Sorry, America

Posted on January 06, 2021 by

So here’s how long it took for Scottish transactivists to make the scenes in Washington DC tonight all about (1) them, and (2) me:

These people be crazy.

1. 07 01 21 01:01

Sorry, America - DeasileX

98 to “Sorry, America”

1. P

Ffs
    No words

2. Fireproofjim

These people do be crazy indeed, but remember what happened in George Square on Sept 15th, 2014, when a violent mob attacked peaceful Independence supporters who had LOST.
    Think how much worse it would have been if we had won.
    They walk among us here (as well as in Washington) and they will not accept losing.

3. Graf Midgehunter

Fkn nutters.

4. Kenny

Can’t believe these crackpots were allowed to even get near anything to do with SNP – who sanctioned that? Who was the half-sleeping do-goody that gave that bampot a position in Rape Crisis?

Tell you – did this country ever have a close escape? Mind you, somebody aligned with them are still within the SNP.

5. McHaggis69

Thats just bizarre trolling.
    They actually invite the pile-on and say its because of transphobia, whereas its really a pile on because they are fucking idiots.

6. Dan

Well, from soft fruit gags on the previous thread, it’s onto the harder stuff now.
    This lot are nuttier than squirrel shite!

7. Bob Mack

The power of personality politics revealed in all its ugliness, and with the same camp followers.

8. Willie

Yes the local membership considered wisely when they binned that fruit cake Mridul for the Stirling nomination.

But who approved the he, she or it to go forward. Nicola Sturgeon perchance. Well it was someone very senior who over rode he, she or it’s initial rejection as being suitable to be a candidate.

9. James Che.

Here’s a surprise for you, I am not actually James che, I am actually mrs, no trans anything, no LGBTQ’s or any of the other wokery titles that have developed in the last half of this decade, I have nothing against any of them,
    However I was born female , I remain female, and I got married and had children,
    The reason I have never before mentioned this, is because I do not believe that using a gendered category should make a difference to your moral compass, personal compass or political attitude towards others.
    Each to their own as my mum an gran used to say,
    That being female, male or what ever you want to be is up to the individual,
    but it should not be used as a weapon, or to take away rights of others, or to jump on the band wagon to delete the rights of others, or to put men with male attributes in female toilets, hospital wards or men in charge of women who have been raped, this boils down to common sense and logic, people that are vulnerable.
    That said, I do, and have enjoyed people commenting for or against my suggestions as if I had no gender. A discussion is a discussion regardless. And I Enjoyed the humour on previous threads

10. Charles Dixon

Sorry Stu

I haven’t got a clue what I’m meant to be looking for.

What is it that they or you have done???

11. drookit

what an utter attention seeking fannybawz he is.

12. JSC

Narcissists believe life is a stage and they are the main act. It’s clear that no matter how much you accommodate their niche beliefs, they will never accept normality, because normal people don’t need a spotlight on them for validation. Thus, if you fully embrace trans-ideology and it’s demands, they have nothing to shout about, and something just as crazy will be along to take it’s place soon enough. There are broad parallels with other (initially well-meaning) causes such as XR and BLM, where at a core level their existence is noble, but very soon gets hijacked by student Marxists with shit for brains, and this turns Joe Public against them very quickly.

13. george wood

@Charles Dixon

It is difficult to see how it could be any clearer, unless you don’t want to see.
    In case you are not trolling, the statement from the responder is about the Rev – he said Biden wasn’t much better than Trump, which, in the case of women’s and homosexual’s rights, is true.

14. Beaker

I had a look at Twitter a couple of hours ago and there’s plenty more of that stuff posted, albeit at different targets. Of course, the nutters from all sides are now piling into one another.

15. Charles Dixon

George wood

Troll?

Thanks anyway for answering my query.

Still not really getting this, not up to speed with Trans shit.

So will respectfully take a back seat with this one.

Thanks again George.

16. Beaker

@JSC says:
    7 January, 2021 at 12:50 am
    “but very soon gets hijacked by student Marxists with shit for brains,”

Things also get hijacked by people who like nothing better than to cause chaos, vandalism and riots. These people don’t give a shit about society and generally don’t have a fucking clue or care about whatever the cause is.

17. stuart mctavish

Particularly worrying is the apparent failure to appreciate what is at stake, what these massive crowds are complaining about, who they actually represent and how many of them would be inclined to support an independent Scotland (if only they could already).

18. Hatuey

Coincidentally, the Capitol building has actually been directly attacked by a bunch of white supremacist crackpots before. The British basically flattened the joint in 1814.

Unlike the British attack, everyone saw this one coming. Trump has been stoking this for weeks.

