The right profiles

Posted on November 17, 2014 by

In the absence of much news, this morning we’ve been having fun with this.

profilerecord

profilescotsman

profilesun

profilemail

profileguardian

ysonline

btonline

It’s disturbingly addictive. Go and have a play.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 17 11 14 10:59

The right profiles | FreeScotland

2. 17 11 14 11:41

The right profiles - Speymouth

87 to “The right profiles”

1. gille

I wonder what you get if you cross your typical Daily Mail reader with your typical Guardian reader?

2. gillie

Male life expectancy in the West of Scotland means the Daily Record will be out of business within 10 years.

3. Gordon

The Better Together online section is, erm…eye-opening.

4. Valerie

Well the readers can’t be the ones who comment on the Guardian on-line, because quite a lot border on murderous haters of anything mildly liberal.

5. No no no...Yes

The Daily Record reader looks very like Jack from Still Game:

http://img.thesun.co.uk/aidemitlum/archive/01213/jack-main_1213471a.jpg

6. Dcanmore

Actually the Daily Record reader is pretty close to most I’ve ever known, many of them have got older and their politics change but still buy the same paper out of habit.

The Scotsman though, outwith the Lothians and Perthshire the biggest sales are in the Borders, everywhere else is by the handful.

7. Salt Ire

They’ve nailed the BBC profile to a tee. Especially the regions.

8. handclapping

Too many of us! Crashed it. πŸ™

So are you going to put up the profile of your average Wings visitor? Or would it be too painful to find out we are all somebody’s dog bored with being left at home all day? πŸ˜‰

9. Jim Thomson

Tunnocks – old rich lefties

10. ClanDonald

Haha, DR readers more right wing than Sun readers, sounds about right.

11. Jim Thomson

Irn Bru – younger rich lefties in the polis

12. Taranaich

Well, there goes my productivity for the day.

13. Mealer

I tried putting “trident nuclear weapons” into the box but it didn’t come up with a profile for people who buy such things.

14. Jim Thomson

try plugging in Jim Murphy – jeez πŸ˜›

15. alistair

I thought it was disappointing to see Alex Salmond not pick up on the Daily Record for the Vow in online site today and to praise the DR for its coverage of referendum. He did have a go at the BBC however.

16. MajorBloodnok

I knew it. All Scotsman readers look like David Walliams, wearing trousers two inches too short.

17. Yesemite Sam

As you say rather addictive. Type “SNP” in and have some fun going through the various categories. Apparently SNP supporters prefer to shop at ASDA????? Traitors!!!

18. 1AlanM

You should look for Scottish Labour!

No?

Me either!!

19. Taranaich

OK, is anyone else getting a bit perplexed at the number of things they put in which result in a “right-wing” subsample? According to this, the average Trekkie is a bit right wing. STAR TREK. Gene Roddenberry’s socialist post-scarcity future. Right wing!?!

20. mogabee

nice one.

I got fedup and put in SH*TE…and the second proposal was…

Shirley Williams, Baroness Williams of Crosby!

I’m going to have sooo much fun with this.

21. Jim Thomson

@Taranaich – Boris Karlof is admired by right-wing, retired, military types with little disposable income – and they’re Brummies

22. mogabee

O/T sort of!

Regarding newspaper sales. I was told last night that 3/4 of papers delivered locally are returned next day.

You’d think they would just send less..!

23. Luigi

I’ve just checked the Better Together profile – they look like Daily Record readers!

24. boglestone

Tunnock’s Teacakes are Left-Wing. It’s safe to eat them again.

25. wingman 2020

Why do Daily Record readers wear their trousers soooooo short?

Seriously, is there a reason?

26. Lollysmum

Ah come on-you’re all having so much fun on this & all I get from the link is 502 Bad Gateway.

Stop hogging the site-I wanna have a go πŸ™

27. think again

Wings gets a mention if you look for Nicola. She also has far more likes than Spud. Perhaps market research gets it right most of the time, but wait, Anas only has a sample size of 77 but they are quite far left. Back to work.

28. Fairliered

Daily Record readers are slightly to the right of Daily Telegraph readers!
    It must be correct. The Labour Party is slightly to the right of the Tory party.

29. wingman 2020

Key in Westminster…. Its all about London and wealthy tories.

30. wingman 2020

Holy Moley…. People who like the website EU Referendum…

31. No no no...Yes

What a great wee toy this is!

