That ain’t no lady, that’s my strife.

2. dramfineday

Ha,ha,ha very good Chris.

3. Socrates MacSporran

As ever Chris – got it in one. Brilliant.

4. Effijy

In the Daily Hail, It looks like the stuck up Scot from the Council Estate
    is to be the scapegoat for the Tory multibillion PPE fraud.

They report a company linked to so called lady Moan and Groan and her latest marital source
    of wealth purchased a £7.5 million private jet.

How else is she supposed to get to her luxury yacht from his billionaire home without having to mingle with plebs and some of them might even be Independence supporters.

I remember her first gold digger outfit at the St Andrews Boxing Club in Glasgow carrying a large board with the round number in a very tight vest and the shortest of shirts but fair play to her she did catch her first man of wealth.

She has been through tough times with the Bra company as other rich men bailed it out repeatedly and she even had to lower herself to appear on TV to sell miracle weight loss tablets that the worlds Heath experts just didn’t know or care about.

I did see her once in her Bra factory were her attitude to her staff stank.

My favourite moment in career was were she took part in a C list celebrity show – something like the Apprentice. She was put in a team and was set tasks.
    She started the first team talk by ordering about a young female cast member of East Enders.
    The London East Ender certainly marked the card of the Glasgow version big time.

How I wish I’d recorded it.

A dead rodents coat and a seat in the House of Lords for services against Scotland at Indy ref 1.

God bless all those who sailed in her.

5. Ruby

I love the ‘inventors’ in the background.

Good of her to give the ‘PatronisingBTlady’ a job I just hope she gets time to think and clear her head before the tricky business of making an electron microscope from cornflakes boxes toilet rolls and bottles of washing up liquid.

Maybe with a wave of the ‘self-id wand’ all will be well.

I hate to think what the guy on the other desk is inventing with his football & toilet plunger!

6. Jo

I wish they would stop calling her a business guru from what I’ve heard her business ventures have failed. As for being thrown under the bus by the tories that was only a matter of time she doesn’t fit into that scene and never will soon she will be regretting the day she ever got involved with the tories. Can’t resist having a chuckle to myself never forget where you came from like Chelle did.

7. Ottomanboi

I understand she’s abandoning the UK for warmer climes.
    I suspect that being Scottish is a handicap in the growing anglo-narcissism of Ukania central.
    Nudge, nudge, wink, wink, what’s that feral smell..

8. Willie

I bet she leaves some smell in the bathroom. She is just so full of shit.

Big question is however, why do we allow our walkways and pavements to be sioled by crap like Mone.

9. Hatuey

Middle class English voters don’t hear a Tory/scumbag/fraudster/fuckwit talking when Mone talks. They hear a Scottish person. And it just reinforces their distrust and hatred of us, the same sort of distrust and hatred that Brexit types once reserved for Romanians.

Anti-Scottish prejudice is a much bigger and important thing in UK politics than anyone wants to admit. They usually conjure it in the run-up to elections when the MSM warns voters down south that a Labour victory could lead to Scottish people having a say in things.

And, yet, it’s the debauched and corrupt colonial system that elevates people like Mone. Middle England only gets to see the “Scot’s on the make” types that their system elevates.

Thus, their prejudice towards us is self-fulfilling, and that’s common in the second and third world where functioning democracy is routinely undermined by London’s cold, corrupting, and invisible hand.

Oh, democracy doesn’t work in places like that, they’re all corrupt bastards… even with all the free money and help we give them, they’re struggling.

10. Hatuey

“Scots on the make”not “Scot’s” — I miss that preview thing.

11. stuart mctavish

@Effigy

Call me old fashioned but I prefer to hope the blue peter stuff isn’t the only thing going on in the background and that she & Gove have been up to all sorts of exciting under cover stuff that will eventually expose particularly anti Scottish behaviour elsewhere.. popular people people like Boris being detested and removed from office for having fun (/ being tory) despite the common cold war, and Liz Truss being subject to not dissimilar discrimination (despite reports of a Paisley education), spring to mind

12. Ottomanboi

Mr Patrick Kane…who was famous, I think, centuries before I was thought of, on the nature of «woke».
    https://archive.vn/EzObn
    Woke historically signified awareness, and nothing wrong with that.
    The modern usage goes way beyond existential awareness to the imposition of a new order of reality which questions everything, sciences, history, philosophy, religion, language but offers no respite, no «point de repère» as the francophones have it. Reason and logic, old school, end up in the trash.
    Being all at sea without a motor, paddle, sail suits the worldview of this intellectual relativist maelstrom comfortable on its Jupiterlike metaverse of cyber turbulence.
    Woke, the hypostatic union with fascism?

Gregor Samsa woke up one morning to find that he has become a gigantic beetle-like bug….Gregor did not end up happily.

