Medal of dishonour

Posted on November 12, 2013 by

So, there was another vote in the House of Commons today on the bedroom tax. Labour brought forward a motion to abolish it, having abstained from the one the SNP and Plaid Cymru filed back in February according to the Bain Principle.

With many Lib Dems abstaining this time, the motion failed by just 26 votes. Dozens* of Labour MPs had failed to turn up to support the motion, including 10 (ie 25%) of the party’s Scottish MPs – Gordon Brown, Jim Murphy, Douglas Alexander, Pamela Nash and Ann McKechin among them.

sarwarprops4

Someone else didn’t make it either. Can you guess who, readers?

Yes, the “deputy” leader of Labour in Scotland and MP for Glasgow Central, Anas Sarwar, had something better to do with his time than vote against the bedroom tax.

Readers might find that curious, given the big fuss he made recently in a televised debate with Nicola Sturgeon about the subject, going so far as to wave a draft bill in her face, theatrically offer her a pen and demand she sign it.

sarwarprops5

We’re sure Mr Sarwar had a good reason for not showing up at his workplace, as no doubt did Mr Brown, Mr Murphy, Mr Alexander and the rest. Ms Nash probably just had some problems with her printer again.

Maybe that’s it. Perhaps all of them were trying to print out another fake document to waft around, rather than doing anything useful to justify their fat taxpayer-funded salaries. Or just to hide their shame behind the next time they have the brass neck to attack anyone else over the coalition’s most hated policy.

*At the moment we don’t have a full list of non-voters. But we can do some arithmetic.

There are 650 MPs in the Commons. 363 belong to the Tories and Lib Dems, leaving 287 opposition ones. 258 of those are Labour, leaving just 29 from the smaller parties.

Two Lib Dem MPs voted with Labour’s bill, meaning that the effective opposition maximum was 289. The actual Aye vote was 226, so 63 opposition MPs failed to show. With just 29 MPs coming from smaller parties, that therefore means that at least 34 Labour ones didn’t turn up – and in reality at least 43, since we know that all six SNP MPs, two Plaid Cymru and one Green voted with the motion.

1. 14 11 13 18:39

No: What you’re voting for (part 3 – A system of hypocrites) | Darling Blogs

169 to “Medal of dishonour”

1. Bill McLean

Labour – the dirt that keeps on getting dirtier!

2. moujick

Did I just miss it or was Ian Davidson missing in inaction again as well?

3. GrutsForTea

They are barely worth wasting the time it takes to pour scorn on them.

4. annie

I trust the daily record will be publishing this tomorrow – they truly make me sick.

5. Mosstrooper

LABOUR–The people who say one thing in public and another thing in public. (AS)

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Did I just miss it or was Ian Davidson missing in inaction again as well?”

No, Davidson got off his arse and voted this time.

http://www.parliament.uk/business/publications/hansard/commons/todays-commons-debates/read/unknown/369/

7. Alan MacD

Its not often nowadays to read or see something that genuinely shocks you any more.
    This happens to be one of them.

8. Ian Brotherhood

In the spirit of ‘openness, accountability, democracy’ etc ad fucking nauseum, can we please now direct our efforts into tracking down these bastards one by one and finding out precisely what they were doing tonight?

Who’s first up for shaving?

9. kendomacaroonbar

Shocking, absofuckinglutly shocking.

10. Thepnr

Sarwar, you are a fraud. Your cards been marked and your days are numbered.

11. Gordon Hay

And Ian Duncan Smith suddenly found himself with a “prior engagement” so was unable to attend the debate either.

http://politicalscrapbook.net/2013/11/iain-duncan-smith-missing-bedroom-tax-debate-because-hes-in-paris/

12. Ian Brotherhood

So, here’s a great chance to test the efficacy of this mighty social network that is OURS – where was Sarwar when the Division Bell rang?

Where was he?

What was he doing?

13. Paula Rose

26 votes????

14. TheGreatBaldo

Might be the long standing system of ‘pairing’ at Westminister…where MP’s for one side who are unable to vote are ‘paired’ with one of the other thus cancelling out their votes……

But if avoiding breaching Parliamentary protocol was more important to the man than overturning the Poll Tax of his age….Sarwar et al deserve all the contempt they are due…..

More so in fact……they chose not offending their fellow member of the Westminister club member than their constituents….it’s just a jolly old game for these people.  

15. Aidan

This will follow him everywhere from now on. Every debate he takes part in: “Where were you?”  

16. Jiggsbro

That is all.

17. Murray McCallum

Uncaring, hopeless shysters.

18. Gallowglass

Yee haa.  Well that shot that one down in flames.

19. Thepnr

That is all, sorted for you Jiggsbro 🙂

20. Alasdair

What was the question they posed? Also, “Ayes 226, Noes 252” – I take it this means that only 226 voted to get rid of the Bedroom Tax?

21. kendomacaroonbar

Labour, Fighting for You ! ( …if we can be arsed to pitch up )

22. Seasick Dave

For the Nationalists, the misery of the people isn’t a wrong to be corrected – it is a chance to be exploited. For them, grievance is not to be addressed – it is to be nurtured. 

“And that cynicism, that calculation which leaves families suffering now is a price worth paying if it translates into votes next September. It’s a cynicism which corrodes our politics. It should create in us a revulsion.” 

Johann Lamont at the Brighton Conference

23. Alastair Naughton

Beneath contempt! 

24. muttley79

I honestly do not know what the fucking hell is going on within SLAB.  Their recent behaviour has been bizarre in the extreme (even by their own standards).  This is a shambolic decision by Sarwar in particular, given his recent display against Sturgeon on STV.  I have no idea what they are playing at or thinking.  There must be something going on internally.  Salmond will goad SLAB about this at FMQs.     

25. Ian Brotherhood

The ‘pairing’ etiquette might be a bit of an excuse for Sarwar and his comrades if there was the slightest possibility of them perhaps having to return the favour anytime soon.

There isn’t – there is no excuse.

