Terrifying!

2. Cuilean

“The prisoner wishes to say a word…..”

3. Morgatron

I do hope Hamish is being played by Liam Neeson in this cartoon and is ready to deploy his special skills to give John Bull a right fucking kicking.
    Marvellous toon Chris.

4. ronnie anderson

Had a new Coal Cellar door fitted keys dropped through the letter box number on keys ( 007 ) lol caw me Sean Ronnery noo lol.

5. Lister

Sturgeon MIGHT make a televised speech relating to sometime in the distant future.

Then again,,,if her record on speaking out about Scottish Independence is anything to go by,,,she MIGHT not.

Decisions decisions!!!

6. Ottomanboi

Which power supplier mister? French, Spanish, German, Chinese? Tried uSwitch?

7. Capella

I think you’ve captured the power dynamic very well. You can take a well deserved holiday – aka staycation.

8. winifred mccartney

All Hamish has to do is wag is tail to begin and we Scots will rise up off our knees and ‘get going’.

9. dakk

Nice one Chris.

Trying to tie these flimsy disposable aprons behind your back in a hurry is a pain in the arse right enough.

10. The Isolator

Sums it up perfectly.Spot on as usual Chris

11. Gary45%

Wow Chris “deep”, but straight to the point. Classic.
    Pretty sure wee Hamish is standing there sticking his tongue out whilst flicking the “tongs” at the “apron wearer”. (Both paws of course.)
    Looks like the diddy squad are using another alias, same garbage different name.

12. Gary45%

Ronnie A@8.21
    Is that you trying to smoke coal now,I thought you were on the health kick? 😉

13. Capella

Operations – BBC sinks even lower. Its top story today is about a man who died of cancer after an endoscopy was cancelled. Sad for the family but hardly news, let lone the most important news item in Scotland today.

Worse, they have opened this item up for comment. Trawling for “I hate the SNP” copy is truly abysmal.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-53430335

14. defo

JB inspired by MBS.

15. Ottomanboi

Ireland, land of the Googles.
    https://unherd.com/2020/07/will-ireland-survive-the-woke-wave/
    SNP leaders do seem to like the Celto-CaliCapitalist Irish model.
    Mise Éire*
    *Mise Éire is a 1912 Irish-language poem by the Irish poet and Republican revolutionary leader Patrick Pearse aka Pádraig Anraí Mac Piarais
    In the poem he personifies Ireland as an old woman whose glory is past and who has been sold by her children.

16. Prasad

The second pair of arms!

17. Lister

Capella

I do hate the SNP.

So what’s the problem?

18. Prasad

Or does John Bull have no trousers on?

19. Lister

I class the SNP as a Pro Union Party now.

So any critisisum is due to the handling of the Scottish Independence question by The Dyke from Dreghorn. (As someone described her on last thread).

20. Sensibledave

Haha! A straw man argument, a large dollop if victim culture and a side order of race baiting! Absolutely guaranteed to galvanise the nut jobs!

21. ronnie anderson

Gary 45% Coal cellars are obsolete but thats the way NLC roll giving contracts to Mears for replacement doors & painting + painting fencing when the fencing needs replaced

22. ronnie anderson

Gary 45% Coal cellars are obsolete but thats the way NLC roll giving contracts to Mears for replacement doors & painting + painting fencing when the fencing needs replaced.

23. Julia Gibb

I’ve had enough of the poison now infesting this site – bye!

24. auld highlander

At first I thought that was a pair of Johnny Stark’s razors bull had in his hands.

Wee Hamish is just the right height to stick the heed in his whatsits but if he dithers to long……..

25. Capella

@ Julia Gibb – I agree – I’ll wait and see how things go today. I’m never willing to let the bastards win! Nothing will piss them off more than to carry on posting. But these slurs against Nicola Sturgeon’s supposed sexual orientation are appalling.

26. Republicofscotland

Good one Chris.

Who in here thinks Sturgeon will fold like a deck of cards on this one, as she did on remaining in the EU, and a second indyref?

I think the powers coming back from the EU will be a shoe-in for Westminster, and in the process Holyrood will have been Stormont-tised for good.

27. Capella

Mike Russell deals with an aggressive interview with Gary Robertson. Exposes the power grab lies from UK:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5Sjw83jM6Y

28. Breastplate

Capella,
    Lister is obviously in my opinion only here to disrupt this thread. They bring nothing to the debate but that is entirely the point I believe.
    To tar us on here with the same brush as Julia just has is disappointing to say the least.

29. Scot Finlayson

The chimps at Westminster hate seeing how well Nicola is doing with devolved powers,

it shows what can be done if your focus is on helping society not on helping yourself or helping your friends,

Scotland is shining a light on what can be done and the chimps of Westminster want that light turned off,

they want Scotland back to being the unhealthy, drunken, violent fitba obsessed caricature that they made us prior to devolution.

Anyhoo,

great news to cheer up the troops don`t ya know,

person that hit a ball with a bat is to be made a lifelong lawmaker and Lord of The Brutish Realm,

Lord Botham of The Ashes,

all together now,

`Land of Hope and Glory`.

30. Breastplate

RepublicofScotland,
    Agreed, Westminster has had its own way on everything so far and there’s no reason to believe that the our powers being hijacked on their way from the EU will be any different.

Well done Chris, I noticed the faded butcher’s apron.

31. Capella

@ Breastplate – agreed. However he is quoting Al Stuart from the previous thread. Al Stuart could apologise and ask Stu to delete that post. It was an error of judgment and reflects badly on the entire blog and anyone who carries on posting here.
    Stu can’t be policing the BTL comments 24/7 so it is up to all of us to use the contact button when necessary.

Julia is correct. If we all tolerate that kind of slur then we are all complicit.

32. A C Bruce

Thanks, Chris. Very apt.

I hope Hamish has his claws freshly sharpened and maybe a cudgel or two behind his back!

33. auld highlander

If I’m spared when the local elections come around then it’s going to be…

SNP first choice then whatever new Independence party comes along second and the greenies third.

No point in voting for the other dross as they do nothing but cling on to the coat tails of their masters in the south.

34. Colin Alexander

I thought Hamish the Lion had come for his operation to get Sturgeon’s dagger out of his back.

To paraphrase Julius Caesar: You anaw sleekit Sturgeon?

——————————————

I understand people are angry and frustrated. Rightly so. But, hurling personal insults like “dyke”, is no the way to handle things.

I don’t care what Sturgeon is in her personal life; it’s her politics that matters.

35. Gary45%

Ronnie A@9.22
    Ah the classic NLC personal Bierkeller, not that I encourage “scooping”.

36. schrodingers cat

Breastplate says:
    To tar us on here with the same brush as Julia just has is disappointing to say the least.

————-

you miss the point breastplate, yes, of course he’s a unionist troll, no question

but he is your unionist troll, it is the snp people he is targeting

37. Lister

Sturgeon the Dyke from Dreghorn.

Is that a compliment?

I don’t know what a Dyke is.

A Dyke is a wall as far as I know.

Is she a wall?

Can someone explain what a Dyke is please.

Educate the masses.

38. Breastplate

Capella,
    I agree with everything you say, however I can’t agree that leaving this site for good is anything other than detrimental. But on the whole people on here should moderate their language.

39. Breastplate

That’s a very poor comment SC

40. Gary45%

Capella@9.48
    Thanks for posting Mike Russell’s schooling of Radio Shortbread’s star!!! prestenter.
    We never have Radio Shortbread on at any time in the house, before 2014 it was on all day, now, never.

41. Gary45%

woops presenter.

42. Breastplate

SC,
    Just to be clear, he is targeting this site and using unwarranted attacks on the SNP to do it. He in no way whatsoever represents me or my views.

43. Lister

Boris tells Local Authorities in England,

“The Virus is your problem now,,,deal with it”

The term “Passing the buck” springs to mind.

44. Lister

England will become the 51st State of America,,,and Scotland will be classed as a large City Region within that State.

Are you listening Sturgeon.

Move your fuckin arse.

