While we’re investigating
Today has seen the entry into the independence debate of the magnificently batty Vote No Borders campaign group – not on any account to be confused with the No Borders campaign group, whose aims are to “struggle against borders and immigration controls and strive for freedom of movement for all” and are therefore the very antithesis of what the British state has increasingly come to stand for.
Various puff pieces in the media have given the group free space to advertise themselves as a “grassroots” campaign that is non-party political. But the funding figures mentioned – £150,000 raised before the group had any kind of public profile at all and hope of raising another £250,000 on top – may well cause more cynical readers to detect a somewhat piscine odour.
As we’ve got our journalism hats on, let’s have a sniff.
Vote No Borders first came to our attention a couple of weeks ago whilst perusing the Electoral Commission’s register of permitted participants (which is a very handy tool). No Borders lists one Malcolm Offord as their “responsible person”, and today seems to mark his first foray into the debate.
Vote No Borders registered as a permitted participant on the 19th March 2014 – 43 days before the launch of their website. If that seems odd, No Borders only registered with Companies House on the 18th March 2014. It became a permitted participant the day after forming.
(The permitted participant address is 26 Charlotte Square in Edinburgh, despite Malcolm Offord’s address being listed as a west London postcode, and that of No Borders being listed as 24 Chiswell Street in London).
So within 44 days of forming, this “grassroots” campaign has already managed to amass funding totalling a whopping £150,000, despite having absolutely no public profile. Wow, even we’re a little jealous.
But the fun doesn’t stop there. VNB’s other stated director (and “communications advisor”) is Fiona Gilmore, director of Acanchi Ltd, whose address is, by a remarkable coincidence, also 24 Chiswell Street. (You’ll note Malcolm is also of Acanchi.)
A quick browse of Acanchi’s website sheds no light on what they actually do, other than the catch-all term “consultancy” (although it’s interesting to note that they’ve “taken on many assignments with Governments and leaders to position their countries, regions or cities in the world.”)
Fiona is also director of Flowers of Union Ltd, a company with absolutely no digital footprint to speak of despite having existed since 19th December 2013. The same address, 32-34 Great Marlborough Street, crops up in both Malcolm and Fiona’s profiles, and is listed on Acanchi’s website as their contact address.
Why mention Flowers of Union? Well, apart from the obvious bit in their name, the VNB website claims to know of a band “whose members have been working with the No Borders Campaign to create a song”. The name of this young group of enthusiastic grassroots supporters of the UK? Amazingly enough, it’s “Flowers of Union”.
We think it’s safe to say that every up-and-coming bunch of young troubadours sets itself up as a company at Companies House before making a website or releasing any songs or playing any gigs. Nothing strange there.
(As an aside, the VNB website was registered by one Gary Waple, who as well as being a director of Acanchi until last year, is currently an associate at The Prudential Regulatory Authority in… the Bank of England.)
So that’s grassroots, No-campaign style. Of course, this was all extremely complicated to find out – requiring the ability to both type some things into Google AND then click the resulting links – which is presumably why the Herald and BBC didn’t bother having a cursory glance into the campaign group’s background, to check just how “grassroots” it really is.
We’re so lucky to have such a diligent professional media, or the state of the Scottish independence debate could be a right old shambles, eh readers?
The No campaign consists of the UK Government in various disguises. No grassroots activists to speak of. The UK Government is doing everything it can, lying propaganda included to ‘hold us fast’. Our struggle to break free and rid us of our albatross.
Douglas Fraser surely has access to a wealth of CBI business intelligence and director connections. I’m sure I read the BBC membership was down to “investment in development and training”.
It’s almost as if they aren’t looking or questioning anything (Scotland-Russian foreign relations aside).
Simples
Blackops
I hate to be critical of a new venture, especially one on the referendum, but if this crowds song is anything like their videos ( I’ve watched 3), they are doomed to failure. Their researchers need a boot in the bottom and their subjects need to finish secondary school. On a positive note, it’s another nail in the No Campaigns coffin.
The utter lack on inquisitiveness among the churnalists at the BBC is, as Johann would say, astonishing!
Every single member of the British nationalist vote No campaign seems to be within the political or business elite.
No wonder these parasites a so keen to avoid independence as it would be they are no longer able to suck the money and resources from society.
Thanks for pulling this together Stu. So Gary Waple works at the Bank of England. How very murky are the waters of the no campaign
WOW!
It looks like we really do have a fight on our hands now chaps. Now if only we could create a grass roots campaign for independence then we’d really have a fight on our hands, oh wait a minute we do. 🙂
I love where their *ahem* grass roots is coming from … wealthy business folks, NOT exactly what grass roots is all about now is it. Still they’re making an effort bless em. 😛
So we have a new group for NO, funded I strongly suspect by Malcolm Offord for the most part, still how else can an organisation that is NOT known by anyone get funding unless it comes from those involved in setting it up in the first place. 😉
What I find amazing is that they expect to raise £400,000 in one month and SPEND £400,000 in the same month. Now THAT is a lot of money raising and spending by anyone’s standards!
Why does Fiona Gilmore and Acanchi ring a bell with me? I read an article about both recently and I’m sure it was related to the indy debate, something about a statement made by Fiona Gilmore.
Are we allowed to find out where this £400k came from/will be coming from?
And good to see an excellent couple of articles today from Doug and Alistair, well done guys.
Murray
You mean this kind of development and training?
link to newsnetscotland.com
The journo’s at the Herald and BBC will read this and be so jealous that they don’t have access to Google.
Wait a minute, wasn’t she on a vote No panel recently?
This is interesting: link to haaretz.com
As an aside, the VNB website was registered by one Gary Waple
And
Registrant type:
UK Individual
according to a whois search.
No wonder Jackie Bird and the other bbc bint found it hard not to laugh during that piece in yesterdays Reporting Scotland bulletin about the latest BT crybaby moan about funding – i mean even bbc drones must a sense of humour, right?
steviecosmic – possibly. There’s a biography on Acanchi’s website that says she’s been on the Money Programme and Question Time.
Oooh, BBC programmes. Fancy that…
Seasick Dave
Spot on.
Yeah, because looked at the Acanchi site about a week or so ago. I can’t remember the article I read (maybe linked from Twiiter) but she drafted in as a No expert or something.
This stinks to high heaven. She walks in powerful circles, so this has UK govt written all over it.
Massive bettertogetherBBC country wide news blast for the no borders campaign, which oddly enough may well explain why old Sweaty Brewer pulled up WoS and Bella at end of his we hate Alex Salmond don’t we Newsnicht grot last night, completely out of the blue and ofcourse its because they wouldn’t want anyone to think voteNO BBC was biased in any way.
Unhappy retirement Sir Gordon Brewer and hopefully lots of your fellow UKOK propagandists in Pacific Quay on the 19th Sept.
Big thanks to Alistair Davidson ( nae bayonet ) for the
Picking up a Buzz story.
Same goes tae Douglas Daniel, for While we’re Investigating
both of you guy’s have put in some Sterling work, not to
forget The Rev Stu,whit a week this has been,every Winger
will be walking about pidgion chested (oor crops fue).
Roll on next week.
Never mind the fish. Our MSM haven’t learned anything about succulent lamb.
