Spot the deliberate mistake

Posted on January 19, 2015 by

Honestly, they should put ribbons and a bow on this stuff.

danjarvis

1. 19 01 15 23:43

Spot the deliberate mistake - Speymouth

122 to “Spot the deliberate mistake”

1. Dinnatouch

Err, there seems to be something missing. Can’t quite put my finger on what it is though.

2. KillieBoab

Does he accept invitations? I would love a chat.

3. Patrick Roden

One Nation Labour?

Oh yes, and we know exactly who that ‘One Nation’ is, don’t we?

Clue, It isn’t any of the following:

Scotland, Wales, N Ireland.

4. BrianW

They’ve missed out “Desperate” at the very start?

Labourdoorstep Snickers.. (not been called a Marathon for years now..sheesh)

5. Bob Sinclair

But of course SLAB is a separate accounting unit. That clears that one up.

6. Cadogan Enright

I don’t feel offended that he has deprived us of his company. Maybe he knows he would not find a welcome on the doorstep? Or not got the brass neck to scour Scotland for an egg? – Maybe we should we count our blessings that he ain’t coming here? – or note that he feels his presence would make no difference to the sinking sub-office in Scotland?

7. Chitterinlicht

What about the 10th region?

Lightweight.

Jim Murphy stood on a hundred crates and slayed a dragon.

8. msean

Inspired by…

9. John Gibson

ribbons and a bow – Ha ha, chuckled to myself when I read that.
    You do get the sense they’re only a heartbeat away from trying it for real, on the off chance it wins one more vote.

10. Tattie-bogle

The Beatles

11. Lesley-Anne

Lazy git!

Only NINE regions is it?

Whit’s the matter with region number 10 then ya Muppet? πŸ˜‰

Oops I forgot yer too feart of your party’s branch manager. Well I don’t blame ye cause he scares the bejesus out of me as well but then again I have no intention of voting for him so at least I will be able to sleep easy at night … how about you? πŸ˜€

Just one wee itsy bitsy teeny weeny little question here, if I may? πŸ˜›

WHO decided that you should NOT visit region 10, was it?

a) RED Ed Milliband

b) Branch Manager

c) yourself

Answers on a post card to:

Jim Murphy
    Branch Manager
    RED Tories Towers
    Glasgow
    North Britain.

12. Thomas Widmann

I guess he simply considers his country to be England.

13. John G

Come on, you didn’t expect him to go to Scotland or Wales did you? why would he do that. Scottish votes for Labour don’t get counted they get weighed. Didn’t you know?

14. galamcennalath

Perhaps someone thinks Yes won? We are behaving as if we did!

15. heedtracker

To be fair, Scotland’s hardly ever mentioned here now in UKOK England. Although the BBC have blamed Nicola Sturgeon for the oil price drop.

16. Paula Rose

100 miles a day?

17. Ian Brotherhood

He’ll end up with big giant blisters if he tries it in those shoes.

18. Democracy Reborn

“Our green and pleasant laaaaand!….”

Remember the UK govt legal position pre-referendum : Scotland was “extinguished” in 1707 and was incorporated into Mother England. So perhaps we fall into Dan’s ‘North West’ & ‘North East’ regions??….

19. bookie from hell

why is he touring?

20. HandandShrimp

Don’t have a problem with him only doing England, it is the UKLabour bit that is funny.

21. Mac an Segair

Maybe theres another Tory vote on welfare cuts or NHS privatisation on day 10 that needs his support…

22. fr33thinking

Yup … There are only 9 regions. Scotland only has ‘branch’ status … therefore it doesn’t qualify as a region. It’s reminiscent of the ‘minor entity in the North of Britain’ label that was bestowed on us during the #indyref debate.

23. ronnie anderson

Is he being sponsored by Procter & Gamble he’ll Daz ll whiter than white lies.

24. Swami Backverandah

In the name of all things good, Dan, Please Stop.

Your whirlwind tour is creating a vortex that’s influencing the weather. It started last Thursday with a hurricane and we’re now experiencing a freeze bigger than Ed’s energy cap set to last till Friday.
    Don’t you know you could be responsible for killing off one old person every 7 minutes.

Besides, you’ll need those postal votes.

25. David McCann

Used Irn Bru crate for hire? Low mileage.

26. frankieboy

Miles claimed for on expenses, every last one of them.

