War, hide yourself

Posted on December 25, 2014 by

Merry Christmas, readers. Have a good one and we’ll see you soon.

ddp1

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 25 12 14 00:59

War, hide yourself | FreeScotland

2. 25 12 14 01:40

War, hide yourself - Speymouth

217 to “War, hide yourself”

1. McV

Merry Christmas dude.

2. Andy Nimmo

Hace Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
    Hope Your Day Is Bright
    Get Yourself Ready For Another Year
    Of,Combating Sh….Propaganda

3. Jim Graham

Merry Christmas Stu. Thanks for everything you have done these last few years for our cause. ‘We have your back’. Looking forward to supporting you in the years ahead.
    Jim Graham

4. Betty Boop

Merry Christmas, Stu. Thank you for all your hard work πŸ™‚

Greetings to all Wingers, peace and contentment to all.

5. Bob Sinclair

Thanks all for being a very special part of one of the best years of my life.
    Merry Christmas everyone.

6. Jimbo

Just one question, why the fuck does The pro-ISIS Raqqa Media Center have it’s own face book page according to the BBC?
    What in the name of God is going on that face book is allowing pro terrorist organizations to be a member of their website.
    Has Jihadi John got his own face book page?
    The world is seriously fucked up.

Merry fucking Christmas!!!!!!!

7. Donald mac

Merry Christmas Stu. Thanks for keeping us sane over the last 3 months!

8. cearc

Have a good day everyone.

9. MorvenM

Merry Christmas to you and to Wingers everywhere xx.

10. Alan Mackintosh

And a merry christmas to you Stu, and all the other wingers througout the land. The solstice has been reached and daylight will start to creep back and light up the darkness.

11. grahamlive

Merry Christmas to you and yours Stu, and all the readers and commenters on Wings. This website has been great throughout the past couple of years and long may that continue.

12. Mat

Enjoy yourself and charge your keyboard well, we’ll have need of it next year.

Thanks for everything to date. Cheers, merry Christmas.

13. Roland Smith

Merry Xmas, thanks for all your work in 2014. Remember when the moneu runs out ask for more, a couple of opinion polls up to May would be worth doing as well,

14. ronnie anderson

War, hide yourself

Is it ok tae use Turkey Foil tae make our tinfoil hats wie

an there,s nae hiding.

Merry Christmas Stuart & All Wingers have a Good One.

15. Brian Forrest

Right back at you, Stu…and all other Wings followers…onwards and upwards..!

16. David McCann

A very happy Christmas and a hopeful, peaceful and prosperous new Year to all Wingers.
    A special thanks to Stu for the mountain of work over the past two/three years.
    We really are living in the early days of a better nation.

17. Kate

Merry Christmas Rev and all the wingers

18. Betty Craney

Merry Christmas , Rev and all our Wingers wherever you are….

Hope Santa’s good to you ! πŸ™‚

19. ronnie anderson

War, hide yourself

Is it ok tae use Turkey Foil tae make our hats from this new year,after all it is a Turkey shoot we,re gearing up for.

Merry Christmas Stuart & All Wingers have a good one.

20. Alex Clark

Yes a very big Merry Christmas to all who visit here. Oh and the guy responsible for the fact you do visit.

Cheers Rev.

21. Tattie-bogle

You sir may you and yours have a wonderful time over the festivities and in the new year may your pen/fingertips be stronger than ever xx

22. Morag

A very happy Christmas to everyone.

23. Donny

Love and peace, man.
    Although many of this site’s readership may be very despondent (Monday’s bad news aside), we have come a long way down the road. Let us keep oor peckers up, great things may yet happen, if we keep the will strong. Roll on the next year!

24. Ian Brotherhood

‘Collapsed at crumpet balls for Rev?’ (6,8)

Have a guid yin big yin!

25. drawdeaddave

Merry Christmas Stu & the wings family.

Thanks for showing me hope in a sea of fear

Thanks for showing me truth in a sea of lies

26. Midgehunter

A very merry Xmas day Stu and every Winger. πŸ™‚

27. caz-m

From everybody working nightshift here in the middle of the North Sea over xmas, I would like to send our best wishes to Stu and all fellow Wingers.

Look forward to meeting up with lots of you at the next big rally.

Merry Xmas.

Keep up the good work.

They will NEVER defeat us.

28. Truth

Happy Christmas Stu and sincere thanks for all you have done.

2014 didn’t go quite to plan, but 2015 is shaping up to be quite a year too.

We need you. I recall your fundraiser was to pay for a bit past the referendum. Well, if you can stomach fighting on, I for one will gladly pitch in to a new fundraiser.

29. Yesitis

Merry Christmas Rev Stu, and everyone here at Wings. All the very best to you. πŸ™‚

30. David Smith

Merry Christmas folks. Been a helluva year.Be another one along soon!

31. TJenny

Stuey – you know we all wish very merry all things to you and yours this festive season. Can you confirm that you will be available for a happy WOS jolly, in Scotland, on @ the 5th January? Please say YES. πŸ˜‰

Love to all fellow Wingers.

32. Yvonne

Merry Christmas to Rev Stu and all wingers (posters and readers).
    I hope 2015 is a better year for us on our crusade to independence and that the family of wingers has lots of new additions to help spread truth and enlightenment to those still in the thrall of our Imperial Masters.

33. msean

Merry Christmas all.

34. Fergus Green

Love peace and pudding Stuart. Thank you for all you have done for Scotland in 2014.

