Quoted for LOLZ

Posted on February 19, 2014 by

Recently discovered by an alert reader, another gem revealing the sort of razor-sharp attention to statistical detail that led the UK into the most disastrous recession of all time, from a man who thinks the population of Scotland is six million:

“Asked if he fancied another crack at being chancellor in the future, Darling said: ‘At the moment I am totally focused on the [Scottish] referendum in October 2014, after that I will see where I stand.'”

Might want to work a little more on that focus, Cap’n.

(Quote from May 2013, two months after the referendum date was announced.)

284 to “Quoted for LOLZ”

1. Desimond

Thats what the call forward thinking in Politics!
    Now all Im hearing is Billy Connollys voice…

‘Jojoba’…the month before November in Scotland

“Jojoba…ball or aerosol…?”

“Neither, i want it for me armpits!”

2. Catrìona

Flipper put me in mind of this: what about starting a competition to nominate Proudscot of the Week? There’s the danger that Flipper or Sunny Alexander (his middle name is ‘Grian’) would always win, but any new appearance in the lists would add a light note and make listening to their sermons less painful.

3. Peter Macbeastie

Of course, if he wants to make it known amongst his minions that the referendum is in October…

Never interrupt your enemy while he is making a mistake.

4. Tattie-bogle

he has got to the stage where he diznae know if it really happened or did he just imagine it . i think its called Bipolar disorder it is a serious, chronic (long-term) condition where you have periods of depression (lows) and periods of mania or hypomania (highs). Treatment with mood stabiliser medicines such as lithium, anticonvulsants or antipsychotic medicines aims to keep your mood within normal limits.

5. chicmac

OT Stuart, your (twittered) oui French poll (see what I did there?) has gotten quite a few shares on FB. Thought it might have been on WOS central by noo.

6. Calgacus MacAndrews

Everything would be running a month behind in Kim-Jong-Eck’s independent Scotland.

7. Juteman

Darling, and most of the No Team, are turning into caricatures.

8. chicmac

Wonder if his missus can confirm exaggeration is a trait of his?

9. chicmac

“Darling, and most of the No Team, are turning into caricatures.”

Maybe they’ve been simply putting a stake out for future panto gigs? After all, what else are they going to be doing?

10. Tartan Tory

He will stand where he falls. When he gets up, he will claim that his personal beliefs were YES all along but his masters made him do it. He will then stand for Scottish election in 2016 if he can’t find a Westminster position first.

11. Paul Kelly

Personally i think the FSS is a parasite and this would be the easiest way to destroy it. He’s an honorary member of the Conservative party now anyway. Someone get him an application form!

12. patronsaintofcats

Well done Captain Focus!

13. theycan'tbeserious

So they hide the scaremongering and lecture from the EU, and use the opportunity to appear pro-active on Europe. And threatening Scotland regarding the EU and now the unionists are covering all bases. What a shower of two faced shits.

14. chicmac

“focus”? So that’s what he is trying to do. 🙂

15. handclapping

But (twitch) I haven’t (blink) got to that bit (blink blink) of the announcement yet. (head bob)
    said the man who would spead read the White Paper in 20 minutes

16. gordoz

Seeing as how the NO side are taking great joy out of low ticket uptake at Bannockburn event, is this not anopportunity for WoS followers to meet up ?
    How could they stop us from wearing YES or WoS Badges.

Think it would be great as an unofficial meet up.
    And would bolster an event we must all surely support anyway.

Just a thought.

17. Taranaich

@gordoz: Seeing as how the NO side are taking great joy out of low ticket uptake at Bannockburn event

Of course they are, their pals at Stirling Council made sure of it through their petty politiking. Unbelievable the shite they pulled.

18. twenty14

@ Gortdoz – Love it- Lets all go to Bannockburn

19. Les Wilson

gordoz says:

I support that, we could make a great day out of it a pseudo march!

20. Andrew Morton

In the bar at the golf club today. Two older guys (70s, old Labour types). Yes newspaper lying on their table. I picked it up as I went past. One of them said, “Where do they get their figures from? Alice in Wonderland?”

I said, “Do you think that Holyrood has made a better job of running the little bit of the government they’re allowed to than Westminster did?”

“Well, aye.” was the response.

“Given that, do you think they’d make a better job of running the rest?”

“I suppose so.”

“If that’s the case, who cares whether we’d be £600 a year better or worse off? Surely the point of the referendum is to give us the power to make decisions in Scotland?”

“I never thought of it that way before.” said one of them.

I could see them reconsidering in front of my eyes. As I left I said, “Yes is going to win 60/40!”

Neither of them disagreed.

21. Macart

If ever there was a reason to vote YES… 😉

22. Croompenstein

We’ve got the SLabour conference next month to look forward to. Wonder if Flipper will know the date of that, doubt it. It’s going to be funny watch them implode and the fake ovations for JoLa, better not mention devo-max JoLa…

23. Albalha

Talking of past Labour folks T Blair makes the headlines in the phone hacking trial.

Dearie me what a bunch.

24. Famous15

Talking about the EU I had a sudden thought that should Scottish democracy not be respected then I am confident that the EU will apply targeted sanctions to those countries attempting to deny the voice of the people. There is a precedent for this thought. (do your own damned research)

25. Juteman

OT.
    Coming down the road heard at the curling.
    Whatever next. 🙂

26. Croompenstein

Defo up for Bannockburn what day though the 28th or 29th? the Forces day is on the 28th as well(thanks Quisling Stirling Council) probably best going the same day but what do others think?

27. Calgacus MacAndrews

haiku

28. muttley79

@Albalha

We could really do with Tony Blair coming up before the referendum to campaign against independence.

29. Thepnr

page refesh

30. twenty14

Bannockburn it is then – Rev can you deal with the train hire 🙂

31. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Croompenstein says:
    Defo up for Bannockburn what day though the 28th or 29th? the Forces day is on the 28th as well(thanks Quisling Stirling Council) probably best going the same day but what do others think?

I’m up for it … 29th would seem best …

32. Murray McCallum

Once a Chancner …

At least he got the year right.

33. Andy-B

As long as he’s never appointed chancellor of an independent Scotland, that’s the main thing, then again come to think of it, as long as he’s never appointed to any post in Scotland, it will be a major success for Scotland.

For those of you who’ve forgotten just how, pathetic a chancellor Mr Darling was, here’s a refresher.

http://www.thisismoney.co.uk/money/news/article-2415003/ALISTAIR-DARLING-INTERVIEW-Britain-hours-away-total-social-collapse–Former-Chancellor-crisis-erupted-FIVE-years-ago-week.html

34. scottish_skier

goat’s cheese and roasted peppers.

35. Albalha

@juteman

Re the Winter Olympics, assuming the Curling teams are Scottish, looks like we’d trounce rUK in the future. I hear, in addition to the medal won for tray sliding while jumping through ice and snow and doing a triple salchow , the possible two Curling medals means this is the best WO for ‘Britain’ since 1936.

What a year that was.

Vote Yes for a Winter Olympics to remember, though be careful of nasal sprays.

36. scottish_skier

For those of you who’ve forgotten just how, pathetic a chancellor Mr Darling was, here’s a refresher.

Man… Destroyed Britain financially then led it to its constitutional demise as a state.

Some CV.

37. Andy-B

Here’s Stuart Jeffries of the Guardian, with 76 sarcastic apologies to Scots, is he mocking Scots? or is it just a bit of harmless fun? you decide. I think he’s mocking Scots.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/feb/19/scottish-independence-76-things-apologise

38. patronsaintofcats

refresh page

39. MarkWot

Right folk’s I’m getting a couple of ticket’s for Bannockburn, I didn’t know about Stirling Council trying to jobbie drop over a Scottish event, I am now officially a Raging Cybernat

40. Croompenstein

@Andy-B – typical Anglo Saxon pseudo humour thinks he’s funny but is really a dick

41. haud oan the noo

andy-b:

Mocking, patronising p#sh. Same old guff.

42. Croompenstein

@MarkWot – what day will you get tickets for Sat28th or Sun29th? It would be great if we could organise for maximum impact, I am up for either day but I would think the 28th would be better to counter Stirling Council and UK,s sad attempt to deflect attention from a genuinely glorious chapter in our history

43. Indy_Scot

I know I should not laugh, but it is only two words.

44. muttley79

refresh page

45. twenty14

G’day

46. cynicalHighlander

Are any of these accepted in the fund raiser?

http://archive.is/PYPDH

47. annie

RE: Tony Blair entering the Indy debate the only way he could hurt us is by coming out for Yes.

