Brilliant!

2. cearc

Just wonderful.

3. Morgatron

What a toon. Spot on Chris. As mad as brushes. More tea anyone?

4. sassenach

Sums it all up in one! Delusionalidiots.

5. starlaw

Brilliant … Pity you could not get Trump in there along with them.

6. exile

I’m getting in early to say big “Thank You”s to Rev Stu for this site, to Chris for his brilliant cartoons and artistry, to Nana and colleagues for invaluable links, to posters from home and other countries – and to all those who make a positive and polite contribution to discussing Scotland’s future. You all keep my spirits up.

7. Clootie

…unfortunately too accurate a representation!

8. Macandroid

So good. Should be in the National.

9. Arthur Martin

Very good Chris, inspired by a work of fiction and fantasy I see. Much like the Tories Brexit policy and their desires for what they expect from the negotiations. This whole Brexit farce really is down the rabbit hole stuff. I hope the EU tells them to get stuffed, then as a result we get our richly deserved Independence and can get on with the job of rebuilding our Nation.

10. frogesque

All the world is mad except me an’ thee, an’ even thee’s a bit mad.

11. Dorothy Devine

Exile , ditto!

12. Marker Post

“The rule is, jam tomorrow and jam yesterday—but never jam to-day.”

Great cartoon, Chris.

13. cearc

Marker Post,

Innovative jam, please. (Let’s hope they get some pickers or the innov crop will be rotting in the orchards).

14. Bill

It is deliberate as planned from the outset, a hard brexit no deal was always the intention. The “best” part is when they shut down our Scottish Parliament. Scotland will never become independent by legal means.

All this nonsense is just the result of that bloody No vote, delivered to us by a plethora of voters with ridiculous reasons for voting No.

A work colleague who voted No said it was due to “insufficent information from SNP”, yes I nearly fainted. The work colleague who has plans to live in New Zealand! Just vote No then fuck off to the country of your birth.

The old people, the loyalists (impoverished neds), English, EU citizens et al, each demographic can easily be blamed but thats not something I’d condone.

Anyone believeing that we can hold any type of referendum after March 2019 and it be recognised by Westminster is as deluded as the British Brexit Team.

If only we were as brave as the Irish.

15. Bob Mack

A picture can indeed speak a thousand words Chris. You just proved it.Brilliant.

16. MajorBloodnok

Aha, Brilliant.

Makes you reaslise that all 10/6 man does after he meets Barnier is a bit of premature futterwacken.

17. Highland Wifie

Exile 7.33
    Couldn’t agree more. We need them all to keep us going.

Another belter Chris. Down the rabbit hole right enough.

18. Kate McLaren

I love the fact that you quite frequently hear commentators and the like saying “breakfast” when they meant to say “Brexit”.

19. Street Andrew

Nice one Chris.

Another gem.

20. Iain mhor

I add my applause, quite ingeniously sardonic -Bravo!

21. Puzzled Puss

Brilliant cartoon which sums up the whole sorry mess. Is it just me, or does Auntie Theresa, as portrayed here, look a lot like Richard Leonard? Are they by any chance related? I think we should be told!

I’ll get my tinfoil hat.

22. Bill McLean

They missed the “dog’s” bit off Kate!

23. Grouse Beater

When looking for a mixture of mad logic, delusion, and child-like fantasy, Chris, you can’t beat mathematician and child photographer Lewis Carroll. He’s another reverend, you know. I’ll fetch my dog collar.

Your essential weekend reading:

More adventures in Lala Land: https://wp.me/p4fd9j-meU
    Your VW cost a monkey’s life: https://wp.me/p4fd9j-mli

24. PictAtRandom

Thair tea’s oot.

But it was tariff free.

25. heedtracker

Lovely. If you’re not a tory or a yoonster, this is what teamGB politics feels like every bloody UKOK day, even just tuning in to a BBC Scotland teatime news madhouse once in a while.

26. Ottomanboi

La commedia è finita? You aint seen nothin yet!
    Come hell or highwater we must flee this madness.
    The very idea that Scotland/Alba might still be part of a post Brexit entity is viscerally abhorrent.

27. jfngw

The Brexit cabinet seems to have been designated as part of EVEL as there seems to be nobody from a constituency outside England. Are we to take it that Brexit is now a devolved matter for the SG, I would go along with that.

The United Kingdom, You’ve got to laugh!

28. Tinto Chiel

The usual eagle eye for detail, Chris.

Lovely to see 10/6d again: proper “British money”, not like that foreign decimal muck we’ve been forced to use since the 70s.

Meanwhile DD tilts his head back wistfully and dreams of finding a suitable boy to send up a chimney…..

29. ronnie anderson

Brexit Breakfast bare table , who’s that in the teapot Chris Ross Thomson lol I’m a little tosspot pour me out . Great toon once again Chris .

30. PictAtRandom

Continuing on a childish theme:

“To(r)ys R Us is expected to tumble into administration next week after last ditch talks to find a buyer faltered.

The move will put 3,200 jobs at risk and follows the recent decision by its bankrupt American parent to try to sell the loss-making UK business as well its other European stores.”

Source: The Girniad

31. Bob Mack

The more I look the more I see. The white rabbit looking at his watch saying “I’m late ,I’m late for a very important date”

Yes it’s called Brexit and your all late..

