1. 20 06 14 13:14

When you get there | Scottish Independence News

103 to “When you get there”

1. CameronB Brodie

Awesome. I’ve been contacting as many foreign journalists I know or think my be interested in indyref. No takers yet. I reckon they are feart of the minefield created by the HMG Better Together “Project Fear” monster.

2. Nana Smith

Wonderful. Just say YES

3. sydthesnake

LUV you too Wales

WE MUST TAKE THE LEAP YES YES YES (Meg Ryan does this so much better than me)

4. eezy

Superb….

5. MajorBloodnok

YES! Let’s do it for Wales, as well as Scotland!

6. Maggie Craig

Could we get Meg Ryan on board? Wonderful Wales. I loved that “Keep a place by your side for us” too!

7. Richy Duncan

Thank you the people of Wales ..

YES YES YES

8. Ronnie

Great, brought a tear to the eye!

Reminded me of my party-piece after living on Anglesey for three years –

“I belong to Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch,

dear old…”

Thanks, Wales!

9. heedtracker

Rise up Wales and be a nation. How many more of these guys have you got?!

https://www.facebook.com/Bale

10. JGedd

Really moved by that. Thank you, Wales!

11. Marcia

Diolch Cymru

12. Gaavster

Just what the good doctor ordered…

Thank you Wales

And Cornwall

And Catalonia…

13. Mary Bruce

How wonderful, thank you Wales!

14. Elaine Colliar

Toddles off to make up the spare beds for all her Welsh friends.

That was fabulous … Thank you so much Wales.

Now THAT is positive campaigning!

15. Dan Huil

Wales, God bless you. You will not be forgotten.

16. Les Wilson

There is no doubt, Scotland would be an inspiration to many others. However, what I see is an invigorated Country, that will be noticed for our contributions to mankind.

Our heritage and culture will burst free from chains and will unleash a wave of improvements across our land, and that is just the beginning.

We have a great future to look forward too, there will always be some problems, but very many others have done the same thing and never looked back. We will be the same. Have faith and be strong, for we will, with the exit of the cringe, succeed.

17. msean

Thank you, Wales.

18. Suzanne

YES!

19. Clootie

That was unexpected and moving.

I hope one day as an independent Scotland we can welcome those who wish to move from Wales to help build a fairer nation.

20. Luigi

Och I’m choking up.

How can we possibly let those people down?

21. yerkitbreeks

The video is clearly a bottom up affair – gels with the YES campaign here nicely.

22. Chic McGregor

Diolch yn fawr iawn Cymru.

23. mary vasey

Yes watched it on th and definately has tingle factor. THANK YOU WALES

24. galamcennalath

Gwych! Alban yn gyntaf, Cymru nesaf.

(Courtesy of Google translation!)

25. Andy-B

I had wee lump in my throat watching that, I didn’t realise that we had so many supporters of Scottish independence in Wales. Thank you for your encouragement and support, its wonderful to know that you care, hopefully one day Wales will follow Scotland down the same road and become independent.

Also the good people of Catalonia, thank you as well for your support, we will be thinking of you on September the 18th, and your struggle for independence,later in the year.

26. mary vasey

Sorry that should be fb flipping auto correct

27. aldo_macb

Tapadh leibh A’ Chuimrigh. Sgoineil. Thanks Wales, fantastic. Here’s the link for the fundraiser for the Gaelic group for Yes = Yes Alba. https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/maoineachadh-yes-alba-campaign-fund

28. Bob Sinclair

O/T but STV have made what I would call a rash decision to name the Scotland fan who was at the Uruguay England game with his Saltire, all but giving his address. Given the abuse he has been getting on Twitter with threats of violence to him and his family this is what I would consider very irresponsible journalism.

29. Jim Bo

Super vid that brought a wee tear to my eye. Thanks Wales, hope you can join us!

30. Stoops

I’m greetin’ now. Great film. We MUST do this! Any chance we can get this clip on the telly or on a cinema screen?

31. yerkitbreeks

And for comparison, the ultimate self-loathing Scot :

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jun/20/50-people-screwed-up-scotland-allan-brown-review

32. Illy

“I didn’t realise that we had so many supporters of Scottish independence in Wales”

You wouldn’t know it watching the telly, but Scotland has *MASSIVE* support around the world. Seriously, we’re a celebrity amoung nations.

33. Hotrod Cadets

Just fantastic. Yet another reason for Yes.

34. Macart

Just watched this over on WGD and damn near burst into tears.

Huge smile on a cynical old grump’s kisser right now. 🙂

35. Iain

After the horror show of the past few weeks put on by Better Together No Thanks, this wee clip is a breath of fresh air. Folk from all walks of life hoping and wishing for us to become a true and progressive democracy. Thanks to all the people who took the time to contribute to the video. You’ve cheered me up no end.