48. Andy-B

Here’s Mick Feierstein, of the Independent claiming Scotland is a tiny wee country with a huge financial system, which is vastly more unbalanced than the rest of the UK. Feierstein goes on to say, that Alex Salmond when he threatened not to pay a share of UK debt (Which I don’t recall him ever saying)had announced to the world, don’t trust Scotland we’re not credit worthy.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/comment/mitch-feierstein-an-independent-scotland-may-find-it-hard-to-enter-the-european-union-and-the-pound-but-wouldnt-it-be-better-off-without-them-9137351.html

49. Albalha

According to T Blair it’s all about taking ‘the sleeping pills’, according to his advice to R Brooks. Good grief, these people are beyond the pale.

Middle East envoy promotes the pharmaceutical business, Perhaps that’s why so many folks in the ME are swallowing to forget.

The man has no shame.

50. Andy-B

All I’ve heard all day on the radio is unemployment down, in my opinion its a Westminster ploy, to allow them to slash deeper. Here the real truth of unemployment, and its not a pretty picture, and its certainly not as Osborne says, down.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/unemployment-figures-mask-dire-plight-3163240

51. scottish_skier

Darling

52. heedtracker

Stuart Jeffries of the Guardian, never mind the larfs, feel the anger at a future Scottish democracy. Steve Bell put the boot in again today but Bell just looks really frustrated that their sleeping Brown giant wont wake up and smite the Scots. http://archive.is/neV7v. Prefer this to we love you, don’t go.

53. Andy-B

This a good piece from the Morning Star, regarding Cameron, Osborne, Ian Duncan Smith, and ATOS, and the 10.600 people who’ve died only weeks after ATOS declared them fit for work, ATOS make hundreds of millions of pounds every year.

http://www.morningstaronline.co.uk/a-9bab-Fit-For-Work-the-truth-of-the-tragedy

54. Pin

O/T, but what’s all this Danny Alexander is coming up with now? Didn’t he say it would cost everyone £1 extra to be independent?

Then he changed that to £1000?

Now I hear it’s £5000??

Does it get more expensive the closer we get to the referendum?

What number do you think he’ll reach on 18th September?

55. caz-m

Why don’t we Love-Bomb the organisers of the Edinburgh Rallies and ask them if they would take over the organising of a massive rally on Sun 29th June 2014 at Bannockburn.

After all they have no rally in Edinburgh this year. They also have all the expertise in setting up transport links, stalls, toilets, dealing with people who are disabled in some way. Also booking the speakers and musicians for the day.

Brilliant idea and one that I think YES Scotland would get right behind.

56. patronsaintofcats

duplicate comment!

57. MarkWot

@Croompenstein

Will need to be the Sat but if that just happens to be the same day as the other lot then so be it;-)

Where can the tickets be obtained from?

58. heedtracker

O/T but I have liked WoS, YES Scotland etc on my Facebook thing and I’ve been getting answers to password change requests I haven’t made. Plus I got a friend request from a completely innocuous female Facebooker I have no connection with in anyway. Ghosts in the machine?

59. Andy-B

Here’s Tory Richard Keen predicting a no vote, in the referendum,as the SNP are toxic (A Tory calling the SNP toxic in Scotland, well I never) Mr Keen then predicts the Tories will run Scotland within 10 years. Mr Keen an eminent lawyer, said ” This is not pie in the sky”. Really!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/10647303/New-Scottish-Tory-chairman-predicts-Holyrood-power-within-a-decade.html

60. dmw42

Re Bannockburn, I’ve already booked our tickets, for the 28th, just for spite and a show of defiance.

61. Andy-B

Andy Burnham, shadow Health Secretary, admitting Labour oppose Scottish independence out of self interest, (and I was hoping it was because, they cared about Scots). So remember that Johann Lamont, and Anas Sarwar, oppose independence, not because we’re better together, but because they’re doing out of Labour’s self interest, you have been warned.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scotland/scottish-politics/10648238/Labour-oppose-Scottish-independence-because-they-fear-losing-power-in-Westminster.html

62. Croompenstein

This is the official celebration at the battlefield site

http://www.bannockburnlive.com/tickets

63. heedtracker

This is Guardian Scottish Tory vote No Cifer that I think got me banned from CiF but he say’s today

“Leopold1904

412,000 Scots voted Tory at the last Westminster election (as Alex Massie pointed out, 1 in 6 votes as opposed to 1 in 5 for the SNP). They have 15 MSPs. That’s a lot of Scots to fuck even for your randy god.”

64. HandandShrimp

The Stuart Jeffries thing is very Pub Landlord. It isn’t an issue to get worked up about although I ran out of steam about no 48. The comments below are pretty light hearted although one or two think it isn’t proper Guardian fare (just as Guardian readers rather than offended of any particular shire)

65. Clootie

Every possible comment has already been covered by by wingers
    Gonnae naw dae that!

66. mr thms

http://europa.eu/rapid/press-release_STATEMENT-14-13_en.htm

Statement by President Barroso on Ukraine

“It was with shock and utter dismay that we have been watching developments over the last 24 hours in Ukraine. There are no circumstances that can legitimise or justify such scenes. We extend our deepest condolences to the victims and their families. We condemn in the strongest terms the use of violence as a way to solve a political and institutional crisis. It is the political leadership of the country that has a responsibility to ensure the necessary protection of fundamental rights and freedoms. We call on all sides to immediately put an end to the violence and engage into a meaningful dialogue, responding to the democratic aspirations of the Ukrainian people.

The EU has been offering its sincere assistance to facilitate political dialogue between the sides and de-escalate the situation. We continue to believe that constitutional reform, formation of a new inclusive government and creating conditions for democratic elections constitute the only way-out of this deep and long-lasting political crisis. We have made it clear we stand ready to support Ukraine on this road of reforms, towards democracy, stability and prosperity. We have made it clear that our offer of political association and economic integration remains on the table, and does not constitute the final goal in our cooperation.

Yet, we have also made it clear that the EU will respond to any deterioration on the ground. We therefore expect that targeted measures against those responsible for violence and use of excessive force can be agreed by our Member States as a matter of urgency, as proposed by the High Representative/Vice President.”

67. call me dave

refresh page

68. Juteman

I’ve just spent some time reading BTL comments in a few papers. Why do they hate us so much? Even the Guardian commentators seem to have lost the plot.

69. HandandShrimp

Juteman

It does seem to have got very concerted. Guardian articles with 3 or 4,000 comments. I am not sure the Guardian can quite believe it which is why there are probably so many articles. The click count must be through the roof. Loads of comments from people I don’t recognise though. Maybe that No call centre is being put to other uses 🙂

70. Richard

O/t the love bomber john barrowman has just flitted across my screen running a dog show on channel 4. Only a trailer but I was sure that his cod accent had been replaced with an American one! Dickhead

71. muttley79

@Juteman

Every country that has achieved independence from Westminster had to go through this no doubt. The UK MSM were always going to turn on us for having the audacity to think we can run our own affairs. There is a massive amount of patronising of Scotland going on. They fear losing their control over us because they view us essentially as a possession (at least the British establishment does).

72. Andy-B

This very good piece by Jon Ashworth of the New Statesman,it shows us just how much disarray Westminster is in, the House of Commons can’t agree to legislate, anything.

Another reason to vote YES, as I we needed any more.

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/2014/02/camerons-zombie-government-has-nothing-substance-offer

73. muttley79

In regards to the Guardian posters: you can click and see when they joined Cif. It may just be UKIP types joining to vent their spleen on Salmond, and Yes, for daring to believe we can run our own affairs. Who knows what is going on? I have noticed the change in the last few weeks. I think at lot of them are just letting off steam over the currency union issue. A lot of them are saying that Salmond is out of order for wanting one, despite the fact that it is a moderate, pragmatic policy?

74. orkers

Off topic.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/democracylive/scotland-26249020

Eight seven glorious minutes from Economy Committee 2 this morning.
    Normally I tend to skip through Holyrood meetings like this, but if you want to see consummate performances from Swinney and Sturgeon the whole lot has to be savoured.
    You wont be disappointed.

75. heedtracker

“We have made it clear we stand ready to support Ukraine on this road of reforms, towards democracy, stability and prosperity. We have made it clear that our offer of political association and economic integration remains on the table, and does not constitute the final goal in our cooperation”

But when it comes to Scotland, Barroso he say Scotland would be a new state and it would be difficult if not impossible to be admitted to the EU and he compared Scotland to Kosovo. Well its good to know what rank hypocrites there actually are at the top of the EU.

76. twenty14

Buenos Noches

77. Andy-B

Here’s Alex Massie of the Spectator, with his usual guff, Scotland’s bullying England, Westminster have no intention of touching the Barnett Formula, Westminster, won’t cut £4 billion from Scotland’s budget if we vote no. David Cameron has no intentions of putting “Uppity Jocks in their place.”

