40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Andrew McLean

Woke up to a hangover, I would suggest not alone! πŸ™‚

2. Brian Doonthetoon

Former Winger Natasha at 1m 11s in the video at the link.

http://indyref2.scot/the-grassroots-yes-is-back

3. Paula Rose

Fabby Natasha – once a winger always a winger.

4. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s an O/T question for ‘off-topic’.

Just having a blether with my son about the catchment area of the River Tay and I remarked that I had a video recording (on tape) of an Open University programme about the River Tay from years ago, recorded from one of the late night sessions on the BBC – 2, I think.

The question is, why did these Open University broadcasts stop?

5. starlaw

I’m fed up listening to Gove banging on about his father losing out in Aberdeen to the Common Market Fishing Policy. He did not .. the Long distance boats were lost to the Icelandic Cod Wars, and the pelagic fleet left due to a dispute with dockers. Ted Heath declared the Scottish Fishing Fleet to be expendable on Britain Joining the Common Market. Ted Heath gave the fishing grounds away

6. Paula Rose

Yep.

7. DerekM

This new grassroots campaign being brought together looks interesting are we invited ?

It would be nice if the guys involved could drop in and keep us updated a few good cheer articles amongst the dead and dying trauma of yoonacide and the paper echoes screaming in the night SNPbad would be good for the soul πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYVDN27CrOo

8. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Thanks for that link.

Good to see some familiar faces, especially Natasha.

*Will Ye No Come Back Again…* sniff…

9. Paula Rose

@DerekM we are the biz.

10. DerekM

lol aye they flung the kitchen sink at us

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ju0UOrnWoZk

11. Just a note on the Yes Registry; we over at English Scots have been in talks with them for some time, and we’ll also be re-launching this summer. In fact, we have a video in the offing, so any English Scots on here that fancy being involved, we could do with people willing to help narrate it (we’ll send you an email with the words to read out & record, you send us the sound file, the techno-wizards do the rest…)..

If you’re willing, send me an email math.campbell@gmail.com

12. CameronB Brodie

I’ve not posted for a while, so here’s one that my ATOS assessment put me in mind of. Talking of which, I was getting a bus back from the very edge of town (probably part of the assesment was getting there), and I found myself reading some blurb on the bus shelter. The first paragraph stated that Edinburgh began to grow as a result of the Yoonion of the Parliaments, which was necessary because Scotland was skint and needed a hand-out from England. This shit was sponsored by City Edinburgh Council.

I’ll try to remember to go back for photographic evidence.

Reigning Sound – Stick Up for Me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QzojerkSLM

13. K1

Well, there’s been enough time to now say it…at least in off topic….the troll is gone, the troll is gone, thank fuck the troll is gone!

The difference this week in reading Wings has been truly welcome, it’s been a lot quieter but it’s also been steady, intelligent and informative btl, with none of the arrogant pish that was it’s hallmark splattered all over every thread.

I for one am a very grateful Winger for whatever it was that stopped those relentless narcissistic, arrogant, pompous lectures from that chief of twatness.

Long may it continue… πŸ™‚

14. Paula Rose

Certainly true K1 but unfortunately there will be others.

15. K1

But none surely as ‘bad’ as that ‘one’, he wasn’t exactly a ‘troll’ just extremely unpleasant manner, heartless in outlook and cruel to others he deemed ‘less than’ He was a piece of work…there aren’t many out there with that ‘unique’ blend. A troll is easily spotted and dealt with on here…he was ‘allowed’ free reign. Interesting.

16. Paula Rose

His days were numbered when he started bragging.

17. Ian Brotherhood

@KI –

I share your elation.

Please remember though – professional cheese & onion rolls, as ‘workers’, are entitled to holidays like anyone else.

Fingers crossed all the same…

‘Ochone, ochone, will we e’er see his likes again?’
    ‘Ah dinna ken, but ah hope the fuck naw, eh?’

πŸ˜‰

18. CameronB Brodie

“No point in looking back…”

Sonic Species – Just Another Freak (Vertical Mode Remix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GN_HdAPpask

Only seven minutes long this time. πŸ˜‰

19. Almannysbunnet

@K1
    “I for one am a very grateful Winger for whatever it was that stopped those relentless narcissistic, arrogant, pompous lectures from that chief of twatness.”

And right on queue a new chap has arrived called twathater on the hawks and doves topic. I might be wrong but its writing style looks familiar.

20. yesindyref2

@Almannysbunnet
    twathater has posted a few times on Wings. Doesn’t like the EU, is critical at times of the SNP (some of us are!). Says he/she is an Indy supporter and iswas an SNP voter. So not a new poster in town, does the new poster feel happy, well does he?

21. K1

Yeah Almanny, I’ve seen twathater on Wings before too…just a coincidence that I happened to use that term and you notice his handle! (I’ve always read their name as ‘twath’ ‘ater’, funny whit the brain does isn’t it…

22. Almannysbunnet

Ach well I’ll just shut up then, it might stop me putting my foot in my mouth πŸ™‚

23. yesindyref2

Mmm, seems kind of appropriate, did I do this before?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ipm2wm5Exik&list=PLyjU1B4foHcj-RhWxyCqUREOiymUAXsfE&index=16

24. Andrew McLean

K1

I thought he was a misogynist, not a cunning~linguist?

25. K1

Ach Andrew this is the trouble wi language isn’t it? The use of ‘twat’ interchangeable with ‘idiot’ ‘fool’ ‘wanker’ et al…rarely thinking of it’s other ‘meaning’. I wouldn’t presume to know whether he was able to perform any kind of linguistically challenging activity though…nor whether he was a misogynist come to think of it…he was just a pompous git… πŸ™‚

26. Patrician

For Brian Doonthetoon’s query regarding OU. https://www3.open.ac.uk/media/fullstory.aspx?id=9898,

*Corrected the autocorrelation πŸ™ *

27. Stoker

So good to be back home again – Annie no licker
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awGNtRhnWKc

28. Paula Rose

Crap music again – retires to kitchen.

29. Stoker

Adios P, don’t forget to put yersel oot wae the trash!
    πŸ™‚

Give Me Novacaine – Green Day
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zD-AmyTNy0

30. Paula Rose

Keep the noise down Dear I’ve got classic FM on in here.

31. Stoker

Elvis Costello – Oliver’s Army
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrjHz5hrupA

32. Stoker

Tenpole Tudor – Three Bells In A Row
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twuCXtKrJjU

Sham 69 – If The Kids Are United
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GQMIXGRjaw

The Ramones – Sheena Is A Punk Rocker
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGgfHZ02I2k

33. Paula Rose

Let’s go for the best…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C9GlC9GyF4Y

34. Paula Rose

ECSTATIC now Babe!!!

35. Stoker

This is dedicated to Mary from MacConnells, Glasgow.

Erasure – Ship Of Fools
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekc_aR5LyAk

Sorry, P, i’d do one for you but you’re so hard to please!
    πŸ™‚

36. Paula Rose

*looks over glasses whilst continuing to do the washing up*

37. Stoker

πŸ™‚

Flock Of Seagulls – I Ran
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F6HiBxGRfzI

Soft Cell – Tainted Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZVpR3Pk-r8

Simon & Garfunkel – The Boxer
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3LFML_pxlY

38. Paula Rose

Flock of fucking seagulls – are you deliberately causing trouble now?

39. Stoker

Tories and Triggers
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8zWlsyF1nU

Small Faces – All Or Nothing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NjEMHtSCU9M

I’ll leave you all with those thoughts – good night troops!!
    πŸ˜‰

40. David

How Scottish Labour’s Kieron Green won a council seat in Oban North and Lorn last week:
    He pretended to be an ‘Independent’. Sleekit bastard.

To begin with Mr IndySLab was 344 first preference votes BEHIND the SNP candidate. Then he got 110 votes from LibDems (SNP got only 42). Then he got 339 votes from the Tories (SNP only got 41). So he won by 1160 votes to 1138.
    Just like the IndyRef, Tories and Labour acting hand in glove.

Here’s the breakdown of the voting.

http://www.argyll-bute.gov.uk/sites/default/files/election_results_oban_north_and_lorn_ward_admin_02_jun_2016_23_34_32_473.pdf

41. David

Rgarding that Oban council by-election, did the local SNP group not know that “Independent” Mr Green was actually a Labour party member?

The fact on his actual allegiance should have been pounded home to the electorate, so they knew of Mr. Green’s planned deceit.

A hard lesson, let us hope the SNP learn from it, and in future they put intense scrutiny on any “independent” who tries to run against them.

42. Dave McEwan Hill

Of course we knew Green was Labour. That’s the third election he has fought in Oban in the last two years. All the electors knew that as well. He has contested as a Labour candidate before. What happened was the unionist vote coalescing around the unionist candidates in second preferences in a low turnout.
    All elections in Scotland now are SNP against the rest.

43. yesindyref2

I don’t really think a certain person was there for the EU though I didn’t want to say that in the main thread, I think she was there for Indy, countering the first Project Fear, and sovereignty of any country including iScotland within the EU. Which makes her the (good) wolf in sheep’s clothing but hey, I played that one. How about:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABXtWqmArUU

44. tartanpigsy

Stoker- Is that your very fkn yes campervan that sometimes pulls up in the carpark by Home bargains in Sneck?

Also where/ when is the next Wings do to be held?

45. Paula Rose

Brechin.

46. Tartan Tory

Just dropping-in here to give a wee note of thanks to ‘cearc’. πŸ˜‰

That is all…..!!

Hope you are all keeping well.

47. Tartan Tory

And thanks to Ronnie now as well. πŸ™‚

48. Paula Rose

Hello Tartan Tory Honey – I’ve got Craig Murray coming to give a talk in Brechin, do you want details?

49. Tartan Tory

Hello young lady! If you can remember how to find your way onto Facebook, you can send me the details there please. πŸ˜‰

50. Ronnie Wotherspoon

How do you go about getting a profile picture on this board? I have a rather cool image of the famous Clown and Wolfman holding a Yes flag picture that I drew that I would like to use.

I came up with it whilst I was killing time in Penicuik and would like to use it now that I have embraced the internet age!

51. Paula Rose

Ronnie Wotherspoon I think I used this one –

https://en.gravatar.com

No doubt others will pop in soon with advice.

52. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Thanks for that link.

If this works I’ll get my old one back…

53. Ian Brotherhood

…back to the drawing board…

54. Thepnr

Thought being a Friday night and with else to do we could have a Top Ten countdown of the best songs played on Off Topic prior to the Referendum.

I loved this one when I first saw it it here so will start with this. Thought of the Rev LOL

No 10 Future Islands

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GK4lD3Uf8_o

55. Ian Brotherhood

This time?

56. Ian Brotherhood

Oh FFS!!

57. Ian Brotherhood

Count to ten Ian…it’s okay…it’s not that important…

Okay…

…three…two…one…

This time?

58. Ian Brotherhood

Aha!

And it’s filled in all the old ones too!

Result!

Check the state of me too…that’s sober!

Soon put a stop to that…

Wish me happy birthday if you like – me and Big Phil the Greek. He’s 95, and I’m 53.

Slainte all! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

59. Thepnr

@ Ian Brotherhood

Happy new Avatar πŸ™‚ I like it, suits you.

I played this for your birthday in 2014 though not in high definition, look forward to a treat.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yuu8cApTyTQ

60. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yes, it works for me too.

I wanted to capture a sort of ‘in a home for bewildered, waving out at passers-by’ kind of vibe.

61. cearc

Happy birthday, Ian.

For some fun you could look at #ScottishStreetParty

62. Thepnr

Still on the countdown and at number 9 we have this fantastic piece from Andre Rieu.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GD-5mRyaJw

63. Brian Doonthetoon

A question…

When partaking of any brand of blended whisky, mixed with Lidl’s ‘Iron Brew’, does anyone else detect the strong hint of vanilla in the taste experience, as the nectar flows into the gullet?

Jiss askin’ like, coz that’s what I experience.

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Typin’ about music…

This gives me the tingle o’ the spine. The Auld Alliance in action. (Played this video at the last Invergowrie get-together.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WulAWn_N_O0

65. Thepnr

I don’t care if no one else gives a fuck. This is No 8.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Es3Vsfzdr14

66. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Dunno if this would make Top Ten of WOS indy-ref tunes, but it’s certainly appeared a few times here from different posters here in O/T.

The B-52s, ‘Rock Lobster’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofkzvM7Skxg

67. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: all the $hԠ about “Outlander’ prior to Indyref1…

I’ve now watched 13 episodes of series 1 and, to be honest, I can’t see why the showing would have mattered to the vote. Methinks, perchance, ‘the establishment’ were running scared of anything that could be construed to show said establishment in a bad light.

Discuss…

68. Thepnr

Better be quick, your all welcome of course to put up your own here is number 8.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fC7PEQnjKl4

69. Thepnr

I meant number 7 LOL

70. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

πŸ™‚

Great stuff. I’d forgotten that ‘Dock of the Bay’ one. Soo-perb.

Are you getting these from memory or had you compiled a wee list?

Brilliant.

71. Thepnr

I’m struggling for the last six.