Having fun on the No Borders site though. It is descending in to farce
like on the betting exchanges—-follow the money
Had a look on Linkedin for Fiona Gimore, 12 profiles for that name ( starting section of where they have studied etc )but none match. Although I am not a member to get all the full prolies, none appear to be her.
From the “who is Acanchi” bit of her website
“Acanchi was established in 2003 as an independent and privately owned London based consultancy. This independence ensures its neutrality and objectivity.”
So everyone from voteNO BBC, fasttrack Whitehall civil servants and now these liggers are all neutral and objective
except/until they turn their brilliant minds to Scottish democracy. Spooky.
Do Acanchi have/had any contracts with H.M. Government, either in the UK or abroad?
If so, what was the nature of these contracts?
I am reminded somewhat of what the CIA used to do, in funding certain front organisations in Miami to discredit Castro.
But that wouldn’t happen here. Would it?
I’m too wee, too stupid and too poor to suggest such a thing.
Ask my Mrs.
Just as a wee aside.
My partner is just back fae up the street where she bumped into, not physically 😛 , a friend, yes folks we do have A friend. 😛
They had a brief conversation that went something like this:
F: I’m voting NO
P: You’re voting NO
F: Aye I’m voting NO
P: but we all had you down as definitely voting YES
F: well I’m voting NO
P: well that’s a big surprise
F: Aye I’m voting NO to NO! 😛
Maybe we could use that as a new catchphrase or something. 😉
Vote NO to NO!
I only hope James Cook, uncle Ken Macdonald or Isobel Fraser read this. They are the only decent BBC journalists around. There may be others of course?
Pity we’ve got performing seals rather than journalists up here. If any of them read this site then they should be ashamed of themselves being outshone by folk working with vastly inferior resources. Have they really got no professional integrity? Sad.
Can we have that in a flow chart please!
O/T breaking news:
link to bbc.co.uk
The CBI’s application to register with the Electoral Commission has been ruled void because an unauthorised signatory signed the application. The EC says it will continue to monitor the CBI but is apparently not stipulating that the organisation registers again properly. Curiouser and curiouser…
Sergio Casci says:
I had a look at your Israel link and yes that must be her, so they have high level involvement.
Looks like this is a long established last ditch attempt to thwart Scottish democracy right enough, or she would not be involved. Black arts indeed. Being pulled in as required, by our Lords and Masters!!
I wonder how much this is costing Westminster and how much in cash comes from OUR taxes????
We all need to get twittering and alert our masses, as well as all the bloggs and facebook.
Also from the Acanchi pages the Chi of Acanchi- “the Chi is all about creativity, the ability to see things in new and potentially valuable ways”
So, have you told them they’re too small? yes, too poor? yes, too stupid? yes, how about a nice vote no song? ok!
I checked the site and laughed out loud when I saw that one woman was voting no so it would be easier for her to live in France!
I guess news of Cameron’s EU referendum hasn’t reached her yet.
(more great sleuthing btw, Stu)
Another site,twitter account and petition that I suspected is link to toscotlandwithlove.co.uk although probably not on the level of dodgyness of that vote no borders.
Three people seem to be contactable on it, all from around Hastings area.
One is a Counsellor (not the local authority type)
One seems to be a second hand book seller
and the other is a novelist of sorts and has written for various news papers and magazines including the evening standard.
The whole website is like a copy and paste from better together rhetoric handbook.
Great bit of detective work there Douglas. Now you’ve gone and opened up a can of worms all we need to do is ‘monster’ it and the predictable BBC will attack us and at the same time drive more people to the truth. 🙂
Fiona is also director of Flowers of Union Ltd, a company with absolutely no digital footprint to speak of despite having existed since 19th December 2013.
But they have registered the domain name flowersofunion.co.uk on 21 January.
Registrant:
Acanchi Limited
Registrant type:
UK Limited Company, (Company number: 4698446)
Unfortunately it wasn’t Gordon Brewer who fronted Newsnicht last night heedtracker it was his junior side kick Gary Robertson. Can you imagine the amount of froth that would have been coming out of Brewer’s mouth if he had to show the picture of Wings last night? 😛
link to centralfm.co.uk
CBI’s reverses Independence “error”
The CBI’s managed to reverse an embarrassing mistake over Scottish independence.
The business lobby group- which is supposed to be independent – registered with the Electoral Commission to support the “no” campaign.
Several companies, including STV and some leading Universities quit the group as a result of the decision.
The CBI quickly claimed it had made an error, and the Electoral Commision’s now formally rejected their application.
Good stuff Doug. As has often been said on here the ‘grassroots’ No campaign actually consists of the MSM and one tentacle or other of the British establishment.
Re the appearance of WoS on Newsnight. Mind the week long smear campaign the BBC mounted against the FM over Murdoch immediately prior to the 2012 council elections? Mind how they then ran a ‘vox pop’ on election day ‘proving’ that the negative coverage would not affect the result?
Well, watch out for a vox pop brewing at Pacific Quay ‘proving’ that their referendum coverage is exemplary in its fairness. Hey, we showed WoS, ontcha know..
I am not bothered in the slightest about this group,but what really grinds my wheels is how easily they got positive exposure on Newsnight Scotland. They must have some very powerful friends to come from nowhere and then get headline news from our favourite aunty.
I ssaw their petition the other night tayside, it was a link from Twitter but here it is.
link to tinyurl.com
Try and keep the laughter down to a dull roar folks please, I’m still suffering a wee bit from last night’s newsnicht shock! 😛
Kenny,
I expect the press will be sending in a lot of FOI to the Electoral Commission on this or maybe they won’t. How would they know which signature is the authorising signature?
Part of Mr Offord’s solution to ‘Bankrupt Britain’:
“Reform the bloated benefits system of this country to reduce the burden on the state and, just as importantly, boost the growth rate of the country by helping more people to be productive and contribute to the country’s (and their own) wellbeing.”
and
“There is a growing body of evidence that the hand-outs actually embed the recipients in poverty, in hopelessness and in worklessness which not only degrades them as people but also robs the state of economically valuable citizens. The Shannon Matthews case where a mother has seven children by five fathers all paid for by the state does not provide strong endorsement for the benefits system”
The pdf link is interesting.
link to google.co.uk
Grass roots that run all the way back to London. 😀
Right, they’re just being silly now.
One of the things I admire about these people is their ability to spin failure as if it was success
To give an example: Fiona Gilmore is an author, amongst other things. She has written three books and the last one was a runaway success, apparently. It was called “Brand Warriors, China” and it was published in January 2003. Seems it sold 25,000 copies in its first 6 weeks. To a population of a mere 1.3 billion.
Impressive
Anybody thinks int services are not involved here are not paying attention . My god look what went on across the water, they have a lot more to lose if we shoot the craw , it’s just starting to get really dirty , why , we’re winning
Fiona Gilmore – more background here:
link to camfed.org
link to powerbase.info
link to wikispooks.com
“Fiona is a graduate from Cambridge University with an MA in French and Russian and also speaks Italian.”
In the past her companies have ‘rebranded’ Rwanda, Sierra Leone and Bahrain (my very selective list).