What a tiresome bore Alex Massie has become.

http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/alex-massie/2014/02/who-are-the-real-bullies-in-the-scottish-independence-debate/

78. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

The SNP fell down in late 60s and early 70s because while there was a great impetus behind their campaign, and public support, on the whole their people weren’t up to it when they got elected. How times have changed. There’s still a great opportunity now for Labour people in Scotland if they can raise the quality of their performance (and people), untie themselves from the Westminster party, if that’s what still holds them back, and commit themselves to an independence agenda. In a way it’s good that the massive (and clearly massively uncertain) forces of Unionism are being thrown relentlessly (and incompetently) at the Yes campaign because in resisting those it proves the latter’s case, and competence. But at what a cost to one’s sense of the integrity of their position (I mean their media as well as all the rest of their works).

79. heedtracker

@ HandandShrimp, speaking of rank hypocrites check out latest vote NO Guardian bleh http://archive.is/CvUbE

“Four days later, Barroso’s massively important warnings about Scotland and Europe were scorned as undemocratic. And this week Brown’s no less serious case about pensions was met by Nicola Sturgeon’s insult that the former PM was the last person anyone in Scotland would take lessons from.” You couldn’t invent bigger hypocrites trying to shut down Scots democracy.

80. scottish_skier

Damn those pesky kids

81. SquareHaggis

Europe tells uk it’ll be £3000 worse of per head if it leaves the EU and by the time this news reaches Scotland via the ginger rodent it’s jumped to £5000 per heid!!

http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/8757-eu-warns-london-every-household-p3000-a-year-worse-off-if-uk-leaves

Good positive article though, well worth a read.

82. muttley79

Where has Braco gone? Hasten ye back lad.

83. Dave McEwan Hill

The Dunoon Tory Ladies are having Jackie Baillie down as a guest speaker at their monthly dinner in the Argyll Hotel.
    The connection does neither party any good

84. muttley79

@Dave McEwan Hill

“The Dunoon Tory Ladies are having Jackie Baillie down as a guest speaker at their monthly dinner in the Argyll Hotel.”

😀 😀 😀 😀

85. Kipper

Scotland is an island off the coast of Wales, right? Right?

86. Albert Herring

refresh rage

87. twenty14

guten aben

88. Croompenstein

@Dave McEwan Hill – I hope big Jackie’s payin for her ain !

89. cynicalHighlander

@Dave McEwan Hill
    @muttley79

Jackie Baillie is the main course at Argyll dinner. yummy.

90. scottish_skier

lolz

91. Richard

Jackie Baillie was originally advertised to attend the Conservative group. When that got out on twitter the advert was changed to ‘a representative from the Bitter Forever group’. I have experience of Jackie not turning up. I wonder if she will this time.

92. Croompenstein

@cynicalHighlander – Roast fat bird with all the trimmings

93. Iain

@Dave McEwan Hill
    ‘The Dunoon Tory Ladies are having Jackie Baillie down as a guest speaker at their monthly dinner in the Argyll Hotel.’

So that’s 2 minutes speaking and 2 hours eating.

94. Graeme McCormick

Dave

Now is the tine for all good nationalist to cross dress (where required) and love bomb the Argyll Tories Ladies event.

Leave the beard on for a frisson of mystery.

95. cynicalHighlander

@Richard

No spit strong enough! damn.

96. joe kane

The Chancellor of the Better Together Coalition has unilaterally abolished September 2014 in order to teach the disruptive jocko separatists a lesson.

The most successful financial minister in history at running up the highest debt in the quickest time will also be lecturing the backward jockos, from the hermetically sealed safety of a BBC studio, on how to run a successful economy.

97. X_Sticks

I’m up for the Bannockburn Live thing – 28th would be preferable for us. Was considering it anyway just because of the Stirling council and their union fest. Now it’s a definite!

98. Calgacus MacAndrews

GroupThoughts

99. Ivan McKee

@ Orkers 8:09

Thanks, great watch, (especially John Swinney at 30:00)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/democracylive/scotland-26249020

100. bunter

Kate Moss reads out Bowies acceptance speech on the Brits and ends ”Scotland please stay with us”.

Er naw!

101. Angus

Not on topic: Kate Moss just asked Scotland to “Stay with us” (not sure if it was on behalf of David Bowie) on the brits awards (a dire piece of viewing) but she forgot to threaten us if we don’t-big mistake-who is writing her or Bowie’s script?

102. msean

The Brits,Scotland love bombed by Ziggy Stardust. 😀

103. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

Is your blog down?

104. Croompenstein

Scotland please stay with us and suffer the systematic destruction of the welfare state, privatisation of anything we can’t nail down, abandon the poor the fuckers can eat cake, two fingers up to johnny foreigner we rule the waves.. eh naw!

105. Robert Louis

Jeez, at the Brit awards, David Bowie didn’t turn up for his award, so a message was read out from him, the message ended;

“and Scotland stay with us”.

How shallow and fake can a celebrity be. Bowie has gone right down in my estimation. He should mind his own freaking business. Pass the sick bag.

Is this the ‘love bombing’ we were promised, to go with the venomous hatred and abuse against Scotland and Scots, exhibited day in and day out on the BBC, from Westminster politicians and in English newspapers?

106. Boorach

@ scottish skier

Lest you missed it Instructions from ‘he who must be…’; in future we are to refresh the page by typing the secret phrase page refresh.

107. HandandShrimp

Almost on cue the Guardian has pure objectionable click bait from the least sympathetic political columnist on the paper Martin Kettles.

All the usual, don’t live in Scotland but absolutely rabid No supporters are there. I admire their fascination. I have commented in passing on stories all around the world but no one issue in another country has ever driven me to post more than the people who do live there.

108. Papadocx

Let the establishment stir up anti Scottish hatred and bile, let the foreign spear carriers for them whinge and whine, they are thugs, rabble and bully boys just like hitlers black shirts.

The proud pseudo Scots Tories have lived with their consciences for a long time, and they see treachery against their own country as honourable, and their contempt for their fellow countrymen as something to be proud of. beneath contempt truly levies of the occupying colonial power.

The one thing they don’t understand, WE ARE NOT GOING AWAY! This is our country we have nowhere to go. Win or loose the referendum we will achieve our freedom, THAT IS FOR SURE! Remember the spider.

109. chicmac

Maybe he has been using the Better Together ‘rallies’ attendance counter too often.

110. crisiscult

strange. Nothing new on this site for over an hour? Very suspicious, or am I doing something wrong? Several people from other countries I’ve spoken to about independence have said that Britain will never allow Scotland to become independent. In the beginning I used to think they were living in a paranoid past.

111. msean

They are all off hunting out their Bowie old LPs & CDs 🙂

112. sneddon

Bowie has been irrelevant since 1980 nothing to get riled about. If a millionaire wants to comment on a subject he knows nothing about let them. If he’s supposed to part of the NO artists group jeesh.

113. Ian Brotherhood

While Rev’s away losing his shirt, why don’t we fill the time by compiling some (more or less) relevant Bowie tunes?

I’m not sure why ‘The Laughing Gnome’ is relevant, but here it is anyway:

114. Taranaich

@HandandShrimp: The Stuart Jeffries thing is very Pub Landlord. It isn’t an issue to get worked up about although I ran out of steam about no 48. The comments below are pretty light hearted although one or two think it isn’t proper Guardian fare (just as Guardian readers rather than offended of any particular shire)

Not entirely convinced: if it is indeed a satire of the sort of person who thinks England owns Scotland and thus has to apologise for ancient history as opposed to current injustices, it isn’t nearly self-depracating enough. An awful lot of really offensive things said about Scotland, practically nothing about England.

What worries me more is not the article in and of itself, but that it could exacerbate very real anti-Scottish/English feeling which is already, disgracefully, being kindled. As everyone on this site knows, this is NOT a Scotland vs England debate, it’s a “Should Scotland Take Charge Of Its Own Affairs” debate. Having an English person apologise for things “England’s” done just serves to perpetuate that vicious straw-man, and no good will come of it.

I do think it’s notable that in among the apologising for the various 17th Century atrocities and Hollywood stereotypes which the modern people of England couldn’t possibly be held responsible for, I see absolutely no mention of several important factors which are ACTUAL reasons for independence:

– No apology for the UK government covering up the McCrone Report specifically to quash the “nationalists”

– No apology for the MP for Islington South and Finsbury’s suggestion of the 40% rule, and the result of mostly English MPs passing it, thus fixing the 1979 Devolution referendum in favour of the No vote

– No apology for the consistent – and to an extent continuing – suppression of information which proved Scotland was a net contributor, not consumer, of UK revenue

– No apology for Scots paying 9.9% of UK tax with 8.4% of the population and only 9.3% of spending

– No apology for BBC only spending 3% of its budget on Scotland despite the country providing 8.4% of its license fees

– No apology for parts of Glasgow having lower male life expectancy than warzones while the UK has control over Scottish welfare

– No apology for a quarter of Scottish children being in poverty while the UK has control over Scottish economics

And so forth. If you’re going to mention how the Scots haven’t voted for the Conservatives in 60 years and that Trident is still foisted on us, I think the above are more worth “apologising” for than making fun of Susan Boyle.