«there should be some satisfaction that Scotland’s progressive and liberal tendencies are a phenomenon that the world takes notice of» (for what reason one might wonder?)

Do be careful with that imagination thing guys.

13. John Main

@Hatuey 12:57

“Brexit types once reserved for Romanians”

Why the past tense?

Did you mean Romanians or Remanians?

Anyhoo, you carry on, Hatuey.

Alert readers will enjoy witnessing the psychological phenomenon of transference in full flow as you air your innate prejudices in a post accusing others of possessing innate prejudices.

14. Garrion

Or we could not descend into middle age keyboard warriors exchanging tediums. Just a thought, John and Hatuey.

15. Hatuey

Garrion, my comment was profound, not tedious, and you know it.

You’re tedious.

16. Hatuey

Actually, on reflection, I don’t think John Main’s comment was entirely tedious either. His reference to tense is quite perceptive. And the tense I used wasn’t accidental; we don’t hear much about Romanians overrunning Britain so much these days — that facet of MSM propaganda no longer serves any useful purpose.

17. Hatuey

That Pat Kane article that Ottomanboi links to is one of the most dishonest things I’ve read in years. It’s intended as some sort of defence of “woke” but there’s no mention of the post-apocalyptic minefield that their gender ideology has made of our social landscape.

Similarly;

“Though this time it’s from a pestilential source, there should be some satisfaction that Scotland’s progressive and liberal tendencies are a phenomenon that the world takes notice of. Such progressiveness also seems to be guiding our putative foreign policy, as Scotland’s recent leading advocacy on climate reparations (or “damage and loss”) shows.”

No mention of Sturgeon’s failures on climate change targets or her apparent eagerness to start World War III.

Pat Kane is a pestilential source. I know he visits this website and invite to respond and engage in honest debate.

18. Alf Baird

Hatuey @ 12:57 pm

“Middle class English voters don’t hear a Tory/scumbag/fraudster/fuckwit talking when Mone talks. They hear a Scottish person. And it just reinforces their distrust and hatred of us, the same sort of distrust and hatred that Brexit types once reserved for Romanians”

On the matter of cultural/colonial assimilation, Albert Memmi explained that: “It is the colonized who is the first to desire assimilation, and it is the colonizer who refuses it to him. All that the colonized has done to emulate the colonizer has met with disdain from the colonial masters. They explain to the colonized that those efforts are in vain, that he only acquires an additional trait, that of being ridiculous. Indeed, a man straddling two cultures is rarely well seated, and the colonized does not always find the right pose.”

Such is the cultural illusion of Scottish unionists.

19. KT Lorimer

I have it on good authority that Pat Kane used/uses the Wings block list.

20. Ruby

John Main says:
    10 December, 2022 at 1:15 pm

Alert readers will enjoy witnessing

Alert readers!
    You sound like Andy Ellis.

How do you know what alert readers will enjoy? Is ‘Alert Readers’ the name of your little group. I call you ‘The Five Boys’

You seem to be always trying to wind up Hatuey what did you do to you poppet?

I think Garrion was unfair to Hatuey. Maybe Garrion is a new boy and doesn’t know the full stalking story.

21. Cuilean

Ooops. That’s a fail for me. I’m afraid Chris. The imagery smacks too much of misogyny for my liking; reminiscient of the back of old Tennents Lager tins. Mmmm… and your imagery has unleased the inner taliban of some of the auld codgers’ posts too.

22. Ruby

Who is Pat Kane? What user name does he use on Wings?

23. Andy Ellis

I’d love someone to sit Pat Kane down ask him his views on the treatment of Joanna Cherry and others, and whether he approved or disapproved of “woke” types othering Gender Critical views, threatening academic freedom in our universities and colleges and the livelihoods of those who will not bow down before TRA extremist views. Someone like Mandy Rhodes from Holyrood magazine perhaps?

It seems passing strange in current circumstances to pen a whole article devoted to the “woke” phenomenon – particularly in Scotland – and yet studiously avoid the gender elephant in the corner. Pat may be a bit of a pseud but he isn’t an idiot: he knows fine well that if he took a stand on the issue, he’d either be crucified for not uncritically accepting the “TWAW and no debate” mantra and all that comes with it, or be exposed as very much part of the problem, not part of the solution.

I’m not sure what the “good awakeness” he thinks Scotland should aim for actually means…? He says it means:

This is a “waking up” which implies a calmer, broader discussion, in much safer and better-managed spaces (real and virtual) than the usual networked hellsites. Indra suggests that our basic assumption should be that people are not just “machines designed for furious and endless debate.”
    Practising this kind of “politics” implies an infinite game, one that keeps expanding and developing its rules to include participants – not a finite game geared towards defeat/victory.

