A virus with shoes

Posted on January 19, 2023 by

Footage from tonight’s glamorous dinner for the captains of the independence industry.

See you same time next year for the same speech again, gang.

0 to “A virus with shoes”

1. Calum

I see what you did there! šŸ™‚

2. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, ‘Independence is Normal’ for people who actually have it.

3. Hazel

Cracker!

4. Andrew Morton

Less than full hearted applause there.

5. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I suspect it was a less-than-full room.

6. John Stewart

As Andrew Morton says – very tired and short applause.

Wonder how many seats/tables the Party paid for?

They were touting the tickets at a big discount the other day.

7. Tommo

Well- ‘you lot’ (I generalise) put her there. You had better vote her out, then.

8. Ebok

AH! But wait till she gets her new speechwriter … any updates with the application Rev?

9. Astonished

The applause (or lack of it) says it all. Next year I doubt they’ll sell many tickets.

The nuSNP internal polls must be in.

10. sarah

Business for Scotland/GMK or whatever they call themselves nowadays, sent emails inviting me to buy a ticket for this “event”.

I replied saying that they had better find a different keynote speaker as N Sturgeon has been blocking the way to independence for years. I cited the numerous blockages/failures.

I see they didn’t take my advice.

11. Dave M

Titter ye not!!

Actually, how did she manage to say that with a straight face?

12. Holymacmoses

We need to find some free booting anti-virus footwear to get rid of these slipshod heels

13. Ian Brotherhood

Isn’t Ā£35 a bit on the cheap side for a seat at this kind of thing?

I was working as a wine waiter when Blair’s New Labour held a major gig at the Hospitality Inn (or whatever it was called back then, mibbe The Thistle?) in 1997. Labour was still in opposition but the bookies had stopped taking money on them winning.

The ‘top table’ was the length of the room, slightly elevated, with god only knows how many seats. (Smart, eh?) Archie Mcpherson did the after-dinner speech. The security services had been in and about the place all day long, patrolling the kitchens and everywhere else, frowning at abody and generally getting under our feet.

And fair play, they were all just doing their job. I wouldn’t dare guess how much it cost for a seat at that gig. But fair to say that Ā£35 wouldn’t have stretched far.

That was a quarter of a century ago.

šŸ˜‰

14. Derek

A pal offered me a spare ticket to see Bill Hicks at the Queen’s Hall and I kb-ed it…

Eejit.

15. Tinto Chiel

Independence is normal but sheā€™s the one blocking it.

In fact, she invited a pretendy English ā€œSupreme Courtā€ to rule against our ability to hold a referendum and she goes on about democracy despite the fact that no GRR Bill was part of the 2019 SNP manifesto and that she packed the NEC with her specially selected place-men and women to silence dissent.

How can anyone keep believing this BS?

16. 100%Yes

I will never stand bye and allow Westminster to block democracy, please correct me if I’m wrong, but didn’t Sturgeon stand up in the Scottish parliament and state I’ve asked the Lord Advocate to submit to the British Supreme court if Scotland has the right to hold Referendum on Independence and the ruling was Westminster
    was sovereign and NO the Scottish parliament had no right to hold Referendum. Didn’t Sturgeon and Sturgeon alone hand our democracy to Westminster.

17. Anne Johnston

Brilliant Rev..
    Spot on Hicks!

18. robertkknight

Should’ve been broadcast on UKTV’s “Dave”…”The Home of Witty Banter”.

Seeing as Sturgeon’s a joke that’s stuck on repeat it’d be an ideal fit.

19. 100%Yes

She used to say this great country I always thought she meant Scotland now I’m not to sure. Sound like she’s already making the case that a plebiscite won’t win Independence.

The WOMAN who cried wolf again and again.

20. Imacg

Sorry, did I miss something? Did not have the heart to press play…

21. Dan

Ach, the dress code didn’t seem particularly “progressive” for a NuScotlandshire event.

Highland dress/ black tie/ business dress

Cannae believe rainbow coloured bare arsed dildo wearing monkey costumes weren’t allowed in to liven things up, or maybe that’s jist the couture for the later after party…

The black tie seems appropriate enough though, presumably to mourn the loss of stuff like years of oor time, a fistful of mandates, the Ā£600k Indy fund, oor Single Market access, the democratically expressed will of Scots being acted on rather than jist the views and wants of those in the Scottish Parliament.

22. Keith Vtwin

ā€˜Wonā€™t be dragged out against our willā€¦ā€™ etc etc

23. PhilM

I’m almost 100% certain the applause was designed to wake the rest of the audience up but I don’t think it worked.

24. akenaton

100%Yes says:
    19 January, 2023 at 10:45 pm
    I will never stand bye and allow Westminster to block democracy, please correct me if Iā€™m wrong, but didnā€™t Sturgeon stand up in the Scottish parliament and state Iā€™ve asked the Lord Advocate to submit to the British Supreme court if Scotland has the right to hold Referendum on Independence and the ruling was Westminster
    was sovereign and NO the Scottish parliament had no right to hold Referendum. Didnā€™t Sturgeon and Sturgeon alone hand our democracy to Westminster.