115. willie fae Irvine

Sorry Rev OT,

https://www.facebook.com/YouthsForYES

apologies if I havn’t linked properly.

116. Alan Mackintosh

Re Jackie baillie, Tory Ladies group and surrepticious infiltrating cross dressing Wossers,

Image of the scene in Life of Brian, at the Jehovah/stoneing “Are there any women here?…

117. Taranaich

“and Scotland stay with us”

Aw, and we had our heart set on detaching Scotland from the UK and sailing to Barbados!

118. Croompenstein

@Taranaich – Well said, as I mentioned earlier he is a dick

119. Papadocx

@Iain says: 9:24 pm

Bet they all have fur coats. Interesting question arises in this situation.

Is Jackie Bailey a closet Tory?

Are the Dunoon conservative and unionist ladies, closet socialists?

The mind boggles!

120. Mary Bruce

We are up for the Bannockburn Live thing. The Stirling Council unionfest scheduling is a disgrace, they should hang their heads in shame.

121. Calum Craig

Right, I’m off to burn my David Bowie CDs. If I hadn’t got rid of them years ago and now just have all my tunes digitally in various locations…

122. gillie

David Bowie: “In Japanese myth the rabbits on my old costume that Kate’s wearing live on the moon. Kate comes from Venus and I from Mars, so that’s nice. I’m completely delighted to have a Brit for being the best male but I am, aren’t I Kate? (Gallagher: yes) I think it’s a great way to end the day. Thank you very very much – and Scotland, stay with us.”

Well that’s me convinced.

123. Croompenstein

Burn Bowie no way, even just for Rebel Rebel, I think I can forgive him this he’s probably been ill advised

124. rab_the_doubter

Looks like NO have got a new idiot in their camp. That being said, his speech has more substance than most of what ive heard from BT.

David Bowie has used the Brit awards to indicate that he hopes Scotland will reject independence.

Bowie, who had just become the oldest-ever winner of the Best British male solo artist award, ended his speech: “Scotland stay with us.”

The veteran performer, who is aged 67, was not at the ceremony to have the award presented by Noel Gallagher.

His acceptance speech, broadcast on ITV, was read on his behalf by the model Kate Moss.

David Bowie’s speech said: “In Japanese myth the rabbits on my old costume that Kate’s wearing live on the moon.

“Kate comes from Venus and I from Mars, so that’s nice.

“I’m completely delighted to have a Brit for being the best male but I am, aren’t I Kate? (Gallagher: yes) I think it’s a great way to end the day.

“Thank you very very much – and Scotland, stay with us.”

125. BuckieBraes

And, right on cue, news of Bowie’s ‘apparent support’ for the No campaign is trotted out by BBC Scotland.

126. HandandShrimp

Doesn’t Bowie live in Switzerland or New York or something?

I’m mildly surprised he even knows we are voting

127. Edward

ITV News at Ten with lazy journalism by Carl Dinnen stating during a piece on the Roman Catholic Archbishop Nichols of Westminster was the ‘leader of British Catholics’ News to me as I thought he was leader of Catholics in England and Wales only.
    Scotland is separate and has its own leader

128. Flower of Scotland

Bannockburn Live … I’m going to get tickets too for Sat !
    What an absolutely abnoxious crowd on Stirling council , how dare they disrupt one of Scotland’s greatest commemorations for petty politics !

129. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, okay Bowza – you feel free? Why shouldn’t we?

130. Murray McCallum

David Bowie is like the infrequent tourist, or a person who moved away, who yearns for nothing whatsoever to change. A kind of “famous five” nostalgic outlook on the world.

It doesn’t matter to him that the people who actually live there wish to improve their lives by taking control over their own affairs.

131. crisiscult

I love Bowie’s music but he is … deranged. This is no game David. All we want is a small pot of land. You may see this as the Battle for Britain, but it’s already ashes to ashes I’m afraid (not of Americans though).

132. jammach

O/T Was invited to speak at the Yes Mossblown event tonight, by South Ayrshire Yes. Thanks to all, really enjoyed it, I seem to have made the transition from Cybernat … to MeatSpaceNat. Interesting 😉

133. creag an tuirc

Rev, you need to set up some wing(s) mirror sites, crowdfunded if need be. I sense the current cyber attacks are annoying the diehards (myself included), so what is it doing for new visitors?

134. Flower of Scotland

Never liked Bowie !

135. twenty14

Re : Bannockburn – can we not crowdfund a train. Imagine the immense satisfaction as BT’s buses and mini buses head for Stirling and a couple of 1000 roll off our own train

136. Bevrijdingsdag

Kate Moss says:
    David Bowie says:

Yawn.

137. John Gibson

On Bowie, wasn’t there a spoof act named Ciggy Barlust and the Whales From Venus?

Certainly remember the Ciggy Barlust bit (sort of included the maximum vices in the least number of letters). All a bit hazy – we’re talking 35-40 years ago now.

138. Linda's back

Buckie Braes

Despite BBC milking it, the Unionists should not get too excited about Bowie. He has been unstable for much of his life and has often flirted with Fascism.

Google Bowie and fascism . Among the links is
    http://www.cs.tau.ac.il/~alper/Bowie_and_fascism.htmt

139. twenty14

@ creag an tuirc – as the black knight lost his leg, then his arm ” nothing but a flesh wound “.

A sustained Doss attack will not be to the detriment of our Nation. If need be string and tin cans. Think our forefathers put up with a hellova lot more 🙂

140. Indy_Scot

Please don’t shout at me I’ve had a few Bulmers, the red grape ones, they are really very nice.

I believe that the two words you should be using are ‘page refresh’ and not ‘refresh page’.

‘refresh page’ is pointless.

I think ‘hi’ might have been better.

141. muttley79

Reading an article by Martin Kettle has all the attractions of attending Baillie’s dinner with the Dunoon Tory Ladies…

142. Training Day

Smiles all round on ITV London as OAP musician ends Jock uppitydom with one sentence he couldn’t be bothered delivering himself.

What price Kate Moss on the panel at the next BBC debate from Strathallan?

143. crisiscult

Just been reading about Armed Forces Day being planned to scupper the Bannockburn event; didn’t know about all this before. I’ll now be attending the Bannockburn event and promoting it to as many people as I can.

144. Jamie Arriere

Don’t be too harsh on poor Capn Darling – if we get a YES vote, I reckon I’ll lose a month as well.

145. call me dave

@ orkers
    Listened for the first 35 minutes. Looks like the SG aren’t frightened yet!

Swinney is magic, quietly and politely telling Westminster to go forth and multiple. good for him.

I’ll catch the rest later. I’m going down South for a few days hoping to catch the mood down there in Sheffield. My cousins never phoned me last week, I must ask why?

146. James123

Wow, the Bowie nonsense is the number two story on the BBC Scotland homepage, unbelievable. It’s like the BBC are saying “see, even David Bowie thinks that the Union is super dooper, so get with the program Scotland”. Any number of famous Scots celebs have come out in favour of independence but I don’t remember them getting this kind of coverage.

147. TJenny

I’m up for the WoS Bannockburn gig too.

Would the Rev be able to attend?

Do we need to ask the March and Rally organisers to organise us or should we ask the Rev to post a Bannockburn article on WoS with info inc links to ticket bookings etc and we can then arrange meet-up points for WoSSers on the day.

148. Seasick Dave

At least Bowie’s comments open the way for Yes supporters to speak out at similar events.

At the BBC’s Trad Music awards, politicising of the event was not allowed.

149. Thepnr

Talking of Bowie, I gave this album away in the 1980’s David Bowie – David Bowie, that was it’s name, sells for a grand now oops.

First song on it was this one, I still know all the words 🙂

150. TJenny

twenty14 – Ooh! I like the idea of a WoS train – is it even possible to do that? Hire a train?

151. creag an tuirc

@twenty14 I know, but it’s the internet and I want articles and people’s comments NOW. It’s internet psychology 🙂

152. gillie

The Second Battle of Bannockburn 2014

Scottish Nationalists v British Army

Let’s kick their British Army arses.

153. Training Day

Coming up on BBC Scotland: Brian Taylor exclusively chats to Kate Moss while she mimes the words of David Bowie. Undecided voters Alistair Darling and Danny Alexander recall their memories of Major Tom and relive the moment they heard Great Britain had won bronze at the triple bore shooting.

