Sandwich Down

Posted on July 04, 2024 by

We had to go and check for ourselves to make sure this really happened.

But it did.

And if you STILL can’t believe it, understandably, we’ll spell it out. That’s Jenny Gilruth, an SNP government minister, slagging off the Daily Record as a bunch of liars based on their infamous “Vow” front page in 2014.

You know, the one initiated and brokered by Murray Foote.

You know, Murray Foote, the CURRENT CEO OF THE SNP.

[…]

We were all here to see this day, folks. Let’s cherish that very special moment as we endure the long and dark days ahead.

0 to “Sandwich Down”

1. duncanio

Jenny Gilruth – one half of the marital equivalent of Dumb and Dumber.

2. 100%Yes

OH dear only 10 ten seat for the SNP even reform has done better. Sad YES for Scotland not the SNP here’s hoping the SNP are finnished for good.

3. GM

Jenny Gilruth (LOLLOLOLLYLOLLUPPINGFUCK) It is a contemptuous caste we are dealing with here. The political clique are all remarkably similar in their outlook on life. Contempt for the general public across the board. Its really just one arrogant, vacuous, know nothing party we are being invited to allow vote for in order that they can steal their wages off us.

The wee parties and the independents are all there is.

4. Shug

Will the stv interviewers pin Nicola for her involvement in the SNP car crash. Will they give her. A polite easy ride.

How long before she blames someone else

5. Marco McGinty

“one half of the marital equivalent of Dumb and Dumber.”

You’re being overly generous there!

6. Republicofscotland

Exit Polls putting SNP on just 10 seats with the Lib/Dems, and Reform above them as well as the Tories and the top dog Labour.

STV ran by ITV has Sturgeon the Judas on as one of the hosts talking about the state the country’s in her country is the UK not Scotland.

I can only hope the exit poll is a wee out and the SNP get less than 10 seats

7. Hatuey

Jesus. Thick as two planks.

Sturgeon looks worried.

8. Linda McFarlane

Do you think the SNP realise just how angry we are with them?

9. Robert Louis

Haha. The SNP citing the lying liars behind the vow, seemingly unaware the unionist who was behind the lying liars and the vow is in charge of the SNP.

Could we have SNP MP bingo, to mark off all the wastrels from the SNP as they lose their ticket to the English Westminster gravy train – and..shockeroonie, might actually have to find an actual f***ing job. Most aren’t fit to stack shelves in Tesco ( though that is a bit of a slur on shelf stackers, to be fair).

Memo to the SNP: If you are NOT aiming every day to get us independence, there is no point voting for you.

10. Ian McCubbin

Let’s hope Alba, ISP and Independents for Independence get some MPS to come home for Scotland.

11. Geri

She was never the sharpest tool in the box.

12. Doug

Leslie Evans, former top britnat civil servant in Scotland and close friend of Sturgeon, was actually Murray Foote in drag?

13. President Xiden

Jenny Gilruth, about to unleash hell on our education system.

14. Robert Louis

Jeez, I put on sky news and they have the unelected gobshite Ruth Davidson. I put on ITV, only to find Sturgeon. Hoping to find sanity, I switch to channel 4, only to find MI6 boy, and uber unionist, Rory the Tory Stewart. I mean come on channel 4, really? Tory boy, Roderick Stewart? He gets around, doesn’t he?

15. Big Jock

Big Jock
    Ignored says:
    4 July, 2024 at 10:34 pm
    Yes 10 seats is oblivion. I want to hear the shit that Swinney comes out with after this. I doubt they will recognise the significance.

So becoming a party of devolution, ended up killing the SNP. That’s what has happened. Because there are 3 other parties offering the same parish council devolution. The SNP are now fighting for a quarter of the crumbs on offer.

Their USP was independence,and that’s why they could command 45% in the polls. Without this USP there is no point of the SNP. Even worse, they can’t influence the UK government, because they are a Scottish only party. So they are back to being a pointless vote in WM.

16. Effijy

Well it looks like that Motorhome will be worth more than the SNP party.

The Westminster funds will dry up and the membership funds are already gone.
    Losing 4 out of 5 seats let’s SNP know asking the same question for 10 years doesn’t cut it.

They will be advising of their next manifesto by chalking on the walls as far as their bus pass can take them.

Now Labour can make our best performing NHS as they did in Wales.
    Free further education in Scotland will be removed.
    Free prescriptions gone.
    The Bedroom tax on the disabled will no longer be paid by Holyrood.
    Free personal care will go.
    Council tax will need to grow to English levels.
    Forget free hospital parking and no road tolls.

Labour will be another disaster but at least less capable of handing out contracts to donors.
    In 5 years time to please Reform and Farage the Tories will bring bungling Boris back and England once more will impose their right wing governance on a left wing Scotland.

17. Confused

there is almost too much to say on a day like today

– looks like the SNP has been given the “punishment beating” they deserve

will they change? They will be shiting it for the next holyrood.

maybe they will get behind indy now and abstain from westminster “on principle”.

I might go off and read some William Golding, ta mag.

18. Malcolm

Will be gutted if the SNP only have 10 seats, I put a bet on them having less than 10.

19. ScottieDog

The new SNP WM crew will just about be able to fit in the motor home by the looks of it.

20. Ian Smith

The people have spoken : “Women have cocks.”

21. Effijy

Multi Millionaire Unionist BBC presenter Kirsty Wark wallowing in SNP defeats.
    Sour lemon juice will need to be found soon or you will see her teeth in here ears.

The notorious Liz Lloyd Kirsty’ show as the shill who made it to the top.
    Dippy Dug and Baroness Davidson on too to spread the appearance money between those who have never done anything for Scotland

Rutherglen expected to declare Labour hold immenantly.

22. Glenn Boyd

Holy Fucking Moley! What a bunch of crazies on television, posing as pundits,this evening. Laydeeze and Chentlemen – I give you one Liz Lloyd and – wait for it – one “PROFESSOR” DUGDALE on the BBC. The DUG has squeezed a McJob from Glasgow UNI. What the actual FCUK? I cannot bring myself to switch to STV to see the Fishy one: the Sturgeon, no less!
    PLease – I beg you – someone! – anyone! – say it ain’t so.
    Looking on the bright side I have the popcorn ready to enjoy the snp wipeout. Joy oh joy……..

23. Sven

I guess messrs Wishart and Blackford will be facing stiff competition from all the other SNP dedicated independinistas now indulging in an orgy of backstabbing as they seek ennoblement to the HoL.

24. Geri

Aye Robert I’m up for a bit of Bingo!

Pu-tin interference must be in there somewhere along with Sturgeon resigning..

25. duncanio

Shug
    4 July, 2024 at 10:27 pm

“Will the stv interviewers pin Nicola for her involvement in the SNP car crash. Will they give her. A polite easy ride.”

Surely it’s got to be a campervan crash?

26. Greg

I really hope Alba can make some progress and the SNP can reform before the Scottish election.

I’m not sure I can take almost a decade of uncontrolled unionist government. There’s too much at stake.

I wanted the SNP to learn a lesson but it’s hard to hear the vote results being weaponised against the independence movement as a whole already.