In the bigger picture, what we are watching is America’s fall from grace. They had it good for so long but it’s downhill from here on. Britain went through the same sort of convulsions, delusions, and denial when it lost its position. Our morons turned to Enoch Powell and the National Front.

There’s always a fear that collapsing powers will lash out, history books go on about it, but I can’t think of any obvious examples of that. Most go quietly. Let’s hope America does too, and as quickly as possible.

Time for America to start cutting military spending and taking care of its people. The choice is simple now; build a welfare state like the rest of us or go through the sort of turmoil we are watching tonight for years to come.

The millions who have lost their livelihoods and loved ones during this pandemic are going to be chapping at the door with a list of demands in the coming years and months.

Maybe covid-19 has succeeded where decades of left leaning American politicians failed; in making the case for government intervention in the economy and health towards helping ordinary people and the poor – something they called “communism” there until recently.

Good luck with all that.

19. twathater

Yes and let’s all vote for St Nicla and the SNP at the May HR elections so we can have more of this madness with these woke loonies running rampant and blaming all these CIS people for their ails , St Nicla refuses to even contemplate a plebicite election or holding a ref without a sect 30 because in her sainted eyes it is either unlawful or illegal , she is quite content to hogtie Scotland to the ravages of WM and tories

And when St Nicla gets elected with another 5 years of power and implements the GRA and HCB we can all look forward to a bit of porridge when her twittler youth start using the polis to round up us CIS complainers because their feelings are hurt

20. Hugh Jarse

And ye shall know them by their deeds…

Why NS feels the need to display indignation against, or sympathy for certain people and groups, and not others?
    It’s what she is. It’s what’s best for her.

Lesely Evans, same.

Can’t be arsed checking, but would I be generous to offer even money on the continuing treatment/torturing of Julian Assange getting the treatment it deserves from our distinguished world leaderene’s ?

21. Hugh Jarse

Last thought
    What prompted the idea that pissing off a large proportion of North Americans who fell for the Orange mans spell, and who can help or hinder our immediate, and longer term future, is good, pragmatic economic strategy?.

22. Saffron Robe

I think the very use of the word “transphobia” is misleading and incorrect.

“Phobia” means an irrational fear of something. I do not have an irrational fear of transgenderism. I have a rational understanding that it is not something I can personally condone.

As regards the two-party system, it serves the same purpose in the UK as it does in the USA – to create the illusion of choice. Would Keir Starmer be any better or worse than Boris Johnson? They seem to be getting closer by the day.

And as far as I can ascertain, Joe Biden is neo-liberalism’s placeman, Donald Trump being much too much of a maverick. Hence Joe Biden’s support, whether implicit or explicit, for Big Pharma and transgenderism. I think it is also revealing that Joe Biden is following to the letter the neo-liberal approach to the handling of the pandemic – that is rampant profiteering and the curtailing of civil liberties.

That is not to say, of course, that I agree with Donald Trump any more than I agree with Joe Biden, and I condemn violence in all its forms. The problem in America, however, stems from having such a heavily-armed population.

23. Willie

Absolutely right Safron Robe about Joe Biden being a neo liberal place man. That is absolutely correct. Obama, Clinton and all the others democrats are of the same ilk and there is not a cigarette paper’s thickness of difference in policy between them and Bush and or Trump.

Just like Labour and the Conservatives here, and now too the SNP, the choices in economic policy are exactly the same.

And of Brexit, well the lumpen English supported people like Farage and Johnson. No different from the lumpen in America following Trump. In fact maybe Trump is the better choice. You know he’s a gangster, a hood, a thug whereas the democrats present different,y but are actually the same, if not worse. At least Trump didn’t start wars like the others did.

But back to Scotland. We have our very own neo-liberal politicians in our devolved assembly and they’re not Tories. People like Mike Russell who would privatise every hospital, every clinic, every GP surgery and give people health care vouchers to spend at the health businesses of their choice.

Or Nicola Sturgeon whose government is quietly privatising Scottish Water, who is selling off public land in the National Park to a multi millionaire real estate developer, who has done nothing to reduce the obscene land holdings by the rich and corporate off shore super rich, Declaring to be left of centre, the SNP is actually anything but.

But I digress. Millions of Americans want better. They voted for Trump. Millions of Germans in the 30s wanted better and they voted for Hitler. Millions of English wanted better and they vote Johnson. And we it seems in Scotland want better and vote SNP.

There’s similarities there somewhere I think.

A bit like voting SNP to get independence under Nicola Sturgeon and the gang.

24. Hatuey

I’m no fan of Trump, but why did Twitter close him down? I don’t see what he has done.