So here is number six an I think it may be a favourite of yours lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2xwwkX2T4c

72. Ian Brotherhood

This tune should be in, but I can’t find the original that Paula Rose posted – it had Laurel & Hardy dancing.

The Sex Pistols, ‘Pretty Vacant’ –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EGhYJssCZQM

73. Ian Brotherhood

I’m lobbing this in.

Two greats, both knowing they were almost at the exit door. Always makes me greet…

Pavarotti & James Brown, ‘It’s A Man’s World’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gb-B3lsgEfA

74. Thepnr

That tune should be in but I can’t find it either, help Paula.

Instead I’ll play this for number 5, some of you will remember.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2xwwkX2T4c

75. Ian Brotherhood

Yeah, it’s dodgy, but the comments of the ‘judges’ are a revelation.

At the time, this was a sensation.

How it feeds into the whole Indy project? I know not…

Susan Boyle, ‘I Dreamed A Dream’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxPZh4AnWyk

76. cearc

Well it’s sure taking some time to get to no.1, which surely has to be one of Dr. Zara Gladman’s ‘Lady Alba’ numbers.

77. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

πŸ™‚

I like this one, with occasional tuba…

Lady Alba, ‘Nuclear Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRr0HNsCa6k

78. cearc

Where the F did caesar come from? I wrote a l b a.

Guess it’s another of Stu’s tractor things.

79. cearc

I hadn’t seen that one that you just posted ON THE WRONG THREAD. Well found!

80. X_Sticks

Belated happy birthday Ian. Sorry I’m late but off travelling the globe again so limited access.

For anyone who’s interested, I eventually got a twitter reply from Lesley-Anne. She fine and well, just been taking a sabbatical from the politics for the good of her sanity. I know what she means πŸ™‚

81. cearc

Hiya, jet-setter!

Yep, #ScottishStreetParty seems to have jogged L-A out of her retirement.

82. Paula Rose

Here you go folks – a pretty dance…

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=026_1392052338

83. Ian Brotherhood

@x-sticks –

Cheers and hoots, where’er ye be.

(Hopefully it’s not Marseille.)

84. mealer

So…….when’s Craig Murray coming to Brechin?

85. Paula Rose

Gosh – you are quick off the mark xx July 12th.

86. yesindyref2

With all the love-bombing from the UK, this is one I did a bit during the Indy ref:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OWj0CiM8WU

87. yesindyref2

Oh yeah, and this for after the YES vote:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WA4iX5D9Z64

Like, ever.

88. Thepnr

Jukebox threw a wobbly last night so is No 5 again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpV-VKu45nM

89. Quinie frae Angus

Evening all

Ian B, it was my birthday yesterday too! I knew we must have something in common, lol. We two and Phil the Greek.

This is me just catching up again after many weeks in work hell. Paula, is it true the next Wings do is in Brechin? Or just a wicked rumour?

90. Robert J. Sutherland

Sorry, I don’t usually visit this thread – it was a long time before I realised it even existed (duh) – but the apparent exit of you-know-who seemed to come right after I “outed” him late one night as David Coburn. Most likely pure coincidence. Or maybe I mortifyingly offended him. Or maybe he really was! =laugh=

91. Thepnr

@Robert J. Sutherland

I think you, I and K1 may have offended said person on the same thread.

Anyways, getting difficult now here is my interpretation of No 4.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POvLaziUsTo

92. Paula Rose

No Dusty Thepnr no further friendship.

93. Paula Rose

Quinie frae Angus yep do the emaily stuff.

94. cearc

Happy birthday yesterday Quinie.

95. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Ahem! Cough, check out number 7.

96. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

πŸ™‚

That is just too weird. Sign Of The WOS Twins…

Anyway, belated felicitations to you, and a big Stevenston smackeroonie…mwaaaaaah!

97. Ian Brotherhood

This one reminds me of a period in the run-up which was particularly upbeat. Rev had favourited it. I’d never heard of her.

I still believe this is a clever ‘interpretation’ of Tony Basil’s ‘Mickey’.

Taylor Swift, ‘Shake It Off’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfWlot6h_JM

98. Thepnr

Now we are getting to the nitty gritty part. I loved this when I first heard it on Wings, it’s the words you know.. Cheers Ian.

Number 3 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x8PLjvmiIw

99. Ian Brotherhood

Can this get squeezed in somewhere?

Pet Shop Boys/Dusty Springfield, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn9E5i7l-Eg

100. Thepnr

@Quinie frae Angus

I have a wee song for you. It comes with pictures but don’t be sad. be proud of who you are and what you stand for. xxx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anWx36QPmco

101. Paula Rose

Thank you my darling Ian Brotherhood skips delightedly through Brechin.

102. Quinie frae Angus

@Thepnr
    Thanks so much for that wee tune. Have always liked it. Quite moving to see the pics, too!

@IanB
    Oooooh, I’m blushing. Lots of special wee Dundonian kissies frae masel’. xxx

@Cearc
    Thanks – see you soon!

@Paula
    Will email you!

103. Thepnr

Final countdown. This is not the one I wanted to play, that version seems to have disappeared. Anyway as adults I’m sure we can deal with the dirty tricks.

Here’s my No 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3a6hHa4AfFo

104. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Top ten has been your shout man, but I remember you posting this, and I’d never ever seen it.

It’s a work of art and I love it.

Johnny Cash, ‘Man In Black’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t51MHUENlAQ

105. Dave McEwan Hill

Hank Williams Jnr. I Fought the Law. Dedicated to English Football supporters tonight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2b27e5sV2Ek&list=RD2b27e5sV2Ek

106. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hey! That might have been my number one but it wasn’t πŸ™‚

@Paula Rose

Great video. Jock Scot you are missed, call in to the mothership.

@Dave McEwan Hill

Here’s me thinking too that was an original by The Clash. Duh.

107. Dave McEwan Hill

Thepnr

Original by the Crickets post Buddy Holly and written by Sonny Curtis. Bobby Fuller Four with a big hit with it.

108. Thepnr

Choices choices!

So here is my Number 1.

I guarantee you that this song wouldn’t have been your number one choice. It’s my choice though, it’s how I feel. Never give in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5-yKhDd64s

109. Paula Rose

sigh

110. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

πŸ™‚

Nice choice.

Most folk don’t realise how long Eminem’s been around.

It’s almost 20 years since he made his breakthrough – this wee video documents the single event which led to his first record deal.

What these guys are doing is what Scottish ‘makars’ did as court entertainment before the union of 1603, whereupon James took his ass, and Scottish artists, down to the big smoke.

Eminem vs Juice –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mV9gSl6CNrA

111. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Don’t sigh Paula, I thought expectations might be high, sorry if i let you down. I did have another song in mind but that last beer swung the balance πŸ™‚

Tell you what, why don’t all readers give us their number one.

We’ll have yours first, harder than you think LOL.

112. Michael McCabe

Love it when you Smile. youtube/azpe3Xqu9ys

113. Thepnr

Here, that was the mibbee number one, I wanted to close out with a fuck you attitude rather than somber.

I played this on 19th September 2014 and probably should have made it No 1 but I chose not too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjBwAYIxUso

114. Brian Doonthetoon

Before I turn in, I’ll just type…

Hi there! Nice to be with you! Happy you could stick around!

Who could ever forget Billy Butlin on spoons, Robert Morley on guitar and Eric Clapton on ukelele? And you tell the kids today and they think you’re having another senior moment…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcrUuCDFLOQ

115. Thepnr

Paris is a beautiful city, I love Ravenna in Italy because of the food and the weather, Vienna is amazing and I love Glasgow because of her people, their humour and the fact I was born there.

My favourite city in the world though is… Dundee!

Here’s why.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKHENjnk-T0

116. Stoker

PR wrote: “Flock of fucking seagulls – are you deliberately causing trouble now?”

Of course not, moi? I already avoid playing any of a certain group beginning with ‘U’ and ending in ‘2’ because i know what a love you have for them. I was on a trip down memory lane, an 80s thing, and thinking about a tape (remember them) i was given, full of their songs, by a colleague at Saltcoats abattoir.
    That is all!
    _____

tartanpigsy wrote: “Stoker- Is that your fkn yes campervan that sometimes pulls up in the carpark by Home bargains in Sneck?”

No, sorry my friend, not guilty!
    _____

Gretchen Wilson – The Earrings Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTmk4NNGd-c
    πŸ™‚

117. Paula Rose

Stoker Honey you play what you like – not everything people put on the juke box is to my taste, but then very few folk who come in here are as sophisticated as moi!

118. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Sophisticated falls far short. I prefer genius even though some accuse me of talking pish.

A wee dedication to the Independence stalwart that is Paula Rose.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bif2q_Zo3-4

119. X_Sticks

Hi all.

Happy birthday Quinie – big sloppy X_Sticks smackeroonie frae me’n’a’ πŸ˜‰

I’m in Jakarta at the moment. Interesting place. Hadn’t realised how hard the Dutch fought to keep it a colony. They had to fight the hard way for their independence and they treasure it. Jakarta is becoming a oil, finance and trade hub. It especially makes me angry to see it in the light of David fucking Cameron’s faux pas on Marr on the other thread. Cunt.

@Paula – what’s up with your twitter? I couldn’t see any of your replies to LA in that convo – clicked on your account and it’s been deleted! Did you get into trouble?

120. Paula Rose

Hi X_Sticks I de-activated so that I could explore the accounts of some yoons who have been nipping my head even though they have me blocked – plus a couple of other miscreants. Will be re-activating when I have finished my research.

121. Stoker

Pretty nifty wee tribute the Rev’s got going on his twitter avi.
    _____

RTSF 2015 – Boogie Woogie Cup – Finals
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YNt-lCh5T6U

122. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Here’s something to get you all nostalgic about Paris…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iF2VbvnqXP4

123. Brian Doonthetoon

I have Channel 5 on as wallpaper at the moment. Which prompted me to ask; has anyone else just become aware that mainstream TV has abandoned the ‘child’ audience on Saturday mornings, in favour of cookery and other insipid adult stuff?

124. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

In reply to your “RTSF 2015 – Boogie Woogie Cup – Finals” post; have a look at this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7KZAR49iveg

125. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

In reply to your “Golden Earrings” post; have a look at this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLAEyk-JQRk

126. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ˜‰

Great stuff.

The BTL comments are proper ‘social history’, probably not gathered elsewhere.

Of historical importance!

127. Ian Brotherhood

@stoker –

I did a stint in that same ‘abattoir’ (late Summer, ’99) and lasted three weeks (in ‘export’) before I fucked up my shoulder and had to leave.

Still have nightmares about it.

128. Thepnr

Wings is as good a place as any to hang out. I can think of worse.

To be honest, I’m in a bit of a bad mood. Tomorrow I MUST work again so as the man gets his slice of my pound of flesh. I fucking hate that man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92arUrGVt6k

129. ianbrotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yesterday morning that chorus went through my heid, and I briefly pondered who may have sung it.

Strange, but true…

Made me think of this –

Lee Marvin, ‘Wand’rin Star’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=El9eCRisbDo

130. Paula Rose

Hanging about does not include putting your feet up on the coffee table – off now.

131. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

You know but the half of it.

132. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

That’s something (social history) that I became aware of around 1999. Here’s a quote from the forum I administer:-

” The Backroom – Olden Days

This forum is for discussions about days gone by.
    In other words, the history o’ the toon, from whenever.
    BTW: social history tends not to be documented as
    much as ‘important’ history.
    So your memories, from when you were wee, are valuable
    for future generations!”

For an example, have a wee skeck at this:-
    http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/growing-up-in-a-tenament-in-dundee-t251.html

133. Stoker

Hi Brian – Thanks for the links, i particularly enjoyed the Twist Marathon fae 1960s Dundee because, well, because it wiz fae Dundee and the wee glimpse of the old record player. Reminded me of how i rarely stacked my singles or LPs for playing under that sort of mechanism. I always felt you increased the risk of damaging the records by stacking more than one at a time.

Aye, Ian B, although no great skill involved in that part of the job there is a knack to lifting and shifting (or humphing as we called it) and, as you found out to your cost, get it wrong and you could give yersel ah sore yin. I seen a lot of people come and go in that part of the job. Believe it or not, you did quite well achieving 3-weeks. I’ve seen guys, who thought they were something, lasting only a week, a couple of days, a day and on 2 or 3 occasions only half-a-day – fecking off at lunchtime never to be seen again. BTW, who owned the plant when you were there?

134. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

I never bought too many of The Enid’s singles but they seemed to have their tongues firmly in their cheeks – like the overblown “Golden Earrings”.

Here’s another of theirs I actually bought. Its label was an RAF roundel…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZ48nVWPAKg

They’re still on the go – when I was looking for that one, I discovered that they have a song called “Wings”! (From last year.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WeB3UmaVfaY

135. Stoker

Brian! The Dam Busters March? Really?
    I’ve managed, so far, to avoid all the recent sycophantic birthday slobbering over a certain 90-year-old and you’ve just gone and made me feel as if i’ve sat through every minute of it with one link. I’m saying nothing more on the grounds it may incriminate me. I feel so scabby i’m away for a scrubbing brush and shower.