35. Graham Scott

Yup, as above, merry xmas and thanks for everything you have done. Enjoy tomorrow, you have certainly earned it.

36. boris

have a nice quiet holiday. recharge the batteries and return to the mission in the new year. Onwards and upwards. Thanks for the leadership.

37. Capella

Have a restful Christmas everybody. But not TOO restful!
    You really deserve some peace and joy Stu. Thanks for all the truly eye opening articles through this amazing year.
    Onwards and upwards as Chris says!

38. Grizzle McPuss

Merry Christmas to one and all in the Wings family.

39. Martin

Merry Christmas you vile cybernat.

40. Neil Anderson

Merry Yesmas Stu, & a Happy New Scotland when it comes!

41. Soupcruncher

Merry Crimbo Stu

42. ronald russell

Thanks to Stu and his colleagues for keeping us informed during the past year. And thanks to all the wingers for their thoughtful and sometimes humorous contributions. I wish you all a peaceful and happy new year.

43. john king

Yawn, stretch,
    eh? what?
    Oh Merry Christmas Mr Campbell. πŸ™‚

44. john king

I have never heard Simon and Garfunkel sing Silent Night before, the “bleed” from the news channel was very poignant,
    took me right back to 1970,
    Thank you Stu

45. Sandra Wilson

As long as 100 of us the Rev Stuart Campbell remain alive…. Thanks for your hard work and determination in the fight for Svottish freedom

46. Sandra Wilson

Scottish freedom

47. Geoff Huijer

Merry Christmas & Best Wishes All

48. Paul

Merry Christmas everybody.

49. Jean

Merry Christmas Stu and fellow wingers. We live in interesting times…onwards and upwards.

50. i'm a fan

Sigh…

….

….

I’m just killing time and posting while I wait for the kids to leap excitedly out of bed before I can go downstairs….

Sigh….

Merry Xmas one and all πŸ™‚

51. Sandra

Merry Christmas, Stu and everyone.

52. CRAIGthePICT

Merry Christmas Stuart and all the other Wingers. Have a great day. We will be celebrating Christmas in an independent Scotland before long.

53. Heather McLean

Merry Christmas Stu – a heartfelt thanks for all the work that you do.
    As others have said, more eloquently, without Wings to dispel all the lies and misinformation from the mainstream media and the BBC, I’d be going aff ma heid!!

Wishing all readers a great day!

54. jock mc X

By way of a xmas present to u all,
    if you have never seen it.
    The brilliant play by Dennis Potter(vote vote vote for Nigel
    Barton) is on youtube…sorry i cant do links.
    Its from 1965….fantastic.

55. Clootie

Merry Christmas from the North Sea…The Scottish sector πŸ˜€

56. Juteman

Ho ho feckin ho.
    Seasons greetings to all in the Wings family, and food poisoning to everyone else. πŸ™‚

57. Margaret James

Merry Christmas everyone and thanks Rev Stu .

58. starlaw

Merry Christmas, and may all go well for you and yours. Roll on May

59. Conan_the_Librarian

Next year in Jerusalem folks. Or Edinburgh.

60. Lollysmum

A very happy Christmas to the Rev, all Wingers & independence supporters everywhere. It’s coming for a’ that!

Roll on May 2015

61. Bugger (the Panda)

Happy bamboo shoots to all, except the usual suspects.

No National today, and I paid for it up front for 6 months.

Getting in the mood by playing Red Hot Chilli Pipers and thinking about the Hydro.

62. Bugger (the Panda)

Conan

That would be Glesca.

63. Thistle

Merry Christmas and New Year all!

64. Calgacus

Merry Christmas to you all and thank you all for being bonny fechters.

Cheated not defeated.

Scottish Spring here we come!

65. Breastplate

Merry Xmas to one and all

66. ScottieDog

Merry Christmas.
    Mind and switch on the TV at 3pm for the royal purrrr…
    πŸ˜‰

67. gerry parker

Another day above ground.

πŸ™‚

68. Bugger (the Panda)

@ gerry parker

Can you ask your brother to e-mail me as I am sure he has some dirt on Baroness Helen Liddel of Coatdyke?

Jim

69. jimnarlene

Merry Christmas,have a good one, Stu and all wingers.

70. gerry.parker

@Bugger – will do. He was saying he didn’t remember her at Strathclyde but she was in the year below him at high school.

71. Scotspine

Merry Christmas to all.

72. Jock Scot

Merry Christmas to Stu and all the Wingers from everyone at Yew Choob.

73. Alex Smith

Merry Christmas to all wingers and readers, next year is another step on the road to independence!

74. Stoker

As a non-religious person who does not celebrate this day i would just like to say to all my fellow Independence believers – hope you are all having a great day with friends, family and loved ones.

Spare a thought for the thousands of folk in Scotland who are currently homeless or living in poverty and really struggling.

To all you ‘No’ voters out there – i hope the open-minded among you get to see the light and come and join us in 2015. We will invite you into our family with open arms.

As for the “staunch” Unionists out there – i hope your day consists of nothing but misery and all that can go wrong will. May your presents be one-way tickets out of Scotland.

Roll on 2015.
    πŸ™‚

75. Cuilean

Have a great Christmas, Stu. Thank you, thank you, thank you! We are changed utterly.

76. Bill McLean

Happy Christmas to all and especially the Rev, whose work has been astonishing, heartening and courageous. Let’s try always be open to other opinions as we approach the next milestone. Intolerance is for the intolerant – we are better than that!