The implication of his vision “moar better awakeness” however is that not only must he and others on the “woke” side of the movement strive to include and accommodate the kind of far right wing commentators he discusses in his piece, but also those the TRA extremists find guilty of thought crime and regard as beyond the pale.

I suspect from his politics and public pronouncements (though I’m not aware of anything specific in relation to the whole issue of gender critical beliefs) that Pat wouldn’t want to touch the matter with a ten foot pole. Far easier to remain silent than to be othered as a *tractor to the cause I imagine?

The intellectual cowardice of many “thought leaders” in Scotland on this issue will not be remembered as one of Scotland’s finest hours when the history of this era is written and discussed in future.

24. Republicofscotland

Another good one Chris, soon her mask will slip.

This is what we must do, as 100,000 Bangladeshi’s take to the streets to call for their PM to stand down, some of the PM’s nationalist MPs have resigned to aid the protestors cause.

https://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/2022/12/10/bangladesh-opposition-mounts-huge-protest-mps-quit/

Unfortunately, the gutless and spineless self-serving troughing SNP MSPs would never resign to try and force Sturgeon to resign, to aid the holding of a snap Holyrood election to be used as a de facto indy vote.

That what we need a 100,000 outside Holyrood shouting for Sturgeon to resign to trigger a snap election. The Rev has pointed out the way step-by step we could be out of this prison of a union next year.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/how-you-do-it/

You want out of this prison of a union? then get out in a large number to Holyrood and tell Sturgeon that she MUST resign for the good of the country.

25. Robert Hughes

” The imagery smacks too much of misogyny for my liking; reminiscient of the back of old Tennents Lager tins. ”

Lol . In what way is it * misogyny * to skewer a blood-sucking leech like Mone ? Are you saying no woman should ever be criticised .

Chris’s cartoon bears no resemblance to those old Tennents Lager cans ( Calvinist Scotland’s rather tame attempt at risque advertising ) . For one thing , the latter featured women in bikinis ; whereas …….

26. Ruby

Cuilean says:
    10 December, 2022 at 3:22 pm

Ooops. That’s a fail for me. I’m afraid Chris. The imagery smacks too much of misogyny for my liking; reminiscient of the back of old Tennents Lager tins. Mmmm… and your imagery has unleased the inner taliban of some of the auld codgers’ posts too.

Totally unfair criticism.

How do you think he should have portrayed Michelle Mone?

When someone’s whole style is reminiscient of old ‘Tennents Lager pin-ups’ it would be impossible to depict them as something else.

27. Dan

@ Cuilean

Did you ever see or hear of the run of Tennent’s Lager “tadger” cans around 1990. They got pulled prior to making it into the shops and pubs, but will we ever truly know if it was a printing error or was the faint pink blotch below the opaque dress a real boaby!

28. Robert Louis

So, Mone has taken a ‘leave of abscence’ from her tax-free paid for life do-nothing unelected position in the corrupt, criminal, house of ‘lords’.

It must be nice, that when accused of multi million pound fraud, you can merely take a ‘leave of absence’. In any other PROPER job, she’d get sacked.

Over 900 unelected ‘lords’ in London, all getting paid 300 pounds tax free per day, to do NOTHING. The whole damn lot of them should be in jail. The English government says it has no money to pay for free school meals, or fund a pay rise for nurses, yet it can pay three hundred pounds PER DAY to lying wastrels who call themselves ‘lords’ to do sweet f all.

We simply MUST get out of this corrupt unwanted, undemocratic so-called ‘union with England ASAP.

29. Andy Ellis

@Republicofscotland

I have my doubts Sturgeon would suddenly see the error of her ways if 100,000 of us rocked up at Holyrood or filed past Bute House to try and persuade her to resign.

Even if it was 500,000 which is more of a “La Diada” style statement on the lines of our Catalan friends, would she really be likely to say: “Right lads, the games a bogey, let’s chuck it in and call that plebiscitary election!” ?

I’d like to think folk were that involved and motivated……but who do you expect to organise it?

30. Robert Louis

Ruby at 405pm,

Totally agree, the image of a ‘lager lovely’ is apt in this case.

31. Ruby

Never mind I don’t care who Pat Kane is. I just had a look at his National article and QFMD I haven’t a clue what he’s on about.

I have no idea what ‘woke’ means I suspect it might be one of these modern words that the kids use like ‘bad’ when they mean ‘good’

I guessing ‘Woke’ means asleep.

The SG are definitely ‘woke at the wheel’

32. Republicofscotland

Andy Ellis.

We need to try, there’s a perfectly good exit out of this prison of a union and we could be out next year, Sturgeon knows this, but doesn’t want to use it, and that’s why we must try and compel her to use it.

We have no other avenue but to protest, infact this is the most important item we should be focusing on, all the indy movements efforts must be zeroed in on this. The Rev has shown us the door out of this union and its up to the indy movement to open that door.

