Inability To Learn
Y’know, maybe we were a little harsh on the lads at Holyrood Sources yesterday when we implied that a more direct and aggressive interviewing style might have cut through John Swinney and Kate Forbes’ pathetically feeble waffling evasion on the SNP’s lack of an independence strategy in their recent podcast.
But the closest thing (along with Colin Mackay at STV) that the Scottish media has left to a proper Rottweiler interviewer – Peter Adam Smith of ITV – had a shot at that five years ago and didn’t do any better.
Smith noted that even back in 2019 Nicola Sturgeon had been droning on about how Westminster’s refusal to grant a second indy referendum was “unsustainable” for two years already. But no matter how hard he pressed, Sturgeon just kept on glibly and smugly insisting that they’d concede.
“The UK government strategy is to say no. Do you have a way around it?”
“My strategy is to say yes.” [smirks]
Readers might be forgiven for wondering how long it’s going to take the SNP to accept that that “strategy” is a failure, if seven years and three First Ministers isn’t enough for them to have worked it out. But as long as the pathologically gullible keep voting for them anyway, we suppose they have no reason to.
Coming soon to a bookshop near you:
NICOLA STURGEON: THE COMPLETE FAECALOGRAPHY
It will be in the charity the week after………
Where do faeces go but down the toilet.
Just like the SNP.
NICOLA STURGEON: IS THE COMPLETE FAECALOGRAPHY
Fixed it for ye Oneliner
That’s IS the sum of it & worse, exactly as it will remain until someone or some group can take them on, head on, and force/shame their members to FACE the hard truth. Alternatively the total destruction of the SNP is all that remains!
Many scientists believe Nuclear Cold Fusion is a gigantic fraud. Those scientists pursuing the elusive, Holy Grail secretly know this but as long as the research grants keep coming in, they maintain the illusion and accrue the comfortable lifestyles that the grants support.
Same applies to the SNP. Remove the Westminster, Gravy Train and the cnuts will be motivated to actually deliver change.
re. “Holy Grail secretly know this”
Scotland could be presented with the Holy Grail – in its own hands, personally by God – and it would rather tear itself to pieces, trying to find itself (yawn).
Rchaoui: holygrail(punk): We All Belong:
“Six, stones, don’t weather my bones
My tone grows cold
That harmful truth that you’re never good?enough
As?you try to?hold your tears
We all belong
You’re important
Hearts?beat the same
Words sting but will not stay
You say more?now?than?ever before
But do?you understand
How do?you expect me to not fear when
You’re not in my skin
You’re not in my position”:
link to tinyurl.com
I’ll bet your lungs have had more starting fluid sprayed into them than my old Nova did during its entire twenty years 🙂
She was basically telling anybody with ears to listen that there was no strategy. Just like Swinney/Forbes last week.
When people tell you they have nothing to offer folks really should believe them.
Why keep even mentioning a referendum? It won’t happen again. The UK got a real scare in the run up to the one in 2014. After that, they’d never risk another. The UK knows that and so does the NewSNP.
The key question now, as it has been for years, remains the same – is there an alternative to a UK controlled referendum that the UK can’t block and which would be recognised internationally ? If there is, then maybe it’d be better to focus on that. If there isn’t, then it’s game over.
The future isn’t ours to see. A referendum might seem unlikely in the near future, but who knows how things will change? Even if it’s true that the referendum route is effectively stymied either forever or for decades, then the movement needs to examine alternatives and educate those in favour of independence so they will accept a viable alternative route.
So far it seems to most people that the only plausible alternative likely to produce results in any reasonable timescale is to switch to (or at least threaten) to use plebiscitary elections.
A minority are certainly enamoured of novel, extra-parliamentary routes which they insist will work and be internationally recognised, but there’s very little evidence that they are making any headway.
So, if plebiscitary elections, or the threat of them work then surely it’s a plus? Either we get to concentrate on using that route and ensuring it works, is accepted by the majority and all the pro-indy parties are on board, or the British nationalists realise that they can’t veto referendums sine die and compromise on holding #indyref2.
I don’t see unionists playing ball in the foreseeable future, which is why I’m fully on board with pushing for plebiscitary elections. Sadly the current SNP aren’t listening, so they either have to be destroyed or forced to change from within by their members. Good luck with that!