27. birnie

According to Sturgeon, loss of SNP seats due to everyone voting Labour to get rid of the despised Tories; no fault whatsoever of the SNP itself.

28. gm

Greg
    4 July, 2024 at 11:14 pm

I really hope Alba can make some progress and the SNP can reform before the Scottish election.

The entire political class are our enemies, It is an unfortunate situation but mirrors an awful lot of countries. The SNP have been managers for Westminster for years now. They are in the club, the party now. We have been asset stripped mercilessly by these toads for 6 or 7 years now. We need to face up to this before we move on.

29. AndyH

OMFG. Those SNP gits are such lying bastards. I actually hope there are Tory gains in Scotland to utterly refute their Bullshit about the ‘change’ election.

30. robertkknight

The Sham Nationalist Party don’t do irony, but if they did, Gumby Gilruth still wouldn’t get it.

Indy for Scotland!
    SNP Out!

31. 100%Yes

SNP blaming the Tories for the SNP loses, no one seems to be saying to the SNP that they haven’t delivered on Indyref2 after 10?

It also look like the SNP is willing to work with the Labour party on every level, just further proof the SNP are ("Tractor" - Ed)s and this is the reason they have been rejected and its a low turnout.

32. Antoine Roquentin

The SNP doesn’t deserve to exist as a political party! Hopefully the final results will confirm that I’m not an outrider in holding that opinion.

33. Big Jock

Greg it’s a reset. All the indy parties need to grasp that 50%. Coalesce in 2026 on a plebiscite referendum. The SNP are now a minor player, so they need to listen. If they don’t,then the party is dead.

34. Doug

Turnout in 1st 2 results in England just over 50%. Hopefully Scotland gets it under 50% overall.

35. Shug

STV saying the SNP said indy was on the ballot.

Not on any literature I got!!

STV taking the line indy was the offer now thoroughly rejected so Starmer has a duty to ignore it

36. Robert Hughes

Who’ll be the lucky 10 names picked-out of the Troughers Tombola n who’ll be dreading the ominous sound of tumbrel on cobbles , the tolling bell , the swish of scythe ?

It’ll be like the Raft Of The Medusa @ Jackson’s Entry

It’s all coming down : as predicted . As planned

37. Andrew scott

Chief mammy making a fool of herself on stv

38. Confused

the SNP should have been the vehicle for independence; but it was diverted, taken over by identity politics zealots, who need to be destroyed

– this looks like the beginning of the end; next holyrood will be the decider for them

but it gives no joy, because the past 10 years have been wasted; somewhere around 2017 it was taken over by a cult; it was our house they trashed.

the loss of time may be fatal, in the end. Who thinks what the earliest time for indy could be? 2030?

it’s just the way I feel
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bVOVf0hm9E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBUrXLX4KPo
    a love once new has now grown old

39. Derek

The front page of the Scottish edition of the Daily Heil had a headline of “Vote Rishi to kick the SNP out” or something like.

The Mail, Express and Telegraph have been spectacularly unhinged this week.

40. gm

Robert Hughes
    4 July, 2024 at 11:52 pm

Who’ll be the lucky 10 names picked-out of the Troughers Tombola n who’ll be dreading the ominous sound of tumbrel on cobbles , the tolling bell , the swish of scythe ?

Here’s my ten keepers; Blackman (BAM), McDonald(One that resembles young Adolf), The Complete Ponce, Humza’s bird, Slippers, Smooth Dave Doogan, Oswald (LihLihLih LOL), Grady, George Cluny Hosie, McLaughlin

41. Alf Baird

shitbag tractors in all remaining 10 SNP seats, if that. Clean out of Holyrood is next. Swinney the colonial gatekeeper included.

42. Geri

LMFAO at “Humza’s Bird”

43. Andouilette

Oh God, not Slippers, pleeeease. Some of us have been trying to get shot of that poltroon for what feels like centuries.

44. Geri

Buckland out..

“He will be a major loss to the One Nation Group and is a big scalp for Labour. Buckland was emotional as he gave his speech after losing his seat.”

Question; WTF is the One Nation Group?

45. Hatuey

Still hoping for single figures…

You’ve got to admire how Sturgeon can sit there acting like this has nothing to do with her. Her husband has been charged ffs.

How long can that attitude last, tho? Are all those people, the MPs and all their staff, going to go quietly without calling her out?

She destroyed that party, single-handedly, and destroyed anyone who stood in the way of her destruction.

46. Anthem

Sturgeon quite at home on stv having a good old laugh at Scotland with her unionist mates.
    She even agrees with Osborne as he lectures her on the legalities of a Scottish referendum! I seriously hope she goes to jail for a long, long time.
    C’mon Alex! Get the gloves off!!!

47. Big Jock

I am hearing 7 mps now!

But I can’t stand Kirsty Wark saying independence is nowhere. Even knowing beforehand this would be the narrative. Expect 2 years of this. But indy support is at 50% , and it was 28% before 2014. So this is just an outright lie.

48. crazycat

@ Hatuey at 12.50

Are all those people, the MPs and all their staff, going to go quietly without calling her out?

Rees-Mogg is apparently blaming the Tory collapse on their having got rid of Boris. No doubt there will be plenty of Snippers saying the same about the loss of NS.

49. Glenn Boyd

Onward Brian Taylor of the BBC: If you name the story, he will name the fee. Stout of girth, fat of head, his ties are feckin’ amazing! Like a mighty army, faithfully we plod
    Treading in the footsteps Taylor himself has trod

From Queen Margaret Drive loud Hosannas! ring
    Grave, where is thy victory, 0 death, where is thy sting?
    Onward, Brian Taylor, joyfully we sing,
    Down with Martin Geissler,Taylor for King

Live transmission will commence shortly after ten
    From Glasgow Clydeside to the deepest Glen.
    Do not miss the spectacle, you can watch for free:
    Brian is on the telly, oh hurrah said we!

Onward, Brian Taylor, of the B.B.C
    Fighting for his Masters, and a big fat fee.
    He received a message (sent) from Number Ten:
    Well done Brian, Sir Stammer said, Victory was your due;
    Well done, Herr Taylor, the Fuhrer’s proud of you. Hallelujah Brian Taylor, joyfully we sing.

50. Big Jock

Anthem. Aye Sturgeon didn’t have a clue about the legalities of a referendum. Well she did actually, and deliberately set it up to tick a box and walk away.

Her ultimate con was going to the Supreme Court with her unionist Lord Advocate.

51. gm

Glenn Boyd
    5 July, 2024 at 1:18 am

Onward Brian Taylor of the BBC…

Most excellent. Enjoyed that patter.

52. Big Jock

And toodle loo the noo…

53. John Cutesack

Bookies are giving good odds for the SNP getting less than 10 seats. Sturgeons face on STV/ITV says that’s coming 🙂

54. John

Actual voting figures seem awkward for the state broadcaster to supply . Though the 53% turnout I could see for one of the first declared voting suggests the winning non win is for non of the bastards.

55. keviano

Apart from the last 9 years, the SNP has never returned more than a handful of MP’s to Westminster.
    If that number is reduced to 10, it doesn’t mean the end of the SNP but it should signal an immediate and radical shift in how the Party engages.
    Perhaps given the more than obvious fact that Labour doesn’t need a single MP from Scotland it’s time to seriously consider withdrawing SNP MP’s until the Starmer Government transfers powers for Independence Referendum to the Scottish Parliament.