154. cirsium

@Heedtracker, 7.34pm

With regard to your problems with Facebook, these articles will be of interest. There are links in the articles to the Powerpoint slides for the GCHQ presentations on DDOS attacks, interference with blogs, Facebook and tracking people viewing Youtube clips. The sooner we get out of the Union the better.

http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/277-75/22154-the-uks-equating-of-journalism-with-terrorism
    http://www.nbcnews.com/news/investigations/snowden-docs-british-spies-used-sex-dirty-tricks-n23091
    http://investigations.nbcnews.com/_news/2014/01/27/22469304-snowden-docs-reveal-british-spies-snooped-on-youtube-and-facebook?lite

155. jingly jangly

Refreshed, Scotland Tonight, repeat the Bowie plea
    WTF, well I do suppose most OAP’s according to the polls are no voters so no change there then, what he doesn’t have a vote. That’s it Im gonna find my copy of Ziggy Stardust on cassette and burn it…

156. twenty14

@creag an tuirc – unfortunately we have a savage, wounded beasts in its death throes waged against us, with limitless technology – and we beat them by refreshing comments page – you gotta laugh

@TJenny – most travel agents can hire planes for Champions league games to Europe. Scotrail put on extra trains for Hampden/Murrayfield so I’m sure there’s away to hire a train – Talk about getting us noticed 🙂

157. Cindie

I love how creative so many people who are yes voters are. Re the Bowie comment. There is a hashtag on Twitter right now – #scottishbowie where people are coming up with Scottish titles for his songs, like ‘Ziggy played Stranraer’ and We ‘Could Be Glasgows Just for one day’, ‘Speyside oddity’ etc. Made me chuckle anyway x

158. jingly jangly

TJenny
    Back in the eighties some pals of mine used to hire a train to go from Aberdeen to the Keith Folk festival, pretty messy, with a train load of mainly students coming back from an all day session in the pubs of Keith.

159. Taranaich

Just had a thought regarding BowieTogether:

“In Japanese myth the rabbits on my old costume that Kate’s wearing live on the moon. Kate comes from Venus and I from Mars, so that’s nice. I’m completely delighted to have a Brit for being the best male but I am, aren’t I Kate? (Gallagher: yes) I think it’s a great way to end the day. Thank you very very much – and Scotland, stay with us.”

Whit the hell’s a’ tha’ wi’ th’ rabbits and moons? Well, I had a wee gander on Wikipedia:

In the Buddhist ?a?ajâtaka (Jataka Tale 316),[3] a monkey, an otter, a jackal, and a rabbit resolved to practice charity on the day of the full Moon (Uposatha), believing a demonstration of great virtue would earn a great reward.

When an old man begged for food, the monkey gathered fruits from the trees and the otter collected fish, while the jackal wrongfully pilfered a lizard and a pot of milk-curd. The rabbit, who knew only how to gather grass, instead offered its own body, throwing itself into a fire the man had built. The rabbit, however, was not burnt. The old man revealed himself to be ?akra and, touched by the rabbit’s virtue, drew the likeness of the rabbit on the Moon for all to see. It is said the lunar image is still draped in the smoke that rose when the rabbit cast itself into the fire.

A version of this story can be found in the Japanese anthology Konjaku Monogatarish?, where the rabbit’s companions are a fox and a monkey.

Similar legends occur in Mexican folklore, where people also identified the markings on the Moon as a rabbit. According to an Aztec legend, the god Quetzalcoatl, then living on Earth as a man, started on a journey and, after walking for a long time, became hungry and tired. With no food or water around, he thought he would die. Then a rabbit grazing nearby offered herself as food to save his life. Quetzalcoatl, moved by the rabbit’s noble offering, elevated her to the Moon, then lowered her back to Earth and told her, “You may be just a rabbit, but everyone will remember you; there is your image in light, for all people and for all times.”

There’s also this from the Apollo 11 mission:

Houston: Among the large headlines concerning Apollo this morning, there’s one asking that you watch for a lovely girl with a big rabbit. An ancient legend says a beautiful Chinese girl called Chang-o has been living there for 4000 years. It seems she was banished to the Moon because she stole the pill of immortality from her husband. You might also look for her companion, a large Chinese rabbit, who is easy to spot since he is always standing on his hind feet in the shade of a cinnamon tree. The name of the rabbit is not reported.

Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin: Okay. We’ll keep a close eye out for the bunny girl.

So what does it mean? The rabbit went to the moon by sacrificing itself to save someone else. Clearly Mr Bowie is asking Scots to stay in the UK to sacrifice itself for the good of the UK’s people, perhaps as part of that champagne socialist “see all suffer together rather than see some flourish and free” argument, and as a reward we’ll have a map of Scotland put on the moon for all time.

… Aye, thanks but no thanks, Davie.

160. Bill C

New poll in tomorrow’s Daily Fail they sound worried: “YES vote keeps rising”.

161. Taranaich

Also, if this WoS Bannockburn meetup is a go, then I’ll definitely get my comic finished for then. Heck, maybe I’ll make that the official launch!

162. Calgacus MacAndrews

Mr and Mrs Calgacus will get tickets for Saturday at Bannockburn, as that seems the consensus.

163. Ian Brotherhood

@crisiscult –

Aye, right enough.

‘I am barred from the event. I really don’t understand the situation. But it’s no game.’

Typical Bowzer, over-reacting slightly. Just because he doesn’t have a vote doesn’t mean he can’t come dancing in the streets with the rest of us on Sep 19th.

You are, of course, invited David – bring Kate with you if you like! I’m sure she’d be delighted to dictate your heartfelt congratulations to the people of Scotland.

164. twenty14

@Taranaich – please no offence but I never got that – I just took it someone sent him an email saying ” David Old chap you couldn’t do us a favour and say the words ” and Scotland stay with us ”

David asked why and was told there was an episode of Taggart on the other channel

165. eddie

It’s a god-awful small affair
    To the girl with the mousy hair
    But her mummy is yelling, “No!”
    And her daddy has told her to go.

Bowie’s lyrics sound like something out of a SLAB drama where the wise little child has joined Labour For Indy.

166. Early Ball

O.T.

BBC Scotland news website front page completely ignores the Curlers apart from lower down “Sochi day 12 as it happens” Pathetic and childish.

167. JGedd

I also think that there should be an organized gathering at Bannockburn. Can we do it?

168. Shiehallion! Shiehallion!

Stay with it, David.

169. MochaChoca

Imagine the utter slevering outrage if an independence supporting artist used the ‘Brits’ to promote a YES vote!

Anyhow…. haven’t they missed a trick by not patronisingly shifting the Brits up to Scotland this year?

170. Calgacus MacAndrews

What if BT wheel out Dylan?

Or Zebedee?

171. heedtracker

@ cirsium, thanks for the links! It is curious facebook behaviour but you can report it to them so I did. All that Snowden NSA disclosure showed just how deep mass surveillance is so its just a fact of life now. Texting, the web, mobiles, if they want to know who you are, they can do it seconds.

172. Ian Brotherhood

‘I know it’s gonna happen someday.’

Yes, David, so do we. In fact, we can even be quite specific about the date. Anyway, stop waving that lighter about, they tend to blow up after fifteen seconds or so.

173. twenty14

Re : Bannockburn train – so fuckin apt

” Grab your ticket and your suitcase
    Thunder’s rolling down this track
    Well you don’t know where you’re goin’ now
    But you know you won’t be back
    Well ‘Darling’ if you’re weary
    Lay your head upon my chest
    We’ll take what we can carry
    Ya, and we’ll leave behind the rest

Bruce Springsteen – Land Of Hope & Dreams

174. Calgacus MacAndrews

@JGedd says:
    I also think that there should be an organized gathering at Bannockburn. Can we do it?

Last person that said that was King Edward II …

175. twenty14

@ Calgacus MacAndrews- nearly had the Merlot over the screen

176. caz-m

On the subject of DDOS problems, when I use my ordinary Windows page to open Wings, I get 155 comments showing.

When I use a proxy site to open Wings , I get 185 comments.

Very strange. I don’t know why this is so, maybe some of you tech minded guys will know.

177. Iain

Big boost for Yes in latest poll.

http://tinyurl.com/p4hubz3

178. caz-m

Mon the Curlers.

We luv you, even if BBC Scotland don’t.

And as soon as you get home, dump the Butchers Apron.

179. JPJ2

For those who have not seen it yet, the politicalbetting website reports poll showing “no” lead down from 20% to 9%.

This is AFTER Osborne’s speech.

180. joe kane

BBC Scotland seems overjoyed at David Bowie’s views on Scottish independence tonight. No politicking there of a national event on behalf of Better Together.

I just hope the nats remember how to conduct themselves in public too, and don’t stoop to politicising the Commonwealth Games or this year’s wonderful celebrations marking the start of the World War I industrial bloodbath.

Anyway, trust the horrible cybernats on Twitter to spoil the party by pointing out the unionist songbird’s former political views –
    The MU’s response to David Bowie’s “Nazi” salute
    http://www.muhistory.com/?p=304

181. Jamie Arriere

Ground Control to Major Tom : “Mind yer own business, there’s a good chap!”

182. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Iain says:

I’ve put it on archive.is

http://archive.is/ObA4B

It it too early to start sharpening bayonets?

183. TJenny

jingly jangly + twenty14 – How much would the train cost and do you have to guarantee numbers?