“Acanchi is a London-based public relations company specializing in country and city branding projects. In October 2008, the Israeli foreign ministry confirmed that Acanchi would rebrand Israel as a land of achievement.”
Now that she’s sorted out Israel, Land of Achievement, it appears that Fiona will be working her magic on Brand UK through the medium of shit music.
@Dave Beveridge 3.14 ( inferior resources yes )
Quality of the Journalistic integrity beyond reproach,no
to bad fur Grassrooters. Eh professional Journalists, kin
Wings Journalists join ure union. answers probibly naw
they’d be the Editors in nae time.
I see Mr Offord is also something of a philanthropist through his English-registered family charitable trust, putting some very serious money into a number of good causes in Scotland, from his Greenock roots and beyond.
Let’s not make it personal, though the VBN website does seem to be very fair game so far as the referendum goes.
Kenny, your o/t breaking news is one of the funniest things I’ve seen today.
It’s not pressure that forced their about turn, not even when all those agencies and companies said see ya later. Oh no, it’s all down to them having their application to the Electoral Commission signed by someone who didn’t have the authority.
Can anyone else smell that? I know there’s a farm nearby but it doesn’t have cattle. That fine smell of bovine ordure must be coming from somewhere else.
And of course, if their excuse is true… how much confidence would that give anyone in their professional standards?
It all matters little. We all know they are about as biased as Better Together against Scottish independence. Removing their registration with the Electoral Commission doesn’t change that.
I’ve just been on the VNB site what a load of GUFF!
I don’t know where “Farah” works in Glasgow but apparently it must be rock solid 100% full of NO supporters. According to her wee *ahem* video everyone she’s talked to are NO supporters and she has never met a YES supporter but don’t worry folks cause as she says there probably are folk out there who will vote YES. 😛
Shock, horror everyone she’s met who’s voting NO have very good reasons for voting NO. HURRAH! there are people out there who can finally be put forward to give the positive case for the union! Yee Ha! 🙂
Oh dearie me, apparently Scottish independence will end up the same as the partitioning of India and Pakistan, erm no it bloody well won’t you stupid woman. ARGH!
link to tinyurl.com
@ Arbroath 1320, thanks for the correction. Its usually on in the background, they all sound the same and they all sing from the same sheet, load of sheet. Anyway the Reverend is quite fond of future Lord Brewer of Pacific Quay for some reason but noone is perfect:-)
“Branding countries and cities”
Does that sound like a respectable skill? Or does it sound like bullshit? You decide
You’re all being very horrid and unfair. Every time a new indy website is launched it’s featured on the BBC News, isn’t it?
Nice piece of investigative reporting, Rev.! Keep up the great work, aye.
The two girls on the no borders song. Are both plumby voiced posh Scots who are now based in England. Enough said!
The Electoral Commission has ‘nullified’ the CBI registration:-
link to bbc.co.uk
CBI apparently remaining a “politically independent and impartial body”.
In what universe?
Edward is voting No for stability 🙂
Oh, and re the tentacles of Westminster. We should be growing more and more concerned about the role of the Electoral Commission in this referendum, especially given the CBI news today.
Anyone feeling confident that this body will oversee proceedings in a robust and even-handed manner?
Since there does not appear to be any “grass roots” in this “grass roots” no campaign, is it wise to give them some by commenting there? Not convinced, at present
This:-
link to bbc.co.uk (CBI Registration Nullified)
Is now archived here:-
link to archive.today
Just sayin’
Acanchi is nothing more than a British Government ALMO that works closely with other governments around the world without generating publicity from the media. The fact that they started off No Borders with a balance of hundreds of thousands £££s, and their website is so vague about what they do, is a giveaway. The reason that it is not an official quango is because spending would be accountable to the public purse, this is more like tax payers money being used on the quiet.
Just say to yourself, why is a seemingly benign London PR company (run by two-people) interested running, and funding of, a campaign in the Scottish referendum seemingly off their own bat? There is no sense to that. Of course the answer is they working on behalf of the British government using tax payers cash disguised as ‘Acanchi money’. Expect more of these ‘local campaigns’ to pop up around Scotland and well funded. It also proves that Better Together has failed and Whitehall has panicked. (seen Alistair Darling lately, anybody?)
Ah hud a look at that Toodledoonthebru Brian & A Neil,
I would be very suprized if Alex Salmond did’nt ask for
Devo Max Devo Plus in the Edinburgh agreement,Toodle B
missed the point yes it was’nt in AS remit to demand Devo
anything, But he knew Cameron would refuse, as Toodle b
says Cameron wasent providing a parachute.
AS had pulled the ripcord, knowing the answer
YES – No Cameron beat, dont play the odds, wie a betting
man.
Might be worth investigating the activities of Cashmaster (Holdings) Ltd where Malcolm Offord is a Director and is registered at Dundas and Wilson’s offices in Edinburgh.
Has anyone come across Cashmaster Holdings? What do they do?
Glad to be of service heedtracker. 😉
What on earth is it with all those folk on these VNB videos and their insatiable desire to let everyone know how old they are?
I mean what on earth is it with this” I’m Joe Bloggs,…..$£ by the way” nonsense.”
Hang on Edward, 40 years old from Shieldhall. You have a WEE girl doing HIGHERS. Well excuse me but if she’s doing her HIGHERS then she’s not exactly a WE lassie is she?
Fiona
Bullshit, or not? 🙂
Malcolm Offerd also writes for The Tories link to conservativehome.blogs.com
Slightly OT, but I have noticed on the Herald forums that there has been a sudden surge in new posters appearing. ALL of them pro-Westminster and with a fairly similar MO. Disparaging remarks and “cringe”. The appearance of these campaigning groups seems to be following this trend. I suspect, though can not prove, that they are all being coordinated.
But if I said this out loud, I would be accused of paranoia!
Flower of the Union and grass roots musics – sounds like a covert wee campaign for waccy baccy.
@ Arbroath 1320, its how the woman Farah after 1 minute brings in the British partition of India, spread of wealth, the killing” etc that really opens up how desperate projectfear has become.
Did every other country that said goodbye to England have to listen to so much hard core fearmongering? Oh well, I’m away to watch reruns of that lovely Jon Snow wondering along a beach next to Lewis and him wishing put loud it was still WW2 so we could all be dead together:D
Hello.
I think you’re all missing the point here, its important to remember that LFI is an SNP front!
Grahamski said so this morning on twitter, this is just a distraction from the real issues.
You cybernats are uncontrollable.
Just had a swatch at that VNB. Boring amateurish shite. Whoever was daft enough to give these people money should demand it back pronto.
As it is, it’s rapidly becoming an alternative off-topic site for us. (Hey Cameron, why don’t you send them some of your back-list?)
PS Someone has ‘egged’ Nigel Farage.
Kenny and Nana Smith
So presumably the guy who was going to get his jotters for signing and sending off the form, will now get a promotion for giving CBI an excuse to continue their “impartiality” without being formally tagged as a NO organisation?
VNB website is begging for an egging! By which I mean, it would be nice to let them know politely and reasonably why we want independence.
