The cost of majesty

Posted on August 03, 2015 by

We’ve received a reply to the Freedom Of Information request we submitted to NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde a few weeks ago with regard to the cost of renaming the new Southern General Hospital in Glasgow. The total cost of the renaming, the bulk of which was accounted for by the ceremony and three free-standing commemorative plaques, has been given as £100,486.

NHSGGC’s full statement can be read here.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 04 08 15 10:44

The cost of majesty | Speymouth

2. 11 09 15 20:45

Glasgow versus the Queen | revoltingsubject

185 to “The cost of majesty”

1. Tony Little

Jeez. I’ve been to the pub so apologies, but this is fucking ridiculous!

2. heedtracker

Purr purr.

3. Croompenstein

Just another unionist trolling of Scotland. Bought and paid for by the people of Scotland with not one thin dime provided by the ‘broad shoulders’. Makes me so sick I’ll probably end up in it..

4. Croompenstein

Sieg Heil, Sieg Heil

5. Mae Carson

Republic NOW!

6. Jon D

Excuse my ignorance…

But who is responsible for agreeing to and signing off this invoice?

Above all, that is what is relevant and what we need to know here…

7. Hughonabike

A grand beano for Queeny and Co and a celebratory lunch and dinner for all in-patients was provided and all done and dusted for 150gs. Must have been quite a sight to see from the food bank line.

8. Laura Vivanco

Why could they not just have called it “Glasgow University Hospital”?

9. Edward

Utterly disgraceful waste of money, when NHS budgets all over are tight
    By the looks of their so called reasoning, it was an exercise in being as sycophantic as they could get.

They should get the ‘Uriah Heep sycophancy award’

(* that’s the Dickens character not the band of the same name)

10. msean

£51,000 for three plaques,£29,000 to stage the opening,all the naming options had the monarchs name and the word royal in them and £18,836 to buy everyone lunch. Next time someone needs an expensive medication…

11. Anne Meikle

Can we set up a crowdfunder to change the name back?

12. donald anderson

It must cost more to redo the Stationary, signs etc?

13. AndyH

This will be all over the news by now then surely?

Maybe not…

14. manandboy

“Was there any public consultation regarding the name changes?
    There was no requirement to carry out public consultation regarding the name changes. ”

NHSGGC – part of the ruling classes, have no need to consult the people who paid for the new hospital about it’s name. The very idea is preposterous to The Establishment.

Independence please without delay.

15. Gordon Adam

Sycophantic bullshit. Would have been a better idea to leave its name as it was and donate the money to foodbanks.

So we pay for the sodding thing but they have no requirement to consult the public about naming it?

The establishment is alive and well and living in Scotland

16. Swami Backverandah

Breaking …

Litter tray futures soar as flunkeys reported setting in train preparations for appearance of large feline in Borders’ region.

Dentists invited.

17. Geoff Huijer

Well that’s just fine & dandy isn’t it?

Just surprised they didn’t go the whole hog and call it the Queen Elizabeth II Hospital really.

18. Simon Chadwick

I’ll rename my house tomorrow. Where do I send the invoice?

19. The Man in the Jar

“Queen Elizabeth University Hospital” Since when have we had a Queen Elizabeth University? Or am I missing something. 🙁

20. Brotyboy

I reckon they selected those consulted on the basis of their ability to sook, tug forelocks and fawn.

21. Rob James

It could have been worse. Blair could have cut the tape.

22. Brotyboy

@The Man in the Jar

If it’s a teaching hospital it’s called a University hospital.

23. fluffnik

Someone needs both sacked and surcharged over this!

24. galamcennalath

What pillock thought it was a good idea?

An utter outrage and waste of public funds when there are austerity pressures from WM.

25. Luigi

To be technically correct, they should have named it the Queen of Scots Hospital.

Red tory councillors just love to waste other people’s hard earned cash, eh?

26. Dr Jim

I’ll need to have a look at £51.ooo worth of 3 plaques, I’ve never seen a sign that pricey

Must be something worth seeing I hope they’re pretty

Do you think it’ll make anybody feel any better when they go in to get cured

I bet the Queen didnae eat her free piece either

The Scottish Government takes all that time making sure they keep the price of the building down and making sure it’s on time and then the NHS who are supposed to be trying to save our money lob this on top for a name that was decided within a wee clique of High Heid Yins

And nurses have got the cheek to complain about the Government
    Wee bit closer to home mibbees nursey afore yeez are moanin

I understand the need to look good but C-mon

Anyway I want a You Are Here sign to carry about so’s I know where I am at all times

27. Paul D

What they skip over is all the IT systems that would have been configured using the “old” names. In many cases I would expect suppliers will need to be involved to make changes – all of which will cost. Admittedly these will mostly be backend systems rather than being things the public will see. I can however foresee great scope for confusion if multiple names are used for the same building, especially since I believe “Southern General” will refer to the old bits on the site. As for letters not needing to be updated, I would be astounded if there are not systems where the address or similar, such as in clinic location will need to be updated by suppliers.

28. S kilday

Money would have been better spent getting the hepa filters sorted in the transplant unit (still closed,probably for at least two months). Should’ve got bigger ones to keep out all the scrounging royals n hangers on!

29. sandycraig

Suck up to the royals or what.

Wonder how many of the people responsible for the new name think they will get an invitation to the next Holyrood Palace garden shindig.

Or some kind of obe/mbe, or maybe the house of ill repute like that moaning Minnie Mone.

30. gerry parker

“Recognising the significance of the project and the provision of world

class services, the NHS Board
    approached Buckingham Palace to see if Her Majesty The Queen would be able to accept an invitation
    to open both the adult and children’s hospitals. ”

Then they should personally foot the bill.

31. Harry McAye

“Call Kaye tomorrow, we’ll be asking Was the re-naming of the new Southern General as the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital worth the £100,000 cost.”

No? They did it with the White Paper!

32. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“It must cost more to redo the Stationary, signs etc?”

DOESN’T ANYONE EVER CLICK THE LINKS?

33. Ken500

Hospital Board full of Labour/Unionists GCC appointed sycophants. Matheson strikes again wasting £Million/Billions of public money.

34. Lady Arbroath 1320

So it has cost G.C.C. £100,000 to rename Glasgow Southern General hospital … all in the name of gaining a few more ermine cloaks for the great and the good of Glasgow sub branch of the branch office of the Labour party!

I wonder how much better this money could have … should have, been spent on within NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde!

35. HandandShrimp

It needed a name and I guess some costs would have been incurred in signage and opening but I kind assumed it was going to be the Southern General. Glasgow University Hospital sounds nice though.

I am not bitterly anti Queen Elizabeth Hospital but there is one in London, Birmingham, Gateshead and King’s Lynn. They were hardly at the cutting edge of names here and the Queen probably thought Oh, another one…how nice.

