The schools and the universities

Posted on January 16, 2014 by

What the heck – since it’s topical, let’s have another double-header.

claim14

claim15

“It is hazardous, and perhaps foolish, to compare institutions whose character has varied durng so many centuries, but it may be true that some of the education provided in Oxford and Cambridge was on a higher level than that in the Scottish universities. On the other hand, it was confined to a privileged few, not all of whom took full advantage of their opportunities.”

Final chapter tomorrow. Wasn’t this good?

11 to “The schools and the universities”

1. gordoz says:

Speaking of Schools –

Prestwick Academy Debate of around 200 pupils

Before : Yes 33% No 44% Undecided 23%

After : Yes 51% No 40% Undecided 9%

Blair J v Blair M (heard he wasn’t chuffed)

2. Triskelion says:

I’ve held the belief for some time already that there should be more philosophy in the Scottish system of goverment. Philosophers are probably the least corruptible professionals and it’s their job to take a look at to think before they act.

As part of Scotland’s long lasting philosofical tradition, I think that apart from including philosophy in Scottish education, philosophers should be included in parliament, maybe not give them any votes but should at least be allowed to speak, advice and denounce. It could help get us rid of party politics and make politicians look beyond the short term consequences, make them remember why they chose politics as a profesion. Maybe if this where the case, so many of the troubles the UK is going through at the moment due to politician’s detachment from the society they are supposed to represent could have been avoided.

3. memaw says:

Mr Paton is a wonderful example of what philosophy can teach. Clarity of thought and expression. In this book he puts into words what many people, at the time, may have quietly thought but without his breadth of knowledge, without his formidable understanding of the Establishment and the ability to write in such an authoritative voice it was left unsaid. Many books have been written about Scotland’s issues and problems but I don’t believe that anyone has covered this huge topic in such a clear and accessible fashion.
    On a lighter note:

Having studied philosophy and English in the 1980’s in Glasgow it was pointed out to me that if you did a combination of philosophy and psychology it could push you over the edge.

Years later I heard Steve Martin, the American comedian, say that most people go to University and when they leave they forget everything. Whereas if you have studied philosophy you remembered enough to mess you up for the rest of your life.

4. Ronnie says:

So Alistair Darling is trying to tell our young people not to vote ‘Yes’?

Perhaps someone should arrange for him to debate the issue with Scotland’s Real Darling – Saffron Dickson?

5. Jon D says:

No apologies for being O/T, or for this having been posted before.
    16 year old activist Saffron Dickson addresses the Radical Independence Conference, 23rd November, Marriott Hotel, Glasgow.

Listen and decide.

6. msean says:

Stuff like this will keep happening until Scotland votes Yes.

7. Ian Brotherhood says:

@Jon D –

Superb.

She’s a priceless asset, with qualities that no amount of media training or hard cash can capture – BT don’t have anyone, at any level, who would last five minutes against her in open debate.

8. Patrick Roden says:

“Before : Yes 33% No 44% Undecided 23%”

Sorry Gordoz, I think you must have made a mistake.

There’s no way that the young people would poll 33% before the debate, because the MSM polling companies have told us repeatedly, that youngsters are opting overwhelmingly for ‘No’.

Unless you can show me that when young people were polled in other Uni/College debates they also has ‘Yes’ at around 33% then I simply wont believe you. 🙂

9. gordoz says:

@ Patrick Roden

Aye no what you mean; must be a rogue poll fixed by the YES side. Couldn’t be any other way. Prof Curtice will destroy it as an impartial fixed debate organized by a Nat crazed School board.

Mistake No.1 inviting YES into the debate; clear fix – end of.

10. yerkitbreeks says:

As a lad I once asked my Dad ( born in 1895, then a Dominie ) what he had learned at University. The answer was ” how to read my daily paper “. At the time I thought this odd but now it makes complete sense since if he could get through the Scotsman ( he always complained about it’s spelling ) from front to back, understanding it all then he was truly educated. The University of Edinburgh in his day insisted he took the Humanities, including such tomes as Emmanuel Kant’s ” The Metaphysics of Ethics ” !

11. setondene says:

Thanks for showing us this great little book. I was one of the very last people admitted to a Scottish university (Aberdeen) by the direct admissions system. Even then, they preferred you to go through the centralised admissions system based in the S of England. If I had been forced through the UCCA system I probably wouldn’t have got into university. Only 7% of the population attended in these days and it was very much seen as a privilege.