36. faolie

Och, wasn’t that just fine? I’d never thought before of a Yes vote paving the way for a possible future referendum in Wales, but now…

Wouldn’t that just be the icing on the cake? The independent republic of Wales.

37. torquil houghmagandy ffflufington smythe

OT.
    SALMOND SINKS “OUR BOYS”
    Is there to be no end to the machinations of this woul-be tinpot dictator, not content with flying the Saltire in the hallowed precicts of Wimbledon he, it would appear, has prevailed on hundreds of thousands of Uruguayan supporters to do likewise at yesterdays match thus plunging this proud nation into another defeat by a team not fit to lace the boots of “our heroes”
    When we defeat the separists revenge will be sweet, all the better for being served cold.

38. manandboy

Superb! Absolutely brilliant. Yes to the Celtic Nations !

( These are the same kind of people the TV and Press in
    Scotland describe as vile, nasty cybernats.)

39. John H.

Very, very moving.

40. desimond

Whats Welsh for Cybernat?

41. galamcennalath

I now can’t tell the difference between satire and genuine Unionist sales pitch 😉

42. Jamie Arriere

Thank you, thank you my beautiful fellow Celtic friends.

There’ll be a dram waiting.

43. Helena Brown

Torquil houghmagandy ffflufington smythe says:

Not at all, in supporting your team we inadvertently gave you some of our footballing luck. Well what can I say, maybe we would be better not supporting you.

44. Stoops

torquil houghmagandy ffflufington smythe says:
    SALMOND SINKS “OUR BOYS”

Where did you read this?

45. manandboy

Vote No and step into a rowing boat without oars to be carried wherever the treacherous currents of the City of London take you

or

Vote yes and step into a boat with oars AND sails AND an engine ! Total control, lots of power of different kinds,
    and complete freedom to go where you want to go.

Vote YES

It really is a ‘no brainer’

And Yes to Wales. God speed.

46. Weedeochandorris

Thank you Wales! That was brilliant 🙂 Alba gu snooker loopy! Cymru am Byth!

47. Anne

Excellent, and so much more convincing and heartfelt than Better Together’s (thanks but no thanks) pantomimes

48. Sinky

The referendum could be won or lost on the economic argument. Therefore support needed for Business For Scotland’s video project.

They are going to create a series of videos setting out the economic arguments for independence as part of our contribution – clear and concise messages about improving national prosperity for Scotland. They will contact more than quarter of a million business people in Scotland and sell the case for independence.

http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/independence-in-a-word/

49. Mealer

Thanks

50. R whittington

Sorry if this is off topic. But do any of you know anything about apple trees or orchards? Basically I have a small, slow growing apple tree and the leaves on the new growth seem to be curling up. On closer inspection these leaves are infested with a number of aphids (apple rose aphids?). I’ve been told that by the time the aphids have been detected there is basically no point in trying to get rid of them and that the best course of action is to treat the tree in the winter months so that a minimul of eggs hatch the following year. Is this true and if so what should I treat it with? Is there any danger of the tree dying? I’m not really fussed about the fruit but the tree itself is a nice addition to the garden and it would be a shame to lose it. Any advice you can give would be much appreciated.

51. heraldnomore

They do a brilliant display of flags on the beach at Aberystwyth – all the recently and should be and could be indy nations.

And we’re heading back to Wales in three weeks time; warm welcome expected.

52. TheItalianJob

Totally emotional. Pity we couldn’t spam this onto the BBC interrupting BBC Scotland news.

Thanks Wales for your support

And all we need to do is tick a box to get it all.

53. Alan McHarg

Thank you all for your support…love from bonnie, and soon to be an independent, Scotland.

54. Muscleguy

@Manandboy
    I’m sure independent New Zealand will be happy to provide a water jet engine to add to the mix. James Watt gave the world a practical steam engine, Bill Hamilton gave the world a practical water jet.

If you ever get downunder or to the right part of the States try and catch some jetsprint racing. In water half a meter deep and in little boats that can turn on a sixpence at speed (with the spray fan to make it look good).

55. Flower of Scotland

We are so used to being threatened that this made me weep!

I reckon this should be shown in Cinemas. Not much chance but thank you Wales. It was inspiring!

56. Xaracen

Wow, thoroughly enjoyed that!

In fact, I think I’ll away and enjoy it again.

57. torquil houghmagandy ffflufington smythe

lie down in a shady spot and keep taking the tablets.

58. Kirsty

Och, that was just lovely! I wish they’d put this on the TV just for a nice change from all the usual threats about us, essentially, getting knee-capped if we vote Yes. Thanks for uploading it, Rev and thank you to all the people who contributed to the video. Mon the Wales!