Just checked Twitter, and he’s had nothing to say for 10 hours.

Can Rev – or anyone else with any clout – please try to contact this character and put him on the spot? Please?

26. Paula Rose

If every Scottish MP had turned up and voted would it have made a difference? (just asking)

27. Castle Rock

And for the LibDems please step forward Alistair Carmichael, Jo Swinson, Malcolm Bruce, Michael Moore, Ming Campbell and John Thurso who all voted IN FAVOUR of retaining the Bedroom Tax even though their party conference voted against it.

You need to get down pretty low in the gutter to match some of the scum in the Labour Party but the people named above have most certainly done it.

28. Tris

Or maybe they like the Bedroom tax?

29. dtr1001

I see Curran is a no then

30. Les Wilson

They probably thought they do it by postal vote! You know, get the wife/ neighbour/ Uncle/ aunty/ grand kids, or just some drinking pal from the club !To do it for them as they can’t be arsed ! Their usual style of voting!

31. Ian Brotherhood

@Castle Rock-

Are they all Scots? Not sure about Thurso and Swinson, but the rest are, right?

Ming Campbell, again?! I thought he was finally gone…

32. dtr1001

And Darling and Davidson!

33. Aidan

Maybe he thinks only a newly returned Labour government should be able to abolish the Bedroom Tax? Given that Labour plan to stick to the Tory cuts, it’s one of the few remaining areas of significant disagreement with the Coalition; it gives them something to be seen to be standing against.  

Without it, what would he (and they) have left to strongly oppose, in principle, if not in practice? 

34. The Man in the Jar

The arrogant bastards just don’t give a monkeys.

Why do people still vote for these parasites?

35. kendomacaroonbar

@TMIJ,
    People still vote because their actions are never reported…unless Gordon Brewer brings it up tonight, but I’m guessing he’ll be wittering on about the price of coathangers instead.

36. GrutsForTea

Sarwar – “We’d abolish the Bedroom Tax if we were in power tomorrow”

WTF?

37. Castle Rock

@Ian Brotherhood

Swinson is the MP for East Dunbartonshire and Thurso is the MP for Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross.

Campbell is still doddering about the place…

38. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“If every Scottish MP had turned up and voted would it have made a difference? (just asking)”

See the footnote I’ve added.

39. Yesitis

Labour act like this because they can.
    I detest Labour – a political party far, far more dangerous to Scotland than the Tories have ever, or will ever be.

40. Jon D

Found appropriately on “Twit Longer” it looks like Mags Curran couldn’t persuade Carmichael

http://www.twitlonger.com/show/n_1rrh4p8

41. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The ‘pairing’ etiquette might be a bit of an excuse for Sarwar and his comrades if there was the slightest possibility of them perhaps having to return the favour anytime soon.”

http://www.parliament.uk/site-information/glossary/pairing/

“Pairing is not allowed in divisions of great political importance.”

42. gordoz

Brown really has retired then ?
    Sarwar backsliding & slithering no doubt
    Labour really are a disgusting bunch who draw lots to see who can take the backbone out for a walk.
    Well thats the Party that most of you voted for DUNFERMLINE, remember ?

43. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Also, “Ayes 226, Noes 252? – I take it this means that only 226 voted to get rid of the Bedroom Tax?”

Correct.

44. peevedoff

this silly pairing thingy,  well i am not that politically minded, but it seems that they agree to not do the job they are paid for, if someone on the opposition benches cannot be bothered to turn up then in my opinion the deserve to loose the vote.  for you to give up your vote because someone else cant be bothered is ridiculous.

imagine an election where you did not vote, because the guy next door who supports your opponents is not voting.  not going to happen is it, you don`t vote expect to loose out.

these politicians with their massive wages and expense bills should turn up for work or loos the wage, many of them have said how bad this tax is but have done nothing to stop i…… shame on them all

45. The Man in the Jar

@kendomackeroonbar

It has to be more than just the MSM failing to report their ineptitude / arrogance. Pure bloody minded tribalism is more like it. Fingers in ears “I cant hear you” stuff from the Labour faithfull.

46. Sue Lyons

Grrrr this damn man makes me so cross that I swear!!!!! He has no scruples.  After he appeared on that debate waving that stupid piece of paper and saying they would abolish the bedroom tax I phoned Ed Milliband’s office and asked him to confirm that was Labours stance.  I then phoned his office and asked why he had given an assurance that wasnt true – i feel another phone call going on.  He is a dreadful man.

47. kendomacaroonbar

@TMIJ

How else would they be aware of Sarwars duplicity ? the MSM won’t report it…G Brewer said nowt about it tonight, however commented that the SNP were accused of shutting down debate for some uni intellectuals…. par for the course

48. Alex Grant

No mention of any of this in tonight’s media. Conspiracy what conspiracy?

49. Murray McCallum

I see the specific rules posted about the HoC “pairing” etiquette. This could surely never be used as an excuse anyway?

Is someone from the Labour Party in Scotland really saying that they would not turn up to vote to abolish the bedroom tax because they had an informal agreement with a millionaire Tory across the floor?  Wonder if any Labour MPs had such an agreement with Nadhim Zahawi?

50. Hetty

These people are so hypocritical, and a disgrace. They will get their comeuppance somehow, hard to know how on earth they can sleep at night, oh yeh, as confirmed they simply don’t care and are worthy only of contempt. 

51. deerokus

Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai reports that Jim Murphy was fillibg the crucial role for his voters and cnstituents (of which I am both) of… having lunch in an alternative music/ vegan pub in Glasgow. I am sure we can all agree that such tasks should take priority. 

Couldnae mark his neck with a blowtorch. 

52. The Man in the Jar

@kendomackeroonbar

You could bus a load of Scottish tribal Labour voters to Westminster and tie them to the chairs in the public gallery and they would still deny the facts.

53. Morag

this silly pairing thingy,  well i am not that politically minded, but it seems that they agree to not do the job they are paid for, if someone on the opposition benches cannot be bothered to turn up then in my opinion the deserve to loose the vote.  for you to give up your vote because someone else cant be bothered is ridiculous.