45. Ian

Capella at 8.54

“Operations – BBC sinks even lower. Its top story today is about a man who died of cancer after an endoscopy was cancelled”.

If BBC Scotland wants heartbreaking medical stories then they’ll find them throughout the UK. A semblance of objectivity, not to mention sensitivity to the patients and families, has left BBC Scotland in the gutter. Allowing public comments pushes them into the septic tank.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/jul/16/extra-cancer-deaths-this-year-covid19-nhs-health

https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/healthcaresystem/articles/howdoesukhealthcarespendingcomparewithothercountries/2019-08-29

https://www.health.org.uk/news-and-comment/charts-and-infographics/health-spending-as-a-share-of-gdp-remains-at-lowest-level-in?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIpcvFzb7W6gIVU-3tCh0eIg-ZEAAYASAAEgIYe_D_BwE

46. Philip

Excellent sketch Chris.

47. schrodingers cat

@breastplate,

of course he is targeting this site, i’m pointing out his tactic of targeting snp supporters not the the folk who have a gripe with the snp.

im not for a minute suggesting that you in anyway support the trolls, of course you dont. i’m simply pointing out whose side he is on

48. Breastplate

SC,
    I thought he was more likely to be somebody from SIU.

49. Bob Mack

@SC,

Your wel! Out of order on that comment ,as much as the numpty with the Nicola comment.

I used to be an SNP member myself,but sadly we parted company.

If you begin to insinuate anybody anti SNP is a Unionist then you are going up a blind alley.

I am currently not supporting the SNP for many reasons discussed on this very site, but I wholeheartedly support Indy. I use them only as a vehicle towards Indy, but in that regard .I might be quicker hopping aboard a snail.

50. Capella

@ Gary45% – Mike russell is always very articulate and certainly not inclined to kowtow to anyone.
    The Daily Mail also reports on the showdown brewing.

Brexit showdown: Sturgeon threatens to reject Boris Johnson’s new law in EU clash
    WESTMINSTER and Holyrood are on track for the biggest constitutional showdown since the EU referendum as Nicola Sturgeon’s government have threatened to block a major post-Brexit law.

http://archive.fo/GdfWV

51. schrodingers cat

Breastplate says:
    SC,
    I thought he was more likely to be somebody from SIU.

I’m pretty certain he is,

52. schrodingers cat

Bob Mack says:
    18 July, 2020 at 10:41 am
    @SC,
    If you begin to insinuate anybody anti SNP is a Unionist then you are going up a blind alley
    ———————

except i’m not bob, folk are well justified in being hacked of with the snp.

i’m pointing out that the unionist trolls support this pov

53. Capella

@ Bob Mack – SC was not insinuating anyone who criticises the SNP is a unionist.

Do you want to be associated with a blog where people are routinely attacked on account of their race, religion, sexual orientation, age, gender reassignment, sex or marital status?
    I don’t.

The comment was out of order and should be removed.

54. Philip

What’s all this nonsense about this site being staunch SNP?

As far as I know of this site, it is an open forum, no matter what your political views are.

Otherwise it becomes an echo chamber.

If the SNP diehards think this is THEIR site, then you can stick the site right up Sturgeon’s hole.

I have my own ideas regarding Scottish Independence and would like the chance openly debate them on here.

And not be bullied by a few SNP heavies.

55. Breastplate

SC,
    I have been critical of SNP strategy towards independence and I believe justifiably so ( I understand you might think differently) but I believe I’ve concentrated on the ball and not the man or in this case woman.

Now I agree with your idea of using the HE as a plebiscite and also agree with Breek’s constitutionall interdiction. I would also agree that under present circumstances it is unlikely we would have an indyref before the HE now.

I don’t believe for one minute that a referendum will be called in the foreseeable future nor do I believe that the SNP will use your idea at the HE next year.
    I will be using the HE next year to register my displeasure at the progress on independence by the SNP bearing in mind that this is the only party I have ever voted for since the 80s.

Now if the SNP do use any tools at their disposal to forward the drive to independence, I will of course review my position.

As you can may tell, I am not hopeful.

56. Philip

Why are the SNP heavies openly debating who is worthy of posting on here or not?

Surely this is down to the site owner to decide?

Not a chosen few.

A very old fashioned dictatorial way of behaving.

Almost verging in class warfare.

When a few decided how the many should think.

You can Fuck Right Off with that idea.

57. Bob Mack

@Capella,

I have criticised THAT comment, but the thing is I do not want any readers of this site being under the impression it is only for those devoted to the SNP.

Before you contradict that, let me remind you that AS wanted people to vote for an Indy party who would then disappear into the void of space without interfering in SNP governance.

I have several friends who voted for Indy, but are not SNP supporters by any means.

If this site wants only comforting distortions rather than harsh opinion then it will fail. I see one commentator already has said she’s leaving because of a comment. More fool her. The other side will hit us with everything they have, and we must be ready for that.I

This fight has a long way to go, and only the fittest and most determined will emerge victorious.

58. Bob Mack

Sorry not AS, but SC

59. Breastplate

On the subject of varying viewpoints, my personal opinion is that come any plebiscite for independence, we would see a huge rally to the cause.

60. Willie

Yep, Boris is going to butcher the Scottish Parliament, and Brexit will be the perfect backcloth to let him do it.

Sold down the river by a Vichy SNP a let party is now absolutely essential. No wonder the SNP establishment fear it. But the SNP is not Sturgeon and her coterie of chums. It’s bigger than that and between the honest members in the party, and the others who will become the list party, the independence ‘ movement ‘ will become immeasurably stronger.

The SNP is electorally popular. Let’s keep it that way but add to it with an indy list party. Backed by that Wee Hamish will prevail.

61. schrodingers cat

Bob Mack says:
    I do not want any readers of this site being under the impression it is only for those devoted to the SNP.
    —————-

you jest right?

there are only 3 or 4 pro snp posters here, currently being hounded off the site

the inbalance is the other way round bvob

62. Capella

@ Bob Mack – nobody could accuse this site of favouring comforting distortions over harsh opinion. I have no problem with people criticising anybody for their political actions. But slurs about sexual orientation, race, religion etc are out of order.

63. schrodingers cat

@bob
    Before you contradict that, let me remind you that SC wanted people to vote for an Indy party who would then disappear into the void of space without interfering in SNP governance.

——————–

check back on the threads bob, i also proposed standing a list party made of cardboard cut outs, to save money for the yes campaign. to remove unionist list msps, i also suggested an indy list party called snp2. i was shot down in 2016 because folk here thought it would undermine the indy campaign.!!

i’m telling you now, that any indy list party whose supporters go round calling the snp “vichy snp” will not, NOT win snp voters over to their cause.

64. Republicofscotland

I’m beginning to wonder whether we should give the SNP any of our votes at all, with a former Tory spin doctor Andy Maciver, agreeing wholeheartedly with the SNP heirarchy that giving votes to other independence minded parties would damage the Yes movement.

It all sounds very much like Better Together, if you ask me.

65. Bob Mack

@SC,

This is a site that supports Independence. It is not an SNP fanzine. On that basis did you think Unionists would leave it alone, to allow free discussion?. Of course not.

The bottom line is that you have to be prepared for that. The Rev censors those pointed out to him as making undesirable comment. However, you should also be prepared to endure those comments until they are removed. How on earth can we be claiming to be willing to fight for Independence when all it takes to discourage some is a few words from an idiot.

It’s hardly the stuff of Robert the Bruce.

66. Beaker

@Scot Finlayson says:
    18 July, 2020 at 9:55 am
    “person that hit a ball with a bat is to be made a lifelong lawmaker and Lord of The Brutish Realm,
    Lord Botham of The Ashes”

That is a little unfair. Politics aside, he’s raised a hell of a lot of money for charity, in particular leukaemia research.

67. schrodingers cat

bob Mack says:
    @SC,

This is a site that supports Independence. It is not an SNP fanzine.

——————
    you think folk will think this is an snp fanzine???