59. Benny Ghael

I’ve been lurking on the site for weeks now but just felt compelled to comment on this great video. I keep hearing that most folks will make a ‘heart’ decision. I’m more Mr Spock in my analysis but for those that are Captain Kirk this will surely pluck the heart strings. Great video. Thanks.

60. patronsaintofcats

@Ronnie – my party trick as well. Helluva time trying to explain that quadruple ‘l’ to people!

This brought a tear to my eye. Wales is watching, I’ve been telling people in my Welsh language circle back in the US this is coming to Wales in the future, maybe sooner rather than later. My hubby is Conish and even they are waking up to the possibilities, and it’s down to the indyref.

We simply must vote Yes for ourselves and our Celtic cousins.

61. Derek M

Thank you Wales,you guys can do it as well we would be right behind you, all you have to do is show your people the lies they are being told.
    Independence for Wales

62. Bill Faser

This is great. Everyone should ‘Like’ it on You Tube rather than just use the link from here. That way it gets a bigger audience

63. thoughtsofascot

@CameronB

Try journalists at Newspapers in Asia. The Global Times in China absolutely loves it whenever it gets the opportunity to stick the boot into the UK. They might be interested in more ammunition, off the back of the recent piece they did.

The Japan Times currently has someone following the debate on its website

The South Korean Newspapers don’t have anything on the debate at the moment, but I’m not sure if they are even aware of it yet.

Same probably goes for Singapore, the Philippines etc

64. mogabee

You know sometimes all the nasty stuff gets too much and you wonder if you can continue…

And then these wonderful folk give you such a lift. Thanks to everyone who put their heart into that video, so so appreciated. 🙂

65. Carol Jardine

Like Benny Ghael I’ve been lurking for a while now. It was so good to hear the warmth,and hope of other peoples.
    Thanks Rev for all that you do.
    ceejtoo

66. Capella

Fantastic to get this support from Wales. Truly inspiring. Of course, the possibility of being a beacon to the other British nations and Catalonia is exactly why Westminster is so fiercely opposed to Scottish Independence. Let’s do it for all of us!

67. Robert Peffers

There’s a hoary old, hard nosed, Scottish Nationalist sitting here at his computer with tears dripping off his chin.

68. NODROG

What a great feeling to know you have such friends. Thank you Wales, Cornwall and Catalonia – we will not let you down.

69. David G.

Thanks for posting that link, Stu .. a real tonic for the troops. Huge thanks to all our Welsh, Catalunyan and Cornish friends for their faith in us, bless you all.

For our freedom and yours … vote YES.

70. Xaracen

Hmmm, when the young chap rendered his double thumbs-up, he forgot to cross his forearms over to represent the Saltire. I was recently told this is now the done thing in certain circles in Dundee! 😀

71. Truth

Thank you Wales.

I hope I am offering words of encouragement for your own independence referendum in the not too distant future.

72. CameronB Brodie

Benny Ghael
    So are we as mad, bad and dangerous as you may have been encouraged to believe? 🙂

73. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Robert Peffers – Pass the tissues please.

74. ticktock

An absolutely fantastic world class vid which needs to be circulated widely throughout Scotland between now and mid September.

It clearly has the potential to swing countless thousands of undecideds to Yes.

Can you bear to imagine what these people will think of us if it’s a no?

We MUST win this.

We HAVE to win this.

Or we’re toast.

75. Helpmaboab

I’ve just returned home, weary and downtrodden, from a week of work to find this. Bliss! It’s put a spring in my step for the weekend and I’ll return to it whenever my Yes batteries need recharging.

Is there any doubt remaining that the good guys of EVERY nation are on our side?

76. Dick Gaughan

Out of the torrent of abuse, smears, lies and spin comes this wee gem of a video. Lump in the throat time.

There is more than just us at stake here. We HAVE to win this. And we can. And we will. Damn the naysayers.

77. Thepnr

Just watched this and Yes I did greet. All we need now is one from England, there are plenty there too who support us.

78. Ariel Killick

Diolch yn fawr iawn Cymru! If seeing the proud and near-equal inclusion of Welsh by so many of the participants in this video moved you as well, please support the Gaelic Yes Scotland group Yes Alba in their indiegogo campaign to help a group of young Gaelic speaking independence supporters make sure our language is a proud and public part of the independence campaign too: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/maoineachadh-yes-alba-campaign-fund

Mòran taing & many thanks!

79. Ron Burgundy

I am crying looking at this. Feel so humble that there are so many folk in Wales wishing us well. God bless them
    Touching to to see the contributions from Catalonia and Cornwall too. Need to stop now.

80. Scottishdragon

As a Welsh woman living in Scotland, and having been feeling a bit down with the seemingly relentless attacks on Yes – this made my heart sing. We can do this. We must do this.

Really enjoy reading the articles and comments on here – diolch!