32. Calum McKay

The EU negotiators must wake up each morning thinking its their birthday, each morning they have an increasingly bigger and better present.

brexit, the gift that keeps on giving!

Words have been exhausted on how inept the uk is, but they manage to scrape by as their ineptitude is glossed over by bbc and press. However, the chickens are coming home in the next two weeks.

Scotland is not at the top EU table for negotiations, neither is it at the top uk table. Our worth as a nation in the eyes of the uk is zero.

Rather than accept the returning EU powers, the Scottish Government should publicly rejected them on the dual basis of lack of trust in the uk government and that the Scottish people did not vote for brexit. This should be done at the point where it will cause maximum embaressment for the uk government with Scotland’s EU partners.

33. slackshoe

This is outstanding, but I would have had Boris as the mad hatter.

34. liz

Terrific Chris, down the rabbit hole we go.

35. heedtracker

Lovely to see 10/6d again: proper “British money”, not like that foreign decimal muck we’ve been forced to use since the 70s.

Oi! TeamGB went decimal long before joining the EU, if that’s what you meant:D

36. heedtracker

Colonel Ruth in Wondertoryland

https://stv.tv/news/politics/1408975-scottish-tories-will-launch-bid-to-form-next-government/

Stinky old The Graun’s Brexit for Scotland coverage is amazing today too. Its great how UKOK hackdom really keeps Scots all so informed indepthly all the time.

http://archive.is/EJTfm

Winter sun on the Somerset Levels. Temperatures are likely to fall below zero from Sunday night. Photograph: Matt Cardy/Getty Images
    Spring has been postponed as the “beast from the east” brings the UK its coldest end to winter in five years, the Met Office has said.

Freezing temperatures, snow showers and “bitingly cold” winds are expected to last until at least 1 March, the date that spring officially starts according to the meteorological calendar.

Parts of south-east England could well be colder than the north pole this weekend, as forecasters predict that the Arctic could rise above freezing point during the polar night for the first time in recorded history.

Freezing air from Siberia is expected to cover the UK this weekend and remain there for all of next week, bringing significant and disruptive snowfall.

The Arctic blast, nicknamed “the beast from the east”, will cause temperatures to drop below zero from Sunday night, with some areas experiencing lows of -8C (17.6F), and snow forecast to fall in London and the east of England

Guardian Today: the headlines, the analysis, the debate – sent direct to you, not you though The Graun scotland region.

37. Fred

Excellent “Long Letter” in today’s National anent the mass hysteria & fraud of Billy Graham’s rally in the Kelvin Hall all those years ago, as experienced by 12 year old Peter Kerr of Kilmarnock. It put him off religion for life. His elders should have known better!

38. Dan Huil

Superbly drawn.

“Curiouser and curiouser!” as Mrs Merkel might say.

39. handclapping

Surely its John Tenniel not Carroll?

40. Graf Midgehunter

Dan Huil

“Curiouser and curiouser!” as Mrs Merkel might say.

“Kurioser und kurioser, die Engländer sind ein merkwürdiges Volk” as Mrs Merkel would be more likely to have said.

(merkwürdig = rather strange people..!) 😉

41. Footsoldier

Lack of accountability at Cairngorm Mountain who want more public money. See the story here: http://parkswatchscotland.co.uk/2018/01/30/hie-not-control-going-cairngorm/

42. Thepnr

Excellent toon Chris.

Alice does look slightly puzzled as she listens to the rest of them sitting round the table talking nonsense. Very much what the real thing must have been like.

43. PictAtRandom

Footsoldier says:
    24 February, 2018 at 12:00 pm

Lack of accountability at Cairngorm Mountain who want more public money. See the story here: http://parkswatchscotland.co.uk/2018/01/30/hie-not-control-going-cairngorm/

Well,that’s one of Lord Beaker’s former employers. As for the other…

44. manandboy

Just when I think I have the measure of your talents, Chris, you go and exceed it. You appear able to access both inspiration and genius as and when required. Well done you!

45. Bill and Ben

Reminds me of the words of that old song

The parties over, its time to call it a day, lol

46. Dan Huil

Keep the britnats in Alice-in-wonderland. We have reality.

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2018/02/23/we-own-the-future/comment-page-1/#comment-57610

47. Robert Kerr

You all missed it Wingers. The top hat is for Rees-Mogg and is actually priced at “half a guinea”

I quote from Wiki.

“Even after the coin ceased to circulate, the name guinea was long used to indicate the amount of 21 shillings (£1.05 in decimalised currency). The guinea had an aristocratic overtone; professional fees and payment for land, horses, art, BESPOKE TAILORING, furniture and other luxury items were often quoted in guineas until a couple of years after decimalisation in 1971”

48. Robert J. Sutherland

They’re usually very good, Chris, but this one is ace.

It’s eerily descriptive of what we are actually living through right now. Life as absurdist fiction – we are in BritNat Wonderland.

We need to get out PDQ and back to some kind of sanity.

49. Valerie

Great toon, Chris. So very apt.

Don’t know how others feel, but I find the direction of travel very scary. Nothing seems to permeate this Brexit fantasy, and I keep remembering more, that a few commentators forecast, the plan has always been to crash out, with the arrogant Tories believing the EU will come crawling.

