A pure coincidence

Posted on July 02, 2013 by

London-born, Los Angeles-resident singer Rod Stewart in today’s Scottish Sun:

“Proud Scotland fan Rod Stewart revealed he’d hate to see the break-up of the Union. Rock idol Rod, 68, hopes Scots will snub independence by rallying behind the ‘No’ push in next year’s referendum.

But the veteran singer fears many young voters could be swayed to say ‘Yes’ because of stirring Mel Gibson blockbuster Braveheart.

Rod, whose dad Robert was from Leith, Edinburgh, said: “I’d hate to see the Union broken after all these years — and I don’t think it will happen.”

(We note with passing interest and without comment the paper’s own description of Rod as a “Scotland fan” rather than a “Scot”, and that a few lines later in the same piece he says “as I don’t live there I shouldn’t comment on independence”. Whoops!)

Hmm, what could have brought that on all of a sudden?

pinkrod2

Rod Stewart shocked at no knighthood

Rod Stewart is surprised hasn’t been invited to receive a knighthood from Britain’s Queen Elizabeth II yet.

The British singer isn’t desperate for the prestigious accolade given out by Queen Elizabeth II. However he is still waiting to be invited to Buckingham Palace to claim a ‘Sir’ title while stars such as Mick Jagger and Tom Jones have.”

(From today’s Belfast Telegraph.)

We’re sure these two things aren’t connected. As you were.

50 to “A pure coincidence”

1. Steve Stew

It’s that jaiket again!!!

2. Jamie Arriere

The Fuschia Jaikit strikes again! [Did you find that photo easily?]
    Don’t worry Rod, you won’t be stopped at the border and asked to remove it….lol

3. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“It’s that jaiket again!!!”

As noted in the picture caption 😀

4. Embradon

Has Fuscia worn over black been adopted as official better together uniform?

5. Embradon

Oops – beaten to it and missed the caption1

6. Yesitis

Oh Oh, somebody said Braveheart. LOL

7. Seasick Dave

Is that a duet with Posh?

8. Murray McCallum

Why has Rod got Posh by the neck?

9. Steve Stew

Ahh, missed the wee floating caption!

10. Shinty

“If it’s good for the Scots then I’m happy” says it all really. Pity he had to mention ‘Braveheart’ all the same.

11. Marker Post

Not just the jacket, it’s the black shirt as well!

12. Seasick Dave

If Rod kept up on the news then he would know that the Union is broken already.

All together now, “We are sailing…”

13. Jiggsbro

Will we think Rod Stewart is sexy in an independent Scotland?

14. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Oh Oh, somebody said Braveheart. LOL”

Alert readers will have noticed that I’ve retrofitted a “Braveheart klaxon” tag to relevant posts.

15. Seasick Dave

Alert readers will have noticed that I’ve retrofitted a “Braveheart klaxon” tag to relevant posts.

Being a bit glaikit, I haven’t a Scooby what you mean.

16. Roddy Macdonald

Well, Jim Murphy’s big Defence blockbuster report seems to have gone off like a damp squib, can’t find reference to it anywhere in the meeja. What a shame never mind. Maybe it’s back at the printers getting the Carry on Screaming stuff removed now that the numpties have realised it’s like firing an RPG-7 out of the window of a mini.

17. Gordon Bain

You are not alone Steve, lol.

18. Gordon Bain

@ Rev. Ah, I see what you did there.

19. Juteman

Can anyone confirm that Jim Murphy is a member of thr right wing Henry Jackson Society think tank?
    As any good socialist should be.

20. Big Jock

Rod I don’t think it’s Mel Gibson that will break up the Union. It’s being done on a daily basis with Bitter Together’s campaign of telling Scots they would be a third world country without England.

21. HandandShrimp

I don’t have an issue with people like Rod who have an emotional attachment to the place but has never lived here having some regrets that the Union could pass. He has a foot in both camps after all.

He does rightly note that he doesn’t live here and in doing so it would seem he accepts that it is for those of us who do to make this decision. If only a few more would add that caveat. The rest is just passing casual opinion. When independent he can still be a Scotland fan and we will still warm to him for attending the games.  

22. The Man in the Jar

At one time I was a fan of Rod Stewart I have six CDs of his (four as part of the Faces) the latest dated 1974. Nowadays he is in my opinion utter crap with all that “Las Vegas crooning” nonsense. At least Tom Jones has seen the light and is producing some pretty good stuff these days. This has done little to change my opinion of Rod the sell out artist.
    On the subject of has-beens I was shocked at the photos of Mick Jagger and Keith Richards at Glastonbury. Again I was a big fan of “The Stones” Mick is 70 this month (we almost share a birthday although I’m 10 years younger) Time to knock it on the head guys!