It does mean that ministers who are abroad on important government business, for example, don’t have to drop everything and fly back from China if it looks as if the government might be going to lose a vote.

It has its uses, but I’d sure like to know the details of who was paired with whom tonight, and why.  If the opposition feels strongly enough, it can refuse to agree to pair, as far as I know.

54. HandandShrimp

People should just wave pens at him.

Brewer isn’t much of a political journalist. It is little surprise he didn’t even raise it as an issue. I would imagine Neil will have a chuckle about it on the politics show though.

55. gordoz

O/T  – Apologies if this has been picked up earlier (from NNS)
    A UK Minister has confirmed that EU procurement regulations would not prevent naval orders from the rest of the UK being undertaken by yards on the Clyde without tender, even if Scotland voted Yes to independence.

Appearing in front of the Scottish Affairs Committee at Westminster, Andrew Murrison said EU competition law – known as Article 346 – would allow for orders to be completed in Scotland provided the Westminster Government said it was for national security reasons.
    http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/referendum/8319-eu-rule-can-be-used-to-award-indy-scotland-warship-orders-confirms-uk-minister

This confirmation that Ms Sturgeon was indeed correct is also acutely embarrassing to Labour MP Ian Davidson who chairs the Scottish Affairs Committee & Scots Sec Carmichael who said she was wrong.

56. Ally

I’m away to be sick!

As someone said above – this is the mob that Dunfermline elected!

FIFERS – you have another chance to do what’s right!

57. annie

Nice one Rev another name check from Pete Wishart you are in danger of becoming respectable.

58. rabb

It does mean that ministers who are abroad on important government business, for example, don’t have to drop everything and fly back from China if it looks as if the government might be going to lose a vote.

It has its uses, but I’d sure like to know the details of who was paired with whom tonight, and why.  If the opposition feels strongly enough, it can refuse to agree to pair, as far as I know.

Are we seriously saying that in this era of digital global communication an MP can’t cast a fucking vote of vital importance to the most vulnerable people in this country because he / she is in fucking France, China or Australia or worst still having lunch in a pub in Glasgow?

Bullshit! There is no excuse other than serious illness for not doing the job your constituents elected you to do on their behalf!

I won’t entertain that as a valid excuse.

59. HighlandMart

Stu, can you award Anas the ‘Order of the Cone’ and re edit your pick and screw it on his head?

60. wee162

@Morag 11:41pm 

No, gaming the system to hold a vote when you know someone is in China which gives you a better chance of winning is wrong. Letting someone off voting to go for a nice dinner if they can find some other lazy fucker on the benches opposite is a complete abrogation of responsibility. Do your job or stop standing for election to represent us. I don’t see that as controversial.

61. MochaChoca

It’s not just Democracy….. It’s Westminster Democracy…..

62. gordoz

Forgot to mention this earlier – saw it on TV the other night
    Anyone recognise a similarity with this SFA logo from somewhere ?
    It seems the folks on the NO side could not sit with the Saltire cross, so pitched theirs at a cant to resemble the Cross of St George (or is it just me ?)

63. Oldnat

It’s just Labour playing political games again. Like their performance in the Scottish Parliament, it’s all posturing and no substance.
    Worth mentioning to everyone you know though. Either Sarwar et al are frauds and liars, or they are admitting that Labour doesn’t think the Bedroom Tax is an important political issue. (Or, more probably, both statements are true.)

64. gordoz

Forgot to mention this earlier – saw it on TV the other night
    Anyone recognise a similarity with this SFA logo from somewhere ?
    It seems the folks on the NO side could not sit with the Saltire cross, so pitched theirs at a cant to resemble the Cross of St George (or is it just me ?)
    http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resources/images/uploads/StandardSize-320×240/YouthFootball/YouthFootballlogos/main-youth-football_512x288.jpg

Sorry image would not upload – first time

65. Albert Herring

It’s a tricky one for Labour. They had to be seen to be opposing the bedroom tax, but without, heaven forfend, actually voting it (their own policy) down.

66. TJenny

Deerokus – are you saying you voted for Jim Murphy, if so, can you tell us what persuaded you?

67. Edward

Full list of the arse hole ten that couldn’t be arsed :
    Douglas Alexander
    Gordon Brown
    Brian Donohoe
    Frank Doran
    David Hamilton
    Jimmy Hood
    Ann McKechin
    Jim Murphy
    Pamela Nash
    Anas Sarwar

68. annie

Oldnat – absolutely , both statements are true, each time you think they have reached the bottom of the barrel they surprise you.

69. CR

Funnily enough, no mention in the Mirror of the (at least 34) Labour MPs who didn’t turn up: http://archive.is/OSB0N

70. Ian Brotherhood

@Rev (11.24)-

http://www.parliament.uk/site-information/glossary/pairing/
    “Pairing is not allowed in divisions of great political importance.”

Cheers Rev.

If you’ll permit me to render the inevitable proverbial in the vernacular – Sarwar is now fucked, right?

BTW, anyone found him yet?

If I was Sarwar, I’d be hiding in a cupboard somewhere…Anas, mate, if you’re reading this? try the Boilermakers Club – it’s in Clydebank.

71. David Smith

MochaChoca says:

It’s not just Democracy….. It’s Westminster Democracy…..
    And is that surely not one of the biggest contradictions in terms on the planet?

What a contemptuous shower; they truly deserve political oblivion after September. So much for all those vacuous statements of intent about abolishing the Bedroom Tax when the Red Tories gain power. How can they even claim a shred of credibility after that excruciating display?
    Utterly, utterly beneath contempt.

72. Papadocx

What amazes me is who votes for these bingers? The closest I can come to of SLABS operation  is the sopranos on tv. Mark you the sopranos was good tv, SLAB Bad politics.
    The old saying ” you get the politicians you deserve. Does that not make you think!

