The Slightly Overweight Quiz Of The Year

Posted on December 30, 2014 by

A traditional brainteaser to test your Alert Reader Quotient for 2014. All the answers can be found somewhere on Wings (though not always in the obvious places).

quiztime

Using the Search facility is cheating.

JANUARY

The year began with Better Together’s great railway-station leaflet drop. We sent out agents to monitor the extraordinary claims being made for the attendance and the volume of materials distributed (supposedly 5000 leaflets per station), and found that the number actually handed out at Johnstone was…?

a) 5,000

b) 320

c) 11

d) 3

CORRECT ANSWER: (c) 11.

FEBRUARY

At the end of this month we launched our second annual fundraiser, ambitiously hoping to gather £53,000 in five weeks for the upkeep of the site and our referendum campaigning. We famously hit the target in just eight and a half hours. But how much, to the nearest £1000, did we actually raise in the first 24 hours of the appeal?

a) £65,000

b) £75,000

c) £85,000

d) £95,000

CORRECT ANSWER: (c) £85,000.

MARCH

We sometimes imagine that we’ve become inured to even the most fatuously cretinous word-vomiting arse-quackery that passes for analysis in the supposedly intelligent press. And then we read something like the spectacularly, cosmically moronic mind-sewage ________ just strained and heaved onto the page… and realise that the abyss of idiocy has no end.”

Which journalist’s name have we redacted?

a) Alan Cochrane

b) Hamish Macdonell

c) Michael Kelly

d) Severin Carrell

CORRECT ANSWER: (b) Hamish Macdonell.

APRIL

An article entitled ‘Keep watching the skies’ left readers wondering if they’d been subjected to a late April Fool. According to a UK government minister, an independent Scotland would:

a) …be likely to have its airports bombed

b) …see Russian paratroops land at Lossiemouth

c) …be vulnerable to attacks from space

d) …have no protection against an asteroid strike

CORRECT ANSWER: (c) Attacks from space.

MAY

A ‘Vote No Borders’ advertisement was pulled from Scottish cinemas following a completely false scare story exposed on Wings. Which one was it this time?

a) The state pension would not be paid in an independent Scotland

b) Scottish children would be denied specialist health care in England

c) UK health charities would no longer fund Scottish research

d) Organ transplant arrangements between Scotland and England would cease.

CORRECT ANSWER: (b) Specialist health care. Great Ormond Street Hospital issued an angry denial of the claims in the advertisement.

JUNE

Which mainstream media publication headlined a print-edition pullout section “Wings Over Scotland”, before spotting the line inserted by a mischievous subversive staff member and hastily changing the front-page illustration for the digital edition?

a) The Mail On Sunday’s “This is Money” section

b) The Press & Journal’s ‘Your Home’ supplement

c) The Scotsman’s motoring supplement.

d) The Spectator’s budget special

CORRECT ANSWER: (c) The Scotsman’s motoring supplement.

JULY

Labour general-election candidate Kathy Wiles was deselected by the party this month when we uncovered her unsightly and racist internet history, after she compared some primary-school children to the Hitler Youth because they’d been pictured at a demonstration under a Wings banner.

Which prominent Labour figure (who locked down his Twitter account rather than answer questions on the subject) had been in charge of her selection?

a) Duncan Hothersall

b) John Ruddy

c) Jamie Glackin

d) George Foulkes

CORRECT ANSWER: (b) Newspaper comments favourite John Ruddy.

AUGUST

Which Scottish Conservative & Unionist Association grew sufficiently uneasy to cancel its “celebration Champagne brunch” planned for Sept 19 after we spotted the announcement on their website?

a) Dumfries and Galloway

b) Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk

c) Argyll and Bute

d) Perth and Kinross

CORRECT ANSWER: (a) Dumfries and Galloway.

SEPTEMBER

On which day did the Daily Record carry the infamous ‘Vow’, which nobody will admit to actually writing and which we’re still trying to identify the author/s of?

a) 15 September

b) 16 September

c) 17 September

d) 18 September

CORRECT ANSWER: (b) Tuesday 16 September.