No one who has an inkling of what Sturgeon is like, actually believes that in two years time they’ll be a de facto indy vote when the GE comes around, it just isn’t going to happen, Sturgeon’s record on promoting the indy cause is nonexistent.

What is required is for a well kent face within the indy movement to promote and push this great route out of the union, from there it could pick up momentum, and hopefully shame Sturgeon into doing the right thing, at the very least it would expose Sturgeon for what she is.

What options do we have, to sit by for a whopping two-years to pass, and God only knows how tighter Westminster’s grip on Scotland would be by then.

There won’t be a better chance of ditching this prison of union that could see us out in 2023, the opportunity MUST NOT pass us by.

The million-dollar question must be How Badly Does the Indy Movement Want It?

33. Republicofscotland

Here’s a more close to home statement for all Scots in Scotland, what if you got your arses down to Holyrood and protested against Sturgeon not resigning to trigger a snap Holyrood election that would be a de facto indy vote, and if you did this, and Sturgeon also did it, and we voted to exit this prison of a union, would you do the above (get your arses down to Holyrood to protest) if it led to cheaper energy bills, giving YOU the ability to put the heating on when you needed it and not to worry yourself silly about the cost.

Scotland is swimming in energy sources, we should have cheap energy but we don’t, YOU know what to do, so do it.

34. John Main

@Hatuey 2:21

WW3 started 24th February 2022. Try to keep up.

We can lay a lot at NS’s door, but trying to blame that one on her just invites contempt.

35. John Main

@RoS 4:58

These energy sources Scotland is swimming in, Hatuey is bemoaning Scotland’s utilisation of at 2:21, by lambasting our failure to meet our climate change targets.

Maybes we all need to freeze in the dark a bit more to fulfil our promises on the world stage!

36. Ruby

John Main says:
    10 December, 2022 at 5:12 pm

@Hatuey 2:21

WW3 started 24th February 2022. Try to keep up.

We can lay a lot at NS’s door, but trying to blame that one on her just invites contempt.

You are at it again.

Stalkin’ Hatuey!

37. Joe

Ottomanboi says:
    10 December, 2022 at 12:00 pm
    I understand she’s abandoning the UK for warmer climes.
    I suspect that being Scottish is a handicap in the growing anglo-narcissism of Ukania central.
    Nudge, nudge, wink, wink, what’s that feral smell..
    —————————————————-
    She isn’t alone in taking that action though.
    https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/i-love-to-visit-but-its-too-damp-to-live-in-scotland-says-brian-cox-h0f26z6pz

38. John Main

@RoS 3:48

I believe that your average Bangladeshi would think they had died and gone to paradise if they ever found themselves living the life of your average Scot.

That’s why they can get 100K Bangladeshis on the streets, and we can’t.

39. George Ferguson

Great charactiture Chris. There is no way you were rusty. I don’t think the taxpayer will get the Mone 29 million back. But we have lost more than that up here. In more ways than we can imagine.

40. robertkknight

Can’t we save the taxpayer a shit load of money in prosecuting the… “Lady” and just chuck a bucket of water over her? I don’t see any flying monkeys but I recon the result would be the same.

41. Ruby

Andy Ellis says:
    10 December, 2022 at 4:10 pm

@Republicofscotland

I have my doubts Sturgeon would suddenly see the error of her ways if 100,000 of us rocked up at Holyrood or filed past Bute House to try and persuade her to resign.

“wah waaah”

Always the Debbie Downer.

It’s all hopeless we might as well just resign ourselves to the fact that we are stuck in this British colony.

We could never have a protest the size they had in Catalonia so better just to stay at home in the cold.

On top of that Sturgeon is mental and would have us all arrested for treason or wearing the wrong scarf.

42. Ruby

One of ‘The Five Boys’ is taking the piss by posting a link to a Times article which is behind a paywall.

Another one of ‘The Five Boys’ has said we are so ‘Better Together’ we wouldn’t want to protest and risk our comfy existence.

No doubt the forth of ‘The Five Boys’ will be along short and to tell us nobody will protest until you ‘show us the money’

43. Andy Ellis

@RoS 4.41

We have no other avenue but to protest, …

Yes, we do…..voting. Scots had the chance to give Sturgeon and her party a bloody nose in local elections not that long ago. They decided in their wisdom not to do so. I happen to agree with you that i’d like to see a bit more rage, but we have to face facts that it just isn’t there at present. Things might change if folk really start feeling the pinch over the coming months, but I hae ma doots!

Two years is a long time in politics. you may be right that Sturgeon won’t deliver on the plebiscitary election promise any more than she did/will on the #indyref2023 promise, but….so what? It’s in the hands of the Scottish electorate to change things. If they’re not going to storm Holyrood or Bute House in the next 24 months, and/or the SNP don’t decide to grow a pair and depose her themselves, what’s the best realistic alternative?