Now we see Netherlands recruiting Customs Officers! The Tories are providing window dressing with these stupid speeches, because NOTHING has been said with them. May threatened EU on security AGAIN.

Just read the Brexit war cabinet met at Chequers for 8 hours, 3 of which was spent on Brexit!!!!??? Most of the academic commentators are in complete disbelief at what is being said, the lies etc.

I stupidly dipped into this week’s episode of QT, which was nothing short of a lynch mob.

Tories are angry and condemning Stormzy, because he asked – where is the money for Grenfell? Don’t call them out.

Can we wait much longer to get in the lifeboats?

50. Bob Mack

The UK is currently run by the power of the mob. Romans did it, Germany did it ,and Italy and many others did it. Even the Queen of hearts did it.

If we don’t start fighting back the mob via their politicians will win. I think the problem is lack of voice and Co- ordination. As for fracking. If that comes to pass I think I will be spending time in HMP Barlinnie because I am not going to stand by and do nothing.

51. manandboy

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2018/feb/23/eu-pours-cold-water-on-uk-hopes-of-chequers-brexit-breakthrough?utm_source=esp&utm_medium=Email&utm_campaign=GU+Today+main+NEW+H+categories&utm_term=265380&subid=9041437&CMP=EMCNEWEML6619I2#img-1

There is a picture in the article referenced in the above link showing Donald Tusk scratching his head and looking infinitely baffled at the UK’s Brexit statements. In one look he sums up everything that has happened since the EU Referendum.

I would suggest that his and Europe’s knowledge of the English Ruling class is about to be extended by this latest chapter in the history of Perfidious Albion.

I suspect that naivety toward Westminster is rife in Europe, as it is in Scotland. In both cases, smart clothes and grooming, coupled with wealthy charm and an English Home Counties accent, is more than enough to camouflage the treacherous nature of the British Establishment and its political wing at Westminster.

52. Proud Cybernat

LOLMAGEDDON

Curling bronze play-off.

Caroline Chapman, BBC Reporter: “The vocal Scottish man from across the arena has just shouted ‘BBC, CAN YOU HEAR ME?’ Loud and clear, Sir. Loud and clear. Trust me.”

Aye – we see you too, BBC.

Scots lassies currently leading Japan 3-2 after 6 ends.

53. wee bud

Am I being petty being drawn to supporting the Japanese team who aren’t wearing union jack earings? The Brits adopt them every four years then we see nothing of them.. Can’t remember last time I’ve seen the world championships on council tv!!

54. Abulhaq

Alice asked the Cheshire Cat who was sitting in a tree “What road do I take?”

The cat asked, “Where do you want to go?”

“I don’t know ” answered Alice.

“Then, said the cat, it really doesn’t matter, does it?”
    ? Lewis Carroll

55. Hamish100

Enjoy the curling on the big BBC 1 channel.

Once we are back to Scotland playing you won’t hear a thing for 4 more years (if we are still ? brits- detest that term)

56. Ken MacColl

Great cartoon but did Fluffy not get an invitation to the Mad Hatter’s tea party? Just asking!

57. Artyhetty

Fabulous image Chris, spot on. I saw it and thought, brilliant! It looks like Alice sat on something nasty, oops!

Re:Proud cybernat@12.50

I saw on twitter that a bbc reporter said the ‘Scottish women’s curling team lost, but the team GB curling could still win’. I thought Scotland didn’t exist at the bbc these days, oh, wait. Also a guy re; team GB reporting said ‘didn’t we do well, considering we are a nation with NO SNOW’! FFS.
    Not even subtle about their bias and lies are they.

58. Capella

I see there is no Scottish representation at the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party, though the NI Sec got an invite. It’s on The National front page and tweet here:

https://twitter.com/ScotNational/status/967382855448895489

Spot on as ever, Chris.

59. Meg merrilees

O/T GB just came fourth in the Olympic curling – Japan took the bronze… wait for it, can see the headlines now…

Scotland’s women lost the bronze for GB

Well played both teams, you done us proud!

60. Meg merrilees

Not sure if my post 5 minutes ago has posted -I Commented that GB had just come fourth to Japan, expecting to read…
    Scotland’s women lost the olympic medal for team GB

AND NOW:

BBC Website 2 minutes ago:

…”At 4-3 with the last shot of the match, skip Muirhead had a chance to either level and take the match to an extra end, or go for the two scores that would have earned Britain bronze.

But the Scot misjudged her effort, with Japan taking the final point.” ( my italics)

61. Robert Peffers

Just as a counterbalance to Chris Cairns, always brilliant, perception of Englander politicians here is what Tracy Ullman thinks about Scotland’s First minister Nicola Sturgeon and MP Mhari Black.

Mind you to produce a video clip with all the required sets, make-up, wardrobe, scripting and technical equipment required is considerably much more expensive to produce but it does demonstrate that when it comes to poking fun the unionists prove they have the superior resources – much of which are pauchled from Scotland in the first place.

Ms Ullman, who holds duel UK/USA citizenship has rather a long list of such videos on YouTube I wonder, (cough!), what her political allegiances are? (cough!).

