A pure coincidence

Posted on July 02, 2013 by

London-born, Los Angeles-resident singer Rod Stewart in today’s Scottish Sun:

“Proud Scotland fan Rod Stewart revealed he’d hate to see the break-up of the Union. Rock idol Rod, 68, hopes Scots will snub independence by rallying behind the ‘No’ push in next year’s referendum.

But the veteran singer fears many young voters could be swayed to say ‘Yes’ because of stirring Mel Gibson blockbuster Braveheart.

Rod, whose dad Robert was from Leith, Edinburgh, said: “I’d hate to see the Union broken after all these years — and I don’t think it will happen.”

(We note with passing interest and without comment the paper’s own description of Rod as a “Scotland fan” rather than a “Scot”, and that a few lines later in the same piece he says “as I don’t live there I shouldn’t comment on independence”. Whoops!)

Hmm, what could have brought that on all of a sudden?

pinkrod2

Rod Stewart shocked at no knighthood

Rod Stewart is surprised hasn’t been invited to receive a knighthood from Britain’s Queen Elizabeth II yet.

The British singer isn’t desperate for the prestigious accolade given out by Queen Elizabeth II. However he is still waiting to be invited to Buckingham Palace to claim a ‘Sir’ title while stars such as Mick Jagger and Tom Jones have.”

(From today’s Belfast Telegraph.)

We’re sure these two things aren’t connected. As you were.

50 to “A pure coincidence”

1. Steve Stew says:

It’s that jaiket again!!!

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“It’s that jaiket again!!!”

As noted in the picture caption 😀

2. Jamie Arriere says:

The Fuschia Jaikit strikes again! [Did you find that photo easily?]
    Don’t worry Rod, you won’t be stopped at the border and asked to remove it….lol

3. Embradon says:

Has Fuscia worn over black been adopted as official better together uniform?

4. Embradon says:

Oops – beaten to it and missed the caption1

5. Yesitis says:

Oh Oh, somebody said Braveheart. LOL

“Oh Oh, somebody said Braveheart. LOL”

Alert readers will have noticed that I’ve retrofitted a “Braveheart klaxon” tag to relevant posts.

6. Seasick Dave says:

Is that a duet with Posh?

7. Murray McCallum says:

Why has Rod got Posh by the neck?

8. Steve Stew says:

Ahh, missed the wee floating caption!

9. Shinty says:

“If it’s good for the Scots then I’m happy” says it all really. Pity he had to mention ‘Braveheart’ all the same.

10. Marker Post says:

Not just the jacket, it’s the black shirt as well!

11. Seasick Dave says:

If Rod kept up on the news then he would know that the Union is broken already.

All together now, “We are sailing…”

12. Jiggsbro says:

Will we think Rod Stewart is sexy in an independent Scotland?

13. Seasick Dave says:

Alert readers will have noticed that I’ve retrofitted a “Braveheart klaxon” tag to relevant posts.

Being a bit glaikit, I haven’t a Scooby what you mean.

14. Well, Jim Murphy’s big Defence blockbuster report seems to have gone off like a damp squib, can’t find reference to it anywhere in the meeja. What a shame never mind. Maybe it’s back at the printers getting the Carry on Screaming stuff removed now that the numpties have realised it’s like firing an RPG-7 out of the window of a mini.

15. Gordon Bain says:

You are not alone Steve, lol.

16. Gordon Bain says:

@ Rev. Ah, I see what you did there.

17. Juteman says:

Can anyone confirm that Jim Murphy is a member of thr right wing Henry Jackson Society think tank?
    As any good socialist should be.

“Can anyone confirm that Jim Murphy is a member of thr right wing Henry Jackson Society think tank?”

Perhaps not a member, but certainly of a mind:

link to google.co.uk

18. Big Jock says:

Rod I don’t think it’s Mel Gibson that will break up the Union. It’s being done on a daily basis with Bitter Together’s campaign of telling Scots they would be a third world country without England.

19. HandandShrimp says:

I don’t have an issue with people like Rod who have an emotional attachment to the place but has never lived here having some regrets that the Union could pass. He has a foot in both camps after all.

He does rightly note that he doesn’t live here and in doing so it would seem he accepts that it is for those of us who do to make this decision. If only a few more would add that caveat. The rest is just passing casual opinion. When independent he can still be a Scotland fan and we will still warm to him for attending the games.  

“He does rightly note that he doesn’t live here and in doing so it would seem he accepts that it is for those of us who do to make this decision.”