If we were to crowdfund a WoS train, we could also include in the funding a return flight for the Rev to attend too, Yes?

184. TootsCapoot

Evening HandandShrimp, Heed Tracker and Grouse Beater.

That Kettle ‘article’ in the Guardian is really winding me up. I don’t think he’s got a single thing to say on Scotland that’s worth a damn and never has had. No wonder CiF’s gone to hell in a handbag, especially this last week or two. I think their click bait strategy is backfiring; it’s just crawling with the ignorant, the right wing and those with just no sense of context about the issue. The Torygraph articles and comments on Scotland are just flat out dystopian.

185. X_Sticks

Bannockburn done.

See you all on Saturday 28th June!

Will King Edward be there?

186. Calgacus MacAndrews

… or Bowie knives …

187. twenty14

dossers working overtime again tonight

188. Calum Craig

Wee bit O/T but it’s a cover of my favourite Bowie track and just think, where will we be five years from now?

189. twenty14

@TJenny – email sent to Scotrail – will see what reply says

190. chicmac

Bit disappointed that Bowie decided to put the knife in.

191. Kate

Great idea about wingers heading to Stirling for the Bannockburn Day, count me in.
    We really need a rally of sorts to show our strength.

192. James123

One stat stands out for me in the TNS poll, people who support independence are more likely to actually vote compared to those who oppose independence, 84% to 73%. If that is correct it is huge.

That means that even if Yes was behind by 5 percent in the polls going into the referendum we would still win!

193. chicmac

Maybe he’ll do a schmaltzy rewrite of an old favourite, like Elton’s redo of “Candle in the Wind” for Lady Di. I’m thinking along the lines of “Uncle Tom”. 🙄

194. TJenny

twenty14 – Woo, woo:-)

195. Taranaich

@twenty14: please no offence but I never got that – I just took it someone sent him an email saying ” David Old chap you couldn’t do us a favour and say the words ” and Scotland stay with us ”

No offense taken: I wasn’t putting any of that forward as Mr Bowie’s genuine thought processes, just applying some fun literary analysis. Like saying “The Wizard of Oz” is a metaphor for early 20th century economics.

196. Albert Herring

Ground control to Major Tom… Mind your own fucking business.

197. James123

William Hill’s odds now down to 3/1 for a Yes vote. Bettors get your money on now before its too late.

http://sports.williamhill.com/bet/en-gb/betting/g/1479658/Scottish-Independence-Markets.html

198. msean

On September 18th

We could be heroes,for more than one day.

199. The Water Beastie

Aye, Taranaich – if that reading of his bunny runes could get back to him, he might be struck by a crisis of confidence…I do recall hearing that he had Scots ancestry, is that right, anyone? That was according to Sue, a nurse in Ullapool/Oban that allegedly was looking after his grandmother in a nursing home…however the grandmother might have been a psychogeriatric, so perhaps not the strongest evidence to support the argument… 🙂

200. Piemonteis

Interesting polls.

The statistic that stands out for me in the TNS poll is that 62% of those who didn’t vote in 2011 are very likely/certain to vote. These people are also more likely to be among C2 and DE economic sectors of the population, who are said to be more open to independence.

And of all of those who didn’t vote in 2010, 43% are still undecided. It’s game on.

201. The Man in the Jar

For those that are thinking about the Bannockburn event here is an article about it. Sorry if it is a wee bit out of date but relevant all the same.

http://www.clans2014.com/bannockburn-and-armed-forces-day-a-clash-or-conspiracy/

Also worth mentioning that the somewhat loose association between the Scottish patriot / commemorative communities are organising a Bannockburn event on the preceding Saturday (21st). This date is actually closer to the date of the Battle. This is partly in protest at the official celebrations being hijacked by Stirling council. I will post more information as I get it.

202. boglestone

Loving the alien intervention by Bowie. Sorry, all the good puns are gone.

However, this illustrator guy I follow on twitter is always quick off the mark, and knocked up this witty graphic response…

https://twitter.com/stewartbremner/status/436296805454577664/photo/1

I like.

203. Albalha

Re Bowie, Kooks seems to fit the bill of his plea, saw him at a rain soaked Murrayfield, 1980, aye memories. So David we’ll take our chance, as we’re all grown up now, and leave the Kooks to their own devices.

Will you stay in our Lovers’ Story
    If you stay you won’t be sorry
    ‘Cause we believe in you
    Soon you’ll grow so take a chance
    With a couple of Kooks
    Hung up on romancing

204. John H.

Sky News this morning. Welsh communities are up in arms because the money Cameron promised to help pay for flood damage is for England only.

205. SteveW

David Bowie and David Cameron should listen to this old Sting track.

206. john king

“Seeing as how the NO side are taking great joy out of low ticket uptake at Bannockburn event,”

Hardly surprising Gordoz when the organisers are looking for £22.00 a skull I was looking at the “Kings” ticket and that is £70.00+ per head the plan was to take two of our grandkids to the event (just one day) and the cost for two adults and two kids would be £69.00, expensive day out for a lot of people, but likelihood is we’ll still be going.

207. Juteman

You wake up after a shitty sleep and find the cause is lost.
    The Duke has said No.
    Ah well, at least we tried.

208. twenty14

morning

209. bunter

Just caught R4 chap interviewing the One Direction boys on Bowie’s award and trying to draw them into supporting Bowie’s indy statement.

The One Direction boys declined to comment. How clever and sensible are they for their age!

210. Angus

I’m up for meeting at Bannockburn.
    Bowie, or rather Jones going by his real name, we will be happy to wave bye bye when we are sailing north in the good ship Scotland.

211. Croompenstein

@john king – it is a bit steep and its going to cost my family a small fortune just to get there but it’s once in a lifetime it’s our chance to say our history means something to us

212. john king

“After all they have no rally in Edinburgh this year. They also have all the expertise in setting up transport links, stalls, toilets, dealing with people who are disabled in some way. Also booking the speakers and musicians for the day.”

In as far as what was in the organizers power to control such as transport for disabled up the hill (my wife couldn’t have gone without that wee blue minibus) ,yes they were second to none but toilets? I stood in a hundred long queue to get to a toilet (none of which were for disabled access)and watched from a distance while an elderly man with help from another person in to queue helped his disabled wife out of her wheelchair into a standard toilet, and as the murmurs of disquiet grew someone in the queue who seemed to talk with some authority on the subject said the lack of toilets and disabled toilets was down to Edinburgh council,how true that was I don’t know but it would appear to have been an attempt by the council to dampen (ahem) proceedings.

213. john king

What is the consensus of which day would be best? I noticed someone has already bought tickets for the 28th which tbh is my preferred date as well as I am working on the sunday.

214. john king

I noticed that presenter Jonny Gould commenting on the headlines in the free advert for the papers on SKY news mentions a headline in the Sun where John Swinney warns that the UK treasury would be a further “£130billion in the red” should they choose not to share the pound due to the Scottish government not accepting liabilities without a share of the assets described it as “scaremongering” but the commentators quote people like Osbourne’s Alexander’s (spit) and Balls (hawk) comments as absolute fact,
    funny that intit.

215. scottish_skier

Now I’ll wait for the tables as usual, but that’s a big swing. I’m also seeing some other signs too.

Whether George intended it or not, initial indications are that he made a big impression…

216. Andrew Morton

New polls out according to Scot goes Pop

Looking good!

217. john king

Got a great reply to my post on the Gordon Brown story

Gordon Brown warns Scots independence means losing British state pension
    You received 24 replies | Telegraph Telegraph | 1534 comments

jdmank
    jdmank | Tuesday, Feb. 18th | View on Telegraph

A little list of countries who have gained independence from the UK , remind me, how many of them have come “crawling” again?CountryDateYear of IndependenceNotes Bangladesh26 March1971Bangladesh Liberation War, though …

Proofteller
    Proofteller replied | Tuesday, Feb. 18th | View on Telegraph

“But most have plummeted the depths of barbarism.”

words fail. 🙁

218. Graeme S

A small bit of analysis on the latest polling. If you take the headline figures from the DM poll and adjust for the Don’t Knows, you get: No 55.95%, Yes 45.24% (there’s a rounding error in the poll, carried through here).

The TNS/BARB poll also suggests that Yes voters are 84% likely to vote, with No voters on 73%. If you adjust the DM figures based on this, you end up with: No 51.8%, Yes 48.2%.

Comparing figures across polls like this isn’t ideal, but if it’s anything close to the true picture then it’s very tight indeed.

219. scottish_skier

A post Osballs TNS is going to be very interesting (the latest one on Scot goes Pop is pre-Osballs).

Big shy Yes (face to fact door knocking poll) which results in weirdly high DK.

I doubt they’ll remain shy now Osborne took the gloves off.

220. Albalha

Oh dear, Louise White and her phone-in is asking, in the light of DB’s Brits pay off, who influences you in the debate.

Hopefully folks will call in and tell her all about the latest polling.