(You unionist propaganda disna hauf gie ye a richt sair throat).

Mind ye it is quite funny but.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9eV5TbEydy0

Anyone care to comment?

62. Hamish100

Is there any truth that leading up to the brexit talks at chequers the tory pro brexit council “leaders” were all down in London putTing their tuppence worth in?

If true it just reinforces the absence of democratic control in Scotland and RUK. A SMALL cabal of right wing tories working in the shadows with the right wing DUP to force on Scotland something they did not want.
    No West Lothian question necessary it is the Westminster dictat.

63. Robert Peffers

@myself

That last bit should read, “Yon Unionist Propaganda”, seems that stupid predictive text thingy doesn’t speak Scots and has turned itself back on again.

I though just turning it off once would be enough but, no, there it is back again.

64. geeo

Brilliant cartoon as ever…well played !!
    Not enough superlatives for Chris Cairn’s work !

Re the curling…i dont care there were no medals when they represent “team GB”, i prefer to think, “come home agent Scotscurlingteams, your work is done”..hehe.

65. heedtracker

From the same, the exact same beeb gimps that made Nige Fuhrage a UKOK household name…

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-43175201

The UK’s approach to the next stage of Brexit negotiations seems to be based on “pure illusion”, Donald Tusk says.

The European Council president told a news conference in Brussels that the UK was still trying to “cherry pick” its future relationship with the EU.”

You have to question the moral compass of tory votes, but what on earth is our neo fascist BBC up to, really. I mean fair enough, self preservation society BBC Scotland gimpery makes sense, Scotland’s nascent democracy is an appalling anathema to everyone in Pacific Quay, we get it.

But what did the EU ever do to the average beeb gimp, not the rich top beeb creeps like Andrew Neil but your average day to day SNP out beeb ligger?

66. Phil

What exile said this morning …

67. Scot Finlayson

`Mad hatter` disease, or mad hatter syndrome, was an occupational disease among hatmakers, caused by chronic mercury poisoning through the process of curing skins and felt for hats,

even though the link between toxic mercury and madness was known the industrialists still forced workers to use it,

mercury is what the tooth filling amalgam is made from,

which the EU and WHO is trying to phase out,

if there is nothing wrong with having mercury in your mouth why phase it out?

68. Tatu3

Totally OT but nice to see Scotland mentioned in a positive way in The Guardian for a change

http://archive.is/KRKNz

69. call me dave

@Tatu

Good spot!

Spot on with the cartoon. 🙂

70. Cactus

Are you going… are you going to the tea party?

Absolute fannies the lot of them.

The UK’s representatives.

Milk n two.

71. Valerie

@ Robert Peffers

I always thought Tracey Ullman worked better with some talent around her.

That whole shortbread shtick is a very easy, cheap shot. Not much imagination needed for those sketches.

I think its harmless rubbish, although I personally don’t like seeing our FM lampooned, or diminished, so I dont find it funny.

Just my opinion.

72. Simon Curran

@ Meg Merrilees
    Same thing happened with Elise Christie, when she was contesting for a medal she was a Brit. When she crashes out she’s a Scot. Sometimes I think I’m paranoid but there does seem to be an agenda.

73. sinky

Once again Bbc sub titles miss out And be the nation again from Scotland national anthem. Thought it was a one-off last time but seems Scotland being a nation is not in the BBCs vocabulary

74. jfngw

@Robert Peffers

I don’t worry about impersonators, it highlights that the FM is making an impact across the UK. they wouldn’t do this if she wasn’t. You couldn’t imagine them ever doing Jack McConnell, even when he was FM.

Comedians having a go at you just goes with the territory, I don’t think most politicians mind, apart from the vain ones. I suspect Thatcher liked her Spitting Image portrayal.

Ullman seemed a bit of a Labourite in her younger days, but she is a good bit wealthier now so who knows.

75. ronnie anderson

https://www.facebook.com/ronald.anderson.1675/posts/739120036294104?pnref=story EGO”S have landed once again GrassRoots Independence Movement HAS no Leader altho many would like to take charge of the GrassRoots Movement for their own political ends . it wont happen .

As ah wee aside Pamela Nash & her troop of lier’s are leafleting in Airdrie , spent 10 mins with ( they haven’t a clue person ) at the front door , same message Austerity SNP Baad . Might have another Lurker on Wings lol.

76. sinky

O/t 80 minute nationalists in full voice at Murrayfield

77. Cactus

This posting is about rugby

Half time.

+ 6

“They agreed to 6 impossible things before breakfast”

Yes 🙂

78. auld highlander

The mad hatters tea party, very good indeed.

For those of you with a creative and wicked streak there is a nice wee caption generator site on the web featuring the pink newscaster lady and a dictator from the past. You will have about 50 seconds of time to get your own back on whoever if you get my drift and publish the video on the web.

79. Cactus

Scotland WINS YYYYYAAAAASSSSS!!!!!

Enjoy your ‘T’ party, Glasgow!

It feels good to WIN!

The Calcutta Cup!

Swally-ho!

Yes!

X.

80. Highland Wifie

Sooo happy tonight.
    Well done Scotland.

81. yesindyref2

Yuss!