77. Cyprusjag

Merry Christmas to you and all your readers.
    Thank you for everything you’ve done this year and hope you have a well deserved break for a few days.

78. John

Merry Christmas to all Wingers. Thanks for your hard work, Rev.

79. ianbeag

Hard to believe the scale of your personal contribution Rev. to our cause in the past year. Who can forget the Bee Blue Book and it’s role in the new enlightenment. Now its onwards and upwards to the next target next May.
    A great Christmas to you and all the well informed contributors and followers of Wings.

80. Bugger (the Panda)

Stoker

Same to you.

I am a biological scientist and too have no religious cult to follow.

However I do will celebrate today. Any excuse for a bamboo wine or two.

As for staunch unionists, I would happily buy a one way Stagecoach ticket to London for them personally but not all. Some are just stupid, others completely deceived and at the top there are the deceivers and liars, starting with Alastair Darling and Jim Murphy, who deserve their Portillo moment.

The deceived, duped and stupid will become part of a Darwinian experiment and self exterminate, one way or the other.

Never forget, that at the time of the Easter Dublin Rebellion most Irish men were against independence and Parnall was wanting Home Rule, which Westminster couldn’t understand. They lost Ireland because of that and had they set up Home Rule for Ireland and Scotland at that stage we would possibly not be where we are now. I say possibly because Westminster and Whitehall never learn, they just refine and re-nuance their errors.

They are the gift that goes on giving and it is their fatal flaw.

Have a guid New Year and a Humbug 25th if you want.

81. Paula Rose

Happy Christmas to all you lovely wingers, the Rev Stu and the rats!

82. The Tree of Liberty

Rev, Hiv a couple of days aff. Respect.

83. Dave McEwan Hill

And here it is, Merry Christmas, everybody’s having fun. Look to the future, it’s only just begu-u-un said some sage (or was it Noddy Holder?)
    2015 looks interesting. Can’t wait.

Who’d pay a Β£1 for a Saturday National?

84. No no no...Yes

Rev, Merry Christmas and thanks for your part in helping keep our dream alive during these sometimes dark post-indy ref days.

To fellow Wingers, we are family, thanks for the company and a heart felt Merry Christmas to you all. Enjoy the holidays and Smile for Scotland!

85. Bugger (the Panda)

D McE H

Merry Xmas to you.

Re The Saturday National.

I think there is something of a balancing act going on at their parent company. Six day per week for the ScotNats and six days to the Herald Unionists.

They now are building up two two separate sets of journalists and I guess The National will share a lot with The Sunday Herald, maybe their size.

A Ssturday National may be possible but not yet. After the 8th of May perhaps?

86. Barbara Watson

Merry Christmas everyone and special thanks to the Rev for all his hard work.

It’s been quite a year this year and things have taken a turn I never saw coming, we all need to charge our batteries and be ready for the political fight ahead in the New Year.

Best wishes and kindest regards to all, well, with the exception of the few that I hope choke on their dinner!

87. ewen

Have a cool Yule, Rev and all the Wingers.

88. muttley79

Happy Christmas everyone.

89. David Smith

The significance of that date is not lost on me. Perhaps we can remember it in future; not just for the fall of the Nazis but also the fall of the Rainbow Tories in Scotland! πŸ™‚

90. Bugger (the Panda)

David Smith

It is my birthday, as well.

91. Caroline Corfield

Merry Christmas to everyone.

92. Dan Huil

Merry Christmas to all from me and my itchy Yuletide jumper which I am wearing because of emotional blackmail.

93. FairiefromEarth

Glad to see MI5 have given you the day off.

94. bookie from hell

The Year Scotland wanted Home Rule + and The Union delivered DeVow –

merry Xmas all

95. john devine

Wishing all you Wingers wonderful memories during this joyous season.

96. galamcennalath

Merry Christmas everyone πŸ™‚

97. Ninja Penguin

Merry Christmas to the Rev and all Wossers!

98. Valerie

Wishing Rev Stu health and happiness, and huge thanks for this place that we gather to read and smile and vent as necessary.

Your stature has grown enormously, and rightly so, you are helping people to think for themselves, and that is a gift.

Have a lovely day to all, whatever your creed, or you choose to do.

99. velofello

Happy Christmas to you all,enjoy your break as we have a big task ahead in 2015.

Well done Rev Stu for an outstanding year of journalism.

100. ronnie anderson

Thats a break with tradition

her Madj speech some of it being reported

apparently Scotland got a mention

Purrr.

101. Mosstrooper

Merry Christmas everyone. Thank you all for your efforts especially the Rev. towards Scotland’s independence.

Forward to May 2015 and another step to our country’s liberty.

Nollaig Chridheil agus Bliadhna Mhath Ur.

102. Fred

Felicitations Wingers. πŸ™‚

103. Jimbo

Merry Christmas to Stu and every one of Scotland’s people.

104. Helena Brown

Merry Christmas and a happy and a New Year to all of us, not wishing the same for the Labour Party, may their days be used for contemplation after 5th May, as if.
    A wonderful Year to come for you Stu and Wings, we go from strength to strength.

105. Jim McIntosh

Merry Christmas to everyone on Wings, and as the Chinese say lets hope for an interesting year at Westminster.

106. Stephen McKenzie

All the best everyone. Have a good Xmas and a small sherry.

Is the Queen on the box this year? I was going to send her some festive cat litter but it was far too expensive to post. Scrunched up Telegraph is just as good..