That’s right….voting. Not magical thinking about “cunning plans for indy”, just putting a cross in a box. Let’s make it so.

44. Joe

Hatuey says:10 December, 2022 at 12:57 pm

Anti-Scottish prejudice is a much bigger and important thing in UK politics than anyone wants to admit. They usually conjure it in the run-up to elections when the MSM warns voters down south that a Labour victory could lead to Scottish people having a say in things.
    Thus, their prejudice towards us is self-fulfilling, and that’s common in the second and third world where functioning democracy is routinely undermined by London’s cold, corrupting, and invisible hand.
    ——————————————————-
    This is just complete BS really, Scots aren’t treated any differently than Welsh, Irish, Scousers or Brummies anywhere i’ve ever been across the whole UK , Stu Himself has lived rather a long time in quite posh Bath and I doubt he has lost his Scottish accent yet I’ve never heard him moaning about what you are complaining of ? Perhaps your own personal experience has more to do with your own attitude ?
    There have also been a great many Scots at the top of UK politics over the years so your idea there is some sort of conspiracy that the “English” actively try to stop that from happening just doesn’t ring true. A large number of Scots solo musicians and bands are also hugely popular over the whole UK. ( Even The Proclaimers)

45. Ruby

Andy Ellis says:
    10 December, 2022 at 6:08 pm

but I hae ma doots!

Of course you do Debbie!

46. John Main

Joe

Good post.

But wasted.

The hated Tories and the fascist Englanders have Sunak running the show, along with a supporting act containing more ethnic minorities than most of us see in a week.

But still, the slurs of racism and the other “isms” fly thick and fast on here.

Meantime, millions of Scots live and work in England, and plan only to return to Scotland (if ever) when they have made their packet. For every snowflake who breaks down greeting when somebody calls him Jock, a thousand join in the banter and give as good as they get.

47. John Main

Ruby 6:05

Don’t be jealous of Hatuey, I promise to stalk you next week.

48. George Ferguson

@John Main 6:28pm
    I am not sure what you are saying here?. If you are saying that Scotland is 96% white and 4% Bame and the balance is wrong. Then I am inclined to agree with that. Equally we should welcome people of a different cultural background. The big game is on. My son in law is English and loves living in Scotland. He says we are a very friendly people. Glad he doesn’t read WoS. Who am I supporting? Whoever plays the best fitba.

49. TamC

TnT thank you Chris, I was under the impression TnT wiz explosive, ken. Tits n Teeth, much more comforting, obviously Chelle must be in line fur wan ay tha Nobel prizes.

50. Andy Ellis

@John Main

It’s not millions, it’s around 800,000 Scots born in England, 50,000 in the rest of the UK. I suspect you’re right that most have little intention of ever returning to Scotland. I imagine more would perhaps think about it if independence happens, and 5 will get you 10 that a good number will avail themselves of Scottish passports.

As for some of he English being anti-Scottish, of course it happens just as it happens the other way. It always wound English folk up that I refused to support England in sports for example: they just didn’t get it at all. Of course, it just made me do it all the more, as in general I don’t really care. 🙂

51. Alf Baird

Joe @ 6.10 pm

“Scots aren’t treated any differently”

Whit aboot a fowk’s human richt richt tae lairn an respeck thair ain langage, no juist tae aye hiv anither furrin langage garred doon bairns thrapples in schuil?

Have you never heard of ‘cultural (or colonial) assimilation’, ‘socio-linguistic prejudice’, ‘cultural imperialism’, or ‘cultural hegemony’ and its ‘illusion’ of (British) culture?

Peoples in self-determination conflict are always linguistically divided due to being deprived of learning their ain language, its speakers made subordinate through suffering colonial bilingualism and forced to ‘mimic the colonizer’s tongue’ to make any socio-economic progress.

The racism aspects embedded in colonial oppression still obscured by the myth of ‘union’ must also therefore be emphasized:

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/08/15/determinants-of-independence-ethnicity/

52. Ruby

Joe says:

Scots aren’t treated any differently than Welsh, Irish, Scousers or Brummies anywhere i’ve ever been across the whole UK , Stu Himself has lived rather a long time in quite posh Bath and I doubt he has lost his Scottish accent yet I’ve never heard him moaning about what you are complaining of ?

What on earth are you talking about? Complete BS really?

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-lady/comment-page-1/#comment-2719174

Hatuey said:

Anti-Scottish prejudice is a much bigger and important thing in UK politics than anyone wants to admit.

he said in UK politics

I do think Stu may have complained about anti-Scottish prejudice in UK politics a time or two.

53. Hatuey

I predict France will hammer Brexit, and I’ve bet them to win 4-1.