73. ronald alexander mcdonald

I suspect that many are underestimating the effect of this vote with regard to Independence. If Stu’s numbers are correct with regard to Labour (no reason to believe they’re not) then LABOUR HAVE COMMITED POLITICAL SUICIDE IN SCOTLAND!!!

Think about it. Vote NO and get a Labour Govt in Westminster. One that made sure the Bedroom Tax remains!!!!! No amount of MSM bias will be able to hide this.

13/11/203 IS THE DAY INDEPENDENCE WAS EFFECTIVELY WON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

74. TJenny

Our Unionist politicians are always telling us that Westminster is The Mother of Democracy – well, I think there’s definitely a word missing there (inbetween Mother + of)

75. Jamie Arriere

Sarwar is a contemptible empty vessel, and if he ever appears in a debate again holding another of his hollow documents, whoever is present is fully justified in ripping it into tiny pieces, and shoving them down his fucking throat.

76. Ian Brotherhood

re: connected Tweets:

Does anyone know for sure where Cut-Out Carmichael is due to pop-up in Scotland tomorrow? Don’t know if I can help with a meet-and-greet, but he deserves a big one.

And what’s the latest on Sarwar?

Come on, FFS! – someone, somewhere, must’ve seen him tonight.

77. CR

@Ian Brotherhood

Carmichael is due to speak in Inverness tomorrow.  He’s apparently telling everyone what a proud Scot he is. 

78. ronald alexander mcdonald

Isn’t Lamont supposed to be in charge of Scottish Labour MP’s? 
    FMQ’s tomorrow?
    AS: Well Johann as you’re they’re boss did you tell them not to turn up to vote, to ensure that the Bedroom Tax remains?

79. Faltdubh

Yes need to hound this into the ground. This will go unreported in the north British press.

They really are a shower of shite, worse than the Tories – at least they are up front with their plans of what they plan to do – whilst Labour play up to the cameras, before not being arsed to turn up to the vote.

80. Ron Burgundy

Sarwar should have tried to make it short of life and death because he must have know how this would appear – in his position I would have at least made the effort – especially after his pantomime performance with Nicola.

The fact that he didn’t along with the other SLAB M.P.’s missing in action tells us two things.

(1) The confidence SLAB have in the BBC / STV / Daily Record to cover for them. He can be guaranteed silence from them so Labour supporting punters such as those in Dunfermline will, in all all probability, hear nothing of this.

(2) That a rampant and toxic cynicism / political opportunism pervades SLAB. Their members will fantasise and lie to themselves that they are heroes all part of a grand project to build socialism in the British state. But this is just a story, a lie they tell themselves. If they had to tear off their skin and get down to where the thing lives which REALLY explains why they are in SLAB in the first place – it has to be

(a) Tribal hatred of the SNP  
    (b) The seeking of personal advancement
    (c) Unthinking family tradition / personal habit

Living that lie and hiding the sterility and banality of their motivations is one of the untold scandals of modern Scottish political history and explains their collapsing membership. People with a trace of decency can only live with this burden for so long

81. ronnie anderson

ian brotherhood Cut Oot Carmichiel ,s in Inverness  dayin a Proud Scot impersonation  Anus every body,s goat wan

82. Ian Brotherhood

@CR-

Cheers.

Lucky Inverness, eh?

83. msean

I always thought pairing was for when an mp was ill or some similar thing.There must be a virus doing the rounds for so many to be ill at once.

84. deerokus

@TJenny tactical voting, unfortunately. The seat was expected to be a close straight Labour/Tory fight, and seemed important to do anything  possible to keep one less tory MP out of office.  This seat is that rare thing –  a tory stronghold of sorts in the Glasgow postcode area. 
    Wish I hadn’t bothered, especially as the hopeless tory candidate got a hammering in the end anyway. 

85. TJenny

Deerokus – Thanks for explanation. Were the SNP very far behind Lab in the end, and would you still vote Labour for the same reason?

86. TJenny

msean – ‘there must be a virus going round’ – is it us 🙂

87. CR

@Ian Brotherhood.

We’re thrilled.  Funnily enough LibDems aren’t as popular in the Highlands as they used to be, can’t think why…

88. Oldnat

The whereabouts of some of the SLAB MPs has been uncovered by BBC Scotlandshire.
    http://www.bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/index.php/shorts.html

89. deerokus

@TJenny SNP came a very, very distant fourth, though with a reasonable increase in the vote from previous years.  The picture is rather different in the Holyrood version of the seat – in 2011 only 2000 votes between Lab/Con as the top two in the FPTP, but SNP actually ‘won’ the second ballot votes in this constituency, which is impressive in a Tory hell-hole like this.

Anyway, I definitely wouldn’t do it again, no!

90. joe kane

For the record (not the Daily Record, obviously).
    Anas Sarwar MP 20th Sept 2013 tweet –
    Labour will scrap bedroom tax. Unlike Nats we see this as a disgusting policy that hurts the most vulnerable not a referendum gain #indyref 
    https://twitter.com/AnasSarwar/status/381115908728815616 

91. TJenny

deerokus – thanks for taking the time to explain.

I’m always and forever bemused by why people continuosly vote Labour, especially in the West of Scotland given the decades of terrible deprivation in esp. labour voting areas. Mind you, I also don’t understand the ’cause my father + grandfather voted Labour’, mantra. Most teenagers rebel against their parents, in fact isn’t it a rite of passage as young ‘uns to rebel against your parents’ beliefs, no?