If Labour honestly believes this election has killed independence stone dead and that Sarwar will repeat the wipe out of the SNP in 2 years, they have nothing to lose by delivering that democratic right enabling the Scottish people to decide their own future.

In Holrood, the SNP needs to bluntly recognise it’s failure and with the likely exodus of hardline wokists back to Labour, should spend the next 2 years obstructing and higlighting the Westminster cuts that limit Scottish choices, fully suporting and rebuilding the grass roots YES organisation.

One thing guaranteed is that Starmers Labour, like every other UK Gov, will ignore or be hostile to Scotland and will in 5 or 10 years time be kicked out of office by the English electorate irrespective of any vote in scotland

56. Wlie

Oh just a few more hours and we will see the arrogant SNP scum publicly disembowelled.

Earlier I watched Angus Robertson, Shirley Ann Somerville and Susan Aitken maintaining the line that the encroaching electoral wipe out was because folks wanted the Tories out.

And with statements like that one realises, just why the SNP are being wiped out.

And so, for those still awake, the pleasure of seeing the trech-er-ous, arrogant SNP consigned to history, will be a joy.

The push to take independence, can now move on. Those who have held us back are now gone. The sty is being cleaned.

57. David Hannah

BBC Scotland – “Glasgow cabbie saying he picked up 18 passengers, going to the Green Day concert and every one of them are voting for Reform.”

Build more houses for Scottish people. Build the houses for the youth. Build up our country.

I voted Alba. Alba for Independence. To put Scotland first. I want Salmond to build the 600,000 homes for Scots.

God bless Alex Salmond. We need him to live to 100 at this rate – he needs to go on a diet. On SNP tears I hope!

58. David Hannah

“The Kamikaze self identification! This doesn’t go down well with anybody. The bottle schemes. The ferries. The wastage of hundreds of millions of pounds.”

Well said. Salmond says the SNP has undermined the competance in Government – the key pillar of Independence despite it being 50 per cent in the polls.

He’s right. Sturgeon “entirely Nicola’s legacy.” says Alex Salmond.

59. Hatuey

It’s quite funny reading comments and listening to people like Blackford saying “we” (the SNP) need to reflect and change.

They don’t understand the magnitude of what is happening and likely to happen.

The SNP shitstorm hasn’t even started yet and they are about to lose about 75% of their seats (that’s a lot more than the Tories are about to lose).

60. David Hannah

I’m taking great delight in the exit poll. It’s far better than I expected.

I spoke with someone in the SNP about the missing 600K. He thinks that Sturgeon wouldn’t have known about Murrell’s accounts…

as “she’d have been focussing on the economy.”

She shares a bed with him I said! And someone started banging on about Alex Salmond’s behaviour. The same Alex Salmond you voted for you clown when the SNP were doing good.

These people are fucked in the head. Fuck the SNP. DIE.

61. David Hannah

Alex Salmond’s a brilliant politician. Tell these SNP activists you voted for Alex Salmond. You voted for a brilliant politician.
    An innocent man. This is what I said. We’re not voting SNP because they’ve became as corrupt as the tory party under nicola sturgeon.

If only nicola’s behaviour was more becoming of First Minister.

Enjoy every minute of tonight. God bless Alex Salmond. The dream shall never die. The leader of the independence cause. The inspiration. The hero. The kind and brilliant man. 1 million times better and more honest than Sturgeon the judas.

62. David Hannah

Build the homes.

Alba Energy.

Build the 600,000 Homes.

Alex Salmond. On the ball as ever.

Sturgeon – fuck off with your gender self ID. Take her to Corton Vale boys. This your election nicola. Your legacy. Own it! you globalist ("Tractor" - Ed).

63. Hatuey

Crazycat: “there will be plenty of Snippers saying the same about the loss of NS.”

With the sort of stuff we know is going on in the background, I doubt if there will be many daft enough to say that. I haven’t heard any say it yet.

64. crazycat

@ Hatuey at 2.34

I hope you’re right, but I really think they are delusional enough, at least some of them.

65. David Hannah

Kirsty Blackman re-elected. HOW?

These people man.

66. Derek

Dougie Alexander. Again. Fucksake, what’ve we done to deserve that?

67. Wee Chid

Blair Mcdougall? FFS

68. David Hannah

I was hoping Flynn would lose his leat – he keeps saying to people on television.

“Shame on you” Will you vote for Brexit? “shame on you”

A virtuous one Steven Flynn –

Aberdeen are a disgrace.

69. David Hannah

* I’m off to bed goodnight. I’m slurring my words!

Let’s hope that no other SNP MP is returned – apart from Maybe Joanna Cherry. Give me hope Joannha. Till the mornin’ comes.

Independence for Scotland! Come on!

70. Glenn Boyd

Jesus wept! That bastard Pension Pete has just been re-elected.

Thats the bad news. The good news is that the EBC are predicting the SNP scum will gain – if thats the word – 6 seats – yes SIX seats. Rejoice, Rejoice as that old animal Margaret Hilda Thatcher was wont to say.

71. Wee Chid

Why is it that it’s the biggest a***holes in the SNP that are being returned? Wishart on the gravy train again.

72. George Ferguson

Pete Wishart, Flynn and a grand total of 6 SNP MPs will be up sitting besides the DUP at the back of the commons unable to attract the speakers attention. No HoC committee Privilege, little short money and back to 2002 levels. Totally deserved for treating the electorate with contempt. The restart button on the long road back to a semblance of an Independence movement can be pressed. It’s ten years away and won’t involve The SNP.

73. Onlooker

The SNP lunatics will not learn anything at all from being comprehensively routed. Not when wackjobs like that halfwit Blackman kept her seat, for some bizarre reason. All that will happen is that they will double down on their obnoxious, self-righteous extremism, which is just good old historic Scottish religious puritanism in a newer form, if they but knew it.

In their deluded minds, they are Fighting The Good Fight against Westminster, fighting for the rights of ethnic and sexual minorities (nobody else, mind you), thus they are noble and necessary political missionaries, their mission is of even more importance after being routed, etc. “Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me,” and all that godbotherer pish.

The horrendous, self-righteous, self-justifying, pompous shite they are going to come out with after this gubbing will make their previous crazed utterances look like Bertrand fucking Russell-level philosophy, trust me.

I certainly won’t be listening. Not good for the blood pressure. They have been led into their Branch Davidian cult compound by Koresh Sturgeon and her mad, self-serving continuity acolytes, the voters have set the Holyrood compound on fire metaphorically in revenge for being led down by the America-imported psychotic garden path, and now all there is to do is grab some marshmallows and toast them on the political flamed as the party burns. A sad end to a once-great entity.

Oh well, these things happen.

NEXT!

74. Willie

So Wishart the house Jock is back. What a depressing result. But otherwise a fabulous cull of the SNP wastrels. The sold the jerseys big time, let the side down, supped at the trough and now, having been found out are being wiped out. Oh how it could have been so different – especially since Swinney has just said around half of Scots, want independence. So why did he, that last guy whose name I forget and Surgeon before that get it so wrong. But hey, at least now they are gone and we rebuild and push forward. Independence has not gone away.