There’s always the chance that the U.K. will wait for the moment at which the U.K. is perceived to be doing well, and the Scottish government badly, and grant permission for the referendum at that point. Two defeats would kill off independence for a lifetime.
Ian, agree up to the last bit.
If it’s game over (with the HR parish cooncil route) then it’s time for a more direct approach, one that’ll spoil their lordships supper without giving them an excuse to put the army on the streets; civil disobedience..
En masse stop doing what they want us to dutifully do.
Simple.
En masse, meaning the public needs educated, deviant hobby horse policies binned never to reappear, serious answers formed to the same old same old canards trotted out by scaremongering Unionists.
For starters.
As-is just CANT continue like a pool of scum trapped at the edge of a river..
“is there an alternative to a UK controlled referendum that the UK can’t block and which would be recognised internationally ?”
Within the flawed UK political system where the imperial power continues to decide the rules, break its own rules at will, use national broadcasters and allegedly independent MSM as its propaganda mouthpieces, taps on England’s, Wales’ and NI’s taxpayers money to fight against Scotland’s independence, and where our elected MPs and MSPs swear allegiance to a foreign crown, I do not see any. Any referendum under that scenario will bring back the exact same result that we had in 2014.
The only way I see for a viable independence referendum is by moving it completely out of the political sphere. In other words, to completely bypass political parties. What mechanism to use and choosing which entity should call it, is the difficulty. Holyrood is bound by the Scotland Act, so, for as long as MSPs insist in being tied their hands behind the back by that Act, Holyrood cannot call that referendum. Scotland’s MPs have sworn allegiance to a foreign crown, so they will never lift their fat arses for the seat and do anything meaningful like temporarily transfer their own powers to holyrood or, heaven forbid, temporarily reconvene Scotland’s old parliament to legislate for the referendum.
But that Scotland Act does not bind any other entity outwith Holyrood and Westminster, so that is something that could be explored. The problem with that will be compliance and recognition by the own people of Scotland as legitimate. That is what needs to be worked on.
The most critical point, in my view, in such a referendum will be the franchise. For a proper franchise, there has to be a way of allocating some form of citizenship or permanent allegiance to Scotland. What we cannot have is the same nonsense of 2014 where everybody and their dog could vote even if they had been and intended to be in Scotland for the grand total of 5 minutes, were no longer living in Scotland during the referendum or immediately afterwards, or simply had a holiday home in Scotland. The way the vote of the natives was completely undermined was ridiculous and would be deemed as unlawful if the same were attempted towards the native population of any other European country.
The British establishment will never give green light to another referendum unless it they can ensure no will win again. That means having to use a dodgy franchise and flooding Scotland with migrants, force-feeding us propaganda 24/7, suppressing information about Scotland’s wealth and/or rigging the vote. The same tools I am of the opinion were widely used in 2014.
The only way Scotland can have a fair referendum within “UK rules” is if Scotland has been completely stripped of anything that is worth and transformed it into a barren land with no assets and no prospects of growth.
That’s what Nicola should have said.
no apolgies for reposting this link:
link to centreformalepsychology.com
truly, unless the «political class» is measured by significantly higher intellectual criteria, what you see is effectively what you’ll get.
AI, paradoxically, is likely to make things rather worse.
Learn:
“To make yourself remember a piece of writing by reading it or repeating it many times:
I don’t know how actors manage to learn all those lines.”
“To start to understand that you must change the way you behave:
She’ll have to learn that she can’t have everything she wants.”
“To be told facts or information that you did not know:
We were all shocked to learn of his death.”:
link to dictionary.cambridge.org
#R.I.P.Alex
Addison: To the Ends of the Earth: Inability to Breathe:
“It doesn’t hurt to open up your eyes
You’re throwing your life away
I can’t stand to see you do this to yourself
You step towards this lie you call living
I can see you breath, but are you really breathing?
Fight deception
You say you’ll find yourself without him
How can you be so blind?