27. merida

I’ll make him a up of tea if he comes to my door, oops I live in Scotland guess he might not make it

28. ronnie anderson

Dan Jarvis is another red brick in the wall, foundations crumbling, rite who,s goat the Rams Horn.

29. Natasha

Hi, Swami Backverandah, not seen you posting for a while, nice to see you back.
    πŸ™‚

30. Patrick Roden

Quote: “I guess he simply considers his country to be England”

Except his twitter tag says UKLabour.

31. Lesley-anne

David McCann says:

Used Irn Bru crate for hire? Low mileage.

That crate STILL up for hire David? πŸ˜‰

I heard that Barr’s had demanded the return of all Irn Bru crates. If anyone was going to hire them out it was going to be THEM not some Branch manger! πŸ˜›

32. snode1965

Never mind tomorrow we are getting a visit from Balls n Murphy to Aberdeen. At the same time SNP debate Trident in Westminster. Wonder which event the BBC and Papers will report. πŸ™‚

33. Chic McGregor

Nine votes?

34. John Walsh

Dan “daz” Jarvis doing the Labour dubstep inda souff . Coming North in 9 + 1000 days to meet his new boss 100 towns Murphy. .?

35. Alex Clark

Genuine politics no longer exist. It is all a sham.

Only soundbites and stunts remain, proof positive of a nation in its death throes. “We all belong to them”.

36. Doug Daniel

Always with the gimmicks too. What a wee trooper, chapping a few doors of known Labour voters, then back on the bus to visit the next lot, maybe getting a wee photo in as well. This guy’s almost as big a hero as the Old Firm heroes that Jim “Did I Tell You I Like Football?” Murphy wants knighted, or something.

37. Ian Brotherhood

Is he going to walk any of it?

Silly me. He’s just being transported from one place to another, claims it all back on expenses, and fosters the illusion that he’s enduring some form of hardship?

Not even carrying around his own crates? Pah! Not a patch on oor ain Morph, putting up with verbal abuse, eggs and what-not.

This is for Dan, Dan, the Marathon Man:

RUN-DMC & Aerosmith, ‘Walk This Way’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B_UYYPb-Gk

38. manandboy

He should’ve read the writing on the wall a little more carefully.

39. Dr Jim

@Natasha
    Grateful thanks, tomorrow a song followed by Bingo…boom boom.
    Love,

40. The Man in the Jar

Spot the deliberate mistake? Hmm let me think… Is it the omission of the blindfold and bullet holes in the wall behind him?

41. Alex Clark

@manandboy

He should’ve read the writing on the wall a little more carefully.

Clever.

In Scotland at least the writing is on the wall for the Labour party. Shutting your eyes, putting your fingers in your ears or standing on crates will not change that.

I’m hopeful that all the BBC coverage of Jim Murphy will backfire, he seems to think that all the ex-labour voters who voted Yes cared about football more than politics.

Politics in Scotland for me is all about inequality, foodbanks, sanctions, benefit cuts, ATOS and a way out of all that by good governance!

He’s on a loser on that one in my view and I was brought up for a time in Copeland Rd less than a 1/4 mile from Ibrox. LOL

As I said in an earlier post the use of spin and stunts will not get me back into the fold, good luck with other Ex-Labour voters but I think you’re on a loser.

In fact I think you are a loser and will soon be out of a job. How will you feel Jim visiting a foodbank when your benefits are sanctioned for non attendance?

42. Jimbo

I see the mistake. He missed out Wales!

43. Clootie

Standard Labour tactic. You don’t actually have to do anything except drive for a few hours then shout some sound bites then move on. It worked for Murphy !

Their whole campaign is to have a “headline” every day and the MSM will support that fully.

It’s a pity they don’t put the same effort into listening as the do spinning.

44. The Man in the Jar

@Alex Clark

“He’s on a loser on that one in my view and I was brought up for a time in Copeland Rd less than a 1/4 mile from Ibrox. LOL”

Careful with that LOL there Alex. πŸ˜‰

45. alexicon

I guess he simply considers his country to be England

I consider his country to be England.

46. Dr Jim

Although, there are a lot less people living on a dollar a day now.
    So that’s great news eh…

47. Tam Jardine

He seems like quite an interesting character… ex para with a middle name ‘Woolgar’ which is a first for me, for anyone in fact. His wikipedia thingy reveals he was tied with a councillor for the labour nomination and he pulled a bit of paper with the word winner written on it out of a hat during the process. For me he’s a winner – I hope he retakes his safe seat.