75. David Hannah

Well done to Eva Comrie in Grangemouth she beat MacKaskill with 800 odd votes. I like her.

Alba Party lost a good person in her.

Reform winning all across Britain in the polls they are polling high.

Immigration is the core issue – SNP won’t learn this lesson for another 5 years.

Alba needs to go hard on immigration. Scotland for the scots.

76. David Hannah

Build the 600,000 homes the alba party wants.

Crack down on the migrants.

deliver independence.

77. George Ferguson

Wow! Joanna Cherry just nailed why the SNP were obliterated in that interview with the BBC. Not progressing the cause of Independence despite numerous opportunities. A lost of focus on policy priorities GRR etc and identity politics. Big wedge of responsibility directed at Nicola Sturgeon.

78. 100%Yes

If you look at what been happening today in this election the labour didn’t win the Tories lost and labour vote held up in England and Tories vote dropped and no one came out to vote over 55% in England. The SNP lost the army of people who came from Labour to the SNP and stayed with the SNP for ten years waiting for two things 1 Independence and 2 back going back into the EU. Has the SNP learned anything NO and if the SNP wanted to recover then make Joanna Cherry the SNP leader and give her a seat in Holyrood and get rid of Sturgeon she poison to the core.

79. Vestas

Mixed feelings here…..

SNP bankrupted before next Holyrood election – GOOD, can’t come soon enough…

Torcuil Crichton elected – Fucks sakes what the hell is going on….

I see the closet Tory (Comfy Slippers) got re-elected – I guess cosying up to them for 20 years paid off….

80. Breeks

Thing that’s flying under the radar is support for Independence, and the big question now is precisely how it manifests itself.

I feel strangely immune to the BritNat Media-fest dancing on the grave of Independence. Dance away you fools, but it wasn’t Independence which got itself buried yesterday.

Please God, let this stubborn fixation with the tre@cherous SNP wankers now be over, and may true support for Scotland now coalesce around something potent and uncompromising which will actually secure Scotland’s Independence.

In my minds eye, it has to be Scotland United, but Scotland United outside the circus of UK politics and faux UK Constitution.

Heed the warning too… If the Unionist’s win a landslide in Vichy Holyrood, then the symbolism of Holyrood’s impeachment will be too late and become nothing more than impotent gesture politics.

Scotland MUST listen to SALVO and be FULLY aware of the Constitutional imperatives, and then, and only then, we take the initiative when we’re ready.

No more talk of SNP, ALBA, ISP… whatever. Scotland United for Treaty’s End and Scottish Independence. We are ALL OF US Independents; Salmond, Cherry, Hanvey, all of us united in our singluar objective.

We don’t need steered because there is only one destination and only one direction of travel.

Just like the protesters in Hong Kong, we must be like water. They cannot hold us.

81. Shug

Just watching liz lloyd pontificating

The plants are floating to thw surface now

Who is first to the House of Lords

82. PacMan

At the time of writing this comment, nuSNP has 8 MP’s and four still to be declared.

Even if the nuSNP end up with double-digit number of MP’s, it’s hard for the nuSNP leadership to try and spin it in any other way as a disaster as they will be effectively bankrupt without the Westminster short money and part of MP’s salary.

There is a possibility that the nuSNP and it’s supporters will try to spin the disaster as treachery from indy supporters like us who didn’t vote for nuSNP .

As mentioned by a previous poster, the mostly likely cause for the nuSNP defeat of disillusioned ex-Labour supporters switching back.

However, I wonder if there is an element that the much vaunted ‘youth vote’ deserted them?

The nuSNP went for the 16-25 vote with a mixture of freebies and extreme progressive policies. The freebies are just baubles that didn’t deal with the severe problems that young people nowadays face and I’ve got a feeling that most young people, like everyone else, don’t support idealistic policies when they see the consequences of it.

I’ve had a quick look at WGD site and there is a sense he is starting to backtrack. Now doubt, he knows which way the wind is blowing and has to protected his golden egg that keeps on giving so it will be interesting how much of his narrative will change.

Rather than dwelling on this election, lets look forward to the next Holyrood election and get your support behind every genuine independence supporting candidate.

83. Effijy

Could Scotland reflect on the fact that the percentage of votes for Tory and Reform add up to
    38% while landslide Labour got 37% of the vote.

The English are a fascist nation and as Labour screw up Reform will grow and the Tory right will work together to work as one.

Buy your Jack Boots now before the shortages start.

84. Roderick Macdonald

The rev will recognize this..

“Shh, darkness is coming”

85. Vivian O’Blivion

With three seats left to call, the SNP stand to lose £964.6 k in Short money, down from £1.3 m, pa in the just dissolved parliament.
    Bankruptcy ahoy!

86. Colin Alexander

Very happy with the results. One fly in the ointment was Pete Wishart keeping his seat.

But, a drubbing for the so-called pro-indy candidates in SNP and Alba is a good result for those who reject the absurd contradiction of pro-indy sovereign Scots swearing fealty to England’s King, to have careers as UK state MPs.

Nothing personal against the former Alba MPs Hanvey and MacAskill but, if you believe in Scottish sovereignty you should not be vowing fealty to KCIII of England to serve in the English imperial parliament.

But, no doubt, the English King’s Pied Pipers, Salmond and Swinney, will still try to lead lead sovereign Scots down the dead-end road of upholding English Crown in WM Parliament sovereignty.

87. Bernard de Linton

Thats 5 more years of Slippers at the trough,doubt he will bother going for the Speaker of the house job if it comes up? Yes people of Perth, you voted in somebody who went for that job,whilst advocating independence at home. Watch out for internet scams thickos,you have a proven record of being easily conned.

88. Stevie

SNP bed-death : it was obvious since, I forget when, that the SNP was going to get a drubbing; you can’t be so shte as they currently are without the attendant consequences.

And the number of SNPy folk who tld me I was talking rubbish, instead of kicking the SNP’s collective arse, I lost count.

Holyrood is fkd too now – still, it leaves room for new (non-trans-non-binary-non-pride-month-parade) indy party to emerge, OR for the SNP to become smart and capble and trustworthy again.

But, not in my lifetime : Salmond is too old, too slow, too congenial, too fat (that does indeed age mentally and physically and diminish spontaneity and energy – same way losing weight will rejuvinate) and his insight and wisdom catastophically left him when he resigned after the obviously stolen (in my view) 2014 referendum result.

I don’t see anybody coming along like Salmond in my life-time, therefore, indy is fkd in my lifetime… yet, sadlu, I never lose hope.

89. Roderick Macdonald

My previous post was a reference to an end of days event in an alternate earth Berlin. In a comic.

Scotland is slowly sliding away. Its people and culture sidelined and silenced.

I left a quarter of a century ago. When I came back, at first I thought it was the architecture that had changed.

Now I know it is the people.

If you escape the incredible, intense news bubble that is UKOK, the first thing you notice is the silence.

The second thing is you see the utter shite you accepted as at least reasonable. For years. It was never reasonable. It was always intense propaganda, designed to keep you in your place.