107. Kevin Meina

Happy Xmas too all on wings our day will come

108. Ken500

Luv Wings too. Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year. Happy Hogmanay and the fun to come. 7/5/15. xxx

109. manandboy

With Justin Welby’s Christmas Day homily the first casualty of
    the day in British North Korea,
    may I wish everyone who flies with Wings
    a very happy Christmas day.

Listening to the radio, I am sure the irony of celebrating Christmas in a country which votes for and is controlled by the forces of neo-Liberalism is lost on most of the population.

110. gerry parker

@ Steven Mc Kenzie.

She’s getting a New Year card from me.

Big clock on the front with the words “Tick Tock, Tick Tock”.
    (Ronnies idea)

On the inside ” There’s still 100 of us alive”

(My addition)

111. heedtracker

Merry Christmas Reverend. Thanks for giving so many the confidence and the info to explain to our ridiculous imperial masters where the door is. The gift that keeps on giving:D

112. dramfineday

A happy and peaceful Christmas to one and all from all the Drams.

113. Wee Jonny

Merry Chrimbo to all Wingers and especially to you Stuart.
    I’ve often wondered if you realise how important Wings Over Scotland is. Without it I wouldn’t be anywhere near as clued up as I am. So thanks for Wings Stuart. Yi wee gem.

114. John Sm.

Happy Christmas to the Rev and to all Wingers.

Thanks for all the great posts, the humour and the insight.

All the best from a beautifully bright and frosty Laurencekirk.

115. Mealer

Aye.Ho,ho ho.etc

116. Nana Smith

Nollaig Chridheil dhuibh uile!

117. Training Day

Merry Christmas Stu and the same to all readers.

118. Jim Mitchell

A merry yo ho ho to all the regulars and any new comers too and not forgetting you Rev!

119. thomas

merry xmas stuart to you and yer family. Aw the best fur the new year.

120. Wullie B

Nollaig Chridheil agus Bliadhna Mhath Γ™r

121. clashcityrocker

Orraverrabest Stu. I salute your wisdom, strength and idefatagibility!

122. JayR

Merry Christmas Stu and all the Wingers. Happy New Year when it comes and all the best for 2015.

123. Steven Duncan

To Stu and all wingers – I. Wish you all a Merry Christmas and a fantastic New Year.
    This site is still an inspiration and a daily must see. Onwards to 2015

124. Bob Mack

Merry Xmas to all fellow wingers.We will come back stronger than ever.Rev Stu have a great time you have earned all our trust and admiration for the fantastic role you pl ay in our struggle.

125. reginald

OFF TOPIC How the BBC stole the referendum @Indiegogo. Cannot guarantee that your donation will be money well spent but there is the possibility that G.A. Ponsonby will produce a worthwile book.

126. Brotyboy

Merry Christmas all.

#ThanksRev

127. Devorgilla

Merry Yesmas to all Yessers. It’s been some year!

128. Croompenstein

Merry Xmas everyone and especially Rev Stu, hope the ginger wine disnae burn your throat. Aw the best

129. ClanDonald

It’s been an education and an eye opener, this site, so it has. I was just a middle aged mum when I first came here 18 months ago via a friends facebook link, now I’m a fully qualified cybernat and political activist. And here for life if necessary. It’s all your fault, Rev!

We didnt quite get there this time but we had some right good laughs along the way, something I don’t see any of the unionists doing any time soon! Merry Christmas to you and all the other fantastic wingers, love the lot of you!

130. Yesemite Sam

Merry Yesmas, Stu and thanks for all your endeavours over the last year or so.

131. Bill Cruickshank

Merry Christmas Stu, have a good one and thanks for everything. Exciting couple of years coming up and Scotland needs you.

132. mogabee

To all on here and looking on…Enjoy the holiday!

133. Archie [not Erchie]

I need a good stuffing! Any suggestions? πŸ™‚

Happy Christmas to you all from the windae-hinger.

134. Fran

Merry Christmas a’abody.

135. Ukp42

Merry Christmas & thank you for everything you have done to help with the campaign.
    And all those who have contributed to this site, a greater thanks.

136. Hazel Lewry

Wishing everyone peace, love and contentment. Here’s to a belter of a year in 2015.

137. Roseanne

Merry Xmas Stu and thanks for everything. Here’s to next hear ????

138. gerry parker

@ Archie (not Erchie).

Yes – a suggestion.

Become a Unionist politician in Scotland.

πŸ™‚

139. Archie [not Erchie]

@ gerry parker – That could be a good Christmas cracker joke eh? All the best to you and yours.

@ juteman – I was listening to Kevin ‘Bloody’ Wilson this morning. Nice one.

140. ronnie anderson

Archie {not Erchie}
    I need a good stuffing!.

Ah think Paula Rose kin sort you oot, she has many recipes & other treats in her Dungeon.OOch

141. Archie [not Erchie]

@ ronnie – How do YOU know about the dungeon? So that’s why she wears the 3inch heels! ‘Oh oh Paula I am but a fool – darlin ah luv you tho you treat me cruel’…..and so on. Have a great day Ronnie and thanks for all that you have done in 2014.

142. Wp

Ah! I can see you have all went back into your boxes and have lost interest in the fight.
    I also believe a big man in a red suit came down my chimney last night.
    Ha Ha! Getting stronger every day. Merry Xmas everyone. So looking forward to 2015.

143. ronnie anderson

@ Archie {not Erchie We are as we are ,we do what we do & thats including you. Nae bodies special,we all contribute to the whole.