Trouble is, by saying it at all he becomes part of the propaganda campaign:

link to twitter.com

20. The Man in the Jar says:

At one time I was a fan of Rod Stewart I have six CDs of his (four as part of the Faces) the latest dated 1974. Nowadays he is in my opinion utter crap with all that “Las Vegas crooning” nonsense. At least Tom Jones has seen the light and is producing some pretty good stuff these days. This has done little to change my opinion of Rod the sell out artist.
    On the subject of has-beens I was shocked at the photos of Mick Jagger and Keith Richards at Glastonbury. Again I was a big fan of “The Stones” Mick is 70 this month (we almost share a birthday although I’m 10 years younger) Time to knock it on the head guys!

21. Iain says:

Roderick is an establishment, directors’ box Celt; foregone conclusion he’d be a Unionist.

22. Tris says:

I see in the “newspaper” article, that the Sun persists with the idea that Billy Connolly and Ewan McGregor have come out against independence, whereas I seem to recall that neither has.

23. M4rkyboy says:

link to parliamentlive.tv
    Anyone else watching?HOC defense committee questioning Keith Brown with Philip Hammond giving evidence afterwards.Keith Brown is quite impressive

24. gedboy says:

if bitter together are needing a theme tune why not the great pretender by sam cooke

25. Seasick Dave says:

M4rkyboy 

Just had a look and Keith Brown is handling the patronising gits very well.

26. Desimond says:

Rod Stewart – anagram of Started Row

27. YES2014 says:

Q: Do I think you’re sexy?
    A: Nope.

Q: Do I think your daft?
    A: Yup.

“Q: Do I think you’re sexy?
      Q: Do I think your daft?”

Admirable base-covering, there 😀

28. Gayle says:

I despair, yet another numpty spouting Braveheart. Do they think that it is mandatory watching or something? Blooming Nora! 

29. Sunshine on Crieff says:

I’m fairly certain that Rod Stewart once advocated that the four national sides in the UK combine to enter just one ‘GB’ team into international football competitions, which, I admit, seems a funny thing for a Scotland ‘fan’ to say.

Does anyone else remember that, or is my memory playing tricks on me?

30. M4rkyboy says:

@Seasick Dave

Doherty the Labour boy is clearly harbouring a grudge of some sort.

31. Luigi says:

A  knighthood, eh Rod?

Would you wear it well? Now there’s a reason to believe in the union, I suppose. The ghost of Maggie May come back to haunt you, or were you only joking, my friend?

32. westie7 says:

And how many times has that Crusty sung at Hampden? 

As Julie Fowlis so rightly added to the end of her rendition… Alba Gu snooker loopy!

33. Stuart Crawford says:

Allegedly he tried to buy up every existing print of The Wicker Man and have them destroyed so that people wouldn’t see Britt Ekland’s tits. The man’s a plamph.

34. Adrian B says:

Nicola Sturgeon answers questions – might be a handy link for someone to show any soft ‘no’ voters

link to bbc.co.uk

35. M4rkyboy says:

Hammond’s talking about partition….

36. Yesitis says:

Warning Daily Record article:
    Seems Rod does want a knighthood after all? Ah, I see…
    link to dailyrecord.co.uk

37. Rick Guthrie says:

http://www.parliamentlive.tv/Main/Player.aspx?meetingId=13487&wfs=true

38. Tattie-boggle says:

Maybe rod should revisit some of his songs
    link to lyricsfreak.com
    the YES Campaign could adopt most of the lyrics
    Young hearts be free tonight.time is on your side,
    Don’t let them put you down, don’t let em push you around,
    Don’t let em ever change your point of view.

39. AnneDon says:

I’d be disinclined to believe the mainstream media’s depiction of any “celebrity’s” view of Scottish independence. They seem to twist what everyone has said to suit their own purposes.

40. Shinty says:

I agree AnneDon – who’s next Lulu perhaps? I have no idea which way she sways, but you can be sure that Scottish celebrities living in London will be trotted out once a month until the referendum

41. K Mackay says:

Shinty, could be wrong but I think Lulu might be on NationalCollective’s list of pro-indy celebs. Too lazy and tired to actually check, sorry. It’s a good read anyway though, worth a look 🙂

42. Chic McGregor says:

Still smarting from his lost investment in the Darien scheme eh?

43. Chic McGregor says:

He just uses that as a prop (except they’ve made that one about 3 feet too long).