OCTOBER

One of the most-shared Wings articles of 2014 was our exclusive revelation that a Scottish Labour MP had dismissed said “Vow” as “something that the Daily Record mocked up”. Which one?

a) Anas Sarwar

b) Tom Clarke

c) Ian Davidson

d) John Robertson

CORRECT ANSWER: (b) Tom Clarke (Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill).

NOVEMBER

In a toe-curling St Andrew’s Day video we found this month, someone said: “The bagpipes will ring out from the islands of Argyll to the streets of New York”. Who was it?

a) Alex Salmond

b) David Cameron

c) Ed Miliband

d) John Barrowman

CORRECT ANSWER: (b) Prime Minister David Cameron.

DECEMBER

Willie Rennie had nothing better to do with his time this month than file a Freedom Of Information request to find out how many times Scottish Government civil servants had accessed Wings Over Scotland in the six months leading up to the referendum. What was the answer he received?

a) 139 times

b) 1,391 times

c) 13,913 times

d) 139,136 times

CORRECT ANSWER: (c) 13,913 times, or 77 visits a day.

If you haven’t already noticed, the correct answers are printed “invisibly” at the end of each question and can be seen by highlighting the text. Good luck!

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 30 12 14 12:53

The Slightly Overweight Quiz Of The Year | Poli...

2. 30 12 14 14:43

The Slightly Overweight Quiz Of The Year - Speymouth

142 to “The Slightly Overweight Quiz Of The Year”

1. Bugger (the Panda)

Highlighting doesn’t work for me.

MacOS and Firefox

2. wee_monsieur

Hmm, I only got 8 out of 12. Sorry, I will pay more attention from now on 🙂

3. Andrew Morton

Nor me.

4. DaveyM

I only got 8 as well. I’m disgusted at my last of alertness 🙁

5. Craig

8/12 for me, I still to this very day, look up to the skies for any possible attacks from outer space, they are out there man, they don’t want Scotland to be independent 😛

Have a good New Year Stu and the rest of you folks that read WOS, may 2015 be an even more succesful year

6. Johannah Buchan

What is highlighing???

7. think again

With a couple of lucky guesses I got 8. Hopefully this is double the number of Labour MPs come May.

Unless there are more posts to come have a happy and prosperous New Year, see you in 2015.

8. liz

OMG get to the back of the class, I got 4!!

9. liz

@Johannah Buchan- right click, select all

10. Dr Ew

Right – not happy. Not only is the highlighting of answers not working, I still don’t know what my putative score is and – worse still – I haven’t lost any weight.

Complaints to Trading Standards AND Press Standards.

Hapy New Year!

11. Breastplate

Hopefully some kind soul will type the answers for people who can’t see them, pretty please with sugar on top.

12. Helena Brown

I am going back to school and no I am not telling anyone how many I got right.
    BtP, if you want I will tell you the answers but it will have to be elsewhere, don’t want to get accused of cheating.

13. Bugger (the Panda)

Johannah Buchan

It depends how you do it.

If you use Window I think it is position the cursor in front of what you want to highlite, click the right button on your mouse and drag the mouse carefully from left to right and that should highlite to text you have chosem.

Mac is different and require a simple click and then a slide from left to right with the mouse depressed.

Try it several times and get used to it.

BtP

14. jimnarlene

My alertness levels need improved, 9 out of 12……must try harder.

15. Bugger (the Panda)

Helena

I don’t give a monkey’s about being a cheat.

Your place or mine?

16. Doug Morrison

Highlighting works fine for me. Enjoyed the quiz. In fact, I’ve enjoyed every single one of your posts, Rev, since I came across the site a year or so back. Don’t retire!

17. fred blogger

Breastplate
    make the abcd alt answers blue ie do copy action, hey presto the answer appears.

18. kininvie

You have to highlight the test to include the choices and a line below them…. (the answer is printed white on white, but shows up when highlighted)

19. fred blogger

Breastplate
    oops, continue down until answer appears once alt’s are blue as in copy action.

20. handclapping

I blame senile dementia 7 🙁

21. Lesley-Anne

Woo Hoo!

I got 6 out 12! 😛

Well I AM the Village Idiot you know and any score over 1 out of 12 is a FANTASTIC result for me. 😀

22. Ken500

Stop it. It’s too sair

Get the best literature giving all the facts, out in plenty of time for the GE.