He also had a codename for his election campaign – Operation Honey Badger’. I quite like that too. Gaun yersel Dan. You travel the lengths of the country of England. Is Yorkshire and Humber one region or two? It doesn’t matter. Labour are finished up here so tactically he is spot on.

48. Donald Urquhart

That’s a crying shame, I thought we were all one big happy family. Did nobody tell Dan the Man.

I was looking forward to our discussion -re illegal wars, trident, austerity, labour’s record last time.

49. Alex Clark

@The Man in the Jar

Careful with that LOL there Alex

I hear you! Although my point still stands, appealing to sections of the community that support one or other or the Glasgow teams is a massive mistake.

He is trying to appeal to both and can’t possibly do that. The vast majority of these supporters when it comes to politics are like the rest of the country.

In other words the football team they support is of little consequence compared with day to day life. There are a minority who are idiots and they exist in every corner of Scotland not just in Glasgow.

We know why Jim is doing this and it is a mistake, he is very adept at alienating possible supporters thanks to taking the advice of his right hand man McTernan. Go John.

I think we should just leave him to get on with it. Go Jim.

50. KennyG

Aye just shows you, one rule for them and another for us. If me or you had written that on a public wall we would be huckled for vandalism. And it must have been him because only he could reach up there.

51. Ken500

The ‘Imperial Masters’ have already visited to swing the vote. The full fiscal autonomy promised, now forgotten. Aberdeen, ignored for forty years, is now a popular destination for Unionists politicians, craving attention.

52. Macart

Wait now… I know I’ve seen this tactic before. πŸ˜€

So much for ‘one nation’. They forgot to mention the name of the nation though.

Better together eh?

53. Truth

Wait a minute…did we win the referendum after all?

Looks like Wales and NI got their independence as well.

54. jimnarlene

He’s probably looked at the recent polling results, and thought why bother.

55. boris

The new head of the British Army warned that his soldiers can only β€œjust” cope with the demands placed on them by ministers. General Sir Richard Dannatt, who took over from Sir Mike Jackson last week, said: β€œWe are running hot, certainly running hot. β€œCan we cope? I pause. I say β€˜just’.”

Foreign Office Minister Kim Howells said he did not think that the British Army was overstretched but other Nato countries should be doing more. He added: β€œThere has got to be an effort right across Nato and not just concentrated on a certain number of countries like the UK and Canada.

Shadow Defence Minister Gerald Howarth, said the Tories had predicted that British troops would β€œget sucked into a very much more fierce counter insurgency operation”. However, Parliament was assured by John Reid, the then defence secretary, that this would not be the case, Mr Howarth told BBC Radio 4’s World at One.

http://caltonjock.com/2015/01/20/lest-we-forget-blairs-legacy-one-month-of-war-our-young-men-die-for-what-remember-very-recent-past-when-you-vote-for-your-childrens-future-in-2015/

56. davidb

Awe come on peeps. The very first poster nailed it. Finger? How many do you have ( unfair to those of us living in Larkhall I know)? They list 10 regions, then tell you they are visiting all 9 of them.

Duh!

57. boris

September 10 2006; New poll calls for independence

This looks familiar but they say politics moves in circles so we are back where we were in 2006.

An opinion poll has claimed that independence is more popular in Scotland than the current devolution settlement. According to a Sunday Times YouGov survey, 44% of respondents said they backed a separate Scotland compared with 42% who did not. The survey also revealed that a large majority, 64%, of those questioned, favour more powers for the Scottish Parliament while only 19% favour the status quo.

John Curtis, professor of politics at Strathclyde University, warned that Westminster should advocate more powers for the Scottish Parliament to avoid an electoral backlash. He told the paper: “Scots seem to want a Scottish Parliament that is more powerful than it is, that has better ability to do things differently from London. “All of the other parties in Scotland are looking to go into the election wanting to change the devolution settlement.

58. Ken500

Labour boycott debate on Nuclear weapons in Scotland . The Chilcot verdict not published.

Sanctions, food banks and austerity.

Murphy/Dugdale unelected troughers, never had a job. Followed round the doors by YES folk.

Cut HS2/Trident no deficit.

59. Donald

All being one nation, I’m guessing North West will be a trip to Fort William and North East (Britain) will be the Dundee / Aberdeen metropolitan area? Surely? Surely? No? Oh.