25. Margaret Lindsay

The two men highlighted in this are utter lunatics. The greens are welcome to the rape crisis one, the other one however, is still connected with the SNP. Neither of these two crackpots should ever be allowed any place in any political party to indoctrinate people into their cultish ideals.
    As for Trump, the bastard stoked this for weeks. I hoped I would awaken this morning to news of impeachment, 25th amendment, and eviction for him. Haven’t checked yet, so there’s still hope.

26. Al-Stuart

Good morning Hatuey,

In answer to your question about Twitter etc., suspending Trump’s social media, one of our employees in America advises four people are dead after the riots. She has asked to come back from the USA to Scotland because there is far worse to come.

It is alleged that Trump has already fomented sedition and has some culpability in last nights riots of domestic terrorism.

There has been scuttlebut for months about invoking the 25th Amendment to remove Trump.

But after yesterday’s riots in the US parliament buildings and the 4 deaths, traceable directly to Trumps deranged fantasies and mental illness/meltdown, something has changed at the very top. Especially with the Vice President Mike Pence, whom Trump did a Nicola on (threw the VP under a bus).

The profound change is that senior Republicans close to the current president (including Constitutuon S25(4) voters) are now taking soundings to secure sufficient signatures to invoke the 25th Amendment removing Trump as he still has the nuclear launch codes. Not a good thing when you’ve gone maximum Dr Strangelove…

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=s4VlruVG81w

Even the House Rebublicans are deserting the deranged president as they seem to know he has a lot worse to inflict on the institutions of America before he leaves office and comes back home to where is mother was born.

Trump is a quarter Scottish.

The key to whether this will go really bad is to closely watch Vice President Pence. The VP is one of Trump’s most loyal lieutenants. VP Pence is the one who will circulate the 25th Amendment paper for 8 colleagues to sign and remove the nuclear codes from the insane man at the top.

We are about to have another 14 days akin to the Cuban Missile crisis of the 1960s

Sources:-

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/01/06/tech/twitter-lock-trump-account/index.html

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/01/06/politics/us-capitol-lockdown/index.html

27. Al-Stuart

Hi Margaret Lindsay,

Here is the news you were looking for…

https://tinyurl.com/25thGathersTraction7Jan2021

Sadly it is not good. The ones closest to Trump are the most worried as they have witnessed the deterioration at close quarters and know how much worse the insanity in delusional Trump’s mind can get.

Donald Trump currently has more power at his fingertips than any other human being on the planet.

Watch current Vice President Mike Pence. The most loyalist Trumpist. If the Vice President dumps Trump to avoid SeditionGate and VP turns against Trump in the next few days, then get the popcorn out.

28. Robert Louis

This is what happens when supposedly ‘good’ men do nothing.

It is all very well for people like Mitch McConnel to talk openly now about Trump, or Mike Pence to finally do the right thing, but this has been coming and happening for four long years. Trump is evil, but those republican senate enablers, where were they all this time?? Nodding donkeys. Four years they have stood by this insane megalomaniac nacissist, four long years.

Too little too late. And this is what happens.

Unionists in Scotland should think on about how they play with loony support within the orange order and their ilk. Remember Murdo Fraser and his idiotic ‘queens eleven’ tweet about the rangers. This is what happens when you play with fascists for a cheap laugh, or transient support. Dark money for the Tories in Scotland? That creep Ross and Davidson should think on.

As for the trans cultists, They are clowns and should never be taken seriously. They would happily remove the rights AND identities of gay men, lesbians and all women, in the name of their cultist ideology.

29. Robert Louis

Hatuey at 0417am,

Trump had his twitter suspended because he repeatedly tweets completely false information, and incites disorder. According to TRUMP he won the election by a landslide – a view not even extremist republicans share.

30. Willie

Why did Twitter shut down Trumps account.

Well it just what you do to political opponents. Just like the bias of the BBC or the MSM. Same thing, same principal. Its all about controlling the media and it happens here.

Yes Trump may be a hood, a gangster, but so are the in oming mafiosa.

This was a huge demonstration reflecting huge division in US society. Shooting a woman airforce veteran through the neck is not going to calm things down, especially since there were elected politicians involved in storming the ceremony. Seems however that there are now four dead.

America is an ill divided country, has been for a long time, and dismissing this huge demonstration as all Trump’s fault will not heal the division.

But the UK is an ill divided country and is set to become even more so. And before our MSM get all sanctimonious about it, we’ve been where America may be heading and it all started here with a Northern Ireland Civil Rights march on 5th October 1968 in Londonderry.