We have had no democracy to give away for the last number of years. I resigned my membership a few months after M&Co took over the SNP and had to suffer years of euphoria about our brave new female leader….what were you all thinking FFS? Surely any contact with the Scottish Greens should have been warning enough.

That is the problem with Nationalism, one must be certain that there are good people in control before giving your heart and soul to the cause.
    A quick look at European history tells us to beware false prophets. Our job now is to remove Sturgeon and all the puppet masters, get our social policy right, find real representatives who tell our electorate the hard truths, and turn our nation into one we can be proud of rather than be shamed by.

25. Effijy

Yes she will ask Westminster for Indy ref 2 and Tory after Tory leader will say No and
    Labour leader after Labour leader like the Lib Demā€™s will say No
    and we all die hoping a lottery win can have better prospects than SNP delivering independence.

Sounded like the audience was Murrell and Blackford with the non binary person who locks up.

26. Willie

Oh the little liar. She truly is.

Well done Rev for digging out this video piece. It really exposes Sturgeon for exactly what she is. A little liar, a big liar,

27. Thomas

The backdrop looked like a music video from the mid-1970s.

The applause was like the scene in “V” when the aliens held a few humans hostage with machine guns directed at them and a sign saying “Applause”.

It actually sounded like a recording of clapping!

28. Big Jock

Thomas. Are you suggesting Nicola is a lizard? That explains everything…

29. Geri

Dan

‘Cannae believe rainbow coloured bare arsed dildo wearing monkey costumes werenā€™t allowed in to liven things up, or maybe thatā€™s jist the couture for the later after partyā€¦’

LMAO!

30. PhilM

If you’re going to defend Scottish democracy, it would help mitigate charges of hypocrisy if you could show you were a democrat. The evidence suggests otherwise.
    The SNP’s MO is ‘reputation management’ and with this approach they are in a class of their own. However, reputation management and democracy are antithetical (I thought I should add that last sentence because it may not have occurred to our glorious leader).

31. Geri

Effigy

I said on the other post – everyone shouldn’t be shocked when the next diabolical plan from the SNP is to become a UK wide party with the BS they’ll grant thier own sec30 as the official opposition at Westminster. It’s the only way to stay at the trough that I can foresee.

32. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“AH! But wait till she gets her new speechwriter ā€¦ any updates with the application Rev?”

I forgot all about that! Better chase it up.

33. JD McGregor

To paraphrase Bill, when it comes to independence I find myself in the unenviable position of being for the war but against the troops.

34. cynicus

When will she do a Jacinda Ardern?

35. Neil Mackenzie

I used to think the SNP had to have been infiltrated at the highest level by independence saboteurs. I now think there can’t be anyone left in the elected ranks of the SNP who isn’t an infiltrator or they’d already be gone. Changing the leader would make no difference.

The best thing that could happen for independence would be if at the next election the SNP suffered a fate similar to that of “Scottish” Labour in 2015.

36. twathater

Tommo says:
    19 January, 2023 at 10:14 pm

Well- ā€˜you lotā€™ (I generalise) put her there. You had better vote her out, then.

SO Tommo you have been giving us the same advice since you started posting, I personally haven’t voted for her or the sturgeon nonce party in the last 2 elections, so mr intelligent tell us who we should vote for, is it the scum tories who are riddled with corruption and couldn’t run a menage , or is it the scum Labour who are riddled with corruption and couldn’t run a menage , or is it the scum Lib Dumbs who are riddled with corruption and couldn’t run a menage

Don’t take too long Tommo there might be an election to vote in, whilst we wait can you list the positive actions and benefits of the party you will recommend we vote for, or are you just trolling for laughs

37. Rhona Moffat

Jacinda first….Nicola a close second….straight to a seat on the useless UN – she’ll feel at home there.

38. Breeks

Go tell that long tongue liar
    Go and tell that midnight rider
    Tell the rambler, the gambler, the back biter
    Tell ’em that God’s gonna cut ’em down…

….But as sure as God made black and white
    What’s down in the dark will be brought to the light
    You can run on for a long time….

39. Breeks

Andrew Morton says:
    19 January, 2023 at 9:58 pm
    Less than full hearted applause there.

The usual clapping seals were too young to get past the doorman.

Either that or it was passed their bedtime.

40. robbo

Labourā€™s Lisa Nandy suggests 13-year-olds should be ‘taken seriously’ if they want to change gender

41. James Che

twathater.

I haven’t voted for the snp for a good number of elections either, not since I had a debate with ex labour turned snp at a street stall,
    Whom when in a discussing with myself, said The Scottish parliament should be sovereign”
    And I said, “No, the Scottish people are sovereign in the Scottish Constitution”
    He in return argued it should be the parliament,
    “That is the political English Westminsters parliaments position” I replied, ” the Scottish people
    Sovereign in Scotland”

End of voting for SNP when labour become snp with the same policies, and that applies equally still today,
    When keir Starmer or NS can’t and won’t identify with distinction what a woman is.