Game on. All to play for.

23. Finnz

I’m sure March should be ‘all of the above’

24. No no no...Yes

Room for improvement, 8 out of 12, but I’ve only been reading Wings since February, does that count as an excuse?

25. Ken500

Don’t want to spoil the Quiz but it’s all to play for.

Rev Stu is genius, what would Scotland do without him. A font of information.

A Happier New Year. 7/5/14. Game on.

26. Chic McGregor

Thanks Andrew. All the alternative answers were believable.
    I only got 7 🙁

Bliadhna mhath ùr nuair a thig e.

27. Dcanmore

It works for me using Firefox on a Mac.

Room for improvement, 8/12.

28. Slackshoe

Highlighting doesn’t reveal the answer on ipad.

29. Bugger (the Panda)

Dcanmor

I also have ad block and Ghostery working in the background so may be that of Sophos and or Panda Security (honestly)!

30. Bramble

I got 9 out of 12. To highlight just left click and then drag down to get the text you wish to highlight. Alternatively click on the page and then type control (holding it down) and the letter A at the same time. This latter approach though will reveal all the answers. A happy new year tae ane an aw. Let’s hang Westminster in May.

31. Morag

I’m ashamed to say how badly I did. I’ll go and stand in the corner now.

32. Johnny

Not sure if this will help anyone who was struggling with finding the answers, but I was doing it wrong at first and trying to highlight after where each question ended. In fact, you had to highlight from below the last potential answer each time. Ignore me if it was only me not finding them for that reason!

33. Alan McHarg

12 out of 12 😉 Oops sorry I lied (I had a labour moment)!

Happy new year everyone!

34. mogabee

Not in the upper echelon of “alert reader” but no bad with 8/12!

Hope everyone has a great New Year and starts 2015 as I will with hope and determination…

..and something warming too. 😀

35. Clarinda

I only got 45% correct – if I try again I reckon I’ll get over 70%?

36. Dorothy Devine

Oooh! I’m ashamed of my self – 5 right, though I too plead for April to be all of the above , tempted by March too!

A happy ,healthy and successful 2015 to one and all – except the MSM.

37. Chitterinlicht

Anyone get it to work on an iPad? Highlight but no big reveal.

38. BrianW

By a baw hair.. 7 out of 12.. (a pass is a pass)

Do I progress to the Wings Branding Room now?

39. sydthesnake

breastplate
    jan c
    feb c
    mar b
    apr c
    may b
    jun c
    jul b
    aug a
    sep b
    oct b
    nov b
    dec c

40. john king

I got 7 out of 12 (and I didnt cheat)

41. Derick fae Yell

Dunces hat for me!

42. Lollysmum

6 out of 12 for me but one was a complete guess-Johnstone railway Stn leaflets.

Most happened before I turned up here so thats my excuse & I’m sticking to it 😉

43. cynicalHighlander

@Bugger (the Panda)

Bit early in the day to be bamboozled.

44. Breastplate

Thanks Fred and Syd, much obliged. I’ve just verified that I have a memory worse than a goldfish.

45. Barbara Reid

For future reference, as someone has supplied answers; On a kindle you go to reading view, top right corner. Probably similar for iPad.

46. alexicon

Send 5 pounds to my bank account and all will be revealed ;-))
    Seriously I can’t get the answers to reveal either.

Sorry for the O/T, but a certain Ms Katie Hopkins is baiting again.

‘Not so independent when it matters are we jocksville?’ Outrage as Katie Hopkins jokes about Scotland sending Ebola patient back to England for treatment

https://archive.today/qty7a

Of course the DM readers do agree with her.

What a cow.

47. tartanarse

March question is unfair. Could have been any of them.

48. Dan Huil

49. Helena Brown

Bugger, my I suggest your place might be a bit warmer. Answers now supplied, ah well.

50. CameronB Brodie

I hate to be a spoilsport, but I think the space aliens scare might actually be a refference to the militarisation of space. Foodbanks and Death Stars, that’s UKOK balance in the 21st century.

All the best for the New Year folks. May the force be with you. 🙂

51. Joemcg

Some of these answers makes you wonder how the hell did we lose? Or did we?