36. Schrödinger's cat

Ot
    Felt a wee bit sorry for Eric Joyce yesterday, he is on the wrong side of history, his downfall started with him lamping a Tory at Westminster
    Had he been an snp mp, we would probably be crowd funding a statue of him, or at least naming a hospital after him 😉

37. Jason

£100,000 for an old benfit cheat to cut a ribbon and have a few plaques , Fantastic!!!

38. icyspark

Alexander Fleming University Hospital

That is all.

39. Lady Arbroath 1320

msean says:

£51,000 for three plaques,£29,000 to stage the opening,all the naming options had the monarchs name and the word royal in them and £18,836 to buy everyone lunch. Next time someone needs an expensive medication…

Jeez £19,000 to feed the greed bunch of earse kissers!

I’m sure I could have feed the lot of them for a lot less. Mind you it might have taken a wee while to get it all set up after all the local K.F.C. or Burger King probably have never had to deal with such a large order all at once before. 😀

40. call me dave

No public consultation required …that’s it then, we all know why of course, another public facility paid by the tax payers hijacked by the establishment funkies.

The money is chickenfeed really when weighed against the building costs but depressing nevertheless. Also the borders railway to come for a double whammy.

Know your place folks, it’s at the bottom of a long ladder, but your holding the bottom so it’s tempting to pull it away, if your up for it at the elections to come and beyond. 🙂
    ————————————————————-

The new name was officially unveiled by the Queen last week during a series of engagements in Scotland, which included a visit to the new £842 million super-hospital in Govan.

A spokeswoman for NHSGGC said: “We were granted the honour of Royal titles for these new facilities after the operational opening.

“At the time of opening its doors to patients the hospital had to have an operational name and signage however we were hoping that Royal titles would be granted and as such the potential for a changed to the final signage was taken into account and was built into our budgetary planning.

“At the time of placing our order for signage the specification was reduced so that if the names were changed costs would be minimised. Despite the changes to signage that we will now make it will still come in within the original signage budget that we set as part of the overall project cost.”
    ————————————————————–

PS: O/T
    Here’s a shower that won’t be there to help.

https://archive.is/8RHOe

41. Croompenstein

Could they not have called it Alexander Fleming University Hospital after a world renowned Scot. How many millions of people benefit from this mans research and discoveries. WTF has Betty done it just doesn’t compare.

Either that or name it after another Great Scot with same christian name – The Alexander Salmond University Hospital 😀

42. Schrödinger's cat

The rev stu hospital……that would set the cat amongst the pigeons. No wonder they didn’t put the naming out to public screutany

43. Robert Louis

Meanwhile, the blatantly biased propagandist, and wholly unaccountable BBC, carries on with their distortion of history, with their latest offering; ‘a very British Renaissance’, which looks at the cultural changes in Britain during the 16th century.

Of course this continues the pro unionist re-writing of reality, by deliberately ignoring the fact that the treaty of union wasn’t signed until 1707.

Propaganda, BBC style.

44. braghadeanach

What I want to know is where is the Scottish Government in this decision trail, surely they should be stamping on this kind of unionist subservience from a great height? The SNP are too timid on issues like this. People are going to start wondering why they are voting for them shortly.

45. Schrödinger's cat

If they had eft the choice to labour members only, it could have been calmly the Jeremy Corbyn hospital. Lol

46. David

Re comments by icyspark and Croompenstein, there is a maternity hospital in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, that is named after Alexander Fleming. (Picture in the link below)

http://www.cremerj.org.br/informes/imagemmedio/2056;jsessionid=0590911D51BE80079F77614D3A8BFDAD

There are also several streets named after Fleming, in Rio and the surrounding towns. Yes, ‘several’ streets, not just bloody one.

It is starting to get me upset, how our good guys can be recognised in other places, but ignored in their homeland.

47. Lady Arbroath 1320

I guess we should all be thankful about the feast laid on for ‘er in doors. At least the food at this event would have been eaten … I’m not so sure the same can be said about the *ahem* grand feast laid on for the First Viceroy of Scotland in Dumfries the other week. 😀

48. Macart

Oh jeez.

Yeah, that’s about the size of it.

49. cirsium

Greater Glasgow Health Board could be suffering from Bourbonitis. The Scottish Government ring-fenced SNHS funding in spite of cuts in the grant from the UK Government, in order to maintain health care for the Scottish people. Where does spending £100k on a rebranding exercise fit in with this?

Alternatively, the GGHB might be suffering from a severe case of the Scottish cringe. Maybe its members are not aware that the University of Glasgow is one of the world’s top universities. It is renowned for its research in medicine and the medical sciences. It would, therefore, have been appropriate to have the hospital’s name linked to the university.

Has Robert Calderwood, the Chief Executive, not recently accepted a knighthood?

50. Stoker

braghadeanach wrote:
    “What I want to know is where is the Scottish Government in this decision trail, surely they should be stamping on this kind of unionist subservience from a great height?”

Amen to that!
    Sick and tired of our great historical achievements being deliberately suppressed in favour of the promotion of parasites.
    We should be naming our buildings, roads and schools etc in honor of those Scots who have achieved incredible greatness.

This is our history these hob-nobbers are playing with.
    This should never have been allowed to happen.

Here’s a better suggestion just off the top of my head:-
    The Stuart Campbell University Hospital

No, not that one, 🙂 this one:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stuart_Campbell_(obstetrician)

51. dakk

Ah told yous they should’a spent the money on a new Hampden,or a giant fan tae blow the rain clouds away.

52. Phil Robertson

Croompenstein says:
    3 August, 2015 at 6:38 pm
    Just another unionist trolling of Scotland.

Of course, the NHS is fully devolved. responsibility for this lies with the Scottish Government.

53. johnj

Simple answer to this really. They can call it what they like. We can just continue to call it the Southern General (or whatever) and there’s f all they can do about it.

54. Schrödinger's cat

They should be stamping on this kind of unionist subservience from a great height….. Actually no, support for yes is currently sitting at about 50%, we need another 10% of these same unionists to cross the floor and vote yes. We won’t do that by stamping on them. It sticks in my craw as much as yours, no question, and as some people have alluded to, those that made this decision are already being rewarded,circuim has already begun to put names to the positions mentioned in stus articles and their rewards. A scottish republic will not happen while we are in the uk, it can only happen with independence, until then, you and I both just need to suck it up

55. Schrödinger's cat

@johnj
    You mean like freedom square?

How about the Cunningham graham memorial hospital?

Actually, we just need something catchy and it will…catch on. Regardless of what the powers that be want us to call it.
    Personally, I will never refer to it as the queen Elisabeth hospital…..ever.

Better just the Glasgow hospital

56. Croompenstein

@Phil Robertson –

Nice try Phil 🙂

57. Dorothy Devine

I seem to remember an irate gran writing to the Herald about the visit and hotdogs were served in the childrens ward – not a £19000 bean feast for the great and good .

I am extremely angry about this and utterly disgusted with those who thought to insult the people of Scotland with yet another cringeworthy debacle.