92. joe kane

On the question of pairing, check MSP Christina McKelvie’s twitter feed. She’s saying there was none, here –
    https://twitter.com/ChristinaSNP

93. Jack

Here’s the full list of Labour non-voters, all 47 of them:
    Diane Abbott, MP for Hackney North and Stoke Newington
    Debbie Abrahams, MP for Oldham East and Saddleworth
    Bob Ainsworth, MP Coventry North East
    Douglas Alexander, MP for Paisley & Renfrewshire South
    Jonathan Ashworth, MP for Leicester South
    Ed Balls, MP for Morley and Outwood Clp
    Hugh Bayley, MP for York Central
    David Blunkett, MP for Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough
    Gordon Brown, MP for Kirkcaldy & Cowdenbeath
    Chris Bryant, MP for Rhondda
    Ann Coffey, MP for Stockport
    Huw Irranca Davies, MP for Ogmore
    Geraint Davies, MP for Swansea West
    Gloria De Piero, MP for Ashfield
    Jim Dobbin, MP for Heywood and Middleton
    Frank Dobson, MP for Holborn and St Pancras
    Brian Donohoe, MP for Central Ayrshire
    Frank Doran, MP for Aberdeen North
    Clive Efford, MP for Eltham
    Frank Field, MP for Birkenhead
    Paul Flynn, MP for Newport West
    Mike Gapes, MP for Ilford South
    David Hamilton, MP for Midlothian
    Margaret Hodge, MP for Barking
    George Howarth, MP for Knowsley
    Lindsay Hoyle, MP for Chorley
    Siân James, MP for Swansea East
    Alan Johnson, MP for Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle
    Tessa Jowell, MP for Dulwich and West Norwood
    Gerald Kaufman, MP for Manchester, Gorton
    David Lammy, MP for Tottenham
    Ian Lucas, MP for Wrexham
    Siobhain McDonagh, MP for Mitcham and Morden
    Alan Meale, MP for Gateshead
    Meg Munn, MP for Sheffeild, Heeley
    Jim Murphy, MP for East Renfrewshire
    Pamela Nash, MP for Airdrie and Shotts
    Dawn Primarolo, MP for Bristol South
    Joan Ruddock, MP for Lewisham, Deptoford
    Anas Sarwar, MP for Glasgow Central
    John Spellar, MP for Warley
    Gerry Sutcliffe, MP for Bradford South
    Chuka Umunna, MP for Streatham
    Joan Walley, MP for Stoke-on-Trent North
    Dave Watts, MP for St Helens North
    Alan Whitehead, MP for Southampton, Test
    Shaun Woodward, MP for Se Hellens South and Whiston 

94. The Penman

Ed Balls ? Diane Abbot? Tessa Jowell? All not voting? It’s like they didn’t even care …!

95. Jack

I know, totally unbelievable. I had to triple check that. Our former Colonial Overlord Jim Murphy as well. Totally shameful. 

96. uilleam_beag

That list should become the Ragman Rolls of the day. Each and every so-called Labour MP on there should hang their head in shame, and publicly explain why they failed to show up. 
    It’s highly unlikely any of them will, of course.

97. archie

they are a disgrace as for they Glasgow mp`s they need hung by the balls but they don’t have any even the bitch that is supposed to looking after our rights she was busy doing her hair or some thing the labour i have never will never vote for them liars cheats and low lives   

98. archie

O and don’t expect the bbc Scotland to ask the right questions of the labour party in Scotland

99. john king

I cannot be the only one wants to take that little s**ts finger off and jam it right up his a**e along with that effing pen?

100. john king

Aiden says
    “Without it, what would he (and they) have left to strongly oppose, in principle, if not in practice?”
    PRINCIPLE?
     do they even know how to spell the word? 

101. john king

Mocha Chocha says 
    “It’s not just Democracy….. It’s Westminster Democracy…..”

Whats that oozing enticingly out of it?
    OH 
    its not chocolate

102. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “Does anyone know for sure where Cut-Out Carmichael is due to pop-up in Scotland tomorrow? ”

Is Greg Moody the business or what?
    three cheers for Greg guys
    his laser like insight is in the highest tradition of political cartoonists.
     both he and indie poster boy are the unsung heroes in this battle.

103. Sneddon

Last night’s vote has made me more determined to work harder to get us out of this union.  As for labour, if any labour voter wanted to know how the “party’ stands in relation to the welfare of the working class you’ve your answer Join Labour For Independence
    for god’s sake we only needed 26 votes and could have defeated the bedroom tax but 41 labour MPs decided not to turn up.  That’s their cards marked.

104. isleofskye

Good old Torcuil Chrichton, never let the facts get in the way of a good story (to suit your cause). I suppose all those years cutting his teeth at the West Highland Free Press under the tutelage of Brian Wilson took their toll. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/bedroom-tax-cowardly-scots-lib-2786124

105. john king

Archie says
    “O and don’t expect the bbc Scotland to ask the right questions of the labour party in Scotland”

Sally Magnusson this morning?
    not a cheep,
    surprise surprise.

106. john king

T Jenny says
    “in fact isn’t it a rite of passage as young ‘uns to rebel against your parents’ beliefs, no?”

Did exactly that TJenny,
    but not out of a sense of rebellion but a conviction that I was right,
    that was 1974 
    I haven’t changed my mind.

107. Conan_the_Librarian

@Edward.

I’ve put your list on the gruaniad, cheers.

108. gordoz

The ‘Labour supporting blinkered vision’ of Scottish TV, Media and its Journalists for (the most part), means they have no shame  and must be implicit in the UK state manipulation of political coverage to a serious degree.

I cannot believe that this is not also being condoned by outside international interests as no one is making a serious challenge about the very clever bias of coverage that is evident.

Appart from the WEB, there is only the state controlled voice of reason.
    Big brother anyone ?  God help us!

109. JLT

muttley79 says:     
    I honestly do not know what the fucking hell is going on within SLAB.  Their recent behaviour has been bizarre in the extreme

Recent!

This has been going on since Tony Blair took power back in 1997. Since then, it’s been a slow descent into hell…

110. JLT

I was working later again last night, and never even seen the news, so this is eye-opening stuff to me this morning!
    The Daily Record might not mention it today, but I will! I will happily tell everyone at work, or my family and friends and let them know that various key members within the Labour Party failed to turn up for a very important vote.
    We can do the ‘drip, drip, drip’ feed into the ears of all those who we come across also…

111. Juteman

A total disgrace of a party.
    Spread the news folks. This could be the final nail in the coffin for many undecided.
    Proof, if proof was needed, that Labour are now Tories.