Typed in Ruth Tavidson and only 23 You Gov people like her.

Willie Rennie gets no hits, ha ha!

Johann Lamont – favourite movie of people who like her is “The Missing”

Brian Taylor BBC- Personality quotes from his group includes, “I make an effort to get my 5 a day”

32. Luigi

wingman 2020 says:

17 November, 2014 at 11:31 am

Why do Daily Record readers wear their trousers soooooo short?

Nae baws.

33. No no no...Yes

mogabee 11:24pm
    Newspaper sales

I was in the new Aldi in Perth late evening Saturday and there was a large bundle of unsold and untouched Daily Records. Only a few copies of the Sun though. DR, Tick Tock..

34. Cod

Type in “Labour Party supporters” and then click on “top regions” for additional data – look where support for Labour in Scotland lies in the Z scores. Seems to back up the polls charted by Scot Goes Pop and other outlets, which argue Labour in Scotland is not longer trusted, even by many traditional Labour voters.

Adding Jim Murphy to the mix is unlikely to make that change any time soon, particularly given his views on the poor, benefits, Trident and Palestine.

It’s interesting that searching for Scottish Labour party, Scottish Labour, Labour in Scotland, and any other terms involving Labour and Scotland brings up no results other than the overall Labour party – it’s as if Scottish Labour voters don’t want to admit Scottish Labour exists. And, well, according to Johann Lamont, it may well not.

35. Stoker

handclapping says:
    17 November, 2014 at 10:57 am
    “So are you going to put up the profile of your average Wings visitor? Or would it be too painful to find out we are all somebody’s dog bored with being left at home all day?”

HAHAHAHAHA
    πŸ™‚

36. heedtracker

How come they all have so money left at the end of the month. Also quite creepy how Daily Heil lecher lick spittle neo fascism is read by young women in the south east of teamGB but THE VOW fraudsters at the Record’s readership is as far right as Mail too. Old OO gits in Glesga and women in their twenties have a lot more in common than you’d think.

And rancid hypocrisy Guardian style is hip with young lefties in London is it? Ha bloody ha, its stacked high with extremely nasty phoney red tories knee jerking like crazy at any changes to their Scotland region just for starters. “Vote Labour, no Lib Dem, no labour, we’re so left it hurts, ban the bomb but keep it in Scotland, tax the rich but teamGB rules the Scotch forever and above all else, you hate AlicSamin don’t you etc”

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/salmondbell.jpg

37. Doug

The Better Together ‘Brands’ section shows that those who like Better Together have both Severn Trent and Yorkshire Water as companies they are likely to be customers of. Scottish Water doesn’t make the list. Also, Carling but not Tennets?

38. Valerie

@Luigi, good answer! I was going to say as a mark of respect, they are at half mast for the death of the Union.

39. Democracy Reborn

@Gillie

The illegitimate child of a Daily Mail reader & Guardian reader?

Probably someone who utters vacuous left of centre slogans such as “social justice”. But nevertheless pursues right of centre policies, talks pejoratively of “foreigners” & immigrants, pursues illegal wars and attacks civil liberties.

In other words, the Labour Party (UK & Scottish branch), 1994-present.

40. wingman 2020

People who like Iain Duncan Smith….

You couldn’t make this stuff up!!!

What a frigging eyeopener.

41. Karmanaut

Try “the BNP”. They’ve all moved over to UKIP, I see.

42. Davie Park

If the profile of Record readers is accurate, maybe Murphy and McTernan are on the right track to win back the Labour vote in west central Scotland.

43. AuldA

If you ask for β€˜Bath (place)’ you get β€˜female, 40-59’.
    I begin to understand some of Stu’s choices.

(Apart that those women lean towards the right, politically speaking. Sorry, Stu’!)

44. Lollysmum

This all your fault Stu

YouGov is now trending in London region & I still can’t get on the site.

I’m holding you fully responsible πŸ™‚

45. Jean-Loup

I somehow doubt readers of the Sunday Herald are as far to the right politically as this suggests…

46. wingman 2020

Fascinating the extent of the Military and Defence professions on the South Coast. A lot of people getting well paid in this industry sector.

47. Malcolm stephen

This information just goes to show that those in Better Together, were as all suspected, wankers.

????

48. AuldA

Interesting also to compare the result of β€˜Alex Salmond’ with those of β€˜Nicola Sturgeon’

49. Jim Thomson

Deep Fried Mars Bars – who’s a thunk it, seriously, it’s no us!