58. Grouse Beater

A change of uniform isn’t needed – colours and designs are standardised no matter the hospital or its name.

A last hurray: https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/08/01/of-tarts-and-old-farts/

59. Joemcg

Should have named the other part after her pal,The Jimmy Saville hospital for children. Just as repugnant ya purring parasite.

60. gillie

I’m sure Liz will chip in to help cover the costs ……… No?

61. shiregirl

I’m disgusted that health chiefs thought it was fine to spend this amount of money on changing the name of a hospital.

As some one who works in the front line of healthcare, I can think of a hundred places this money could have been spent to enhance the lives of patients and their families.

I’m at a loss as to who they can spend 29k on video, photography etc. And the Queen should surely be questioning the use of money which could be spent elsewhere.

How much were NHSGGC overspending last year?

This money could have funded three or four specialist nurses for a whole year.

I want out of this bloody Union as soon as possible. I’m gut sick of reports of peeing money up against walls when it could be used to better use, but that’s what happens when there are more senior managers than minions, who have never lifted a bloody bedpan in their puff.

Freedom!!

62. smithie

ScottieDog @ 9.04pm.
    I think that was in 2013, still scandalous though.
    http://news.scotland.gov.uk/News/Ewing-highlights-UK-threat-to-Scottish-energy-5be.aspx

63. John Walsh

A limited. Choice then. The sycophants decide “Queen Elizabeth University Hospital” suggestions 1-5 let’s pick 4 so WE had a debate. Are the great and good so thick that they think we don’t know they had decided as soon as they contacted ” Buckingham Palace” tugs for lock.

64. Dave McEwan Hill

They can hardly call it the “Death Star” Hospital now.

65. Gordie

This hospital was paid for by the people’s money and built for the people’s care. The NHS Board were fawning away worrying about which version of the Queen Elizabeth they should call it and all to reward her majesty for the sheer honour of having her in their presence. Luckily it didn’t cost the queen a penny and no requirement to consult the people.

66. caledonia

On Twitter I noticed the Yesbar is giving 45% off food. I’ve put it on Hot UK Deals 20 minutes ago and it’s already sitting at -17 degrees. Please vote for it and make it hot. Thanks.

http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/yesbar-45-off-snp-sgp-ssp-members-2257156

voted hot

67. scottieDog

@Smithie
    Sorry my wife just forwarded it to me tonight!

68. Graeme Borthwick

Well done Rev!!! You put the idiotic Herald to shame!!!

69. ronnie anderson

Ah bunch of Haddies making the decision an Lizzy never even left ah Royal Warrant, there again she,ll never use it,but sombodys getting ah OBE oota it

70. Truth

You know around about the same time this hospital renaming story came out,I read another story and felt it would provide a far more fitting name.

That story was about a Nicaraguan boy in Guatamala. He refused to kill a bus driver on the demand of gangsters and was consequently himself thrown off a bridge to die.

His name was Angel Escalantes. A fine name for a new hospital, and something his family would no doubt appreciate.

71. Velofello

No obligation to consult the public, eh? Some text missing surely – ” on the use of public money”?

Crowd funding seems a sound proposal to fund and demand a name change.

72. Colin Mccartney

Can we crowdfund a French Guillotine or a Russian Well as works of art at the entrance?

73. Macca73

I’d prefer to see some nurses get employed than rename the hospital.

74. MJack

What if we crowdfund £200,000, can we change the name back? How about YesGlasgow University hospital.

75. msean

I’m guessing that the £18,836 for lunch was because when the Queen was there,folk can’t be walking about the place,security and all that.

76. Stoker

We already have a Jamaica Street in Glasgow so how about recognising this womans achievements:-
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Seacole

The Seacole University Hospital

77. Scot Finlayson

We also have one of the Queen Elizabeth Class aircraft carriers getting called HMS Queen Elizabeth.

And then there is the third major Forth bridge being called The Queensferry Crossing.

They are just doing it to piss off Scottish patriots.

78. Alan Mackintosh

The 19K for lunch was because the canteens were not available during the opening, I presume because Brenda was there with all the sycophants. So they provided a packed lunch for all the staff which was the cost. How do I know this?

I CLICKED THE LINK, (pats self on back)

79. susanu

Well I’m so glad that money is being well spent by the NHS. Not being able to eat and being in agony is jolly good fun. Screw my operation. I’ll wait a few more months and we can put a few more plaques up!

80. Garrion

Well there’s some money well spent…

81. thetruthteller

Wings, why don’t you make your next FOI request for how much the NHS in Scotland (under its devolved budget) spends on foreign consultants and doctors flown in and put up in luxury hotels to cover shifts here?

See the forest, not the trees.

82. Democracy Reborn

Does this mean that Eleanor Bradford can now call it Betty’s Imperial Death Star?

83. dakk

Ah hope Queens Park an’ Queen o’the South get hammered on Saturday

84. Graeme

And then there is the third major Forth bridge being called The Queensferry Crossing.

I might be wrong but If memory serves me right isn’t Queenferry at the Forth named after a Scottish queen ?

Graeme

85. Jim Mitchell

Recession, what recession?

86. Stoker

I didn’t realise Glasgow was in such a privileged position that it could afford to blow £100K.

Here’s just 3 things that money could have been spent on:-

£100,000 could have bought 2 state of the art pieces of equipment that would radically improve the diagnoses and treatment of heart disease. The Illumien System shines a laser into the coronary artery to help evaluate the severity of blockages and the Muse System allows ECG data to be digitally stored and sent electronically providing state of the art coronary care for thousands of people.

£100,000 could also buy advanced diagnostic equipment used to treat people with hearing problems. Patients visiting Audiology departments would have access to more detailed diagnostic tests which would cut down on the need to travel to other hospitals.
    The 6 specific pieces of equipment (costing £50,000) are also mobile, enabling audiologists to see very ill and disabled people in their own homes. Thousands of people would benefit from this equipment every year.

£100,000 would also go a long way to help buy very expensive breast screening equipment which can greatly improve early diagnosis.

But hey, what’s in a name, eh!

BTW, source for all above info = The Scannappeal site.

87. Lady Arbroath 1320

Scot Finlayson says:

We also have one of the Queen Elizabeth Class aircraft carriers getting called HMS Queen Elizabeth.

They are just doing it to piss off Scottish patriots.

In fairness Scot the Queensferry crossing has nothing to do with ‘er indoors thankfully. My belief is that it was called the Queesnferry crossing because it links North and South Queensferry.

I also believe the whole Queensferry name dates back to the ancient times in Scotland. In fact if I remember correctly, which means I probably don’t 😀 , it was this crossing that was the place of the drowning of Queen Margaret.