Ian Brotherhood
I wouldn’t dream of it. I am taking my contribution to that site’s objective, very seriously. I intend sticking with them for the long-run. 🙂
VNB is quite a hoot at the moment. Only 2 of a maximum 40 (?) comments are real. They’ve spent (well someone has..) an awful lot of cash for this. Also it seems they have raised £142,015 in a matter of hours from 3 named donors. Damn impressive I’d say.
Watched Edward (40, shieldhall, wee lassie) who went to Spain saw multi story buildings with no one working on them, Ireland 6 euros a pint and hethinks that is terrible, thinks “we’re awright the wey we are ‘n that y’know?” has a golfing mate who is a most definite YES “but he’s inta politics an that an am no'”
Dear Edward, listen to your mate. He has the brains.
LinkedIn/ACANCHI has a number of first name/no surname types who are all Oxford/Cambridge educated…..just saying, like.
Of course heedtracker we must always remember that we are too wee, too poor and too stupid not to realise that there is an alternative way to independence that does not require huge battles fought along the frontiers as the Berlinesques type walls are built. 😛
The thing that struck me about Mr Offord is, that he says the campaign is ‘…going to allow the voices of ordinary Scots people to be heard…’ (today’s Herald page 6.) Mr Offord doesn’t seem to be very ordinary himself. How many ordinary Scots could afford to give £100,000 to the Conservative party, which he seems to have done? (same page today’s Herald.)
I heard the young enthusiastic singers on the radio this morning. Two wee lassies, Molly and Caroline. One day they’ll grow up.
P.S. There’s already a couple of good eggs on the site. One of them has just commented that he is relieved no nasty cybernats have turned up to spoil the site. 🙂
@ Arbroath 1320
Ahh I see Vladimir Putin has signed.
The YES campaign seems to have developed its own momentum and appears to be rocketing towards the referendum under the radar of the TV and press.
I’ve watched some of the indy live streams, and have never heard so many educated people putting forward sensible views, in so many different accents. It makes these attempts at an alternate view, look like what they are, contrived and artificial.
Farage update.
link to bbc.co.uk
Funnily enough Moss I was thinking something similar as I was listening to him trying ever so hard 😉 to keep a straight face. Honest I was. 😛
@ seanair
Aye his CBE is in the post!
A bheil gaidhlig agad?
If you want to hear Fiona Gilmore listen to a broadcast on Monocle which was broadcast on 26/11/2013
The Scotland segment starts at 12:30 and her piece starts at 18:37.
She doesn’t say anything much but she does get a Braveheart mention in.
At work so can’t look, but would Aranchi perhaps be a member of CBI?
This really does STINK to high heaven.
CameronB says:
P.S. There’s already a couple of good eggs on the site. One of them has just commented that he is relieved no nasty cybernats have turned up to spoil the site. 🙂
I tell you what then Cameron the guy who hasn’t seen any nasty cybernats hasn’t looked very far has? I mean I have a post up there THREE down from his. Is he trying to tell me I’m NOT a cybernat?
I don’t like where he is taking this. I mean I have been wearing my cybernatery on my sleeve with pride until I can go into hospital for the operation to have it engraved onto my heart. 🙂 Now someone pops up on anti NO to NO site and tells me I’m NOT a cybernat! What on earth is the world coming to?
Wow, so ‘Better together’ cannot make a convincing case for the union, so now Westminster is covertly employing re-branding marketeers, to create a fake ‘grassroots campaign, with a fake Edinburgh address (really with head office in England).
Hang on, I thought David Cameron kept telling us he cannot debate with the First Minister because ‘this is a matter for Scots only’, yet here we see the London Government (for it is they who will be funding this sham), interfering directly in a democratic process.
Is this how it’s going to be for those who oppose independence, using a fake pretendy ‘grass roots’ group rather than have open discussion and debate????
Well that was fun.Just been posting on the VNB[wasn’t that an ultra commie group in asia]website as “Interior Decorator”.
Be interesting to see how long it lasts.
Re the CBI and their ‘honest mistake’ this what the CBI Director General John Cridland said in a BBC interview with Evan Davis on 21st April when asked about the CBI registering.
JC: This is a really key point. We took a decision that we needed to comply with these regulations. We’re an independent organisation and have to operate within the law. Simply to do our normal activities, including events and public statements we were advised we needed to comply with Electoral Commission rules because we have a position on the issues.
Doesn’t like an honest mistake to me
Full transcript of interview here
link to cbi.org.uk
I wonder, if a certain Vitol is connected…
Just read your input over on VNB goldenayr, BRILLIANT! 😛
DougtheDug says:
Well it ain’t loading now, saying it cant be loaded at this time. I think GCHQ are watching all links that could be used as soon as they can. No point on the ones they miss, but I have seen this many times.
Arbroath 1320
Perhaps you’re not trying hard enough, though I think your eggsaperation with Iain might be misplaced. 😉
Just visited VNB but didn’t leave a comment – it seemed cruel. I had a look at the People’s Voices – Out & About section, and the people in the pictures look like they’re swithering whether to hang themselves and end the misery. The Music section depicts a quartet of wholesome ‘youngsters’ that someone should hire to sing at the Maisie Gilfillan Memorial Hall next time there’s a VE Day celebration.
The CBI nailed its colours to the mast. We know where they stand. The rest is all just face saving smoke and mirrors.
As for No Borders – another Tory front I suspect although obviously Offord is an ex-pat with an interest in the outcome. I read Bankrupt Britain yonks ago, I hadn’t realised it was the same chap. A paper that found much favour with the Conservatives I believe.
Just been over to VNB. Whit, nae Laurel an’ Hardy?
They don’t rate them in Mauritius:
link to blogs.telegraph.co.uk
@Training Day said:
“Anyone feeling confident that this body will oversee proceedings in a robust and even-handed manner?”
My answer: NO
Ah this is amusing! A few of us have posted respectful, honest but clearly derisive comments poking holes in their wafer thin argument on the VOTE NO BORDERS site. I have not seen one NO argument at all to their latest offering!
Weak Astroturf Campaign!
The keep exposing this mob is whenever their fingerprints are seen. Discredit them constantly, and make everyone aware of what they are behind. They will not like that, these people prefer shadows.
Aye on second thoughts, fifth read through maybe you’re right. 😉
If I’m misundertstanding people and the site then so is W. Allan. 😛
I’d note NO to the Borders given the chance, I mean what use are they really? Get rid of them and the journey home to the Central Belt will be that much quicker!
I love it, and I live in the borders, 10 mins from Carlisle. 😉
Gilmore is her married name.
She was just plain old Fiona Triefus when she went to New Hall Cambridge obtaining a degree in Russian and French.
Her first company was Springpoint which was involved in branding.
This google lark is fun.
So, what is the CV of of these people? What have they actually be doing in the past?
That should give us an idea of what they have been hired to do now!
The best way to blow them out of the water is to do what is being done above, blow their cover!
Don’t get me wrong – it would actually be nice to see some real people on a genuine mission to argue for their Union. Somehow, I don’t quite think that’s what we’re looking at here.
Sorry to be OT again. Just completed the FSB survey I had a link emailed to me (I’m a member). Same as I’ve seen before for them: “While maintaining our own strictly neutral position, the FSB wants to ensure that you, our members, have the information you need on the issues that impact on your business before you cast your vote. Moreover, we want to make sure that small business issues are heard during the debate.”