What you were taught, what you were told, the drip drip drip of UK media in your ear telling you that Scotland sucked, and so did you.

Fuck that.

This election is a UKOK rearrangement of deckchairs on the Titanic. It should not matter to Scotland. After all, Scottish votes made no difference. Again.

Look forward. The SNP as it is constituted is done. Scotland and the Scottish people are not.

90. Stuart MacKay

PacMan @ 7:39am

>There is a possibility that the nuSNP and it’s supporters will try to spin the disaster

By working with the new Labour government, the SNP in Holyrood will continue to deliver policies that create a stronger, fairer, more inclusive and more diverse Scotland. A nation that can be proud of it’s international reputation for welcoming people seeking a better life, and creating new opportunities for all in our beautiful country.

That wasn’t particularly difficult. Expect more emphasis on how Holyrood, not Westminster, is where real change happens. Ostriches gotta do what ostriches do best.

As Effijy noted, the size of the Labour “landslide” wasn’t that great. The Tories and Reform still got more votes. There must be strong pressure on Starmer to deliver more of what conservatives want in order to get another term after this one.

91. Big Jock

This is just a necessary reset. Indy support is at 50%. Yet was going nowhere with the SNP. We move on from here.

92. Doug

This is the ideal time for a real party of independence to come to the fore; one which either follows Sinn Fein’s example of abstentionism or simply boycotts Westminster altogether. As others have said, the 2026 Holyrood election is the crucial one. More supposedly pro indy parties continuing to play by britnat rules won’t cut it.

93. Andy Ellis

Now the SNP are down, it’s incumbent on all real nationalists and supporters of independence to not only ensure they stay down, but that they are given the coup de grace.

Too many gave them the benefit of the doubt for too long. They were ell warned and yet still refused to listen. Beware of those who suicided their own party doing the same to the movement. The rump SNP will try to regroup, rebrand and promise us they’ve changed. They haven’t.

The window available to bring about plebiscitary elections at Holyrood in 2026 is small – perhaps too small. The responsibility for that lies again with the SNP and those who refused to listen.

Insufferable as the inevitable British nationalist and Scottish Labour crowing about independence being dead for a generation will be, the case for independence and its core support remains strong. Labour isn’t going deliver for Scotland any more than the Tories did.

It’s up to all of us to make sure the SNP are consigned to the dustbin of history and that by the time of the next election we’re ready to elect real nationalists with a real chance of delivering a majority for independence and taking it, not asking for permission.

94. Stoker

Sturgeon, last night, says the result takes independence off the agenda for the immediate future.

No, Skanky, it was off the agenda the minute you were appointed.

Shirley-Anne Somerville, last night, said SNP politicians have to take responsibility.

Indeed YOUS do, Shurley, and that starts with you & Skanky.

At least we all know now the purpose of the motorhome, it’s the new battlebus for all those snp politicians, all 10 of them. LOL!

95. Sven

Surveying the decimation of so many SNP MPs, I shall mostly be singing, “Oh, what a beautiful morning” today.

96. Hatuey

The idea that Swinney can stay on as leader after a defeat of this magnitude is hard to process. If that happens, and I don’t see how it’s possible, it just shows what a tight grip Sturgeon and her clique of hijackers have on the party.

Swinney can’t argue he’s new to the job and deserves more time. He’s been right in the cockpit with the others for years, as responsible for all the disasters and absurdities as anyone else.

If Swinney stays, Scottish politics is ridiculous and farcical.

97. Mac

Agree with above that the scammers of the world will be looking up the Perth & Kinross area codes this morning… clearly rich pickings to be had in that constituency.

Sadly I also mostly agree with Stevie 8.41am as well… but remember it always darkest before the dawn.

There is going to be a point, once we cut the SNP down at Holyrood, that both parliaments will have been cleaned out (as best they can be) and we will feel very alone.

It is hard to predict now but something will fill that void.

(The danger is it Nigel Fucking Farage. lol.)

98. TURABDIN

There was nothing in this election for people my age, just a load of old guys dad dancing.
    The game will be over for the entire political system if the young cannot find a space on the dance floor.
    How long before there is a British Islam party? Then the whatever will hit the fan. Young jihadis for a Muslim UK….bring it on. Richly deserved immolation for «democracy» that never really was.

99. 100%Yes

Today nothing has changed and no lessons have been learnt from yesterday’s result, in The National they have an article “Alba lose deposit in ALL seats where candidates stood in General Election”.
    Its reading headlines like that that made me decide The National was a pile of piss and not worth a read. The fact is Alba did a lot better than the NUSNP, Alba only lost two the NUSNP lost 39 seats.

I was listening to Sturgeon yesterday and the way she was talking it was as if she was still leader of the NUSNP, saying John Swinney was safe and Flynn would become leader of the SNP and he’ll get a seat in Holyrood.

We all heard Swinney and Brown say that the SNP had to listen well here’s a pit of advice, get fucking shoot of Sturgeon for starters she caused all this and call a early Holyrood election and work with ever Pro-Indy party including Salmond and make the election a plebiscite election entirely on Independence and if we win stand up for Scotland this is where the SNP has failed show the people that what you say your going to deliver it.

But what will happen is today the SNP will lose thousands of members, the party over the coming weeks will probably go bust and The National Newspaper will fold, but the one thing the SNP will not do is listen and learn it hasn’t been the SNP way for the last ten years.

100. Ruby Thursday

That’s over!

Bring on Branchform.

101. Chas

The people have decided they have had enough of the SNP and the Tory’s. Sanity prevails but……………for how long?

My heart wanted me to put a cross next to the Alba candidate on the ballot box but my head led me to vote for Labour. It had the desired effect as the sitting SNP waster was ousted.

Two results caught my attention. Wishart being re-elected and Rees Mogg being booted out. One not so good and the other fantastic.

No doubt those who did not vote, or spoilt their ballot paper will be ‘delighted’ with the result, but please do not complain about anything for the next 5 years.

What are the chances of John the Redactor Swinney bringing forward the Scottish Elections and bowing to the will of the electorate. No chance and nane spring to mind.

If Salmond is serious he has to start putting the boot in now to the SNP. The task ahead for Labour is simply too much to be resolved in 5 years. There will be a lot of disenchanted, ex SNP and current Labour voters looking for change. They are ripe for switching to ALBA, IF the Party can get it’s act together in 2 years. I hae ma doots!

102. Oneliner

Noticeable behind the Starmer acceptance speech was the number of saltires being waved.

I counted 4 – and that’s in deepest Englandshire. Seems like a plan.

103. Vivian O’Blivion

Post Westminster career watch begins here.
    Alison Thewliss and Stewart McDonald are on the Board of the opaquely funded John Smith Centre. The JSC is an adjunct of the University of Glasgow. The UoG is the epicentre of British spook activity in Scotland. Thewliss may bargain her position into some salaried, academic post. If they made professional dunderheid Dugdale a Professor, anything is possible.
    Stewart McDonald is more likely to turn up at some Trans-Atlantic, Neoliberal, ThinkTank, cheerleading for the Military Industrial Complex. Those ten days he spent in Washington at the Woodrow Wilson International Centre for Scholars will pay dividends.
    Professional, full-time LGBTQ+ advocates like John Nicolson and Alyn Smith will fight it out for a paid sinecure at one of the myriad of Holyrood funded Quangos pushing Poststructural poison to the kids.