54. Andy Ellis

predict France will hammer Brexit, and I’ve bet them to win 4-1.

What odds did you get on the Chinese invasion of Taiwan before Christmas?

55. John Main

@George Ferguson

Thanks for your reply.

I have you down as one of the “good guys” on here. That’s a small group BTW.

I was thinking of posting along the lines that the game is starting, but thought it too provocative. I will try to catch it in the car – working tonight.

Regarding ethnic “balance”. The way I see it, if talented and hard-working individuals are under-appreciated in their own countries, then let them come here wherever we don’t have people of equal talent or capacity for hard work. But if they dispossess, under-cut or price out our own people, then naw.

That addresses the quality aspect. Regarding quantity, human nature doesn’t change, and no large scale immigration episode leaves the culture and value systems of the host nation unchanged. I appreciate there are many reasons for wanting Indy, spanning the range from anti-English bigotry to simple “let’s get rich quick” (my preference). But, for anybody professing to want Indy in order to halt the erosion of Scotland’s culture, heritage, legal system, languages, etc. to also be in favour of significant immigration, something which is guaranteed to further dilute our historical identity, reveals epic cognitive dissonance.

56. Ruby

John Main says:
    10 December, 2022 at 6:32 pm

Ruby 6:05

Don’t be jealous of Hatuey, I promise to stalk you next week.

Feel free but watch out for complaints from Garrion, Stu
    and other readers who are not into the ‘fuckin’ playground shit’

57. Ruby

Andy Ellis says:
    10 December, 2022 at 7:04 pm

predict France will hammer Brexit, and I’ve bet them to win 4-1.

What odds did you get on the Chinese invasion of Taiwan before Christmas?

Oh dear that’s three of ‘The Five Boys’ stalking Hatuey now.

58. Ottomanboi

JOE 5:28
    Norway is cold and damp and has the world’s largest sovereign health fund.
    Arabian peninsula copes with temperatures 50+ and recycled water blah blah
    Mr Cox, dont be such a wimp.

59. robertkknight

I usually don’t bite, but John Main and Joe…

Your efforts to gloss over the experience of people you’ve never met and know nothing about as experiencing “banter” or “complete BS” is symptomatic of the reality of a situation you’d have us all believe doesn’t exist.

The only Scots which “made it” in any field in England, in my experience, are those who put their Britishness before their Scottishness, and who in order to ‘get on’ were happy to play the house-Jock and tolerated the “banter”… the “sweaty sock” in place of their given name, the “white wog” comments, the being asked to repeat yourself because nobody in the room speaks “jockanese”, who smiled when the chorus of “I’d rather be a paki than a jock” was struck up in the pub, as opposed to simply walking out, packing up and going home.

After 7 years in England I transferred home, with the same company I should add. But I’d also spent a year working in Canada. Did I experience anything remotely like I had in England? Absolutely not. The worst I’d ever had was being referred to as “Scotty”. That was it! How utterly f***ing refreshing that was, to live and work with people who didn’t give an actual shit about where you were from, other than to ask what it was like to live there.

Incidentally, when I relocated home, my English wife came with me. Has she experienced the equivalent to what I did in England? Abso-fucking-lutely! The Scots aren’t saints – not by any stretch, and despite having now spent more of her 50+ years in Scotland than in England, she still gets shit from the Scottish variety of mouth breather that I encountered with depressing regularity in England.

So, John and Jo, unless you’ve experienced it at first hand, please feel free to go to the fridge and get yourself a big, family sized helping of STFU.

60. Ottomanboi

Sovereign WEALTH….

61. Ruby

John Main says

Meantime, millions of Scots live and work in England, and plan only to return to Scotland (if ever) when they have made their packet.

Is that your argument against there being no
    Anti-Scottish prejudice in UK politics?

Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha!

‘A pound spent in Croydon is far more of value to the country than a pound spent in Strathclyde’

62. John Main

Alf Baird 6:56

Your post inspired me to find out which languages are spoken/supported at EU official proceedings.

24 languages, in fact, but bad news fur oor ain fowk. Soz.

Worth remembering when the EUphiles next start banging on about iScotland’s manifest destiny in the EU.

Then again, we could be savvy and make a condition of us joining that the languages supported go up by a few more, to include ours.

I, for one, would hate to suffer even more under the racism that would be evident should we Scots have to mimic the EU coloniser’s tongue(s) in order to make any socio-economic progress.

[Incidentally, why are you spelling colonise with a ‘z’? Are you subconsciously aping the coloniser of the coloniser?]

63. John Main

“Five boys” now.

Seems like no time since it was “three amigos”.

Sane posters on Wings BTL up by 66%!

Maybes it’s catching on.