The writer’s description of how the Scottish universities focussed on philosophy and teaching people how to think reminded me very much of my own experience. It was very worthwhile. I get the impression now that universities are just giant training providers processing huge numbers of students.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,778 Posts, 1,220,183 Comments

• Robinov Cybernat on Holiday Relief: “Right now, I’m reckoning they could replace Honest John Swinney with Steven Pressley and they would definitely be getting someone…Jun 18, 12:58
    • Captain Caveman on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Ah, another trademark valued contribution to the site from our corpulent wastrel friend. I’ve crying rivers here, Chief. Keep your…Jun 18, 12:44
    • Chas on Holiday Relief: “Maybe Robin realises it is all a load of shite. Unlike the fantasists on here!Jun 18, 12:25
    • James on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Behold: the language of the [Site] Prick!Jun 18, 12:20
    • lothianlad on Holiday Relief: “Surely the SNP members will start to see they are being lied to!? its taking them lomng enough!Jun 18, 12:17
    • James on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Welcome back, Northcode! Yes indeed they are becoming much bolder.Jun 18, 12:16
    • James on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Go easy on her, YL, she was a “captain” – of industry ROTFL. And the Site Prick “P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface”… LOLZJun 18, 12:11
    • sam on Holiday Relief: “I wonder if Alf will be at Holyrood tomorrow, meeting 12.15, to protest and meet FH with regard to ferries…Jun 18, 11:38
    • Northcode on Holiday Relief: ““…completely missed the big news for the independence movement…” It seems unlikely McAlpine missed the news of the Liberation.Scot petition…Jun 18, 11:37
    • Aidan on Holiday Relief: “Perhaps Robin is aware that the highly vaunted “approach to the UN” has been completely rebuffed at the first hurdle?…Jun 18, 11:27
    • sarah on Holiday Relief: “That is interesting, Alf. I generally agree with what Robin says and I hadn’t noticed theses striking omissions. Can someone…Jun 18, 10:58
    • Alf Baird on Holiday Relief: “A daeless Swinney and his hot-air speechwriter seems an easy target, however Robin and certain other seemingly pro-indy intellectuals within…Jun 18, 10:06
    • Sven on Holiday Relief: “Crazycat @ 23.12. I believe that policy was effectively jettisioned back in 2015 when Ms Sturgeon forced the then PM…Jun 18, 09:02
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: ““roll back over and cosy up with yer new “bestie” P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface..” Aw naw! Signature double-tap there from Wings’ only…Jun 18, 08:24
    • Callum on Holiday Relief: “‘The world’s most embarrassing relaunch’ by Robin McAlpine | 16 Jun 2025 “So anyway, we have learned loads here. Mainly…Jun 18, 08:22
    • Sven on Holiday Relief: “Off Topic; Hardly surprising that our SNP led devolved administration (was never a government) have declined to have an inquiry…Jun 18, 08:21
    • Captain Caveman on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Heh! Gone “fishing” have we YL? About the only thing you’ll catch (in your piss-stained shoes) is an empty bottle…Jun 18, 07:55
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: ““Is it my imagination or is our coloniser becoming bolder in its shameless extraction of Scotland’s wealth?” Every night before…Jun 18, 07:36
    • Hatey McHateface on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Whats this then? Three lengthy posts from NC, all of them written in the King’s English? Isn’t that the language…Jun 18, 07:28
    • Northcode on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “A little, hopefully informative and not overly didactic, light-hearted diversion. Aristotle is one of my favourite ancients and was a…Jun 18, 06:25
    • Northcode on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “The only plans they’re concerned with are their pension plans. And the only future they’ll be shaping will be the…Jun 18, 06:07
    • Northcode on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Great news! It turns out I was feeling a wee bit sensitive the other day and just needed some me…Jun 18, 05:40
    • Young Lochinvar on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Fred Flintstone aka (so called Captain Caveman) at 8.26am with a p1sh English beer hangover! Good morning jaikie!! Just up…Jun 18, 05:00
    • GM on Holiday Relief: “I PDF’ed most of his articles in the period after Iain died. I go back to them from time to…Jun 17, 23:46
    • crazycat on Holiday Relief: “The legislation only applies to England and Wales. It always used to be SNP policy not to vote in cases…Jun 17, 23:12
    • Insider on Holiday Relief: “agent x…… Well, we must all wait with bated breath to see what “post colonialism” tells us ! It will…Jun 17, 22:45
    • Towbar Sullivan on Holiday Relief: “This vote on Abortion – did the SNP go AWOL? There’s no record of them voting at all. WTF? https://votes.parliament.uk/votes/commons/division/2058Jun 17, 22:35
    • George Ferguson on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “@James 9:56pm Welcome to the World of lost deposits. I was a member of the SNP and Alba. I thought…Jun 17, 22:35
    • Scot Finlayson on Holiday Relief: “What is wrong with this British Labour government, Starving kids, freezing pensioners, allowing the mass rape of young girls, assisted…Jun 17, 22:23
    • James on Let’s Not Make Some Plans: “Voting for me? Dunno what planet you’re on, George. I ditched my membership in 2018 when the missing money/Salmond stitch…Jun 17, 21:56