50. Free Scotland

I’m going to try to find out what is the most popular breakfast cereal among labour politicians. I have a hunch it might be CHEERIOS.

51. Dr JM Mackintosh

@wingman2020
    If you have ever taken a drive along the South coast it is quite revealing – it is where all our defence spending goes.

Army base, Research centre, Navy base, RAF airfield, Atomic weapons research, RAF helicopter base, Portsmouth Navy base, Aircraft research centre, Artillery base, Army Training centre, RAF airfield, Devonport Navy base, Army base, Navy command centre, etc,etc – you get the drift.

Stranglely it all stops at Cornwall border?

52. wingman 2020

Better Together? Are they sure? Porn Hub seems to be popular and is a much more solitary activity.

Bater Together perhaps? And clearly masters at it.

53. wingman 2020

@Dr JM

Thanks. I worked for IBM in Portsmouth for many years.. I know the area well. I don’t know why I was so surprised.

We are a very militaristic country…

– Never a day without a military story in the media.
    – UK been in some form of conflict every year for the last 100 years. Non-stop.
    – Almost unhealthy obsession with commemorations of WWI and II
    – Never see a BBC presenter without a poppy – part of the dogma and culture.

This YouGov gadget really puts things into perspective. North and South differences are obvious. The thing is the Government has this information and much much more… they know there is a London SE centric and North-South problem. But its suits MPs in Westminster.

54. wingman 2020

It’s official… Scotland would become a republic after independence….

The Jelly Bean is not as popular up here, not by a long shot. No wonder she was purring.

55. Doug

Favourite sport of people who like Nicola sturgeon is apparently speedway.

56. Luigi

It seems that the silent majority were at home, busy playing with themselves whilst the YESSers were out in the streets.

57. James Caithness

This is the leaflet Slabbers are putting out in Fife.

Is there legislation that can be applied to lies produced in this type of leaflet.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=320633818121041&set=gm.756134451124813&type=1&theater

58. Stoker

wingman 2020 says:
    17 November, 2014 at 1:12 pm
    “It’s official… Scotland would become a republic after independence….”

OH YEAH, please let it be so.

Fricken parasites, every last one of them.
    πŸ™‚

59. Helena Brown

James Caithness, you must have struck a cord somewhere, this has vanished.

60. No no no...Yes

MURPHY ALERT

Dungcan Hotairforall has tweeted that Jim is taking questions on Labour Hame today at 4:30pm today. You have to supply your name and email. (don’t do it or you be bombarded with junk email asking for donations, and they will include your as a member), or you can tweet them.

http://www.labourhame.com/live-q-a-with-jim-murphy-mp/

“Coming up right here at 4.30pm today (Monday 17th Nov):
    a LIVE question and answer session with Jim Murphy MP!

Still time to submit your questions – use the comment box below (we’ll store the question not publish it as a comment), email info@labourhame.com, or tweet us at @LabourHame with hashtag #LHaskJim.”

This could be interesting.

61. Devorgilla

When I did Better Together it came up with the profile of a well off male pensioner with a disposable income of Β£1000 pcm from an engineering type of background. It fits perfectly with my canvassing experience.

I certainly came across a number of these unimaginative, bigoted, cantankerous gits and they were totally impervious to the Yes message. ‘La, la, la, not listening’.

62. TJenny

James Caithness – getting a ‘this content is currently unavailable’ message on that link. What did it say? Anyhoo, think you’ve got them on the run? πŸ˜‰

63. No no no...Yes

Alex Salmond continues to show that he is a class act:

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/nov/salmond-pension-benefit-north-east-charities

‘Outgoing First Minister and Aberdeenshire East MSP, Alex Salmond, has today (Monday) announced that his First Ministerial pension will be paid to the charitable trust established by him to assist good causes in the North-east of Scotland.”

Can you ever imagine any Unionist politician doing such a public spirited deed?

64. James Caithness

Helena Brown says:
    17 November, 2014 at 1:33 pm
    James Caithness, you must have struck a cord somewhere, this has vanished.

================================

What has vanished Helena? I clicked on the link (if thats what you mean) and the link still worked.

65. Lollysmum

@ Helena Brown at 1.33

Speedy move there-you beat me to it:-)

66. The Man in the Jar

I am glad that I no longer work for Scottish Water. People who like Scottish Water are so far to the right that it almost broke the dial?