I await howls of laughter and the masses of corrections to be flooding in any time now. 😀

88. toomtabard

I think they’re being frugal with the truth. I understand there were significant stationery costs associated with the rename as they chucked out a load that had already been printed. That

89. toomtabard

I think they’re being frugal with the truth. I understand there were significant stationery costs associated with the rename as they chucked out a load that had already been printed. That would not be included in any upfront costs “associated” with the rename in their figures, it would just appear in the end of year account as an increase in the office supply budget. I recommend resubmitting that question, cos they’re hiding the truth

90. Onwards

A big consideration was that, if the NHS Board retained part of the names of the demitting hospitals (Southern General Hospital, Victoria Infirmary and Western Infirmary), this may have been seen as prejudicing the loyalties of staff from the hospitals whose names were being lost. It was considered a new hospital with a new name. In addition, the services from the new hospital would be used by the western catchment area north of the river as well as many people outside the south of Glasgow. It was therefore considered important to recognise the wider population being served and remove the geographical term ‘south Glasgow’

Facile Reasons. Everyone knows that major hospitals serve patients from the wider area.

91. G H Graham

Covering most medical probabilities, the West of Scotland Asylum, Sanatorium & Dispensary For Consumption, Disease & Temperance has a charming Victorian institutional ring to it.

92. dakk

This is the kind of story that the msm should have emblazoned all over their front page in these times of austerity.

The fact they dont run stories like this allows these profligates free reign to waste public money and ingratiate themselves with impunity.

Thanks for another important scoop Stuart.

93. Onwards

cirsium says:
    3 August, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Alternatively, the GGHB might be suffering from a severe case of the Scottish cringe. Maybe its members are not aware that the University of Glasgow is one of the world’s top universities. It is renowned for its research in medicine and the medical sciences. It would, therefore, have been appropriate to have the hospital’s name linked to the university.

Exactly.
    There are another 15 Queen Elizabeth hospitals in the world:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queen_Elizabeth_Hospital

Now it just looks like this one is just part of a chain.

If the hospital had to be rebranded, then then naming could have done more to benefit Glasgow, Glasgow University, or Scotland’s global standing. It’s not as if the Queen needs yet another hospital named after her.

I guess the board are angling to add to the already significant number of OBE’s and MBE’s amongst their members:

http://www.nhsggc.org.uk/about-us/nhs-board/board-members-profiles/

94. Gallowglass

I’m not impressed with the capital spend on this at all.

However in response to some of the comments;

Not all nationalists are anti-royalists. In fact, some are very supportive of the monarchy.

Like it or not, Scotland voted No and if it had voted Yes was intending on keeping this particular Monarch in any event.

£100k pales in insignificance of the money spent, including by the SG, without public consultation. (Think of rebranding the Executive in the first instance).

The SG still derives, like it or not, authority from the Monarch. Demanding the SG stamps on this ‘Unionist Subservience’ is bordering on derangement in my book.

I wholeheartedly agree with Schrödinger’s cat, this kind of sentiment permeating from some of the comments are unlikely to win us any new friends.

95. Grouse Beater

Just had to switch off a repeat – yet again – of HIGNFY chaired by some useless actor, the one with Hyslop saying Scotland was bankrupt and ‘we’ bailed it out. (It was never bankrupt – some barons were broke.)

Then he goes on to claim we ‘tried to start an empire of our own in Darien’, another stupid remark.

It was meant to me a trading port, you moron. England blocked Scotland from setting up trading access.

What a failure Hyslop is. The trouble is a lot of viewers will think his version is accurate, and those who think they know about Darien but don’t, will have their prejudices confirmed.

96. GallusEffie

Finally worked out a way to show you the pic of the Bold Joff that I took the night I learned that Jeremy Hunt wants to label medications worth more than £20 a pop.

Then the Empire comes out with this £100k obscenity of utter pish.

“Holding all people’s lives to be of equal worth”

https://twitter.com/GallusEffie/status/623238561719037952

97. Now's the Hour

Should’ve gone to Timpson’s. They do great wee plaques for a tenner or so.

What a load of imperial b*llsh*t. The sooner we’re out the better.

98. Tackety Beets

OT
    Wings getting a wee bit o AirPlay promotion on Scotland 2015 tonight.

Alf Young brought up one of Rev’s polls from last year on the Scottish Political view as opposed to the political View South of the border.

Bob Thompson could a help himself tho’ ” it’s a web site ran by chap from Bristol ! ”
    To be fair Ms Smith did say ” that does not mean his polling is incorrect tho’ ”

I was too busy shouting at Bob T , & this matters because ? Ah yes , S Lab is run from London .

What a F@@@@@g tube !

99. msean

Queen Margaret paid monks to run the ferry

http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/queensferry/southqueensferry/

100. Les wilson

Never mind, hopefully it won’t be long before we change the name
    to something WE want.
    This is not going to endear the Royals to Scots, an own goal I
    would say.

101. Democracy Reborn

@Grouse Beater

I stopped buying Private Eye during the indyref and will never buy it again. For an organ that exists to expose political hypocrisy, its coverage of MSM bias and Project Fear was non-existent.

Hyslop is a dyed in the wool Britnat masquerading as a satirist. His condescending, imperialist disdain for the Jock hordes is pretty obvious.

102. call me dave

It’s an ill wind that blows nobody any good. 🙂

https://archive.is/U5JtN

PS:
    Nicola Sturgeon takes ‘working holiday’ in Portugal. Hootsman!

But But…She’s just back from a working holiday in China. 🙂

Seriously, hope she enjoys a well deserved holiday.

103. Lenny Hartley

They could have spent some money informing the staff of the change, I was in there for nearly six weeks and was poorly when Lizzie came calling, I was being interogated by the staff to ascertain my mental state, two days after Lizzie renamed it a Nurse asked “do you know where you are” and when I responded queen lizzies she thought I was dolally took me a wee while to convince her it had a new name.

100k is tip of iceberg what about road signs, stationary etc?

104. Legerwood

I guess they didn’t get the signs made at Timpsons then.

105. dakk

Gallus Effie

Nice pic of the bold Joff .Brings into focus the shallow nature of these GGHB ingratiates.

Hope you are feeling bit better now and on the up.

106. Dr Jim

@Gallowglass

No objection to the Maj as long as she pays for her own keep
    The objection is NHS spending “After” the Hospital was transferred to their control

Some folk like being a subject of the Queen not me I don’t call myself subject to much of anything

She’s not my Queen, I must have missed that vote on giving benefits to a fraudulent claimant

107. Lady Arbroath 1320

msean says:

Queen Margaret paid monks to run the ferry

http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/queensferry/southqueensferry/

Thanks for the link Msean, I thought I was right about Queen Margaret. In fact if my fast declining memory is still working I believe the old car ferry that ran between North and South Queensferry (yes folks I AM that old I can still remember being taken down to the ferry to look up at the Forth Road Bridge being built! 😀 ) was called the Queen Margaret crossing.

Not only that but as well as Robert the Bruce being buried in a very specific place in Dunfermline Abbey Queen Margaret is also buried in the grounds of the Abbey.

Just a couple of bits of useless information kept squirrelled away in my solitary brain cell. 😀

108. call me dave

The four ferries that operated before the Forth road bridge.