Meanwhile, i need this to alter my state of mind:

Hooked On Swing Dancing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHANNkKBSNU

136. Paula Rose

Oh yes Stoker you gem – let’s swing!

137. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Can’t remember exactly what name was on the wage slips, but I think it was ‘Highland Meats’ or suchlike.

I did get knocked out cold one day, a forequarter (if that’s what you call it) slid back off a wee mechanised section and came back down. Didn’t have time to duck, ended up grabbing the thing, don’t remember anything after that until the other guys’ faces looking down at me. The thing swung to the end of the runner with me attached, then halted. I sailed approx eight feet, came head first against the edge of the elevated area where you load the trucks. My safety helmet came apart – the inner bit was twenty feet away from the shell.

Some of the stories the other guys told me were just…well, you’ve done it. And it was minimum wage, with a wee daily bonus if you weren’t late for the 4 a.m. start. Dire.

138. Stoker

Now now Rosie, a little self-control please!
    _____

Ian B wrote: “Dire.”

Are you sure Ian you’re not in the employ of The Diplomatic Corps?

139. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

I may well be, but I couldn’t possibly comment.

πŸ™‚

So quiet in here the nicht …a’body’s unexpectedly pished after watching the Iceland/Portugal game.

Soo-perb. Great to see civilised neighbours doing so well.

140. Paula Rose

btw Ian Brotherhood I’ve booked that special bothie we last spent the night together in xxx

141. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry, but I think you may be mistaking me for Roberto Hanhoid (yes, him, the notorious bothie-creeper) who shares my name on a purely anagrammatical basis.

Thanks for the kind thought nonetheless. I am confident that you will not end up being alone.

142. Paula Rose

*distraught – wonders along cliff edge*

143. K1

Pure heartbreakin’ in here the night…

You awright hon? (snigger)

Bit a Elvis’ll cheer ye up hen…(bothies are a ‘bit’ like hotels…afterall)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9BLw4W5KU8

144. Brian Doonthetoon

Has anyone ever felt “traught”? We need to know, to get a handle on “distraught”…

145. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Ach, dry yer eyes FFS.

I happen to know Cliff Edge. Sound chap. Bit of a looker in his day. He’ll kip anywhere so long as there’s decent music, cultured company, and a bottle of Barolo somewhere – he can sniff one out at ten paces.

146. Betty Boop

Trying to catch up; not going to happen though. Not enough years to read all this stuff on O/T.

Happy belated birthday to the twa spring chickens, Quinie and IanB! πŸ™‚

@IanB – sorry to hear about your pal Roberto’s …err, medical problems. Aw’ just put my specs, it’s “Hanhoid”…

@ Paula. Mind and take the heels off on the cliff! x

147. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

Cheers!

Way things are going we may be back out on the trail again sooner than expected, eh?

Best to Jim, as ever,

πŸ˜‰

148. Betty Boop

@IanB

Fitba’ ower then? πŸ™‚ Was fair rootin’ fur Albania (just because….)

Anybody catchin’ the plane frae Iceland? πŸ™‚ Apparently, thae Vikings need fans in France!

Jim says hiya, right back at ya! πŸ™‚

149. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

Aye, the Albanians were fantastic. Great stuff.

Listening to BBC Radio Five Live, they’re desperately trying to play down any bother in Lille, but the footage is already emerging (e.g. via WOS Twitter).

150. Isobel Wilson

Can anyone tell me if the badges have been sent out yet from The Great Leap Forward. I just wondered if I had been missed and everyone else got theirs.

Can’t wait to get my vile cyberbadges!

151. cearc

Isobel,

Not yet. I think everythings arrived now and they start going out after the WBB’s.

152. Isobel Wilson

Thanks cearc, good to know. I will now wait patiently πŸ™‚

153. Stoker

Ian B πŸ™‚

Ant music – stand and deliver
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B2a6l6wM2k

154. Brian Doonthetoon

A couple of minutes ago, today’s events caused this song to pop into my head.

I feel unqualified to post on the main pages so I’ll leave this here, as my wee nod in the direction.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9bVGTVrQd6M

155. Paula Rose

I’ll be in soon babes I need some help.

156. Brian Doonthetoon

For Paula Rose…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNdOlOXPtRI

157. Stoker

The one on the fiddle – ohh err
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w1P76BZfgn8

158. Stoker

Agnes, i know you told me never to do this but i love you. Now you know, come and get me ;O)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-skFgrV59A

159. Stoker

14th October – Kevin Barry
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysH86MMwPs8

160. Stoker

On The One Road (this is to oor Andra & Josh XXX)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mrjnygav8Do

161. Stoker

Bloodhound Gang – The Bad Touch
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xat1GVnl8-k

162. Stoker

Green Day – Novocaine

163. Stoker

Green Day – Novacaine

This is to all the wingers – love you all!

164. Stoker

Proclaimers – Lets Get Married (pay attention at the start)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRybRH4aTcc

And i’ll leave you all with my all-time-Proclaimers favourite:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEzLTSF6XaU

I Had a great in Gala – goodnight troops!

165. Ian Brotherhood

What a fucking week it’s been…thanks be to all the gods for this wee bolthole.

Kilburn & The High Roads, ‘Billy Bentley’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39bhjv5dN8Y

166. Brian Doonthetoon

And, Ian B, from the same period and genre…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSlyn0WoSjc

167. Thepnr

Hello all, Paula have you had a look at Ian’s link yet think you might like it.

BDTT that was alright, need to look again. No tunes from me right now, busy, busy.

Cheers to Off Topic

168. Brian Doonthetoon

I don’t think the following links have been in ‘off-topic’ before.

Going back to the early days of Channel 4.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnJ4B2arreg

And the parody (of course!).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOdBcEL6toQ

169. Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo…

To get back to matters accruing…

I have read that the next “Wings Over…” get-together is taking place in Brechin on 12th July and Craig Murray’s gonna be there. And that’s all I’ve picked up.

So what are the details and the arrangements? We need to know to make plans for the trek up to Brechin. Hotels to book and so on…

So does ONNYBUDDY know whit’s goin’ doon in Brechin on the 12th?

170. Brian Doonthetoon

On his Twitter thingy, Rev Stu mentioned “Imagine”, which immediately made me think of this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VafZic-UM_Q

171. Fran

Picked up my wee black books today from the postie, happy happy, but the package had been opened. Full amount still there that I ordered, wonder if somebody had a wee nosey?

172. Mo Workman

I hope this will be the best place to post this as it is off topic. I am trying to convince an elderly intelligent man that Scotland is not subsidised by England. I have shown him information retrieval but because the figures relate to 1997 he says that doesn’t count now. Is there more up to date information somebody on this site could point out to me. Thanks.

173. Paula Rose

Hi Mo Workman I expect someone will be along with the figures soon – in the meantime perhaps your gentleman can explain why the Westminster establishment were so keen to keep Scotland in the union – they could have saved themselves a fortune!

174. Paula Rose

Also if you type – subsidy Scotland – into the search thingie at the top of the page on the right you will see a range of articles dealing with the subject.

175. Brian Doonthetoon

RE: The current Led Zeppelin plagiarism trial…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tiiY4ciKFQA

Cases 9 & 10 are particularly blatant.

176. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

The whole ‘plagiarism’ thing is such a minefield. Squeaky-bum time for many artistes watching.

(Paul Simon, FFS…)

Anyway, I don’t know if this is nicked from someone else, but it’s cheery enough to be going on with…

KC & The Sunshine Band, ‘Give It Up’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psFQMKcsIF8

177. Ian Brotherhood

Where’s Michael McC and Lynn these days?

Please check-in as soon as humanly possible…

Earth Wind & Fire, ‘Let’s Groove’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lrle0x_DHBM

178. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

On this evening of this particular day of the week, if you want “cheery” stuff, here you are.

The first from a Scottish band (Edinburgh?), with their take on a track that was on The Rubettes’ first album. (I possess that album.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYQW15gOxPE

The second from a moderately more well-known Edinburgh band.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBn2ux5vRHk

Lastly, the philosophical track.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLeWB3C2cLo

179. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B (again).

Because I have TITP 2015 (BBC2) on as background aural wallpaper as I type, with the way things are developing indy-wise, I think this from TITP last year, is appropriate. Tha audience reaction to the song is brilliant…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6xCXbP-Q9g

180. Ian Brotherhood

Quiet again…

How ’bout ‘artists playing instruments in unconventional styles’.

Stevie Wonder, ‘Superstition’ (studio) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDZFf0pm0SE

181. Paula Rose

Playing with instruments in funny ways? *looks up from reading wee black book*

182. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

“Quiet again…”

EH? I’ve been searchin’ like buggery for appropriate stuff to link to on a Saturday night and you type “Quiet again…???”

Emma wah ti bed…

183. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, and Paula Rose – I refer you to this:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-35/#comment-2154886

184. Paula Rose

Sorry Honey I missed that one – Yes I’ve got Craig Murray coming to speak in Brechin on the 12th July at 8pm please come along!

185. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚

We overlapped!

Aye, indeed, Baggins, Rollers and Stevens.

Only one I didn’t know was the first.

Hope you’re not off to the kip yet…

πŸ™‚

186. Brian Doonthetoon

Still up Ian – just put my supper on. Lidl Jalfrezi with extras, plus Farmfoods onion bahjis, with Lidl’s onion bahjis and samosas, with garlic papads.
    I will enjoy!

———————————————-

Hi Paula Rose.

Directions to a venue wouldn’t go amiss…

187. Michael McCabe

HI Ian Brotherhood I am still here. Cant post music but still look in all the time. lynn says can you play her some Waterboys ? Cheers Ian big shout out to Paula Rose. and the Main Man Thepnr.

188. Paula Rose

Hi Michael xxx

189. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael.

My fave Waterboys track…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fKsaHsCQqXI

190. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

Aha!

Soo-perb.

I don’t know if this will fit the bill, but it’s joyous stuff indeed – from 2.22 never fails to give me the collywobbles and draw a tear.

Slainte to ye’s both. πŸ˜‰

The Waterboys, ‘A Man Is In Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoGbbKV0hUU

191. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Aw man, that sounds the business…

Lidl is brilliant.

I’m off to make a cheese and ham toastie, thence to the kip.

Night all!

192. lynn mccarthy

hi first time posting on wings not sure if this will work but hi all met a lot of you at the Edinburgh night out and Glasgow looking forward to next wings night wish I could send you all a tune but not got there yet next time

193. lynn mccarthy

Brian Doonthetoon my favy waterboys track and Ian Brotherhood never heard that won but love it

194. Mo Workman

Hi Brian Doonthetoon

Thank you so much I would have got back sooner but am up working near Kinloch Rannoch and you wouldn’t believe how poor the internet is here. Thanks again

195. Thepnr

Hi to Michael, missed yah πŸ™‚

Lynn, well done on your first Wings post, thought you might like this from the Waterboys. It’s called Old England and it’s about it’s demise. A bit sad really.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDsTTr3YrqU

196. Ian Brotherhood

For Lynn and Mo Workman:

The Love Unlimited Orchestra, ‘Welcome Aboard’ (12-incher) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvmbWMl6glA

197. Ian Brotherhood

Love Unlimited Orchestra was a Webster Lewis outfit, but there’s no footage of him on YT. Closest I can find is this.

Hey! It’s funky! (Webster’s on keyboards, if it’s the same dude…)

Herbie Hancock, feat Paul Jackson –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEAjHSAVejY

198. Andrew McLean

Ian Brotherhood, I see you’re Herbie Hancock, and raise you one George Clinton, dog!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=szkmivRWegU

199. Andrew McLean

Ian,

Funky you want Funky you get

George Clinton!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LuyS9M8T03A

200. Andrew McLean

Ian

just chuck in the comma wherever?

201. Quinie frae Angus

O/T even for O/T!!

Hi all – haud the bus!

I wonder if I could pick Wingers’ brains? I need to look into hiring a bus (possibly a 40-seater) to take people backwards and forwards from Dundee and Cupar at the end of July for my parent’s Golden Wedding party.

I know we’ve used buses and drivers in the past for various Wingy expeditions so i thought I would try here first before phoning round the various commercial outfits?

Thanks!

202. Ian Brotherhood

@Andrew McLean –

πŸ™‚

Great stuff. Thank god for music…

Sorry for slow response – have been avoiding pretty much all media, finding it hard to take any more of the constant hysterical Eurotrash.

To take up the football analogy Rev’s been running with on Twitter, it’s like a never-ending game where neither side moves out of their own half. Didn’t think I could ever feel as sickened about this country (i.e. UK) as when we ‘invaded’ Iraq, but this whole episode really sticks the tin lid on it.

Whatever happens on Thursday, or in next Indyref, GE, SG elections, the whole fucking lot, we really have to find new ways of doing everything – sometimes feels like we’re living fossils. If we don’t do something radical, our grandweans will be watching debates featuring the grandweans of the same dicks and liars who are boring us all to death right now.

Sorry for ranting, but I’m properly sick of it.

;(

203. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quinie.