60. Ken500

Britain, France and US policies in the Middle East for the last 100 years are a disgrace. They attack the modernising, (progressive?) States and support the Apartheid, absolute despot monarchies. Britain and France foreign policies cause migration to Europe and then they complain about it.

‘Free speech’. Cameron/Clegg sent police into the ‘Guardian’ to smash up the basement and threaten the Editor, for printing the truth about Wedtminster’s lies and surveillance.

61. heedtracker

You dont have to be mad to live in teamGB but today’s BBC Happy Democracy Day, so from same liggers that destroyed Scottish democracy last year, their celebrations include an in depth interview with Nick Robinson of all liggers and Nigel Farage and all in clown costume. Thanks again proud Scot buts.

Libby Carrell of rancid Graun weekly attack on Holyrood,

“While it may be politically convenient for the SNP to fall back on the argument that they are waiting for the Smith recommendations to come into force, which could take another year or two, green campaigners argue that by then another round of licences and applications will be in train, making it much harder for the Scottish government to take a strong anti-fracking position.”

THE VOW no becomes “recommendations” and won’t happen for another year or never”

They won though.

62. Basher

London Labour, Labour South East, Labour North West and 7 others makes 10 Regions not 9

63. donnywho

O/T but couldn’t wait to share this from the BeeB “The mansion tax is one of Labour’s main 2015 manifesto commitments, with the proceeds due to be used to fund the recruitment of 38,000 new GPs, nurses, midwives and other NHS professionals”
    So much for murphy’s posturing on one thousand nurses, and showing how independent he is.
    By standing up for Scotland he is offering us 2.6% of the cake. SMOKE AND MIRRORS

64. caz-m

I doubt Murphy’s day out in Dundee with is “Shallow Cabinet” (like it) must have been a complete disaster. No mention of the visit on BBC Scotland last night or this morning.

I thought that Murphy was going to listen more to what Scots had to say. All I saw yesterday was Jim running through the streets of Dundee AWAY from people who wanted to ask him a couple of questions.

Now we know why he does all those marathons, it’s so he’s fit enough to run away from awkward questions.

I thought we had lost those Comedy Gold moments that we witnessed during Murphy’s tour of Scotland forever, but they are back folks.

Big Jim is on the road again, coming to a town near you.

Well done Dundee, you done us proud.

65. heedtracker

BBC R4 news man now says “how can they protect democracy as part of their UKOK Democracy Day?” and the threats he lists are apathy and populist parties. SNP.Scots Holyrood now airbrushed out of teamGB but at a guess, BBC’s horrible populist parties that threaten their democracy are not UKIP. The hour long interview with noble and honest Nick Robinson and Nigel Farage at 9am will be fabulous. Wish I was listening to it anywhere else but here.

66. Bugger (the Panda)

@ donnywho

I have changed my mind about the “blessed” Jim Murphy.

He is not just an Ambulance Chaser, he is also an Ambulance Ambusher.

67. manandboy

9 days, a hundred miles a day, in all weathers.
    He better learn to button his coat up.

While further north, Jim should button his lip – but that’s the last thing he’ll do, with the whole of the Scottish media to feed every day.

68. Macart

@ jimnarlene

Never a truer word… etc. πŸ˜€

69. caz-m

The BBC and the word “democracy” should never be in the same sentence. They only believe in English Establishment Democracy.

One example of how Scotland is seen as irrelevant was in the BBC England news bulletins this morning.

They would rather tell the world that the Sun newspaper is doing away with their page 3 models, than tell viewers that the SNP will be holding a debate in Westminster today regarding the future replacement of the Trident Nuclear Missile System.

70. Roger Hyam

I think we might come under one of those Norths.

71. Gods Country

O/T but can someone please provide an archived link to todays Times article “BBC must review its referendum coverage”. Don’t know if its good or bad! Much appreciated.

72. Tam Jardine

caz-m

It was wierd hearing Prof Curtis discuss the Electoral merits of the SNP’s stance on trident – the percentage who are against trident renewal and how important the issue is with the public. This seemed to miss the bleedin obvious that trident is an abomination that must be decommissioned regardless of whether it wins votes or loses them.

He also asked the SNP and Greens to clarify what they mean by ‘red line issue’ in any negotiations to support a lab minority government. I’m not sure how much clearer the SNP could be.

Subtext – SNP’s stance should be seen as an electoral ploy. And they cannot be trusted to keep to their anti trident stance.

It took the young lady on the beeb to raise the minor matter of getting rid of trident being the right thing to do. And to let the listeners know today’s motion was likely to fail.

