Spirit of the staircase

Posted on November 16, 2012 by

Alex Salmond, rumoured to have a fiery temper, must be hopping mad today. Johann Lamont wasted her time on a speculative exercise at First Minister’s Questions, aiming (as is her wont) for nothing more than a petty point of snark, and instead a clumsy piece of SNP briefing allowed her to extract an embarrassing retraction and apology to the chamber, which the Unionist press has of course seized on gleefully.

(The Scotsman has emblazoned no fewer than THREE links to the same article across this morning’s front page to make sure none of its remaining readers miss it. The Herald, meanwhile, had Magnus Gardham write a frothing piece entitled “Salmond apologises for misleading MSPs at Holyrood”, only to bizarrely pull it – and all its comments – and replace it with an almost-identical one in order to change the headline to “Salmond says sorry for misleading MSPs again. The original has been deleted from the Herald’s search facility, but can still be found on the server.)

In fact, rather than being increased by 0.18% as Salmond claimed at FMQs, the budget for Further Education colleges has been reduced by 1.7%. Given the austerity measures being inflicted on the Scottish Government by Westminster, that’s actually a near-miraculous protection of funding, particularly given the other investments being made in education, and a properly-briefed Salmond could have calmly and effectively pointed that out. He might also have noted that Lamont had no genuine interest in FE funding and nothing constructive to say on the subject – such as where Labour would make the savings necessary to maintain/increase it.

The Labour “leader” sought only to make party-political hay out of semantics, at Mike Russell’s expense, to give her hapless back-benchers something to cheer, but in her flailing landed herself an unexpected hit on the First Minister himself. Someone somewhere in a dark corner of SNP headquarters will be nursing a severely chewed ear this morning, and deservedly so.

Labour, meanwhile, will crow delightedly about the Nats’ own-goal. But at the end of the day, we suspect the electorate will remember who it is who wants to impose crippling tuition fees on students, and who wants to end free personal care and bus travel for the elderly, and free prescriptions for the sick, and increase Council Tax, and use the money to pay for nuclear weapons so that Westminster politicians can strut around on the world stage. We know we will.

71 to “Spirit of the staircase”

1. Doug Daniel

It’s annoying, but as you say, this is nothing to do with concern about FE funding – they just want a scalp and Mike Russell is the target.

I really cannot stand this kind of politics, and it’s very much a “boy who cried wolf” scenario – Labour have now called for the resignations of so many SNP ministers that it is impossible to tell if someone has genuinely made a resignation-worthy mistake, or if it’s just Labour being petty again.

And we still have a former college chairman thinking it’s acceptable to secretly record people and managing to escape all criticism… 

2. MajorBloodnok

If this minor episode now makes Lamont think that trying to catch out the Scottish Government on numbers is the way to go then good luck to her.

Interesting thing is that the FM came back as soon as he realised his error and admitted this and apologised to the chamber.  Couldn’t see anyone in the opposition doing that.

3. AndrewFraeGovan

Salmond accused of spending extra on FE colleges.

4. Ron

I jokingly thought after the legal advice row that I wasn’t sure we as a country really deserved independence if that was the level of our political debate and, frankly, the quality of our politicians.

But last night, after watching Scotland Tonight and Newsnicht … I’m not sure it isn’t a deliberate ploy by Scottish Labour. Make Holyrood seem so petty and incompetent, shouty and abusive, give the impression over the next 2 years that ALL our politicians in Scotland aren’t trustworthy … and people will vote NO out of fear.

Because that, it appears, is all that matters.  * depressed *

5. MajorBloodnok

That’s why the SNP has to (appear to) be calm, civilised and above all that nonsense – quite hard with the constant provocation from the opposition and the MSM.  What is that (internet) saying about never getting into a wrestling match with a pig? – you’ll just end up as dirty as the pig and the pig likes it.

6. dadsarmy

Ah, very possible Ron. Sabotage. I’ll have to think about that one.

The answer of course is for the SNP to rise above it, and stay cool, polite, answer the questions (having taken a few seconds to work out what if anything the question might be), and not give back the abuse they’re getting. They are the Government, and are expected to behave with dignity and composure, and respect the opposition.