42. Mac

Satan:

“Hello Nicola.

“Says here on your application…. you have no talent… and yet you want to be a First Minister…

“I think something can arranged….

(unzippering sounds)

“Suck Satan’s cock!

“I will lower the standards of Scotland!

“I will create The National and employ Paypal Paul.

“I will put all the power in the hands of mentalist woke arseholes.

“They will think you are charismatic, deep and edgy.

(Deep Satanic roars….)

“…Send in Pete Wishart.”

43. James Che

I see the prime minister of Jamaica says he is ditching the monarchy to become a republic.

Of course we do not have a prime minster in Scotland to do that, as we only have a First minster of a proxy parliament.

So were still begging to be decolonised.

Whoops error,

Were not doing that either.

44. James che

robbo,

It is becoming harder and harder to tell the difference between labour and snp policies.
    They seem have merged like a takeover, with out informing the investors.

45. James che

Surely if Scotland had a true parliament, the first minister ( which is NS is not ) would be named prime minister of Scotland,

Scotland has not had a Scottish parliament since the Scottish parliament 1707. According to UK . Gov parliament site.

It is not just the SNP faking it, so is the parliament in Scotland.

46. Stuart MacKay

The clapping was interesting – it echoed a lot and was quite clear probably, as others noted, because of the room being less than full. It also died out quickly. A lackluster reception to a lackluster delivery. It will also be worth looking at the rest of the video, if it’s available, to see if the camera angles are hiding the size of the audience attending McDavos.

So, the writing is on the wall, and you’ll know for sure, because, over the next few months either there is the same apathetic audiences, unless they stuff them with the twitler youth or they try to hide it and pretend everything is just peachy.

Nikla, Jacinda has just screwed you over and is already at the head of the queue for that coveted, Identikit, Important, International Womens’ Job. Get out now and show everybody how you won’t be denied your rightful slot at the trough. Boris made millions in the past few months. Hilary is just waiting to reward you for services rendered. Do it.

47. Breeks

Iā€™ve voted SNP. I voted SNP and ALBA list, because that was the rational and logical thing to do if you wanted Independence. No, I didnā€™t feel good doing it, but I played the hand I was dealt.

Even if Sturgeon was bent, the SNP in power with ALBA list seats providing a supermajority was the best result for Independence. Sturgeon could always have been sacked, and somebody competent installed in her place. Somebody competent you ask? Yes. Iā€™d put Groot in charge of the big red button before Iā€™d trust Sturgeon with it.

Sturgeonā€™s duplicitous incompetence would be tragic enough if it was limited to her failure to take shots at an open goal. But sadly itā€™s much worse than that. She hasnā€™t just wrecked the SNP as our vehicle of choice. She has wrecked the entire integrity of Holyrood as both our vehicle and route-way of choice.

What a stab in the back for all the years, indeed decades of work and effort which went into creating it. All of it trashed by Sturgeon.

Me, a diehard Independentist, who would pretty much do anything to secure Scottish Independence, have been put in the position of wanting to see Holyrood, Scotlandā€™s ā€œhalf-way houseā€ to Independence, impeached and shut down, because Sturgeonā€™s GROSS incompetence and the suicidal precedents set by Sturgeonā€™s serial capitulations and lunatic absurdities have made Scotland a laughing stock and reduced the Scottish Parliament to a Vichy echo chamber serving to consolidate Westminsterā€™s colonial encroachment into the Realm of Scotland where it has NO sovereign jurisdiction.

I can neither imagine nor recall a greater treachery suffered upon Scotland, at least not by any one single person. Surely we can see she cannot even be trusted to act with integrity even on the matter of her own resignation.

I am a million miles away from ever voting Tory, but hand on heart, if Scotland had been suffering a Tory Majority in Holyrood these past eight years, weā€™d likely have witnessed the same decay, the same Tory greed, self serving mismanagement and insufferable corruption which Holyrood failed to prevent anyway, but with much, much, less injury to the noble cause of Scottish Independence.

GO! Sturgeon. Go now! Fuck off. Depart. Vamoose. Sling it. Piss off. Leave now and never come back. DO let the door smack the back of your head.

48. robertkknight

Another one liner straight from the pages that brought us “We will not allow Scotland to be dragged out the single market against our will”, “the referendum to proceed on 19 October 2023” and that timeless classic and family favourite, “I can’t recall”.

I never thought I could despise a political party more than I do the Tories, let alone a party which at one time could count me as a supporter, member, office bearer and candidate, but here we are.

Henceforth, my vote goes to whoever is best placed to keep the SNP out. I guess Indy will have to wait until the damage they’ve inflicted on us since She/Her took charge has been repaired.

49. Aulbea1

The Charlatan Awards Ceremony.

50. Mac

I have always found Sturgeon to be very wooden in her oration but in that clip in particular she sounds completely hollow and phony, like someone saying the exact opposite of what they know to be true.