52. Helena Brown

Liz, may I suggest the back of the class has me in it. I still will not say how many I got wrong. Senility I fear.
    I agree with Tartanarse on the subject of the four Journalists, are you allow to say that word in connection with those four? It could have been any of them or even all of them. Katie Hopkins is the worst sort of person and should be ignored. That would settle her hash.

53. Stoker

ugger (the Panda) says:
    Helena
    “I don’t give a monkey’s about being a cheat.
    Your place or mine?”

I await the response to this question with great trepidation,
    (only been a reader since September 😉 )
    A disgraceful 7/12.
    🙁

54. sydthesnake

don’t like the sequence of the last 3 answers,
    b
    b
    c
    have a fantastic new year to all posters and readers and I hope you all have a prosperous 2015

Syd

55. Doug Daniel

11/12 – I got the March question wrong.

56. John Gibson

Highlighting didn’t work for me either.

Do you hand out wooden or maybe cardboard ‘Unalert Reader’ badges for spectacular fails? I managed 1.5 correct… sorry. In my defence I gave up on all msm some years ago – and just blindly accept whatever you write on this site without further thought 😉

57. Murray McCallum

I got 144 out of 12.

C/O HM Treasury

58. Dr Jim

Got everything,
    I have no life….

59. haud on the noo

13. I am Alex..

60. Davy

I got 7 out of 12, it could have been 8 but you included a question about Willie Rennie and their is nothing that lump of shoewipe could say that will ever stick in my memory.

It has been a privilge and a honour to be part of the “Wings over Scotland” family, and so, for as long as our nation requires us to help gain our country’s independence may our fellowship continue.

Vote YES, Vote SCOTLAND, Vote HOPE.

A Happy New Year, Hail Alba 2015.

61. Ronnie

Alas, only 6.

My ‘Alert Reader’ badge is staying in the drawer.

62. ronnie anderson

Ah must be better than ah thought

10 two non consiquencals let me doon Tom Clarke Wullie Rennie.

63. Thepnr

@ronnie

I got half that! No problem remembering what happened 20 years ago compared to last week 🙂

64. ronnie anderson

@ Morag 1.39 thats no playin the game,tell us how badly you did, ah dont beleive it says Mr Wilson.

65. bookie from hell

4/12

all that matters I got VOW date right

( : > )

66. The Man in the Jar

This will cheer a lot of you up.

The new UK driving licence is to have a Union “Jack” flag emblazoned on it. I kid you not!

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/car-news/consumer-news/89901/uk-driving-licences-to-display-union-flag

67. cearc

DrJim,

Thank you, I was too embarrassed to put up 11/12 so I went outside to get a life – well hump some wood up the garden and talk to a duck.

68. Dointhebiz

I managed to get 12/12 simply by highlighting the entire page….easy 🙂

69. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr so nothing to do with al ca hic consumption last night.

Ur you gonna stop switchin name tags Alex / Thepnr ah hud to go back tae check on your name again & again. Lol

70. Thepnr

@ronnie

My laptop has taken the huff so using my wifes. The default name on her laptop is Thepnr and too often I forget to change it before posting. Apologies for all the confusion.

71. ronnie anderson

@ cearc ( talk to a duck ) noo if that wiz ah Bombay Duck ah wuld be embarassed fur you. xx

72. Thepnr

Just done it again. That’s why I scored 5/12 🙂

73. Mealer

Man in jar,
    We’ll need to get a miniature “Scottish not British” sticker to cover up the offensive bit.

74. ronnie anderson

@ Man in the Jar 3.51 No on ma licence it wont,mines 20/20 an am no lookin beyond that.

75. Elizabeth Sutherland

I got 6 right, must do better. Sent a wee donation to Rev. Stu. for my inability to retain information. Happy New Year all Wingers when it comes.

76. iclare

Please don’t judge me.

77. Lesley-Anne

The move was announced by transport minister Claire Perry who explained the thinking behind it. “People in this country rightly take pride in our national flag which is why I am delighted it will now be displayed on British driving licences.

I’m guessing that this imbecile Perry has NOT been talking to anyone from Wales or Scotland before making this ridiculous decision then Man in the Jar. 😀

78. Helena Brown

The Man in the Jar says: Regarding the driving licences, I foresee a moment of small rebellion, anyone have small stick on Saltires?

