You count for nothing

Posted on May 09, 2010 by

At least, it’s statistically probable that you do. The majority – 53% – of votes cast by the British electorate last Thursday were worthless, because they were cast for candidates who didn’t win, and are therefore simply thrown in the bin by the First Past The Post electoral system.

So if you were one of the thousands of people locked out of polling stations across the country on Thursday night, don’t fret too much. Your vote would probably have been completely ignored anyway.

It breaks down like this. (Some of the figures below kindly supplied by Luke on the Rllmuk forum.) These are figures for votes “wasted” on each party, ie cast for losing candidates and therefore discarded as worthless by the FPTP system. You won’t be too surprised who comes out on top.

Liberal Democrats – 5,596,089 (approximately 82% of all Lib Dem votes)
Labour – 3,600,427 (42%)
Conservative – 3,404,308 (34%)
UKIP – 917,832 (100%)
BNP – 563,743 (100%)
SNP – 403,024 (82%)
Green – 269,378 (94%)
PC – 129,651 (78%)
Sinn Fein – 69,652 (41%)
SDLP – 59,374 (54%)
DUP – 48,981 (29%)
Alliance – 29,923 (70%)
Others – 596,474 (100%)

Total – 15,689,216 (52.9% of total votes cast: 29,653,638)

So just under SIXTEEN MILLION people who made the effort to go out and exercise their democratic right to decide the government of their country would have been just as well staying at home watching EastEnders, because at the end of the day their votes were simply totally discounted.

This scandalous injustice happens because of a system which the Tories alone – a party supported by just 36% of voters, or 23% of all eligible adults – desperately want to keep in place. (To be fair, Labour’s support for a fairer proportional system is the ultimate in last-minute deathbed conversions.)

Whether your vote is one of the ones that counts or one of the ones that doesn’t is pure chance. If you live on the wrong side of a totally arbitrary geographical line, frequently redrawn by whoever’s in power to their own advantage, you might as well set your polling card on fire as soon as it arrives. If you’re on the right side, you basically get two votes.

To be honest, there’s not much I can add to that.

Subscribe
Notify of

8 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
AJ

Nearly 16 million people who end up with no voice for those five years (and each time it happens again and again). Ridiculous. Tragic, almost.

gnuerrilla

The single transferable vote in multi-member constituencies, is the way forward. Remember though, "politics isn't just about one cross ever five years, it's about much more than that."
Be prepared for the coming fight.

Tom Camfield

Protest march with Take Back Parliament (the peeps in purple chanting at Cleggers over the weekend) 15th May, 2pm, Parliament Square. Add your body to the protests! The more protests we stage, the more the Conservative commentators (Liam Fox etc) look silly saying that no-one wants reform. Be there!
To sign up: link to takebackparliament.com

gnuerrilla

According to the government’s own legislation, the result of a trade union ballot on strike action is only deemed legal and valid if the result in favour reaches a total of 50% + 1 out of the total number that voted.

In the 6th May general election the Conservatives achieved a vote of 36% from the electorate, Labour reached 29% and the Lib-Dems 23%. Applying the same regulations to this general election as they do to trade union ballots would mean the result of this election is invalid.  
Yet we find that the leadership of these parties are now busy conducting behind the scenes deals in order that some form of government will quickly emerge. And the phrase that all these leaders are using is that this is being done ‘in the national interest’. 

Tory leader Cameron stated: “No government will be in the national interest unless it deals with the biggest threat to our national interest, and that is the deficit. We remain completely convinced that starting to deal with the deficit this year is essential.”
He added: “Britain needs strong, stable, decisive government and it is in the national interest that we get that on a secure basis. We need a government that reassures the international markets.”
Media darling Nick Clegg said “It is now for the Conservative Party to prove that it is capable of seeking to govern in the national interest.”
Gordon Brown, displaying no principles whatsoever commented: “For my part, I should make clear that I would be willing to see any of the party leaders if it is in the national interest to do so.”

That they can find common ground is not a surprise, since all these parties represent the same ruling elite and in essence all believe that the working class has to pay for the current economic crisis. Moreover, when they talk about the ‘national interest’ they reveal themselves as political fraudsters.

All these parties have supported the destruction of Britain’s manufacturing base and the privatisation of its energy industries, resulting in the energy needs of the people of Britain being at the mercy of imports from the most unstable regions on earth. This is not in the interest of the 60 million inhabitants of Britain but on the contrary is tantamount to treason.

Furthermore, the term ‘national interest’ is used by these political scoundrels to conceal the fact that society is in reality made up of opposing classes, each with their own distinct interests, and the government act in the interests of only one class, the ruling class.
How can the interests of big business, whose function is to extract the maximum amount of surplus value from its labour force, be the same interests as their workers who have to fight to protect their working conditions and standards of living?
How can the investment bankers at RBS who were recently paid bonuses of £1.3 billion, be equated to the workers struggling to put food on the table for their families?
How can the interests of workers and youth trying to combat growing debt, unemployment and housing problems be the same as Gerald Cavendish Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster, who is the richest property developer in Britain, with an estimated wealth of £6.75billion and owning vast estates in Lancashire, Cheshire and Scotland as well as internationally owning estates in Canada and Spain?  

Whatever form of government is eventually cobbled together, the term ‘national interest’ will be used as a cover behind which they intend to launch savage attacks on the social conditions of the working class.

