rangers) to RFC2012, in order that Sevco Scotland can then legally be renamed “The Rangers Football Club Limited”. (That name being too similar to that of the old Rangers for the two to be allowed to exist simultaneously.)

An interesting question therefore arises: What will be the name of the team that takes the field against Brechin on the 28th?

It can’t be “Rangers”. It has to be called something. What will it be?

25 to “Brechin City vs TBC”

1. gnohbdi

TFBTNFNA

The football team NOT formerly named anything.

2. Doug Daniel

Club 42.

3. BongoBrian

Club Tropicana (life is free… sun & sunshine… there’s enough for everyone.)   ;0)

4. Semus

This is really rerr. Didi ye see the gemm, The refs an idjiit.Isn’t football just the berries. See I can talk football as well.
    I had a great drink in Dublin with an Irish man Brendan O Higgins and a Czech Petr Kaderovek. Are the only three people in the world that detest football.?
    Thank goodness we have nothing of any more import between now and 2014 to take up our time
    .Except some Glaikit Cup, The numpty league.Whatever!
    We got French knitting at school. I suggested that Fench Knitting is something that Scotsmen would surely be better at than “The Tedious Game” yes it is in the name a game.
    Aye cheerio.

5. Thee Forsaken One

The Wee Arra Peopel?

6. Dave

2 Hunlimited?

As in No No… No No No No…  No No No No…  No No… there’s nae hist’ry.

7. Embradon

Presumably newco/sevco/ICBIN-Rangers will only be competing if they have successfully registered as a club with the SFA. To do that they have to have their name approved (as well as presenting various other bona fides)
    How can they get an SFA licence without a name?

8. G. Campbell

Officials Who Are Responsible For Managing And Protecting An Area Of Forest, Park Or Protected Natural Area FC

9. Seasick Dave

Fourth Lanark.

10. Semus, it’s been said before, but I’ll say it again. If you’re not interested in football don’t read the posts that are clearly about football.

As Rich Hall says, it’s not rocket surgery….

11. Semus

It appears I am an heretic and have found a football fanzine
    This is really rerr. Didi ye see the gemm, The refs an idjiit.Isn’t football just the berries. See I can talk football as well.
    I had a drink in Dublin with an Irish man Brendan O Higgins and a Czech Petr Kaderovek. Are we the only three people in the world that detest football.?
    Thank goodness we have nothing of any more import between now and 2014 to take up our time
    .Except some Glaikit Cup, The numpty league.Whatever!
    We got French knitting at school. I suggested that Fench Knitting is something that Scotsmen would surely be better at than “The Tedious Game” yes it is in the name a game.
    Aye cheerio.

12. cynicalHighlander

The Liquid Taters 

13. Chris

+1 for ‘I Can’t Believe It’s Not Rangers’ – really captures the essence of newco and the tragedy of the situation. Could also settle for ‘Govan’s Big Team’.

14. Mike Landers

Take a leaf from the Fiver, and call themselves PopesNewc O’Rangers.

15. charlie

Could be Rangers Club, easily abbreviated to RC
    or to avoid confusion Her Majesty’s Rangers Club again easily abbreviated….

cheers
    charlie

16. charlie

or Doncaster Regans

17. Grant

So the interesting thing is they’re going to be de-registering one trading name and then registering a similar name soon afterwards.

I’d hate anyone to get in between these two events and register their own The Rangers Football Club… 

18. Appleby

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could do as private citizens what they can do with their financial and legal messes?

19. redcliffe62

I suspect the strip colour wil be red white and blue despite all this talk of it being sky blue and black.
    The supporters would never wear it. Literally. 

20. Stuart M

@Chris:
    Canny be ‘Govan’s Big Team’ – everybody knows that’s the nickname for Benburb Juniors…

21. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I suspect the strip colour wil be red white and blue despite all this talk of it being sky blue and black.”

All what talk? I haven’t seen anyone suggest they’ll be playing in anything other than the current Rangers kit, complete with badge.

22. DG

Fuck it, why don’t they just call it “Geoff”.

23. daneel

They should become an exhibition team and play as the Govan Globetrotters. They could set up a patsy team called Wishaw Generals to play against.

24. Appleby

I can think of a few names for them but I don’t want to get started and then have to put more money in the swear box.

25. Richie

The “Greens”?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.