Wish you would see the light and step away from your old life
How long will it take you for you to realise
You’re moving faster and time is running out
Break free, find his outstretched arms
You’re worth more than what you think you are
You won’t let me help no matter how I try
Your choices are running out but I’m on your side
I can see you suffering, cry help me
I can see you suffering
Untie this knot around my neck, transparent identity
What will it take to make you see that His love is true?…”:
link to tinyurl.com
I wish the Rev Stu would have a word with you. I don’t care whose side you’re on, I’m sick of you filling the comments section with your pointless, irrelevant twaddle. Can you not see that that’s why all your comments get downvoted?
Gregor is the Cameron Brodie “de nos jours”. From memory it took an inordinate amount of time for him to be given the bullet.
Alert readers will recall that his constant spamming of irrelevant links happened at about the same time as the number of people regularly posting declined and along with the nativist moonhowlers contributed to the death of most reasonable discourse BTL.
Would you like to add anything else, Andy ?
How fu**ing dare you slander and belittle those defenseless ones, whom are not here (re. Cameron Brodie, et al) –
Hang your head in Scotland/universal shame, bigoted Andy
Disgusting wannabe bully (powerless coward:)
#CameronBrodieForever
Take the hint and give it a rest, FFS.
Thanks, I’ve taken your hint:
“Something that you say or do that shows what you think or want, usually in a way that is not direct:
He’s dropped several hints to the boss that he’ll quit if he doesn’t get a promotion.”:
#MichaelsRedundancyLooms
I’ve been thinking the same. If only you’d left the bit about “nativist moonhowlers” out.
What’s your tribe, Michael ?
My team is Scotland.
What are you on about now you isobutane-inhaling imbecile? 🙂
Can’t you think for yourself (eyes roll)
No wonder you can’t fly and are doomed.
#FlyingBaby
re. ‘twaddle’
How dare you insult Moria and her family as irrelevant…
link to wingsoverscotland.com
You’re sick, Michael (shame on you)
#AlexSalmondScotlandHero
What on earth are you gibbering about? You’re completely off the planet.
“I’m sick of you filling the comments section with your pointless, irrelevant twaddle.”
CAN YOU READ THE DICTIONARY, Michael:
Gibbering:
“Speaking quickly in a way that cannot be understood, usually when you are very frightened or confused:gibbering idiot:
I stood there like a gibbering idiot.”:
It really is depressing to repeatedlg hear and see the SNP leadership making an arse of themselves in trying to keep up the pretencr that Westminster will be focd to grant IndyRef2. Do we have to go thru that all again?
“Readers might be forgiven for wondering how long it’s going to take the SNP to accept that that “strategy” is a failure”
I think the SNP leadership already knows and accepts that “strategy” is a failure. They have probably known this from day one, and I wonder if that has been the reason as to why they have kept peddling it. Once Mr Salmond stepped down, those who took control of the party never intended to hold another referendum, never mind a plebiscite election, that bit stands to the obvious.
On retrospect, it seems obvious that their only intention has been to keep the yes movement on a leash going nowhere,whilst they assisted the british and USA’s states to accelerate the stripping of Scotland from its assets.
It is a bitter pill to swallow, but the reality is that SNP voters have been taken for complete fools for ten years and have been purposely deceived with a flawed “strategy” that has always been specifically designed to fail.
But we do not need a corrupt, unwilling and infiltrated leadership (or MSPs and MPs for that matter) of what is now a completely useless shell of a party to accept anything. Neither we should expect it or pursue it anymore. Their time has passed. Their chances to do so are long gone. Time to move on.
What we do need is for the remaining people who keeps voting for this deceiving shell of a party to stop voting for them already. And on that department your work has been invaluable and outstanding.
Please, keep exposing their bullshit, Rev. The best medicine for corruption is to throw light on to it and show their bullshit for what it is. You have done a sterling job so far. Please, keep it coming.
I couldn’t agree with you more strongly, Mia. I don’t think the SNP’s failure to pursue independence, and its disregard for what independence supporters actually want, is any accident. Its useless, feeble leadership has been installed and the party has been deliberately wrecked in order to neutralise any threat to the continuing colonial rule of Scotland. If there was any move to guide the SNP back towards the goal of independence, I’ve no doubt that whichever unseen powers are pulling the strings would ensure that those leading such a move would be discredited and eliminated, just as happened to Salmond and Corbyn.