104. Geri

Well the turds that remain are already off to a bad start – blaming everyone but themselves so they’ve zero hope of regrouping.

Doug 8:53

I’d even discount Holyrood. It’s a branch office & has zero clout. It will now be emptied completely of any meaningful powers. The power grab started under Sturgeon & Sir Kid Starter will finish the job.

105. Spartan 117

Bit of a pumping, that. Cue much angst and “soul-searching” which will see no lessons learned, yet again.

Whilst I’m glad to see the Tories reamed sans KY for the horrors they inflicted on the nation during 14 disastrous years – SDSR, NHS, out of control borrowing & spending, the catastrophic bungling of Brexit, the disastrous fascist lockdowns, the cash tornado for PPE contracts for mates and furlough, the mini-budget that ruined everyone’s mortgages, the taxes, the Green crap, etc etc etc – it’s clear under Labour none of that will change, and I’m sure we are in for serious voter’s remorse in the coming months.

As for the SNP, good to see them defenestrated for their malevolence towards the electorate. Next FollyRude elections should be interesting.

106. Big Jock

There needs to be a united front on independence for 2026. Bear in mind that there are now dozens of SNP mps out of a job. Indeed there are more outside than in.

So a new voice and unified purpose needs to follow this. Will it happen? Yes, but more than likely Swinney will need to be dragged kicking and screaming.

The SNP will be fatally stupid if they go to 2026 trying to be the only party of independence. Yes voters won’t believe them, nor will they even turn out. There are 50% of Scotlands voters who will back a plebiscite election.

107. Shug

I have to congratulate Boris Johnston for establishing the uk committee. I know the idea really came from the palace but he fronted it. They did an excellent job of infiltrating the SNP and undermining their position fron inside.

Blackmail bribing threatening is a strategy guaranteed to deliver results, however grubby.

108. Bobbyp

Scotland! What a sad fucked up people and country,
    They might as well abolish holyrood because you’ve been complicit in the abolishment of your ‘country’.

109. Republicofscotland

“My heart wanted me to put a cross next to the Alba candidate”

Keep yir lying shite tae yirself ya Wingate W*nker.

110. TURABDIN

The government may change but the plutocrats, the Davos boys etc will not change, just become more powerful.
    Create national dysfunction then step in to sort things out; bypasses all that democratic accountability nonsense.
    Got probs with the messy masses, send for the Demos Busters!

111. Big Jock

Starmer will say that Scots don’t want any more devolution, and have dropped independence. Which is garbage of course.

Already had Lord Haw Haw McConnel crowing about Scots just want to focus on the day today stuff. That’s nit true, because this election was not fought on the Scottish government or independence.

It was simply a protest against the SNP. Most Yes voters couldn’t find motivation to vote for them. It’s a hollow victory for the Labour mps in Scotland. It is not built on support, it is built on protest.

That is a very fickle support. Akin to Sillars winning Govan then it going red at the next election.

It is up to Scotland to get its act together for 2026. A cliiche , but it will be the most important Scottish election since 2007. Make or break. Are you listening J Cherry?get off your knees.

112. Ruby Thursday

The game will be over for the entire political system if the young cannot find a space on the dance floor.

I think we can do without a load of blue haired confused young men in dresses with a mobile phone attached to their ears.

Last week in Iran they had an election and the Ayatollah said I want everyone to vote. All the women ‘said Aye right Ayatollah’ and only 40%.

Because in Iran they need 50% to vote to make the election valid they need to have another election. It’s called a ‘run off’ election and that will happen today and it’s predicted many of the 40% who voted in the 1st election wont vote.

Iran need 50% turn out to make an election valid in the UK the turn out could be zero and it would still be valid. If nobody voted in the UK the candidates would do rock, paper scissors, an arm wrestling competition or musical chairs to decide who will get a place on the gravy train.

Is BBC Persian still going?

PS Bit of advice from old lady who can dance don’t try to be so clever you often come across as offensive.

Maybe don’t underestimate women especially Muslim women. I have high hopes for these Muslim women.

‘Ooh, see that girl, watch that scene
    Digging the dancing queen’

That’s from the 60’s. Oh yes it is.

The ‘Eve of Destruction’ playlist was brilliant. What a team!

Maybe we need a post election playlist. What would you suggest for ‘Wishart’ & ‘Blackman’ winning.

113. Republicofscotland

Jeremy Corbyn retained his seat as an independent whipping the Labour candidate by 7,000 votes.

As for Craig Murray and Blackburn.

The result.

“The final result is in for Blackburn: Kate Hollern – Labour 10,386 Adnan Hussain – Independent 10,518 Jamie McGowan – Conservative 3,474 Denise Morgan – Green 1,416 Craig Murray – Workers Party 7,105 Tiger Patel – Independent 369 Natasha Shah – Independent 86.”

114. Geri

Big Jock

It wouldn’t matter if a Plebiscite returned 100% indy. It’s meaningless. It’s a bit like trying a mutiny in one single store of TESCO’S lol. All it would result in is the boss saying ..and?

It carries no weight. Westminster is the seat of power. Not Holyrood. The presiding officer & legal attack dogs of WM would just shut down any debates or bills.

I don’t see how any indy party can undo the shit Sturgeon resided over either. BoJo stripped it bare & WM is already circumventing & bypassing Holyrood altogether. It’s not the same parliament Salmond left it in.

115. Dorothy Devine

The general turnout seems to have been about 50% + – not exactly an endorsement of the politics of the UK.

116. Big Jock

Bobby. I suspect if Holyrood had never been set up. We would already be independent. It muddied the waters. Blair knew it would capture indy voters for decades, while they siphoned off the oil.

It meant a WM SNP majority was no longer a mandate for independence negotiations. Because the SNP told the voters it wasn’t!! The SNP trapped themselves in the chains of devolution.

117. Republicofscotland

Currently the Teflon Don Swinney is on tv bitchin about losing a huge swathe of troughers at the foreign parliament of Westminster, the arsehole even has the chutzpah to talk about trust.

Swinney added that he’s eager to willing work with government of the foreign country of England.

What a treacherous b*stard he is.

118. Republicofscotland

A list of the treacherous b*stards who posed as indy MP’s from the SNP who’ve had their snouts kicked-out of the taxpayers trough.

Good riddance to them.