Personally I think Salmond having to apologise will increase his stature, not diminish it. He did it very well.

Edit: I see the Major beat me to it.

7. Macart

The error was an own goal which should have resulted in the opposition having a laugh at the FMs expense. What occurred however was ugly, nasty and malicious. Russell himself hasn’t exactly covered himself in glory this week and certainly hasn’t made life as easy as it should be for the SG, but my God have the opposition fallen even further than I thought possible. They seem to live for the destruction of not just the SNP, but our own parliament. They’ve chucked all pretence at forming counter policy in favour of the most negative politics and dirty tricks strategy I’ve ever seen. The media are bad, we all know this, but they’re actively participating in this debacle. There are days when you look at the headlines and wonder if these people are actually clinically insane.

The SGs record in government is measurably better than any in the current UK, they have protected the public from the worst effects of not just austerity measures, but the ongoing global economic tsunami. Yet our own representatives and press attack them on a daily basis. What is the matter with these people????? Just exactly what will it take to make them divert from this course? Labour, back in power, another foreign excursion for the troops based on lies, the destruction of all of those carefully safeguarded universal benefits? Perhaps the first tranche of students in Scotland forking over £9k per skull or the first elderly pensioner who dies from want or bloody hypothermia. Perhaps a return to PFIs run rampant and the ALEO (gangsters) running amok with public cash. This is what they are advocating at the end of the day.

They really, really need to stop and think about what has actually been achieved here and think about what they are about to throw in the bin for the sake of what?????

Rant over 

8. Doug Daniel

“Personally I think Salmond having to apologise will increase his stature, not diminish it. He did it very well.”

Yep, it worked for Nicola – that time she apologised in the chamber was, for me, the day she well and truly established herself as the second member of a two-person team, rather than merely a deputy.

It always amazes me how reluctant politicians can be to apologise, when there is clear evidence that an unqualified, honest apology makes you look far better in the public eye than a half-hearted “sorry I got caught out” style apology.

9. Westie7

Trouble is,

We can see how the SNP are not rising to this,
    We can see how effective that apology was/is….

However if the current trough of stories is what the “undecideds” are to be subjected to by the BBC, STV, Scotsman, Herald, Daily Mail, P&J etc for the next Two years! well!

I think the Yes campaign needs a big event that the above parcel cannot ignore/twist.
    Something a bit more than someone crossing the floor 

10. dadsarmy

Macart – like your rant and agree totally. I did my Russell bit in the Herald, so won’t do it again, but I think he escaped by the absence of effective opposition, and the lucky event of the figures mistake.

Doug – yes it did, and she made Scotsman Politician of the Year thank God. Can you imagine if Lamont got it instead? Ugh, I’m going to have to wash my hands and my mouth out 🙁

11. velofello

I consider this FE funding error and subsequent apology to be a potentially good event for the independence movement. A minor arithmetical slip-up joyfully seized upon by Labour and MSM as a cataclysmic 1.7% error in a budget of +£500 million. No funds have been lost have they? 

It shows the SNP can slip up, and a first Minister who is big enough to apologise. Another potential benefit is that it may also embolden Lamont to increase her aggressive behaviour and flailing right hand movements. 
    This is as good a slip up as the SNP could hope for. No lost funds, no personnel scandals,prompt correction by the FM.

In sporting terms the public usually turn against a player who is never defeated and mutterings of smug and arrogant develop. 

12. Ron

Yep, it worked for Nicola – that time she apologised in the chamber was, for me, the day she well and truly established herself as the second member of a two-person team, rather than merely a deputy.
    Completely agree Doug, but what is noticable is how the opposition reacted to that apology by Nicola at that time. They accepted it and reacted in the correct way, the apology killed the story. Those days appear to be long gone, going by the recent events. EVERY mistake, slight or otherwise (and tbh this week was a poor mistake to make) will be jumped on as a confidence issue by a frenzied Labour opposition.
    If Nicola’s apology had happened this week, it would almost certainly have received the same vitriolic response as the FM’s.

dadsarmy, I also accept your point , the average voter will appreciate the apology rather than appreciate the sneer and name calling. But the debasing of the political atmosphere in Scotland over a period of time (say, oh I dunno, 2 years?) would be hugely dangerous, and might result in an erosion in confidence in our ability to govern ourselves amongst the currently non-political voting majority, even to the extent of undermining the current devolution settlement. Dangerous.
    It’s either deliberate, or reckless.

13. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“However if the current trough of stories is what the “undecideds” are to be subjected to by the BBC, STV, Scotsman, Herald, Daily Mail, P&J etc for the next Two years!”

The Record, oddly, has barely mentioned it today, save for a Record View. They’re certainly not making a big deal out of it. And as the other papers you mention are read by roughly 12 people, I wouldn’t fret too much about those.

14. Macart

As one or two have pointed out dads, there is the small upside of the FM being seen to do what the opposition never has – give an abject and unequivocal apology very publicly. I’m also sure that some researcher may have a sore face today. Still the SG do need to sharpen their game up a bit, more action and less reaction. The other team own the playing field, run the league and have bought the ref, so you always need to be that much better just to keep up, never mind win.

The SGs best strategy should be to concentrate on governance, keep firing through the initiatives, bills, investments, prudent governance. If they get dragged into the pit with the trash, then eventually they’ll get buried in it. 

15. Westie7

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    16 November, 2012 at 11:24 am
    The Record, oddly, has barely mentioned it today, save for a Record View. They’re certainly not making a big deal out of it. And as the other papers you mention are read by roughly 12 people, I wouldn’t fret too much about those.

Yup, just back form the post office, and lo and behold whilst in the Q taking in the front pages… Nae Much at a’ How odd!

I have also noticed the local Co-ops returns pile at closing time, huge!

16. panda paws

Mistakes happen because people are, well, human. I think Alex Salmond handled it well, but it should serve as a warning. EVERYTHING the SNP do from now on has to be perfect, every figure double or triple checked and every member on their best behaviour. Why? Because MSM and Bitter Together are going to fight a nasty campaign and smear the SNP/Salmond as much as possible. They are hoping mud sticks. So let’s give them as little ammunition as possible.

17. Training Day

I wonder if Gardham, the Scotsman et al realise (or care) what a disservice they are doing to democracy?  By seizing on every perceived ‘error’ by the Scottish Government (no matter how minor), and blowing it out of all proportion while simultaneously ignoring virtually every one of the colossal scandals emanating from the Unionist (Labour) parties (McCrone, anyone?), the media produces an effect whereby more and more people (on our side of the fence anyway, and in my experience among many of the ‘undecideds’ too) simply refuse to lend any credence to anything they say, on any subject, involving the SNP, SG or independence.  

In the event that a real scandal was to be unearthed involving the SNP/SG/independence, the MSM’s crying wolf on a daily basis up until now would neuter any investigation into that real scandal in the minds of many of us.  Perhaps, though, as the Savile investigation has shown, this is a time-worn tactic of the British establishment which the ‘Scottish’ MSM cannot help but follow…

18. Macart

@ Training Day

I don’t think the likes of Gardham, Cochrane, Kelly or any of the numerous others basically give a monkey’s. 

19. muttley79

I believe that you are best to keep your strategy a secret in politics.  We see clearly the No campaign’s tactics, target Salmond relentlessly (they have even seemingly come up with the tactic of booing him at public events!), be as negative as you can, do not have any positive vision for your nation’s future etc.  The problem for the No side is that they do not want to engage at all with the debate over Scotland’s future, and this will be more and more apparent as time goes by.  It is going to be very hard for Lamont and co to keep on ranting and raving for another two years, particularly without offering anything themselves.  On the other hand, people don’t really know what the Yes campaign’s, and particularly the SNP’s strategy is.  They will be positive and spell out the consequences of a No vote.  However, presumably they have a strategy to deal with the media, how they are going to persuade the electorate to vote Yes etc.  I am not at all convinced that you should tell your opponents your strategy in quite so blatant a manner as the No campaign are doing.