I really struggle to listen to her voice these days, it sounds like nails down a blackboard, like the voice of an imposter. If she was in a police station being interviewed over a crime I think the cops would recognize it instantly, it was exactly the same at the Fabiani Farce, shrill and hollow, with a strong undercurrent of nasty, very nasty.

You get exactly the same fake vibe listening to that clown Blackford bloviating about how “Scotland shall not be dragged out of the EU against its will…” drone drone drone… I physically can’t watch another clip of him saying that. It may have been on here that someone recently posted a youtube compendium of him saying it about twenty times and that nearly did me in. It makes me want to gob on the screen, which would be madness obviously.

Him and Angus Robertson are another waste-of-space pair who have clearly chewed down on Satan’s scaly pecker.

(So wish Bill Hicks was alive today. What a loss.)

51. Red

I’m not sure Nicola should be unironically using the word “Normal”.

52. Republicofscotland

A networking event to raise funds for GMK and his Yes Groups and to raise funds for the SNP, independence doesn’t come into it, it never will whilst Sturgeon is FM.

Ā£35 quid gets you into the room, but it will cost a lot more to access the benefits of the S&G who can if the price is right tweek this and that to benefit your business.

53. stuart mctavish

Love it, especially the snippet “if the referendum is to be blocked” that made it sound like they might be bringing the bill next week regardless (no pressure Sir Andy)

Was convinced by the intro she was going to say fetish rather than future at the end though – which had me wondering if, despite his apparent confession to a form of entrapment, giving Ed Mountain a speaking slot (and getting rid of the censors) at every FMQ graced by mature school girls might help inspire a brighter one.

54. Dan

This might surprise some with regard to just what Freeports mean for Scotland, and shows the large areas of oor land that they will cover.

https://commonweal.scot/the-alternative-to-freeports/

55. Geoff Anderson

At PMQs this week Blackford rose from his very comfy seat to tell A. Jack how Scotlandā€¦ā€¦drone, drone
    Jack gave a suitable responseā€¦..ā€I have just won a Ā£10 note Mr Speakerā€

As for Flynnā€¦..Sturgeon soon put the shackles on him!

56. Republicofscotland

According to this Gender Bill Lobbyists receive millions from the SNP. It names quite a few charities as captured by the SNP gender ideology.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fm1rlaXaMAIzqIJ?format=jpg&name=large

57. Breeks

Dan says:
    20 January, 2023 at 9:55 am
    This might surprise some with regard to just what Freeports mean for Scotland, and shows the large areas of oor land that they will cover.

Saw a poignant question asked about how much of Scotlandā€™s GDP / Productivity is being taken out of Scotlandā€™s hands because it happens to occur in the Free Port Green Zone, and as Alf Baird points out, Forth Ports Authority was all sold off to Hedge Funds. If that doesnā€™t stink of pure Tory gold digging, maybe get yourself a COVID test because youā€™ve lost your sense of smell.

Folk welcoming this need their heads looked at. Were they not listening when Brexit discussed deregulation, non convergence criteria, and a general reduction in standards? We now have the SNP acting like a 5th Column welcoming in the next wave of NeoLiberal blood sucking invasion. Pass me a bucket while I puke.

Oh waitā€¦ weā€™re going back to shovelling coal in lbs and ounces. Nevermind. Itā€™ll all be fineā€¦

58. socratesmacsporran

Mac @ 6.56am

I think you got Nicola’s interaction with Satan wrong there. She apparently prefers “a honey pot” to “a stick of rock”, or, if you like: she’d rather have Heather than Pete (and not just Wishart.

59. John Main

I get it – Nikla baaaaaad.

And for those “discovering” the lack-lustre delivery and the nasal, whiny, grating voice, all I can say is, what took you so long?

So, it’s time to go. Now to ask the serious questions, who takes over, what will they do differently and better, what’s their policies, etc. etc.

One thing you can say about the mainstream WM political parties, every change of leader produces new ideas and promises. Even if these promises turn out to be empty, each new leader at least attempts to ring the changes.

But when I look at the SNP, there is Nikla, and there are some nobodies. Not one of the nobodies appears to have any distinctive and new ideas, so why change the leader?

As ever, happy to learn otherwise, if anybody knows anything about the possible contenders. I can’t wait to hear about the charismatic, eloquent, bursting with enthusiasm and fire, high-achieving go-getter who has been biding their time in lonely silence and anonymity all these years.

60. Geri

I’m a Yesser & always will be. My mind was Yes from the moment it was announced.

Would that be YES at any cost? No.

Do I get on the bus to hell, trashing ppls rights & with all the warning signs of a dictatorship in the making? Or do I wait for the next one with someone sane driving the bus?

I’ll wait for the next one.

We’ve no choice. If by some miracle a ref were to be called – we’d never win it in a million years. BT would have a field day ripping apart Sturgeons SNP.

The Sturgeon Empire have done untold damage to Holyrood but most importantly the Yes vote & public trust. So have the loyalists.