79. Muscleguy

I got a fairly measly 6 but I had to change my system highlight colour as reading white text highlighted in yellow was simply not happening.

Just going to swap it back now.

80. The Man in the Jar

Regarding the driving licence this wee quote from Claire Perry (transport minister) hit the spot for me.

““Celebrating Britain strengthens our sense of national identity and our unity. I will feel proud to carry my new licence and I hope others will too.”

And I notice the first BTL comment from a Mr.Ed McKindlay stating one word “Yes!!!”

One assumes that Mr. McKinlay is a (cough) Ibrox season ticket holder.

All of this is of course a distraction from my abysmal score in the quiz. 🙁

81. Dr Jim

Just seen the new driving license thing, i really freakin hope that does’nt happen it’s bad enough having to carry that bloody passport around, and it’s dangerous, people out there in the world hate the Brits as it is, the English are just bloody genious’s are they not. “Identification please” Oooh Englese eh that’s you captured he he he, I bloody know, i’ve been to these places where it takes you forever to explain you’re Scottish and then describe the difference, I usually go with “you know, bad football, whisky, kilt” and have to do the stupid actions that go along with it, GOD!! They must be born with their arses right next to their heads “Proud to be stupid” Somebody stop me…

82. ronnie anderson

@ Mealer 4.34 any alteration of a driving licence would be illegal. Covering the offencive article with a Saltire Stamp ( 2nd class ) now who could deem that as illegal queenies head is on it. ( one for Lallands Peat Worrier ).

83. horacesaysyes

8 out of 12 for me, too.

84. HandandShrimp

Not very good. Thought the “pipes from the isles” was harsh…that sounded like Barrowman. I have no recollection about the supplement thing at all.

Got the bloody Vow wrong. 🙁

85. Helena Brown

Ronnie, we are far too bleeding respectable, we need to take them on, they rely on the Scots toeing the line and being law abiding.

86. Lollysmum

According to Twitter SLAB now charging ONLY £1 to join them- don’t all rush at once folks.

Though I doubt there’ll be sufficient demand to swamp their servers as the SNP surge did!

87. velofello

Why no handicap advantage for Seniors? S’not fair. Fair,should that be fare? Oh, never mind. Now where was I?

The “highlight” of this quiz is that it reminds me in detail of just how awful was the No campaign and their supporters. Lies, exaggerations, scare stories, The Honourable members – Labour MPs, Darling, Brown,Cameron, Osborne. And Tuba McDougall.

“You lost, get over it”. Not on your Nellie Duff. I’m raring to go on the campaign trail again. and again, and again.

Sincerely Rev. Many thanks for your efforts. Your are continuing aren’t you? And a pay rise folks?

88. StevieMcB

OT & apololgies,
    Slimey,slick,shit starring Smurphy & his Dug
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GbjjLi63QgA&app=desktop

89. Mealer

Lollysmum,
    it’s a pity a chunk of the 80,000 who recently joined the SNP didn’t join the Lab,Lib and Tory parties instead.We might have seen some interesting resolutions from branches at their conferences!

90. Kenny

Aw, who cares, I hate quizzes!

A Happy New Year to Stu and to all Scots everywhere, yes and no voters alike! Special good wishes to our English cousins: when are you going to hold your own referendum on breaking away from Westmonster?!?

2015 – 40 SNP MPs
    2016 – 64% vote for YES parties
    2017 – UDI!

91. Bob Sinclair

So, it appears that Labour are having a Sale, 80% off. The thing about Sales is the stuff that’s marked down 80% is usually the dross that nobody wants.

92. Mealer

Ronnie Anderson,
    I’d be happy enough to defend myself in any court!

93. Lollysmum

Why an Independent Scotland could become the Richest Country on Earth. From the Independent

archive.today/92Xnp

94. cearc

Ronnie,

Nae ducks from Mumbai here. They are home hatched South American Scots (muscovies).

95. gus1940

Isn’t it great to see that in spite of what happened on 18/9 YES supporters have a great sense of humour and are not averse to poking fun at themselves – unlike the other lot of humourless brainwashed zombies.