Republicofscotland says:
    I’m beginning to wonder whether we should give the SNP any of our votes at all,

you really think that will help the independence campaign?

coffee wake smell up

68. Republicofscotland

“you really think that will help the independence campaign?

coffee wake smell up”

I think the SNP has no intentions of holding a second independence, is that helping the independence campaign as you say?

69. Alec Lomax

Lister from the SiU has turned up.

70. schrodingers cat

@ros

no, i dont think the snp will hold indyref2. they wont get a s30 so they cant.

but we are only 9 months from the holyrood election, sooner if it is brought forward before jan 1st,

that will be your last chance for independence via a democratic route

71. schrodingers cat

@ros

unless you think the snp are going to cancel the next holyrood election?

72. Philip

Correct me if I am wrong, but were the SNP not to disband the other side of INDY?

Were they not our temporary Party before List Parties were even thought of?

The SNP is not a religion,,,but there are a few clowns on here who would beg to differ.

You know who you are.

73. schrodingers cat

Philip says:
    Were they not our temporary Party before List Parties were even thought of?

—————

i was promoting indy list party idea when you still thought digital watches were a pretty neat idea

74. Bob Mack

@SC,

I am fully awake. I know who the good guys are. I know who the troublemakers are.

I discern ,and discard or keep opinion as it suits.

I regret to say this, but there are occasions when people with concerns over current SNP poljcy, which are in my view genuine, become outsiders for having those concerns.

They become labelled as independence destroyers, fifth columnists,anti Jndy, 77th Brigade, and a host of other titles,too many to list.

Yet, currently other notable figures are expressing these same concerns in other forums. Should they now be labelled as one of the above.

Whilst the electorate are keeping the Indy pot boiling, the party supposedly spearheading that aim have gone on sabbatical. That is my view. Please don’t start me on the. hate crime issue. Lunacy.

Should people have no right to question these things?

75. Philip

schrodingers cat

Just as well you are “dead popular” here on Wings,,, otherwise people would get really pissed off at you posting your thoughts every fourth post,,,day and night.

I don’t know if anyone has brought it to your attention before, but you do post some amount of shit on here.

Just my opinion you understand, I know you have a habit of reporting people who don’t agree with your SNP view of the world.

76. schrodingers cat

@bob

of course you have the right to criticise the leadership of the indy movement

no question

but take eg,

Republicofscotland says:
    I’m beginning to wonder whether we should give the SNP any of our votes at all,

or

Willie says:
    Sold down the river by a Vichy SNP

neither of whom are unionist trolls

so while you have the right to criticise the leadership of the indy movement

i have the right to stop people undermining it

77. Ottomanboi

The Scientific Method…for sale to the highest bidder.

78. Juteman

The only reason we have a chance at Indy is because we have the SNP in charge at Holyrood.
    The British will use every tactic and asset at their disposal to make the SNP lose Holyrood.
    By all means make arguments for voting for a new party with your list vote, but attacking the SNP is only doing the Brits job for them. There are obvious Brits on here encouraging and using genuine Indy folk to further their cause. People need to be more aware of what is going on.

79. Philip

Between the effects of the Corona Virus and Brexit, there are estimates of over 5 Million people being unemployed in the UK in the years to come.

Where will a Devolved Scotland with reduced powers fit into this equation.

Boris has big plans for Scotland,,, every single one of them very bad.

Mass unemployment and a weak economy.

The joys of the Union that Sturgeon seems in no hurry to leave.

80. Ottomanboi

Thr Scientific Method, for sale to the highest bidder.
    https://unherd.com/2020/07/why-we-stopped-trusting-experts/
    Covid, nuclear fusion, climate variables, TED talks, experts, corruption, globalism….
    Sturgeon is a TED talker. Edinburgh 2019.
    This stuff used to be called fraud, deceit, cheating, lying.
    Like Amazon and Trip Advisor reviews, check the sources, check the raw data and be very sceptical.

81. Philip

schrodingers cat

I see you have upped your game,,, posting every second post now.

Go the Cat!!!

How would we ever survive without your input.

We are truly not worthy.

Cat’s Pish more like.

82. Bob Mack

@Juteman,

If only we had your insight.

83. ahundredthidiot

in running the risk of death by a thousand hammers;

Perhaps a timely reminder that this Site is not an SNP site, but an Independence site.

Debate is healthy…..less so insults…..(though I am sure most of us have cast that stone at some point).

Great sketch from Chris……pretty sure the butcher is naked underneath.

84. Robert Louis

The cartoon, is excellent, and neatly sums up the abuse being done to Scotland, while the SNP witter on about an election sometime next year, and NS tweets this week’s favourite book.

One thing I spotted today, which is interesting is a Tory spin doctor quote in an article in The National. The article talks of the new pro indy list parties, and the quote in response to the idea from the former Tory spin doctor is quite extraordinary;

” ..“On the face of it, AFI is a clever concept, exploiting the SNP’s strength in constituencies, peeling off the wasted SNP regional votes, and scooping up a large proportion of the 56 regional seats,” he wrote.

“There remains a debate in the Conservative Party about the granting of indyref2. The official line remains that there will not be one.

“We’ve had one, we said no, we meant it, you said “once in a lifetime” and so on and so on … others, though, understand the long term difficulties in repeating that age-old unionist mistake of ignoring what Scottish people have expressed a clear wish for.”

But Maciver added: “A perceived manipulation of the voting system will give the UK Government an ‘out’; a muddying of waters as a result of blending different manifesto commitments will give the UK Government an ‘out’.””

Source: https://www.thenational.scot/news/18591250.snp-insists-fm-priorities-straight-fierce-attack/

So this is extremely interesting. It seems that the idea of using the second vote for indy, has really got the unionists rattled. What they are saying, is IF the SNP win a majority next year, then mibbes they might give a section 30, but IF Scots democratically decide to vote for a second indy party in the second vote, then London will say no. Look at the way he tantalisingly suggests that a section 30 ‘might’ happen, but then in the same quote cites the official line of just saying NO. Pure spin (AKA bullsh*t, to everyone else).

They really, really, are rattled, by us using our second vote. Interestingly, so are the SNP. GOOD. We want independence and to stay in the EU. That is what we voted for and the SNP need to deliver or we will find another political party who will. Time is running out. Tick tock, as they say.

Meanwhile, in the comments, can folk not see when they are being trolled? Stop feeding the trolls, it really isn’t difficult – a golden rule on all message boards. They want you to argue about something other than London’s abuse of Scotland, and sure enough, some on here, just jump into the troll trap, and start arguing. I see threads and threads of endless to and fro between folk and idiot trolls. It is pointless. When you engage with their nonsense, even to (as you imagine) ‘disprove’ what they say or ‘condemn’ them, then they have won, you have given them credibility and cause to continue. That is how it works. FFS.

85. katherine hamilton

The discussion over the Vichy SNP, the almost visceral hatred of Nicola Sturgeon, the snide vulgarity against her that now seems to be allowed, is at best naive, at worst stupid, on a site that is pushing hard for the establishment of a List only Indy party.

Like it or lump it, the SNP is the only vehicle that can politically deliver independence. Whether it’s HE as a plebiscite,
    HE as another mandate, the Breeks approach,(if I may call it that for shorthand, Breeks) or a combination of whatever we may continue to discuss on here. Of course something is rotten in the state of Bute House. I left the party because of wokeism.

My point is we need to move SNP members and supporters from SNP1/2 to SNP 1/Indy party2. Slagging off the FM and the party with whom we need to co-operate is just daft. So by all means, get it out your system then leave it. Move on.
    Maybe the move to 54% during this time is due to SNP competence versus WM’s incompetence only. I don’t know and nor does anyone else. Fact is, it’s there. Outside the geek bubble, nationally with the public Nicola Sturgeon is an asset. Like it or lump it.

86. Robert Louis

Hmm.. Just thinking, that cartoon could easily be called, ‘The Butcher’s Apron’.