221. scottish_skier

The Survation/Mail poll in full

“Data were weighted by gender, age, region and 2010 general election vote

So it would appear it is a direct swing and not due to a methodology adjustment.

That’ll set a cat amongst the pigeons.

222. patronsaintofcats

The Bowie intervention has turned out to be hilarious – check out #scottishbowie on Twitter. Seems to have backfired spectacularly lol.

223. heedtracker

Daily BBC vote no propaganda even weirder this morn with vote no Bowie all over BBC radio 4, BBC online etc but no mention on BBC national breakfast TV. Maybe that’s what these charming characters call BBC impartialityness. Or on tv it just makes them all look even more ridiculous.

224. Another Union Dividend

To shorten a very long story, Bowie, as the “Cracked Actor” documentary confirms was in the midst of assorted addiction problems was quoted in Playboy magazine as saying:

“Britain is ready for a fascist leader… I think Britain could benefit from a fascist leader. After all, fascism is really nationalism… I believe very strongly in fascism, people have always responded with greater efficiency under a regimental leadership…Adolf Hitler was one of the first rock stars…You’ve got to have an extreme right front come up and sweep everything off its feet and tidy everything up.”

http://www.muhistory.com/?p=304

225. scottish_skier

ch..ch..ch…stay the same.

226. Albalha

@patronsaintofcats

Thanks for the tip, my favourites so far, ‘The Prime of Miss Jean Genie’ and ‘Jock, I’m only dancing’, here’s the link.

https://twitter.com/search?q=%23scottishbowie&src=hash&f=realtime

227. dmw42

Ah, David Bowie; a lad insane.

Didn’t he write a song about Gordon Brown? The man who saved the world (or something).

228. scottish_skier

“Data were weighted by gender, age, region and 2010 general election vote”

Hold on that. Those tables appear to be from last time. Curtice saying survation have weighted to 2010 this time.

229. Albalha

@dmw42

A lad insane, kudos, you should post on the twitter thing.

230. Robert Louis

Regarding David Bowie, I’m sure he is a fine musician, but do we really need a man who has been a UK tax exile and lived in Switzerland for the last 30+ years to tell Scots what to do??

I appreciate he is entitled to his opinion, but I’m not sure he is best placed to tell Scots anything.

231. dmw42

Correction, I’m reliably informed the Gordon Brown song was ‘the man who sold the gold’.

232. Albalha

@ss
    I took the link from the Betting Politics link.

http://politicalbetting.com/

233. Marcia

I see the Survation poll is still weighting by the 2010 election voting and not 2011.

To continue the Bowie music theme – Unionists Under Pressure.

234. scottish_skier

to 2011 (feck) this time.

235. patronsaintofcats

Getting pure annoyed at ddos attack 🙁

236. HoraceSaysYes

So, Bowie has weighed in to the debate then. I always that the chorus to ‘Scary Monsters’ sums up the no campaign quite well.

“Scary monsters, and super creeps, keep me running, running scared.”

237. Marcia

Correction – those mentioned above are for a previous poll, the new poll has been done to 2011 according to John Curtice.

Quite pleased with the results so far.

238. bunter

testing!

239. dmw42

thx Albalha, but I don’t do the twitter thingy.

On Bannockburn, as noted in an earlier post, we’ve (deliberately) booked tickets for the Saturday. There are a few things happening in the area throughout June, haven’t heard anything specific about the 21st though other than Ochils Fest and Rob Roy Challenge.

240. Mosstrooper

Whistling in the wind

241. Famous15

Economic facts by Ivan McKee and Wings getting a lot of mention on Morning Call.

I had a good laugh at the beginning when some ” neutral” blogger said he moved from don’t know to NO because of the a abuse David Bowie got. It was curious that he used words like separatist.What do you call a radio troll?

Leckie of Scottish Sun sounding like a saint ..Aye right!

242. patronsaintofcats

@albalha

“The Man Who Fell to Perth”, “Life on Ma Arse”, “DiamondDugs” #scottishbowie

243. Marcia

snippets from the Survation poll via SNP website;

The poll also find that 29 per cent of people are more likely to vote Yes as a result of George Osborne, Ed Balls and Danny Alexander threatening not to share the pound with an independent Scotland – compared to 22 per cent who are more likely to vote No.

52 per cent of people think it would be in the interests of the rest of the UK to join a currency union with an independent Scotland – more than twice the 25 per cent who disagree. 23 per cent don’t know.

48 per cent of people back a currency union – more support than for all the other options added together – which translates into 55 per cent when don’t knows are excluded.

And the number who expect that an independent Scotland will use the pound in a currency union with the rest of the UK – at 33 per cent (41 per cent when don’t know are excluded) is more than twice as popular as the next option.

The poll also has the following party ratings
    Constituency vote:
    SNP: 44%
    Lab: 31%
    Con: 13%
    Lib Dem: 6%

Regional list vote:
    SNP: 41%
    Lab: 30%
    Con: 13%
    Lib Dem: 8%

Westminster:
    SNP: 38%
    Lab: 33%
    Con: 17%
    Lib Dem: 6%

244. gordoz

State Broadcaster moring radio now –

Apparently if you say anything online about Mr Bowie – you are a cybernat.

This from political heavywight Bill Leckie ; the Sun (Who ?) He is not BT but voting No as YES have nothing positive to say. All the bad stuff online coming from YES no bad people in No campaign.

Thats you YES told eh !!

YES case crumbles – Under pressure

Again Bill Who ? BBC at top of game clearly.

245. Albalha

@patronsaintofcats

‘The man who fell to Airth’ #ScottishBowie

246. Desimond

Lot of people getting knickers a-twisting at David Bowie. Cant see the harm myself. Its the Brits, an award he doesnt even deem worthy of attending , and he goes and throws in something controversial, showing old David can still stir the pot of mediocrity ( I mean One Direction – A global success award…come on!).

If anything, Davids plea will maybe help some weans watching turn and say “Whats he mean?” and take an interest, so far most still seem distanced from the Referendum.

If you’re going to moan about the brilliant Bowie, complain about Tin Machine or his instigation of Bowie Bonds and Securitization which began the roll to Financial Meltdown. Please don’t moan about a truly individual ( any thoughts he was asked to do this is hilarious) artist throwing yet another spanner in the works just cause you don’t like the spanner

247. gordoz

From what I heard of Bowie via Ms Moss – he was inviting Scots over to New York for Hols, (Isn’t that where he is domocile ?

Scotland stay with us was what was said. Now you can spin it as you like but those were the words.

Where did he say vote NO !

248. Lanarkist

RadScot Good Morning is really finding it hard to hold back the tide. First caller mentioned WOS, UWS Report on BIas and searching online. Next had no BBC license and was online. Another caller, older chap from Carnoustie mentioned video from Business for Scotland.

Poor David B, just like David C. Is having the reverse effect to that intended.

Beeb now trawling for No tweets, and phoning Curtice and trusted hands for support and reinforcement.

The tide is turning.

249. Richard

@scottish skier

Prof C is claiming Survation not based on 2010 GE. Are you able to confirm and if he is correct give us the benefit of your wisdom once again. Really look forward to your posts on this stuff

250. heedtracker

Just got put right on BBC tv news as Bowie was actually all over main BBC tv news but not in their Brit awards stuff inbetween main news, what I caught. Apologeeze to vote No BBC for getting their ever creepier blanket vote NO propaganda way out of proportion, this morning:D

251. john king

John Swinney
    “I take personal exception to the assertion of the permanent secretary to the treasury’s accusation of financial profligacy having fulfilled all of my obligations to balance the Scottish budget, when he presided over a building of a debt of £1.3 trillion.”

Or in other words
    GET IT RIGHT UP YE 🙂
    nice one Mr Swinney

252. patronsaintofcats

‘Bowie’s people tells Moss’ people to tell her to tell our People to stay with people Bowie doesn’t live with’ – Frank Wilson @frawil66

253. chalks

Could someone answer this one, maybe Skier?

I’m certain the No voters likely to vote was up in the 80% mark before?

Is this a trend of a Yes vote rising? The No vote decide not to bother?

Personally, if true, I think it’s a link between the emotional connection not being as strong as the brain connection.

Pretty interesting and we should remember that Labour etc just don’t have the boots on the ground to be able to get their vote out all over Scotland on the day…..Yes have thousands upon thousands of volunteers to get their vote out.

254. Barontorc

No matter what Bowie says – he is a star turn – maybe not a political guru, but looks to be honest and calls it as it he sees it – even the misguided Hitler crap he spouted.

As to his point of view, who can blame him if all his info is coming from the BBC and msm? Give me the real political songsters from Scotland to tell me what’s what – stand up oor ain Proclaimers and take a bow!