96. Lollysmum

Aaargh-try again

Why an Independent Scotland could become the Richest Country on Earth. From the Independent

https://archive.today/92Xnp

97. galamcennalath

@Mealer

Infiltrate the Unionist parties and change their policies. On first heading I thought that both funny and possible. But then reality prevailed and I remember that the North British branches of Lab, Con and Lib aren’t actually allowed to make policy decisions.

98. Tackety Beets

Sadly I’m gonna be working flat out for next few days so not be able to read all the posts until w/end.
    Just want to thank our Dons Man and all posters for another year of addictive entertainment .
    It just gets better so well done all , roll on May 2015

A’ ra best fur e bells e morra nicht .

Quizz ach am a muckle Feil goat !

Cheeeeeeers

99. Grizzle McPuss

Oh dear, I have had as much success with this quiz as Danny Alexander has had aptitude with economics.

A miserable 6

A Happy New Year to all the Wings Family. Thanks for the education & entertainment in 2014.

100. X_Sticks

Jeez, smacks wrist hard. A measly 6 for me. Must try harder. So spoilt for choice on many of the questions.

HUGE thanks to you Rev Stu Campbell. You’re worth every penny. Wishing you and yours all the best for 2015.

@cynicalHighlander

“Bit early in the day to be bamboozled”

Proper laughed out loud at that one cH, although I reckon Jim could be bamboozled at almost any time of the day 😉

@Doug Daniel & Dr Jim
    Swots.

TMIJ Driving Licence! WTF! If they do that I shall swiftly be defacing my licence. Saltire stickers would seem an option.

101. malcb13

A poor 7 for me.
    Must to better!

For those having trouble seeing the highlights on Mac OSX and iOS turn on Reader Mode and the answers will appear.

Wishing all my fellow Wingers and Very Good New Year.
    Let’s make 2015 something special.

And to Stu, many thanks again for your enlightening exposés in getting to the the reality behind the MSMs bullshit.

102. G H Graham

I scored a Duncan Hothersall (5) = well below average.

Even for that half wit.

103. biggpolmont

I thought I did pretty good actually, Where I did go wrong was answering all of the above to the question in march

104. R-type Grunt

Great quiz. To be fair, all the answers are interchangeable. Working correctly on this Mac running OS X Yosemite.

105. Paula Rose

It’s going to be different strokes for different folks next time we party xx

106. Bugger (the Panda)

R-type Grunt says:
    30 December, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Great quiz. To be fair, all the answers are interchangeable. Working correctly on this Mac running OS X Yosemite.

Que?

107. Bugger (the Panda)

5/12 maybe 6

If Cameron said that “The bagpipes will ring out from the islands of Argyll to the streets of New York”, he gone over to the lavender side.

It must be Barrowman, I insist!

108. Balaaargh

5/12 but see all this quiz of the year guff? it’s nothing but looking backwards.

It’s time to move on, why can’t you lot just accept the result and look forward… 😉

109. Graeme Doig

Just to make you all feel better i got a pitiful and embarrassing 4. (still blaming the back meds)

110. ben madigan

@Doug Daniel & Dr Jim,man in a jar and ronnie anderson

“Driving Licence! Saltire stickers would seem an option”.

the unionists/loyalists in NI are in another world!!!
    They’ll probably apply Union flag stickers!!

Northern Ireland will be the only UK region not to incorporate the Union Flag on new driving licences.
    “The changes will apply to motorists in England, Scotland and Wales and provide road users with a symbolic sign of their national identity.”
    “In 2012 it was agreed that, recognising the particular sensitivities surrounding symbols in Northern Ireland, NI driving licences, which are produced for the Driver and Vehicle Agency in Swansea by the DVLA, should continue to be produced without the flag or crest,”
    http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/flag-row-hits-drivers-1-6495340

NB The belfast newsletter is very, very, pro-Unionist
    See what i meant in several past posts when I argued NI was sorta semi-detached from the UK?

Expect incoming break up of the Union as Scotland persists along its path!!
    Personally speaking I think the Union’s running on borrowed time!

best wishes to all on wings for a great new year, and thanks to the rev for providing such a great forum for all of us

ben

111. mumsyhugs

Woohoo!! 13 out of 12 – oh hang on, borrowed Danny Alexander’s calculator to work out my total …

112. ronnie anderson

Ah see that person at 7.11s no watching Bbc & the hunner year review ha ha, mibee,s they’ve no payed they’re TV licence.