‘Queen Margaret’ ‘Robert the Bruce’

‘Mary Queen of Scots’ ‘Sir William Wallace’

I used the ferry as a passenger (a mere child) with my parents going to Boness from Cowdenbeath. I always seemed to get the Margaret or Mary I remember. Quite an experience then.

All four scrapped in 1965 where, dunno?

Maybe round the corner in Inverkeithing at Wards ship breakers.

http://www.edinphoto.org.uk/0_a/0_around_edinburgh_-_firth_of_forth_-_early_views.htm

109. Rock

As a “sovereign” Scot, I have had enough of the purring queen and want to replace her with an elected president of the Scots.

Robert Peffers, our self appointed resident historian, and your assistant Brian Doonthetoon, an expert on the Declaration of Arbroath, can you please inform me how I can exercise my “sovereignty” to get the process started.

Thank you so much in advance.

110. Proud Cybernat

But I’m sure the paint smells just lovely.

111. paulTgeist

Gallowglass says – “Not all nationalists are anti-royalists. In fact, some are very supportive of the monarchy.”

And by the same token not all nationalists are pro-monarchy.
    They too have a right to voice their opinions, like it or not.

Gallowglass also says – “this kind of sentiment permeating from some of the comments are unlikely to win us any new friends.”

And who says pro-monarchy comments or keeping our mouths shut is going to win us any new friends?

Monarchy is an outdated concept and in a country (Scotland) with extremely high levels of poverty we should never be contributing to any form of monarchy.

We win friends and influence people by winning the arguments, not by forcing people to stay quiet and in 21st Century Scotland there can be no positive argument for retaining a monarchy.

Not for as long as we have one child going hungry, cold or homeless.

112. call me dave

They think it’s all over… but maybe not yet as crown office has a rethink!

https://archive.is/nHaWb

113. Socrates MacSporran

This subject has generated a lot of hot air and heated comments. However, in terms of Scotland’s main journey – towards independence, I reckon the name of a new hospital and how much it cost is pretty small beer.

The situation may well change when our present Queen dies, although, from what I have seen of the Duke of Rothesay’s quiet influence in my ain wee part of the nation, since he led the Trust which has bought and revitalised Dumfries House, I reckon he will, as King, be good for the country. But, I am fairly easy about having a Monarch rather than a President in the “top” job.

I do not think, on Day One post-independence, Elizabeth, Charles or William, whichever is Monarch, will be told – be on the first train to London, you’re not wanted here.

Talk of republics and so-forth can wait, mind you, I can see a boom time for the makers of street signs and so forth, should the republican element within the Independence movement have their way. And, if we are to wipe-out the remnants of “English” kings and queens, just remember, out current Royal Family, while largely Germanic in origins, also includes, from way back, the blood of Scottish Kings and Queens.

I always laugh when our southern neighbours go on about “The Queen of England” – she’s more Scottish-German than English. But, wheesht, dinnae tell them.

114. john king

Greame says
    “I might be wrong but If memory serves me right isn’t Queenferry at the Forth named after a Scottish queen ?”

The Scottish Gaelic name “Taobh a Deas Chas Chaolais” means “[the] Southern Side of [the] Steep Strait”. The name “Cas Chaolas” (Steep Strait) is older than the English name; it can be applied to either North or South Queensferry, or both. The queen referred to is Saint Margaret of Scotland who is believed to have established a ferry at this point for pilgrims on their way north to St Andrews. She died in 1093 and made her final journey by ferry to Dunfermline Abbey. Her son, David I of Scotland, awarded the ferry rights to the abbey.

115. john king

Gallowglass says
    “The SG still derives, like it or not, authority from the Monarch. Demanding the SG stamps on this ‘Unionist Subservience’ is bordering on derangement in my book.”

Bob,…Bob,…BOB
    Jist you wait richt there Gallowglass
    BOB!!!

116. Graeme

I don’t think any talk of scrapping the monarchy is helpful to the independence cause at this point.

I am no royalist (at least no more) but I would guess there are still many out there that are, why scare them away over an issue we can do nothing about until after independence

Graeme

117. Ken500

The only purpose/requirement of a Monarch as Head of State is impartiality. The Royals are not impartial and illegally interfered in the Referendum, and other matters, along with the rest of them. They do the Tories biding to starve children. Their income and Westminster MP’s income was increased 10% a year. £Billions are spent on Westminster and the Royals. The Royals perpetuate the ‘class’ system, especially in the rest of the UK.

118. Grouse Beater

Gallowglass: £100k pales in insignificance of the money spent, including by the SG, without public consultation. (Think of rebranding the Executive in the first instance)

The ‘rebranding’ of the ‘Executive’ (branded Executive by Westminster to remind us who is boss) was a minor cost that has had a major impact on the public’s perception of Scotland’s democracy, and how we’re discussed internationally.

Why would any supporter of democracy complain about that?

And you remind us that some indie supporters like the Queen, the same reputedly impartial yet ensured we knew exactly where she stood on independence.

Get a backbone, for god’s sake.

As for the insinuation ‘without consultation’ – examples please, otherwise I have you marked down as an unpleasant and temporary confederate who is happy to talk in generalities and innuendo.

119. Dan Huil

When the present monarch dies, Scotland, whether independent or not, should hold a referendum on becoming a republic.

120. Ken500

Ill informed, ignorant Ian Hislop, seems to have conveniently forgotten £Billions of Oil revenues which Thatcher (etc) illegally and secretly took to fund London Tory bankers. Canary Wharf, Tilbury Docks (26 miles) established tax havens etc. Another hypocrite.

Hislop’s father and grandfather came from Ayr, but what does he know about the miners? Or about helicopters falling from the sky, because of lack of health and safety adherence, with no Inquiry. The owners selling up for £250Million, two years later.

Scotland still out performs the rest of the UK and illegally gets Westminster mismanaged debts. Scotland raises £54Billion in tax revenues. The rest of the UK raises £39Billion (pro rata) and borrows £9Billion more pro rata. Scotland has to pick up the debt.

121. john king

I remember going over the Forth on a ferry (no idea what one it was) as a very sick child in an ambulance to The Princess Margaret Rose hospital http://www.lhsa.lib.ed.ac.uk/exhibits/hosp_hist/pmr.htm
    suffering from polio,
    I swear to God that as young as I was (2years old) I have a recollection of that trip by ambulance to the hospital, the steep slope down to the ferry, the sharp turn at the bottom as the ambulance boarded the ferry my view of the rail bridge from my prone position watching a steam train go over, every thing I saw to my child’s mind was full of portents,

I was very sick and very afraid.
    the year?
    oh it was 1958

122. Grouse Beater

Do readers recall HM Westminster government telling us that we, the public, stand to make millions in profit when RBS is sold back to the private sector?

Can we recall which politicians promised that?

How many of us gave the Tories a mandate to sell RBS at a loss?