23. Iain

Roderick is an establishment, directors’ box Celt; foregone conclusion he’d be a Unionist.

24. Tris

I see in the “newspaper” article, that the Sun persists with the idea that Billy Connolly and Ewan McGregor have come out against independence, whereas I seem to recall that neither has.

25. M4rkyboy

http://www.parliamentlive.tv/Main/Player.aspx?meetingId=13487
    Anyone else watching?HOC defense committee questioning Keith Brown with Philip Hammond giving evidence afterwards.Keith Brown is quite impressive

26. gedboy

if bitter together are needing a theme tune why not the great pretender by sam cooke

27. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“He does rightly note that he doesn’t live here and in doing so it would seem he accepts that it is for those of us who do to make this decision.”

Trouble is, by saying it at all he becomes part of the propaganda campaign:

https://twitter.com/UK_Together/status/351998054762696704

28. Seasick Dave

M4rkyboy 

Just had a look and Keith Brown is handling the patronising gits very well.

29. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Can anyone confirm that Jim Murphy is a member of thr right wing Henry Jackson Society think tank?”

Perhaps not a member, but certainly of a mind:

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=jim+murphy+henry+jackson+society&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a

30. Desimond

Rod Stewart – anagram of Started Row

31. YES2014

Q: Do I think you’re sexy?
    A: Nope.

Q: Do I think your daft?
    A: Yup.

32. Gayle

I despair, yet another numpty spouting Braveheart. Do they think that it is mandatory watching or something? Blooming Nora! 

33. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Q: Do I think you’re sexy?
    Q: Do I think your daft?”

Admirable base-covering, there 😀

34. Sunshine on Crieff

I’m fairly certain that Rod Stewart once advocated that the four national sides in the UK combine to enter just one ‘GB’ team into international football competitions, which, I admit, seems a funny thing for a Scotland ‘fan’ to say.

Does anyone else remember that, or is my memory playing tricks on me?

35. M4rkyboy

@Seasick Dave

Doherty the Labour boy is clearly harbouring a grudge of some sort.

36. Luigi

A  knighthood, eh Rod?

Would you wear it well? Now there’s a reason to believe in the union, I suppose. The ghost of Maggie May come back to haunt you, or were you only joking, my friend?

37. westie7

And how many times has that Crusty sung at Hampden? 

As Julie Fowlis so rightly added to the end of her rendition… Alba Gu snooker loopy!

38. Stuart Crawford

Allegedly he tried to buy up every existing print of The Wicker Man and have them destroyed so that people wouldn’t see Britt Ekland’s tits. The man’s a plamph.

39. Adrian B

Nicola Sturgeon answers questions – might be a handy link for someone to show any soft ‘no’ voters

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-23126622

40. M4rkyboy

Hammond’s talking about partition….

41. Yesitis

Warning Daily Record article:
    Seems Rod does want a knighthood after all? Ah, I see…
    http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/entertainment/celebrity/rod-stewart-hints-desire-knighthood-2017572

42. Tattie-boggle

Maybe rod should revisit some of his songs
    http://www.lyricsfreak.com/r/rod+stewart/young+turks_20117463.html
    the YES Campaign could adopt most of the lyrics
    Young hearts be free tonight.time is on your side,
    Don’t let them put you down, don’t let em push you around,
    Don’t let em ever change your point of view.

43. AnneDon

I’d be disinclined to believe the mainstream media’s depiction of any “celebrity’s” view of Scottish independence. They seem to twist what everyone has said to suit their own purposes.

44. Shinty

I agree AnneDon – who’s next Lulu perhaps? I have no idea which way she sways, but you can be sure that Scottish celebrities living in London will be trotted out once a month until the referendum

45. K Mackay

Shinty, could be wrong but I think Lulu might be on NationalCollective’s list of pro-indy celebs. Too lazy and tired to actually check, sorry. It’s a good read anyway though, worth a look 🙂

46. Chic McGregor

Still smarting from his lost investment in the Darien scheme eh?

47. Chic McGregor

He just uses that as a prop (except they’ve made that one about 3 feet too long).

48. Chic McGregor

He always preferred Brits.
    Thus endeth my boom booms on this thread.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.