20. Luigi

Another day at the races. Russell gets off lightly as the opposition take their eye off the ball and go for a bigger target. However, Salmond behaves like a true gentleman and side-steps the attack, taking the sting out with a quick apology. And Nicola Sturgeon wins another politician of the year award. One thing that has become painfully apparent during the past two months is that Lamont, Davidson and Rennie are so blinded by hatred that they cannot even score an open goal. Nevertheless, the SG have to raise their game. Nobody outside Labour will believe that parliament was misled. However, the reputation of the SG is crucial to the referendum in 2014, and it cannot be seen to be incompetent. It’s ok to make mistakes, as long as it doesn’t happen too often. A timely wake-up call.

21. dadsarmy

LOL. We could have a world first in our own Scottish Politics.

The Government call for a vote of confidence in the Opposition 🙂

22. Macart

Hmmmm, this looks interesting. Opening salvo from STV over BBC referendum programming here.

http://news.stv.tv/politics/200935-stv-planning-three-part-series-on-scottish-independence-referendum/ 

23. Doug Daniel

Muttly79 – you could hand the BetterTogether campaign a document titled “Yes Scotland’s Top Secret Strategy” and they’d still be none the wiser.

Yes Scotland’s strategy is to take the politicians out of the equation and rely on non-partisan figures to promote independence with a positive vision. It’s fine to put this out in the open, because not only will the No campaign completely ignore it (how many of us were screaming out loud before the Edinburgh Agreement that the SNP didn’t really want Devo Max at all and that it was all just a ploy to make it seem like something was being conceded, and yet the No campaign fell for it anyway?), but even if they don’t, there’s nothing they can do about it.

Their only tactic is to personalise the referendum to make it a referendum on Alex Salmond rather than independence, and then attack Salmond – the same tactic the Tories and Labour used to get a NO result in the AV referendum. Unfortunately for them (but fortunately for us), Alex Salmond is not Nick Clegg, and this tactic won’t work. But as long as they’re doing it, all Yes Scotland has to do is say “oh look, here’s this non-SNP person promoting independence” to neutralise the argument.

Their only alternative would be to argue the positive case for the union – but there isn’t one, so they’re doomed to follow a tactic that simply cannot be sustained for two whole years.

In some ways, the very best way to wrong-foot your opponents is to be completely open about things – that way, your opponents (particularly if they are dodgy characters) will dismiss it offhand as being a ruse, and not your true agenda. Again, devo max proves a case in point, where the SNP cunningly hid their desire for a straight yes/no question by always saying “we prefer a straight yes/no question” whenever asked!

24. Ron Maclean

The First Minister made a mistake, owned up and apologised immediately, and acted as a statesman should.
    Johann Lamont acted as Johann Lamont would.
    The MSM, in opposition too, acted as the MSM would.

“… the truth will set you free.”

25. dadsarmy

Also interesting (from Ipsos MORI poll in Scotsman):

Unsurprisingly, SNP supporters are the most likely to approve of the Scottish Government’s performance, giving a net satisfaction score of +68%. Liberal Democrat supporters are the second most positive with a net satisfaction rating of +17%, while Labour and Conservative supporters are more likely to be dissatisfied, with scores of -13% and -26% respectively.”

Look at that Labour figure. Who’d have thunk it a year ago?

26. Morag

Dadsarmy said something really interesting in the previous thread.

Perhaps they didn’t want to alert Westminster via Michael Moore, to the full significance of the S30 – something which now Ian Davidson is uncovering and realising, too late.

I didn’t realise how important it was until after it was signed either.  I didn’t see why the SNP were bothering about it.  After all, nobody could actually stop them holding the referendum, in practical terms, and once it was held a yes vote would be bound to be recognised internationally anyway.

Now I see how significant it was.  Do you seriously think Cameron and his mates didn’t?  Why did they bang on about how important it was, if they didn’t understand the significance?  Why did they give up the pass so easily, if they did?  This is quite strange, really.  (Is this all just part of the strategy Scottish Skier hypothesises – to smooth the path to independence behind the scenes?)

Davidson not realising, and now he does…. What exactly is going on?

27. albaman

Lamont was very,very lucky that Tricia Marwick was NOT in the “chair”, had she been 
    she would not have allowed Lamont to rant on as long, Lamont pretty well knew that 
    John Scott was/is a mild type of person, and that she could press him much, much
    further than she ever could Tricia, and I would not be surprised if, on her return
    Tricia Marwick may make an announcement on the “points of orders”.  