73. jimnarlene

@Macart, I know, I don’t believe them either, just trying to be witty and current, whilst looking as though I knew what I was on about.

74. Nana Smith

O/T The man who should be in jail…

The Middle East β€˜peace envoy’ has recommended that a network of sweatshops be set up in the occupied West Bank

http://www.middleeasteye.net/columns/tony-blair-and-corporate-capture-palestine-255063272

Conservative MPs will launch a campaign on Monday to force Tony Blair to reveal how much he earns and who pays him.

http://rt.com/uk/224111-blair-tory-mps-paymasters/

75. Macart

@ jimnarlene

It worked. I’m still smilin’. πŸ™‚

76. galamcennalath

“Democrat Day” ? That must be having a laugh. Well, some of us don’t find it funny.

Then again, those in the London bubble have a very strange view of what democracy means.

UKOK must be the most undemocratic country in the EU. FPTP distorting the electorate’s wishes, House of Lords, agenda ridden press, controlled media, etc etc

77. wingman 2020

8 Days

78. bjsalba

Heedtracker said
    BBC R4 news man now says β€œhow can they protect democracy as part of their UKOK Democracy Day?” and the threats he lists are apathy and populist parties.

Just looked up definitions for Populist and Democracy

Populist – a member or adherent of a political party seeking to represent the interests of ordinary people.
    Democracy – A system of government in which power is vested in the people.

(Bolding is mine)

If the current main WM parties don’t think they are populist, then presumably they think they are elitist? And they think that is democracy? Doesn’t say much for a private school education and a PPE degree from Oxbridge, does it?

79. Luigi

I wonder what Sunny Jim’s road show gimmick will be this time. No doubt he is busy scheming something that will grab the headlines during the GE campaign.

80. Nana Smith

Creative Scotland chief calls for BBC to β€˜work’ on SNP relationship

https://archive.today/UiKCQ

81. Lollysmum

Even the Ugandans recognise how poor UK is when it comes to democracy. This article from last September on the referendum.

http://119.82.71.117/newvision/news/660135-scottish-referendum-malpractices-prove-britain-is-not-more-democratic-than-uganda.html

82. Nana Smith

Get your bets on…how many labourites turn up.

http://www.parliament.uk/business/news/2015/january/mps-debate-trident-renewal/

83. ronnie anderson

Democrecy Day is that like Haloween, anybody know where ah kin buy a Wry smile mask.

84. HandandShrimp

I’m going to take a wild guess and suggest that the Labour MPs will use the Trident debate as an opportunity to sit in their offices and fill out their expenses forms and generally bathe in lard.

85. Christian Wright

15th – 23rd January – No one proof read this before presenting it to a potential audience of billions on the interwebs? ‘Course not, it’s Labour . . Well, hope those accompanying Dan are wearing “I’m with stupid” tee-shirts.

86. Macca73

heedtracker says:

20 January, 2015 at 7:56 am

You dont have to be mad to live in teamGB but today’s BBC Happy Democracy Day, so from same liggers that destroyed Scottish democracy last year, their celebrations include an in depth interview with Nick Robinson of all liggers and Nigel Farage and all in clown costume. Thanks again proud Scot buts.

Libby Carrell of rancid Graun weekly attack on Holyrood,

β€œWhile it may be politically convenient for the SNP to fall back on the argument that they are waiting for the Smith recommendations to come into force, which could take another year or two, green campaigners argue that by then another round of licences and applications will be in train, making it much harder for the Scottish government to take a strong anti-fracking position.”

THE VOW no becomes β€œrecommendations” and won’t happen for another year or never”

They won though.

Voted for more austerity – Supporting fracking (even if they sat on there hands), trying to undermine Holyrood by taking power at council levels. Just some of the shocking stuff we’ve seen in the past few weeks from Labour. It’s time it’s stopped and it’s time we put them to the sword. They might be about to say “they won” at political arguments by the most slender of margins in the independence referendum but the anger felt will just get stronger. Unrest is growing everywhere and it’s only a matter of time before people start to realise that putting Scotland first is what matters. Control over roadsigns is a good start from the smith commission.. we can tell Westminster where to go!

87. Christian Wright

Occurs to me they’ve got form here. They may be contracting-out their billboard advertising to the Orange Order . . http://www.weourselves.com/you-can-judge-a-campaigns-character-by-the-company-it-keeps-2/

88. Jim Thomson

@Tam Jardine 12:37am

His middle name will be from a granny or maternal grandad (probably).