They’re not good in government, hidden by various crisis & a media who give a free pass or get the SNP memo deliberately late or scant on detail to report on, a closed shop to any interference, secret meetings, no minutes taken, a carte blanche attitude to fk public opinion any time of thier choosing + parliament procedure & add in the stupidity of wheesht for indy die hards who still believe & willing to cover up corruption & accountability for another carrot & it’s an unelectable shitshow that’ll convince no one to our side.
    People have been warning for yrs but we’re either blocked or told to shut it. So it’s crunch time for loyalists. We need a new bus or keep in the constant loop where Sturgeon reigns forever while actually never arriving at the destination.

When Sturgeon opens Scots law to be shaped by any old Tom, Dick & Harry from other countries while ignoring the ones on home soil is a clear warning she’d fuck up indy from day 1.

61. Jacqueline

An energy rich country in a mess. I could go on but what’s the point.

62. Geoff Anderson

On the question of who replaces Sturgeonā€¦..it is more a question of looking at the organisation she has created. Every strata of the SNP is now invested with her Cult followers. She has removed any non woke challenge by installing a compliant NEC. The Branch have zero power now and the Conferences are mere Nuremberg rallies for the sheep to pass pre-selected topics.

The current SNP will select whoever they are told to select. In summary the SNP is beyond recovery. She has neutered it. ( or is there an appropriate Cult term such as non binary?)

63. A2

Should have made one of those “shorts” (they loop)

64. SusanAHF

Geri and Geoff, absolutely, she has fkd everything up for independence via the SNP. A lesson to us all on the dangers of infiltration, Alba beware, they’ll be sucking onto you as soon as the SNP starts to wane visibly

65. Natalie Delon

One could hear the applause starter banging his hands together but even then a surprisingly tired and underwhelming response.

66. Karen

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-11656145/Nicola-Sturgeons-SNP-plans-ask-children-male-female-transgender-survey.html
    Aberdeen City Council (SNP /Libdem) asking 7 year olds if they are male, female, transgender, non-binary or other. Surely “girl or boy” would be age appropriate?

67. robertkknight

If Sturgeon were a BritNat stooge, and her orders were to f**k up both Holyrood and the SNP in order to make Westminster and the Union way more attractive than the Indy alternative, I’d say job well done.

68. Dan

One for George Ferguson (and Capt Yossa if he still lurks btl) amongst others to read.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2023/01/20/standards-are-appalling/

69. Dan

Karen’s direct link to unionist rag archived to save giving them the traffic…

https://archive.is/VEQGd

70. Stuart MacKay

John Main @10:35am

It’s not so much that people are late in getting it, rather it’s the increasing number. Every one brings us closer to Scotland’s Ceau?escu moment – metaphorically speaking.

You’re right about how Nikla is holding back a party bursting with talent. The SNP will no doubt go through a long list of wannabes, since the Conservative Party showed us how, before we can get to a point of being able to rebuild – if that is possible.

71. Breeks

What is a General Election? When you vote for a candidate, (or maybe their party), and their manifesto. They form a Government.

What is a Plebiscite General Election? When you donā€™t vote for the candidate, but vote on the issue they stood for. The MPā€™s elected donā€™t form a government whether they win or lose. If they win, they choose Independence.

A Plebiscite General Election requires each constituency having ONE Independence candidate with no affiliation to ANY party, and no manifesto going beyond the singular commitment that ā€œA vote for me is a vote for Independenceā€. Thatā€™s it, no exceptions.

Anything more complicated than that dilutes and compromises the election result standing as a Plebiscite.

A Plebiscite General Election cannot afford to have multiple Independence candidates standing in the same constituency. That directly splits the vote.

A Plebiscite General Election requires a unitary YES, or Scotland United Candidacy standing on the solitary issue of Independence.

We donā€™t require ANY political party to win, this is people power in action, but we do need EVERY Independence Party to cooperate… NOW.

We CANNOT use the established parties, because every one of them has a wider governmental style manifesto, (and baggage), and that too may compromise the purity of votes counting as a Plebiscite on Independence, because it becomes less explicit and more ambiguous what people were actually voting for. We NEED that message crystal clear.

We cannot afford to play games with Sturgeon or any more SNP hubris.

The SNP either ditches Sturgeon and gets on board with this, pooling their candidates under YES or Scotland United, or it just doesnā€™t happen, and the SNPā€™s Prima Donnaā€™s fuck it up for everybody and lead us to defeat.

You want a Plebiscite Election? Then the bickering stops and we ALL assemble under a YES flag with 60 Independence candidates and no manifesto except Independence.

Thatā€™s not my deal, that is ā€œtheā€ deal.

If Sturgeon remains, we are dead in the water and holed below the waterline.
    If Sturgeon goes, then cancel all leave because we have a Plebiscite to prepare for.