123. baronesssamedi

What sort of plaque costs £33, 000 to manufacture and install? They were ripped off in any case.

124. john king

my world has just come crashing down
    out of curiosity I searched Carol Kirkwood, look at her nationality
    “Carol Kirkwood is a Scottish weather presenter, employed by the Met Office and best known for forecasting the weather for BBC Breakfast and Victoria Derbyshire. Wikipedia
    Born: May 29, 1962 (age 53), Morar
    Nationality: British
    Spouse: Jimmy Kirkwood (m. 1990–2012)
    TV shows: BBC Breakfast, The One Show
    Education: Lochaber High School, Edinburgh Napier University”

Does she realize I am now going to have to get a new (laminated) list
    disappointment doesn’t even come close
    Oh Carol! 🙁

125. Grouse Beater

What sort of plaque costs £33,000 to manufacture and install? They were ripped off in any case.

The plaque cost only £3,000, the wall behind to put it on, £30,000. 🙂

126. EphemeralDeception

ManAndBoy “Independence please without delay.”

I am not sure that would have changed much. The SNP government could have prevented the name change already,there was no need for independence. Though independence would change whole climate, so could have prevented it, but its not a given.

The SNP have been neutral/ fairly supporting of the royals and the Landed. They have stated in favour of a future referendum on the queen but have never stated an intention to end the class/fuedal system or recover the extended Royal families land and property in Scotland etc.

127. EphemeralDeception

Note: Alex Salmond is still a member of the privy council, hence the ‘right honourable’ title in the commons. This is given through the role of being 1st Minister, but he no longer needs to keep this title or maybe it is just a sign of respect for his previous office.

In any case, there is therefore a certain degree of conflict of interest. It would be a good question to ask to get further details about membership of the privy council and allegiance.

128. Grouse Beater

John: “The year? Oh, it was 1958”

Man, that’s sooo last century. 🙂

129. AndyH

How many kids will go without because of ‘Wellfare savings’ of the same amount those bastards just pissed away on their rich buddies?

A biilion quid of OUR money just handed to them.

130. Mealer

Lady Arbroath 1320 11.10
    Queen Margaret funded a ferry crossing between the points which now carry that name but I don’t think she was drowned there.I always thought she died of a broken heart when her husband and son were killed in battle.Maybe you’re getting mixed up between our Queen Margaret and their Princess Margaret who,I think I’m right in saying,drowned herself in gin.

131. Robert Kerr

They could have named it Queen Margaret University Hospital, since there is such a body.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queen_Margaret_University

But that’s in Edinburgh and Glasgow is a different place.

132. jackie g

Morning guys a wee bit O/T

I recieved this from Unison yesterday.

Today the Chancellor George Osborne has sent an open letter or email to all public sector workers asking how they can “get more for less.” He wants to find more ways to cut public services.

Here at UNISON we know that you’ve been struggling for years to provide these vital services while budgets and jobs have been cut, and pay has been frozen or capped.

We think Mr Osborne should know this too: after five years of cuts he needs to know the strain public service workers are under.

It’s really important that you have your say. I urge you to respond to Mr Osborne’s request and to complete his survey here.

Some of the ways we think the Chancellor could make savings are:

•Stop privatising public services: we’ll get more for less if we’re not paying out profit to business.

•Cut the use of agency staff and consultants: their day rates are much higher than regular staff.

•Stop reorganising public services, it wastes money: the reorganisation of the NHS cost us £3bn.

I have not filled in the survey yet, but will try and refrain from using profanity.

😕

133. Ken500

The Royals own Balmoral Estate. Victoria bought it.

The problem with land ownship in Scotland is the ‘human rights’ of the Landowners as enshrined in UK/EU Law Landowners have to be bought out with compensation. There is compulsory purchase, in the public interest. Land in the UK is exempt from tax (to keep farms together. Larger farms are more productive for food. Until Scotland votes YES for Independence, land issues will remain unresolved. Under UK governance, the Scottish Gov has limited powers. The SNP Scottish Gov hands are tied.

@ Lallands Peat Worrier.

The Greens are untrustworthy and renege on their own policies. They collude with Unionists/Landwners are secretly funded by them, and campaign to prevent land coming Into public use, against the majority wishes and the public interest. Their campaigns waste £Millions/Billions of public money which could be put to better use, like feeding children.

Fuel produced from Wind turbines has doubled and could surpass Oil revenues in the future. Solar and electric cars (4times cheaper to run) could save £Billions in fuel and energy costs. Hydro (water) produces cheap energy in Scotland. Schemes set up from 1943 till 1965. Pitlochy etc. Scotland is in surplus in fuel and energy. The Oil sector is taxed at 55% while (foreign) multinationals making vast profits, tax evade through City of London. Tax havens were created by Thatcher.

Tax evasion sustains the Royals and Westminster. The Tory Bankers own the Unionist Parties.(£Millions of debt). The SNP is funded by it’s members.

134. john king

GB says
    “Man, that’s sooo last century. :)”

As I have been known to say in the past
    that was ZEN this is TAU. 🙂

135. jackie g

Here is the survey ( see above post)

For anyone who wants to tell Gideon and his pals what they think.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/HVW38NC

Public Sector Efficiency challenge survey

Not that it will do much good.

🙁

136. scottieDog

So that’s rbs sold off at a loss at the tax payers expense. Tory dividend.

137. D McKay

Off topic but bbc headline on Scotish Pupils gaining a record 156,000 Higher passes, 5.5% on last year, is not the lead.

The lead is about a tough maths exam.

This is one of the worst examples of bbc bias I have see and there is a discussion opened for it.

Some of the postings look contrived and pre sought.

Well worth a look.

138. Fergus Green

@Ken500 – Your repeated rants/smears against the Green Party are becoming tiresome and your narrow agenda on this matter devalues what are otherwise informative posts.

Where’s the Chilcot Enquiry?

139. Naina Tal

Call me dave asked:
    All four scrapped in 1965 where, dunno?
    Maybe round the corner in Inverkeithing at Wards ship breakers.

Queensferry ferries,for Dave and anyone else interested:

Queen Margaret and Queen Mary were indeed broken in 1965 at Inverkeithing (Wards?)
    Robert the Bruce at P&W McLelland Bo’ness

Sir William Wallace went on to a new career in Holland carrying cargo, but retaining her name.
    Finally broken at Ghent in March 1970.

Info from the amazingly complete book “Steamers of the Forth” by Ian Brodie.

140. Ken500

By the time the RBS shares are sold off, it could take years, they will make a profit. As soon as RBS goes back to profit the share price will rise. £2Billion (5%) has been invested in RBS putting it back towards profit.

141. call me dave

@Naina Tal

Thanks, I’ll have a wee look for that in the library for a start.

142. heraldnomore

I see there’s another wee junket looming, this time at the Borders rail line. Any word on plaques, buffets or even names yet?

143. Graeme

Appologies for going OT

Kezia Dugdake

“Och, it doesn’t matter if he doesn’t look like a prime minister, there’s someone who’s authentic and says what they believe’.”