112. john king

can someone PLEASE  get onto the dunfermline press and get Lamonts statement at Brighton and the list of Labour MP’s who couldn’t be arsed to vote,
    Im running out of time (going to work) and the login @ dunfermline press’s website is driving me up the wall, + my computer has decided to work as if it has been immersed in treacle today (god knows why)
    Im looking at you ALLY  😉

113. Arabs for Independence

I have just sent a text to BBC 80295 to ask if I have missed this astonishing story? I am hearing about deer culls and downgrading of a Munro (scoop stuff this one) but nothing about 47 Labour MPs not bothering to turn up for their own motion.
    I am also trying to get through to the BBC on 0500 92 95 00

114. Stuart Black

Isleofskye, thanks for that link. I must confess, that is two things this morning that have taken my breath away, this story in itself, and the astoundingly open bias and hypocrisy shown by the Daily Record in general and Torcuil Crichton in particular.

This man – I could not call him a journalist, propagandist perhaps – names 31 LibDem MPs who voted against the bill and, shamelessly does not mention the 47 Labour MPs who failed to vote at all, including 10 Scottish Labour MPs, and startlingly, the bill waver himself, Sarwar that great champion of democracy. I sometimes think I’ve woken up in Oz, this can’t be a real world. Can it?

They are not even trying to hide it any more, shocked and stunned.

115. Robert Louis

The only reason Labour in Scotland behave in such a disgraceful way, is because the KNOW there is not one single reputable Scottish journalist or newspaper who will call a spade a spade, and tell the people of Scotland loudly and clearly what a corrupt cesspit of greasy pole climbers the Labour party has become.

I will not wait with baited breath for the Westminster run state propganda broadcaster BBC to even mention this shameful behaviour.  Ever.

As for Anas Sarwar, the ‘Labour’ man who opposes the bedroom tax then doesn’t even bother turning up to vote,  he is a disgrace to Scotland and himself.

116. Chani

So I found an article on the BBC news (politics) section about this but there was absolutely no mention of Labour failing to vote. Unless I am missing it, perhaps its written in white text on a white background?
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-24916026

117. Seasick Dave

This is how the BBC website reports it…

The government has seen off a Labour challenge to its housing benefit changes in the House of Commons.

MPs voted by a majority of 26 to reject what critics have dubbed the “bedroom tax”, removing some payments if council tenants’ properties are deemed to be under-occupied.

But two Liberal Democrat MPs – Andrew George and party president Tim Farron – backed Labour’s motion.

In the Commons, Labour’s work and pensions secretary, Rachel Reeves, urged Liberal Democrats to back her party and vote for the abolition of the coalition changes.

She said it was a “shame” Lib Dem Pensions Minister Steve Webb had not listened “to his own party who only in September at the Liberal Democrat party conference voted overwhelmingly against the bedroom tax, saying that it is ‘discriminating against the most vulnerable in society'”.

Ms Reeves added: “But I am afraid that’s what you get with the Liberal Democrats. They say one thing at their conference and when they are out on the doorsteps, but they vote another way in here when it really counts.

“When they could make a difference, they turn the other way.”

“I say shame on him and shame on his party,” Ms Reeves told MPs.

—————————

Not a mention of the disgusting 41 Labour MPs.

Its truly unbelievable.

118. Arabs for Independence

@Chani
    A truly astonishing article completely missing the most relevant and important aspect.

119. Training Day

From posts above, can we take it that ‘Scotland’s Champion’, the execrable Daily Record, makes no mention of Labour’s duplicity – despite being vocal in its condemnation of the bedroom tax?

David Clegg and Torchuil Crichton, you have neither principle nor integrity.

As for ‘decent’ Labour types like Chisholm and McLeish – act now or forever be condemned as cowards and hypocrites like your colleagues who couldn’t – and wouldn’t – walk through a lobby.

120. john king

The fact that the msm/BBC will/has been totally silent on this (ala Torchuil Crichton) will prove beynd any doubt the media are defending Labour at any cost and have presented us with a wide open goal,
    this needs to be made known to the great underinformed NOW!

121. JPJ2

Torquil Crichton’s brother Donald was the SLAB candidate for Na h-Eileanan an Iar  (Western Isles) in Holyrood 2011. He was trounced 65% to 28% by the SNP.
    No doubt Torquil is still furious.
    Incidentally, on his own pretentious blog called something like Whitehall 1212, he takes the BBC banning of comments to a new duplicitous level, as his site claims to take comments but in fact never publishes any-even polite ones from me  :-).
    This type of commentator classically thinks George Orwell’s  “1984” was an instruction manual.

122. Ian Brotherhood

Last night, SSP meeting, we heard from a speaker whose father and aunt were sold for summer work at a country fair in N. Ireland, less than a hundred years ago. Along with whatever livestock was at market, they were examined by landowners, had their muscles and teeth checked before their summer months were auctioned off to the highest bidder. They were then taken away to do manual work or act as servants in the grand houses, their families ‘rewarded’ with a token pittance – slavery by any other name.

We don’t have anything to sell in this rotten market but our labour. That’s all. And even that’s not good enough. The Labour party became powerful by capitalising on that exploitation, and that’s why they still garner support.

But they’ve forgotten all that. They’re no more ‘socialist’ than a fly-in-the-air. Burning shame on each and every one of the no-shows last night, and to the ‘comrades’ who allowed their movement to become nothing more than a front for the usual military/industrial filth. And while they help punish the poor for being poor by making them poorer, they line their pockets, claiming more in housing costs than most of us make in a year?

Nah. Enough. Nae merr ay this shite. 