You must have missed my Corbyn witch hunt post, Michael (re. “rrelevant twaddle”:)
Glad you agree with me…
The Learning disability is not solely a Scottish problem. The whole Western politik has some form of dysgraphia arrogantitis.
I think the Counter Culture is just about to get Countersunk.
There is one obvious way to campaign for independence. You say that you are against Starmer’s sneaky attempt to chain us to the economic corpse that the EU is becoming; only independence can keep Scotland out.
You say that you’re against Weird Ed’s pursuit of abolishing the use of oil and gas and that only independence would allow Scotland to exploit the North Sea to the maximum.
And so forth: just stand on your head. It’s what politicians are for. And if people won’t vote for such a re-rationalised SNP then bugger it: stop the game.
Campaigning for Scottish Independence has been an experience on the Escher Stairs.
The latest trope seems to be the “we want the same as Northern Ireland” line, because they know that the UK will simply keep saying no to a new referendum. Pretty sure they’ll keep saying no the the NI “solution” too.
SNP are a complete waste of space and time.
Odious wee nyaff. She’ll do the chat show circuits and the politico shows and the women’s and alphabet soup shows but assuming team Salmond can get their act together, after that, my guess is you’ll never hear from her again. The greatest trick that Sturgeon ever pulled was convincing the world she was pro-Indy. Team Salmond step up and like that… she’s gone.
They enjoy kicking the can down the road. As soon as there’s an election looming, it’s easy for them to push ‘Independence’, because it gets them votes.
Sadly, there have been, and still are, too many people who believe every word of their pish .. and vote for them.
I’m waiting for the ”SNP 1&2” mantra for the Holyrood elections.
Oh God , please no!
Someone has to explain to folk how the voting system with which we are foisted works.
There was an idiot proof guide on youtube at one point but I can’t locate it now.
I have explained it on a couple of indy facebooks and the people it is a reply to come back with unchanged views. I don’t understand how simple arithmetic doesn’t convince them that SNP 1& 2 is a disaster, but so it is.
War Babies: Quarantine Core: Idiot Proof:
“Grade school level PHD
Word of Mouth University
Can’t trace a single solid fact
To any of the bullshit you back
You fools can’t come up with a single thought of your own
You can’t speak to the theories that you’ve been shown
It’s fucking sad how you can’t comprehend the most basic concepts on the block
You’ve no idea how to even tear the seal off the logical things you mock
Idiot proof
It hurts to say it but the reality is you’re too slow to
fully comprehend
Idiot proof
You people and your pea-brained thoughts are
inching us closer to the end…”:
link to tinyurl.com
#Q
Moire Salmond has released a statement to the Press Association. I don’t know if this has been posted already
x.com/fyrishsunset/status/1878445402216714291?s=48&t=2uGfpXYxglIPP9jMDbG3Dw
link to x.com
Thanks Dan. I’m pretty useless at that kind of stuff.
Sorry if I messed up the link. It’s a long time since I did this.
BBC (2025): I’ll use Trump’s Scottish links in tariff talks:
“Swinney told BBC Scotland… Trump wanted the call to “express his enthusiasm for Scotland”.
He also said he was “very warm and positive” about the country where his mother was born in 1912…
The first minister said Trump also spoke of his love for Scotland during their call on 10 December.
Swinney said: “He’s very positive about Scotland, he’s enthused about Scotland, he talked very warmly about his mum’s roots in Lewis.
“He talked about his pride in the business interests that he’s taken forward at Turnberry and at Balmedie in the golf courses.
“So he’s got an affinity and a warmth towards Scotland…
Swinney’s decision to back Harris was described as an “insult” by his company, Trump International, given the Republican’s candidate’s business interests in Scotland.His son, Eric, later described the decision as “nasty”…
Swinney told the Sunday Show: “I think it’s pretty well documented that Alex could be quite brisk with people and sometimes we all witnessed that.
“And sometimes we all had to say look, that’s not on. And that’s the way it was.”
Salmond’s widow, Moira, later said recent comments about her husband had caused the family “great distress”.
In a statement, released to the Press Association, Ms Salmond said:
“Those attacking him must know that the law does not allow us, his family, to protect his reputation from being defamed now that he is gone.