87. robbo

Geordie pordie puddin & pie. Doesn’t know where his heart is.

https://twitter.com/jay_mfc/status/1284430855801372673

88. robbo

George doesn’t do debating.He likes cats.

https://twitter.com/GrayInGlasgow/status/1284428763930013696

89. Blair Paterson

If Boris is going to do away with the devolved Holyrood gov., then he is leaving only one way for us to ever gain our freedom echoes of William Wallace Michael Collins Fidel Castro ???

90. Breeks

Capella says:
    18 July, 2020 at 11:10 am
    @ Bob Mack – nobody could accuse this site of favouring comforting distortions over harsh opinion. I have no problem with people criticising anybody for their political actions. But slurs about sexual orientation, race, religion etc are out of order…

I agree 100%.

Such language has no place here. To pepper a conversation with such casual derogatory remarks is no different from a conversation about race that is peppered with the ‘n’ word.

Scotland’s fate might yet depend on Joanna Cherry fighting to a win a landmark Constitutional ruling in Court with one hand, while holding the Wokerati misogynists of the SNP by the throat with the other. How do think the illustrious Ms Cherry would feel seeing such poisonous prejudice still commonplace and routinely left unchallenged?

Some people need to go away and watch that movie about Alan Turing, The Imitation Game, where a man who’s intellect and truly original genius saved the lives of millions and shortened World War 2 but over 2 years and then laid the groundwork for modern computing, only for the man himself to be crushed, pilloried and personally destroyed by a clumsy and ignorant society darkened by bigotry because Alan Turing happened to be gay.

We think we’re better now, more tolerant, and “we’d” never drive such a brilliant man who deserved to be respected as a saint to take his own life by suicide. Judging by some remarks above, the same old bigotry and prejudice which would do just that, is alive and well, and just below the surface.

91. Mialuci

I do not read comments where the writer is to lazy to use the full words.
    SNP and the UK are allright, if you are to lazy to complete the words then I for one cannot be bothered to try to understand what the hell you are writing about.
    Not everyone understand what BOC means or what TITS mean, I know it stands for Trotters independent Traders, but not everyone has seen the show, so buck your fecking ideas up all you lazy WKS lol

92. Robert Louis

Breeks at 1245pm,

Totally agree. Those responsible should be banned, permanently.

93. Colin Alexander

Sturgeon is 100% focused on Coronavirus and the economic effects, so indyref / campaigning for independence is cancelled.

Anyone think Sturgeon and the SNP campaigning to stay in power at Holyrood will be cancelled as she’s focused on disease control and economic legacy?

The SNP are cancelling their mandated major manifesto policies on indy cos focused on Covid and economic legacy.

They ARE NOT cancelling their policies that they did NOT receive mandates for such as GRA and Hate Crime Bill. Funny how they can manage to focus on them despite Covid-19, isn’t it?

94. defo

Cancel culture, the inevitable outcome of good old PC, has seeped into everything, and everywhere.

Sticks and stones…

Challenge? Of course.

Banning?
    Who’s decision?
    It certainly won’t be up to yer average punter.

Last I knew, banning stuff was the core remit of Authoritarianism.

95. bipod

Interesting article from the cebm over PHEs inflation of the covid 19 death figures.

https://www.cebm.net/covid-19/why-no-one-can-ever-recover-from-covid-19-in-england-a-statistical-anomaly/

Sorry if it is not scary enough for the covid 19 dooms day conspiracy theorists on here.

I also see that dithering nicola is absolutely determined to do as much economic damage to Scotland as she possibly can. She has already killed of the international tourist industry here but now thanks to her comments about forcing english people to quaratine tourists from other parts of the UK are now cancelling their visits to Scotland.

https://www.thesun.co.uk/travel/12151273/scotland-holidays-cancelled-quarantine-rules/

96. kapelmeister

Five days ago Sturgeon tweeted to deride the Westminster power grabbing. Fine. But an effective leader has to keep on incessantly about such paramount matters. Has to inspire confidence in the rank and file. More important still, has to give out the right signals about political action to the wider populace.

Instead, in the five days since, our FM has preferred to tweet about being reunited with her hairdresser, tweet about her and Mr. Murrell’s 10th anniversary and tweet to recommend a new novel called Scabby Queen.

She’s either got no stamina for a real fight or perhaps just isn’t interested.

97. Lister

Breeks

Your trouble is you are just too nice.

You ride two horses at the same time.

No use if you are trying to convert people over to your way if thinking.

You aren’t angry enough for my liking mate.

So big question marks against what you are all about.

Call a spade a fuckin spade for fuck sake.

That’s what’s wrong with all our Scottish Indy politicians,,,too fuckin nice.

Not for me.

98. bipod

Another interesting account from a paramedic over what really happened in the NHS during the “crisis”.

https://twitter.com/simondolan/status/1283729860154851329

99. Philip

Covid19 seems to have ended in England.

100. Ottomanboi

Beware of politicians wearing masks.
    https://m.washingtontimes.com/news/2020/jun/29/face-mask-virtue-signaling-and-covid-19-lies-have-/
    https://edition.cnn.com/2020/07/14/uk/uk-masks-shops-winter-predictions-intl-scli-gbr/index.html
    Orwell, Huxley, Wells…truly beyond your most fevered dreams guys.
    Fear not, for Bo & Nic & the Great Covid Mortality model are with us always…
    LIBERTY: remember that?
    1 : the quality or state of being free:
    a : the power to do as one pleases
    b : freedom from physical restraint
    c : freedom from arbitrary or despotic control
    d : the positive enjoyment of various social, political, or economic rights and privileges
    e : the power of choice

101. Fireproofjim

Katherine Hamilton @12.23
    Agree with every syllable of your post.
    There are some new posters on the site (Lister, Dogbiscuit) whose obvious aim is to disgust the normal tolerant posters on Wings. Their foul insinuations have nothing to do with independence and are probably designed to drive new posters away for fear of abuse.
    Whether you like Nicola Sturgeon or not, (and I have my doubts at the moment), the general public, outside our political geek group, like her a lot and she is currently our best asset towards bringing more voters towards independence.
    The Scotland in Union posters on the site are now pretty obvious, although there also seem to be a few grubby minded little boys whose mothers should send them out to play.

102. Joe

@Bipod

Im not active on the nitty gritty on this these days so thanks for sharing this stuff.

I keep up to date with industry news, particularly in the US and in Europe. The biggest corporations have been pushing certain key phrases and narratives such as the 4th Industrial Revolution and ‘The New Normal’.

This basically boils down to a cashless world, of zero health sovereignty, very limited privacy (if any privacy) with your location tracked and the people you interact with logged.

The world of big business was preparing for this before covid-19.

Im convinced this is more than an economic revolution – it is a social revolution that is being attempted to speed along, and control, humanities progress. To keep the herd in control.

Covid is the catalyst.

Given the way big business, many governments and international institutions are working together on this we can basically conclude that Covid-19 provides the 1st worldwide offensive of global facism/communism.

The fact that so many professionals are raising their voices in concern about the disproportionate response to covid, citing the way deaths are registered etc should serve as some evidence that there’s more to this than just a virus with a 0.3% death rate on people who develop symptoms.

The rainbows everywhere are symbolic – we are in a very large scale colour revolution.

103. Dogbiscuit

Capella your problem with the man dying of cancer shows you don’t want to face the consequences of ‘lockdown’ .
    For the ‘lockdown’ fanatics the scam is being revealed after some of us warned four months ago.
    Now about Independence Sturgeons plan? Nothing!

104. Stuart MacKay

kapelmeister @2:00pm

That’s because everybody is playing presidential politics and tweets about going to the hairdresser and such is how the focus groups and the special political advisors tell the leader how they can engage with the voters and ensure their popularity.

Everybody is doing it. Boris likes to be photographed “Getting things done” (trademark) though it’s likely he’s never done a real day’s work in his life. Vladimir Putin had the right idea though – at least he did presidential stuff like shooting tigers (with a tranquiliser dart as part of a conservation program). I would have also mentioned the tank driving but Ruth Davidson cottoned onto that I did not want to muddy the argument.