28. Silver19

Lamont and crew are trying to make a point about a slight cut in the FE budget by the SG but good old new Labour with Gordon Brown/Alistair Darling at the helm is set to see the £66bn invested in RBS and Lloyds Banking Group may never be recovered.

29. muttley79

@Doug Daniel

Yes, fair points about how devo-max was handled by the SNP.  On Lamont, I sometimes think she is going to explode with anger.  She really does hate the SNP!

30. sneddon

In regard to the Better lot.  It has to be noted that the leadership has no positive currency or visibility with the public regardless of that persons politics.  Charles K is notable by his absence and the rest are members of parties that represent minority parties or are regarded by all as pale imitations of what they once were.  No respect or creditability.  Hence the reliance on the MSM as their cheerleaders.  But has been noted newspapers especially are irrelevant as a paid for source of news.  I think the key is just us talking to folk.  The YES strategy including 10,000 ambassadors is an excellent approach.  Would you be convinced of independence speaking with a real person with the facts and figures and confidence in our future or the moany faced negative rubbish in the media and political circles.  I know who I would trust.  The fact is the SG can only mitgate so much when the real cuts come in these ambassadors will be essential in communicating whose fault the cuts lie and what the solution is.  As a strategy goes its simple and simple always works.

31. jake

the press and particularly the telly couldn’t get enough of it. I don’t remember them giving this http://www.scottishtimes.com/westminster_scottish_economy
    as much coverage…….but then again….there wasn’t an apology

32. Cuphook

@dadsarmy

The interesting figure in the Ipsos MORI poll for me is that 41% of those opposed to independence still think that the Scottish Government are doing a good job. As the referendum approaches and The Coalition continue to mishandle the economy, coupled with the opening salvos of the 2015 UK General Election, in which the Better Together crowd will be telling us that their friends are not to be trusted, that’s a lot of people who might then agree that things are done better in Scotland.

33. Macart

I reckon you may be on to something there Cuphook. They really were in a big rush to force an early referendum. Its entirely possible they wanted it out of the way so they could get back to business as usual for the GE. They’ll find it awfy hard to agree on anything the closer they get to 2015.

34. Cuphook

42% of woman are dissatisfied – which seems to be an indicator that household budgets are suffering. The referendum will be about the economy. 

The UK government has a -40% net approval rating. If someone is pointing at two governments and saying  ‘that one good – that one bad’ then, as the campaign progresses, enough of them might just decide to go with their good choice.   

35. dadsarmy

@Morag
    I’ve done a lot of analysis over the months, and have got a lot of possibilities about a lot of different things and even about people. What the probability is though of any possibility I huvnae got a scoobie. So much for that then!

Davidson’s very interesting. A lot of independentistas loathe him, but I’m not sure in some ways. I’ve read a good few now of the SACs he was chair of, and he’s damn good at getting to some sort of conclusion. A couple of CiF posters who watched reckon he badgers the witnesses to get the answer he wants.

As always I see it differently. For instance dealing with legal experts, I know that very often there’s no definite answer, but he persists until he gets AN answer. Which is good; I think he’s very bright. But it’s strange too. Once he gets a clear answer to the question he’s asking from each expert he moves on, even if the answer or balance of answers is pro-ScotGov, or pro-Indy.

The whole thing is weird, but maybe I’m just reading too much into things.

36. Marcia

have a look at some of the spoilt ballots for the election held yesterday south of the border

for the Police Commissioners:

http://pccspoil.tumblr.com/

some are a hoot. 

37. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

follow the 2 links below and tell me which one is correct:-

Sturgeon ready to ‘overrule’ the Electoral Commission

Or

Scottish Government likely to follow watchdog advice on referendum

38. muttley79

@dadsarmy

You seriously think Davidson is very intelligent?  He threatened to give a SNP MP ‘a doing’….

39. MajorBloodnok

…though not in a ‘sexual way’, so clearly he’s no daft. Or entirely depraved.

40. Juteman

Listening to the conversations in the works canteen today, and Holyrood doesn’t exist. Us geeks might get excited by politics, but ordinary Jock Doh couldn’t care less. Only when the referendum gets close, will it start to be discussed in ‘blue collar’ canteens. The SNP seem to know this is a long game, and are keeping their powder dry.