Try this:-

http://www.sidlaw.co.uk/

Bob supplied the battlebus for ‘Business For Scotland’ and also owns the “Yes Bus”.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/taysider64/14698796358

His workshop was also responsible for the creation of Chris Law’s ‘Spirit of Independence fire engine. Bob is at the extreme left of this photo – and is also a Winger!

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0160-1000.jpg

You’ll recognise other Wingers in the pic. When you phone Sidlaw’s number (from their web site – first link above), ask to speak to Bobby senior and mention that ‘Brian Doonthetoon and Pete the Camera’ recommended them to you.

204. Cactus

Mornin’ all, here’s one of my all time favourite songs. Hopefully the vote tomorrow won’t eventually make us all the same as the name of this band..

Lyrics appropriate as ever.

Break It Up (I Don’t Wanna) by Foreigner
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1IlrpFxqW_s

Enjoy the video.

205. cearc

Ian B,

Ditto!

206. Dave McEwan Hill

Ian Brotherhood at 10.44

This debacle is having the useful effect of hugely lowering respect for Westminster and the UK ruling class.

207. Ian Brotherhood

It’s all going full-on Euro-tonto…

Time out.

Here’s some flowers, blooming lovely so they are, with nice music…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjCzPp-MK48

208. Ian Brotherhood

Ever wondered what James Brown might look like doing his thing while wearing a business suit?

Wonder no more…

‘Can’t Stand It/Give It Up’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cJ9SBK8CVj4

209. Quinie frae Angus

@ BDTT

Thanks Brian – that’s a great tip. I’ll follow that up. Thanks very much.

Quinie

210. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quinie.

I see from his Facebook page that Bob is currently in New York. He usually goes away for a week or so.

I’d try in about a week.

211. Ian Brotherhood

Terence Trent D’Arby’, ‘If You Let Me Stay’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMhEzd9Bsb4

212. Ian Brotherhood

For some relief from the tension…

An 80’s prototype of Katy Perry. Did well in Euro-trials but was eventually abandoned…boo-boo!

Kelly Marie, ‘Feels Like I’m In Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Wz_9dVJ-Ew

213. Paula Rose

*looks up from knitting* Feeling tense Dear or just being a tad sarky.

214. Ian Brotherhood

Getting the ‘good room’ done-up, so we’re looking for a couple of nice sideboards.

Did a search and it came up with this:

Mungo Jerry, ‘Alright, Alright, Alright’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOXaq68PihI

215. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

What is it you’re knitting anyway? Something for one of the grand-weans?

πŸ™‚

Harold Melvin & The Bluenotes, ‘Don’t Leave Me This Way’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2WKoN8K6nI

216. Ian Brotherhood

Where is everyone?

Thepnr?

BDTT?

Aw youse ither bams?

Eh?

The night is young…

217. Paula Rose

I’m away to bed Dear – can you do the washing up.

218. David

Kelly Marie, eh? Fae Paisley!
    Did you know that her song was written by Mungo Jerry’s singer? Coincidence or what!

Also from Paisley, Gerry Rafferty, hoping voters “Get it right next time” :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXW-sL5gzHQ&list=PLJnpjk77eiFj36HD3uCF6NrsjJqq_D7jt

219. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Fuck the washing-up.

I’m still waiting to hear how Michelle Mone voted.

Sheeesh…priorities…

220. Ian Brotherhood

@David –

πŸ™‚

No, I did not know that.

And get this – I was humming that Rafferty tune yesterday while walking the dogs, for no particular reason that I can recall…

Kismet, eh?

221. yesindyref2

@David
    One of my favourites, always sends a shiver down the back.

222. David

@ Ian Brotherhood, “Great minds think alike” πŸ™‚

@yesindyref2, yep, he was one of the good guys, to stack up against Paisley’s Hall of Shamers like Ian Smart, Andrew Neil, etc.

Watching the results come in from EWANI, I’m getting shivers down my back, but NOT of the good type. πŸ™

The Ref got it right on Twitter when he was comparing it to Heston’s line in Planet of the Apes:
    “You Maniacs! You blew it up! Ah, damn you! God damn you all to hell!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPbjPOgRtyA

———–

Interlude:
    Swinging 60s “Pop Cop” from the Banana Splits

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnGqNE6mvfE

————

And now, back to our regularly-scheduled cybernatting. Maybe, like in ‘Dallas’, we’ll all come out our showers tomorrow morning and find that we just dreamed that EURef…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NnGqNE6mvfE

223. Robert J. Sutherland

Would a suitable tune for the moment be First Aid Kit’s “Stay Gold”? =grin=

Any other golden offers…?

224. Michael McCabe

Tilted youtu.be/fxM3W5uaVok

225. Michael McCabe

Could somebody put that last link up for me please ? Cheers.

226. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael.

A “simple” YouTube link should look like this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6xCXbP-Q9g

Look at the address bar in your web browser and copy/paste from there, rather than using the link provided elsewhere, which could be one of your “youtu.be” addresses.

The link I pasted above should be our sing-a-long for tonight.

Here’s yours sorted. You shouldn’t copy/paste the “&feature=youtu.be” $hԠ.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fxM3W5uaVok

227. Michael McCabe

Hi Brian I am just doing the same as I have always done. So don’t know how it is coming up like that. Anyway cheers for the advice about doing it from the address bar and for putting that link up for me. Cheers.

228. CameronB Brodie

Let’s just watch the dust settle eh? While we’re waiting, here’s a well kent loon.

Planet Funk – One Step Closer
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3OOq-TTz0k

Btw, I might not have been a fan of the EU but I like the thought of Scotland essentially being a vassal of England, even less. Does this mean that Scots law is actually subservient to English law? I wonder if the Scottish Law Society can advise, or if I will need to check the public library again?

229. CameronB Brodie

As we are talking about what has happened and is yet to come?

Planet Funk – Who Said
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ua5pSY7fUw

230. Ghillie

Hi Cameron = )

Glad to see someone else is still up.

Still feeling jangled after last night and way too little sleep.

I know the result was good for us, Scotland pure gold! So proud of the people of Scotland : ) (Well, those who were allowed to vote. Loads of folk and the young left out.)

But am disturbed by the choices our neighbours have made.

My understanding of Scots Law is that it is unique to Scotland and stands as our law, indisputable. But some of its integrity may well have been eroded over the years by attempts from Westminster or their law lords to undermine its status, even by simply over riding or ignoring some of its principles. Definitely worth a check with the Scottish Law Society.

Scots Law is Scotland’s law in Scotland and most certainly should not be subservient to ANY other law of any country.

Good lyrics btw = )

Is Indiref really on the way!? = ) Wow! Oh wow!

231. CameronB Brodie

Ghillie
    Sorry if you were left hanging about for a reply last night. I hadn’t realised what the time was unlit I saw the stamp on my posts.

I still think the SLS needs doing, as an affront to ‘Trades Description’ legislation. πŸ˜‰

232. yesindyref2

To all the NO voters who still believed in the UK before the EU Referendum, until the love ran out, now’s the time to “shut it down”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0OWj0CiM8WU

233. Michael McCabe

A Wee song for the soon to be ex Prime Minister. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0b-OHZI1Q5w oh and by the way Good Riddance.

234. yesindyref2

OT even for OT – I think I deserve to go overboard. Many people agree.

So it wasn’t the backup disk it was the main disk where the power and sata lead melted together, and that’s when you realise that when you backed up your email database to a logical drive you’d got confused and backed it up to a logical drive on the main disk not the backup disk. Sigh. 21 hours all in all.

Managed to clean it up and offload the database and some other stuff I wasn’t too fussed about but it saves time, with a room fan blasting cool air into the open case as the hard disk was running hot, as Stanhope said about the undershipped RN before he “resigned” a few months later. And then the backup computer died so I’m on the main one with just one disk.

So since both are from 2009 one ready made one I built and I always buy cheaper and more stable “off the leading edge” components, I’m treating myself to a Β£200 and I get the VAT back ebuyer box which with (from benchmarks) more than twice as fast processor and more than double memory will make it 3 times as fast.

Which to get somehow a bit back on topic means I’ll be so fast I’ll be able to post simultaneously pro-indy in at least 10 MSM (mostly probably pro-Indy by then) forums at the same time while listening to youtube and eating my tea and scratching my, err, back.

The Unionists if there are any left, are doomed I tell ye, doomed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AH6H7mSvsvg

Blue skies to all Indy supporters.

235. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

πŸ™‚

I was trying to find a song suitable for Cameron’s departure but there’s nothing called ‘Cheerio Dish-Face, Don’t Get Yer Heid Jammed In The Door On The Way Oot’.

236. mealer

Paula Rose…

We really need to be cracking on now.

237. yesindyref2

@Ian B
    Maybe. As far as Indy Ref 2 is concerned though he’s probably our best hope of getting a done deal in a hurry with a minimum of hassle, which I think is what Sturgeon was carefully hinting at during that press conference. None of the media seemed to get it, so perhaps I got it wrong. Don’t think so though, she was straight on the phone to Cameron after the result came in. We need him to last till October.

Say what we like about Cameron, he’s quite the democrat in his way (excluding Evel perhaps).

238. Michael McCabe

Hope you don’t mind ? But I am going to put on 2 or 3 songs by the Waterboys for my pal Lynn. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVSN9DMvl6I

239. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

It’s just as well we have tolerant folk such as yourself on-board, and I’m not being sarcastic.

Plenty of us just cannot, and probably never will, treat characters like Cameron with respect. I suppose it could, in extremis, be construed as a form or inverse snobbery, in which case I put my hand up and plead guilty. I’ll happily spend years examining my conscience and feeling remorse for being harsh as and when the Tories have been utterly routed in Scotland.

So far as Cameron being ‘a democrat’ is concerned, I honestly believe he’s only – like every prominent Tory since Thatcher – as ‘democratic’ as he’s forced to be by effective opposition in WM, and that’s been sorely lacking for years.

Nah – I’ve no sympathy for him at all, or his acolytes in Scotland. Hell mend each and every one of them.

240. carjamtic

One for Heedy,enjoy….wrecking crew is the famous backing band…enjoy πŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXyeb8ND89M

241. Brian Doonthetoon

Going back to the 30s for one for Dave as he leaves…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rs3DZd8CaAk

Och – another well known song from the same artiste…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3I9C_aUKcmU

Might as well finish with the tribute act…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkJnd9rSAQ8

242. Michael McCabe

A Waterboys song for Bye Bye Dave. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9W5ioqOhsRc

243. Ian Brotherhood

Aw…just too much mentalness going on…

Sometimes I wish I was twenty years younger, when I really didn’t give a shit about any of it.

Dee-Lite, ‘Groove Is In The Heart’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etviGf1uWlg

244. yesindyref2

OT
    Oh well that didn’t go according to plan. I noticed a better spec for Β£20 more with Β£20 cashback before 30th June, back to my favourite AMD rather than the dreaded Intel, also 1.5 times faster graphics onboard. And while I was at it realised I don’t need two computers to have a backup, just two disks so that’s another Β£39.99 except for Β£16 more there was a hybrid SSD which was way faster booting up and access so along with 2 downloadable Win 7 Pro keys for Β£19.99 each downloading an iso as I speak so to speak that’s me set up for another 6 years by which time I expect to be filthy rich having successfully offered my services as an EU trading company in Indy Scotland for those in the rUK wishing to trade into the EU without the hefty tarrifs I’ll find a way sure I will.

Apart from that at about 6 or 7 times as fast now I’ll be able to take on the Washington Post, Le Monde and Das Spiegel as well as all the UK media forums all at the same time. Welcome me to the second decade of the 21st Century, the 3rd Millenium, though I daresay dinosaurs would object to that chronological description. I might have to actually learn Spanish and take on the El Mundo.

It’s a doddle.

245. Ian Brotherhood

Europe has a language problem?

Aye, sort of…

Simple Minds, ‘I Travel’-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6MwzSaBBQY

246. yesindyref2

For no particular reason, except with free delivery I might have to wait a bit longer for that lot to be delivered:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-rv2BQa2OU

247. Paula Rose

Oh look what I’ve found stuck down the back of the sofa…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CtEJ2hO-FF0

248. yesindyref2

Theme song for the times

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lS-af9Q-zvQ

and looking for a safe haven.

249. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

You Mac yet?

8=)

250. yesindyref2

@BDTT
    Still Windows. Thousands (probably tens of thousands) of business documents on old software from even DOS 6.2 days / Win 3.11, hence Win Pro 7 (Β£18.99 not Β£19.99), which has an XP mode. Not sure how easy it’ll be installing the XP mode, but there’s a lot of help around on websites. Plus I still like OK MS Office (with Access) ’97, later versions were rubbish for me, and I tried the GNU stuff and didn’t like. I also use Avery Design Pro and Photostudio for all my product labels, and I’m too long in the tooth to be bothered a long exercise converting 17 years of business history which I still use!