72. 100%Yes

How many businesses believed (we wonā€™t be taken out of the EU against our will) if youā€™re a business waiting to re-join the EU, you have to be thinking Sturgeon isnā€™t the one to do it and neither is the SNP. When the SNP made this statement, they knew it was a lie.

I keep thinking the worst thing any of us could have ever done is 1 have a solicitor as leader of the SNP and 2 turned up at the Nicola Sturgeon grant tour in October 2014, it went straight to her head.

73. robbo

There won’t won’t be any rebuild of the SNP – it’s too far gone with sheep and coo’s

74. PacMan

I’m surprised the SNP groomers aren’t crawling over this article decrying how Unionist the Rev and his readers are for daring to criticise Die FĆ¼hrer.

75. Ruby

robbo says:
    20 January, 2023 at 1:01 pm

There wonā€™t wonā€™t be any rebuild of the SNP ā€“ itā€™s too far gone with sheep and cooā€™s

I agree that Robbo.

All the so called ‘good guys’ in the SNP have left it too late to switch parties or to speak out.

76. Stoker

“Glamorous dinner” indeed, Rev.

And while skanky Sturgeon lives a life in opulence under our votes we, the peasants, are being subjected to disgusting tactics by the Tory UK Government and their Department for Works and Pensions.

Making a big deal about giving us “Cost of Living Payments” but saying nothing about how they are taking it back via cutting benefit claims of those on ‘PIP’ etc. For those of you not aware that’s folk with life-long medical conditions that restrict their everyday lives. Here’s some further reading: https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/dwp-esa

“Ombudsman Rob Behrens is calling on the Government to urgently rectify the injustice, something which it is so far refusing to do. The call comes after a PHSO investigation revealed a seriously ill woman had her benefits payments severely cut by around Ā£80 a week due to a government blunder, leaving her unable to heat her home and buy food. The same error has affected over 118,000 people with disabilities and health problems but they are being denied the opportunity to claim compensation for the same mistake.”

77. StruanBorn

I see the national isn’t reporting the new polling figures from survation & their giving away subscriptions for free lol.

Nicolas fucked it good & proper but that’s what she wanted, that’s why she wanted Alec jailed so she could completely fuck it all up.

78. Alf Baird

Breeks @ 12:47 pm

“We donā€™t require ANY political party to win”

Correct Breeks. All we need a group of trusted capable Scots folk standing only for our liberation, an wha ken whit hits aw aboot an whit thay hiv tae dae. Liberation of a people is never a job for ‘career’ politicians, as the SNP has proved.

Mair a troke fir Salvo’s wice heids?

79. George Ferguson

@Dan 12:05pm
    Thanks Dan. The Glendoe Hydro project is an interesting one. Hydro Schemes immediately post war used traditional drill and blast methods. 30 years later at Glendoe a tunneling machine was used. The collapse of the largely unlined tunnel was put down to ‘Erodible Rock’ by the Judges. However another credible technical view is that the collapse was down to a wedge geological fault. A Judicial process is perhaps not the best way to solve technical litigation. Working great now though. Power from a large head of water available in 90 seconds.

80. Confused

The preponderance of female politicians in the west is notable; I think this is deliberate – psychologically they become the nation’s “MAMMY” – and it is very difficult, even for masculine adult males, to disobey yer maw. You can do it – but it feels wrong. Guilt is the price you pay.

Anyway – Nikki’s gone …

https://twitter.com/therealrukshan/status/1615888109283209222

– naw, sorry, it’s the other one.

Rumour has it she entered politics with a net worth of 800K (not bad) and is now worth 25M. That’s a lot of carrots.

Ursula von der Leyden is like the “Super-Mammy” of europe – Nikki would love this job, or head of NATO. You can imagine – tranny special forces, gender balanced fighter squadrons, rainbow logos on the Paveway-4s; then after you have killed as many brown people as you can for being “transphobic” or “misogynists”, you can ship as many of the survivors as possible to the west. This is what liberal democracy is all about – murder, theft and chaos, but being able to feel good about it and strike a moral pose.

– presented with a friendly face; politics is just corporate PR.

81. Dan Hardy

“Ms Robison also claimed that the government had received legal advice which showed that there would be some “practical issues” that would need to be resolved but that a Section 104 order would have done this, instead of a Section 35.”
    Coz it’s not not not a reserved matter they tell us.
    SPICe(Scottish Parliament Information Centre):”A section 104 Order (under the Scotland Act 1998) is used to make consequential modifications to reserved law, in consequence of legislation passed by the Scottish Parliament. Section 104 Orders are voted on at Westminster.”
    So, a reserved matter and a Westminster vote required. Gee, I wonder why they chose to also ignore that legal advice?!

82. Dan Hardy

“Ms Robison also claimed that the government had received legal advice which showed that there would be some “practical issues” that would need to be resolved but that a Section 104 order would have done this, instead of a Section 35.”

Coz it’s not not not a reserved matter they tell us.

SPICe(Scottish Parliament Information Centre):”A section 104 Order (under the Scotland Act 1998) is used to make consequential modifications to reserved law, in consequence of legislation passed by the Scottish Parliament. Section 104 Orders are voted on at Westminster.”
    So, a reserved matter and a Westminster vote required.