67. Gordon Innes

I used it to try and figure out the whole Gordon Brown and Trust thing that I just can’t get my head around.

3371 voters in panel LIKE Brown !

He is one of the few things that get a Strong “Left Wing” response

Male ABC1 in Education / Civil Service / Charity

I still dont get it – but am sure we can use as a tool to help targeted canvasing and messaging for every seat in GE15 …
    Maybe we can get targeted info on Browns Charity Funding % effectivenes to help some people see the ‘Truth’

Back to my personal objective for May … who does vote for Gordon Banks then.

Too many of the wrong Gordons in Westminster … lets fix that πŸ™‚

68. Ewan Dow

What a load of rubbish this is.

I just did Aberdeen FC fans to see what it says about us.

“Most likely pet: Fish”

Fit? Nae a sheep? Rubbish min! πŸ™‚

69. Ali

SNP supporters, favourite movie Braveheart? Come onnnnnnnnn!

70. Fred

As an auld cantankerous, Tunnock’s goodie-gobbling, West of Scotland leftie with an engineering background who also voted YES, let me take this opportunity to confirm that guys buy the Record for the racing section.

71. Jamie Arriere

First of all tried WoS, nothing (of course)

Then tried Newsnet Scotland – mostly Central Scotland accountants & farmers, and as right-wing as you can go.

Methinks not. Methinks steaming pile of ordure

72. Jamie Arriere

On the basis that a negative score in the ‘Top regions’ means a negative opinion in that area, both Central & Northern Scotland dislike the Labour Party more than the South of England does!

Ya dancer!

73. Jim McIntosh

@no no no ….yes

Brian Taylor BBC- Personality quotes from his group includes, β€œI make an effort to get my 5 a day”

Aye but how many times πŸ™‚

74. r baxter

short breeks my grandson in London informs me is a wedgie. with the troosers as far up their jacksie as possible.

75. Oneironaut

That can’t be a very accurate site actually…

The Daily Mail one looks a little too far to the left!

76. Barney Thomson

Better Together favourite foods –

In 4th place – Ulster Fry
    In 9th place – Kudu steak (whit?)

77. Bugger (the Panda)

@ The Man in The Jar

1 Are you going to the Hydro this Saturday?

Did you know someone in S Water called Robert Murray, the Legal Dept?

78. platinum

On the demographics page, why does their map include the Isle of Wight and the Isle of Man, along with the whole of Ireland, but not the Western Isles, Orkney or Shetland?

79. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Barney Thomson

You ahve never had a kudu steak?

Ot a lion, elephant or zebra one???

I have a buffet in Johannesburg for you.

Sorry closed now.

You have seen the Lion King film?

We ate the cast.

80. The Man in the Jar

@Bugger (the Panda)

Sadly I was too late to get a ticket for the Hydro. πŸ™

I have been away from Scottish Water for about ten years now so Im well out of touch. I was in the fleet maintenance side anyway so had little to do with the legal side. Thankfully!

81. Menagerie

Tried searching for Alex Salmond. People who like him apparently also like square sausage and pasties. Same for Jim Murphy. (David Cameron’s fans prefer lobster, it would seem. Is there some sort of gastronomic stereotyping going on here? You’re right though – it IS strangely addictive.

82. Krackerman

Anyone else seeing the strong correlation between right wing British Nationalist views and watching wayyy too much TV????

And the opposite correlation between liberal left wing views and watching next to NO tv?

And they say TV is not propaganda… πŸ™‚

83. Annette

I am not surprised that Patrick Harvie has the left-o-meter go all the way out, but somewhat surprised that the same should be true for readers of George Eliot. Also, Snickers Bar is a real leftie chocolate bar, unlike Yorkie…

84. Aspen

How do you play this game? Clicked all over the pictures but get nothing like your info.

85. Gordon Innes (Gin)

Aspen Click on “like this” text above the pics to goto this site: https://yougov.co.uk/opi/profiler#

And see if you can work out why those Who like “House of Lords” are top customers of Glasgow Airport !

On way to the Grouse Moors or just oor Scots Ermine wearers all on the YouGov Panel ?

86. Barney Thomson

BtP at 4.41 –

Feck me, a carnivorous Panda!

87. Fred

Kudu has certainly come up in the world, when I first heard the name it was a fortified South African wine much favoured by jaikies. πŸ™‚

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.