Anyways it’s probably the same presidential politics that keeps only one agenda on the boil at the same time. After all how are these special advisors going to be spending all that money if they are at work all day. It’s probably the reason we don’t hear much about independence, because “now is not the time”. That does not mean the issue won’t get moved to the front burner at some point, it’s just that it’s not so important as the pandemic right now at ensuring the increasing popularity of the leader and I guess all those advisors’ stipends.

So all the wailing and gnashing of teeth about “where’s the independence?” is missing the point. It’s won’t be front and centre until people want it. The solution to this is to push it onto peoples’ agenda and so it will then get onto the SNP’s agenda.

105. schrodingers cat

bipod says:
    I also see that dithering nicola is absolutely determined to do as much economic damage to Scotland as she possibly can. She has already killed of the international tourist industry here but now thanks to her comments about forcing english people to quaratine tourists from other parts of the UK are now cancelling their visits to Scotland.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/travel/12151273/scotland-holidays-cancelled-quarantine-rules/

———————–

if the sun says it, it must be true

so may I echo joe’s thanks for sharing this stuff.

106. Gary45%

Fireproofjim@2.40
    Best way to deal with it is, ignore. I fell into their “level” of debate! on a few occasions,resulted in minutes I will never get back and oxygen wasted.
    There is no debate, one sided moronic abuse basically primary school banter from ill informed children.
    Just Ignore.
    Simples.

107. Dogbiscuit

Fireproofjim thanks for the shout out comrade.

108. Dogbiscuit

Stuart Mackay the only way to push Independence onto the ‘people’s agenda ‘ is to call a referendum. Who’s job is it to call for a referendum? Yours , mine or the ‘First Minister’?

109. CameronB Brodie

Brexit articulates constitutional violence against Scotland’s legal identity, and our leaders appear to display all the symptoms of an abused spouse. Westminster’s laws are not intended to liberate Scotland, they are intended to bind.

From Negative Rights to Positive Law: Natural Law in Hegel’s Outlines of the Philosophy of Right
    https://scholarworks.gsu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1140&context=philosophy_theses

110. twathater

Great cartoon Chris , I wonder if you could send copies to ALL SNP MP’S , MSP’S and NS to maybe remind them why they were elected and why Scotland needs out of this lunatic asylum immediately

And a piece of ADVICE for NS , THREATS WITHOUT ACTION re the power grab is just more EMPTY WORDS which we are sick of hearing

111. CameronB Brodie

Just the ticket. If the Scottish government is blind to international law, they are defenseless against the constitutional violence Westminster is content to exert on Scotland. Brexitana is not a social democracy, so stop playing by Westminster’s rule book. Please.

The Structures of Conflict: A Phenomenological Approach to Violence
    https://irhunibuc.wordpress.com/the-structures-of-conflict-a-phenomenological-approach-to-violence/

112. Dan

Good to see cartoonist Chris “Holiday Boy” Cairns is still employed.

Meanwhile in other news…

“Everybody spread out, see if you can find a fuck to give!”

https://twitter.com/Innealadair/status/1284434339074314240

113. Lister

Ignore the Trolls

114. Philip

He’s STILL about.

Just watch him go when he gets up to full speed.

115. Dan

Where did it all go wrong for The New Avengers for Scottish Indy.
    In a #ClassicPics stylée here’s an early image of Purdy, Steed, and Gambit.

https://twitter.com/Jeggit/status/1284472090066923521

116. Philip

Ignore the “One more Mandate” Brigade.

They are on here to push their support for Sturgeon.

No matter how disgusting Sturgeon’s policies are.

They have no principles.

They don’t care if the GRA Bill passes,,,as long as Sturgeon survives.

117. callmedave

‘INACCURACIES’
    THE UK’s total number of coronavirus infections hit 294,066 today after 827 more cases were confirmed.

The Government will not, however, be updating today’s Covid death figures after Public Health England was blamed for miscalculations.

It comes as the UK’s coronavirus death toll hit 45,233 yesterday after 114 fatalities were announced.

But the Department of Health has said today’s figures will not be released amid the accuracy concerns.

A review has been launched after experts said the number of fatalities could be over-exaggerated.

Professors Yoon Loke, from the University of East Anglia and Carl Heneghan, from the University of Oxford, say Public Health England looks at whether a person has ever tested positive and whether they are still alive at a later date.

They said: “PHE does not appear to consider how long ago the Covid test result was, nor whether the person has been successfully treated in hospital and discharged to the community.”

================================================================
    Anyhoo!

Scotland….. today……….00……Total….2491…BBC
    Wales………today……….00……Total….1546…BBC
    N. Ireland….don’t report on weekends now
    England…….today….clusterfuck!

118. Pete

Bipod
    In addition to your comments about recording deaths as due to Covid even although the person had it months ago and recovered, it seems that the Scottish and Welsh governments only record a death as Covid related if the death occurred within 28days of the person being tested positive which seems sensible.
    As a consequence the figures in England appear much worse than in Scotland and Wales and I can see why Hancock has ordered a full investigation.
    It also appears that in the US, whilst the numbers of cases are very high the treatment being given to patients is becoming increasingly successful, so much so that the number of deaths is surprisingly low.
    The point here is that it is now no longer necessary to ruin our economy, especially here in Scotland, because of a disease that is increasingly under control and one that is being treated more and more successfully.
    I keep coming back to the flu epidemic in the UK in 68/69 which killed 80000 in a smaller population but no ruination of the economy occurred.
    I get the impression that Boris has realised that he has been conned by the Professors but is finding it increasingly difficult to change tack.Unfortunately,our FM has no understanding of the damage she is doing and appears even to be revelling in it.
    What a weak nation we are.
    Certainly not fit to be self governing.

119. Dan

@callmedave

More covid stats and info here. Interesting to read Morag’s comment on the thread re. what info is not being shared.

https://twitter.com/TravellingTabby/status/1284484980035510272

120. ahundredthidiot

second week in a row, in Scotland, where the weekly deaths are under the 5 year average.

I expect that trend to continue for weeks and probably months after COVID – nasty wee virus that it was – killed off a couple of thousand people who would’ve probably died this year anyway.

Meanwhile, lets all watch the slow agonising death of Scotlands 2020 tourist industry…….well, there’s always next year folks!

seems the COVID champions are either all unemployed, retired or work for the public sector who think they’re ‘safe’.

They’re not. The train is coming down the tracks and no one will be able to get out of the way. pensions pumped, benefits pumped, public sector budgets pumped (if you weren’t needed during COVID – you’re not fucking needed!) and when this furlough pish nonsense utter rubbish stops – 25% of all private sector jobs PUMPED.

Achieving Scotlands Independence may take more courage than we ever imagined.

121. CameronB Brodie

There’s the voice of the right suggesting everything is OK now, and it is safe to place public health in the hands of the market, which is a poor judge of risk. The market also tends to resist health and safety compliance, so those urging we reject a scientific world-view, are content to compel those with least economic and political power to pay the price of Tory incompetence. Same as it ever was.

Full text.

Journal of the British Society for Phenomenology
    Volume 49, 2018 – Issue 3: Phenomenology of Vulnerability

The Ethics of Vulnerability and the Phenomenology of Interdependency
    https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/00071773.2018.1434952

122. Famous15

Quiz time. Who said?

“England is an island. England is England and we should keep that”

Hint. He is about to enter Lords.

123. Sarah

@ twathater at 4.04: brilliant suggestion. This cartoon’s humour might get through to our MPs/MSPs where earnest, impassioned pleas don’t! Go on , Chris, email it to all our elected reps.

124. mike cassidy

ahunredthidiot 5.24

… after COVID – nasty wee virus that it was – killed off a couple of thousand people who would’ve probably died this year anyway.

I’m sure it will be a great comfort to the families of the doctors and nurses and other frontline staff who died

Now that you’ve told them they were all going to die in 2020 anyway.

Meanwhile

In case people missed it.