Compare and contrast this to the dreaded and discreditted CBI.
I’d encourage Indy supporters and FSB members to submit your surveys too!
Nice ordinary wee hoose / office at number 26
link to charlottesquarecollection.com
Sorry to bore everyone with VNB, but you have to have a look at the Contact Us section [ link to votenoborders.co.uk ] where there are a few comments. The two from Tiffanetta Churchill (not kidding) have got to be a joke, or else the UKOKs are in trouble psychiatricly speaking.
I had a feeling something like this might be played out.
Get a band or song out and give it as much positive, over hyped press coverage as possible, aimed at a young crowd ect.
Get it into the charts. Possibly even say the proceeds are going to charity or suchlike…then wham bam a few weeks of free better together coverage aimed at the easily manipulated younger generation who would go out and buy it in droves as its the cool thing in town! (I thought they would get someone like one direction or susan boyle to do a better together as Britain song, perhaps under some kind of WW1 remembrance cover)
Theres no way it could be pushed out of the charts by the nasty nats as theres not enough of us.
norrie says:
Ain’t it just!
DaveDee
So obviously the CBI will be reapplying with the signature of someone with the correct authority on the paperwork.
norrie says:
Nice ordinary wee hoose / office at number 26
link to charlottesquarecollection.com
What you saying norrie?
You telling us that you do NOT live in a house like that. Oh of course I forgot your wee house is more upper class a bit more like this. 😛
link to tinyurl.com
I’ve just read her post Greannach, what on earth was she on when she wrote that. Whatever it was I’m certain it wasn’t legal. 😛
unionist trojan horse nothing else. thing is people in general don’t buy their billy brit bullshit and the more they try to push it on folk the more they will alienate.
Cameron B
The guy Edward on the VNB video says his daughter was in 6th Grade at High School. Has he been in America for a while or something.
I don’t know anyone from Glasgow who would say their daughter was in 6th Grade, they would say she was in 6th year.
Watchin too much Hannah Montana I think.
Oh, and he’s an eejit into the bargain.
Arbroath 1320
Well obviously after we get our Yes vote!
Glad we got that sorted out then norrie. 🙂
Might one suggest they are more a Tap Roost than a grass roots? What with tapping up folks for dodgy contributions.
What we really needs must do is play them at their own game. Start up a fake Bitter Together supporting web group and ask bitter together supporters to crowd fund it. Then push them hope,truth and honesty rather than fear, lies and dishonesty.
Arbroath1320 – yeah, you’d need to get your mind altered to team up with that crowd of crackpots. I wonder if they’ll all join in with Tory Rory’s jaunt to Middle Earth at Hands Across the Border.
I may have just fallen in love with Tiffanetta.
I’m sure I read somewhere but not sure where that Mr Offord donated £100,000 to the Tory party. But that might just be a scurrilous rumour, him being head of an apolitical grassroots organisation ‘n’ all. I’m sure it’s ascertainable fact though, if one knew where to look. 🙂
Aye Geannach I can just imagine now that Tiffanetta flittering along the length of Hadrian’s wall, torch in hand, or should that be wing. Oh wait a minute she got me at it now…what the hell was in that cup of tea I just finished. 😛
link to companydirectorcheck.com
check out the address,
Malcolm Ian Offord address:
9 GIPSY LANE
Not wanting to appear a bigot but I find it kind of ironic.
RosiePosie
Herald today states over £100,000
Greannach
whats a chaffinch is it a posh sparra
O/T A trailer for forthcoming film Scotland Yet on Michael Greenwell.
link to michaelgreenwell.wordpress.com
Can we do a spoiler on their cheesy love bomb Flower of Union song? Like maybe organise a major twitter fest to publicise how a London based group with UK govt connections are planning to storm the charts before they can release it?
And we should point out the Flower of Scotland / Flower of Union contrast (bloody cheek), I’m sure most Scots will take offence at that.
Paula Rose: Can you do us a new version of Flower of Scotland only Flower of Union this time? Your lyrics last night were fab.
caz-m
When he said he was just trying to beat his pal, I wondered if he meant with a nine iron. 🙂
Seems Ton Gordon of the Herald has done an article on the matter: –
link to heraldscotland.com
Brilliant bit of journalism. Incidentally, Britain (i.e.UKOK) has slipped down the press freedom list to number 36. link to tinyurl.com
If the EC can not see that the CBI is not impartial, as a quick trawl through their website would confirm, then the Scottish Government needs to get the EU to send monitors to safeguard the referendum.
Capella
Only Westminster can request observers. Go figure.
@Arbroath
Still not received your e-mail old bean ?
Just watched two of the video clips – Kathleen and Paul. Feel so sorry for them – I just want to give them a cuddle and tell them to do a bit of research and vote Yes, pet.
@taysideterrier
I had a look at link to toscotlandwithlove.co.uk,
and it is just full of complete and utter nonsense.
All the commenters seem to have some link with London or England.
I don’t know which site is the worst, To Scotland with love or that VNB.
This is an astroturf campaign
link to en.wikipedia.org
Offord donated 4 x £25,000 to the tories and £2500 to Michael Gove.
link to searchthemoney.com
Good article and excellent sluething too.
So like the wizard of Oz behind the curtain, project fear disguised as a cuddly toy exposed already.
PS
Wee Ginger Dug, been on the HoC wine I think… 😉
Mr Bateman a bit more serious the last two days strong stuff.
Acanchi lists the UK Government as one of their clients on one of their websites.
Suggest we all save Wings server disk space by using NoBorders as the Quarantine page.
That’s a lot of money for an organisation hardly anyone has heard of. The wings fundraiser (I’m guessing here now)may be less,but may well have more individual contributors,all will vote if they can. Less money,but more votes. Grass roots, you see.
Hmm, that’s a bit worrying cause I sent it last night, although I forgot to put my Arb moniker on the bottom. The e-mail definitely went somewhere. 😛
I’ve just sent a test e-mail let’s see what happens. 😉
@Vronsky
That actually made me laugh out loud. 🙂
Farage egged.
I didn’t know there was so many anti-English people in Nottingham.
Vronsky – we could use VNB as the Off Topic laughs page. But I think it already is that.
I’m sure Alex Fergusson (Tory MSP) will be fealing “uneasy”-as per the Daily Mail article- about this intrusion by a millionaire into the debate.
Nana Smith
Chan eil mi a’ tuigsinn!
More ww11 stuff on the news lol,is THE WAR all they have?
“To Scotland With Love” – bleeuurrggghhhh! Don’t think I’ve ever seen anything as puke-inducing. A site grabbing the best from the Heil and the Torygraph BTL comments would be a lot more honest. 🙂
Is this the site some here use
newsseeker.co.uk if so it has been disabled.
If it is not, could someone post the link for me please.
Oh jeez, I’ve just shown my partner some of the upper class highly informative comments over on VNB. I had to show her because I couldn’t see the screen to read them out because of the tears, from laughing so much, were rolling down my face. I really must stop visiting all those highly informative sites they certainly do not do my health much good. 😛
@ Caz-m
“I hope I shall not have to fumble for my passport,” says “bookseller” quoted on the iffy new website, “To Scotland With Love.” (Connery will like that title.)