113. ronnie anderson

@ Balaaargh dont know what happened to my last post 7.11 reply your name deleted somehow gremlins at work methinks or cursor going backwards,but am looking forward honest LoL ah lot.

114. Alan Mackintosh

Mealer, that presupposes that ordinary members would get a say at any of their conferences.

As for me, 8. Missed the vow by a day, and didnt now which journo was described. It could have applied to all of them.

115. Thepnr

@ben madigan

Does NI currently have a differently driving licence from the rest of the UK. A pink card with the EU flag top left and the letters UK in the centre of the flag?

If not, why would they want to change it now?

I want to keep the wee EU flag in the corner. pandering to UKIP again maybe. Who in government gets paid to come up with this shit?

116. Taranaich

Good fun quiz, all the harder because it can be very easy to get mixed up, and all the questions were far too plausible. Me & Mum only did adequately – most of the stuff we’ve memorised from Wings is the statistics, dates and things. In our defense, we were pretty preoccupied with canvassing, so it’s unavoidable we’d miss a few things.

January – Both got it.

February – I overshot it, Mum couldn’t decide between c) and d).

March – Both got it.

April – Both got it.

May – Both got it.

June – Mum got this right, I didn’t (thought it was Spectator)

July – I got it, Mum couldn’t decide between Foulkes and Hothersall.

August – Mum thought Dumfries & Galloway would’ve been too self-assured to cancel, I thought Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk.

September – Mum got it, I thought it was the 17th (for some reason did “two days before the vote” as the 19th, not 18th)

October – Mum said Sarwar, I thought Robertson. In fairness, it’s difficult to distinguish between some of these New Labour types…

November – Both got it.

December – We knew it was 77 visits a day, but overshot it to d)

Overall I got 6, Mum got 7! Now you know where I get it from!

Regarding the UK flags on driving licenses: one way to stick it to the UK government’s One Nation nonsense is wallets. Perhaps someone could produce wallets that have a pleasing, attractive design on the transparent plastic that obscures the flag, but not the information – that way it isn’t defacing the license as a sticker would, and you don’t necessarily have to take it out of its case more often than strictly necessary? A saltire, a unicorn, Alex Salmond’s face – anything would be preferable to the Butcher’s Apron.

117. bjsalba

Did OK on the number questions but when it came to knowing which d!@kh#@d said what I did lousy. I never had a TV licence. Does that excuse me?

118. caledonia

£1 now to join labour so you can expect everyone labour and their dog joining so labour can announce just before the GE that their popularity has surged

wont they be making a loss at a pound though

119. X_Sticks

Regarding driving licence patronsaintofcats just tweeted this:

“Stop Westminster From Forcing Scots To Have Union Flag On Driving Licenses”

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/stop-westminster-from-forcing-scots-to-have-union-flag-on-driving-licenses?bucket&source=facebook-share-button&time=1417077001

120. Marie clark

Oh dear measly 6 for me, mind you some of the answers could have been all of the above.

BTP @ 7.03 I agree with you the answer must be Barrowman, Yuk.

121. ronnie anderson

@be madigan you,ve got me confuddled is that Better Together semi-detached or just a auld fashioned detached Thegether,ah did tell you ah wiz confuddled LoL.

122. caledonia

just went on the labour site to see if it was £1 and got a question would you vote labour or undecided so filled in the questions all the ones i thought that would not impact and the last question was

Thanks. We have just one last question for you.
    Please complete this sentence: “Labour would definitely have my vote if…”

I cant repeat what i answered for this

123. Graeme Doig

Do they really think they can force the ‘UK’ on us by these kind of cheeky moves.
    You can stick your union flag up your arse DVLA and anyone else who thinks i’ll be carrying anything on my person wi a flag i have nothing but disdain for.
    Dr Jim you are Alex Salmond and so am i 🙂

124. Bugger (the Panda)

@
    Taranaich says:

You used yer Mammie!

Disqualified!