ANC

There's always a dictator anyway:
link to en.wikipedia.org

gnuerrilla

@ANC
That's why the fight is ongoing and never-ending.

Irish Al

UK Election Coalition Permutations 2010
link to cypherspace.org

Via a clever man and software.

dobler

Can someone explain how first past the post works? It confuses me how the Conservatives can only get 36% of the total votes yet have more seats.

Stats: 6,653 Posts, 1,198,478 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Coping with change: “Moving my bowels as I type, Geri. And thinking of you 🙂Oct 10, 08:10
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on Coping with change: “Am I the only person who has the green counter thingy at the lower left stuck at 90? Also, yon…Oct 10, 06:34
    • Geri on Coping with change: “Scotland would be as well to leave it in the ground until we’re independent. Oh deary, Nigeria has officially ditched…Oct 10, 00:09
    • Geri on Coping with change: “School meals in England are means tested. Parents have to apply which is the usual English pastime of humiliating &…Oct 9, 22:58
    • Geri on Coping with change: “The only ones to fck up the exit to Brexit were the English. They wanted their cake & eat it.…Oct 9, 22:39
    • Hatey McHateface on Coping with change: “Here you go. A list of the eligibility for free school meals from the UK Gov site: https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/65fdad5965ca2f00117da947/Free_school_meals.pdf And for…Oct 9, 22:30
    • Geri on Coping with change: “Proclaimers are dedicating Cap in hand tae the six time loser Sturgeon.Oct 9, 22:17
    • Hatey McHateface on Coping with change: “I’m of the opinion the oil & gas is yesterday’s scab. Sure, we can pick at it, but if our…Oct 9, 22:12
    • Geri on Coping with change: “The English don’t even give poor children a free school meal or prescriptions so we’re safe from ever being envious…Oct 9, 21:51
    • Robert Hughes on Coping with change: “Whit ! no Sensational Hatrick Pervy Band , Average WHITE WHITE WHITE Band or Buns n Poses ; nah ,…Oct 9, 21:40
    • Aidan on Coping with change: “If everyone in England got free energy and the people of Scotland were in bondage slavery working to produce it,…Oct 9, 20:44
    • Dan on Coping with change: “In other music news… I hear Twa Ferries Procurement Disaster, Kinlochleven Smelter Fiasco, and The Arsecrack Smeg Muppeteer Instigators of…Oct 9, 20:41
    • Aidan on Coping with change: “You can’t be that stupid, environmental taxes aren’t charged on renewable energy! The taxes falling within the definition of ‘environmental…Oct 9, 20:38
    • Hatey McHateface on Coping with change: “Sure, Dan, but check out the size of the bawbag.Oct 9, 20:37
    • Alf Baird on Coping with change: “The EU has a far bigger population than Norway but the latter’s piped gas still has to be paid for.…Oct 9, 20:35
    • Aidan on Coping with change: “You are right, the right to self-determination applies to all people. I was using the term coloquially to refer to…Oct 9, 20:29
    • Andy Ellis on Coping with change: “International law – such as it is – is far from perfect. There again much the same could be said…Oct 9, 20:29
    • Alf Baird on Coping with change: “Its not unreasonable for a sovereign state to seek recompense for exporting £100bn worth of Kw/hr energy produced to its…Oct 9, 20:27
    • Hatey McHateface on Coping with change: “Ah James, you’re blowing perfect smoke rings yourself and you don’t even know it. Onlookers are astonished at their diameter…Oct 9, 20:26
    • Aidan on Coping with change: “With wisdom like that, what can mere men doOct 9, 20:19
    • Aidan on Coping with change: “Oh dear, I assume the Buckie’s out early today. If the law is what you say it is and no…Oct 9, 20:18
    • Hatey McHateface on Coping with change: “Here’s some links for readers who find Geri’s mince gives them the boak: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radio_Free_Scotland https://scotsindependent.scot/FWShop/product/pirates-of-the-air-the-story-of-radio-free-scotland/ It would be nice to…Oct 9, 20:12
    • Dan on Coping with change: “And there was you moaning about flippant responses yesterday… Yer jist a totes hypocritical bawbag.Oct 9, 20:10
    • Campbell Clansman on Coping with change: “The thing you reference as “international law” that supposedly overrides national constitutions, is of course a big joke. Nobody should…Oct 9, 20:09
    • Andy Ellis on Coping with change: “The right to self determination is constantly misunderstood here. It deliberately does not provide for the rights of people within…Oct 9, 20:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Coping with change: “On buses and trains you mean? Only fair I guess, the ticket price should include a guaranteed seat.Oct 9, 19:54
    • Dan on Coping with change: “Alert readers and eager hunter gatherers of hidden special feature buttons which make the “upgrade” so uber slick to use,…Oct 9, 19:52
    • Andy Ellis on Coping with change: “Spain’s written constitution is immaterial from the POV of self determination, since SD is a jus cogens or peremptory norm…Oct 9, 19:46
    • Alf Baird on Coping with change: “Aye George, a colonial administration is permitted only limited powers and is unable to influence the economic plunder it is…Oct 9, 19:41
    • James on Coping with change: “Sorry, ‘Aidan’ I got it wrong. It was actually 52.5billion. I thought you were Michael Gove but it turns out…Oct 9, 19:31

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()