64. George Ferguson

@John Main 7:10pm
    In case you missed it, 96% white and 4% bame is not significant immigration. I don’t want to get rich quick I am happy to have enough. And share any extra I have. I am old school Scots. I got an apple, banana, orange and a harmonica for my Christmas. Teaching resilience in our young folk has been a collective failure. (We didn’t make that mistake with our offspring).
    Just like Brexit, Scots want to run their own affairs. Take back control etc. So I will agree with you that rejoining the EU defeats the aim of an Independent Scotland. By the way we will be worse off in an Independent Scotland but that is an intellectual position to hold. And that is why I am a principled Independence supporter because I can see past the SNP with a more effective mixed economic approach. It’s a shit fest just now but have hope.

65. Ruby

Looks like it’s a quiet night in East Kilbride and nobody wants a cab.

It’ll be due to the snaw and the fitba!

66. Dorothy Devine

France won.

67. Willie

It’s not coming home!!!!

A day of national mouring. And I’ve just heard one of the commentators saying that England were actually the better team.

Out of Europe and out of the World Cup.

68. Hatuey

The European Union 2
    Brexit 1

Another prediction comes good.

I can’t imagine how miserable life must be for an England supporting rickshaw driver in East Kilbride tonight.

69. Chic Murrays's Chiropodist

nous sont toute francais maintenant!!!

“Northman, southman, comrades all,
    Dublin, Belfast, Cork and Charles de Gaulle!” 🙂

70. Ruby

France beat Brexit

Wee shame for the England fans.
    They were very supportive during the 2014 IndyRef

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7G_mDP5DKw

so I’m not going to upload ‘La Marseillaise’ now.
    It’s not nice to kick a man when he’s down.

When I was on YouTube earlier looking for ‘La Marseillaise’ I spotted this:

Alex Salmond talks to the international press following the UK Supreme Court’s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uc0OzwOYJK8

71. Dorothy Devine

The only reason I struggle to support the Harry Kanes of this world lies with the media. Their preening , inaccurate crap puts me off – not to mention 56 years of ” we won the world cup’ when most teams have forgotten within 4 years. I know it is most ungracious of me but generally speaking I do not support team games , preferring to cheer on individuals from any and every country in their endeavours , most especially in MotoGP, BSB and WSB.( much more exciting than a bunch of fellas or girls kicking a wee ba’ roon a pitch!)

72. Stoker

Willie says on 10 December, 2022 at 9:05 pm:
    “It’s not coming home!!!!”

Of course its not, Scotland didn’t qualify. 😉

73. George Ferguson

@Hatuey 9:07pm
    Your prediction was 4 one France. And we are to believe you put a bet on. I see how you operate. Change the prediction after the event, so SNP. I thought the best side won. Scoring 2 goals from open play. If you can’t be honest with us at least be honest with yourself. It was a tight game but France deserved to go through.

74. Derek

“Willie says:
    10 December, 2022 at 9:05 pm

And I’ve just heard one of the commentators saying that England were actually the better team.”

They might’ve been the better team, as in better to watch and more attacking. They just weren’t the winning one.

75. Andy Ellis

Allons enfants de la patrie,
    Le jour de gloire est arrivé !

76. Derek

“Dorothy Devine says:
    10 December, 2022 at 9:21 pm

MotoGP, BSB and WSB”

I went to a MotoGP race at Silverstone – the last year of the 125s – courtesy of a pal who used to work there. I didn’t like the big bikes; they sounded like they had misfires due to the traction control (it was pishin’ doon) and the Moto 2s were like a CBR600 race.
    I’m not a fan of the current style of bike design, regarding the superbikes, but Knockhill’s always a hoot for fast bikes and Cadwell’s a hoot for absolutely anything…
    And then, there’s the roads…

77. Stoker

Dorothy Devine says on 10 December, 2022 at 9:21 pm: “The only reason I struggle to support the Harry Kanes of this world lies with the media.”

Sadly that’s the case for most of us, Dorothy. Every major tournament it’s the same utter arrogance. We only need to turn up and the trophies ours because we are ENGERLUND mentality. Throw in a very hefty lump of disrespect for the other countries (regardless of how many times they falsely say; respect to whoever, but…).

They’ve been even more puke-inducing than normal in this tournament. To the point of angering a lot of folk. Before their previous game was even started the BBC had on their ticker tape across the bottom of the screen: “England on a collision course with France.” And they hadn’t even earned that right at that point.

Even after tonight’s game, that arrogant twat Mark Pougatch, for ITV, states: “That has to go down as a missed opportunity. We gave loads of respect to Morocco but, surely, that has to be a missed opportunity, isn’t it?” Basically saying we would have beaten Morocco because, well, we’re ENGERLUND and we would have been in the final. Arrogance personified.