Free drinks for Scots in Ireland too 🙂

82. Welsh Sion

You’ve raised a glass to me and my compatriots before today – so permit me to raise one tonight for my 2nd favourite nation in the 6 nations!

(Esp. after defeating you-know-who!)

83. Graeme McCormick

We’ve beaten mediocrity; now for the Irish !

84. Breeks

Terrific news! Team GB has beaten England at the rugby.

85. Dr Jim

Oh the pain the embarresment the torture the nightmare will it never end for Yoonworld
    After Scotland beating them at everything else Scotland’s now beaten them at the rugby, there urnae enough hankies in the world that’ll soak up their boak

Looking forward to all Englands inventive excuses now

Just going to check in with the FM to see how much abuse they’re hurling at her that’s always a clear sign of the level of hatred and contempt in which they hold Scotland

86. Proud Cybernat

Well done Scotland, er, Team GB.

87. Macart

Ms Balding won’t be happy. (cough)

Also. This newsflash from the constabulary.

https://twitter.com/polscotcontrol/status/967469776724549635

88. galamcennalath

Fiction true to reality!

In the book, the Cheshire Cat considers both the Hare and Hatter to be totally mad. In Chris’s version, based on reality of course, I think we can assume the Cheshire Cat is ‘away with the fairies’ too!

At the Mad Tea Party the Hatter presents a riddle “why is a raven like a writing desk?”

After some debate, the Hatter admits he hasn’t a clue what the answer is!

In Chris’s real world Mad Party the Hatter doesn’t have answers either!

The Dormouse is a dozy bu99er … fictional and real life.

89. yesindyref2

Rugby – I’m delighted for Finn Russell too, there were a few clowns in the media talking him down this last couple of weeks. He’s a win maker, so what if he has the odd few mistakes?

Solid discipline.

90. Hamish100

Scotland won!!

Thanks to the leadership of tank commander and him wi the beard

Naaaw they are probably greetin in there union underwear. Not a pretty sight.

Never say never.

91. Effijy

Wonderful result for Scotland beating their colonial masters, a country rich in plundered resources, enjoying better weather conditions, a massive population, a £2.5 million Rugby training centre, and all the biased media support anywhere on the planet.

The joy was tainted by a complete arse licker of a commentator with a Scottish accent.

His main focus seemed to be on when England’s finest would start scoring and how great they where with only 14 men??

Can’t wait for Scotland to have independence and its own Scotland first media.

92. yesindyref2

@Effijy
    Actually he was right, it often happens when a team has a player sent to the sin bin they score, when it should be the other way around. But solid defence from Scotland.

93. Old Pete

Wonder how many ‘Scots but’ were singing ‘Flower of Scotland’ at the rugger.
    Pity most of the fans and players are 80 minute Scots, always sours the victories a wee bit.
    Would be brilliant if next year we were cheering a victory over England by a newly reborn Scotland, absolutely brilliant.

94. Sinky

I am reliably informed that Gregor Townsend was an SNP supporter as a student and player but like others had to disguise that to advance in an Brit Nat environment envernoment if he wanted to advance his career prospects

95. dakk

Just watched match after being kept late by needy Yoon customers.

Scotland were brilliant to a man.

Nephew was mascot for match.

Last time we won Calcutta Cup was year of his birth.

Lucky mascot indeed.Lucky Cameron 🙂

96. Artyhetty

Just reported a guy on twitter, says he is a reporter, somewhere south Eng, called Jeff Nicols he is disgusting, has made some disgusting comments re Scotland, absolutely atrocious and seems he is not alone in his utter hatred of all things Scottish not least Scottish people, and sharing it on twitter. they are livid about Scotland winning the rugby, watch yourselves any Scottish folk in England tonight. Really.

It’sad to think these people are that full of hate, it’s why we need out of their disgusting UK.

Well done Scotland’s fab rugby team!! So happy for you and for Scotland. Just brilliant.

97. yesindyref2

@Sinky
    I’m not going to mention names, but from interviews with the players, there’s a good few seem to be Indy supporters, just the words they use, the way they put things.

And if anyone has ever done a survey amongst rugby fans to see how many are YES and NO, it’s news to me, no reason to think they’re WE’RE any different from non-rugby fans.

98. jfngw

England lose, BBC presenter immediately wants to analyse the referees performance. Wow are these people bad losers or what.

99. louis.b.argyll

At about 7,
    BBC news had it’s Calcutta Cup match report over and done in a quarter of the time devoted to the Ireland v Wales report..which was naturally first because it was played earlier.

I wonder what wonders we would have gotten, had UK won.

Also, in the BBC pundits studio:-
    Guests
    1 x Scotsman
    1 x Irishman
    2 x Englishman
    Presenter
    1 x John Inverdale

100. ScottieDog

@Artyhetty
    I saw the Jeff Nicols tweet. Best to just ignore it. Lot of folk rose to the bate.
    Incredible the complaints about the ref and such a short memory considering the TMO decisions that robbed wales against England last week.
    Pleased for the team. I find it hard to visit BT (Better Together) Murrayfield since indyref.

Only thing I would say about tactics was the decision to be more conservatIve after half time. That allowed England to regroup. A bit risky.

101. McDuff

Exactly so Louis.
    3 Englishmen and 1 Scot which is them saying “we are in charge“ . They would rather have an Irishman from the Republic than an extra Scot.