251. Brian Doonthetoon

I feel the need to post this link – the theme song of Dundee’s ‘Team YES Bus’ group…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoZZVkDVZ0c

252. David

Paula Rose says:
    “Oh look what I’ve found stuck down the back of the sofa…”

Is it George Osborne? πŸ˜‰

——————–

Theme tune for the Labour Shadow Cabinet:

Queen – “Another one bites the dust”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rY0WxgSXdEE

253. yesindyref2

This IS NOT dedicated to the grassroots YES for whom there is nothing but praise apart from the actual few genuinely vile cybernats, it’s for the official YES 2 campaign, compared to YES Scotland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXW-sL5gzHQ

254. Jock Scot

Life ‘away'(cos once a winger and all that) from the Wingers has been difficult but necessary. Hope the recent turn of events is very wide ranging and my limited scope for joining in gets extended. Glad to see you are all on good form, as ever. X

255. Ian Brotherhood

@Jock Scot –

Hoots mon.

You haven’t missed ‘much’, and the best has yet to come.

πŸ™‚

256. Jock Scot

Hi Ian, I’m certainly looking forward to the future and hope the momentum can help carry the auld bones for another couple of years.

257. Michael McCabe

No words can describe how good this is. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ihpeyzNm_Ao

258. yesindyref2

Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Phew, I’m glad I got that off my chest.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9O6pCYyelA

259. yesindyref2

ag on the herald replied to my stooge, not sure if he’s deliberately playing 2nd stooge, he’s known me long enough (in forum terms). Does the job either way, perfectly. The old one-two. Things are afoot and I’m getting over-excited. Calm down dear!

260. Thepnr

Here’s what Samantha Bee an American comedienne thinks of Brexit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9r5P1z4OWWo

261. Tam Jardine

Brian doonthetoon

Hi Brian

Wonder if you can help. My wee daughter has a badge making kit- does 30mm badges. As a vile European Unionist Separatist Nationalist Internationalist I am putting her to work making campaign badges for the keep-us-in Europe yes2

I am looking for a high res image- blue background with the circle of yellow stars and the yes Scotland logo inside.

can you help or even just advise best programme to use?

262. Thepnr

@Tam Jardine

“I am putting her to work making campaign badges for the keep-us-in Europe yes2”

You vile Nat separatist you. Exploiting child labour for your own nefarious purposes in support of YOUR fantasy of an Independent Scotland.

Well done, keep up the good work πŸ™‚

263. Ian Brotherhood

This is the 17,772nd comment on O/T.

Using this as a marker, let’s make sure 17777 is some good music, eh?

πŸ™‚

264. Paula Rose

*Hurriedly selects top 5 Dusty tracks*

265. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tam.

Our badges are the 38mm size. Here are three designs we’ve been doing since last year.

http://i.imgur.com/1UdIYY0.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/TaXI1bY.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/VwjgeQ2.jpg

As I type, the masters I have are for 38mm badges so are 47mm in diameter to allow for the curve round the edge and so on.

If you want to email me, I can send you the 38/47mm masters for you to reduce to the size that you need for 30mm badges.

If you don’t have a graphics program, try GIMP – it’s free. You’ll have to Google it because I think 3 links in a comment is the limit.

Just checked. The home page is the first hit on the list if you search for GIMP with Google.

My email address is:-
    brianBUMFLUFF@doonthetoon.plus.com
    Remove the BUMFLUFF to give the correct address.

266. Thepnr

reading the Revs twitter today as you do, noticed the talk about the Eton Rifles. we’ve played it before here but this time here is the lyrics.

Must admit not to having paid much attention to them before now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wy3RtGRxQGE

267. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s a Dusty track that I bought on re-release in the 70s. First released in 1958 or 59.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8E0aZ387M_I

268. Ian Brotherhood

Let’s all try to ensure that comment 17777 does not contain ‘bumfluff’…

πŸ™‚

269. Ian Brotherhood

Aaaaaargh!!!

Noooo!!!!

Razzin frazzin…

πŸ™ πŸ™ πŸ™

270. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s a Dusty track that I bought in the 80s. The 12″ version was handy for segueing with other stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2E-yyvkQSwo

271. Thepnr

This is UKOK, this is our capital, this is London.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKu4DaPi-qY

272. cearc

What’s wrong with ‘bumfluff’…?

273. Thepnr

Ian your comment was 17777 and it contained the word bumfluff LOL

274. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s a Dusty track that I never bought in the 80s. Well I did buy the original, not the cover in the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8Ppyskw5Vw

275. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Nowt wrong with bumfluff, but I’ve got a thing about ‘lucky’ numbers and it didn’t seem right somehow…

…and then I go and ‘make it so’.

πŸ™

276. Paula Rose

*giggles and chortles delightedly xx*

277. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I might’ve known you’d titter…

I won’t make the same mistake as we near 18888, you mark my words…

278. Tam Jardine

Brian doonthetoon

Excellent Brian- email sent.

279. Independence Live

Hi folks, I’m just doing a test post here as my posts under articles don’t seem to appear. Hope you all well and getting ready for #IndyRef2

280. Independence Live

Well that posting worked but how come the wee graphic not appearing anymore, any ideas?

281. Stoker

recall

282. Ian Brotherhood

@Thistle/Kev/IndyLive –

Good to see you(se) dropping in.

Rev did some kind of overhaul lately which seemed to make a lot of gravatars disappear so you may have to do it again. It’s not just yours.

Hoots mon!

283. cearc

I don’t know about anyone else but I am more than a bit disappointed.

The one, minor, downside when Wings became full-time professional Scottish politics site was that The Sealand Gazette stopping being a blog, as it also was quite good. Now it seems to be back masquerading as WoS.

This week the Scottish Parliament voted, unopposed, to take formerly reserved powers (european affairs) from Westminster, without so much as a whimper from down south. Quite a biggy I’d have thought. Definitely not an angle covered by MSM and well worth discussion.

Wings, not a word.

NS goes off to Brussels, not worthy of a Wings post.

NS comes back. Usual misrepresentation in the MSM. Wings, not a word.

Loads of people put quotes, links and translations from the european press up but in a thread that was about red or blue tories. Who, coming new to Wings, would have gone through hundreds of comments looking for info or even known that doing so might produce it?

At this time when so many previous nos are reconsidering and looking for the alternative views that they may have dismissed, there is nothing here. The last really scottish political outlook posted was by Eric Joyce.

284. Epiphyta

I didn’t think this was relevant to the current threads, but it’s a straw in the wind:

The spouse and I have been having a hard week: on top of the political goings-on, we’ve both been very ill indeed, and in the midst of that had to take the decision to have one of our cats helped out of the world (he was 20, and we’d had him from a kitten). He walked in and said “So my boss has asked me a question.”

(Not the most auspicious beginning, you might think.)

“She’s wondering if we’d consider moving out of the country –”

“YES YES YES WHERE ARE WE GOING”

He said that she opened with “Please don’t start looking for another job! We need you here!” Why would he? We did just move into this flat a month ago, but if they’re going to keep him on AND pay for relocation, we’d be fools not to take the hand into the lifeboats.

285. cearc

Epiphyta,

Scotland’s nice and definitely NOT leaving the EU.

286. Epiphyta

cearc,

There are offices in Edinburgh, and that would be easier than Nurnberg (my German isn’t what it should be) or Dublin. So we’ll see what shakes out.

287. Brian Doonthetoon

Dundee has office space. Scotland’s sunniest city…

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/news/local/dundee/137348/sunniest-city-ideal-for-solar-park-says-expert/

288. Brian Doonthetoon

And, believe it or not, there are people who do the daily Dundee/Edinburgh commute, in either direction, daily. Just over an hour driving for the single journey.

289. Brian Doonthetoon

Good job that they do the daily commute daily, otherwise we would be on a very strange planet…

290. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc (5.37) –

Hmmm…hadn’t really thought of it like that.

Perhaps some of us can’t see the wood for the proverbials. I spend too much time cracking crap jokes and biting my tongue when the smell of bacon-rolls gets too strong.

Perhaps Rev, like many of us, is just waiting to see how things settle – the current WM circus is certainly dominating everything, and few can concentrate on what’s really important when we’re getting uninterrupted coverage of The Greatest Freak Show Ever Seen.

291. Ian Brotherhood

Ongoing main thread in danger of going the same way as last night…

πŸ™

292. Brian Doonthetoon

WHY… did Alan Shearer feel it was appropriate to waffle on about the England team’s travails – in the half-time chit-chat during a WALES VERSUS BELGIUM game???

And they wonder why we’re gittin’ oor coats…

293. yesindyref2

Rock is right though, in general. People are gullible. Say something nice and you’re OK, start saying things that aren’t nice and people still think you’re OK. Oops.

Always look, the gift, horse, in the mouth. Tadum, tadum ti dum ti dum.

294. Epiphyta

@Brian Doonthetoon (8.30) — πŸ™‚

I’ve not been to Dundee — most of my time in Scotland was spent in Glasgow, or along the coast — but it might do nicely: between us, the spouse and I know people in Stirling, Forfar and St. Andrews (once P.’s moved), so we’d not be completely at a loss. I can’t imagine the allotment wait lists are any worse . . . .

295. Brian Doonthetoon

Ach well, Epiphyta, Forfar is just up the road (12 miles) and St Andrews is ‘jist across the wahttir’ (14 miles, or there aboots).

Forfar:-

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/news/local/angus-mearns/172476/loons-to-launch-bridie-the-mascot/

St Andrews:-

http://www.visitstandrews.com/hamish-mchamish/

See? Do these two links not make you want to be part of this kind of society?

296. cearc

Ian B,

Well I’m not at all happy about it.

A piece comparing the UK media with the EU media would have been pretty easy, people had put up all the links and translations.

New potential yessers aren’t going to be impressed with a picture of the tory runners which is all over the internet. He seems to have lost all interest at the most crucial time.

297. yesindyref2

@cearc
    Tricky one. But things are moving on their own anyway at the moment. Anything could help that along – or push it a step back. A for instance of that is I was going to post about the Corbyn back-stabbing, had a post ready for the Herald. Then thought about it – a couple or more posters there rethinking their NO towards a YES, all on their own, they could take offence with my posting as I’m SNP, and set back into NO mode.

Whereas Rev pointing out that there’s not a decent Tory in sight for the next PM, well, that can’t do any harm – even amongst the conservative voters in Scotland. Perhaps particularly amongst them, they might start wanting to break away and actually form a Scottish Conservative Party – which, who knows, might be neutral to Indy.

Sometimes when things are going your way, it’s best to bite the tongue, smile, and sit back and enjoy the scenery.

298. Epiphyta

THAT’S Hamish McHamish? A friend went to St Andrews and she would tell me stories about that cat!

(Actually, are primary teachers of use? She’s from Up North, has been working outside the country and is so angry she’s saying she doesn’t want to come back to England.)

And I wouldn’t like it generally known that I can be won over by a pastry and a wandering moggie, but —

299. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Epiphyta.

I cherish my time at primary school. My teachers were all decent and enthusiastic – at two different schools, one from 4 till 8, the other from 8 to 11. Their raison d’Γͺtre seemed to be to impart knowledge and get us to think for ourselves.

I don’t have a clue what went wrong from the late 60s onwards.

300. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

It worries me that you’re worried, because I know you wouldn’t be without good reason.

Perhaps Rev relies on btl comments more than we realise? After all, if there were no comments at all, WOS would just be a personal blog. Nothing wrong with that.

I’m a big believer in kismet, I-Ching, all that stuff, so I’m going to WOS archives right now to get a link – let’s see what’s in it and what it might tell us…

…bear with me…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/scene-missing/#comments

Okay…that’s the one I clicked, after selecting ‘July’. I haven’t even read it meself…

301. Thistle

@Ian

hi Ian, it’s Kevin here and I’m doing a wee test again to see if gravatar appears…

302. Ian Brotherhood

@Kevin –

Indeed it did!

Hoots.

303. Thistle

@Ian… πŸ™‚ I’m back!

Gimmie a shout next time you are in Glasgow and we can meetup for chat. I’m going to start spending one day a week at the CommonSpace office to help them out with lvestreaming, ideas etc so looking forward to that. Interesting times.

304. Thepnr

OK I never played this right!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MImxIvpTyx0

305. Ian Brotherhood

@Thistle –

πŸ™‚

Feels like a loooong time since I typed that!

Anyway, great to hear from you in WOS O/T – as it happens, I was thinking of approaching you with an idea, but I’d best contact you directly, and will do so as soon as I get my proverbial out of my proverbial, so to speak…

Major Hoots To Ye!

306. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

If anyone said to me, ‘You need to check out this dude, he’s called Donavon Frankreiter’ I’d have said ‘Aye, okay’, and then not even bothered.

But I did, and that was great.

πŸ™‚

307. Michael McCabe

Hi Ian Brotherhood I first heard Donavon F doing mudfootball with Jack Johnson and a guy called G-Love. if you like this they do another 3 songs together. hope you and yours are all well. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pf_QYT9wsQ4&list=PLCA3B35C6DC50B87E

308. Thepnr

Hello Michael

You have a knack of sniffing out good songs that are not well known.

Here’s mine for you and Lynn.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zwSBbfECfFk

309. Michael McCabe

A Wee bit of Norah Jones doing a Johnny Cash Number. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMgAQTFs4m4

310. Michael McCabe

@Thepnr I like seal singing that song. But that was a Brilliant version by Terence. All the best to you and yours. Looking forward to our next pint together.