31. Stuart MacKay

Trump is a deranged maniac who is exploiting the poor and disenfranchised for his own ends as are a lot of the republican hierarchy. You can can expect a backlash from the “progressives” as they seek to crush and dominate the opposition. Hopefully it won’t go further than a few riots. What you can be sure of is that it will spill over here. Woko Haram is just a taste of what’s to come as Inclusion Ideology asserts itself to exclude everybody who disagrees with it.

32. Robert Hughes

You may mock but how many are aware it was no meteor strike that wiped-out the dinosaurs , it was transphobia , uh huh , that’s right , similarly , early modern transphobic humans done for the Neaderthals , and , tell me, do you REALLY believe it was video that killed the radio star ? How naive can you get ?

33. Morgatron

The Trans Euro Express mob are just fucking barking. Someone should melt its keyboard, opportunist hate mongers .

34. stuart mctavish

Anyone else see the irony in the FM aligning herself with Boris to support a version of democracy that includes ludicrous levels of absentee voting, a hopelessly bias press and the (apparent?) unseemly betrayal of a close political ally.

35. John Main

@James Che

I have absolutely no way of either verifying or disproving what you write. I don’t care either way.

I am surprised that nobody has identified a wonderful new opportunity that will arise if widespread acceptance of genderwoowoo becomes the norm.

If gender can be officially recognised as something you self identify, why not age?

Stuck in a dead-end job with another 20 years to go to retirement? Self identify as 68 and claim your pension!

Too old to change career? Self identify as 25 and sue for discrimination when you don’t get an interview for that Fire Service job you always wanted!

Horrified at the thought of another 5 years of schooling? Self identify as 18 and join the army!

36. Hugh Jarse

I’ll not have a word said against Kraftwerk!
    They had more than one keyboard Morgatron.

37. highseastim

Ban Trump from Scotland now!!

38. Martin

Unfortunately the 21st century Internet is a hotbed of narcissists. There are likely a dozen or more self absorbed groups who view these events in America (as well as literally everything that happens anywhere) as all about them.

These groups have probably always exited but now they are being listened to and empowered, for some reason.

39. Robert Hughes

Hugh J – They were a bit sheep-like though , all that ” bah bah bah bah “

40. John Main

@Al Stuart

Is that the popcorn you bought in order to watch the post-Brexit meltdown? Keep an eye on the sell-by date.

US stock market on the rise now Biden is in. Lots of fortunes to be made for a few as his fiscal stimulus conjures trillions of dollars from nowhere to spend on Chinese goods and services.

Wonder who will eventually foot the bill.

41. Andy Ellis

@ Robert Hughes

Perhaps they should be Autobahned?

42. Morgatron

Andy Ellis , Hugh Jersey and Robert Hughes, they are just acting like Showroom Dummies now. They just need a long loom at themselves in the Hall of Mirrors.

43. Morgatron

Its time they re Modeled their gender.

44. Boaby

Apologies for off topic.
    ‘Scrap eu consumer and worker protection laws’ now that brexit has been completed. Says top tory daniel hannan. Yes these people truly are the scum of the earth.

45. Andy Ellis

Scary enough as it is to see the utter self absorption and lack of self awareness of these unreasoning individuals, it is pertinent that we ask questions of the SNP, its leadership and members about how it came to pass that such people were not only given the time of day, but in the case of Wadhwa considered suitable to stand as a candidate.

It’s only a few weeks remember since Angus Robertson and Marco Biagi were tweeting their thanks to Mridul for participating in the Edinburgh Central selection remember. The party may have missed a bullet when some of the worst gender woo extremists flounced off to the Scottish Greens of course, but it hardly gives you much confidence that this is a party in control of the kind of extremist elements when you see what ignoring the rise of such opportunistic entryists groups has ultimately done to the US Republican Party. It has ultimately led to alt-right inspired, a-scientific, regressive zoomers staging an uprising and storming the US Capitol.

46. Willie

I see that we’re one week in to Brexit and already a senior Tory is calling for EU employment protection, consumer protection, data protection, crop chemical standards, to be removed to allow us to become more competitive.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/eu-consumer-worker-protections-brexit-b1783331.html

Didn’t take long for the true intent of Brexit to surface. More like America every day. But we knew that.

Didn’t the neo liberal Nicola do well keeping us in the EU.

47. Andy Ellis

@Morgatron

Perhaps they’re on the Trans Europe Express with Mridul and Jonny?

48. Hugh Jarse

Radio activity on big Aunties serious news the noo. NS quoted. Job done.

49. Robert Hughes

Andy – that suggestion is schneider than Florian

50. Andy Ellis

@Robert Hughes

I felt I had to Exceller 8 my game.