“Attacks by the living on the dead will seem to many as deeply unfair.
“My wish, and sincere hope, is that these attacks will now stop.”:
link to archive.ph
Michael Laing hates you, Moira/Salmond family
re. “irrelevant twaddle” “I don’t care”
Andy Ellis loves attacking, slandering and belittling those who are not present:
Joanna Cherry KC
@joannaccherry:
“Moira didn’t “attack” Nicola Sturgeon, she simply asked her to refrain from her repeated attacks on Alex Salmond which are causing a great deal of pain to Moira as his widow and to his wider family and friends. Dead men can’t defend themselves.”
link to x.com
How many Gregors are there.
I mean I’m not complaining your comments make me look like an Academic
Not that I don’t dislike complaing
I hold an academic (multidisciplinary), Edinburgh university honours degree (2:1) in social/environmental science (sustainable environmental management:) –
What are your academic credentials, intellectual Titan Mark…
I only require myself (everything) to demolish your integrity, at will –
That’s why I love it when you wannabe bullies/supremacists/bigots/useful idiots attack and attempt to belittle people – especially in groups/gangs, etc.
Anything else you wanna know ?
Do you wear women’s clothes?
If you do then I know a guy who does a good line in Miu Miu, everything for forty quid.
You’re a sick sexual deviant, Mark
What’s your deep interest with males in women’s clothes, Mark ??
Have you got a Tranny fetish (jeez)
#MarksTrannyUtopia
You haven’t answered the question.
Yes, occasionally I wore tights to primary school, when it was baltic (my mother loves me:) –
A pair of my ‘discounted’ gardening work trousers turned out to be the female version, but I wore them anyway, for months (bit tight round the sack:) – Nothing stops me from serving my local community…
That wasn’t difficult was it.
Garden dress for discerning Ladies. Leave that one with me
Are you a big girl or a petal petite?
Chafing can be a problem.
I’m a 5.6ft male giant (understatement:)
I strive to answer questions, Mark –
Whereas forum participants here struggle to answer my basic fundamental Scotland questions – it turns its snout up at empowerment and unleashes its bile towards me –
Because it cannot handle reality/looking at itself (no wonder:)
I’m glad because if you said that you were a size 8. It’s a known fact that size 8 women don’t do gardening.
It’s a trick question you see. Catch out the fakes.
I love Scotland and its people:
Snivelling wretches, Michael Laing and Andy Ellis (et al) are so weak and pathetic, that they are unable to publicly express their love and appreciation for Scotland/its people (isn’t that right ?:)
Feel free to down-vote if you hate Scotland and are a national/world abomination (forever-loser:)
#SalmondFamilyForever #ScotlandLoveForever
Far out there man.
Evidently, Mark doesn’t hold much (any ?) empathy/love for Scotland –
What a hapless miserable git.
#AcidMark
The truth/reality hurts, huh –
That’s why you (et al) are not capable of protecting, nor qualified to lead Scotland –
And will always be a delusional empty vessel.
Sorry Gregor I would love to chat but I’ve been polishing my boots. I’ve signed up for the Right Wing Marching and Rioting Lessons Hope they don’t notice my disability.
Do you think I should wear black ?
I think you should learn how to think/choose/do as an adult human re. be yourself (not look to others’, to provide/issue you with living instructions – like a perpetual dummy-tit:) –
Or you’ll never be an independent/successful human.
#MarksDownwardDepression
Gregor would you tell Gregor to answer the question.
‘YOU LOT’ can’t even agree to safeguard children:
#ChildAbuseMonsters
Just added a to do on my bucket list.
Dance on Sturgeons grave. If and when possible.
I wouldn’t wast the environment to travel on transport to do it, she best forgotten about for good.
Too late! It’s on the bucket list. You don’t mees around with bucket lists if you know what I mean. The way will be shown.
18 years of being in government in Scotland and the best he can come up with is “What we’ve got to develop is the whole discussion about what a process looks like.”
What a load of absolute twaddle – he has no idea how to lead a party and never has had.
I’m surprised we’ve got to see Swinney he’s never been out the Union Crack arse since his master walked into number 10.