311. Cherry

Hi all
    I’ve been reading with growing concern the posts by (sounds like jock!) He annoys me intensely as his challenges to others jumps around turning words and adding them..however I’ve also been reading Peter Murrell’s Twitter page and I think I found him. If it’s not him then he attacks everyone the same way as our friend. Here is a link to a Twitter retweet
    https://mobile.twitter.com/MargSchinas/status/748129398377811968
    Look for a guy called “file28” read all those tweets. If it’s not him I will hand in my secret agent badge! Let me know what you think:)

312. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cherry.

I read a fair bit of your link and the utter tripe there reaffirmed my desire not to sign up to Twitter. You’re right though – “file28” does read familiar.

I’m content to read the Rev’s retweets.

313. Paula Rose

Brian Honey – you’re missing out on my wonderful witticisms.

314. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I had just started dipping into your stuff when you locked down your feed.

315. Paula Rose

It’s wide open now I think.

316. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Found it. Also found this:-

https://twitter.com/paularose

317. Paula Rose

Yep – as you’ll notice no longer used, wrote to me to say she was changing her account name due to me being more famous.

318. ronnie anderson

Straw Poll on Crowdfunder to take Court Action against BBC for failure to uphold they,re charter as a Public Broadcaster,there is more than enough evidence of they,re Bias.

I pledge Β£500.

319. carjamtic

I am living on fresh air at the minute,I will ‘find’ Β£20 from somewhere. (Oil&Gas casualty πŸ™ )

Good Luck Ronnie a great idea.

πŸ˜‰

320. Tam Jardine

ronnie anderson

I’m no solicitor but if you can get one to work out the best angle to attack them I would put in a ton. Just ask me at the start of a month!

Stu would crowd fund it I am sure- you should email him for advice.

321. Tam Jardine

Brian doonthetoon

Thanks again Brian- the badges look great. The simple white yes on the blue EU flag worked out best on the wee 30mm badges.

My daughter’s “Badge it!” kids badge making kit is taking a break from making badges with pictures of fluffy animals, hearts and random colours to join the war effort.

I can sense from some of the stuff on the main threads and the 10,000 (well, 11,000) flags launch that the machinery is powering up again.

Will see what this march is like in Glasgow the morn- I am not on facebook and haven’t heard too much about it. Is anyone else going?

322. ronnie anderson

@ Tam Jardine You,ll be aware Stu watches the site, I will Email him Im just looking for input from Wingers & what they can Pledge at this time, You will appreciate this has wider ramifications for others ie printed press,we have to act before Indy Ref2.

@ carjamtic Thanks Pal only pledge as your pocket can afford,not everybody is of the same financial circumstances, as I said its a Straw Poll.

323. Tam Jardine

ronnie anderson

I think an action in the run up to indyref 2 would be perfect timing. I think Stu has been taking a wee bit of time off waiting to see how this will all pan out (and it can’t be easy gearing up for another exhausting campaign when you are so involved). As someone else mentioned Prof Robertson and G A Ponsonby are the guys to approach for evidence.

324. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

Β£40 from The Brotherhood.

(Naw, not that one…)

πŸ™‚

325. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Thanks Ian I think You as with other Wingers will see the bigger picture if we are succesfull in this.

326. Thepnr

I’ll back you too Ronnie. Be careful though and never get in above your head. Keep to the road, don’t stray to the moors.

There are those that will see you fail.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07FdVcspOfQ

327. Cherry

Ronnie
    I can put in Β£20 wish it was more, tho every little bit helps πŸ˜‰

328. ronnie anderson

@ Cherry thanks for that Yes every little helps, sounding out just now, sat nite not the best time to put it up but hay hoo its out there.

329. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr Thanks ah hiv faith in my fellow Wingers & the Rev, the wealth of experiance is/would be invaluable. The Rev has plenty complaint knock backs,as have individual Wingers,if we dont try we wont succeed in anything.

As somebody says on Toga,Yer shit as ah Troll, I was of line for ah wee while & came back as a Troll lol ah got pelters lolgae you,s wingers thats how its done lol.

330. Thepnr

We got cut off ronnie, never mind shit happens. Must have them running scared.

331. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr Cut of twice times lol

332. X_Sticks

@Ronnie

Late to the party as usual, but you can count me in for a ton and maybe a bit more if it’s a good month πŸ˜‰

Like some others have already said, I think the tories will wriggle and squirm over pushing the brexit button. They will try anything to prevent the break up of the UK as without Scottish oil underpinning the pound their economy is fkd.

Further, if Scotland was to leave the UK they would have nowhere to put their WMD which will seriously affect the ‘special relationship’ with the US.

These two things were the reason we were ‘not allowed’ (I choose my words carefully there) to win independence in 2014. It was never going to be allowed to happen.

333. ronnie anderson

@ X Sticks Thanks testing the watter .

334. Ian Brotherhood

This is a trailer for ‘The Fog Of War’, a documentary film about Robert McNamara.

He admits (in the full version) that, had the Allies not won the war, he would’ve been tried and convicted as a war criminal.

This may be useful viewing for those who are too young to remember how and why Blair was ‘given’ power, and will provide a handy comparison when everyone’s going tonto on Wednesday as Chilcot’s report finally sees the light of day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-AtfrmhrKk

335. Lenny Hartley

Ronnie put me in for fifty.

336. Liz g

@Ronnie Anderson
    Sorry forgot to pledge last night and the site wouldn’t let me post earlier.
    Put me down for Β£50.
    Also have you thought of maybe getting an actual licence pay’er to sue for a refund in small claims court.
    Might be the fastest and cheapest way and could if successful open the flood gates ?
    Although it might make more sense to have a leagal researcher check the legislation first to make sure the court has competence in the first place.

337. Michael McCabe

All this talk of Europe. I need some Music. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqPATbDhrb4

338. Paula Rose

Euro tunes – something plastic…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v98HEQvtpgo

339. Paula Rose

Oh by the way folks, wee reminder Craig Murray is speaking in Brechin next Tuesday.

340. Jock Scot

Ronnie, I can contribute at least 50

341. chasanderson200

Paula Rose

Craig Murray in Brechin – venue and time? If I can make it I will be there transport and accommodation arrangements permitting.

342. Paula Rose

8pm Tuesday 12th July at the Caledonian Hotel Southesk Street DD9 6DZ – bar open from 7.

343. Brian Doonthetoon

Also, they way things are developing, it would be worth revisiting this particular event, for inspiration.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/iscot-ciara

344. Thepnr

I felt it in my bones, unlike the wicked witch of the west. I’m getting animated again and spoiling for a fight. A fight with the arseholes who are fighting among themselves for the right to lead us.

This is what you will get after the dust settles. Dear God exactly where Ruthie gets her inspiration from FFS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmlzDKev4ec

345. Ian Brotherhood

All this shite has me singing: ‘There’s only four things for sure…taxes, death, trouble, and Tories.’

Doesn’t scan very well, but ain’t it the truth shonuff…

Marvin Gaye, ‘Trouble Man’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Usl-h5f-8W0

346. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’m all for playing by the rules. Those that don’t wish to see us Independent choose not to play by the rules.

That is their choice, I’m with Mahatma Ghandi on this. I doubt he is talking of God. He denies God, he is talking of those that rule.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_SakitCoNYc

347. Thepnr

The end. Bullies always will meet their match.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yM6QXfdeRMo

348. Paula Rose

Oi what’s with all this boxing stuff – horrible, take it away.

349. Thepnr

There is a point Paula. Wouldn’t post it here otherwise.

One day your top of the tree, cock of the rock (lol) and next day your not. Pride come before a fall don’t ya know.

http://imgur.com/mdyUJ6I This is a cock of the rock.

350. Paula Rose

But it’s all horrible punchy stuff – I want some pretty flowers instead.

351. Brian Doonthetoon

Here you are, Paula Rose.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjCzPp-MK48

352. Paula Rose

That’s better!

353. Thepnr

Sorry Paula for being a brute.

Here is the best description of flowers you will ever hear.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkhBcLk_8f0

354. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Rat Scabies was good. Here’s a laugh for you, guess who lives here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENE9UawDafk

355. Paula Rose

Ravishing Raymond!

356. Thepnr

Well done Paula. You’ve probably stayed there LOL.

357. Paula Rose

No – he always came to me.

358. Quinie frae Angus

Calling BDTT

Please can you give me the link again for the Dundee bus company you suggested for my private hire?

Thanks!

359. Brian Doonthetoon

http://www.sidlaw.co.uk/

360. Quinie frae Angus

Thank you!

361. Ian Brotherhood

Really have to ditch my ‘merry old duffer’ gravatar, given what’s happened this week.

Blair back in all our lives, giving us lectures…

Fuck that.

362. Ian Brotherhood

This is for Blair and his buddies, especially all the ‘Scots’ who helped him.

Radiohead, ‘We Suck Young Blood’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NK7owE_KlYU

363. Ian Brotherhood

I appear to have killed O/T stone-dead with Radiohead, so here’s a happier tune:

REM, ‘Shiny Happy People’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCQ0vDAbF7s

364. Paula Rose

*removes ear plugs – replaces them*

365. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Okay then, your turn…

πŸ™‚

366. Dave McEwan Hill

Yipee. We’ve got Argyll Independent Radio back online (www.argyllradio.co.uk)

I’m on with my “Not Fade Away” rock’n’roll show tomorrow night at 8pm
    We will be expanding output after start up problems are ironed out. Mostly streamed music at the moment

367. Paula Rose

Song line time – not played this one for a while…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXDJneVbEC8

368. DerekM

This about sums up the UK just now

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGi7S1wiZao

369. Paula Rose

State of the Nation…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_7vg8IWNDM

370. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Okay. Fair do’s.

πŸ™‚

πŸ˜‰

371. Michael McCabe

Can Anybody tell me where Vinda Went. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9QZOHzWLF9w

372. Ian Brotherhood

@MichaelMcCcabe –

Good to see you getting the music back up and running.

Well, here we are – Friday night again?

En Vogue, ‘Never Gonna Get It’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlP0m39xdI0

373. Paula Rose

*rummages through classic hits collection*

374. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Please tell Lynn this one’s for her.

Have yersels a braw weekend there!

The Waterboys, ‘And A Bang On The Ear’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmyPHfu9c0c

375. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone ever heard this before?

The Humblebums, ‘Steamboat Row’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qK5ojfwA4js

376. Ian Brotherhood

Man alive…

Sometimes you come across a wee nugget that just blows your socks off.

I honestly didn’t know this – Willie Nelson wrote ‘Crazy’, in 1961. Patsy Cline used it the following year.

Here he is performing it, somewhere in Scotland, in 1992.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0jOR5DC0rM

377. Ian Brotherhood

Who’s up for a dance?

Gipsy Kings, ‘Baila Me’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ex0Q48Uoc7o

378. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

If you don’t stop rummaging soon, make yer mind up and get something on, I’m going to post U2 12-inchers and videos until tomorrow night.

379. Ian Brotherhood

I wasn’t bluffing…

And so it begins:

‘Bono: Who Is Jesus?’ (Interview with Gay Byrne)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOQClgNRoPc

380. Ian Brotherhood

Quite revolting to see the btl comments on the Fall of The Edge YT video, all these callous bastards asking if his guitar was okay…

Bono, naturally, declared it a miracle that he was unhurt.

381. Ian Brotherhood

My last comment refers to this, which, for some reason, did not appear –

‘The Edge Falling Off The Stage’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rta9CHp7bEE

382. Ian Brotherhood

A special report from RTE on…

‘U2’s Larry Mullen’s Acting Debut’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mDJZV6q-X0

383. Ian Brotherhood

‘U2’s First TV Appearance’ (Gay Byrne’s ‘Late Late Show’, 1980) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLQ4Exa8qFM

384. Michael McCabe

Jet Look what you done. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XD1cxSE25ck

385. Michael McCabe

Keane Everybody,s Changing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r8FQ0uXmmFw

386. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Aha!

Are you doing pairs of songs which sound very similar?

Good stuff anyway…

πŸ™‚

387. Michael McCabe

Hi Ian B Just spoken to lynn on the phone. She says thanks for the song and a great big Luv yeah to all the wingers who gather here. And Naturally I wish you all the best. Running down a dream. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qv4-m-cIZf4

388. Michael McCabe

The Boss Red Headed Woman http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvXpEb_YWzI

389. Stoker

Guidance needed! Once i clear out all the important stuff is it possible to close down an old email account and if so how do i go about it?

Sparks – Beat The Clock
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_PjMIdDWmkk

390. Paula Rose

Are we doing a stallee thingie in Glasgow on the 30th of July folks?

391. Brian Doonthetoon

I believe Wingers will have a presence on the 30th in George Square, Paula Rose. Ronnie is co-ordinating something.

Typing of Ronnie…
    Spent a pleasant afternoon with Ronnie and Mitch today, in the Counting House in Dundee. This link is for Ronnie, as he was unaware of the Dundee musical legend, Johnny Duckworth.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/text-documents-01

392. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

What’s happening?