He loves walking the Scottish hills.
What will he think when confronted by a red-faced gamekeeper:
“Get aff thi Laird’s grooned! Yer trespassin’!”
Here is her CV from the Acanchi site. I especially like “Fiona is a thought leader” [?]
Fiona Gilmore- researcher, adviser, author
Fiona Gilmore is founder and Chairman of Acanchi Limited, an independent consultancy which advises governments on country brand capital development and positioning strategy.
Over the past fourteen years Fiona has become one of the leading experts on country positioning strategy. She has given counsel to numerous countries and regions around the world helping to focus their efforts and provide them with the requisite skills to sharpen their offer. These include Bahrain, Britain, the Dominican Republic, Dubai, England, Hong Kong, the Isle of Man, Israel, Lebanon, Mauritius, Northern Ireland, Rwanda, Wales and Zambia.
She is an adviser to Governments, the Private and Public Sectors as well as NGOs and other institutions.
Fiona established her first company Springpoint in 1991, which developed quickly into an international consultancy, with offices in three countries. In 2001, Springpoint was acquired by the international group IPG and in 2003 she left the group and founded Acanchi.
Fiona is a thought leader and author of three books, Brand Warriors (HarperCollins 1997), Warriors on the High Wire (Profile 2001) and Brand Warriors China (Profile 2003). Brand Warriors China was published in Chinese in January 2003, selling more than 25,000 copies in the first six weeks.
Fiona is a regular speaker on country development and positioning and has participated in TV programmes including ‘The Money Programme’ and ‘Question Time’. She is a fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and was a trustee of both the United Learning Trust and WaterAid for six years.
She is a graduate from Cambridge University with an MA in French and Russian and also speaks Italian.
Arbroath
Not many for NO popping their heads above the parapet… But good to see no abusive language or swear words yet.
Usually the True Brits let their standards drop. 🙂
It will be a ‘NO’ go zone soon, comments will be moderated and comments closed within a week probably, due to the tsunami of yes support.
Seanair
Tha thu tuigsche gle bhath
Co as a tha sibh?
My gaelic grammar is rusty!
Seanair
Meant to say I was asking if you spoke gaelic due to your name [Seanair/Grandad]
I hope this is the headline with that photo above they show on Newsnight Scotland tonight.If the MSM can do it…play them at their own game.
john king says:
Yup, you got it John!
@Cameron B at 3.42pm Edward is voting No for stability
When Edward says he was playing golf with a Yesser, and he states that the Yesser is more into politics and he isn’t, and that’s why he thinks the Yesser is more inclined to vote Yes!!
Speaks volumes as to why the Yes voters take the time to look at all the arguments and make a rational decision based on the facts.
Unfortunately, most of the No voters I speak to have the same thoughts as Edward. The big worry for me is they are all going to vote no, based on no sound research or for that matter not even bothering to find out the facts and they still will vote anyway.
Here’s a weird thing – I signed up to be a vile cybernat troll on the VNB site. I used a fake name. And it automatically gave me an avatar that I used on a long-inactive Twitter account. Can someone explain how that happened, cos it kinda freaked me out.
She helped to ‘country-position’ Rwanda?
Hang on a wee minute – don’t we know someone else who’s been over there?
She is a graduate from Cambridge University with an MA in French and Russian and also speaks Italian.
Shame she does not speak truth…..
@Arbroath
Nope, will post detail in quarantine..
STV hard at it on 6pm News. Showing FMQ’s priority given to the terrible trio, they got much more collective airtime than the FM. Commentator says the FM will not be allowed to forget it! Now that I DO believe.
Just waiting for a wall to wall repeat on BBC Scot 6.30pm
A ‘thought leader’ – I’ve thought about it for a minute, and reckon it either means Hypnotist or Witch. 😐
kenny – from your IP address I assume.
These new pro-yoonyin sites most likely won’t last long. Whatever happened to that http://www.toryhoose.com one? 😉
You can find a picture of Ms. Gilmore at
link to africayoungvoices.com
in which she claims to be a global lead in country rebranding/repositioning.
She’s also a board member of Camfed, a charity based in Cambridge, England which educates African girls and supports young women to become leaders of change.
Ian Offord & Fiona Gilmore do they allow their neighbours to run their homes and families for them, or do they run them for themselves.
Well done Dougie, it seems you’ve discovered some shady covert operation, probably backed the London government, or some wealthy business group with the same goals as, Westminster politicians.
It appears,that Better Together can’t cultivate grassroots movements, so they’ve decided to buy them, by throwing lots and lots of money at them, how else could you explain, such large amounts of money invested in an inactive or newly active organisation.
Maybe I’m just being paranoid,but I think Westminster and Whitehall, will try anything they can to stop independence.
Meanwhile the CBI is dealt another blow.
link to bbc.co.uk
re Gilmore, check this out:
link to veteransnewsnow.com
Any truth in what I’m hearing, that this is from the Same guy that wrote the ‘bankrupt Britain’ dross which has been popping up everywhere – a pile of scaremongering paranoid garbage. Why in the name of would I want any part of what this clown is offering.
YES until I die.
Look like this has been brewing for a while
From linkedin resume:
Research Assistant Acanchi Country Brand Capital Development August 2013 – November 2013
• Involved in the development and implementation of a proposal and subsequent micro-initiatives for a campaign supporting the ‘No’ Vote in the Scottish Independence Referendum in 2014
Internship Acanchi Country Brand Capital Development June 2012 – September 2012
Collated and formatted material for a proposal document promoting the pro-union arguments in opposition to the SNP’s call for Scottish independence including development of narratives, a positioning strategy and a programme of micro-initiatives for this project
Wee bit O/T
Do all the companies and organisations that resigned from the Scottish CBI now re-join because the CBI are an impartial and neutral player in the Independence debate?
In, out, in, out, you shake it all about,
you do the hokey cokey and you turn around,
and that’s what it’s all about.
Ohhhh, You know the rest!
No borders, no morals, no ethics, no sense of FairPlay more like.
Spooks, bankers, Government Diplomatic automatons and a band and video crew.
They have bought a dark side version of National Collective without the knowledge or insight to make it truly effective.
Might just be a Trojan horse to deflect from other activities, that would be it’s only useful purpose.
Feel sorry for the musical youngsters though, maybe naive and just desperate for some funny money to launch their pop career!
Keep it clean!
R
I hope that calling yourself a ‘thought leader’, results in an automatic 5 year jail sentence in an indy Scotland.
I wonder how many other unionist blogs and websites, are just fronts created by the Better Together camp or Westminster, no doubt the aforementioned, will have made sure the trail can’t lead back to them.
Did I just imagine it, through the haze that a particularly bad hangover has brought on, but was Bella and Wings just mentioned on Newsnight?!
Is this a new thing?!
Right…try again.
getiton@bbc.co.uk
Sorree,can’t do links,anyhoos they’re doing footie team anthems.Lets give them our suggestions for Scotland v England in November.
kendomacaroonbar says:
@Arbroath
Nope, will post detail in quarantine..
Damn this is a wee bit concerning Kendo. That’s two e-mails I’ve sent and they have gone somewhere.
Dear BT get your act in gear.
country rebranding/repositioning = Place marketing.