41. robbie

muttley79 says:
    16 November, 2012 at 4:31 pm

@dadsarmy
    You seriously think Davidson is very intelligent?  He threatened to give a SNP MP ‘a doing’….

I believe it was a female Davidson the labour thug threatened to beat up.

Davidson is a coward.

42. Ron Maclean

On 26Oct. I complained to the Presiding Officer via the SG website about the boorish and abusive behaviour of some MSPs (e.g. J.Lamont, R.Davidson) at FMQs.  I received this response on 7Nov.

“Thank you for your email of 26 October regarding the conduct of Members of the Scottish Parliament during First Ministers Questions on Thursday 25 October.
    I assure you that I closely monitor the conduct of Members and take any steps necessary to deal with any breaches in the Standing Orders that govern conduct in the Debating Chamber.
    Before the start of business on Tuesday 30 October, I made a brief statement to Parliament. I include below an excerpt from the Official Report of proceedings, the content of which I hope will go some way to addressing your concerns.

Yours sincerely

TRICIA MARWICK
    Presiding Officer

Before we start today’s business, I would like to make a few remarks.

In recent days, we have passed a number of important hurdles in the debate on Scotland’s constitutional future. The two Governments have reached an agreement, the section 30 order has been laid before both Parliaments and this Parliament has established a new committee—which has now had its first meeting—to look into those matters.

There is a great deal of interest in the work of the Parliament, from both within and outwith Scotland. It is therefore important that we set the correct tone in our debates and in our other parliamentary engagement.

Members will recall the words of our first First Minister, the late Donald Dewar, in his opening speech to the Parliament. He said:

“This is about more than our politics and our laws. This is about who we are, how we carry ourselves.”

I agree. This is Scotland’s national Parliament and, as such, the Presiding Officers are determined to ensure that the public are proud of the manner in which we conduct ourselves and engage with the challenging issues ahead. I am confident that we will have the support of all parliamentarians in that.

Finally, let me say a few words about the use of language and the conduct that I expect of all members in the chamber. Although context is critical, there are certain words that I consider to be unparliamentary by their very nature. I recognise that some members will seek to be creative, and we will therefore make our judgments according to the circumstances at the time. We will not seek to inhibit debate and the legitimate holding of the Government to account, but I remind all members to consider very carefully their choice of words and the tone in which they are delivered.”

43. sneddon

@juteman  I’ve found people reluctant to discus politics especially at work.  No one wants to be labelled or stick their heads above the parapet.   I found this with my union work.  The appearance of non interest disappears when its backs to the wall.  Its like school everyone pretends to know less than they really do to look ‘cool’.  The best way is to keep plugging away ‘cos ten to a penny when they’re discussing independence outside work they’re  talking about a ‘guy at  work said this about independence’.  Most folk depend on ‘geeks’ to keep the issues alive.
    I never lose my temper, never verbally attack them or doubt their sanity and ability to breathe in and out.   I like to think I’ve persuaded a few members of my family and friends of the merits of independence.  It’s been easier with former labour voters and lib dems than tories it has to be said.  Only 100 weeks to go:)   Chin up 

44. pa_broon

In terms of Davidson, I think he’s the normal type of MP, his most salient quality is a grasping sense of entitlement that carries over into his committee work and debating style.

I think he fancies himself as some sort of elder statesman-cum-political bruiser. He’s not, he’s just a work place boor.

I would say, questioning an expert on a topic and badgering them until he gets ‘an’ answer is nothing like as useful as getting ‘the’ answer or just accepting the person he’s berating just doesn’t know. Perhaps this is why the no campaign is so ill-informed.

When you think about it, if you ask a better together rep a question you’ll get an answer, it just won’t be the answer.

45. Juteman

If Davidson wasn’t an MP, he would be the loudmouth in the local pub. You know the type, telling stories about all the fights he won, and the birds he’s shagged. Every so often, one of the regulars would punch his pus and tell him to fuck off.

46. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I found this quite funny…”

It was a bit worrying to see the number of people on Twitter today who couldn’t tell the English Democrats from the EDL, though…

47. Morag

Something about that surprise you, Rev?