123. Les Wilson

It is time some heat was directed at Carmichael, it is unbelievable he voted to keep this tax. He is supposed to work for Scotland he must know the view on this by the majority here. He is not the affable guy he pretends to be, he is just another ambitious politician who is now corrupted by Westminster, money talks as they say.
    He needs to be brought down and confronted with all of the things he is currently behind, many which are not in the interest of the Scottish people. He needs to get the message that his position and Westminster bowing, is not received well in Scotland.
    I suspect now that his constituents will be squirming with embarrassment. If they indeed are, then some of their thoughts should be published. I hope they soundly reject what he now stands for. He is becoming the Lib Dem version of Davidson.

124. Brian Mark

I am so feckin angry

125. Bunter

As I am still hanging in there with my Herald subs, I have just sent an email to the heralds news desk suggesting they might want to cover this story, particularly with the labour no show angle. Probably whistling in the wind, but they did reply before when I complained about them not covering a pro Indy poll result, which they then did (Im sure they were going to anyway lol). Nothing ventured, nothing gained I say, and why would they not want to run a story which is being widely ignored…hmmmm

126. Big Red Machine

Well here’s a balanced article if ever there was one.
    http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/bedroom-tax-cowardly-scots-lib-2786124

127. Chani

@Big Red Machine
    Could not bring myself to read the article but I did read the comments and at least they are telling it like it is. I hope everyone else who reads that awful piece will also read the comments to get the truth of the matter.

128. HandandShrimp

Has Sarwar broken cover yet? His Twitterations should be entertaining when he does.

129. Chani

@HandandShrimp
    Sarwar must be hiding in the bunker with JoLa formulating a devious plan on how to blame this on the SNP at FMQ’s on Thursday. It was, obviously, the SNP’s fault after all.

130. Juteman

Surely the MSM can’t ignore this? Ok, stupid question.

131. Training Day

To re-iterate the point, if there is anyone in ‘Scottish’ Labour with a shred of integrity now is the time to dissociate yourselves from Sarwar, Murphy et al.

Anyone who bears association with these people can hardly be described as a decent human being, never mind a ‘decent’ Labour politician.

132. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

@ Ian Brotherhood – you’ve described a feein’ market.   Stonehaven and Laurencekirk feein’ markets were the Aberdeen and Mearns “job centres” of their day. 

On subject:  seriously, how can anyone keep voting for the Labour Party after this?

133. AndyKie

Noticed some comments about Dunfermline and labour, please remember not all of us voted for that crowd of liars.

134. Ian Brotherhood

@Robin -Quine fae Torry –

Cheers. I’ve just finished Sunset Song and The Quarry Wood, so that’s right up my street, will certainly look into ‘feein”.

135. Macart

I think everyone’s covered it just fine above.

136. faolie

@Jack says: Here’s the full list of Labour non-voters, all 47 of them:
    Re pairing thingy, I believe that pairing is usually arranged between ministers and their opposition spokesman, so, eg if the Foreign Sec William Hague was abroad, then wee Dougie would abstain. (don’t know if Hague was actually away btw).

However. Don’t think that Sarwar is opposition spokesman for anything, and so should have been in the commons voting.

137. david smith

Are the Scottish Labour MPs listed above the only ones not to have shown up?

138. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

@ Ian Brotherhood

Nae worries.  I was introduced to the concept of a feein’ market via Sunset Song also.  I have the Grampian Quartet, but haven’t got round to starting it yet. 

Needless to say, none of the above books were on the curriculum when I was at school.  Feel like I am making up for lost time with Scottish literature. 

139. Jimbo

If all of the Labour MPs had turned up then the the vote to scrap the tax would have been won.

Labour obviously do not want their bedroom tax scrapped – It would have put them in the embarrassing position of having to reintroduce it in the unlikely event they won the next election.

140. Angry Weegie

@Big Red Machine
    Quote from Rachel Reeves Lab Shadow W&P
    “MPs who fail to vote against the tax will live to regret it”
    We can only hope that’s true. 

141. Ray Edmiston

@ian brotherhood, when was the last time you were in Clydebank, the ‘Shakers’ (Boilermakers Club) was demolished years ago!
    But I’ll bet you widnae find that contempteous little boorish oaf in Clydebank, they would run him outta town on a rail, he’s not well liked in this place, last time he was here it was at one o’ they SECRET Public Mettings that Project Fear huv!
    As has been said before the strangest (sic) thing is that the so-called defenders of Liberty’ the Free Press, and Media have said absolutely nowt about it. BS , Dark an Mushrooms spring to mind!

142. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Are the Scottish Labour MPs listed above the only ones not to have shown up?”

No – Jimmy Hood, Jim McGovern and Ann McKechin were missing. Good catch, now added.

143. Albert Herring

@Robyn – Quine fae Torry & Ian Brotherhood

Feeing also mentioned in old bothy ballads such as:

Ae Witsuntide at Huntly toon, ’twas there I did agree,
    Wi auld Bogieside the fairmer a saxmonth for tae fee;
    Auld Bogie wis a surly carle and this I knew fu well,
    But he had a lovely dochter and her name was Isabelle.

144. Ian Brotherhood

@Ray Edmiston –

Yeah, it was many moons ago. It was for a writers’ session – Jim Kelman and Tom Leonard were reading at it. Maybe it was a fundraiser of some kind, can’t remember. What I do remember is that when you went to the bar they were very strict about having to use a wee round tin tray to carry your drinks back to the table, even if you only had one or two. Twas a great night.

And yep, I did see the treatment Sarwar got last time he went to Clydebank – can’t begin to imagine what it’ll be like if he ever shows face there again. Mind you, he must be hiding somewhere – any sign of him yet, anyone?

145. A2

There can be legitimate reasons for not turning up of course so lets be fair and compare the figures with the normal workplace figures for sickness and absenteeism of 2.3 – 2.5% … oh.

146. Ron Maclean

@JPJ2
    Torcuil Crichton’s brother Donald later stood as an Independent for CNES (cooncil).  Sadly I have to report he was elected.  Donald is a member of the Cooncil’s Audit & Scrutiny Committee which among other things considers matters dealing with “the promotion of high standards of conduct by Members…”  He is also an Elder of the Free Church of Scotland.