Neo-liberal voodoo.
“I was impressed at the Investment Partnership Forum, with the endorsements from world class organisations such as African Minerals, Cape Sierra Hilton Hotel and London Mining. By being here one can appreciate the spirit of the place and I feel a palpable energy and momentum amongst Sierra Leone’s communities. Sierra Leone is poised to become one of Africa’s best investment destinations in the next few years, bringing jobs for Sierra Leoneans. Whilst there are inevitably obstacles to growth, I am excited at what I have seen for myself, from the dedication and welcome of the fishermen on Lumley beach to the expertise of the new generation mining companies,” she noted.
Or in English, market deregulation and the exploitation of finite natural resources. This will enable vast wealth extraction by foreign multinationals, the benefits of which might trickle down to eventually benefit the poor. Perhaps.
Not content with crying his eyes out, when Kate Moss spoke on behalf of David Bowie, Jon Snow on his channel 4 news programme, reveals the results of a YouGov poll, surprise surprise,the YouGov polls, puts YES at 42% and No at 58%, the poll was commissioned for Channel 4.
link to channel4.com
No mention on STV News or Reporting Scotland of Ian Taylor’s Vitol donations to Better Together.
The First Minister brought it up today at FMQs at Holyrood.
This is the Russian Oil Baron Igor Sechin who is on the US banned list and who Alex Salmond mentioned today at FMQs,
link to bbc.co.uk
And here is the link between Igor Sechin and Ian Taylor of Vitol, who are major donors of the Better Together Campaign.
link to cc.bingj.com
Scottish chamber of commerce. 18% of small to medium sized companies will consider or will leave Scotland if there is a YES vote.
Can these companies please let us know who they are so I can show them the same consideration and loyalty as they are showing my country and it inhabitants. One good turn deserves another.
Over the past fourteen years Fiona has become one of the leading experts on country positioning strategy.
Can she reposition Scotland a bit further south so can grow some olive oil to go with the North Sea stuff?
She has given counsel to numerous countries and regions around the world helping to focus their efforts [can you be more specific dear?] and provide them with the requisite skills to sharpen their offer [I see…er…]. These include Bahrain, Britain, the Dominican Republic, Dubai, England, Hong Kong, the Isle of Man, Israel, Lebanon, Mauritius, Northern Ireland, Rwanda, Wales and Zambia.
I didn’t realize Britain was a country, separate from say, England and Wales. And I note Scotland is not on that list…
Channel 4 are now filling a little bit of stuff, the BBC are under the microscope for.
Turnip_ghost… yes. No dream. Newsnet Scotland were apparently preparing their Lawyers to write to the BBC to complain that the BBC always note what the Unionist MSM press are saying, but never refer to independent Pro-independence journalist sources on line. Think the BBC are bricking it at the mo. 🙂
goldenayr
If you are stuck with links because…..just click once on the address bar at the top of the page, to highlight the link, copy (Ctrl and c at the same time), and paste here, there and everywhere.
Sorry if you’re way ahead of me.
gman says:
Look like this has been brewing for a while. From linkedin resume:
Research Assistant Acanchi Country Brand Capital Development August 2013 – November 2013
• Involved in the development and implementation of a proposal and subsequent micro-initiatives for a campaign supporting the ‘No’ Vote in the Scottish Independence Referendum in 2014, etc.
This is where an FOI request to the UK Government to find out if they have engaged Acanchi to do anything might be productive. Such engagements should be on public record.
@Arbroath
Strange.. as soon as you can get me your postal address I’ll post what I have left of the stickers on to you.
O/T Got in about 6.30 and the other half was watching RS – I know!
They were reporting that AS is having to send a letter to the Scots Ukranians who complained and explain his position – I said to the O/H – that’s ridiculous, mountain out of a molehill etc and he said – but all the newspapers are saying it as well.
That led to an exchange – what about George Robertson and so.
Next item up – some business folk and we ‘need more information’ – ‘what currency are we going to use’ – aaaaaarrrggggg.
Last item up – how a Scots weather man saved DDay.
I couldn’t find the head phones quickly enough to blot out the incessant whataboutery.
There has to a one central command that co-ordinates all this media propaganda.
They must give all newsrooms the nod when to run a smear against Alex Salmond.
One day it could be EVERY TV station and newspaper running the same story at the same time, or spread it some days between newsrooms.
This week is Ch4, next week could be Sky News and so on.
That way the YES campaign can’t go after one particular news outlet.
So, a guy called Offord from Greenock makes money in the financial industry in London. He decides he’s politically right wing & wealthy enough to make various donations to the Conservative Party or members thereof.
Along the way he joins/supports some English charities & UK quangos etc & uses his wealth to help establish his own charitable foundation in England.
Somewhere, he crosses paths with Fiona Gilmore who is based in London & claims to specialise in rebranding/repositioning countries (who knew, eh?). She is also involved in charity work based out of Cambridge, England.
Offard also acquires a trustee position with Columba 1400, a Scottish charity that helps challenged teenagers. It has bases on the Isle of Skye & on Loch Lomond.
So far so good; all very humanitarian & to be applauded. And no doubt the political donations are all well above board.
Recently though, Offard & Gilmore establish a company in London called Vote No Borders. It is clearly intended to be a political campaign group because it’s name was offered to the register of permitted participants.
But to make it appear Scottish, Vote No Borders is indicated to have an address as 26 Charlotte Square in Edinburgh. To those that are unfamiliar, this is one of the most prestigious & expensive addresses in the city.
In summary then, one wealthy Tory donator & one brand expert, both based in London & each with strong ties to various companies, institutions, quangos & charities based in England, team up to create an apparent grass roots movement in Scotland, based out of one of the most expensive addresses in Edinburgh.
Well done.
I don’t think anyone in the Scottish media will notice anything odd.
I have been trying to spread wings on some non-political pages to raise awareness. How about some light-hearted posts that can be shared to attract the less-engaged to WOS.
link to scotlandnow.dailyrecord.co.uk
kendomacaroonbar says:
@Arbroath
Strange.. as soon as you can get me your postal address I’ll post what I have left of the stickers on to you.
Thanks kendo.
I’ve e-mailed you my snail mail address.
I hope you receive it OK 🙂
Arbroath 1320
So the two world wars and the Post Office gambit doesn’t play with you then? 🙂
If you are unhappy about the reporting of the Independence debate by Ch4 News, then here are their FULL CONTACT DETAILS,
link to channel4.com
Don’t be shy.
Another fruitless adventure by Better Together that will crumble into ash…
It’s amazing that they thought their true identity, location and background would stay out of sight.
Apart from the hundreds of thousands who will see it here, people are already putting this info on newspaper column comments, it is on twitter, and I have already spoken to three people who didn’t know and now do.
Multiply that up, in a few days and each time they are mentioned this info will come up again.
CameronB says:
Arbroath 1320
So the two world wars and the Post Office gambit doesn’t play with you then? 🙂
Now I have had time to think about it Cameron I may have been a wee bit hasty in putting up that reply. 😛
Maybe I should have counted to 10 before posting anything. Come to think about it nah, post and be damned was the right approach after all. 🙂
JLT
Sorry to bore you…but.