48. Alex McI

Seriously, I know I keep saying it. If we want to win the referendum in 2014, convince the people that energy prices will go down a good bit.
    That the cost of petrol/diesel/LPG for the car they own, will not cost them more.
    the price of just being able to live won’t get more, without wages rising accordingly.
    stuff like that. paint a picture about the Scotland in the McCrone report, sell that vision we will win it.

49. scottish_skier

How do you do the ‘Laugh my ass off’ smiley on here? I can do 😉 etc, but not sure of the code for LMAO.

It’s just I was reading this:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-20353376

Nicola Sturgeon named the Herald’s Scottish politician of year

And noted this:

The SNP deputy leader saw off competition from Labour leader Johann Lamont, who had been nominated for the way she led her party’s fight back from last year’s Scottish election defeat.

and, well, laughed my ass off. 

50. Bill C

@Scottish_Skier

SS with all due respect, you have one weird sense of humour. That Johann Lamont could be mentioned in the same breath as Nicola Sturgeon for Scottish politician of the year beggars belief.  Who in their right mind would nominate someone who has a big fat zero in the way of political skills for politician of the year? Ah, sorry, see where you are coming from, the lunatics really have taken over John Smith House. You are right, total hoot!

51. scottish_skier

@Bill C says:

SS with all due respect, you have one weird sense of humour.

That’s definitely true.

I did LMAO; good old BBC re lamont.

52. dadsarmy

@scottish_skier
    A couple of guides:
    http://www.dickgaughan.co.uk/usenet/guide/faq03-smil.html
    and
    http://www.namastecafe.com/computer/smileys.htm
    Smileys do have different meanings, there’s no real standard :-S
    And some don’t graphic :-O

53. Iain

@dadsarmy

If there was a list of sites I’d think least likely to find a guide to emoticon use, Dick Gaughan’s would be top 5!
    :shocked:
    but in a good way, I think

54. scottish_skier

More from last month’s mori poll.

http://www.ipsos-mori.com/researchpublications/researcharchive/3077/The-majority-of-Scots-are-satisfied-with-the-Scottish-Government.aspx

The Scottish Government has a healthy public approval rating, according to our latest Scottish Public Opinion Monitor, conducted last month. 
    Over half of Scots (54%) are satisfied with the way the Scottish Government is running the country compared to 39% who are dissatisfied, giving a net satisfaction rating of +15%. This is in stark contrast to the UK Government’s net satisfaction rating of -40% among voters across Britain.
    All key demographic groups in the population are more satisfied than dissatisfied with the Scottish Government. Net satisfaction is particularly high among young people (+50% of 18-24 year olds), men (+23%) and those working in the public sector (+22%). 
    Unsurprisingly, satisfaction ratings tend to follow political allegiances. SNP supporters are the most likely to approve of the Scottish Government’s performance, giving a net satisfaction score of +68%. Liberal Democrat supporters are the second most positive with a net satisfaction rating of +17%, while Labour and Conservative supporters are more likely to be dissatisfied, with scores of -13% and -26% respectively. 

55. Iain

O/t, the Yanks are getting increasingly disobliging – first the Washington Post, then Albright and now Bubba is sticking his oar in. I may be in danger of joining the tinfoil hat brigade, but it’s beginning to look a little concerted.

http://tinyurl.com/d9a3gdd

‘Mr Clinton closely identified with Labour after his time in office, famously introduc- ing himself as “Clinton, Bill, Arkansas CLP” when he addressed the party conference in 2002. He and Mr Blair shared the notion of a “third way” in politics.His latest comments were welcomed by the party.Shadow Scottish Secretary Margaret Curran MP said: “Bill Clinton is the latest addition to a growing list of progressive political leaders from around the world who can see that the best way to deal with the challenges we face is to bind together, not break apart.” ‘

Blair, Clinton & Stairheid Magrit progressives?
    Nae sniggerin’ at the back there!

56. Silverytay

Considering bill could not keep it zipped up and was very economical with the truth , I dont think to many Scots will listen to what he has to say .
    I am more worried about what his wife and obama are intending to do to Iran than anything bill has to say . 