393. Paula Rose

Does he know about Craig Murray coming to Brechin – I was presuming he’d be in his castle.

394. Paula Rose

Hi Ian Honey – what do you mean “what’s happening?”

395. Ian Brotherhood

Sorry, just saw BDTT’s post – George Square then? I don’t even know what’s going on any more. Is it another rally?

396. Paula Rose

Ian Honey would you like regular up-dates?

397. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Well, it seems I’m somewhat out of the proverbial, so, yes, please.

πŸ™‚

398. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Ronnie knows about Brechin. He asked me to remind him about it every time we spoke on the telephonic apparatus, over the past three weeks or so.

Hi Ian B. 30th July. March from Glasgow Botanic Gardens to George Square. Rally in George Square. How do you manage not to know about it? Is Ayrshire so far from the civilised world?

8=)

399. Paula Rose

Well it is a long way from the hub of the known universe – Brechin.

400. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚

No man is an island an’ aw that jazz, but I’m doing my level best.

401. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You’re so far behind the curve that I’ll bet you can’t even answer simple questions about Johnny Duckworth? Iye?

8=)

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-36/#comment-2164296

8=)

402. K1

Oh cool, can I come on that rally and finally meet some of you? πŸ™‚

What start time on the 30th?

403. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

How very dare you.

Any fool know he was Vera’s husband.

So there!

404. Ian Brotherhood

If the march is starting from the Botanic Gardens would it not be properly cool if we all dressed up as Triffids?

You can imagine bleary-eyed west-end stoners freaking out, coffee-cups rattling…

405. ronnie anderson

Whit dey ye mean ronnie dizznae know Cleo , an dont tell me am oan the wrang pathway dont be Duckin oot o this BrianDTT lol.

406. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT Where,s the table adornment fae Witherspoon’s.

407. Brian Doonthetoon

Can anyone explain to me who Calvin Harris is, and why, at a festival that is supposed to be about live musicians, what appears to be a dj playing pre-recorded set pieces merits a place on stage?

Must be getting old…

8=)

408. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

I’ll get there – not necessarily tonight though…

409. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT Get with it daddyo, Calvin Harris is a radio 1 DJ

410. Ian Brotherhood

‘Calvin Harris’ sounds like a good name for a 70’s menswear designer.

411. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

Here’s the best pic of the table ornaments (and badge) that you had on display in the Counting House yesterday.

http://i.imgur.com/6mNw08h.jpg

412. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Here are more expansive details about 30th July, from the Facebook page at:-

http://www.facebook.com/events/1744112435864446/

“MARCH FOR INDEPENDENCE- SATURDAY JULY 30TH

BOTANIC GARDENS TO GEORGE SQUARE

GATHER AT 10AM. LEAVING 10.30AM SHARP

PROCESSION ROUTE:

BOTANIC GARDENS, GREAT WESTERN ROAD, MARYHILL ROAD, ST.GEORGES ROAD, CHARING CROSS OVER M8, SAUCHIEHALL STREET, PITT STREET, WEST GEORGE STREET, BLYTHSWOOD SQUARE (S), WEST GEORGE STREET, NELSON MANDELA PLACE, GEORGE STREET, GEORGE SQUARE.

JOIN THE EVENT, SHARE THE EVENT AND INVITE AS MANY FRIENDS AS POSSIBLE USING THE ‘INVITE’ TAB AT THE TOP OF THIS PAGE.

WE LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING A MASSIVE TURN-OUT ON THE DAY.”

There is also more info at these pages:-

YES Bikers –
    http://www.facebook.com/events/1633865790264709/

YES2 –
    http://www.facebook.com/yes2dunblane/photos/a.449715071833456.1073741829.447174438754186/701042470034047/?type=3&theater

413. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the non-Facebook event page:-

http://glasgow.uk.eventsdroid.com/march-for-independence-1.html

414. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Cheers aplenty and thanks amuch.

415. Socrates MacSporran

I followed a link on the Hobson’s Choice thread and got to an absolutely superb You Tube clip of a French military band playing La Marche Des Soldats De Robert Bruce. Apparently this is an old Scottish tune, supposedly the one which marched the troops to Bannockburn, and which Burns adapted as the tune to Scots Wha Hae. The tune has been appropriated by the French and Germans, who love it.

I was blown away – the tune rang a bell somewhere in my sub-conscious, what a fantastic tune. Yet, I have never knowingly heard it played at either Trooping the Colour or the Edinburgh Tattoo. I can just see the reaction if, on the Esplanade, some night, a French military band started this up, then the massed pipes and drums came in. It would be electrifying.

Now, I know Flower of Scotland is now well-established for sporting occasions, and, I also appreciate, it would be a difficult one to set Scots Wha Hae to, but, where does it say, a pre-match national anthem HAS to have words – there is one, Spain’s? which has no words.

This tune would be a cracker.

By the way, anent Calvin Harris. One of my grandsons is doing a degree in music technology at university (I keep telling him it’s a BSc in dee-jaying). For him, Calvin Harris is God. Apparently, his USP is the way he mixes tunes and uses his turntables. He (Harris), is apparently very gifted at this most-important skill.

416. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Socrates MacSporran.

I first posted the link to “Soldats” on 1st June last year, in ‘off-topic’. I detailed the research I had done, hence the links I posted the other day.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-24/#comment-2023259

417. cearc

Socrates,

I concur, La marche des Soldats de Robet Bruce would be a great national anthem. Surely someone could be commissioned to write lyrics for it as well.

Flower of Scotland will be out of date when we achieve independence so something more along the lines of we have renewed our old alliances and are a nation again.

Our history is better known in Germany and particularly France than it is here.

418. Paula Rose

A job for Ninja Penguin!

419. cearc

P-R,

Have fun tomorrow night.

420. Paula Rose

Will do Honey – wish you wos here xx

421. Paula Rose

(see wot I did there)

422. Tinto Chiel

Ian B.

Just heard from a good pal and published author that a friend of a friend here in Scotland has managed to secure a two-novel deal in UK and USA for Loadsamoney. And I mean loads.

There’s hope for us all this side of the herring pond. Pity your Tobiad couldn’t grow wings.

Hoping for a big Indy March in Glasgow at the end of the month. Ironing my saltire, Catalonian and Sicilian flags almost as we speak.

Bonne chance, mon vieux.

423. Ian Brotherhood

@Tinto Chiel –

Nice one!

Good news indeed…

Mibbe see you at the rally?

Hoots!

424. Tinto Chiel

Ian, if I survive my flight to Italy with Mrs TC in the teeth of Isil, I’ll be there.

By that time I may have the name of the young lady’s agent who finessed the Flint-hearted bar stewards into a massive deal.

Of course, the YL has talent, application and determination.

I hate people like that. Can’t I just wear a beret and hope for the best?

Hehehehe! 😎

And hoots tae yirsel, old bean. And so to bed. Is that Martin Richmond Angostura Bittaz in disguise?

425. Tinto Chiel

To BDTT and IB re March, I offer you this great slice of cheese in reply:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=e4HsHq0Mmes

I feel kinda queasy now, but it seemed a good idea at the time.

426. Dave McEwan Hill

Better than any PPB
    We need much more of this now and less of the interminable arguments fought on battlefields our opponents choose

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WulAWn_N_O0

427. CameronB Brodie

While we’re waiting for the Brexit dust to settle a bit, here’s a challenge for Mr. Kevin Hague. Could you please graph the cultural dimension of Scotland’s crapness, plotted against space and time?

You could perhaps use this as a primer for your analysis.

The debates discussed at the conclusion of the previous section are illustrative of a wider debate between the grand narratives of modernity and the fragmented localisms of postmodernity. Movements toward identity politics have been maligned as atomizing, defeatist, and hopelessly ideological by many theorists (Couldry, 2000; Eagleton, 2000; Harvey, 1990). The currents of postmodern critical thought however, inexorably press on in attempts to irrupt the primacy of monolithic discourse in modernist thought. A key emphasis in postmodernism is to bring an appreciation to the agency of cultural formations and localized meaning making processes, primarily by placing human practices and cultural logics at the center of discussions on globalization (Ong, 1999).

Since modernity is about the experience of progress through modernization, the dominating theme in this realm has been on becoming rather than being in time and space. Scholars like Soja attempt to mitigate this dominance by bringing an awareness of the triad of space-time-being en route to unraveling the geographical puzzle. As a corrective, Soja offers the heuristic of a β€œmultilayered system of socially created nodal regions, a configuration of differentiated and hierarchically organized locales” (Soja, 1989, p.148). As Dear notes, such a lifeworld encompasses many different scales, from the human body to the urban to the nation state to the social whole; β€œit is everywhere permeated with Foucauldian notions of power and authority” (Dear, 2000, p. 74).

http://www1.uwindsor.ca/criticalsocialwork/a-theoretical-primer-on-space

428. Nana

@Archie[not Erchie] Big hugs to you too. Hoping you are well. Do you ever hear from Findlay? I’ve not seen him post for a long time. Wondering if he’s ok.

429. CameronB Brodie

Apologies for perhaps appearing egotistical but here’s another wee snippet from the above. It is a bit geeky. πŸ™‚

In his extensive analysis of car culture from the lowriders (traditional drivers of Chevy’s and Fords from the 50’s and 60’s) to β€œthumpers” (contemporary drivers of higher tech/modern cars with elaborate sound systems) to β€œToo Low Flow” (a subculture fascinated with hyperbolic imagery, hydraulics and immaculate car preservation), Cintron tracks the ways in which individuals generate respect by extending their β€œegos” into public space. His unique formulations of spatial analysis include literal, metaphorical, semiotic and rhetorical constructions of space, all of which he generates from his detailed analyses of everyday life in a Latino/a neighborhood (1997).

430. Tinto Chiel

Socrates, I copied this from a previous thread (Hobson’s Choice):

O/T: Socrates McSporran: did you know Jackie McInally had died on Saturday? Have wonderful memories of him in claret and amber going on his rampaging runs, almost bruising his chin with those daddy-long-legs breenges at inside right. Killie fans loved him too.

I know you are a footballing sophisticate/aesthete.

😎

431. Thepnr

Wee thank you for inviting me along to the Craig Murray talk in Brechin tonight, very good turnout and great to see more than a few Wingers there too.

432. Thepnr

Going senile! That was to the delightful Paula.

433. Tartan Tory

Another thank-you to the delightful Paula Rose for the invite tonight. Enjoyed seeing some familiar faces this evening, both Wingers and a few indigenous Brechin / Montrose folks from my past life too! Have to say, Paula was a bit worse for wear at the tolling of the bell and were it not for my wife being in tow, I think I’d have had an easy lay there tonight!! πŸ˜‰

434. Paula Rose

Many thanks to all you wonderful wingers who came to Brechin last night – you are all so special and made it a very special evening.
    Tartan Tory Honey it was funny seeing your wife warning you to stop trying it on with me xx

435. Cadogan Enright

If Ronnie Anderaon is still thinking of taking the BBC to court, or contesting the licence in some way , I might know where to get a good start on funds

Ask him to drop a line here https://business.facebook.com/councillorcadogan.enright?business_id=372028969646293. With his number and I will give him a ring

436. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry I missed it.

Had been entertaining notions of surprising you, but twas not to be…

πŸ™

437. CameronB Brodie

Won’t be long until we have you up to speed on the nature of space and the significance of place Mr. Hague. Then you will be able to graph confidently in the knowledge that we have very little idea as to how an independent Scotland would develop.

One thing we do know is that independence would bring new meaning and significance to the place we call Scotland. Everywhere else, such an emergent environment would stimulate the development of new business and an increase in cultural activity. Apparently Scotland’s got shit oil though so I suppose such growth and improvement wouldn’t happen here.

The question of space and place in geographical knowledge is ultimately not just about whether the question of β€œwhere” matters in the way that β€œwhen” does in explaining β€œhow” and even β€œwhy” something happens. It is also about how it matters. Given that both space and place are about the β€œwhere” of things and their relative invocation has usually signaled different understandings of what β€œwhere” means, it is best to examine them together rather than separately. That is the purpose of this chapter.

Contrary perhaps to first appearance, space and place are fairly complex words. The Oxford English Dictionary gives over about two pages to space and around three and a half pages to place. Space is regarded largely as a dimension within which matter is located or a grid within which substantive items are contained. Along with its geographic meaning as β€œa portion of space in which people dwell together” and β€œlocality,” place is also a β€œrank” in a list (as β€œin the first place”), a temporal ordering (as in something β€œtook place”), and a β€œposition” in a social order (as in β€œknowing your place”). Notwithstanding this variety, over the greatest span of time it has been the geographic meanings of the term place that have been most important, at least in philosophical circles. Both Plato and Aristotle, to name but two foundational thinkers, had recourse to concepts analogous to the modern English geographic place as, respectively, chΓ΄ra and topos. The modern term space descends from the second of these, even though the term itself dates from the seventeenth century. From this viewpoint, as the Italian geographer Franco Farinelli (2003, 11) says, two meanings of place can be clearly distinguished among the ancient Greeks:

Place … is a part of the terrestrial surface that is not equivalent to any other, that cannot be exchanged with any other without everything changing. Instead with space [place as location] each part can be substituted for another without anything being altered, precisely how when two things that have the same weight are moved from one side of a scale to another without compromising the balance.

http://www.sscnet.ucla.edu/geog/downloads/856/416.pdf

438. CameronB Brodie

P.S. IMHO, the above author would probably get along with Mr. Podmore. Well, they do both share the same simplistic appreciation of Heidegger.