“Here are all the SNP MPs who we will now not see at Westminster, the constituencies they represented, plus where they stood following boundary changes:

Tommy Sheppard – Edinburgh East
    Joanna Cherry – Edinburgh South West
    Alison Thewliss – Glasgow Central (stood in Glasgow North)
    Gavin Newlands – Paisley and Renfrewshire North
    Kirsten Oswald – East Renfrewshire
    Ronnie Cowan – Inverclyde (stood in Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West)
    Anne McLaughlin – Glasgow North East
    David Linden – Glasgow East
    Anum Qaisar – Airdrie and Shotts
    Allan Dorrans – Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock
    Steven Bonnar – Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill (stood in Coatbridge and Bellshill)
    Stuart McDonald – Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East
    Stewart McDonald – Glasgow South
    Amy Callaghan – East Dunbartonshire (stood in Mid Dunbartonshire)
    Deirdre Brock – Edinburgh North and Leith
    Carol Monaghan – Glasgow North West (stood in Glasgow West)
    Chris Stephens – Glasgow South West
    Richard Thomson – Gordon (stood in Gordon and Buchan)
    Owen Thompson – Midlothian
    Alan Brown – Kilmarnock and Loudon
    Martyn Day – Linlithgow and East Falkirk (stood in Bathgate and Linlithgow)
    Hannah Bardell – Livingston
    Marion Fellows – Motherwell and Wishaw (stood in Motherwell, Wishaw and Carluke)
    Patricia Gibson – North Ayrshire and Arran
    Alyn Smith – Stirling (stood in Stirling and Strathallan)
    John Nicolson – Ochil and South Perthshire (stood in Alloa and Grangemouth)
    Martin Docherty-Hughes – West Dunbartonshire”

The wannabe Speaker of the House in the alien parliament of Westminster Pete Wishart sadly keeps his seat.

119. Geri

Treacherous & dumb as fck too!

How many times does Labour have to tell them to fck off? Even the Bain principal (active over 10 yrs) didn’t sink in..

It’s a clear case of insanity repeating the same pish & as if they hold an weight.. Labour doesn’t want them on their team. Can someone translate it intae TRA for them? Mibbies they’d finally get it then..

Flynn & Swinney must walk. Will they? No. Leeching barstewards.
    They don’t think they’ve done anything wrong. Lol

& Sturgeon “it’s unfair to blame me” Jesus wept! Delusional tae the bitter end..she’s never walked either. Absolutely zero self awareness.

120. Republicofscotland

Alba got a doing as well.

“THE Alba Party have lost their deposit in every seat they contested at the General Election.

According to BBC Scotland’s Philip Sim, the party managed a total of 11,784 votes across the 19 constituencies they contested.

Both the party’s previous MPs at Westminster, Neale Hanvey and Kenny MacAskill lost their seats.

Hanvey finished in seventh placed in Cowdenbeath and Kirkcaldy, picking up 1132 votes overall, behind the Scottish Greens and Reform UK.”

121. Ruby Friday

“The final result is in for Blackburn: Kate Hollern – Labour 10,386 Adnan Hussain – Independent 10,518 Jamie McGowan – Conservative 3,474 Denise Morgan – Green 1,416 Craig Murray – Workers Party 7,105 Tiger Patel – Independent 369 Natasha Shah – Independent 86.”

Craig Murray doesn’t sound very muslim Adnan Hussain does. I can’t explain why Tiger Patel didn’t get more votes. Maybe the name Tiger is offensive. The little I know about Islam is that they do not like depictions of people and animals in their art. Maybe the same applies to daft names.

I believe everyone is racist. It’s human nature.

Where will Craig go now?

122. 100%Yes

If people on here are thinking the SNP is going to make Holyrood about Independence then your barking up the wrong lamppost.

Swinney has just been the biggest failure in the SNP history of Scottish politics, say he’s going to remain as leader of the Walking Dead SNP and Independence is going to be killed off and that he wants to work with the PM, what he really means is he’s prepared to do what ever he’s told.

123. stuart mctavish

Stuart Mackay @8:43 am

Correct.

Upside being that all is not lost since Holyrood can now* go to town legislating on reserved matters that are a bit more useful than making a hate crime of calling men and women what they are, and let labour take all criticism, if any, directed at the Scottish office.

Downside being yesterdays electorate clearly hates Scots enough to appear to have voted for English rule.. begging question as to what other self harm it is gaslit into being capable of post indy!

*Ideally Swinney could call snap Scot Utd election/ defacto ref first, but closer inspection of why the hell yesterday’s defacto ref went the way it did might also be prudent (sadly)

124. Big Jock

Oh it would take a complete earthquake for the SNP to realign. I appreciate that. They have been given notice. Reform or die. I merely point out what should happen, not what will happen.

125. Southernbystander

TURABDIN
    5 July, 2024 at 9:17 am

‘There was nothing in this election for people my age, just a load of old guys dad dancing.
    How long before there is a British Islam party? Then the whatever will hit the fan. Young jihadis for a Muslim UK….bring it on. Richly deserved immolation for «democracy» that never really was.’

Part of the problem here is if as a ‘young person’ this is really what you think, then you are more deluded than those you attack. The game will not be over for the entire poltical system and democracy will not be immolated. Trust me.

It is easy to complain TURABDIN and easy to condemn and wallow in extreme alarmist hyperbole. One of the signs of maturity is when this gives way to an understanding that has perspective, real wisdom and compassion, rather than clever but empty one-liners.

I am glad Labour did so well. From my prespective it feels really good to wake up to this. I really do not know where it leaves the SNP and the independence cause? Does anyone right now?

126. Ruby Friday

Tommy Sheppard – Edinburgh East gone

I’m shaking my fists a la Nicola.

I helped by voting Labour.

Ah well what the hell we’ve now got Labour Imperial Masters instead of Tory Imperial Masters

Que mas da? as they say in Spain.

Why is Scotland not being declared a colony?

It seems like the only way we will get our independence.

I can’t listen too any more about mandates, plebiscite & all that shit! ENOUGH!

I long post from Ellis telling us what we need to do but fuck all about how we do it.

How do you tell real nationalists from fake nationalists? It’s a lot easier to tell real women from fake women but it seems there are a lot of people in Scotland who can’t even do that.

We could maybe start with Chastitty! Real or fake?

I’m going with fake just like his tits.

Keep taking ‘the blockers’ Chas. I understand Isla Bryson has been taking ‘the blockers’ and he now has real tits.

Wot you didn’t know Chas was transitioning?

127. Northcode

Apart from Ruby’s sixties songs playlist game, last night was a bit of a bore.

Today the Scots wake up to the glaikit grinning face of their new, overtly unionist, imperial prison guard; they’re still locked-up in the same prison, though.

And the prison governor is still the same imperial twat that’s been doun-hauden them for 300 years and more.

Still, it’s better for the Scots to know their guard is not their friend than to be fooled into believing they have help ‘on the inside’.

Maybe the Scots can make a real plan for a real jailbreak now that their jailer’s ‘informant’ has been exposed and can’t string them along wasting their time running in circles around fictitious escape routes anymore.

128. Robert Hughes

In may be instructive to note , eg the combined votes of the fop Nicholson + Kenny MacA + Eva C were less than the winning Labour vote . In the end it looks like it wouldn’t have made any difference if only one of those three had stood in that seat .

SNP; ALBA ; ISP ; I4Is all terrible results . Conclusion ?

Fuck knows ; but SURELY we’re compelled to conclude ” more of the same ” won’t shift the dial .

If there is no internal revolution in the SNP and it continues on it’s path to oblivion the other – actual – Independence Parties/Entities have to ask themselves some serious questions

( A ) Why are they failing to connect with & animate the Scottish Electorate – lack of MSM exposure aside : there has to be more to it than that .