It’s a fairly common name around Englandshire if you have look here:

http://worldnames.publicprofiler.org/Default.aspx

89. cearc

lollysmum,

Thanks. That is one of the best articles I have seen covering most of the main points. Ideal to print out and give to people. Only missed the lobbying of foreign goverments.

90. Blind Squirrel

Those 9 regions of Labour’s “country” are awfully similar to the 9 regions of England. So Labour = English Labour and English Labour has a branch office in Scotland which, like a teenager, no longer needs permission from English Labour. Unless there is a big decision to be taken or the decision involves money over and above the allowance.

Summed up best by themselves – U KOK.

91. galamcennalath

Lollysmum says:
    Even the Ugandans recognise how poor UK is when it comes to democracy.

Brilliant article. An excellent summary of what happened!

92. Blind Squirrel

Actually changed my mind. Scratch the Scottish Labour and teenager analogy with my apologies. Teenagers are more than capable of standing up to their parents on matters which are important to them which is in no way similar to pre-arranged petty spats between the subordinate Scottish Labourites and their English masters.

93. Dave McEwan Hill

There is a concentrated and co-ordinated campaign going on now to talk down the SNP’s prospects for May 7th, latest from Iain Dale. This is based on heehaw and has no relationship to current polling indications but supported probably by some hapless expectation that Murphy’s manic manoeuverings around the country MUST surely be having some effect. (They are. Best weapon against Murphy in this respect is derision)

We should be aware of this effort and we must not subscribe to it by publicly expressing any doubt.

Just remind people of the simple fact that the SNP repeating its polling figures of the 2011 election would give it about 50 Westminster seats

94. ronnie anderson

Lord Hennesy Lord Steel addmitting there is no Democrecy in HoL/HoC,ahh who to believe on this Democrecy Day,mibbee,s it will change next year lol.

95. Desimond

Anyone else spot the typo

The sentence says ‘case 4 @UKLabour’
    Clearly should be ‘ case of 4K-U-All-@-Labour’

96. Luigi

The myth of scots voting different ways in UK and Scottish elections is based entirely on the result of a single election (2010), when large numbers of new SNP/devomax/ independence supporters/coverts from 2007 “loaned” their votes back to Labour, in a vain attempt to keep the tories out. Things have certainly been in flux for a few years, but this is typical when seismic changes occur – as the dust of the referendum settles, we are now looking at a very different political landscape. Those people, who voted Labour in 2010, and who will determine the outcome in Scotland in May, are slowly getting used to voting SNP.

Will they be fooled again into voting Labour – the red tories who supported their blue cronies to the hilt during the two-year Better Together campaign? I wouldn’t bet on it.

It won’t be an SNP landslide, however, because many small c conservative unionists now actually vote Labour in Scotland. Labour’s traditional support base has gone forever. Jim Murphy and co rely on new friends now.

97. fred blogger

the snp, ssp, scotgreens, etc WILL campaign against trident, and many other issues that bring true social justice to the UK.
    they will not check wind direction before campaigning.
    the snp and others campaigned for indyscot against the political tide, and never once faltered on that position.
    that’s all i need to know.
    common weal.

98. Robert Peffers

@Chitterinlicht says:19 January, 2015 at 10:33 pm:

“Jim Murphy stood on a hundred crates and slayed a dragon.”

Dragon? But! But! But! Isn’t it a wee lion they have on eggs?

99. HandandShrimp

Analysis of the latest polls on the Guardian and a range of outcomes with the SNP on 32, 34 or 38 seats. I think any of those outcomes would be a result.

Latest poll has Tories and Labour level pegging on 32%. Unless one of these two up their game considerably a hung parliament looks like a certainty.

100. Ian Brotherhood

It’s just gone 12.05, and the word ‘Trident’ still hasn’t been uttered on the Beattie RS lunchtime show. Anyone fancy a sweep on when it’ll get a mention?

101. HandandShrimp

Ian

I’m going for May 2018

πŸ™‚

102. Gary

He’s not that stupid. In the words of Dirty Harry “A man’s got to know his limitations..”

103. Robert Peffers

@alexicon says: 20 January, 2015 at 12:27 am:

“I guess he simply considers his country to be England”

Well no, Alexcon, he considers his country to be the United Kingdom that is actually a Kingdom and never has been a country but the numptie and imagines that all the United Kingdom really means it is all England.