I tell no secrets, ah tell no lies,if you want to know what lies beneith Paula,s hoose you need to visit, they tell me she does a rare french fancy.

144. R-type Grunt

Happy Christmas everyone!

145. lumilumi

In my earlier Christmas message (23.12.) I think I thanked all the Wingers but forgot to mention the man who’s made it all possible. πŸ™

So, a huge thank you to you Rev Stu for all the hard work you’ve put in over the past couple of years! Have a good R&R over the festive period, and charge your batteries for the (figurative) battles ahead. Scotland (and the world) needs you!

146. Andy A

Merry Christmas to you Stuart from a keen reader and very occasional contributor. Thanks for the huge contribution you’ve made to Scotland in 2014. As well as the legendary Wee Blue Book, you have created an incredible rallying point for Yessers throughout the year and managed to debunk much of the Unionist propaganda that the conventional media failed to question. More power to you in 2015.

147. Jim mcallister

never thought I woul recover after the vote , but thanks to rev stu and fellow wingers
    I can see good things ahead , merry Xmas everyone and a happy new year

148. cearc

lumilumi,

Thanks for the lovely carol you posted,

Archie{not Erchie),

No suggestions polite enough for this family-orientated website!

Ronnie,

luv, ya. xxx

Happy Wotsit everyone.

149. Kevin evans

Merry Christmas stu and my fellow wingers. I love you’s all.

150. Terry

Thank you Stu. And thanks to all the brilliant Wingers on here. It’s been a stimulating and enlightening education. The truth sets you free and it will set Scotland free and this website has done so much when it comes to getting the truth out there. Aberdeen is a tough nut to crack but we are going to do it! Respect to Glasgow Dundee inverness and all the yes locations. Stu, you have helped to add purpose to our lives. Happy xmas Wings. X

151. lumilumi

@ Archie [not Erchie], 12.51pm

Aah, stuffing…

That reminds me of my very first Christmas in Scotland. I and my Australian boyfriend plus another Australian guy were put in charge of cooking Christmas dinner for 25 young people overwintering at a new Edinburgh youth hostel. Mostly Aussies, Kiwis, some Canadians, a couple of Scots, English, plus our Czechoslovakian who became a Slovak on Jan 1. (So that was Christmas 1992.)

There we were, three people who’d never cooked a turkey in our lives. Staring at the huge lump of a bird and wondering what to do with it.

“How do you stuff a turkey?”
    “Up its arse”, came the answer from one English girl.

In the end, the dinner turned out fine, or everybody was adequately sloshed with glΓΆgi (Nordic type mulled wine) I provided before dinner not to notice any inadequacies with the food. It was certainly the merriest Christmas dinner I’ve ever had. A long, long table, candles, lots to drink and international friends, age bracket 18 to 28.

But as good as that Christmas was, Hogmanay was even better. That was before it became all very organised and tickets for concerts or “activities” in the “festival area”. We just started the evening at home (at the youth hostel in the West End)) and then drifted to the Royal Mile.

I remember huge, cheery crowds, guys in kilts (and us foreign girls very curious about what’s under a kilt), a (rogue?) piper, a rain of beer, Auld Land Syne and hugs and kisses all around. Oh, and some fireworks. I loved it, I loved everybody, I loved the world. (I was in my early twenties and drunk πŸ™‚ )

152. Clootie

Jim mcallister says:
    25 December, 2014 at 2:14 pm

…never thought I would recover after the vote…

I’ll never forget that low πŸ™
    it lasted for days and days. Wings was so important in my recovery…I knew I wasn’t alone!

153. Vronksy

Congratulations on a great year of good work. Have a happy holiday.

154. Archie [not Erchie]

@ lumilumi – Thanks for your memories of past times or pastimes in Auld Reekie. Hope your day has been full of smiles and I do love your contributions to this site – Come back soon my dear and us lot will treat you with abandon. Meet you round the back of Ronnie’s shed for a glogi. πŸ™‚

155. Alistair grapevine

a merry christmas to all fellow wingers, hope you are all having a great day, lets follow it up with a great year with no let up on our foe,

156. Al Dossary

All the best from a long time lurker in the Middle East. I had the good fortune of catching Tommy Sheridan’s meet in Vicki es just before the vote. That guy was immense during the campaign, his contribution must never be forgotten.

Anyway, that’s me fed and stuffed, going to open a bottle of “special” grape juice now. It is amazing what you can do with the help of some natural, airborne micro-organisms.

157. fred blogger

mg, just realized apprentices roam around tomorrow hoping to get their boxes filled with loot.
    that can only mean one thing footie.
    πŸ™‚ hurrah!

158. Conan_the_Librarian

Bugger, it’s your birthday!?

Jesus…

159. Natasha

Happy Christmas everyone.
    We will overcome!
    πŸ™‚ xxxxxx

160. Croompenstein

Aw F*ck!! I forgot to watch Betty’s address! was it any good? did we get a mention?

161. Craig P

Croompenstein, I didn’t see it, but apparently the theme of the Queen’s address was reconciliation – with Scotland being mentioned at the same time as Northern Ireland and the Great War. Presumably it wasn’t as crass as that sounds.

So in that spirit I wish all of you merry Christmas, especially the unionist readers. Even Alan Cochrane. Even the Queen. May you all live long enough to see an independent Scotland πŸ™‚

162. Dave McEwan Hill

We did indeed get a mention though the expected abdication didn’t happen. Camilla apparently didn’t join the family gathering. In the huff probably.