Alex Salmond feud is like losing a loved one

http://archive.is/MThid

125. Dan

@Sarah

Probably best to send them all the full archived gallery of Chris’s work. The imagery might have more chance of permeating through to the grey matter of our elected yin’s nappers, seeing as words appear to be lost on them… 😉

#ItsALongShotButItMightJustWork

Two years ago us HOOPers saw this very same threat as depicted in the cartoon and we erected a “force field” of shields around Holyrood… but I guess we were all just seen as mad nutters back then, and our actions didn’t speak for our elected superiors within the building…

126. Ottomanboi

A ‘heartwarming’ tale from the increasingly trashy and clunky National website.
    https://www.thenational.scot/news/18592106.scotrail-praised-outing-homophobes-ahead-lgbt-awards/
    Homophobes? …actually one guy who was not buying into the cosy rainbow schmaltz, his free choice.
    The independence movement needs to ditch these parasitic, ’fellow travellers’ from the Greens and Momentum Labour.
    Their huffy, narcissistic rainbow agenda’ has little to do with Scottish political independence, popular sovereignty, enlightened free thought or our national cultural renewal.
    They are simply gobby wreckers.

127. Beaker

@ahundredthidiot says:
    18 July, 2020 at 5:24 pm
    “I expect that trend to continue for weeks and probably months after COVID – nasty wee virus that it was – killed off a couple of thousand people who would’ve probably died this year anyway.”

Apologies for the language, but I am fucking sick of your attitude and comments. Someone close to me died of COVID who would probably NOT have died this year. I found out yesterday and now I read your shite.

128. Mike d

Not that fat barsteward botham is it..????

129. callmedave

Aye:
    This fortress built by Nature for herself
    Against infection and the hand of war,
    This happy breed of men, this little world,
    This precious stone set in the silver sea,
    Which serves it in the office of a wall,
    Or as a moat defensive to a house,
    Against the envy of less happier lands,
    This blessed plot, this earth, this realm, this England

————————————————————–
    PS:
    Rangers 1 V Nice 0

Celtic up next in a wee while. + Other games Link.

http://www.hesgoal.com/

130. Mike d

Who said England is an island…etc,etc sh**e.????

131. Tinto Chiel

@Mike d: Ian Botham. Geography not his strong point, obviously. He seems vaguely aware of Scotland’s existence because he used to come fishing here, apparently.

132. mike cassidy

Woke Capitalism Is Still Capitalism

http://archive.is/NzrjW

I particularly liked this.

In the United States, diversity training is worth $8 billion a year, according to Iris Bohnet, a public-policy professor at Harvard’s Kennedy School. And yet, after studying programs in both the U.S. and post-conflict countries such as Rwanda, she concluded, “sadly enough, I did not find a single study that found that diversity training in fact leads to more diversity

133. CameronB Brodie

mike cassidy
    I’m pretty sure I’ve linked to similar.

The TWAW agenda aims to exploit feminist theory, which has been colonised by neo-liberal theory and practice. The concept of gender-ideology is intrinsically linked with the concept of “performativety”, which values the potential over the actual.

A neoliberal concept of freedom has allowed gender identity ideology to take hold

The neoliberal concept of freedom has opened up a space where a patriarchal authoritarianism, exemplified by gender identity politics, has been able to take root and thrive.

https://www.feministcurrent.com/2018/12/02/neoliberalism-patriarchy-gender-identity/

134. Ahundredthidiot

Beaker

Sorry for your loss, but my friend died ‘with’ covid…… pretty sure it was the massive stroke though.

I am guessing your friend had no underlying health condition?….and young?

Since you seem so sure they wouldnt have died this year.

We knew we were mortal – so get a grip.

135. Dogbiscuit

Mike Cassidy nice try with the link but the article in no way covers Sturgeons arse.
    Who believes the biased media reports?

136. Ahundredthidiot

Beaker

I also said ‘probably’

137. Effijy

If ever our First Minister was gay then the sexual preferences of the First Minister
    Will belong to the First Minister.

I am less inclined to have a serial womaniser who has an I established number
    Of children with a number of partners.

Watching the documentary about Boris and the young blond American business
    Woman he was bending backwards to support leaves me in no doubt about what
    Was in it for him personally.

The above are facts but the hear say about his domestic disturbance that raised a police
    Emergency call was allegedly about him being with yet another woman while living with this one?

What is it see sees in the multi millionaire Bungling Buffoon Boris?

138. Sarah

@ Dan: Well done for being a founding HOOPer. The point you make is spot on – and is why I keep mentioning a petition to Holyrood and “marching” on Holyrood. That is the forum for Scotland’s democracy, they are the ones who must put right what happened in the 1707 Parliament so we must get our message, nay instruction, delivered there.

139. cirsium

“England is an island. England is England and we should keep that”

I was ordering online this week. The section on mailing charges advised that the standard delivery charge applied to England but not to the highlands and islands.

140. Dan

@cirsium

Hud oan a feakin’ moment.
    Is that not grounds to immediately end the Treaty of Union as no area in the UK should have an economic advantage over another!

Seems pretty legit to me, I jist cannae believe we’ve been chasing infinity mandates and a unicorn with a Section 30 pinned on its arse for all these years and missed this open goal…

141. Ian Brotherhood

Has anyone heard any grapevine stuff about when Alex Salmond’s book is likely to appear? Do we even know if it’ll be before the end of this year?

142. Rick H Johnston

When I hear the SNP are to fight the power grab on the devolution so called settlement, I hope that includes the disruption of the English UK parliament.
    That’s what most Yessers want and expect.
    Blackford needs to back up the angry man image with real action.
    A spanner in the works of this fake union would fair light the blue touch paper for next May. Bring it on.

143. Ian Brotherhood

Aw FFS, I used the word ‘g****vine’ in my last and got moderated.

I was only asking whether or not anyone has heard when Alex Salmond’s book is set to appear – do we even know if it’ll be before the end of this year?

144. Sinky

Chris Cairns is the sanest contributor to this site.

If we want to win the next referendum we need to show soft Nos and undecideds what Westminster’s Power Grab is all about and counter Unionist propaganda that Scotland’s Covid record is poor.

Early AUOB marches and naval gazing about GRA and multiple Indy List parties will only alienate undecideds

https://coronavirus.data.gov.uk/

https://www.thenational.scot/news/18588429.westminster-accused-shocking-dishonesty-power-grab-plot/

https://www.thenational.scot/news/18592005.scottish-care-ceo-care-staff-visa-exclusion-will-cost-lives/

145. Philip

Where’s the rabid, foamin at the mouth Sturgeonistas tonight???

Cat n Cap.

Probably writing out a 100 page grassin letter to the Rev about how those bad Non SNP types keep shooting them down in flames.

146. schrodingers cat

Opinium – Westminster VI
    CON: 44% (-)
    LAB: 36% (+4)
    LDEM: 6% (-6)
    SNP: 6% (+2)
    GRN: 4% (+1)
    PC: 1% (-)

Flavible Projection
    CON: 337 (-28)
    LAB: 227 (+24)
    SNP: 58 (+10)
    PC: 5 (+1)
    LDEM: 4 (-7)
    GRN: 1 (-)

*Changes with GE
    17 Jul 2020
    https://flavible.co.uk/projections/1649

lib dems tanking right across the uk.

not sure how that will pan out in the 4 libdem seats in scotland but it would be interesting to see some constituency polls to see how their vote is holding up.

they have been very very quiet, i think libdem members are coming round to the publics opinion that the libdems are a wasted vote

147. Brian Doonthetoon

Philip,
    Do you actually have anything constructive to add to the Independence debate or are you just stirring it for the sake of stirring it?