Sorry Will, I know you can’t respond but that one’s an obvious tell of a Marxist, who will generally seek to rationalise reality in such a way as to support Marxist ideology.

439. CameronB Brodie

P.P.S. For example, Mr. P’s denial of phenomenology. Pffff. πŸ™‚

440. cearc

Glad tuesday went well. Did anybody record it?

441. Socrates MacSporran

Tinto Chiel

I did know about Big Jackie McInally’s passing. I have done a couple of obits for him, although I might upset “Rambo” his son, in suggesting, he “Rambo”, wasn’t as-good a player as his old man.

Jackie scored the best goal I ever saw, at Rugby Park, against Motherwell, in December 1961. Killie won 5-3 and Andy Kerr – the greatest player ever to wear a Killie strip IMHO, scored four goals that day.

THE goal of that, and every other game I have ever seen, was scored by Big Jackie, who fired in a shot, from just inside the Motherwell half, past Alan Wyllie from about 50-yards.

So what? Well, he scored it, with one of the old leather Thomson T-balls, into the teeth of horizontal rain, which was being driven by a near-hurricane force wind.

442. Dave McEwan Hill

Was that the big tumhshie ball that just about knocked you out if you headed it wrong?

443. Dave McEwan Hill

Or sometimes we called them a “blether”. A cross between “leather” and a “bladder”. They were proper balls, though there were wimpy rubber balls about at the time (suitable for the midfield fannying about on the continent which seems to have turned soccer in a sophorific spectacle nowadays) .

When I look at tennis players hurling down a wee light ball and getting widely praised I think of big Tommy Gemmell accelerating one of these blethers through opponents nets

444. Tinto Chiel

Socrates, DMH:

Ah, Andy Kerr. I have a pal who supports Killie who reveres him as a Demi-God.

Do you remember mid- timing a header with one of those balls and getting it on the top of the skull?

Out of country just now and wifi a bit dodgy but Boris for FO? I think I may have passed through a worm hole in the STC.

McInally, McInally, Oi, Oi , Oi! That’s what I say.

445. Paula Rose

Very nice report on our meeting in Brechin, standing room only by the way…

http://mrmalkysblog.blogspot.co.uk/2016/07/be-more-brechin.html

446. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi ‘et al’.

Are we all going to Glasgow on the 30th July?

Just found this video, which leads on from Gerry Cinnamon’s appearance at TITP 2015 – TITP 2016.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jj4NvNw2G6o

447. Paula Rose

“Sends out usual call for a chauffeur.”

448. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

With Pete the Camera stuck in Ward 22 for the duration, I’ve had to make other arrangements for the 30th.

I’m bussing down to Cumbernauld on the Friday afternoon, where Ronnie is gonna collect me and install me in his virtual shed.

Saturday will be George Square and whatever Ronnie gets organised for Wingers ‘apres event’. Back to Ronnie’s on Saturday evening, then bus from Cumbernauld back to Dundee on the Sunday afternoon.

I like when plans fall into place…

449. Dave McEwan Hill

A representative of the National YES Registry will be down in Dunoon at the Forward Shop tomorrow evening from 7pm for an informal meeting with activists. I’ll try to get him onto Forward Argyll Independent Radio about 7.50 to say a few words before my Rock’n’Roll show.

http://www.argyllradio.co.uk

450. ronnie anderson

Sos
    People I was trying to orginize a place for 30th July in Hope St ,but someone forgot to renew the drinks licence.

As its a long day 10am to 1pm,if Wingers are staying after that time frame we could do as we,ve done in the past & go to the Counting House.

451. Cactus

Hey, here’s something to ponder..

Have you ever played that online ‘Miniclip 8-ball pool’ game before?

Normally when you play the game, it recognises your location and displays the UJ flag for ‘where you’re from.’ Not now! Now it defaults to displaying the flag of the USA with no available option for the UK.

Whit’s that awe aboot?!

We live in interesting times. I see you, EC you.

452. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Peeps.

I think this may be the song for tonight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhEwjCoGru8

453. K1

Hi Cactus, I just checked ma game and it’s still displaying the UJ flag on mine…and I’ve recently updated it too…so not sure what that’s about on your game…

454. yesindyref2

In honour of Theresa May’s visit to Scotland, the first visit of a foreign head of government to Scotland, here’s this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkplPbd2f60

455. cearc

Can’t do the 30th. as I will have a houseful of people here.

BDtt, best wishes to Pete.

456. Socrates MacSporran

Tinto Chiel:

A couple of Andy Kerr moments. On his Killie debut, against Celtic at Rugby Park, he was sent flying to land beside the Celtic goal, when the ball broke across the goal, Andy, flat on his back, stretched his right foot back onto the park and diverted the ball past Frank Haffey for a goal – Killie won the game.

Another time, with Killie assured of a win over Partick Thistle, Andy’s old club, late in the game, he got the ball down in the corner, in front of the old “hayshed”. He beat Jimmy Davidson, who had been his best pal at Thistle, then went back and beat him again. In all, he beat Davidson about five times, before he tripped over the ball and fell over, taking Davidson with him. The pair of them just sat there laughing, with the crowd joining-in. Even Tiny Wharton, who was refereeing, laughed.

Aye, fitba was fun back then.

457. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT, ronnie et al,

Just put wee comment on main thread, hoping to pique interest of newbies who may be interested in joining us on the 30th.

All eyes out for newcomers!!

458. Tinto Chiel

Socrates: yon Paula Rose wummin’ll give us pelters for discussing fitba’.

Wish I could remember AK clearly but my first season at FP was 1962 as a nipper.

Tiny Wharton: remember the time he sent wee JJ of Celtic for using the B word? Jimmy took his wallies out to play so TW quipped, “Mr Johnstone, I’m about to reacquaint you with your teeth.”

Ah, the memories.

459. Tinto Chiel

“Sent OFF wee JJ.”

Sorry.

460. Paula Rose

@Tinto Chiel I am being very patient Dear – and I presume you’ll have finished your footie chat before the adults pop in.

461. Tinto Chiel

(Slouches off chastened to early bed.)

462. CameronB Brodie

Now that you are up to speed with the understanding that place is both a creative agent and a discursive expression of community formation, cultural values and social morality, lets broaden our investigation of space to include the inner spaces of being, shall we Mr. Hague?

The purpose of this paper is to examine the concepts of democracy and citizenship from the viewpoint of existential phenomenology. Furthermore these ideas of citizenship and democracy are indisputable factors of the political reality that as an allegedly absolute also governs the relations between people. The ontological presumption of politics seems to rely on a supra-individualistic and universal metaphysics that is characteristically instrumental and based on submission. As such politics itself constantly denies the condition of both the life-world and the Being as the ground of it. This metaphysical and ethical instrumentality, which has developed within power relations, annihilates individuated subjectivity – ethical citizenship – and the possibility of democratic action within society. Due to the reduction of being, a novel political actor – das Man – has overtaken the moral agency-subject and thus overlooks the ethical ground and the ontological imperative of being.

http://www.helsinki.fi/project/eva/pop/pop_Hulkko.pdf

For those who do not have the time to consume the above;

As far as politics is in any level seen as an act of being, the ideas of responsibility and freedom must thus accompany the concept of politics. Otherwise politics becomes the politics of das Man – of inauthenticity – that closes the being by sovereignty and strangeness

463. CameronB Brodie

P.S. πŸ™‚

The Vulcans – Star Trek
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RNtpngHItV4

464. Cactus

Hi K1, thanks for the comparison.

I should have mentioned, I normally play as a guest, not logged in. Dunno if that would make a difference.

This is the link I use below. It’s even got the ‘English/en’ language version at the end of the path-name, but still coming up all stars n stripes for the flag at the top RHS of screen, instead of the previous UJ.

{www}.miniclip.com/games/8-ball-pool-multiplayer/en/

Ach well, I’ll take it as a sign.. cheers to ye K1 πŸ™‚

465. K1

Hi Cactus, I used the link you posted and took me to their site, it’s got the UJ on my log on page. It may well be making the difference not being logged on?

Have you tried clicking on the UJ on the main page, there’s a drop down menu wherein you can choose which flag? Maybe it defaulted on yer browser Cactus, try changing it back…or use another European flag instead πŸ˜‰

(I used it on my android phone, and ma kindle too…find it too awkward wi the mac and touchpad)

466. CameronB Brodie

Running low on popcorn Robert? πŸ™‚

Ella Fitzgerald ft Buddy Bregman & His Orchestra – Begin The Beguine
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boJ2RZ545Ik

467. Peter Barjonas

So, a military coup in Turkey. This will not happen in the UK cos we’ve got some water cannons!

468. Cactus

Hi K1, did a reset earlier and that’s me back to the UJ thang again, dang. Now the American flag is not even listed.. must be Gismo and Co.

One day we will play under the saltire.

Till then, rack em up!

469. Lollysmum

BDTT
    Are you making badges for 30th? Been a bit out of touch for a couple of weeks:) I retire the day before AUOB so hoping to get there for this march.

470. Lollysmum

BDtt
    Sorry just saw your comment about Pete being in hospital so forget I even asked about badges. Best wishes to Pete if you see him.

471. Paula Rose

Lollysmum you can always get a bespoke badge made here-
    http://www.shop-scotland.com/thebonnybadgecompany.html
    my bespoke badge company of choice.

472. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lollysmum et al.

I visited Pete yesterday and he said that as he’s allowed ‘pass-outs’, he’s hoping to use some of his time to get some badges together, for me to take to George Square.

473. yesindyref2

Jeez, still shaking. We (wife) got a text from my son saying something terrible had happened.

He got a new licence with the Union Jack on it.

474. Brian Doonthetoon

See that ‘Fast Show’ jobbing actor, Johnny Depp? See in those “Pirates” fillums whot he got a job in… was he not just caricaturing Keith Richards?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pv9BKilYk9Q

475. Tam Jardine

Evening. So I guess Angra Manyu begat Ahura Mazda who begat Papko. The evolution is the same as he goes from purely aggressive denigration to indy support to full on domination of page after page.

He likes heedy and thepnr and GB and Ian B as before. It is weird because my policy is to just not engage at all (and I usually resist the bait) but eventually it becomes the discussion and I just can’t be arsed writing anything on the same page. Which is probably the whole purpose so I should just ignore.

Anyway- for anyone with netflix check out Bill Hicks: Revelations- his last recorded gig. Can that really be 26 years ago? Amazing stuff.

476. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Hoots mon,

I don’t ‘feel’ Papko is a reincarnation of those earlier characters – he seems curiously bereft of bite/humour, more like Rock for my money, but no matter…

These c-c-c-characters will keep coming here – they will all fail, and they will all fall.

Amen.

477. yesindyref2

OT
    Mmm, poor Kevin. Hasn’t published my last reply yet, must be in a bit of a quandry – should he, shouldn’t he, what answer can he find to post immediately afterwards? Well nevermind, shame to waste it, if he doesn’t do it, I’ve kept a copy and will put it in some main thread on Wings, contexting it properly, of course!

Now, about that fiscal transfer of Β£9 billion …

478. yesindyref2

With the SNP new move on currency, seems they’ve been listening perhaps.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qW9-s3ITbU

479. CameronB Brodie

So we are a bunch of smart-Erse, know-all, denial merchants. Sorry but as with most Yoon analysis, this is rather shallow and ineffectual. What about something with a bit of snap to it?

Funkadelic – Promentalshitbackwashpsychosis Enema Squad
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7wL1NyqLs5E

P.S. Munch an ego today Wingers. πŸ˜‰

480. CameronB Brodie

While I’m about, here’s one for all who voted No, despite not belonging to the Yoon cult of British national socialism.

Funkadelic – Free Your Mind And Your Ass Will Follow
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiqmEibSY0I

Are you happy that another nation determines your future? Happy that Scotland’s cultural and moral values are subsumed within a Greater England/Little Britain? Satisfied with the politics of inauthentic idealism and empirical subjectivity?

I’m not.

481. Ian Brotherhood

Morrissey, ‘First Of The Gang To Die’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qgn1Rc0YJ4

482. CameronB Brodie

In summary, Mr. Huge, the blessed space we know as Britain, is a political construct which is divorced of any tangible respect to either human agency or human geography. As such, I see it is as the very embodiment of the most dehumanising monism of ‘modernist’ thought and morality. The very embodiment of imperial power and domination. Agreed?

With respect to yourself, just my opinion but I doubt the avalanche of empirical subjectivity for which you are infamouse, will delay Scotland’s desire for full-fat Being, much longer.

P.S. No wonder Heidegger thought English Christian Bolsheviks were the dodgiest feckers.

Singers & Players – Run Them Away
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_RQ_4Gw8SQ

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.