51. Scot Finlayson

Kamala Harris ,the soon to be new Vice President, has a twitter bio that describes her `pronouns` as She/her,

be careful what you wish for.

52. Hugh Jarse

She’s no Model,and it’s not looking good.
    She likes to project herself, that’s understood…

53. Ottomanboi

All sounds rather fun in DC. Political action instead of shoulder shrugging resignation. AntiWoke Trump is not prepared to go quietly it seems. Bravo!
    As for Biden.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/mar/28/joe-biden-sexual-assault-allegations-why-has-media-ignored-claims
    The US presidency does have history.
    https://www.menshealth.com/trending-news/g19545074/most-promiscuous-presidents/
    Mrs Murrells ‘thing’ for Biden is perverse.

54. Nally Anders

It’s often been said the only thing Trump had going for him is that at least he didn’t start any wars.
    Looks like he’s started one in his own country.

55. susanXX

The TRAs are just self absorbed narcissists. Dangerous ones though. Woman= adult human female. Girl = juvenile human female. Man = adult human male. Boy = juvenile human male.Determined at conception observed at birth. No compromise. Write that into the Scottish Constitution.

56. PB

‘Biden no better than Trump…’

History of being a racist, misogynist corporate whore warhawk now in cognitive decline.

That could describe either one of these idiot leaders with Biden being the worst of the warhawks – at least Trump kept most of his meltdown on US soil. It was people like Biden that pushed Americans to vote for Trump in the first place.

Biden’s already setting the ground work for the next republican president to be a Trump on steroids without the mean tweets or riot inciting stupidity – A genuine right wing religious idealogue rather than a dim spoilt opportunist then the whole world could be brought down as their empire slowly sinks.

Biden may not have cheated in the election but Obama and him cheated like f**k during the primaries to rob Sanders yet again.

Science denying ‘political researcher’ that can’t ‘research’ very well – no mystery why the SNP is in such a mess right now with people like that handing out advice.

57. John Jones

Didn’t hear all this outrage when the US was in other countries, Ukraine, Venezuela, Brazil, Afghanistan, Iraq,Syria,storing up insurrection to overthrow their governments.
    Doesn’t the bible say ” as you sow so shall you reap” or something to that effect.
    I’m enjoying things when they come back to bite your arse.
    It is coming here too with all the unrest caused by the people at the top introducing the transgender ideas into politics.
    Let people live as they want,BUT don’t try to force it on to the majority who don’t see this as an issue.
    Let’s get our act together and get behind the real issue INDEPENDENCE.

58. Ottomanboi

The increased Hispanic and Afro-American vote for Trump really pissed off the US Libs & Dems. Rather like the working class Northern English voting for Johnson did the Guardian ‘Left’.
    They’re all undereducated thickos ignorant of the consequences of their actions.
    Democracy and the right/wrong sort of voter.
    Just not our kind of people.
    Kill ‘em!

59. Robert Hughes

LOL ! thanks for the early morning frivolity guys . Seriously , I thought I might die from an irony attack upon hearing Mike Pence say ” Violence never solves anything ” WIT !!!??? violence is America’s first response to EVERY conflict , whether gobally or , in this case , nationally , it was founded on violence ( against Native Americans ) enriched by violence ( slavery ) and it’s global dominance is maintained by violence , actual physical violence or economic , though what we’re witnessing now could be the last spasms of dying Empire , turning in on itself as it’s once unchallenged hegemony is threatened by external and internal forces

60. Ottomanboi

There was once Nazi ‘science’. There was once Communist ‘science’. There still is eugenicist ‘science’. We are living in the age of Globalist ‘science’.
    Poor science, easy to manipulate and traduce, particularly when you got an ‘agenda’.
    Science should not be left to ‘experts’.
    No excuse for ignorance, should the syringe bearing medics catch you with your thinking pants down.

61. Beaker

@Martin says:
    7 January, 2021 at 8:27 am
    “These groups have probably always exited but now they are being listened to and empowered, for some reason.”

It’s called the Internet, and more specifically Social Media. Politicians have exploited it shamelessly as have others.

It is the cheapest and fastest way to get your message out to a global audience. Problem is that is also has more than a few downsides.

62. newburghgowfer

Had 2 of these golden nuggets on my twitter feed saying the ISP is transphobic & a Tory lite party and that its a wasted vote. I believe the WM Mps in the SNP who are si against Indy are stirring these nuggets up. The mute button was acted on straight away, cannae be doing with any o their pish !!
    Everybody has to mute these muppets. Paid infiltrators to take over timelines and disrupt the conversation is their aim is all I see!!