125. Bugger (the Panda)

@

Alex Clark

I want to keep the wee EU flag in the corner. pandering to UKIP again maybe. Who in government gets paid to come up with this shit?

UKIP if we are not careful.

126. ronnie anderson

@ bjsalba I never had a TV licence. Does that excuse me?.

Naw it diznae but you get plenty plaudits,awe whit the hell 12/12 congratulations,tis the season of goodwill efter awe.

127. Paula Rose

I can join for a pound? – oh yes, worth every penny.

128. ronnie anderson

@ Taranaich A man of your calibrie disgraceful,say hello tae yer Mammy fur me.

129. Marco McGinty

A couple of nice articles about Murphy from the Sunday Herald. Apologies if they’ve already been posted, and to those that have read them previously.

https://archive.today/V7MpO
    https://archive.today/zAFzr

130. Stoker

Graeme Doig says:
    “You can stick your union flag up your arse DVLA and anyone else who thinks i’ll be carrying anything on my person wi a flag i have nothing but disdain for.”

I’ll second that.

131. ben madigan

@thepnr

yes NI has a driving licence as you described
    A pink card with the EU flag top left and the letters UK in the centre of the flag?

Pic on link below

http://www.nidirect.gov.uk/the-photocard-driving-licence-explained

The Uk has decided not to add a Union flag to NI licences and the Unionists/Loyalists are objecting – they want it.

AFAIK nobody was consulted about the change or lack of change as the case may be!
    “Who in government gets paid to come up with this shit?”
    God alone knows – just another way of raising money from the population if we all have to pay for an updated licence!

132. alexicon

For all those struggling, myself included, to see the answers. If you right click and ‘select all’ the answers, which I already knew (cough) appear as if by magic.

133. ben madigan

@ Ronnie Anderson

“Better Together semi-detached or just a auld fashioned detached Thegether”

good question Ronnie but ye gotta get yer heid round the “creative ambiguity” – creative writing sorta thing – that underlies all the NI treaties and agreements

They’re all things to all men and women!!

Exception being this new driving licence which seems clear enough – Ni are excluded

134. No no no...Yes

Skittish Labour party membership. A cunning plan but they will have to improve their offer, buy one get one free, or BOGOF, as they say.

Their problem will arise when they decide to become all transparent and ethical and publish their figures. They will have to admit their embarrassingly low pre-marketting numbers.

If they are relying on Jim and Kez’s festive video to boost numbers they are in for a big shock. I would even be so bold to say the video is WORSE than the BTcereal effort…

135. davidb

A google image search appears to show none of our EU fellows put a national flag on their licences. All have the EU flag with the member state code in the centre. There seems to be an EU standard for the document. I would have thought some members would have put on a flag before now if they could get away with it.

So since I note from the link above that NI is to be excluded from the new policy, would it be in order to ask if the intention is to promote the Irish way of politics in Scotland?

My licence expires in 2021 anyway, by which time I expect the issuing authority will have been repatriated from Swansea. So an EU flag with SCO in the middle will do me fine.

136. Alex

Your picture licence expires every 5 years, at least mine does? My paper licence though not until I’m 70.

On renewal next year I think I’ll go to NI for mine.

137. Brian Powell

The difference was that people spontaneously decide to join the SNP in huge numbers, no such situation exists with Labour, but usual wankers in MSM will try to pretend otherwise.

138. shug

more quizes please. They are great for highlighting unionist duplicity running up to the election

139. Alex Clark

A wee suggestion for any future quizzes.

Provide the answer definitely but also a link to the article/source. Just for us that may have missed it first time around and might want to read it for ourselves. Ta.

140. kininvie

Hi Alex,

Before Stu decided to have his ‘invisible answers’ on the same page as the quiz, I’d intended to publish answers plus links on Off Topic on Jan 2nd. I’ll probably still do that, so keep an eye open.

141. Kenny

The Germans have the EU flag, not their national flag, on their driving licences. So surely there must be a way we can also have this? I would suggest contacting the EU about this. We demand the EU flag!!!

142. Hoss Mackintosh

Hi Ally,
    Got the same as Wee Bro – 8.

Got the three number ones wrong – aimed too high – sadly a common occurrence.

Journalist one was just far too difficult.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.