“But I want there to be a Labour government; otherwise I’m wasting my time. I don’t want to spend my whole life just carping from the sidelines.”

So roughly translated

I really don’t give a shit what our policies are It’#s all about me and I want power

Graeme

144. Muscleguy

@themaninthejar

While it is necessary to be a teaching hospital to have ‘university’ in the title, not all teaching hospitals are so tagged. Though the Health Trust may be instead. As applies here in Dundee.

145. Ken500

Honestly

146. ronnie anderson

Its still ongoing.www.change.org/p/3701271/u/11306259?utm

147. galamcennalath

Someone has probably already said this.

Where is Eleanor Bradford, fearless champion of the SNHS, when you need her?

148. Tinto Chiel

@ john king said:
    “As I have been known to say in the past
    that was ZEN this is TAU.”

On a roll this morning, John (and not a roll and sausage).

149. Socrates MacSporran

We should never forget, the Unionists will play the Royal card whenever they think it gives them an advantage.

Scottish unrest at the style: “Queen Elizabeth the Second”. Oh yes! It has been decided, if there had been a Monarch of England or Scotland with the same name, then the numbering would continue from there. So, if ever we have a King James of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, he will be James the Eighth. Aye Right!!

Apart from a spectator outside Crathie Kirk reporting the Queen to have: “Hoped the Scots think very carefully before voting”, (in the Referendum) – we don’t have a single verifiable quote from HM on the subject.

I exclude Cameron’s clumsy: “The Queen purred”. That’s a definite case of: “Mandy Rice Davies” speak.

There are reports the Queen refused to speak about the issue, when asked by Cameron, during the blind panic which followed the opinion poll which put Yes ahead.

I trust HM, who is well-aware she is also Queen of Scots, and that that title is held only with the support of the people of Scotland, to remain above the politics of Independence.

The Unionists, particularly the Tories, ar almost certainly unaware of the lie of this particular land. To them, she is Queen of England, and Scotland is just another territory which they own, and which they are as yet unwilling to relinquish.

As for the Queen – after Independence, she will still be Queen of Scots, Queen of Australia and Queen of Canada, plus one or two small, insignificant parts of the world – as England will become once we Scots withdraw our financial support.

150. Smith

£51,000 of which was budgeted for in the main project anyway, leaving £49486.

151. ronnie anderson

O/T Her Majs constabulary in England talking about Mergers.Dont do it, yous will have to Pay Vat,or wull yous.

152. galamcennalath

Socrates MacSporran says:

“insignificant parts of the world – as England will become”

… and that is what concerns the LondonNats more than anything, I believe.

Prestige, influence, status, international standing – all damaged irreversibly, in their eyes, if the UK disintegrates. Loss of face at their top table is what terrifies them.

153. orri

She can call herself whatever she likes as part of the royal prerogative. The official legal opinion in Scotland is that it means fuck all.

The main danger is buying into the unionist propaganda about about her sovereignty. Under Scots Law, the law she herself has bound herself to, she serves us. Whilst there might be some dubiety about where Scotland’s MPs swear their oath and under which capacity of the Queen they bind themselves for MSPs it’s much easier. Devolved or not Holyrood derives its sovereignty from the people via the Queen.

The distinction between English and Scots law is that they pretend the monarch has some kind of god given right to rule and then bind her to their will as some kind of slave. We start from the position that her position comes from us. While she may call herself anything she pleases she is Queen of Scots and not Queen of Scotland.

154. GallusEffie

Dakk – thanks for your comment about Joff’s picture.

I’m beyond sick at 2 decades of the system telling me at almost every opportunity how much Joff “costs” – whilst conveniently forgetting that Joff and thousands like him need a whole industry of support that employs thousands of people.

I don’t recall anyone ever pointing out that our daughter’s services cost – health, education etc., but with Joff, it seems de rigeur.

It’s like I mutated his gene on purpose. Oh wait, I did.

I’m enjoying a few days of residential respite, Joff won’t be home now till Friday afternoon. Gives me time to carry out the exercises I got given, having been diagnosed yesterday with frozen shoulder. Another steroid injection to look forward to, probably… ( sorry Stu )
    Thanks for your kind thoughts. I appreciate it very much.

155. Jim McIntosh

O/T – I see from the National that the assault case against the Labour MP Marie Rimmer during the referendum has been dropped on a technicality. The place where it happened (Glasgow) wasn’t on the charge sheet. After a 40-minute adjournment, Sheriff Adair ruled that the case was dismissed due to the lack of location in the charge.

The initial charge read: “On September 18 2014 at the entrance to Shettleston community centre, Amulree Street, then being used as a polling station you did assault Patricia McLeish and did kick her on the body.”

Makes you wonder how many Shettleston Community Centres there are on a street called Amulree, acting as polling stations on the 18th September last year there are in Scotland.

156. Will Podmore

SM opines,”insignificant parts of the world – as England will become”.
    No, but we would all be diminished were we to split. Thankfully, the separatists lost the one and only referendum – now let’s unite to make Britain independent – independent of the capitalist, corporatist, destructive,controlling EU.

157. Ken500

Dan Snow married? to the daughter of one the richest man in Britain, the Duke of Westminster was the Royal BT spokesperson in the Referendum. Great grandson of 1WW General Sir Thomas D’Oyly Snow and BBC employee. Greens cite the right Charlie (the biggest consumer on the planet) as their pin up boy.

The Royals are illegally non impartial Heads’ of a State that abuse, starve and kill children. The bombing continues. The Royals are involved in an illegal war to protect their wealth and position. The Queen mother secretly colluded. 3 Royal’s, Queen Victoria’s grandsons’s caused the 1WW because of misplaced jealousy and rivalry.

158. Ken MacColl

Can’t understand what all this fuss is about.

The Board acted as such bodies do.

“Did you consult the public?”
    “Don’t be silly. There was nothing in the rules to say we had to do that”

“What names were considered?”
    “About a dozen, all containing Queen Elizabeth.”

A few jobsworths will be awarded minor honours the next
    time round.

159. One_Scot

And apparently this is the ‘Better Together’ best of both worlds we voted for, where they can strip us of our natural resources, and we can get our faces rubbed in it.

This UK thing is just great, isn’t it.

160. AndyH

‘The one and only referendum’

Hahahahahaha x biggest number in the whole wuruld.

Get real. We can have these as often as the Olympic games or as few times as a paedophile Unionist MP/Lord is outed while still Alive.

It’s up to us ye see.

161. galamcennalath

Will Podmore says:
    “the one and only referendum”

The only people who can decide if and when we have a referendum, have not made any decision yet. I’m sure you’ll be one of the first to be told.

162. john king

“No, but we would all be diminished were we to split. Thankfully, the separatists lost the one and only referendum ”

Says who?
    good luck with that one Will,
    I wouldn’t be betting my house on that!