102. Legerwood

louis.b.argyll says:
    24 February, 2018 at 8:40 pm

Channel 4 news at 6.30 pm had the same running order as BBC news – Scotland game second. Actually I was quite surprised they mentioned it at all but I guess since they were playing England they had to mention it.

Great result for Scotland.

103. Bobp

Did that passion at murrayfield today convince you PSB’s. That ‘yes we can?

104. ScottieDog

@yesindyref2
    “Rugby – I’m delighted for Finn Russell too, there were a few clowns in the media talking him down this last couple of weeks. He’s a win maker, so what if he has the odd few mistakes?”

Exactly, I remember Townsend used to get pelters too about his decisions at 10.. He was an instinctive and bloody great player and so is Finn. I remember Toony got moved to centre such was the conservative nature of the Scottish game.

105. Bobp

Louis b argyll. Nae wonderin if uk/Britain had won. Wall to wall engerland supremacy. Scotland sh**e as usual.
    Get it right up them.

106. Robert Peffers

@Valerie says: 24 February, 2018 at 4:33 pm:

“I always thought Tracey Ullman worked better with some talent around her.”

Agreed, which was what I was diplomatically hinting at with the bit about, wardrobe, makeup etc.

“I think its harmless rubbish, although I personally don’t like seeing our FM lampooned, or diminished, so I dont find it funny.”

Neither do I when another nations people are doing it. It is one thing poking fun at yourselves but quite another when another countries people do it and the English have their dig at just about every other nation on Earth.

I worked all my working life in a predominantly English workforce who always got very upset and angry at the slightest hint of banter directed at the English but if another national was upset by the English peoples lampoons their claim was that it was just harmless banter.

107. Dorothy Devine

Were’nt they just bloody marvellous!

had to do the spasmodic watching thingy , same method I use for watching Andy Murray .

Well done boys and onwards and upwards!

108. Capella

From Stu’s twitter:
    Gregor Townsend says the FM @nicolasturgeon was in the dressing room drinking champagne from the Calcutta Cup. Princess Anne too!

https://twitter.com/STVColin/status/967487257128177664

109. yesindyref2

I think Pete Wishart stirred things up a bit after all:

It is fair to say, this was a very special moment! Well done to @gregortownsend and all of our bravehearts in @Scotlandteam #proud #AsOne

https://twitter.com/NicolaSturgeon/status/967488382355075073

hehe

110. Bobp

Robert peffers 9.20pm.been there as well and wore the t.shirt. went in to work one day to a lorry production factory outside London many years ago. Australia had just won the ashes. I wore an Aussie hat with the swinging corks.(cos I can take it as well as dishing it. They didn’t like it up them. har har.

111. Scot Finlayson

First half was the best 40mins of rugby ever by a Scottish team,

England looked like muscle heavy thugs without any free thinking or intelligence where Scotland looked so much quicker of thought and faster on their feet.

112. Meg merrilees

Brilliant rugby match today – what a fantastic score. Even my 93 year old Auntie was singing her heart out.. flower of scotland etc…Well done those lads in the blue strip – such a sweet win.

love the remarks ” Team GB won the Calcutta Cup” too subtle for most southerners.

113. Fireproofjim

Scott Finlayson @10.22
    Yes, the Scots were quick, agile and played intelligently against a slow cumbersome team that heavily outweighed them.
    A bit like a battle in 1314 really.

114. Fireproofjim

Watched the curling bronze medal match today. A sad Eve Muirhead said she intends to work hard for the next Olympics in four years.
    It occurred to me that she could be representing Scotland in Tokyo.
    Meanwhile Steve Cram, who otherwise was a not bad commentator, said of the Canadians “when you have invented a game it is hard to accept that you don’t even qualify for the semis.”
    Not knowing that curling is as Scottish in its origins as golf, and is the world’s oldest team game, going back to the 1500s. Should know better.

115. Still Positive

Well done to the Scottish Rugby team.
    A good win for us.

116. Cactus

Ah’ve ended up in an Orange Hall in Bearsden ahhh hahaha…

They’re all fucked up… they dinnae ken whit tae do.

Hehe said Michael Jackson, iScotland aye.

How does that champagne taste Nicola?

SO sweet as fuck!

We own 12am.

It’s funny.

SCo.

X.

117. yesindyref2

Woooah, Scotland gone up from 7th to 5th (84.43 points) in world rankings if I this is right:

https://rawling.github.io/wr-calc/

Rough guess if Scotland beats Ireland, that could put us up to 4th just above Australia (unless they’re playing).

https://www.worldrugby.org/rankings/explanation

I’m a sucker for nu3bers.

118. Cactus

It’s happy Sunday.

25 vs 13.

Got an invite furra party.

They are all Absolute Fannies.

Weel done Cutty Sark.

Love rugby xx.

119. Cactus

Aye must make a correction…

Twas a masonic lodge Ronnie.

You know.

Champagne Nicola 🙂

120. Cactus

Correction again…

Not Bearsden.

Milngavie.

X.

121. Cactus

Party jist aff Craigton Road..

Scotland.

Call me…

122. Liz g

Cactus @ 12.27
    Don’t you go picking up any bad habits noo!