The SNP is a party that is neo-liberal on economic issues and progressive on social ones. The demographic that supports them, middle-class, lefties in spirit, is also the demographic that benefits the most from the union. Any talk of severing the connection with London and possibly losing those upwardly mobile opportunities south of the border will send their voters into a panic. That’s why there will never be any talk of cutting off the career paths of Blair and Elspeth. Much better to talk about Net-Zero, being inclusive (because Scots are a minority too) and tell the darlings down south that the incomers from the north are exactly like them.
Lets be fucking honest the SNP is at its best and the rotten lot of them from the leadership to its idiots of a membership isn’t going to improve any day soon. What we have is a party that’s full of rotten smelly air and I would have found it hard to sit in a room with Sturgeon in 2019 to impossible now.
If anyone had said to me on 18.09.2014 you’ll end up heating the SNP more than you do the Tory party my reply would have been don’t talk daft where do you get that from, now we know.
The SNP is the rotten stench in the room and me personally I can’t bare to listen or be in their company.
Out of curiosity, I thought I’d check out the latest Scottish opinion polls. According to the useful resources published by this site, the SNP enjoys a SIXTEEN PERCENT lead over their nearest opponent (Labour on c.19%). Not a mere outlier, that’s the last two polls listed, with a very clear direction of travel.
Off-the-scale insane – on at least two counts, firstly that the SNP has such a commanding lead (or is in the lead at all) and secondly, Labour is their closest competitor despite, well, pretty much everything.
For years, anything wearing a red rosette was all that’s needed, and latterly (for a long time) a yellow rosette will suffice. Depressing.
CC
See recent discussions (for and against) independent candidates as opposed to party drone candidates..
Things have to change..
link to sundaypost.com
If true – is it even legal to do that?
The plan was to introduce policies so toxic and unpopular that the U.K. government was forced to step in, thereby increasing support for the Union.
Agree with you on this one.
Exactly. The UK Establishment got a nasty shock in 2014 they are not going to go there again if they can help it. We are a cash cow for the UK treasury which is why they will not let us go unless something forces them to.
A Scottish election will only do that if it’s status as a plebiscite is indicated long in advance and our international partners who might recognise it be well primed.
Sturgeon with each election said they were not plebiscites each time she presided over them. Went out of her way to say that each and every time.
And not to mention that no British PM wants to go down in history like Lord North in having lost Scotland.
rachel reeves is some dumb b1tch there on a diversity hire who claimed her O grade arithmetic made her top economist at tesco
– so she’s fucked over the public, but it was not enough, so now prepare for a double fucking worse than the last – she is going after the disabled now, presumably since they can’t fight back
link to archive.ph
despicable.
I wonder how many “labour politicians” actually know the history of the struggle against the city, or tried to learn any lessons. Wilson was the last guy who managed any pushback, and he almost got coup-de-tatted.
She should read up on game theory, with a wider reading of economics.
Here is how you calm down the city – you make credible threats, e.g.
– “oh my … it seems 2/3 of the world’s tax havens are in UK jurisdiction with an estimated 20T in untaxed assets … to fight climate change and net zero and save the polar bear … we need to shut them down overnight … ”
– “I think bonuses should be taxed … to pay for net zero … and the war in the east … and I am sure the banking community will be more than willing to take one for the team”
– SFO expanded, with 10 times original budget
– a tobin tax
– a whole raft of taxes aimed at high consumers
– create a RICO act for bankers, so e.g. if a payment between terrorist organisations goes through your banking network, then that is terrorism, and the bank CEO is part of a common enterprise
and then you watch the blood drain from their faces. Then they behave.
The fortunes of SNP after 2014 the credit belongs to Salmond and the mess its in now well that belongs to Sturgeon and Sturgeon alone. The UK has a political party crisis to which there isn’t a single party anyone wants to vote for including the SNP. So I have no idea why Swinney believes he’s turn the party’s misfortunes around, well if this moron of a sorry excuse for a man believes stopping the rot from getting any worse from within the SNP Is Progress for Scotland or the SNP I’m afraid Swinney is going to get a big surprise in 2026.
I really don’t know whats worse the idea Swinney is going to stay in politics until 2031 or the idea the SNP is going to still be in existence, please tell me I’m watching hammer house of horrors.