147. Seasick Dave

Sorry if this has been mentioned already but is it true that four Labour MPs voted against?

148. Elaine Axten

For what it’s worth, write to them. 
    MySociety makes this super easy https://www.writetothem.com/

149. Bill

Hi all, I like the comments on here and I try to keep up with many sites. I would like to see the foul language stopped on here as I believe it repulses many potential voters. I understand that we are all angry about the abuse and mistreatment of our country and our people but lets keep it decent in print please folks!

150. Ekindy

There is some absolutely shocking and biased journalism about in the MSM at the moment. I’m having to refute most of the recent headlines in discussion with my two daughters and good lady.

Its a 4 of a start for YES in our household but how is anyone else supposed to pick up a balanced debate from the rubbish printed and gibbered.

151. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Sorry if this has been mentioned already but is it true that four Labour MPs voted against?”

Doesn’t seem to be, no.

152. isleofskye

Bill,

Have to agree with you, it’s easy to vent your spleen here folks, but it doesn’t do us any favours when it’s offensive.

Selective journalism rules, and so it will be with our comments.

153. Cankert Callan

My mother almost married that cow Pamela Nash’s father. Lucky escape!

154. Mo Jon

Reprehensible Cowards, Career politicians who look after No1 or No one but themselves, Please do all we can to highlight this.

155. Jim Dundee

Just posted the question ‘Where were YOU?’ on Mr Sarwar’s Facebook page. I’ll let people know what he says in response.

156. Dramfineday

Anent Carmichael and him being a “proud Scot”……….I wonder if he’ll still be feeling proud when men, women and children are cast out onto the street? And god help them if they fall into the hands of some councils, where breaking up the family appears to be the next option on the list. “Proud Scot” indeed! 

157. colin mccartney

Much to my shame, and I didn’t vote for him, Anas Sarwar, the slimy sycophant, is my MP.
    I have just written to him using https://www.writetothem.com/ as I have done many times in the past. I have asked him to explain his absence from last nights vote, and if I get a reply from him, I will gladly share it on Wings.
    Don’t hold your breath though as his reply rate to me is currently running around 35%

158. Gaille

Having read the article on the motion to ban the bedroom tax proposed by the Labour Party I stupidly though, great here is the “working class party” defending the working class people they supposedly represent. 

The motion in principle was a motion which acknowledged the devastating effect ths tax is having on vulnerable families across Scotland, the unfairness of this tax and the fact that many families are suffering hugely as a direct result of this unjustifiable tax.

And yet, when our Scottish Labour MPs get the opportunity to nail their colours to the mast, and stand proudly in support of this motion, what do they do, they fail to make an appearance. They disappear like ” snow of a dyke”. Dishonourable and cowardly actions by our elected representatives.

I hope that people within the constituences these cowards represent take the time to attend their constiuency surgeries to confront thier respective MP and simply ask ” where were you when we needed you”.

Insincere and spineless is what I would call each and every one of our MPs who did not even have the decency to stand up and be counted. Shame on you all, and I hope that people remember their actions when they stand on our doorsteps asking for our votes!!!

159. The Rough Bounds

I see that yon wee labour supporting twat Tony Robinson, (Time Team) the same wee nyaff that made that documentary a handful of years ago that cast doubt upon the legitimacy of the British Royal Family has been given his ‘gong’ and is now a ‘Sir’.
    Sir Tony Robinson. Help ma boab!
    The Labour Party hypocrisy barrel appears to have no bottom.

160. Mark

Hold on – have you checked if they were paired? If so, turning up would have made no difference, as their ‘pair’ would also have voted.

161. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Hold on – have you checked if they were paired? If so, turning up would have made no difference, as their ‘pair’ would also have voted.”

You didn’t read today’s articles, then?

162. Keef

So we now know the second picture of Anas is of him holding up a pen saying to Nicola “this is all I need to make an extra  £ 26,000 whilst sitting on my shiny. What’s more neither the press nor the TV networks will say a word….that’s what real power is all about Nicola”

163. Andrew

I have emailed the (I would say my MP but that’s clearly not the case!) MP for Midlothian (yes, they are daft enough to still vote Labour here) David Hamilton to ask why he did not attend. He normally replies so let’s see what the excuse is.

164. Andrew

Got a reply from David Hamilton:

“Thank you for your recent e-mail regarding the Government’s Bedroom Tax.

I regret that I was not able to be in Parliament on the day of the Opposition’s Motion calling for the Bedroom Tax to be scrapped. I was on a Parliamentary Delegation, which was organised two month’s previously.   However because of the system of ‘pairing’ I was linked to a Government MP who was also absent – effectively cancelling each other out and ensuring that my absence did not affect the outcome of the vote. This commonly used practice allows MPs to conduct parliamentary business outside the House without affecting the outcome of votes.

I can assure you that had I been in the House of Commons I would have voted for the Opposition Motion calling on the Government to abolish the Bedroom Tax. I agree that this is a cruel and unfair policy and that the Government should abandon it immediately. I also believe that if they do not, a future Government should repeal it at the first opportunity.

660,000 people will be hit by the bedroom tax – more than 400,000 of whom are disabled – and the average family affected will lose £720 per year. The vast majority of those affected will have nowhere smaller to move to and many vulnerable people will lose out through no fault of their own.

I know from the large number of constituents who have contacted me that the bedroom tax is already having deeply damaging consequences in our local community. There is also now a very real risk that the bedroom tax will cost more than it saves through an increase in rent arrears and the additional costs of moving people to the private rented sector or to temporary accommodation.

That is why I opposed the bedroom tax when it was introduced; why I have repeatedly urged the Government to drop it and why I would like to see a future Government repeal the bedroom tax.

I hope that you have found this helpful.
    Regards
    David Hamilton”

165. James Morton

166. Baheid Bragg

Scottish Labour must love the taste of their own shoes.

167. G H Graham

A fake document from a phoney Labour politician.

No surprises then.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.