123. Macart

@Cactus

You have a good one Cactus and be safe. 🙂

I may have had the odd tinct.. glasszz… drin… hawf masel’.

124. Cactus

The trooser leg is doon.

Twat was ages ago now.

Taps aff!

X.

125. Cactus

Rock on Scotland.

Hey Hey!

Aye can’t get enough of U baby.

Planet ROCK!

126. Cactus

Hey Macart n Liz g…

Mwah!

Scotland rules Ok.

Cristal FM.

127. Cactus

Three things…

1) We kick ass.

2) Ra Monday Club will be popular.

3) iScotRef is nearing.

In fact… It’s quickening.

128. Cactus

4) Lots of new Scottish babies were created yesterday.

You know who you are.

Evening.

129. louis.b.argyll

Cactus sleeps. Dry, prickly, unfazed.

yesindyref2 says: 12:03 am

Woooah, Scotland gone up from 7th to 5th (84.43 points) in world rankings if I this is right:

Imagine a future where we control ALL our faculties. Like other nations do.

130. Robert Peffers

@yesindyref2 says: 25 February, 2018 at 12:03 am:

“I’m a sucker for nu3bers.”

Aye! yesindyref2, and so are the USAsian Neoliberals and their camp followers in the south United Kingdom.

Here is the explanation as to why these greedy, overly rich, Westminster Establishment leaders are so keen to impose BRUKEXIT upon the people of both the south and the North United Kingdom.

USAsian billionaire Warren Buffet says his conglomerate has received a profit boost of $29billion as a result of President Donald Trump’s Tax Reforms. The Republican tax reform, approved in in December, cut the corporate tax rate to 21% from 35%.

To his credit Mr Buffet, one of the World’s richest men, opposed the tax rate cut.

Such tax cuts, so beloved by the Westminster Establishment USA camp followers, obviously increase the personal wealth of these neoliberals but just what is it that motivates the mainly Tory voting Electorate in Middle England?

I can only conclude it is the typically, “Little Englander”, xenophobic attitudes of that English electorate for these corporate tax cuts certainly do not benefit them or the rest of those who are not filthy rich throughout the rest of the so called, “United Kingdom”.

131. heedtracker

To his credit Mr Buffet, one of the World’s richest men, opposed the tax rate cut.

America has much the same media as UK, just like the BBC, endlessly brainwashing people to vote against their own interests. Its tory propaganda what wins it, here and across the pond.

Its also why so much of our BBC vote tory propaganda focuses so heavily on the USA, vested interests, to get us to vote against ours.

A good rolling example of how it all works is watching the BBC really struggle to report the ongoing FBI investigation into Trump collusion with Putin and Trump’s endless sex scandals. You never attack your allies basically, on planet toryboy.

132. heedtracker

eg

Still to hear any BBC Scotland report this Brexit level wtf. Why are massed ranks of beeb Scotland gimps not reporting to Scotland like this? because there’s been a murder…

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/classified-report-shows-brexit-will-hit-ireland-worse-than-uk-1.3403601?mode=amp

133. Abulhaq

Anent the rugby:
    Vive l’Écosse!
    Vive l’Écosse LIBRE!
    Slàinte mhath dhuibh….ENJOY!

134. Abulhaq

Anent the rugby:
    Vive l’Écosse!
    Vive l’Écosse LIBRE!
    Slàinte mhath dhuibh….ENJOY!

135. Indy2

As I have said before, I don’t read any posts from the resident Trolls like Heedy and Peffers and that they have ruined a perfectly good forum,

And who are the latest posts from?

Heedy and Peffers.

So that’s me off to converse with fellow Scots who are not Trolls and who don’t bore the arse off me.

136. Grouse Beater

Incurable English racist newspaper reporter’s tweet goes straight to Number I of ‘Mortification Alley’: https://wp.me/p4fd9j-mg8

137. heedtracker

Indy2 says:
    25 February, 2018 at 10:23 am
    As I have said before, I don’t read any posts from the resident Trolls like Heedy and Peffers and that they have ruined a perfectly good forum,

Funny thing happened on the way to the forum indy2.

Don’t go, just report troll me to the blog owner. Its that simple.

All good fun indy2. Look at stinky olde The Graun today, they say that God also, is SNP out.

http://archive.is/GlYBh

“Recent utterances by assorted SNP politicians have hinted at something more sinister. Mhairi Black, darling of the Scottish Nationalists, used the term “plastic Irishmen” to dismiss people who criticised her over an earlier (though mild) indiscretion. Her colleague Roseanna Cunningham talked about people making the sign of the cross “in an aggressive manner”. Perhaps they were wearing scary clown masks. Tommy Sheppard, one of the most respected Westminster MPs, attended a Humanist Society fringe gathering at last year’s SNP conference where he called on people to “chip away” at the “power of organised religion” within Scotland’s school system.”

God’s a tory unionist indy2, just like you:D

138. louis.b.argyll

Heedtracker,
    ‘..endlessly brainwashing people to vote against their own interests. Its tory propaganda what wins it, here and across the pond.’

Sad, but true.

It’s unacceptable that so many UK/US citizens don’t know enough about what they’re actually voting for.