44. Chic McGregor says:

He always preferred Brits.
    Thus endeth my boom booms on this thread.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,739 Posts, 1,215,969 Comments

• Willie on March Of The Ferrets: “Whoopsie Doo, would you Adam and Eve it. What an absolute contrast of position these two pieces by this Labour…Apr 17, 18:48
    • MaryB on March Of The Ferrets: “Presumably this ruling means that all the Scottish education teaching and learning materials which discuss sex and gender will now…Apr 17, 18:41
    • vic rodrick on The Day Everything Changed: “One wonders if Stonewall’s ‘contracts’ compelling local and national government bodies to help achieve their aims will survive this change.Apr 17, 18:36
    • Stevie on The Day Everything Changed: “The Feminist junta (the feminista) fought since the end of WWI hat no difference exists between men and women ;…Apr 17, 18:30
    • Sven on March Of The Ferrets: “We know a song about that; “Send in the clowns … Don’t bother they’re here.”Apr 17, 18:27
    • twathater on The Day Everything Changed: “I second that proposal as it would enshrine the VALUES we place on REAL WOMEN and their safety , PLUS…Apr 17, 18:14
    • Mark Beggan on March Of The Ferrets: “Could this spell the beginning of a new Scottish Reformation in the political and civil service world. Like; Play time…Apr 17, 18:13
    • twathater on The Day Everything Changed: “I second that proposalApr 17, 18:10
    • Morgatron on March Of The Ferrets: “The words “Shower of Shit” springs to mind. Next week we will be threatened with the jail if we even…Apr 17, 18:07
    • Geri on The Day Everything Changed: “Yes, big congrats to everyone involved & JK Rowling for bankrolling it. The entire country owes them a drink for…Apr 17, 18:04
    • Geoff Anderson on March Of The Ferrets: “I still think we will need several court cases involving Department Store changing rooms, Gym changing rooms, school toilets etc.…Apr 17, 18:03
    • Onlooker on The Day Everything Changed: “She sounds more like Valerie Solanas (author of SCUM Manifesto – Society For Cutting Up Men) in June 1968, just…Apr 17, 17:59
    • twathater on The Day Everything Changed: “A wis gonnae but naw a canny ********Apr 17, 17:59
    • twathater on March Of The Ferrets: “These despicable LIARS have no integrity or honesty, especially when it is thrown back in their faces We Scots are…Apr 17, 17:53
    • Mark Beggan on March Of The Ferrets: “Will nurse Peggie get an out of court settlement then.Apr 17, 17:49
    • Mark Beggan on The Day Everything Changed: “She sounds like Goebbels in April 45′Apr 17, 17:15
    • George Ferguson on The Day Everything Changed: “Well done Stu a great victory for common sense. And congratulations to the womens campaign groups who deserve all the…Apr 17, 17:04
    • Steve L on The Day Everything Changed: “Great Article. Great Day. Great Scots.Apr 17, 16:59
    • GeoffC on Learning To Cope: “What a lovely bunch of people!Apr 17, 16:46
    • Mark Beggan on The Day Everything Changed: “Let’s make April the 16th International Woman’s Day.Apr 17, 16:41
    • Onlooker on The Day Everything Changed: “Thoroughly enjoyed the bizarre, deranged, indignant, ludicrously melodramatic, outraged tone and tenor of the homegrown yank-cause-copiers. Kelly Given was hilarious…Apr 17, 16:36
    • Mark Beggan on The Day Everything Changed: ““Woman I can hardly express My mixed emotions at my Thoughtlessness After all, I’m forever in your debt,”Apr 17, 16:14
    • Mark Beggan on The Day Everything Changed: “Chapman has declared war on us.Apr 17, 16:09
    • Lorn on Learning To Cope: “Women fought long and hard to get public loo facilities for women and girls only. The first-ever public loo for…Apr 17, 15:45
    • Mark Beggan on The Day Everything Changed: “It’s sad it ever came to this. Grown adults playing God.Apr 17, 15:43
    • Lorn on Learning To Cope: “Don’t think it’s just their voices, PacMan. They ARE dominating and aggressive (from a female point of view). We did…Apr 17, 15:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Learning To Cope: “Naw? You must be one of those rare individuals who can write. But can’t read.Apr 17, 15:30
    • Willie on The Day Everything Changed: “Aye Stuart Campbell you played a big part in all of this. Although they don’t admit it the MSM and…Apr 17, 15:28
    • Hatey McHateface on The Day Everything Changed: ““The Joy Of Sex” Loving it! Right up there with “Gotcha!”.Apr 17, 15:19
    • Hatey McHateface on The Day Everything Changed: “If you’re right about it being retrospective, a few squeaky bums too belonging to the Scots who are going to…Apr 17, 15:17