I watched Morocco match Portugal to every single ball, they were tremendous and showed absolutely no fear. Yet the English media & presenters etc just can’t control their inbuilt superiority complex. Every sporting tournament it infects our ears. They just can’t help themselves.

And they wonder why the world hates them and loves to see them getting beat. Their actions make all England defeats much more sweeter than they’d normally be.

78. Hatuey

I predicted France would hammer them, and I bet the score would be 4-1.

The bet wasn’t the prediction. The prediction was the prediction.

England played the usual ‘punt into the box and hope for the best’ crap. Why do they all walk around like hard men with their shoulders and chests puffed up? It’s like the 1980s all over again with that lot.

We know what the response will be — blame the ref and continue where they left off criticising Qatar.

79. Willie

Wonder if England fans will go on the rampage tonight in Qatar.

Without doubt some of the Spanish resorts will by now have had trouble.

80. Ruby

I don’t know anything about football. I did read a few comments here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/61047822

I’m just amazed how seriously people take football.

There was a lot of stuff about England being the best team.

This is so undeserved. France have been very poor and for all his talent Mbappe has barely worked up a sweat and has been anonymous. The best team don’t always win – certainly not this evening.
    Alan, Seaton

Disappointing. Robbed. But is feels like we’re getting closer.”

A mate if mine has just messaged to say his young lad is in floods of tears.
    and so on

Ach to hell here’s Mireille singing La Marseillaise.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIxOl1EraXA

It’s a great anthem. Really rousing. We could do with something like that to get us going.

If we are stuck for something to talk about tomorrow anti-Frenchness in England might be a hot topic.

Who did our First Minister support? La Belle France ou Les Rosbif?

81. Breeks

Don’t really do the footy gloat thing, but this just hit the funny bone. 😉

https://twitter.com/NORMALT0NY/status/1601695885003739137

82. George Ferguson

@Hatuey 9:44pm
    Which Hatuey are we dealing with here?. Sometimes intelligent and informative. Now we have the prediction was the prediction. Absolute nonsense. I didn’t say or predict the outcome. A tight match and I didn’t forecast the outcome because it was too close to call. I refer you to Off the Ball hosts. Entirely predictable outcome of the English commentariat will be in the event of an English defeat. I will need to put Tam on my bucket list.

83. Stoker

Hatuey says on 10 December 2022 at 9:44 pm: “We know what the response will be — blame the ref and continue where they left off criticising Qatar.”

At half-time they were praising the ref as “a good referee” who “has experience in the South-American leagues and has handled a few World Cup games so far in this tournament.”

At full-time the referee was “a bad referee” and “rank rotten.”

I shit you not. LOL!

(Personally i think he was bad and the England No6 & French No22 should have been red-carded. But that’s all water under the bridge now anyway)

G’night, Troops! 🙂

84. Ruby

G’night Stoker

Dors bien et fais de beaux reves.

I’m really impressed with your knowledge of football.

I wouldn’t know a ‘red card’ from a ‘Christmas card’

85. Tinto Chiel

An Englishman’s view of last night’s proceedings: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wv3y_s79tuk

86. Ian Brotherhood

@TC (8.00) –

Harsh!

😉 🙂 🙂

87. Tinto Chiel

@ Ian B: he’s a brave man, given the levels of delusion and “pyoor guttedness” after last night’s match.

It’s a wee shame for them all, soanitis 😉 .

88. Dorothy Devine

Derek , I love the big bikes , I love the noise but I have to say the 125 guys are extraordinary – no wonder Valentino went to watch them before his races.

Stoker , exactly so – though I am sure there are many English folk who get just as irritated and embarrassed by them.

89. Stoker

Dorothy Devine says on 11 December 2022 at 9:49 am:

“Stoker , exactly so – though I am sure there are many English folk who get just as irritated and embarrassed by them.”

Oh for sure! Big Cockney associate of mine, has lived and raised his family in Scotland over the past 20-odd years, has told me countless times how embarrassing he finds them. And that it was something that he never noticed previously, at all, until he moved to Scotland. But for many years now he often finds himself actually physically wincing at the media & pundits. He’s now worse than me for shouting at the telly. LOL! 😉

90. Mac

I would like to see a thorough investigation of how and more importantly why this incredibly vile individual ended up in the house of lords. What hideous act of betrayal did she commit to ‘earn’ that reward. She is obviously a hugely distasteful and grotesque chiselling hairy of the worst kind. Slagging of independence is not enough… she must have done something much more significant to negotiate that pay-off.

Truly horrendous person. I hope she spends years in a cockroach infested cell and loses every penny. Scum.

91. Wally Jumblatt

Since this is obviously a football thread, my sympathies to England for their defeat. But can offer the suggestion that to have beaten France and then lost to Maroc might have been even harder for them to bear.
    56 years of hurt plus a Marrakesh Mauling, doesn’t bear thinking aboot.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.