The human race, with it’s (hundreds of) nations, their unique cultures and pressing environmental concerns,
    .. HAS BEEN SIDELINED BY CONSERVATIVE OWNED CORPORATE GREED AND WAR FOR TOO LONG NOW.

It’s not about economic growth, based on the desire to be richer.

It’s about survival, logistics, foodchain, standards, progression and evolution to more efficient more democratic systems.

AND YET ‘WE’ PUT FINANCIAL ADVISERS
    ‘IN CHARGE’ OF GOVERNMENTS AND COUNCILS.

They put all our eggs in one basket.
    (creating reliance on debt)

What we now need is a new basket.
    (f?ck the broken eggs)

The future is an omelette! I’m in.

139. gus1940

For SALE:-

50 Million England 2018 Grand Slam Sweaters.

Would look good framed alongside similar 1990 one – otherwise would make good loft insulation.

140. galamcennalath

Excellent article from Fintan O’Toole who normally writes for The Irish Times, from the Guardian.

“The Brexit vision that reveals England’s perfidy over Ireland …… the driving force in Brexit is a specifically English nationalism for which the rest of the UK is ultimately dispensible. “

http://archive.is/VcqS9

141. Les Wilson

gus1940 says:

that gave me a laugh Gus.

142. heedtracker

The future is an omelette! I’m in.

We in Scotland are at the front line of another extraordinary toryboy propaganda war, on Scottish democracy basically and ofcourse, its BBC Scotland leading the charge.

You can compare and contrast beeb gimp style attack propaganda all day but UKOK hackdom’s full on lauding and veneration of Nige Fuhrage is a good as any beeb gimp point to start and then compare/contrast sayu just the BBC Scotland monstering of the hated and evil Alex Salmond alone.

But that The Graun thing today about how God also wants the SNP out is interesting only because that tory crew are now using anything at all for their brand of SNP out.

The death of a famous American christian evangelist may seem a bit odd to use in the rolling The Guardian SNP out propaganda war. But its even odder considering Orange Hitler’s base vote is that great American evangelist vote.

If American Evangelist backing Trump’s done anything, its shown the world what an appalling bunch of hypocrites they really are.

But that’s the other end of the endless planet toryboy SNP out propaganda war, several thousand miles away from Washington and their pussy grabbing president. Except its really not that far at all from beeb Scotland gimps bashing away, SNP out, in Pacific Quay, Clydeside Glesga.

For the last decade at least and for the rest of our vile sep Scots lives, its all about BBC Scotland and SNP out, toryboys like Rees Mogg, BJ, Govey, Nige Fuhrage are all gods among men, even some women too.

Why? because the great beeb gimp network says so.

143. geeo

@indy2.

Unlike you, Heedtracker and the wonderful Mr Peffers, have interesting things to say, you are just a fucking moron who adds nothing.

Away and go play pretend indy supporters with your other concern trolling chums.

You really will not be missed here.

144. Robert Peffers

Now!Now! Geeo, Don’t do as they do. Just ignore them when they make such claims. I found Indy2’s post quite humorous in several ways. Indy2 claims not to read certain posters comments but almost invariably responds to them.

I try to read everyone’s posts, (with a few exceptions to that rule), I will only read the likes of Rock when someone else, who I do read, has drawn my attention to something Rock has said.

In the case on Indy2 it seems indy2 is overly sensitive when someone, (anyone), disagrees with his/her comments. On that basis he/she promptly labels anyone doing so as a Troll. Yet it seems that indy2, while claiming not to read the, “Troll’s”, posted comments feels compelled to retort.

Now here’s the thing, I welcome disagreement with my views as that is the basis for reasoned debate and what keeps an open forum interesting is open and frank debate. Just what would be the point of Wings if Stu wrote an article and everyone, without exception, only commented the equivalent of, “Me too”?

Differences of opinion stimulate debate and debate gives rise to fresh thinking and fresh ideas. Without which the political position stands absolutely still and there can be no gains or losses either way.

145. Rock

Robert Peffers,

“I will only read the likes of Rock when someone else, who I do read, has drawn my attention to something Rock has said.”

You pretend you don’t read my posts because you are left speechless when challenged and run away like a coward. All bullies are cowards.

You can remain “British” till eternity, but every other independence supporter can’t wait for the day when they won’t have to be “British” anymore.

Tell any Irish person in the Republic of Ireland that he/she is “British” and they will think you are an utter “numpty”.

146. Robert J. Sutherland

Yet another sneaky late entry, eh? You really have to have the last word every time.

Even though you invariably add less-than-nothing. In effect a subtraction.

What an achievement!

(You are assured a place in history. Just maybe not the one you think.)

147. Rock

Robert J. Sutherland,

“Yet another sneaky late entry, eh? You really have to have the last word every time.”

Did you expect me to let Robert Peffers’ lie go unchallenged?

Robert Peffers says:
    25 February, 2018 at 1:54 pm

“I will only read the likes of Rock when someone else, who I do read, has drawn my attention to something Rock has said.”

148. Brian Doonthetoon

There is a contributor on here who, sadly, has become a joke. He/She trawls the slightly older pages and sticks in a piece of verbiage, casting aspersions on other commenters – in an attempt to have the “hanging” comment that newbies will see.

You’re sussed, as I have typed before.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.