163. fred blogger

Craig P
    yes!
    i’m completely reconciled to vote for any PP i choose, will it be the ssp scot greens or snp?

164. lumilumi

Aw, you’re all away, stuffing your faces and spending Christmas with the near and dear.

We in Finland got that over and done with yesterday, 24.12. Christmas Eve is the BIG day in Finland. That’s when we have our Christmas dinner.

Then joulupukki (“Santa Claus”) comes personally to deliver the pressies to all the good, not too naughty people. Small kids are a bit scared and try to say they’ve been good, not naughty. Prompted by their eager parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles they’ll sing a special song for the “joulupukki” and help deliver the pressies.

Joulupukki (Yule bock), “Santa Claus”, “Father Christmas”, whatever he’s called around the world… He lives in Finnish Lapland and personally visits every Finnish, Swedish, Norwegian, Icelandicic and Danish home on Christmas Eve. You poor Brits only get the pressies under a tree, never meet the guy.

165. Les Wilson

Happy xmas and a great new year to STU and all his family, and to all wingers who have worked their butt off this year, I hope we all have cause to laugh in 2015.

166. Macart

Woo hooo!

Two bottles of malt. Lookin’ to be a very, very merry crimbo.

All the best folks. πŸ™‚

167. Haggis Hunter

All the best to you Stu, and to all the wingers and to all the peace loving people of the Independence movement of Scotland and the world.
    As it was my birthday recently I have 7 1/2 litres of Malt whisky in the cupboard, but what to attack first?
    Glenmorangie, MacAllans, Bunahabhainn, Jura, Aberlour or the beautiful Balvennie???

168. Haggis Hunter

Forgot about the Auld Poultney, that’s a cracker

169. David Smith

Got a Singleton to tackle here. Looking forward to that!

170. Stoker

Hope auld Lizzie and her parasitical family realise that they’re all in for another couple of annus horribilis’ over the next few years.
    πŸ˜‰
    Roll on 2015.

171. horacesaysyes

Merry Christmas Stuart, and to all contributors and posters here too.

172. Jim Bo

Happy Christmas to you Stu and all Wingers.
    Sincere thanks for your tireless efforts Rev. Wings is still my 1st and last port of call daily.

173. Ryan frampton

Merry Christmas Stu, have a nice one.

174. Brotyboy

My bit on Morecambe & Wise, from about 44.30 in;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b04wtpyq/morecambe-wise-in-pieces-5-the-sketches

Not the whole gag, just the final bit, but I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

175. hadrianswall

Merry Christmas. A chance to recharge the batteries and plan for the year ahead. 2014 was a mighty battle but the unionists did not have a conclusive victory. They will need to come back for another battle and we will be stronger.
    Keeping working on your friends and family. The fight goes on on.

176. Albaman

A very merry Christmas to you Stew, and everyone on this site, and boy, am I looking forwards to the New Year, when Stew and his thousands will be determined not to let any possibility of furthering our right to have our independent country, slip through our fingers again!.

177. Rock

hadrianswall,

“The fight goes on.”

No reconciliation until we are free – we were cheated out of victory. Don’t let the unionists forget that for one second.

Can we not impeach the purring queen in Scotland?

178. Paula Rose

@ Brotykiddie – so pleased for you xx

179. fred blogger

Brotyboy
    very funny.
    a double diamond.
    works wonders X3.
    so get one today.
    πŸ™‚

180. chicmac

Merry Christmas everybody and to lumilumi, don’t remember the correct spelling, but in phonetic English Hoo-va Yaoolooa.

181. Bob Mack

There is an old Scots saying which states “as lomg as you have a dozen pipers and a Highlander,you have a rebellion”.We have Rev Stu calling the tune and thousands of Wingers.Lets go

182. Brotyboy

@Paula

Thanks honey. So much for unfunny fuckers like Miranda Hart who claims to be a big fan and wasn’t even born when I wrote that letter.

183. heedtracker

Someone gave me a Scottish passport for my Xmas and its great too, I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. Anyhoo, dinosaur Jim Murphy wants hooch flogged at Scottish football matches like what they used to but rancid old Guardian report just now says,

“Leading doctors are demanding a ban on alcohol firms sponsoring sports clubs and events because they claim that the β€œoutrageous” practice is fuelling underage drinking by children.

The leaders of Britain’s nurses, A&E specialists and hospital doctors are among those urging ministers to outlaw the sort of deals that have seen Everton and Celtic football clubs agree multimillion pound tie-ups to advertise beer and cider brands on the front of their players’ shirts.”

What do medics know, Vote Slab’s Jim Murphy loyal Scots, sez teamGB, BBC, DailyHeil, Record, the puurring queen out of touch, from another era, clueless…

184. Thepnr

@Brotyboy

Just realised, you wrote that letter 44 years ago!

Merry Christmas yeh old gadgie πŸ™‚

185. Capella

For all the political anoraks out there, coasting after a fun day, here’s the Keiser Report Xmas edition interview with Russel Brand.
    http://rt.com/shows/keiser-report/217259-episode-max-keiser-697/

186. Brotyboy

@fred blogger

Hey, that’s going back. Reminds me of the Watney’s Party Seven we took around to parties in London from 1979 to 1983.

That fucker kept coming back to us, unopened.