63. Ottomanboi

@RobertHughes.
    The US systematic and government sanctioned ethnic cleansing of the indigenous peoples is yet another great crime awaiting reparation.
    ‘International law’ missed that one, as it seems to do with so many things involving the rights of the ethno-cultural variety.
    Shhhh…look the other way!

64. Stuart MacKay

Science – noun

the intellectual and practical activity encompassing the systematic study of the structure and behaviour of the physical and natural world through observation and experiment.

Ideologies seeking legitimacy by wrapping themselves in a cloak of fake rationality to justify their views does not merit the use of the word science, even if ‘quoted’.

65. Robert Moore

Yes, it’s all about The Campbell, never mind the dead.

66. Strathy

‘ …. who considers himself a major Scottish political commentator …..’

Clearly it is Mr Kiehlmann who considers Wings Over Scotland to be a major source of commentary on Scottish politics.

Why else would he go to such an effort to shoe horn in a reference to the aformentioned major Scottish political commentator?

67. Bob Mack

@Robert Moore,

Timelines dear boy. Timelines.

68. Republicofscotland

Biden won’t be all that different from Trump, its all an illusion there is no real opposition, both the Republicans and the Democrats want the same, oh they throw the public a bone now and then and shout via their obedient media outlets look what we’ve given the public, but in essence both are cut from the same cloth.

The same applies to Labour and the Tories in the UK, as for transphobia, well I get the impression if you don’t agree with the agenda, then you’re transphobic.

69. Effijy

Sorry but these extreme Trans people have no brains nor concerns for the majority.

They must look here, Twitter, Facebook and see the hate their attitude generates.

I doubt their words find one person sympathising for every ten who turn against.

I seen one trans person on TV who was also against this angry entitlement attitude
    and who recognised the genuine fears of women with ovaries.

Previously, if I came across a trans person standing as a candidate, I would have listened to them
    and gave them a fair shot. Now, with all I’ve seen and read from these activists I’d be afraid of
    giving one a break only to find it’s the thin end of the wedge.

If improving the lives of all Scots is second place to trans agendas then they are not for me.

Heaven forbid anyone in my family needed r*pe crisis but I’d ensure they never went near the crackpot above.

70. Robert Hughes

Ottomanboi @ 10.14 . Indeed . Selective justice . If you’ve read Craig Murray’s recent demolision of the ICC ” verdict ” on the Iraq War you’ll have seen a contemporary version of the same old whitewashing

71. Republicofscotland

So Andrew Neil the ardent anti-independence journalist and broadcaster, who once got very upset when an English politician called him Scottish, Neil replied but I’ve lived in England for decades, has secured £60 million for the new 24hr news programme called GB News channel.

The backers have been described as far right Brexiteers, and Neil has said that the channel will vehemently support the union and put down Scottish independence.

72. Liz

Kiehlmann is the staffer/researcher for SNP at WM.
    Who employed this fruitcake?
    He should lose his job.

Trump is a nutter but NS on twitter, maybe misquoted, was going to prevent him entering Scotland.
    Last time I looked, she dudn’t have the authority.

Increasingly under NS, I think Scotland is less than it was under Alex.
    We seemed a proper country with big ideas when he was FM, I feel we’ve become more parochial with her

73. Republicofscotland

I’m sure the new chairman of the BBC, will have his finger on the pulse of what the average person thinks, or maybe not, the ex-Goldman-Sachs banker Sir David Clementi who has a personal fortune of over £100 million pounds, has been parachuted into the position by Boris Johnson. He’ll receive £160.000 pounds per year.

74. Gregory Beekman

The main thing the Twitter poster got wrong was using the word “unchallenged”.

Yes, Trump is right-wing with questionable views but this all started because he was challenged – and that challenger won.

Does the Twitter poster believe the election was fake news?

75. NellG

Stu,

Were you not also chiefly responsible for the Black Death and Cuban Missile Crisis?

76. winifred mccartney

The Republicans bought into the populist Trump agenda and this selection should never have happened – but America is not alone – the tories here bought into Boris populism and only selected him as pm in case he had to go up against Corbyn.

America is learning the hard way and so indeed are we – Boris was never PM material and is proving this day on day.

Today the courts will decide about ‘women’ and ‘gender’ all part of the same idiotic post sensible me me me culture of what I want I get and I can have anything I want no matter who it hurts – these people don’t have the sense they were born with.

As for Miridul if he did not declare his change on application for his current post he should be sacked and if he did the people who appointed him should be sacked for not doing due diligence.

77. TruthForDummies

Luckily Johnny failed to get elected for the NEC position he was standing for, and Mridul failed to get selected as an MSP for either constituency despite standing on an all women short list.

I fear the Biden Harris presidency as USA is about to go the way of Canada on trans rights.