Gee, I wonder why they chose to also ignore that legal advice?!

83. Liz

Not much to disagree with.
    Hall sounded half empty otherwise we’d have seen a shot of the audience.

Met someone yesterday, a friend of a friend, well known in indy circles has been knocking his pan in for 10 years, I wont identify him.

He was on the point of packing in what he does, has given up, like a lot of us, time, money, hard unpaid work, missing out being with family, for the indy cause.

He met with GMK, who he sadly trusts, who persuaded him something big was coming soon and not to give up yet.
    So he’s committed to another year and if GMK and his ilk are lying to him, may he, GMK, rot in hell

84. Frank Gillougley

Apparently, tectonic plates move as fast as your fingernails grow. Well, whatever the comparison, they certainly move faster than the SNP. See ya in the next epoch.

85. Stoker

That Tory who masquerades as a “Liberal”, Alex Cole-Hamilton says:

“We are removing the medicalisation and the trauma of the current process which means you have to submit the final judgment about your identity to a group of strangers you will never meet with no right to appeal,” https://archive.is/ad1yN

SO FUCKIN’ WHAT, BIG DEAL, THAT’S EXACTLY HOW ANYONE BEING MEDICALLY ASSESSED FOR BENEFITS ARE TREATED BY THE UKGOV. AND IT’S DONE OVER THE PHONE NOW BECAUSE DURING COVID THE UKGOV “REALISED THERE WAS NO NEED TO SEE FOLK PERSONALLY.”

Folks, i don’t see ‘The Amber Tory’ kicking up a stink about that, do you? An issue that hits hundreds of thousands of folk throughout the UK, not just an extreme minority.

And Patrick Harvie might have had a slip-of-the-tongue moment here when he says (HINT: Look for the royal “we” šŸ˜‰ ):

“We must never let up on doubling down on the progress that weā€™ve already won and showing determination for further progress ahead, because every generation will have to fight and refight for our liberation and our equality and for our human rightsā€¦”

We all know Harvie has a penchant for paedophiles but is he also ‘Trans’? Or is he just talking in the LGBQT+ collective?

86. Tinto Chiel

@Confused 2.05: compare and contrast Ardern and Sturgeon with this handy checklist…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86KxpDt7nwU

Wonder why the fragrant Jacinda has cut and run? She’s become just as shrilly creepy as SWMBO herself.

87. Stoker

BTW, Stuart, i didn’t watch the footage because for some time now that skank Sturgeon has the same effect on me as Ruth ‘The Mooth’ Davidson. If truth be told i actually detest Sturgeon more.

Can’t even bring myself to look at a picture of her without my blood-pressure going through the roof. And that’s no exaggeration. I get a good idea of its content though from the btl comments on here.

88. Stoker

Further to a section of my previous comment above at 4:05 pm where i said:

“That Tory who masquerades as a ā€œLiberalā€, Alex Cole-Hamilton says:”

ā€œWe are removing the medicalisation and the trauma of the current process which means you have to submit the final judgment about your identity to a group of strangers you will never meet with no right to appeal,ā€ https://archive.is/ad1yN

“SO FUCKINā€™ WHAT, BIG DEAL, THATā€™S EXACTLY HOW ANYONE BEING MEDICALLY ASSESSED FOR BENEFITS ARE TREATED BY THE UKGOV. AND ITā€™S DONE OVER THE PHONE NOW BECAUSE DURING COVID THE UKGOV ā€œREALISED THERE WAS NO NEED TO SEE FOLK PERSONALLY.”

During that ‘Benefits Assessment’ folk are required to part with the most intimate details. They are expected to part with this very intimate knowledge to someone they don’t know, someone they will never meet and someone who doesn’t have to state what relevant medical qualifications or experience they may, or may not, have.

Folk are required to state this very intimate knowledge to this stranger over a phonecall that can last anywhere from 1 to 3 hours. Or they will have their benefit claim stopped. And at the end of this very intrusive personal ‘third-degree’ the vast majority of claimants are having their benefits either stopped or at the very least they are having a percentage cut from their benefits.

And all during the worst ‘Cost of Living Crisis’ in living memory. A crisis through which Sturgeon returned the powers to the UKGov that would have protected Scotland from these humiliating UKGov benefit assessments.

Sturgeon & Shirley-Ann Somerville were too preoccupied with attending LGBQT+ gatherings to put these powers into practice in Scotland. Somerville has since been given a new brief by her partner in crime Sturgeon.

89. Stoker

Folks, regarding my comment at 4:49 pm, do you think this is what the Tories mean by “levelling up”? Balancing the books by giving folk ‘Cost of Living Payments’ then clandestinely cutting their benefits to take back the money?

Mind you, long term they actually take in far more than they give out. Cost of living payments are one-offs whereas cutting someone’s benefit continues way beyond the point they recoup the cost of living payment.