187. Craig P

Haggis hunter – I’d have the Macallan first, tip the Glenmorangie into the car scooshers, and the rest ordered as to taste πŸ˜‰

188. M Mackintosh

Don’t often post here but read daily. Happy Christmas/Nollaig Chridheil to fellow believers in independence πŸ™‚

189. Craig

Merry Xmas Stu and to all the regular posters here

I hope you all had a lovely day with your loved ones, wishing you all the very best for 2015

190. KOF

@ Bob Mack 21:14

It only takes one set of pipes. πŸ˜‰

“Twelve clansmen and one bagpipe make a rebellion” – Attributed to Walter Scott.

191. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Rev Stu.

Hope your Christmas Day was all you wished for and here’s hoping you and the rat suffery* have a satisfying Hogmanay.

The new year will be brightened when you receive your late Christmas present of a few Wings related badges that we have produced over the past few months.

Onnyhoo, thanks for all the effort you have put into Scotland’s fight up till now and here’s to more of the same between now and May.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRSEiCkcvAc

192. Bob Mack

@KOF,
    Obliged ,Too many shorts I suppose.Anyway we’re up for the fight no matter how many

193. Joemcg

I remember that disconsolate terrible morning of the 19th passing through morningside, on the way to work the yes posters were still visible in windows but all the no posters were down immediately.Sums the cowards up in a nutshell.Total Shitebags.

194. mumsyhugs

Sorry I’m late to the party – but ‘virtual’ festive mumsyhugs and kisses to everyone, especially our main man Rev Stu xxx

195. Croompenstein

Sadly there are people who live among us, our families, our nearest and dearest who do not believe that our Scotland is a country. Free to make her own decisions and make her own way in this world for the good of all her people. The union has blinded our countrymen to this fate that we will never be able to be a sovereign nation.

Let us open their eyes and tell them that we have as much right to nationhood as all all others and that we will not turn our backs on our family. Stuart, I honestly dunno where we would be without you so please feel appreciated because by God you are. xx

196. nycgype

Here’s my year end WOS story. I started the year with little hope of Scotland becoming an independent country. I just couldn’t see it happening from my personal experience and the subtle media manipulation. Β  If nothing else, I have unwavering believe it’s much better to manage your own affairs that have another do it on your behalf and tried to put this point across as much as possible during the debate. As an aside, I am very much aware of the political aspect of behaviour.

I did look at Wings a few years back but, to be honest, I didn’t hang around long due to a combination of not liking the aesthetics, thinking it was a waste of time and lack of time due to kids. To put it in to some context, I had left Scotland 15 years earlier and worked in the City and Wall Street over that time. Although an interested bystander, I had been absent from Scottish life and poltical aspirations. Β That said, theΒ truth of working abroad is many of the Scottish friends I had over those times were vociferous and active supporters of independence. Β 

During the campaign I started to believe it could really happen and my life become absorbed by doing everything I could to further the cause. I campaigned relentlessly from afar on Facebook and lost a few No friends. WoS was my main resource for support of facts for my pursuit. Β I also started to contribute financially. Β I know we are biased here but that is a fact of life. I want my kids to understand that everything you read or hear is trying to manipulate your thought in some way. A fact I am very aware of after 8 years in the US.

I moved my family back here in just enough time to be eligible to vote. I was absolutely gutted by the vote and feared the usual dejectionΒ of being an Aberdeen/Scotland fan but what has happened so far has been completely unexpected. Β A realive and passion to continue what has started.Β 

I joined the SNP because I want a strong, united force in Westminster. Β I don’t particularly care for party politics but glad that voters in Scotland can see they are best served by politician’s elected by and answerable to them. Now I’m back I fully intend to get politically active to ensure this country looks after itself.

Wings, I raise a glass to you. You are very obviously a driving force behind this movement and relentlessly drive forward despite the criticism. You deserve all the abuse you receive fron the msm. I salute you sir.

Merry Xmas

197. John Young

So happy to receive the book ‘A Nation Decides’ as a wee pressie today. Some great photos and it had a large section called ‘The Referendum Kids’.

Pity it didn’t include the kids from Dumfries and Galloway and from Bathgate that did make a difference, thanks to Wings.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/smear-em-young/

Merry Christmas and so looking forward to 2015

198. Alex Clark

@nycgype

Great post, and the fact that it is from the heart is obvious. That’s all that matters,

Thank You.
    Alex

199. Robert Peffers

@nycgype says: 25 December, 2014 at 11:13 pm:

” … I have unwavering believe it’s much better to manage your own affairs that have another do it on your behalf … “

Aye! nycgype, me also – ‘cept I’ve believed that about Scotland since around 1946 when I was still a schoolboy. I’ve also believed that one day I would live in an independent Scotland and, believe me, it has often been hard to keep that belief. There have been many ups and many downs but, for some strange reason though, I have never felt the downs were too deep and the often painfully slow up progress was more an acceleration than a steady gain.

I’m not too sure now that I’m going to live long enough to see a free Scotland but more certain than ever she will indeed be free. So to everyone of independent mind, a Happy Christmas and a Guid Ne’year.

To all of a dependency and unionist mind … Humbug! Humbug! Humbug!

200. thoughtsofascot

Merry Christmas to all!

201. ronnie anderson

Thank goad this christmas is over all day long war war war oh there wiz a fitba match in between.

her Madjestic wants reconciliation,she,ll hey tae pit up wie the sillynation cause we,re leaving.

202. caledonia

Merry Yesmas to all

203. robertknight

Merry Christmas to all the 45ers from one who as of today regards himself as firmly in the Republican camp.