I can’t believe Biden believes the crap and Harris is probably an opportunist in hock to the powerful lobby. But sadly they are in total control and women and girls in the USA will lose their rights. female sport will end as well as the right to female only spaces and services. I hope individual states can stand against this and I hope USA women get organised against

It’s a dangerous time

78. TruthForDummies

As for NS just her usual crap virtue signaling on Trump. There is no cause beloved of the ‘progressive’ establishment NS won’t embrace. She’s back to her daily PR events. She has a Health Secretary who can do the job but NS needs to be the only one in the limelight. NS needs to focus on her day job which is getting us independence – that’s why she was voted in.

79. holymacmoses

Hatuey says:
    7 January, 2021 at 4:17 am
    I’m no fan of Trump, but why did Twitter close him down? I don’t see what he has done

What doesn’t even incite comment in one country may well incite civil war in another.

80. David Ferguson

Al-Stuart says:
    7 January, 2021 at 7:07 am

Donald Trump currently has more power at his fingertips than any other human being on the planet…

Er… No he doesn’t. He’s the US President. The only power he has is the power to do as he’s told by the people who have the power.

Actually, come to think of it he has the power to show us what happens to people who don’t do as they’re told by the people who have the power.

81. stuart mctavish

@highseastim

On the contrary, not only should he be welcomed with open arms – as should any and all of the good Christian farmers, resturaunters, servicemen and assorted business owners and their families who were in Washington yesterday – he should be given top place on the Scotia future list in the hope he might be able to lend honesty, backbone and an alternative path to independence in the event SNP and so called sovereign Scots prove as competent at getting independence as they managed to be about retaining EU citizenship.

82. Hugh Jarse

Er, yes he does David.
    Executive authority, in law.
    He can defy his sponsors any time he likes, if he dares.

83. deerhill

The saying used to be that :-

An infinite number of monkeys typing would write the works of Shakespeare.
    The Internet has proved that to be false.

Just bear that in mind when perusing the Internet.

84. Robert Moore

@ Bob Mack

As of 11.40 it’s still Campbell’s latest and rather poor effort.
    So much for Timelines laddie.

85. susanXX

Transphobia doesn’t exist: it is perfectly rational to fear or distrust a person who thinks he is a woman fetishizes aspects of womanhood, harbours jealousy and animosity towards women and wants to invade women’s spaces. The only similarity between trans identifying men and women is species.

86. Bob Mack

@Robert Moore,

You related to Donald Trump ? Same inability to accept what you don’t like. Revolting.!!

87. Polly

Well it’s always about them and to them it’s about bashing everyone who might stand against them. I’m glad you’re a bogeyman to them and to unionists. I wish I was more fearful myself at times.

88. kapelmeister

Solipsistic. That’s the word to describe the trans lobby. Aye, solipsistic.

89. Doreen A Milne

The narcissism of these two guys knows no limits. Mutual wa*k club totally proving their sex!

90. Brian Doonthetoon

From Twittewr…

Mark Hirst
    @Documark
    ·
    28m
    Mark Hirst Vs the Crown.

Acquitted.

No case to answer.

Thanks to everyone for the support.

91. James Che.

John main, That is the whole point of my comment, it has been enlightening not to be judged on gender at all, not to be judged at all.
    As for the job work, no future, prospects I agree it really does depend on wether you are male or female for the British goverment, At the time I was born it was still traditional for the women to be at home and raise her, keeping the family unit together, as the children got older (we ) women took up part time work to help our husbands meagre wages, however we got paid less than men for working the same job per hour, we also were not intitled to holiday pay, or a pension when women worked part time. And male bosses often tried it on, under threat of women losing their work for some of the younger females.
    Many men in Britain behind the scenes had not moved on since the turn of the century, it was a false front. This equality legalities was all stuff and nonsense, we often got meaningless jobs,
    before I became retirement age I was sent a letter from department of works and pensions asking me to contribute more to top up my pension to bring it in line financially for my retirement date, and most women did this, by taking on more work, while still running the house washing the clothes, doing the shopping, seeing to teenage kids, and cooking the family meals, metaphorically speaking no sitting down with pipe and slippers or pottering or hanging around in the garden shed, or going out with the mates to the pub or going fishing or playing golf, I used to work TIL midnight and beyond, then get up early in the morning and go to work,
    Then I heard through the grapevine we would not get our pension at what was supposed to be our retirement age, it had been moved forward to being equalised with the mans retirement age..
    That would have been ok with me and lots of other women IF we had been treated to equal pay rates, equal holidays, been informed well in advance so we could plan alternatives, I still have not been officially informed, I read about some court case in the newspapers, we were not classed as equal workers during our life time of work, or even equal humans.
    So now apparently I am older than you, went through a divorce, became homeless , with less job prospect and no pension and no future and very little to live of, when I was homeless I realised there were hundreds of people living in Britain that did not have a roof over their heads and a good number of them still had young families,
    I been there done that and decided not to wallow in the situation I found myself in, so I created my own work, was able to start paying rent, got a house and eventually remarried.
    Take your nose out the air, stop wallowing in self pity while judging others, an get on with the life you’ve been given,
    There are others out there in a worse position than you or I.
    And no transgender, on a mans wage is going to come and steal my hard won rights as a woman,