Snidey! Sleekit! Scum!

90. drookit

o/t Thats another ko-fi payment being taken off. Assume the funds are reaching you ok Rev, & your not actually working for nothing ! ? They are still ‘hiding’ your page.

91. twathater

And just after that mind numbing parcel of regurgitated lies ytube then links you to the competitor for sycophant of the century with PayPal Paul for his rendition of how the tories are putting up the stables of our foodstuffs, NASTY BAD tories who are responsible for ALL the evil in Scotland, with our heroine bravely and unselflessly fighting against the hordes of vile amoral BAD TORIES

Reading the comments below his diatribe he appears to be considered as a hale and hearty fellow that only tells his listeners the TRUTH , OMG we are fucked

92. paul

RE: stoker:

The headline manifesto of the last election was to ‘ease the squeeze’. I even saw it on a coach on colour television.

While I perversely appreciate* the willful,audacious ambiguity of the current figureheads, (leadership is hardly an appropriate term), as they were elected, this vow must have been accepted by the electorate.

However, not a single piece of direct, devolved action has addressed this.

As there is so little policy room within a devolved administration, this was a disingenuous claim.

I can still see a lot of squeezing, precious little easing.

They have chosen to ease the sleaze.

*It’s always fascinating to see chancers in action, seeing their arbitrary victims fate,less so.

93. Confused

Good vid, Tinto; the uniformity of policy is notable, almost like they are all getting orders from somewhere else; but that’s a conspiracy theory, let’s leave it at coincidence.

– some more on Jacinda from a NZ journo

She is fake, more fake than a $10 copy watch bought in the back alleys of Hong Kong. Like all politicians, she has claimed many, many things, about why she entered politics. She professes wanting to end child poverty ā€“ she even made herself the minister in charge of ending child poverty. She also claimed that climate change was her generationā€™s nuclear free moment. On both of those claimed driving forces for her entering politics she has failed massively and comprehensively. All the CHILD POVERTY STATISTICS ARE EITHER MATERIALLY WORSE OR HAVE BARELY BUDGED. HER CLIMATE CHANGE COMMITMENTS ARE A JOKE. She wrecked an industry on a ā€˜Captainā€™s Callā€™ and then presided over the LARGEST IMPORTS OF COAL WE HAVE EVER SEEN, INTO A COUNTRY THAT IS SITTING ON HUGE COAL RESERVES. Every single signature election promise has been an abject failure. She told people she was going to MAKE HOUSES MORE AFFORDABLE ā€“ THEIR COST HAS MORE THAN DOUBLED. She promised to build 100,000 KiwiBuild homes, but it turned out that she couldnā€™t build a house in a room full of Lego. She promised light rail to the airport and has failed to lay even a single centimetre of track. None of those things are evil, but they are all dishonest and show a predilection towards failure after bold promises.

94. Stoker

@ Dan on 20 January 2023 at 5:18 pm

Cheers, Dan!

paul says on 20 January 2023 at 7:04 pm:

“The headline manifesto of the last election was to ā€˜ease the squeezeā€™. I even saw it on a coach on colour television.”

LMAO! Cheers! I needed that!

95. Geri

Stoker

Leveling up in Tory speak means robbing the poor to level up to the rich.

Didn’t Truss & Kwertang say the huge tax cuts they’d given out to multi millionaires were ‘only fair’ because the peasants were getting help with energy bills so it was levelling up in thier own head. Like the two were even remotely compatible!

Then there was Sunak during the Hustings saying he’d reverse Labour spending on poor areas & give it to the rich areas instead because the poor had had a good thing for far too long!

Cole is a knt. An arrogant, attention seeking wanker who intimidated & harassed Michelle Thomson when she was an MP. Letting her know he knew where she lived with her daughter. Leafleting her house for photo ops etc. Creepy barsteward. A staunch vile Unionist. He’s the biggest troll on twitter to stoke a reaction. Mr irrelevant. I’d have loved to see him ejected if Scots had voted for a super majority.

Jacinda

I remember she had a press conference during Covid. She’d a pack of security around her like she was a superstar. She went all Trumpian when asked questions she didn’t like from the press. Conference was immediately aborted, face like fizz as she was ushered away by burly security blokes.
    The press had obviously gone off script & ruined her wee outdoor party.
    She’ll have been captured. There’ll no doubt be a book in 20 yrs or so to tell us the screws were turned on her to abandon everything she stood for..*yawn*

96. Geri

Stoker

I meant to add, don’t forget Sturgeon appointed an ex DWP civil servant as permanent secretary to the Scottish government. John-Paul Marks.

Who played a key role in the diabolical chaos of Universal Credit & PIP.

She seems to have a bottomless pit of Unionists to give a job to.

97. James Robb

I actually met Bill Hicks in Edinburgh in the early 90s, I didnā€™t really know who he was or his significance at the time but my mates band where playing at the venue, and he was there, totally sound guy and he even asked for a demo tape to take back to the states with him.
    RIP Bill Hicks ?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.