What bothers me is that he considers my country and kingdom of Scotland is part of his country too.

104. Hoss Mackintosh

@donnywho 8:08 am
    Good spot.

Bit confused about this?! Does that mean that Murphy has short changed Scotland by 2,800 Nurses and Doctors by only giving us 1000 from the mansion tax?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-30890924

Does is also mean the Diane Abbott MP spat was a set-up as well as she must have known >90% of mansion tax would be going to England?

And I thought we were supposed to be pooling and sharing now.

Can some Yesser ask Jim if they manage to catch up with him. You will need to be fast!

105. Lollysmum

Read James Kelly’s Scot goes Pop posted at 7ish this morning.

A rogue poll appeared recently & the MSM are bigging up it’s results & saying SNP lead is shrinking. This is what their commentators are relying on. Personally I’d rather wait until several polls come out with similar figures. In the meantime I’ll take this one with a pinch of salt.

106. Hoss Mackintosh

@Ian B

How about – Never!

107. Macart

All I need know when voting in May.

Who puts the needs of people before party and country/common weal before the state?

That would mainly be SNP, SSP and Scottish Greens.

ConLabLib need not come to my door and apply for my vote. These parties have had the run of the roost and been given opportunity after opportunity to deliver an economically balanced, socially just society, or as near dammit as our world will allow, seems like forever. FFS, we’re surrounded by countries who somehow, with the whole stigma of being ‘furriners’ mind, have managed a better economic and societal model than we have.

With the willing aid of the media our three ‘big’ parties put on a good show every five years and talk a good game, full of all the soundbites we want to hear. Their delivery on their big show, their big talk however, after literally decades of hegemony, leaves something to be desired.

We gave a party a chance back in 2007 in Scotland and wound up with a government that could balance the books and attract inward investment. They protected services on an ever diminishing budget and set about offsetting the worst austerity driven decisions of Westminster in their attempts to rob Peter and not pay Paul.

I’d like to see what that party could do for us, given some serious electoral wellie in the House of Commons.

108. Robert Peffers

@KennyG says: 20 January, 2015 at 1:47 am:

“Aye just shows you, one rule for them and another for us. If me or you had written that on a public wall we would be huckled for vandalism.”

Err! ‘Scuse me, Kenny G, but have you not heard of photoshop? I do a bit of video and photo editing. It works like this – You take a shot of the subject standing in front of a green screen, (or you remove the existing background from an existing shot of the subject), then you can substitute the green bits of the resultant shot with anything you choose from another shot.

Like most Establishment political claims – things are not always what they seem. Like the Labour political party soundbite, “Scottish Labour”, that implies an autonomous Scottish Labour Party that is actually nothing of the sort. They cannot officially do, or say, anything except by with their headquarters express permission.

109. Robert Peffers

@davidb says: 20 January, 2015 at 7:15 am:

“They list 10 regions, then tell you they are visiting all 9 of them.”

Well no, Davidb, That bit of their claim is 100% correct. They will visit the nine other regions from the region they are already in to begin with.
    :-))

110. Robert Peffers

@Basher says:20 January, 2015 at 8:02 am:

“London Labour, Labour South East, Labour North West and 7 others makes 10 Regions not 9”

(Ahem!).

Basher, they are already in the starting region and so will only be visiting the other 9.

111. Hoss Mackintosh

I think Prof Curtice may have rumbled Jim Murphys “No comment on Trident” stance..

“As far as Scottish Labour leader Jim Murphy is concerned that same Guardian poll identified the views of those people who voted Labour back in 2010, but voted “Yes” in the referendum. It showed that an overwhelming 72% of them were opposed to the renewal of Trident.

So, Labour’s problem – north of the border at least – is that this issue of Trident seems to be mixed up with the issue of independence, partly because at some people just don’t like nuclear weapons being in the River Clyde.

Therefore Labour has to think if it wants to get back these ex-Labour voters who voted “Yes” and what they say about Trident could actually matter.”

Trident? What Trident?

Link

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-30897643

112. Hoss Mackintosh

Oops wrong thread – new one started…

113. Robert Peffers

@Nana Smith says: 20 January, 2015 at 9:54 am:

“Creative Scotland chief calls for BBC to β€˜work’ on SNP relationship

https://archive.today/UiKCQ

Very well spotted, Nana Smith, I would suggest, though, that the BBC should actually seek to work on a better relationship with those of their Scottish listeners & viewers they have lost due to their past failures.