255. john king

“@ Calgacus MacAndrews- nearly had the Merlot over the screen”

seems the English are always having problems with spilling their Merlot as well,
    since a lot of English Merlot was spilled on Stirling Brig that day,
    for gods sake don’t tell Ian Davidson that! 😉

On a separate note anyone uneasy about a high profile Wings attendance at the Bannockburn commemoration?

I’m concerned about the spin the MSM will put on this (Braveheart separatists and all that), it could have exactly the opposite effect than we would like by portraying us as people who live in the past, but on the other hand I liked Christian Wrights demand that we take back our history from these people who’s primary aim is to wipe it out and remove it from the collective memory, as an example Stirling Councils efforts to scupper the Bannockburn event by holding Army day on the same weekend,

I am open to persuasion though.

256. InDEEpendant

Stu, Just picked up this from The Kaiser Report.

Defo worth a watch if you have the time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kg4aKRmtRGU

Let’s get in the lifeboat quick!!!!!!

257. Ian Brotherhood

Superb shout-out for Wings on morningscotland, approx 9.15, by ‘Willie’?

Who be you Willie? Please step up and accept the plaudits.

258. Jamie Arriere

@dmw42

I think that song was actually called “The Man Who Sold the World (at a catastrophic loss)”

259. Salt Ire

O/T but have any of your FoI requests to the BBC asked how many licence fees have been cancelled in Scotland since about June last year Rev?

It may be a question they can duck, I’m not sure.

It’s just that if they did respond and it was a significant number then getting it slapped on posters/websites/social media etc may wake up some people who think it’s a small minority of folks who just don’t like the BBC.

There’s no better indicator of disquiet than showing people voting with their feet etc.

Just a thought.

260. Robert Louis

Desimond

I can’t see anybody getting their knickers twisted over Bowie. Most here regard it as silly. The rest is all jokes.

Calm down.

261. Edward

Regards Kate Moss and David Bowie
    After watching what turned out to be a tawdry awards show, with comedians jokes falling flat in the vast arena and regular views of over indulgence at the tables (we are all in this together, its austerity Jim but not as we know it)

We came to Kate Moss accepting the Brit award on behalf of David Bowie, who couldn’t be arsed to spend some pocket change to nip over and collect himself. So Kate Moss read out to the awaiting masses what David wrote for her. So far still tawdry and just a tad pretentious. Moss appears to have finished reading and off the cuff states ‘Scotland…stay with us’

In those 4 words actually said it all, who or what was ‘us’ did she mean Britain, did she mean England, was it like telling a dog to stay?
    I found it rather stupid as this was coming from (apparently) an aging rock start, who lives abroad, whose interest in Scotland, probably ranks about the same as any Scots persons interest in the weather in downtown Manhatten.

It was said in a way to be ‘chique'(sic), current, the way aging rock stars want to be ‘in touch’, read by a former model who equally is out of touch with what’s happening in Scotland, let alone the poverty and austerity in the UK at large.

Yet we have wall to wall coverage from the media and especially the BBC, who are falling over themselves with this story. Perhaps in the cold light of day, people will realise that it wasn’t actually relevant to their lives, especially those that have to fend off hunger by relying on food banks

262. scottish_skier

Are you able to confirm and if he is correct give us the benefit of your wisdom once again.

I was confused myself this morning. Their last poll was 2010 weighted = big problem. I saw tables linked to this morning and thought they were for the new poll but instead they were for the previous one. Prof C is saying they have moved to 2011 weighting now. Need to see the tables as Yougov claimed they are no longer weighting to 2010 yet still are.

Survation themselves conclude that there is a swing, but it is 60% methodology change and 40% swing.

http://survation.com/2014/02/a-note-on-methodology-for-our-recent-scottish-poll/

Either way, No had gained nothing from Osballs and early indications are that Yes has benefited.

263. dmw42

@Jamie: Who knows? Not me.

They both could do with an ‘aye’ transplant though.

264. Misteralz

Feeling an all time no…

Or something along those lines.

265. Morag

I remember Kate Moss being in the news because of cocaine abuse or something like that. My Mum turned to me looking very puzzled and said, but she’s an author, she’s on Radio 4! No, Mum, that’s Kate Mosse.

266. Morag

Sorry, cannae spell email address. That’s what happens when you have to keep retyping it. Anything that can go wrong….

267. Morag

And then my comment gets junked rather than posted. Oh well its wasn’t anything important. This DDoS stuff is annoying though.

268. Albalha

@Edward

According to J Baillie what he said is ‘beyond cool’, doesn’t that now mean crap?

https://twitter.com/jackiebmsp

269. Misteralz

O/T – Found a pile of emails from Yes Aberdeenshire in my junk box. I’ve not put them there, nor have I ever deleted anything they’ve sent me. Looks like I’m on somebody’s list now…

270. scottish_skier

polls

271. Peter Macbeastie

Spectacularly unmoved by the wee flash of fireworks around David Bowie. It’s a single line, he didn’t say it himself, and pretty much no one sees it as remotely relevant.

He’s a musician that doesn’t live in the UK, never mind Scotland. Don’t even know if anyone could point to the last time he set foot here, never mind stayed for a while. So forget about this; it’s not even remotely relevant. It is no more relevant than the single line comments of anyone else who lives elsewhere and knows nothing about the debate. Which, let’s be clear, he almost certainly doesn’t.

He is entitled to his opinion. What he’s not entitled to is the amount of time seemingly rational people are spending dissecting a single, short line of text are spending on it. File as an interesting little aside to the debate because that is all it is. David Bowie’s a unionist. Big whoop.

Next!!

272. The Man in the Jar

Wee Ginger Dug biting Barroso`s ankles again.

“Barroso gets a Basque bollocking”

http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2014/02/20/barroso-gets-a-basque-bollocking/

273. Ananurhing

“Stay with us Scotland”.

Don’t you worry your wee head Mr Bowie, we’re not going away anywhere…..Now! Would you like a wee biscuit with yer tea? You’d like that, wouldn’t you? You like a wee biscuit, don’t you?

274. liz

Re the guardian – I don’t log in or comment now and I have no intentions of doing so in the near future.

They are hypocrites – it’s not even allowing the rancid comments on CiF, it’s the complete igmorance and arrogance of their journalists.

They seem to assume we should be seen and not heard and pay up when told to.
    They disgust me – facts are sacred – my arse!

275. Harry Shanks

cough

276. Famous15

Re Bannockburn. I cancelled my membership of the National Trust For Scotland a number of years ago when they started rewriting Scottish History from the point of view of a colonial power. How do I celebrate the victory of 1314 without NTS gaining or have they improved in recent time

277. faolie

@orkers, thanks for the link.

1p TAX RISE FOR rUK TAXPAYERS TO FINANCE rUK’S DEBT MOUNTAIN IF GEORGE OSBORNE REFUSES TO SHARE POUND!

Watched / listened to whole thing while working on my laptop. Brilliant stuff, especially John Swinney’s calm reasoning of why there should be a sterling zone. Worth remembering these three points, wingers, if there’s a refusal to join a Sterling zone:

* Loss of Scotland’s revenues to balance of payments: £39bn from oil & gas alone

* UK suddenly has to finance an extra debt servicing costs of £4-£5bn from a roughly £130bn (ie Scotland’s ‘share’)

* rUK businesses’ transaction costs shoot up by £500m

It’s interesting isn’t that if any journalist worth his salt had bothered to cover this, perhaps the above might be actually the headlines? But of course we have our timid, biased MSM so that’s never going to happen eh? But at least we can publicise this here.

278. Taranaich

@The Man in the Jar: Also worth mentioning that the somewhat loose association between the Scottish patriot / commemorative communities are organising a Bannockburn event on the preceding Saturday (21st). This date is actually closer to the date of the Battle. This is partly in protest at the official celebrations being hijacked by Stirling council. I will post more information as I get it.

BRILLIANT idea, in fact I think we should start promoting that one over the “official” one. Clearly the Majordomo of Stirling Castle is still in the employ of the Westminster Nobility, so it’s up to the Sma’ Fowk to take it back to the people.

Get Bella, Newsnet, the Collective, everyone!

*cue montage of hands fervently tapping out morse code, switching telephone cables, and unleashing carrier pigeons*

@Famous15: Re Bannockburn. I cancelled my membership of the National Trust For Scotland a number of years ago when they started rewriting Scottish History from the point of view of a colonial power. How do I celebrate the victory of 1314 without NTS gaining or have they improved in recent time

I’ve been a member for a year now, and I have to say I haven’t seen anything quite like that: in fact I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the material I’ve seen. I actually grilled the person at Stirling Castle (where I bought it) and they seemed fairly adamant in promoting a Scottish viewpoint completely independent from the English Trust, befitting their status as an organisation.

It isn’t perfect, and there are some moments that bothered me a bit, but my experience has been fairly positive. My guess is that the colonial rewriting has itself been rewritten. I noticed that there’s been a HUGE refurbishment of Stirling castle with high-tech exhibits & the like, so it’s likely the factual material’s been refurbished too.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.