Grow up…

148. CameronB Brodie

I appreciate gender equality is quite low in the hierarchy of cultural institutions, for some, but I’m afraid Scotland will be permanently entombed under British constitutionalism, and Scottish culture irreparably impaired as a consequence, if we allow these GRA amendments to proceed,

Revue interdisciplinaire d’études juridiques 2016/2 (Volume 77), pages 265 à 295

Constitutional Versus International Protection of Human Rights: Added Value or Redundancy? The Belgian Case, in the Light of the Advisory Practice of the Venice Commission
    https://www.cairn.info/revue-interdisciplinaire-d-etudes-juridiques-2016-2-page-265.htm

149. Philip

Brian,,,somethin…

Yes I contribute to the dabate, but the SNP diehards like yourself don’t appreciate it.

So what has been your contribution today???

Or have you got to drain the house of cheap wine before you appear???

150. Philip

Would you admit to being a member of the SNP to anybody now???

That is how far down the political pecking order they have slipped.

All self inflicted.

151. Brian Doonthetoon

Aherm, Philip.

How, in your warped mind, did I become an “SNP diehard”?

You shame your type, didna yi ken?

You are gibbering $h!† and you don’t like it when it’s pointed out.

Go forth and self procreate.

152. CameronB Brodie

The constitutional violence Westminster is prepared to allow to be inflicted on Scotland, is clear indication it has no interest in providing for the legal rights of those who live in Scotland.

International Review of Constitutionalism, Vol. 9, No. 2, pp. 307-328, 2009
    International Human Rights Law and Constitutional Rights: In Favour of Synergy

Abstract
    This paper is concerned with demonstrating the capacity of international human rights law and domestic constitutional law to have a synergistic relationship that is focused on the ways in which the two sets of standards can be harmonised rather than on questions of ‘superiority’ and ‘inferiority’.

Conceiving of the relationship between the two bodies of law in this way requires us to recognise their shared dignitary core and the optimal effect of international human rights law, namely effective rights-protection at the domestic level with international law playing a subsidiary role.

This paper uses the example of LGBT rights in European Convention on Human Rights jurisprudence to demonstrate such a synergistic relationship and argues that such a relationship is possible as between US constitutional law and international human rights law notwithstanding some prima facie barriers thereto.

Keywords:
    Internationalisation, Constitutional Law, International Human Rights Law

https://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=1568879

153. Craig Murray

Ian Brotherhood

Alex isn’t writing a book, though everyone seems to think so. I am not quite sure how that idea caught on.

154. schrodingers cat

the #twatinahat is counting his chickens

gg is standing on the list in the south region

155. schrodingers cat

you know, with the snp polling so high, closer to the election, a constituency poll in one of the south tory held constituencies, might give us a heads up whether to stand indy list party candidates in this region.

some number crunching on this issue would be useful

156. Ian Brotherhood

@Craig Murray (11.08) –

‘Alex isn’t writing a book, though everyone seems to think so. I am not quite sure how that idea caught on.’

Perhaps it’s because if you google ‘Alex Salmond book’, five of the first seven results state that he is.

I don’t want to link to any of them, but they’re from the Herald, National, Telegraph, Times, and Scottish Sun respectively.

157. CameronB Brodie

Some respect for social reality would also be nice.

Journal of Social Ontology | Volume 3: Issue 2, 2017
    Groups as Persons? A Suggestion for a Hegelian Turn

https://www.degruyter.com/view/journals/jso/3/2/article-p143.xml?language=en

158. CameronB Brodie

So drafting legislation that denies science is extremely unhelpful to Scotland’s fight for political and legal recognition.

TWAW is essentially the same as British nationalism, in terms of ideological outlook. Both positions consider humanity to be above nature, and insist that human will is more powerful than the forces of nature. This is a classical Tory position that supports chauvinistic and authoritarian paternalism. This hurts the poor and destroys the planet. Mkay!

International Journal of Politics, Culture, and Society volume 27, pages129–152(2014)

Introduction: Special Issue on “Gender, Sexuality and Political Economy”

159. Robert graham

Question

Who was involved in (a) Removing Alex from SNP history because he certainly was his contribution might have been restored I haven’t checked yet ,

And (b) Who was involved in preventing Alex from entering Holyrood because it came from the FMs office but anyone know who in that office ? .

Thanks in advance for any information .

160. Effijy

I follow the Work Meter site for data on the Covid Virus

For anyone in doubt about the rates of contamination across
    The globe you will find that 1,000,000 new cases will be added
    To the total in only 5 days.

Trumpland leads the day with the continuing trend of having over
    60,000 new cases on a daily basis.

For Bojoland there is confirmation that the number of new cases is increasing!
    We were at 500 per day then a could of days in the 600’s and now approaching 900.

Strange no one in UK media cares to notice something so important.?

Remember we started this in England with just one contaminated Englishman,
    for some reason Scientists must think this is OK.

161. Liz g

Effigy @ 9.11
    Absolutely agree…

I haven’t even been interested enough to go look and see if I could form a reasonable opinion…
    Why would I?
    It’s has not a thing to do with ending the Treaty of Union!

Minister’s, First,Prime, or of any other hue are only of interest to me for the job that they do….
    What they do with other consenting adults is no one’s business but their own!

The only exception being if those drawing coin from the public purse, are having to make use of that coin to enable their activities…
    Then of course there should be questions!!

Let’s look where the public monies go then,…
    At all three of them in question..

Nicola,Andrew and Boris are people we can all compare and contrast,in, just how much we fund their activities and how we should respond.

Personally..
    I have no real way of knowing,but..
    I’d wager Andrew and Boris do not leave us tax payers out of their sexual congress and that we fund it one way or another.
    On the other hand
    Nicola it seems, needs neither our input or our finance to conduct a personal life,which as far as I can see is quite the proper way to behave.

So if I were promoting British Nationalism,especially on here,I’d stay the fuck away from pulling at that particular thread 🙂
    Yer glass house is already lookin pretty shattered on that one!

162. twathater

To the people opposing and objecting to the sexual smears against NS in comments , I in no way condone these comments and agree that NS sexuality is not anyone’s but her concern , but others are getting upset at the use of vichy government or collaborators , if this is people’s honest opinion and what they feel is currently happening then they have the right the same as anyone else to air those views

I haven’t noticed these same outraged people showing the same concern when some SNP MP’S and MSP’S were throwing the RACIST word at English , Polish and Scots people who were rightly frightened at an influx of people coming into Scotland from countries who have a high incidence of Covid outbreaks , they couldn’t wait to publicly and vociferously treat these people as outcasts

Quite honestly quite a few senior SNP politicos have enthusiastically and unbidden took great delight in denigrating and demonising indy supporters who THEY decide are not worthy

So before people get outraged at intemperate language being used against the SNP they should ensure a level playing field is operational

163. Philip

National News bulletins back to England only news.

164. susan

Twathater, as usual you’re bang on with your comment.

165. Robert Louis

Can I suggest that folk seeking independence have a full proper read of this article by Pete A Bell. It is long, but needs read in full. He makes some very valid points.

https://peterabell.scot/2020/07/16/our-nation-our-rules/

Having been thinking of how to progress indy, in the face of an SNP leadership that seems more concerned with popular novellas and wedding pictures than the urgency of Scotland’s predicament, Pete’s piece makes a lot of sense.

Instead of leaving the SNP, indy supporters should be joing it, and then getting involved to shift policy and force change from within. If enough do so, then surely we can be effective. We all, including myslef regularly bemoan the wokeist, careerist infiltrators to the party – and the wishy washy long term MP’s (we all know who I mean). So is it not time for us to take back OUR party, the party of Scottish INDEPENDENCE.

Pete Bell makes the, in my view, valid point, that we can all vote for second indy parties to our hearts content, but that will be of no conseuence, it will simply be too late. Make no mistake, Hogmany this year, will be the last in Scotland. From that point on, project annexation of Scotland by England will be enshrined in law. There will be no way back.

Dreamers here and sadly, within the SNP leadership imagine they have plenty time to win an election, then hold a referendum. They don’t. Events are moving very rapidly now, and powers are simply being taken from us. Whining by us and by the SNP will achieve nothing.

We all (aside from the obvious trolls, who post endlessly day and night) want indy. It is about time we started making sure it happens before our country, culture and parliament is gone forever. Those in the SNP (including the leader) who find that all too scary, should step aside and let those who do want independence get on with it.