81. X_Sticks

Big thanks to the peoples of Wales, Cornwall and Catalonia for that.

How refreshing to see smiles and hear words of encouragement from elsewhere.

82. Votadini Jeannie

Tears welling here too. I’d love to see the UK returned to to its constituent nations again, including Cornwall.

YES to all nations who want their country back (although oddly, my Catalonian friend isn’t bothered about independence for her country any more, saying she knows in her heart what she is, nad that enough for her).

83. AyeAlba

Thank you Wales. Beautiful country, beautiful people. You made me cry.

84. stonefaction

Love it. Thank you Wales.

85. iain taylor (not that one)

Thanks. A wee tear in my eye too.

As I was going thru’ passport control at Munich Airport last week for my flight to Embra, the police officer was asking Scottish passengers “Yes or No”.

He wasn’t daft enough to comment on the answers, of course.

Went round Holyrood today with a bunch of Bavarians. Very interested in what’s going on.

86. Paula Rose

I’m voting Yes for all of the people who live in that bunch of islands to the west of the european mainland.

87. Rock

Illy,

“You wouldn’t know it watching the telly, but Scotland has *MASSIVE* support around the world. Seriously, we’re a celebrity amoung nations.”

Yes, Scotland and the Scots are well known and well liked throughout the world.

88. Stitchintime

Not sure if posting correctly need help.

89. Patrician

you should be seeing some YES and wings badges and stickers in Wales soon. My sister went back to Cardiff with a handful of Yes badges to hand out to her friends and she got a wings badge and some stickers to use.

90. TJenny

Stitchintime – New poster? A very warm welcome to you and other newcomers to WOS

Anyway your post got through. If it doesn’t it’s probably owing to the huge amount of incoming spam and the ongoing DOS attacks this site attracts, but please persevere, your comment will get through – unless it’s very, very rude. 🙂

91. Horseboy

Thank you Wales.
    Scotland needs you.
    Friends forever.

92. Croompenstein

That was brilliant I hope and pray we don’t let you all down

93. CanWeHAveOurDemocracyBack?

WONDERFUL! That really brought a smile to my face, (and a tear to my eye) Thank you Wales, Catalonia and Cornwall

You made me realise that all that the NO’s have on their side are lies, smears, bitterness, self interest and hatred, while WE have Love, Hope, Optimism, Justice and Truth.

94. Tam Jardine

This is the first time in the referendum campaign this grown man has found himself greetin like a bairn. Thank you Wales and Cornwall and Catalonia.

I am blown away by the support and the positivity. We won’t let you down, I am sure of it.

Whoever has put this thegither: this Scotsman salutes you. The Yes campaign have a PPB that’s good to go! I canny imagine a better one.

95. Aidan

Tears on my cheeks and a few sobs watching this beautiful video. Thank you to everyone involved.

96. Ian Brotherhood

Having read some of the comments, I had a vague notion what might be involved here, so I waited until I had a few in me before watching it.

It’s good to have a wee greet now and then, let it out…

Unfortunately, I did not calibrate things correctly, and am now covered in me own snotters.

Cheers to all our friends in Wales, Cornwall, and Catalonia – we’re nearly over the line, and will be there for you always, no matter what happens.

97. CameronB Brodie

As a lot of us appear to have been similarly affected. 😉

Ruddy Thomas – Dry Up Your Tears
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYF6KX78Uu4&list=RDvYF6KX78Uu4#t=217

98. Tam Jardine

CameronB & Ian Brotherhood

Aye – for the full bhuna emotional ringer try watching this then Ring of Bright Water or On Golden Pond.

Then mibbe WallE 🙂

99. Scarlett

Ok, now I’m crying. But in a good way.

100. Paula Rose

@ Dick Witteringon – gardening tips on Off-topic, this thread is not the place. (yesterday 1:57 pm)

101. John Mitchell

Thank you Wales and Catalonia and Cornwall! I was in the Millennium this year and as usual your anthem brought tears to my eyes (that was before the result!). This film did the same. I hope we can win and justify your faith in us. And whenever you need us we’ll be right there.

102. Bob the builder

The Romans approached the Celtic peoples with recorded trepidation, whereas Westminster has done so with disregard and contempt. As brutal as the former Empire was, it nonetheless understood,respected and admired the Celtic peoples for their grit, determination and cultural tenacity. Westminster, as a relatively modern construct however, has clearly learned nothing from history and consequently tried to suppress, control and systematically dilute the Celtic sense of self and heritage much in the same way as it has successfully done so with we poor hapless English souls.
    You Celts are made of different stuff, however, so don’t let this sad, subjugated and feckless Englishman down…retain your unique identities and push for systematic independence for all it’s worth!

103. Paula Rose

Us English-born supporters of Scottish Independence who live in Scotland aren’t quite sure what point you are making Bob love.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.