There will be little to gain for the BBC by a better relationship with the SNP if there is no audience for future BBC output.

114. Nana Smith

Totally agree Robert.

I know you like history so here’s something you might like to read. I found it after seeing a twitter post stating how Rothschild bankrolled the Hitler.

Wonder how much is true but that family seems to have an awful lot of tentacles.

The History Of The House Of Rothschild

http://rense.com/general88/hist.htm

115. Fred

A bit anti-semetic Nana, a good time in light of past events in Paris?

116. Nana Smith

@Fred

I hope you are not suggesting I am anti any group of people Fred.

117. Fred

I know you better than that Nana. πŸ™‚

118. Robert Peffers

Nana Smith says: 20 January, 2015 at 1:45 pm:

” … I found it after seeing a twitter post stating how Rothschild bankrolled the Hitler.”

I’ve posted here before about how the British Establishment, from the very King himself, many of the Aristocracy, the London financial sector and several London’s Boroughs were up to their ears with Hitler and the NAZI party. Mind you the same could be said for the USA for it was touch and go whether they would fight the Axis or even side with Hitler.

The USA, β€œNeutrality Act of 1939”, allowed belligerents to purchase war materiel from the United States, but only on a β€œcash and carry” basis. Remember the USA were still struggling with, β€œThe Great Depression”, and selling arms, equipment and stores to anyone with cash in hand and the ships to transport them was the perfect solution for USA recovery. Yet that act, sometimes known as , β€œThe Cash & Carry Act”, had a first line that began, β€œIn defense of the US …”, which shows the USA knew it was also their fight but they chose to exploit the war and not to fight their own corner.

In 1934 they passed, β€œThe Johnson Act”, that prohibited the extension of credit to countries that had not repaid U.S. loans from WWI – that included The United Kingdom. The US military also opposed military supplies to the UK. Army’s Chief of Staff, General George C. Marshall, though the UK would surrender after the collapse of France and that US supplies to the British end in German hands. Marshall, and others, claimed U.S. security would be better retaining military supplies for the defense of the Western Hemisphere. Much US public opinion was against involving the US in another war.

At that point the US was still selling iron to the Japanese and then the US passed an act that exchanged 50, mostly clapped out, WWI destroyers for UK foreign bases, (these are still in US hands today). Many of those destroyers did not even make it across the Atlantic. Then, after the UK cash supply ran out, they passed the Lend/ Lease Act, (a Buy Now, Pay Later Scheme), and, Surprise! Surprise! The first line of that Act starts, β€œIn Defense of the US … ”.

The truth of the matter is that the USA allowed the allies, (they remained Associate Allies at that point), to do the fighting and dying while the USA sold supplies, armaments and equipment knowing full well it was, β€œin defense of the US”. Not until after the Japanese declared war upon the USA by the attack upon Pearl Harbour and Hitler’s declaration of war on the USA did they come, not to save our bacon as they always claim, but to defend the USA. In fact the only countries to pay off the USA Lend/Lease were those of the United Kingdom and the USA still retain the bases exchanged for their WWI destroyers. All this while constantly telling us they only came to fight to save our bacon.

119. Nana Smith

@Fred

I was worried you thought badly of me.

The events in Paris were dreadful as are many events all over the world which the media decide is not in their interest to report.

The bbc in particular do harm with their selective reporting as we well know.

I haven’t seen any mention of

http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/condemns-escalating-attacks-nigerian-group-boko-haram-28332987

and where Israel is concerned…

https://twitter.com/FaziWuzzy/status/557235038224678914/photo/1

http://www.jpost.com/International/Chomsky-slams-Wests-Charlie-Hebdo-outrage-Many-journalists-were-killed-by-Israel-in-Gaza-too-388247

120. davidb

@ Robert. It did occur to me that it was a London centric patronising metropolitan point of view. But they dont list London at the top of the list. And anyway they are visiting all the UK except the bits that aren’t England, so its safe to just assume ignorant, patronising metropolitanism as their natural take on things.

Im a white van man.

121. davidb

How I wish I could edit posts after they were send. They do of course list London first.

Duh!

122. That Cornish Voter

*looks at log of where he’s visited in the South West*

As far as Plymouth. Don’t see a visit to Cornwall.

(Not surprised really, general expectation of the three so-called main parties to be honest unless on holiday talking about cream teas and pasties assuming that’s our economy)

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.