At this very moment I can hear my heart thudding in my chest at the very thought of Swinney remaining on TV with Forbes sniffing from behind like hoping to please her master so she doesn’t full out of favor, How the mighty have fallen from grace.
“Inability To Learn“….
In a colonial society this phenomenon or inability and/or unwillingness of the native to critically analyse reality, is closely related to the well established colonial mindset theory. Although you are not quite there, you do appear to be getting ever closer to appreciating our colonial reality, Rev, which is of course a function of colonialism. In other words if colonialism did not exist then neither would a colonial mindset.
An independent Scotland could be one of the wealthiest nations in the world yet those natives suffering from a colonial mindset (i.e. involving high levels of ‘Appropriated Racial Oppression’ or ‘Cringe’) may still vote against their own liberation, as we know to our cost:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Colonialism ‘is based on Psychology’ (Cesaire) and independence is decolonization (UN). Join the dots folks.
never forget
link to archive.ph
never forgive
never again
Interesting article, although rather ignorant of the history and significance of the Scots language which was the language of the Scottish parliament and court, and is arguably what gives us our national consciousness today, or the Irish origins of Gaelic:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Thank you for that link, Confused, it is fascinating and appalling.
There has been something strange about travelling up the A9, it has given me a disturbing feeling which brought to mind the US cavalry maurading and massacring across ‘America’ and driving the native people into reservations. The key is those forts, visible from the A9, they could rightfully be demolished.
British imperialism and colonialism is always shown as worse, the more is learned. The sickening fact is that analogous examples are being perpetrated, now. There are those who have steadfastly refused to acknowledge this as it is happening around the coast of the eastern Mediterranean and in the largest country of eastern europe and further afield in asia.
The Romanov dynasty and its successor created another disgusting empire and the current successor is nowdays conscripting people from its peripheral regions as ‘cannon fodder’ in an attempt to re-establish control of former territorial ‘possessions’ in eastern europe. ‘Two birds with one stone’ where peripheral natives are being wiped out in the “special military operation” to suppress independence in eastern europe, heavy casualties for everyone except Muscovites.
Could the British have done it better?
There appear to be some WoS contributors who purport to support independence for Scotland but who fail to acknowledge the rights to independence for others. That failure really does call into question their commitment to challenging the Westminster regime.
Around the eastern Med. the policy of destroying homes and food production, the theft of land and massacring of a native population is shown even by the BBC. The clearly evident nationalist struggle (at least post 1948) by that native population is effectively denied by at least one WoS commenter and in this case, also, it is not possible to take their statements seriously.
Whilst a broadly based movement for independence cannot make demands for political uniformity, it is crucial that the principles of self determination are clearly understood and there is not much scope for compromise on that. Alf B might be offering something useful, unpopular as it appears to be with some.
Where national self determination is involved, outright denial of the aspirations of others is a disasterous position to adopt, especially if UN or plebicitory processes could be involved. People tend to spot double standards and self contradiction, it is what we should expect of the imperialist mentality. Farage and co. (disguised imperialists) are winning votes in Scotland whereas Scots nationalists would be well served to be winning votes in England.
To be sure, someone else will already have suggested all this but I cannot remember where.
caption competition time
Y’know, the thing about Sturgeon, she’s got lifeless eyes, black eyes, like a doll’s eyes. When she comes up to ya, she doesn’t seem to be livin’ until she smiles at ya, and those black eyes roll over white, and then – aww, then you hear that terrible high-pitch screamin’.
Soulless
Craving for the limelight
Good choice, Confused –
Something to brighten up miserable Scotland…
Psycho. Not you Gregor!
zerO One: pSy?-?fI: reAlity:
link to tinyurl.com
#everything
Seriously, you’re making this place unusable by flooding it with your methylated madness. Why do you think that you keep getting downvoted into oblivion? 🙄
Fingers up each others b@ms..
Roddy Dunlop called it. Past the point of basic human rights. Either charge Peter Murrell and Nicola Sturgeon or don’t. COPFS have got this wrong. A minor fraud case taking so long is unsustainable. The Chief Constable gave my sister a gold award for 40 years service and also promised months ago a resolution to this case. What will it take for justice either way? Does she expect loyal service indefinitely?.