163. Socrates MacSporran

OFF-TOPIC ALERT:

Sorry to go off on a tangent here, but, I see the Crown Office, having mucked-up once, is set to re-raise the assault charge against MP Rimmer.

The Herald has banned comment on this – just what is OBE Wank’nobe, the Sag of Woking supposed to do, since he will be unable to cut and paste his daily dose of SNP Bad click-bait on the Herald.

164. Onwards

Will Podmore says:

4 August, 2015 at 10:57 am

No, but we would all be diminished were we to split. Thankfully, the separatists lost the one and only referendum – now let’s unite to make Britain independent..

Going to be a lot of this hypocrisy over the next year..

165. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Wings, why don’t you make your next FOI request for how much the NHS in Scotland (under its devolved budget) spends on foreign consultants and doctors flown in and put up in luxury hotels to cover shifts here?”

Why don’t you do it if you’re that bothered?

166. Roger Mexico

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“It must cost more to redo the Stationary, signs etc?”

DOESN’T ANYONE EVER CLICK THE LINKS?

Have you been doing this job long, Sonny? 😛

The section entitled “Royal Naming” is hilarious in its, completely unnecessary, forelock-tugging. Just as revealing is the desperation not to include “Glasgow” or even worse “South Glasgow” in the title.

What’s more the fact that “Consideration was therefore given to naming […] the Royal Hospital for Sick Children with Royal titles”, does rather suggests that they have lost their grip on the English language (entirely possible) or they were wanting to name that after some royal sprog and the Palace said no. They were however very keen to get rid of the word ‘sick’, even though it had been in the Hospital’s title since its foundation in 1882.

This determination to name everything using some sort of Corporate Blandspeak is no doubt so that those in charge to show how “21st century” they are (as if they could be anything else) and imply that the current management is really solely responsible for everything you see. But it’s revealing how little they consulted about the name changes – not even all the Board members were asked. People actually care about what the hospitals that serve them are called and respect continuity, but we can’t have the public telling the corporate elite what to do.

167. Alan Mackintosh

Jim McIntosh, Call me dave linked this earlier, dont think Rimmer has got away with it yet. Crown re-issues charge.

https://archive.is/nHaWb

168. Gallowglass

@paulTgeist

Frankly, some of it comes across as bitter and rather narrow minded. I think moderate tones should prevail. It goes without saying that there are republicans within the nationalist ranks, they clearly make up the large body of numbers. I think it is correct to remind people that not everybody agrees with nonsense such as ‘sieg heil’ and ‘Unionist Subserviance’, again we were planning on being just as subservient under independence less we forget what the White Paper actually stated.

Oddly enough, I don’t disagree with your point about its place in society.. I would rather it abolished. I think we need to handle and articulate ourselves better, however, for people in the movement and those outwith.

@ Grouse Beater

The point I’m making is that it is all subjective. And specifically I was addressing the ‘public consultation’ on rebranding.

But oddly enough the cost was largely similar.

http://www.gov.scot/About/FOI/Disclosures/2007/10/Change

And gave rise to the exact same discourse on the other side.

Be careful what you whinge about, because quite often we appear to be throwing stones in a glass house.

169. Cal

@ Will Podmore

I love being ruled from the EU. We’re so much better together with our fellow Europeans. Don’t you think? After all Scotland has done so well having her decisions made for her by those in another place hasn’t she? Why should your precious Britain be any different? In the referendum I’ll be voting to stay in the EU. Do you believe that Britain should go take flying **** to itself? Oh I do, I do!

Suck it up pal!

170. gordoz

My betting is the ‘New Southern General’ title will remain the common use title of the people. It has with the people Iknow

None but the BBC will adopt this crap Political construct ‘Unionist sycophant’ moniker.

In the YES city – I ask you ?

171. Alan Mackintosh

Ken McColl, someone upthread posted a link to the health board. There already are a clutch of CBE/OBE in their listings, so mebbe they looking for some upgrading of their “minor” gongs.

172. K1

If they could rip our accents out of our voice boxes, they would.

After all where many of us not brought up to ‘speak proper english’. This renaming of the Southern? Just another ‘stamp’, the foot coming down on us after the ref result.

We’ll always refer to it as the Southern, there’s nothing they can do about that. Pathetic really isn’t it, and petty, so petty, and some jobsworths get to have smoke blown up there arse’s for the privilege of doing as they’re telt, just like Mone really.

I hope we win our fight against assimilation into the Borg of Britishness.

Apparently resistance is futile, but no where I live, they can GIRUT’s, I’m no calling it the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow and Royal Hospital for Children. So there!

173. gordoz

Gemma Doyle – former Labour MP

The way forward for British Labour in North Britain – talk about missing the point !!

http://www.progressonline.org.uk/2015/08/04/the-nationalists-only-have-to-win-once/

After deep reflection this is what she comes up with.

More smoke n Mirrors … Stay Loyal / Stay Labour / Stay in the wilderness !! Lol

174. Pictvan

A lot of the senior board members are Rangers fans….

175. Schrödinger's cat

Language, culture, history, politics…..

It’s the economy….stupid

176. Fred

Suggest the hospital is called the lister after the discoverer of antiseptic surgery at the royal infirmary.

177. Eleanor McCarrey

It will be known as the new Southern General by me and always will stuff the name it has

178. Jimbo

No mention of the costs for police and security. Are we to assume there was none?

179. Kirsty

Meanwhile the crap about austerity continues, all whilst the money to pay for any number of wars, vanity projects, politicians expenses and royal events just keeps flowing. Don’t they tell us that we even afford to give people the social security that they’ve paid in to for years yet somehow they manage to find £100,000 down the back of the sofa to pay to change the name of a hospital?! The fact that it’s the name of one of the richest people on the planet just rubs it in even more.

Who okay’d this?

180. Brian Doonthetoon

“Glasgow Universities Hospital” could have become an international brand. A bit of a lack of the bigger picture there, in naming it the same as umpteen other hospitals.

A bit like the unwieldy name of “Ninewells Hospital & Medical School”. What was wrong with “Dundee Universities Hospital”? After all, the University of Dundee has the Medical School and Dundee College of Technology (latterly Abertay Uni) had the BSc Nursing course. (Back in the day…)

181. Ray C

@Kirsty – The NHS Greater Glasgow Board okayed it. You see, this is the problem with the whole anti-austerity argument. Despite the fact the UK government borrowed around £80 Billion more than it spent last year (how is that austere?), some people are so blind to reality that they think that cutting public sector spending is actually a choice. If I am to believe the SNP line of argument, apparently borrowing additional money on top of the £80 Billion already being added to the credit card is going to lead to a net reduction in the deficit. It’s bonkers yet the Nationalist propaganda machinery appears to have convinced half of Scotland. All that this renaming waste of money demonstrates is that there is in fact still plenty of room for savings to be made.

182. Gary

What a bargain! An unwanted, unnecessary and unasked for political decision only prevented a few lives being saved.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.