92. Robert Moore

@ Bob Mack
    Typical of the comments on here.
    If you can’t attack the argument attack the man.
    I don’t indulge in such juvenile, fruitless playground behaviour.
    Democracy demands disagreement.

And suggesting that I am related to Trump 9 simply because you cannot seem to handle a very mild retort, perhaps says more about your attitude/tolerance than it does mine.

93. James Che.

John main, That is the whole point of my comment, it has been enlightening not to be judged on gender at all, not to be judged at all.
    As for the job work, no future, prospects I agree it really does depend on wether you are male or female for the British goverment, At the time I was born it was still traditional for the women to be at home and raise her, keeping the family unit together, as the children got older (we ) women took up part time work to help our husbands meagre wages, however we got paid less than men for working the same job per hour, we also were not intitled to holiday pay, or a pension when women worked part time. And male bosses often tried it on, under threat of women losing their work for some of the younger females.
    Many men in Britain behind the scenes had not moved on since the turn of the century, it was a false front. This equality legalities was all stuff and nonsense, we often got meaningless jobs,
    before I became retirement age I was sent a letter from department of works and pensions asking me to contribute more to top up my pension to bring it in line financially for my retirement date, and most women did this, by taking on more work, while still running the house washing the clothes, doing the shopping, seeing to teenage kids, and cooking the family meals, metaphorically speaking no sitting down with pipe and slippers or pottering or hanging around in the garden shed, or going out with the mates to the pub or going fishing or playing golf, I used to work TIL midnight and beyond, then get up early in the morning and go to work,
    Then I heard through the grapevine we would not get our pension at what was supposed to be our retirement age, it had been moved forward to being equalised with the mans retirement age..
    That would have been ok with me and lots of other women IF we had been treated to equal pay rates, equal holidays, been informed well in advance so we could plan alternatives, I still have not been officially informed, I read about some court case in the newspapers, we were not classed as equal workers during our life time of work, or even equal humans.
    So now apparently I am older than you, went through a divorce, became homeless , with less job prospect and no pension and no future and very little to live of, when I was homeless I realised there were hundreds of people living in Britain that did not have a roof over their heads and a good number of them still had young families,
    I been there done that and decided not to wallow in the situation I found myself in, so I created my own work, was able to start paying rent, got a house and eventually remarried.
    Take your nose out the air, stop wallowing in self pity while judging others, an get on with the life you’ve been given,
    There are others out there in a worse position than you or I.
    And no transgender, on a mans wage is going to come and steal my hard won rights as a woman, and you being derogatory does not enhance your personality, like I said I have raised kids in hard times, and they were more mature than you.

94. Saffron Robe

I agree with other commentators. The repercussions are sure to spill over into Britain. Is Boris Johnson any less “unhinged” than Donald Trump?

95. Republicofscotland

This might sound a bit controversial, but, isn’t ironic that what happened in the USA yesterday, is something that the USA actively sponsors around the globe.

The undermining of democracy is a speciality of the USA in South and Central America by consecutive US administrations.

96. Iain More

Trump has narcissism in common with the Trans-activists it seems.

97. sharon

How did we get to a point where, despite the Wikileaks dumps, we’re still supporting the people connected to paedophilia and taking a hard line against the only member of the elite to have volunteered his assistance towards Epstein’s 2010 prosecution?

98. StuartM

Hatuey says:
    “7 January, 2021 at 2:16 am
    Coincidentally, the Capitol building has actually been directly attacked by a bunch of white supremacist crackpots before. The British basically flattened the joint in 1814.”

The attack on Washington was in retaliation for the USA’s burning and looting of Toronto (then named York) and other Canadian towns. Attacking Washington also served to bring the war to American soil whereas previously it had been fought largely in Canada.

I’d also remind you that the USA was the aggressor, trying to opportunistically seize Canada while Britain was fighting Napoleon. President Madison later said that he would never have started the war if he’d thought Napoleon could possibly lose. The “white supremacist crackpots” were the Yanks. Ever heard of Manifest Destiny?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.