57. balgayboy

@ Silvertay:
    Yes the USA and their allies assault on Iran is a giving, unfortunately the UK government are prepared to stand shoulder to shoulder with this insane policy regardless of what the British public think. If this happens the end game will be world war and who knows the outcome of it will be.

58. Barontorc

Not in my name Balgayboy!

It seems the powder-keg blue paper title is heading Tel Aviv way and to identify with that cause – would be  the final straw for many ‘don’t knows’.

Only guessing – but, I would forecast a huge humanitarian effort for the oppressed coming from Scotland – directly in conflict with Perfidious Albion’s road of travel.

59. Ronald Henderson

I really believe that the Scots shouldn’t get involved in any way whatsoever with what is happening out in the Middle-East. Only three things have ever come out of that part of the world. One is oil, and the other two are lies and propaganda with more lies.
    Please let’s just keep out of this.

60. John H

Talking about propaganda, SUBROSA has a very interesting video today. It looks like the British public are being softened up for something….again.

61. sneddon

@Ronald  As part of the UK we are involved, sad but true.  Hopefully come 2014 we’ll have the chance to begin to be free of this type of geo politics and be only involved in humanitarian ways.

62. Westie7

O/T just seen Kaye (with an E) on children in need. Interesting choice to stand in for Bird!
    Would have thought Cat Shearer would have been a better friendlier face, but then again maybe K needs a popularity boost 🙂 

63. Silverytay

Balgayboy   
    During the libyan uprising I posted in that bastion of democracy the daily mail that one of these days we would pick on the wrong country to interfere with .
    Considering that Iran managed to fight saddam to a standstill despite him being supported by the west , I think that Iran could be that country .
    While assad is a S.O.B who deserves to be deposed , I suspect that what we are seeing in Syria has more to do with western interference than an arab uprising .
    The west can not make a move on Iran without taking Syria out of the game and vice versa .
    Can anybody looking at Iraq and Libya today honestly say that they are better places due to western interference .
    When one considers that it was the west who supplied arms and money to the taliban when they were fighting the Russians , it begs the question how long will it be before Iraq and Libya turn the weapons that we supplied them against us .
    As far as Afghanistan is concerned , it is time to bring our brave men & women home .
    Even paddy pants down admits that the war is lost and to leave our forces there for another 2 years would be wasting more innocent lives .
    I would suspect that the taliban will be back in power within 3 to 5 years of us leaving .

64. Bill C

Well said Silverytay.

65. David Smith

I’m embarrassed to be associated with these bullies and warmongers.
    Whilst I wouldn’t wish harm on anybody, especially our own: I suspect only a humiliating military defeat will stop these lunatics in their tracks.
    As for Albright, as a Czech by birth I wonder if she viewed the Prague Spring in the same jaundiced way she appears to do ours? 

66. Arbroath 1320

Sorry I’m O/T but could archaeologists have unearthed an early example of Labour’s favourite P.F.I. building programme?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-20376243 

67. Arbroath 1320

Sorry Rev but I’m going O/T again.

As we all know Labour, and the rest of the Bitter camp, are constantly being asked to provide evidence of the benefits of the union. Well folks I think I’ve found them.

http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/6257-p975bn-nuclear-sub-fleet-slow-rusty-and-leaking

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2012/nov/16/ministry-defence-memo-submarines-text

If this was not so serious I’d be rolling about the floor laughing so hard my sides ached.

68. Barontorc

Arbroath 1320 – Reading through the memo on corrosion protection, or lack-of in this case, it beggars belief that design requirements have not been met. I cannot foresee any design being approved that did not fully specify in detail what work and materials  are required to meet the specification. In other words – somebody has been skimping and jeopardising these multi billion squid submarines.

69. Arbroath 1320

Got it in one Muttley. No one worth their salt would have signed off these sub designs without ensuring that proper quality controls were in place. However, as is normal practice for Westminster corners are cut right, left and centre.

I must admit that having seen the absolute b**** up they have managed to make of the subs I am beginning to think that when, if, they ever get their aircraft carriers built they will more than likely screw up that build as well and will be unable to get the carriers past the new Forth crossing because the carriers will be too tall. 😆

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.