( B ) If there – really – is room for two ( or more ) non-SNP Pro-Independence Parties . I don’t think there is

( C ) Will they ever realise the WM-focused Political Party system will NEVER bring about Independence . Certainly not on it’s own

( D ) When will they understand and act-on the knowledge that Scotland is engaged in a zero-sum battle for it’s continuing existence ? Aye , the landmass that comprises our country will still be here . Just that everything that makes Scotland a distinctive Nation/Culture will be diluted , enfeebled n ultimately , erased .

129. Northcode

” It’s a lot easier to tell real women from fake women…”

You say that, Ruby. But I had a ‘near-miss’ experience in Dubai back in 2000 because I catastrophically failed to tell the difference.

130. Ruby Friday

Oops typo.
    Many typos and missing words but I’m confident you will be able to figure them out. Cheers
    Although you might have difficult with this one

It should be A and not I

A long post from Ellis telling us what we need to do but fuck all about how we do it.

PS Northcode it was a team effort so instead of calling it Ruby’s playlist it should be known as ‘The Eve of Destruction’ playlist.

Yeah, my blood’s so mad, feels like coagulatin’
    I’m sittin’ here just contemplatin’
    I can’t twist the truth, it knows no regulation
    Handful of senators don’t pass legislation
    And marches alone can’t bring integration
    When human respect is disintegratin’
    This whole crazy world is just too frustratin’

I’m a fan of Leonard Cohen and I’m sure there are some good songs in his
    repertoire that could be included in our post election playlists the “Goodbye SNP’ & “What the Fuck Now’ playlists.

The playlists are not limited to just songs they could include poetry, quotes from Shakespeare or anything you like.

Anything goes the truth knows no regulation.

I think we are reaching the rear end of this thread might be time for ‘Ruby’s Chat’ Keep reading there might be a surprise in store just for you.

131. Ruby Friday

More typo. Well it lets you know I ain’t copy & pasting. It’s all original.

I just want to point out that I don’t think Leonard Cohen wrote ‘The Eve of Destruction’ but he could have.

It was written by Philip Gary “Flip” Sloan.

132. Andy Ellis

@Ruby Boringeveryday

I can’t listen too any more about mandates, plebiscite & all that shit! ENOUGH!

I long post from Ellis telling us what we need to do but fuck all about how we do it.

We all know what needs to be done: we need to demonstrate a majority of Scots support independence. There are various ways to do it, as the many countries with less going for them than us who have managed it just fine demonstrate.

They didn’t all achieve their independence the same way, because their circumstances differed.

There has been no shortage of people setting out their stalls with their hot takes about how we achieve it.

We just need one that works. For it to work, it needs to get a majority to support, for them not to take “No” for an answer from the British nationalists, and for the international community to support us, rather than Westminster if it comes to Westminster failing to recognise a declaration.

Stu amongst others has set out a clear plan about how we achieve independence. Either you weren’t paying attention, or you’re just playing dumb for the gallery of moonhowlers infesting BTL here. Both are also possible of course: we have it from your own mouth that you’re not all that bright as if your contributions here weren’t evidence enough.

We’re obviously not getting a referendum with Labour in power probably for the next decade. So if the movement doesn’t coalesce around using Holyrood elections in 2026 or Westminster elections in 2029 as plebiscites for independence, what’s your chosen method Ruby?

A Convention of the Estates?
    Salvo?
    Convincing the UN to declare us a colony or non-self governing territory?
    A petition?
    Saying pretty please, but harder?
    Civil disobedience and setting up alternative state structures à la Sinn Fein in the early 1900’s?
    Just giving up and shouting “To the barricades”?

Or are you just going to do the usual moonhowler thing of sitting on the sidelines throwing rocks and assuring us there’s a legal shortcut and we don’t need to bother with this voting malarkey or actually demonstrating majorities?

133. Ruby Friday

We all know what needs to be done: we need to demonstrate a majority of Scots support independence.

Fuck sake could you just make it short and snappy.

You’ve got some cheek calling me boring ‘Mr 5000 words to say fuck all’

134. Colin Alexander

If anyone thought electing British MPs as sworn servants of the English Crown is how you assert Scottish sovereignty and obtain Scottish independence, you’re either Alex Salmond, John Swinney or too trusting in these servants of the English Crown.

PS delighted to see the “Do you know who I am?!” Alex Salmond’s corrupt Alba / SNP2 Party got well and truly gubbed.

They got what they deserved for copying the same corrupt path of the SNP. Bullying members, witch hunts against whistle blowers, secret voting figures etc.

And worst of all: upholding sovereignty of (the English) Crown in Westminster sovereignty.

135. Andy Ellis

@Tourettes Ruby

If all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail Ruby. When you don’t have the vocabulary or intellectual firepower, the kind of language that’d make a Leith dockside skank blush is probably the best that can be expected.

Still no actual answers about how you plan to do it. Message received: you have no clue and even if you did who would listen to half baked dross expressed via filth like that. Same old, same old.

136. Northcode

@Ruby Interestingeverydayoftheweek

I’ve decided to write some unique and original Scots poetry to show the progression of the Scots from their initial oppression to their inevitable liberation.

And novels, too.

Current ideas are for one based on historical fact called ‘Kidnapped’, although I think some other Scots bloke might have already used that title, and one of pure fiction called ‘Invasion of The Body Snatchers’ – I’m sure that title has never been used before anywhere for anything.

‘Kidnapped’ will dramatise the historical and factual colonisation of Scotland and the ‘Invasion of The Body Snatchers’ fiction will tell of a people who on the surface appear to be an indigenous people with their own cultural identity, but who’ve had their consciousness supplanted by the consciousness of a ‘superior alien’ race of beings called the Morlocks (another original name).

Best sellers in the making, I’m sure. And to think you were the first to hear of them. I’ll make sure the publishers send you a couple of signed first editions. Could be worth a small fortune on Ebay in a few years.

You might need that cash to replace your flimsy Nespresso machines when they inevitably fail (should have bought Gaggias maybe).

137. Ruby Friday

Andy Ellis Hammer of the Scots

What does my tourettes, my vocabulary & intellectual firepower got to do with anything I am not the one telling others what to do you are.

It looks as if all you’ve got is a imaginary hammer.

‘You’d hammer out moonhowlers
    You’d hammer out scheemies
    You’d hammer out Scots
    All over this land.’

Don’t have time to work more on ‘Andy’s Hammer’ song but rest assured he doesn’t have a hammer all he’s got is the ability to bore and to suck up to Stu.

Gotta go got reviews to write!

138. Republicofscotland

The Axis of Evil, has attack the forces that backs the Pal–esti–nians.

“American and British warplanes have carried out at least four airstrikes against the western Ye-me-ni provinces of al-Hudaydah and al-Hajjah in a fresh attempt at stopping the country’s anti-Iz-zhe-l-i operations.

The assaults targeted the Alluheyah District and the al-Haj area in the Bayt al-Faqih District in al-Hudaydah on Thursday, Ye-me-n’s al-Masirah television network reported.

Striking al-Hajjah, which neighbors al-Hudaydah to the north, the aircraft targeted the Bahis area in the province’s Midi District on two occasions.”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,601 Posts, 1,191,080 Comments

• RSS Wings Over Scotland