The rule book has been torn up by London. It is in tatters. Their are NO rules. Power is never given, it is taken, and it is high time the Scottish government sniffed the coffee and woke up to that fact.

166. Breeks

https://archive.is/uLUJk

This is breathtaking beyond belief. The First Minister is trolling the whole country now, proving she’s got a brass neck to rival any Tory.

Then I twigged who the author was, and all the anti-Alex Salmond pennies dropped into place…

167. Rm

Why did the SNP government not fight for Scotland and just for Scotland during the Brexit fiasco, over 4 years to do something and nothing, Ian Blackford laughing and joking, the same as Peter Wishart the other day, there’s not any of them with real fight in them they’re content to let the years roll by laughing and joking on the way, Nicola Sturgeon is doing a good job with this virus ok but why can she only do that , creeping towards the end of the year and she’ll be content to hang fire and hear the bells at Hogmanay, there’s something nae right with the whole carry on, the powers that be seem to have given the Scottish leadership orders to don’t rock the boat just now, free prescriptions, free education etc, etc, but what good is all of this if we can’t make and control our own money and industry, and we need a Scottish owned & run banking system, control of our own media, we’ve the wrong people fighting for it.

168. stuart mctavish

Question arises whether Hamish’s emergency involves

Getting a nationality change
    Controlling the NHS (& contemporary tools of statecraft)
    The immediate liberation of Julian Assange

169. Andy Ellis

@RLS

It’d be amazing if anyone could make it past more than a few paragraphs of Pete Bell’s constipated prose, but his pompous online persona isn’t the main issue. Not only is his spittle flecked and slightly hysterical response to “cunning plans” slightly ridiculous, it’s just plain wrong.

Sadly however we just don’t seem able to kill that particular bad idea: gradualists, Sturgeonite loyalists, the woko Haram entryists and quixotic “thinkers” like Pete simply aren’t open to reason on the matter. Best to leave them tilting at the windmills they see everywhere.

As a former SNP member however, I can say that I’ve seen zero evidence that the party is open to change, or that all these new members you seek to encourage would have any impact. If existing members can’t make the party change course, and are leaving in numbers due to its perceived lack of appetite for change, what on earth makes you think an intake of novices will lead to different outcomes?

If we are running out of time as you insist, whose fault is that exactly? It’s not as if the SNP haven’t been warned. The thing is your analysis is as flawed as your fluffing of Pete Bell’s inane output: the SNP isn’t for changing, it knows exactly what it is doing and is sure it is right because the leadership has no intention of bringing about a referendum any time soon. It has to pretend that’s still the aim of course, but it has already accepted that “once in a (real) generation” is the best it can hope for.

The cosy certainties of being a big fish in a devolutionary pond are much more attractive to too many in the SNP than the trials and tribulations of actually ensuring we get to vote in the near term.

170. winifred mccartney

I see Nicola’s front page in Scotland on Sunday in an interview with none other than Dani Garavelli??????

171. katherine hamilton

Re the interview in the SoS linked by Breeks. The SoS! Who reads it? Who the hell does she think she is reaching. This site has more folk reading than they have words in an edition. A Dugcast with WGD would get more listeners. Blimey even a post on the SNP site would get more.

Wonder why she doesn’t want to talk to us? Pariahs, ah tell ye, pariahs! That’s what we are!

172. susan

Well said @Andy Ellis.

173. Stuart MacKay

Robert Louis @7:47am

Thanks for the article. It is interesting but you need to concentrate pretty hard to get through it.

I agree with Peter Bell in that time is running out. However he says:

There are four such critical components – the people of Scotland; the Scottish Parliament; the Scottish Government; and the Scottish National Party.

Well time and the Tories are going to more or less eliminate the last three so that just leaves the people of Scotland. You might disagree that the SNP are being eliminated but without the Scottish Parliament/Government then the SNP just becomes a fringe Westminster party consisting of Blackford and a few of his chums.

The essence of Bell’s article is that we should throw our weight behind the SNP and despite criticisms I think that’s a decent plan. However the way the leadership is structured it’s clear that getting reform from the grassroots is likely to take quite some time – which we don’t have.

OK, so where does that leave us?

Well the whole idea that the list vote is out to hurt the SNP is entirely bogus. The purpose of the list vote is to wipe out the unionists. The SNP will remain the dominant party but a successful list campaign sends the strong message that the Union is dead and all but buried and starts a new chapter on independence. In other words tactically it’s not that big of a deal but strategically it’s very important as it changes the debate from “should we stay?” to “why haven’t we left already?”

174. Ottomanboi

Robert Louis 07:47
    The sole sovereign entity in the British state is considered to be the parliament sitting in Westminster which effectively over time has assumed all the rights and privileges of the English monarchy. Devolved powers exist by the grace and favour of that parliament. In this model the perception of the British state as unitary, not federal, prevails. The United Kingdom having no formal written constitution and being informed by the spirit of the laws of England which when people refer to constitutional matters is the functional legal context, Scotland’s position is opaque, a fudge, neither fish nor fowl, a classic, illogical more dosh in lawyers pockets situation
    It is possible to argue, as some do, that the Scottish parliament is now sovereign even the pre 1707 parliament resurrected. Or that that ‘sovereignty’ is simply a notional concept, true sovereignty and ‘real’ powers residing still with Westminster which may at any time withdraw such from any subordinate entity it has established should the unity and integrity of the state be under threat.
    This is in the end all lawyers hot air. Laws are man made as are parliaments and constitutions and may be discarded when no longer ‘fit’. Westminster will dispose as it sees fit. Independence will come when we see fit to dispose of Westminster and to hell with the supposed ‘consequences’.
    Lets leave the legalism to the Sturgeonites and English lawyers and just get on with it.
    From my reading the Blair régime saw the Scottish parliament as a step above county council status. I believe that is how Westminster sees it. It is certainly how the current régime sees it.
    So what have we to lose in this struggle? Not much except the health and safety, over-caution of the SNP it would appear.

175. Ian Brotherhood

For those who missed Craig Murray’s comment last night (11.08):

Alex isn’t writing a book, though everyone seems to think so. I am not quite sure how that idea caught on.

Dunno about anyone else but I find this quite perplexing.

Multiple msm sources have stated that he is. Craig is the first I’ve heard claim that he isn’t.

This is pretty basic but important stuff.

Is Alex Salmond writing a book or not?

Does anyone know him well enough to ask him?

176. liz

NS sexuality is neither hear nor there. but if it’s true, it’s the hypocrisy that is the problem.

If any politician feels they have to keep something hidden, that opens them up for being compromised

177. AberdeenPict

Ian Brotherhood says:
    19 July, 2020 at 10:54 am
    For those who missed Craig Murray’s comment last night (11.08):

Maybe the rev might have heard something as to whether he is or not.

Rev?

178. Grouse Beater

Chris, yon Gorgeous George has announced he is to stand as an independent candidate in Scotland. He wants to rid us of more democracy.

The Scourge of Scotland: https://wp.me/p4fd9j-u4

179. schrodingers cat

@Robert Louis
    We all want indy. It is about time we started making sure it happens before our country, culture and parliament is gone forever. Those in the SNP (including the leader) who find that all too scary, should step aside and let those who do want independence get on with it.
    ———————–
    ok, what do we do now?

180. schrodingers cat

@gb

and just to make sure, he is standing on the list in the south 🙂

181. Breeks

Ian Brotherhood says:
    19 July, 2020 at 10:54 am

Does anyone know him well enough to ask him?

I don’t know, but while there seems to be presumption he is, it has always niggled me how you can write a book about a conspiracy featuring people you can’t name or allow to be identified.

182. schrodingers cat

@ianbh
    I think craig murray knows alex well enough

183. Terry callachan

Englands propaganda war against Scotland continues
    Next will be constraint
    Then business withdrawals
    Price wars

Our food stores
    Electricity companies
    Banks
    Fuel outlets

All obey the Westminster whip

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.