“Great disappointment” indeed. The only thing I’ve reconciled myself to, Ma’am, is accepting that the British Establishment, in all its guises, plays dirty.

204. nycgype

Robert Peffers – I read your comments on here regularly and appreciate your relentless drive for the natural state of independence. I hope we see it in your….mine…our childrens lifetime.

Merry Bloody Xmas to all

205. Lanarkist

Port and blue to all, Merry Christmas. ‘Hic’!

206. bugsbunny

Happy Boxing Day to one and all.

Stephen.

207. bugsbunny

“Most men and women will grow up to love their servitude and will never dream of Revolution”. Aldous Huxley.

Dedicated to the 55.3% of Sots who voted in the Referendum who voted NO.

Cowardly backstabbing scum.

Stephen.

208. Cadogan Enright

@bugsbunny – not a useful contribution – we need to win 5.4% of them, not put them off – but happy new year to you anyway

209. JBS

I didn’t see the Queen’s Xmas message, but it appears that she did not take the opportunity to abdicate after all. Who knows, maybe she is being kind to her subjects: maybe, for as long as she still can, she wishes to spare us the horror of King Charles III and Queen Camilla.

210. Ken500

The only reason to have the Monarchy as Head of State is because they are impartial, and do not interfere, as they are supposed to be. ie keep their mouths shut. If an unelected Monarch is going to interfere, that is not democratic. In that case it would be better to have an elected President who can be voted out if they interfere. Off with their heads.

The Referendum was supposed to be regulated the same way as a General Election. Clearly it was not, as undue influence was exerted by the Westminster establishment. Another important vote on the way to fiscal autonomy/Independence 7/5/15. Exciting times ahead.

There is still Oil wealth being deliberately surpressed by Westminster, by a too high taxation regime. Oil more than likely on the West coast. Do not be fooled again by Unionist liars, who want to secretly take it, to line their own pockets and make 1 in 39 people in London $millionaires. The march goes on with every beating heart. Thanks to all the medical staff who work over the festive season.

211. Ken500

The 1WW was caused by 3 Royal cousins falling out. Queen Victoria’s grandsons. Royal rivalry caused the 1WW. The UK Crown, the Kaiser and the Czar. Interdependent treaties before people had the full vote. 1914. It caused millions of deaths in Europe. The Royals caused it all. Absolute monarchies. Reconciliation? They caused it all. Hypocrites wandering about the poppies, looking sad. Greeting face, vacant coupon. Just a show. Diana liked a Muslim, that’s why she had to go. She had more go in her than the lot of them and cultivated the unscrupulous Press for revenge.
    Diana left Β£17Million. Divorced and passed it on, without inheritance tax?

The Royal family paid no tax for years. Tax evaded from Queen Victoria until the present day. That is why they have such a vast personal fortune of Β£300Million+. They cost Β£405Million a year, to run. They should slim down, and shut up or bow out.

The Royals do have a comedy value. Comedy Gold. They are an expensive joke. How many carriages does one person need. A new one, amid austerity? People are being starved to death in the UK and abroad. Illegal wars and Trident. The ‘impartial’ Royals should not be involved in illegal wars. That is interfering and illegal, under the Law.

212. Stoker

Ken500 says:
    “The only reason to have the Monarchy as Head of State is because they are impartial, and do not interfere,”

They have never been impartial and they have always interfered.

Ken500 says:
    “If an unelected Monarch is going to interfere, that is not democratic.”

No “State” with an unelected Monarch as its head can call itself a true democracy.

213. Fred

Good post Ken. Her Maj’s new coach door-handles are set with saphires, says it all really.
    Here’s a wee list of the rightful heirs to the British throne at present usurped by Lizzie Schleswig-Holstein Sonderburg-Glucksburg.

214. Fred

Too much port last night, missed the link,

http://jacobite.ca/kings/index.htm

215. HandandShrimp

Belated Merry Christmas to one and all πŸ™‚

216. Ken500

A Stste can be a democracy with a totally impartial monarch. There are arguments to support that, depending on the will of the people. Ie the people decide.

A monarch -figure head – who never, ever intervenes, which is what the Windsors are supposed to be. Obviously not! A completely impartial head of State, who doesn’t ever, ever intervene, can maintain and be impartial than an elected President does. An elected President can end up a lame duck President. In the US States when the will of the people ie the elected President can be outvoted by Congress/House of Representatives eg France. In Russia a President can change the rules to suit themselves, (although popular), an unpopular decision. Etc.

A totally impartial Monarch can be a Head of State, if that is the will of the people, and it can and easier and cheaper. A Referendum could sort it out. The Windsors are smooth operators that is why they have survived so long. The old Queen mother/Archbishop of Canterbury ruthlessly manipulated Elizabeth into the job. (Wallis Simpson etc) An utter snob. Then complained her husband’s death was the strain of the abdication. Complete hypocrites. The PR – illegal wars etc is astounding and manipulative.

For some people, especially older people, who have lived their lives throughout the ‘reign’ of Eliza, so they can have an attachment. There is definitely no such majority attachment in Scotland. A change of Monarch might do it. Push them over the edge. Da Snow was definitely their spokesman on the Referendum. He was being briefed and briefed the Press. People in Scotland were being manipulated. The Queen’s intervention, like other aspects of Westminster’s behaviour was illegal. Off with their heads.

The ‘Royal’ family should slim down and shut up, or bow out.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.