When I said “But is it us?” I was referring to a reflection of us as a modern 21stC country.Not as you assumed a “cringe”.
Just had to clear that up.
Sorry for going O/T but this petition was highlighted on our new “best friend’s” website. It appears things might be moving towards looking at getting IDS and co up in front of the European court. Not a bad idea in my view. 😉
link to tinyurl.com
Arbroath 1320
Did I take that too far, or do you think it didn’t really mattered after I’d mentioned sausage rolls? 🙂
Is this working for anyone?
link to new.livestream.com
Herald on line is reporting the ch4 poll as ,
Latest indyref poll: Yes 37%, No 51%, Don’t Know 12%.
Papadox , I’m with you .I’d like to add them to my wee list of items I will not invest in or buy.
Tunnocks T cakes – what a sacrifice!
Does anyone know Rory Stewart’s reaction to this group’s intention to get rid of the Borders?
Maybe his fun show was to stop this group in its tracks? Good work Rory.
@cynicalHighlander
nothing for me
OT
STU remember your thread about YES Glasgow a few days ago and the BT ‘no show’.
Well it appears that it will take place tonight as planned. They have found 6 panellist’s:
YES: Jeanne Freeman, Patrick Harvie and Moi
NO: Garry Coutts, John_McKee and Martin Bartos
I believe it is to be live-streamed but as yet I cannot find a link.
This Info comes from EU Citizens for Indy face book page.
You need to scroll down a wee bit, it is on the left.
cynicalHighlander
Not getting any video,rest of site fine.
CameronB says:
Arbroath 1320
Did I take that too far, or do you think it didn’t really mattered after I’d mentioned sausage rolls? 🙂
To be honest Cameron I think it was the piece and sausage that started me off and I was finally pushed over the edge by the omission of the wee dugs. What have you got against wee dugs? I mean they’re wee and don’t cost much to run and of they’re wee and… 😛
Arbroath 1320
Sorry, I’m more of a cat person and I don’t think Seperation will change that.
@Arbroath
Still nothing.. this is really bizzare…
Ch4 poll WTF,
Yes 42%
No 58%
16% gap, What happened to the polls closing?
Or is this as reliable as a John Mackay STV poll.
In other words, a joke.
@Cynicalhighlander
“Over the past twenty years Fiona has become one of the leading experts on
country positioning strategy. She has given counsel to numerous countries and
regions around the world helping to focus their efforts and provide them with
the requisite skills to sharpen their offer. These include Bahrain, Britain, the
Dominican Republic, Dubai, England,”
Eh?
“She has given counsil to Britain and England?
QUE?
A little bit of light relief!!!
link to facebook.com
kendomacaroonbar
Email me and I’ll forward it to Arb.
Add a 2 at the end of my name on a gmail address.
kendomacaroonbar says:
@Arbroath
Still nothing.. this is really bizzare…
I’m beginning to think GCHQ are getting into the act here somewhere along the line. 😛
I’ve had a wee thought of a round about route hang fire for a wee bit. 😉
Anus Sarwar talking bollocks on CH4
No change there then…
Two hours left to get another 60…
link to change.org
Sorry – Anas Sarwar (genuine mistake) – not into childish insults.
Perhaps its a massive tax write-off?
After all I suspect there may be a need to wine and dine key figures, and possibly fact finding missions to warmer climes. And I’m sure they’ll be drawing a fine salary from the ‘business’.
If you donate to a political cause can you write that off like charity donations?
Has anyone checked to see if they’re registered as charities as well as businesses, is that sort of thing allowed?
How do Private schools pull the charity thing off?
Fiona Gilmore does it all with chi – check out Ian’s link at 6:24!
Anas is just a paint by numbers politician with a bit of smear thrown in for good measure.
Goldenayr,
No probs. Leave it at that. Enjoy the rest of your evening though. I’m away back to studying. It never ends…
@caz-m
Yes, and the Unionist political editor of the Sunday Herald is taking great delight in the C4 poll on Twitter.
Beats me why anyone is suckered by the Sunday Herald.
I will cancel my newsagents order for the Sunday Herald
@Kenny says
Looks like browser cache has remembered all your history. Google “clear browser cache”.
Nana Smith
I thought that’s what you were saying and decided to pretend that I was fluent in Gaelic, so found some notes from when I studied the language. Can’t hide the fact that I’m a sassenach however and my grip of the language is not what it used to be.
Seanair means grandfather as you say, and I AM a grandfather!
Mo bheannachaen ort.
Is it just me or is Jon Snow a wee bit patronising? I can’t decide if it is just a Magnus Pike over enthusiasm or genuine condescension.
A view on the latest polls from James Kelly:
link to scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk
Dear Lord! I had a wee visit to the VNB site and just for fun put up a few comments about The Borders (ahem…)
Unfortunately, my head now hurts. I have completely lost track of who is a parody and who is not. It’s awfully hard to tell the difference. I don’t know whether I’m arguing with a fellow Winger or a bona fide bampot.
Darkened room here I come.
Part of an article I was sent
Hundreds of years ago during the Age of Enlightenment, liberty-minded philosophers argued that governments could only derive their authority to govern by receiving consent of the governed.
And that the people would have to voluntarily surrender some of their freedoms to government in exchange for certain services (and protection of their other freedoms).
This idea has become twisted and mutated over time.
Sounds right to me!
jingly jangly
Looks as if Ian Gray might be interested in this site.
I believe he boycotts Subway,now,as well.
Its on now.
link to new.livestream.com
I G
Just watch oot for Arbs aliens and I hope you’ve no borders on your walls.
Done well there Humza.
I seem to remember an interview with the First Minister a few weeks ago on ch 4 news.
Right Kendo, I think I’ve just found a wee problem. I’ve made the appropriate changes and re-sent the e-mail. Fingers crossed you’ll be receiving it any time now. 😉
I tried to find the e-mail address for Lucy Adams the journalist who compiled the article to send her a link to this article but no luck in finding it. There is a need to educate our investigative journalists.
This is one of the best pieces I’ve read on here in a while. Wait and see if newsnight mention this tonight after the publicity they gave them last night.
I G says:
Dear Lord! I had a wee visit to the VNB site and just for fun put up a few comments about The Borders (ahem…)
Unfortunately, my head now hurts. I have completely lost track of who is a parody and who is not. It’s awfully hard to tell the difference. I don’t know whether I’m arguing with a fellow Winger or a bona fide bampot.
Darkened room here I come.
All this cybernatery stuff can be fun at times can’t it IG.
Never mind the “Darkened Room” is open for business and all are welcome. 😉
Geoff Huijer says: Sorry – Anas Sarwar (genuine mistake) – not into childish insults.
Ach, just put it behind you.
A part of me feels sorry for the unionist team. They have to run around changing disguises and names in an attempt to look like a horde. Even worse is that they are paid – it is not done because of a desire to do the right thing or a belief in something. It is done for a pay cheque.
I’m watching the Glasgow event on the wee roku device i got,gives me a bigger screen through my tv.
Um… if no wingers were commenting on VNB, it’d only have a handful of comments! Well done everyone keep it going, I love the ‘get rid of the borders’ angle – just imagine, one step out of England and you’d be in the central belt!
I was just